Read fundamentals of nuclear engineering reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all fundamentals of nuclear engineering reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Engineering []  2021-4-8 20:27

    This book truly covers the broad field of Nuclear Engineering. It is truly impressive in its scope. It will be perfect as a text book or a reference book. This book has been based on the a lot of years teaching experience of Dr. Lewis and at the same time is timely and up to date.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Science and Engineering []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Amazing book for review purposes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Science and Engineering []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Amazing book!

    0  


    Add your opinion on fundamentals of nuclear engineering or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Science and Engineering []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Amazing book to support me prepare for my college courses. I really loved the engineering perspective which chop through a lot of interesting but ultimately impractical in a non- research context theory, although the physics was adequately detailed section by section. The best part were the questions interspersed throughout the chapters, as well as the quizzes at the end plus dozens of reference tables. I hope to hold it long after I graduate and well into my career!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Pharmacy []  2020-1-22 19:56

    it's smaller than I expected, but overall it came in amazing quality and on time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals: A Practical Perspective []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Desire is the first step in the process of learning. Curiosity, wonderand anticipation are what fuels the pursuit of knowledge. Ease ofunderstanding and readability are the key ingredients that displaythe author’s mastery of the written word. Those aspiring to graspthe fundamentals of nuclear engineering will feel the warmembrace that, until this book , had yet to surface in a e innovation of every chapter, being modular, allows for alatitude of private involvement to choose a target on the e reactor geometries and reflected reactor cores demonstrate theprocess of fuel assembly and fuel rod cross sectionhomogenization. The language of the dialogue is articulate andpunctuated with a genuine taste of conversation. Indeed a bonus to beshared with those who aspire to understand, and those whoseguidance is so necessary. This book has my whole heartedendorsement and ed by George N. Gutch

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals: A Practical Perspective []  2019-12-23 20:30

    The book appears to include a amazing deal of amazing information. Beautiful much any question I've had so far can be found somewhere in the book. The author contains a decent amount of textual info to explain the concepts in multiple ways. However, these strengths, which could be enough to easily give a 4 or 5 star rating are significantly weakened by copious examples of poor writing, incomplete figures, and too much repetitiveness. If there was an easy-to-find errata sheet that covered most of the mistakes I've found, I would raise my rating. However, as the book currently stands, you need to be very sharp and willing to reread a lot of passages over again to not be misled.Poor writing contains all the following:1. Copy and paste type errors. I wonder how a lot of times a passage was meant to go in one put but was dumped, without thinking, into another place. One example from chapter 3 contains repeating the exact same sentence in a list twice.2. Factual errors. A few examples: The reference to the St. Elmo's fire figure in Chapter 2 is laughable. The figure shows cloud to ground lightning strikes from thunderstorm cells, not what is typically described as St. Elmo's fire (a glowing ball of plasma). Another example? Going to amazing lengths to discuss conservation laws and why a neutrino is needed to complete some nuclear reactions, and then literally showing the same reaction without the neutrino, thereby violating a conservation law that the author took amazing pains to go through. If I was an undergrad student, I might not catch a lot of of the mistakes.3. Poorly mixing concepts in the same paragraph with lousy transitions that leave the reader wondering what the heck was the main take-away. I've lost count of how a lot of poorly constructed sentences I've found reading the first few chapters of the book.4. Incomplete or incorrect figures. I search this to be particularly annoying when coupled with the not good writing in the text that references the figures. As an example in Ch.3, the author textually explains some of the most common fission reactions in a U236 nucleus and references a figure showing the reactions. The figure does not include the reaction the author discusses, or the textual passage is incorrect. And this is just one of a lot of examples that misleads or confuses the e repetitiveness of some concepts is staggeringly irritating. As an example: How a lot of times does the author really need to repeat the relativistic correction for velocity as if he is introducing it for the first time (as if he hasn't already "introduced" it half a dozen times prior)? I really wonder if copy and paste was improperly used for the umpteenth time.If I was reviewing nearly any section of the first three chapters the same as I would a peer-reviewed article, I would recommend a "revise and resubmit" with a lengthy list of problems. I really wish to have fun this book as I'm reading it as a PhD candidate in mechanical engineering simply out of interest, and not for a class. But I'm finding it increasingly difficult to have fun it because of the issues I've listed. I've read a lot of engineering and science textbooks and hundreds of peer-reviewed articles for my own research and this book stands high on my list of how NOT to write. It is a shame considering the potential this book has if only the errors, bad/incomplete figures, and not good writing could have been caught before publishing. Maybe a 2nd edition might correct these problems and earn a 5-star rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals: A Practical Perspective []  2019-12-23 20:30

    I am a student trying to learn nuclear engineering for the first time, and I must say that I am very impressed with this book. It is simple to read, simple to understand, and in places, it is actually fun to read. The color graphics are stunning, and it is much better than any other nuclear engineering book I have seen. It makes books like Lamarsh and Shultis and Faw look almost obsolete in comparison. It is very broad-based, and in places, it is very deep. For about $120 bucks after the Amazon discount, it is an absolute early deserves a five star rating !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals: A Practical Perspective []  2019-12-23 20:30

    This book is light years ahead of other nuclear engineering textbooks I have seen. It is slick, colorful, and comprehensive. It is interesting to the average person. The color graphics are beautiful. It has about 1000 pages, and it is very reasonably priced. For an introductory book, it has exceptional depth and breadth. I wonder how a single person could have written a book like this (apparently the author is an MIT PhD). I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning more about nuclear power plants, reactor physics, or nuclear science or engineering. If you don’t know anything about how nuclear power plants work, this is the first book you should buy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals: A Practical Perspective []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Wow! Even though I am not an expert on nuclear power, it is nice to see that someone has finally written a book that people would like to buy. It's an interesting book that explains nuclear power in a easy and honest way. It has lots of attractive pictures, ogies, issues and illustrations. It might even appeal to someone who doesn't have a technical degree. I bought it for my niece, who is planning /considering becoming a medical doctor and is doing very well in both math and science. I think she is really going to like the latest three chapters that introduce students to radiation detection and protection, nuclear medicine and radiology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals: A Practical Perspective []  2019-12-23 20:30

    This is a very comprehensive and practical book which can serve as an perfect teaching tool. It covers almost everything one would like to know about nuclear science and engineering - from A to Z. Complex topics are explained in understandable language and terminology which are simple to follow. The advanced scholar as well as the novice student would both greatly benefit from this book. It is very comprehensive and simple to read. It could easily be used for a 1 or 2 semester course in the fundamentals of nuclear power. The author makes extensive use of numerous color photos and illustrations, key equations, charts and worked examples. He makes science interesting and enjoyable. The one thing that is obvious when examining this product is that a tremendous amount of research went into putting this book together. The book is formatted in a logical sequence and it covers a wide range of subjects about nuclear energy and nuclear power. It’s a valuable and convenient addition to any serious science library collection. Along with a lot of other amazing things, this book also provides an interesting historical perspective on the nuclear power industry. Each chapter includes a lot of short respond questions along with numerous issues designed to try the student’s grasp of the material. This is a amazing book that I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to learn more about nuclear science and engineering. It’s a unbelievable piece of work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals: A Practical Perspective []  2019-12-23 20:30

    The author actually makes the understanding of nuclear science a fun read. He combines beautifully laid out colourful pictures and graphics with a sense of whim in his writing. For example, Robert uses the ogy of a football android game to explain an atom and references "Alice in Wonderland" to discuss virtual particles. This is brilliant! No dull textbook reading here! In addition there is a sense of wonder throughout the book, in discussing historical milestones in the nuclear field with the societal norms of the time. This book is an simple and interesting read, even to those not pursuing a degree or career in nuclear science. It's a book of historical aspects from the dawn of the nuclear industry of the 1900s to current day problems and future trends. It's a must read to anyone even remotely interested in the topic. I would highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals: A Practical Perspective []  2019-12-23 20:30

