ge pgs960selss cooktop Reviews & Opinions


Submit ge pgs960selss cooktop review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGS960SELSS Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:35

    Upon arrival the oven did not work. The oven would not peheat. I requested assistance via the GE chat service and was told that I required to schedule an appointment with a service technician. It took 1 week to obtain a technician to come diagnose the problem and an extra week to obtain the parts delivered and installed. The appliance works now. No problems foe 2 weeks. At this price point I expect excellence and this product fell method short. I will never by GE again and will persuade others to stay away. Another amazing brand sold out to China.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGS960SELSS Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:35

    We just replaced our old oven with this GE. I am beyond thrilled with it. It's so high tech. It has a touch screen and it pleasantly beeps when your oven is preheated and it talks to my intelligent phone! The griddle on top makes the most evenly cooked pancakes. I am so excited about the double oven feature - although I have yet to cook two things at the same time yet. It is simple to clean. All the top pieces come off and can go in the dish washer! This is the first fresh oven I've bought in my life. I always end up using the ones that come with our house.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGS960SELSS Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:35

    When I plugged in this oven eight (8) days ago, I received an error code that GE was unable to troubleshoot over the phone. I waited four days for a repair appointment (sent by GE) and the agent never arrived. I have tried to return the product, but GE will not take the oven back until a repair is attempted. I now have to wait three (3) more days to see if a repair agent will be able to fix the most expensive product I have ever purchased that did not work out of the box. Based on this experience, I have no intent of ever purchasing another GE product.I have been unable to search anyone at GE willing or able to help me with my problem. I rarely purchase products that cost this much and was quite disappointed that it was unusable on day one, but I probably would have shrugged this experience off had had I had a better customer service experience. However, I was promised that someone would contact me within 24 hours to create an appointment; I ended up calling back to create an appointment in 36 hours. Too boot, I had to take a morning off from work to wait for the repair and the agent was a no-show. I have already talked one mate out of looking at GE as an oven replacement and intend to be a vocal advocate versus this product line. The most outrageous twist is that I am not even allowed to return this broken product! I have now been reduced to online rants in the hopes of stopping others from making related mistakes.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on ge pgs960selss cooktop or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch ge pgs960selss cooktop video reviews and related movies:

    See Don't fall for this glamorous GE range on youtube.

     related image

    See GE 30 Stainless Steel Freestanding Double Oven Gas Range JGB860SEJSS - Overview on youtube.

     related image

    See GE Profile Slide In Front Control Gas Range (Models PGS930 and PGS960) on youtube.

     related image

    See GE Cafe Oven - quick review on youtube.

     related image

    See Best Gas Range 2019 -Review on youtube.

     related image

    See GE Café 30-Inch Freestanding Double Oven Gas Range (CCGS990SETSS) - Goemans Product Spotlight on youtube.

     related image

    See GE knows its way around a gas stove on youtube.

     related image

    See GE Appliances Fit Guarantee -- Slide-in Range Install on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGS960SELSS Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:35

    Love mine. Had it for years and works great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGS760EELES Sealed Burner Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:43

    Love the look of this stove, love the various size burners, and the ease of cleaning it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGS760EELES Sealed Burner Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:43

    Oven works excellent! It's spacious, bakes uniformly, and makes attractive bread. The stove works well too. It would be nice if the low would go a small lower. We replaced the griddle in the middle with a grate and use our cast iron griddle on it. It doesn't heat quite out to the edges, but still works great. Overall, we are highly impressed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGS760SELSS Sealed Burner Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:43

    [email protected]#$%! took me a long time to pick this range. I bought my first single family home about two years ago and it had the original range and hood from 20 years ago. I love to cook and this was where I decided I'd begin the first upgrade. I ended up buying both a GE hood and range b/c I wanted a brand that I could obtain service later and represented the right level of quality for my home, plus GE is everywhere when you see fresh builds. I struggled with going more high end and my first choice was Samsung but it had lower customer ratings and I heard poor reviews on lack of service and support. I bought this ver b/c the lower versions of the slide-in don't have a normal oven cleaning (who uses steam?) and didn't have convection. The controls are very easy and I was also worried on the Samsung that the display would go out and the range would be toast. I read in reviews that a lot of the wiz bang features (Alexa) don't work well for some of the more leading edge designs. I bought from Home Depot and the delivery was really quickly. It looked really awesome, a definite make batter in look from the old Jenn Air range. No problems with the delivery condition. I hired a contractor to install b/c long story short, I converted from a separate cooktop/oven to a single slide-in for cost reasons. I had thought about going all electric but my breaker was not high enough and didn't wish to add the cost of running a fresh circuit. So overall, I dinged GE for value. It looks amazing but really compared to a standalone range, I don't see why a slide is so much more expensive and I had to pay $300 more or $1300 on sale to obtain the features that I thought should be standard on any premium range, like convection. The power of the range is awesome. I most wanted to use it for a stainless steel wok and the power burners have almost too much power. I had to restart my idea of levels b/c I ended up burning a lot of things for several weeks until I realized I required to use a much lower level. Having a gas broiler has been awesome, moving from a electric oven. I was able to carmelize Korean ribs perfectly, also very very powerful. The oven is huge, able to do two little pizzas side by side. Overall, very happy with choice, does what I wish it to do - high energy for wok cooking, searing steaks. Haven't baked much but haven't heard any complaints from those that do. So a griddle that has ridges should be included as does a plain grate; all available from GE online but still it's a miss at this price range.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGP9036SLSS 36 Inch Gas Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Just came in today and installed the unit. Simple install and setup to obtain this running. Works like a charm and no problems with the product so far. We'll definitely obtain a lot of use out of it. Quite like the different burner options and the smaller simmer burner in the middle of the biggest burner. The kid lock is also a nice add since we have a small one. Overall it isn't fancy, but it is very clean looking and the lights on the knobs add a nice modern touch. Very satisfied with this purchase and goes well with other GE Profile / Cafe appliances we have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGP9036SLSS 36 Inch Gas Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Cooktop is amazing and is behaving how we’d expect. A couple of stuff to think about:1) it is likely that the top will scratch. If that is going to be an issue, don’t buy this.2) the cook top puts out serious heat. Careful if you have pots with plastic holders, cause they will melt.3) create sure you measure the spot where you are getting the cooktop installed. I was off by a 1/16 of an inch, and ended up having to obtain the granite slab opened up a small more4) I had an amazon contractor install the cooktop and create sure the gas line was correctly tightened. They were great, and I would use them again if I buy something that needs professional installation.P

