Read first aid for the usmle step 1 2021 reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all first aid for the usmle step 1 2021 reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021 []  2021-4-6 23:40

    Been with the book for just a few hours now, and by just glancing over....there are few major updates from the 2020 edition. The 2021 edition has a lot of more images, diagrams, and everything is structured better than ere is a fresh communication skills section under public health that can support us transition from year 2 to 3 (in addition to board prep). The updated pages are printed nicely with dark ink, and the rapid-review section has been updated. There are a total of 828 pages in this edition. I preordered this edition back in early Dec 2020, so I am satisfied to obtain the book to prep for APMLE part 1.I will edit my review once I being to study from this edition!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021 []  2021-4-6 23:40

    I ordered this book for my USMLE exam. This is the recent ver which is recommended if you are also planning for USMLE exam. The pictures are really clear and also the pages are amazing quality. The book cover is hard and the texts are clear with decent font size. Satisfied with my purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021 []  2021-4-6 23:40

    Your browser does not help HTML5 video.  I didn’t like that I had to wait a while to obtain the book and the binding is off.

    0  


    Add your opinion on first aid for the usmle step 1 2021 or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021 []  2021-4-6 23:40

    Overall, you won't be missing a lot if you don't buy this edition. Except for a few fresh low-quality photos and primary Coronavirus information, the book is beautiful much the same as the previous edition. I really liked the paper quality before, they were thick and shiny. It was very simple to write a note on them, erasing pencil writings wouldn't leave marks, and I didn't use to have problem with turning the pages. Right now I feel like I am reading a cheap newspaper article with poor images. Very disappointed, considering the fact that we spend more time with this book than with our family for several months and hold it for our future references.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021 []  2021-4-6 23:40

    I know First Aid Step 1 is a benchmark for all try takers who are preparing for Step 1. When I bought First Aid Step 1 2018, the paper quality and printing were top-notch. I was fascinated by how these guys cared about this aspect. I don't know what happened in 2021 but there are multiple complaints about how ill-printed these books are. Mine has 15-20 pages of flawed printing. My expectations were high since I had FA 2018.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021 []  2021-4-6 23:40

    The content itself is useful (everyone should know that First Aid is essential for Step 1). Other reviewers have noted that the paper quality seems lower than previous years. My complaint about this specific sale is that my copy came with pencil markings in it before I even started A: I realized that the marks I thought were pencil from previous use were actually marks my pen left from two pages previous (not bleedthrough, but imprint that somehow got color like pressing on carbon paper). Sooooo the pages are too thin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021 []  2021-4-6 23:40

    The fresh graphics are perfect for a visual learner and I'm enjoying the updates! More than worth it to have the physical copy, and I'd rave more about the content but it's already well known this is one of the must-haves for medical students. I just have to take off a star because of the build quality seems to have gone down this year. As another review mentioned, the front cover doesn't fully obscure the first page of the book. Both the front and back covers are already beginning to split (they're 2-ply), so I'm going to have to tape around the edges of the covers to keep them together. The book is also still delivered loose in a box with no plastic wrap or protection aside from a few bags of air, so it did obtain a small dinged in the delivery process and warped from the cold (improving with use). I hope they consider improving the packaging--my FA 2020 came the same way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021 []  2021-4-6 23:40

    Works fine, some of the photos are SO little I want I could zoom in on paper. There are a few errors so you’ll have to be wary of all updated section for Covid. Like less than a dex is off by a few pages - shouldn’t this be automated by now?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021 []  2021-4-6 23:40

    Just got my First Aid 2021 copy and it's great, truly the best USMLE Step 1 resource! The only method to use it IMO is along with Picmonic; this book is incredibly dense and hard to cram, so I review it page-by-page with Picmonic. This breaks the pages down into easily consumable sections and mnemonics so I can actually remember what I'm reading. There's no other method to cram such a large amount of information into your brain in such a short time! These two resources together are CRUCIAL to how I crushed Step 1 (268) and I'm proud of how well they worked :D

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021 []  2021-4-6 23:40

    the book contents of course are really good, but the paper quality gone really down, had the previous edition which was much more better in terms of the paper quality

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021, Thirty First Edition []  2021-2-3 20:56

    Been with the book for just a few hours now, and by just glancing over....there are few major updates from the 2020 edition. The 2021 edition has a lot of more images, diagrams, and everything is structured better than ere is a fresh communication skills section under public health that can support us transition from year 2 to 3 (in addition to board prep). The updated pages are printed nicely with dark ink, and the rapid-review section has been updated. There are a total of 828 pages in this edition. I preordered this edition back in early Dec 2020, so I am satisfied to obtain the book to prep for APMLE part 1.I will edit my review once I being to study from this edition!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021, Thirty First Edition []  2021-2-3 20:56

    Just got my First Aid 2021 copy and it's great, truly the best USMLE Step 1 resource! The only method to use it IMO is along with Picmonic; this book is incredibly dense and hard to cram, so I review it page-by-page with Picmonic. This breaks the pages down into easily consumable sections and mnemonics so I can actually remember what I'm reading. There's no other method to cram such a large amount of information into your brain in such a short time! These two resources together are CRUCIAL to how I crushed Step 1 (268) and I'm proud of how well they worked :D

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021, Thirty First Edition []  2021-2-3 20:56

    Excellent book for boards

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021, Thirty First Edition []  2021-2-3 20:56

    Lo que esperaba

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021, Thirty First Edition []  2021-2-3 20:56

    It is very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021, Thirty First Edition []  2021-2-3 20:56

    Your browser does not help HTML5 video.  I didn’t like that I had to wait a while to obtain the book and the binding is off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021, Thirty First Edition []  2021-2-3 20:56

    Amazing price, corner arrived a small damaged but for the most part in amazing condition!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021, Thirty First Edition []  2021-2-3 20:56

    Everything is good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021, Thirty First Edition []  2021-2-3 20:56

    Every FA book is better than the one before. Amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2021, Thirty First Edition []  2021-2-3 20:56

    Must have

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Q&A for the USMLE Step 1, Third Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-7-5 18:47

    Though I've not taken the try yet, this book seems to be very useful for my try prep. Few things are not correct, but that doesn't create it less valuable. Objective, straightforward questions and commentaries, it's a quick and pleasant reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Q&A for the USMLE Step 1, Third Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-7-5 18:47

    It has in depth coverage which I like

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Q&A for the USMLE Step 1, Third Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-7-5 18:47

    Amazing study tutorial with perfect questions for STEP 1

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Q&A for the USMLE Step 1, Third Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-7-5 18:47

    I bought this during my 1st year in medical school and barely used it at all after the 1st few months. I found question banks like UWorld (started doing this in the 2nd year), USMLE-Rx, and Robbins/Rubins chapter questions the most beneficial during med school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Q&A for the USMLE Step 1, Third Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-7-5 18:47

    Very fragile book. Not good quality of the material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Q&A for the USMLE Step 1, Third Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-7-5 18:47

    Amazing book. Much cheaper to buy and obtain some questions than to subscribe to the online qbanks for a long time - save the subscriptions for your dedicated step 1 studying time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Q&A for the USMLE Step 1, Third Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-7-5 18:47

    There are a couple typos and since this is the kindle edition , some chapters does not correspond to the same chapter answers when clicking the number much so that you has to scroll through the pages. As for the content it is very informative and each topic matter is equally well represented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Q&A for the USMLE Step 1, Third Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-7-5 18:47

    The questions themselves are OK and complement first aid. However there are quite a few mistakes (especially in the respond pages), which is unacceptable since this is the 3rd edition. I would recommend uworld and Rx before this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Q&A for the USMLE Step 1, Third Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-7-5 18:47

    These are basically questions from the RX question bank, but if you are the type of person who gets a lot out of practice questions this can be really helpful. Downside: Photos not in color

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Q&A for the USMLE Step 1, Third Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-7-5 18:47

    It's decent. Matches up with the First Aid sections. But there were a lot of issues with the quality. There were pictures missing ("refer to the EKG...", no EKG), a few examples of incorrect information, none of the photos are in color in my copy (makes gram stains difficult), but overall it's a decent collection of questions. Not UWorld level/quality but probably worth the investment for people looking for questions to review with broken down by topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1, Fourth Edition []  2020-3-30 18:59

    I really like the material and the method that the books shows fresh cases and how should be expected to take in consideration for each one when is time to answer the questions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth edition []  2020-1-16 5:13

    The Step 1 Bible, the content of this book is amazing. but it’s irritating that some pages throughout the index are printed differently. Like the thickness/boldness of the font. Not much quality control printing wise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth edition []  2020-1-16 5:13

    Amazing quality, printed st have for USMLE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid For the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth Edition []  2020-7-19 19:22

    I had 2019 but I can see a difference in paper printing quality in 2020. I'm a small disapponited

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020 [App]  2020-4-17 13:22

    Useless its paid application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition []  2020-8-31 18:17

    I’m in the middle of the AMCAS/IMG app process (Medical School). And every med school student I speak to is chest deep in USMLE prep. Soooo since this book was so cheap AND is totally referenced as a type of “Bible” to them, I thought “ What the hell” I’ll buy it and read it at my leasure. Well turns out, the knowledge in this book helped me with my MCATs as well as the GRE. My only regret, I want I’d bought this book somewhere around my Sophomore year of college....Its That Good!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition []  2020-8-31 18:17

    Use this book as a method to check off the things that you need to learn - it should not be used as a basic source for your learning. As you go through subjects in school, take notes in the relevant sections in First Aid. Watch Osmosis, Kaplan, DIT, Boards and Beyond, etc. and annotate throughout first and second year of medical school. Use Sketchy and annotate the book too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth edition []  2020-1-16 5:13

    I ordered this book for medical school and it arrived with damaged pages as shown in the first 4 images. I requested a replacement and there are still printing errors. As shown in photos 5 and after, a lot of of the headings are chop off and there’s a tear in one of the pages. I will be replacing it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth edition []  2020-1-16 5:13

    Amazing book and clean pages arrived quick thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1, Fourth Edition []  2020-3-30 18:59

    Super quick shipping. The newest edition is in my hands!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1, Fourth Edition []  2020-3-30 18:59

    It's colourful now, very well structured and excellently explained. They basically wrote clinical cases which are followed by every kind of question that you might obtain on step 1 regarding the subject with comprehensive explanations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020 [App]  2020-4-17 13:22

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid For the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth Edition []  2020-7-19 19:22

    It is a high quality printed book. The pictures are clear. The method it is written is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid For the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth Edition []  2020-7-19 19:22

    What’s not to love about first aid? They Constantly improve their content, quality of the book is always improved upon and more attractive and colourful diagrams to support create memorization easier. I recommend this to anyone writing the USMLE. It’s the holy book for the exam and a must-have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition []  2020-8-31 18:17

    UPDATE 1/24/18: After removing the initial FA 2018 Kindle ver due to the numerous formatting problems detailed below, McGraw-Hill has re-released a fresh Kindle ver WITH ALL OF THE SAME FORMATTING ISSUES THAT PLAGUED THE INITIAL RELEASE. For example, note that the eBook features specifically list "Page numbers are just like the physical edition", yet they are nowhere to be found. The entire list of features is misleading and should be revised to reflect the reality of the product.ORIGINAL REVIEW:There are major formatting, rendering, and usability problems in the Kindle ver of First Aid 2018; these are particularly glaring when contrasted with both the 2016 and 2017 Kindle editions of the r starters, the text and graphics are blurry in the 2018 Kindle edition and are presented at extremely low resolutions. It is also not possible to use the zoom function to enlarge photos in this ebook, nor is it possible to find the text of the book. The ebook seems to be rendered as a very low-resolution photo rather than properly compiled as an ebook optimized for reover, while the 2016 and 2017 Kindle editions were page-for-page identical to the print versions of the text, the 2018 Kindle edition does away with this, not even bothering to preserve the most primary formatting info like headers page numbers.I will be asking for a refund and sticking with the 2017 Kindle edition until/if these major formatting problems are sorted out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition []  2020-8-31 18:17

    There are errors throughout the book which I didn't realize until months into studying with it. People should be warned about this! The shipping should come with an insert that says "be sure to check out our errata page every so often for updates so you don't study the wrong info for your $650 exam!"Otherwise yes the book is awesome and much required by everyone prepping for Step 1 but seriously so bothered by the above.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2019 [App]  2019-11-13 13:19

    It's a paid application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth edition []  2020-1-16 5:13

    I had 2019 but I can see a difference in paper printing quality in 2020. I'm a small disapponited

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth edition []  2020-1-16 5:13

    I received a damage

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid For the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth Edition []  2020-7-19 19:22

    I ordered this book for medical school and it arrived with damaged pages as shown in the first 4 images. I requested a replacement and there are still printing errors. As shown in photos 5 and after, a lot of of the headings are chop off and there’s a tear in one of the pages. I will be replacing it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid For the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth Edition []  2020-7-19 19:22

    I bought this even though I already owned the 2019 version, given that I am taking STEP 1 this year. The 2020 ver is okay...it might have added fresh photos and items but the page quality and printing feels like it was rushed, and is not as amazing as latest year's. For some reason, the annotation zone feels smaller than latest year too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020 [App]  2020-4-17 13:22

    Very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1, Fourth Edition []  2020-3-30 18:59

    Arrived timely, recommended by Georgetown Med for Study Aid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition []  2020-8-31 18:17

    This reading takes into acc the ver of the book I bought which is the Kindle version. A key component of owning this book is to have the chance to create annotations as customizable this possible. The Kindle ver advertises that advanced annotations can be made, but the book is not formatted as text. It is formatted as pictures of the physical book. For this reason, annotations are limited to bookmarks and notes of entire book page pictures. An example Of this limitation is that it is not possible to highlight a few words of a table. Instead, you would be able to highlight the table as a whole. I search this highly inconvenient for study purposes. If undecided about paperback or Kindle versions, I would definitely obtain the so, I was very surprised to learn that by pressing just one button from this page, I was automatically charged the book (without undergoing the whole check out process). This review does not reflect the quality of the contents which I think are excellent. This review is about the ver of the book I got and how unuseful I have found it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition []  2020-8-31 18:17

    I'm not very impressed with this book. A lot of of my classmates ooed and awed over it, but I really can't see what the huge attraction is. Then again, I've never been much for mindless memorization, which is what this book seems to excel with. A few of the charts and figures are helpful, but for the most part, I'd take a book that explains and is more thorough over this. This could, I suppose, be compared to Cliff's Notes or something of the like. It doesn't explain very well and, in my opinion, is not worth having on your bookshelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth edition []  2020-1-16 5:13

    Kindle eBook resolution method worse than 2019 edition, much less sharp and less readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth edition []  2020-1-16 5:13

    High quality printing and in excellent order. No need to discuss about the book content itself, it's always been a gold standard regarding preparation for the USMLE Step 1.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition []  2020-8-31 18:17

    This is an outstanding comprehensive update. I have the 2017 ver and the 2017 to 2018 modernize is much more drastic than the 2016 to 2017 was. There are updates to a huge number of photos and tables. An example is the glaucoma that are now nicely fit into a table unlike in the 2017 version. There are also updates that I found in the 2018 ver that I had annotated into my 2017 ver from UWorld. The infant/child development chart is now in its appropriate place, the reproductive section rather than public health sciences as in 2017. These are only but a few examples and there are a lot of such changes and updates. A amazing and welcome modernize to an already awesome resource.Update: While using this edition further, not only are there schematic/logistical updates, the content updates are also critical. For example, they (finally) added a vomiting center section in the neurology section; a key addition. A little modernize about the variable myelination of the cranial nerves (I + II versus III to XII) has also been added. I think listing some of these changes lends itself to demonstrate the importance of updating to the recent ver of FA, even if you have one that you've been annotating/working with of luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition []  2020-8-31 18:17

    One of the single best board prep resources around. I had the 2016 ver prior to purchasing the fresh 2018 ver and there is so much added content. The pages are sturdy and smooth to write on. The pictures are vibrant. I love love love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020 [App]  2020-4-17 13:22

    perfect ❤..very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid For the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth Edition []  2020-7-19 19:22

    One of my largest issues with board prep books is the glossiness of the pages, making it impossible to write in the book without smearing everywhere. This years FirstAid finally has pages that are not as glossy, there is still a minor gloss feel, but I can write on the pages and as long as I give it a second to dry before turning the page or touching it, there is no smear! The content is overall related to 2019 with some fresh figures. For the huge systems it’s awesome for cardio, my least favorite for respiratory, it just seems like it leaves out quite a few major topics. All in all, I am glad I created the purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid For the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth Edition []  2020-7-19 19:22

    The papers were normal a4 sheet, although it had authentic stick at back. Quality of the cover and book is so cheap this year. Manufacturer please modernize the quality

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid For the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth Edition []  2020-7-19 19:22

    Kindle eBook resolution method worse than 2019 edition, much less sharp and less readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1, Fourth Edition []  2020-3-30 18:59

    Very well organized. Well written high yield for schools exams and Step 1. There's 350, so you can take 5 minute ~every day of the year until Step 1 to read and reflect on a case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1, Fourth Edition []  2020-3-30 18:59

    Awesome cases

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1, Fourth Edition []  2020-3-30 18:59

    Chapter 2 Immunology only has 13 cases. Given that there aren't a lot of to start with, nine of those cases are microbiology. All latest versions of First Aid would categorize these cases as microbio as well. Chapter 3 Microbiology is a very huge topic, so adding the nine cases to the existing 49 cases is fine. However, having only four immunology cases is disappointing and not helpful. There are so a lot of cases they could have written for immuno.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1, Fourth Edition []  2020-3-30 18:59

    I really like the book, but to be honest I have found a lot of mistakes in the book. So be sure you cross reference from first aid or the errata.But I use UWORLD as my basic which I recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1, Fourth Edition []  2020-3-30 18:59

    helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020 [App]  2020-4-17 13:22

    It's a paid application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth edition []  2020-1-16 5:13

    It is a high quality printed book. The pictures are clear. The method it is written is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth edition []  2020-1-16 5:13

    Best book to summarize and go over while preparing for usmle step1. Buying the 2nd time for my sister. Will definitely recommend for anyone preparing usmle step 1

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Q&A for the USMLE Step 1 [App]  2020-4-28 21:17

    Amazing to do in the morning

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid For the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth Edition []  2020-7-19 19:22

    Best book to summarize and go over while preparing for usmle step1. Buying the 2nd time for my sister. Will definitely recommend for anyone preparing usmle step 1

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid For the USMLE Step 1 2020, Thirtieth Edition []  2020-7-19 19:22

    Had to replace my 2019 ver after my son ripped some pages out, and I actually prefer this version. Some people have complained about the quality of printing but I have not run into this issue. I received an authentic copy in excellent condition, so no complaints here. I plan on getting it spiral-bound at Staples so it’s a bit easier to manage. I did this to my 2019 ver and highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition []  2020-8-31 18:17

    Well, it's a amazing book and all but it appears that the printer had some problems with my book. Four pages of my book are yellow. Now granted, the picture I included shows a man that is supposed to be jaundiced. However, I don't think the whole page was suppose to have jaundice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition []  2020-8-31 18:17

