Read geldof in africa reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all geldof in africa reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    All in 1 Africa [App]  2018-11-18 13:10

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa []  2020-2-12 19:12

    This is a classic. Well worth reading. The transcription to eBook format was poorly done which created it difficut to read at times. Titles of chapters or subchapters were mixed in with the regular text, formatting was very poorly done with no indentation of paragraphs or other normal standards of printing. Still, it was worth getting and reading. Akeley is a remarkable man who lived an wonderful life. It is too poor that the book is now in the public domain and does not have a copyright to protect it and insure that it gets the appropriate respect it deserves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa []  2020-2-12 19:12

    The packing is good. It's amazing on the whole.

    0  


    Add your opinion on geldof in africa or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    AMAZING! My son and I absolutely enjoyed this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Africa []  2020-1-25 17:37

    I ordered two copies for bonuses and one for myself to share. For the travler on the street or simply in life, that understands that often things are beyond our control but that does not have to be a poor thing. A mini vacation for an older travler on a Montana winter night, making longing for the next adventure somehow more appealing and a plesant method to drift off for the evening, quiet and safe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa (1920) []  2020-12-27 18:58

    Not an simple read due to the stilted language of the time. But the man was very brave and very talented - a real innovator in the art of taxidermy. I had read other accounts of his adventures and most notably his near-death encounters with elephants and leopards. Hearing the info from him was especially interesting. Glad I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa (1920) []  2020-12-27 18:58

    The packing is good. It's amazing on the whole.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    This is a unbelievable book to introduce a child to the various cultures

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    Follow small David around on his typical day in South Africa and learn about his country's history, culture, and favorite past-times.Another amazing one from Living in... Unbelievable intro to the people and culture of South Africa. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa []  2020-2-12 19:12

    Amazing addition to any hunter's collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa []  2020-2-12 19:12

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa []  2020-2-12 19:12

    Amazing read, want there were more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Africa []  2020-1-25 17:37

    Very engaging book about all that is ordinary yet extraordinary in what to a lot of readers may initially seem exotic places.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Africa []  2020-1-25 17:37

    After reading Adventures in Africa, we think that this book was not the best book ever. We thought that it was rather dull throughout almost the whole book. One reason that we might have thought that it was dull is because, the book is written like a journal. We haven't ever read a book written like a journal before, and I don't like that style of writing. That could have had an impact on us not liking the book, or just simply because we didn't like the method it was written. Also, the story line was not too interesting. Each journal that he would write each day would just tell about what he did that day. It is like reading a book about a person that sits at home all day. The main hero was a tourist in Africa, and would meet fresh people and travel to various places. Most of the day's he would do the same thing. We found this book to be very repetitive, and we search that beautiful boring about books. He would always tell about how he would go to this river and watch all the people bathe. He would do that daily for a long period of time, and it just got old. After that he would go to a cliff and climb it everyday. Most days though, he would take a tour bus somewhere. While he was in Africa he created a lot of friends, sometimes it was hard to hold them straight. His mate Jean, was his best friend, they went almost everywhere together. This book isn't the best book, and we wouldn't recommend it unless you like to read other peoples' journals. We just didn't search it interesting at all. It didn't grab my attention or create me actually wish to read the book. The only reason why we read it was because we had to for a grade.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Brightest Africa []  2020-8-24 19:11

    I truly enjoyed this book and felt like I was traveling with Joan and her sons and experiencing all those adventures with them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa (1920) []  2020-12-27 18:58

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    Unbelievable bonuses for mates who are South African for their children/grandchildren!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa []  2020-2-12 19:12

    Not an simple read due to the stilted language of the time. But the man was very brave and very talented - a real innovator in the art of taxidermy. I had read other accounts of his adventures and most notably his near-death encounters with elephants and leopards. Hearing the info from him was especially interesting. Glad I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa []  2020-2-12 19:12

    Perfect book. Amazing stories on "Old Africa".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Brightest Africa []  2020-8-24 19:11

    Joan is a long-time mate of mine, and I knew that she had created this trip to Africa decades before, so I was thrilled to see this book in print at last. The adventurous Joan that I know today was even more so in her younger years, as this book makes clear. She is now -- and was then -- open-minded and open-hearted, and it shows. Throughout this story, Joan shows a willingness to take chances and an ability to adjust to the realities she found wherever they went. She created things like renting an apartment, buying, driving, and dealing with the frequent issues of a used vehicle in a hostile physical environment, and doing most unusual and unexpected volunteer work, all while living within a very strict (half-pay!) sabbatical budget -- fascinating. I actually found it a true page-turner, and I read it in only 4 days. From the title -- which spins tales of "darkest Africa" on their heads -- we travel along with Joan and her two teen-aged sons on a lot of adventures which occur as they're just trying to live their lives on a continent unknown to them, sometimes with all of them together and sometimes Joan and the boys separately, on their own. Joan even finds romance. Several times! As a travel writer myself, I appreciated her style, her honesty, and her attention to those unbelievable telling details, and admired, over and over, her spunk. As I read, more than once I wished for maps of the locations they were traveling to or through. I also would have liked to see a lot of more photos, perhaps sprinkled throughout the text in appropriate locations rather than grouped together in the back. Joan bemoans the fairly-frequent typos which resulted from a misunderstanding of the process leading to publication (she thought she'd have one more possibility to create corrections). But none of these detract seriously from a cracking amazing memoir of a unique time in Joan's life and that of her sons. It changed their lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa (1920) []  2020-12-27 18:58

