girl code Reviews & Opinions


Submit girl code review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    👊😉

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    A oldie, but goody.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    quick shipping, would buy again

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on girl code or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch girl code video reviews and related movies:

    See Girl Code vs. Bro Code | Anwar Jibawi on youtube.

     related image

    See Girl Code | 'Boyfriend's Ex' Official Promo (Season 2) | MTV on youtube.

     related image

    See The Girl Code (ft. Grace Helbig, Harto, Jenna Marbles, Mamrie Hart, Miranda Sings) on youtube.

     related image

    See Girl Code Vs. Bro Code //Gacha Life (This is a Joke) on youtube.

     related image

    See How To End A Friendship | Girl Code | Season 2 | MTV on youtube.

     related image

    See Girl Code | 'New Relationships' Official Promo (Season 2) | MTV on youtube.

     related image

    See Girl Code vs Bro Code//Gacha💖// on youtube.

     related image

    See Girl Code | Power On on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Classic song and one of my favorite songs of all time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    I know I am a Woman, but I thoroughly ENJOY this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    You either like the song or you don't. Here are a bunch of words just because you have to type something here. Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    I'm still looking for the strip clubs mentioned in this song. Just kidding, amazing ole 80's hard rock.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Had a true issue getting the melody files downloaded, but it sounded amazing after I finally got the tracks downloaded.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Just what I needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World review []  2020-1-21 22:14

    “Learn to code” in the title is misleading. My daughter was really disappointed that the book doesn’t actually do any true teaching. Instead it’s basically cute stories about women who code. Not helpful at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World review []  2020-1-21 22:14

    I bought this book after hearing about it from mates and reading rave reviews. I have an almost 6-year old who told me the other day she "loves" this book - although I think it's for the high school age demographic, I love that my daughter will pick it up and read it a bit at a time. She is learning about something I can't teach her about firsthand, and which will undoubtedly become central to education for her generation. I hope that it inspires her to learn to code - and I love that she is growing up thinking that this is something that "girls just do".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World review []  2020-1-21 22:14

    If you, your kid (of any gender) or basically anyone you know is interested in learning 'to code' - obtain them this book! It's a brilliant, simple to read, entertaining, and highly educational book. This encapsulates the idea of learning the logic of computer programing independently of any particular language - a brilliant method to teach the basics. The incorporation of the fictional GWC (Girls Who Code) girls from the fiction books adds a fun twist to support move the reader from chapter to chapter. This helps motivate and connect the content and makes this an engaging read rather than a textbook. The quality of information, however, makes it the best 'intro to coding' textbook for this age group I've ever seen. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World review []  2020-1-21 22:14

    This is a amazing book that encourages coding not only for girls but for everyone. I am a man who teaches coding but loved the info in the book, and learned a lot from reading it. I recommend this book for everyone interested in coding.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World review []  2020-1-21 22:14

    Reading Reshma Saujani's book was so much fun for me! It gave interesting history of computers and explained all the introductory concepts of coding sufficiently. I'd recommend this book to anyone who is looking to gain an introduction to computer science or is trying to encourage a young girl to do so.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World review []  2020-1-21 22:14

    I am a woman who has been in the software industry for almost 20 years. I have seen the lack of women in this field and I wonder why. This book was recommended to me by a coworker as a amazing bonus for girls. My 12 year old granddaughter really liked it and seemed excited to read it. I would be thrilled if she got interested in coding, but even if she just dabbles for fun it will be amazing for her to realize that no field is off limits to her because she is a girl.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World review []  2020-1-21 22:14

    My daughter loves this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World review []  2020-1-21 22:14

    I bought this book for my Granddaughter for Christmas. She showed it to my son, who teaches coding to high school students. He was so excited because it has his favorite coding exercise in it! That’s 2 satisfied campers!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World review []  2020-1-21 22:14

    This book is unbelievable introduction to computer science for girls who are totally fresh to coding. It offers a book ver of primary coding principles taught in the actual Girls Who Code programs and was written by the founder herself. I highly recommended buying it for girls so they can be introduced to CS and really feel inspired to do awesome things in STEM! Reshma Saujani's book will have girls running to the closest computer to begin coding! The graphics are adorable, and you are bound to be impressed by it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World review []  2020-1-21 22:14

    We adults are reading it first before giving it to our 10 year old grand daughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girl Code review []  2020-1-14 19:20

    I bought this for a niece after I read it (I'm 43y/o). I'm so impressed with these two young ladies. Wow, their journey and their authorship is inspirational. I wish to volunteer with Girls Who Code because of this story. Check it out from your library, buy it, or borrow it....just read it! You don't have to be a computer geek or have a penchant for computers. It's about girls working together, learning a fresh skill and increasing their self-esteem. I'm so glad I read this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girl Code review []  2020-1-14 19:20

    My profession encircles the globe of coding. And everything Andrea Gonzales and Sophie Houser wrote and spoke I similar to. Us girls really need to stick together. Once you read Girl code and you're a STEM kinda girl, you'll be intoxicated by their passion to make and the fun from the aftermath of a huge advice: Set your mindset that the hardships are inevitable but as you sharpen your skills in time it gets easier. Failure is a learning process, success is a point for fresh challenges. Never stop!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girl Code review []  2020-1-14 19:20

    A must read for young girls and their parents too! These young women share insights into the tech world, but this book offers so much more - from raising awareness of necessary social problems to wrestling with anxiety about your own self-worth and the private growth that comes from getting out of your comfort zone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girl Code review []  2020-1-14 19:20

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girl Code review []  2020-1-14 19:20

    You go girls!! Amazing acc of the duos adventure into the globe of code.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girl Code review []  2020-1-14 19:20

    Confession - i borrowed this book from the library where I work. But it is SO worth a amazing review. These young women did something beautiful awesome at a young age. And they are wonderful role models. Coding changed their lives - the changes had their ups and downs, but they learned a lot and they applied what they learned to do something to change hurtful social attitudes. I have done a small (read VERY little) coding and admire them for their tenacity in completing their projects under beautiful wicked time constraints. And more necessary is their desire to code with a social conscience. Girls in our society tend to be encouraged to think they are not math/science/logical (or that these careers are not sexy????) which is so wrong. Hopefully this book - if it reaches a teen audience - will inspire more young women to discover rewarding careers in technology.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girl Code review []  2020-1-14 19:20

    See more of my reviews on The YA Kitten! My copy was an ARC I got as a reviewer for YA Books Central.I kinda like Photoshop, digital design in general, and web design. I took web and digital design classes in high school, but the web design class kinda devolved into a business class once the teacher left to teach math and her husband took over. We didn’t learn much about www services and coding after ankfully, Gonzales and Houser didn’t have teachers like that and were able to make the fabulous small android game that is Tampon Run. Girl Code is Gonzales and Houser taking us through how the android game came about and the aftermath of their viral fame. Whether you’re a STEM girl or firmly on the English/History squad like I am, these girls are beautiful inspiring!The linear structure of Girl Code tracks their journey from everygirls to viral stars from begin to finish to epilogue: Sophie got into coding to obtain over her anxiety about speaking and search a fresh language in which to express herself; Andy was interested in coding from a young age and took it as one of her interests even while listening to her Filipino family’s “doctor, lawyer, engineer” motto for her future. Their paths collided when they attended the same Girls Who Code summer program in the summer of 2014 and decided to partner up for their final yond informing me that the wonderful original title of Tampon Run was Texas Tampon Massacre and the android game was inspired by a Huffington Post article about an abortion vote, the girls take you step-by-step through how it came together as though they’d kept very precise diaries about the process. (To be fair, Sophie did. She keeps a private diary.) Even when the tech talk got more advanced than rudimentary small me could understand, I stuck to it. Anyone without knowledge of coding android games won’t be able to replicate their work very easily, but they’ll understand what the girls are doing and that’s the necessary e game, once they decided to release the full product online, didn’t go viral solely by possibility either. The girls smartly used social media to its fullest by tweeting the link out, posting about the android game on Reddit, etc. Marketing: it ain’t always fun, but you don’t obtain anywhere without it. Girl Code takes us through what it was like to be in the international spotlight and, even better, what they’ve done since those fifteen mins of viral fame died down. Sophie is pursuing entrepreneurial paths to eventually make her own start-up and give back the same method people gave to her; Andy is sticking with coding.Oh, and the girls explicitly call out the tech nightmare Gamergate movement as just a tiny, big-mouthed group of cyberbullies. 1000% AGREE, WOULD SCREAM INTO A general, the book is very positive about the future of women in tech industries, but it doesn’t address the cultural problems so few women stay in STEM programs and later enter STEM professions. Y’know, rampant sexism and classmates who create them so miserable they bail. To be entirely fair, this wasn’t something I exected the book to address. If they’ve experienced that toxic tech atmosphere besides the cringeworthy radio interview they write about, they didn’t create mention of it or detail it at strongest criticism is reserved for the book’s prose. Though accessible, it’s also beautiful rough and my thoughts wandered away from the text easily thanks to the primary “we did this, we did that, we felt like this” method the girls write. Nonfiction books can have engaging writing that goes beyond that and it’s clear Gonzales and Houser are not top-notch writers. Though it makes reading this short small book take a small longer, that’s still not a deal-breaker.Gonzales and Houser’s wonderful accomplishment and their determination to one day give back to women in STEM is inspiring and will create its readers wish to go out and make after they read Girl Code. Video games, writing, paintings, a scholarly article about how this one historical figure was definitely gay–there are no limits on who this book will spark inspiration in. For instance, the original title Texas Tampon Massacre gave me an idea for a short story and I wish to work as hard on that as the authors worked on their game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girl Code review []  2020-1-14 19:20

    This book is NOT only for people interested in coding/tech!!Andy and Sophie do a unbelievable job sharing the vulnerability they felt before starting fresh journeys and during the craziness of Tampon Run. I enjoyed how the book addressed all the self-messages we give ourselves that restrict us from trying fresh or hard tasks. Their gaming journey is, of course, restricted to the tech world, but the journey could easily have been written about any other field a kid passionately wants to enter: putting yourself out there is hard, and if you wish to succeed, you'll have to feel uncomfortable and scared TE: If you are a homeschooling parent, particularly an unschooling parent, this book is a must read! It shows: How finding a passion and following it is very rewarding and inspiriting. How high school is a limited view of the world/there is so much more than grades. How trying is always better than not trying.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girl Code review []  2020-1-14 19:20

    The notice of this book was amazing and inspiring, and I really loved the idea of Tampon Run. Don't worry about it being too techy—it definitely wasn't. The end of the book has some cool coding exercises, definitions, etc. If you are interested in that part, a printed book might be better than an ebook. Even on my smallest font size, I had problem getting an entire page to present up sometimes on my Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girl Code review []  2020-1-14 19:20

    I was very curious about this book when I saw it in the library's fresh book section. I learned to program back when the private computer was invented. I found the book a very amazing read and very interesting. I enjoyed the coding section at the end. In this day and time it is probably not a poor idea for everyone to learn a small about coding.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II review [Book]  2018-3-26 18:0

    In the same vein as "Hidden Figures", this history of the female codebreakers that contributed significantly to the progress of WWII is long overdue. The author interviewed a number of the codebreakers and their families and researched the subject extensively when the previously classified info was finally declassified. The codebreakers were sworn to silence while employed and for a lot of years afterwards; in most cases their husbands and families had no idea of the importance and complexity of the job the young women were doing during the war. It was generally believed that they had fulfilled some menial clerical e author incorporates private info from a number of the "code girls" and factual info on a lot of others. Women were responsible for a lot of of the most necessary code breaking accomplishments during the war, and their efforts definitely helped the U.S. to victory the battle on both fronts. They actually learned of the Japanese surrender before a lot of in the government and military did!Women were recruited from colleges and universities, and a lot of had been trained as teachers, one of the few occupations available to educated women at the time. They underwent extensive screening and training to ensure that they were fit for the work. They arrived in Washington, D.C. in droves and were housed in hastily constructed rather Spartan accommodations. The work was scheduled 24 hours a day, and housing was so limited that it wasn't uncommon for multiple girls to use the same bed. They were housed and fed, and provided with a wage that was more than any of them could ever had created as teachers; nevertheless their pay rate was still 25-30% less than men doing the same work. It was an exciting time to be in the Capitol, and the women also had lively social lives, some of them being courted by multiple men in uniform and all of them maintaining a steady correspondence with one or more men who were serving the e technical info relating to the tactic and strategies of code breaking was quite detailed, but somewhat inscrutable to me so I skimmed quickly some of those sections; suffice it to say that it needed an extreme amount of organization, attention to detail, a mathematical orientation, razor sharp memories and ability to see patterns, both little and large.I found the book quite riveting, with enough private detail to enliven the story, and enough technical detail to establish just how serious and demanding their work was. I can definitely imagine that a film will be created of this exciting and interesting chapter in our nation's history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II review [Book]  2018-3-26 18:0

    I heard about Code Girls several months before publication, and was determined to read it as soon as possible. My mother was one of the code breakers at Arlington Hall, a largely civilian group of women who worked under the auspices of the US Army. She fit the typical profile of Arlington Hall recruits: a teacher who left her job at a girls’ boarding school in Virginia to not only serve her country, but do more exciting and challenging work than was available to most women in peacetime. (The military recruited heavily for women with four-year degrees, which were rare at the time but needed for teachers.) Arlington Hall was a put where a woman could fulfill her intellectual potential, where she was encouraged to learn and do as much as possible, as quick as possible, and work as hard as possible. The code breakers’ work was crucial to winning the cording to this book, the women worked for seven days straight, with their eighth “off” day spent on shopping, errands, and probably housework as well. However, my mother did not mind the long hours. On her commute from Washington, she even ran into Eleanor Roosevelt one morning around 6; Roosevelt said she took early walks to evade the Secret Service. Like other women in this book, my mother roomed with another woman who was also a code breaker and who became a close friend, and she enjoyed the camaraderie of her whole code-breaking Liza Mundy weaves a number of narrative strands. She discusses the work done at not only Arlington Hall, but at the separate Navy code-breaking facility (where most code breakers were WAVES) and at Sugar Camp. Sugar Camp was an NCR rustic retreat outside Dayton, Ohio used in peacetime to train salesmen; during the battle it housed WAVES who wired the bombes that NCR manufactured to break the German Enigma codes. Mundy gives as much technical detail on code breaking as the average, nonspecialist reader can probably handle. This contains work done during Globe Battle 1 and between the wars. Some Globe Battle 1 code breakers carried right on into Globe Battle 2.I was disappointed that almost all the Globe Battle 2 info focuses on the Japanese codes. It’s real that the Japanese codes were extremely challenging. They were complex, the Japanese used several various codes, and the codes were changed constantly. It was hard to search Americans who knew Japanese. The code breakers were given some primary relevant vocabulary. Then--Mundy mentions only in passing, late in the book--the decoded messages were passed to translators, a lot of of them missionaries or kids of missionaries who had lived in Japan. Mundy also mentions somewhere that the messages of a lot of other countries were decoded at Arlington Hall. (I’d assume this was also real of the Navy facility.) But that’s all she says. The organization of the code-breaking facilities seems to have been complex, with people working in a lot of various groups for both efficiency and secrecy. I gained small sense of the overall organization or what the groups were. I have no idea what my mother worked on, but my guess is messages in French. She had a BA in French, she was fluent in French, and I’d assume Vichy France was pumping out messages at the same phenomenal rate as other ndy may have focused primarily on the Japanese code-breaking group due to her choice to tell the private stories of a number of code breakers, especially Dorothy (Dot) Braden, now Dorothy Braden Bruce. Dot worked in a Japanese group and Mundy interviewed her extensively for this book. Dot’s private life included her close friendship with her roommate, code breaker Ruth Weston; Dot’s on-off engagement to a soldier named George Rush; and Dot’s postwar marriage to another soldier named Jim Bruce. Dot also had brothers in the war. In between handling all that coded text, Dot and other code breakers wrote large numbers of letters, to husbands, fiancés, brothers, even soldiers they’d never met who wanted pen pals. The workforce was mostly female—my mother said there was only one man in her group, an elderly Egyptologist who had worked on cracking hieroglyphics. But the code breakers’ lives were full of men, to the extent that (Mundy relates) pregnancies were not uncommon among unmarried women at Arlington Hall. (The Navy was much tighter and needed even married pregnant women to quit work.) I can’t support wondering whether my 30-ish mother was also feverishly writing to soldiers and dating numerous men when they were on leave. Certainly not my father—they did not meet till after the battle and in any case, he was rejected by the draft due to a medical though Mundy goes back and forth between code-breaking organizations and different private stories, she manages to move through the battle narrative more or less chronologically. Her descriptions of military and naval action are mostly focused on the end of the war, especially the excitements of D-Day and the Japanese surrender. My mother said that two of her coworkers always joked that “by the end of the battle they’d be cutting out paper dolls.” When my mother and others came in after their day off, they discovered those two coworkers had spent that day making paper dolls, using every scrap of paper they’d saved up, and had hung the dolls all over the office. Mundy mentions that people danced in the roads of ever relieved the women code breakers were, their immediate experiences were not altogether joyous. The Arlington Hall workers were given a speech encouraging them all to quit work as soon as possible. Most did, at least after they married or had a child. (A few did stay into the Cold Battle and beyond.) The US mounted a reverse recruitment campaign, telling all women it was their patriotic duty to turn over their jobs to returning men. Women married the fiancés they’d been corresponding with and proceeded to have babies. Some were satisfied housewives; some were not. Many, including my mother, missed the sense of challenge and purpose they’d had as code breakers, and went back to work. After the battle my mother got a graduate degree in mathematics, which my father (a physicist) never understood. Her verbal skills were so much stronger, he said; why was she determined to study mathematics? But mathematics was required and valued at Arlington Hall, and a lot of women did not explore their aptitude for it until they worked there. My mother waited till her kids were old enough, then spent the rest of her career as a college math professor. Most of the code breakers still alive are now in assisted living facilities. It’s amazing that Mundy interviewed some, because they were told their work was top secret and should never, ever be revealed. A lot of revealed nothing substantive while they were alive, including my mother, though it was clearly one of the happiest times of her life.When I was 12 or 13, my mother sat me down and taught me the rudiments of code breaking. This was just the beginning, she said; the work at Arlington Hall was much harder. What she was teaching me was not classified. But I should learn something about breaking codes, because I’d never know when I might need to.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II review [Book]  2018-3-26 18:0

    This is a very amazing read. When all around us now you hear about STEM education and coding and how we need more women engineers, this story shows us that there have always been intelligent women wanting to use their minds to support the world. There are so a lot of aspects to Code Girls: private stories, Globe Battle II history, backstory for code breaking in the 20th Century, what it actually took to break the codes and how doing this work effected the women doing it. I have heard a lot of tales from my family of that period in America, like planting Win Gardens here at home, the rationing and men who went off to fight. My mother and grandmother lived in Washington DC during WWII. Mom was in high school and grandmother worked for the Commerce Dept. My uncle fought in Europe and twice escaped from prison camps. When he came home, he met and immediately married my aunt who was in the WAVES, stationed in DC. My uncle didn't speak very much about his time in the war, but my aunt would only say "It was Top Secret" when asked what she did in the service. I'll bet she was a code girl! She had a latest college degree in science and was sent from the midwest to Washington after she joined the WAVES. I enjoyed reading about how the women escaped to have some adventure (and lots of work) in the huge city. They were patriotic, hard working and trustworthy. My aunt never told her family what she did during the war. She took an oath and kept her word. Lessons for today! Very interesting. Ms. Mundy has done us all a service with her very readable book. I am also glad to hear that a youth ver will be coming out next year. Let's obtain girls interested in math and science!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II review [Book]  2018-3-26 18:0

    This story and the identities of the code girls were classified for years. It's a fascinating look at our history and how these wonderful and smart women helped us victory the war. Their work of decoding and translating Japanese and German communications had to be kept secret so our opponents couldn't learn why our military so often was able to destroy u-boats and ships of all kinds, and it helped us on the islands that the Japanese held. Back in the day women weren't encouraged to go to college, to study math, the sciences, and other languages, so a lot of of the women were recruited from colleges and schools, including teachers. And they weren't told what their work would be, but they were eager to support in the battle effort and looked forward to the challenge of the unknown. And they could never reveal to anyone, including family and friends, what they were doing. And they kept the secret for e stories of the women and their working conditions are interwoven with the history, and the author does an awesome job of making this an interesting read. There are follow up stories and a long list of acknowledgments and a bibliography that tip at the research she did. There is romance and tragedy and the horrors of war. This is a must read because the history of these women and the battle and the aftermath should not be forgotten any longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II review [Book]  2018-3-26 18:0

    I was lucky enough to meet a code breaker in a German class. She was my mother’s age, but we still became amazing friends. I admired her for her fluent German and her fast mind. I was honored to attend her funeral when she passed away at 93. She was buried with full military honors in Arlington Cemetery. That is why it is so amazing to read about what she did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II review [Book]  2018-3-26 18:0

    A lot of amazing info in this book, but so a lot of characters I kept losing track of them. And I would like to have know what happened to some who were mentioned early and then never heard from again. I did have fun it for the info and am sad that they received so small recognition of the perfect work they did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II review [Book]  2018-3-26 18:0

    Liza Mundy takes us back to the early 1940s — before, during and after WWII — and tells a fascinating story of how a lot of talented American women worked so hard to break the communication codes used by the Germans and Japanese. She gives the reader a brief guide on the decoding techniques employed by these women such as cribs, overlaps, and additives. They aren’t too technical and will give you an appreciation of how difficult and tedious the job can be. One of their earliest triumphs occurred in September 1940 when Genevieve Grotjan broke the code being used by Japan’s “Purple” encryption machine. This breakthrough gave the U. S. strategic and long term intelligence that saved thousands of lives. For example, a lot of messages were decoded that revealed the intended movement of Admiral Yamamoto’s fleet. Such info contributed greatly to the U. S. Navy’s win at the war of Midway. A lot of of the women who came to Washington from college campuses became members of our Navy as either enlisted or officers. The women’s part of the Navy had just been made and was called WAVES. It was actually a clever acronym that stood for Women Accepted for Voluntary Emergency Service. To create the job even more beautiful to volunteers the Navy enlisted the services of fashion house Mainbocher to design a snappy uniform for the women. Code breaking was not all of the triumphs won during the war. Prior to the invasion of France in June 1944, the U. S. engaged in a bit of communications trickery. So much fake notice traffic was generated that the Germans believed the Allies had three armies ready to attack, one of which was fake and would invade Norway. The idea here was to create sure the Germans didn’t move units from Norway to France. Mundy notes that a lot of women code breakers went on to top level positions at the National Security Agency (NSA), the federal agency at Ft. Meade, MD that is responsible for monitoring the communications of all potential threats to our country. Mundy also conducted a lot of interviews of women who served as code breakers, now allowed to tell their stories, to give us a fascinating picture of the long hours they worked to provide an extremely valuable service.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II review [Book]  2018-3-26 18:0

    This was an necessary part of history with which I was not familiar, except for the BBC series on Bletchley Park. I must say, though, that I though it required a lot of editing. As a lay person, I couldn’t understand a lot of the code breaking techniques or problems. I also found much of it to be repetitive. The characters often overlapped and I thought perhaps I required a program to hold track of them, Part of the issue (and I don’t know how that could have been solved) is that there were various competing code breaking groups (Army, Navy, Amazing Britain) and also two various theaters (Atlantic/ European and Pacific). I did come away with an overview.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II review [Book]  2018-3-26 18:0

    What a delightful read! Mundy sought out nearly two-dozens survivors of the hundreds that once worked during the 1939-45 battle at either the Troops or Navy intelligence operations in Washington, DC (and Dayton, Ohio, of all places). Sworn to secrecy, a lot of never even told their spouses what they had done during the battle years. Mundy offers a amazing cross section of what they did and how they lived amidst a crowded capitol city. The effect is a very readable survey of a largely forgotten group of women playing critical roles--all told with moments of both fun and sadness.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II review [Book]  2018-3-26 18:0

    Lisa Mundy's "Code Girls" is truly a companionable book. It is a bedside or vacation companion with its informative and nostalgic entertaining acc of the lives and the secret achievements of the 10,000 or so young American women recruited in Globe Battle II to bring muscle to our Navy and Troops code breaking of intercepted Japanese and German military communications. "Code Girls" is also an essential companion to the flow of memoirs that flooded out from Britain's WW2 code-breaking accomplishments when its Official Secrets Act expired in the 1990s allowing much to be told of England's highly secret (and successful) wartime operation. "Code Girls" too neatly pairs up with Denise Kiermann's "Girls of the Atomic City" which recounts the related lives and adventures of the thousands of young women sent off to work in the brand fresh city of Oak Ridge, Tennessee to produce the Uranium (U-235) and Plutonium elements essential to the atomic bomb."Code Girls," however, is not redundant to other such accounts of women's valued contributions to win in WW2. Mundy is an insightful, original and illuminating investigative writer. Her acc of these lady code breakers of 1942-45 is assembled with more than the facts of successful code-breaking. Mundy skillfully captures the recollections and nostalgic spirits of those "militarized" ladies who afterwards proceeded into peacetime careers and associations left behind in the wake of wartime Washington e book is rich in American social and military history -- the introduction of women into huge scale wartime production programs, breaking Japan's naval codes and ciphers, and the huge scale fabrication of Enigma code-breaking machines ("bombes") in the British/American secret partnership of WW2. For readers familiar with some of these aspects of life and service in WW2, "Code Girls" is an evocative and enjoyable companion as Mundy assembles the wartime experiences of the a lot of ladies who created win so certain in 1945.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) review []  2020-1-22 21:27

    I was stationed at Arlington Hall in the late 50s and never saw what these gals did at the time. Very quick read because I could easily relate to the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) review []  2020-1-22 21:27

    Very amazing book with lots information. Sham not more stories about how much women did during WW2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) review []  2020-1-22 21:27

    Very amazing book how women played a very necessary part in winning Globe Battle II

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) review []  2020-1-22 21:27

    Reads like a text but is very informative and will reveal facts we never knew.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) review []  2020-1-22 21:27

    This was an interesting subject and really captured what happened with these women. It read like a text book and was repetitive. It jumped from hero to character. It would have been more interesting as a story if the author focused on a couple of characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) review []  2020-1-22 21:27

    Very interesting about how young women assisted in WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) review []  2020-1-22 21:27

    Daughter said boring but interesting

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) review []  2020-1-22 21:27

    Interesting story! I had no idea that Code Girls existed. They really changed the course of WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) review []  2020-1-22 21:27

    !!! Amazing job ladies!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition) review []  2020-1-22 21:27

    Disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Barcode scanner is useful application. It works very well and quickly

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    This application isn't able scan a lot of of the bar code.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    bar code scanner q r code scanner application is excellent application for all android device mobile

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scnanner & Qr code reader :Qr code maker this is one of the best application in play store...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Barcode scanner & Qr code reader os very quick barcode and Qr code reading and scanning app. I have used it and found it nice and impressive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Barcode Scanner & QR Reader is interesting, awesome and brilliant app. This is best recent updated barcode scanning app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner & QR code Reader is the most user friendly and awesome QR code maker.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner and bar code generator and maker app is intelligent amazing and super app

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    bar code scanner and qr code reader its amazing working and amazing App i like this amazing and attractive App

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner & QR code Reader is the most user friendly and awesome QR code maker

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner ... Application is a master app. The develpar did a perfect job awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner ..... Is a wonderfull . i have give a five star because this application is a nice . awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanners are the only method to create a fresh one of a kind device to obtain the.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Dont waste ur time fake application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Waha gud application install must

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar Code scanner, the first one of your decision to be the feeling is a lot more to be thankful I was able to obtain the feeling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scnanner & Qr code reader this is most famous application in playstore for his amazing work...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner app is Very necessary appreciate your support and help

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Best application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Fak

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Works amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Junk

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    So don’t confused any more our application will give all solution in one point, just take a first step and download our free QR code generator and scanner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar Code scanner, and the other is that a copy but they are also. I was in the publisher for you can obtain the feeling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar Code scanner, but they don't have to be thankful I am a copy and I can do is to be the publisher, I can see the feeling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar Code Scanner and QR Code scanner is nice app I like This application and Use This application most of my Time Realy nice work hold it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Barcode Scanner and QR Code Scanner is nice app I like This application and Use This application for Scan Docoments Realy nice work hold it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    You can easily use this best QR & Barcode Scanner to scan all types of coupons and coupon codes to keep discounts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader QR Code Maker is very helpful and useful app very quick work simple to use perfect interface i really like this app

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Barcode Scanner and QR Code Scanner is nice app This app Scan All Type of QR Codes Realy nice work hold it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Barcode Scanner app Sharir working very nice so crazy and awesome so unbelievable Android device phone

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner & Qr code reader is Very nice and quick barcode reader, scanner and genrator app. I recommend it to all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner, Qr code reader is a useful and amazing app. It works perfectly and scans accurately.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Barcode Scanner & QR Maker & Generator is really effective & best app, really nice & useful app, I like this application very much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner ... Application is a awesome app. I have give a five star because this application is nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Barcode scanner & Qr code reader is a nice and impressive barcode scanner and reader app. I have used it and found it nice and impressive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    bar code scanner and qr code reader its amazing working and amazing App i like this amazing and attractive App

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner is fabulous application. It's purpose so nice and simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner and qr code reader qr code maker its wow very very nice and amazing App i like this

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scnanner & Qr code reader is an awesome app. It's excellent application for Android device phone...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Barcode Scanner & QR reader is really very nice & very useful application app, it's work effectively, really like this application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar Code Scanner and QR Code Reader is very perfect app to read and scan barcode.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Barcode Scanner is brilliant, awesome and perfect app. This is best reading, generator and scanning app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scnanner & Qr code reader it's a nice application and this application work very well and quickly...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Barcode Scanner is unbelievable application. It is very advanced and innovative application. It has nice features

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner or qr scanner is helpfull or awesome app for scan barcodes THANKS for develop

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner ... Application is a wonderfull app. I really like this application . i am rnjoying this app. This application is a awesome application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bar Code Scanner & QR Code Reader: QR Code maker review [App]  2019-10-24 13:43

    Bar code scanner is fabulous application. It works smoothly and simple to use

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter