Read fire in the hole reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all fire in the hole reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Feels amazing man I can fit it in the hole every time. I have fun fitting it in the hole so much I have to come back for more. Every day I plunge into it with shuttering excitement. It feels so amazing I think I might begin committing and putting my cash down to present everyone how serious I am about fitting it in that hole.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    There are quite a few ads so if you wish to download it be prepared for an ad to pop up. I search this such a amazing game. Every time I fail I'm always going god dammit and that is the kind of android game I'm looking for. Be prepared to be challenged. Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Fun and Addicting. I love this app. The only thing that could create it better is either more block designs or more objects or stuff to spend the diamonds on. I have unlocked all the designs and would love to have some more incentive to hold playing and collecting diamonds. Other than that, amazing game!

    0  


    Add your opinion on fire in the hole or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    I think this android game is awesome and I think that the people who have 1⭐ratings​ are rood and disrespectful there just saying that the people hwo created did allthis time and cash for your intentions​ for nothing that's just cold. That's why I give this a five⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ rateing but it is

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    It's amazing and all but the ads are just to much one came in when I was at 124,076 i was so angry D: On the plus side, best android game I ever played 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    KETCHAPP NEVER FAILS ! just when you think you played every android game and seen every time waster, the gang at Ketchapp deliver another instant classic that will hold you from falling asleep at work !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hole in the Wall []  2020-6-24 19:53

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep in the Hole []  2020-9-22 21:55

    I missed this when it first came out but just recently got it. This is one amazing release from Masters of Reality. Just about as amazing as Sunrise! High Noon Amsterdam is one absolute assassin of a song! Still hard to believe this band goes so unknown. It sure is amazing discovering classics like this that I missed originally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep in the Hole []  2020-9-22 21:55

    Amazing CD, in new, excellent shape, promptly delivered, performs quite well. A very reasonable price for an perfect piece of desert rock.Who could ask for more?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep in the Hole []  2020-9-22 21:55

    Masters Of Reality have done it again.I found this CD in the record and my expectations and hopes immediately jumped through the roof, partly because I got "caught in bed", so to speak, by its release. I didn't see it coming. Guess I hadn't done my homework all that well at the time... Another reason for my excitement was that I was kinda disappointed with "Western...". It didn't quite give me the shakes I'd hoped it would. It was too... weird, even for a Masters album. I may be wrong, folks, so don't grab your tomahawks just yet. I'll just have to give it another shot, I ck to Deep In The Hole. Is it a amazing album? Is it worth caughing up your hard-earned bucks for? In my opinion, YES!!! Man, this is probably some of the best alternative/stoner rock I've heard in some time!Well produced, and with a very cool and rocky sound, the album sets off with "Third Man On The Moon", an instant favorite. "A Want For A Fish" is also great, but may take some time to digest/appreciate. "Counting Horses", on the other hand, hits you instantly. What a amazing slow-tempo piece of rock! Beautifully melodic. "Major Lance" may at first listen seem absurd, but now I wouldn't wish to miss it. Next, "Scatagoria-High Noon Amsterdam-Corpus Scorpios Electrified". This is probably the part of the record that I listen to the most. This surely is the "High Noon" of the record, the best songs IMHO. Especially "Corpus.." with its doomy riffing and lyrics. "Deep In The Hole" has a amazing back-beat, it takes a while to obtain the rhythm right. When you do, it sticks! "Roof Of The Shed" is a relatively easy tune, but nevertheless impressive. And as the latest track "Shotgun Son" wraps the record up beautiful good. An perfect rocky tune with some amazing guitar work and catchy e only issue I have with this album is that you can quite easily create out the openess that Chris and John have towards the use of . I think honesty is great, but because I'm not at all into I search some parts, especially "High Noon...", ... well, disturbing. Which is ironic, because that song is one of the highlights on the record!!Well, I'm not going to dig any deeper into that. Instead, allow me finish up by saying that this is a amazing alternative rock record and if you haven't experienced MOR before, here's your chance!Don't miss it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Amazing Game... Could use the gems to but various coulers... Maybe the use of a mode called Madness should come out. BASICALLY IT GOES SUPER FAST. THAT'D BE FUN. all together amazing android game 😀 weldone Vøødøø.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    I LOVE THIS GAME. It feels so amazing to obtain a fresh high score every so often. This android game is really addictive too. The only issue is the adds, there is not too much they're just annoying. GOOD JOB😄🌺🌼🐇😉🍪😍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    I absolutely love the game. It's really simple to obtain used to and is very addictive. The only complain that I have is that the song is always the same. If there is a method to change it then I don't know about it. Still 5 stars though :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    I think this android game was really poor it didn't give u enough time to place the squares where u required to place the squares and the controls were really bad. I would definitely not recommend this game☹👎👎👎👎

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT I BEATED 18 TO 36 YEAAAS! DOWNLOAD IT BECAUSE ITS AWESOME THIS IS MY HEAVEN BTW I AM A YOUTUBER SO ITS CALLED CLAWDEEN ME 20 SO ME THINGS VIDS BRA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    The wall goes WAY too fast, too a lot of advertisements and you cant really tell if where you have to go, for example you have a 3 block structure and you have to climb it to survive but you message that at the latest second, from the camera's perspective, the hole looks the same size as the structure, therefore you think it's so, frequently, when I tap/hold left or right, it goes in the wrong direction. TERRIBLE game, not a stress reliever at all, as I hoped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Every time I tried to begin it the android game crashed. Please fix this so I can play. Could have been a amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Really disappointed. I installed this application thinking that it would be fun but whenever i begin it, there is just a static screen and it happens with any ketchapp app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hole in the Wall []  2020-6-24 19:53

    I bought this cd for a elderly person they play it so much it should be call keep in the cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hole in the Wall []  2020-6-24 19:53

    I love this song and having a remix ver gets it out of my listening system all at once. It is a method to hand dance with your favorite partner while chill'n at the crib.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep in the Hole []  2020-9-22 21:55

    I Love this band! This is an awesome album. An absolute must have for fans of A massive sound(think Queens Of The Stone Age). A real gem. Heavy, rich and eclectic. Lots of amazing guests. Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep in the Hole []  2020-9-22 21:55

    Went thru a 4" limb with no problem. Light weight, simple to use. Amazing around the yard and I will also take it camping. Thanks for a amazing product. I recommend the Eversaw 8.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep in the Hole []  2020-9-22 21:55

    The recent release from the Masters (comprised solely of Chris Goss and whoever he feels like playing with at the moment) is much better than Welcome to the Western Lodge (thanks to Josh Homme and Nick Oliveri from Qotsa), but it still seems to be missing the magic that The Blue Garden and Sunrise on the Sufferbus became so popular n't obtain me wrong, this disc is incredible, and it totally surpassed my expectations. Thankfully, the sound on this album is more robust than Welcome to the Western Lodge, because Goss called in the assistance of Homme and Oliveri. However, as a result, the album sounds more like the Queens than it does the Masters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ball In The Hole [App]  2019-7-19 13:32

    amazing android game for time passing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Fun and addictive Lots of "can't stop" fun but sometimes I press to turn the shape and the application doesn't answer quick enough or not even at all therefore, leaving me to unfairly fail. This happens minimal so the application is still worth downloading. The resembles tetris with fitting the shapes as quick as you can.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Obtain it! This application is awesome and so addicting! I've had so much fun playing it and the android game has some challenges that create it hard at the same time. Test and beat my score once you obtain it. My score- 39 , My rating is a 9 out of 10. Have fun playing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Since most of the android games in my phone are ketchapp games, I thought this would be a amazing android game for me to download. The graphics aren't that good, in my opinion. The video test is really amazing and challenging. Also, you guys should come up with more android game modes. I can't think of a amazing idea in mind though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Can't earn gold? My gold is stuck at 1 and I never see any gold to earn while playing either in rotate or roll mode. Every now and then I obtain the possibility to watch an ad for gold (like 20 I think) but it never appears either! Major bummer! I love the Ketchap android games and have a lot of them and I've always loved that you have to earn the "gold" (or whatever the in-game currency is) and you can't buy it. First Ketchap android game Ive had this problem with! Anyone else having this problem?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    You have to be kidding me. The walls come up so quick I don't even have time to look at the hole and then at the cube, much less figure it which method to tap. Forget it. There are method more fun android games out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Super fun and addictive I love it so much, I can't stop playing it! It is super fun and I play it all the time, it is a amazing android game to play if you're bored and it is awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Fun, but it gets boring after awhilex especially the mountain of ads every 10 seconds a ad appears, and to obtain no ads, 2 DOLLARS?!?!? thats crazy, i say u download it and see if it satisfys you, its just not my thing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    The android game goes too fast, it doesn't explain how to play, it doesn't give you enough time to figure out what to do, this the worst android game I've ever played and it had the worst controls ever, and there are so a lot of ads that you only spend like 2 mins playing the actual android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ace in the Hole []  2020-1-23 3:27

    I bought this CD as a present, and they absolutely loved it! This was a hard CD to find. I looked everywhere, but no one had it but Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hole in the Wall []  2020-6-24 19:53

    I'V HEARD THIS SONG B-4, I LIKE IT B 4 AN I LIKE IT EVEN MORE NOW

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hole in the Wall []  2020-6-24 19:53

    She loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hole in the Wall []  2020-6-24 19:53

    Quality product and shipped on time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep in the Hole []  2020-9-22 21:55

    If Pink Floyd, King Crimson, The Beatles, & Queens of the Stone Age had an and all were in on the making of a baby - this album would be the baby. Masterful engineering: inspired performance; interesting, but weird, lyrics; this album will scar you for life. I am waaaay late in discovering this band and this album. I have acquired all their albums except "Barabbas" just since Christmas '08, and I can't say enough for the inventiveness of this band (basically, Chris Goss & sidemen of choice, depending on the album.)This album is absolutely the pinnacle for them. It is definately an addicting if you give it the chance. Rumour has it, Masters has a fresh album due in March '09 and I cannot wait. Buy this album - never mind the price - but only if you are a fan of GREAT music. You won't be sorry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep in the Hole []  2020-9-22 21:55

    Here's the track listing for 'deep in a hole', track 1 third man on the moon 2 a want for a fish 3 counting horses 4 major lance 5 scatagoria 6 high noon amsterdam 7 corpus scorpios electrified 8 deep in a hole 9 roof of the shed 10 shotgun son A more consistant and enjoyable set of track's than the patchy but excellant 'welcome to the western lodge', chris goss and co really rock you to bits on 'high noon amsterdam' , 'corpus scorpios electrified' and the first track 'third man on the moon', both the title track and 'roof of the shed' sound like a modern day DOORS complete with the lizard king l in all another brillant mor album that will be bought, but only by a few bright rock melody fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep in the Hole []  2020-9-22 21:55

    Masters of reality have walked a long way, several changes of lineup from a six members band to a quartet to a duet and a huge list of collaborations, Tag Lanegan, Josh Homme, Nick Ollivieri, even ex-Cream Ginger Baker on drums, this deliver "Deep In The Hole" explores the stoner,progresive and alternative rock fields its also perhaps the release with more classic cuts such as "third man on the moon", "Deep in the hole" , "High Noon Amsterdam" and my fresh fave "wish for a fish" the most i search interesting with MOR is that combination of heavy/soft riffs and soft vocals and interesting kinda intellectual and poetic lyrics, the formula maybe is not special but in this sea of repetitive pop proposals were musical explorations are zero and appealing is based on the performers and not focused on the melody is one of the few very few options you can search to listen something with enough quality to be consider a high profile

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hole in the Wall []  2020-6-24 19:53

    Lol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hole in the Wall []  2020-6-24 19:53

    Loved it when I first heard it. The remixes are alright, but the original is still a amazing sounding R&B song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Method too fast. Come on now, surely you should be able as a company this huge to have primary knowledge of time and skill. It's only like 2 seconds between each wall passes. I don't have time to look at the cut-out on the wall, look back and test to roll it. Please slow down the speed of the walls! It's so annoying! If this doesn't happens in the next modernize I am for sure to delete this. FIX IT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Addictive, but... This android game is beautiful cool...I mean very addictive and never fails to hold me interested...but, there are lots of adds and sometimes it glitches. Otherwise, i love this game. However, it doesn't surprise me (both ends of it) since ketchapp android games are amazing but of course they aren't excellent .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Meh Got a bit bored of it like my girl mate got bored of me. BABE IF YOUR SEEING THIS RESPOND TO MY TEXTS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Amazing android game Ketchapp! I am completely addicted. I would give it five stars, but sometimes I accidentaly click an ad and it takes me to Google play thinking I wish to download it. Other than that, one of my favourite games!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    So.. it makes absolutely NO SENSE AT ALL!! It's forcing me to go right.. I can only go through the hole if it's right!! And how do we go up? If I spawn up, that's the only zone I can go up! Makes no sense at all. Besides, there are dozens of ads! I would not recommend downloading..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    The part were u can buy various skins are a bit poor cos there horrible colors and could add a design your own color thing for a surtan amount of coins.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Stars It is nearly impossible to collect stars and create the shapes in The short amount of time it gives you. It takes forever to obtain 100 only getting 1 every few shapes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    It keeps glitching! Plz search the solution to this and I will rate 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Y do all this creators android games sound negative:fit it in the proper position to fit it in the whole, and ball??? I just don't understand. Nice android game over all

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    It is fun This android game is so fun and it kills a lot of time. In my eyes this is fun and educational it is educational because you learn how to fit in a hole and besides, it does not cheat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ball in the hole [App]  2019-2-10 21:24

    Exciting Buca game! Fantastic! Enjoying playing hypercasual game. It is quick and has the fireball which makes it more interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    The people who say this android game lags to much it's actually just there device. 95.5% of these people thing it doesn't lag at all. To be honest you should look at other comments and see if they are having lagging issues, so please don't go saying there is a large lag problem. Also the android game controls are fine it's just you who is poor at controlling it. And the graphics are perfectly normal it's your device. So don't go saying these things suck. Yes I do agree there is a small to a lot of ads but that's because people wish to create cash from the ad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    It is method too fast, laggy, and literally broke the android game after my first try. I have plenty of zone and memory, and a strong phone, so why does it lag so much? When I say broke, I mean broke. It stopped and nothing came my way, and I couldn't move, or obtain on the main menu. I don't recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    This android game is [email protected]#$%!&'s method to quick and i cant understand the controls this android game is stupid. Dont download it if you have anxiety like me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    This android game can sometimes give a nerve to throw ur phone and break it. But once u begin to play...ur like ...no way. This is better than any other game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Amazing Time Killer😃..Its really amazing because there's no ads to ruin your game...At the first time you play, Its a small bit hard..But when you obtain used to it, it gets a lot easier..Thanks Ketchapp for making amazing games..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    The Best Android game Ever This Android game Is Awesome I Created It To The Gift Round I'm Giving It A Rate Of Five People Who Love Bottle Flipping Download This Android game There's No Lags There's No Android game Crashing There's No Glitches If You Haven't Got It Aready You Have To Obtain This

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    Its really hard to obtain in the right put in time. Maybe I'm just not good but my high score is like two and I think its almost impossible for me to obtain farther.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fit In The Hole [App]  2019-2-4 13:51

    5 stars if you fix the android game of looping an unfinished classic song right when it gets to Best part then you chop it off and loop it again it's really annoying that you didn't place the whole song in and especially chop it right at the best part....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hole in the Wall []  2020-6-24 19:53

    I love keep in wall, I play it over and over

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hole in the Wall []  2020-6-24 19:53

    CD is quite the guiggle

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep in the Hole []  2020-9-22 21:55

    First--I love this CD. I've been into this band since the original release of the self-titled "Masters Of Reality" (1988)...the album everyone calls "The Blue Garden" (front cover artwork). I got the CD as a bonus from mom--I told her to buy me "Master of Reality" (by Black Sabbath)...I got this instead. I was pleasantly surprised!It should be no surprise that this CD sounds a bit various than each of it's predescessors. I'm botherred that other reviewers balk at newer MOR, saying it's not real to it's roots like the self-titled album or "Surferbus." Well, guess what? Chris Goss is a producer first and foremost, and he mixes it up on each CD, introducing us to up-and-coming artists (Scott Wieland, Tim Harrington) and old-school & show rockers (Ginger Baker, Josh Homme, Nick Oliveri). He's done this on every CD! "the Blue Garden" was old-school because of Rick Rubin's forceful production style (look what he did to the B-Boys' "Licensed to Ill" and the Cult's "Electric"). "Surferbus" was so "old-school" because Ginger Baker was in the band--he's a high school band director in Miami, now, and he's an perfect song writer...he goes beyond the drum kit. Chris Goss, like Steve Albini, allows his guests to shine through on the CD's they appear on. The two are very similar, although their melody sounds very different. Both are producers first.Every track on this CD rocks...simply put. There's an old-school rock feel to it, but it's totally 90's. Honestly, this CD sounds like it's a few years late...it's got a mid- to late- nineties feel to it. Because every songs is catchy and well-crafted, I gave it a 5. Stop comparing 2001's melody to 1988's. Of Course this is various than "Surferbus"...they were written a decade apart. This band has aged wonderfully, hitting on all cylinders with this release.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hole in the Wind []  2020-9-23 20:33

    Goodrich's journey is interesting and inspiring for mature bicycle enthusiasts. It gives small fresh insight into climate change, but with every discussion and concern the topic comes to the fore of awareness, lest we become complacent. A read worth one's time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hole in the Wind []  2020-9-23 20:33

    A fabulous book! Written in spare and elegant prose, this thoughtful story brings the reader along on the journey of a lifetime as the author (a retired climate scientist) pedals his method from sea-to-shining-sea, starting at Maryland’s Eastern Shore and riding all the method to the Pacific coast of Oregon.On the face of it, the ride is about observing our changing globe in an era when rising temperatures are transforming the face of the land and the sea, and challenging our every notion of what the future holds for our communities and our planet. Beneath, however, is the tale of a humble man who through endless tenacity and a well of patience struggles through rain and cold and heat and fierce winds, minutely observing all that he sees to bring us an up close and private view of the state of our world. Along the way, he gathers what he calls “land stories”—some poignant, some uplifting, some deeply worrying—but all remarkable for what they teach us about our fellow citizens, our shared history, and this global ecosystem which must be protected if it is to sustain generations yet to e book is full of meticulously researched scientific information, wry observations, witty insights, and just enough daring-do to hold a reader turning the page. I felt like I was along for the ride, soaking up from the comfort of my armchair the feel of the Chesapeake Bay in winter, the thigh-burning inclines of the Alleghenies, heart-pumping encounters with unpredictable canines, and glorious views of hills and plains and barrier is book is a must-read for anyone who wants to obtain past the rhetoric of the global climate change “debate” to understand at the county, community, or even individual level what global warming means for health and livelihoods and environmental preservation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hole in the Wind []  2020-9-23 20:33

    How often does a science-oriented book hold a non-scientist interested? This is the first one I can remember. David Goodrich tells an entertaining story of his bike ride across the USA and introduces us to the characters and locations he finds as he goes. We feel as if we are biking at his side. At the same time, we are learning a amazing deal about climate science without even realizing we are doing so. Thoughtful but humorous and wise, this is a book that everyone should read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hole in the Wind []  2020-9-23 20:33

    Obtain read for a huge sprawling ride covering geography, science, history, and bicycling -- all delivered with humor and grace. The feat of biking across the country is impressive, but doing it as a car for explaining the science and impact of global warming is a true treat. So a lot of fun stories, and so much history as well. Travels With Charley and Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance may have a fresh classic joining them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hole in the Wind []  2020-9-23 20:33

    I am thoroughly enjoying this book. This is such a tough topic and David Goodrich handles it anks David for visiting Reston, Va for the Amazing Decisions panel. The Q&A was very thought provoking and insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hole in the Wind []  2020-9-23 20:33

    A truly required book, especially in these scary political times. Goodrich is a well-respected scientist in the climate change field but this book isn't overloaded with technical science. Instead, it's more about how people around the USA are experiencing climate change. A must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hole in the Wind []  2020-9-23 20:33

    Lot of "white space", paragraphs to create book read. A LOT more interesting than the title makes it sound, with intriguing stories of local towns, locations that the author describes. NOTE that I did skim the first chapters of "background" and skip to the more detailed chapters. When I came back to the book's start, the background was more interesting! Title phrase's inspiration is really cool, too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hole in the Wind []  2020-9-23 20:33

    You can learn a lot about the obvious signs of climate change while enjoying the trials, tribulations and joys of long distance bicycle travel. Dave is a amazing writer, that, as mentioned above, results in painless explanations for a complicated issue!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hole in ONE App [App]  2019-5-16 13:44

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hole in the Wind []  2020-9-23 20:33

    Loved reading about the adventure, people encountered, geography and history. Good, simple read. Highly recommend. Purchased a second copy as a bonus for a mate who also enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hole in the Wind []  2020-9-23 20:33

    Weird. I have no interest in leaving a review, but when I finished this book, it would not allow me off this page without leaving a review. So this is it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Sea []  2020-2-11 18:50

    I really enjoyed this book - one of those reads that you just wish to hold reading as its addictive. I particularly liked the characters who were simple to relate to, and the light humour incorporated into parts of the med at the teen market, definitely still enjoyable as a adult (I'm early 30's at time of review). A bit of mythology, a bit of a Doctor Who undertone, and a bit of sci-fi. I'm looking forward to when the sequel is r a list of reviews you can go to the author's blog via the web address below.[...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Head []  2020-7-20 19:45

    Some bands are better in the studio, and some are better live. Emerald Rose is amazing either way, but they shine their brightest when playing to a live audience. I own all of their CDs, and they are all wonderful, but this one captures more of the energy and zest of their live s, a lot of of these songs (not all of them) are available on studio recordings. Personally i like to listen to both versions, live and studio, but the energy and tempo in this CD really create you wan to obtain up and dance... or fall over laughing...The songs on this CD range from traditional Celtic songs, although played with more energy and beat than i usually hear, (Star of the County Down)to the comedic (Chicken Raid of Cymru).There are some of the obviously Pagan songs like "Freya Shakti", "Summerland" and "Never Underestimate" as well as the wonderfully funny, very weird, "Vampire Girl from Orn", so this isn't the CD to play for your non-Pagan-friendly mates or family.(If you wish a CD that is NOT obviously Pagan from them, i suggest "Celtic Crescent" which has more of the traditional folk songs on it)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Head []  2020-7-20 19:45

    A mate of mine knows this group and even journeyed to Ireland with them. On her recommendation, tried them out with this CD. You would not believe that they are American!There is a powerful Wiccan flavor to much of their music, but don't think its so much that it should turn you away, just don't be surprised to hear it on certain tracks. Mostly original work, ELP's "Lucky Man" is delivered in a satisfying manner - not imitation, but not denying the songs und myself doing a jig around the house and having a grand old time. First rate melody from a first rate group.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Blood []  2020-7-13 19:1

    This was a amazing suspense novel! Getting to know the characters, their histories and their inner workings was really fascinating. I think the book beautifully captured the relationship ups & downs between the two main characters Finn & Aiden, as well as Finn's past reflections and growth throughout the story. I also loved the supporting characters and absolutely loathed the antagonist. Initially, I had received a review copy via email from the author. Then ended up purchasing the Kindle ver while it was on sale since I knew it was going to be really amazing from just reading the first few pages of my review copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Hills []  2020-7-29 19:9

    Donna Jo Napoli has written an unforgettable sequel to her perfect Globe Battle II-themed young adult novel, Stones in Water (Dutton, 1997). Roberto, a young Italian boy, continues his risky journey home to Venice after his harrowing escape from a forced labor camp in Germany. His Jewish mate Samuele has not survived. After a lot of hazards, he finally reaches Italy, but it is not his Italy. It is a risky Italy, populated by Nazis. Although the Allies are forcing the Nazi occupiers north, wars rage in cities and in the countryside. Roberto, who speaks English, a fact that saves his life, is taken as an interpreter by Kurt, a Nazi officer, and forced to interpret Kurt's commands as he searches out Italian "ragamuffins," who are really resistance fighters. At latest Roberto escapes and joins the resistance himself, when he meets some unforgettable brave young people, especially the girl whose partisan name is "Volpe Rossa." Based on some of Napoli's friends' wartime experiences, she wanted American readers to learn about the Italian partigiani fighters, whose stories are not often told for young adults. Ages 11 and up. Reviewed by Marcia Posner

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire In The Core []  2020-9-23 20:20

    This is a series of stories by teenagers who through hard work, dedication, and belief have become winner 's well written, interesting, and very would create a amazing bonus for young skateboarders particularly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Lake []  2021-4-6 21:56

    I learned so much about Vietnam reading this book. It really created think about the tremendous human cost on both sides of the war. I visited Vietnam after reading the book and really had a various perspective about the people and their determination.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Lake []  2021-4-6 21:56

    An indepth, extremely readable and absorbing book about Vietnamese culture, and the cirtances that helped a little country with a shrewd cadre of warriors to overcome the might of the U.S. Once you read this you start to see how horribly detrimental the lies our government told the public for years helped continue a senseless killing of thousands of young lives. The U.S. was wrong, dead wrong, in every single method in its strategies fighting this war. It was unwinnable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Sea []  2020-2-11 18:50

    I enjoyed this story, but I didn't wish to read it all night. There was an interesting protagonist in Jake, an angsty teenage girl, who doesn't always treat her mates well, and a second male lead in Tom. Yep. There is a triangle - but not in the strictly romantic sense as Jake's intentions are kept ere are the Gods vs the old inhabitants of Atlantis -now living under the sea, decaying and covered in verdigris, and wanting to reclaim the e best parts:1. Tight writing2. Amazing plotting in spurts; there is something event on every page, and there are unexpected twists and turns. The book won the special, prestigious Text prize for YA in Australia. Maybe, it was for the tight writing and page-turner elements.3. Interesting use of a Minotaur4. A amazing villainess who was out of the e not so amazing parts:1. Jerky points in the plot where there was action but no tension or true outcome. An example is the pages devoted in the headquarters of the God Squad, where nothing really happened.2. What was the point of the God Squad? Their purpose fizzled out. Or maybe it wasn't explained clearly enough for this reader.3. The purpose of the box and the demon - what was it in the end?4. What happened in the denouement? It felt flat. Where were the Gods? Are they going to create an entrance in the next instalment of the series?All in all, I found it an okay read - not a amazing read. However, there were gaps in the plotting. Will I read the next book? The blurb will decide it for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Head []  2020-7-20 19:45

    I have had the privelege of seeing one of the members of Emerald Rose perform live on several occasions. I bought the MP3 ver of this CD so I could listen to it at the gym or other times when I would be using headphones. The sound quality did not dissapoint, and as I was already familiar with all the songs that were on the CD, I got exactly what I had wanted.If you are interested in listening to Pagan music, with serious songs, and a amazing dash of lighthearted fun give this CD a try, you won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Head []  2020-7-20 19:45

    As this album attests, Emerald Rose's success is built on the energy of their live shows, which feature a excellent blend of good-time energy, enjoyable original songs, reverent interpretations of traditional tunes, and sheer comic playfulness. And it's all here on 'Fire in the Head.' Recorded in a little venue, this live album has a warm, intimate feel to it, with audience noise never distracting from the e CD opens with "Star of the County Down" and closes with "Donald McGillivry," anchoring the band in their contemporary interpretation of traditional standards. But most of the zone on this CD is given to Emerald Rose's original tunes, all of which are memorable, danceable, and singable. Their signature song, "Freya Shakti" is greatly enhanced by the enthusiastic vocals of the audience. The band's harmonies shimmer on "Worlds Wedding" and "Merry Mayfolk," while "A Pict Song" resonates with the darker energies of the ancient outlaw Celts.If you think that Celtic folk musicians take themselves too seriously, two show-stopping tracks on this CD will lay your anxieties to rest forever. "The Chicken Raid of Cymru" takes themes from Welsh mythology and, er, barbecues them. As clever and twisted as a Monty Python skit, this stream-of-consciousness song-story recounts an unfortunate happening involving magic, trickery, and Celtic `warrior chickens.' It will amuse all listeners thanks to its sheer zaniness--although if you know Welsh myth enough to obtain the full impact of the joke, well, your side will damage because it makes you laugh so hard. And then there's the "Vampire Girl from Orn." This bizarre excursion into the twilight location of the science-fiction erotic underground sounds like something the B-52s should have recorded. If your children hear it, be prepared to explain what `prosthetic' means. As playful as these comedy songs are, they point to a primary quality of this band: Emerald Rose knows how to have fun, and their audience loves them for only complaint about this CD is that it leaves the listener wanting more. As a single disc with a mere thirteen tracks, some of the band's best original tunes ("Penny in the Well," "Hills of America") are conspicuous in their absence. One can only hope that this means a second volume will appear down the street some day.If you're fresh to Emerald Rose, this is a fine put to start. If you already know this band, you won't wish to miss this CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Hills []  2020-7-29 19:9

    The conclusion to Roberto’s WWII saga did not tell as intriguing a story as the first installment, Stones in the Water. Book I begins with a carefree Italian boy whose clandestine trip to the films turns into a kidnapping by the Nazi soldiers in the zone who need laborers to build runways and encampments for the battle effort. He survives, but loses close friends, sees the cruel treatment of those imprisoned by the German troops and upon escaping his captors, vows to return home. Fire in the Hills slowly moves Roberto back towards Venice with more loss, near starvation and sights that will change him forever. But the telling of this journey doesn’t start to capture the reader until more than halfway through when he meets Volpe Rossa (Red Fox), a female Resistance warrior with a fiery spirit who persuades Roberto to take on a fresh name, Lupo (Wolf), and war the German and Fascist forces in order to free his homeland. I hope that the a lot of readers of WWII historical fiction in my fifth grade library will stick with this 2 book series as its focus is not a part of the era that is covered well in the classroom or in middle grade fiction or non-fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Lake []  2021-4-6 21:56

    Its very interesting, however, it is a lot like needed reading and of course your professor wrote the book. Although the main points are repeated several times throughout, the fact that remember that era from the 10th grade on, created it easier for me to follow. I must say I really enjoyed the book. Right or wrong, I served in country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Lake []  2021-4-6 21:56

    Enormous insight into a very complex war. It was so hard to understand while it was happening. Knowing the history is essential to understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Sea []  2020-2-11 18:50

    I am a huge fan of Myke.His humor, inventiveness, characters , they add up to quite a story. I kept making excuses to stop what I should have been doing, so I could read the next chapter !All too soon, the tale was at its end, and even though I wanted to read more ( a hundred, a thousand pages more ! ), the end was as well crafted as the whole thing.A totally satisfying reading ere are a lot of other writers, and a lot of other tales to read, but I am going to find out more from Myke with a relentlessness that surprises tip ?Read this gardless of what you have on the To Read Next pile, even regardless of what you are in the middle of reading, read this one now ! - AndrewO, in San Jose, California

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Head []  2020-7-20 19:45

    Anyone familiar with Emerald Rose knows that, amazing as their recorded melody is, it doesn't keep a candle to seeing them live. This cd comes close, though, capturing some of the angry energy that makes their shows such a blast. From the top, then:1) Star of the County Down: is this the only traditional song on the cd? I think it might be; I'd have to recheck Donald McGillivray. Regardless, I love this arrangement of one of my old favorites. It's a amazing bit faster than I'm used to (I usually hear this one sung slow and gentle, for some reason); the word "sprightly" comes to mind. The pennywhistle intro sets the tone, not just for this song, but for the whole cd.2) Fire in the Head: fire in the blood! This song is sheer energy, with a driving beat and someone doing something interesting and complicated on a drum in the background. The lyrics are resonant with myths that I almost know, I should know, but I don't quite. (They're on the hint of my brain, so to speak.) It's tantalizing.3) World's Wedding: it took me a long time to warm up to this song. I don't really know why; it just never caught me. It was always the one I skipped past when listening. It was the lyrics that finally won me over; I saw them online and was hooked. Then, of course, I had to listen to the song, really listen, so I could learn the lyrics, and of course once I did that I adored it. It's slow and very beautiful, half love song and half paean to the turning of the seasons, with vivid, poetic imagery.4) Drowsy Maggie, etc.: starts off stately, picks up quickly. If you don't wish to dance by the end of this one, obtain your feet checked. (An aside: I usually don't have the patience for instrumentals. Emerald Rose seems to be the exception to this.)5) Merry Mayfolk: this is so my Beltaine song! It's upbeat, it's playful, it's funny, and the underlying spiritual notice is one I'm awfully fond of. On the surface, it seems to be poking fun at Christianity, and I know there are some sensitive souls that might search that offensive. To me, though, it came across as more lighthearted than mean-spirited - the method you might tease a brother or sister whom you love dearly but who needs to lighten up a little. (Incidentally, that's something I admire about this band. A lot of times I pick up on some thinly- or not-so-thinly-veiled hostility towards Christianity from the Pagan community; I've never gotten that sense from ER's music.)6) A Pict Song: my fiance's favorite, this song is eerie, intense, and a small unsettling. It's a complete change of pace from everything that came before, and (to me at least) signals that the album's about to obtain a small various for a few songs. The lyrics come from a Rudyard Kipling poem, and to understand it you have to remember that back in the day, people believed the Picts really were a small people, physically smaller than other races. Hold that in mind, listening to this song, imagining the Picts versus the might of the Roman Empire, and you will obtain goosebumps. The vocal harmonies in this song are haunting and entirely appropriate to the bloodthirsty lyrics.7) Vampire Girl from Orn: and now for something completely different... This belongs to ER's "random silliness" genre. It took me a couple listens to catch all the lyrics, but when I did they cracked me up! It's just... it's just bizarre, is what it is. As another reviewer pointed out, the method Larry sings the words is half the amusement factor.8) Summerland: Ok, seriousness now. This song was one of the largest factors in my own decision to begin exploring Pagan ideas; the opening lines about the "long and winding" path makes for a unbelievable metaphor, and some aspects of Pagan beliefs are addressed. For me, though, the largest impact was simply that this was the first time I had ever heard someone just come out and openly discuss Paganism and Goddess-worship as a normal, valid religion. Call me sheltered, but it's true, and hearing the song just gave me one of those forehead-slapping "Oh! NOW I obtain it!" moments.9) Call Me Home: This song created my mother cry, but that's because she used to live in Ireland and misses it dreadfully. Haunting melody, lyrics filled with yearning, the sort of song you wish to sing while wading in the ocean under a full moon, staring east across the Atlantic.10) Never Underestimate: A fun song. Never gonna rock my globe like some of the others on the album, but it's a amazing song to boogie across the living room to. Created me giggle.11) Chicken Raid of Cymru: Know how I said the latest one created me giggle? Yeah, well, this one makes me fall on the floor in helpless laughter. It all starts somewhere in Wales... or maybe somewhere in Texas... we're not quite sure. Like so a lot of ER songs, this one is responsible for furthering my education, as after listening to it a few times I had to go research the story of the pigs of Pryderi so I could obtain more of the jokes (I swear, if I'm going to listen to this band I need to just go buy me a copy of the Mabinogion...)12) Freya, Shakti: It's "Freya, Shakti," kids. It's "Freya, Shakti" live; what more can you ask for? A amazing song, a amazing chant, at once thoroughly reverent and taut with wild, bubbling energy. I love the harmonies (I say that a lot with this band, but then, the harmonies are always good!)13) Donald McGillivray: Best song *I've* ever heard about the Glorious Revolution, I can tell you that. Now, of course, most people aren't geeks like me and therefore don't obtain all excited about late 17th/early 18th-century British politics, so it's a amazing thing the song's amazing in its own right! Energetic, driven, a amazing solid foot-stomping and butt-kicking song. That interesting drum is back. And while there are puns, they're less painful than they could have been. Definitely another song for dancing.(Edited to correct a horrid misspelling. Poor me. *slaps hand*)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Hills []  2020-7-29 19:9

    Our middle school student enjoyed this sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Lake []  2021-4-6 21:56

    This was a bonus for my dad, an officer during the Vietnam Battle who served through the Tet Offensive. He rated this five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Lake []  2021-4-6 21:56

    I am an expat, currently living in Vietnam, and this book was really an eye opener for me. The author makes clarifies a lot about the culture, and specifically the differences (and similarities!) between the different regions in Vietnam. It is by no means a latest book, but I search that the cultural divisions FitzGerald presents are still so present...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Head []  2020-7-20 19:45

    Fire in the Head is my second ER CD (I own Bending Tradition as well), and I must say, it was a unbelievable choice. The CD combines Celtic, Pagan, and some just plain weird songs in a unbelievable combination of music. Also, as a lover of live CDs, I can appreciate the little audience interaction. For a fast review, this is an amazing CD!Star of the County Down - Unbelievable melody and a nice small story to accompany in the Head - This is arguably the greatest track on the entire CD. This live ver is about 300x better than the recorded one from Bending Traditions, and its virtues cannot be extolled enough. Absolutely awesome melody combines with a Pagan theme to make one of ER's best 's Wedding - This song gets a bit slower, but Logan's voice is truly shown off. Although not among the greatest tracks on the CD, this is certainly a unbelievable song.Drowsy Maggie / Morning Invention / Green Groves of Erin - Fire in the Head's three-song collection of Celtic music. You just can't go wrong with it. Amazing music. Morning Invention especially is very exciting and fast-paced, with guitar, bodhran, and rry Mayfolk - This was one of my favorite songs from Bending Tradition, and I don't think that the live ver meets the quality of the studio one. That said, it is still a amazing song to hear.A Pict Song - A very slow and mournful song, I'm not exactly sure how to describe it, but rest assured that you will have fun hearing mpire Girl from Orn - Opening with "That doesn't sound very Celtic", this is definitely among the oddest songs I've ever heard (though admittedly, Chicken Raid of Cymru beats it). This is a funny story of an alien vixen who lands in a little town. Very funny, and VERY enjoyable. I especially love the method in which certain lyrics are said, that adds a whole fresh level to the song. This is certainly among my favorite songs on the entire mmerland - This is a more serious song that is more of a ballad than a folk song. And while it's not among the CD's best, this track is still very enjoyable to Me Home - If there was one song that I had to say was my least favorite, this would be it. Featuring mostly a singer, it just doesn't keep my interest. It's not nearly as exciting as some of the other songs, and while the melody is good, the lyrics don't keep my version Underestimate - A little combo of a amazing song and a bit of social commentary, this is the story of a Christian who comes to a Pagan gathering and tries to preach to them. A catchy tune with a small humor thrown in, this song is also among my icken Raid of Cymru - The single weirdest song I've ever heard. Ever. This is also the longest track on the CD. This is the story of a Celtic fighter who wars with "a teeny weeny small itsy bitsy wooden shield, and a chicken." It's full of lunacy, and though it doesn't stand out in its lyrics or music, the comedic commentary more than makes up for eya, Shakti - This song will likely become a staple of Wiccan learning at some point in the future. As if the studio ver was not strong enough already, this live ver adds the energy of an audience into it. I still shiver everytime I hear the live version. There are no words to express how unbelievable this song is, and I cannot recommend hearing it nald McGuillivray - A amazing song. The lyrics are nice and musical, but the real catch of this track is the music. The drums here are absolutely amazing. The vocals also simply have the sound that fits perfectly with this sort of song. Another amazing l in all, this is another CD that I can listen to nonstop, several times over. I cannot recommend it enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Head []  2020-7-20 19:45

    These 4 are from my county and I obtain the luxury of seeing them live fairly regularly. For those not from around here, this CD is a remarkably close second. It lives in the CD player in the truck. It's got amazing renditions of traditionals like "Star of the County Down" paired with the zanier creations of Larry, "The Chicken Raid of Cymru" and "The Vampire Girl from the Planet Orn"All of them are wonderful pieces of art, have alot of engery behind them and are fun to boot. Not to mention they stick in your head for t this cd. Enough said

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Hills []  2020-7-29 19:9

    This is among the finest books I have ever read. It starts out a bit slowly with Roberto's escape from the Germans to his homeland of Italy. One frustration follows another until he is swept into the Italian resistance by Volpe Rossa, a young, beautiful, intensely devoted partigiani fighter. Like Roberto we cannot support but fall in love with her as we gasp at her daring. Roberto, Volpe Rossa and others gather and distribute weapons throughout the countryside, penetrating German operations without a care for themselves. Roberto has to reach deep within and stretch method beyond himself to hold up with Volpe Rossa's determination and his own growing sense of justice. Donna Jo Napoli based a lot of of the happenings upon stories she heard from mates who had taken part in the Italian resistance. By the end of the German occupation it seemed like almost every Italian had joined the partigianis, and that they ,rather than the allies, had ended the battle in Italy. This is a book about thousands of heroes that most of us have never thought about. Roberto and Volpe Rossa are unforgettable characters. I can't believe they are not real. I hope you let yourself the opportunity to meet them. As a children's librarian I would recommend this book to mature 7th graders and up. It includes some very harsh realities, much sadness, and a sense of triumph that transcends it all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Sea []  2020-2-11 18:50

    Sadie Miller needs to obtain out of Perth. This city is too little to keep her, and has too a lot of poor memories that hold a keep of her. Like the memory of her parents' death, and every one of her sixteen years that should have been shared with them. Instead, Sadie lives with her grandparents and keeps to her close-knit bubble of friends, including her two cousins Heather and Kimberley, and her best mate (who wants to be more), Tom.But just as Sadie starts fiercely wishing for anything to change, everything does . . .At Cottesloe beach one night, Sadie and Tom watch an old man be set-upon by two masked thugs, and Sadie steps in to help. The attackers disappear into the water, and the beaten man tells Sadie to beware of "men with wet shoes."But the strangeness is only just beginning. It seems that the old man, a one Mr. Freeman, signed the entirety of his will and estate over to Sadie while on his deathbed - she now owns an old Gothic house and everything in it, and is tasked with taking care of the premises, including a vicious guard-dog called night, in the process of guarding Mr. Freeman's house (now hers) Sadie finds herself pinned by a shirtless, posh, sword-wielding boy demanding to know the whereabouts of the `relic'. Even stranger than finding this shirtless, posh, sword-wielding boy in Freeman's abandoned house, is discovering that the same boy claims to be Mr. Freeman - Jacob `Jake' Freeman. One in the same. Reincarnated. Like the Dalai die wouldn't believe all this rubbish, normally . . . but stranger things hold happening. Like Tom having a close-encounter with a horned man. Or a siren song that keeps calling from the sea, or the appearance of those men with wet feet that Mr. Freeman warned Sadie is really is just the beginning. And if Sadie doesn't support the reincarnated Jake Freeman search his `relic', an old wooden box worse than Pandora's, then all hell will break loose . . . y one thing is certain - Perth just got a whole lot more interesting for Sadie ke Bartlett's debut novel, `Fire in the Sea', was the 2011 champion of the Text Prize for Young Adult and Children's Writing.I love an Australian young adult paranormal novel that relishes being an Australian young adult paranormal novel. Case and point - Myke Bartlett's incredibly compelling `Fire in the Sea'. This novel marks the first Aussie paranormal I've read that is set in Western Australia, and makes a focal point of the Town of Light, Perth. A amazing portion of the drama and supernatural shenanigans take put at the iconic Cottesloe Beach, with the grandiose Surf Life Saving Club in the background standing watch. It's clear from the moment that Sadie Miller laments her Perth surroundings (dreaming of a move to Oxford or Melbourne) that Bartlett is himself well-acquainted with the teenage pastime of wishing to be `anywhere but here'. Sadie knocks around the beach with her friends, and rides her bike through suburban neighbourhoods, but is thoroughly sick of it all. Not only does this little city keep vastly painful memories of her dead parents, but the fact of the matter is: nothing happens . . . until a beaten old man leaves Sadie with everything, almost more than she can tlett's particular brand of supernatural is more like a patchwork of monsters, myths and imagination. I don't think I'll be spoiling anything if I say that he covers a broad spectrum of paranormal from the Minotaur to sea sirens, while providing a harrowing explanation for Pompeii's eruption and an even more chilling mystery surrounding a popular long-lost city. It's a most peculiar mix of myth and mayhem that works brilliantly when woven by Bartlett. But what really saves `Fire in the Sea' from just being a hodge-podge of fantasy is its young protagonist, Sadie Miller.We are with Sadie every step of the method - from Mr. Freeman's attack to his seeming reincarnation to a particularly handsome young man. She is as cast adrift in the supernatural sea as readers, but her particular brand of brittle, sarcastic loyalty makes navigating Bartlett's mythical waters so very simple (and downright enjoyable).I loved Sadie. She's just the sort of young heroine I love to read - she spends a amazing portion of the novel being scared witless, but never lets her fear obtain in the method of saving her mates or doing what's right. She's quick-thinking and fierce, and just the sort of mate I'd like to have in my corner (should a Minotaur ever attack). But she's also thoroughly relatable - combating Perth-fatigue, a best mate who wants to be more and trying not to sucb to the grief that constantly pulls at her.I really shouldn't be so surprised that another Text Prize novel is incredible, but I am. `Fire in the Sea' is a unbelievable fresh addition to the Aussie young adult paranormal stage - set in the attractive (if lamentably dull) town of Perth, and featuring everything from sea sirens to crazy reincarnated boys. Myke Bartlett has written a parade of paranormal monsters and a thrilling sea-depths mystery . . . I, for one, hope that this is just the first of a lot of more novels from an interesting fresh Aussie YA voice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Lake []  2021-4-6 21:56

    Amazing info about different aspects of the battle and its origins. But a small lopsided as if the US was the stupid poor guy. In other words not written neutral.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Lake []  2021-4-6 21:56

    Tremendous! A must read if you have any interest in Vietnam, it's history, and how the U.S. got involved and was involved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fire in the Head []  2020-7-20 19:45

    Fast shipping, item as described. Thank you!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386