Read functional reactive programming reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all functional reactive programming reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava []  2020-2-1 12:5

    This book first four chapters were so great. I was able to create method more fancy operations in an Android device project than the first ones implemented. This book is very amazing specially for unit testing. Despite the amazing popularity I feel RxJava is a more mathematical and method more features than Coroutines in Kotlin. This is a amazing book if you wish to have a amazing solid foundation of reactive programming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava []  2020-2-1 12:5

    This book is an essential read for learning RxJava. You can spend a couple of days going through articles, guides and posts on StackOverflow, but would only end up learning a fraction of what you really need to know about working with RxJava, compared to what you end up learning from the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava []  2020-2-1 12:5

    This book is simply amazing. Soo satisfied I got it. The best read I ever had about Rx Java. Simple to read and goes in depth

    0  


    Add your opinion on functional reactive programming or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava []  2020-2-1 12:5

    Perfect book, it worth any penny, I really like how the author starts from the basics to more complex scenarios in which apply RX java benefit how the code look and how it behaves, I like the additional sections about hystrix. amazing examples and not very repetitive like the one that only shows and explain the marble diagrams. This will provide some additional knowledge in other frameworks that you will able to replicate and use in your existing projects. It is well written and it is not boring or complicated, it has little examples but clearly explain how to create them run in your console.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava []  2020-2-1 12:5

    A unbelievable book about RxJava, explaining both deeply and clearly from the very beginning. A few chapters e.g. about Hystrix and different HTTP servers feel a small misplaced -- they don't have enough pages to convey a full understanding and their content feels a small peripheral. Still, I am really glad I got this book and I think it will remain usable for me as a reference for years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava []  2020-2-1 12:5

    This is an perfect book on RxJava. It takes you through creating Observers and Observables, wades through the jungle of operators, and takes you through real-world examples of how to build and retrofit your applications with Rx. The book has loads of code examples, but it explains the concepts behind the examples quite clearly. It even goes as far as showing benchmark results between traditional and reactive HTTP servers. I'm right in the middle of my first coding project using Rx and this book was a godsend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava []  2020-2-1 12:5

    Amazing book, a must read for beginners, and novice RxJava'ers (-.-) It has a amazing introduction, amazing examples, and clears up a lot of information. I really enjoyed the flow of the book, how it introduces the concepts and how the chapters are designed. There are a couple of locations where i had to do research online to better understand, but this book definitely gets you on the right track. It has cleared up a lot of questions i had about Rx.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava []  2020-2-1 12:5

    This just confirms what the other reviewers have said. This is a terrific book. The authors are clearly skilled and talented engineers who have invested a amazing of time and energy putting together an amazingly complete acc of rx as implemented in Java. The subjects cover everything one needs to know to make true applications including error handling, debugging, testing and monitoring and the mysteries of creating observables both fresh and from legacy APIs. The explanation explain both the what and why behind the features and go sufficiently under the covers to explain the how. It contains detailed work-out examples. One recommendation I have for the non-expert reader (like me) is to go through the book twice -- the first time to glean concepts and ideas and the second time to learn details. (One beautiful irrelevant nit is that the book could use a small proof reading.) It would be nice if there could be periodic updates (perhaps online) as rx changes though the chapter on Futures (of rx!) gives a amazing idea of what to expect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava []  2020-2-1 12:5

    Amazing intro to reactive programming in Java with plenty of deeper discussion on specific topics. While the book is written for RxJava, it seems to translate easily to other frameworks such as Project Reactor / Spring since they now share a common paradigm and core code.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava []  2020-2-1 12:5

    The best book out there on Reactive Extension and highly recommend irrespective if you are doing , RxJS etc. If you are using RX then do read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Scala []  2020-5-19 18:29

    It really changes the method you view programming. The neat thing is you obtain to learn both functional programming and have practice writing code in Scala. The functional programming concepts that you learn can easily be transferred to other ever, to ease the learning curve, I would suggest learning some Haskell first. Midway through the book, I started to obtain hung up on all the terminology and concepts. I'm exploring Haskell now and a lot of what confused me now makes sense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Scala []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Awesome. Well written. I don't even program in Scala, but the insights into Functional Programming are what I was looking for, and that's what this book delivers. It's clear that a lot of love, and a lot of time went into this. Buy it if you wish to be a better programmer ... don't be place off by the scala focus, it's just the car here. This is best for intermediate programmers (Java, etc.) who wish to obtain better at their it, read it, and obtain smarter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Scala []  2020-5-19 18:29

    This book teaches Scala and FP by leading you through exercises were you are expected to work out critical features of the Scala library for yourself. As an example, regular expressions isn't in the index, but that doesn't mean they aren't covered. You create your own regex parser in Exercise 9.6.if you are like me--a programmer of middling talent and no FP experience--the notion of working out the fundamentals of FP for yourself is beautiful overwhelming. But the authors have provided superb, well commented solutions for all the exercises to nudge you up the learning curve. Perhaps half the book isn't even in the book but in the ere aren't illustrations or examples of how to use FP to solve true issues in this book, so I recommend reading "Advanced Analytics with Spark" at the same time. They are both outstanding, but FPIS explains Scala without using it, where AAS uses Scala without (overly) explaining it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Scala []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Personally I think this book is not an simple read. The reason is because functional programming is not an simple topic to master. It requires people to have amazing mathematics background. I have fun working on it since it is more challenging than other programming paradigm. My skill in Scala improved a lots after I studies part of this book. I applied what I learned to my work, the effect is surprising. Since I was fresh to Scala, the code I wrote had always been rejected by my teammates for almost 4 months of time. Until the latest commit, only few minor comments and all teammates are satisfied about the changes I if you are serious about learning functional programming, this is one of the books you should read. With functional programming became available in Java 8, I predict it will become a mainstream. I still like Object Oriented and I believe Functional Programming and Object Oriented complement each other very well and the combination of these two paradigm is a breakthrough in computing. It is time to read this book to learn functional programming.I can understand the people who gave only one star. This book is not simple to read, please read some other Scala book first or in the same time. Otherwise you may obtain lost since it doesn't explain Scala syntax since the author assumed you already knew Scala and wish to learn more in Functional Programming. I also read Scala in Action and Scala in Depth and Programming in Scala, Second Edition. You can learn various things from various books. Probably you need to read at least one of those 3 books. I didn't read the books from O'reilly but I guess it is the same as these 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Scala []  2020-5-19 18:29

    This is a very well written book for the most part. In addition, there is a freely available github repository that has all the source code for the examples and exercises covered in the book. However, there occasionally is a lack of consistency in the writing. For instance, some of the examples covered in the early chapters are used in later chapters, but the code re-used in later chapters does not always match up with what was written earlier. This is a issue if you are following along and writing code as you go, as you now have to revisit your earlier code and "fix" it to work with the items you are covering in later chapters. This is not a large deal, but can detract from the learning addition, some of the code given doesn't compile with the recent ver of scala.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Scala []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Very well written, my favorite technical book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Scala []  2020-5-19 18:29

    This is a amazing book provided that- you have read Odersky's Programming in Scala or are familiar with Scala's syntax. Like really, really, familiar. This is not an introduction to Scala- you plan on doing the exercises, yes you have 20 years experience but you still need to write a tail recursive fibonacci. You need to read this book next to your laptop, it is not a bug, it is a feature.- you are really interested in adopting a functional approach to programming and you are ready to place a substantial effortif you do not meet *all* of the above points this book will frustrate you. Even writing a one liner can take surprisingly long until you obtain it right. But eventually you will reach Enlightenment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Scala []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Whether you already know Functional Programming or starting to learn, this book provides an perfect explanation to FP in general using Scala as the medium. Since the book just uses Scala as the underlying implementation language it might not act as a comprehensive tutorial to Scala, but it provides very amazing FP practices with loads of interesting exercises which are fun to solve and support you master FP principles and practices. Used this book along with the Scala book by Martin Odersky and I think they form a excellent pair for Scala learning. All in all this is a must have book if you wish to master Functional programming with Scala.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Scala []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Although I'm only through Chapter 3, I can say that this book is exceptional. I've religiously done all of the, so far, 34 exercises as I've been reading along and I search them to be brilliantly graduated, highly instructional, and fun. The authors have crafted a beautiful, mercifully small, book that takes the reader from zero (no knowledge of Scala) to a well informed Scala Functional Programming coder in concise, well written, logical steps.If you are sold on FP and wish to stay in the FP globe while writing Scala then this is the book for you. On the other hand, if you are an OO person in general, or an OO Scala person in particular, then this book will challenge you to look at programming differently and you will come away a better programmer (and maybe an FP one!).Having come from a flirtation with Haskell and OCaml, but finding myself in need of writing for the JVM, this is exactly the book I needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Scala []  2020-5-19 18:29

    If you ever wanted to take the leap into real functional programming, then this is the book for has guided exercises that will create you begin to _think_ like a functional guy. The first chapter has you implementing your own folding, ( the base behind map/reduce ) and from there it only gets the book is just sexy to look at.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming, Simplified: (Scala edition) []  2020-5-19 18:29

    I teach university-level huge data classes and have found this text very helpful in grounding myself in functional principles and practices that I wish to convey to my students. Mr. Alexander does a thorough job of describing how immutability and pure functions combine to produce bullet-proof ( or at least bullet resistant ) code. His emphasis on powerful type-aware coding is sorely required as multi-core concurrent/distributed programming become the norm. The book is long, but is worth following the careful description of the primary ideas underlying necessary concepts such as impure functions within a compositional framework. I think this would be a suitable book following an initial language such as Python.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming, Simplified: (Scala edition) []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Update: I'm doing my second readthrough and I'm really appreciating this time. Will give a full reviews when I actually fully read it now that he's released 1.0It's not bad, but it's still over my head. It's possible functional programming is just a bit much for me at this point, but it would be nice for someone to really test and dumb it down. It would be nice if Alvin can begin it off making it stupid easy scale it more nicely. Though truthfully, it is easier to understand than other books/reading material I have come across.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming, Simplified: (Scala edition) []  2020-5-19 18:29

    The author has done a amazing job in putting together a book which explains in a very approachable fashion the difficult concepts which exist in functional programming and how Scala relates to it. The author does not weigh you down with difficult examples, but has chosen to explain functional programming primarily, providing examples on Scala as a means of explaining those concepts. This was very unusual and very welcome. My only problem with the book is the size, as it is a very large, thick book and takes up a lot of zone on my bookshelf!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming, Simplified: (Scala edition) []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Most enjoyable book I’ve read by far. Simple, intuitive and very detailed, FP Simplified (Scala ed) covers everything you’d ever ask about Functional Programming paradigm. The author tutorials the reader through concepts in a method the reader will obtain the point. Then, he names the concept explained how it’s known as.I don’t recommend this book for people who don’t know Scala, though. I’d suggest to read some of Scala lang before read this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming, Simplified: (Scala edition) []  2020-5-19 18:29

    I'm learning Ocaml and have no interest in Scala, but since there are so few Ocaml books available, I was trying to search something that would give me a amazing overview of Functional Programming in general. This book promised to be that, and it delivered. I'd say 50% of the content (why functional programming, defining a bunch of terms, how to structure your applications) is not specific to Scala, and the parts that do talk specifically about Scala are directly applicable to other languages as well. Seeing examples of FP written in Scala has also helped me understand some of Ocaml's design decisions better.Overall the book is well-written and approachable. It covers everything you could wish to know about functional programming, and every chapter has several links to more books and sources in case you wish to dig even deeper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming, Simplified: (Scala edition) []  2020-5-19 18:29

    I thought this book was amazing.While there a more technical introductions to FP such as Functional Programming in Scala, I had tried it and found it hard going. The exercises in particular went a bit beyond simply illustrating the concepts, and were just plain is book on the other hand has a lot more conversational approach to FP. The author explain the concepts one by one, building on top of precedent lessons. He also talks about how he feels about each concept, what fresh ability it gives us, when it is amazing to use, etc.I often see Functional Programming in Scala as a book that gets recommended to aspiring functional programmers and that suggestion is very misguided. Functional Programming in Scala is terrific once you've been doing FP for a few months to a ctional Programming is daunting and hard to learn: Functional Programming Simplified makes that easier. It is the book to obtain you started on FP.Wish I could rate it more highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming, Simplified: (Scala edition) []  2020-5-19 18:29

    For two years (2017-2019) I worked with an outstanding peer group of engineers as a data engineer. Spark-Scala was our basic compute platform. I learned a lot of lessons about the boundaries between services and data pipelines, and how keep and give feedback about trade-offs when making design or implementation choices. Still, I didn't know where Spark started and Scala ended, or what functional programming really anks to this book, I'm starting to believe that the right boundary between services and data pipelines is somewhere between object-oriented and functional programming paradigms. Those paradigms are another set of trade-off's for and data engineers engineer to have in their ctional programming is like guardrails for code in distributed computing environments. Easy and extremely strong when primary rules are followed. Because e book doesn't cover much about Spark-specific topics, and yet was still hugely beneficial for me because I realized that a DataFrame is just another data type. FP concepts can be applied to a DataFrame in the same method they apply to a string, int, list, map, or any other data type.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming, Simplified: (Scala edition) []  2020-5-19 18:29

    I am giving 1 star NOT because of Author but due to poor printing quality of the paper book.I have attached image of two various books from OReilly here. Left side is of this book and right side is from another book. See the y ppl like me prefer paperback ver due to the obvious reasons but the printing quality of this book is too light and harder to read on plain day light. The headlines and examples are too blurry and hold an impression as if someone just took a printout and sent me a pirated ver of the original book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming, Simplified: (Scala edition) []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Alvin Alexander writes in a very concise style that is simple to comprehend. He does exceptional job of translating the jargon associated with functional programming. This is a amazing put to begin if you are fresh to both Scala and functional programming or just needing a refresher. Most FP books tend to begin at too high of a level or already you have learned Haskell. This book will save you a lot of time by skipping both of those prerequisites even though you may wish learn Haskell later to round out your FP knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming, Simplified: (Scala edition) []  2020-5-19 18:29

    The best book about functional programming i've read so far. It's like Alvin is beside me and do the pair programming together. So a lot of "aha!" moments when reading this book, especially when he explains the concepts using clear and concise code + the quotes of computer scientists and references that create you learn even more than "just" functional programming and Scala.I am a reader since the ver 0.1.2 (ebook).PS: This is my first book review on Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava: Creating Asynchronous, Event-Based Applications []  2020-2-1 12:1

    This book is an essential read for learning RxJava. You can spend a couple of days going through articles, guides and posts on StackOverflow, but would only end up learning a fraction of what you really need to know about working with RxJava, compared to what you end up learning from the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava: Creating Asynchronous, Event-Based Applications []  2020-2-1 12:1

    This book is simply amazing. Soo satisfied I got it. The best read I ever had about Rx Java. Simple to read and goes in depth

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava: Creating Asynchronous, Event-Based Applications []  2020-2-1 12:1

    Perfect book, it worth any penny, I really like how the author starts from the basics to more complex scenarios in which apply RX java benefit how the code look and how it behaves, I like the additional sections about hystrix. amazing examples and not very repetitive like the one that only shows and explain the marble diagrams. This will provide some additional knowledge in other frameworks that you will able to replicate and use in your existing projects. It is well written and it is not boring or complicated, it has little examples but clearly explain how to create them run in your console.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava: Creating Asynchronous, Event-Based Applications []  2020-2-1 12:1

    This book first four chapters were so great. I was able to create method more fancy operations in an Android device project than the first ones implemented. This book is very amazing specially for unit testing. Despite the amazing popularity I feel RxJava is a more mathematical and method more features than Coroutines in Kotlin. This is a amazing book if you wish to have a amazing solid foundation of reactive programming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava: Creating Asynchronous, Event-Based Applications []  2020-2-1 12:1

    A unbelievable book about RxJava, explaining both deeply and clearly from the very beginning. A few chapters e.g. about Hystrix and different HTTP servers feel a small misplaced -- they don't have enough pages to convey a full understanding and their content feels a small peripheral. Still, I am really glad I got this book and I think it will remain usable for me as a reference for years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava: Creating Asynchronous, Event-Based Applications []  2020-2-1 12:1

    Amazing book, a must read for beginners, and novice RxJava'ers (-.-) It has a amazing introduction, amazing examples, and clears up a lot of information. I really enjoyed the flow of the book, how it introduces the concepts and how the chapters are designed. There are a couple of locations where i had to do research online to better understand, but this book definitely gets you on the right track. It has cleared up a lot of questions i had about Rx.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava: Creating Asynchronous, Event-Based Applications []  2020-2-1 12:1

    The best book out there on Reactive Extension and highly recommend irrespective if you are doing , RxJS etc. If you are using RX then do read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava: Creating Asynchronous, Event-Based Applications []  2020-2-1 12:1

    This just confirms what the other reviewers have said. This is a terrific book. The authors are clearly skilled and talented engineers who have invested a amazing of time and energy putting together an amazingly complete acc of rx as implemented in Java. The subjects cover everything one needs to know to make true applications including error handling, debugging, testing and monitoring and the mysteries of creating observables both fresh and from legacy APIs. The explanation explain both the what and why behind the features and go sufficiently under the covers to explain the how. It contains detailed work-out examples. One recommendation I have for the non-expert reader (like me) is to go through the book twice -- the first time to glean concepts and ideas and the second time to learn details. (One beautiful irrelevant nit is that the book could use a small proof reading.) It would be nice if there could be periodic updates (perhaps online) as rx changes though the chapter on Futures (of rx!) gives a amazing idea of what to expect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava: Creating Asynchronous, Event-Based Applications []  2020-2-1 12:1

    This is an perfect book on RxJava. It takes you through creating Observers and Observables, wades through the jungle of operators, and takes you through real-world examples of how to build and retrofit your applications with Rx. The book has loads of code examples, but it explains the concepts behind the examples quite clearly. It even goes as far as showing benchmark results between traditional and reactive HTTP servers. I'm right in the middle of my first coding project using Rx and this book was a godsend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactive Programming with RxJava: Creating Asynchronous, Event-Based Applications []  2020-2-1 12:1

    Amazing intro to reactive programming in Java with plenty of deeper discussion on specific topics. While the book is written for RxJava, it seems to translate easily to other frameworks such as Project Reactor / Spring since they now share a common paradigm and core code.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming with Python - Training DVD []  2020-1-13 20:10

    I am still doing this training but so far it has been useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Scala: Practical Functional Programming for the JVM []  2020-5-23 18:29

    I thought this was a amazing book on introductory scala which I am learning. I read the book all the method through and exercised a lot of of the examples after downloading and installing Scala. As other reviewers have mentioned this is not a beginners programming book. I found the writing to be very amazing although sometimes a small hard to understand. Most of the time the more difficult sentences are immediately clarified by a amazing example - a very effective technique. Occasionally some of the writing remained mysterious to me and I just moved on. I found maybe one typo which is always a amazing sign.I thought the examples were perfect and did so much to explain the accompanying text. All of the examples I tested worked fine. I agree with a lot of of the reviewers about some of the drawbacks - sometimes the code was a small cryptic (although the Scala language is very succinct and so much so that one can lose track of just what features are being demonstrated).The criticism that an end to end true globe example is not given seems to be a small unreasonable since such a thing is by definition an advanced treatment (and this is a beginner Scala book); further there are an infinite number of possible huge true globe applications to describe and when one is fixated on the requirements of one, the others will be neglected. Observing one full, larger app doesn't necessarily support someone to develop their own application. Yes, the REPL shell was used throughout with small discussion of ver control or IDEs but those concepts are for one or more separate books and beyond the scope of this one.I do agree the Exercises were difficult and I did not do any of them. It remains for me to reread the book and do the exercises (and extend them to my own interests) which would provide a amazing prerequisite for declaring oneself proficient in Scala (at an intermediate level).All in all, this was I believe, a amazing programming book, a classic, in a method like K&R as a reviewer mentioned, but I wouldn't rate it a 3-star - it's a better book than that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Scala: Practical Functional Programming for the JVM []  2020-5-23 18:29

    Amazing book to begin your journey into Scala if you are an experienced programmer. No fluff and no explaining of primary concepts that you already me people are complaining about forward references but the author did a amazing job focusing on the chapter subjects without going off subject to give an in depth explanation of for example the wild card can always fire a fast Google query if you feel like you need more explanation on a eat book if you hate time wasters. Not once I felt like I should skip a page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    Im a huge fan of Alvin Alexander's blogposts where he illustrates how to do primary tasks in scala and are some of the first to appear in most find enginers. I purchased the book both out of solidarity and help for his work as well as a general curiosity for what the book would offer. I was not disappointing. The book presents common tasks and illustrates how to do them properly in scala often times using functional programming. Unlike the classic Odersky book, this book has more to as it really focuses on solving issues that a developer can face on an daily is is by far my favorite book for properly learning what Scala has to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    Amazing book for those entering the scala world! Learning through use cases is a amazing method to obtain your feet wet. Alvin touches a ton of broad locations in the language without going too deep into design decisions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in C#: How to write better C# code []  2020-5-20 18:31

    This book is amazing for any C# programmer who is interested in functional programming. It explains a few concepts like monads, higher function etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in C#: How to write better C# code []  2020-5-20 18:31

    Enrico Buonanno had one key goal in mind when he wrote his fresh book: To present experienced C# programmers how to create effective use of the functional programming paradigm. He champions functional programming, or FP, because it can, he contends, let you to "get more done with less code," handle concurrency with fewer bugs, and produce code that is both "clear and intention-revealing." Also, numerous programming languages, including C#, now help multiple programming paradigms, including FP. But the C# community has been slow to warm up to functional programming, he says. Instead, a lot of C# programmers have stuck to comfort and "the mainstream, imperative paradigm." He wants to change that and even states later in his book that he hopes C# programmers who learn FP will also learn at least one purely functional language, such as Haskell, or at least an FP-centered, multiparadigm language such as Scala." (He also likes the functional programming capabilities in Elm and Elixir.)Read the book's summary info posted on Amazon to take a look at Buonanno's table of contents and chapter flow. "This book," he writes, is for an ambitious breed of developer. You know the C# language and .NET framework. You have experience developing real-world applications and are familiar with OOP concepts, patterns, and best practices. Yet you are looking to expand your arsenal by learning functional techniques so that you can create the most out of C# as a multiparadigm language."The author makes effective use of numerous short code examples (written in C# 7) and illustrations. And most of the code examples can be typed into a REPL command line interface, such as the C# one available in Visual Studio 2017 (which I use), or Mono, or others. For experienced C# developers who want to learn how to do functional programming, this is a well-written,well-organized guide. Significantly, rather than wandering off into the weeds of using code to solve higher-mathematics problems, the book emphasizes creating solutions in real-world scenarios. "To do this," Buonanno writes, a lot of examples with practical tasks such as reading configuration, connecting to a database, validating HTTP requests, and so on--things you may already know how to do, but you'll see them with the new perspective of functional thinking." A long-running example also flows through the book--"an online banking app for the fictitious Bank of Codeland...." He adds: "The constant back and forth between practical examples and FP concepts will hopefully support bridge the gap between theory and practice....""Functional Programming in C#" is a keeper for experienced C# developers looking to expand their skills. And I would *not* caution fresh C# developers and C# students to avoid it. Just hold following the needed paradigm at your work or in your classes, while gradually getting acquainted with FP on the thanks to Manning Books for providing an advance reading copy for review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of F#: Breaking Free with Managed Functional Programming []  2020-5-19 18:29

    It has what I wanted. I used it to support me with my Visual Studio for functional programming and type matching.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of F#: Breaking Free with Managed Functional Programming []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Perfect book. Highly recommend for devs looking to learn functional programming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of F#: Breaking Free with Managed Functional Programming []  2020-5-19 18:29

    So fair disclosure, I'm in the book. I was the Technical Reviewer. This being said, I've read this book probably more than anyone else. The book is very simple to read, and it's full of amazing examples. I had numerous conversations with the author about what was going in it, where, and why. Simply put, the book is amazing about teaching F# and talking about Functional Programming. Some people complain it doesn't teach things like Lambda Calculus. Yep. It's not a book about that, and that's an advantage. You don't have to wade through all the math to learn it. It's aimed at people who are curious about learning F# and applying it to daily programming at most companies (or beautiful much what 90% of programmers do at work everyday).With learning a fresh language, and especially a fresh language type (like being an object oriented programmer and trying to learn functional programming), you're probably going to have to read it more than once to really grasp everything. With concepts like these, if you have a book you can read one time and know everything, you probably have the wrong book, because it's not really teaching what you need to know. Dave asked me, "do you really think the book is written well?" and I said, "Yeah I really do." He asked how I knew, and I told him, "Well, I go through each chapter at least 4 times to create sure I don't miss something, and I haven't decided I would rather stab my eye out with a work than hold going." It's a book you can read a lot of times without dreading it, and that's really important.On top of all of this, it's a amazing reference book. The index at the back is well done, so it's simple to look up concepts when you need to. Everybody forgets things from time to time, and this is more necessary than you think.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    I am an expert developer in C/C++/Python/PHP, but not in Scala. I purchased this book to improve my Scala skills. This book is one of those books that I just love to read and reference. Very amazing writing style, concise and clear. Large number of well explained examples. If you are learning Scala place this book on your shopping list. This book is a amazing learning tool and reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    I chose the highest rating for the following reasons:(a) the content fully justifies the title (cookbook recipes): all recipes there are illustrated with lucid and relevant pieces of code.(b) the content exceeds expectations: not only you can search numerous practical recipes; they are also augmented by discussion, which attempts to pour light on why the code is written the method it is, and this discussion is almost always helpful, sometimes even beautiful deep as for the book that is supposed to provide... well - can't use the book to start studying Scala - you have to be introduced to the language by some systematic approach first. But, if you already read about Scala just a little, and used it just a little, then it is a very useful reference book and also text enriching your horizons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of F#: Breaking Free with Managed Functional Programming []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Disappointed... I found that this book wasn't in depth enough to be a reference but too short on whys and hows to be an instructional book. I suppose that if you've already read an F# reference or two and wanted to reinforce your knowledge then this book would be a amazing fit. For me, I was hoping for something that would support me "think functionally" and it didn't do that for me since it was more about language features than how best to use those features. That said it didn't explain the language features as clearly and precisely as I would have liked. Maybe this is just a case of unrealistic expectations on my part based on prior reviews.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of F#: Breaking Free with Managed Functional Programming []  2020-5-19 18:29

    [Disclaimer: I've received a copy of this book for reviewing]For a couple of years, I've been wanting to take a deep look at F#. Unfortunately, work and my lack of knowledge in the functional zone kept me away from it because most of the books I've seen explain F# for the guy that has (at least) some experience with functional rtunately for me, Dave has taken the time to write The Book of F#. This book is amazing if you're coming from other languages and you don't grasp the basics about functional programming. Besides teaching you the syntax, the author will also introduce you to the main concepts similar with functional programming and it will even compare the approach used in F# with what you'd need to do in C#.I've just finished reading the book, so there's still a lot to take in. However, I can assure you that the contents are amazing and that I'll be using this book everyday when I begin my next project with F#.Overall, I'm giving it a 9/10.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in C#: How to write better C# code []  2020-5-20 18:31

    This is one of those books that compel the most reclusive of folks (like myself) to come out and write a review. The content, structuring, code examples and writing style are method above what we generally obtain from programming books. Fluff-less, succinct and spot-on treatment of the core concepts makes this book a rich and compact ditionally, it addresses some of the cutting edge techniques employed in modern enterprise applications like Happening sourcing and Reactive extensions.Quite literally a must-have for any .net developer, although understand that this is not a beginners’ book - so do not plan to use it to learn C#.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in C#: How to write better C# code []  2020-5-20 18:31

    I bought this book as a MEAP directly from Manning. I have been reading it since the book arrived and my feeling is that this book could have one of the most profound impacts on my coding in decades. Functional programming is something I have read about - and have wanted to add into my toolset at work - but working in a that relies on C# - makes the other options less acceptable. This book gives a amazing intro into some functional concepts and shows abstractions that push C# into a functional style that are e book is very well written, and adds concepts at a amazing pace - This is a book that I can see will be one I read again to extract the value to its utmost. I know that the language features have been in the language going back to .Net 3 and the later versions have enhanced those even more. I admiire the authors ability to show these concepts and abstractions in a method that you feel will be very practical and usable in existing projects.I know that this book will produce changes in my approach to programming solutions - in a very amazing way, I own multiple book shelves of books similar to the .Net and C# and Functional languages - and this book will probably be my favorite for a while in those three categories. This book has "a lot of meat" that will take time to work through - but the effort I feel will off. It is changing how I see the C# language without changing the language - which leaves me impressed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Scala: Practical Functional Programming for the JVM []  2020-5-23 18:29

    This is an perfect first book for someone who is just looking to learn the language. In in very light way, it covers every major feature of the language. The book is written so you can jump to the middle and grab one feature when you need it. It is also a beautiful amazing is book won't teach you how to program. It won't teach you functional programming. It won't teach you object-oriented programming. There are no huge projects. It is strictly about learning the features of the ing from Java-land, and being familiar with several other functional programming languages, this got me up to speed and comfortable enough to write some easy things (in a true project) with just a few days of casual reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Scala: Practical Functional Programming for the JVM []  2020-5-23 18:29

    To me, Scala is a language for advanced programers who can appreciate the scalability of Java and understand where Object Oriented Programing falls short in huge systems/designs. This book, Learning Scala, approaches Scala from a sort of "my first programing language" type introduction. I liked the introduction but that's about it. The examples are too petty to be of any use. Furthermore, there is no cohesion. Just a bunch of info thrown at you. Chapter 5 on First-Class Function was abysmal. At the end of the day Jason Swartz basically wrote a ScalaDoc walkthrough. Finally, the cover of the book makes reference to Functional Programing but other than mentioning Map() and Reduce() this book is devoid of functional programing. If you wish to learn functional programing, check out Functional Programing in Scala by Paul Chiusano out on Manning Publications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    This is a amazing book for when you know a small bit Scala already, but you're looking for some best practices and practical solutions when building an e book is more of a reference manual than a reading book. It consists of a huge number of practical issues and their solutions. But what I liked is that for every subject there is not only a solution, but also a paragraph called 'discussion' which goes a small deeper into the could wonder why one would need such a book if you could just Google your question and search the answers on the Internet. But the problem with that approach is that, in particular for Scala, for each issue there are a lot of possible ways to solve it. And some of them might not be amazing practice, might be deprecated or just plain is book gives solid answers, teaches about best practices and tries to tell you where to apply to solution and where not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    Really awesome book, my favorite Scala book thus far. Although I'm tempted to give this book 1 star because Alvin Alexander (the author) has 95% of this book available online for at scalacookbook dot com. So I don't see the value in buying this book at all. I intend on returning it. However this is a review of the book itself, so leave it at 5 stars. A lot of other books are dense and poorly constructed with overly complicated examples. This book so practical, concise, and uses examples that are more complicated than necessary

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of F#: Breaking Free with Managed Functional Programming []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Amazing introduction to F# and gets you quickly started (with Visual Studio). Covers lots of concepts. However, it does leave you with some unanswered questions here and there. All in all a nice read for beginners.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of F#: Breaking Free with Managed Functional Programming []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Amazing book. The best introduction to the topic of f# that I've read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in C#: How to write better C# code []  2020-5-20 18:31

    Neatly written, amazing examples, i would recommend to any C# developer, just to obtain a bigger picture of programming world, and actually enrich his knowledge of C# and it's internals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in C#: How to write better C# code []  2020-5-20 18:31

    I begin reading this book after coding in Scala over a year. This is a much better written book to explain why and how to use functional program than any book I read using Scala. This book illustrates the fundamental concepts of writing functional code in a very understandable way. I can see some of the examples come from some books I read from using Scala. However, in all the books in Scala, those authors focus more on the language, not why I wish to do it; even they do mention, they still don't forget to brag about the language first or discriminate other languages. It's a shame that Scala does have some amazing stuff, but the community feels a small stubborn...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Scala: Practical Functional Programming for the JVM []  2020-5-23 18:29

    Learning Scala is not easy. I tried a couple of other books and some on-line resources without much success before I got “Learning Scala” by Jason Swartz. This book, beautiful moderate in its volume, finally gave me a taste of e book doesn’t assume any serious pre-requisites and is quite self-contained. The reader should have a certain programming background in any other programming languages. Though I think it is barely possible that someone may pick Scala as the first programming language. A lot of people come to Scala from Java, but in my opinion you can begin this book without any serious Java experience. I mean if currently you write code mostly in C++, or Python, still it is okay to go to Scala with this book.Explanation is clear and concise. The author eventually leads us from the most primary items to quite complicated topics. Each chapter is finished with a list of useful exercises. Sample code is available only critical remark on this book is that there is no info on Scala-specific tools. I think at least 5-10 pages about SBT would be very helpful for a Scala is book won’t create you a Scala expert, but you cannot expect this just after reading 200+ pages. However, I can highly recommend it as the first Scala book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Scala: Practical Functional Programming for the JVM []  2020-5-23 18:29

    Amazing book for covering the basics in Scala with clear examples and explanations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    "If fresh programmers have time to learn only one language this year, it should be Scala." That's a quote from a top MIT engineer and professor and Google employee, from a conference I attended on "Most likely successors to JAVA." Say what? I'm a roboticist and engineer, and to look absolutely idiotic, I'd never even HEARD of Scala until that moment!But I HAD heard of LISP, Haskell, C#, Java and my beloved Python. Small did I realize before the conference (3 years ago) that Scala actually COMBINES the best of all those, runs on the Java JVM, uses tools like Ant seamlessly, and has non-glue access to ALL the Java libraries.But that's just the beginning. Scala is niether purely functional nor purely imperative, is static typed, yet works wonderfully in my true time robotics applications. Unlike even C#, allow alone Java, you can do "quick" object compile commands without statics or class declarations, just like a script! You can access the JVM compiler, or .net. or scala's own interpreter, depending on your need. WOW. Scala has the functional bennies of pattern matching, macros, currying, tail recursion, immutability, algebraic types, lazy evaluation, pattern matching and a lot of more; fixes the non unified type and type erasure as well as checked exceptions issues in Java (and a lot of others); Scala has a unified type system (like C#) unlike Java, even though it is Java seamless!So what do all these unbelievable things have to do with this gem of a book? Easy: what amazing is a book if it just rehashes the Java features and misses the special wonders of Scala? THIS TEXT DELIVERS! By that I mean it gives examples of ALL the differences, in English and code, that create this language a champion among over 700 pages, you can frame this awesome book as a learning text, a reference, a cookbook, an encyclopedia, and for sure a valued mate for the library of every Java and C# jock. Because of parallel, concurrency and run time features (dear to the heart of roboticists, circuit folks like me), I believe that this text gives strong evidence that Scala could not only be the next Java, but next C in circuits, Erlang in parallel (Early Scala used the Actor model, but that is being phased out for AKKA in the next few releases), and Lisp in functional!You don't need to know Scala to benefit from this book, and in fact you CAN LEARN Scala just as well with this book as any of the intro Scala texts, and save yourself a ton of and duplication, BUT like those a lot of fine intro texts, you still have to understand primary OOP/ functional or both (in other words use it to learn your soon to be favorite language, but not to learn primary programming). In other words, if classes, functions, types, recursion, objects etc. still confuse you, this isn't the put to start. Another cool thing about both this text and Scala is that they obtain rid of the very silly "never use go to" that was supposedly the hallmark of imperative, and chop through all that baloney (can you say jump statements?) with very clear and easy switch and other alternatives. Both day to day coders like myself will love this cookbook, as well as "purists" who look down their noses at Java itself due to Prolog or Lisp. THIS TEXT AND THIS LANGUAGE truly blend all the best features of both worlds!Highly recommended for coders of all skills, even advanced pros, and of course oddballs like me who are more into circuits, embedded and run - true time monsters, robotics, etc. If you're just getting out of High School and are considering which language to obtain started with, I'm not trashing Java (and still LOVE Lisp and Python), but I've got to say I want I'd read this text when making those decisions! Due to being an O'reilly tome, the code also is relatively bulletproof and most of the snippets I tried ran flawlessly, but out of nearly 1,000 yummy pieces of this pie, I've only tried about 100, so take it in that context. Most authors (including this text) don't consider Scala a amazing language to use to "learn primary programming" -- but also concede that since Twitter, Netflix and LinkedIn run on it (among a lot of others) it IS worth eventually BOTICIST/ INVENTOR EMAILER ANSWER: YES, I do think this also could be a C or C++ successor, including in embedded. Surely not as a "spice" circuit compiler, but more for very large, data intensive applications just as when you move from Arduino schemes to Linux as you evolve. If I were Apple, I'd be eyeing it in lieu of C++ right now. I mean, think about it, both .net and JVM are used in embedded bricks today. One of our most complex, 60 degrees of freedom pick and package machines contains the JVM. There are Haskell and Scheme solutions that would create the Java used MUCH better, and Scala allows that "big data," parallel combination to happen ON the JVM, while adding the wonderfully robust Matlab/simulink like libraries of functional CAS approaches, and soon, uly next decade's language in my opinion, granted after only using it for a few years (remember, fully stable versions are still coming out as this review is being written! If you're a patent type or circuit/ developer, N.B.). If you also think the relatively fresh Oracle/Sun thing might mean bye bye Java innovation... well, here's a put to turn! We obtain a lot of requests to review books, and there seems to be a fresh Scala book coming out every month, so if that's any indication, here's a language that looks like a clear frontrunner for the Java brary Picks reviews only for the benefit of Amazon shoppers and has nothing to do with Amazon, the authors, manufacturers or publishers of the stuff we review. We always the stuff we review for the sake of objectivity, and although we find for gems, are not shy about trashing an item if it's a waste of time or for Amazon shoppers. If the reviewer identifies herself, her job or her field, it is only as a point of reference to support you gauge the background and any biases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    Although the author has powerful consulting background the view on the bookis more on the object-oriented programming side rather than the functionalprogramming side. If you are looking for functional programming recipes withgood argumentation, this book is not the method to go ...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Scala: Practical Functional Programming for the JVM []  2020-5-23 18:29

    Overall this is a beautiful amazing beginners book. It has some decent examples, and explains concepts *generally* well. For me it is just a small bit too brief. It has that typical O'Reilly's feel but I want that it would go into more detail for each subject. I'm comparing this to my past experiences with "Learning Python" and "Learning Perl". One example I can give is String type examples. There are a hand full of examples showing the primary "some string" + variable, but no examples on padding/left/right justification. This is just an example, but hopefully that explains the shortcomings 's amazing for letting you know that a feature of the language exists, but it's up to you to do the research on that feature some r the price, it's not poor (and why I'll still give ti 4 stars), but if you are decent with Python and Java, you're likely better off getting something more detailed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Scala: Practical Functional Programming for the JVM []  2020-5-23 18:29

    One of the best language books out there. Written by a programmer for a programmer. Jason adequately explains the subtle nuances of this remarkable language and there is barely any fluff. Pure and easy substance. I read it on kindle so can't comment about bindings and such but kindle ver is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of F#: Breaking Free with Managed Functional Programming []  2020-5-19 18:29

    This is a amazing introduction to F# and by extension functional programming. The basic downside of the book is that like a lot of coding texts, it’s fairly dry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of F#: Breaking Free with Managed Functional Programming []  2020-5-19 18:29

    I really like NQ is the functional side of C#, and it's my favorite part. I love making extension methods so I can hold the dot-chain going. Naturally I was interested in F#. It's the "functional C#", right?This book starts amazing in chapter 1 with getting setup and 'writing' a first app. Happily, it was not another boring "Hello World": it was a full Reverse Polish Notation calculator! It took up half a page and looked delightfully strange to my C# trained eyes: there were so a lot of things I didn't understand. Don't worry if you don't understand it, Dave says, because this demos all the cool features you obtain to learn. And then I wanted to read the whole book, just to understand all those amazing fresh things.Oddly (but, in retrospect, brilliantly), "Fundamentals" is not chapter 2, it's 3. Chapter 2 is "F# Interactive." The FSI is a terminal window in Visual Studio that can run arbitrary pieces of F# code. It's amazing… well, just read the book. It's too much for me to explain here, but it's great. I use it even in C# development if I need a random number or a GUID. Basically any .NET class you can fresh up (or statically call), you can type into FSI to obtain a fast output. It's really the huge question: have you written anything in F#? I have to hang my head in shame as I respond "no." But I'm confident that it will be "yes" very soon now that I've read this book. I've got a hammer and everything is starting to look like a nail.Disclosure: I won this book in a raffle at a tech meetup. It has been signed by the author (in pen) and my kid (in purple crayon).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in C#: How to write better C# code []  2020-5-20 18:31

    This book is fantastic, definitely one of the best programming books I've ever read. Not only will you learn the voodoo of functional programming, you'll also obtain a master class in C# programming. The book is only about an inch thick but it's packed with so much info and presented so beautifully that you would think it was 5x longer. I've read chapters 2-5 several times now and each read through I obtain another epiphany. I've not seen a programming book this well done since the K&R C Programming book (too poor that one is a small dated now).Buy this book, this book, this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in C#: How to write better C# code []  2020-5-20 18:31

    I've been learning and working with F# for about a year now. I have a background using C# and am familiar with C#'s LINQ features. This book has been useful in helping me grasp fundamental concepts used in Functional Programming such as Functors and Monads. It has been easier for me to understand the use of Bind, Map, and other functions since I can see their usage as well as implementations in C# and compare them with their usage and implementations in F#This book is simply one of the best books I’ve read on Functional Programming, setting aside the use of the C# language. This book has created me a better F# programmer and has provided me with multiple “ah-ha” moments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    Of the several Scala books I own, this one is the clear winner. Mr. Alexander's presentation is very clear throughout. Every recipe is thorough, not only in its explanation, but also in its fine details. In following any recipe, one never has to ask either, "hmm, what's missing here, because it won't work as advertised," nor, "why did I have to do that; it isn't clear?" What's truly impressive is the breadth of coverage. Wish to use Akka? No problem: Mr. Alexander has the best documentation of that widely-used and justly-popular framework. Wish to use JSON? Covered. Wish to build a Web service? Multiple recipes covering multiple alternate frameworks with the pros and cons of each one. O'Reilly is killing it lately, and this book exemplifies the quality of its library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Scala Cookbook: Recipes for Object-Oriented and Functional Programming []  2020-2-1 12:31

    While ultimately you learn from doing; this book gives you dozens of clear applicable examples, allowing you to begin picking apart issues and solving for them individually.I would love to see him included examples in the future!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Book of F#: Breaking Free with Managed Functional Programming []  2020-5-19 18:29

    [Disclosure: I've received a copy of this book for reviewing]I've read a lot of books on F# over the past several years, and I would recommend this book to anyone, especially those wanting to begin learning the language and have some programming experience. Dave Fancher covers a lot of ground in this book, including object-oriented and functional styles of programming, pattern matching, quotations, computation expressions, and type providers, to name a few. In addition, Fancher's style is simple to follow and fun to read.A few things to consider:1. If you are fresh to programming, this book will not meet all your needs. Fancher compares a F# with other styles of programming, especially C#.2. If you know F# well, you may pick up a few fresh tricks. I did, and I was glad to have read the book; however, you may wish to look for something more advanced like Expert F# or F# Deep Dives.3. I would have liked a bit more meat in the sections on quotations, computation expressions, and type providers. The section on quotations is one of the best in any books I've read. The section on computation expressions showed a amazing example but didn't list out everything that can be done with the feature. Finally, type providers were discussed, but their creation was left out.If you are just beginning to discover F#, this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in C#: How to write better C# code []  2020-5-20 18:31

    Amazing work and examples. Extremely usefull to any C# developer that wants to improve. Not a lot of amazing reference material on this topic and this book fills a true need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in C#: How to write better C# code []  2020-5-20 18:31

    This just might be the best programming book that I've read so far.I have been programming professionally in C# for about 3 years, with very small experience in functional programming, other than primary understanding of mutability and pure functions. This book changed my perception on how to build d parts:Extremely well organized. Each chapter builds on the and accessible writing. Not mple but practical code es a amazing job of showing the limitations of C# when it comes to functional programming. In those scenarios, the author gives amazing examples of the concepts in more functional languages such as F#.Will teach you a surprising amount about the C# d parts:There really aren't any. If you're fresh to programming, you'll probably struggle with a lot of the content. But, it does say in the summary that the book "is written for proficient C# programmers with no prior FP experience"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Scala: Practical Functional Programming for the JVM []  2020-5-23 18:29

    Solid and well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Scala: Practical Functional Programming for the JVM []  2020-5-23 18:29

    This book is not very good.I've been writing code for a lot of years. How about, at the begin of things, we go over primary syntax. Rules. the first few pages, different operators are used (=> and

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Python Programming: Discover the power of functional programming, generator functions, lazy evaluation, the built-in itertools library, and monads, 2nd Edition []  2020-5-19 18:29

    If this is functional programming, then it sucks. It makes everything difficult and more complex than it needs to be, which makes it hard to create-read-understand-maintain. I fail to see the point. It is not practical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Python Programming: Discover the power of functional programming, generator functions, lazy evaluation, the built-in itertools library, and monads, 2nd Edition []  2020-5-19 18:29

    Author does a amazing job of walking through both the how and why of python's functional programming capabilities. First programming book I've read that actually info the implementation of the code and what it's doing. I do not have a computer science background and the author's format and explanations for how the code works behind the scenes I found extremely insightful. This will be a book I routinely refer to. I will definitely check out Steven Lott's other books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Java: Harnessing the Power Of Java 8 Lambda Expressions []  2020-1-31 3:47

    A clear and useful explanation of both Functional and reactive programming in Java 8. As a Venkat has a amazing sense of humor and fun writing style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Java: Harnessing the Power Of Java 8 Lambda Expressions []  2020-1-31 3:47

    Very amazing insight into Java 8

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Java: Harnessing the Power Of Java 8 Lambda Expressions []  2020-1-31 3:47

    Exactly what I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Java: Harnessing the Power Of Java 8 Lambda Expressions []  2020-1-31 3:47

    I come from a background of 10 years of professional Java development; with the introduction of Lambda functions, I figured now is the time to finally learn something about Functional Programming. I picked this book up because I liked Venkat's Scala videos and his IntelliJ Java 8 introduction video. Overall this book was good, it does a amazing job of teaching you the syntax for Lambda expressions and the fresh collections stream api, but after this book I don't feel that I really understand much more than the syntax. This book rarely seemed to ever obtain more in depth than his introduction video. Perhaps this was because I expected more out of this book than its intended purpose or because Java 8's functional elements are limited.On a side note: Functional Programming in Scala looks to be closer to what I want.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Java: Harnessing the Power Of Java 8 Lambda Expressions []  2020-1-31 3:47

    An awesome and engaging author. This book does an perfect job explaining how to take advantage of Functional Programming now that it's here in Java 8. Venkat is a rare creature, who has not only a deep understanding of the inner working of Java and program languages in general, but also ENTERTAINS as he explains. If you've been lucky enough to see Venkat show on this subject, you'll search the same humorous, self-effacing approach in his writing. If you haven't seen him, Google! You won't be ctional Programming in Java 8 is a paradigm shift - this book helps the java programmer understand this fresh method of thinking about how we compose our objects to benefit from FP. As a Java Professional of a lot of years, this book really helped me understand this fresh method (in Java) to write robust, reusable, and efficient code.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Java: Harnessing the Power Of Java 8 Lambda Expressions []  2020-1-31 3:47

    I like Java 8's fresh functional programming (FP) features, but I don't like this book. The book is shallow. Mainly he just writes easy examples and then repeats in prose what the code e author's constant hyping and cheering for the fresh FP features becomes annoying fast. He over uses adjectives like, "powerful", "easy", and "effortless". The fresh features are nice, but they're not that much more strong than Java already was. Any program you can write in Java 8, you can also write in Java 7 or 6 or 5 ...Java's fresh FP features can create code simpler in some cases, which is good. But these fresh features can also create the code harder to understand. It's possible to create code too concise - fit too much on a single line (as some programmers can't support themselves from doing). Unfortunately, this can makes code harder to understand by someone who must maintain it later. The FP features should be used with care.I didn't realize that Amazon has a seven day return policy on Kindle books. Had I known this, I would've returned it.I don't recommend this book or author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Java: Harnessing the Power Of Java 8 Lambda Expressions []  2020-1-31 3:47

    Finally, an perfect side by side demonstration of the old procedural style with the fresh functional style. This book explains what functional programming means, and why it's important, while introducing the fresh Java 8 features. You can't go wrong with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Java: Harnessing the Power Of Java 8 Lambda Expressions []  2020-1-31 3:47

    This book it's a amazing introductory book to the functional programming paradigm in java.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Java: Harnessing the Power Of Java 8 Lambda Expressions []  2020-1-31 3:47

    This book is well written, detailed examples and user friendly explanation. But it lacks more detailed explanations for is book is not for novice but intermediate or higher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Programming in Java: Harnessing the Power Of Java 8 Lambda Expressions []  2020-1-31 3:47

    This is an perfect book for experienced Java developers who wish to learn the fresh functional programming (FP) aspects of Java 8. Highly roughout the book, Venkat shows how to implement easy examples that are simple to wrap your head around using the old imperative style of Java, and then rewrites the examples using FP. That approach is very effective and accomplishes two things:1. Having both imperative and FP implementations of the same examples create it much easier to understand the FP implementations because experienced Java developers can relate FP to the method they're used to writing code. Without the imperative versions, I don't think the FP versions would be nearly as clear to experienced Java developers without a FP background.2. The differences between the imperative and FP versions of the code are striking. The FP versions are shorter, simpler, and once you are comfortable with the FP constructs, easier to understand. And by avoiding mutable objects, you don't have to with trying to obtain your code to work properly in a multi-threaded environment - something that is nearly impossible with imperative e main difference between imperative and FP is that with the former, you specify how you wish to do things, whereas with FP, you specify only what you wish to do, leaving the info to FP constructs such as the map() function. Venkat's approach makes that difference abundantly clear.If you're fresh to Java, then this is probably not the book for you. However, if you've been writing imperative Java code for a while, I can't imagine a better method to learn the functional aspects of Java ly, it's necessary to realize that Java 8 adds FP on top of imperative Java, which reminds me of the method C++ added OOP on top of C. As a result, some of the FP aspects of Java 8 are not as easy as in functional languages built with FP from the ground up, such as Clojure. Java 8 does not have first class functions, for example, so things like the Functional interface are a bit convoluted. Venkat does a fine job of guiding you through those rough spots, however.Disclaimer: Venkat is a mate that I've known for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Functional Neuroanatomy []  2020-5-9 18:41

    Perfect book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Resilience in Fearful and Reactive Dogs []  2020-1-19 22:0

    I have ready a lot of books about dogs, yet I am still learning fresh ideas from this author. This book includes well-reasoned, comprehensive info about the different influences on dog behavior. However, this book also includes some crazy punctuation. I suspect that the odd commas got redistributed when the book was translated into Kindle spite the difficulties reading some paragraphs, I search it well worth the additional time and effort it takes. The writer is very experienced with dogs and widely read. That has created it possible to integrate the numerous factors that go into dog behavior.Unfortunately, there are mistakes in the use of some psychology ter introducing classical conditioning, the author describes operant garding the learning theory quadrant, there is a mistake in stating that negative reinforcement is used for the behavior the "teacher wants to eradicate."inforcement always means to encourage a behavior.Punishment always means to lessen or eradicate a behavior.Positive means to add something and negative means to subtract gative reinforcement:I wish my dog to sit in front of the door before he goes out. The door is a barrier that I subtract for him after his behavior of sitting. Getting the barrier to the outdoors removed is the amazing consequence that reinforces his behavior of sitting at the door.I hope there are not too a lot of more mistakes because I have fun sharing in this author's ability to see (or feel) from the dog's point of view.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Resilience in Fearful and Reactive Dogs []  2020-1-19 22:0

    The book could benefit from some professional editing. I didn't realize until after buying it that it appears to be a self-published book. There are some typos and factual errors (albeit minor ones, but still it created for awkward reading). The author spends the first half of the book on introductory material and doesn't really obtain into practical training hints until the second half. Save your and a various book that is better written and substantiated with more scientific citations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Resilience in Fearful and Reactive Dogs []  2020-1-19 22:0

    I soooo required to read this book. We rescued a bottle-fed cattle dog/chow mix at 7 1/2 weeks old. He has been a handful since turning 5 months old. He is now 13 months and has been through a 4 week board and train. Although he knows his commands very well, he is still very reactive to men, certain women and is a resource guarder with anything he can eat, including his food. My husband thinks he needs to be regimed but I can’t give up on him. Your book follows a lot of of the principles of the training I did online through Absolute Dogs UK and Susan Garrett Canada but I required more clarity with fear aggression. This book is a must read for anyone with a fearful and reactive dog!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Resilience in Fearful and Reactive Dogs []  2020-1-19 22:0

    I have read and continue to read books to support me work with my reactive dog. This book is a bit various from the others, in a amazing way. While the author does give specific exercises to do with you dog, she spends most of the book explaining the why's and how's behind the processes event in the dog's thinking. This gives an perfect huge picture look at all the dynamics allowing you to easily determine what will work best with your dog in any situation you may encounter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Resilience in Fearful and Reactive Dogs []  2020-1-19 22:0

    Simple reading and well written. Very I informative. As a retired nurse and learned to understand body language this book is amazing in explaining dog behavior.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inspiring Resilience in Fearful and Reactive Dogs []  2020-1-19 22:0

    This book talks a lot about empowering your dog, but I'm the one that feels empowered. The practical hints for training/reinforcing of amazing choices created me feel like I was on the right track and gave me fresh things to test with my over -reactive corgi. I also really appreciated the chapter summaries that helped organize all of the information. Well-written book- Will test to revise my review once I've had a possibility to implement its lessons

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386