Read fields of timothy reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all fields of timothy reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Timothy []  2021-4-6 23:17

    It was an accurate acc of life in western Pennsylvania in the early 20thcenturyho

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Timothy []  2021-4-6 23:17

    This book was quite various from what I normally read. It focuses on two families in Pennsylvania and how they cope with their struggles. It’s labeled Christian but there’s occasional swearing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Timothy []  2021-4-6 23:17

    I enjoyed the depiction of the harsh reality of life in rural Pennsylvania at the turn of the 20th century. The characters are true and everyday life is well depicted. The ability of the characters to face challenges and tragedy, yet continue to strive for happiness is inspiring. Looking forward to book two.

    0  


    Add your opinion on fields of timothy or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Timothy []  2021-4-6 23:17

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Timothy []  2021-4-6 23:17

    The twists and turns of life for Katie, Will and the Marlowes had me crying and cheering at times. The story depicts what a lot of families have experienced not only in that era but current life events. I look forward to the next book to see how life evolves for the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Timothy []  2021-4-6 23:17

    This book was interesting ,,and the type of stories I'm most interested in. However , I thought it could have been written with more describing words and detail , as to draw the reader into the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Timothy []  2021-4-6 23:17

    This is one of the most boring books I've read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Timothy []  2021-4-6 23:17

    I read this book in less than 3 days which is awesome for me!! It was a unbelievable story. What makes it even more unique for me is the book was written by my husband's cousin - David Stillwagon. Although the book is fiction, it is based on a lot of people and happenings in their farm family!!! I could relate to a lot of family facts and people as I read it! Aren't we lucky? David is working on Book2! I don't know when it will be out, but I am really looking forward to it. Thank you David! We are so proud of you!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Timothy []  2021-4-6 23:17

    The storyline left a lot to be desired. Katie s family needs more development t. Mrs. Marlowe' s hero was too unbelievable. Will should have had more lovable attributes. The nursing school idea also was too neatly packaged

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Timothy []  2021-4-6 23:17

    This is a must read! The characters were so relatable which created this story so very authentic. It was a much required escape during these uncertain and unpredictable times. This story masterfully shows the importance of family during unprecedented times. A beautifully written story that will tug at your heart till the end! I am very much looking forward to read Book 2!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    I don't know how a lot of times I've listened to this album, probably on a weekly and some times everyday basis. I had forgotten, though, until I place on one of the vinyl copies I own about the two tracks they left off Fields of November so they could cram two albums on to one CD: Ruins of Richmond and Caperton Ferry. They are both instrumental tracks and are NOT filler. The vinyl isn't terribly hard to find; I wouldn't discourage anybody from getting the CD, but I strongly encourage every one to obtain a vinyl copy so you can have the complete picture. Old and Fresh has some amazing songs on it, but Fields of November captured a unique moment in time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Latest Train from Not good Valley is one of the best tracks on this awesome acoustic, folk, guitar album. The entire cd is amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    On the 40th anniversary of its release, this album is as listenable now as it was then (yes, I bought it 40 years ago), and its importance can now be viewed in its historical context. Norman Blake has been described as a neotraditionalist; he plays both traditional and original tunes. His original tunes, however, such as "lord won't you support me", "billy gray", "church road blues" and a lot of others, while often addressing contemporary themes, clearly present their traditional roots and became instant classics. His influence in contemporary American roots melody is immense and his songs have been widely covered by other artists such as Tony Rice, Robert Earl Keen and Sara ere is an authenticity and warmth to Mr. Blake' singing and playing that is irresistible. This album includes some of Blake's best compositions. The performances are outstanding, and the arrangements innovative in that they employ instrumentation such as cello and dobro non-traditionally, and it actually rman Blake has never created an even remotely poor album, but this is one of his best and it is a classic, and so is he.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Early 1970s Norman Blake studio album. You can feel the love blooming between our favorite flattop picker and his cellist, Nancy, whom he would marry and with whom he has done so much splendid work over the e Cast:Norman Blake - guitar, fiddle, dobro, mandolin, vocalsCharlie Collins - guitar, fiddleRobert Arthur "Tut" Taylor - dobroNancy Short - celloThe Numbers:1."Green Leaf Fancy"2."Last Train from Not good Valley"3."White Oak Swamp"4."Ruins of Richmond"5."Graycoat Soldiers"6."Caperton Ferry"7."Southern Railroad Blues"8.."Lord Won't You Support Me"9."Krazy Kurtis"10."Coming Down from Rising Fawn"11."Uncle"12."The Old Brown Case"13."The Fields of November"This is the true deal; accept no substitutes. I burned it to my XBOX 360 hard drive so's i can send it to my son in Rising Fawn: a neighbor of the Blakes. I will play it every November for the rest of my natural life - once a year - for savoring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    One of the classics in traditional melody and a must-have for Norman Blake fans. That's the original "The Fields of November" I'm referring to. In this CD you obtain that album plus one called "Old and New." Whereas I give 4-5 stars for each track on TFoN, I would give 3-4 stars for tracks on OaN. Still great, but it's worth listening to the tracks for TFoN together, to obtain a sense of what a classic the original vinyl was. I only bought the CD because I've worn out the vinyl copy to the point that there are a fair number of pops and clicks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Really amazing two album set in one CD. Fields of November is a attractive tune, and a lot of amazing old Norman Blake tunes and songs. This one is a wow!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    This recording, actually a compilation of two records released by Flying Fish Records in the 70's, provides the bridge between Norman's early solo work and his later efforts with the Rising Fawn String Ensemble. A marvelous mix of original songs (Graycoat Soldiers, Old Brown Case, Billy Gray, Latest Train from Not good Valley) and traditional tunes (most interesting - a three-part Cuckoo's Nest) presented with understated elegance, mostly by Norman with Nancy Short (later Nancy Blake), Charlie Collins, Tut Taylor, and Sand Mountain fiddler James is one, by the way, drives guitar players crazy due to the fact that Norman doesn't always play in standard (A=440) tuning, preferring to tweak the strings up or down just a bit as it fits the song. Norman once said at a work "Sometimes I guess I just hear a song a small various than standard..."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    I have it on vinyl somewhere but can't search it. this has the originals plus some extras. these are some of his best songs--Grey coat soldiers, uncle, Latest train from not good valley, etc, etc, etc.. gotta have it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Norman Blake is a very amazing guitar player and it comes through with all his instrumentals. Yet the song I like best is "Billy Gray" since Norman's voice for western tunes is so good. I would like more vocals on his CDs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    An essential part of the collection for anyone interested in folk or traditional American music. Sometimes Norman Blake can be a small off-putting because of his technical skills. Fans of the Harry Smith anthology might appreciate a small rougher sound. Fields of November exemplifies Blake's awesome licks without being too showy. It stays real to the old styles without wandering into Fresh Grass or Jam band hippie music. Especially the title track, with the cello and violin, sounds like down home. I have loved this album since I was a child in the seventies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    I can't obtain enough of gears. After finishing the games, I wanted to know more. I was so involved in this book, I got them all as a birthday gift. It definitely created me cry at the end. Loved knowing fresh characters and detail of their hairy situations. I'm On to Jacinto's reminent and I've gotten through the first chapter so far. LET ME TELL YOU. IT JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    This book was amazing i am a large GoW fan and the book complements the android games very nicely. it explains allot about every aspect of the games. The book flipped from 14 years after Eday and and before Eday during the Pendulum war. some other posters left some poor reviews about how it was dumb that it did flip between the two times but i have to say they are wrong and by flipping between both times(14 years after Eday and the Pendulum war) it gave you a history of how the COGS began and there purpose and by doing so it answered allot of questions and explained why the plant Sera is they method it is show day. when you read the book or play the android game you see the planet Sera they are on and it has been ravaged by 90+ years of intense war.i guess without a understanding of the history of everything and not flipping back to the past one always wonders why and how things got to be and by knowing a history it adds so much more to least it did for me, its allot more than just a android game with chop scenes explaining a few things in between. the book explains allot about the major characters also. It would like to see the next book focus on Eday in amazing detail and hopefully more books will follow because this is one of the greatest stories and there is so much more they could write into more books.I just finsihed the book the other day and during reading it i could not place it down, i think i am going to read again here soon. it is well worth the time to read and a amazing story. i also thought the author described things with amazing detail for example when she described the locust getting chainsawed it created you feel as if you was watching your television screen and chainsawing them yourself while playing your xbox !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    Not only does this book offer some amazing back back-story on the "Gears of War" series, it's stands as an perfect battle story. Traviss takes hardened fighters and s their guts on the table for examination. Forgoing the temptation to create two-dimensional super-soldier heroes, she takes you for an inside look at their globe and what it takes to survive it. The pressures, the camaraderie, the adrenaline of combat, self-doubt, and the weight of the past threatening to tear down the show and future. Having Traviss as the author of all the novels (and, I believe, of the third game) offers a amazing method to have narrative consistency throughout for the entire series. The audiobook is wonderfully narrated by David Colacci as he manages to give all the characters and narration distinct voices, accents, and attitudes. Having listened to other audiobooks by narrators with less range always disappointed me, but Colacci delivers in ways I've never heard before. Having experienced this unbelievable collaboration, I will definitely be picking up a copy of the second novel, "Jacinto's Remnant".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire: A Novel []  2021-3-26 18:0

    This is a strong Vietnam statement. It has something for everyone, whether you were for “it” or versus “it”. The author, a Vietnam vet, gives an interesting twist to the typical battle novel. His characters are very true and at the same time a cross section of faces and personalities of servicemen whether at a time of battle or at peace. Sensitive “snowflakes” will be shocked by the raw descriptions of battle in its grunginess but in the end, and the author truly ends the novel with a flourish, servicemen come across simply as human beings caught up in uncontrollable situations that bring the best and worst out of each one. For those of us who served in the “Vietnam” era, it is a startling realization that those of us who for one reason or another did not go to ‘Nam were very fortunate indeed. To those who did, I salute you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire: A Novel []  2021-3-26 18:0

    I spent eight months in An Hoa from April to December 67. I served with Echo 2nd battalion 11th Marines in help of 2 5. I remember seeing the grunts standing on the airstrip waiting for the choppers to pick them up to take them on an operation somewhere out in the Arizona. I'll never forget the looks on there faces. The book was very well written and really gave the reader a real feeling of what it was like to spend a year in VN. The heat, the monsoons and never ending rain and mosquitoes were all a fact of life. Four years ago I went back to An Hoa and the only thing left is the old runway. Everything else is completely grown over and nothing is recognizable any more. Even Duk Duk is gone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    I enjoyed this book only because I am a fan, and since I am a fan, I can say that I really really enjoyed ever, if you are unfamiliar with the Gears storyline already, if you haven't played any of the android games and don't know a bit about each hero (what they look like, sound like, act like, their backstory) you will be completely lost on a lot of things. The author seems to take a shortcut assuming that her audience knows everything already (which most of us probably do), but I would have still liked a small more descriptive writing. She gets the story across, but a lot of moments in the book that should be really intense and climactic seemed lacking. It felt like reading a report of what happened with dialogue rather than reading something that place me there with the characters.I recommend this book to those that wish to know more about GOW, but for anyone looking for a amazing book to read, pass. I will however be reading the rest of the series... the story has hooked me, just not the writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire: A Novel []  2021-3-26 18:0

    I was once outside my office across the road from the Metropolitan Club in Washington DC having a cigarette - walking to the side of the building I noticed a nice late model expensive vehicle with a Virginia License Plate. The Plate had a Purple Heart on it and a notice only Marines and those that served in Vietnam could understand. As I lit my cigarette around the corner (Gov't office buildings prohibit smoking directly in front of door ways) - out came (then) Senator Jim Webb. He walked up to this same vehicle and fed quarters into the meter. As a Marine I wanted to scream something out - as a Veteran and Gov't employee I simply remained quiet. Senator Webb walked gracefully back into the Metropolitan Club. I hope one day to meet the former Senator of Virginia - he was the Navy Secretary for a time when I myself was in the Marine e novel - I am not quite a reader of novels; but, this one was simply real to form. Some parts I found myself laughing; others rather saddened. Senator Webb simply captured the timeless meaning of being a "grunt". I have long held the belief that any service member who has served in the Grunts will know and realize that soldiers are timeless; that grunts of today are no various from those of Roman Empire times and/or earlier and/or later. He simply wrote of the craziness and fluid movement of battlefields well and to his credit the book ended not in the manner I would have wished; however, the Vietnam Battle didn't end in any method or manner that any service member I know of would have wanted it to end.I wanted to give this book 5 stars; but something is holding me back and it is simply likely my own private reflections and internalizations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire: A Novel []  2021-3-26 18:0

    This novel was written by someone who's been there and survived the insane exercise in futility that the Vietnam battle was. Once you begin reading it, it's hard to place down, in spite of the book's format (small, softcover and little print).The story grabs you by the scruff of your neck, yanks you out of your comfortable chair and transports you to the front lines and forces you to experience for yourself the raw sights, sounds and smells of the killing fields up close and is novel gives you an insight into: a) The dirty "politics" of war, b) The raw and heartless manipulations by the ruling elites who sent our soldiers half method around the globe to be maimed and to die for no justifiable reason, c) The stupidity of getting bogged down in an ill-conceived, ill-defined, murky mission, forcing our soldiers to war it with one hand tied behind their backs and, d) The wonderful price so a lot of of our braves have paid for doing what their "country" has asked of is is an necessary read because not much has changed since then. We stubbornly refuse to learn our lessons from it. Our ruling elites continue to have an insatiable appetite for stupid, ill-defined, senseless wars. They hold sending our men and women to killing fields in far away locations with small to present for it while they sit in their posh, comfortable offices, wrapped in the American flag, claiming to be the defenders of "our" values and "our" freedoms.A must read for every concerned citizen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    I'm not sure what else to say other than this was a Amazing series! The jumping around within the series was a small distracting but nothing that should deter anyone from reading them. I must say I am a large fan of the Gears of Battle series, both android game and books but the books really delve into the characters and their life storyline. Karen Traviss is an perfect writer and I really didn't wish to see an end to the series. These books really create you feel like Epic Android games did a really not good job with their storyline compared to the in depth detail Traviss included in the series. I also search it a plus that she stuck with what small storyline Epic Android games did giver her. Not to give anything away but Anyone who really enjoyed the android game should definitely give this series a eat job Karen Traviss!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    I have to say, i didn't know what to expect when i ordered this book. I have always liked the video android game series and when i saw there were books i just had to have. These books are there to allow you know more about the characters.GoW: Aspho Fields is a story that takes put in show time and a flash back, 14 A.E and stretching all the method back to 12 years before emergence day when Marcus was just 10 meeting Dom and his brother for the first time, often switching between chapters. Most of the flash backs are about Marcus and Dom's brother, Carlos, time in the COG troops before the locust came. Also Dom's Commando days. we also obtain to see a lot more of hero like Bernie Mataki who isnt as huge of a hero in the a book alone i have to admit it isnt the best piece of literature but as a GoW fan i love it. Amazing length and details. a must buy for an Gears fan. Definitely begin with this book if you are fresh to the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire: A Novel []  2021-3-26 18:0

    I was a m60 a gunner in 2nd platoon, Webb had 3rd herd. The story was right on. Snake was a true man, not the one in the book, byt one [email protected]#$%. He was wasted by a 155 bobby trap still alive living in NC . Lost both legs and an arm and going strong, he lead the DAV a few years back. A real Marine! In battle it's not who is right it's who is left. Want I could take credit for that saying. Semper Fi 0331

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire: A Novel []  2021-3-26 18:0

    A lot of of you probably know Jim Webb as the former Senator from Virginia and Secretary of the Navy. He was also a wounded Vietnam combat Marine. I heard him interviewed on Jocko Willink’s podcast, which motivated me to read this novel. It’s an excellent, really well-written book about the war, told through the experiences of a diverse group of Marines. It raises a lot of tough moral issues, and you’ll see themes develop about decisions and their consequences. About the only criticism I have is that the few love scenes in the book are (to me, anyway) kind of clumsy, but that’s a very little price to pay. Definitely worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    Book is at 4 1/2 rating. I really got into this book, it answers a lot of questions people have especially since the first android game takes put 14 or so years into E-Day and this tells all of what happened before then when they were children so about 25 years in the past and just a week after the happenings of the first game. Shows how Marcus came to be such close mates with Dom and how their journey began as Gears together, yes a lot of people complained about the constant jumping back and fourth between time periods but if you paid attention then that shouldn't be a issue just imagine its a video android game stage I have never had that much jumping in between times, its a first and I found myself really pulled in by it. It goes into depth on Marcus and why he is the method he is, very detached and how he grew up compared to Doms family. It tells just how much emotions a lot of these men and women have and the struggles they have gone through since day one, there are a lot of scenes where they are very vivid to me because it was well written in my opinion, it tells you what the characters are feeling and you obtain to be inside these characters shoes. There are very deep well written pieces of text's here and tell a whole untold story all together. Any REAL Gears fan should read up on these novels because they tell nothing that are in the video games, trust me you may even end up feeling various about some of the characters once you obtain some more back-story on them!FRAG OUT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    Not good hero development. They were shallow. In her Republic Commando books and the Wess'har series, the characters were people we wound up caring about and invested in, but not this one. I guess I dont know what exactly was bably if you are a vet or know / knew someone who served, it would carry more e characters weren't heroic per se, nor did the story flow.Might be amazing if you are a Gears fan, but the Travis fans maybe should look azon lets you read inside here and there. Might be a amazing idea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire: A Novel []  2021-3-26 18:0

    I was introduced to James Webb as a political figure through several social media posts from mates and acquaintances of mine. I immediately liked what I saw: a presidential candidate who had no time for partisan nonsense, a very middle-of-the-road, staunchly pro-American candidate. When asked who his political opponents were, his verbatim respond was, "I'd have to say the opponent soldier who threw the grenade that wounded me, but he's not around right now to talk to," and he punctuated it with the kind of devious grin that can only come from a seasoned infantryman.Webb, a former officer of Marines who earned multiple Purple Hearts and the Navy Cross while serving with the infantry during the Vietnam War, is undoubtedly a [email protected]#$% who has walked the walk, and it shows in his critically acclaimed debut novel, FIELDS OF e novel mainly follows three characters: Snake, a crude man from a working class background who finds his home in battle as a Marine infantryman; Lieutenant Hodges, a man who comes from a long pedigree of Appalachian-based American fighting men who perished in battle and is seeking the approval of his "ghosts"; and Goodrich, a yuppie who left Harvard, decided to enlist to see what he was created of, and finds that he doesn't like the e depictions of infantry combat are technically accurate without reading like an FM, and the method Webb describes infantry banter gives outsiders an authentic glimpse and takes those who have walked that path back to those days of being barrel-chested freedom e most impressive part is that Webb doesn't just focus on infantry life or test and glorify the Vietnam War. FIELDS OF FIRE is a time capsule, an accurate representation of the times and politics therein. The anti-war movement is covered with an even-keel, and the depictions of racial tensions are not only spot on, but once more relevant in our current ELDS OF FIRE is often acclaimed as the best Vietnam fictional novel of the era, and having read it, it is clear to see why. Highly recommended to fans of history and battle fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire: A Novel []  2021-3-26 18:0

    The accepted narrative of Vietnam that the US lost the battle is rebuked nicely in this book. The battle was a mistake of bureaucratic arrogance and inefficiency. In the end, the politicians gave up, but not the soldiers who fought it. This is a story of the blood and sacrifice and dedication of the soldiers who were thrust in this war. A amazing telling of the Vietnam Battle from the prospective of the average grunt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    My review is based on the Kindle Fire Edition. This was the first e-book I ever downloaded for my Kindle Fire which is a tell-tale indication that I am a Gears of Battle fan. I have played all three android games and enjoyed them pho Fields gives a taste of the back story and history for the characters in the android game and the globe of Sera. It doesn't give you a complete picture immediately as this is part a series of books on the Gears universe. More like a tantalizing begin and a promise for more info in later e book does fill in the gaps and adds more depth to which in turn creates a better understanding of the android game characters. As I read through the book you almost have to meld the book and the android game together and you come to a fresh appreciation for Gears of Battle in general. The book's narrative style consists of jumping from flashbacks to show ever, I did search the book difficult to read despite being a fan of the franchise. Knowing what things look like in the globe of Sera, based on the game, I would have thought reading through the book would create comprehending the storytelling easier but it didn't. The flow of the story was plodding and monotonous. It felt like the author pulled Gears information to build a frame of a story around that info, threw in some dialogue and hope that the reader is familiar enough with the Gears universe to keep the whole thing together. The storytelling could have been better. I don't know if it's the pace or the author's writing style, but I wanted more creativity and it felt ybe because this is the first book and because it is a android game franchise, things are already set in stone which might limit how the story is told? I don't know but I found myself wishing there was more to the method the story was told then what was presented.If you are not familiar with Gears of Battle at all, this book will not be a amazing read. It's going to be shallow at best and would not keep your interest. If you're a fan, like me, who found the characters and story endearing in the android game than this book is more like a supplemental to the whole experience. Recommended to any Gears of Battle fan looking for a amazing read about the android game we all love.On a technical note, some pages on the Kindle Fire ver would come up blank. In order to bring out the page I had to press on where a word would be to highlight the word and that fixes the missing page. It pops up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    I love the Gears of Battle android games and this fits perfectly in the universe. The story fills in the gaps of the android game story that I have always wondered about. If you're a Gears can or military Sci-Fi fan then you'll have fun this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire: A Novel []  2021-3-26 18:0

    Because of the politics, which have only gotten worse over time, the Vietnam Battle will remain a tragic reminder of the divisions that were brought on by a battle micro-managed by Lyndon Johnson and, to a lesser extent, Richard Nixon. As for me, please don't thank me for my service. We are not to be pitied for our service. Thank us for our victories serving in worthless battles from Korea to the present. Recognize us as heroic Americans who fought and died while politicians of all stripes created matters worse. In "Fields of Fire", Webb captures what combat in Vietnam was like for a lot of who served there. If you wish to know how daily American men served their country's call to arms in the Troops and Marines, read this book. Then thank servicemen and women for their victories and heroism, and remember they are the sons and daughters of you and your neighbors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire: A Novel []  2021-3-26 18:0

    An original and honest opinion of the battle in Vietnam by a man who was there. You read about the struggles of a Marine platoon and the inf fighting they must face. James Webb is an amazing Marine, whose only black tag is he changed his mind about women in the infantry to pander to the democrat elite in order to get the nomination (which was never going to happen as it was preordained that it would go to hillary)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    Well Written. Perfect guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    If you are planning to visit France WWII battlefields STOP HERE and buy this book. It is the most detailed, well researched and hands down the best book on the subject. No other tutorial tutorial book comes close to the breadth of Fields of War. From the outset, it is obvious the author is passionate and thoroughly familiar with the French WWII battlefields, and this book is very well organized, researched and a important companian for any European battlefield tour. For WWII history buffs, it is a amazing read and very informative even if a European trip is not on the horizon. I cannot say enough about this book and highly recommend it for anybody remotely interested in this topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    Incredibly thorough detailed book. Will save you hours in finding hard to locate war sites. Perfect descriptions of engagements. I wore my copy out. If you are going to use only one book this is the one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    Perfect overview especially for those that have ben there or know it well and are planning on going,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    This was the very best of my tutorial books I used in my seven day self tour of Normandy around the town of Carentan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    excellently explored and presented - unique!will most probably be of interest for pacifists, as well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    I love Huge Daddy's music. My favorite song on this particular CD is "Fields of Grace" When I listen to that song I can actually see myself dancing before God in a Field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    An Entertaining, straight-talking y thought provoking problems to be aware of b4 entering into any intern or apprentice arrangement (on both sides).I Highly recommend to anyone considering a work-edu exchange:~clarifies a healthy path (to follow and blaze) to maintain clear, begin communication, integrity, and how to manage expectations for mutual benefit and partnering

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    You may wish to consider reading some of Salatin's other books first. You will appreciate more of what he has to say. However, if you are looking to intern or hire interns or apprentices, of any vocation, this is your book. This is Salad Bar Beef or Pastured Poultry Profits of interning.I have fun farming, agriculture, and environmentalism so this was amazing to curb that appetite. Very personal, and a lot of amazing stories. This is a very niche book, an not what I expected, but well worth owning. I aspire to grow earth healing methods of agriculture, so I am happy to have read this work. I hope Polyface grows to be an institute of higher learning. This brings Joel one step closer, and will add to anyone's farming curriculum.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    This is the first book I read by Joel Salatin. Unfortunately, I am exactly the type of person this book is not geared toward. I have seen doentaries, talks, and other media by Mr. Salatin and have held his opinion in high regard. While this is mostly still true, being an early 40s mid-career changer, this book is beautiful discouraging overall. The book is specifically geared towards two types of people: young people who wish to learn about and obtain involved in farming, and older farmers looking to pass on their knowledge, and their farms apparently, to a younger generation. If you are one of these, I suppose the book has merit. However, if you are not, then steer clear, for as this book seems to advise, farming is not for you. So, disappointed but undaunted, I continue to use Mr. Salatin's books as research fodder. This one just turned out to be a bust. Contrary to what this book seems to suggest, I still firmly believe anyone can learn to farm if they are willing to create the important sacrifices to do so.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    Very information. A wealth of knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    This is book 5 of the "Frontlines" series, and it is even better than the perfect Book 4. There is much to like here. Firstly, as I have said in other reviews, the aliens in this novel are truly alien, nothing like humans. This is good. We humans have never met aliens and we know nothing about what they might be like. In this series, the aliens are truly alien and appear to treat humans with disdain; regarding us more or less as pests for them to eradicate, unworthy of compassion or any more regard that we humans give to e characterizations in this novel continue to develop as well. Kloos creates characters that the reader will care about and e action in this novel is very good. Too a lot of zone opera novels rapidly turn action scenes into nothing but technobabble, which is essentially a cop-out substitute for an actual plot. You won't search that here. The action is integral to the plot, largely eschews technobabble, and held my interest throughout (not always easy).This one is worthy of a five-star rating for the zone opera genre. RJB.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    With the lankies controlling the surface of Mars, it's time to take it back. So we place together everything we have including the kitchen sink and go tell tell them we wish our location back. Only one issue The lankieslankies a vote, and they've been paying eat continuation of the series, not much true hero expansions but heroics abound as the Earth forces continue to resist. Again the expansion on current military technology as envisioned100 years in the future with a minimum of fresh tech but plenty of fresh applications makes The whole read believable and a Twist on what happens when the aliens arrive and what they are. On to book 6

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    I think Joel Salatin is inspiring. This book excited me more about health, farming, and life in general than beautiful much anything I've ever read.He's very clear, he practices what he preaches, and he really conveys his own spirit and vision for the future in his writing. I came away thinking: "I can do this." Even if I never do an internship at Polyface, I feel like I've been pointed in the right direction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    amazing book , simple read, Joel's humor as all his books . A amazing read for the aging farmer trying to figure out how to hold the farm going . Im the 3rd generation on my put , none of my children are interested in keeping the farm going. This book gave me some ideals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    The Skinny: happenings take put a small over a month after the 4th novel. Earth's forces are gearing up for a major offensive versus the Lankies controlling Mars. The fate of Earth depends upon success. The problem, the once seemingly dumb Lankies are now acting very e Good: Kloos keeps the pace of the story cranking. It's an action story. He delivers, and even does so with some even e Bad: Throughout four books I've been thinking "this is a spacefaring race, yes they are 'alien', but they act without tactic and tactics". Finally, the question is being answered, but a bit too e action is good, but the story doesn't so much go forward as it meets a stalemate. Book 6 needs to provide more answers. Book 4 started some hero development, but book 5 e Ugly: Lots of "F" oughts: This is an simple to read series; however, I never got excited about this volume. Usually, I tear threw these in less than a week, this one didn't inspire me to turn pages. Kloos needs to develop his Poor Guy Aliens beyond that. Now, they are the simple to hate aliens. He toys, a small bit, with his characters seeing them as less alien, and more human, but not enough.I'm ready for Lt Grayson to develop beyond just a amazing soldier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    Where other series live long enough to see themselves become the villain, Frontlines continues to capture my attention and keeps me craving more and more of this story. I haven't been able to place my kindle down since I read the first book. Andrew manages to stay grounded and focused despite his increasingly jaded outlook and extinction plopping it's ugly carcass on humanity's front e Lankies always have seem to have surprises waiting for humans and this book is no exception as they take the war to the Lankies for the first time in a massive, united front. The surprises are nothing overly innovative or necessarily mind-blowing, but as in the past, they are almost enough to derail everything, as a slight shift in their alien strategies requires us (humans) to change our entire paradigm prior to the next 's going to be a long year until the next one comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    Love it. Delivery was quick

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    For someone like me, a former management consultant for fortune 500 companies and now, owner of a software company catering to Agri-Businesses I like this book. It provides a fundamental understanding of the challenges faced by farmers in the US. There are clear examples of success and practical tutorials such as how to structure contracts, MOU's (memorandum of understanding), insights to profitability, how to run a farm like a business, succession planning and of course there is no lack of amazing wit and humor from Joel Salatin.But there is more, I found consistent mention of SOP's (Standard Operating Procedures) something that is so fundamental for any business, I would concur this is critical especially for farming operations. Running a business based on consensus planning and execution (Sales & Operations Planning) where different representatives such as Marketing, Operations, Processing & Distribution are brought together to create decisions; is something even fortune 500 companies struggle with today and they look to optimize on a periodic basis via Sales & Operations Planning is book has amazing insights, Mr. Salatin could probably advise a management board based on these principles. And as for making use of the energy, innovation, willing to change the globe that comes with youth these concepts are also employed by huge profitable companies. I think this book makes a amazing attempt to highlight those opportunities, so read this with an begin mind and you may search insights to drive your business like you never thought possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    The fifth installation delivers. I've reviewed every entry into this series, and Kloos gets better at every milepost. This series ihas been largely plot driven, and feels new for a pew-pew military SF series. In this entry, Kloos shows his hero chops as for the first time time I'm flipping through pages sweating about who is going to create elds of Fire is the campaign to retake Mars, and I would have been satisfied with a routine "turning of the tide" novel, which I fully expected. But he even manages to shake that up a bit and take it in a direction I didn't expect. Well played.When I reviewed "Terms of Enlistment" I advised that you should scoop it up before he wasn't selling novels at Indy prices any more. Here's my tip now - scoop up the series before his numbers dictate fresh novels at 15 bucks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    As I've stated in my earlier reviews I suckered myself into this series and I'm still impressed with Mr. Kloos's writing. If I have anything I want with the series it's that I want he'd deal more with the social/economics of the globe because he does have some interesting insights. Having said/wished that we're now watching Andrew invade Mars to save Earth and humankind. Something that I like in this one is we're finally seeing the Lankey's use more than just "brute" bulk. Having said that I'm not impressed by the lack of intelligence by humankind. Given the growth of UAVs in our time period I'd expect human's to have had better control of the air and the intel capability there. I'd also expect the humans to have figured out clean methods to have cleared the Lankey minefields out to insert their own satellites and that 1/2mvsquare is the method to slay Lankey's (please, a easy formula that works great. I'd expect amazing reliance on mechanized cars since they have the ability to carry weapons that are guarantee Lankey assassins be it in the form of rapid fire 76mm, 90mm, or 105mm or even 120mm guns). Having said that and seen the limited use of armor in this novel and the lack of intel (past what Andrew learns and brings forward) makes me wonder about humankind. Having said taht I do have fun reading about Andrew and have to say this was a amazing "first attempt" at Mars, looking forwrd tot he next in the series. I'm also hoping that Mr. Kloos has humankind doing research on the Lankey bodies to determine the proper ammunition to bring to the party next time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    Amazing melody as always by BDW,. Obtain all BDW cds if you can, there all good. blah blah blah blah.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    I thought to myself. I have a three hour drive ahead of me and I wish something fresh to listen to. I saw this Album, "Fields of Grace ~ Huge Daddy Weave." I'm thinking to myself, who are they. I'll pick it up and if I don't like it I will return it.Well after the first few songs, I was hooked. Now, I'm trying to search more by eat Album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    I have fun listening to this effort, but it's not my favorite Huge Daddy Weave album. It deviates a small from their defined style, and not in a poor way, but it's just not my favorite because I prefer their style of going massive with instruments besides just guitars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    They really came into their best writing later on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    As a follow up to their 1st album "One and Only"I can only say that I feel Huge Daddy Weave left a lot of holes on "Fields of Grace". Gone are the soaring sax solos and even the mix has the sax in the background except for the final song. Maybe the mixers at the fresh label don't understand what a "lead solo" sax player is. Think of jazz and the groups of the 60's and 70's., soul and funk and the predominance of horns, not just as backups, but as much soloists as guitars and organs. Their 1st album nailed it. This album leaves them,without the sax-loaded songs and soloing,just another ordinary pop christian group.Even when riffing behind the vocals,the guitars and rhythm are louder than the ing back the horn-- you don't hear enough amazing sax players nowdays. They have one --- use him and mix him properly. Allow your group stand out from the others with its special horn-loaded sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    Husband read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    Fields of Fire, Marko Kloos. I can't praise Marko Kloos enough for this book. It is the best military science fiction work I have read this year. Kloos has written a compelling action packed battle story, with an anti battle message. The globe Kloos creates has depth. The two principle characters Grayson and Haley have a love story that seems true but is not perfect. The method Kloos interweaves the basic battle story and its effects on their relationship has the air of reality. The soldiers in this story take the time to reflect on what they doing. The readers see the horror of battle and no champion choices that are characteristic of conflict. Unlike other military science fiction novels Kloos does not over load his readers with military jargon without explaining what it means. Kloos' Frontlines series has five separate novels in it to date Each book can stand on its own yet each builds on the other. The characters both principle and secondary are written with a complexity that is unusual this type of literature. The one fault with this story and the series in general is the lack of sophistication of the alien Lankys. Aliens that are capable of building star spanning spaceships should have a better war plan than simply running and stomping on their enemies. In this story Kloos tips that the Lankys are adjusting to the method humanity fights. My question is do the humans search this odd? Also why are the Lankys not using hand held weapons or armor? I hope these questions will be addressed in future books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    The fifth book in the Frontlines series, Fields of Fire drops us immediately into Humanity's huge push to eradicate the Lanky threat at Earth's ch of the novel is spent in the build-up to assaulting Mars, the current stronghold of the alien Lankies within the solar system. Again Marko Kloos leans on his real-world combat experience to deliver a amazing novel that honestly only has a few Kloos once again expands the globe of Frontlines by bringing in fresh human factions, most notably the Eurocorps, the European Union's fighting force. Although little and previously unseen, Kloos manages to create this fresh faction interesting by showing their various route of approach to warfare as opposed to the North American Commonwealth and the SIno-Russian Alliance, the two biggest factions in the series. It is easily the highlight of the novel, seeing this fresh injection of tech and fighting blood as the clock ticks closer to zero hour for the assault on Mars. And some intriguing turn of happenings shed fresh light on the still highly alien Lankies, giving them slightly more depth as we start to see how their technology functions, and that they are more than just plodding proto-dinosaur aliens that simply charge blindly into the bullets of the main ever, as thrilling as the combat sequences are, I felt that Mr. Kloos spent far too much time focusing on areas that, while they forward the story, seem rather boring and somewhat clumsy. The sequence in Greenland, for example, very much comes off as an attempt to write horror and it stumbles more often than it succeeds. Another flaw is that Mr. Kloos increasingly over-sells the romantic sub-plot between the main hero and his wife Halley. There's one thrilling moment in the romantic plot, however, and I found that singular moment almost more enjoyable than the rest of the novel place together.Once again Mr. Kloos's characterizations and descriptions are massively improved over the first two novels of the series, but he drags his heels somewhat and there's more than a small filler before the main event. However when the War for Mars kicks off, it's hard to turn your eyes away. Mr. Kloos simply needs to work on refining the romantic sub-plot to being less tedious. Again and I mean no offense by it, the romance between Grayson and Halley just feels like a mirror or a podium that Mr. Kloos can climb up on and say how much he loves his actual wife. It just got beautiful l in all, another perfect read with a few flaws that keep what honestly feels like a series book-end back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    I’ve read most of Joel Salatin’s books and I always search creativity and enthusiasm within them. This book – Fields of Farmers – is no e primary premise of the book is for current farmers (or landowners) to begin considering how they can best attract younger people to take on the challenge of healing the land – and figuring out a method to create a amazing living doing it. Salatin spends the first half of the book focusing on the apprentice program he runs at Polyface Farm (in Swoope, Virginia) and the blessings (and occasional disasters) that occur when you turn over vital operations and duties to those who have few such experiences in their lives.But the end sum of Salatin’s book is to nudge the aging landholder (with sledge-like finesse) to think of creative ways to begin up opportunities to others, to broaden the revenue streams possible from a finite piece of land, and thereby begin an expanding operation that can grow according to the talents, inspirations hard work of all the people involved.If you’ve got an orchard, why not run chicken tractors under them, and begin a cider line? YOU don’t have to do it. Your fresh partner can. Salatin’s appeal is an exciting method to structure strategic planning, but it also opens the chance for unexpected opportunities as well.I want a million people would read this book; then if 10-percent of them place Salatin’s words into action, we’d see clusters of home farming operations that would turn the population declines of our rural neighborhoods around. And using Polyface, land-nurturing principles, the blessed ground would be all the better for it for the millennia to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    Joel's heart comes out in an unparalleled appeal for the young and old to lay aside their differences and collaborate towards equipping the next generation of farmers. Joel opens his own farm in a true vulnerable method that serves to drive the notice home. A must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    I thought quite highly of Marko Kloos "Frontlines" series, calling it the best of ground-based mil sci-fi. Somehow, the fifth book in the series raised the bar even further!. It's Earth versus the Lankies in Greenland and on Mars, so for setting alone it is worth reading. But it is not a homogenous "Terran" force but one created up of Americans like Lt. Grayson and his wife Halley and also Russians and a dozens of Europeans; Chinese are fighting the Lankies, too, but out of our sight. Their equipment is advanced but understandable, and Mr. Kloos stays very real to the limitations of the soldiers' arms and e large Lankies are some of the best and most "alien" foes in the genre. We never truly understand them, though the range of their capabilities become a bit more evident in this book. They have taken Mars, trapping our settlers in a number of huge bunkers while the Lanky ver of terraforming is done. Clearly, a Lanky presence there cannot be allowed to remain, so the stakes are never in doubt. The drop ships and SI troopers are needed, but the task is one that may be too ly, the writing is first rate and some of it, particularly at home in Liberty Falls, rises above the genre. A pleasure to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    I have just finished the 6th book in the series, so I'm just going to shortly review it as a whole. The writing is good, and I enjoyed the story, audible quality was also good. There is obvious that the writer has military experience, as the atmosphere he creates puts you directly there, on the , why I am giving only 4 stars, is because it always takes too long to obtain to the action, and from one point to another. There is too much descriptive content, and even if it gives you a better view of the globe around, I could easily do without maybe 30% of content. I would like to see a more quick paced content in the next iteration of the series, and also search out more about the aliens. There were years since the 1st contact, and still too small is being known about e series starts from the beginning of a military career and the main character goes slowly up the ladder. He's not your usual main hero around which the fate of the humanity revolves, but instead we're given the recount through the eyes of a survivor of certain key events, and this is a nice change. Oh and yea, the character always looses his rifle...This being said, I'm looking forward to the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    I absolutely love this album because it demonstrates a fresh revelation to much of the church today "grace" and it's real meaning. This group, unlike a lot of Christian groups (but more all the time), understand grace celebrate it in this album. Amazing group! The truth about grace has set me free, and when that happens you have to rejoice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    This album is unbelievable from begin to finish. When the track Fields of Grace plays my spirit dances! Amazing album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summary of Timothy Snyder's On Tyranny: Key Takeaways & ysis [Book]  2018-3-27 18:2

    SumoRead’s Summary of Timothy Snyder’s Tyranny: Key Takeaways and ysis is a brief look at a book that yzes the current state of American politics by comparing it to 20th century European history, showing how established democracies failed. This brief ysis takes Snyder’s book apart, chapter by chapter, showing how an unwary population, when manipulated by would-be tyrants, can become agents in the destruction of their own in details, this summary can be read in about ten minutes, and is a valuable resource for busy readers who’d like a peek at fresh books before making a full investment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summary of Timothy Snyder's On Tyranny: Key Takeaways & ysis [Book]  2018-3-27 18:2

    Must Read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Framing the West: The Survey Photographs of Timothy H. O'Sullivan []  2020-7-23 21:27

    O'Sullivan began his career as a photographer working under Matthew Brady during the Civil War, and created a lot of well know photographs of the carnage of that war, created on battlefields with a portable darkroom using the wet plate colloidal process. When he headed west only a few years later, those memories must have still been fresh, but his experience in working with a difficult process in the field must have been one reason he was selected for this work.His photographs were among the first created in the western landscape, but to my eyes, the photos printed in this book still appear to be among the best ever made. They are full of zone and light, carefully composed, and respectful to the locations they come is volume includes a lot of photos I have not seen published before, and should be in the library of any collector of photos of the western landscape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Framing the West: The Survey Photographs of Timothy H. O'Sullivan []  2020-7-23 21:27

    Gave it as a bonus and he loved it!!!! He reads it constantly and is fascinated with the method things were.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Transmigration of Timothy Archer (VALIS Trilogy Book 3) []  2020-7-25 18:54

    The weakest of the Valis trilogy this book is still a worthwhile read. It fleshes out @#$%'s thoughts on salvation, Christ, and the California University System.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Transmigration of Timothy Archer (VALIS Trilogy Book 3) []  2020-7-25 18:54

    Classic PKD, can't beat it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gods of Gotham (A Timothy Wilde Novel Book 1) []  2020-11-10 18:0

    Absolutely BRILLIANT historical fiction! WOW! Faye has and does it all: her language is fluid and melodious; her work's historical accuracy and her attention to detail are downright academic; the characters she creates are multi-dimensional and continue to grow throughout the novel; etc, e setting is early 19th century antebellum Fresh York City. I've read a bunch of scholarly studies on the era and region, and was absolutely blown-away by all the accurate info Faye managed to explore: women's entrance into the workforce (and piece-work, that kept a lot of off the roads but in constant poverty), racism and racial-based violence, political wars between the Democrats and the Whigs, 19th century medical practices, the formation of a police force and the conflict this caused, a lot more, and most of all, a quite believable portrait of what 19th century Fresh York was like to live in.I love, love, LOVE Fresh York. It is my soul-city. And I, as any reader probably, have often wondered what it would be like to have lived at some point past (or future?) - have been there, in fact, by reading. The Gods of Gotham is a complete immersion into a fully fleshed out, entirely plausible, compelling rendering of 19th century Fresh York City. And it's absolutely fascinating, especially if you love that time period or the City: there are the rural areas east of 5th Ave, there are people in the roads pumping water, there are firemen brigades which basically rule the town like mafiosos (until the police force steps in, tentatively, during this period).The novel is not perfect: it's definitely "genre" fiction - it follows all the plot rules, and Faye takes no creative license beyond her absolutely attractive use of language. But, this language is almost too poetic: it's a strange thing for me to say, because I value that above almost all else as I read, but at times it was hard to believe that all cops, madams, spinsters, dock-workers, etc, spoke in such exalted tongues. Also, the mystery itself is not the most compelling, and the ending, as these things tend to, tries to "twist" one too a lot of times, just for the sake of ill, highly enjoyed as a ticket to antebellum NYC!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gods of Gotham (A Timothy Wilde Novel Book 1) []  2020-11-10 18:0

    I love historical fiction that takes put in Fresh York City, so I was prepared to have fun The Gods of Gotham. This particular novel distinguishes itself from the pack, however, due to its compelling topic matter and interesting characters. Timothy Wilde, former bar tender turned 'copper star' in the city's brand fresh police department, is a unbelievable character. Not too good, nor too bad; just a regular guy who is trying to create his method in a globe that seems beautiful tough by today's standards, but which was a huge step up for the thousands of Irish who were flooding into Fresh York half-starved by the potato famine.Wilde is trying to search a serial assassin and as he does so the reader comes to understand that Wilde is creating a fresh vocation, that of crime detective. At the novel's end, the head of the police department tells Wilde that, unlike the other copper stars who prevent crime, Wilds's job henceforth will be to solve crimes that have already been committed. The info that are described about how the town police were conceived, funded and staffed are fascinating, particularly because this is the kind of topic that one doesn't realize you are interested in until you explore it inside a book such as addition to the clashes between the so-called "Natives" (which does not refer to the real Native Americans, but to those of European heritage who were born in the US) and the immigrants (mostly Irish), there is deep animosity between the Protestant power-elite and the Catholic Church, which is regularly slandered and sabotaged throughout the novel. This potent mix of national and religious zealotry keeps the notorious Five Points neighborhood, where Wilde's police beat lies, in a perpetual state of chaos. And this setting gives author Lyndsay Faye plenty of room to write characters and situations that are hair-raising, heart-breaking and hilarious by turns.Of course, The Gods of Gotham is reminiscent of the amazing Martin Scorsese film, Gangs of Fresh York, but it is not duplicative, so if you appreciated that film, you will like this novel. And along related lines, there is a TV series from BBC-America that I am currently hooked on called 'Copper,' which is also about a policeman in the Five Points, although Copper takes put about 20 years after The Gods of Gotham, when the force is well established and the Civil Battle is raging. I recommend all three of these -- the film, the novel and the tv series -- for anyone who enjoys lively history and amazing entertainment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gods of Gotham (A Timothy Wilde Novel Book 1) []  2020-11-10 18:0

    Well-researched history of Fresh York circa 1845, immersing the reader in the colors and flavors and "feel" of Fresh York Town during the amazing Irish Immigration; the formation of the Fresh York Police Department, whose officers sported a copper star; and the developing Fire Department, who faced frequent large disaster with small but its own bravado. We follow Timothy Wilder and his brother, Valentine, who were orphaned at a young age, as they struggle to survive and achieve in their American world. Valentine, the older brother, kept a watch out for Tim and later navigated him when he was a grown man through the raw and ugly globe of politics in newly burgeoning Fresh York York was overwhelmed with the thousands of immigrants, poor, hungry, and desperate for any kind of work. Social injustice was rampant. Crime was unchecked. Through Valentine, a fireman and a prime mover in the political machinations of the day, Tim finds himself on the newly formed police force, wearing the copper star. The book begins with his description of of a crime for which he must write a report. The report will state facts only, but we, the readers, will obtain the whole e English language, always rich, coming from the pen of Lindsay Faye is richer still. It has a slightly various sound and quality. It is crisper; cleaner; so beautiful. She is an exceptional writer. I will definitely read her other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gods of Gotham (A Timothy Wilde Novel Book 1) []  2020-11-10 18:0

    While the mystery plot is interesting and twisty, just as intriguing is the look into the past in which so a lot of of the issues show nearly 175 years ago are still prevalent today. Faye's language and atmospheric creation of 1845 Fresh York immerses the reader in an environment that feels genuine. I will be reading more in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Framing the West: The Survey Photographs of Timothy H. O'Sullivan []  2020-7-23 21:27

    My issue with this book is simply in the presentation of the images. I grant that the tonality of the plates in this book may be technically correct based on their source. If that is the case, then this is my problem. Nevertheless, I am unable to have fun this book because the glossy quality of the photos in combination with the nasty yellow wash in nearly every photo create them unpleasant to look at. More in line with my tastes is the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art King Survey book by Keith Davis that was published a year after this one. It is a attractive book from cover to cover, and presents a lot of of the same photos in a far more subtle form. Right now it will cost you twice as much as this book, but it is worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Transmigration of Timothy Archer (VALIS Trilogy Book 3) []  2020-7-25 18:54

    Definitely a Top-5 PKD story. The master of consensus reality strikes again. Echoes, or is echoed by, Sheldon Kopp's If You Meet the Buddha on the Road, Slay Him.Just come for the sandwiches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summary of Timothy Snyder's On Tyranny: Key Takeaways & ysis [Book]  2018-3-27 18:2

    Perhaps we could all use the reminders, that are laid out here so clearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summary of Timothy Snyder's On Tyranny: Key Takeaways & ysis [Book]  2018-3-27 18:2

    Amazing for some to have this ver - thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Framing the West: The Survey Photographs of Timothy H. O'Sullivan []  2020-7-23 21:27

    My favorite book of old west photos. An absolute gem to have and read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Transmigration of Timothy Archer (VALIS Trilogy Book 3) []  2020-7-25 18:54

    in Berkeley California, where Philip K @#$% came into his formative years, and where I went to school decades later , 'Do you like ?' was, in some circles, a conversation opener, (or a crude pick up line). and I have always been a small underwhelmed by his work - too much telepathy, obsession with schizophrenia, and induced alternate realities and histories - seemed besides the point, even if I have had to review blue books, scrawled with gibberish after the student's acid raves with bongs all over the hardwood floors, or come down to breakfast tables where broken mirrors lay with white powder traces still left over. So 'Transmigration' was completely different, and completely satisfying - here PKD completes his spiritual journey, and is able to tie all his realizations about the meaning of life into a human, moving story, and without all the silly crutches of , madness and nonsense of telepathic visions. It probably also helps that each novel, like an old wine, must be imbibed at the right time, the right age between writer and reader. Philip K wrote this, his latest novel, at just a few years older than my age when I am reading it, so perhaps I am able to appreciate its value, its vision all the more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Transmigration of Timothy Archer (VALIS Trilogy Book 3) []  2020-7-25 18:54

    The VALIS trilogy, of which this book is the "conclusion", is definitely one of my favorites, because the author, PKD, introduces such mind-bending concepts. If you have read the previous two books in this trilogy, you would already be expecting to go through half of the book without any obvious connection to the other two, and this book is no exception. It is very strange, and very interesting. It is classic Philip K. @#$%. Each book stands well alone, but I would recommend all three of them. Valis and The Divine Invasion: A Novel are the other two books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gods of Gotham (A Timothy Wilde Novel Book 1) []  2020-11-10 18:0

    I have a tall stack of to-be-reads, but the opening chapter of Gods of Gotham was so riveting that it moved to the top of the stack and stayed there until the very end. Lyndsay Faye is a true artist with words. She takes you to 1845 Fresh York Town and immerses you so deeply that you can smell the smoke of the fire that changes it e fire -- it devastated Timothy Wilde's life: it took his job, his home, even the silver coins hidden in his mattress melted. The coins that were to enable him to propose to Mercy Underhill -- all gone. He is offered a job with the newly forming NY Police Department, and the skills of observation that entertained him as a bartender create him an asset among the "copper stars" as he is plunged into the Irish underworld, and the plight of the youngest and most helpless of its e author has really done her research. One of her characters is the real-life head of the police department who compiled a lexicon of the slang of the streets, called "flash". By the time you are finished with Gods of Gotham, you'll know what a kinchen-mab is, and why they'll break your heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gods of Gotham (A Timothy Wilde Novel Book 1) []  2020-11-10 18:0

    Beautifully written, a riveting tale of the first police force in NYC, fires, murders, the lives of immigrants mixing with the suspicion of native Fresh Yorkers, all come together to make a masterpiece. I loved it! I immediately ordered the second book, then the third in this trilogy. Timothy Wilde is a flawed but excellent protagonist for those in his life who need him, even if they don't know it. A amazing character, and I hope the author continues his story past the third book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summary of Timothy Snyder's On Tyranny: Key Takeaways & ysis [Book]  2018-3-27 18:2

    A amazing recap of Timothy Snyders book "On Tyranny". Read this summary on "On Tyranny" if unable to read the original because of time restraints, it will be an eye opener, few pages can create the major points clear to us as this summary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summary of Timothy Snyder's On Tyranny: Key Takeaways & ysis [Book]  2018-3-27 18:2

    Just read On Tyranny. It is a fast read as it is. Costs less than this summary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Framing the West: The Survey Photographs of Timothy H. O'Sullivan []  2020-7-23 21:27

    For anyone interested in the Survey photography of Timothy H. O'Sullivan - this is a clearly written, well-researched book. The first in-depth publication on O'Sullivan in nearly 30 years; an perfect complimentary companion to earlier publications like James Horan's (1966) "Timothy O'Sullivan: America's Forgotten Photographer ", Joel Snyder (1981) "American Frontiers - the Photographs of Timothy H. O'Sullivan, 1867 - 1874" and Rick Dingus (1982) " The Photographic Artifacts of Timothy O'Sullivan". For those looking specifically for material on O'Sullivan's Survey stereoviews - there is no better e book includes three essays 1) Framing the West: The Survey photographs of Timothy H. O'Sullivan - by Toby Juroviscs; 2) Through Magic Lenses: Timothy H. O'Sullivan's Stereographs from the King and Wheeler Surveys - by Carol M. Johnson and "Photographing under Difficulties": Andrew Russell's Photographs for the King Survey - by Glenn Willumson. Also included is an excellent, very through, well doented chronology of O'Sullivan by William F. Stapp. It also includes a section of 98 of O'Sullivan's full plate photographs from both the King and Wheeler surveys. A lot of other illustrations and reproductions of O'Sullivan's work are portrayed throughout the book. Carol Johnson has reproduced 13 of his stereoviews, most reproduced full size, from both the King and Wheeler surveysJuroviscs' essay is a well-researched scholarly portrayal of O'Sullivan. He touches on O'Sullivan's early Civil Battle work, discusses different aspects of King's "Survey of the Fortieth Parallel" and the survey's relation to some of its predecessors - by Fremont, Bonneville and others. For those not familiar with the wet-plate image process used by O'Sullivan, he presents a brief outline. His main focus, however, is on O'Sullivan's photography and how he uses his camera; how O'Sullivan's specific placement of the camera to contain or exclude certain features or to alter the line of the horizon manipulates the notice being presented by the photograph. He describes how O'Sullivan excelled in photographing emptiness - the begin vastness of The Amazing Basin. Also, how his methods and style differed from some of his contemporaries - W. H. Jackson, C. E. Watkins, A. J. Russell, first reaction to Glenn Willumson's essay on the photographs taken on the King survey by A. J. Russell - was why inset Russell into a book subtitled "The Survey Photographs of Timothy H. O'Sullivan"? After reading it I believe it is an essential element of this book. Russell, the official photographer for the Union Pacific Railroad joined the King Survey in late July 1869 and was with the survey for about three weeks. A lot of of the photographs that are part of the King survey in the Unita Mountains of Utah, that for a lot of years were attributed to O'Sullivan, research now indicates were in fact produced by A. J. a connoisseur and collector of post Civil Battle Survey stereoviews, the basic focus of my review here is the book's second essay "Through Magic Lenses: Timothy H. O'Sullivan's Stereographs from the King and Wheeler Surveys". While a few perfect assessments of O'Sullivan's photographic work on the Western Surveys have been produced, no one until now has focused directly on his stereographs. Carol M. Johnson, curator of 19th century American photography at the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress, has written a long over-due acc of Timothy O'Sullivan's stereographs of the King and Wheeler surveys. She presents a broad overview of them, from their creation in the field to a history of their publication and their final e writes, "Scholars often dismiss stereographs as gimmicky..."in doing so they ignore the necessary role they played in American culture throughout the latest half of the 19th and early part of the 20th century. Here she makes a resolute effort to rectify that situation by producing a well-researched scholarly study of the stereographs of Timothy O'r the reader not familiar with the stereograph she has a brief introduction explaining them as well as a few words about their history and an illustration showing a stereoscope in e presents a brief sketch of camp life and general living conditions while working in the field on these government surveys. Like Jurovics she touches on O'Sullivan's early career, then on to his survey work but unlike Jurovics, she locations her main emphasis on his stereographs. She discusses the various manner in which O'Sullivan approached his topic depending on whether he was working with a full plate view camera or a stereo camera. She also discusses how O'Sullivan's work with the King Survey differed from that of the Wheeler Expedition. Clarence King, a geologist, led a more scientifically oriented survey and was primarily interested in the study and mapping of the region's geology. Wheeler, an troops lieutenant and engineer, had a much more military and political train of thought than King. Therefore, the type, and ultimately the use, of the photographs differed between the two surveys. She writes "Unlike the stereographs O'Sullivan created for the King survey, his Wheeler survey stereographs provide a visual narrative of the expedition rather than doenting specific landscape features encountered along the team's route. His picturesque views of Black Canyon show an almost day-by-day acc of their journey."From the onset and throughout the survey years Clarence King did not aggressively pursue publishing or exhibiting survey photography. His basic use of it was to illustrate his official reports. King did have O'Sullivan prepare survey photos for the 1873 Vienna Expo and the 1876 Centennial Exposition at Philadelphia but, overall King survey images never saw the production that Wheeler's did. She writes "there is no evidence to suggest that the King survey stereographs were ever offered for sale to the public." She also states "Although the King survey stereos are exceedingly rare today - and were never produced in amazing numbers - stereographs from the Wheeler expedition were published in multiple editions in the 1870s and survive in a lot of archives and personal collections. George Wheeler himself persistently urged the government to distribute photographs created during his expedition." Despite the extreme rarity of the King stereographs she has managed to locate and catalog well over 100 of them in Appendix 1. She has also reproduced a few photos of them in her essay and appendix e book includes a set of seven appendixes which catalog all known stereographs of the King and Wheeler surveys. Appendix 1 catalogs all known stereographs mounted on official "Explorations of the 40th Parallel" mounts; they are numbered from 1 through 233 with several gaps. Appendix 2 through 7 catalogs six various series issued by Wheeler.Just a note of interest, the King survey stereograph series is not chronologically arranged in the manner of the multiple series issued by Wheeler. King conducted surveys in 1867, `68, `69 and `72; the series includes stereographs from all four years. The first numbers in the King series are from the 1872 survey, and the series ends with stereographs taken by A.J. Russell in the Unita Mountains in 1869. Also, for those not completely familiar with the chronology and schedule of these surveys, Timothy O'Sullivan was the official photographer for King during all four years (1867,'68,'69 & `72). Wheeler employed a photographer on four of his surveys (1871,'72,'73 & '74); O'Sullivan was with Wheeler in 1871, 1873 and 1874. William Bell replaced O'Sullivan on Wheeler's 1872 expedition. Appendixes 2 through 7 catalog all of the Wheeler stereographs. Although none of the book's essays detail info on Bell, to create the Wheeler series complete, all stereographs by Bell during the 1872 season are cataloged in the appendixes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Framing the West: The Survey Photographs of Timothy H. O'Sullivan []  2020-7-23 21:27

    This book provides a amazing overview of the photographer's work. It has more text and less photography than I was hoping to find, and some images appear several times. For example, the cover stage appears multiple times in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Framing the West: The Survey Photographs of Timothy H. O'Sullivan []  2020-7-23 21:27

    The book is a amazing acc of the trips, some of the other players in the surveys, and O'Sullivan's role in the surveys. I appreciated the back-story regarding his role in choosing what photographs were made, and the vantage for them. Also, the dialogue regarding his contribution; whether as a technical camera operator or as a photographic artist on a geographic survey. I would recommend the book to someone interested in the history of both the US and of photography.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386