Read frecnh arias reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all frecnh arias reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    My fbest riend doesn't love it,I'm so sorry to him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    I am presently taking personal voice lessons (baritone) and am very interested in how some of the amazing singers interpret their selections. Thus, I search this collection of Terfel arias very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Absolutely gorgeous. I love njamin

    0  


    Add your opinion on frecnh arias or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Love Handel arias, too. Amazing album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Amazing voice - Amazing personality- amazing recording quality - just want he had done more of Handel's Messiah on CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Bryn Terfel has that voice that can be or strong. He sings with a passion you can hear. He is set apart from all the others and you will understand why when you hear him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    This CD showcases famous Welsh bass-baritone Bryn Terfel raging, melting, and burning his method through a unbelievable dozens of Handel arias (although I would have left out the 'Messiah' selections and gone for a few of Handel's 2,000 or so less-recorded songs).According to Gerald Abraham in "Handel, a Symposium" the heroes that Terfel chose to bring to life in this recording generally had high soprano voices. Tenors and baritones were relegated to subordinate parts, and @#$%!& to those of tyrants or sages: "... in modern revivals of Handel's operas it is generally fatal to give [the castrato] parts to tenors or baritones to sing an octave lower."In the first selection, Terfel takes on the role of Simon, brother of Judas Maccabaeus, which was originally a bass role. Critic Abraham could not object to this, although he might have a issue with the transposition of the arias for Demetrius ("Berenice, Queen of Egypt"), Caesar ("Julius Caesar in Egypt"), and Xerxes ("Xerxes"). If you are a purist, this CD might not be for you, but you'll miss out on some grand singing.I'm especially fond of Terfel's handling of the slow, reflective arias "Verdi prati, selve amene" from 'Alcina,' and "Ombra mai fu" from 'Xerxes' (often called "Handel's Largo" despite the composer's "larghetto" marking). Here, the singer shuns lachrymose emoting. It is the purity of his tone and choice of dynamics that touch the heart."O ruddier than the cherry" from "Acis and Galatea" is robustly sung by the love-sick Polyphemus/Terfel. In spite of the buoyant central rhythm, every word is clearly enunciated. The preceding, accompanied recitative "I rage, I rage, I melt, I burn!" is a masterful, shimmering growl of ong with Xerxes's plane tree and Polyphemus's cherries, Terfel returns to an arboreal topic in "Where'er you walk" from Semele. His command of musical and textual nuance is impressive in this tenderly sung aria. The ornamentation by Sir Charles Mackerras enhances rather than detracts from this attractive love song.Another highlight of this CD is Terfel's interpretation of "Revenge, revenge, Timotheus cries" from "Alexander's Feast." He snarls through the trumpets with frenzied, dead-on ornamentation. However there are a few unusual hesitations, such as a slight pause between 'Timotheus' and 'cries,' and at first hearing, I didn't care for them. Now they create textual sense to me. His hissing snakes and sparkling eyes are flawlessly emphasized. Each melisma is rhythmically special and perfectly e latest three selections from Handel's "Messiah" are unfortunately rather ordinary. "Why do the nations" has a strange repeat, and Terfel seems to be singing it up into his mask which makes it sound two-dimensional. There is also a small too much flattening or 'whitening' of the melismas, plus an occasional unattractive growl. I much prefer Samuel Ramey's deep, seamless coloratura in these three bass rhaps Handel's "Messiah" is one of those works that truly separates the bass-baritones from the basses.Other than the above complaint, Bryn Terfel pays grand homage to the dramatic tension, the text, and the musicality of Handel's arias.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Can't be Bryn!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    I've been a huge fan of Handel's ever since I heard Messiah back in the 9th grade. I've listened to and purchased a lot of versions of Messiah, other oratorios, and whole slew of his instrumental music. But I've never heard any Handel as well performed and as well recorded and engineered as this album of Handel Arias by Bryn Terfel. And given the leeway singers of Baroque arias are expected to take executing those sixteenth note runs in the music, that kind of perfection is incredibly rare. Everything is executed flawlessly...no additional breaths...or breaking things up....or overly "creative"vocal ornamentation that can ruin these kind of recordings. Mr. Terfel baritone voice, suited for just about any kind of opera singing out there, never overpowers these pieces. He executes these pieces with power and conviction when required, and grace and precision when dealing with more delicate arias. His ver of "The Trumpet Shall Sound" from Messiah gives me goosebumps every time I hear it.But this CD isn't just about a fine vocal performance. The Scottish Chamber Orchestra under the direction of Mackerras performs flawlessly. You can hear detail in the orchestra, but the balance between Mr. Terfel and the orchestra, and within the orchestra is always clean, clear, with every instrument very specifically placed in the mix. Mr. Terfel is closely miked, but the engineer maintains a nice hall reverb without it ever overpowering the performance.Take a listen for yourself. Highly recommend. Now if we could just could a second volume of these. Or a double album with Renee.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias []  2020-1-17 1:56

    Excellent, even better than I anticipated it would be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handel Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    To be honest I don't like the arias out the operas, but this CD gave me a surprise. Is a amazing option when you have small time to have fun an opera

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handel Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Fagioli sings passionately and blends perfectly with ensemble.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handel Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    I just love this. The songs and Franco Fagioli are just first class!! I listen daily without getting tired of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handel Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Frank Beans is an perfect countertenor with a remarkable technique.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handel Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    I liked the whole CD. Fragioli's voice is superbe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handel Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    I listen to counter tenors much less nowadays and Fagioli is an exception to my playlist. The main reason is the universal 'problem' of metallic timber, particularly in the upper range. However, again, Fagioli commands amazing techniques that obviate that unpleasant side result of falsetto singing. I attribute his uniqueness to techniques because his first recording (Handel et Mozart) at age 22, did also suffer from the same issues as other singers of his voice type. As a results, most of his high notes don't cause me to cringe as most counter tenors (and their entire range actually). Perhaps this is harsh - the counter tenor voice to me sounds like the declining Callas voice in her late career, in timbre and color - interesting but not much of instrumental , this album includes a top Handelian repertoire for counter tenors / mezzos, as one would expect. It'll be a amazing addition to your collection if you do not yet have such, or you simply do not own any of Fagioli's albums. Here, Fagioli demonstrates his tour de force techniques and the unusually even timbre, on the most parts - with a few arias, e.g., 'Venti, turbini', his brandishing high notes clearly exceed his capacity, which I search unnecessary. Although with his range, I do understand, it is expected of him to hit those highs in today's fashion. On the other hand, say, 'Dopo, notte' has the showcase high flourishes but does not expose the singers limits. This is a fiendishly hard number and it is a challenge to search few on par with Fagioli's ease do not hesitate to obtain this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handel Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    I just love the Baroque period, and Handel is one of my favorites. This type of intricate melody requires a very strong voice to do it justice, and Franco Fagioli handles it beautifully (no pun intended). He has an wonderful range, and he sings with such power and precision. I think that he's the best counter tenor I've ever heard!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Handel Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    I saw Franco Fagioli perform this collection of arias at the Opéra Royal, Versailles, in January 2018. Absolutely breathtaking and thrilling. Such plangent beauty too. I can’t stop playing this album. The highlight for me, amongst many, is Dove Sei Amato Bene from Rodelinda. A stunning and emotional performance. He’s such an accomplished artist, you can start to imagine what the baroque castrati sounded like and why they were the superstars of their age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowered by Massy Arias [App]  2019-10-23 21:30

    1 for now...Paid for the food plan and it's not working. I tap on the food plan menu and it tells me to log in within the application and the alignment is all out of whack. I test to log in and it just refreshes back to the log in screen. My login for the application is my facebook and my $2.99/mo for the food plan is through google because Google didn't give the option to use the 25% promo when signing up for the app, so idk if that's why? There's no numbers or email to contact customer service

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bach, Handel: Arias []  2020-1-20 21:37

    Arleen Auget died method too young, had a unbelievable voice and high level of musicianship. Anyone who loves a high level of recording will love this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bach, Handel: Arias []  2020-1-20 21:37

    I know some American critics sometimes complained in reviews that Arleen Auger lacked dramatic power, life - whatever. Quite frankly, I don't care. Her voice is so pure and clear, her high notes so secure and her technically difficult passages executed with such precision that I think either Bach or Handel would have been touched and blest to hear her singing these glorious old battle horses of their repertoire.Of all the way-too-many recordings of Messiah I've collected in 35 years, from Malcolm Sargent on LP, through the newest CDs, Auger's soprano solos on the Pinnock recording are the most consistently attractive of them all. Much as I like von Otter's voice (she is the mezzo for Pinnock's Messiah), I've substituted "He Shall Feed His Flock/ Come Unto Him" from this recording in my digital line up instead of the duet, because Auger singing both parts is simply sublime. That's the Messiah I would take to my desert island, and this solo album is one of my favorites in a collection of over 3,000.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I'm giving this two stars because the first disk of the set is defective. This is no knock on the music, its just disappointing to keep a damaged product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    It was delivered defective two times. Disc 1 has no melody on it other than the song names. I was not the only buyer to have this problem. The amazon representative said they would remove the product until the issue was resolved. I would check to see if it was resolved before buying

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    This is a amazing selection of well known arias and duets. Unfortunately several have been truncated to fit a 4-5 min track.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    If there is any chance of finding two pink pearls it is the pair of recordings of Philippe Jaroussky for Virgin Classics (The Story of a castrato/Vivaldi Heroes).Shining examples of the rare but alive art of countertenors, Jaroussky shows himself as a master, with such a refined singing that is possible to say that we have the best of countertenor: a superb singer with -thank God- not castration.I search difficult to review one CD without the other, so this is a double recommendation. Under conducting of Emmanuelle Haïm (The Story...) and Jean-Christophe Spinosi (Heroes), Jaroussky validates an extravagant and uncommon -in modern terms- singing.Pure gold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Ms Damrau is simply one of today's finest exponents of serious vocalism. This is an exciting and innovative "coloratura" album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    this interpretation by Diana Damrau of various operas gives the opportunity of listing the art of various musicians,identify amazing attributes of various singers making a true pleasure to listen this amazing singer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Andrea Bocelli: Sacred Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Oh, My God. What a attractive religious album sung by Andrea Bocelli!!! I melt just listening to this album of religious songs. I'm so glad I bought it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Andrea Bocelli: Sacred Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Just so Amazon is aware- Downton Abbey was inside this CD even tho it says Bocelli

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    Arias is mostly the signature piece performed solo by the main hero in an is usually what people love and is collection is simply beautiful, mesmerizing. It captures a lot of memorable operatic keeps me satisfied and calm surrounded by these operatic sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    The first of these two CD's is magnificent. I'm the daughter of an operatic tenor and hearing the favorite selections was awe-inspiring The second CD is not as good--but perhaps because the selections are one's with which I am not as e quality of the CD is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowered by Massy Arias [App]  2019-10-23 21:30

