Read girl in hyacinth blue reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all girl in hyacinth blue reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Hyacinth Blue []  2020-1-21 23:50

    “But the question of how Cornelius’s father obtained the painting, he deftly avoided. I did not know him well enough to press further without being pushy. Not knowing this which he so carefully kept private, I could not believe it to be genuine. I finished the brandy and extricated myself, politely enough, thinking, so what if it is isn’t a Vermeer? The painting’s exquisite. Allow the fellow have fun it.”At the opening of the novel, Cornelius, a college professor has a secret. It’s a secret he’s never shared with anyone outside of his own family. Finally, he decides to trust a colleague and shows him into a unique room inside his house where his treasure lies. His secret treasure is a painting so valuable and rare – it’s a Vermeer. How the painting came to be in Cornelius’s possession is the plot of the book, each chapter taking us back into time to walk alongside the Vermeer masterpiece and hear it’s story.I was impressed with Vreeland’s superb research and storytelling talents. This was a unbelievable book that is not only an perfect work of historical fiction, but also presents an intriguing mystery that makes for an enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Hyacinth Blue []  2020-1-21 23:50

    This is a dream read for lovers of antiques and period literature and those who love the history of an antique. This story takes the life of a painting, thought to be a Vermeer, and traces it from the 20th century back several centuries. Each person or people who have owned the painting down through time are featured as well as where they lived and what was going on in their time. Just enough to begin a peep hole for the reader to see through and search a vignette of that persons time with the painting and how it affected them, and ultimately those around them. The prominent question in the final analysis after reading the entire book, is not who painted this attractive piece , the prominent question is did they own the painting or did the painting own them. A testimony to the power of really amazing art.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Hyacinth Blue []  2020-1-21 23:50

    Despite the three-star review, I am not implying that this book is poor or poorly written. This is an author who writes well. The reason behind the three stars was the format of the story. It starts in the show tense and goes backward through history. It's a attractive method to tell the story of the painting and its journey through time, but I found myself losing interest as the book continued farther into the past. Happenings that I might have enjoyed reading earlier in the story seemed to lose meaning as I turned more pages. While I understand the reason behind telling the story behind each owner of the picture, I kept wanting the create it full circle and return to the show day e ending isn't as sad as some novels I've read, but the book left me with a depressing perspective. Not every book has to have a satisfied ending, and in a sense the ending of the book was really the beginning of the painting's story. Still, the ending left me feeling dissatisfied with both the characters and the time I'd invested in reading their stories.

    0  


    Add your opinion on girl in hyacinth blue or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Hyacinth Blue []  2020-1-21 23:50

    Girl in Hyacinth Blue is a lovely historical fiction with a twist~the tale is told backwards starting from the show and working its method back in time. The main hero is a painting~supposedly a rare original by Vermeer. Knowing nothing about art history, this means small to me. Luckily, you don't have to know art history to have fun the book. You just need to have fun e painting currently hangs in the home of a man whose father willed him the painting. The man anguishes over the idea that his father got the during a Nazi raid on a Jewish home. I thought that was going to be the story line, but that is not really what the book is about. The plot follows the history of the painting back in time to when the artist painted the portrait of his e brief glimpse into each family's lives is just enough to create you wanting to learn more about that group of people. The idea of a painting (or any object for that matter) touching so a lot of people throughout history makes me even more intrigued by the e characters are gentle and endearing. The story kept me reading~I finished the book in two days. The setting (Holland) makes the novel a bit exotic.I think you will have fun the beauty and gentleness of this unusual historical lissa

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Hyacinth Blue []  2020-1-21 23:50

    I like that the story hold going into the past of the painting, where it was, who had it and under what circumstances. The question of whether it really was a Vermeer and the discussions about that were very interesting. Amazing read, interesting to the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Hyacinth Blue []  2020-1-21 23:50

    This book was recommended to me by my mother and typically, I adore the books that she suggests. However, this book left me wanting more and was not as amazing as I was e story follows the path of a Vermeer painting from show time to when the picture was made several hundred years ago. Through the story, it passes through 7 owners. The painting is described as a attractive young girl, who is looking out a window day dreaming. She has sewing materials as well. Each owner relates to the painting and has a philosophy of what the girl is thinking; and for some, it also reminds them of loves lost. Most of their stories were sad, but all felt a connection to the painting. Each chapter shares the story of a various owner as well as what was going on in their lives. The latest 2 chapters is Vermeer painting the girl and his story and the girl's story 20 or so years rmeer only painted 30 or so paintings and most of the owners recognized its amazing value.While the premise of the book (hearing the story of each of the 7 owners) is interesting, the beginning 2 chapters were so intriguing that I wished that the author would have continued further with this line rather than jumping to the next owner. The next 2 owners didn't feel connected to the rest of the story as the other 5 owners. For those middle owners I felt that there were info missing in how they came about owning the painting so it felt disjointed at times. The latest 4 chapters the story felt connected. However, after 2 chapters of somewhat a disconnect, I felt the book lost much of its momentum.While I thought the book was good, I would have rated it 4 or 5 stars if chapters 3-4 had more info so that the reader could more easily follow the path of the painting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Hyacinth Blue []  2020-1-21 23:50

    I loved this book. I read it years ago but forgot the title and author; I just remembered the theme and vivid photos from some chapters. I think it is beautifully written and intriguing. I am so satisfied I stumbled over it again. I have it on my Kindle, bought a hard copy for myself, and a lot of of my mates and family will obtain it from me as a gift. I will certainly read more works by Susan Vreeland.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Hyacinth Blue []  2020-1-21 23:50

    While the concept of following the painting over the years through the lives of its owners is fascinating, the book did not meet my expectations. The author's writing style was fine; the plot was intriguing. But where I was not so impressed was the lack of depth into the narrative. The concept of the book was very good. I want the author had spent more time detailing the plot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Hyacinth Blue []  2020-1-21 23:50

    Is it a Vermeer or isn't it?That is the thread that holds these eight short stories san Vreeland takes us on a journey back in time that starts with the current owner of a attractive painting thought to be one of the lost paintings of the Dutch artist we approach each sub-story we travel back a small further in time to each previous owner of the painting and how owning it has affected their lives. Set mostly in Holland and The Netherlands the Dutch names for locations can be a bit difficult to pronounce but do not detract from the overall power of this little book.Each individual story line is simple to follow. My only question would be what ultimately happens to the current owner of the painting (who is afraid to present it to the globe since his father obtained it through his position with the German police during WW II).I highly recommend this rion Marchetto

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Hyacinth Blue []  2020-1-21 23:50

    I've read several of her other books, long before this one that brought her notoriety (THE BOATING PARTY, FOREST LOVER, THE PASSIONS OF ARTEMESIA, CLARA AND MR. TIFFANY). As an artist and art history teacher, I appreciate her meticulous historical research. This story didn't seem to hang together as well as others, but still is evidence of her creativite ability to weave facts into fiction. Now I wish to read LISETTE' S LIST.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in the Blue Coat []  2019-12-19 19:14

    Awesome read! I agree with previous reviewer that this is intense. I quickly started caring about Hanneke and admired her determination and courage. Battle brings out so a lot of various parts of our humanity. Hanneke reminds us of the need to steele oneself and look for every method to survive. The story is written so well that you feel stabs in the heart with agonizing loss and hope. It is attractive that our primary need to love and be loved does not disappear. Ollie is an unsung hero. He is amazing to the core and I so very much liked him. Judith and Mina are unbelievable and thankfully people like Mina left us evidence of the atrocities. I appreciated all the characters and the detail given to them, their roles, and to their surroundings. These teenagers and young adults had to tackle problems and situations that are too complicated for adults. The story was real to emotions dominating until someone managed to steady the situation and be a voice of reason. Anger, frustration, fear, forgiveness, love, bravery and much more were well portrayed. It was wonderful how well written the story is and how I did not wish to place it down. There were a lot of twists and turns with quite a few surprises. This book is not only for the YA readers. It's a must read, especially if you have fun historical fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in the Blue Coat []  2019-12-19 19:14

    The author has a masterful command of the English language. She conveys both the best and worst aspects of humanity with empathy but dispassion (which may seem like an oxymoron, but somehow this author achieves both). This book never insults your intelligence or stirs up artificial sensationalized emotions. The characters seem as true and both as lovable and as flawed as ones own relatives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in the Blue Coat []  2019-12-19 19:14

    Although this book is touted as a "young reader" selection, it is apropos to all readers. It is a mystery set in the midst of Nazi occupation, about a missing Jewish female hideaway. There is a surprise ending that is worth waiting for. Beautifully written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in the Blue Coat []  2019-12-19 19:14

    This is a wonderfully written story about a young woman in the Netherlands during the German occupation who gets unwillingly drawn into a mystery involving a young Jewish girl. Contrary to some other reviewers, I think teenagers and young adults should be encouraged to read this book. It is part of an ugly history in the globe but it was true and there is very small true history taught to our youth anymore. They need not be shielded from life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in the Blue Coat []  2019-12-19 19:14

    I listened to this audio book a few months ago and really enjoyed everything about this book. Because it's been a while, I can't remember all the info and won't leave a full synopsis here. I will say the story involves the reader and touches on some more serious topics, but is entirely appropriate even for a young adult audience. Sure it's classified as a young adult book, but I've read some of those other ones and don't think they've been classified quite right. I don't think you'll be too concerned about this for recommendations, this may have been the first book I recommended to my wife that she actually really enjoyed. She's said she's liked others, but this is the first one she really seemed to obtain excited about. I think it even passed her book club worthy criteria. Unfortunately, the library doesn't have a lot of copies available so if you might as well just it. ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in the Blue Coat []  2019-12-19 19:14

    Loved this book & loved the main hero Hanneke. Definitely one of the best books I have read about WWII. I disagree with some other reviewers who feel that this book might not be appropriate for young adults. I felt all the young adults were well written & the book shows how even in the midst of such a large globe event, teenagers are still teenagers with their same friendships, love lives, and family issues. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in the Blue Coat []  2019-12-19 19:14

    Intended for a YA audience, the content and topic matter create this book engaging for adults as well. The setting is The Netherlands during Globe Battle II. The protagonist is a young woman involved in the black market. A page turning story of young love, war, survival and devotion, this historic novel is intense and powerful. Rich in detail and depth, the spirit of hope underlies the atrocities portrayed throughout this composition. The ravages of battle and the of freedom are problems that are broached with sensitivity and discernment. Losses are agonizing and the challenges of survival are considerable, but hope remains. Perfect reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in the Blue Coat []  2019-12-19 19:14

    THE GIRL IN THE BLUE COAT by Monica HesseA young woman living in Holland during the Nazi Occupation is forced into smuggling and utilizing the Black Shop in to feed her family and friends. One of her “regulars” asks her to search “the girl in the blue coat” and that is where the mystery begins. Secrets, betrayals, lost friendships, disappearances, dead lovers and danger on all sides makes this a compelling and tense read. Daily life in an occupied town is created true and though billed as Young Adult, this novel will appeal to anyone interested in WWII and the resistance, especially in Holland.5 of 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in the Blue Coat []  2019-12-19 19:14

    What a lovely book! I’ve always been fascinated with stories occurred during the globe battle (fiction or non-fiction), so I got hooked the moment I read the plot. It tells the story of Hanneke, a Dutch teenager who tries to go on with her life after the death of her boyfriend. She supports her family through working as a receptionist for the undertaker and as a profiteer in the black market. German soldiers had already invaded Netherlands, but some people, including Hanneke, are clueless about how the Germans are treating the Jews. When an old woman asks her to search a missing person who has been secretly hiding in her house, Hanneke suddenly becomes involved in the resistance to support Jewish victims to safety. I love the hero build-up in this story as Hanneke, whose flaws and scars came from the heartache she experienced during the war. Her journey to finding the missing Jew also becomes her journey to self-realization that in this war, even a little act of kindness and bravery counts. It is a lovely coming-of-age story about friendship, young love and acts of bravery during the war.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in the Blue Coat []  2019-12-19 19:14

    An absolutely riveting story based on historical happenings of the Dutch resistance in WWII. The storyline centers around a teenage girl who gets caught up in the black shop after the German occupation. It will appeal to history buffs, but the main hero and some of the plot twists have a very contemporary feel. The spirit of the main hero and the geographical setting reminded me very much of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in some ways. I don't usually read this genre, and the fact that I found it so interesting is a true compliment to the author. A really amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in the Blue Coat []  2020-1-16 1:41

    I listened to this audio book a few months ago and really enjoyed everything about this book. Because it's been a while, I can't remember all the info and won't leave a full synopsis here. I will say the story involves the reader and touches on some more serious topics, but is entirely appropriate even for a young adult audience. Sure it's classified as a young adult book, but I've read some of those other ones and don't think they've been classified quite right. I don't think you'll be too concerned about this for recommendations, this may have been the first book I recommended to my wife that she actually really enjoyed. She's said she's liked others, but this is the first one she really seemed to obtain excited about. I think it even passed her book club worthy criteria. Unfortunately, the library doesn't have a lot of copies available so if you might as well just it. ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in the Blue Coat []  2020-1-16 1:41

    This is a wonderfully written story about a young woman in the Netherlands during the German occupation who gets unwillingly drawn into a mystery involving a young Jewish girl. Contrary to some other reviewers, I think teenagers and young adults should be encouraged to read this book. It is part of an ugly history in the globe but it was true and there is very small true history taught to our youth anymore. They need not be shielded from life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in the Blue Coat []  2020-1-16 1:41

    Awesome read! Wow. Makes you think, a lot. I quickly started caring about Hanneke and admired her determination and courage. Battle brings out so a lot of various parts of our humanity. Hanneke reminds us of the need to harden oneself and look for every method to survive. The story is written so well that you feel pangs in the heart with agonizing loss and hope. It is attractive that our primary need to love and be loved does not disappear. Ollie is an unsung hero. He is amazing to the core and I so very much liked him. Judith and Mina are unbelievable and thankfully people like Mina left us evidence of the atrocities. I appreciated all the characters and the detail given to them, their roles, and to their surroundings. These teenagers and young adults had to tackle problems and situations that are too complicated for adults. The story was real to emotions dominating until someone managed to steady the situation and be a voice of reason. Anger, frustration, fear, forgiveness, love, bravery and much more were well portrayed. It was wonderful how well written the story is and how I did not wish to place it down. There were a lot of twists and turns with quite a few surprises. This book is not only for the YA readers. It's a must read, especially if you have fun historical fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in the Blue Coat []  2020-1-16 1:41

    Intended for a YA audience, the content and topic matter create this book engaging for adults as well. The setting is The Netherlands during Globe Battle II. The protagonist is a young woman involved in the black market. A page turning story of young love, war, survival and devotion, this historic novel is intense and powerful. Rich in detail and depth, the spirit of hope underlies the atrocities portrayed throughout this composition. The ravages of battle and the of freedom are problems that are broached with sensitivity and discernment. Losses are agonizing and the challenges of survival are considerable, but hope remains. Perfect reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in the Blue Coat []  2020-1-16 1:41

    THE GIRL IN THE BLUE COAT by Monica HesseA young woman living in Holland during the Nazi Occupation is forced into smuggling and utilizing the Black Shop in to feed her family and friends. One of her “regulars” asks her to search “the girl in the blue coat” and that is where the mystery begins. Secrets, betrayals, lost friendships, disappearances, dead lovers and danger on all sides makes this a compelling and tense read. Daily life in an occupied town is created true and though billed as Young Adult, this novel will appeal to anyone interested in WWII and the resistance, especially in Holland.5 of 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in the Blue Coat []  2020-1-16 1:41

    An absolutely riveting story based on historical happenings of the Dutch resistance in WWII. The storyline centers around a teenage girl who gets caught up in the black shop after the German occupation. It will appeal to history buffs, but the main hero and some of the plot twists have a very contemporary feel. The spirit of the main hero and the geographical setting reminded me very much of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in some ways. I don't usually read this genre, and the fact that I found it so interesting is a true compliment to the author. A really amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in the Blue Coat []  2020-1-16 1:41

    Loved this book & loved the main hero Hanneke. Definitely one of the best books I have read about WWII. I disagree with some other reviewers who feel that this book might not be appropriate for young adults. I felt all the young adults were well written & the book shows how even in the midst of such a large globe event, teenagers are still teenagers with their same friendships, love lives, and family issues. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in the Blue Coat []  2020-1-16 1:41

    Although this book is touted as a "young reader" selection, it is apropos to all readers. It is a mystery set in the midst of Nazi occupation, about a missing Jewish female hideaway. There is a surprise ending that is worth waiting for. Beautifully written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in the Blue Coat []  2020-1-16 1:41

    The author has a masterful command of the English language. She conveys both the best and worst aspects of humanity with empathy but dispassion (which may seem like an oxymoron, but somehow this author achieves both). This book never insults your intelligence or stirs up artificial sensationalized emotions. The characters seem as true and both as lovable and as flawed as ones own relatives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in the Blue Coat []  2020-1-16 1:41

    What a lovely book! I’ve always been fascinated with stories occurred during the globe battle (fiction or non-fiction), so I got hooked the moment I read the plot. It tells the story of Hanneke, a Dutch teenager who tries to go on with her life after the death of her boyfriend. She supports her family through working as a receptionist for the undertaker and as a profiteer in the black market. German soldiers had already invaded Netherlands, but some people, including Hanneke, are clueless about how the Germans are treating the Jews. When an old woman asks her to search a missing person who has been secretly hiding in her house, Hanneke suddenly becomes involved in the resistance to support Jewish victims to safety. I love the hero build-up in this story as Hanneke, whose flaws and scars came from the heartache she experienced during the war. Her journey to finding the missing Jew also becomes her journey to self-realization that in this war, even a little act of kindness and bravery counts. It is a lovely coming-of-age story about friendship, young love and acts of bravery during the war.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Kentucky Girl []  2020-2-2 0:10

    What can I say about EmmyLou Harris that isn’t already known! This album is one of my all time favorites!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Kentucky Girl []  2020-2-2 0:10

    amazing tunes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Kentucky Girl []  2020-2-2 0:10

    The transition from LP to the original CD was botched. The song Even Cowgirls Obtain the Blues got its first verse chop off, giving it an odd start. This remastered CD has the complete song that was on the LP. The sound of this CD seems a bit fuller than the other one. I guess the two additional songs on the CD justifies a fresh release, but I didn't care for them. The restored song on the fresh one is reason enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Kentucky Girl []  2020-2-2 0:10

    I have been an Emmylou Harris fan since the 1970s. This album is among her very best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Kentucky Girl []  2020-2-2 0:10

    Emmylou can do no wrong with me - she always seems to show her take on country and country-rock with class and integrity, using a amazing band and focusing on both classic songs and songwriters. That said, this isn't my favorite from Emmylou; it's a unbelievable CD and I have fun listening it, but I'm saving five stars for Elite Hotel and Luxury Liner. This album seems to be her wrapping up the first phase of her career, and being ready to move on to something else. However, you won't go wrong with this recording.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Kentucky Girl []  2020-2-2 0:10

    I like all of Blue Kentucky Girl. I have admired and loved Emmy Lou Harris for well over 30 years! She was unbelievable early in her career and, in my opinion. only gotten better as she has matured.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Kentucky Girl []  2020-2-2 0:10

    Huge Emmylou fan, have been for a long time. I was surprised when I noticed that I never had this album on CD. Have the LP someplace, but haven't played it in quite a while. Recently bought the CD, and maybe I remember why I never got the CD me parts of the recording/production/arrangements on this album sound odd to me. Don't remember ever noticing this on any other Emmylou recordings.EDIT: Turns out I already owned this CD. Just found my old copy, purchased probably sometime in the 1980'e old copy sounds sounds fine. Better than the fresh one. It's not e CD bought in 2018 sounds worse than one bought 30 years ago. A digital CD.W. T. F.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Kentucky Girl []  2020-2-2 0:10

    the CD came as advertised and on time thank you very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Kentucky Girl []  2020-2-2 0:10

    5 Star, nuff said.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blue Kentucky Girl []  2020-2-2 0:10

    Emmylou Harris sings country melody the method it's supposed to be sung. As soon as the first track begins, you know you're in for something special. This artist has retained that old time sound, call it twang or drawl, that is important for a country girl. This is first class Harris and is representative of traditional melody of a put and talent. Emmylou Harris is unique!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in a Blue Dress: A Novel Inspired by the Life and Marriage of Charles Dickens [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    I thought I would hate this novel, not being a fan of "fictionalized non-fiction", but I read it as the monthly selection for my book club, and I was enthralled.Well written, well researched, real to the period and very engaging. Created me wish to go out and do my own research on Dickens' life; and what an interesting life that was! (poor, long-suffering Catherine...)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in a Blue Dress: A Novel Inspired by the Life and Marriage of Charles Dickens [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Arnold's depiction of a Victorian marriage is painfully accurate, a fictional biography of a prolific English writer, Alfred Gibson and his wife, Dorothea, a thinly-veiled acc of the marriage of Charles Dickens and his wife, Catherine. Names and happenings have been changed, of course, but it is certainly reasonable to extrapolate a sense of the marriage and how difficult a life with such a man could be. From the bright days of early marriage to a struggling writer who will capture the imaginations of countless fans, "Dodo" exemplifies the Victorian wife, subservient, gracious and self-sacrificing. But as Alfred's creative genius expands, his self-importance multiplies in equal measure. At the same time, whatever the complex psychological constructs of this man, it becomes his mission to denigrate and belittle his wife, as though to grow his own stature it is important to diminish hers: hence the years of humiliation, criticism and finally nold's challenge is to cast Alfred in the real colors of his nature, while imbuing Dodo's hero with compassion, humility and the debilitating burden of petty jealousy justified by her husband's outrageous appetites. For all her suffering, the lonely years of childbearing and Alfred's barbed attacks, her figure lost to the rigors of too a lot of births and an excess of laudanum, Dodo fulfills her wifely duty at the cost of her soul. Rationalizing Alfred's behavior, justifying his misdeeds, Dodo temporizes, apologizes, crumbles under the weight of her husband's demands. Instead of a spirited, brave lady married to a demanding, domineering man, Dodo becomes his victim. As the tale moves between Alfred's death and the reminiscences of confrontation, humiliation and emotional abuse, this rogue's gallery of demeaning incidents is painful to explore, tournament with her sisters for the affection of her husband, the ultimate betrayal of a mistress replacing her in the family home, Dodo's removal to a smaller ven the author's familiarity with Dickens and his family history, had this been offered as a biography, it might have been more palatable to this reader. But Dodo's long-suffering cooperation in chapter after chapter peels away any compassion I might have, replaced by frustration and disappointment. This is the story of a victim, unlike her Victorian counterparts in that Dorothea is married to a man beloved by the people; he shall always be a hero, she a tragic failure. But without spirit- or hope- Dodo fails on a more significant scale that that of society's expectations. Battered and denied, in a laudanum-induced fugue when her kids need her, Dorothea wears her crown of thorns proudly, parading her scars like badges of honor. It is literally painful to endure the weight of this marital story, the stripping of one to appease the heavy needs of the other. Dodo makes me weary, her weakness my burden. And there is no relief with Alfred's death, Dodo clinging to the fragments of a severely dysfunctional relationship. Luan Gaines/2009.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in a Blue Dress: A Novel Inspired by the Life and Marriage of Charles Dickens [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    I just finished this book and wow.. When I am sad after finishing a book I know it is a amazing one. This book, a random one I choose at the library because of the title and cover, makes me wish to see what other books Gaynor Arnold has written. Her writing blew me away with the ability to bring her characters to life and even more importantly (and more difficult) their internal turmoil/dialogue, emotions and perceptions. In Alfred, she does a magnificent job at making you both hate him and be intrigued by him at the same time; to see all his faults but to also understand the ability of those around him to forgive him so easily when us readers are so sure we'd never allow someone of his hero obtain away with what he does. She truly sets him up to be believable as a amazing man and her creativity in his crafting his jokes, stories, playfulness and spirit is one that not a lot of have. You can tell she thoroughly researched Charles Dickens and had an understanding of his hero - or, of men that have existed like Dorothea, while I can see most readers wanting to view her as weak willed and desperate (and she can sometimes be) I also see a strength in her ability to be grateful for what he brought to her life and her love for him. The ability to forgive is not a sign of weakness but is often mistaken for it. Readers also have to remember that she was a victim of her time; of having to be a amazing wife and mother, be able to carry a conversation with very small education or globe experience and hold themselves beautiful and agreeable. I love her small revelation at the end about "radicals" and the kinds of lives women deserve to live.I also like that while there wasn't a "happy" ending in the method people would expect like Alfred coming to her and apologizing before his death, or her finding he really did love her after all when reading his notebook, there was still a sense of closure with the return of her kids and her meeting with Miss Rickets. I also think the choice to create Alfred a hero who believes his own lies, even at the expense of others gave amazing closure to his character, as one can't support but ask why he would do the things he had done, and this sheds light on his own unhappiness and self-absorbed is a long read and not always very fast moving, but is still a page turner and a read I valued very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in a Blue Dress: A Novel Inspired by the Life and Marriage of Charles Dickens [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    I found this story fascinating, Gaynor Arnold does an perfect job of painting vivid and realistic characters who share complex and believable relationships. Her characterization of Charles Dickens is very interesting, she had me wondering if he was a madman, genius, master manipulator, manic depressive or pedophile throughout the book, she certainly knows how to depict a lot of facetted e story is not an action packed thriller, it's the examination of a life, a marriage, a man, it's a sad, slow and thoughtful story that often focuses on the role of a woman as a wife and a mother. Arnold shows how difficult it would be to compete with the demands fame would show as well as maintain your own identity while married to someone whose personality was larger than life.I thought the timing of Arnold's mention of mesmerism was very interesting, as I had begun to draw some parallels between Dickens and J.M. Barrie as Barrie was depicted in 'Captivated' by Piers Dudgeon. Mesmerism plays a very interesting role in that story and I couldn't support but see some striking similarities between the two men.I found 'Girl in a Blue Dress' engrossing, the writing nearly flawless. It was so simple to read, the info so authentic, I felt like I was like falling into the past. I highly recommend this to fans of historical fiction who can appreciate a bittersweet story. I would also recommend this to book clubs that have fun probing woman's problems including marriage, fidelity and reproductive health.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in a Blue Dress: A Novel Inspired by the Life and Marriage of Charles Dickens [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Apart from having no previous knowledge of the life and marriage of Charles Dickens, as well as stumbling with some of the vocabulary, I found the tale enthralling and was surprised at how easily it kept my attention.I enjoyed that the tale switched between how Dodo and Alfred originally met up to how their union came to ruin, and after Gibson's death - how everyone coped with it and the changes that arise in Dodo's life because of was difficult not to feel that Alfred was a cruel man for the method that he treated his wife, and his kids after meeting Miss Ricketts, but I was taken aback that he always seemed to believe he was a amazing man, a man that could do know wrong and simply saw anything and everything his own way.Overall, this books is definitely worth the read and definitely worth experiencing a period of time where people were different, culture was various but problems were still the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in a Blue Dress: A Novel Inspired by the Life and Marriage of Charles Dickens [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    He was the greatest Victorian author in all of British literature. Charles Dickens was a brilliant author of such masterpieces as David Copperfield; Hard Times; Bleak House; A Tale of Two Cities; Our Mutual Friend, Martin Chuzzlewit; Oliver Twist and a lot of others. Yet small is known about his longsuffering wife Catherine Dickens. In this fresh first time novel British author Gaynor Arnold recreates the domestic life of Dickens and Catherine. She calls the author "Alfred Gibbons" and his wife Dorothea. Dody is a buxom beauty who is wed to the young energetic Gibbons. He rises to fame with his genius while she stays home giving birth to a lot of children. The popular and spoiled author has an affair with an actress, leaves his wife taking his kids with him and condemning her to ten years of living alone is a little London flat. The novel begins on the day of the author's funeral. We hear Dodo tell her story as she remembers the high and low points of her life with the fascinating but unfaithful author. Arnold has done her homework allowing the reader inside the home of a celebrity and his family. Dickens was childish and selfish but loved his wife. He was easily infatuated by a beautiful face and fell into a long romance with a young actress name Wilhemine. She and Dodo confront each other following his funeral. This is the most dramatic stage in the novel. Arnold has done a amazing job in her first venture into novel writing. The book was longlisted for the Booker Prize. Arnold's research is commendable and her discussion of adultery is tasteful rather than prurient. Her book will victory legions of admirers in book clubs across the English speaking world. As a longtime Dickensian I was already familiar with much of what Arnold tells us. Someone who is coming fresh to this material will probably have fun the book more than I did. It was interesting and kept me turning the pages, though, and that is the goal of a amazing historical novel. A amazing first begin by a fresh author whose best work may lie ahead of her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in a Blue Dress: A Novel Inspired by the Life and Marriage of Charles Dickens [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    I love historical fiction that looks at the lives of women, and this novel, a fictionalized acc of the first marriage of Charles Dickens, is well written and easily readable. I found the pacing of the story served the plot well and the author cleverly portrayed the severe limits that were placed on the daughters and wives of the middle class. The Dickens character, Alfred Gibson, doesn't question his authority over his wife and children, nor do they, and the writer ably presents the almost intolerable frustration and internal conflict this creates in those who are treated like puppets in Gibson's/Dicken's is was a amazing read - well written, well plotted, and well worth your time and money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in a Blue Dress: A Novel Inspired by the Life and Marriage of Charles Dickens [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    PBS's famous "Masterpiece Theatre" program recently produced a multi-part televised adaptation of Charles Dickens's LITTLE DORRIT, considered by a lot of to be one of the author's most accomplished works. During the introduction to one of the episodes, the host commented that despite Dickens's lifelong marriage, by the time of the writing of this novel he had fallen out of love with his extremely fertile (and, as a result, rather stout) wife, preferring instead the affections of a childlike, domestic, sweet and mild-mannered girl --- someone very much like the hero of Amy Dorrit herself. In LITTLE DORRIT, the hero, Arthur Clennam, is horrified to explore that, during his years abroad, his childhood sweetheart has ballooned into a vast but vacuous woman, a figure to be both pitied and mocked --- and contrasted with the earnest sweetness and childlike beauty of Amy Dorrit. What must Dickens's wife have felt to see her own sad marriage reduced to fictional farce?In GIRL IN A BLUE DRESS, author Gaynor Arnold seeks to discover this question and others, as she writes her book from the point of view of a woman inspired by Charles Dickens's wife, Catherine. The Dickensian hero is named Alfred Gibson; his wife is Dorothea. However, it would soon become clear to those with even a passing knowledge of Dickens's career that Gibson is a stand-in for the most popular Victorian novelist. Catherine Dickens has been reduced to supporting hero status in most books about her popular husband; here she is given a possibility to tell her own RL IN A BLUE DRESS opens the day of Gibson's funeral; Dorothea, who has been cast out from the family (including being estranged from most of her six surviving children), chooses to remain in the shadows rather than face the twin horrors of the crowd's adulation of her husband and her own very public shame. Dorothea is visited by her eldest daughter, Kitty, who, although she was her father's favorite, has still remained loyal to her mother. As Kitty recounts the mania that has overtaken London in the wake of her father's death, Dorothea casts her mind back to the very earliest days of her courtship by "The One and Only," as Gibson becomes known. Gibson is alternately egotistical and endearingly eccentric, dramatic and dour, as he entreats Dorothea to be more fun-loving but reminds her that they both must work very hard to avoid the poverty and misery that characterized so much of his own youth.With marriage came conjugal bliss and babies; faced with Dorothea's more matronly figure and maternal responsibilities, Gibson's attention often strays elsewhere. The master storyteller, however, is also quite skilled at fabricating justifications for his own interest in, and behavior toward, young women --- including Dorothea's own younger sisters. As Dorothea retells the sad saga of her marriage to Gibson, she illustrates the combination of pride and disappointment that characterize marriage to one so talented, so popular and so single-minded --- a man whose greatest devotion was not to his wife, but to the characters he the days and weeks following Gibson's death, even as she considers all this history, Dorothea has a choice to make. Will she continue to be a virtual prisoner in her own home, bound by shame and isolated from the mates and family who used to love her? Or will she use her popular husband's demise as an opportunity to rejoin the outside world?Those with only a passing knowledge of the life and work of Charles Dickens will still search much to have fun in this fascinating hero study of a Victorian woman in what seems to be an impossible situation. Dickensophiles, however, will be delighted not only by the opportunity to read a fictionalized autobiography of one of the key figures in Dickens's own life, but also by the seamless method in which Arnold skillfully incorporates Dickens's characters into his life story. GIRL IN A BLUE DRESS will present readers a fresh side of Dickens --- one that portrays the amazing author as more flawed, perhaps, but also more human --- and a portrait of the amazing man's wife as a fully realized character, a product of her times and circumstances, not just as a literary device or farce. --- Reviewed by Norah Piehl

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in a Blue Dress: A Novel Inspired by the Life and Marriage of Charles Dickens [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Gaynor Arnold has written this fictional first novel, providing insight into the marriage, family life and narcissism of one of the amazing literary figures of the Victorian period, Charles Dickens. She has made unbelievable characters throughout, each one dimensional, living and breathing in the chaos of their family and worldly lives. It is a terrific read with warmly painted human beings, and skillful pacing. It is completely believable from begin to finish.I could not place it rothea Gibson (Catherine Dickens), might easily have been over-looked, as she states, "simply a footnote in history." But in the (dreadfully titled), "Girl in the Blue Dress" we hear a believable voice, one which grows stronger as the novel brings this globe to "Dodo" tells her story, she provides strong dimension and insight into The One and Only, Alfred Gibson's (Charles Dickens) e novel begins at the funeral to which Dodo is uninvited, having been banished from their home, ten years prior, when Alfred took up with an actress, the same age as his daughter Kitty. Dodo looks back at her life and shares it with the fred, a charismatic youth, swept Dodo off her feet with his love letters and charm. Their marriage produced eight children, and drained Dodo of her youth. Arnold has, of course, fictionalized, but believably so. Children, mates and servants are skillfully painted, each with his or her private color, nuance, shadow and light. Arnold has loved and understood each one, and makes it simple for the reader, as e widow Dorothea is called to visit with Queen Victoria and they share their mutual losses and discuss the problems that women struggle with in Victorian times. Dorothea Gibson finds the courage to meet with her sister, who came to help, then stayed to undermine her role as wife and mother. She meets with the young actress, with whom Alfred spent his final ten years. Separated from her kids for a lifetime, presented the author opportunity for further intelligently written scenes, with powerful and believable dialog. Dodo finds within herself an astounding ability to listen and spite a lifetime of scandal and heartbreak, Dodo never stopped loving her Alfred. In this exceptionally well-written novel, author Gaynor Arnold has captured the Victorian era, insights into Dicken's life and a story of a marriage of its time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in a Blue Dress: A Novel Inspired by the Life and Marriage of Charles Dickens [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    A walk through 19th century England and a glimpse of the near obsessive madness of Charles Dickens. His insatiable appetite to be The One and Only. Full of emotion and heartbreak. As if Dickens himself wrote it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Neon Blue Girl Keyboard Theme [App]  2019-11-25 13:39

    LOVE THIS APP!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Neon Blue Girl Keyboard Theme [App]  2019-11-25 13:39

    IT US AMAZING

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Neon Blue Girl Keyboard Theme [App]  2019-11-25 13:39

    Guys salute you all which are full of fun and make this ally super and supervelly come with this adds

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    mDesign Woven Hyacinth Closet Storage Organizer Basket Bin - Collapsible - for Cube Furniture Shelving in Closet, Bedroom, Bathroom, Entryway, Office - 2 Pack - Black Wash []  2020-2-2 18:36

    These baskets are the excellent size for bookshelf decor! They are so super sturdy and simple to assemble. Some reviewer said it was uneven, but b that's probably because they didn't follow the instructions for how to assemble-- you need to remove the white protectice hints on the hooks before trying to create the latches fit!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    mDesign Woven Hyacinth Closet Storage Organizer Basket Bin - Collapsible - for Cube Furniture Shelving in Closet, Bedroom, Bathroom, Entryway, Office - 2 Pack - Black Wash []  2020-2-2 18:36

    Amazing baskets, a small when inspected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    mDesign Woven Hyacinth Closet Storage Organizer Basket Bin - Collapsible - for Cube Furniture Shelving in Closet, Bedroom, Bathroom, Entryway, Office - 2 Pack - Black Wash []  2020-2-2 18:36

    The baskets arrived without instructions. I'm beautiful savvy when it comes to assembly but these stumped me. No matter how hard I pushed to obtain the rubber/plastic end cap covered pieces (mine are black) into the hinge, they wouldn't budge. Then I read a review that said to REMOVE these end caps before inserting them into the hinge. Although it wasn't simple to remove them - let's just say that the edges are sharp and my blood was spilled in the process - I FINALLY assembled these tricky small things. I place the end caps back on the metal prongs to hold the basket assembled. Love the look but want they came with assembly directions - and they're a bit rickety.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    mDesign Woven Hyacinth Closet Storage Organizer Basket Bin - Collapsible - for Cube Furniture Shelving in Closet, Bedroom, Bathroom, Entryway, Office - 2 Pack - Black Wash []  2020-2-2 18:36

    Not as nice as the picture. A lot of broken pieces

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    mDesign Woven Hyacinth Closet Storage Organizer Basket Bin - Collapsible - for Cube Furniture Shelving in Closet, Bedroom, Bathroom, Entryway, Office - 2 Pack - Black Wash []  2020-2-2 18:36

    Used in my repurposed TV stand. Worked excellent for the zone and they were super simple to place together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    mDesign Woven Hyacinth Closet Storage Organizer Basket Bin - Collapsible - for Cube Furniture Shelving in Closet, Bedroom, Bathroom, Entryway, Office - 2 Pack - Black Wash []  2020-2-2 18:36

    These baskets are beautiful and functional in organizing stuff in my kitchen pantry. Now I'm shopping for MORE!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    mDesign Woven Hyacinth Closet Storage Organizer Basket Bin - Collapsible - for Cube Furniture Shelving in Closet, Bedroom, Bathroom, Entryway, Office - 2 Pack - Black Wash []  2020-2-2 18:36

    They ship flattened and are incredibly easy to e natural mater is a bit flaky? As in it will leave little dust/grass like pieces. But no huge and is to be expected because it's a natural fiber. It still holds well and looks good!Considering purchasing more for my desk shelves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    mDesign Woven Hyacinth Closet Storage Organizer Basket Bin - Collapsible - for Cube Furniture Shelving in Closet, Bedroom, Bathroom, Entryway, Office - 2 Pack - Black Wash []  2020-2-2 18:36

    These are so fantastic!!! I have been looking for the excellent cubes for my storage unit and these are them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    mDesign Woven Hyacinth Closet Storage Organizer Basket Bin - Collapsible - for Cube Furniture Shelving in Closet, Bedroom, Bathroom, Entryway, Office - 2 Pack - Black Wash []  2020-2-2 18:36

    Simple to place together but hard to STAY together. The prongs fall out of their clasps with any movement

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    mDesign Woven Hyacinth Closet Storage Organizer Basket Bin - Collapsible - for Cube Furniture Shelving in Closet, Bedroom, Bathroom, Entryway, Office - 2 Pack - Black Wash []  2020-2-2 18:36

    excellent for storage of any kind, they look amazing in my office

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Pieces []  2020-1-14 19:28

    FIVE STARS! Beautiful. Broken. is is one of those books you just can't place down (though I did a few times because all that other stuff--like parenting--got in the way). The author's style of writing was so excellent for this story, almost disjointed in parts, giving us small glimpses, bits and pieces of the main hero and her history. GIRL IN PIECES isn't about romance, by any means, but must add that I truly loved the tragic love story event as a secondary plot line.I don't know how to sum up this book in a fast and simple way, so I will leave you with this: GIRL IN PIECES is all at once tragic and hopeful, heartbreaking and revitalizing, depressing and uplifting. It combines all of these emotions and more into one HELL of a story and one HELL of a main character. Charlie is the girl next door. She's the small girl you hold tucked deep down inside. She's the girl who sits next to you in class, quiet and invisible, but wanting so much to be loved, to search her voice and reach out. She's the woman you know down the street. Her secrets may not be the same as yours, but you know her, and you instantly connect with her.Our scars may not all be the same, a lot of of them not even visible, but we all have them, and we will always be united in that, no matter our arlie's story is inspiring, as is Kathleen Glasgow. I can't wait to read more of her work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Red []  2020-1-22 21:7

    This book was...pretty bad. Mostly because the main hero was a complete Mary Sue. We are told constantly how intelligent and insightful she is, how amazing her instincts are, and how inexplicably amazing she is with an axe despite zero training or prior knowledge. She quotes Shakespeare, has random scientific knowledge, is mixed race AND bisexual. She hates guns, cuz they’re so, like, cold and hateful. When a wise hero (who’s Asian, natch) points out that guns are possibly useful in post-apocalyptic situations, Red actually says, disdainfully, that she doesn’t need a gun cuz she’s got BRAINS. Even when her brother or random soldiers “insult” her, it’s actually written to give her compliments: oh man, she’s so non-compliant, she’s so annoyingly forthright and brave (dramatic eye roll, gosh can you believe this girl?).The plot itself is okay, until suddenly a whole fresh element is introduced and then left unexplained and unresolved. Unfortunately it was also the most interesting part, but it also felt completely random, like the author realised people having a cough and dying wasn’t interesting a final hat-tip to authors everywhere, no one - and I mean, NO ONE - casually drops the phrase “deux ex machina” into conversation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl in Time []  2020-1-13 19:16

    Decently written light entertainment that stalls in the middle when Birmingham inserts an anti-Trump diatribe that's beautiful silly (Trump weaponizes the Department of Homeland Security so they act like the secret police in '1984').Considering that I saw the exact same trope in "A Study in Honor" (Sherlock and Watson recast as black in a future civil war-racked U.S.), and anticipate the same in Jonathan Letham's upcoming novel, I can't muster much more than a "you too?" at Birmingham.Otherwise, the story reads like the old "Time Tunnel" TV series, in which characters jump from epoch to epoch, being chased by villains for no particular reason except to obtain us to the next book. The characters aren't going to evolve, and the globe probably won't either, so I won't be buying the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl in Time []  2020-1-13 19:16

    I can only repeat the blurb I gave, and of which I meant every word: John Birmingham has done a smashing time-travel, cross-cultural adventure, mysterious strangers, dystopian Trumpist gladiator uprising alternate history sword and sandal Western bodice-ripper mystery novel and I'm panting for more. Amazing characters, dynamite realistic action, and Jack the Ripper among the Victorian proto-Feminists. Deranged and brilliant!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl in Time []  2020-1-13 19:16

    I am a huge fan of Birmingham’s books and his writing style. His items is full of wit, action and solid plots and characters. His recent offering, A Girl in Time, is of the same vein, but it’s not. I can’t place my finger on it precisely, but this book is quite various from his other offerings- various in a amazing way. I had a lot of fun reading this book! I found myself surprised and amazed by the plot twists, the relatable cast of personalities, and the interplay thereof. For a fan of Birmingham, read on. It’s fun. If you are a random reader and like a amazing sci-fi time travel yarn, grab it and enjoy- then do like I have and backtrack through all of his novels. Birmingham’s writing is flat-out addictive. Highly Recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl in Time []  2020-1-13 19:16

    Will begin this out by saying I love John Birmingham's work. He engages with his readership and is always weirdly got a pulse on what can potentially come next (e.g. predicting "data slates" in his Axis of Time series, years before smartphone computers became commonplace). A Girl in Time clearly sets up a fresh franchise, and it's got potential to be a amazing one. The novel happens in three acts, which, for a Quantum-Leap-eqsue-world, allows for tight narratives in each timeline they visit. The characters are interesting, and the spunky, geek grrrl heroine makes for a nice foil versus the uptight 19th century lawman (if you read early problems of Valerian, it's a related relationship).Here's my only complaint about the novel -- it is very obvious in the fact that it's building up a franchise. There isn't enough gravitas to the villain, your standard hunter/killer drone archetype. There isn't a lot of understanding of the bigger threat, other than a few interlude chapters where "God of the Multiverse" is trying to fix a "broken cog" in his universe-sized watch. Really it feels like three episodes of a TV show, woven together into a larger narrative. This book feels like watching the first DVD of a season of TV -- there's globe building, hero development, etc. But it ends with a time jump; I can almost hear an announcer go "tune in next year for further adventures of Cady and Titanic!"On a side note, Birmingham confirmed (on Twitter) that his 2019 was written as satire, since the POTUS 2016 election hadn't ended yet. It's terrifying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Between []  2019-12-26 19:1

    Really amazing story, heartbreaking though!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Between []  2019-12-26 19:1

    Homes a sense of identity, particularly for those in their formative years. Sarah Carroll’s The Girl In Between depicts life on the road and on the move for a young girl and her mother from the eyes of the young girl.Within the walls of her Castle, a young girl can dream of the fairy tale life she wants instead of the harsh reality of homelessness she faces every day. While she has reign over the Castle, she must be vigilant to remain invisible from the outside globe or risk being taken away from her mother by the Authorities. With Authority representatives in yellow vests coming around her Castle to evaluate it, the girl fears that her home may be taken away from her or she from it, which would greatly change her life. In learning about the Castle’s history as a mill from a fellow squatter, called the Caretaker, who is struggling versus his past and grief to leave the mill after forty-seven years, the girl realizes that her mother also needs to face what’s haunting her in to hold moving forward.A fast read that presents the realities of the globe through the lens of a young girl offering a fresh perspective from which to consider the unfortunate problem of homelessness that plagues society. While the perspective of and experience with homelessness from the vantage point of young girl was quite intriguing and interesting as it was written in a manner that was captivating and using language that befits the narrator, the narrative was ultimately rather confusing, perhaps because it lacked an appreciable plot. With the minimal plot present, the “twist” at the end of the story, while a key point of the narrative, wasn’t as poignant as it could have been had a plot been reasonably developed.Overall, I’d give it a 2.5 out of 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Between []  2019-12-26 19:1

    This book created me feel sad. Sad because the child, whose name we never know, lives in an abandoned building and thinks it is the best put she has ever lived, not counting Gran's house. Sad because her mother is a drunk and a drug addict who keeps her "safe" by taking her to drug dens and other abandoned buildings. Sad because she lives in hiding on the roads when her mother could have left her with her grandmother. But it isn't a sad book. The girl has a vivid imagination. The mill, which is falling apart, is a castle, complete with ghost. She people watches, and makes up stories about the people she see regularly. She loves her mother and knows her mother mostly loves her. But her mother created some poor choices, and those created for a sad ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Red []  2020-1-22 21:7

    Oh jeeze, where should I start? This was a super fun, updated Small Red Riding Hood, all done up in the glamour of a post apocalyptic setting. I love the POC female lead, whose resilience and prickly/stern/pragmatic outlook peppers the entire narrative. What an wonderful journey, and a special spin on a familiar tale: literally LRRH (little red riding hood) is going to her grandma’s house...only she’s not so little, is a biracial woman, and an amputee. The ‘wolves’ of the globe better watch is story might take some people out of the suspension of disbelief because the mentions of a red hoodie, going to grandma’s house, and the direct (clunky) comparison of the risky people in a chaotic globe to wolves...is beautiful massive handed. The fable within the story is not subtle, and it’s not at all hidden. For those of us who don’t care about being fancy, and will give anything written well an honest test (and TBH have read fan fiction before and aren’t snobs about rejecting story variants), this is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Red []  2020-1-22 21:7

    There will be arguments the ending is rushed, but the ending was never the point of this particular journey. Meanwhile the characters, even the peripheral ones, were well fleshed out and the plot gripping. I've finished the book equally happy and full or questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl in Time []  2020-1-13 19:16

    What could come off as cliched doesn't in Birmingham's hand. An improbable pair of leads consisting of a US Marshall from 1877 and a successful millennium female android game designer time-shifting through 1888 London, alt-reality 2019 Seattle and pre-A.D. Rome, I mean, what's not to like? But for JB's knack of creating likable characters and pacing though, it could have been just par for the course. It's a cliff hanger; undoubtably the begin of another trilogy like his Creatures series and weapons of Choice effortThe pacing is well chosen and the war scenes every other chapter or so hold you very entertained. I finished it in a day.What you'll like best though is the period-correct dialogue and banter.I'll test not to be a spoiler but one alt-timeline is set in 2019 Seattle where Hillary lost and Trump won. It is of course a loathsome fascist police state. So we know where JB's American politics are (😉JB's an Aussie). Well, he has named a "main character" aircraft carrier the "Hillary Clinton" in another series, so that's no surprise, although the election results do run counter to his plot line. But he's not preachy and since one hero is a Millennium Seattle android game designer, it does rong effort overall. Can't wait for the next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Pieces []  2020-1-14 19:28

    This is one of those books that I literally could not place down once I got started. Kathleen Glasgow shows us a raw and unflinching look inside of the globe of those who self-harm. The topic matter is dark but the writing itself is attractive and Charlie's story is so compelling. This is one of those books that's so necessary 1) because if you know someone who self-harms, it gives you an idea of what exactly they're going through so that you can hopefully support them through it, and 2) most importantly, it lets those who self-harm know that they're not alone. Truly a strong read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Pieces []  2020-1-14 19:28

    This is a book that is difficult to read. It is also one that more people should read. It does not flinch away from the reality of self-harm and Charlie is so damaged that it makes you damage deep in your heart. I have read reviews that blame this book for encouraging or even glorifying cutting and that couldn't be more wrong. This book dives deep into the messy, tragic reality that so a lot of people live with every single day. It is not sweet, it does not hide the dark shadows, and it isn't going to pretend that everything is magically fixed. It is well-written, in the format of a journal - some pages have just a few sentences where others have several pages. You feel like you are reading Charlie's thoughts & once I got used to the formatting I couldn't imagine it being written any other way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Pieces []  2020-1-14 19:28

    Thanks to NetGalley and Delacorte Press for the opportunity to read and review Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow! A young woman named Charlie is found outside a hospital, damage and alone. She's treated in the hospital for seven days and then is taken to a psychiatric ward. She has chop herself to cope with the struggles in her life. She's released from the ward and tries to obtain through it all one day at a time, and sometimes one moment at a time, while she finds a put to live and a job. Her social circle grows and she finds herself dealing with other's issues and she wants to move forward not backwards. Girl in Pieces is a real pay-it-forward story and the author relays her own story and shares resources with readers at the end of the book. A deep, complex story as raw and realistic as life gets. 5 stars for this young adult realistic fiction story that's inspiring and eye-opening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Between []  2019-12-26 19:1

    “I’m invisible. Ma says I’m supposed to be so the Authorities don’t obtain me.” Carroll has written a haunting debut novel that will have you guessing long after you’ve finished reading. While The Girl In Between’s main hero is a young girl that is never named, you will connect with her everyday struggles almost immediately. Living in an abandoned warehouse with her mother, this young girl is captivating and resourceful while living through dangers the average person doesn’t have to contend with. Just as I started to suspect something, the story began to evolve. You won’t wish to stop reading! This YA novel is not to be missed! 👏🏻{Released June 2017 from Kathy Dawson Books, Penguin Young Readers Group}Thanks to @penguinrandomhouse for the ARC of this book! All opinions are my own. Next I'll be passing this book on to the @kidlitexchange #kidlitexchange reviewer network now! 👫

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Between []  2019-12-26 19:1

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Between []  2019-12-26 19:1

    A young homeless girl and her mother live in the ruins of an abandoned mill. While the girl stays inside to avoid the authorities, the mother begs for change on the street. While the mother wars addiction, the girl creates her own fantasy life.I have to admit that I don't really obtain this book. I couldn't figure out how old the girl was, which really bothered me. Although this book isn't for me, I'm sure there are a lot of out there who will be caught in its flowery language and dream like quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Pieces []  2020-1-14 19:28

    This book is a haunting story of a young woman named Charlie who has suffered through an wonderful number of not good events, and her attempts to navigate the true globe while also trying to heal. I devoured this book; I read it in a day, hardly putting it down, because even though the topic matter is extremely intense and somewhat personal, it's enthralling. I cried a number of times, which may not sound like a amazing thing but the writing is just so amazing that you feel at times as though you are Charlie, and you feel what she feels. TW for rape, suicide, self-harm, drug/alcohol abuse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Pieces []  2020-1-14 19:28

    I really really enjoyed this book. While it's harrowing in parts it conveys such an necessary message, that healing is possible. No matter how poor it gets and no matter how much hurt you inflict on yourself there are people who care. Finding your tribe is so important, being understood and accepted and most importantly allowing yourself to be helped. In a globe where shame is kept in the dark this book is a glimmer of light. I hope young women and men read this book and take from it, maybe even heal with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl in Time []  2020-1-13 19:16

    Birmingham us one of the most fun variants of time displacement stories: two characters from various eras having to rely on each other's various strengths. He has avoided the pacing issue that nearly strangled the Axis of Time trilogy, moving rapidly into the heart of the story. The characters have a very clear plot element moving them forwards: they do not know how their time machine works and are trying to figure it out to obtain home, but they have to wait a day in between jumps, thus forcing them interact with the periods, where they run into varying degrees of is buys all the fun of jumping around in time with none of the plot confusion about why they don't just jump right back and fix their e book has an unintended horror element, though, at least to a liberal. One of the clues that Cady picks up on for why they did not move into her own future is that Trump won the election, which she assures Smith could not possibly have happened. (And it is not really a spoiler to say that she is right; they have not moved into our own future, unless someone forgot to tell me that France settled Australia.)Well, surprise. I am guessing Birmingham was also assuming Trump would have lost. The Trumpworld he paints is a grim dystopia sure to outrage American conservatives, who can I suppose reconcile any cognitive dissonance they may feel by remembering that it is a related globe to ours but not our world. For an Amercian liberal, reading this book the week before the inauguration, this book is an apalling exploration of our worst om a scifi point of view, Birmingham clues about the underlying physics, and he is a serious enough writer that I trust he will eventually explain some otherwise bizarre choices (how do two realities diverge far enough back for the French to settle Australia yet have the same people living in 2019 with the same phone numbers as the other reality? JB is method too experienced a scifi writer to just ignore the butterfly effect; this will surely be rationalized). But the protagonists don't figure it out in this book, so we'll have to wait. To that extent, any review of this book is incomplete until we reach the end of the series and see if he pays off the things he has set up here. But I will happily be along for the ride.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl in Time []  2020-1-13 19:16

    Cady is e thinks about abandoning her mate (and lover-to-be) when they are in a jam and only stays because another mates shames her. She comes back to Seattle after a two year absence (subjective) and never even thinks to call her folks. She meets a decent man who saves her life and reprimands him incessantly for addressing her as "Miss".Story is interesting, but I regret spending $4.99 and several hours to have Cady in my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Red []  2020-1-22 21:7

    What a amazing book, amazing story, amazing characters - loved everything about it! This basically has every component that I love in books; end-of-the-world, a bit of horror, powerful female character, diverse characters, likable characters - and a amazing story to tell. It was delivered on Sat morning and I had finished it by dinner time. The ending was too soon, left me wanting more, but could go either way. If she writes a sequel, I will definitely it - if not, then the story stands as is. Christina Henry has become my favorite author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Red []  2020-1-22 21:7

    I really hate stories that do not respond the main question and this one definitely does not respond any of the question. It was descent writing and a descent plot but you can not leave the reader hanging like this! Sorry if it's a spoiler but I want someone had warned me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Red []  2020-1-22 21:7

    In this post-apocalyptic retelling of 'Little Red Riding Hood', a young woman (nicknamed Red) flees her home to travel 300 miles through the woods to obtain to Grandma's house after a deadly virus simply called 'the Cough' wipes out most of the population. Along the method there are a lot of wolves waiting for her in the woods but this young woman is intelligent and well prepared and not easily is fun, quick paced novel was a fast read. It does obtain quite gory in places, especially when Red wields her trusty axe to kill the poor guys (some human, some not). Red is a intelligent and capable heroine with an encyclopedic knowledge of post-apocalyptic films and books so knows what she needs to do to survive. There were some unresolved problems for me and I would have liked a bit more resolution in the ending. Overall, it was an enjoyable, suspenseful read and I'll be adding more of Christina Henry's books to my reading list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Between []  2019-12-26 19:1

    What a amazing book! This story touched my heart in so a lot of ways. I have a fresh perspective on the homeless. Perfect read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Between []  2019-12-26 19:1

    Thanks to the #kidlitexchange network for the review copy of this book - all opinions are my e main draws into this book are definitely going to be the characters and the story. The main character, the girl mentioned in the title, drew me in from the start. She had an innocence about her, a precociousness that comes with childhood, but also an underlying sense of understanding and that innate self-preservation that comes with a difficult life.And then there’s the story. Told from the girl’s perspective, the info are shared in a method that only a kid can obtain away with (their home is the Castle, their neighbor is Caretaker, her ma’s mate is Monkey Man), and it adds an emotional dimension to the story that you wouldn’t obtain from an adult’s viewpoint. And did I mention the ending? Oh, man. It’s a solid punch to the feels.Highly recommend.While this book is categorized as young adult/teen, I think it will appeal more strongly to the younger readers of this age range.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Pieces []  2020-1-14 19:28

    4.5 Stars"I'm choosing my next momentous."Charlotte wakes up in a mental health facility in the beginning of this book, so scarred (literally and metaphorically) that she is unable to speak. She observes a cast of characters that support her reflect about the tragedies that attack the human spirit.Eventually, Charlie leaves the facility and begins life coping with the happenings that have damaged her AND her family members and mates who have so a lot of problems and horrors of their ere are a lot of obstacles in Charlie's path as she begins the process of dealing with the darkness in life. I enjoyed her moments of clarity and the chapters of random, excellent lengths, mimicking the dozens of Charlotte's moods. My favorite moment is when Charlie gets her first apartment in Phoenix and she delights in the stillness and ownership of this accomplishment, even though she has no bed and is sleeping on the floor and her backpack is her arlie then gets to address her demons, and the reader is taken on a wild ride as we meet and re-meet the a lot of people who have impacted her life.Written with a lovely mix of brevity and gorgeous description, Girl in Pieces was a delightful yet haunting read. Excellent for the high school audience, and as a more mature companion to All the Bright Locations or My Heart and Other Black Holes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Pieces []  2020-1-14 19:28

    We first meet Charlotte “Charlie” Davis as an uncommunicative and mad seventeen-year-old during a stay at a mental health facility after she has a self-destructive breakdown. When her medical insurance runs out, Charlie is discharged into the care of her estranged mother. When that arrangement immediately falls through, Charlie is place on a bus from Minnesota to Arizona where a mate is waiting for her. From there, Charlie struggles to place her life back together.I finished this book yesterday and I’m still trying to decide how I feel about it. There’s absolutely no denying that this is a gritty, dismal and depressing book. Yet, that does not create this a poor book by any e rational, analytical side of me wanted to pick apart some of the happenings that occur in this book. Yes, patients are chop loose from medical facilities all the time because of an inability to pay. But would any reputable facility not test to provide some sort of follow-up care for a minor child? That, to me, was a definite recipe for disaster right there. Knowing how disastrous mental health care is in this country, I was quickly willing to allow this go, ing on to the characters – I flip-flopped when it came to Charlie. I connected with her and felt for her, but then I didn’t. Clearly, we’re dealing with a teenager who has not been guided in any method or given any sort of coping skills. Hence, the immediate need to obtain into a relationship. Most addicts understand that embarking on a relationship early on in recovery is almost certain doom. Yet, Charlie does this repeatedly. It was difficult for me to feel any empathy for her. She was a mess of a girl, who allowed practically everyone to walk all over her. And, her constant jealousy became tedious after a while. But as a former seventeen-year-old girl myself, I was willing to look past this. After all, her lack of coping and people skills were what caused her to self-harm in the first place.I intensely disliked Riley’s character. A grown man in his late twenties, who was clearly a broken person, hell bent on breaking everyone around him – and this included a seventeen-year-old girl – isn’t exactly likable. To me he was despicable. I didn’t give a darn about what happened to him. There were a few likable supporting characters scattered times, I felt the dialogue could have been stronger and more powerful, but it just wasn’t there for me. The writing is good, not fantastic, but darn good. So definite points for mentioned in the book’s description and in other reviews, this book reminded me a lot of Girl Interrupted – which I thoroughly enjoyed. Strangely enough, it also reminded me of White Oleander. I felt both of these books were stronger and more compelling than Girl in Pieces.I would like to say that the topic matter in this book can most certainly be triggers for anyone who suffers from addiction, self-mutilation and depression – so know this going in and be prepared. It’s not an uplifting, satisfied book. The ending was tidy and I found it unexpectedly hopeful. It took guts for the author to write about a topic that was so close to her. Kudos to her for that. Thanks to Blogging for Books and the publisher for a complimentary copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl in Time []  2020-1-13 19:16

    **Spoiler Alert** As a fan of John Birmingham I look forward to his sci-fi fantasy view of the globe in his stories. His Axis of Time trilogy was amazing as far as time travel situations go. He is usually fleshes out his stories with plausible scenarios and dozens of info that give his reads a sense of realism. With this book I felt the story didn't have the same amount of eye for detail. It also felt rushed, with less story development than his other works. I was also place off by the blatant use of Donald Trump as an evil, dictator-like leader who enacted house arrests and "sent people to the wall" (I'm not a fan of Trump, but even so it was over the top and took away from the story). I understand it was an alternate universe likely, but still felt like a political statement was being created in a not-so-subtle way. Overall It was a amazing read, but not a "page-turner" like his other books are. I would probably read another in this same series should he [email protected]#$%!, but not with the same enthusiasm.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl in Time []  2020-1-13 19:16

    Cady, a young independent android game designer is walking home after a meeting in a Seattle bar when two men suddenly attack her. She escapes them with the aid of a tall cowboy— not a millennial wearing a cowboy hat, but the true thing, complete with days-old sweat and a whiff of saving her, the cowboy (who had identified himself as a Deputy US Marshall, complete with an antique-looking badge pinned to the lapel of coat) somehow moved her far from the dark Seattle road to a place, and a time, completely unknown to her, and apparently to him as begins a tale of time travel, and of the difficulty in communicating when you share a language but not an historical context. John Birmingham is an perfect writer; his “The Axis of Time” trilogy is one of the best alternate histories I’ve read.I do have an problem with “A Girl in Time”, though, starting with the title. Mr. Birmingham repeatedly refers to Cady, and to her mate Georgia, as “girls”. Both are actually professional women in their twenties, and it’s abundantly clear that Cady at least would object vociferously to it— she insists on Marshall Smith calling her Ms., not Miss.I’m not sure why Mr. Birmingham has chosen to use a word that diminishes and infantilizes the female protagonist; he certainly doesn’t call Marshall Smith a boy. In any case, it cost him a star on an otherwise five star commended, despite that one serious caveat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Red []  2020-1-22 21:7

    A retelling of a fairy story set after the apocalypse. Sounds weird but it did not surprise me as I had already read a book by this author called Alice. She excels at writing the gruesome and gory plus her book covers are brilliant!The Girl in Red was not quite as amazing as Alice but it was still an perfect read. Red was a very interesting hero indeed and it was so nice to read about someone who did NOT begin that door or go down into that basement when it is obvious to everyone that would be the wrong thing to do. She was sometimes a small over the top with her attitude and some of the axe sequences were a tad unbelievable, but it's a fairy story after all, if a very bloodthirsty one!So - a amazing book right up to the end when the author appeared to just stop writing. That was not an ending!!! Is there going to be a part 2?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Red []  2020-1-22 21:7

    5/5 starsI really liked this post-apocalyptic story that centered on a feisty, powerful minded, ax wielding heroine on her method to her secluded grandmother's house. I loved reading the story of Red, her family and the people they met along their journey. The characters were amazing yet flawed and you still found yourself rooting for them to obtain their satisfied ever after ending! Even if it's only to create it to grandma's cottage in the middle of the woods surrounded by a dystopian, disease ridden world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Pieces []  2020-1-14 19:28

    My attractive teenage daughter cuts. I wouldn't know about it if she didn't trust me. I bought this book for her and she couldn't place it down! She loved it and thanked me for getting it for her. Unbelievable book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl in Pieces []  2020-1-14 19:28

    This is kind of a harrowing book, but probably the most honest and true portrayal of self-harming I've ever arlotte is one hugely damaged human being. Life has hurled a lot at her, and she's survived it, but not without marks. And when the globe hurts so much, sometimes the only method to control it is by controlling pain.But this book only tips at the pain and desperation Charlie has lived through because the story takes put after she's been hospitalized and given therapy. It with her life after being released from the institution and her struggle to live without the self-destructive tools she's relied on for so long.And it's a struggle. As situations grow challenging, Charlie has to war herself not to fall back into those self-destructive habits. But the joy of this book is watching Charlie's strength grow as she faces each fresh situation without cutting herself and begins to begin up to others and let them to help. And then for her to search the strength to support others who are struggling with their own 's not an simple read. These are genuinely damaged people and their choices and decisions are often so far off base you wish to drag them off the page and back on track. But having lived through years of a friend's self-harming, I believe this is an honest, realistic and essential story for anyone who can't imagine intentionally hurting themselves. And probably for those who can too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Girl in Time []  2020-1-13 19:16

    I've been trying to wrap my head around what I wanted to say in this review. Do I take the Sliders angle? Do I take the Incompatible Duo on a Street Trip ala Hope and Crosby, but with less laughs and more action angle? Do I just call out the suspense, well written characters, and plot that grabs and won't allow go? Should I say anything about the villain of the piece? Or, should I just list out a series of questions I asked myself before I started this review and allow that be the sum of why I liked it?This is a fun, action oriented, time travel romp - to say much more would give away spoilers. The cover blurb tells you everything you need to know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Between []  2019-12-26 19:1

    Life is amazing when the girl lives with her grandmother, but Ma wants them to move out. They don't have any and they have nowhere to go. The girl and her mother end up on the roads until they move into an old mill they call The Castle. Ma forgets to feed the girl, she takes her daughter to scary locations she doesn't wish to be and the girl doesn't go to school. Ma has told the girl to stay away from the Authorities, they're after her and wish to take her with them, while leaving Ma behind. Every time they arrive the girl hides, so the Authorities won't search her. The girl created her mother promise something, but Ma isn't sticking to it. Life at the mill is lonely and the girl only has one friend. The mill might be haunted and the girl is afraid, but she's built herself a safe house, she'll be fine, won't she?The Girl in Between is an original and impressive story. The girl is being taken away from the home she loves by a mother who can't take care of them. Life on the roads isn't simple and the girl is glad when they search the mill. They at least have a roof over their heads. My heart ached for her because of the unfairness of her situation. Her mother makes wrong decision after wrong decision, but the girl keeps loving her unconditionally. She wants to go back to her grandmother, but her mother doesn't place her daughter's needs first, which is such a sad situation.I liked the ghost aspect of the story, which gives it even more layers of depth. The mill is supposed to be haunted and the girl is trying to lure the ghost. I was fascinated by the method she tries to explore more about the mill's history. Something must have happened there and finding out more about it kept me on the edge of my seat. I loved the method Sarah Carroll plays with tension, she's keeping tight control and her timing is perfect, which makes her story incredibly strong. The Girl in Between is hauntingly attractive and I loved every single rah Carroll writes about a girl without a proper childhood, mates her own age and a school she can go to. The girl doesn't have much in her life, but because of her optimistic personality she keeps trying to search ways to hold herself busy. She's being neglected and Sarah Carroll writes about that in a raw and honest method from the point of view of the child, which created it additional moving. The story is filled with unexpected twists and turns and I loved how I was being surprised over and over again. The ending is absolutely brilliant and created me cry. The Girl in Between is a special story and Sarah Carroll's awesome writing makes it come to life incredibly well. I loved this brilliant book and think it's a definite must-read.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386