    This book is like the Bible for med students. It is awesome how you obtain to learn and memorize all the items with easy mnemonics and diagrams! Without this book, I would not have been able to organize myself with the extravagant amount of material the school throws at you. However, it is necessary to recognize that this book has everything that is most high yield, but you cannot limitate yourself to this, since you have to know the origins and info of how things work in our bodies! Amazing luck to all my future colleagues!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Ninth Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-10-18 18:21

    It’s not necessary, don’t waste your money. Uworld questions repeated and practiced on timed mode with your notes read frequently are excellent for prep. That’s all you’ll need. This exam gets updated often with what you’d do next and all explanations are given in detail for your understanding. That’s all you’ll need. I thought this book would support increase my knowledge and better my understanding, which is not something you have time for on the exam, we don’t have time to think on this exam. Answers should be at your fingertips and that comes with true practice under time pressures. This book will only confuse you more and delay your overall prep. First Aid for step 1 is absolutely essential. But for step 2, save your cash and place it towards more uworld questions, and assessment (uworld, nbme) exams. My experienced opinion to all of you, since we’re all trying our best to accomplish a major goal in our lives. If you MUST obtain a book and that makes you feel better, go with MTB. But stick with uworld questions. Use your time, cash and energy wisely. All the best to you all! Crush the exam!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Ninth Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-10-18 18:21

    Amazing content but the organization makes it 4/5. Sometimes there will be questions, but the questions will be before the section not afterwards as a review and then other times it is beforehand which can be frustrating. It is worth getting for Step2, but I like Master the Boards better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Ninth Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-10-18 18:21

    I would have given this a much higher rating, but I frequently found mistakes throughout this text. The Obstetrics and gynecology chapters are horrendous, but the rest of the book is decent. I've already read most of it and I'm approaching my Step 2 date. Otherwise, I'd probably switch and use Online MedED or Master the Boards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Ninth Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-10-18 18:21

    Book is good.. If you are into info this might not be the best book .. I like it better than master the boards 100% .. Step up to medicine is more detailed (too much) .. This with uworld annotation worked amazing for me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Ninth Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-10-18 18:21

    This is a amazing book and is a excellent compliment to UW. I knocked off a star because as other reviewers have stated the book is disorganized. For example if you are reading about basic amenorrhea, the chart and or picture associated with that subject will be displayed under secondary amenorrhea. This happens CONSTANTLY throughout the book and if you are not careful when you read you might mix up the information. Other then this the book is great. Hopefully they organize the book efficiently in the 10th edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Ninth Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-10-18 18:21

    Skimmed through this before Step 2 to create sure I'd covered everything but in the end it didn't add much to my studying. Knowing Uworld in and out was much more important. Unfortunately there's not any amazing comprehensive book for CK like there is for Step 1.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Ninth Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-10-18 18:21

    The content of this book is excellent, however the Kindle ver is done very poorly. Whereas for Step 1 it was basically a carbon-copy of the print book, for Step 2 CK the graphics and tables are formatted differently, and their position in the text changes randomly. I hope the creators will use the same approach as found in the Step 1 kindle ver in future editions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Ninth Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-10-18 18:21

    So, unlike for Step 1, where First Aid was an simple first choice for a central studying resource, Step 2 has no best choice. First Aid for Step 2 is not that great. It is riddled with errors and missing a lot of testable topics. However, there really isn't a better answer. I own Master the Boards as well, but it is even more chop down than First Aid, so despite the explanations being superior, the fact that it is even more content-lacking makes it also not a amazing allow me tell you why I am still using this book. I am using it because I need a central resource to annotate info from UWorld questions, and there is sufficient room on these pages to do just that. I add in and change the content that needs to be changed -- do NOT trust info in here over UWorld explanations, because I can almost guarantee UWorld is right and this is wrong. I don't use this book to read from primarily, I use it to look up subjects that are primarily directed by question first, ask yourself if you need a book to study for Step 2, because not everyone will. Questions should be your basic resource for studying, but beyond that, you may or may not benefit from also having a book to reference. In my case, I still search this useful, despite its faults. Hopefully the future will bring a better book for Step 2, but in the meantime, this is what we've got.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Ninth Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-10-18 18:21

    Save your cash and search another resource to study for CK. FA was really amazing for Step 1 but it's not amazing for Step 2. I would say use onlinemeded notes + Master of boards instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Ninth Edition (First Aid USMLE) []  2020-10-18 18:21

    If you have been on any forum or talked to other med students regarding Step 2 CK the inevitable line is: MTB2/3 for review and Uworld for questions.But there are better resources out there.Lets obtain one thing out of the method first: Step 2 CK success comes from the resources and studying you did in your clinical rotations, how well you did in Step 1, and from Uworld questions and their explanations. The review book is much less relevant here than in Step 1. Importantly, however, a review book organizes your thinking and provides a single zone for all the high yield rst Aid for Step 2 is a amazing source. Not a amazing source. But compared to the classical Mastering the Boards combo it is leagues better. It actually covers subjects in reasonable detail, especially IM topics, that MTB seems to shallowly skim over. While it is not as simple of a read, it is also not utterly worthless. MTB is created for people who just don't remember the disease. FA is created for people who dont remember specifics in pathophys and primary treatments of disease. In short FA is more detailed which makes it harder to finish but more useful if you actually plan on using a review is not excellent at all however. The pediatric section, while just as amazing as other review books, is horribly inadequate such that I annotated (from Uworld) to the point of wiping out all the margins in several pages in that book. The cardiology section does not have treatments for different arrhythmias nor talks about clinical decision making in such basic care subjects as hyperlipidemia (the section is in the book, but the indicates for moderate versus high dose statins is not). The Gyn/OB chapters are passable but things like vaccinations to be given in pregnancy are not discussed, while other subjects like screening for cervical cancer are presented as a wall of text rather than a flow chart.Other subjects are covered with more or less decent consistency. But oddly some subjects will mention a disease but never mention the treatment or next best step which is unbelievably frustrating for a try which asks 90% of the time what the next best step (not the pathophys) is. Again this issue is glaring in the peds e psych section was no better than the Step 1 ver and even didn't contain the ego defenses. It did have a bereavement versus depression table which is a high yield point for surgery chapter. Sure some of the subjects is under the header of "assorted subjects in EM" but that is just silly considering it is a fundamental conclusion the book is good. Not great. If some sections were beefed up and the subjects were covered more concisely and ALWAYS including treatment, then we are golden. If you plan on using a review book for Step 2 use this one. If you still prefer MTB 2/3 because it is an easier read then you are better off just doing questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 3, Fifth Edition []  2019-12-16 18:42

    Fast shipping...really informative for fast review of facts for Step 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 3, Fifth Edition []  2019-12-16 18:42

    perfect case studies

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Tenth Edition []  2020-1-22 19:55

    It's missing a lot of information. You will struggle on UWorld. Very disappointing, considering they created First Aid: Step 1, which is amazing.On the bright side, there is a lot of room to write notes and all the diseases and treatments that are not included in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Tenth Edition []  2020-1-22 19:55

    I would recommend Master the Boards for CK review rather then FA.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid Cases For The USMLE Step 2 CK [App]  2020-5-4 13:18

    Very informative and helpful..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CS, Sixth Edition []  2020-1-23 1:42

    This book is method better than the previous editions. It explains​ thoroughly and it has questions and answers on how you suppose to ask the patient and how the patient is going to answer. It is really helpful if you have someone to practice with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CS, Sixth Edition []  2020-1-23 1:42

    This book was probably overkill for the COMLEX PE, but I read through it quickly in addition to using the COMBANK PE videos by Dr. Kauffman. This book provides examples of the most common differentials, as well as some rare zebras that the USMLE tests but probably not the COMLEX.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CS, Sixth Edition []  2020-1-23 1:42

    Amazing amount of cases listed that will adequately prepare you for Step 2 CS. Also includes high yield exam maneuvers and note examples. Some of the differentials and workup went a small overboard though, but it still prepped me well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 3, Fifth Edition []  2019-12-16 18:42

    I own the previous of ver of this book and there have been some major updates including more details, pictures and an improved CCS section. However, no book, either this one or MTB will suffice for a complete review for step 3. Since step 3 is a volatile exam and can include beautiful much anything from steps 1-3, FA3 will not be enough even if it is paired with a solid qbank. My major gripe with this book just like its predecessor is that entire book is poorly organized by, which I mean for example if you are reading about Asthma and you near the end of that section and think you are done reading about that subject and now you begin reading about COPD, you would be wrong because right after starting the COPD section a chart for managing chronic asthma would appear. This not good organization is repeated constantly throughout the entire book. So if the reader does not read the title of the chart or graph carefully they may associate it with the subject they are currently reading, but instead it correlates with the previous one. I know it seems like nitpicking, but it is not that difficult to add any pertinent charts, etc, to the end of the subject before starting a fresh one. I was really hoping the authors would have corrected this format for the fresh version, but unfortunately they have not. The book is still a solid read and worth buying, but not a complete review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 3, Fifth Edition []  2019-12-16 18:42

    I have been browsing through it as I finish my first pass on UW...will update

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 3, Fifth Edition []  2019-12-16 18:42

    this is a brand fresh book and has stain on it . so had no other choice but to return back

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Tenth Edition []  2020-1-22 19:55

    If you're looking for a First Aid related to the go-to Step 1 source you used in 2nd year of med school, this is not the book. I found the content under each disease listing to be surprisingly inadequate. More specifically, there are a number of medical conditions that you need to know for shelf exams and Step 2 that are simply not covered in this book. And for the conditions they do list, some of the most necessary info to know with that condition is often e book's organization is poor-to-average, depending on which chapter you're in. Each disease is explained in a generic format like this:-Pathophysiology-History/PE Findings-How to create the diagnosis-Treatment-ComplicationsThis would create for a amazing layout--only they don't explain things very well within each subheading. A lot of of the subheadings are written in long paragraph form and are a pain to read through, especially since they include a lot of unnecessary information. There's practically no use of bold or underlined words to support point out key terms or buzzwords to know, and a lot of of paragraph-long explanations could easily be turned into bullet points or a short list. It's just not very so, a lot of of the treatments they list for specific conditions are far too inclusive--at times they give 4 or 5 medications that could possibly treat an illness when it is clear you only need to know the one "classic" treatment, or possibly the 2nd-line option. This problem occurs in other subheadings as well. It's almost like they were just trying to meet a word count in some sections there's so much unnecessary information. Also, lots of unappetizing tables with method too much text that will just create your eyes glaze over when you test to read them. Seriously, you will see single boxes of text with multiple paragraphs inside them. It's ridiculous. My point here is that somehow these guys found a method to simultaneously LEAVE OUT some of the most necessary info and GIVE WAY TOO MUCH of the most useless e book is not completely useless, but it's not amazing either--especially for being a $50 book. There are "Key Facts" listed in the margins of each page with high yield factoids, as well as some brief classic case presentations that will create you guess the diagnosis/next step in evaluation, and those are actually beautiful good. But I would recommend focusing your energy on the Uworld Step 2 CK Question Bank for an idea of what info is need-to-know and what info is just fluff. There are other books out there that will be worth your cash long before you'll ever need to resort to buying this book. Would not recommend getting it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Tenth Edition []  2020-1-22 19:55

    Misprinted pages, some blurry, and some unreadable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CS, Sixth Edition []  2020-1-23 1:42

    Amazing book.. probably the best one you can buy for CS .. the cases in the back they tend to stretch on their differentials and the patient responses aren't the most realistic come try day.. but the book is amazing enough to pass

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386