    Amazing addition to any hunter's collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa (1920) []  2020-12-27 18:58

    The book by Carl Akeley was an perfect description of his ventures in East Africa. He worked with T. Roosevelt and knew Martin and Osa Johnson (Photographers)and was probably the world's leading taxidermist of his time. A very amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    These books are simply amazing. My daughter is absolutely addicted. We are planning to order EVERY book in this series! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa []  2020-2-12 19:12

    The book by Carl Akeley was an perfect description of his ventures in East Africa. He worked with T. Roosevelt and knew Martin and Osa Johnson (Photographers)and was probably the world's leading taxidermist of his time. A very amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Africa []  2020-1-25 17:37

    In 1997, Gianni Celati, well-known Italian literary figure since the nineteen sixties and author of fiction, essays and translations, embarked on a journey into West Africa, accompanied by his friend, the movie maker Jean Talon, with the intention to research the work of the traditional Dogon healers, based in the Malian "Centre for Traditional Medicine" in Bandiagara. Traveling unaccompanied into a globe they did not know much about, not able to communicate except in the lingua franca of the educated, French, they negotiated their method through the country with local people for transport, tutorials and accommodation. It is as Celati confesses "a comedy of errors, delays, misinformation, and wandering about, as contacts are unfindable, means of transportation are unreliable, and complications arise at every turn". Celati's observations and musings have been published as "Adventures in Africa", based on a series of notebooks (nine altogether) that he kept like a travelogue during the trip that took them beyond Mali also to Senegal and across the border to took me quite a while to obtain into the spirit of Celati's writing: jottings also in terms of unfinished sentences and thoughts... much is left to our own knowledge or imagination. His description of everyday info of their first days of wandering through Bamako, Mali's capital, and traveling to other cities en route to Bandiagara, the centre of the Dogon region, can be anything from tedious to repetitive to slightly funny and ironical. Only when they finally reach their intended destination do the short info snippets unfurl into a more comprehensive acc of their experiences and encounters. Even then, Celati is more concerned with his "stinginess" and his frustrations with the people around him than much else. Still, amidst all these ramblings we can detect gems of observational clarity, astute depiction of individuals and their demeanour in their Dogon context. While the original objective of the trip, to prepare for a doentary on the Dogon healer, does appear to become questionable, the visit itself is extended beyond Mali's borders. Eventually Celati relaxes into the local rhythms and attitudes that create him feel closer to the locals than to the other tourists they encounter... and he has unbelievable comments about those as well as the would-be experts expats and anthropologists. Celati gives a detailed caricature of the "tourist", somebody innocently bumbling along in a foreign environment where he perceives everybody as a kind of trader, "starting with less than ten years old". He also gives himself the aura of the "writer on vacation", writing in more or less hospitable surroundings, losing himself in the colours and atmosphere of the locale, losing his sense of time...While I found "Adventures in Africa" overall, despite its weaknesses spelled out above, a worthwhile read, I cannot really recommend it highly to readers who are not already familiar with this region of Africa, unless they are willing to undertake much background research themselves first. Other than the interesting introduction by Rebecca West into Celati's writing history and some context for the book, the reader is left very much to his own devices to follow the itinerary, put the towns and villages, visualize the people and landscapes. There are no maps, no explanation of local terms, no background info to historical and socio-political context, no photos of what the book is describing. [Friederike Knabe]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa (1920) []  2020-12-27 18:58

    Hold in mind that when this was written, societal values and expectations were a lot different. Some passages will be upsetting to modern readers. Perspectives have changed. And for the this as an historical work and look into a various time and a various place. Things are no longer the same and we will not return to that time period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa (1920) []  2020-12-27 18:58

    Perfect book. Amazing stories on "Old Africa".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Africa []  2020-1-25 17:37

    Maybe there are two ways of writing about travel. First, you write about startling things or things that other people normally might not notice. Second,you show a somewhat ordinary globe but you do so in high-flown prose that---because of the quality of the writing---carries the reader along no matter what. This journalistic travel book seems one that a publisher might have picked up ONLY because the writer is well known. It is neither well written nor particularly acute in what it sees and reports. Too often there is a grim habit of stereotype, and always there is a languid sense of a prose style that suggests small more than some jottings in a loose-leaf along the way. A Graham Greene brings heart, keen perception, and inspiration to his "Journey without Maps" into Africa, and may other writers encounter people who remain in your mind. Celati just putters along.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    I bought two children's books on South Africa this month and both were great! I pre-ordered this one got it on its released date, which is always awesome. "Living in...South Africa" is amazing for teaching early learners about the people and history of South Africa. It's beautiful informative, but not so much that it would go over a child's head. It reads more like a teaching tool than a bedtime story, but that's amazing for families who travel a lot or for parents who just wish to teach their kids about another country and culture. The other title, which I'd also recommend, is about a small girl named Keesha and her two moms who go on a 7-day South African Adventure. Both of these books would create perfect additions to any library. Recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    This series is amazing. We ordered through Scholastic at school. My 7 yr is totally hooked on to this series. Who knew South Africa has 3 capitals? Now I do, Thanks to reading this book with my son. The best part is I have learnt so a lot of fresh things by reading this series with him. This series is a amazing bonus option for 7/8 yr olds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    This book is absolutely gorgeous! As a South African living in the US, I really wanted to search a amazing selection of books relating to South Africa for my 6 year old daughter. This book does not disappoint! A++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Brightest Africa []  2020-8-24 19:11

    I loved the thoughtful and balanced perspective of living in Africa. The adventures were incredible. This book created me extremely envious and feeling like I have done far too small traveling. A very inspiring book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa (1920) []  2020-12-27 18:58

    This is a classic. Well worth reading. The transcription to eBook format was poorly done which created it difficut to read at times. Titles of chapters or subchapters were mixed in with the regular text, formatting was very poorly done with no indentation of paragraphs or other normal standards of printing. Still, it was worth getting and reading. Akeley is a remarkable man who lived an wonderful life. It is too poor that the book is now in the public domain and does not have a copyright to protect it and insure that it gets the appropriate respect it deserves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa (1920) []  2020-12-27 18:58

    Amazing read, want there were more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hunter's Wanderings in Africa []  2020-6-18 19:15

    Rugged tale of a hunting safari as it must have been in days before motorized transportation or modern amenities. For those among us who thrive on such stories. In a various class than the adventures of Robert Ruark or those who came later. Ernest Hemingway adventures are like a walk in the park when place up versus the adventures of the people and their hardships experienced in this tale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hunter's Wanderings in Africa []  2020-6-18 19:15

    Selous' use of language comes from a various era, may seem. bit odd to modern readers. However his recounting of the early days of hunting in Africa is outstanding. Bunny huggers may be aghast at the number of animals taken, but again, it was a various time. His descriptions of the land and the android game are superb, his accomplishments legendary. This largely lays out the reasons why there is a reserve named after him. Highly recommended for all hunters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Heart of Africa []  2020-12-11 19:6

    Perfect read from a bygone era. If you look at the authors mindset as described by him it will give you an idea of how men thought of their abilities during that era though no man is immune from conquer or death.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Agricultural Prosperity in Dry Africa []  2020-5-27 18:18

    Perfect book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Religion and AIDS in Africa []  2020-1-26 20:1

    Amazing book! Really opened my eyes to the aids epidemic in Africa. It's astonishing to see that these countries are so far behind from the rest of the globe when it comes to AIDS education and help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hunter's Wanderings in Africa []  2020-6-18 19:15

    The book started slow for me but in short order I realized the author was a man of wonderful vigor as well as honesty. His observations given in his day to day style of the journal will give you an astonishingly informative acc of Africa's huge android game animals as well as a lot of of it's tribes. Mr. Selous frequently goes versus statements created by people who obviously either did not have his experience or were attempting to be dramatic to the point that their credibility suffers. He dispels a lot of myths about some of Africas huge android game animals. He lays out in a very matter of fact manner the hardships faced by people in this zone in both finding water as well as securing food. He had a very unbigoted view of the people for his time and felt sorry for the amount of slavery that went on during his years hunting in Africa. I found him to be obviously a wirey framed man as tough as leather. He frequently hunted on foot, especially for elephant and would walk days and days as well as running frequently to chop them off. He was hunting with black powder rifles for most of his experiences which any hunter knows makes for an even more challenging hunt versus the size and speed of the animals he hunted. He cuts out portions of his notes which he felt were of no interest but his factual acc is an understated journal of a true man hunting huge android game in the 1870's and early 80's in Africa. i highly recommend the book to anyone who enjoys hunting and would like to understand the Africa of the 1870's it's beauty, dangers, and challenges.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hunter's Wanderings in Africa []  2020-6-18 19:15

    While a bit "tedious" of continual shooting of African wildlife, this book did exemplify the time period and what hunting was. Too poor the "big tusker" elephants and their subsequent genes have been mostly removed. Sub Sahara Africa has had large changes in population growth,politics, and land use over the latest 100+ years, since the time of hunters like Selous. He definitely lived at a tough yet exciting time for hunting African wildlife. This book graphically shows this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Safaris in Africa []  2020-1-17 22:43

    A very cursory overview of safari locations in Africa. Totally useless for my planned trip to Kenya, so I've deleted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paranda: Africa in Central America []  2020-10-4 19:41

    Somehow I was drawn to this CD. Fascinated with the idea of finding a CD in Tucson titled Paranda, I turned it over only to search that a few of the artists were familiar names: Junior Aranda, Paul Nabor, and of course, Andy Palacio. I have always been a fan of paranda music, and this CD has certainly not been disappointing. As a matter of fact, it has exceeded my a Belizean Garifuna, I am especially impressed with this album. It represents a major step in the preservation of traditional Garifuna music. The melding of so a lot of paranda artists from Garifuna enclaves in Central America speaks of the close ties amongst Garinagu regardless of where thy are, and at the same time showcases the range and dozens of paranda melody even as it spans randa melody is immensely danceable. And so is this album. Every song on this CD commands the feet to move. Unlike the obvious lustiness of the voluptuous punta and the traditional dignity of the hunguhungu, there is a subtle iness to paranda. The songs in Paranda: Africa in Central America have this quality, and it becomes difficult to restrain oneself from dancing as one listens to the niece, Renee, and I were mesmerized the first time we listened to this CD. We immediately liked every song, but our instant favorite was the duet by Aurelio Martinez and Andy Palacio, Lanarime Lamiselu. The powerful solos at the beginning, enhanced by occasional guitar strums, bring out the power of the ere is much dozens in the album, Paranda: Africa in Central America. Whilst maintaining the rhythms and acoustic guitar strums typical of paranda music, the songs vary from the traditional Fuyra, Gabbaga, and Nabor songs to the modern and almost experimental (to my ear)Aurelio Martinez songs. The dozens also can be heard in the lyrics. Paranda lyrics typically are stories of life, love, and death; these subjects are ably represented in this album. The Latinos have their corridos, the American southerners have country music, and the Garinagu have paranda. The lyrics maybe sad yet derisive, but the melody invites you to dance your troubles away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paranda: Africa in Central America []  2020-10-4 19:41

    I'll always treasure this CD as a reminder of my time with the Garifuna in Hopkins Village, Belize. You just can't stop dancing when you listen to it :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Heart of Africa []  2020-12-11 19:6

    This book is a unbelievable adventure story. It is especially pertinent regarding northern Africa's current political climate. Unfortunately this print of the book has a lot of glaring typos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Heart of Africa []  2020-12-11 19:6

    Lot of amazing historical info on Africa and the creatures both two legged and four that lived there(and unfortunately still do).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Agricultural Prosperity in Dry Africa []  2020-5-27 18:18

    A must read for anyone involved in development work in Africa or elsewhere. It's not just about agriculture but just as importantly, includes a lot of challenging thoughts and critiques about international aid and the organizations that do it. This is a true eye-opener from a respected expert who has "won his stripes" in the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hunter's Wanderings in Africa []  2020-6-18 19:15

    Mr. Selous was a remarkable man in a lot of respects and to read his own accounts of his journeys in South Africa is an extra treat. It was wonderful how he survived his a lot of adventures as a hunter in the wilds of Africa in the late 1870's; lions, buffalo, elephant, days without meal or water, malaria, tribal conflicts, days/nights alone in the wilderness with wild creatures, etc. lous also takes time to identify the various animals in Africa and describe their identifying features. What saddens me is that even he describes different animals becoming more and more extinct due to hunting in different areas of Africa and this is back in 1874. Descriptions of killing entire herds of elephants just for their tusks is also hard to comprehend though that is how he created his adventurous living. I read his biography first but also enjoyed his own private accounts of the life of an African hunter in the late 1800's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hunter's Wanderings in Africa []  2020-6-18 19:15

    I am enthralled by the exploits of the early huge android game hunters. I found although their lives were filled with deprivation and hardship they appear to have loved what they did. I was surprised at the amount of android game killed for food. I cringed at the number of animals wounded and lost. It would shame today's ethical hunter. I have always equated Africa with teaming plains of android game yet in the 1870s when Selous wrote they often had issues finding game, especially elephants. Much of the android game was very spooky and hard to approach. This is not a high adventure novel of fiction but rather a day by day narrative of the trials and triumphs of a man looking to create his fortune harvesting ivory. For anyone looking to experience "The amazing old days " this is a amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paranda: Africa in Central America []  2020-10-4 19:41

    I'm a very huge fan of Garifuna melody especially paranda, this album is a must have. I would recommend this album for the whole family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Heart of Africa []  2020-12-11 19:6

    I like the method "heart of Africa" has become both adescription of the darkness of a largely unknown partof our world and an opening into the fears and wantsof people who live their lives within the tribes andregions they were born into.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hunter's Wanderings in Africa []  2020-6-18 19:15

    There was nothing I disliked. The book -- best I've read -- is about the author's huge android game hunting experiences, of which he had plenty back in the mid-1800s. He led a lot of safaris over a lot of years (with an entourage of African natives, of course) and did hunting on his own or with one or two fellow hunters (and a few natives) sometimes . I have read a lot of of the books by African huge android game hunters, and this was by far my favorite. Why? Because of the sheer volume of experiences the author had, because he started so young (17 or 18?) and did this for a lot of years, and because he was BELIEVABLE. He told about his successes AND his failures and did not hesitate to attribute some of his successes to luck. He had a number of narrow escapes, but he wasn't experiencing a narrow escape every minute, as in the accounts of some writers. He said (but didn't harp on this) that a lot of hunters who have written of their experiences have exaggerated. With his long experience, the writer was able to share a lot of interesting facts he learned about the game, both huge android game and small. He shot and killed an awesome number of elephants, but this was back in the days when there was no shortage of huge game, and everyone was killing elephants for their ivory tusks. He would move from zone to zone with wagons and oxen and an entourage of about a hundred African natives helping. He had to provide meal for them from the android game he killed, so it was not that animals were wasted ALL the time in the quest for tusks, heads and skins, although this did happen frequently. The best of the natives were skilled at various tasks: gunbearer, tracking, cooking, removing tusks, skinning an animal, etc. Some were lazy and some industrious. He brought back a lot of trophies, some going to the British Museum. He shot fewer lions than elephants because, of course, he was primarily after ivory, and in the parts of Africa he hunted, there were more elephants. He explains about the huge android game animals charging -- elephants, lions, rhinos, buffalos and sometimes hippos -- and says they more often than not do not really intend to slay the sportsman, but are either bluffing or they charge off simply from being in shock from being struck by a bullet or hearing the gunshot. He says that writers often exaggerate the risky situations they have been in. He and his natives almost starved to death in a remote part of central Africa with no friendly natives, 500 miles away from any friendly aid. The writer often hunted on horseback but usually got off the horse so his aim would be truer. The firearms they had then were very inferior to what was developed later. In the heaviest-duty firearm he used for elephants he had to pour powder into the weapon, and it was amazing for only one shot at a time, so the gunbearer had to be ready quickly with a loaded second weapon. This is a GREAT book for yourself or as a gift. I don't think you can beat it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hunter's Wanderings in Africa []  2020-6-18 19:15

    Very enjoyable and interesting read by one of Africa's greatest. I had read about Frederick in other books about hunting elephant. It is really interesting from first person. He was not only a amazing hunter, but astute naturalist. If you like huge android game hunting, you will really have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Heart of Africa []  2020-12-11 19:6

    Samuel White Baker is perhaps overlooked in the modern age but in his time he was popular for his huge android game hunting and African exploration. Champion of the Royal Geographical Society Gold Medal and discoverer of the Murchison Falls and Lake Albert this book info his exploits. His no less remarkable wife Florence Baker also plays a key role in this gripping adventure. A must -have for anyone interested in 19th century African exploration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Heart of Africa []  2020-12-11 19:6

    I tried VERY hard to take this book in it's context----- a truthful acc of what was considered 'normal' at that time in Africa------the wanton slaughter of huge android game plus the attitude shown towards the native r people who can read the book as history then it's a fair account. I just couldn't and had to stop part method through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Safaris in Africa []  2020-1-17 22:43

    This tutorial briefly info some 24 of "The Best Safaris in Africa."As mentioned above I am only a armchair traveller.I have heard of a number of the websites mentioned, some in detail , some e websites are in East Africa, Central Africa and Southern Africa along with MadagasarThis tutorial introduces the websites in alphabetic order.If briefly describes the website and how huge it is, and what you are likely to in the method of rds and other objects of interestIt mentions 4by 4 drives, River tours and other water tours and aircraft e are entails on weather ( wet and dray season.)Some brief info on accommodation are givenIt has a amazing set of photos, nothing out of the ordinary, but amazing to seeFrom the author's description you may be able to narrow down where you wish to go and when. His descriptions give you a feel for what you are likely to see in each of the 24 selected me offer fairly related viewing in terms of animals etc but if you are after say Gorillas then the choice is small.He mentions at times is permits are required and whether you need to obtain them mmaryIt depends on what you wish to see. In a number of locations you can see a lot of species of animal, in others you may mainly see elephants or some other species..There is no map and no index and from memory you have to hold turning the pages till you search what you are after.-- this is a short book.I for one learn a lot for reading is worth considering if you are planning on going on Safari.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hunter's Wanderings in Africa []  2020-6-18 19:15

    This manuscript explores the arrival of one of the most popular figures in African History in South Africa. We don't know much about his origins in England but his amazing passion to reach Africa, the Dark Continent and to hunt and learn about the African Elephant and all the other android game animals is totally interesting to me.I have read about Selous in other books concerned with the historical importance he had upon the history, and development of countries north of the South African Republic. But to me I am especially interested in his life in the early days of the south end of Africa. He seems to have had the luck to survive his inexperience in the wilderness and to learn quickly how to create a living by hunting for his own survival, how to trade with the tribes of the zone and how to avoid death from risky elephants, venomous reptiles, lions, diseases and how to avoid conflicts with the indigenous African peoples. His was a wild and successful life for a young man from England.He had support from native peoples, other elegant hunters and peoples of a lot of nations who had immigrated to the southern hint of the continent in order to survive the African wilderness. I will post more reviews of his book as I read along. Please join me for future additions to this review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hunter's Wanderings in Africa []  2020-6-18 19:15

    I'm a amazing fan of the historic contributions that huge android game hunting in Africa has had on wildlife preservation and focus. However, after reading the first 8 or 9 chapters, this writing became dull, repetative and uninteresting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Religion and AIDS in Africa []  2020-1-26 20:1

    If you are interested in religion and/or AIDS and/or sub-Saharan Africa, you should probably read this book.If you think African religion and AIDS don't matter to churches, Religion and AIDS in Africa may challenge you to think again. It provides one of the best empirical investigations of practical theology (how what people believe affects everyday life) I have seen and it will challenge you to think more carefully about the importance of everything you say and gardless of your own religion (or lack thereof), I challenge you to read it without coming away believing that religion is somehow critical in the mess of HIV/AIDS in contemporary Africa. Not only that, it is never preachy or didactic, presenting the data in a compelling manner without making blanket statements about what is right or wrong or even trying to guilt the reader into e layout is straightforward: after a few chapters of introduction and background for the AIDS crisis and international response in sub-Saharan Africa, the authors begin into explorations of nearly every conceivable means religion might play a role in the spread, care, or social meaning of HIV and AIDS. In the process, Trinitapoli and Weinreb draw on a unbelievable array of high-quality data regarding every country in sub-Saharan Africa, enriched by rich historical research, interviews, and even sermon transcripts collected both in their Malawi study and throughout Africa. Finally, the authors create an unusual claim, at least coming from demographers: HIV and AIDS are changing the churches in turn. In every chapter, the reasoning is compelling, the facts are clear, and the authors are forthright about the limits on what they can reasonably e book is strong and well worth reading, both for social scientists and religious leaders, for one basic reason: it challenges us to think carefully about the processes that actually create up social and religious life, how they impact people, how they impact the ways we understand religion, and how we can start to understand them in their attractive complexity. Mixed methods studies can at times suffer from split personalities and end up lopsided or mediocre. This study, however, demonstrates the power and necessity of an all of the above approach in tackling tough, necessary questions with true implications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Heart of Africa []  2020-12-11 19:6

    I like real life adventure stories and historical accounts but I had a small problem with this one. Maybe I'm just not into the amazing white hunter stories, much of the early parts of this book were dedicated to hunting different animals, but the latter part of the book picked up steam. Baker's dealing with the natives and the eventual reaching of his goal paints Baker as a likable and amazing man who was also a clever and shrewd adventurer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Heart of Africa []  2020-12-11 19:6

    "The Sun Never Sets on the British Empire". At least not in the time period Baker was living large. This book is very old school, refreshingly politically incorrect and a marvelous read. Be prepared for colonialism, graphic hunting stories, and life as it was back in the days before the globe was torn apart by wars. If you are a fan of revisionist history this book is probably not for you. But if you wish to read and learn about what life was really like then this is amazing put to search it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Heart of Africa []  2020-12-11 19:6

    It's awesome how people went to all kind of troubles in pouchase of a goal. You don't search that kind of people in this times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Heart of Africa []  2020-12-11 19:6

    Thought it was too wordy..did not keep my intrest. .dropped from my kindle

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    AFRICA CD is a terrific collections of songs. We love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    Amazing CD, I grew up listening to this melody when my parents told me we were moving to Africa. They weren't kidding, and we eventually did, but this CD was certainly my absolute favorite first experience of African om upbeat bongo to slower more peaceful rhythms of life, this album is about as close to the continent as you can obtain without actually traveling there. Putamayo puts a great, true-to-life-Africa collection so recommend the album "Bongo Flava" if you like true upbeat East African hip-hop/rap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    This album is a amazing one if you place it with others like it and place your collection on "shuffle" while you are working around the house. It's fun to dance to, and there is a amazing mix of various kinds of African melody here. Les 4 Etoiles "Doly" sounds like Tabu Ley, and Oliver Mtukudzi's "Adumi Ndapedza" is beautiful much a amazing representation of his overall sound, even though it's not my favorite song by him. Diaou Kouyate's "Gafale" grows on you, and I search myself humming the tune sometimes because it's catchy. Johnny Klegg has a song on here, as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    "Africa" was one of the first globe melody CD's I bought - I was involved in a present which included African and African-influenced melody and I wanted to do some first hand audio research. This CD is just amazing! One of the things which immediately struck me was the attractive and distinctive guitar work on a lot of of the tracks, particularly those by Oliver Mtukudzi, Habib Koite, and Les 4 Etoiles. Other noteworthy instrumental work contains the B-3 organ intro on the Soul Brothers' "Thandaza", and the accordion featured in Sam Mangwana's "Ya Mbemba". There are also soul-stirring vocals featuring gorgeous harmonies (like Oom's "Anoma") and alternating call-and-response type melodies, and best of all, a wide dozens of really cool grooves - each track has its own special flavor. My favorites are Johnny Clegg and Juluka's "Love Is Just A Dream", Samba Ngo's "Sa Ntima" and Ricardo Lemvo's "Manuela", but really, there isn't one track here I don't love - five years after buying this CD it's still one of my favorites! I have since gone on to buy more CD's by several of the artists featured here, as well as by other African artists. I've also bought a lot of of Putumayo's other compilations, which all serve as amazing introductions to a dozens of artists as well as to a lot of types of globe music. By all means I recommend buying "Africa" - you won't regret it, but I warn you, you won't stop here :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    Product came as expected. Very satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    I like it. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    Attractive party music. Throw it on with a lot of other CD's for sophisticated background music, or whole house melody while you are cleaning the house. Gets you going

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    Satisfied music, amazing rhythms--great to listen to while driving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Art in Africa: Second Edition []  2020-1-17 23:33

    worked for I needed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Art in Africa: Second Edition []  2020-1-17 23:33

    this book I bought for school it is very interesting I love how every culture has its own art and its history is fascinating

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Masked Rider: Cycling in West Africa []  2020-1-16 18:44

    This was Neil's first book, written several years before his next one (and which I'd read first, "Ghost Rider"), and provides a flashback that shows a bit of the person that Neil was. Set in the context of his cycling trip through West Africa (Cameroon), you obtain to see some of the country and people from a much more interesting and in-depth vantage. No tour [email protected]#$%!&?ing all the tourist traps and staying at hotel with all the modern amenities, the little group cycles through the countryside and spends the night at villages along the way. You obtain a glimpse into the lives of the people there, but it's also a somewhat superficial one, as the language barriers (Neil doesn't speak French fluently, and most of the Cameroonians don't speak English beyond a few words or phrases they've picked up) prevent much in the method of e cycling group also never seems to gel, the disparate personalities hold them from being anything more than temporary travelling companions. I would love to read a related book about other trips that he's taken, where he develops more of a relationship with his companions just to see how things differed. Neil recognizes how he does contribute to the overall stand-in she's of the group, but as he travels and comes to have epiphanies about their different personalities, it doesn't seem to create much impact in how he similar to them. He mentions Steinbeck's quote about allowing others to support you here as well, but "Ghost Rider" also never has long-term travelling companions like he does here, so it's not clear if he's changed much in that regard.He's beautiful frank about the challenges and day-to-day problems with the trip, including bouts with the local microbiota, and while a trip like this is (sadly) probably never in the cards for me for several reasons, it did remind me of some half-formed plans to spend the turn of the century on safari with my best friend. We never did that, but graduation for my oldest is approaching, and maybe in a few years I can convince my wife that this would create a amazing bonus for her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Masked Rider: Cycling in West Africa []  2020-1-16 18:44

    I'm a Rush fan and relate to Neil Peart after reading his first book "Ghost Rider", which I also recommend. I wasn't sure how I would feel about this one, but it turns out I found it quite enjoyable. It's not for everyone. Some might search it repetitive, but I have fun Neils prose and am amazed sometimes at how descriptive he is of locations he visits while bike riding (I'm assuming he didn't sit down and write this every stop). His adventures are interesting and eye opening. I didn't envy his journey as I did his journeys in Ghost rider....totally various concept and experience. One of comfort and wandering and one of grueling, somewhat risky and uncomfortable settings.If you enjoyed his other books, you will like this one too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born for Life: Midwife in Africa []  2020-1-20 0:12

    I received this book from the author, Julie Watson, as an Advanced Review Copy in return for an honest review. I was sent it because of my connection with Africa, so I will admit I was already pre-disposed to have fun it. However, I was more than just fascinated by this acc of the author's five months volunteering as a midwife at a remote mission hospital in Zambia. What an awesome experience and what a marvellous thing she and her husband did by going to Kalene hospital in northern Zambia as self-funded volunteers. I have large respect for people who create this kind of commitment. It must have taken immense courage to step out of their comfort location and into a situation where they had none of the trappings of 'normal' life and then had to cope with so a lot of life and death r anyone who has some medical knowledge and is interested in how women give birth and cope in rural Africa, it is a fascinating read and a testament to the courage of African women. There is quite a bit of medical terminology, which is explained in a glossary at the end of the book. There is also a lot of repetition, but that's the nature of the job. However, there are some interesting glimpses of life in the surrounding villages and the couple's social life as volunteers. That said, most of the book is focused on the women, babies and medical staff at the maternity ter reading it, I am convinced this is a very necessary book as it records so much about what happens at a mission hospital and the conditions of pregnant women in Africa. I don't personally know of another memoir that deals with this specific situation. Although it didn't tell me as much about that part of Zambia as I'd hoped, it told me much more about the issues faced by the courageous, warm-hearted African women and the loving commitment of those who volunteer to support them. Hats off, Julie Watson. I want you much success with this book and I am sure you will have it. It will be well deserved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born for Life: Midwife in Africa []  2020-1-20 0:12

    The generous spirit of Julie Watson permeates this fascinating memoir from beginning to end.With a desire to place her skills in nursing and midwifery to amazing use, the author and her mechanic and Jack-of-all-trades husband Barry, leave the home comforts of Fresh Zealand to volunteer their services in the isolated Kalene Mission hospital in rural Zambia.With directness, clarity and enthralling detail, Julie Watson captures the challenges of working in a hospital that serves a vast zone that lacks most of what she was used to enjoying as normal services back this modest account, the author brings her part of Africa with all its beauty and its inelegance, its joys and its sorrows alive in brilliant colour before our eyes.Her book left me with a profound admiration for those, the salt of the Earth, who dedicate their lives or even a part of their lives to helping others in need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Eritrea - A Volunteer in East Africa []  2020-4-19 18:51

    Commendably entertaining and informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    This book written by African hunter and naturalist FC Selous prior to 1900 and describes his numerous encounters with wild lions. It is written in first person and reads lous describes several encounters with the lions and notes that as far back as the 1890's, the lions were becoming noticeably fewer from over hunting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    As advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    Amazing overview of South Africa. I bought the kindle edition, and felt the length and style of this book were excellent for the kindle format. I would read other books in this series. Reading this won't create you an expert on South Africa but will give you enough context to be able to dive deeper into other books.I bought this to support me write a paper on South Africa history, and felt it was worth the investment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    Short and crisp. Just a dip into the history of SA after the first Dutch colonists arrived till the abolition of apartheid and formation of the republic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    Unbelievable fast summary to read on the plane en route. Very clear and simple to understand

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    28: Stories of AIDS in Africa []  2020-2-4 2:36

    It sounds weird to say it, but I couldn't place this book down. All the stories are so compelling and so well-written. Nolen doesn't tell one story over and over, but tells a lot of stories using very diverse people. Her courage is obvious: she hung out with a long-haul trucker, a worker, and people with AIDS who had only days left to live. I was especially intrigued by the stories of the infected ones who became strong advocates. What this book left me with wasn't the sense that "these people are pathetic victims we richer folk need to help," but that these are resilient, strong, interesting human beings suffering a horrid situation with small or no resources, and we should support them support themselves. As a journalist, I'm in awe of Stephanie Nolen in every respect. As a reader, I'm compelled to respond. I highly recommend the similar website, [...], where you can read about each of the 28 briefly, and see a video interview of several. The www service and book both give a lot of ideas for how you can help. Begin by reading a book that could change your life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    28: Stories of AIDS in Africa []  2020-2-4 2:36

    Wonderfully written to create you wish to do simething about AIDS in the world. The individual stories really bring out the different, yet related cause for the vast spread of AIDS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerrycan: An Overland Adventure in Africa []  2020-7-1 19:26

    A various kind of Africa story. Well worth reading! Love it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Whites in South Africa []  2020-7-6 19:17

    I found myself surprisingly swept away by the political paradox of South Africa's shark industry. What I thought was to be a sweet memoir turned into a fascinating "behind-the-scenes" tale of life and death, and the thrill of the chase for the almighty tourism dollar. And who pays that price...the "Great Whites," and the sardonic author with adrenaline fueled dreams.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Whites in South Africa []  2020-7-6 19:17

    Okay, I'll admit that I share with this author a powerful bias toward the attractive and unjustly maligned shark, but for anyone at all this long essay would be revelatory and deeply moving. Kirk does a unbelievable job of evoking not only his own lifelong fascination with the shark, but comments at the same time on the evolving situation in South Africa. It's a really fine piece of work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Missionary Travels and Researches in South Africa []  2020-7-17 20:23

    This book is a classic. Written both eloquently and heart-felt, David Livingstone has taken us back in time to a more noble and virtuous era, when working with the natives of Africa was positive and encouraging for both Christian missionaries and native tribes. I did not read of violence, hatred, wars, and deep-seated mistrust in the first few chapters of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Missionary Travels and Researches in South Africa []  2020-7-17 20:23

    Wonderful Book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King Leopold's Rule in Africa (1905) []  2020-9-21 19:25

    Tough read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King Leopold's Rule in Africa (1905) []  2020-12-1 19:4

    Tough read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live In South Africa (CD/DVD) []  2020-11-24 20:8

    I love this CD!!! I love Jonathan Butler!!! The DVD id amazing also.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live In South Africa (CD/DVD) []  2020-11-24 20:8

    Jonathan is a very talented, unique, brilliant musician.I have seen him live a few times and gets under your skin with his music.Wonderful selection of songs and you can tell his heart is in the melody and in his roots where he comes from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Live In South Africa (CD/DVD) []  2020-11-24 20:8

    Love his song!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Travels in the Interior Districts of Africa []  2020-11-15 18:33

    amazing read my top 10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King Leopold's Rule in Africa (1905) []  2020-12-11 19:5

    Tough read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    More Truth, Lies and Propaganda: in Africa []  2021-1-9 19:11

    Lucinda E Clarke knows Africa. You cannot know a country if you only travel it as a tourist. I know that due to having traveled while working and mixing with the people of my own and other countries and comparing my experiences with that of the average tourist traveler.I'd prefer to read Lucinda E Clarke's stories of Africa than one of those officials travel books that does not let you to obtain close up, close in, to the true Africa, its people and the dreams, laws and superstitions that govern re Truth, Lies and Propaganda: in Africa is a unbelievable read and I highly recommend it.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386