Read folklore in lowland scotland reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all folklore in lowland scotland reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folklore []  2020-1-11 20:25

    Amazing album. I'm not going to go through each track and tediously ramble on. If you like this band it's a cd that you need to have. Fans of this band know that each album they've released has it's own identity, it's own sound - no two albums exactly alike. They are artists, each album is a separate piece, special and should be judged on it's own. I have never been disappointed by this band and have fun the varied eclectic nature of it's sound and creativity. This one is a favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folklore []  2020-1-11 20:25

    Sixteen Horsepower is an awesome blend of Alternative Rock, Americana, Goth, and Punk. This band from Denver combines vocals that are part goth, part punk, and part Cold Mountain-like Americana with tripy strings, anthem-like drums, a haunting piano, and a whole host of traditional instrumentations. The entire mix is a riveting experience is in the category I call Gothic lklore is one of their most latest albums; it is a mesmerizing and haunting album that brings forth the photo of a haunted house from Appalachia in the late 1800s. These ten songs set you down unexpectingly into empty country fields where a couple of dead bodies litter the ground around a burning wagon; into a rustic cabin with the creepy feeling that something poor has happened ese songs are at the same time haunting and spiritual. Sixteen Horsepower are the darker side of belief revealed.>>>>>>>

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    folklore []  2021-1-5 19:46

    This is a attractive album! Exile, August, and Epiphany are my favorites tracks. It's just a gorgeous album. Yes my case was cracked too but that doesn't take away from the music!

    0  


    Add your opinion on folklore in lowland scotland or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    folklore []  2021-1-5 19:46

    It is not very often that we actually witness an artist become a legend like that of Taylor Swift. She is unbelievably talented and regardless of what people say, is the true deal. She is a composer, lyricist, plays her own instruments—and Folklore only solidifies this to be truth. Amazing work Taylor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folklore []  2020-1-11 20:25

    I picked up this album the day it arrived in stores. Upon first listen I was somewhat dissapointed. I did not think it was a not good album, it just wasn't connecting with me the method their other albums did. But there was something that kept me returning to this album, a lot of times each day. It was slowly growing on me. It lacks the frantic intensity of their earlier work but that driving force has been replaced with a more mature, subtle atmosphere which I believe holds a dark brilliance rarely experienced in contemporary music. I think the only fault of this album lies in its arrangement. I think it could have been improved if the songs were in a various order. The closing waltz just doesn't feel like a proper method to end the experience. But this doesn't merit any trepidation over buying this album. It is definitely 16 horsepower's least accesable album but it is also, perhaps, their most rewarding. Scattered throughout the album are what can only be described as musical epiphanies which only grow in power with each subsequent listen. I recommend this album wholeheartedly as I feel it represents an awesome band at the hight of their powers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    folklore []  2021-1-5 19:46

    Love this album so much that I’ll go big, very big, here: its cohesiveness and strength of songs and its overall sound remind me of when the Beatles released their “acoustic” Rubber Soul album (US version) 55 years ago. Just as the Beatles captured even more listeners beyond their already millions of devoted fans with that album, I think Taylor Swift will do the same with Folklore. The lyrics, the melodies, even the tasteful packaging create this something special. Everyone will have a favorite song on this, mine is The Latest Amazing American Dynasty. I was hooked!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    folklore []  2021-1-5 19:46

    The three stars are for the physical CD itself, not the melody which is fantastic. I ordered this from Amazon a few days ago and it arrived appearing to be brand new. When I opened it however there were already some scratches. Then when I place it into my computer to add it to my iTunes library, four options came up, three of them foreign language. I picked the English one, but as I imported the CD, songs one through five were listed with their titles in English and the rest were either Japanese or Chinese – sorry I don’t know the difference only that it is just all symbols. I was able to physically change the titles to English in iTunes, but this is clearly a fake cd sold as factory new. Since there is apparently no method to convey this to Amazon, (I tried with Chat but it’s basically impossible) I will list it here so buyer beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folklore []  2020-1-11 20:25

    In the wake of rumors of their imminent demise, the members of Sixteen Horsepower have produced what is perhaps their most compelling work to date. But don't buy this disc expecting to hear a progressive fresh sound from these gothabilly songsters. Rather join them for an often-harrowing trip across Appalachia and Europe visiting backwoods cabins and barren countrysides searching out their musical and cultural roots.David Eugene Edwards, Pascal Humbert and Jean Yves Tola have crafted a complex and strong homage of sorts to their progenitors. We witness how such musical influences as Hank Williams, The Carter Family and a fistfull of traditional folksongs have taken root in their fertile psyches and then blossomed into these ten songs, both attractive and distressing to behold.Taking a step back from the highly polished sound of their latest group effort, "Secret South," "Folklore" is in a method their least accessible work to date, but inaccessibility has never frightened their truest fans. The songs with few exceptions master the brooding drone that has marked this band a special and precious search among so a lot of unremarkable ese songs are dark, among their darkest. A mate of mine once described 16hp's work (disparagingly I fear) as "music to contemplate a coffin by." At points during "Folklore" he might have not been too far off the mark. "Horse Head Fiddle" is so mist-shrouded and ethereal that one can hear the spirits of Tom Waits, Ry Cooder and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan hovering in the carefully layered rhythms and drones. But we are here to witness influences and to welcome old is highly textured musicscape is at once triumphant and windswept. Far from the charming bluegrass--rockabilly numbers of their past, the overall result on "Folklore" is unsettling and unfamiliar. As in the past I found myself straining to distinguish the curious sound of a particular instrument, saying "What is that?" The sparse instrumentation, yet full of surprises and delights, lends a mood of general e opening lament, "Hutterite Mile," prepares us for a lonely journey through dark nights of introspection, struggle and regret. The driven "Sinnerman" is one of the clearest connections with their own history-an apocalyptic, darkly spiritual t, the most memorable moments come in "Outlaw Song." David gives what might be his most remarkable vocal performance to date. He even seems to whinny at a crucial moment of this narrative piece, a traditional Hungarian folksong about a mystical horse and his death-defying rider. Again the instrumentation, while stark, is gripping and deeply affective.I have a more complete review on my homepage. Just follow the links.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folklore []  2020-1-11 20:25

    I picked this CD up today on a whim, having heard just a few 16HP tracks. I was under the impression that they were more southern rock, and I think this may be the case on their other albums. Folklore, however is a mix of traditional country (covering a Hank Williams tune) and folk music, with heavy, gothic overtones. I also bought Nick Cave's fresh CD today, and had it in queue behing Folklore. Several times I had to look see if the player hadn't moved on to the Cave album. I'm sure I'll have more to say about this CD later, but I took to it immediately, since I like dark music, like Cave, Waits, Cash, Tag Lanegan, etc. Think the "Oh Brother, Where art Thou?" soundtrack on downers and whiskey during a cold winter. I'm on the second listen now, and this is a standout album, that I think will be in massive rotation for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    folklore []  2021-1-5 19:46

    I bought this CD because I am loyal and I truly like Swift's early work. "Folklore" is better than "Lover", on which I did not like anything save one song. That said, most of the songs are slow and melancholy, in a bland, simple listening style. Some may like it but I did not search much of it to be interesting. I hand it to Swift for making albums in distinct genres. I hope she gets to one I like in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folklore []  2020-1-11 20:25

    This has definitely got to be my favorite so far, by 16 Horsepower. Like one reviewer said, it's more subtle than their earlier work. A former mate turned me on to them, and I was lucky enough to see them live before they broke up. They are just as unbelievable live. And at the time I'd really only heard a limited few songs of theirs. I am neither christian, nor from the South or the West- but something about David Eugene Edwards is that the sincerity and rootedness of his faith in God shines through on their songs...it rather comforts me. He's not Religious, he's bably "Outlaw", "Blessed Persistance" and "Sinnerman" stand out the most for next favorite cd of theirs is "Low Estate". After I write this interview I plan on purchasing "Secret South".What I was a small less keen on, though the two songs are funny in a bar boozing, yet tongue in cheek way, are the cuts, "Single Girl" and "La Robe a Parasol"....they are two songs that are COMPLETEY various from anything else on the album. I don't mind them but still my favorites are the other songs!btw- comparisons to Nick Cave do 16 Horsepower no justice. They are simply better than he is. More positive and life affirming. That Nick Cave is a troubled man shows through in his work. I don't obtain that same vibe from David Eugene Edwards at all. And sticking a descriptor of "gothabilly" to 16 Horsepower is just wrong as well. Personally I don't care for any "-abillys" except The Cramps. 16 Horsepower is really an entity unto itself that just has to be heard to be believed! If they were around when "Night of the Hunter" (movie-original ver starring Robert Mitchum) first came out they would've done a amazing as soundtrack melody for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folklore []  2020-1-11 20:25

    Such a amazing album! Worth every penny :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folklore []  2020-1-11 20:25

    16 Horsepower are a tragically overlooked band, fronted by the eccentric yet undoubtedly talented David Eugene Edwards (also of Woven Hand). The band play a dark, brooding style of country music. If you see the word 'country' and are instantly thinking of hillbilly melody and cowboys, 16 Horsepower will completely change that notion. The topic is dark - man's sins and downfall, societies lack of faith, wallowing in a globe of superficial possessions... all engulfed in harrowing soundscapes of `eerie' banjos and a rather pounding low-end. This is not for the faint of andout tracks contain the menacing opener 'Hutterite Mile', a slow paced chilling opener that sets the tone perfectly. The same style is ensued in my private favourite `Blessed Persistence', brooding, slow paced bass lines and desolate guitars surround Edwards' bleak lyrics. `Sinnerman' and `Beyone The Pale' also follow this style. `Outlaw Song' is very worthy of note for its difference, standing out from the overall gloomy atmosphere with its somewhat upbeat feel, despite the lyrics telling a rather violent narrative.16 Horsepower really should obtain more recognition as they are a tremendous act, really engulfing and thought provoking, this is melody to be savoured.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    folklore []  2021-1-5 19:46

    I am admittedly an older melody fan considering Ms Swift's demographic fan base but I would like to think that I test to stay somewhat current with today's melody scene. I have purchased most of her albums but have not generally gone back to listen to them that often. Maybe it's because I buy a wide range of melody and time is limited as I generally search myself going back to my favorites from the 60's-70's and 80'ever, when I read about the positive reviews and her collaborators, such as Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), and Aaron Dessner (The National), I took the is is so far, the best album I have heard in a long time. It is a breakthrough album for me related to Kacey Musgrave's "Golden Hour" from latest year. I would say this is clearly the best Taylor Swift album for my tastes by far. The songs and arrangements are attractive and offer a much broader range of topics than she has written about before. It reminds me of some of my favorite albums from other artists such as the Pet Boys album "Behaviour". There's a melancholia which permeates the proceedings but it fits the current mood we are in. I have listened to it several times so far which is honestly more than I can say for most of the fresh melody I have bought short, I expect this to be a powerful contender for the Grammys next year, and unless something better comes along soon, it may just monopolize the awards next ybe the pandemic has place us into a more introspective mood but whatever the story behind these songs - the net effect is a career peak - at least to this melody anks Taylor for a career album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    folklore []  2021-1-5 19:46

    I hardly fit the demographic... able to order off the senior menu at Denny's, and not really a fan of much pop melody since the 80's, yet I must reluctantly admit I've become a Taylor Swift though I don't have all her albums, this is my favorite so far - yeah, it doesn't have the bouncy, ear candy that sticks in your head all day, but it does have soulful, attractive ballads with pleasant hooks... it's the kind of melody I generally think of as "my thing".Swift will never replace the handful of folk/rock masters at the top of my list, but while she might not be the greatest, she's CONSISTENTLY very good. I liked this entire album the first time I played it (which is rare). Now that I'm listening to it again, it's moving from 'like' to 'love'.Taylor, I shunned you for a long time in my ignorance avoidance of young pop artists, but you've grown and you've not allow me down so now I look forward to what you might do in the future.Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    folklore []  2021-1-5 19:46

    My CD, case is broken. The CD and songs are amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folklore []  2020-1-11 20:25

    I bought this to replace my old one which somehow got a scratch and wouldn't track a couple songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Folklore []  2020-1-11 20:25

    16 Horsepower are a tragically overlooked band fronted by the eccentric and undoubtedly talented David Eugene Edwards (also of Woven Hand). The band play a dark, brooding style of country music. If you see the word 'country' and are instantly thinking of hillbilly melody and cowboys, 16 Horsepower will completely change that notion. The topic is dark - man's sins and downfall, societies lack of faith, wallowing in a globe of superficial possessions... all engulfed in harrowing soundscapes of unsettling banjos and a rather pounding andout tracks contain the menacing opener "Hutterite Mile", a slow paced chilling opener that sets the chilling tone perfectly. The same style is ensued in my private favourite "Blessed Persistence", brooding, slow paced bass lines and desolate guitars surround Edwards' poetic bleak lyrics. "Sinnerman" and "Beyone The Pale" also follow this vibe and atmosphere. "Outlaw Song" is very worthy of note for its difference, standing out from the overall gloomy atmosphere with its somewhat upbeat feel and merry banjo melodies, offset by a rather sinister and violent narrative.16 Horsepower really should obtain more recognition as they are a tremendous and original act. "Folklore" is ultimately engulfing and thought provoking. Melody to be savoured.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    folklore []  2021-1-5 19:46

    This album represents a distinct musical departure for Ms Swift. This is not a POP album so you might be taken aback if you are expecting Ms. Swift usual and perfect fair. Nonetheless, this is a attractive album that is perfectly arranged and produced, musically balanced and displays the wonderful writing and vocal talent that is Taylor Swift. As a "cherry on top," Ms. Swift introduces us to the vocal skills and writings of Justin Vernon (of the folk band, Bon Iver) who has been around the Folk circuit for at least 15 years. The album is a complete success and a pleasant, mature, unexpected style and a leave-taking from all of Swift's other musical undertakings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    folklore []  2021-1-5 19:46

    Cd case came in cracked :( but Atleast the cd still works

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland []  2020-8-10 19:46

    I have used the DK Eyewitness Travel Tutorials for Amazing Britain, London, Ireland, and Scotland. In my opinion they're the best. They are colourful and informative. They achieve a nice balance between being chatty and educational. They have lots of nice features like maps and highlights for various areas. The index has a lot of entries, so there's not much info you can't locate quickly. I have even used the info in the tutorials to provide background for people traveling with me on tours. They are printed on first class paper and they feel amazing to hold. Perhaps all tutorials have somewhat related information. but it seems to me that DK just seems to provide the info in a better arranged, more beautiful method with more practical info for all travelers. It's a fun tutorial to just browse through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland []  2020-8-10 19:46

    I have gotten other travel books before from various companies, but from now on I will only be buying them from DK Eyewitness. I was highly impressed with the amount of detail in this book. I am a visual learner and this book was perfest for that with all it's photos. I got the Scotland travel tutorial even though I was only going to be In Edinburgh. And I have to say that this book (in combo with the fact I have now seen Scotland lol) has convinced me that Scotland is a country I intend to visit frequently.A satisfied Graham Cracker

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland []  2020-8-10 19:46

    Amazing tutorial for both the first time visitor and the returning. Not much has changed! What you see here....is what you see there. A amazing guid for planning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland []  2020-8-10 19:46

    I really liked this book. I do recommend having extra sources of info such as tripadvisor for lodging since the info on the internet allows "customer" reviews, whereas with the book you are trusting a single source of information. It is very well organized, visual and with highlights for the websites you will be visiting. Some info could be more in-depth.I recommend visiting Scotland. This book is a amazing source of information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland []  2020-8-10 19:46

    This recent DK Eyewitness Tutorial is an perfect one-stop resource for planning a vacation in Scotland. It offers a terrific combination of pictures, maps, facts and commentary, more than enough to let the visitor to search not only the major tourist attractions but also some of the special locations and happenings off the beaten path that may be even more worthwhile as is Eyewitness Tutorial contains a nice history of Scotland, up to and including the current debate over devolution, as well as practical info on travel, customs, money, safety, and climate. There are some amazing hints on what to eat and what to obtain as uniquely Scottish souvenirs. The cut-away sketches and diagrams of castles and other historical websites will increase the visitor's appreciation of some wonderfully interesting venues, such as the castles at Edinburgh and Sterling. The tutorial even manages to work in a few hints on where to hike. This reviewer and his wife have found previous editions of this guide, supplemented by local maps and the www services listed in the guide, to be entirely adequate to plan and have fun weeks in the attractive Scottish Highlands. "DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Scotland" is very highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland []  2020-8-10 19:46

    I really have fun DK travel books. Whenever I travel I purchase these books and use them as we discover the country. I have fun the images and the descriptions that go along. I typically highlight the spots we've seen and use these books as my private journal. In fact, there will be sights that we have traveled to based on the book. Amazing photos, amazing descriptions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland []  2020-8-10 19:46

    I bought this to accompany me on a trip to Scotland. I had this tutorial and a larger Fodor tutorial from the library with me on the trip. I felt this tutorial gave very complete and concise info regarding all of the cities we visited. It was very complete covering even the smallest locations we found to explore. I used this book as a resource to plan my days and then I obtained a map from the hotels where we stayed so that I could map out our travels each day. The pictures are attractive and correctly presented....I just want the book would fit into a pocket...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland []  2020-8-10 19:46

    The DK Eyewitness Scotland tutorial is truly amazing. It was MORE than I expected as it gave history, geological information, cultural quirks of the Scots, and even detailed layouts of some castles and churches. This small book will be a amazing support in planning our trip to Scotland. Now all we will need is to create out a amazing itinerary and TRY to stay with it. SO much of Scotland is fascinating from the stones to the folks themselves that I am glad to have at least a little amount of understanding before we leave home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland []  2020-8-10 19:46

    Eyewitness tutorials have been with us on a lot of trips abroad and support plan our itinerary. They are detailed enough to support decide what you wish to see and do, helpful images and schematics and amazing recommendations for restaurants and hotels. We've not found any better guides! Amazing maps, too - and fun to read just to learn about fresh places. Highly recommended! GOod quality paper, easily wiped if they obtain dirty, stands up to travel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland []  2020-8-10 19:46

    I'd gotten the Eyewitness tutorial for a trip to London and really found it useful. This one has the same amazing layout, with lots of color photo's of websites along with hints on where to go and how to obtain there. The books are little enough to carry around without weighing you down and are handy on your trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Amazing Things to Do in Scotland: Scotland Travel Guide []  2020-1-23 0:59

    This is certainly not worth the $7.99 charged. Save your cash and by a pint in Scotland instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Amazing Things to Do in Scotland: Scotland Travel Guide []  2020-1-23 0:59

    You don't need to hire a travel tutorial if you have this book in your collection and you wish to travel Scotland. This book has it all! I'm lucky that I had this tutorial before traveling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Amazing Things to Do in Scotland: Scotland Travel Guide []  2020-1-23 0:59

    It is well written, and the authors obviously know what they are talking about. I would recommend it to anyone who is visiting or just looking to learn about Scotland. You can count on his eful hints to save time and money. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Amazing Things to Do in Scotland: Scotland Travel Guide []  2020-1-23 0:59

    Exactly what I required for the type of traveling I e Awesome Things travel tutorials are simply the best! Unbelievable book, simple to use and packed with dozens of information. Thanks .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Amazing Things to Do in Scotland: Scotland Travel Guide []  2020-1-23 0:59

    Extremely an amazing travel tutorial book. The book is a fascinating perused to search out about Scotland. Writer perfectly investigate this put in the book. I read a huge number of helpful data which I have need to improve my outing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Amazing Things to Do in Scotland: Scotland Travel Guide []  2020-1-23 0:59

    This small book chive a light and short highlight of several locations all over Scotland. I would have liked more but it gives you amazing ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    101 Amazing Things to Do in Scotland: Scotland Travel Guide []  2020-1-23 0:59

    Amazing book. I could not place this Scotland book down. He is a creative writer. Expecting fresh edition in future. Thanks for publishing this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland: Scotland Travel Guide: 51 Amazing Things to Do in Scotland []  2020-6-22 19:25

    If you just wish the highlights, this is not a poor book. It covers the main things that Scotland is known for and the main things that you need to see when visiting. It also touches on things such as foods and festivals that are special to Scotland.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scotland: Scotland Travel Guide: 51 Amazing Things to Do in Scotland []  2020-6-22 19:25

    Poorly written and deceptive. Most things were actually in Edinburgh. No index to tutorial you in locating places. Sometimes there wasn't a reference to which town the "amazing thing" is found.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ferguson family in Scotland and America []  2020-11-22 18:24

    The print in this book was very poor, it looked like they required more ink . The tree charts were all messed up ,some were very small, some were half off the page, some were sideways and only using half the page where if they had turned the tree it would have fit better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ferguson family in Scotland and America []  2020-11-22 18:24

    This book is an perfect source for looking up the Ferguson Family line. It has helped me begin up so a lot of doors. I would like to search out if the seller of this book is part of the Ferguson line.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucifer Ascending: The Occult in Folklore and Popular Culture []  2020-1-19 22:33

    Bill Ellis, associate professor of English and American Studies at Penn State Hazleton, published in the year 2000 the book Raising the Devil: Satanism, Fresh Religions, and the Media. That was a amazing read indeed, and so is its companion Lucifer Ascending, where Ellis continues his studies and research of Satanism, the occult, and alternative worldviews and what they mean to the people involved.But first a few words about the author. It should be stated that Ellis is a Christian, a fact that a lot of Satanists or other non-Christians will claim makes him much too subjective to be able to discover the left-hand path. Yeah, well, one shouldn't forget that he's also a scholar. And a damn amazing one, too. Ellis, an active member of The Evangelical Lutheran Church, makes it clear from the very begin that he believes in God, that he's taught in Sunday School, that his daughter went to a catholic church during her childhood, and so on. But despite all this he's still lightyears away from a stereotype American fundamentalist who despises and loathes everything that happens not to be cause, as I said, Ellis is a scholar. And he's written another book that cannot, and should not, be missed.A common theme that appears throughout the book is Harry Potter. A lot of fundamental Christian groups in America fully believe that J.K. Rowling's stories about the spectacled wizard are indeed propaganda in order to promote "traditional" (whatever that means) satanic and occult teachings, and this debate, which is still beautiful heated from put to place, has received a lot of attention in American media. Ellis dissociates himself from this craziness and flatly admits that the adventures of Harry Potter are both well-written and makes a amazing read. The notion that kids who read them will become Satanists or something equally horrible is something Ellis denies. With a ever, the debate itself is definitely worth studying, and each chapter in Lucifer Ascending deals with something from this debate, or the books themselves, that can be yzed and questioned using various religious and sociological perspectives. Ellis makes clear that young people's fascination with the forbidden, mystical, paranormal and (at least according to some) anti-Christian is nothing new, and he refutes the somewhat paranoid ideas about how Ouija boards are a serious threat to the Christian faith, a claim created by several various organizations with an anti-occult ware, though. Lucifer Ascending is not an simple book to read, and if you're unfamiliar with scholarly books this one will turn out to be quite a challenge. The witch-hunts during the 17th and 18th centuries are thoroughly described, and Ellis isn't afraid to criticize what "his" faith has done to numerous innocent people through the centuries. Furthermore, he's not, and in this he's differing from a lot of other American Christians, convinced that some sort of satanic conspiracy is responsible for the abduction of infants and drinking of virgins' blood."(...) we should not be so naïve as to assume that `there were no witches' or `there are no satanists'. Occult practices have existed for a lot of centuries, and they provide a ground for the more sensational claims that emerge from time to time. But crusades have always exaggerated the number and seriousness of crimes committed by witches and Satanists, as well as the numbers said to be involved."No one is perfect. We all have our flaws, and Ellis believes his task to be to YZE, not CRITICIZE. There's a amazing difference between the two attitudes, but not everybody are willing to accept h Anton LaVey and Michael Aquino keep acknowledgement in the beginning of the book, and the chapter about LaVey's Church of Satan is both balanced and interesting. He's even found a typo in The Satanic Bible (Avon's paperback edition) where the black mass is described. On page 109 it says "...he is careful not to choose one that is not in vogue to parody." However, and which LaVey himself confirmed to Ellis, "not" is a typo. The correct word should be "now".And believe it or not, this book's also got a dose of humor and self-irony. For instance, the chapter about Ouija boards, with the amazing name "The @#$%&! Ouija Board", has a section named - and this is sure to create a lot of Christians angry with anger - something as controversial as "Suck the Greasy of the Dark Lord!".That latest one almost created me fall of my chair from uncontrollable bursts of laughter. And how often does that happen when you read a non-fiction book about religion?Lucifer Ascending is an interesting study of occult traditions throughout the centuries and the only thing I can do is to fully recommend it. Bill Ellis is living proof that narrow-minded self-appointed Satanists who claim to "hate all Christians" (and by all means their Christian counterparts) really should do some serious research before they begin arguing about something as complex as religious beliefs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucifer Ascending: The Occult in Folklore and Popular Culture []  2020-1-19 22:33

    Not good disappointment! A grown man who believes in fantasy and preaches it as reality can be explained by his powerful exoteric ties to a modern religious organization. Witches (Hollywood-type witches), chain-letters, etc. This is how the book starts out. This has nothing to do with the Occult or Lucifer; only a powerful Christian's incorrect concept of the Occult. This is the typical narrow-minded lack of understanding you can expect from someone who subscribes strongly to any modern Christian religion.I couldn't obtain past page 50. I really started forcing myself to continue reading after the first few pages; I didn't wish to give up without giving the author the benefit of the doubt. But wow...it doesn't obtain any better. The statements he makes and the quotes he gathered from who he claims to be reputable sources are ridiculous and mostly pointless due to their lack of understanding. I'll just stick to Manly P Hall, Blavatsky, Albert Pike, Aleister Crowley, Cornelius Agrippa, the Hermetic writings, and those who define occult literature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucifer Ascending: The Occult in Folklore and Popular Culture []  2020-1-19 22:33

    The worldwide popularity of the Harry Potter books has been seen as a boon not just for publishers, but for kids who are getting excited about reading and are looking forward to reading the next one. But a huge segment of American society does not see this as amazing news. The books are seen by some Christian fundamentalists as spiritually risky to children, since they introduce concepts of the occult in beautiful ways. Certainly not all Christians feel this way, recognizing the books as belonging to the type of fantasies written by Christians like C. S. Lewis and others. If fundamentalists feel that the Harry Potter books are the works of the devil, however, they are in amazing historical company. In _Lucifer Ascending: The Occult in Folklore and Famous Culture_ (University Press of Kentucky), Bill Ellis has continued an academic query which he described in his previous _Raising the Devil_. While his current book is not an ysis of Harry Potter books and the movement versus them, J. K. Rowling's works are shown to be just a contemporary part of folklore beliefs that have gone back for centuries.Witchcraft was (and is) practiced in opposition to an increasingly rationalistic theology. The practices let marginalized groups to use traditions to give themselves a sense of degree of control over their lives, but can also be employed by those who have no particular conflict with society. Ellis examines such hardware of the occult as the "grimoire" or magic book, chain letters (!), and even the rabbit's foot. He shows how young people are especially prone to old-time occult activity. Since medieval times, people have created unique trips to, say, Neolithic monuments. Folklorists call this "legend-tripping," and teenagers have kept up the tradition. The trip, often to a forbidden house or a graveyard, is created in a cultivated atmosphere of fear; stories of previous trippers who suffered the penalty for violating the taboo obtain passed along and hold the tripping alive rather than restraining it. Ellis shows that teens calling upon spirits by means of the Ouija board is quite related to calling spirits out during exorcisms, an illustration of how belief in the occult actually compliments and supports orthodox belief. Frightened fundamentalists may be taking the Ouija threat too seriously; one student user says, "You really don't obtain any answers that mean anything. We just obtain drunk and have a amazing time."Ellis, himself an active Lutheran, makes clear that he is not advocating for the folklore practices described here, or even apologizing for them. He admits that while a lot of of the practices might be harmless, spooky fun for teens, there may be poor consequences as well. He gives such concrete examples as vandalism resulting from a graveyard visit, rather than the chance that Satan might take over the souls doing the trip. His is an academic work, but even so, with its unusual themes, it is an entertaining one. He is especially amused by the popular spoof article in the satirical paper _The Onion_, telling about how satanic groups were being overwhelmed by Harry Potter readers trying to join up. The article was ridiculous, but was sent as a chain letter by a lot of Christian youth counselors as a bona fide warning about the danger Harry poses. Their more Internet-savvy students were embarrassed that their elders could not tell reality from a joke. _The Onion_ just gave the elders an opportunity to overreact, but Ellis's book shows that the pattern of overreaction, giving definition to both orthodoxy and the occult, has been going on for centuries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Heart's in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland []  2020-7-27 19:19

    My Heart’s in the Lowlands by Liz Curtis Higgs is a virtual tour of some of the most attractive and beloved locations in southwest z Curtis Higgs is well-known for her historical christian fiction books set in Scotland (i.e. The Lowlands of Scotland series). In this non-fiction book Liz takes us on a 10-day journey with her around the countryside of Galloway visiting idyllic country villages, remote castles and churches, and even some of the locations she used as settings in her fictional series. Liz is so enamored with the Scottish countryside that one can’t support but catch a bit of her excitement as you travel the pages of her e tour begins in Glasgow as Liz collects a rental vehicle and heads south past Sanquar to the little hamlet of Durisdeer. The sightseeing starts at the Durisdeer parish church and continues through the afternoon as Liz’s vehicle winds through little villages and lands in the vicinity of Dumfries. We mark along as Liz gives us glimpses into each of the locations she stops for a meal, throwing in Scottish vocabulary here and there to support foreigners obtain a feel for the words used in daily life in the region of Galloway.Each day is planned with historic sites, a museum or used bookstore, a handful of villages to delight any tourist, fresh foods to discover, and descriptions of the lush, magical countryside that enchants its visitors. Liz drives us to locations like the Abbey Cottage Tearoom, the Shambellie House Museum of Costume, Drumcoltran Tower, the city of Castle Douglas, and Threave Gardens. Locations full of history and overflowing with beauty appear on page after page. And Liz makes sure to tell the names of the streets she’s taking and other helpful travel information so people can search these locations on their own!Liz intersperses her touring with bits and pieces of history about the locations she stops. She also contains quotes here and there from her novels so those familiar with her books can picture the locations she was painting into her works of fiction. Notes are included in the back of the book so you can see what resources Liz used for her own travels (she returns to Scotland yearly) as well as for this book. She also mentions Scotland’s Gardens which is a charity listing all the personal gardens begin each year for a little entrance fee. It is worth checking their www service for gardens in the zone you may be traveling Notes: this would be a very helpful resource for planning a trip to the zone of Galloway and Dumfries or for armchair travel in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Heart's in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland []  2020-7-27 19:19

    The descriptions of a trip to the Lowland of Scotland are outstanding. You obtain the distinct feeling of being there with the author. Lovely prose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made In Scotland: My Grand Adventures in a Wee Country []  2020-9-18 18:33

    to read the book you feel you re talking with BILLY., his humour, comes to life as he describes his beginnings, trials and how he overcame a not good working class beginning in SCOTLAND. the book is entertaining and certainly explains much about the man., If you like Billy you will like this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made In Scotland: My Grand Adventures in a Wee Country []  2020-9-18 18:33

    An interesting read. Created me laugh. Reminded me very much of my own Scottish roots, the expressions, the words and the humour even though they emigrated to the other side of the globe 180 years ago. Some Scottish things don't change with time and distance. 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Heart's in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland []  2020-7-27 19:19

    I love Liz Curtis Higgs and all of her books. I have a hard time setting them down once I pick them up to read. They are very well written, and pull me into her stories like no other author can. In my mind she is the best author ever as far as womens books are concerned. I liked this particular book very much, but I absolutely loved her 4 novels that started with "Thorn in My Heart". They are my favorite women's books that I have ever purchased and read. I would definitely give them all 5 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made In Scotland: My Grand Adventures in a Wee Country []  2020-9-18 18:33

    if you nae from Scotland, it'll stiil be a fine read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Heart's in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland []  2020-7-27 19:19

    Having seen Liz in person at women's conferences and reading a lot of of her spiritual books, expected to have fun this book and was really drawn in by her description of travelling in Scotland. Kind of like a best girlfriend telling you all about this fabulous trip! Really enjoyed reading of her adventures!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Heart's in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland []  2020-7-27 19:19

    This book is a mini-vacation in Scotland! The illustrations and the descriptions create the reader feel as if they've been tagging along with Ms. Higgs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Heart's in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland []  2020-7-27 19:19

    I loved touring Scotland with Liz Higgs through this book. My husband and I have been in Scotland twice and could not see enough of it. This was a unbelievable method to travel until hopefully we can go back. Scotland does capture your heart. I recommend this book to anyone who would like to go there or would like to go back and see more of the country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made In Scotland: My Grand Adventures in a Wee Country []  2020-9-18 18:33

    I have loved the Huge Yin for decades. His autobiography is written with his inimitable style, reveals info of tenderness and hurt, and makes him all the more admirable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made In Scotland: My Grand Adventures in a Wee Country []  2020-9-18 18:33

    Typically Billy, wonderful, interesting and funny as heck! Just like Billy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Heart's in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland []  2020-7-27 19:19

    This books is a breezy kind of travel guide, specific to SW Scotland. I myself traveled much of this zone a few months ago. This is not an in-depth tutorial on what to see and where to stay, but more a compilation of experiences that the author had over a number of years.If you are tired of reading typical "bullet-point" travel books, then I would read this one. Honestly, I want I would have had this book prior to my trip - there are a few locations that I wished I had better info on...Enjoy....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Heart's in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland []  2020-7-27 19:19

    I loved everything about this book. It created me feel like I was right there in the Lowlands with Liz. This was a very detailed colourful book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made In Scotland: My Grand Adventures in a Wee Country []  2020-9-18 18:33

    I have always been a huge fan from childhood to now. Watched every TV present and had the pleasure to have fun at live shows in Fresh Zealand. I have all the books and just had to add this to my a huge fan, I loved this begin and frank tale of this amazing funnny man's life and hope and pray we are blessed with a lot of more years yet. I too was in Scotland latest year with my son and we had a grand time seeing much. Enough to fall on love with the northern highlands. Seeing locations this man has visited and the stones he has danced naked is is a unbelievable book about himself, his life, family and his Scottish heritage. Thank you Billy for sharing so much with us. 😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made In Scotland: My Grand Adventures in a Wee Country []  2020-9-18 18:33

    I've been on a Scotland tear for about a decade...I bought this book because Billy comes from that fine zone of the ce insight into his early childhood and time before he became famous,....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Heart's in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland []  2020-7-27 19:19

    Love Liz Curtis Higgs! Humor in all aspects of life. Enjoyed this travelogue-style telling of her trip to Scotland---the locations she stayed, visited, people she met, and sometimes the meal she ate. Felt like I was on a trip to Scotland with her, which is what her writing style intended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Heart's in the Lowlands: Ten Days in Bonny Scotland []  2020-7-27 19:19

    I am planning my first trip to Scotland and Liz Curtis Higgs theauthor of "My Heart's In The Lowlands" created it all come alivefor me from the plane trip there to every road, loch, famouspoints of interest, meal and more. After reading this book, Ifeel when I arrive in Scotland I will not be a stranger. Hopeyou take the journey with her and then see attractive Scotlandin person.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made In Scotland: My Grand Adventures in a Wee Country []  2020-9-18 18:33

    I am a 65 year old Scottish ex pat. I loved this book because I could identify with the humanity...the people, the locations the outlooks Billy described. I don't have a personality like Billy and I can't write like him and I know the book was about his life but in a method I felt he was also telling my story.I recommend this book firstly to Scottish ex pats everywhere and then also to anyone of any nationality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made In Scotland: My Grand Adventures in a Wee Country []  2020-9-18 18:33

    This funny look at a life is a unbelievable lighthearted autobiography. Billy also reveals that he's often serious and not a small bit nostalgic. A well-rounded, if irreverent retrospect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Made In Scotland: My Grand Adventures in a Wee Country []  2020-9-18 18:33

    Enjoyed reading about his pre-celebrity years. Did not know anything about his childhood, and his early employment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder In Thrall (A New Scotland Yard Mystery Book 1) [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    This is the first of the Acton and Doyle series and quite entertaining. It's as much about the relationship of Acton and Doyle as solving a crime. They both work for Scotland Yard. Doyle is a 24-year-old Irish woman and Acton is her supervisor.What is charming about this book is Doyle is quite amusing and has witty Irish turns of phrase. She humanizes her more serious boss. It is fun to watch their relationship unfold. In this story several people are murdered, seemingly by a professional killer, but the murders seem fairly random. It's difficult to discern the pattern.Another compelling feature about this series is that Doyle has the bonus of intuition. She can usually tell when witnesses or suspects are lying. She picks up on clues others might miss and has to figure out what they portend. Her intuition is often telling her to pay attention to a detail, and she has to figure out why. It's almost a supernatural gift.If you like British mysteries and police procedurals, and don't mind delving into a private relationship, along with an investigation, you may search this series a delight as I did. The author writes well, and keeps the action moving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Rhona The Unicorn in Scotland: Colouring Book []  2020-8-7 19:31

    Loved all of the pictures in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Pink Taxi : A wonderful uplifting read set in Scotland! []  2020-8-9 18:34

    An enjoyable read that’s much more than a romantic comedy, alongside the romance and humour, there’s friendship, history, mystery, danger and a tip of salie is a bubbly and kind-hearted person, and her taxi firm, Love Taxis, is at the heart of the close-knit community. Marc Petersen is a cold and calculating businessman who has got no idea why his late father bought a run-down castle in Scotland.When Rosalie picks up Petersen in her pink taxi, he’s not impressed with the vehicle or her driving. When she discovers he’s the fresh owner, not only of the taxi firm but also her home, Raventhorn Castle, and he’s planning to strip and sell the business for profit, she tries to present him that there are more necessary things in life than a hefty bank ttle Pink Taxi was a well-written, fun read with a mix of quirky characters and a backdrop of the wilds of Scotland.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Pink Taxi : A wonderful uplifting read set in Scotland! []  2020-8-9 18:34

    Favorite Quotes:Well, she had some old wizard cast a spell on the bed before her nuptials to create sure her betrothed could … Perform … Over the years, this bed has proved a steady source of income for the McBrides. Any man whose virility was in need of a small …push could bring his wife here for a fee –a jar of whiskey, a brace of pheasants, a good-sized salmon. Every tag on the bedposts represents a successful night… We organise weddings here now, and people come a long method to … ahem … stay, in this e kind of physical attraction she’d never experienced before, but that could, according to her mate Alice’s late night confessions, create you lose your head, your self-respect, and most of your it’s time for the Stitch and @#$%! group… The local knitting group or “Knit and Natter”, as they are formally known.What’s wrong? Is it a small too powerful for you? … Perhaps my hand slipped as I was pouring in the coffee granules … unless I mistook the pepper container for Review:With the playful cover and title I was expecting a Rom/Com, and although the entertaining storylines included romance and amusing humor, there were also powerful elements of mystery and suspense with and serious crimes that were committed and solved along the way. I enjoyed the premise, quirky characters, smooth writing style and well-paced mysteries that kept my curiosity ere was a bit of everything in this story including a hidden treasure, ghosts, parentage issues, and a series of vexing crimes that started out as little nuisances before mushrooming into more serious felonies that included hit and run, sabotage, attempted murder, kidnapping, blackmail, burglary, and assault. And I dare not forget the mythical properties of the magical bed with centuries worth of actual notches.I reveled in the quirky traits and colourful descriptions and behaviors Ms. Laval gave her characters. I adored the major players although the hero of Rosalie was not always likable as she was stubborn and immature and prone to outbursts and childish displays of temper - of course, I have never been accused of such annoying behaviors myself as I’m simply lovely, all-the-time.I have two sparkling fresh additions to my British Isles Vocab list with “yob,” which Mr. Google informed me was a rude, noisy and aggressive young man, and “bampot,” which according to the Urban Dictionary is a Scottish term meaning 'hooligan' or 'trouble-maker', so essentially, they are much the same thing and both quite fun to say.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Pink Taxi : A wonderful uplifting read set in Scotland! []  2020-8-9 18:34

    Small Pink Taxi is a delightful small gem of a book! Marie Laval managed to blend together a romance, a ghost story, and bit of intrigue to make a amazing read that kept my attention from the beginning until I finished the very latest salie is one of my very favorite types of characters! She is smart, sweet, funny, witty, and quirky! I loved that her latest name was Heart because that is exactly what she embodies. She has a large heart. Because of that heart, she is able to knock down Mac’s walls around his heart. Allow me tell you that is no simple feat!I wasn’t quite sure how I felt about Marc in the beginning. He came across as arrogant, oftentimes rude, especially in that first chapter. He was ruthless in his business dealings, but as Rosalie got to know him better, so did I. I, like Rosalie, saw beyond his cold exterior and began falling for him t only were the characters well done, so was the story. Laval took her time developing every small detail of the book. I felt like there was nothing left out. The addition of the ghost of Lady Fitheach and the lure of a possible treasure just created the book even better. She also paid amazing attention to the setting, creating a put I could see clearly in my val is a fresh author to me, and I can’t wait to read more from her in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Taming of a Highlander (Midnight in Scotland Book 2) []  2020-12-8 18:28

    Another perfect story. Kate Huxley the youngest of the Huxley girls , meets her sister in law's damaged brother. Tortured in prison for having a liaison with another man's mistress. A marriage started as a means of preventing more prison time, blossoms. Well written and full of twists. I recieved an advanced reader copy in exchange for an honest review. Cant wait for next book in series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Taming of a Highlander (Midnight in Scotland Book 2) []  2020-12-8 18:28

    What an awesome so a lot of others I fell in love with Kate and her forever man, Broderick.But this is no puff-puff story, either. The description of the man's suffering and the evil in Scotland is not for the faint of heart. The sharp contrast between the pair's two lives is crystal clear, but Elisa is a master at spinning the tale. One where there is always a bit of sweetness, a bit of hope, and a delicate balance between love and lust. It's all there in this polished and well-written n't wait for book three.I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An English Bride in Scotland: Highland Brides (Highlander Book 1) []  2021-1-7 20:11

    The premise of the story is fine ... okay it’s silly. It could have been ok but there were too a lot of holes. The couple is very sweet together from the beginning. It created me wonder where the story could sically, the heroine has a stalker. She knows this, everyone knows this - yet she gets attacked every time she walks out the front door. She gets knocked out by being hit in the head four separate times in this book! And our brave character is with her two of these times but he’s asleep and apparently sleeps like the dead. (I like my fighters to have spidey senses.)One reviewer mentioned earlier, the heroine’s family is NASTY, but we have no clue WHY. It makes no sense. But her fresh Scottish guild welcomes her with begin arms, even though she’s English. Again, it doesn’t create sense. I went ahead and finished it, but I skipped through a lot. I gave it two stars because 1) the hero descriptions weren’t over-the-top, and 2) the love scenes were well-done. I really couldn’t recommend spending cash on this though. And I can’t imagine reading this author again. Her excerpt from one of her vamp stories that was included at the end of the book didn’t intrigue me at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An English Bride in Scotland: Highland Brides (Highlander Book 1) []  2021-1-7 20:11

    Annabel is nearly ready to become a full-fledged nun when her mother unexpectedly whisks her away from the abbey with virtually no explanation. Within a day, Annabel finds herself marrying a Scottish laird in the put of her runaway elder sister. Sheltered Annabel has no idea how to be a wife or run a keep, but she’ll need to learn in a ird Ross MacKay knows the marriage contract his late father arranged is voided by the sneaky substitution of the wrong sister, but when he sets eyes on Annabel, he’s keen to go along with the ceremony and create the shy beauty his wife. When attacks from an unknown opponent target Annabel soon after the wedding, Ross is determined to hold her safe even as his feelings for her grow ever is was typical Lynsay Sands craziness and humor, and I really enjoyed it. Ross was a amazing character and even though I sometimes wanted to shake Annabel and the villain was rather obvious, the story was still entertaining. I enjoyed the narration as well and will continue my audio pursuit to fill in the books I’ve missed in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An English Bride in Scotland: Highland Brides (Highlander Book 1) []  2021-1-7 20:11

    I would recommend this book to people that like or are interested in, easy,light,fun, historical romance. I liked that the book had some funny parts. This is my 2nd Lynsay Sands book and I like that it shows that silly situations and Sarcasm were a part of the time period and that people laughed back then too and got themselves into different predicaments. I was annoyed towards the end where I feel that a hero was needlessly killed off to support with an simple method of wrapping up the story. The mystery was not to complicated and when it was revealed was fairly predictable but it was all part of what Created it such light,easy, fun reading. I will definitely be finding a third Lynsay Sands book to entertain me. She makes historical romance interesting for me where in the past I have been so bored I could not even create my self finish them. Twice in a row her books have held my attention and angry me smile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder In Thrall (A New Scotland Yard Mystery Book 1) [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    This is a very amazing mystery with a fascinating relationship between the two main e viewpoint character, Kathleen Doyle, is a young Irish detective in Scotland yard. She’s smart, damaged, and very appealing. She also has the ability to immediately sense when someone is telling the truth or not. This is handy for a young detective who wants to rise through the ranks, but not so amazing for her private life—because she can’t shut it off. It can be overwhelming to be among people and always be sensing the real emotions behind what they Kathleen tends to lead a solitary life. All that changes when she gets a summons to work a case with Michael Sinclair, Lord Acton, a Chief Inspector several levels above her in rank. She has problem reading him, which is something of a relief—as is his immediate acceptance of her bonus for discerning the truth. And he needs her support as they pursue a serial assassin with no discernable reason for his choice of victims.Kathleen and Michael are from totally various worlds. He is born to privilege; she is barely hanging on financially. Then, when Michael starts to pursue her romantically, things spiral out of control. Her emotions, her ambition for professional advancement, the jealousy of co-workers and of her immediate supervisor, as well as Michael’s secret double life, all combine to create their investigation, and her own life, more complicated than she bargained Cleeland has that same knack that Dame Agatha did of being able to cast suspicion on a hero simply by having him or her present up in a scene. She has laid the groundwork previously and relies on the intelligence of her readers to create the e also has the Kathleen’s Irish dialect down pat. This is a heroine you will have fun sharing time with. I was sorry when the book was over. Fortunately, it’s a series so there are more of Kathleen and Michael’s adventures—both professionally and privately.With an edge-of-your -seat ending and some truly startling plot twists, this novel keeps you turning pages long after you should have shut out the lights and gone to sleep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder In Thrall (A New Scotland Yard Mystery Book 1) [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    What a fun book. It's every genre I love whipped up into one incredibly delicious and original soufflé. There's the enigmatic aristocratic English lord and the spunky lower class heroine. She has a psychic ability that makes her very sensitive to people's feelings. He is hopelessly in love with her, the "In Thrall" of the title counts for him too. There's a body count galore and all this is wrapped up in a police procedural (of sorts) with Fresh Scotland Yard as the setting. The book is written from Doyle's point of view and the dialogue, both spoken and inner, will create you most books of this type the romance is OK to talk about and the actual bones of the whodunit are what you need to read about. In this case I think the romance is the raison d'etre (Doyle would be so proud of me!) that drives and provides the ief Inspector Acton is nicknamed Holmes. He's that good. First year detective Doyle has been working with him for three months, causing some jealousy among her peers, namely, her next door cubicle friend Munoz, a amazing secondary hero I have hopes for in future books (there are three so far in the series). Doyle's working with Acton because he needs to be near her and had thought by working a case with her he would see that she was just your average run-of-the-mill young sprout and thus rid himself of his crazy infatuation with her. But Doyle is a very amazing detective and there's nothing average about her and he's a 's all a huge glorious mish mash and I loved, loved, loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Pink Taxi : A wonderful uplifting read set in Scotland! []  2020-8-9 18:34

    Small Pink Taxi is an engaging story. I hated to turn off my kindle and go to sleep because I kept wanting to know more about these well-developed characters. Everything I like is in this book--mystery, romance, ghosts, setting, humor all wrapped up in a very satisfying ending. Ms Laval took her time to end the story rather than some writers who seem to be too tired to continue and abruptly end the novel. I think readers will fall in love with Rosalie Heart and cheer her on to develop the relationship with Marc. And more will be shouting at Marc to obtain serious. I'd recommend this to readers who love romance in a cozy setting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Pink Taxi : A wonderful uplifting read set in Scotland! []  2020-8-9 18:34

    So if "someone" tried to slay you 3 times wouldn't you believe you were in danger. Why would you hold going home, alone, to a drafty castle? And driving a taxi to deserted beaches to pick up a fare...At midnight! This girl is an IDIOT.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Pink Taxi : A wonderful uplifting read set in Scotland! []  2020-8-9 18:34

    If you’re in any method place off by this book’s pinkness, set that aside straight away – I often have a related aversion (“little” in a title sometimes affects me that method too), but I’m so very glad I didn’t allow it place me off this one. This is a wonderfully told story, and Rosalie will capture your heart as soon as you meet her, driving her pink taxi, rubbish at running a business but providing a lifeline to the community of eccentric characters living around the Scottish village of Irlwick, while singing along (badly) to her favourite Satisfied Baby radio station. There’s a true sadness in her background – the loss of her mother, the carefully preserved room at Raventhorn castle, the unknown identity of her father – created up for by the loveliest relationships with the laird Geoff McBride and housekeeper Lorna. And then there’s her relationship with Niall – long over, but he can’t take “no” for an respond – and with her loyal friends, all beautifully done. The arrival of Marc Petersen threatens everything she loves – he has a sad background too with the latest death of his father, but his reputation as a ruthless businessman looks like it’s justified, until… oh no, you’ll just going to have to read the ere’s a bit of everything here – the dilapidated castle, ghosts and legends and ravens, a vividly drawn Cairngorms setting in the depths of winter, lost treasure, corporate shenanigans, moments of life-threatening drama, risky villains, evil family members, even a Danish dimension – all handled quite perfectly, with gentle humour, touches of the totally unexpected, and more than a few moments that certainly obtain your heart beating faster for a whole range of reasons. I just love a book that can whisk you away from everything for the whole time you spend between its pages, and this lovely book really delivered at every level, perfectly plotted and sheer enjoyment from the begin to its excellent end. I can’t wait to see what Marie Laval does next – and thank you to Choc Lit for finding an author I’ll be satisfied to add to my list of favourites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gap Year: Rambling Through Brambles in England and Scotland []  2020-7-9 18:53

    If you look at the photo of the back cover, you’ll obtain a amazing feel for what this book is like. Each page is a work of art, featuring a collage of the author’s notes, drawings, paintings, photographs, and memorabilia from her journey through England and Scotland in is would create a fun coffee table book. I recommend this book for anyone who loves collage, enjoys travel memoirs, and likes to learn about e author provided me with an advanced reader copy that I volunteered to review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gap Year: Rambling Through Brambles in England and Scotland []  2020-7-9 18:53

     So I have inside knowledge on this gem of a travel guide. If this book does well, and only if it does, Anna Hess may publish her Costa Rica and Australia tutorials from the same time period. So promote and rate this book if you can! Share it all around, because every inch of it is attractive and Costa Rica and Australia have even more interesting plants and action!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Taming of a Highlander (Midnight in Scotland Book 2) []  2020-12-8 18:28

    Lady Kate Huxley is in the Highlands visiting with her older brother John, an English heir to an earldom, and his fresh Scottish wife Annie. Kate is the youngest of John's siblings and the only one not yet wed. Marriage is the very latest thing on her mind as Kate views the institution as an "illness" because it "changes" a person. In fact, Kate has a number of quirky ideas and habits which create her a unbelievable heroine in any story.While writing her book, or play, or whatever it might evolve into, Kate is researching the zone and becomes lost. She comes upon a stage that frightens her out of her wits, for a number of the center of her terror is Broderick MacPherson. A braw highlander, with a masculine form, covered with a few scars and an eye patch to create him yet more risky in appearance, Broderick is taking care of ter witnessing Broderick's actions Kate becomes entangled in said business because she just can't seem to support herself, as it IS one of her quirks. The only method to protect herself may very well be to marry the is is a terrific story! It is so unbelievable to follow Kate and Broderick as the two navigate not only the danger they face but the unfolding of their relationship. Broderick is a man who's faced a dark past, and continues to recover from his experiences. Kate is a bright, funny, light that insists on creeping into his consciousness.I read this from begin to finish as I just couldn't place it down. I highly recommend it as a lovely method to spend a few hours.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Taming of a Highlander (Midnight in Scotland Book 2) []  2020-12-8 18:28

    Elisa Braden is my go to for historical romance. She has quick become one of the best authors I have ever oderick and Kate do not have an simple street to their HEA. Broderick is broken, literally, his body has been broken in a lot of ways. Kate does not wish to become what her sisters have by marrying and having children. These two come together not from love but along their journey search where they truly belong.I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Taming of a Highlander (Midnight in Scotland Book 2) []  2020-12-8 18:28

    I absolutely loved this book. Where do I start? First, I looooved Broderick. He is everything I love in a amazing hero. Royal, caring, scarred, y, Alpha without going into overbearing territory. I loved Kate also who embodies everything that I love in a heroine, sweet and feminine with a backbone. Everything just flowed really well. The plot was suspenseful and at no point dragged. The romance and lovemaking scenes were very very hot without being vulgar. I felt that Ms. Braden really seemed to connect with the characters and story and it shows on the page. I read an interview where she said that this fresh series is mapped out completely and she has been excited about writing these characters’ stories, it is obvious. There is a lot of love and care place into developing these characters, it really leaps from the pages. I can’t wait to read the stories of secondary characters such as Clarissa, Sabella, Campbell, Alexander and more. I also enjoyed this novel much more than the first in the series. Sorry but I’m not a large fan of Annie, which is probably an unpopular opinion. Disclaimer: I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An English Bride in Scotland: Highland Brides (Highlander Book 1) []  2021-1-7 20:11

    I still can’t give it four stars because of the only plot line this author uses in nearly every single book she writes, the murder mystery. Although, it was leading towards a murder it was mostly abduction attempts in this book. Still, it’s the same scenario in all her books.What I do love and is probably the same in all her books too, is the falling in love that she captures in so a lot of of her writings. In this book in particular you can follow the characters as they learn each other and insta/slowly fall in love. The sweetly romantic dynamic of the MC’s is almost riveting. This book’s FMC’s innocence and naivety makes sense here as she was raised isolated from society. The MMC was also not such a complete dingbat either which helps to create this story such a lovely pleasure to read. It left me with Lynsay Sands’ signature feelings of happiness and sadness, of wishing it hadn’t finished and that there was more left.I truly love this author and her books even despite my few criticisms. I’m off to read the next book in this series. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder In Thrall (A New Scotland Yard Mystery Book 1) [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    Written in the third person but from the point of view of the Irish Doyle, a female constable, and her relationship with a higher-up and an English "Lord" to boot (cf. Elizabeth George and Martha Grimes), this novel doesn't quite hang together. First, we obtain no true feel allow alone "picture" of Doyle, for example why she attracts the too-chiseled-looking Acton, a supposed hotshot in the London police department. What's interesting about her? Is her supposed intuition about criminal scenes enough to create him go ga-ga for her? Why should this rather neurotic girl be the cause of Acton's obsession? Really, no explanation is given. He's just obsessed with her, to the point where he knows everything about her current life, where she lives and so on (and even breaks into her apartment apparently at will, which she hardly registers negatively--she senses something wrong about it, we're told, but doesn't act on it; she just falls into his arms at the next opportunity). Second, he admits to her that he's received a "Section Seven" in the past (supposedly for "stalking"--and a felony at that), but then why he is allowed in the police department at all? Third, their relationship happens so quickly--he asks her to marry him soon after their relation abruptly takes a quick, amorous turn--that they even obtain married rather arbitrarily (we're told this pages after they've been working together on a case and he takes her off it because he's worried about her becoming a target for the antagonist.). Who IS this guy? One suspects that he himself might be the antagonist given his dictatorial treatment of her--what she should do and not, where she should live, etc.--but no, he's just another rich Lord who clearly uses her to demonstrate (to himself, if not to us) his democratic credentials. Fourth, as a police procedural, there's just too much pop-romantic interference, as if the novelist were uncertain whether to create this a bodice-ripper or a Holmesian mise en scene. In short: weak characterization/motives and a second-rate plot. Maybe as the series progresses, things will start to create more sense, but I don't think I'll follow through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder In Thrall (A New Scotland Yard Mystery Book 1) [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    What a disturbing piece of garbage and a waste of time. How can stalking ever be all right? What woman or man would fall in love with the stalker,knowing what he was doing? And having foreplay with the other police in the other room with a dead body? I only finished this because I was sure sometime the stalker would obtain what he deserved and it would be explained why the woman wouldn't have turned him e writing makes me think of a young teen trying to copy writers who actually know what they are writing about and getting it all wrong. I love British mysteries,but this is beyond terrible. Save your time and money. There are a lot of amazing writers who deserve your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder In Thrall (A New Scotland Yard Mystery Book 1) [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    I know there ware some who felt the stalker aspect was disquieting however the book explains his reasons and his need and love for Kathleen Doyle and knowing he loved her and she felt the same I wasn't place off by that. Got lost a bit with the victims' connections but all and all, perfect reading with interesting characters. Frankly I loved the Cinderella aspect of the story and her handsome brilliant albeit intense Prince Charming. I loved her honestly and intuitive understanding this man was complex and demanding but ultimately trusting him..The secondary characters added to the fun. And the book was fun despite the body count. And never figured out the assassin until the end always plus in a mystery. Had a small problem with the slang but beautiful much figured it out and loved Doyle's use of her vocabulary words, a sweet touch showing her naivete. Can't wait for more on Doyle and Acton

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gap Year: Rambling Through Brambles in England and Scotland []  2020-7-9 18:53

    I too, received a review copy of this book for my honest review, and have to say this will be one of the easiest 5-star ratings I've ever given. The journal style of the book presents the reader with a special glimpse into the author's year-long journey around Europe. Attractive drawings and snippets from her letters home draw the reader into her adventure. I'm definitely looking forward to the next volume. This book would create a attractive bonus to anyone who loves travel or nature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gap Year: Rambling Through Brambles in England and Scotland []  2020-7-9 18:53

    Gap Year: Rambling Through Brambles in England and Scotland by Anna Hess is an awesome book to read. I never read anything from this author before but I am looking forward to read items in the future now. I highly recommend this story to all.I read a complimentary Advanced Reader Copy of this book & am voluntarily leaving an honest and unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Pink Taxi : A wonderful uplifting read set in Scotland! []  2020-8-9 18:34

    Rosalie and her mother arrived at Raventhorn Castle when she was a child, and it’s the only put she’s ever known. Wanting to create some cash and support out the residents in this small corner, she started a taxi business – ferrying residents to appointments, grocers , toddler meetings and elsewhere: allowing everyone to feel connected. Additionally, she’s part of a little group that does ‘wellness checks’ for residents, particularly the elderly and any tourists that may be in holiday lets away from town, and she’s also a constant presence for those who wish to be cheered. She’s never wanted any other life than the one she has, even if cash is tight. But when she’s sent to the airport to collect one Marc Peterson and bring him back to town. No, scratch that – the fresh owner of Raventhorn Castle has come to take acc of his property. A surprise to Rosalie as Geoff, the owner, didn’t tell her about the sale, and he’d just crashed his vintage Porsche into a tree and is in hospital, rc Peterson is impatiently waiting info regarding the helicopter crash that killed his father, and trying to figure out why his father would have overpaid, greatly, for the rundown castle in the middle of nowhere Scotland. Making matters worse is the marshmallow-pink clad taxi driver and her equally pink taxi, hours without sleep and her apparent addiction to peppy pop songs that say small and grate on his nerves. The castle is in worse shape than he imagined, even selling it off piecemeal isn’t looking like a solid recoup on his investment. Add to that the tales of a ghost, and a woman standing at the side of the street and Marc is sure that understanding why his father would have spent cash on the put is something he can’t see.Oh the fun of this – as Rosalie is an “all in” sort of girl – knowing everyone in city and determined to create it easier for them to manage their everyday lives with her help. Sure, there’s not much cash in it – but she’s doing ok, able to mostly pay the people who work for her and desperately need their salaries. Marc is a bottom line guy, but there’s something about Rosalie, the castle and the strange appearances of a woman, and ravens…. Somewhere there must be a clue. With a potential family connection, unearthing secrets about Rosalie’s past and something her mother left behind, and Geoff’s cousin Rupert – a thoroughly dislikable and disreputable man, there are twists, turns and dangers aplenty. When you add in the appearance of an employee of Marc’s, Kristin – who claims to be ‘almost engaged’ and isn’t polite or quiet about shutting down and selling off the castle contents and businesses (Including Rosalie’s taxi service) things are dire – until they aren’t – and a possibility taken by Rosalie, when everything else is at stake, makes all the difference. A unbelievable summer read full of Scotland, legend, history and plenty of heart.I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Taming of a Highlander (Midnight in Scotland Book 2) []  2020-12-8 18:28

    Will they search their method to one another in the night surrounding them ...Why is it always so much more difficult to express my liking for one book more than an other.While there is no huge fuss about the author, I await each fresh release like a gold digger scrutinizes his sieve. Each is a gem to cherish, and this one no is tale is more sober and more somber than its prequel, but it is still a recipient of the author’s narrative talent, of her skill to bring multidimensional flawed souls to life.I do remember when the Rescued From Ruin series ended having a thought for the latest two Huxleys remaining unmarried. When John was a figure of the shadows, Kate was very much there, a lively young girl then miss during the span of years unraveling the various romances.Of all the Huxleys sisters, I thought her at first a bit on the meek side, afraid of her own shadow but it is a misleading impression, she is a babbling mess when stressed, her imaginative brain creates creatures when there is none, she is the worst liar possible while in fact she is created of magic, she sparks in the dark, she has been created to lighten even the darkest place, to ignite the closed place, to free the trapped soul and broken heart. She sees the amazing in people and by offering her backing, she releases them from their shackles. Why she is able to look past Broderick’s scars to comprehend the man behind the I was heartbroken for Broderick in the previous book, the horrors he survived were just inconceivable, all because of someone crazy wounded disfigured, damaged, he is only breathing for his need to exact revenge. An eye for an eye.He has no other reason to live, and knows it might end with his own demise.Why he instantly builds a wall between him and Kate, she is too innocent to touch the beast he has become. But Kate is a force to be reckoned, she does not understand the meaning of “no”. And one brick at a time, she crumbles every wall he tries to erect between is is a moving but also scorching hot tale of a lady with a magic heart mending one caress after an other the crippled soul of a man who has lost his way.5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Taming of a Highlander (Midnight in Scotland Book 2) []  2020-12-8 18:28

    Well she did it again! What a book! I love that every book of Elisa's has created me laugh, cry and feel all those warm fuzzies that you never expect in reading. Kate and Broderick came alive in this book and how it created me want I could be Kate. What a man! To have gone through such tragedy and horror and come out just as protective, honorable and fierce as ever! Their story was very well written, I don't know if I would have changed anything about it from begin to finish. I can't wait until Elisa's next book releases. I wish to see who Sabelle captures next! As always, even though this was an Arc copy, I still purchase all Elisa's books to present my help for her awesome work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Taming of a Highlander (Midnight in Scotland Book 2) []  2020-12-8 18:28

    There is a reason I count Elisa as one of my top favorite authors, the method she weaves a story is magical and never fails to pull me in completely."Ye're a flame in my darkness" ~BroderickBroderick and Kate were utterly adorable together, they may have started out on rocky ground but it was apparent rather quickly how excellent they were for each other. Kate accepted and loved him for the man he had become and in doing so gained a confidence in herself that she could be both a wife and a woman with her own passions. Broderick in turn was able to move on from the pain and torment of his past and embrace a future that wasn't solely based on revenge. And allow me just say the chemistry between them was off the charts hot!!!!The overall plot of the book flowed nicely and as always her secondary characters add so much depth and amusement by the end they feel like old friends.I can't wait to see where this series goes (I have my hopes on who will end up together!) but I know no matter what, it's going to be a attractive journey."Dinnae ken about legendary, mo chridhe. But if there's breath in my body, I'll always search ye. No matter where ye are or how dark it seems." ~Broderick*I received a free ARC of this book for the purpose of an honest review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An English Bride in Scotland: Highland Brides (Highlander Book 1) []  2021-1-7 20:11

    I loved An English Bride in Scotland. Ross and Annabel are a very loving, romantic and y, sensual couple. Annabel has been retrieved from the Abby where she is about to take her vows as a Nun. Her mother has come to take her home to marry a Scottish Laird in put of her older sister Kate. I think Annabel's naivety was believable. She was neither shy nor knowledgeable about the marriage bed. She really didn't have a clue, so she did what seem to be the right thing to please her husband Ross and enjoyed it herself.. Annabel has been at the Abby since she was 7 years old so she was a blank slate and was Not damaged from any morals or lack of morals from the globe or her environment. She had been at the Abbey for 14 year. A true innocent!! I just loved her. She is smart and kind and willing to learn from anyone who would teach her. The servants loved her. Ross was an perfect husband and grew to love her immediately although Ross fresh that Annabel had been replaced by her older sister to marry him. Ross didn't know right away that she had been in training to become a Nun He was very grateful he got her. After you read the story and I Highly Recommend you Do you will understand what I mean. Annabel's older sister Kate was a true B----H!! Jealous and downright e story is very fasted paced a true page turner. I know some reviewer think Annabel was to knowledgeable for a Abbess but I saw it as her copying behavior from what she saw others do and learning from that. especially her husband. She did know right from wrong but if the behavior was reasonable and probable she copied it. This a really amazing story with twist and turns along the way. It was everything I love in a Historical Romance!! I loved bk 3 The Highlander Takes a Bride also,. I read it first because I didn't know it was in a series. Now I am off to read bk2 To Marry a Scottish Laird and I really hope it is another 5 star book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder In Thrall (A New Scotland Yard Mystery Book 1) [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    I cannot say enough about this book...enough about just how not good it is. Has the author ever met anyone from Ireland in the latest hundred years? The Irish do not talk like that! One more "whist", "faith", or "Mother a' mercy" out of Doyle and I was going to scream. And the stalker for a boss who becomes your lover who becomes your husband...just a small too weird for me. Hero development is lacking as us the stiry regarding the murder which was nonexistent. Nothing at all yo recimmend about this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder In Thrall (A New Scotland Yard Mystery Book 1) [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    I loved Murder in Thrall from the very first page until the latest sentence. Acton and Doyle are a wonderful, albeit unusual, husband and wife detective team. I've sporadically read some police procedurals over the years and it was unbelievable to have stumbled across this special murder mystery series. DCI Acton is one of the most complex hero I have read in a long time. He walks the line of a gamma male and his absolute obsession with the fair Kathleen Doyle is palatable. DC Doyle is so engaging and true that it is simple to see why Lord Acton is devoted to her. On top of their private attraction, they create an effective detective team, him with his strong interrogative skills and her with her ability to hear lies, thanks to her fey Irish ditionally, the secondary characters were as interesting and relatable as the main characters. Munoz, Reynolds, and especially Williams added depth to the story. Even the dragon-like dowager lady Acton, Lord Acton's mother, was interesting and humorous hero in her distain of her fresh daughter in-law. Anne Cleeland is truly a gifted writer and she has made a wonderfully special cast of characters and plot in this book. Ten shining stars to the Fresh Scotland Yard series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Little Pink Taxi : A wonderful uplifting read set in Scotland! []  2020-8-9 18:34

    While the adorable cover and title give an obvious clue about what to expect within the narrative, I discovered Small Pink Taxi goes above and beyond what I expected within the e gentleman Rosalie Heart collects from the airport to drive to Raventhorn is a mystery. He's tall with a French accent and has come to visit Geoff who unfortunately isn't available to greet his guest. It doesn't take long to explore Marc Petersen now owns the only true home she's ever had, along with the taxi company she established and runs. With a threat of not only losing her home but her job, she's not satisfied to be playing host to the fresh owner. However, he soon becomes her protector as someone from the past comes back to settle a score and a mystery needs solving siting to assess the run-down estate his father bought before his tragic death, Marc Petersen hopes his trip to Irlwick in the frozen North of Scotland is fast and uneventful. Only, as soon as he arrives, his plans have already gone to pot. Collected from the airport by a pretty, chatty young woman who is not only wearing pink but driving a pink coloured taxi, it's the beginning of what turns out to be a life-changing trip full of discovery.I enjoyed the contrast between Rosalie's effervescent personality and Marc's resolute one. They appear as opposites but as happenings and presumptions from the past come to the surface, they search a common bond, mutual respect and love. The backdrop is the snowy Highlands with a warm community spirit supplied by an eclectic bunch of small-town folk. They provide a light-hearted contrast to the bumpy street the protagonists' developing relationship travels Laval has written a captivating and engaging novel full of humour. The narrative layered with light-hearted banter between the characters, the depiction of The Highlands, the local "crimes", and the folklore surrounding Raventhorn. The highlight and what I enjoyed the most was the mystery element and how the history of Raventhorn and Marc's Danish heritage are connected. I appreciated this even more because I'm familiar with the zone and could easily relate them to descriptions of the locations mentioned in sum up, an entertaining novel laced with a hidden charm and an intriguing plot. A fabulous read for any time of the year.***arc generously received courtesy of Choc Lit via NetGalley***

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Taming of a Highlander (Midnight in Scotland Book 2) []  2020-12-8 18:28

    This is the second book in the Midnight in Scotland series. A beauty and beast, forced marriage scenario that can be read as a stand alone if you have not read The Making of a oderick MacPherson has a dark and damaged soul, scarred and battered from his time in jail. He was wrongly accused and kept there because of bribery where he suffered horrible atrocities. He has healed physically and now seeks his revenge and is in the process of retribution when Kate Huxley interrupts.Kate, John Huxley’s sister, stayed on in Scotland after his wedding to Annie Tulloch, Broderick’s stepsister. She did, so that she’s able to complete her Scottish novel/play. She’s naive and creative. She gets lost while out in the highlands and stumbles upon Broderick getting his revenge which terrifies her.I enjoyed this book just as much as I did the first book, probably a small more because I tend to really like a dark brooding character that falls in love and finds his HEA. I got all the feels while reading this book from heart break to laughter. It kept my attention so much so that I had to force myself to go to sleep one night, sorry but 2020 has forced me to change my reading habits. But that being said I read through it quite quickly. I received an ARC of this book and chose to post my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An English Bride in Scotland: Highland Brides (Highlander Book 1) []  2021-1-7 20:11

    In the past, I've absolutely loved Lyndsay Sands novels, especially the Argeneau Vampire series but the heroine in this story, Annabelle, frustrated me to the point I skipped page after page because she's quite stupid, if kind-hearted and caring. I understand she was raised in a nunnery but she disobeyed her husband when he was trying to protect her from an attacker and she repeatedly endangered herself. And why would she trust her venomous sister to support her? I figured out early on who was behind the attacks and why so I was disappointed that Annabelle even allow that wretched woman stay in the castle, especially after the vile things she did. It didn't create sense. The Laird, Ross, was a decent fellow but surely had the patience of a saint to hold rescuing his wife from her own follies. Some of the supporting characters were amazing but Annabelle's family was horrible and there wasn't a satisfactory explanation as to why they'd treat their kids so badly. Overall, the book seemed less light-headed than I expected from Ms. Sands. I won't continue with this series.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386