Read first women reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all first women reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    First For Women []  2020-1-11 20:42

    Best all-around magazine I've ever subscribe to! If the quality work continues, I will continue to purchase it! This had a small bit of everything and I think I read it cover-to-cover within 2 days! Lots of unbelievable info and packed with amazing recipes, ideas, and all-around amazing reading! Highly recommended for trips, too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First For Women []  2020-1-11 20:42

    What I like most about this magazine is that it has articles about things I care about. So a lot of magazines have unrealistic pictures of life that create me tired just looking at them. This magazine has helpful info for true women that create life easier and more enjoyable. Most of the recipes I use come from this and Women's Globe (I think they are sister publications) I will always hold my subscription!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women & Children First []  2020-10-8 20:2

    In the process of replacing old cassettes with vinyl and finally got around to this one - the mighty Van Halen's Women And Kids e overall material on this release seems slightly weaker than, for example, their debut release. There are a few outstanding songs such as And The Cradle Will Rock and Everybody Wants Some. Alas, there are a few weaker spots such as In A Easy Rhyme and Could This Be Magic - not that they are poor songs. Overall content sounds a bit rushed with a small filler. For Van Halen's masterpieces, go check out their debut and Fair Warning as ree and 1/2 to 4 stars for this e vinyl is standard black.

    0  


    Add your opinion on first women or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women & Children First []  2020-10-8 20:2

    Sound is lightening times better than the original CD releases. Can't comment on the Warner reissues than came out more recently but it is night and day above the original cd's. I replaced all of them with these reissues. I'm a sound snob too! These sound superb!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women & Children First []  2020-10-8 20:2

    This remastered ver sounds fantastic!!! All of Van Halen’s remastered albums have amazing sound quality. If that’s what you’re concerned about, don’t be. Highly recommended!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First for Women []  2021-1-7 20:9

    I have loved this magazine for years. I love the health articles and years ago read an article about a diet that helped me to really slim down, fast. I obtain amazing information about health problems and books on those topics that support me to research health problems further. The current problem had a little article about how Canadian researchers tested effects of 55 natural anti-cancer agents on two forms of breast cancer and found an ingredient in black pepper was the most effective. The article said take 1/4 tsp a day. I can do that. Where else can I obtain these small tidbits of wonderful information. Another article has information how I could consider a vitamin that could create me look 15 years younger and slim down if needed. The magazine is written well, informative not lofty. It has beauty info, recipes that are kind of fun, some decorating info, some pet information and more. It's my "feel good" magazine and never disappoints.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First for Women []  2021-1-7 20:9

    Okay we should all method 0 lbs. by now if all of the headline diet articles featured each month worked. However the rest of the articles included are more reasonable and the hints are often helpful and factual. The magazine is overall uplifting and interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First For Women []  2020-1-11 20:42

    I have loved this magazine for years. I love the health articles and years ago read an article about a diet that helped me to really slim down, fast. I obtain amazing information about health problems and books on those topics that support me to research health problems further. The current problem had a little article about how Canadian researchers tested effects of 55 natural anti-cancer agents on two forms of breast cancer and found an ingredient in black pepper was the most effective. The article said take 1/4 tsp a day. I can do that. Where else can I obtain these small tidbits of wonderful information. Another article has information how I could consider a vitamin that could create me look 15 years younger and slim down if needed. The magazine is written well, informative not lofty. It has beauty info, recipes that are kind of fun, some decorating info, some pet information and more. It's my "feel good" magazine and never disappoints.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First For Women []  2020-1-11 20:42

    I miss the days when reading a magazine was all pleasurable. These days, it seems just about every article or story is an advertisement. I also miss recipes created from scratch. Would like to see more of e nicest part of this magazine is it doesn't have fragrance inserts or other smelly pages. A lot of of us are allergic to those sort of additives and are not able to have them in the home. My neighbor suffers terribly from that problem. This magazine allows me to read it and then pass it to her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women & Children First []  2020-10-8 20:2

    I kind of forgot about this album for a long time. Latest year I went on a Van Halen buying rampage and bought most of their collection on cd from amazon. Glad I included this n Halen released Women and Kids First as a follow up to their first 2 studios albums. There isn't much for the top 40 crowd to obtain very excited about. 'And The Cradle Will Rock' comes the closest to being a hit single. It's a amazing song, marking the first time Eddie moved over to keyboards in the studio. Actually, it's a Hammond organ and adds a ton of atmosphere to the r the rest of the album the tried and real formula of letting Eddie go crazy on his guitar always works and when that happens here the results are predictably t an essential purchase until you obtain VH 1, 2, and 1984.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First for Women []  2021-1-7 20:9

    Best all-around magazine I've ever subscribe to! If the quality work continues, I will continue to purchase it! This had a small bit of everything and I think I read it cover-to-cover within 2 days! Lots of unbelievable info and packed with amazing recipes, ideas, and all-around amazing reading! Highly recommended for trips, too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First for Women []  2021-1-7 20:9

    What I like most about this magazine is that it has articles about things I care about. So a lot of magazines have unrealistic pictures of life that create me tired just looking at them. This magazine has helpful info for true women that create life easier and more enjoyable. Most of the recipes I use come from this and Women's Globe (I think they are sister publications) I will always hold my subscription!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First for Women []  2021-1-7 20:9

    I have fun reading womens mags, but would discontinue if they go up in price, or stop having crossword puzzles...etc. Mags have become soexpensive, a lot of costing more than what I paid for my college books, so I subscribe so I can reduce the price I pay, and so far first is a goodmag. My fresh rule is that I will not pay for mags that do not have crossword puzzles, or are over 3.00 per.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First for Women []  2021-1-7 20:9

    I have subscribed to this magazine for about 3 years. In my opinion,it is the best women's magazine out there. I'm glad to have a subscription, because I don't see it on newsstands anymore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First For Women []  2020-1-11 20:42

    Online subscription is a small harder to read since the screen is smaller than the print magazine, and you have to scroll back a page at a time when you've finished reading to obtain to the beginning, but I appreciate enjoying the magazine without the clutter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First For Women []  2020-1-11 20:42

    I have fun reading womens mags, but would discontinue if they go up in price, or stop having crossword puzzles...etc. Mags have become soexpensive, a lot of costing more than what I paid for my college books, so I subscribe so I can reduce the price I pay, and so far first is a goodmag. My fresh rule is that I will not pay for mags that do not have crossword puzzles, or are over 3.00 per.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women & Children First []  2020-10-8 20:2

    One of the better Van Halen albums. For some reason, I never owned or listened to this entire album when it first came out. I did not know anyone who had it, so all I ever heard was a couple songs like "The Cradle Will Rock" and "Everybody Wants Some" on the radio. Finally, I got this album and listened to it and was surpised how amazing it was with songs like "Fools" and "Romeo Delight" becoming favorites of mine years after the album was released. I also wish to note something that does not result the quality of the album, but depending who and where you order this album from, instead of the normal green and grey album cover, you may obtain one that is blue and yellow, which is an authentic Van Halen album, but a ver that is from the U.K. A neat collectors item, but maybe not for someone who wanted the original album cover look.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women & Children First []  2020-10-8 20:2

    WCF is classic Van Halen. But when it arrives in a completely destroyed jewel case...well let's just say a bubble envelope doesn't always chop it. But I'm old and always hold a few dozen old cases on hand so it will search a home in one of those. So melody = 5 ....but overall I'll give it a 2 for the arrival condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First For Women []  2020-1-11 20:42

    This is one of my two favorite magazines for all the amazing ideas and information! It’s got so much inside it, it’s almost like a treasure chest for women - everything from how to’s in the kitchen to helping make the best ver of ourselves!The absolutely packed with hints and DIY’s from cover to cover. To have the magazine online instead of stacking up on the coffee table is so handy and clear of clutter! I love it showing up on my homepage for simple access!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First For Women []  2020-1-11 20:42

    I love this magazine. It has a balanced amount of topics and those darling animal pix! I obtain tired of celebrity news in other pubs and/or suggestive material that I feel is best left between partners and/or their doctors. So I appreciate the decency of this magazine very much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women & Children First []  2020-10-8 20:2

    The VH 180g vinyl remasters are impeccable in quality. The vinyl is massive and super quiet and masters are amazing. This project is filled with original material. Of course the radio singles have all been heard but the filler material is amazing as well. Tora Tora Tora really shines and the acoustic pieces sound incredible. On this record, there was no set of liner notes but an audiophile quality plastic lines inner sleeve is included. It’s a amazing price point for quality vinyl and worth every penny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women & Children First []  2020-10-8 20:2

    Van Halen's third album (their first with a proper title) called Women and Kids First was originally released in March of e album was recorded in two weeks in January of 1980 but the method that lead singer David Lee Roth, guitarist Eddie Van Halen, his drummer brother Alex Van Halen and bass player Michael Anthony played here it doesn't sound it. The album was also produced again by Ted Templeman and also engineered by Donn Landee. The Women and Kids First album was the first where the band wrote all of the songs on the album (and had no cover tunes). What was the effect of recording and mixing in a two week span and recording all original material, search out like I did when I first got the album for Christmas in 1984 on cassette e opening rocker "And the Cradle Will Rock..." had a assassin keyboard riff which sounds like an electric guitar but was a distorted Wurlitzer piano cranked through a Marshall amp and stack and two assassin Eddie Van Halen guitar solos in the middle and guitar effects on the right speakers. David Lee Roth's vocals were assassin on this album. "Everybody Wants Some" is next with Alex's superb drum intro and an amazing song and all I can think about is the claymated hamburger singing this song in Better Off Dead but a assassin song nonetheless with stellar bass work from Michael Anthony and more guitar work from Eddie whom just rocks on this entire album. "Fools" follows and is an amazing track which starts out with just Diamond Dave and Eddie's guitar before going into a full throttle rocker. The first half closing rocker "Romeo Delight" is a assassin and sounds like proto-thrash with its punkish drumming and metal e second half kicks off with the assassin guitar result fanfare "Tora! Tora!" before rocking out to the speed metal sounding "Loss of Control". Next is the bluesy rocker "Take Your Whiskey Home" which may have started out as an acoustic piece at first and then rocks out for the rest of the song. Next is the acoustic blues of "Could This Be Magic" with Eddie doing some assassin dobro and the late Nichollette Larson supplying some uncredited backing vocals towards the end of the track alongside Michael Anthony. The closing "In a Easy Rhyme" starts out as an acoustic piece before it rocks out then slows again then rocks for the solo then slows for the end like in beginning. After the song ends, there is a hidden 30 second instrumental at the end of the album.When Women and Kids First was released, it became the band's first album to storm into the US Top 5 and was another Multi-Platinum hit for the band.Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First for Women []  2021-1-7 20:9

    Online subscription is a small harder to read since the screen is smaller than the print magazine, and you have to scroll back a page at a time when you've finished reading to obtain to the beginning, but I appreciate enjoying the magazine without the clutter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First for Women []  2021-1-7 20:9

    I love this magazine. It has a balanced amount of topics and those darling animal pix! I obtain tired of celebrity news in other pubs and/or suggestive material that I feel is best left between partners and/or their doctors. So I appreciate the decency of this magazine very much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First for Women []  2021-1-7 20:9

    One of the most informative women magazine on the shop for losing weight, recipes, helpful hint, health problems and lots of mini articles that create you feel amazing that you are a women.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First For Women []  2020-1-11 20:42

    Okay we should all method 0 lbs. by now if all of the headline diet articles featured each month worked. However the rest of the articles included are more reasonable and the hints are often helpful and factual. The magazine is overall uplifting and interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First For Women []  2020-1-11 20:42

    One of my favorite magazines. Subscription started quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women & Children First []  2020-10-8 20:2

    I was heartbroken when I went to play my original pressing and accidentally dropped it damaging the surface of side one. I was a bit hesitant to buy the fresh remastered ver but damn if it isn't sweet. Loving it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women & Children First []  2020-10-8 20:2

    It's funny. I own this in vinyl form somewhere in the stores of my old LPs but I haven't listened to it in almost 20 years. Since then, and with the coming (and going) of Sammy Hagar, I always maintained that the two versions of Van Halen (I am blissfully ignoring the Cherone years) were to be considered as two various and distinct bands. I see that now as a lame attempt to avoid making a choice of who was the better front man of VH. After re-listening to this cd after so a lot of years, I have easily created up my mind. Not only were the David Lee Roth years of Van Halen the better years of the band, Women and Kids First could be the best album they place forth. I can finally place my mind at ease with this determination. Now, who can support me with determining which singer of AC/DC was better?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First for Women []  2021-1-7 20:9

    This is one of my two favorite magazines for all the amazing ideas and information! It’s got so much inside it, it’s almost like a treasure chest for women - everything from how to’s in the kitchen to helping make the best ver of ourselves!The absolutely packed with hints and DIY’s from cover to cover. To have the magazine online instead of stacking up on the coffee table is so handy and clear of clutter! I love it showing up on my homepage for simple access!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat: Voices of First Nations Women / Various []  2020-2-2 20:42

    This CD is a must if you have fun Native American music, dance and culture. Although most of the material is relatively short, it allows the CD to be filled with melody representing almost every region or "culture area" of North America and a wide range of styles and periods, from contemporary to traditional and beautiful much everything in between. Again, as I said this is perfect for authentic Native American music, but you should really be aware of what to expect before rushing out to obtain this CD. Powwow melody can be rough on western ears at first. Once you obtain used to it though you'll really like eres a couple songs by the contemporary artists like Ulali (Cherokee) and Joanne Shenandoah (Iroquois) on here which are really amazing to listen to, along with Lakhota and Pueblo flute songs, love songs of the Ojibwa, social dances of the Iroquois and traditional Dine (Navajo) and Pueblo songs. Beyond that, theres also some more unusual and obscure stuff, like Betty Mae Jumper (former chief of the Seminole Nation of Florida) performing traditional Seminole songs and gospel, and Nancy Richardson (Karok IIRC) performing several songs of the Indians of northern California, including the Kick Dance which was used to initiate eres lots more too, including a Buffy Sainte-Marie's interesting (but quite enjoyable) mix of northern Plains style melody with modern pop/rock. Overall, I cannot recommend this CD enough. Even though it only dwells on a little part of Native American melody (that performed by women and even then limited to North America) it still does a unbelievable job of sampling the diversity. More obscure stuff, such as that of the Nations of California and the Southeast, is included alongside contemporary and traditional melody of the Plains, the Southwest and the north, so theres a really amazing mix. Obviously not everything was covered, but its still a nice introduction. Check it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hello Girls: America's First Women Soldiers []  2020-12-18 20:24

    Professor Cobbs brings her historian self to this factual acc of the women who literally were in the trenches in WWI! It is a fascinating and simple to follow story of American telephone operators recruited by the U,S. Troops to connect telephone lines and dispatch messages between troops and command posts in France while under fire! Denied proper pensions and compensation for a lot of decades and visibility through proper military channels for almost a century, Cobbs is perfect in telling the story of very brave American women. We are still in there fighting, Girls!!! Know that professor Elizabeth Cobbs has your interests at heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hello Girls: America's First Women Soldiers []  2020-12-18 20:24

    I cannot say enough about how necessary this book is to history. As a teacher, I feel it is necessary to recognize all the contributors to the battle effort in WWI and the Hello Girls were overlooked for decades. My students are always surprised when they learn of the history of the Hello Girls and how necessary their contribution was to the success of the battle on the Western Front. A amazing read with lots of valuable historical information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hello Girls: America's First Women Soldiers []  2020-12-18 20:24

    A multi-faceted reminder that among people in power, there have always been those who will use all the tools of bureaucracy to deny pay, rights & glory to "outsiders" after the true work is done.And tons of profound info of the workings of the globe that opened, for me, fresh locations of interest and inquiry

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat: Voices of First Nations Women / Various []  2020-2-2 20:42

    When I obtain home sick, I play CD'S like this, and I can dream I'am at the Pow-Wow, dancing the night away! And as you will see, Amazon has a amazing group of first american melody to pick from. Like the singing and drums on this cd. You won't go wrong baying this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat: Voices of First Nations Women / Various []  2020-2-2 20:42

    This is a amazing recording. From traditional to contemporary, it keeps your feet moving. Going Home is awesome. I've worn out the cassete tape I bought a few years ago, so now it's on to the c.d.!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hello Girls: America's First Women Soldiers []  2020-12-18 20:24

    Very well written. Keeps the reader's interest. Obtain to know (and appreciate) the Hello Girls & what they fought for during WWI and beyond. Would recommend this book to historians, archivists, history buffs, and classrooms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat: Voices of First Nations Women / Various []  2020-2-2 20:42

    enlightening

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat: Voices of First Nations Women / Various []  2020-2-2 20:42

    I love this album, and we listen to it as I'm putting my 6-month-old daughter to sleep most nights. One of the songs, Mother (by Ulali), completely hypnotizes her and can obtain her to sleep and hold her asleep when I place it on repeat. What a lovely album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hello Girls: America's First Women Soldiers []  2020-12-18 20:24

    Loved this book and similar to it because I was a telephone operator in high school but too young to have served. It is well organized and complete with interesting stories about these unsung heroes. I used this book for a power point; loved the photos. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hello Girls: America's First Women Soldiers []  2020-12-18 20:24

    I like history in particular Globe Battle I and Globe II history. This is a very interesting read concerning women who were recruited in Globe Battle I to man keyboards before women were allowed to serve in the military. If you like battle history or women's history, this is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat: Voices of First Nations Women / Various []  2020-2-2 20:42

    My spiritual path for 20 years has been an eclectic collection of earth medicine, with my base being the Native American Medicine Wheel, my Celtic and Norse ancestors, and Toltec teachings. These songs create my heart sing and support me connect to Tonantzín/PachaMama/EarthMother.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hello Girls: America's First Women Soldiers []  2020-12-18 20:24

    A daringly and mindful story of how the amazing need for women was recognized by General Pershing and the/his persuasion of President Wilson to enlist them into the Troops Signal Corps. However their contribution was not appreciatively noted until long after the battle due to what was the status of women of that era. Though you can't change history, you can dictate the future with the learned past; which we have finally done herein.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hello Girls: America's First Women Soldiers []  2020-12-18 20:24

    The author of The Hello Girls book does a amazing job in covering the activities of a select, and unfortunately small known group of women recruited to support man the American Expeditionary Force (AEF) telephone system in France during WWI. The women's backgrounds, experiences during the war, significant contributions to the AEF's military command and control operations, and the women's post battle lives are described. The author also covers their difficulty seeking and in being recognized as veterans by the Battle Department/Dept. of Defense until long after most of them were e book is also as much about the Women's Suffrage movement before and during WWI and the success of women getting the vote in the 1920s as it is about the Hello Girls themselves.. I would recommend it for anyone wanting to read about this topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat: Voices of First Nations Women / Various []  2020-2-2 20:42

    Very attractive and touching, and especially powerful. Can't go wrong with this cd if you love Native American rsonally I search that the female power comes out when you listen to this music. I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat: Voices of First Nations Women / Various []  2020-2-2 20:42

    Very great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hello Girls: America's First Women Soldiers []  2020-12-18 20:24

    Dr Cobbs does an AMAZING job of telling this story with such precision you would think she was one of the Hello Girls. The story is powerful, and the history remarkable. Amazing job presenting it and making us remember the war so a lot of went through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Hello Girls: America's First Women Soldiers []  2020-12-18 20:24

    Really enjoyed this book about these forgotten women. It took long enough to recognize their bravery and commitment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Mothers: The Women Who Shaped the Presidents [Book]  2017-11-9 18:0

    Found out a number of things about our former presidents and their mothers. Got really irrited by some of those mothers, especially FDR since I lived through his presidency and really liked Eleanor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Mothers: The Women Who Shaped the Presidents [Book]  2017-11-9 18:0

    It is very interesting to read about the influence the Mothers of Presidents of the United States had upon their sons. You learn some very interesting facts. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical facts

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat, Vol. 2: More Voices Of First Nations Women []  2020-1-25 19:20

    There are not very a lot of cds out there that are of Native American women, allow alone from a lot of tribes, performing. When I found Heartbeat, Vol. 1 I was very excited. Heartbeat, Vol. 2 continues in the path of that cd 1 started. The cd includes a unbelievable assortment of groups, individuals, strictly instrumental music, acappela singing, and voice with instrument. There are songs done in the language of the tribe singing and there are songs done in english. This is a real treasure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Frost (Women of Fossil Ridge Book 3) []  2020-11-7 18:14

    Charlotte learns to listen to her heart and the hearts of those she loves! Dr. Ellis finally sees his childhood crush become reality!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Mothers: The Women Who Shaped the Presidents [Book]  2017-11-9 18:0

    This is a very interesting book about the powerful women who made presidents. This supplier can be trusted to state an accurate description of an used book condition. In fact, it underrated it. I would say this "very good" book was actually "like new." Because of that, I used it as a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Mothers: The Women Who Shaped the Presidents [Book]  2017-11-9 18:0

    I found the stories of the mothers of the presidents to be a unbelievable read. We also got some extra insight to the presidents>I have given several books as bonuses and I recommend it to a number of my mates who read a th B. Long

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Feisty First Ladies and Other Unforgettable White House Women []  2020-2-8 18:0

    This book has a lot of stories about the first ladies which have probably never been printed before. I don't know if the stories are all real or if some of them are legends that have evolved over time. Whatever the case, this is a very amusing book. I'd recommend it for one who is interested in some light reading that will create you laugh!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Feisty First Ladies and Other Unforgettable White House Women []  2020-2-8 18:0

    This book is filled with all kinds of knowledge and info regarding the ladies of the White House. In an entertaining and informative way, "Feisty First Ladies" fills readers in on all the gossip pertaining to the White House. From Martha Washington to Michelle Obama, this book is filled with the most amusing fun facts. Both educational and entertaining, everyone should pick up this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat, Vol. 2: More Voices Of First Nations Women []  2020-1-25 19:20

    A lot of awesome voices.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Melania Trump: Model and First Lady (Leading Women) []  2020-9-23 20:0

    Not a respectful biography of Mrs. Trump. It’s more of a “unveiled” criticism of the President. Negative vIgnettes, gossip and critics are given far more zone than they deserve. Hard to imagine the transgressions of Bill Clinton would be given equal time in the book about Chelsea Clinton.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Frost (Women of Fossil Ridge Book 3) []  2020-11-7 18:14

    .....is how I felt while reading "First Frost." Putting it down once into it was not an option. I followed with anticipation as Charlotte met the challenges of the detours as they appeared in her life, the method she dealt with the crippling disease called "Alzheimer's," the perils of meeting the needs of a teenager, without ostracising her, adjusting her life around the lives of two excellent strangers, and finally, realizing that the grass is not always greener!Lynne, dear friend, you have real writing talents. Please, please hold giving us such reading pleasure. 💞

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Frost (Women of Fossil Ridge Book 3) []  2020-11-7 18:14

    Sad to see this series end, love how all the characters were wrapped up and the happily ever afters for everyone. Especially loved Teeny and Ira and the method they became family. I need MORE!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Frost (Women of Fossil Ridge Book 3) []  2020-11-7 18:14

    Very relevant book for situations the sandwich generations face. Funny and touching.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Mothers: The Women Who Shaped the Presidents [Book]  2017-11-9 18:0

    interesting only in parts. For the most, dull.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Mothers: The Women Who Shaped the Presidents [Book]  2017-11-9 18:0

    Extremely well written! Very inyteresting!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat, Vol. 2: More Voices Of First Nations Women []  2020-1-25 19:20

    I really have fun American Indian melody and chants, but This group filled in with some noise or short sounds that sounded like a group of toddlers having a party. Therefore, I cancelled my order for the "Heartbeat, Vol 1", which wasn't available yet anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Frost (Women of Fossil Ridge Book 3) []  2020-11-7 18:14

    I loved reading this series and look forward to reading more of her books. The heartbreak and love is amazing reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Frost (Women of Fossil Ridge Book 3) []  2020-11-7 18:14

    Loved this book and this series so much. I was totally drawn in by the characters who became family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Mothers: The Women Who Shaped the Presidents [Book]  2017-11-9 18:0

    Found this book to be so interesting and informative...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Mothers: The Women Who Shaped the Presidents [Book]  2017-11-9 18:0

    It's one of my favorite books. I have bought several copies and have given them as gifts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Mothers: The Women Who Shaped the Presidents [Book]  2017-11-9 18:0

    I was expecting stories about all of the mothers of all the presidents, not just a few latest ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Feisty First Ladies and Other Unforgettable White House Women []  2020-2-8 18:0

    I obviously didn't pay much attention to the title when I bought this book. It is an interesting book and the stories are incredible, but I think I wanted more of a biography. This book just gives you a tip of what the particular lady might have been about. It is a amazing book - just not what I was expecting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Frost (Women of Fossil Ridge Book 3) []  2020-11-7 18:14

    I enjoyed this final book in the Fossil Ridge series as much as the first two. The characters are well developed and their stories reveal growth, vulnerability and forgiveness in their relationships.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Mothers: The Women Who Shaped the Presidents [Book]  2017-11-9 18:0

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat, Vol. 2: More Voices Of First Nations Women []  2020-1-25 19:20

    Very great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbeat, Vol. 2: More Voices Of First Nations Women []  2020-1-25 19:20

    A unbelievable accompaniment to ceremony, and a fine follow-up to Vol. I

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Feisty First Ladies and Other Unforgettable White House Women []  2020-2-8 18:0

    I have to admit most of the information on the 1st Ladies is not fresh to me, but love the featurettes on other political women and the "other women" in the President's lives!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Frost (Women of Fossil Ridge Book 3) []  2020-11-7 18:14

    This third and final book in the Fossil Ridge series is again filled with Lynne Gentry's style of soul-searching, heartfelt, and intensive yet seemingly easy prose. Fresh life comes to the little city of Addisonville and one of our favorite seniors times her excellent exit. Aria is accepted into Juilliard's Saturday pre-college program, and in an odd twist of serendipity, Charlotte is asked to teach there, so the two of them, plus Ira move to Fresh York with Goodwill and Mercy.What's happened to Fossil Ridge? You're going to have to read this book to explore all the goodness and blessings Lynne Gentry has in shop for her readers, and I highly recommend that you begin with the first novel in this unbelievable series!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Frost (Women of Fossil Ridge Book 3) []  2020-11-7 18:14

    Life can be amazing no matter how a lot of expectations disappoint, or best-laid plans fail, even after tragedy and private failure. 'First Frost' completes a three-book series. If moves quickly, covers a multitude of happenings that almost leave you feeling exhausted along with the participants. It is an enjoyable story in the extreme, but must be read as the thrid book in the series. Lynn Gentry is a gifted writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Frost (Women of Fossil Ridge Book 3) []  2020-11-7 18:14

    The third and final book of the Fossil Ridge series. A somewhat predictable ending, but still a pleasurable read with characters I couldn’t support but love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Women: The Grace and Power of America's Modern First Ladies [Book]  2017-10-27 18:0

    I really looked forward to reading this since history is my favorite subject. Must say I was a small disappointed , as others have said, I found it repetitive and disorganized in that it jumps back and forth between the First Ladies rather than being presented in chronological order. Still did have some interesting tidbits.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Women: The Grace and Power of America's Modern First Ladies [Book]  2017-10-27 18:0

    Having lived through the terms of all these first ladies I thought the book gave some interesting insights into how the happenings affecting our country were affecting the lives of the first families. I had expected the book to address one first lady at a time, and at first the jumping back and forth from one to another bothered me, but after I got into it I could see how the author also wanted to present us how the first ladies similar to each other. I liked the book so much I bought a hard copy for a mate who also loves history (not available at Amazon when I looked for it there - had to obtain it from Barnes & Noble).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Women: The Grace and Power of America's Modern First Ladies [Book]  2017-10-27 18:0

    “First Women” by Kate Andersen Brower is a novel about America’s modern First Ladies. Much like her latest bestseller, “The Residence”, we are privileged to see inside the White House and the living quarters of the First Family. Relying on first hand interviews with former First Ladies and staff members one can obtain a glimpse of the fishbowl existence that these ladies erestingly, each former First Lady has her own style. The transition from administration to administration can be fraught with anxiety, concern and nervousness or with reassurance and calmness that all will be taken care of. There is also the stress of subtle hostility between the old administration and the fresh administration. These ladies come to the White House as supporters of their husbands and as veterans of intense campaigning, sometimes to the detriment of their families. However in all cases, the focus of these plucky individuals has always been the welfare of their husbands and their children. Some have taken it upon themselves to personally see that those surrounding the President are unquestionably loyal and trustworthy. It has not been beyond some of these ladies to see that those who didn’t “muster up” were relieved of their positions.I found this novel to be informative and very interesting. It gives a real perspective as to the lives these families live under very stressful cirtances.I purchased a Kindle copy of this book from No review positive or otherwise was needed – all opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Women: The Grace and Power of America's Modern First Ladies [Book]  2017-10-27 18:0

    Seriously a repeat of her first book. I want I could obtain my cash back . Nothing I really didn't already t much to say in this review other than I don't recommend buying because it just repeats over and over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Women: The Grace and Power of America's Modern First Ladies [Book]  2017-10-27 18:0

    I own several books about America's First Ladies and still enjoyed this one immensely. Reviewers have already mentioned that it isn't organized chronologically so I was hesitant since I usually like my history in order. But I really enjoyed reading how the first ladies have similar to each other and the thematic approach of the author. I had already read and enjoyed Brower's The Residence so was familiar with her style. I can recommend this and it contains Michelle Obama so is an updated look at these very unique ladies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Women: The Grace and Power of America's Modern First Ladies [Book]  2017-10-27 18:0

    I was very excited about this book because I'm extremely interested in this era of American history, but I'm confused about the reviews. Several readers mention they feel that this is a "well written" and "thoroughly researched" work. I'll give Brower the points on research (I'm sure this was quite a task to undertake), but I'm lost at the notion that people feel this book is my opinion, this entire narrative reads like pages and pages of notes that someone has jotted down and published, prior to the editing process or prior to even formatting the story into a cohesive outline. Brower begins the introduction with a story of Hillary Clinton and Jackie Kennedy and later repeats the exact phrasing of this same story in a subsequent chapter. It's odd. The chapters in general are long-winded and only vaguely connected to their titles ("motherhood" for instance is the heading for one chapter but naturally, this subject is covered throughout the book, so this subdivision means small in the context of the entire thread) and because it's written out of order, the author is forced to constantly use latest names and descriptions ("Amy's nanny," "Jack's doctor") repeatedly, even when writing about someone who's already been discussed.Had my opinion been solicited (which I know is comical, given that the author is a NY Times #1 Best Seller), I would have definitely suggested putting it in chronological order. I know that a lot of research accounts use examples of common themes from all of their topics to illustrate the chosen category, but this writing bounces so all over the put that the author would've done better to begin with Jackie and tell the story from her forward, interweaving the ladies' relationships with one another into the tale as the years progress. As it's written, we begin with Jackie yachting with Hillary and circle back so a lot of times to Pat Nixon, Betty Ford, Rosalynn Cater, and Lady Bird Johnson, that I'm constantly having to pause and remember, ok: Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, Clinton, Bush, Obama. It's hard to hold it all straight as a younger person (even one who knows all the presidents in order from Washington) who didn't live through most of these years. The book, as a whole, feels extremely at being said, there is obviously interesting info about the women within these pages. You just have to mine through quite a bit of rough-edged stone to obtain to these precious jewels. I definitely believe the author's acc as I think she is a credible source who clearly did her homework, and it does create the women come alive in a sense that one might not ordinarily understand. I do wonder though what the ladies think - or would think - of some of this info coming to light. Betty Ford comes off the best in my opinion while Nancy Reagan seems somewhat cold and borderline pathetic, and the others, (save Hillary Clinton who is really her own category, apart from "first lady," and the Bush ladies, who have private philosophies barring them from complaining or self-pity) read like tragic figures, generally ruined by the role.I'm not saying not to read this book... give it a shot, just understand that you have to focus and sift through some repetitive info to keep the benefits of the best parts. I personally [email protected]#$%! had been condensed and gone through another pass at editing, but I do commend Brower on bringing this story to our collective attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Women: The Grace and Power of America's Modern First Ladies [Book]  2017-10-27 18:0

    The author sold the same stories in various chapters repeating herself. It was about the most current seven First Ladies to presidents. There were very interesting collaborations between women whose husbands were of various political parties.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Women: The Grace and Power of America's Modern First Ladies [Book]  2017-10-27 18:0

    This is an interesting look at the women who graced the White House. It gives us a realistic picture of their personalities and how they affected their husbands--and of course, how it impacted their governing of our country. It's not chatty, nor gossipy; just an insider's look into their characters and quirks and rounds-out our impressions of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Women: The Grace and Power of America's Modern First Ladies [Book]  2017-10-27 18:0

    This is a pleasant valentine for ten first ladies. It is not profound but neither is it particularly critical. A few of the anecdotes appeared in Brower's The Residence. A lot of of the stories she shares are already widely known: the coolness between Barbara Bush and Nancy Reagan, the Clintons' profane arguments, the fact that Michelle Obama was not particularly satisfied about moving to Washington and into the White House, and so on. At first Brower appears to wish to create readers think that the First Ladies have some unique relationship because of the role they shared, however, that theme doesn't really work. In fact, the only two first ladies who seemed to have developed a real friendship were Lady Bird Johnson and Betty Ford. Rosalind Carter remained bitter for a while after her husband's conquer and even was somewhat resentful because Hillary Clinton did not ask her anything about health care although that had been Rosalind's major effort has first lady. Nancy Reagan doesn't seem to have cared much for any of them with the possible exception of Jackie Kennedy Onassis (snob appeal, maybe?) There is one photograph of several of the women at an happening which tells all. The five or six others appear to be talking to each other but Mrs. Reagan is at the end of the table and is turned completely away. The expression on her face says, more or less, "when will this purgatory end"? All in all, the book is interesting as a sidelight into the lives of these women who have tried to fufill the role as best they could. Some more successfully than others. Some tidbits are fascinating. Laura Bush has an photo of the excellent southern lady who never loses her cool but evidently there were times when she could create her displeasure known, especially toward a staff member who kept losing the keys to her daughter's car. Pat Nixon was much liked and admired by her staff as was Barbara Bush. The only true criticism I have of the book is its organization. Brower skips around and repeats herself at times. Perhaps organizing it chronologically completely would have created for a more cohesive story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First Women: The Grace and Power of America's Modern First Ladies [Book]  2017-10-27 18:0

    I thought this book was enlightening and very readable. I found it to be a candid, intimate, and heartwarming read. Some of these private tales were unexpected. These women demonstrated a fierce protectiveness towards their children,husbands,and mothers, in some cases. Our first women are incredibly graceful under pressure, possess an unflinching private strength, and unconditional supportiveness towards their husbands. I would highly recommend this book to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Space: 23 Stories of First Flights, Scientific Missions, and Gravity-Breaking Adventures (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    Everything I thought I knew about the zone program went out the window when I read this is is a YA book, but it’s easily enjoyable by readers of all ages. The writing flows well and hooked me right away. I learned a lot about the women who’ve been to space. Not just that the US sent women, but the first women in Russia and across the globe. Sure, there is a huge portion on US astronauts, but it’s balanced by plenty of stories about other female astronauts.Each chapter is easily understood and well-written. I liked how the author created the women interesting and understandable. It’s not just a story where there is info and it’s presented blandly. Instead, it’s told in a bouncy method that drew me in.I’m glad I read this book. I’ve wanted to know more about female astronauts and the zone program, so this was a excellent piece to add to that puzzle. If you’re interested in the full story of space, this is one book you won’t wish to miss.originally posted at long and short reviews

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Space: 23 Stories of First Flights, Scientific Missions, and Gravity-Breaking Adventures (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    Begins with the story of The Mercury 13: The Real Story of Thirteen Women and the Dream of Zone Flight and these 13 women's attempt to join the zone program. But, due to fear by men and concern for menstruation and its impact upon decision making they were anwhile, in Russia they sent some women up. A list of the 55 women to date who have been to zone and list of zone shuttle names. Each of the female Russian Cosmonauts have a short insightful biography and a om there are short biographies of the American women and a image followed by other women from around the globe who have had a tions that a Zone Shuttle flight would cost $450 million, seats to zone cost $20 cludes a glossary and index. Insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Space: 23 Stories of First Flights, Scientific Missions, and Gravity-Breaking Adventures (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    Book arrived in time and in amazing condition. I plan to read it, along with other books about inspiring women in WWI, WWII, American Revolution, American Frontier, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Space: 23 Stories of First Flights, Scientific Missions, and Gravity-Breaking Adventures (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    Amazing book! amazing historical overview about zone exploration in general and then focusing on women's journey in space

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Space: 23 Stories of First Flights, Scientific Missions, and Gravity-Breaking Adventures (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    my 4 year old daughter is really into astronauts and zone and I thought this book would be excellent for her! We haven't started reading it just yet, but we're both satisfied with having it. She's very excited to learn about women in space.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Space: 23 Stories of First Flights, Scientific Missions, and Gravity-Breaking Adventures (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    This wasn't what I was expecting; I was hoping for some bigger, better-quality photographs to flip through with my preschooler. (Don't buy it for that reason, the illustrations are little and not particularly compelling, though we did manage to spend a small time looking through it together. And the kiddo does like to look at the cover and point out the "real" Mae Jemison, as opposed to the "artist's pretend" Mae Jemison in Mae Among the Stars.)It is a subject that I wanted to learn more about, so in theory I was also interested in reading this as an adult; but it unexpectedly took me months to plod through. The writing just seemed very dry and uninspired; whenever I lost my bookmark, I literally could not remember which parts I'd already read. I also thought that it leaned too heavily on a simplistic progress-against-ism narrative, instead of taking that zone to fully establish the different cosmonauts and astronauts as individuals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Space: 23 Stories of First Flights, Scientific Missions, and Gravity-Breaking Adventures (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    This book had several stories that are seldom told in regular is book was comfortable reading, and it described the women in sufficient detail to understand the tag the individuals created in history.Often the book describes work that was attributed to others long me of these names do not come up in easy Internet searches for popular women from the zone program. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Space: 23 Stories of First Flights, Scientific Missions, and Gravity-Breaking Adventures (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    So I’ve been on a zone kick lately, reading a LOT of books about zone and astronauts. In my hunt this book, Women in Space: 23 stories of first flights, scientific missions, and gravity-breaking adventures by Karen Bush Gibson, really caught my attention, I never knew that there were women being tested for the Mercury zone program. I never knew the Soviets launched a woman into zone before the US did. This book is in the teen section at my local library but I’d recommend it for anyone 4th grade and up, maybe even lower depending on their reading is book first talks about the Mercury 13, women who underwent all of the same tests as the male Mercury 7 astronauts. Each of these women was an accomplished pilot. They underwent the tests often completing them with better results than the male astronauts but were not allowed to be part of the program. One was created a “NASA consultant” that was almost never consulted. When the women tried to obtain changes created allowing them to be part of the program, appealing to then Vice President Lyndon Johnson who as a Senator had fought for the zone program they were rejected. One reports that when she spoke to Johnson about it he told her “We can’t allow you into space, if we did we’d have to allow the Blacks go to space, and then the Mexican Americans, all the minorities would wish to go.” Now this is obviously a secondhand quote but WOW. I realize this was before the Civil Rights Movement really got underway and created a difference but to hear that these words came from a man that would soon be President of the United States is seriously e book continues with stories of four female Soviet Cosmonauts, two of which went to zone before the first American woman. Before their individual stories there is a short chapter giving a bit of the history of the Soviet zone program and comparisons between it and the US program at up a chapter on American women in zone beginning with Sally Ride the first American woman in space, it also tells of women walking in space, piloting the shuttle, commanding the shuttle and commanding the Zone Station, and ends with the story of Barbara Morgan the back up to Christa Mcauliffe, teacher who died in the 1986 Challenger explosion (a website that gives me shivers to this day and I only saw it on television unlike a mate of mine who living in FL at the time was standing outside her elementary school watching the begin live) previously there is the story of another American female astronaut that was on that e latest section of the book begins with a summary of the zone programs of other countries and then continues with stories of female astronauts from several other countries including another member of the Challenger e exciting thing to me is that while it took a long time for women to obtain to zone it seems in the US at least that women are really making headway, 1:4 astronauts are women (compared to 1:7 in the police force nationwide), the 2013 class of astronauts is half women (a fact I was excited to see on a unique display at the St. Louis Science Center for Women’s History Month.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Post Grad: Five Women and Their First Year Out of College [Book]  2018-5-26 18:0

    Kitchener's prose is as cutting as it is lucid; POST GRAD reminds us that the transition from college to the true globe is replete with challenges: difficult relationships, tough choices about family, a sense of alienation from one another that's hard to shake. Through the lively stories of four women and herself, Kitchener achieves an incandescent piece of reportage that captures the nuances of this liminal, necessary scene in our lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women Travelers in Egypt: From the Eighteenth to the Twenty-first Century []  2020-1-16 3:3

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the method it was laid travel with each explorer from the 1800’s to today, in the order in which they traveled up or down the Nile. You read an excerpt of each of the traveler who had been to the same zone broken out by Author and the year of their visit. The format allows you to span the distance of time and the ability to visualize the changes that have occurred. Very well done!I have found that I have liked some of the Lady Travelers more then others and intend on searching for for more info on them and their travel y one thing that I would have like to have seen done differently was for the art work that ran throughout the book be captioned with the artist name and date of the drawing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doctor Wore Petticoats: Women Physicians Of The Old West, First Edition []  2020-1-31 5:7

    This sounded like a story WAY overdue and I looked forward to finally hearing about how the fair handled the old west. While there were a number of profiles included of interesting women who served their communities as doctors, the essays lacked development and gave only partial outlines of these women's lives and experiences. MUCH more research was called for to round out the stories. Still, I think simply because one never hears about women doctors in the early years of western settlement, the book was enjoyable in that it at least shed a small light on a long ignored but vitally necessary segment of the settling process during the later 1800's.Over all, this book is worth the ride, even though the stories are too rough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Doctor Wore Petticoats: Women Physicians Of The Old West, First Edition []  2020-1-31 5:7

    I am sure that the info presented was accurate or at least researched. The presentation was not really interesting though. "Doc Susie" the story published about one of the women doctors in the Colorado Rockies out of Denver was much more interesting to read. The disturbing aspect was that the facts didn't match. I would believe that "the Doctor Wore Petticoats" is the more accurate. It is just disappointing that the human interest side of each doctor wasn't included.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386