    I want this book had been available when I joined the Peach Bottom reactor reset squad in 1990. It would have created me much more effective and productive in my work as a data/process control yst. “Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals” is one of the rare textbooks that can be used effectively for self-study. Dr. Masterson has organized the book in a method that builds on the principles of nuclear physics to then show the practical problems encountered in commercial nuclear power e first nine chapters provide an in-depth look at the atom, its component parts, and the interactions at the atomic and sub-atomic levels. This might sound like dry reading, but in Dr. Masterson’s hands the atomic system is revealed as a marvelously choreographed universe-within-a-universe, kept in balance by a set of conservation laws. I search myself surprised that these chapters gave me the most pleasure in reading the apters ten and eleven deal with the practical matter of creating nuclear fuels and creating the reactor components that keep and regulate those fuels. Chapters twelve through fifteen show the types of reactors in commercial use, providing comparisons of commonly used reactor types and info for each type, including an overview of military reactors. Chapters sixteen through nineteen address what might be considered the civil engineering challenges for nuclear containment and protection of humans from radiation. The fact that the author went beyond the technology of nuclear power generation to provide a presentation of the safety problems associated with nuclear power is very helpful in laying out the context of implementing nuclear power generation in our e chapters on nuclear reactors used for commercial power generation were every bit as useful and well-written as the introductory chapters, but I found the atomic system itself to be so attractive that the engineering use of it paled in e text is illustrated often with relevant diagrams (many in color) and problem/solution exercises for the student. In addition, each chapter concludes with a section of questions for the student that is broad in scope and detailed. As an example, Chapter 4 - Nuclear Cross Sections and Reaction Probabilities – has ninety associated questions for the student followed by ten exercises for the student and a set of written and web references similar to the chapter. An example of a question is “What is the difference between a quick neutron and a thermal neutron?” The effort to develop these questions and exercises must have been substantial, and will be appreciated by anyone using this book for ke no mistake – this book is not “Nukes for Dummies.” It rewards the diligent reader with substantial knowledge of the principles of nuclear engineering, and it covers a amazing deal of material. The mathematics involved should be manageable for anyone who has successfully completed an introductory college level calculus course, and the principles set forth in the book can be comprehended even by the a practical matter, one of the most necessary features of “Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals” is the introduction of the terminology used in the field of nuclear power generation. As fresh terms arise, Dr. Masterson puts them in context, explains their background and shows their use. If you are going to be working on a project that involves nuclear power generation, emergency management and public safety involving nuclear plants, or on ships that use nuclear power, you really should purchase and study this book. You will be glad you deserves its five-star rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals: A Practical Perspective []  2019-12-23 20:30

    This is an perfect book and it may even be a amazing one. It’s more modern, better illustrated, and better written than any other book of its kind. It covers more material than other books do, and it’s much easier to read. It’s almost a excellent book for someone who is planning to study nuclear science and engineering for the first time. It can be used as either a textbook or a reference e discussion of nuclear particles is terrific. The author does a amazing job of explaining various types of reactors, fuel assemblies, fuel rods, and containment buildings. The chapters on nuclear processes, the nuclear fuel cycle, and the nuclear chain reaction are outstanding. It does a better job of explaining primary concepts than other books do. It has lots of interesting issues and worked examples. It stands head and shoulders above other nuclear engineering textbooks on the shop today. In addition, it is colourful and delivers tremendous bang for the buck. If you happen to buy it, you are really going to like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nuclear Engineering Fundamentals: A Practical Perspective []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Simple readability. Draws ogies from common life. Superb illustrations. Conveys difficult concepts in a relatable method so someone fresh to the field can understand. Honestly...it gets me interested to dive deeper in the field

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Reactor Physics []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Required th

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Reactor Physics []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Good: Focuses on nuclear reactors, not laden with unimportant materialBad: Little book for particular topic, very few data tables

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-22 23:41

    Liked this book and the class, was very informitive in a method that was applicible to the world

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-22 23:41

    Paid $220 for this book and it came in the worst "box" I've ever seen. Just a folded piece of cardboard taped on some edges. Should have taken a picture of it. You could see the side of the pages of the book without even opening it. No shock dampening material at all. 4/5 because it was surprisingly unharmed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-22 23:41

    The 8th edition has lots of practice issues (with answers to the odd numbered ones), both of which are missing in the newer 9th edition! Go with the 8th - it's cheaper and better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-22 23:41

    Every other page in the entire book is printed with the layers slightly offset, making it hard to read half of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-22 23:41

    I rent it for class. It's obviously that the book is not fresh on the cover, but it's completed inside and pages are all clean. Quite satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Reactor Physics []  2019-12-23 20:30

    The book is very well organized. it is very complete in the explanations of the physics involved, and it does the derivations of the formulas very well. I have seen in this book solultions of differential equations that other books do not have. I recommend this book as a text book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Reactor Physics []  2019-12-23 20:30

    This textbook includes most of the info required to consider nuclear reactor physics. It makes a lot of assumptions and simplifications, as it is a more introductory textbook, however the principles and theory are spot on. If you're considering majoring in nuclear engineering - specifically working on reactors, this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Reactor Physics []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Dad liked it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Reactor Physics []  2019-12-23 20:30

    This book is very densely worded and does not clearly tag specific sections. With small to no examples, it makes it hard to do any of the problems. Very confusingly worded as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Reactor Physics []  2019-12-23 20:30

    At first sight the book looks like a reordering of materials from other well known books, such as Lamarsh or even Glasstone. Reading the preface the author explicitely mention that he wants to do this, however his promise is to do so emphasizing on modern power reactors. OK, now, how can this be done without data ? the tables on the book are so few that they seems to play a minor role in nuclear engineering, which in reality is the opposite. Now how to proceed whithout sound and well worked examples ?, or the support of modern softwares ?. The author seems to rely on the capability of the students to use some modern tools like MATLAB, MATHCAD and so on (as he request them to use those in some of the end chapter problems), however their calculations must be contrasted with true values and not just to left on whatever they can get, the book should provide at least some clear easy cases (modern ones).Also there is a quite strange ordering, like point kinetics before any Buckling ?, which comes latter on the book but it is touched very lightly, so he has to introduce a proportional parameter in the non leackage probability, and then PK is just an exercise of coupled ODE's.On the contrary there is something interesting on the very same topic, he keeps the source term so it is quite simple to yze the result of any external source on the evolution of neutron population, and this is ly, where are the modern reactors ?, you may rush into the book to search the recent state of the art...but is not there either, maybe a final chapter is missing and could be the difference with conventional is a pity that the book can not support that much at this stage, maybe on a revisited version, because so far it is advisable to use it a secondary source of knowledge in the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Geotechnical Engineering []  2020-1-14 18:56

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-22 23:41

    Really amazing book with cool content. Would totally recommend this book to my friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Geotechnical Engineering []  2020-1-14 18:56

    Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-22 23:41

    The textbook has all of the content (as it should). However, as far as quality goes, it's poor. The pages started to fall out an hour after I opened it, and a lot of the pages are chop off because the printer didn't print the pages right. The binding is horrible at best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Reactor Physics []  2019-12-23 20:30

    This book was used in my 'principle physics of nuclear reactors' class. I am currently a Junior studying mechanical engineering. This book was a decent companion for the class, and answered the majority of questions I had. The only complaint I have is that some of the integrations aren't very well explained and it just jumps to the final answer. I'm decently powerful in calculus, and I realize the main equation required is the final answer, but understanding how the equation came about is rather useful, which is why i took away a star. Other than that, amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Nuclear Reactor Physics []  2019-12-23 20:30

    I found this book to be a hindrance to my classwork. Not having example issues for this type of material should be reason enough to seek another book besides this one. It is unclear in how some terms are used in formulas, and the index is absolutely useless (doesn't have buckling, for instance). The book focuses mainly on deriving formulas, and a lot of of the issues are re-deriving the formula for various conditions. It is not simple to search info in this book either: no bold titles to formulas, no pages of commonly used formulas, etc. Surely there is a better book than this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-22 23:41

    Industry standard, except I hope schools stop using textbooks that use English units. The rest of the globe doesn't use them. Even the ENGLISH don't use them, so why does America still force that nonsense down the throats of its own graduates, engineers and scientists? Let's move on people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-22 23:41

    What I expected. thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-22 23:41

    Does an decent job at explaining the topics. I mostly use the formulas in the chapter summaries and the tables in the back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Geotechnical Engineering []  2020-1-14 18:56

    Just as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Electric Power Engineering []  2019-12-24 19:49

    Forget about this book. Too basic; not useful at all. I kick myself for wasting my cash buying it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Economic ysis []  2020-1-11 18:33

    This is not what I was expecting. I required a book to learn about show value, future worth, equivalent uniform annual cost, capital gains, depreciation, all that- in short: economic ysis. While this book technically is on that stuff, the book is more focused on showing you how to input and apply those concepts and formulas inside a computer spreadsheet. No hand calculations, no "do it on paper first so you understand," - computer work at's the most necessary part to know: This book is for using computer spreadsheets exclusively.If you are fresh to economic ysis and wish formulas to be derived or at least to be given background on why a formula works or the practical use of a cash concept, then DONT buy this book.I recommend Engineering Economic ysis by Donald G Newman, Jerome P Lavelle, and Ted G Eschenbach, which teaches all the concepts I mentioned at the beginning of this review, and more, from the ground up and I think is what most college students will need.If you are already familiar with these economics concepts and just need a book to work with spreadsheets, or if you are not familiar but you don't care about learning the concepts behind the formulas to any depth and just need to obtain into working in a spreadsheet, then DO buy this book.I cannot say that this book is inherently bad. It is neatly formatted and concise. But I was completely fresh to economic ysis. And this book gives sparse background on cash concepts. For example, for both double declining balance and rate of return concepts, fairly complicated concepts to a newbie, there is less than a page to explain the concept and rationale before the book states a formula and does an example with the formula. There's no explanation as to why the formula works or why the concept is practical and ain, this book seems to be amazing for people who need a book to present them formulas, how to utilize them in a spreadsheet, and to give brief refresher info on cash concepts. I just think the title of the book is a small misleading. The title, "Fundamentals of Engineering Economic ysis" should have had "for computers" or "spreadsheets" tacked onto it.I definitely recommend the other book I mentioned above if you are fresh to this subject and wish to be taught from the ground up like a student (I was a student when buying the book for this review, and the other book that I think is better).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Economic ysis []  2020-1-11 18:33

    The book was in perfect condition, exactly as described, and served me well for my class. Definitely a better deal than buying through the campus bookstore

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Economic ysis []  2020-1-11 18:33

    Arrived in not good conditions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-15 19:18

    This is a amazing ckground: This text was used in Spring 2014 for Donald P. Visco's undergraduate course in Equilibrium Thermodynamics taught within the Chemical Engineering Department at The University of Akron. This course was taken by mostly STEM and Honors students. This was the first semester of the text's publication. The class completed Chapters 1-14Content: This text is thorough. Derivations are simple to follow with steps clearly outlined and assumptions clearly stated. The text pushes the student to question why thermodynamic relationships exist at both micro- and macroscopic levels. Chapter Issues and Concept Questions are challenging but not overwhelming.Positives: The text seems to have been the right level for students. I personally learned more from this text than in any previous class. The text was well-reviewed, and errors were sparse--unlike a lot of other Chemical Engineering texts. I will be keeping this text available for reference, something I cannot say for other gatives: Certain mainstream methods are only briefly examined in this text. A prime example is UNIFAC, which is only given a half page of explanation in the text. There also a powerful reliance on spreadsheet programs in the later portion of the text with relationship modeling. While the latter problem appears to be de facto method of teaching 1-, 2-parameter Margules, Van Laar, etc...the amount of work needed to complete Chapter Issues substantially increases in the later chapters of the portant Negative: The binding was mediocre, and the printing itself was not good quality. The ink appears to be cheap (can wash off really easily) and is extremely faded throughout the book in different places. The publisher really did a subpar job with the printing of the text, and it's poor enough to push away from the craftsmanship of the nclusion: This is a solid alternative to other thermodynamic textbooks on the market. While my class obviously benefited from having the author as the professor for my thermodynamics course, I believe this text is useful in a lot of classrooms. The textbook certainly was not rushed to shop by the professors and editors, but the publishing house really released a subpar product.Overall, a amazing text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-15 19:18

    Still have not received this item! Very disappointed with service and book was required for class a week ago!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering []  2020-7-17 19:16

    The third edition of "Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering" is a thorough and well-presented book. It is a book simple to read. The author provides concise and precise explanations about each subject. It starts with an introduction to crystallography and quantum mechanics, the fundamental scientific concepts essential for understanding solid-state engineering. It pursues the similar concepts need to understand semiconductor physics very well. You will search there, what you need to know about semiconductor heterostructures and low dimensional quantum structures including quantum well, wires, dots, and super lattices. In addition, you will obtain familiar with growth and characterization of true semiconductor crystals. Overall, if you are fresh to device physics this is a very amazing put to start. I recommend this book for all undergraduates, graduate students and fresh researchers in the field of solid-state physics and semiconductors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering []  2020-7-17 19:16

    This third edition provides perfect coverage of a very broad range of subjects including: fundamentals of crystalline solids, quantum mechanical properties of atoms, quantum mechanical treatments of the potentials that arise in both traditional and modern semiconductor device structures, energy bands in solids, phonons in solids including necessary similar thermal effects, equilibrium and non-equilibrium electrical properties of semiconductors, p-n junctions, optical properties of semiconductors, electron-electron interactions in solids, modern heterostructures and low-dimensional devices, quantum transport, electron-phonon interactions, modern growth techniques for forefront semiconductor structures and devices, semiconductor characterization, and a lot of other forefront topics. The broad coverage and the emphasis on state-of-the-art subjects create this book an exceptional text for the foundational courses in a solid state curriculum.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Economic ysis []  2020-1-11 18:33

    did not keep Wiley access code with the book, it appears to be missing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Economic ysis []  2020-1-11 18:33

    Well written and simple to follow

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-15 19:18

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Electric Power Engineering []  2019-12-24 19:49

    Nothing to write, it's how I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals Of Electric Power Engineering []  2020-7-17 18:36

    Nothing to write, it's how I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering []  2020-7-17 19:16

    Solid State engineering, as a discipline, is built from a dozens of parts. The primary theoretical background important often drew from a lot of various textbooks, which was bersome. Those textbooks that did touch on multiple locations did not do so in enough detail, and were not suitable for both underegraduate and graduate any amazing textbook, this book went through a series of upgrades. The initial poor reviews posted on this website were clearly oriented toward the earliest edition, and were certainly not posted by teachers or experts in the field. A prospective user of this book should, in general, hold in mind that the fresh (3rd) edition of the book has been revised and is now being reviewed by experts in the field, especially highly regarded teachers that have used this, and earlier, edition(s) in their e current (3rd) edition of this book is a solid textbook and I highly recommend it to educators and as a desk reference for Solid State professionals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Economic ysis []  2020-1-11 18:33

    supports this textbook

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-15 19:18

    Not good scanning on the e-book makes the diagrams in the appendix unreadable, which are beautiful necessary if you ever wish to obtain your homework done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering []  2020-7-17 19:16

    Within two weeks of my semester starting, the binding broke free from the text. Did not create for an simple read. Not that the method it was written created it any easier...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering []  2020-7-17 19:16

    I am a graduate student working on optoelectronics. I search this book very useful throughout my PhD. I had the previous version, and now will be buying the newer one as soon as e main reason for my interest in this book is that it has multidisciplinary approach: from material growth to characterization, atomic to device physics, and device growth to fabrication; all are available in the book. This enabled me to refer to book along the multiple aspects of my PhD. With this third edition looking stronger and complete than ever, I recommend this book from undergraduate to graduates who are interested in solid state, and who wants to create a difference in the field.Each chapter is by itself intact. It starts with a nice history/introduction, then continues with theory. One thing that I like about the book is that it is device-oriented. From the basics of the solid state physics to solid state devices, it combines all in one book. This motivates the reader about the applications as you learn the theory, and to generate fresh device ideas faster.Overall, I recommend the third edition to all who wants to learn solid state physics and apply it in true life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering []  2020-7-17 19:16

    The third edition of this book, published in 2009, represents a significant improvement over the original version. Solid state engineering is a vast field, where fresh developments are taking put at an astonishing speed. This book presents a concise overview of the building blocks of the field, while at the same time introducing the reader to some of the recent ideas and technologies. It is an perfect reference book for established scientists and engineers, while at the same time being accessible to beginners. The section on introduction to quantum mechanics is written carefully for undergraduates who have had no exposure to quantum mechanics beforehand. The fast overview of relativistic quantum mechanics and the role it plays in explaining electron spin is rather unusual, and may not satisfy a critical reader. However, such a discussion is sure to generate enough curiosity in a student for him or her to discover this subject further in advanced courses. In some ways, the same comment can be created about a lot of of the discussions in the book. Overall, it is an perfect book from one of the leaders in the field, and I recommend it highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Economic ysis []  2020-1-11 18:33

    The ebook is not a PDF and can not be opened on your desktop! Don't waste your cash unless you plan to bounce back and forth from your smartphone or handheld device. Not condusive for an online class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Economic ysis []  2020-1-11 18:33

    Amazing product

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-15 19:18

    I'm in Dahm's thermo class and I can say this textbook is the best one I've used in my undergrad thus far. The issues are a amazing representation of what you should be learning, and the examples are very clear. In addition, the book is very amazing at explaining some very abstract concepts, which is probably one of the hardest things about thermodynamics. I recommend the text book and if you go to Rowan, definitely take Dahm.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-15 19:18

    As far as thermo books go, this one is actually really good. The examples are unbelievable and it's simple to learn e seller packaged the book appropriately and it arrived in unbelievable condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-15 19:18

    Wonderful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering []  2020-7-17 19:16

    "Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering", published in 2009 in its third edition is a very useful tool for student from undergraduate to graduate.A complete overview on semiconductors is performed in this book starting from crystallographic description, then describing the quantum mechanic properties of these materials, and to finish with the recent and most strong techniques to realize and to describe e quantum mechanic sections are written to be understood by all readers starting from the fundamentals up to the most complex phenomena of solid state physic. Obviously this approach does not let the author to go in the heart of each subject. Nevertheless, for each chapter, a complete "Further reading" section is provided for more interested young researchers. A deep enough description of the complex phenomena in these materials is presented to interest curious e high quality of this book and its content let the reader to forget about the layout of some equations.I highly recommend this book written by one of the leaders in semiconductor science internationally well-known.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering []  2020-7-17 19:16

    The introduction is laughably brief and uninformative, the middle sections(the core of the material) is glossed over with 2-3 equations and a diagram each or is a mess of mathematical equations. I never got to the ending since I found a book by Gerald Burns--an amazing book which I highly recommend. I was lucky my professor was amazing at teaching solid state. Also he did recommend this book, but I got a STRONG feeling it was half-hearted (besides the core of the material he taught about solid sate was not in the book or was covered briefly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Economic ysis []  2020-1-11 18:33

    This book seems to have a LOT of errors. But there are lots of practice problems, which are amazing for exam preparation and making sure there's a solid understanding of the material. My professor says he's planning on using a various book next semester.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Economic ysis []  2020-1-11 18:33

    The book was taken off a little.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics []  2020-1-15 19:18

    Amazing Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering []  2020-7-17 19:16

    The book is extremely well written. I am an established scientist, and the book allows me to refresh and deepen my knowledge with any characterization technique. The author has, with a modern approach, introduce existing techniques and linked them to material physics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering []  2020-7-17 19:16

    The third edition of "Fundamentals of Solid State Engineering" is a amazing book for not only graduate students but also starters of semiconductor research. This book covers a wide range of fundamentals of semiconductor physics such as point groups, crystal structures, phonons, band structures, electrical properties, optical properties, quantum structures, quantum transport, p-n and metal-semiconductor junctions. These chapters give us the detailed explanations and deep understanding of semiconductor. Moreover, it is striking that this book contains the explanations of "actual" semiconductors. These chapters provide us with an understanding of the growth techniques (Bulk single crystal growth and Epitaxial growth) and semiconductor characterization techniques (structural, optical and electrical characterization techniques). This book can support graduate students to quickly begin semiconductor research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals Of Electric Power Engineering []  2020-7-17 18:36

    Forget about this book. Too basic; not useful at all. I kick myself for wasting my cash buying it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics, SI Edition []  2019-12-27 19:5

    I'm in Dahm's thermo class and I can say this textbook is the best one I've used in my undergrad thus far. The issues are a amazing representation of what you should be learning, and the examples are very clear. In addition, the book is very amazing at explaining some very abstract concepts, which is probably one of the hardest things about thermodynamics. I recommend the text book and if you go to Rowan, definitely take Dahm.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics, SI Edition []  2019-12-27 19:5

    Still have not received this item! Very disappointed with service and book was required for class a week ago!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics, SI Edition []  2019-12-27 19:5

    Wonderful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Wastewater Treatment and Engineering []  2019-12-23 20:36

    It is very simple to read and very well organized chapters. I would recommend to read this book at the beginning of the Waste Water Treatment and Engineering

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Engineering Thermodynamics, 9th Edition []  2019-12-8 18:54

    Do NOT obtain EBOOK unless you like failing. Cannot take notes with apple pencil or scroll 's unacceptable that the Kindle is application is still garbage and doesn't let you to write on the ebook or quickly swipe vertically through the pages. In a thermo class these are essential.... For $60 , I would expect to be able to fully engage with the text, but that is impossible with this book as I can't use my apple pencil because Kindle application is incompetent. Amazon needs to hire some of those comp sci interns to modernize this application and create it usable for students who need to write on the book in order to e built in note feature is garbage and a head ache to use, I recommend either buying the text copy or bootlegging a pdf. that actually lets you write on it. I'm versus the bootlegging but the kindle's incompetence really leaves small 's a shame that software exists that I can place dog ears and a nose on my face instantly via a camera for FREE, but I can't write on a pdf. with an electronic pen for $60.00 = 8 hours minimum wage, which is what most buyers of this book are probably t it together Amazon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Reservoir Engineering (ISSN Book 8) []  2020-1-29 2:10

    Great!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Reservoir Engineering (ISSN Book 8) []  2020-1-29 2:10

    This book served as a very deep and efficient reminder on problems I had studied in field of upstream in l'ENSPM at Petroleum Economics and Management course. Might be looking too technical, but no necessary point is ally useful and helpful for non-technical people with engineering background in upstream petroleum economics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics, SI Edition []  2019-12-27 19:5

    As far as thermo books go, this one is actually really good. The examples are unbelievable and it's simple to learn e seller packaged the book appropriately and it arrived in unbelievable condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Wastewater Treatment and Engineering []  2019-12-23 20:36

    Most exciting book on sewage treatment I ever read. LOL

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Software Architecture: An Engineering Approach []  2020-9-5 18:1

    Amazing content. However the print, especially the picture quality and the book size really don't justify the price. This book should be priced in the twenties and not forties.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Software Architecture: An Engineering Approach []  2020-9-5 18:1

    Perfect materials. Picture quality poor. Cannot read the photos on first few pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Reservoir Engineering (ISSN Book 8) []  2020-1-29 2:10

    Just as new

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Reservoir Engineering (ISSN Book 8) []  2020-1-29 2:10

    good, but the print is not very nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics, SI Edition []  2019-12-27 19:5

    Amazing Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Reservoir Engineering (ISSN Book 8) []  2020-1-29 2:10

    I am a mechanical engineer who has no background with geophysics or reservoir engineering, but I have to say that if you have some knowledge on thermodynamics , chemistry and some calculus, this book will really walk you through the fundamentals of Reservoir is really thorough and it explains things in a really easy d book for someone who wants to know about this field, and wants to teach herself or himself about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Reservoir Engineering (ISSN Book 8) []  2020-1-29 2:10

    Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Reservoir Engineering (ISSN Book 8) []  2020-1-29 2:10

    Amazing information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Reservoir Engineering (ISSN Book 8) []  2020-1-29 2:10

    This book did a amazing job in explaining way and the derivation..But the logic is not quit clear as I expected.I should say it is helpful to my class, but as a textbook, it is not enough..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Wastewater Treatment and Engineering []  2019-12-23 20:36

    Amazing examples, clearly and concisely written. Very accessible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics, SI Edition []  2019-12-27 19:5

    This is a amazing ckground: This text was used in Spring 2014 for Donald P. Visco's undergraduate course in Equilibrium Thermodynamics taught within the Chemical Engineering Department at The University of Akron. This course was taken by mostly STEM and Honors students. This was the first semester of the text's publication. The class completed Chapters 1-14Content: This text is thorough. Derivations are simple to follow with steps clearly outlined and assumptions clearly stated. The text pushes the student to question why thermodynamic relationships exist at both micro- and macroscopic levels. Chapter Issues and Concept Questions are challenging but not overwhelming.Positives: The text seems to have been the right level for students. I personally learned more from this text than in any previous class. The text was well-reviewed, and errors were sparse--unlike a lot of other Chemical Engineering texts. I will be keeping this text available for reference, something I cannot say for other gatives: Certain mainstream methods are only briefly examined in this text. A prime example is UNIFAC, which is only given a half page of explanation in the text. There also a powerful reliance on spreadsheet programs in the later portion of the text with relationship modeling. While the latter problem appears to be de facto method of teaching 1-, 2-parameter Margules, Van Laar, etc...the amount of work needed to complete Chapter Issues substantially increases in the later chapters of the portant Negative: The binding was mediocre, and the printing itself was not good quality. The ink appears to be cheap (can wash off really easily) and is extremely faded throughout the book in different places. The publisher really did a subpar job with the printing of the text, and it's poor enough to push away from the craftsmanship of the nclusion: This is a solid alternative to other thermodynamic textbooks on the market. While my class obviously benefited from having the author as the professor for my thermodynamics course, I believe this text is useful in a lot of classrooms. The textbook certainly was not rushed to shop by the professors and editors, but the publishing house really released a subpar product.Overall, a amazing text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics, SI Edition []  2019-12-27 19:5

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Reservoir Engineering (ISSN Book 8) []  2020-1-29 2:10

    So you wish to learn about reservoir engineering? Then you're going to need the right material. And this book is it. Fundamentals of Reservoir Engineering by Dake is the "bible" of reservoir engineering. A lot of college courses utilize and require this textbook. Amazon also offers this text at a amazing price, much cheaper than through purchasing from e book starts off with material balance. This is the bread and butter of petroleum science and reservoir engineering. Each chapter thereafter continues to build on various locations of reservoir engineering. I would highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Reservoir Engineering (ISSN Book 8) []  2020-1-29 2:10

    The concerned book was exactly as described; nicely packed and arrived in reasonable amount of time. Very satisfied with the purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics, SI Edition []  2019-12-27 19:5

    Not good scanning on the e-book makes the diagrams in the appendix unreadable, which are beautiful necessary if you ever wish to obtain your homework done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Software Architecture: An Engineering Approach []  2020-9-5 18:1

    Pictures don't have amazing quality and resolution. They should provide a separate picture set for download with higher resolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Software Architecture: An Engineering Approach []  2020-9-5 18:1

    Amazing book covering a lot of info about a lot of detail aspects of software architecture. It is useful as a reference text book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Reaction Engineering (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) []  2020-7-25 18:30

    I required this book for a class. Because of that, the only thing I feel I can really say about it as a product is that it came from a amazing seller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Reaction Engineering (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) []  2020-7-25 18:30

    Useful book for a research chemist, and a amazing price from dover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Reaction Engineering (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) []  2020-7-25 18:30

    It was a amazing read and the worked out examples explain the "why" while working them. The examples are logical in layout and true globe examples are enlightening. Very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Chemical Reaction Engineering (Dover Civil and Mechanical Engineering) []  2020-7-25 18:30

    There are dozens of free PDFs out there for this book, any amount of cash spent is a waste of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamentals of Ceramics (Series in Materials Science and Engineering) []  2020-1-9 18:59

    I bought this book for an introduction class to ceramics. The book is ok, but it has various sections that are not clear. It is the section of the Young's module. It was not a matter of no being able to understand the material of that section, it is easy no clear. Two of the instructors that I know worked with this book were confused too regarding the given explanations. All the other sections are fine, and it does support you to learn about ceramics.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386