    Why is there a zoom button that keeps popping up? 1. Makes it hard to use the 'open' button at the bottom right of the screen. 2. Why do I need a zoom feature at all? The grocery list is poorly designed. Once you fill the list with 8 stuff the 'add item' button drops below the screen and the application will not let you to scroll down to add more to the list. Recipes are limited. Only 11 breakfast, 16 lunch and 13 dinner recipes. In addition, there are no options for entering in your own recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    I just recently discovered Jaroussky and and am beyond thrilled. I've never given countertenors much thought beyond an occasional Vivaldi opera but having these pulled together in one album changed it for me, all because of Philippe's incomparable voice and an upper registry clarity to create sopranos green with envy. In a matter of days, I've purchased several of his albums as bonuses and found it funny that my two colleagues (with drastically various melody tastes, one never having listened to opera before!) were listening to him with the same enthusiasm as I. Can not wait to hear more from him and hope that he'll tour in the MidAtlantic US soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    I bought this CD initially for one reason, to hear more from the stellar French counter-tenor, Philippe Jaroussky. I was introduced to his stunning voice with his spectacular recording, "Vivaldi: Virtuoso Cantatas." As expected, he lived up to my high expectations with his recent recording. There is no one in the melody stage who sings with the beauty and flourish of this awesome young is CD takes us on a musical tour of discovery through 30 years of Vivaldi's operatic output, which has been mostly unknown. This recording makes a powerful argument that Vivaldi's operas deserve to come out of the shadows. Sixty-three mins of this gorgeous melody is not enough! Not surprisingly, a lot of of the brilliant present piece arias were written for the reigning castrati of that time. We'll never know what their voices really sounded like, but Jaroussky is the one artist who makes us cease to wonder, and the only question we have is, did they sound half as amazing as he does?Here are some brief notes on the tracks of this recording:Track 1: A powerful, bravura colatura aria. A amazing introduction to newcomers to Jaroussky's ack 2: A tender melody, it's simplicity ack 3: The unmistakable sounds of Vivaldi. A "Four Seasons" for male ack 4: Gorgeous larghetto, reminiscent of some of Handel's best - who knew Vivaldi was such a amazing composer of opera arias!Tracks 5-6: Another present piece. Think the legendary castrato Senesino on ack 7: A sublime largo, a double concerto for alto and solo ack 8: An incomparable "aria di tempesta" depicting a shipwreck being tossed from rock to rock. Jaroussky's voice rises above the waves like rays of golden acks 9-10: Vivaldi's foray into the traditional "sleep aria." Another bewitching aria given interesting treatment with an orchestration using recorders and oboes. Jaroussky's sustained notes are to die for, as are his brilliant runs and top notes in Track ack 12: An emotionally tender lament, with one set of strings playing "arco" and another set providing "pizzicato" as Jaroussky's lovely alto floats above it ack 13: Another typical Vivaldi aria with vigorous rhythms, and Jaroussky displaying all his gifts. We can never have ack 14: A lament written at the high point of Vivaldi's operatic career. One of his most atmospheric works for any instrument. Here Jaroussky shows he's more than a present man and has behind his voice strong emotion that can tug one's ack 15: A charming aria with the strings' "pizzicato" evoking the sound of bees and the beat of an impatient heart. With this final track Jaroussky leaves us in love and wanting is recording is a must have for all fans of the male alto. I also recommend it to anyone who enjoys bravura colatura of any voice. I'm sure there will be a lot of a soprano who'll say it's not fair that a man can sing like this!I'm glad Philippe Jaroussky is introducing us to forgotten Vivaldi gems with his latest recordings. As attractive as this treasure chest is, I can't support but wonder what rubies and emeralds he'll pull out when he turns to Handel. I hope we'll search out. In the meantime, I'm content to relish in the joy that happens when Jaroussky meets Vivaldi.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Ms. Damrau is arguably among the greatest lving lyric coloraturas of the early Twenty First Century. This cd demonstrates not only her wonderful instrument, but her acute intelligence with respect to interpretation and use of vocal nuance. Her choices for the cd contain not only arias from her standard repertoire, but roles from operas she has yet to debut. Each chop is a gem, delving into the aspect of a hero as she sees it. Obtain ready. It is not always traditional. One might ask why she chooses to interpolate a high f in Glitter And Be Gay. My respond would be: "Because she can." She is a singer still very much in the ascent of her is cd gives you what you obtain from Diana Damrau in a live performance: An awesome voice, solid technique, extraordiary musicianship, complete command of the moment at hand and the sense that she is singing just for you...and...you are never anxious that she may not create the next high note or difficult passage. It's all there. It's all happening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    I could listen to this CD every day and never tire. Her voice is incredible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bach, Handel: Arias []  2020-1-20 21:37

    Bach and Handel are two of my favorite composers and Arleen Auger is one of my favorite singers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bach, Handel: Arias []  2020-1-20 21:37

    This is one of the first recordings of Auger and Gerard Schwarz together...and it remains one of my all-time favorites. Auger is in fine voice...bright and luminous, but never shrill and piercing as some other noted sopranos have been in this same ger is an American artist who is first class, especially in perforamnce of the pieces contained in this recording. Gerard Schwatz is dynamic and bold in his approach, so the effect is ger displays attractive technique throughout, especially in the Handel arias. Her stylish ornamentation is well within Baroque practice. This being said, the listener / purchaser of this recording is in for a true treat....Augers singing of PIANGERO from Julius Caesar is perfaps the finest I have ever heard, and the simplicity and beauty of CARE SELVE is breathtaking. The selections from Messiah are handeled beautifully as well, along with selections from Alexanders Feast, Rinaldo and Samson.I think her reading of the Handel is stronger than her interpretation of the Bach selections, however, even keen listeners will readily agrre that these too are performances of an extremely high wise, most of the recording is incredible, with instruments shimmering thru and no overmiking detected. If you are a fan of Baroque Vocal Music, this recording is a must for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Andrea Bocelli: Sacred Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    I have loved Andre Bocelli since the very first time I saw him on tv.. His voice is so attractive and the melody is too.. Listening to him after a hard day, you can just completely destress... I would highly recommend his cd's...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Andrea Bocelli: Sacred Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Andrea Bocelli and Sacred Arias at Christmastime: is there anything better? I rest my case!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowered by Massy Arias [App]  2019-10-23 21:30

    This application is killer! Massy's workouts are super simple to follow and the application has everything I need in one place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Jaroussky is always wonderful, and he does Vivaldi particularly well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Crème de la crème

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    With every diva getting a possibility to record their favorite set of classic coloratura arias, one must wonder why another drop must be poured into the bucket; however, Diana Damrau carves out her own small niche on this disc. Her flexibility and range is only outmatched by her gorgeously full tone. Je veux vivre, Una voce poco fa, and Glitter and be are three of the standout tracks. Strongly recommend this attractive set.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    I GAVE THIS CD AS A GIFT FOR MY MOTHER AND SHE LOVE ITBEST REGARDS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bach, Handel: Arias []  2020-1-20 21:37

    Exceptionally beautiful, filling my morning with sweetness. I purchased this based on one piece that was shared by a mate on FB and I am so very glad I did. I love the whole collection, her clear and sweet voice and I could not be happier this morning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bach, Handel: Arias []  2020-1-20 21:37

    This is some of the most attractive singing I have heard anywhere. Auger fuses technique, emotion, and baroque sensibility into a phenomental particular, listen to "Come Unto Him" from Messiah. I have more than 30 complete Messiahs and this section is the best of the best of the best. Her original ornamentation is so transcendant, it's hard to imagine why anyone does it any other only regret is that she didn't record "Redeemer" on this disc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I bought this collection earlier this year. Both CDs were mislabeled and one did not play at all (plus the jewel case was smashed). Rather than go though the process of returning it I bought another. This one has an intact jewel case and the CDs seem to be labeled correctly, but CD1 won't play (or import to iTunes - the very reason I bought the CD). So, out of 4 CDs only 2 work (the same 2) I got 20 of the 40 most attractive arias. One on a mislabeled CD and one on a correctly labeled CD. I'm writing this here because I can't figure out how to lodge a complaint with Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    This quality CD contains 2 disks with 20 operatic arias on each disk. It seems reasonable to call them all beautiful, but I bought this hoping for something inspiring beyond beautiful. I have listened to so much inspiring melody in my life I am dulled by much melody that inspired me in the past. I am satisfied I bought these CDs. I feel lucky if I a disk with a lot of nice melody on it but only one or two that inspire me. I was thrilled to search 7 inspiring arias on CD1 and 8 equally inspiring arias on CD2, both method above average for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    This CD is exceptional. It's a stunning compilation of some of our greatest artists of the latest several decades singing absolutely gorgeous selections, well-chosen and brilliantly delivered. I'm ordering more to share the thrill!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias & Cantatas Op. 8 []  2020-1-16 22:31

    I will always be amazed at the beauty of this music. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Andrea Bocelli: Sacred Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    I think this is Bocelli's best CD, and highly recommend it to others, especially those who might think classical singing isn't for them. I first saw Bocelli in the DVD ver of this same CD at a local shopping mall at Christmastime a few years ago, and just thought he looked cool standing there singing well. Eventually bought the Sacred Arias CD; loved it; played it over and over. Saw Bocelli live at the 15,000 capacity MCI Center in Washington in December 05 where he performed some of the same material; it was great; next day was dismayed to read snide newspaper review of "the man from Tuscany." Little voice? He filled up that auditorium in ringing tones, and delivered the goods. After seeing snide review rushed out to "best of Pavarotti" and "best of Domingo" CDs (used, on Amazon of course, to save money) for comparison. Liked Bocelli better. Also bought other Bocelli CDs, but like Sacred Arias best of all. I also cannot understand the put-downs of Bocelli vis-a-vis the other tenors. Pavarotti and Domingo are both singing hard on their CDs, as though engaged in a vocal athletic contest that each is trying hard to win. Why would I rather a Bocelli CD or go to a Bocelli concert than one by the others? The material? Maybe. But Bocelli has a more conversation tone in his singing (think Frank Sinatra vs Caruso) and has a straight-up noblility rather than continuous breathless desperation that I just like to listen to better. He's calm rather than frantic. His songs are moving rather than acrobatic and pyrotechnic. So although the opera snobs may rightly point out that the other tenor voices by their definition can achieve more (they can sing things other people can't sing), allow them knock themselves out grooving with their favorites, but give me Bocelli to listen to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Andrea Bocelli: Sacred Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    I thoroughly recommend this CD by Andrea Bocelli. I bought this right after watching the PBS present of the same title. Bocelli is a singer who, despite his blindness, brings all of his talent to create a paean to the Sacred Being by singing a collection of arias dedicated to the Lord and His Mother. Bocelli's talent seems to blossom in this particular collection. I have other CDs by him that he previously did but his voice is much truer here than in the previous ones. Indeed, Bocelli is not a "true" opera star as some claim, but he is a gifted singer and sings from the heart which is the more necessary value. For me, there is no other artist who can summon up soaring visions of heavenly scenes, and stirring satisfied emotions than Bocelli in this oeuvre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I waited a long time to obtain keep of this. The artists and the arias ARE attractive - heavenly in fact BUT the recording on Disc 1 is poor. Listening to it on a disc player/stereo unit you realise it is just not quite as clear as it should be. I wanted to place these on my ipod so I copied them to the computer. When I play Disc one on the ipod or the computer there is a crackley noise right through the vocals. It is not possible to listen to it this way. I recopied it in case there was some interference somewhere and same thing happened. Disc 2 is fine. I would have returned it except I'm not sure if anyone merely listening on a player would agree with me there was a defect. I ordered this product in from the ABC outlet in Australia and weeks later they told me it was unavailable. I was delighted when I found it on Amazon. Now I'm wondering if it disappeared from Australian outlets because of the not good recording. A amazing shame.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias []  2020-1-16 18:37

    I have a little Sony boom box (which I also just purchased from Amazon). I am so thrilled with the quality of the sound. Needless to say, the arias are magnificent!!! A fresh favorite addition to my melody collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Arias & Cantatas Op. 8 []  2020-1-16 22:31

    unbelievable vocal performance!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Have enjoyed this CD. The sound quality is amazing with no volume adjustments needed. The soloist and the orchestra were "into" what they were doing: There was heart, not just technique.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    This CD is just perfect! Philippe Jaroussky is simply perfect....It is impossible to imagine a countertenor singing any better than this....and the selection of Vivaldi works is a most perfect showcase of his talents. A "must have" CD!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    This recording by Diana Damrau is very enjoyable. She has selected a number of selections which are not often performed (the only exception is Puccini's "O mio babbino caro" from Gianni Schicchi; why does every soprano seem to thinks that she has to record this piece?) which makes the recoding all the more interesting. However, I gave this performance only four stars because a number of these selections have been recorded by Natalie Dessay whose voice I think better suits the music. This is especially real in comparing this performance of Strauss' Großmächtige Prinzessin with that of Ms. Dessay's in Strauss: Amor - Opera Scenes & Lieder. Nevertheless, this is a recoding very much having. Ms. Damrau has a gorgeous voice and listening to her is time well spent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    The opera audiences of the globe now have two incredibly gifted coloratura sopranoes who are also gifted actresses that know how to use text and melody as instruments of communication. I am referring to Diana Damrau and Natalie Dessay. They have learned their lessons well from both Maria Callas and Beverly Sills; two Superstars of making the text come alive and making us the audience believe in the Opera Experience as heighten DRAMA! These four mentioned ladies truly create us believe they are living and experiencing the moment. Miss Damrau may create musical choices that are sometimes various than we are used to; sometimes in tempi, phrasing and articulation. However, these choices are taken to convey her very private interpretations. Both Damrau and Dessay use all their skills and talents to create the moment appear to be truly real. It is a pleasure to listen to what they have to say and how they say it. Singing is basically extended speech on pitches. We, the audience, need to hear and understand the words. Miss Damrau is in very amazing voice and has given us a truly varied program. We hear: Gounod, Verdi, Strauss, Rossini, Stravinsky, Donizetti, Puccini and even Bernstein. [email protected]#$%!&alian, German and French give her no problems. To sum it up a knock out voice that truly communicates every note and syllable, DON'T MISS THIS EXCITING VOICE AND ARTIST!! I do have to agree with my fellow reviewers that there is some loss of bloom to the voice and a bit of pushing for some of the very highest notes. Perhaps, too a lot of Zerbinettas as well as Queen of the nights. Allow us hope this is only temporary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bach, Handel: Arias []  2020-1-20 21:37

    This is a really fine album. Arleen Auger is my favorite of all sopranos. She has a deep, rich sound and has total mastery of any melody she sings. I highly recommend ANY melody sung by ms Auger. She definitely is not one of your screechy posturing singers, and puts her heart and soul and awesome natural talent behind every note. Thank you, ms Auger

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bach, Handel: Arias []  2020-1-20 21:37

    Arleen Auger possessed one of the greatest soprano voices of the 20th Century, and this collection really plays to her flawless strengths. Anyone who loves Bach and Handel vocal melody should add this CD to his/her array of vocal treasures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Andrea Bocelli: Sacred Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Bocelli has assembled a unbelievable collection of sacred arias, and he sings them with love and reverence. If his voice isn't as polished as Pavarotti's, he makes up for it with perfect interpretation and the wisdom to choose melody that suits him well. He sings with a minimum of ornamentation, letting the beauty of the compositions and the clean, pure quality of his voice do the work. Don't obtain me wrong -- he's got a amazing vibrato, and a powerful fortissimo, but he knows when to use them and when to sing with more is is sacred melody sung with true reverence. It gave me goosebumps the first time I heard it, and still does so tons of plays later. Worth every penny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bach, Handel: Arias []  2020-1-20 21:37

    What a lovely experience it is listening to Arleen Auger. She is exceptional with her excellent pitch and her ability to produce clear notes even with rapid pitch changes. This is now one of my favorite operatic recordings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bach, Handel: Arias []  2020-1-20 21:37

    amazing selections, unbelievable instrumentation, exquisite voice - - if truly popular and masterful Handel Arias are what you wish to hear, then select this CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    This appears to be the second all-Vivaldi album of e countertenor voice is as amazing as ever in this album, but obviously the tracks are not as even as his other non-Vivaldi e slower arias have a definte edge over the quick bravuras, a phenomenon that may be largely due to the lack of chest help when the singer is singing totally in falsetto in the countertenor fach.Otherwise, this is another musically satisfying album from this phenomenal young singer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: Heroes - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    No matter how much you may have relished (or detested) The Four Seasons and the Vivaldi Concerti for Sopranino Recorder, you haven't begun to appreciate the Red Priest until you've discovered his operas, at least 40 of which have survived in manageable scores. The "Naive" label has recently issued a box set of Vivaldi operas (search for Vivaldi Opera edition), a lot of of them featuring the artistry of male soprano Philippe Jaroussky. Of course, a dozen of these performances have already been available separately, with a lot of of the finest singers of baroque melody featured, but this CD might well serve as an introduction for listeners who are not yet prepared to spend $260 or more for the box.A thousand words might equal a picture, but no number of words can describe Jaroussky's singing. Luckily, there are MP3 samples for this CD. Even better, scores of Jarousky's fans have posted performances of his on youtube. I will paste a youtube address in a comment below, as soon as this review is available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    This was a bonus so I didn't listen to it but my mate who received seems to have liked it a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coloraturas - Opera Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    attractive voice, as always, do have fun her singing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Andrea Bocelli: Sacred Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Truly one of Andrea Bocelli's best collections. I am a collector of all of his work, and he just gets better, and better with time. This is a man who is passionate about his wife and family, love of God, and no doubt a unbelievable mate to those who know him. He is a bonus to all of us...and he uses that God given talent perfectly; and with humility.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Andrea Bocelli: Sacred Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    This is what he has been working toward his entire career....singing classical Operatic pieces to touch the world...and those not aquainted with the style. Bocelli is his own man, with a special intensity that touches the heart most profoundly. I've loved this man for over 2 years and he just gets better! The voice has a control and strength on this album lacking in the early versions he has chop of some of this same material. The orchestrations are ultra-lush, settings deeply respectful of the topic matter. Andrea sings with the warmth and sincerity of a real believer. This will be THE album of the Christmas season! Obtain a copy for yourself and enlighten your mates and relatives by purchasing a copy for them too! They'll love it and so will you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Andrea Bocelli: Sacred Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Latest 2 tracks are unintelligible. It sounds like people speaking in A recording studio and flipping through tracks. Very disappointedThe rest of the tracks are amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    This quality CD contains 2 disks with 20 operatic arias on each disk. It seems reasonable to call them all beautiful, but I bought this hoping for something inspiring beyond beautiful. I have listened to so much inspiring melody in my life I am dulled by much melody that inspired me in the past. I am satisfied I bought these CDs. I feel lucky if I a disk with a lot of nice melody on it but only one or two that inspire me. I was thrilled to search 7 inspiring arias on CD1 and 8 equally inspiring arias on CD2, both method above average for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mozart: Airs Sacrés/Sacred Arias []  2020-1-28 1:25

    Exultate Jubilate k165. Some are not often heard. They contain single arias from the perfect Litanies k195 and 243(Marriner has recorded both of them). Also the popular Laudate Domine from the Vespers k339 and the Agnus Dei from the Coronation Mass plus less popular LD from the Vespers k321. Also tworarities: an aria from the Cantata Davidde Penitente (much of which includes reworked material from the C Minor Mass) and the very early Grabmusik k42. Depending much upon one's reaction to her voice, one should search this CD valuable. She wasin amazing voice in 1984 when she recorded this recital, with a pure tone, effective articulation and audible insight into the texts. This disc includes one of three Mozart recitals which she recorded for EMI in the 1980s and 1990. The other two are Concert and Operaticarias with Jeffrey Tate/ECO and Mozart Lieder recital with Maria Joao Pires (including a amazing ver of the best concert aria, I think: "Ch'iomi Scordi di te-Non temer amato bene" K505 for soprano, orchestra and piano obbligato). She sings a closely relatedversion of the same text and title on her Concert Aria disc- the Idomeneo aria with violin obbligato k490.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lorraine Hunt Lieberson - Handel Arias []  2020-1-20 21:36

    I simply don't have the heart to review Mrs. Lieberson's works.If we call Ms. Bartoli a 'great' singer, then the description of 'legendary' more aptly depicts Mrs. Lieberson.If ever a truly amazing artist lived, Mrs. Lieberson is one e only singer that could be recalled singing in such style is Teresa Berganza; but still, they are is is one of my favourite interpretators of Haendel. Having been 'treated' by those coloraturas of arias of Haendel's period by Ms. Bartoli and others, I search the singing of Lorraine Hunt Lieberson a amazing relief - at last, this is what Haendel would wish it to be. And I equally have fun the singing of soprano arias by Mrs. Lieberson - the timbre is warmer, but still with all the shimmer - so various from the dark mushy tones of other celebrated 'lyrical soprano' n't wish to say more. Mrs. Lieberson's leaving latest year is too massive a news for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lorraine Hunt Lieberson - Handel Arias []  2020-1-20 21:36

    Amazing recording and program material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lorraine Hunt Lieberson - Handel Arias []  2020-1-20 21:36

    Wowzer! She was an awesome musician. Sorry that she's gone. We have her Bach and it is sublime. This is another fine work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nessun Dorma: Puccini Greatest Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Opera is always a pleasure to listen to. The awesome thing is that I don't understand a word and yet it moves me to emotion through the feeling of the artist I am listening to. Sometimes when I have learned the actual English translation, I search it distracts and disturbs the richness of sound and emotion that I had originally felt listening. It's better to listen to the emotion of the artist and experience the piece through the rise and fall of pitch and intensity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nessun Dorma: Puccini Greatest Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    I loved it...! So very attractive and I obtain very emotional listening to the lovely arias...Luciano Pavarotti was the best of the best..!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    If you're not bothered by recording issues and love Dessay, this CD. But the recording, by Musica Numeris in France, is sloppy at best. Perhaps the French engineer had a bit too much wine over lunch? Virgin should be ashamed and let's hope Sir Richard Branson takes more care with his airplanes than his Virgin group does with their CDs. The mostly clear recording is flawed by numerous "glitches" like the one mentioned by another reviewer at 2:21 on track 2. Some of it sounds like clipping distortion while others might be extraneous noises. Some of Dessay's crescendos are sadly distorted right at their climax. Quality issues like these are inexcusable on a full classical CD. And it's a shame because it's a amazing collection of arias and Dessay has an awesome voice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Perfect vocal. One has to appreciate her vocals to like her type of melody and sounds to be appreciated on arias.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Ah, Natalie Dessay. One of the amazing and most famous opera singers on scene today and in demand all over the world. This CD focuses on arias by French composers, most of which I had never heard before. Don't worry, for you fans of Offenbach, Olympia's aria is heard here. I don't remember the exact track names, unfortunately but I remember the highlights. Listen carefully for her sharp attacks in "The Bell Song" from Lakme and the vocal fireworks a lot of of the other arias require. Most impressive is the final min (especially the latest three notes - I believe one is high "M" above "L-sharp") of Meyerbeer's "Air". This is an impressive CD. Her voice is simple on the ears and never shrill. The balance between orchestra and soloist is excellent and the conducting is never a distraction (weird tempos, dynamics, etc.) A amazing introduction for you to this singer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Cura - Puccini Arias / Domingo []  2020-5-21 18:52

    I watched a Cura TV unique on Ovation just recently. I was impressed with the power of Jose's voice. He sings with an intensity rarely seen in current opera. While it is real that his style is very dark, I think that is the attraction for a lot of opera fans. His voice sounds the same no matter what part he is singing from, be it head or chest. At this jucture, I beleive this is the best tenor that I have heard in a long the folks who think this voice is too dark; This is an opera singer, not a studio musician. I would like to pose a question to you that my instructor to posed to me. When you are in a theater, full of people and must project over the orchestra, how is Pianissimo?If he continues to take care of his voice, we can look forward to a lot of years of amazing tenor arias.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Cura - Puccini Arias / Domingo []  2020-5-21 18:52

    This is a very impressive and promising debut recital of Puccini operatic arias by the young (born 1962) Argentinean tenor. Cura has a virile, dark, baritonal spinto voice with amazing heft and some true metal/squillo in it, and at their best (e.g., Nessun dorma) his high notes are vibrant and compelling. While it's difficult to judge the size of a voice solely from recordings, he may be a real tenore di forza, that rarest breed of tenors, and if so that is amazing news, because there hasn't been a decent one since Del Monaco and Corelli. Like Del Monaco and Corelli, his voice is better described as exciting than as deed, Cura's voice reminds some listeners of Del Monaco's, although he sounds to me like he might prove to be a more interesting and imaginative singer than Del Monaco (to me Del Monaco usually sang like a bull in a china shop, and I never found his occasional huge moments enough to offset the frequently crude, insensitive phrasing and inability to sing at any dynamic level but loud or louder). Cura's singing here is gutsy and full-blooded, but he is also capable of sensitive phrasing and singing. His breath control is admirable and he is able to sustain some long phrases. His recording of Nessun dorma is stunning, one of the best I've heard, and the best performance on this CD. Unfortunately his high notes are not always this good; sometimes they are not cleanly attacked or well placed, and sound somewhat strained. The CD is well recorded (in 1997) and includes 21 Puccini arias, an unusually generous (71 minutes) and comprehensive collection that includes, besides all the standard ones you'd expect (and no less than five from Manon Lescaut), Gianni Schicchi, Il Tabarro (2), Edgar, and an extended scena from Le Villi.On the strength of this CD I bought Cura's next two operatic recitals, Verismo Arias (1999) and Verdi Arias (2000), and I regret to report that I am less impressed with either of them than with this Puccini recital. But this disc can be confidently recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    It was delivered defective two times. Disc 1 has no melody on it other than the song names. I was not the only buyer to have this problem. The amazon representative said they would remove the product until the issue was resolved. I would check to see if it was resolved before buying

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mozart: Airs Sacrés/Sacred Arias []  2020-1-28 1:25

    One of my favorite recordings. I'd lost my original over the years. Was thrilled to search one here and in amazing shape. One of the purist renditions of the airs I've ever known. I am most grateful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nessun Dorma: Puccini Greatest Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. NO ONE can sing Nessum Dorma like Pavarotti. When he sings this aria you feel his soul reaching out and touching you. It's raw and true and magnificent. My eyes never fail to fill with tears *everytime* I hear him sing this attractive music because he surrenders a part of himself to all of us. Bravo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nessun Dorma: Puccini Greatest Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Attractive music, attractive voice. Brings tears to my eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lorraine Hunt Lieberson - Handel Arias []  2020-1-20 21:36

    Lorraine Hunt Lieberson was a wonderfully talented mezzo soprano, who dies far too soon. To begin, I can only quote from another reviewer: "And how sad it is to know that this instrument has passed away two days ago [in 2006]. Lorraine Hunt-Lieberson died two days ago in her home in Santa Fe, Fresh Mexico of breast cancer. It is such a large loss to the opera world, as she is an artist who is still experiencing the prime of her career. The voice is just so beautiful, the tone so pure, that I lament that we can no longer hear any amazing roles from this artist. She will be missed." Such circumstances leave one with two separate emotions--sorrow for a passing so early and gratitude for having been able to experience her talent.On this CD, she is ably supported by Henry Bicket and the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. Three of Handel's works are represented here, "Theodora," "La Lucrezia," and "Serse."From "Theodora," "Ah! Whither should we fly or fly from. . .As with rosy steps in the morning." The recitative begins slowly, but Lieberson's rich voice adds a majestic element. She displays a lush voice and sings a smooth line. Estimable!"La Lucrezia." "O numi eterni! O stelle, stelle!. . .Gia superbo, del mio affanno." Again, what a rich, lush voice. Subtle singing and no annoying vocal affectations. She handles the melody om "Serse," "Ombre mai fu." Does my memory play tricks on me, or did Enrico Caruso record this early in the 20th century? This is a warm piece, with a lugubrious undertone. Lieberson's rich mezzo voice injects a strong element into this aria. What a fitting close to this us, we glimpse the talent of Lieberson and can only lament her too early death.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bach/Handel: Solo Cantatas & Arias []  2020-2-1 23:59

    If you're attuned to the recent Bach styles (Suzuki, Junghanel, Gardiner), Leppard's handling of these scores won't entirely satisfy you and Menuhin's even less, quite apart from the fact that the Bath Festival strings are not all on the level of their conductor. In addition, the old-fashioned recorded sound is not first rate. This said, listen to Janet Baker's voice and the CD will be worth your while. A unique is the addition of the Handel cantatas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Here, Natalie Dessay sings French arias. All in all, a satisfying album, with a few exceptions as noted below. A few samples of the cuts on this om Massenet's "Manon," she sings nicely. "Suis-je gentile ainsi" shows off her clear, light, agile voice. She demonstrates a decent trill and nice high note. "Obeissons quand leur voix appelle" is sung at a slower pace. Well sung, with some subtle vocal effects. This closes with a nice run, but a rather harshly sung high note. Then, "Rive toujours." This begins at a slower pace, but picks up. There is some nice ornamentation. For the most part, this is sweetly omas' "Mignon" features a unbelievable piece, "Je suis Titania la blonde." Dessay, again, displays an agile and beautiful voice. She demonstrates capable coloratura technique, featuring some nicely done appoggiaturas. In the latest segment, she manifests a nice trill. Her penultimate high note is a bit harsh. However, she concludes with a very well done set of trills and a amazing high om Gounod's "Romeo et Juliette," we have "Ah! Je veux vivre." The first part is smoothly sung. Nice characterization by Dessay. There is some beautiful and pleasant florid singing at the end. Finally, from Thomas' "Hamlet," she essays "A vos jeux mes amis." Nice effects and amazing vocal technique are displayed. Her voice is beautiful in this cut. Nice ornamentation toward the end. Some amazing trills and some nicely hit high is is a fine CD. Natalie Dessay shows her vocal virtues to amazing effect. She is obviously quite at home on the French repertoire, and this CD demonstrates that statement very clearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Natalie Dessay - French Opera Arias []  2020-5-21 18:51

    Five stars for Natalie Dessay, who has an wonderful instrument, and a amazing selection of arias. But I've listened to 4 copies of this disc and each had a very short "click" at 2:22 on track 2 (the Gavotte from Manon). Must be a quality control problem. Maybe it was just a poor batch.Anyway, Dessay's voice is a force of nature; she must be one of the greatest coloraturas ever. I prefer her live ver of Handel's "Tornami" from Alcina to Sutherland's. And she's wonderful on Orphee Aux Enfers - not only a unbelievable singer, but obviously a amazing actress and , if you've not heard her before, give this album a test - ignore the "click" and listen to a truly angelic 5 stars for Natalie Dessay and the selections, and a slap on the wrist for the record label and its quality control.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Cura - Puccini Arias / Domingo []  2020-5-21 18:52

    I've purchased a lot of CDs featuring the world's greatest tenors, including several of Jose Cura's CDs. I search his "Puccini" CD absolutely my all time favorite. The selction of arias is perfect. Often, on CDs there are pieces I grow tired of, not so with Cura's Puccini CD. Each and every selection I could listen to a hundred times and not grow tired of it. My most favorites on this CD are the 5 Manon Lescaut selections. Of those, #18, when he begs to be allowed to be taken on to the ship, even if as a cabin boy, to stay near Manon, one can totally feel the emotion. Even more so in #19 'Senti, amor mio...' when he begs her to answer to his words as he returns and finds her near death and then the final "Oh my love, ah Manon" rendered in a final sob of agony, followed by orchestral melody that in its sweetness is equally gut is is my respond to "If I could have only one CD ...".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Cura - Puccini Arias / Domingo []  2020-5-21 18:52

    Not quite what I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nessun Dorma: Puccini Greatest Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Nessun Dorma. Pavarotti. What else is there to say? They insist my review must be at least 20 words long; well then: When I first played the CD I was home alone. The melody filled every room. It penetrated my being, shook me. Tears streamed down my cheeks while listening to Luciano sing the Aria. Is this enough? Thanks for your time...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nessun Dorma: Puccini Greatest Arias []  2020-1-18 23:41

    Outstanding CD with a lot of favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    I bought this collection earlier this year. Both CDs were mislabeled and one did not play at all (plus the jewel case was smashed). Rather than go though the process of returning it I bought another. This one has an intact jewel case and the CDs seem to be labeled correctly, but CD1 won't play (or import to iTunes - the very reason I bought the CD). So, out of 4 CDs only 2 work (the same 2) I got 20 of the 40 most attractive arias. One on a mislabeled CD and one on a correctly labeled CD. I'm writing this here because I can't figure out how to lodge a complaint with Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    Arias is mostly the signature piece performed solo by the main hero in an is usually what people love and is collection is simply beautiful, mesmerizing. It captures a lot of memorable operatic keeps me satisfied and calm surrounded by these operatic sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    40 Most Beautiful Arias (2cd) []  2020-1-28 1:6

    The first of these two CD's is magnificent. I'm the daughter of an operatic tenor and hearing the favorite selections was awe-inspiring The second CD is not as good--but perhaps because the selections are one's with which I am not as e quality of the CD is excellent.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386