Read four days in november: the assassination of president john f reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all four days in november: the assassination of president john f reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Days in November: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    I was a very impressionable 19 yr old when the assassination happened and never felt that we got all the info that we should have. This book, the method it is written, takes that feeling of something being kept secret away. It is a long read, but I like the timeline approach, and search it interesting. I recommend it to anyone who is interested in what really happened in Dallas in November 1963 without innuendos.

    0  


    Add your opinion on four days in november: the assassination of president john f or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Days in November: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    It's obvious much time and research has been place into the writing of this book. A very organized collection of information, much of which was already known, place into one read. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Days in November: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    So much detail that I never knew about the asssassnation. My interest is in the people involved Not just the main characters but all the people behind the scenes who also had a story to tell. I read it twice just to create sure I did'nt miss anything. love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Days in November: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    Vincent Bugliosi really backed up his statements in this book about the JFK assassination with facts. I now believe that Oswald was the only shooter. The only doubt I still have is how the President's body reacted to the shot that killed him. I found the theory weak and I base my opinion on a life time of hunting and target shooting. The book seems to be saying that the first bullet to hit the President was a solid, the second a hollow or expansion point. Possible but not probable, yet no two shots ever bring the exact same results, so I accept that Oswald was the only shooter. If you are unconvinced or just wish to read how one lunatic can change the globe and ruin the lives of so a lot of innocent people, this book is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Days in November: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    since I got this book I have not been able to place it down. It was a not good time in history, that I remember so well . It was a time when we lost our innocence. The book is very well written . it brings back the time and the sorrow of those 4 days . The manhunt and the capture of Lee Harvey Oswald. As I said this book has a lot of info and is very well written. I will reread this again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Days in November: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    This was an incredibly detailed acc of the JFK assassination. It had pages of footnotes and references. This is what I have known that Vincent Bugliosi does best, take an happening and give a amazing narrative of what happened in an happening that has changed America. I found this book to be very informative but of course not as intense as the acc of Charles Manson. I was in Junior High when JFK was killed living in a little city in Arkansas. The entire city was riveted by the happenings as we saw them on television. This book helped me relive those days and give more facts and info than I remembered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Days in November: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    I believe this to be the definitive book on the assassination of President John Kennedy. I was 11 when Kennedy was murdered, and his death was a pivotal moment for me, as well as our nation. I have viewed numerous tv specials, and read numerous books and articles about the tragedy. The author here meticulously info the happenings of the assassination and its aftermath in such a method that the reader feels part of the story. It is a book for the ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Days in November: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    Vincent Bugliosi is the best nonfiction writer. His attention to details, his critical analysis of those details, and his ability to show those facts in combination with his analysis in a readable and more logical presentation than the original incidents is without parity. His writing style, at first challenging, becomes superlative. The only drawback, and it is a miniscule one, is that the paperback ver I purchased, although having thirty-four pages of annotated black-and white photos, seemed inadequate for a book as detailed and incredibly well-footnoted (1557 of them) as this one. Still five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Days in November: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    Amazing insight and fresh (to me) info regarding the happenings in Texas. Factually based without pages and pages of filler. Very amazing acc of the happenings

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Days in November: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy [Book]  2017-11-22 18:0

    Amazing Book very detail oriented. Highly Reccomended,, once I started reading this couldn't place it down. Lee Harvey Oswald was a true smartalick, but didn't fool the Dallas Police, FBI or Secret Service. Especially Forest Sorrells.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-31 21:21

    An perfect book about the Kennedy assassination--exhaustively researched ,well written and simple to read. Bugliosi disproves all the wild, ridiculous conspiracy theories place forth by the shots-from-the-grassy-knoll crowd. It is a hefty book--sixteen hundred pages--but well worth the effort to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-31 21:21

    Unbelievable Book by this esteemed Author...His attention to detail was incredible...If you are a Historian This one is for you...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-31 21:21

    While this book is excellent, be forewarned that it will contain far more than 99.8% of readers will ever need to know about the JFK assassination. Unless you are absolutely religious about your belief in conspiracy theories it will create you conspiracy-proof. (Check the high percentage of 1-star reviews that, if you read the entire book are all addressed.) Vincent Bugliosi is a bulldog that won't allow go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-31 21:21

    Extremely detailed and well written covering everything surrounding the assassination of JFK. Fascinating read and well informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-31 21:21

    It is THE definitive history of the Kennedy assassination. Painstakingly researched over twenty years, it is a facinating debunking of the conspiracy theories. A must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-31 21:21

    This is a very, physically, massive book. Don't know what kind of paper they used to print it with, but it is quite physically heavy, takes both hands to hold, and is uncomfortable to test and rest on your lap. That aside, obviously, Mr. Bugliosi likes to argue, and he is well-spoken presenting both sides of the issues. His writing is very clear. As for the conclusion to his writing, I would like to use a statement from the writing that Bugliosi wrote that when he studies a case, he states in the book, "My only master and my only mistress are the facts and objectivity." Unfortunately, this is a relative statement, for it depends on what the facts are, or at least, what one thinks the facts are. The "Warren Report" is also extremely lengthy, but it seems that Mr. Bugliosi bit off a small too much and does not review the report enough and really examine the testimony of the one most necessary figure in all of this, the eyewitness to Oswald on the day of the shooting, Mr. Brennan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-31 21:21

    I rated this book 5 stars because it's really an encyclopedia of the assassination written for people who are not conspiracy minded. Case Closed by Gerald Posner is an easier read but for the really dedicated student of the assassination Reclaiming History is the fitting sequel to the Warren report and the 26 volumes for it's sheer amount of info that's pertinent in satisfying the original conclusions of the Warren Report.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-31 21:21

    I found Bugliosi's book to be the latest word on the assassination of JFK and the most reasoned work on the topic of who killed the e author utterly destroys the numerous conspiracy theories surrounding Kennedy's -- and Oswald's -- murder by applying logic and skepticism. I have read a lot of books on this topic and have always been interested in the tragic happenings in Dallas. I began my early adult life believing that Oswald could not have murdered the president without being part of a wider conspiracy after reading several books that promoted that argument. But as I have aged and read more measured and reasonable books on the assassination, it became obvious to me that Oswald and Jack Ruby carried out their crimes completely on their claiming History has proven that Oswald's temperament could never have allowed him to work with others to plan and execute the murder. Likewise, Bugliosi, as well as other authors, conclusively present that Ruby's quicksilver personality, as well as being in the right put at the exact right time, led to his shooting Oswald. Bugliosi has slammed the door on the chance that the Mafia, the Russians, the Cubans, the FBI, the CIA or any other group or individual, were responsible for the murders of Kennedy, Oswald, or Dallas police officer J.D. Tippett.I will admit, you have to have a deep interest in the topic to read this heavy book, but I read every word and hold it on my bookshelf to re-read certain chapters from time to time. Create sure you read the chapter on Oliver Stone's absolutely bizarre and goofy movie, JFK, and how the director has helped plant a lot of of the murder's twisted conspiracy theories in the public's mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-31 21:21

    Exhaustive and reasoned study of the Kennedy assassination. Bugliosi examines the conspiracy theories and explains why they are not credible. No work on the Kennedy assassination is better than this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-31 21:21

    Best book on the JFK assassination I’ve ever read. Thorough, well-written, well-documented, and surprisingly entertaining because of Bugliosi’s wit. Highly recommended for all, but especially for serious students and researchers. For anyone wanting a amazing narrative of the key happenings from the assassination to Oswald’s murder, test the shorter work “Four Days in November”, which is also included in this book. But if you wish to dig deep into the details, there is no other book that compares.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November 22, 1963: Reflections on the Life, Assassination, and Legacy of John F. Kennedy [Book]  2018-3-21 18:1

    Dean Owen has made an enjoyable, revealing and highly readable collection of oral histories of people connected with JFK and or the assassination. No conspiracy theories here. This just profoundly humanizes the happening which changed the United States of America forever. For Kennedy-philes, history buffs and maybe grandparents who remember exactly where they were that hour of that day and wish to convey something of the private and historical impact of the happening to a younger generation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November 22, 1963: Reflections on the Life, Assassination, and Legacy of John F. Kennedy [Book]  2018-3-21 18:1

    November 22, 1963, impacted millions of Americans. The stories collected by Dean Owen are insightful and provide a more complete picture of Kennedy, not previously captured in writing. The anecdotes, told by those with close working connections and those with short but intense interactions with Kennedy paint a special picture of the man and how he reacted under pressure. The stories provide touching insights and some are very humorous. I particularly liked the story by Dr. Bernhard about his interactions with Kennedy when his son Patrick was struggling to live, shortly after his birth. This book is a amazing method to remember Kennedy on this 50th anniversary of the Assassination. A fast and simple read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November 22, 1963: Reflections on the Life, Assassination, and Legacy of John F. Kennedy [Book]  2018-3-21 18:1

    Amazing book, amazing author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November 22, 1963: Reflections on the Life, Assassination, and Legacy of John F. Kennedy [Book]  2018-3-21 18:1

    In a year when there are/will be a glut of books about John Kennedy's life, his administration, and his death, this one stands alone because the author created a deliberate decision to avoid two topics: JFK's women and the conspiracies about the assassination. And that has created a major e people interviewed for the book come from so a lot of various walks of life (news people, White House employees, civil rights activists) and while some knew him very well, some had small interaction with him. But what the reader gets is a sense of the times he lived in, the expectations of a generation who suffered through the Depression, another generation who had fought in WW II,and an even younger generation who were growing up in the Cold Battle era. While each set viewed him in various ways, he had something that created him seem the symbol of the future. And that, above all else, is what was lost, as told by the topics in the book.Who knows what would have happened if he had not been killed. That is not what this book examines. It tells what we had, how we felt when it was brutally taken from us, and what that loss felt like, both at the time it happened and for years is book is a tribute to JFK: there are few poor reviews of his presidency in it. But at a time when there will be an avalanche of books either canonizing him or vilifying him, this one creates a sense of sadness, a feeling of grief, a moment of e interviews are very well edited, the topics were thoughtfully chosen, and a lot of of the memories are ones we have never heard before (the doctors who saved John Jr. at birth, the one who tried so hard to save Patrick, and the priest who gave the president the latest rights, for example). I have a large library of Kennedy materials, and this book is a fresh cherished part of that collection.I liked it VERY much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November 22, 1963: Reflections on the Life, Assassination, and Legacy of John F. Kennedy [Book]  2018-3-21 18:1

    There are a lot of books now available on the assassination of JFK from 50 years is about 30 of them. This is one of the better, more detailed though there are differences of opinion as to who, what and why the assassinationoccurred among the different authors here on , this book is well done,the author does his research and proves his point in a scholarly way, and his argument iswell presented. Although no one will really ever know for sure exactly who was responsible,this book is well worth a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November 22, 1963: Reflections on the Life, Assassination, and Legacy of John F. Kennedy [Book]  2018-3-21 18:1

    Having read several of the biographies on JFK I enjoyed this book so much more than any of the others. It was nice getting the impressions of others who had the possibility to meet or work with him. It created him more personable to we who only knew of him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November 22, 1963: Reflections on the Life, Assassination, and Legacy of John F. Kennedy [Book]  2018-3-21 18:1

    Reading this book created me feel part of it, felt every emotion, saw every scene. JFK was one of my idols, very smart, charismatic, and amazing looking. America has not had another one like him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November 22, 1963: Reflections on the Life, Assassination, and Legacy of John F. Kennedy [Book]  2018-3-21 18:1

    I am really enjoying getting behind the front pages perspectives on JFK and by those who lived through the happenings of Nov 22. I still have much more reading to do, however. So I fully expect to [email protected]#$%! feeling positively happy to have had this experience to add to my understanding and experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November 22, 1963: Reflections on the Life, Assassination, and Legacy of John F. Kennedy [Book]  2018-3-21 18:1

    Interesting to read where these people were when they heard the news of the Kennedy Assassination. Everyone old enough to remember recalls exactly where they were and what they were doing on November 22, 1963.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November 22, 1963: Reflections on the Life, Assassination, and Legacy of John F. Kennedy [Book]  2018-3-21 18:1

    I would recommend this book to anyone. It has been deeply interesting to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-30 22:3

    I got this book and another one of his books for my best mates birthday because she loves this author and the books he writes. She loved the one he wrote about Martin Luther King Jr so I figured she’d love this book and she did!! And it’s also a very nice book!! Like very high quality!! Very satisfied with my and definitely recommend! 😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-30 22:3

    As the facts unfolded, the book was a page turner. For students, it gives insight to those Kennedy years. For adults it brings back what started as exciting optimism but turned to heartache for America. The book brought back so a lot of emotions. Read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-30 22:3

    Even though I lived through this and cared not to hear an more about it, Christopher created it more intetresting to re-live it all. Very very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-30 22:3

    As author James Swanson did with his book entitled Manhunt on the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln he has now written an acc on the assassination of President John Kennedy for young readers entitled "The President Has Been Shot." This book is suitable for middle school and high school students and even amazing readers on an elementary level. The book includes numerous images so a reader isn't intimidated by page after page of only words. Author Swanson doesn't believe in the numerous conspiracy theories out there but focuses on three bullets fired by Lee Harvey Oswald as the lone gunman. President Kennedy's itinerary from the time he entered Texas along with the movements of Lee Oswald are followed until they come together when the assassination takes put are aptly covered. The chase for the murderer, the President's funeral, the murder of Oswald by Jack Ruby and the aftermath are all well covered. These would create amazing bonuses for a young person on your list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-30 22:3

    My 10-year-old son Daniel is a lover of history and historical fiction. I share the same love and it’s fun to read books together. Daniel loved Chasing Lincoln’s Assassin by the same author, James L. Swanson, and was eager to read The President has Been Shot about the Kennedy Assassination.Daniel came into this book knowing nothing about the Kennedy assassination. We talked about this being a defining happening of his grandparents’ childhood. Not brought up in the book, but something I always thought was interesting was comparing the Kennedy and Lincoln assassination. How they were almost 100 years apart, how Kennedy had a secretary named Lincoln and Lincoln had a secretary required Kennedy, etc. Daniel really liked that.I liked that the book started off about John F. Kennedy’s life and childhood, and a general summary of his presidency. That was necessary for a ten-year-old like Daniel who didn’t’ really know much about Kennedy at all. The book then detailed the assassination, pursuit of Lee Harvey Oswald, and Kennedy’s h The President Has Been Shot and Chasing Lincoln’s Assassin were marketed as Young Adult. Daniel is an advanced reader and had no issue with Chasing Lincoln’s Killer. The President Had Been Shot was a higher reading level with a lot of huge words, and Daniel had a harder time with it. Daniel also had a hard time with the violence of the assassination. Lincoln’s was much “cleaner.” The book describes how Kennedy’s brains were basically blown out and all over the vehicle and Jackie and it comes up a few times. Daniel and I usually flip flop read where he will read a page and then I will read a page, but I read through the entire assassination and edited it to take out the brains. He already looked queasy about it all.Daniel had a moment while reading the book. He read and saw a picture of JFK in his office with his children. John-John wanted to go with him to Texas and JFK left a paper to sign when he got back. Daniel said, “But he’s never coming back,” and he pushed the book aside and looked really sad. History hit him at that point. JFK was a true man, a father with kids who left and never came home. Daniel also was upset at the funeral when John Jr. asked “Where’s my daddy” and Jackie started to cry. “He’s only three and he probably doesn’t understand what happened to his Daddy,” said Daniel and then he had another moment of sad contemplation. He looked ready to cry. I was emotional reading that stage as a wife and mother as well.Daniel really like reading about the pursuit of Lee Harvey Oswald and he also really liked all of the pictures and graphics. In particularly he liked the maps showing the motorcade and Oswald’s escape route. He also liked the graphic showing where they found Oswald’s finger prints. He thought Oswald was not a very amazing killer compared to John Wilkes Booth. I didn’t remember info of the pursuit and arrest at all so it was interesting to read it again. I only remembered that Oswald was himself assassinated. Daniel had no idea that was going to happen and he was shocked.I also didn’t know that President Lyndon B. Johnson wrote two handwritten letters to JFK’s two kids the night of the assassination. I was touched.Favorite Quotes:“For the rest of their lives, people would remember where they were when they first heard the news that President Kennedy had been shot.”“It was done. Four days of blood and death, of mourning and drums, were over. America would never be the same.”Overall, The President Has Been Shot was a fascinating look into the life, presidency, and assassination of John F. Kennedy. It’s a amazing book for children to learn history, but it really is a young adult novel – ten was too young for Daniel to read on his own. Reading it together I was able to explain vocab words and edit out some of the more disturbing descriptions of the association that would be fine for a young Source:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-30 22:3

    I ordered this for my daughter because it was needed for school. I haven’t read it myself but it was a really high quality hard cover book. It looks nice and I may read it when she is done with it. It also was a used book but could’ve passed as new!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-30 22:3

    A amazing description of the days leading up to and then after the assignation of the president. My only criticism is there was no discussion of Jack Ruby. He was a necessary figure in the whole story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-30 22:3

    The author has done significant amount of research in verifying authenticity and making the readers walk through the entire gruesome event. I had recently visited the Sixth floor museum at Dealey Plaza museum and found most of the same article or illustration used here to build the timeline of events. America has missed a amazing leader indeed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-16 1:32

    My 10-year-old son Daniel is a lover of history and historical fiction. I share the same love and it’s fun to read books together. Daniel loved Chasing Lincoln’s Assassin by the same author, James L. Swanson, and was eager to read The President has Been Shot about the Kennedy Assassination.Daniel came into this book knowing nothing about the Kennedy assassination. We talked about this being a defining happening of his grandparents’ childhood. Not brought up in the book, but something I always thought was interesting was comparing the Kennedy and Lincoln assassination. How they were almost 100 years apart, how Kennedy had a secretary named Lincoln and Lincoln had a secretary required Kennedy, etc. Daniel really liked that.I liked that the book started off about John F. Kennedy’s life and childhood, and a general summary of his presidency. That was necessary for a ten-year-old like Daniel who didn’t’ really know much about Kennedy at all. The book then detailed the assassination, pursuit of Lee Harvey Oswald, and Kennedy’s h The President Has Been Shot and Chasing Lincoln’s Assassin were marketed as Young Adult. Daniel is an advanced reader and had no issue with Chasing Lincoln’s Killer. The President Had Been Shot was a higher reading level with a lot of huge words, and Daniel had a harder time with it. Daniel also had a hard time with the violence of the assassination. Lincoln’s was much “cleaner.” The book describes how Kennedy’s brains were basically blown out and all over the vehicle and Jackie and it comes up a few times. Daniel and I usually flip flop read where he will read a page and then I will read a page, but I read through the entire assassination and edited it to take out the brains. He already looked queasy about it all.Daniel had a moment while reading the book. He read and saw a picture of JFK in his office with his children. John-John wanted to go with him to Texas and JFK left a paper to sign when he got back. Daniel said, “But he’s never coming back,” and he pushed the book aside and looked really sad. History hit him at that point. JFK was a true man, a father with kids who left and never came home. Daniel also was upset at the funeral when John Jr. asked “Where’s my daddy” and Jackie started to cry. “He’s only three and he probably doesn’t understand what happened to his Daddy,” said Daniel and then he had another moment of sad contemplation. He looked ready to cry. I was emotional reading that stage as a wife and mother as well.Daniel really like reading about the pursuit of Lee Harvey Oswald and he also really liked all of the pictures and graphics. In particularly he liked the maps showing the motorcade and Oswald’s escape route. He also liked the graphic showing where they found Oswald’s finger prints. He thought Oswald was not a very amazing killer compared to John Wilkes Booth. I didn’t remember info of the pursuit and arrest at all so it was interesting to read it again. I only remembered that Oswald was himself assassinated. Daniel had no idea that was going to happen and he was shocked.I also didn’t know that President Lyndon B. Johnson wrote two handwritten letters to JFK’s two kids the night of the assassination. I was touched.Favorite Quotes:“For the rest of their lives, people would remember where they were when they first heard the news that President Kennedy had been shot.”“It was done. Four days of blood and death, of mourning and drums, were over. America would never be the same.”Overall, The President Has Been Shot was a fascinating look into the life, presidency, and assassination of John F. Kennedy. It’s a amazing book for children to learn history, but it really is a young adult novel – ten was too young for Daniel to read on his own. Reading it together I was able to explain vocab words and edit out some of the more disturbing descriptions of the association that would be fine for a young Source:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-16 1:32

    Even though I lived through this and cared not to hear an more about it, Christopher created it more intetresting to re-live it all. Very very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-16 1:33

    I had to read this book for school, and it was an simple read. The pictures and detailed descriptions brought this book to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The President Has Been Shot!: The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-21 23:50

    Even though I lived through this and cared not to hear an more about it, Christopher created it more intetresting to re-live it all. Very very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-30 22:3

    Delivery was fantastic. Would from again. Item splendid

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-30 22:3

    I had to read this book for school, and it was an simple read. The pictures and detailed descriptions brought this book to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-16 1:32

    I got this book and another one of his books for my best mates birthday because she loves this author and the books he writes. She loved the one he wrote about Martin Luther King Jr so I figured she’d love this book and she did!! And it’s also a very nice book!! Like very high quality!! Very satisfied with my and definitely recommend! 😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The President Has Been Shot!: The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-21 23:50

    My 10-year-old son Daniel is a lover of history and historical fiction. I share the same love and it’s fun to read books together. Daniel loved Chasing Lincoln’s Assassin by the same author, James L. Swanson, and was eager to read The President has Been Shot about the Kennedy Assassination.Daniel came into this book knowing nothing about the Kennedy assassination. We talked about this being a defining happening of his grandparents’ childhood. Not brought up in the book, but something I always thought was interesting was comparing the Kennedy and Lincoln assassination. How they were almost 100 years apart, how Kennedy had a secretary named Lincoln and Lincoln had a secretary required Kennedy, etc. Daniel really liked that.I liked that the book started off about John F. Kennedy’s life and childhood, and a general summary of his presidency. That was necessary for a ten-year-old like Daniel who didn’t’ really know much about Kennedy at all. The book then detailed the assassination, pursuit of Lee Harvey Oswald, and Kennedy’s h The President Has Been Shot and Chasing Lincoln’s Assassin were marketed as Young Adult. Daniel is an advanced reader and had no issue with Chasing Lincoln’s Killer. The President Had Been Shot was a higher reading level with a lot of huge words, and Daniel had a harder time with it. Daniel also had a hard time with the violence of the assassination. Lincoln’s was much “cleaner.” The book describes how Kennedy’s brains were basically blown out and all over the vehicle and Jackie and it comes up a few times. Daniel and I usually flip flop read where he will read a page and then I will read a page, but I read through the entire assassination and edited it to take out the brains. He already looked queasy about it all.Daniel had a moment while reading the book. He read and saw a picture of JFK in his office with his children. John-John wanted to go with him to Texas and JFK left a paper to sign when he got back. Daniel said, “But he’s never coming back,” and he pushed the book aside and looked really sad. History hit him at that point. JFK was a true man, a father with kids who left and never came home. Daniel also was upset at the funeral when John Jr. asked “Where’s my daddy” and Jackie started to cry. “He’s only three and he probably doesn’t understand what happened to his Daddy,” said Daniel and then he had another moment of sad contemplation. He looked ready to cry. I was emotional reading that stage as a wife and mother as well.Daniel really like reading about the pursuit of Lee Harvey Oswald and he also really liked all of the pictures and graphics. In particularly he liked the maps showing the motorcade and Oswald’s escape route. He also liked the graphic showing where they found Oswald’s finger prints. He thought Oswald was not a very amazing killer compared to John Wilkes Booth. I didn’t remember info of the pursuit and arrest at all so it was interesting to read it again. I only remembered that Oswald was himself assassinated. Daniel had no idea that was going to happen and he was shocked.I also didn’t know that President Lyndon B. Johnson wrote two handwritten letters to JFK’s two kids the night of the assassination. I was touched.Favorite Quotes:“For the rest of their lives, people would remember where they were when they first heard the news that President Kennedy had been shot.”“It was done. Four days of blood and death, of mourning and drums, were over. America would never be the same.”Overall, The President Has Been Shot was a fascinating look into the life, presidency, and assassination of John F. Kennedy. It’s a amazing book for children to learn history, but it really is a young adult novel – ten was too young for Daniel to read on his own. Reading it together I was able to explain vocab words and edit out some of the more disturbing descriptions of the association that would be fine for a young Source:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The President Has Been Shot!: The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-21 23:50

    Delivery was fantastic. Would from again. Item splendid

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The President Has Been Shot!: The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-21 23:50

    I got this book and another one of his books for my best mates birthday because she loves this author and the books he writes. She loved the one he wrote about Martin Luther King Jr so I figured she’d love this book and she did!! And it’s also a very nice book!! Like very high quality!! Very satisfied with my and definitely recommend! 😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The President Has Been Shot!: The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-21 23:50

    I had to read this book for school, and it was an simple read. The pictures and detailed descriptions brought this book to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-16 1:32

    I ordered this for my daughter because it was needed for school. I haven’t read it myself but it was a really high quality hard cover book. It looks nice and I may read it when she is done with it. It also was a used book but could’ve passed as new!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-16 1:32

    Delivery was fantastic. Would from again. Item splendid

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-16 1:33

    As author James Swanson did with his book entitled Manhunt on the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln he has now written an acc on the assassination of President John Kennedy for young readers entitled "The President Has Been Shot." This book is suitable for middle school and high school students and even amazing readers on an elementary level. The book includes numerous images so a reader isn't intimidated by page after page of only words. Author Swanson doesn't believe in the numerous conspiracy theories out there but focuses on three bullets fired by Lee Harvey Oswald as the lone gunman. President Kennedy's itinerary from the time he entered Texas along with the movements of Lee Oswald are followed until they come together when the assassination takes put are aptly covered. The chase for the murderer, the President's funeral, the murder of Oswald by Jack Ruby and the aftermath are all well covered. These would create amazing bonuses for a young person on your list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-16 1:32

    The author has done significant amount of research in verifying authenticity and making the readers walk through the entire gruesome event. I had recently visited the Sixth floor museum at Dealey Plaza museum and found most of the same article or illustration used here to build the timeline of events. America has missed a amazing leader indeed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-16 1:32

    As the facts unfolded, the book was a page turner. For students, it gives insight to those Kennedy years. For adults it brings back what started as exciting optimism but turned to heartache for America. The book brought back so a lot of emotions. Read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The President Has Been Shot!: The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-21 23:50

    The author has done significant amount of research in verifying authenticity and making the readers walk through the entire gruesome event. I had recently visited the Sixth floor museum at Dealey Plaza museum and found most of the same article or illustration used here to build the timeline of events. America has missed a amazing leader indeed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The President Has Been Shot!: The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-21 23:50

    A amazing description of the days leading up to and then after the assignation of the president. My only criticism is there was no discussion of Jack Ruby. He was a necessary figure in the whole story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The President Has Been Shot!: The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-21 23:50

    As author James Swanson did with his book entitled Manhunt on the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln he has now written an acc on the assassination of President John Kennedy for young readers entitled "The President Has Been Shot." This book is suitable for middle school and high school students and even amazing readers on an elementary level. The book includes numerous images so a reader isn't intimidated by page after page of only words. Author Swanson doesn't believe in the numerous conspiracy theories out there but focuses on three bullets fired by Lee Harvey Oswald as the lone gunman. President Kennedy's itinerary from the time he entered Texas along with the movements of Lee Oswald are followed until they come together when the assassination takes put are aptly covered. The chase for the murderer, the President's funeral, the murder of Oswald by Jack Ruby and the aftermath are all well covered. These would create amazing bonuses for a young person on your list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The President Has Been Shot!: The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-21 23:50

    I ordered this for my daughter because it was needed for school. I haven’t read it myself but it was a really high quality hard cover book. It looks nice and I may read it when she is done with it. It also was a used book but could’ve passed as new!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The President Has Been Shot!: The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-21 23:50

    As the facts unfolded, the book was a page turner. For students, it gives insight to those Kennedy years. For adults it brings back what started as exciting optimism but turned to heartache for America. The book brought back so a lot of emotions. Read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    "The President Has Been Shot!": The Assassination of John F. Kennedy []  2020-1-16 1:32

    A amazing description of the days leading up to and then after the assignation of the president. My only criticism is there was no discussion of Jack Ruby. He was a necessary figure in the whole story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House []  2020-6-11 18:0

    I have really enjoyed this book. I read a lot of history but not so much recent. This is eye opening. I got it on kindle first and scanned all of the Vietnam entries first (as I had a draft card) . It is amazing to see the insights, and what they appeared to be thinking through the MANY significant problems of the early 60’s. I then scanned Bay of Pigs, MLK, etc and then started reading from the front. Amazing Book, and I think Kennedy might have been a Amazing President. I previously assumed.... anyway , amazing history lesson despite Schlesinger appears to wear rose colourful Kennedy glasses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House []  2020-6-11 18:0

    I was reading the older publication, which was written chronologically. And I liked it a lot more than I liked this, cause that was raw and unedited. This one puts things a lot more in perspective as the author had time to review and think back to those days. Initially, we see things chronologically but eventually it goes into a topic-wise system like a textbook. This kind of bored me to death as I had to read through a ton of information piled up together. This might be amazing in one way, but when items in chapter 25 referred back to things in chapter 15, it kinda got really difficult to remember (its a 1000-pager btw). So all in all, it confused me a little. The original had a more humane touch to it too and really showed Kennedy the man, and not just Kennedy the President. We see less about how his family played a role in his life and more about his political life and the challenges he faced during those turbulent years. There is also a lower focus on his background and history than the original text, thus making it more difficult to understand his mindset and relate to who he is and why he did things the method he did them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House []  2020-6-11 18:0

    Superb acc of the Kennedy years in the White House by a participant in a lot of of the events. Fresh material on several of the events, including the Russian missile crisis and the Bay of Pigs before that. His domestic program is newly reviewed and clearly Indicated the path to the Civil Rights bill. Some of the flaws of his Presidency are presented, although not all. Schlesinger clearly finds Kennedy a young, vigorous man whose death robbed us of a potentially amazing President.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House []  2020-6-11 18:0

    You obtain to feel like you are right there while all these awesome changes are event in our country. While I know there are those who feel he wasn't perfect, but seriously who is? I am so proud of the method President Kennedy handled himself throughout his presidency. My parents were large supporters of him. He makes me wish to be more involved and engaged in what is going on in my country as well as the world. This book helped to understand just what type of man he was. I loved this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House []  2020-6-11 18:0

    Earlier, in this space, I mistakenly posted a review of 'Kennedy'by Theodore Sorensen. In some way, Schlesinger's and Sorensen's book are twins. They were both written by men who shared a unique relationship with JFK at a historical turning point. They are amazing to read together, for their complementary value. Schlesinger is better informed about outward-facing policy matters (especially foreign relations), while Sorensen gives a better sense of the inner workings of the White House and JFK's personality. This is history written on the wing. There will never be another time like this, when the young men of Kennedy's administration bestrode the globe like giants--all of it cruelly ended by five seconds of rifle-fire in Dallas. But this book, with Sorensen's and also with Theodore White's The Making of the President 1960, brings it neatly back to us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House []  2020-6-11 18:0

    Written by Arthur M. Schlesinger Jr., a unique assistant to the president, a riveting pulitzer-winning acc into the Kennedy presidency is given from an inside perspective. Although this book is long, is it very comprehensive and detailed as it captures the happenings from the 1960 presidential election through the abrupt end of Kennedy’s time in office with his assassination in November ere is a lot to unpack here as Schlesinger covers a range of problems that were prominent in the Kennedy administration including foreign policy matters in Latin America, Africa, and Southeast Asia, along with domestic aspects pertaining to economic policy and the efforts of Kennedy to search a political balance between voices on the far-left and the far-right. Additionally, Schlesinger describes Kennedy’s interactions with different personalities within the administration including Attorney General (and the President’s brother) Robert F. Kennedy, UN Ambassador Adlai Stevenson, and Vice President Lyndon B. Johnson, among others. Besides members of the cabinet, Kennedy’s relationships with international figures are also described with Soviet Premier Nikita Khrushchev and French President Charles de Gaulle being standouts. Although intricate and well-written, the author does create his private beliefs clear throughout his acc of Kennedy’s tenure and is openly resentful of Kennedy’s Republican predecessor Dwight D. Eisenhower and Kennedy’s 1960 enemy Richard Nixon. At times his criticisms of the previously mentioned figures are understandable and decently established but at others, the author appears petty and partisan-driven. Despite his begin political leanings though, Schlesinger’s book is largely effective because of his private insight, which adds significance to necessary moments of Kennedy’s presidency like the Cuban Missile Crisis, his speech at American University, and visit to a divided gardless of partisan beliefs, Arthur M. Schlesinger establishes that while John F. Kennedy’s time in office may have been brief, it was certainly influential during times of rapid change and even if decades have passed since Kennedy’s death and the publication of this book, a lot remains to be learned from John F. Kennedy’s mistakes and triumphs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House []  2020-6-11 18:0

    Amazing President! Amazing bio

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House []  2020-6-11 18:0

    Read this book January 2020 have fun reading about Kennedy's interesting and informative. Years ago saw Ted Kennedy at Kennedy Library book signing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House []  2020-6-11 18:0

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this sad but eloquent acc of my hero! I,m an old Marine Officer who survived 22 months in Viet Nam and proudly have an original portrait of Kennedy in my living room for which I traded my 50 caliber pistol!David Lewis

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House []  2020-6-11 18:0

    This book is a very revealing and rewarding look at happenings of the Kenneddy presidency. Schlesinger had a front row seat to almost all necessary happenings from civil rights to prosecution of organized crime. It brings back a lot of memories of that time, both amazing and poor (assasination).The only drawback is the authors unbiased mancrush he had on JFK. A lot of times he carries his admiration beyond the bounds needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract on America: The Mafia Murder of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-7-4 19:42

    Read it years ago and am now re-reading it. It makes sense now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract on America: The Mafia Murder of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-7-4 19:42

    book almost brand new....pleased...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract on America: The Mafia Murder of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-7-4 19:42

    This book goes beyond the topic of the JFK assassination to a decades-long history of corruption and murder on the national e first part of the book gives examples of Mafia killings using a "nut" or "patsy".heim tells of some interesting ties between D.A. Jim Garrison and members of the Marcello so of interest was his indictment on bribery e author also info activity involving the Warren Commission.-*Earl Warren's reluctance to be part of the commission.*The prepared book handed out to members by Allen Dulles advocating that all American assassinations were perpetrated by a lone,demented gunman.*Abundant editing and deleting any documentation of Jack Ruby's obvious links to Organized Crime.J.Edgar Hoover's relationship with Frank Costello explains his deep involvement in the cover-up.heim covers Lyndon Johnson and his ability to manipulate people as well as the payoffs he accepted from the Teamsters and links of the Sicilian Mafia to the Vatican as well as ing institutions was also highlighted in the is is a an perfect book about the Mafia's involvement in political corruption and Scheim has done a amazing job in researching the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract on America: The Mafia Murder of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-7-4 19:42

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract on America: The Mafia Murder of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-7-4 19:42

    Ive Read a lot of books on the JFK Assassination and this is one of the best!!very well written and nsider that the WC concluded that Jack Ruby had no ties to organized crime compare to the evidence that the Author presents in this book makes more sense than the WC Conclusions even if you choose to believe the official Govt Acc that ''Oswald did it Alone''(:.Highly recommended and intriguing reading!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract on America: The Mafia Murder of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-7-4 19:42

    I think he missed the boat on Meyer Lansky's connections to Israeli intelligence. He covered the CIA but did not look closely at the mossad. Its easy post Kennedy we did not re-invade Cuba, We did not allow up on the mob either. We did however send the USS liberty in to be attacked by the Israeli's in a botched false flag and we did drop the ball on registering AIPAC as a foreign agent of inspecting Israel's nukes. All you have to do is look at the post policy and see what changed and who benefited. The Booby was killed allegedly by a Palestinian... riiight. The book's powerful point is the investigation into Jack Ruby and also into Marcello. I am also glad it debunked the JFK ending the Fed myth that is so pervasive now days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    John F. Kennedy: The Life and Death of a US President (Oxford People) []  2020-2-7 19:30

    I had use the book for a book review and everything in was excellent for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract on America: The Mafia Murder of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-7-4 19:42

    This is a very thorough look at the crimes of the Mafia. The barbaric info can be hard to read. However, the book is mostly about proving that Jack Ruby was Mafia. Something nobody doubts anymore. Even if he knew a lot about the assassination that he never revealed, he did not act alone nor was he a major plotter, which is what the book seems determined to prove.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract on America: The Mafia Murder of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-7-4 19:42

    The literature and public dialogue regarding the JFK Assassination is going to heat up considerably as we approach 2013, the 50th anniversary of the events. Tom Hanks is already producing a film that supports the "lone nut" side of the debate. There will inevitably be efforts to develop fresh forensic and other evidence. This book presents an intriguing case that the Louisiana Mafia was instrumental in the events. It points the method toward an zone that could still provide clues. Someday, somebody will talk. Fifty years is about the right period, as was demonstrated recently in cryptic but fascinating disclosures regarding JRR Tolkien's service with the OSS (Her Majesty's Secret Service) before WWII. See the upcoming book, "MIRKWOOD: A Novel About JRR Tolkien" (available through Amazon in May, 2010).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract on America: The Mafia Murder of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-7-4 19:42

    The book was not anywhere near amazing shape. Very disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    John F. Kennedy: The Life and Death of a US President (Oxford People) []  2020-2-7 19:30

    interesting bio

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract on America: The Mafia Murder of President John F. Kennedy []  2020-7-4 19:42

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    On the 40th anniversary of its release, this album is as listenable now as it was then (yes, I bought it 40 years ago), and its importance can now be viewed in its historical context. Norman Blake has been described as a neotraditionalist; he plays both traditional and original tunes. His original tunes, however, such as "lord won't you support me", "billy gray", "church road blues" and a lot of others, while often addressing contemporary themes, clearly present their traditional roots and became instant classics. His influence in contemporary American roots melody is immense and his songs have been widely covered by other artists such as Tony Rice, Robert Earl Keen and Sara ere is an authenticity and warmth to Mr. Blake' singing and playing that is irresistible. This album includes some of Blake's best compositions. The performances are outstanding, and the arrangements innovative in that they employ instrumentation such as cello and dobro non-traditionally, and it actually rman Blake has never created an even remotely poor album, but this is one of his best and it is a classic, and so is he.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of John F. Kennedy []  2020-2-4 22:35

    The Letters of John F. Kennedy is an perfect book to read and 3 people on my Amazon acc have read this book and truly found it informative. They say it is nothing like any of the Kennedy books every written and everyone should read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of John F. Kennedy []  2020-2-4 22:35

    Just started reading it, thinking it would be one of those books I could pick up and read a bit, and then pick it up again. Was I ever wrong. I don't wish to place it down. So far, a attractive book revealing facts that are fresh to me, and I am from his era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of John F. Kennedy []  2020-2-4 22:35

    This book clearly demonstrated how intelligent, thoughtful, and witty JFK was. The letters are funny, heartwarming, and just a amazing all around read. If you liked JFK you will have fun this book very, very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of John F. Kennedy []  2020-2-4 22:35

    Perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of John F. Kennedy []  2020-2-4 22:35

    I bought this book for my husband who is a history/government/political science teacher, addicted to amazing books written about his interests. Normally, he reads a couple chapters and puts it aside for a few days.... this one he rarely place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of John F. Kennedy []  2020-2-4 22:35

    This book provides incredibly interesting insights into Kennedy's thoughts, opinions and words - from himself! The book does a unbelievable job providing useful context to support understand the circumstances surrounding a lot of of the letters, and the backdrop for much of his correspondence. I ready it word for word and found it incredibly engrossing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of John F. Kennedy []  2020-2-4 22:35

    Came acrossed this book by accident and it intrigued me. It was a amazing to obtain away from the books on how a lot of shooters to a private look at Kennedy's life. Well worth your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of John F. Kennedy []  2020-2-4 22:35

    Very well done considering the amount of letters that he wrote. I truly learned more about the man then I ever thought I would.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of John F. Kennedy []  2020-2-4 22:35

    The book was in perfect condition. Better than I expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of John F. Kennedy []  2020-2-4 22:35

    Letters of JFK present the reader the brilliant mind of John F Kennedy and the quintessential statesman and amazing leader that he was in his lifetime

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    I don't know how a lot of times I've listened to this album, probably on a weekly and some times everyday basis. I had forgotten, though, until I place on one of the vinyl copies I own about the two tracks they left off Fields of November so they could cram two albums on to one CD: Ruins of Richmond and Caperton Ferry. They are both instrumental tracks and are NOT filler. The vinyl isn't terribly hard to find; I wouldn't discourage anybody from getting the CD, but I strongly encourage every one to obtain a vinyl copy so you can have the complete picture. Old and Fresh has some amazing songs on it, but Fields of November captured a unique moment in time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Early 1970s Norman Blake studio album. You can feel the love blooming between our favorite flattop picker and his cellist, Nancy, whom he would marry and with whom he has done so much splendid work over the e Cast:Norman Blake - guitar, fiddle, dobro, mandolin, vocalsCharlie Collins - guitar, fiddleRobert Arthur "Tut" Taylor - dobroNancy Short - celloThe Numbers:1."Green Leaf Fancy"2."Last Train from Not good Valley"3."White Oak Swamp"4."Ruins of Richmond"5."Graycoat Soldiers"6."Caperton Ferry"7."Southern Railroad Blues"8.."Lord Won't You Support Me"9."Krazy Kurtis"10."Coming Down from Rising Fawn"11."Uncle"12."The Old Brown Case"13."The Fields of November"This is the true deal; accept no substitutes. I burned it to my XBOX 360 hard drive so's i can send it to my son in Rising Fawn: a neighbor of the Blakes. I will play it every November for the rest of my natural life - once a year - for savoring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    One of the classics in traditional melody and a must-have for Norman Blake fans. That's the original "The Fields of November" I'm referring to. In this CD you obtain that album plus one called "Old and New." Whereas I give 4-5 stars for each track on TFoN, I would give 3-4 stars for tracks on OaN. Still great, but it's worth listening to the tracks for TFoN together, to obtain a sense of what a classic the original vinyl was. I only bought the CD because I've worn out the vinyl copy to the point that there are a fair number of pops and clicks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Really amazing two album set in one CD. Fields of November is a attractive tune, and a lot of amazing old Norman Blake tunes and songs. This one is a wow!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    This recording, actually a compilation of two records released by Flying Fish Records in the 70's, provides the bridge between Norman's early solo work and his later efforts with the Rising Fawn String Ensemble. A marvelous mix of original songs (Graycoat Soldiers, Old Brown Case, Billy Gray, Latest Train from Not good Valley) and traditional tunes (most interesting - a three-part Cuckoo's Nest) presented with understated elegance, mostly by Norman with Nancy Short (later Nancy Blake), Charlie Collins, Tut Taylor, and Sand Mountain fiddler James is one, by the way, drives guitar players crazy due to the fact that Norman doesn't always play in standard (A=440) tuning, preferring to tweak the strings up or down just a bit as it fits the song. Norman once said at a workshop "Sometimes I guess I just hear a song a small various than standard..."

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386