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGP9036SLSS 36 Inch Gas Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    I just did a kitchen remodel and this cooktop looks great! I just cooked my first food on it and I really like the lights under the knobs. I purchased the optional griddle, but haven’t used it yet. Overall I’m very satisfied with this purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGP9036SLSS 36 Inch Gas Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    This cook top was so close to being perfect. I love everything about it except for one major flaw. The knobs are horrible. I have been through 2 sets of knobs within a year and a half. They are created of cheap plastic and they break very easily, and GE knows this yet has not updated their knobs to hold them from breaking. The part that breaks on the knobs is the thin inside plastic that slides down onto the controller. Once the warranty runs out, the knobs are very expensive for being cheap plastic. What a shame. GE could redesign these knobs and this cook top would be 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGP9036SLSS 36 Inch Gas Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    My older GE gas cooktop was not strong enough, when I cooked vegetables using wok before, mostly was boiling instead of stir fried. This cooktop changed all that! Its center burner is so strong 18000 BTU, cooking is much enjoyable now! I read some customers had knobs damaged by the heat from the center burner over the time. I added a little piece of aluminum sheets to shield the knobs from central burner baking them. That works well!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGP9030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-7 18:2

    Love this cooktop. If we had room for the 36 in model, we would have bought that one. Only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars was because it is difficult to clean. Seems no matter what you cook on it, splatter gets down on the stainless surface around the burners necessitating the complete removal of the heave cast iron grates to clean the stainless under it. Would be nice to redesign it for easier cleaning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGP9030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-7 18:2

    A small on the expensive side but a very nice stainless finish and looks very nice in our kitchen. Works amazing and goes nicely with our other GE appliances.Purchased the copper knobs separately and it really sets off the cooktop. Would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGP9030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-7 18:2

    Works well

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGP9030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-7 18:2

    Love this cooktop! Some reviews say the knobs melt. If you cover knobs while cooking there will be a issue on any cooktop!! This is a beautiful, quality item.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGP9030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-7 18:2

    Amazing stove top

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PGP9030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-7 18:2

    I replaced an older GE gas cooktop with this one. It is very nice looking and works well -- love the middle burner for boiling a huge pot of water for pasta -- and easier to clean than the older one. However, the knobs are higher than the burner grates, and if you place something hot down on the grate and it touches a knob, the knob melts. My older cooktop had shorter knobs and this never happened in 20 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5036SLSS 36 Built-In Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    Amazing in comments are:- no lights to present gas is ON, especially necessary when in a low flame.- knobs have started to chip after 5 months of use- grates are unusually high from surface, almost 2” high- cooktop has rubber bumpers, not grates like most cooktops, so that removing and replacing grates as high risk of scratching the stainless steel

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5036SLSS 36 Built-In Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    We desperately required a replacement cook top and this looked like a amazing value. It was simple to install and it's such a amazing cooking surface I look for excuses to create something at home. It lights up quickly and each of the burners provides exactly what you need.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5036SLSS 36 Built-In Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    First time with a gas stove top and love it. Looks amazing and works great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5036SLSS 36 Built-In Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    Have only had the cooktop for a couple weeks but initial impressions are 5 stars and that we're very satisfied with the purchase. We're using it with LPG and the heat output is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5036SLSS 36 Built-In Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    Well created and simple to install. Fit excellent where my old electric cook top was. Simple to convert to propane with a easy orifice change on the 5 burners. Tape marks on stainless steel came off simple with goo gone

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5036SLSS 36 Built-In Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    Best stove top, simple to install and cooks and looks great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5036SLSS 36 Built-In Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    simple to install (replaced a 19-year-old stovetop), large improvement in cooking and ease of cleaning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5036SLSS 36 Built-In Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    Speedy shipping. Amazing product

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5036SLSS 36 Built-In Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    Looks amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5036SLSS 36 Built-In Gas Cooktop review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    Works great. Bought for my parents and they love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE CHP95302MSS 30 Inch Induction Cooktop review []  2019-12-10 18:2

    I came from an old style coil stove, so this was a substantial step up in terms of control and features on a e good--Gorgeous finish and color. I really have fun the gray, and the lights and controls are very modern looking. As opposed to the red digital displays of years past.-The temperature control of induction is absolutely amazing. And this unit doesn't fail to deliver on that.-The cost of cookware has dropped significantly. You can now buy induction ready cookware for about the same price as standard cookware. Plus all your cast iron will already work.-Precision cooking. With the included Hestan Cue pan, being able to control the temperature to the degree is beautiful neat, and I'll end up exploring this more as I obtain to know this appliance more.-Easy setup. The wireless connection and bluetooth setups were easy. Not super intuitive, and the application was a small cumbersome, but definitely easy.-Can heat and boil VERY fast. I can have pasta water boiling on the huge burner in under three minutes. That's beautiful e "meh"--I think I would have been happier had I had the zone for a 36" top. The 30 is great, but fitting more than three pans on at once can be a small tricky with the method the burners are laid out.-Selecting less expensive pans with low metal densities will create for noisy cooking. Every pan will hum and buzz at a various frequency. I've noticed the cheaper pans do so more and at more annoying frequencies. Cast iron is certainly the most quiet so far.-The controls can be sensitive when wiping down. It's not an issue, just an annoyance to have it beeping at me when I'm trying to clean e bad--One of the main reasons I purchased this specific cooktop was the ability to sync the two left burners. I have fun cooking bacon and searing on my lodge cast iron griddle. So the two seemed like a excellent fit. Unfortunately, because of the zone of the controls, you are severely limited on the griddle size you can use. If the griddle comes into contact with the control section (which it does) the cooktop will beep and meep until you move it, rendering the burners unusable. The only solution I've found so far, is to purchase GE's griddle created specifically for this cook top (it's smaller and shaped more to contour the the cooking area) but I refuse to spend the cash on the overpriced piece of niche cookware. So it's unfortunately a feature I don't think I'll use anytime soon, despite purchasing it with that in mind. Kind of sucks.-The Cafe application is completely featureless and basic. You'll obtain an alert when the cook top is on, and that's about all it does. I'm honestly not sure what I was expecting here, but its basic.-This one could be something with my pan size in relation to the burner, but I've noticed sometimes you can definitely tell there's a coil below the pan you're heating. For example, when boiling water, you see a ring of bubbles coming from the bottom, rather than bubbles coming from the whole bottom. There could be other factors at play here, but I was under the impression induction reduces hot spots. I'm sure the respond lies in thermodynamics, and physics subjects I don't fully ne of the bads are enough to knock a star off in my opinion. I've really enjoyed using this cooktop.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE CHP95302MSS 30 Inch Induction Cooktop review []  2019-12-10 18:2

    Purchased and received this cooktop the end of June - it was installed by a licensed electrician in early August. Due to painting in my kitchen, it was under protective covering until a week ago when I was finally able to use it.I was extremely impressed with its rapid boil and simple to operate controls. I cooked a few meals on it and was extremely satisfied with it. It cleans easily and is very intuitive to use. The temperature controls are very responsive. Water boils very quickly, and if you turn the temp down, or off, the pot stops boiling IMMEDIATELY. It is as responsive as a gas cooktop, if not more.I had read some reviews that some of these cooktops have problems where the burner won't stay on and shuts right off. Unfortunately, I am one of the people now experiencing this same problem. I place on a huge pot to boil and all was going just fine - the pot was at a rolling boil and I added my pasta to the pot...and it shut off. It would not turn back on. The fan was running and would not shut off either. The 2 burners on the left work perfectly. The two burners on the right have not worked since Saturday (it's now Monday). The fan also never shut off and ran constantly since the burner shut off.I called GE's service line at 9AM and they had a service technician at my house by 11:30AM. He ran diagnostics on the unit and it seems like it has a poor module, possible loose connections, and possible problems with the user interface (the glass cooktop part with the controls). Replacement parts have been ordered and a return visit has been scheduled for a week from Wednesday to replace the entire unit. In the meantime I still have the use of the left side burners - and I feel confident that the issues are going to be rectified as quickly as possible.I so far satisfied with the sense of urgency in which GE service has responded to the issue. It's, of course, under warranty, so it's a minor inconvenience for me at this point to have to wait another 9 days for the stove to be fully functional.I will say that delivery of the unit was quick, and it arrived in pristine condition - extremely well packaged with no visible sign of any damage. My electrician installed it while I was away on vacation - my contractor did not advise me of any problems with installation.I do not think that the malfunction is the fault of the seller - I believe it is a known problem with these induction cooktops, and I expect once it is repaired that I will have no future problems - however I will look into an extended service warranty all the same.Once repaired I expect to go back to being extremely satisfied with the did come with a Hestancue saute pan which has a bluetooth compatible sensor that interfaces with both the cooktop and the Hestancue application on my smartphone. I did use it to create pancakes on Saturday morning, and I have to say they were the best I've ever made. The application walks you through the recipe and then cooking steps, and the stove and pan work together to automatically control the temperature of the pan throughout the process. The application is not the easiest to use and the directions/instructions are awkwardly written and could use some massaging from a technical writer--but I managed to obtain it to work without too much frustration. The application did quit on me several times during the cooking of the individual pancakes - but I muddled through it. Could use improvement - but is functional as is and is a very innovative feature that I do like a lot. I am glad the stovetop came with a pan because the pans themselves are quite costly and I do not think that I would shell out that kind of cash for one on my own. It is amazing to know what the pan can do - and I can decide at another time whether to invest in extra pieces.I've given this 3 Stars as this was the best price I could search for the unit, and I do LOVE it (when operational). I knew that I might have this issue when I purchased it. I am confident that GE will create things right and they were fast to respond. If I had not had this issue it would be a 5 star review. I believe there was a possibility I'd have had this problem no matter where I purchased it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE CHP95302MSS 30 Inch Induction Cooktop review []  2019-12-10 18:2

    Perfect finish. Simple to install but Bluetooth was a small tricky at first, the application lags behind. Very amazing controls.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE CHP95302MSS 30 Inch Induction Cooktop review []  2019-12-10 18:2

    Too early for a detailed review, but so far:- Installation was simple. I padded out the existing cutout bought a beeeeg junction box, and it dropped right in.- The analog controls are a significant convenience: just tap "On" and swipe to the desired heat level instead of tapping "+" and "-" buttons.- Boils the same pot of water that took 11 mins to boil on my 50-year-old GE cooktop in 3.5 minutes.- When the pot is removed, the burner zone is hot, but not burn-your-fingers hot.- Seems like granularity of heat control is as amazing as or better than gas.- Have spent at least two hours trying to invoke the "Precision Cooking" features. Been developing computer apps for 20+ years and I cannot create head nor tail out of either the GE or Hestan application UIs... So these features are basically usless until I figure them out or somebody overhauls the apps.- The elephant in the room is reliability. .. .. I have read quite a few negative reports on other GE induction troops - where some circuit board fails.. .. Time will tell.- The timer is a poor joke. .. .. No link to the burners, just a sound when it expires - and the sound is barely audible, even without a TV on in the same room. Maybe there's more in "Precision Cooking" but, until I can obtain that to work, the timer is a poor joke.- I am *hoping* that using a 4" sauce pan on one of the 7" burners will not hurt it. .. This seems to be an problem on some troops and GE is not clear in ths items I have read so far.- I am also *hoping* for some sort of automatic shutoff when a pot boils dry. .. Again, GE not clear and questions here have returned answers that do not address the question. .. .. Tried it briefly, but wimped out when the pot became quite hot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PHP9030DJBB Profile 30" Black Electric Induction Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Bought this after renovating our kitchen. I am writing this review just 2 months shy of a year after purchase. I would not recommend as the circuit board goes out on this model. I have a GE tech at my house as we speak replacing the circuit board. Thank goodness it was under warranty as the part costs $1800. From what I hear, this is a common issue with this model and GE inductions. Do not buy or buy with warranty. Hope his helps.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PHP9030DJBB Profile 30" Black Electric Induction Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Three of the burners work great. I can bring 2 cups of water to a boil in about 1 mins 20 seconds on any of the smaller burners. With the exact same pot, which has a 9" diameter magnetic base and larger than the minimum 7" needed for the huge burner, it takes 6 mins to obtain to a boil. During that time I hear a clicking sound every few seconds which sounds like the relay turning off the element and then turning it on again.I've tried 4 various induction compatible cookware pots on the larger burner and they all behave the same. In theory the larger element is the most powerful, but in this case is basically unusable. I'm willing to work with GE to create it work. They have until the end of January, otherwise I'm returning it for a full refund.I had so much hope, but in hindsight I should have trusted the negative reviews. I think I'll test a Samsung next. Too poor they are almost double the cost, but perhaps there is a amazing reason to pay more.UPDATE 2/9/2018: I contacted GE near the beginning of January, explained the issue to the service rep, and she said she would contact a local repair company to send someone out to take a look. Since I heard nothing from anyone since then, two weeks later I boxed it all up and returned it for a full refund. I'm very satisfied I bought it from Amazon because they do full refund on appliances, unlike other stores, and they also paid for the return shipment. I'm now in the shop for a fresh Samsung NZ30M9880UB, which seems to be brand fresh and not yet listed with Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PHP9030DJBB Profile 30" Black Electric Induction Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Dynamic Deals was the only supplier that provided this through Fulfilled by Amazon and I required a replacement quick. This product was listed as NEW, but the pack I received had been opened previously and possibly installed. Two screws were missing from the package, the foam tape had been hastily repackaged but was missing a small over a foot, and most damning, there was fiberglass insulation caught in the strands of wire for the power cord. It might have been an begin box product or demo model maybe? Who to this model, I had the predecessor and the filter board blew up in just 7 years. The cost to repair it @#$%!1000, beautiful much the same as buying this unit new. I've got my fingers crossed that this one lasts longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PHP9030DJBB Profile 30" Black Electric Induction Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    The product was delivered on time, installed 7/1 and performed flawlessly for 2 weeks. Then on 7/14 it popped twice when we turned it on and promptly died. Control panel works but burners no longer heat up. We contacted GE customer service who tried a restart that failed - she said it definitely has shorted out, and she said she would dispatch a local service man to repair it. That was Edmond Appliance Repair. After a few days of no contact (on 7/19), I called them and Dwayne came out and determined that yes indeed the boards had blown up and required to be replaced. He ordered the replacement parts through GE and they were delivered (twice!). One shipment was received on 7/25 and another identical set of boxes and same part numbers on 7/28. I have called and left voice messages for Edmond Appliance Repair on their office and cell phones on 7/28, 7/29 and 8/1 - no response, not even a text to say we got your message! I am escalating with GE tomorrow. Product failed in 2 weeks and now we have been without a cooktop for going on 3 more weeks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PHP9030DJBB Profile 30" Black Electric Induction Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Cooktop was a replacement for a Sears branded radiant cooktop. Cutout dimensions were exact so it dropped in with no modifications. Unit removed was a 4wire where this one was a 3wire hookup but using instructions, no problems on installation. After a couple of months, unit has been great. Had to buy a few more induction capable pots and pans. It is awesome how quick unit will heat up cookware and just as quick to turn off the heat. You can clean up spatters surround the cookware while cooking since cooktop doesn't heat up and just as easily clean off the 'burner' once the pan is removed. Since cooktop does not obtain extremely hot, spills do not obtain baked on so cleanup is so simple compared to old radiant heat cooktop.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PHP9030DJBB Profile 30" Black Electric Induction Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    I bought this in March 2017. A couple of months ago the huge hob began making a very loud zapping noise if it is ever raised over level 5. Additionally, it is very slow to heat, and at high heat, doesn't obtain hot at all. This is not dependent on the cookware - I have tried all the cookware that previously worked fine. Obviously this isn't in warranty anymore, and the repair estimate is.....$921. That's right, the not good design of this product requires all hobs to be replaced when only one is bad, and so $921 is the repair. And - since it's only 1.5 years old, and the repair for one hob is more than 75% of the price of the unit, it's is essentially disposable if it ever fails. Shame on you, GE - this is a not good product.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PHP9030DJBB Profile 30" Black Electric Induction Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Only been using ours for a month, but I'm really glad we switched from our hard-to-clean gas stove. The ability to adjust the temperature is far superior to the GE Cafe series gas stove we replaced. And the speed to heat a pan or boil a huge pot of water is something you just have to see. I managed to place a little scratch in the glass already, despite being obsessively careful--maybe all glass cook tops are prone to this, but the shiny surface will create scratches stand out a small more. Not a huge deal, but worth noting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PHP9030DJBB Profile 30" Black Electric Induction Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Amazon came through on this one. A amazing stove that is as promised. Works well. Gives far more temperature control than other stovetops. Some chef mates of ours are moving from gas to induction because of the greater control. And it is simple to clean and maintain. Love it. As an aside, I initially ordered an induction cooktop from Lowes. They took my cash and two weeks later confessed they didn't have it and tried to sell me a conventional. I got a refund and ordered on Home Depot. Same thing, although it only took them a day to admit they didn't have it even though it was on their site. Ordered from Amazon and got it within days.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PHP9030DJBB Profile 30" Black Electric Induction Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Had it for 2 months now and very happy. Installed it myself to replace a 20yo GE radiant. All you've heard about induction is true. Only complaint is touch controls create it simple to inadvertently turn off burners if you errantly rest your hand on the control zone and sensor will shut off burner if you swirl a pan for an omelette too long.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PHP9030DJBB Profile 30" Black Electric Induction Cooktop review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Okay I replaced my 17yo GE smooth-top electric with a fresh php9030 I bought myself for Christmas after doing some Consumer Reports research. I knew induction was going to be faster, I have chef mates and know they use it. I didn’t know how freaking quick it was though. Pot of water from tap to boiling in under half a minute. It is freaky fast, I really had to do it twice to allow it sink in. Cooking is about to change. Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE Profile 30" Built-In Gas Downdraft Cooktop PGP9830DJBB review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    This appliance is beautiful. It’s a very solid-looking piece in the middle of our fresh icy-star quartz countertop. The packaging kept it perfectly safe. It’s simple to take the grates off to clean the e only cons are that you have to be careful when you wipe the counter top, or the washcloth can create water marks on the glass. It’s also worth noting that because the flames are up higher than counter level, where as with my latest cooktop the flames kind of dipped below, it does obtain much warmer in the surrounding area, even on your own strip of skin that’s near to the flame. Also, the plenum and blower take up method more zone in the island than my latest downdraft ducting. I lost about half the storage space.Overall, I’m very satisfied with the quality and style!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE Profile 30" Built-In Gas Downdraft Cooktop PGP9830DJBB review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    We had this professionally installed because we were converting from electric. The stove has worked beautifully with no complaints. The surface is simple to clean even with a few boil-overs. I would do it again if we had to.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE Profile 30" Built-In Gas Downdraft Cooktop PGP9830DJBB review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Cooktop is fine but the service did not contain connecting it to the downdraft even though it is what they are taking apart. A permit needed by law was not done by the professional. A real professional would know that. I did not know that until I am trying to obtain the downdraft connected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE Profile 30" Built-In Gas Downdraft Cooktop PGP9830DJBB review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    I replaced an existing one related to this one, size and exhaust system.Looks attractive on my fresh counter top

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE Profile 30" Built-In Gas Downdraft Cooktop PGP9830DJBB review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    The vent grill gasket keeps falling off when Vent is in use. Called customer service and no free replacement available.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE Profile 30" Built-In Gas Downdraft Cooktop PGP9830DJBB review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Installation was more of a challenge than expected - this was only due to the cook top that I replaced was built with a 5" round exhaust and this one requires an adapter from a rectangular exhaust. Easily overcome with flexible conduit, and it looks unbelievable and works very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE Profile 30" Built-In Gas Downdraft Cooktop PGP9830DJBB review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Looks and works great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE Profile 30" Built-In Gas Downdraft Cooktop PGP9830DJBB review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Very simple to connect and convert to LP.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE Profile 30" Built-In Gas Downdraft Cooktop PGP9830DJBB review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:35

    hard to install

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE Profile 30" Built-In Gas Downdraft Cooktop PGP9830DJBB review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:35

    You will need 3 1/4" x 10" rectangle to a 6" round duct transition for installation. It's nice they don't tell you that on the box, but you search out when you're in the middle of the install and it tell you on step 14 that you need that piece. Also, the unit I installed had absolutely zero hardware, so yet another trip to the hardware shop for the screws to keep the plenum onto the bottom.of the cook top and the nuts holding the fan to the plenum

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with Power Boil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, 5 Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    This would be a five star review but for one flaw. The front left and right burners are too close to the knobs when using a skillet. I've had one knob partially melt because of the heat reflected off the bottom of the 12" skillet I was using. Other than that it is a amazing looking cook top. I also bought the grill plate which spans two of the burners. Well worth the additional $.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with Power Boil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, 5 Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Love the unit it self but id you manufacture a gas cooktop that has begin flames and pot and pans that obtain very hot why would you give it plastic knobs that can melt. The right one has melted a small already. At $11.25 ea. that gets a small pricey.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP5030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with Power Boil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, 5 Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    My wife absolutely LOVES this

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JP3030DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Radiant Elements, Knob Controls, Keep Warm Melt Setting, Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Personally, I'm not a large fan of the glass cooktop. Nonetheless, as renters, we inherited a damaged cooktop that had a broken glass top. For safety and aesthetic reasons, we decided to go ahead and replace is unit was just what we needed. It fit the dimensions of the outgoing cook top just right. It was simple to install and the process was complete in under one hour by my husband who is not a professional at such things.Each of the heating elements seem to come to temperature fairly quickly. Additionally, each has its own function beyond straight cooking. These contain settings for power boil, hold warm, and melt. Being the holiday cooking season, I'm looking forward to trying them all. It also came with a scraper, cooktop cleaner, and a scrubbing pad which were unexpected but nice additions. We ordered this unit one day and it was delivered the next. So far, we've been very happy with the whole process. Thank you from two satisfied consumers! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JP3030DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Radiant Elements, Knob Controls, Keep Warm Melt Setting, Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    I wanted one of these (sleek flat stoves) forever. I thought it would be the solution to all my issues as far as keeping my stove clean. But boy was I wrong!This thing gets meal "seasoned" onto it like it's nobody's business. It does it in seconds, before it has time to cool so you can wipe it off. It does it with anything and everything. Like, If you are boiling potatoes, god forbid they should boil over (which seems to be a ritual practice for my family), the water will instantly evaporate and what you are left with is caramelized on potatoes starch.If you obtain hot sugar on it or leave an empty pot heating, it is possible to warp the glass. I use cast iron which I used to season right on the stove - can't do that anymore. I am actually afraid to use cast iron at all, since I could potentially drop it and crack the is impossible le to regulate temperatures since the burner stays blistering hot once it is hot because, well, it is glass and that does not cool as rapidly as metal. So if you bring something to a boil and then wish to lower it to a simmer, it will continue to boil for longer than you'd meone in a comment had said that this is not for someone who cooks a lot and my first thought was "psh, they just don't know what they're doing!" But now I know what they meant. If you wish to run your kitchen like a restaurant chef, then this is not for you. If you are a quick cook, this is probably not for you. This is for patient people who take a lot of care not to spill or shake their pans on the stove.But now I'm stuck with this, so I will deal.I still love the flat surface, though. I want there was a method to incorporate that and the sturdiness of an electric or gas stove. That would be l that said, this works just as amazing as other glass cooktop and it looks beautiful when it is kept clean (may the force be with you). I also love that it is not digital but has knobs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JP3030DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Radiant Elements, Knob Controls, Keep Warm Melt Setting, Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Replaced previous GE smoothtop cooking surface after 23 years of trouble-free service. (It blew its' circuits and would have cost more to fix than to replace.) I ordered this one and it arrived two days later. Although I was nervous about it, I managed to install it myself successfully. It looks amazing and it works fine. If I had never had the previous one, I would think the fresh one is perfect. BUT, having had the earlier one, I have two minor complaints. First, the fresh one definitely takes longer to heat up than the older one. Whether it is cooking an omelet at medium heat or trying to boil a huge pot of water, it seems to take longer. (I have no documented measurements, only my subjective feelings.) My second minor complaint is that trying to hold this shiny black surface looking clean is difficult. The previous one was a speckled grey color and that masks a lot a surface splatter and streaks. This one shows every drop of oil, water, etc., so it need to be cleaned much more often. Nevertheless, this is a amazing price-performer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JP3030DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Radiant Elements, Knob Controls, Keep Warm Melt Setting, Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    When our cooktop died I was torn on buying another glass one because the one that came with our put was all scratched up, and these have a reputation for scratching. But so far, it hasn't scratched at all, and has been amazing to use. The power boil is great, and we've had no problems with it. It was simple to install, simple enough to clean, and I love that it has knobs instead of buttons - that was a 'must' for me since I didn't wish to push a button 10 times to obtain to the highest heat setting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JP3030DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Radiant Elements, Knob Controls, Keep Warm Melt Setting, Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    I was very satisfied to search this item at this price; it is over $200 more at Home Depot and Lowes. I was looking for a 36 inch cooktop that would enable me to use 3 huge pots at a time with room between each pot and this one fit the s:pricefairly simple to cleanIf damaged, simple to replace with GE's simple fit system (not sure if that's what it's called but essentially it means that if it needs replacement you can easily remove it and pop in another of GE's cooktops in the same size without having counter issues.3 huge burners, unlike other brands that only have 2Power boil, melt and hold warm features, along with 2 burners that you can use either the inner smaller burner or outer ring larger onechild lockcons:Plastic knobs look cheapgets dirty easily (but that's most glass cooktops)Pro and con:knob placement - simple to know which burner you are using (I search the side and rear placed knobs somewhat confusing at times), however, gets dirty easily from drips and spills

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JP3030DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Radiant Elements, Knob Controls, Keep Warm Melt Setting, Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Amazing cooktop. Performs as it should. Exceeded our expectations on speed of delivery and ease of installation. The heat on these smooth cooktops is kind of hard to control, and it shows fingerprints and any drop of anything that gets on it. But it is fairly simple to clean, which is good, because it needs cleaning frequently. Amazing value for the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JP3030DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Radiant Elements, Knob Controls, Keep Warm Melt Setting, Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    I have an older home with a cutout in my counter for a 30 inch range cooktop. Perhaps the cutouts were larger then, but this unit did not fit. The actual dimensions of the glass top are slightly less than listed here. For example it's not quite 21 inches deep, more like 20.75, and it is not 30 inches it's 29.75. this is enough where it left an eye sore when I attempted to install it. There is a trim kit available but it was going to be more than 2 weeks to keep it and it was an extra 80 something dollars plus shipping which created the decision to return it final for me. It is a amazing price for the unit, and it was aesthetically appealing arriving fast with a no hassle return. Another consideration is the 8 inch burner size. As stated in the manual, it is not recommended to use a pan that overhangs the element surface by more than 1/2inch. I have a lot of pots and pans that exceed this and you should consider this before your purchase. I never actually hooked electricity to this unit and cannot speak to its performance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JP3030DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Radiant Elements, Knob Controls, Keep Warm Melt Setting, Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    It's amazing and a amazing buy. Inherited an expensive name plate stove-top that didn't work right anymore. Factory rep quoted $ 900 to repair, or @2,000 to this for $400, looks the same, boils the same water and cooks the same stew. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JP3030DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Radiant Elements, Knob Controls, Keep Warm Melt Setting, Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    This is a amazing value. I read the reviews about the white lines coming off but I have had no issue with it. Probably because I use the recommended cleaner (daily!) which doesn't scrape or hurt the stovetop. Only little problem is how cheap the knobs look. This can be fixed with purchasing fresh stainless steel or higher quality ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JP3030DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Radiant Elements, Knob Controls, Keep Warm Melt Setting, Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    If you only fry eggs or boil water, this is the stove for you.. if you actually cook, it's a disaster. The numbers on the dials are black-on-black which makes them very hard to read and even worse it seems to have only two levels of heat, very high and very low. It seems to burn everything I place on it because in order to obtain the heat going I have to turn it up to high. It takes two mins more to boil water than my old stove and my old stove is over 12 years old. If it weren't for the fact that my kitchen requires a stove this size, I would throw it in the garbage tomorrow. This is a fine example of what GE really stands for. Amazing Enough

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    This replaced an old (1995) GE profile cook top. Plug and play replacement, could not have been easier! This is better in every method from the old model - easier to clean, better burners, better (although thinner) grates, better arrangement of the burners (they moved the huge to the outside, so huge pans and handles don't interfere with the controls). What more can I say? We've had it for a month, cook a lot, and love it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Two problems;1. The dimensions on the product page are of the shipping box- not the stove top itself.2. It turned out to be unusable because the gas inlet on the bottom is fixed and sticks out quite a bit- into the top of the oven underneath the countertop. This is a critical dimension that should be mentioned and on the product pageCan't tell you about the stove quality- had to send it back the same day it arrived.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Perfect price amazing n't think I would ever have fun having six pots going at once so four is plenty!Burners are sized well. Unit is simple to clean and looks nice on my counter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    This gas cooktop is great! We had an older GE model that was white (20 years old) and still working great, but we wanted to replace with stainless steel. My husband and I can't believe how quickly it heats meal up. And we love the continuous grates that our older model did not have. And the grates have rubber feet so they don't scratch the cooktop. We've been using it about 11 months and loving it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Perfect! I ended up doing the installation myself and with the amazing instructions guiding me, the stovetop went right in. We love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Amazing unit. Looks fantastic. A small smaller than our previous model, but still fits the hole in our countertop. Amazing purchase. Make batter to the house. Burners are hot and work great. light east. Fast and simple install. Dishwasher safe grates. Shhh somehow I got this on sale and it was A STEAL.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Arrived well packaged and earlier than expected. The cooktop is powerful, and we search brings things to the boil much faster than our old gas cooktop. The finish seems well built and should latest a long time. The grates are also thick and durable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    We replaced our 30+ year old cooktop with this. We had our gas company install it. I think I could have done it myself, though. It has created cooking a pleasure again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Amazing stovetop for the money, heats very evenly and quik.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030SLSS 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Amazing price, BUT gas connection (nipple) was created out of sheet metal, and too light weight. I thought I was going to have to send it back, but got the "threads' on the nipple to stop leaking!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030DLWW 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    We replaced our electric induction cooktop with this gas cooktop, switching it to use propane. This involved swapping the natural gas for propane jets (included in the box) and getting propane connected to the house. The cooktop works amazing and installation was very simple. NOTE: You have to switch the 220v connection to a 120v connection for the starter on the fresh stove.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030DLWW 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    the largest issue is to fit the hole where the latest stove top came out of. If you stick with the same manufacture it usually fits first time. Mine fit and is very nice product, simple to place in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030DLWW 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    Simple to install ‘

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030DLWW 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    Amazing stove-like much for the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030DLWW 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    The grates seem kind of cheezy and cheap. Seems like the black paint is coming off of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE JGP3030DLWW 30 Inch Gas Cooktop with MAX System, Power Broil, Simmer, Continuous Grates, Sealed Burners and ADA Compliant review []  2019-12-8 18:13

    Amazing product worth the cash and simple to place in

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830SJSS 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    This review is for the GE Profile Series 30” Downdraft Electric cooktop. I am replacing a Jenn Air downdraft cooktop with this so I cannot choose anything but another downdraft or otherwise completely remodel my kitchen. That limits you to about 4 choices, or less if you wish to hold the same size cutout in your countertop. I had thought that the Jenn Air models were from the same company as these and that their guarantee of drop in size compatibility would also mean this would fit. Unfortunately that was not true. It was 3/8” too wide front to back so I epoxied in some strips of steel to being the weight bearing part of the rest to the metal case on the far side otherwise it would have just been resting on the glass which created me nervous. And it was 3/8” too little side to side so off to the hardware shop to buy a diamond grinding disk for the angle grinder to create room for a few of the screws that stuck out too far to obtain it into that sized e cooktop I’m replacing needed only a 30 amp breaker and 10 gauge wiring. This stove requires a 40 amp breaker and a minimum of 8 gauge wiring. While you could connect it to the old circuit breaker and probably run 3 of the 4 elements before it tripped some day the breaker would fail to trip until your wiring had overheated somewhere and it would burn your house down and slay your family. (breakers DO fail, while installing this I went ahead and tested the other GFCI and arc fault breakers in the panel as I hadn’t done that in a while and one of them did not trip, so I had to replace that too. They are not fool proof, try them!) Not to mention that if you ever sold you house in that condition the home inspector would likely search that and they would insist that you had an electrician come in and fix it and they always charge more to fix your hacks than to do the work the right method in the firs place! So while the price of this stove top is very reasonable you have to also count the cost of having a fresh wire run to your stove and a fresh breaker in your panel if you can’t do that yourself. I spent a day under the house pulling the fresh wire which was rather unpleasant but I am qualified to do that. In our house I can turn the entirety of the power off to the electrical panel from the meter so it’s safe to work in there. If you’re thinking of doing this yourself and cannot completely turn off power to your breaker box (not just flip the main breaker at the top) then just don’t bother, call someone for stalling the downdraft was a true pain, as others have already noted. If I had designed a blower that would friend with no duct work I had ever seen in any house I’ve ever owned or worked in this would be it. A square output requiring an adaptor but mounted so low that there is not going to be room for an adaptor unless you specifically designed your kitchen with this stove top in mind. You or your installer will have to struggle with this but it’s dooable. Just don’t expect to have this connected on the first day without several trips to the hardware shop for you or your installer. They could have mounted the blower motor up another 6 inches before it would have hit the underside of the stove and created the plenum that much shorter, that would have created it much easier to obtain all the ductwork inside, but they didn’t and I have no idea why. Once you actually obtain it connected though the downdraft works better than our previous stove, not as 100% as a hood but I’m satisfied with that after spending an hour making custom tin pieces to create it connect with the e stove itself works great, it puts out a ton of heat, boiling water or just heating a pan as quick as the gas stoves I work with at other peoples houses. The actual using of the stove I’m completely happy the top I’m very unhappy with. They say that the glass will scratch if you drag pans on it, or do a long list of other things you’re not supposed to. They should shorten that to just “the glass will scratch” as it will. I had visible marks on mine after the very first day of using it and I was being very careful with it. Now I don’t even care anymore, just scratch so I don’t have to worry about it anymore. Getting it clean is very difficult too. Since it’s a very dark glossy surface it shows everything on it very clearly. When I clean this I wish to give it another whole polishing pass because you can’t obtain off the swirl marks any other method from whatever else you used to clean it. Even using the sample of items they sent with it it’s awful. Yes, I did a first cleaning with the proper items as the instructions say before heating it up for the first time and it’s still awful. Cleaning around the knobs is virtually impossible. You’ll be taking them off every single time, they are so close together that you can’t wipe between them when they are on and you can’t do it either once you’ve taken them off. That part of the stove will just always look to sum up ;) Stove cooks great, LOTS of heat. Difficult to install, difficult to clean and just accept that the glass will be scratched from literally day one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830SJSS 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Stove functions great. Fan connection underneath is almost impossible to connect to an existing downdraft vent. If you hook up a rectangular to round adapter to the downdraft, you only have about 9" to the bottom of a standard cabinet. I tried to leave a review on the GE site, but they deleted it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830SJSS 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    I was forced by the set up of my previous cook top (Jen-air) to purchase this one. After a failed attempt to have it installed by a company chosen by Amazon (apparently no one in my zone would do it), my husband managed to install it himself (bravo sweetheart). Took a small getting used to because my old one was such crap and this one BANGS. So far, no mars to the finish, but I'm neurotic about cleaning it properly, regardless I know it's going to obtain scratched. 3 speed vent fan is really nice to have. I really like the 2 burners in 1 feature and the "melt" and "power boil" features. Haven't used the "bridge burners" feature yet, but I like the idea. Overall, I really like this cook top.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830SJSS 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Perfect product. This was the same but a newer model replacement for our old cooktop which has been cracked by clumsy houseguests. That's the risk with any glass cooktop, but we really like the smooth and simple to clean surface. The styling perfectly matches the rest of our black and stainless steel appliances. The different sizes burners are just right for a wide dozens of food projects and the downdraft ventilation works surprisingly well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830SJSS 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Did a lot of research. In general electric cooktops are hard to hold clean and can scratch, so you just have to accept that. This one has a glass top which seems to be easier to clean than the porcelain. Still looks amazing after 3 months. Pricy...no better deals around that I could find.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830SJSS 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    It is difficult to clean but I use the recommended cleaner and buff with a microfiber cloth. Works Great!! Remember to use the cleaner before actually using it the first time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830SJSS 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Had the older model NYH and don’t recommend white ceramic cooktop speak cases they staying so easily. The black ones are much easier to clean a more forgiving. Love the sleek design and definitely looks more modern

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830SJSS 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    I was so satisfied to search this item online. Apparently, the style has been discontinued and I wanted to replace my much-loved cooktop without having to change the downdraft.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830SJSS 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    We updated our entire kitchen. I'm not a large cook. This was the excellent stove top for us. Looks sleek and contemporary in our fresh kitchen. Works great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830SJSS 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Happy with this GE cooktop... It replaced a 20 year old Jenn Aire so there was some fresh configuration required for the downdraft..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    This GE range was a replacement for a Jenn-Air CVE1400/4180/4210/4270 series downdraft for which we could no longer easily obtain parts. If you are considering the same swap, then you'll probably search challenges lining up with the existing duct-work. The needed opening is the countertop is almost identical, the GE requiring 5/8" less distance from front to back and just 1/16" less side to side. So it slips into the old aperture easily, and with sufficient overlap that there are no gaps. The outlet to the ducting is 7/8" more to the right and 1-7/16" further to the back than the Jenn-air, which isn’t much but enough to cause issues because the fan box (plenum) on the GE is considerably longer, at a distance of 6-3/8" lower than the Jenn-Air. Added to that is the need for a 10" x 3-1/4" rectangular to 6" round transition adapter, which is longer than the needed Jenn-Air 5" round to 6" round transition, all in all coming almost to the bottom of a standard cabinet, which leaves very small room to crank over toward the old r me, the ducting was by far the most difficult and time consuming part of the install. When I later noted that the Amazon price for installation is $180, I thought that it was a amazing deal. Then looking at, "What's included with service" there is no mention of the duct-work. If you choose this option I advise checking with the installer.When installing the GE range you alternate between thinking, "this was thoughtful design" to, "why didn’t they just do this to create it easier". For example, when fitting the fan box you see an apparently useless hole in the top of the range cavity but you soon realize that it happens to line up with a dimple in the fan box that together mean that the weight of the box is supported while you install the fixing screws; amazing thinking. On the other hand, the first operation is placement of an adhesive foam gasket seal around the periphery of the underside of the glass top, and while doing this you wonder why the customer has to fit this, and not GE. The electrical box is attached with 2-screws, one at the back that is really hard to obtain to and one at the front for which your screwdriver will be difficult to access should your cabinet have a central divider. There seems no amazing reason why this box could not have been retained by screws to the sides. The instructions say that the electrical box takes a ¾" conduit, but mine had a hole for a 1" conduit, which could be a nuisance if you're not e GE range itself looks very sleek on the counter and so far has operated just as advertised. There is, however, room for improvement. There is only a single light to indicate that a heated element is on, but to see which requires checking the position of each control, which on our black control knob on black surface range, isn’t that easy. There are, however, "Hot Surface Indicator Lights", one for each side that remain on after switch-off as long as the glass on that side remains hot. The indicator to present if the front left control is on front-burner only, or front-burner and bridge, is a min rectangle which is either filled or open, and is very hard to the time of writing we are scared to death of spilling anything just in case it spoils the looks forever. I think that this range's surface is going to need a lot more cleaning than that of its predecessor, just like our granite countertops and stainless steel fridge. Progress? Form over function?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    I am totally happy with the cooktop. Need to create sure the pots and pans you use lay flat on surface and within marked boundaries. Clean it daily with little amount of cleaner that comes with it so it just takes mins and looks like fresh every time. I added two 12 x 24 inch tiles on each side to rest hot pots if you don't wish meal to continue cooking while off and cooling down. The downdraft exhaust did not match up with our previous Jenn-Air cooktop so it took my husband a bit of work to line it up with existing hole with the use of a transition duct pipe you will need to purchase separately. Transition duct size is indicated in instructions. IMPORTANT: you may need to purchase a wire kit separately also mentioned in the instructions, but not mentioned on Amazon's item page. Also, it requires a 40 amp circuit.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    I'm not going to say anything various than what's already been said. The stove top heats incredibly quick and hot. It looks attractive for about a week or two. The top scratches and stains very fast, and no amount of cleaning will stop it. Still, coming from an old Jenn Aire, this is an simple 4 starsUpdate: as with a lot of here, I too had a heck of a time keeping it from marking, until today. I found some amazing products by Weiman, that actually took off a years worth of stains. The Top looks fresh again, so it’s not a faulty product. It’s e two stuff I used are “Glass cook top Hevy Duty cleaner & polish” and their cook top scrubbing pads. Seriously, it looks fresh again, so my only issue I had was the downdraft vent.I give this a solid 4 1/2 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    I would have given it five starts if it wasn't a pain to install the duct work for the fan and if it was a small easier to clean.I replaced a Jenn-Air with this e knobs are WAY stronger than the crap ones on my latest stove (which were ridiculously expensive to replace). I love that the knobs are in the middle. My latest ones were in the corners and I couldn't use my huge pan on the burners without having to move the pan slightly off to fit. However, the knobs are so close together that it's hard to obtain clean in that small space. If you're OCD like me, you will have to wipe it down for a while every night. The more you wipe the more oil smears and streaks the glass. And the glass is harder to hold clean than the Jenn-Air. A lot of elbow grease but it's attractive when it's de fan has three levels and is powerful. I have only required the lowest so so, there's a burner lock. If you have it set to on, it will sound a buzzer alarm if a burner is turned on. I'll likely never use it but perhaps a amazing feature for someone out e burners are great. Even heat, heat up beautiful fast, and the different sizes are working well with all my various husband had a fun time installing the fan because these geniuses created the duct squared instead of round like the one already under our cabinet. He had to customize it. If you're not handy create sure you obtain someone who is. It's a pain, especially if you don't have much room under the stove. You will need to create a trip (or two) to Home Depot to install the fan if your original is round.Other than that I love it. I cook 3-4 meals a day and have used it for over a week now. Since there are so few glass tops with a down draft to choose from I'm glad this one is so nice and I didn't have to settle for mediocre. Overall, very satisfied with my purchase.UPDATE:Been using this for about 3 months now. I still love the stove top for a lot of reasons: The heat levels, the size of the burners and overall function.I will add from my previous review that the fan is amazing but has a harder time with high pots (which I don't use often). And to expand on the surface of it....well, it's such a pain to hold clean and scratches so easily. If you cook at all on this, it's impossible to hold nice. Allow go of the OCD early on or it will drive you nuts every stly, when I reach down into the fan to clean it out I continually obtain chop from the screw in there. I need to cover it with something. Other than that, it's beautiful simple to clean the inside, the filter and the vent top.Overall, I really like this stove top.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Pros: Same exact counter top dimension as the 25-year-old GE Profile downdraft cook top this replaced with. Assuming that you can reuse the existing electrical wiring and venting ducts, the installation is a easy DIY ns:1) This unit does NOT come with a bracket to secure the cook top to the counter. Read the manual online and order the brackets and screws if you plan to secure the cook top to the counter from below. The default installation relies on applying thin rubber gasket around the edges of the glass cook top to keep the glass in put on top of the counter with the gravity providing the grip2) This unit has vertically longer fan module that extends about 5-6 inches lower than the old model. The impact is that you may NOT have enough zone to route the duct and you may end up having to chop into existing floor of the counter shelf. Read the installation manual online first and measure before you buy!!! I had to create some cuts into the floor board of the counter shelf and come up with a creative use of the standard 6 inch flexible venting tube.3) Supplies you should have ready: 3.25 x 10 in to 6 in transition duct (not included), standard 6 inch flexible duct, duct tape, drill , wood cutting dremel tool or something similar, power drivers to remove the old unit... and a lot of patience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    Amazing looking cooktop. Our 12 year old Jenn-air did not heat well, required fresh burners at a cost off $500. We were getting fresh counter tops so we replaced the cooktop. The fan has more power thus better air flow than the Jenn-air.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    This purchase arrived in August 2018 and when installed the fan and the surface lights did not work. I contacted GE and they said they would send a service man to fix it. Two weeks later he came but said the fan was faulty and required replacing. I wanted this especially before Thanksgiving as I have a little kitchen and cooking all that food, especially a turkey, was going to be very greasy and unpleasant without a vent fan. The promised replacement unit did not arrive. After 3 months of emails back and forth and cancelled appointments because they were unable to obtain a fresh fan unit, GE finally agreed to send a whole fresh stove top. When it arrived they arranged for their service man to come and install it. He came and he said he couldn't do the job as he didn't do installations, only repairs. So I was still without a working unit over the holiday. I had had arrangements to have my kitchen painted in late September for the holidays but of course this could not be done until the stove issue was fixed. This was all very stressful over the holiday period. I was anxious for the stove to be fully usable for Christmas when I was again going to cook a huge dinner. GE finally told me to hire somebody to do the installation and they would reimburse me for the cost, which is what I ended up doing. This was December 19th, barely in time. This whole business, which should not have been important in the first put with a brand fresh unit, took 4 months to resolve, which is unacceptable. My painting contractor cannot come till mid February and so I am further inconvenienced. There has been no apology from GE except from the employee who handled the emails and, although I have always liked their products and have all GE in my kitchen, I will not be replacing any of them with GE in future because their customer service is so poor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    So far so good. Replaced an ugly old Jenn-Air. Fit perfectly in the existing counter hole. Exhaust is very strong (important for a downdraft). Wishing the exhaust output was a 6" round, rather than a 10" rectangle. Gotta obtain an adapter ove heats up in an instant! So fast. Have to rethink my cooking process now since I don't have to wait for the old Jenn-Air to heat up. Instant heat.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    GE PP9830DJBB 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Cooktop with 4 Burners, 3-Speed Downdraft Exhaust System, 9"/6 Inch Power Boil, Bridge Element and review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:34

    This is a replacement for our old GE profile cooktop. But the existing ductwork didn't work with this one. Amazon installation service doesn't contain making the duct work. The cooktop under parts are much lower, after attaching the transition duct as manual suggests, it only leaves a few inches to the bottom of the cabinet and there is no method to connect any other duct to it. Amazing thing, Lowes has 90 degree turn stack hood and 6" semi rigid flexible duct, so it works.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter