gladiator rising Reviews & Opinions


Submit gladiator rising review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    The mechanics and idea are really fun, android game was enjoyable until the first arena boss Crixus. I prepped as much as I could having saved huge hurt stuff and healing potions but none of that mattered when I was stun locked to death. I have fun roguelikes with the restart everything, but it really turned me off when I did everything in my power to victory and got completely restart because einning was created literally impossible.

    0  


  • 1

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Its an entertaining "in development game" the random is very cool. I would suggest giving each class a skill that suits them at the start. The rogue and fighter can be used the same method sept fighter can use shield and rogue gets reduced stam cost for throwing. I would test to create them a lot more differant,sonce you can adapt the same strat to victory for both (Note: bombs are simple short cuts)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Fun small android game with only in-app purchase being to remove ads. The only problem I've had is where I reached the first arena boss. Basically, when I went in to war him it restart my level back down to 1. I still had all my equipment but lost my abilities and stat gains, making it impossible for me to progress.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on gladiator rising or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch gladiator rising video reviews and related movies:

    See All Bosses | Gladiator Rising on youtube.

     related image

    See Gladiator rising (final boss) on youtube.

     related image

    See Gladiator Rising episode 1 on youtube.

     related image

    See Gladiator Rising Tutorial How to Beat Crixus on youtube.

     related image

    See Gladiator rising (after u beat every boss and become overlord) on youtube.

     related image

    See Gladiator Rising - FUN ROGUELIKE RPG FIRST IMPRESSIONS on youtube.

     related image

    See Final Boss Gladiator Rising new version on youtube.

     related image

    See The MAGE!!!!! (Gladiator Rising) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    This is by far one of the most enjoyable mobile android games I have ever played. This android game is very special and has such an interesting premise. The fact that you only have one life per gladiator makes it so much more intense and actually makes a sense of loss if your gladiator dies. I love this android game and recommend everyone to play it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Amazing but when you die, all your stuff and hero are gone pls not gone. and when you sleep there's a opponent that you need to war to restore tour health and mana, why? you do create like when he,she sleep your going to wait like a time or watch a adds to restore health and mana pls do it if not 1 stars if yes 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    looks like sword and sandal. if you like to playing that game, you must test this game! please fix this bug - after killing demon store isn't refreshed. - application crash when i hit gladiator with dragon scale in defense mode, tried several time. - ghost might be a small overpowered. 500+ damage, around 100-150 from mage gladiator. - exp calculation too slow, especially 2k+ exp. create it faster please. and if you can add this - more save slot - choose to watch ads or reset if we dead. - more content like adventure ? dungeon ? pvp ? can't wait for that man! :D

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    I think this android game is a very underated game. It has a amazing concept and plays off it niceley, it has a amazing combat system that is very massive especially because this android game has permadeath. There is just one bug that is annoying. It makes the android game really easy, the glitch is that throwing a weapon at a boss on the first turn kills him instantly. Please fix!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    The poison spell for mage doesn't do hurt overtime. It's completely useless..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Nice update. More stories, equipments, etc. The android game is *quite hard* only until the 3rd boss, after that it becomes simple and easier, even the 5th (last) boss is a lot easier than the 3rd boss. There are ads but it can be skipped after 5s. The shop's refresh time is various from the beta version, which i think the beta is better. Overall 9/10. Will be waiting for the next modernize while trying to complete all of the achievements.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    This android game is dumb. Obtain stun locked till you die then begin from scratch again. Colossal waste of time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    OK NVM I'M SO MAD I WAS ON THE FINAL LEVEL (V) AND I NEED SOME HEALTH SO I PRESSED Zzz AND THEN ENCOUNTERED A FRKIN GOBLIN MAGE AND I GOT ONE @#$%!ED HE WAS LIKE LOL 34 OMG DUDE PLZ NERF THEM

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Simply Awesome and Addictive. Want there was a method to to save your progress (that you can unlock) when you die rather than having to reset all over again. But hey i guess that makes the android game unique.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Android game is fun, I beat through the second chapter up to the boss, however he is locked and ive beaten every other winner in that chapter so my android game seems to be bugged or something

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Android game crashes each time I slay the boss in the 3rd arena and everyone dies in 1 hit since the update.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    I think this android game is great. They have had some major updates already since I started playing. Mage is super hard, I found the other classes fairly simple before this recent update. I really like this game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    1 hour into the android game and its amazing Buff the opponent tho

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    This android game rocks! Be careful, the night is dark and full of terrors

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Tried it out for atleast an hour.... couldnt place my phone down amazing work for making this android game awsome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    EXCELLENT i want i had this back in the snes days. Glad to see improvments so quick after i downloaded it and looking forward to more e.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Very cool game, a few quirks here and there but I'm overall beautiful satisfied with the quality of the game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    I really don't like how if you die you have to reset all over again

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    right after I finished the 3 chapters the android game updated and now has five why :(

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Losing progress upon death is a bit too harsh, but the video test is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    It still has some bugs, I had to reset some characters but overall it's really amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    My type of android game but maybe not yours

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Add more bosses and remove the bomb,it makes the android game easier.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Absolutely awesome android game play and mechanics beat the android game several times

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Really fun but the rouge is OP as all obtain out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    I LOVE THIS GAME

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Super fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    This android game is amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Byutipool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Freaking amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Amazing base android game personally I'd like to see either more player hero classes or at least create it so the skills you learn tend toward your class. Fighter no intelligence so do I need heal, fireball, or acid at lvl 1?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Did it, 2nd try. Too simple with bombspam. But still fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    Simply awesome.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator Rising: Roguelike RPG review [App]  2017-10-13 22:36

    The android game is amazingly fun and addictive I love the pixely graphics and after several deaths beat the whole android game in beta thats right I played it in beta amazing android game awesome graphics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Gladiator has been my most favorite movie of all time. It is an epic masterpiece in a lot of ways and it really explains why despite the numerous viewings, Gladiator still amuses me with its strong imageries and a lot of other crucial aspects so that it won five Academy Awards. This movie is very well written, the well-ensemble casts, the A-class acting (especially Russell Crowe and Joaquin Phoenix), the stunning cinematography and definitely a powerful hero of Maximus (magnificently portrayed by Russell Crowe) whose life, struggle, disappointment and anger really move the audience, as if the globe attention centers on him. Gladiator is not a historical film, because it only used the history of the ancient Roman Empire merely as the time setting. All other aspects namely those gorgeous shots, the amazing storyline/plot, the unbelievable cinematography, the vividly lavish colors, detailed production design and digital imaging (that successfully rebuilt the stunning beauty of the ancient Roman Empire) and all sell really well, making the 170 minute-long running time definitely worthwhile. The visual of amazing war in the first 15 mins really stole my heart. The gruesome pictures, the blood and violence just to attractive to abandon. Everything in this film seems perfectly balanced, Ridley Scott as the movie director really did his homework well in redefining and revitalizing the huge war sequence once considered masterpiece from Spartacus and Ben Hur. In the end, once again, I would say that Gladiator perfectly combines some crucial elements such as good, moving story, dazzling visual, attractive scenery, filming techniques, direction and touching melody score into one harmonious, action-packed movie about heroism and its real meaning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gladiator review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    They said you were a giant. They said you can crush a man's skull with one hand. Ridley Scott's Gladiator is not a excellent film, I would think that the hardiest of fans, of which I'm firmly one, know this deep down. Yet just like Commodus in the movie is keen to point out that he himself has other virtues that are worthy, so does Gladiator the film. Enough in fact to create it an everlasting favourite of genre fans and worthy of the Academy Award acknowledgements it received. In narrative terms the plot and story arc is simplicity supreme, something Scott and Russell Crowe have never shied away from. There has to my knowledge as well, never been a denial of the debt Gladiator owes to Anthony Mann's 1964 Epic, The Fall of the Roman Empire. Some folk seem very irritated by this, which is strange because the makers of Gladiator were not standing up bold as brass to proclaim they were special with their movie, what they did do was reinvigorate a stagnant genre of movie for a fresh generational audience. And it bloody worked, the influence and interest in all things Roman or historically swashbuckling of movie that followed post Gladiator's success is there for all to see. What we do in life echoes in eternity. So no originality in story, then. While some of the CGI is hardly "Grade A" stuff, and there's a small over - mugging acting in help ranks as some of the cast struggle to grasp the period setting required, yet the method Gladiator can create the emotionally committed feels overrides movie making irks. Crowe's Maximus is the man men wish to be and the man women wish to be with. As he runs through the gamut of life's pains and emotionally fortified trials and tribulations, we are with him every step of the way, urging him towards his day of revenge splattered destiny; with Crowe superb in every pained frame, winning the Academy Award for Best Actor that he should have won for The Insider the previous year. Backing Crowe up is Joaquin Phoenix giving Commodus preening villainy and Connie Nielsen graceful as Lucilla (pitch Nielsen's turn here versus that of Diane Kruger's in Troy to see the class difference for historical period playing). Oliver Reed, leaving the mortal coil but leaving behind a spicy two fold performance as Proximo the Gladiator task master. Olly superb in both body and CGI soul. Richard Harris tugging the heart strings, Derek Jacobi classy, David Hemmings also, while Djimon Hounso gives Juba - Maximus right hand man and confidante - a level of hero gravitas that's inspiring. I didn't know man could build such things. Dialogue is literate and poetic, resplendent with iconic speeches. Action is never far away, but never at the expense of wrought human characterisations. The flaming arrows and blood letting of the Germania conflict kicks things off with pulse raising clarity, and Scott and his squad never sag from this standard. The gladiator arena wars are edge of the seat inducing, the recreation for the War of Carthage a stunning piece of action sequence construction. And then the finale, the culmination of two men's destinies, no soft soaping from Scott and Crowe, it lands in the heart with a resounding thunderclap. A amazing swords and sandals film that tipped its helmet to past masters whilst simultaneously bringing the genre alive again. Bravo Maximus Decimus Meridius. 10/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Even though i looked through all the comments, i wanted to give the android game a try. But everyone's right... this android game is trash!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    I liked the android game it didnt have any lag like everyone says, worked fine and was very challenging. The only thing is a few too a lot of ads but that has nothing to do with the application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    It's is a really poor android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    unoptimized android game lags so poor it breaks on some parts

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    I played it twice n deleted it it's [email protected]#$%

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    I just dont like it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    It's ok... Not amazing controls...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Not a game, it's an ad delivery machine

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Few things to impove. First take a look into the round cursor ring. It loses calibration in middle of android game and doesn't follow touch properly. Second, little objects like little squares and toy diamonds are obnoxious, test to balance android game as they are quite quick and the protector circle ring is quite small. Also it has so a lot of lag problems, especially in the level where there is red background with triangles on left and right side, and little squares falls in, that level has the worst lag spike. Also look into changing the protector ring thing. It's very little and slow for most objects falling during game. And also look into changing its shape, something like a rectangle or something, or test to implement a shop into android game in which you can buy the protector ring things of various shape and color. Also please give that protector ring a name.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Very nice game, various begginings would be nice, but else super cool hold it up! Skins for the balloon, should be appreciated so you feel like you could use your progression to something, like every 10 "distance" would obtain a coin, for example a 100 coins for a skin. (Keep it in-game currency though)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Android game is hella laggy on android device and I have already tried to uninstall and reinstall it and it don't work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    after level 3 the whole android game lags you practically lose control of the cursor

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Piece of trash won't even run on my phone. Idk why it's so laggy but it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Its the best android game ever and its challenging

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Its another ad milking android game so dont bother.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Too difficult and lages constantly

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    B empte

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Poorly created

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Boring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Wayyy to a lot of ads and the cursor thing is poorly calibrated

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Ruined android game with latest modernize it sucks its laggy then you just have multiple impossible levels

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    My phone won't allow me download it but it looks beautiful fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    It's A Really Amazing Game, It's Challenging But Still Really Fun To Play, And I Like How There's Various Type Of Levels Each Time!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    I loved it [email protected]😀😀😀

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Tue beat Android game of tue Globe

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    I haven't played this yet

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    It 8is amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    It's fun but can create you rage

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Too a lot of ads don't bother

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    I think you should modernize this application so it can be the best application ever

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Horrible and badly coded

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Brut

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Very amazing game, definitely recommend it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Best offline android game I've played

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    It's not a poor android game at all

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    I lov this android game it is so fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Poopy Stupid

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Circle is to slow

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Stupid as hell

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rise Up review [App]  2018-4-7 13:0

    Sucked

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Reminiscent of Frank Herbert's "Dune" series... "plans, within plans, within plans... " Indeed!Love the hero of tion sequences are very t a huge fan of Reaper's self absorption musings fact, I read the series only after Ragnar beat Bombadil in the Cage Match.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    What to say?It starts as a story of class warfare - the protagonist is a "red", with powerful correlations to scots miners, and his symbol, as the "reaper" he becomes, is the "slingblade" or scythe. Nevertheless, what it does NOT devolve into is a simplistic Marxist tale of class warfare. It is, in the end, about a struggle for equal rights, or at least equal consideration and opportunity to try, and about justice (whether or not "equality" is truly possible on any axis is an argument for another day - but it's trivial to not that some forms of equality inevitably have lead to tragedy and bloodshed).Darrow is a miner. A red. Living, so he thinks, to extract resources so that mankind can leave a failing earth. He soon learns that he is a de facto slave, in a society that has leapt far beyond Mars, even as it stays in the solar system in order to ensure control.He is "carved" - rebuilt - and is set on the path of revolution by the Sons of is book focuses on his entry to society, where he first goes through the school that allows him to claim the rank of a "peerless scarred" rather than a useless drone of a "pixie" - the upper crust of the highest-class "gold" rulers.Even from the opening, it is poetic, and literary, leaning heavily on references to Roman mythology in particular. Moment after moment pulls at the emotions and the soul, without cheap string-pulling, and the clarity of writing and emotional moments improve throughout the series. The characters come alive, and you feel their pain, their elation, their sorrow, and their contentment. He makes friends, and enemies, that will support and haunt him through the rest of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Darrow is a helldiver for the pioneers on Mars. His job is to gather resources from deep within Mars, an incredibly risky task that has forced him to become extremely dexterous and strong. Their eventual goal is to terraform Mars, making is possible for colonisation, at which point the Darrow and his fellow Reds will live as kings among men. The Reds are the lowest class in a society that they have barely glimpsed. The highest cass people a gold, all of whom have engaged in extensive physical modification making them essentially a various (superior) race. The Reds are treated like slaves and while Darrow has accepted his lot in life, content to live with his family and carve out the best possible life he can on this world, his wife Eo refuses to accept this life, and encourages Darrow to do the same. When Eo is sentenced to death after she sings a forbidden song while being whipped, Eo forces Darrow to confront the injustice his class faces. Darrow is then recruited into a group which plans to destroy the golds society from within. Darrow must become Gold, changing his body and mind. Then he will obtain accepted to the institute that trains Gold soldiers. Here he must distinguish himself in order to raise to the highest rank he can before tearing down the Gold’s society. It is in the institute that the novel finally began to click for me. Here Darrow and a couple hundred other students are place in a huge arena, very much like The Hunger Games. Fifty students are in each house, all of which are named after Roman gods, where their goal is to enslave all other houses. Darrow is drafted into House Mars. Their performance in this arena is used by different member of the Gold’s military to search fresh recruits and apprentices with a lot of potential. I was really place off from the beginning by Eo’s death. She quite literally dies in order to propel forward Darrow, and it felt very unnecessary. If fact the entire first third of the book felt fairly contrived. Everything that was done was done specifically to obtain Darrow into the arena. And don’t obtain me wrong, the Arena was where I got over the rather annoying method Eo was treated by the story. It helps that Darrow really considers himself an extension of Eo (or at least her dream) at this point. This part of the book (and it makes up about two-thirds of it) really works. There is just so much going on. Darrow on his mission of revenge and revolution. The other Gold students are fleshed out and become their own characters, and we see them as very human, some we like, some we hate. Servo especially deserves mention as one of the few Golds that Darrow feels he can trust. Cassius is someone who I wouldn’t like, but everything he does makes sense as something his hero would do.I’m trying to hold spoilers to a minimum, but there are some aspects of this novel that I would be remiss in not mentioning. One may even consider mentioning these bits a spoiler, so read on with caution. So, about halfway through our time in the arena Darrow dies (for the second time,) and then comes back (for the second time.) Before he was killed, Darrow was acting as the leader of his house, which had been very much divided between two other leaders before he’d managed to force them to work together. When he is revived by a former enemy, Darrow realizes that the method he was leading would never have allowed him to win. He was treating the members of his house that hadn’t originally followed him very poorly, and as a effect they had never really grown to trust him as a leader, and more than likely just saw him as a usurper. So he realizes this and learns from it and then starts to rebuild an troops out of former slaves. Freeing them (there is an actual tag upon those who’ve been enslaved that can be removed by the house that enslaved them or another house can enslave them and then decide whether or not to free them,) when they’ve proven their loyalty to him and when he has proven his loyalty to them. And this sense is conveyed through the writing itself. Before he had died, I found it difficult to remember all of Darrow’s compadres. Who they were, what they could do for him and so on. But during his second possibility as a leader I could actually distinguish some of the more minor characters. Darrow’s personality no longer overpowers all but a few other people. It creates a noticeable difference in the style of Darrow’s command that I really liked. On another note… Titus. It seemed like Titus was meant to parallel Darrow had he given in to his desire for revenge versus the Golds. But the sequence didn’t really work for me. It hinges on a hero reveal that would have worked much better if there had been more tips prior to right before Titus dies. It is also disappointing because that hero reveal makes me wish to know more about him, but overall, Darrow is just too different. You never really obtain the sense that Darrow actually would act in that way, in fact earlier in the story Darrow does end up killing a Gold in a situation where there really was no other way. It’s gruesome, but Darrow is sorrowful and it deeply affects him and his relationship with another student. I also particularly enjoyed the final arc of the book beginning with Darrow being nursed back to life and ending him becoming a god! What a riot! So yeah, Red Rising. I definitely recommend it. There’s a lot more to it than I mentioned here, and I think the novel works very well over all! Give it a looksey if you’re into sci-fi dystopian spy books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I had a sense of Déjà vu when I started Red Rising. At first I was afraid I had stumbled upon a Mistborn (Brandon Sanderson) clone. Yet as I pushed forward I realized this is something much different. Something special.I cannot say exactly that this book is wholly original either. I recognize a lot of other books influence through the pages of Red Rising. Hunger Android games and Lord of the Flies also come to mind. Yet it still feels fresh. Most necessary is how powerful of a Main hero Darrow is. He is the voice of the book. He is a very proactive is has some elements of YA to it but I never felt as if I was reading a YA novel. It all feels very mature in a method that things like the Hunger Android games just didn't to me. So if YA isn't you thing don't largest compliant I have is there are a lot of side characters. I found it difficult to hold track of them all. Usually in first person books there is less side characters to hold track of. Since we never obtain a POV from them they can be forgettable. To a lot of times he would be talking to a hero and I would be at a loss for who they were exactly. That might be my own memory instead of a fault of the book.I really loved Red Rising. I am excited to begin reading book two. If the rest of the series delivers on the promise of this amazing book then this will be very unique indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Pierce Brown's Red Rising was a surprisingly amazing book, not necessarily because of the quality of the writing (which was good, just nothing outstanding) but because the story was compelling and original enough to feel like new 's a fairly distant future science fiction novel, taking put on Mars, but with a solar system that has been thoroughly populated by the time the novel begins. The human population of Red Rising has been divided into very distinct castes, defined by biological and neurological differences that are both technological and evolutionary in nature...and that is at the root of the story.Our protagonist is a "red" who works in deep tunnels below Mars, drilling and harvesting materials in exceedingly hazardous conditions for the noble purpose of terraforming the planet above. It's only after his wife is hanged and he goes proudly to his own death that he finds nothing generations of his people had believed was true. The surface of Mars had been long terraformed and civilized as had essentially every planet or moon in our solar system.He undergoes painful and extensive alterations of all sorts in order to pass for one of the ruling class for the purpose of exacting vengeance and righting the wrong that had been done to his people from within that upper class.I've seen a number of people comparing this trilogy to The Hunger Games, which was one of the reasons I hadn't bothered to read it until now. I didn't care to read what I suspected to be a low-rent clone of a wildly successful series. Upon reading this book, I suspect any of those people comparing it to The Hunger Android games haven't read a lot of other books, since the only similarities have to do with a corrupt and decadent ruling culture and a amazing deal of violence. There is more resemblance to Lord of the Flies and Ender's Android game than anything else, with a healthy dose of Roman (and a bit of Greek) mythology to set the stage.I enjoyed this book enough that I plan to read the next two, and I think it's got a unbelievable degree of hero development that makes it feel more three-dimensional than a lot of young adult fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I have never given a book 5 stars and rarely bother writing reviews for books I read to be honest. I just finished this whole series and I search myself typing furiously on this keyboard with an overwhelming need to spread the word. This book and the series in general is EXCELLENT. If you are questioning whether to purchase this book because you have fun the genre and are looking for a fresh fix, do yourself a favor, just STOP READING REVIEWS AND BUY IT. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed.I have completed the trilogy and I am telling you, if you are questioning whether this book or this trilogy in general is worth it just look up the latest book in the series. The book is called Morning star, it has over 1000 reviews and exactly ZERO of them are one to describe it? Im sure a lot of other reviewers have done a attractive job at describing the plot so I will just say what I think. The story is original, the characters are believable. They are supposed to be teenagers but behave more like adults because of their circumstances. This, I think is hard to create believable but the author succeeds at it. The book and the whole series really is incredibly dark, its beautiful, its captivating, its is trilogy broke the mold in my opinion. Its a legitimate adult appropiate YA will not regret this decision. Buy it, read it and allow me know what you think :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    This series is sort of a Starship Enterprise meets Android games of Thrones....I love the dystopian genre. This series is sometimes hard to picture, based on the author's descriptions. I still have no idea what a slingblade looks like. I don't even know if I'm using the right word. Strange Frankensteinian recreations of humans into various "colors". I'm on book 2 and hoping it gets better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I wasn't sure about this at first - maybe too youth oriented - but I kept at it and it quickly turned the corner and became one of the best reads I've had in a lot of years. I have devoured all three books and am impressed with how the author continued to build characters (flaws and all) and expand and deepen his political/social universe philosophies and complications all the while continuing to twist and turn and surprise me constantly with an intricate, tension filled plot. I highly recommend this trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    I bought this book looking for something new. What I found is something old that is fresh again. The book started off great. Characters that are relatable, in a setting that is scarily relatable, and writing that is smart. Buy the end of the book I couldn't believe how much it increased in greatness. I was enraptured in the happenings that unfolded on the pages before me and , with the most satisfying ending I've read in long a time, I cannot wait to crack the cover of the next book in the series. Have fun the read, goodman.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Red Rising (The Red Rising Series, Book 1) review [Book]  2017-12-23 18:0

    Red Rising is about a slave in a cast system who dreams of more. After finding out that his people have been lied to Darrow, the main character, sets off on a risky mission with a rebel group to rise up versus the Gold leaders of the society.I am writing this review after my second time reading this book and I feel like I have a whole fresh appreciation of the epic scale of this book on the second time through. I honestly cannot fathom this story sometimes because it is so much bigger than the paper and cardboard rectangle it lives in. Pierce Brown has crafted such an awesome novel it is hard to remember sometimes that this is his debut novel. The writing is unbelievable and very cinematic in it’s detail especially with the tactical tactics and political intrigue.Darrow goes through a lot to live up to the dream his wife has for him. At each fresh shift in his situation Darrow reminds himself of his motivations and struggles to stay grounded in them while keeping practically everything about himself a secret. Darrow has to disguise himself as a Gold and attend their Institute where he isn’t taking classes but battling with other students to gain control of the various houses. Lots of crazy antics ensue and Darrow finds that he can make bonds with these Golds whether it is of necessity or even real friendship to support him gain a favorable position in the android game and in Society. Darrow’s friends: Mustang, Pax, Sevro, Roque, Quinn, Leah, and Cassius are all so intense and well developed characters that they don’t fade into the background. They create their presence known and are just so fantastic, Darrow’s plight is the meat of the story but these characters are all of the tasty side dishes and the dessert.I would love to continue to gush about this book but I don’t wish to give anything away… there are so a lot of twists and turns and one wrong word could spoil something. I feel like this story is one that you shouldn’t go into knowing too much because you will never be able to guess what will happen anyways.If you are a fan of The Hunger Android games or Ender’s Android game then I would surely recommend this to you because it has been described as a mix of these two books. I completely agree with that description but don’t expect it to be anything like either of those books because it is in a class all of it’s own. Be ready for some cringeworthy deaths and some insane antics because this book is one wild ride!Originally posted to[...]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) review [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    To be honest, the announcement of this fresh trilogy did not initially fill me with churro-level glee. The first Red Rising trilogy was pitch excellent to me, with Morning Star (Book 3) sticking the landing so exquisitely, I had trepidations about returning so soon.I'm thrilled to say that I loved reading this book. I'm a relatively sloth-speed reader compared to the bibliophiles I admire in my life, but Pierce's books slow me down even more. He has an other-worldly bonus to carve words into unexpected passages of beauty even amidst scenes of violence and mayhem. Like its three predecessors, I look forward to revisiting this one just to savor the artistry of his e addition of three fresh POV's also turns up the notch on plot complexity as Pierce weaves more threads into his diabolical web. I don't know how Pierce houses all of these characters' subterfuges and machinations in his (presumably) normal-sized human brain. It baffles and thrills me, and makes me never wish to face him in Settlers of is multi-POV setup also lets us explore fresh non-Darrow narrators, which Pierce establishes effortlessly from the start. His ability to breathe vibrancy into these fresh character's disparate voices makes me even more excited for The Dark Age (Book 5) and all the future worlds and characters he's constantly dreaming up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) review [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    Thanks to the publisher, Penguin Random House, for providing me with a Netgalley copy of the book in exchange for an honest review as a effect of a contest! You'll have to forgive my language, but DAMN YOU, PIERCE. How could you do this to me? Rip my heart out by making the stakes even higher, making me care about even more characters in this wonderful globe you've built, only to leave fates hanging in the balance and the universe on the brink of an even bigger war? HOW COULD YOU MAKE ME WAIT FOR MORE?Okay, sorry, now that I got that out, I can take a breath and test again. DAMN YOU, PIERCE. Oh, sorry, there was more.Pierce Brown has done it again. First, in the original trilogy, he built a globe from the ground up, then tore it down spectacularly. Now, he's upping the stakes and bringing more characters into the fold... more characters for us to learn to love, and leaving more of our hearts available for him to rip out and shred into little pieces. You've done it to us before -- you know the ones I'm talking about, Pierce. You remember what you did to us in the first trilogy. And you know what you're doing now. And you know that, no matter how much pain you cause me, no matter how a lot of of my tears hold you fed and satisfied, I will hold reading. Because the world, the characters, the stakes, the loss... it's all worth it. You've created a masterpiece, and hold on adding to it in masterful ways.Dark Age can't obtain here soon enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) review [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    Unlike the previous novels in the Red Rising Saga, Iron Gold is told from multiple perspectives. Each shares a various storyline that gives us insight into the state of the council, their enemies, and the people. Knowing we would have at least a year wait before the next book, I attempted to savor this novel by forcing myself to stop at the end of chapters. It was bloodydamn hard.We are given a lot of info about the globe since Darrow’s victory. Wars still rage, colors still suffer and anger stews. We have idealists, rationalist and those who feel left behind. Pierce Brown will have you doubting our hero, holding your breath and weeping over those lost to on Gold, begins with the Fall of Mercury giving us an idea of what has transpired since Golden Son. We then move into the multiple perspectives and storylines starting with Darrow the Character of the Republic. Pierce also introduces a few fresh characters as he shares updates and points of interest for beloved and hated e storylines:Darrow the Reaper, leader of the Howlers, returns home on Liberation Day. It has been four years since the war, but we quickly learn the war is far from over. Darrow and his squad have been leading strikes to bring all the planets into the Solar Republic. He is tired, misses his family and wants to end this battle and come home. Darrow’s storyline was intense, as we watch our war-weary character create sacrifices and decisions that affect not only him but his team, family, and country. Lord do we see some unexpected things as we enter the war that contains rifts among the ria of Lagalos is a young Red, who desperately wants to believe in all that the Rising stands for, but her circumstance and those of her family create it difficult. From the beginning, readers will sense the strength of Lyria, even through her tears. We learn of her families fate and her reality. We journey with her as she does what she can for herself and brother. Her storyline weaves with another pov and added suspense as the reader is privy to things she is not.Ephraim: He abandoned the war and created a name for himself as a lucrative thief. Together with his team, he is forced to take part in a high stakes plot. Here we see key players from the Rising Saga, and catch a glimpse at profiteering and plotting in this worn torn world. While I never doubted he was looking after his own hide, I came to like sander au Lune: Lysander travels on a ship with Cassius au Bellona the man who allowed Darrow to destroy his world, but also saved him from death at the hand of Sevro. This is a dark thread that begins when they respond a distress signal and search themselves, unwilling guests on an asteroid. Here we discover guilt, the cost of war. Gorydamn Brown slew me with this threadAll of these storylines were masterfully woven together by Brown as we came to understand the state of the Solar Republic. We are privy to its successes as well as failures. The story prepares us for what is to come, and I for one cannot wait

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) review [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    Outstanding! Pierce Brown has done it again! Five Stars for Iron Gold— the much anticipated first book of a fresh trilogy which continues the story of his Red Rising series. Iron Gold picks up ten years after the happenings of Morning Star, with Darrow “The Reaper” of Lykos and Virginia “Mustang” au Augustus leading the fresh Solar Republic.I was one of the lucky fans who received an ARC of his recent novel and I couldn’t be more thrilled at the opportunity to be one of the first readers to set eyes on these r those us who are still reeling from the high octane, action packed rollercoaster ride of Morning Star, the begin of Iron Gold will feel like a much required relief from all the adrenaline. While for fans it has only been a couple of years since the conclusion of Morning Star, for our heroes it has been ten years since their win over the Society. A lot has happened, and the author is patient in reintroducing us to this globe and the happenings that addition to reacquainting us with some of our favorite Howlers, Peirce presents us with a whole fresh slew of characters to love … and others you will love to hate. We are also now seeing this globe through three more set of eyes—those of Lyria, Ephraim, and Lysander. It’s a new perspective to this universe that until now we’ve only experienced through the eyes of e added point of views allows us to appreciate the Red Rising globe in a method that expands our view of both the Society and the Republic. They say history is written by the victors, so what if you could see the globe through the eyes of those who lost? Even more, what if you could see the globe through those who were part of the collateral damage? I found myself conflicted at times, wondering if I had been too caught up in the Reaper’s glory to see the flaws and potential repercussions of his actions. Too enamored by my favorite hero (Yes…Sevro) and too high on my private vendetta versus the villains in the story to think back on all the other lives that were also lost but never en I wondered, aren’t the best heroes those who are flawed, those who have to war their demons and create the sacrifices that a lot of of us wouldn’t be ready to make? And, shouldn’t that be enough for redemption? Or should the heroes be held accountable for their mistakes, regardless of the price they’ve already paid? Regardless of our love for them?Walking in Lyria’s, Ephraim’s, and Lysander’s shoes created me contemplate the reality of war. It is not just about destroying a villain and tearing down a corrupt institution, it’s about healing and rebuilding. It’s about leaving a put better than we found it. But what if that’s not enough for someone who lost everything in the name of the greater good? What if your ghosts literally come back to haunt you?*Potential spoiler-esque comments below.Well, don’t obtain too comfortable in your chair because before you are done philosophizing about this wonderful universe, in the words of Sevro au Barca, “S*it escalates” and very quickly. Core to Rim, you’ll fall in an Iron Rain, experience genocide, obtain captured, take part in an Ocean’s Eleven type heist, participate in a nerve wracking prison break, and go on a potential suicide mission that will leave you breathless. Darrow’s motley squad of Howlers will have you jumping into a StarShell, diving into oceans, and traveling to various planets, and beautiful much partaking in their usual death defying antics before you can finish your burner.Everything you’ve loved about Pierce Brown and his masterful storytelling comes together in a novel that will have you sitting at the edge of your seat, reading until the late hours of the night and into the dawn. Your gut will wrench, your heart will break, and your mind will be t your razors ready, Howlers! This ride is just beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga (Red Rising Series) review [Book]  2018-1-16 18:0

    When Netgalley sent me this ARC I hadn't read the first three books in this series. In 10 days I read the four of them and I still wake up dreaming of military tactic and zone battles. It has been so long since a series that I loved so much. I seriously recommend it and I'm looking forward to the next books!Quando Netgalley mi ha mandato questo libro, non avevo nemmeno letto i primi tre, poi in 10 giorni li ho letti tutti e quattro e ancora mi sveglio dopo aver sognato strategie militari e battaglie nello spazio. Era tanto che una serie non mi prendeva in questo modo e spero davvero che i prossimi libri escano presto!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Valhalla Rising review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    It never manages to rise above its one trick. Nicolas Winding Refn directs and Mads Mikkelsen stars in this ponderous exercise in arty veneers. Refn boldly strips back the dialogue and plot to reveal a picture huge on ideas but not good in execution. As the story plods along, stopping only briefly for some guttural violence now and then, it becomes evident that the makers have created a painfully boring movie. At first the drained out colour photography looks like a masterstroke of ethereal atmospherics, but this also wears off and only compounds the overall feeling of monotony that pervades the pic. Hugely disappointing venture from a director capable of so much more. 3/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    High-Rise review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    **A dystopian-thriller-drama in a retro effect.** A fresh British dystopian-drama sets in a single 40 storey building revolving around the people who resides there. It was based on the novel of the same name which has a amazing cast and a decently created film. But it is kind of a 50-50 to me, mostly I enjoyed with a small disappointment in some parts. First of all I did not know anything about the film, so surprised with its development, especially when it reached its midway I realised the theme. The setting was great, and well performed by all, particularly the Tom Hiddleton which is very rare to see him in a lead role. It was the story of a doctor who moved to his fresh residency in a high-rise turret and tries to blend in with the others. But as the globe is falling apart by the collapse of the society and civilisation, his turret block as well affected very seriously of all kinds of supplies where he confronts different threats from its people. The remaining story concentrates where it is going to end and how with some high and low moments. Occasionally, the narration takes us outside the building, but it does not stay there long enough. At show there are a lot of dystopian movies are made, especially for teens, so this is really amazing and gives the 70s and 80s kind of effect, despite technologically it resembles the current world. Not a lot of people who watched it liked it, so did I. It was not that bad, but the story was not appealing to the 2016 audience, where so a lot of hi-tech [email protected]#$%!&ing the screen in dystopian theme. From that perspective, it is amazing we have here a various kind, but not enough. It would have become one of the classic cult if it was created in the 80s or should have been updated thoroughly for making it today. _6/10_

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hannibal Rising review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    What created Hannibal the beast he was? Indeed, director Peter Webber and author Thomas Harris bring us Hannibal Lector (ne: Lecter) the formative years. Off the bat you have to say it's not overtly a horror film, something which has proved to have annoyed a lot of who ventured in expecting something different. Which on one hand is a shame because it's a very effective thriller, ripe with literary smarts and boasting some very amazing acting performances. While there is horrors around, genuine ones that history has taught us as fact. On the other hand it is a disappointment to fans of the Hannibal series, and to horror fans in general. The marketing didn't help, it was sold to all and sundry along the lines as the cannibal begins in earnest, thus nobody was quite prepared for the fact Hannibal was a normal child once, even human! Once the pic kicks into being a revenge assassin thriller, it lacks an emotional wallop, with the screenplay shaking too a lot of eggs in the basket and not coming up with a tasty fava bean based omelet. Smart tech credits support to still further hold this out of stinkerville and above average, but the massive feeling of missed opportunities and not good writing hangs massive as the end credits roll. 6/10

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter