Read grant professionals association reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all grant professionals association reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Professionals Association [App]  2019-11-9 13:48

    Dozen attempts. Installed. Email and password "not available test again". Worst conference application I've used.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    If there’s an afterlife, I see Ron Chernow meeting Ulysses Grant and saying to him, “Hello there, General. I created you come alive for a whole fresh generation of Americans,” and Grant will smile and reply, “I know. Thank you!”In Chernow’s highly entertaining, highly readable biography, Grant becomes a flesh and blood, 3-dimensional, complex force of nature. In fact, he presents the whole, colourful mid-19th Century America in vivid hues, especially Grant’s numerous Civil Battle battles. And the people who were part of Grant’s life, some decent and attractive, some scurrilous and repellant, are sharply drawn. Chernow does away with rumor, gossip, mystery, and myth to give us Grant the boy, the youth, the young lieutenant, the general, the president, the seer, and finally the greatest American memoir writer of the 19th Century. And as for the book’s length, forget about it: those 900+ pages go by too quickly. You’ll close the book with a slight feeling of closing the book on a mate and wishing the experience had lasted longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    Give me a break. So I know some reviews might be phony. I just received my book by Chrenow tonight at 6pm EST on the release date 10/10/2017. The book is near 1000 pages. So unless the prior review is some sort of awesome speed reader I search it virtually impossible to accept his / her review. Having said that I loved Chernow's books in the past and I look forward to plowing through this one. See you in three months with my official review.

    0  


    Add your opinion on grant professionals association or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    Reading history ( or listening to it) teaches so much. I had typical assumptions and impressions of President Grant that this book has debunked and has offered a rich other view

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    I managed to search a pre-copy of this about a month before it was released. I finished it the day after it was officially on the shelves. The book lived up to all expectations. My main take away was the perfect humanization of Grant. Chernow, like most of all his subjects, makes it very simple for the reader to search a fresh appreciation of this humble, amazing man. Perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    As someone who loves history, I have a not good confession to make: Grant is the first Ron Chernow book I've ever read. It will certainly not be the last. Chernow's Grant is meticulously researched, well-written, with an simple style and flow that create a biography feel less like a lecture and more like an intimate conversation. He provides descriptions and info that bring the time period and the people to vivid ant was a complex man: both brilliant and naive; overly trusting in civilian life while able to perfectly predict what others would do on the battlefield; a man who claimed to have no amazing political ambitions yet was a rare (at the time) two term president. Chernow reminds us of the private connections of the generals of both the North and South- Grant attended West Point and fought in the Mexican Battle alongside William T. Sherman, Robert E Lee, and a veritable who's who of later Civil Battle leaders. The best man at his wedding was James Longstreet, who would go on to be a amazing Southern general in the war. Chernow also brings front and center Grant's hard work for African Americans, supporting the 13th, 14th, and 15th Amendments, with equality and voting rights among his lifelong crusades. While Lincoln is remembered in American history as the President who ended slavery, readers of Grant will see that President U.S. Grant should be remembered as a tireless proponent of civil rights and militant opponent of the Ku Klux ernow doesn't turn away from Grant's failures in civilian life: his poverty before rejoining the troops for the Civil War, his constant struggle with alcoholism, or Grant's repeated mistakes in trusting the wrong people in matters of finance- and occasionally in government. Grant's private traits: pride, stubbornness, loyalty among others are shown as what created him the greatest general of his time, but also caused a steep learning curve as ers of Stephen W. Sears' Lincoln's Lieutenants will search this a excellent companion to their understanding of the generals of the Civil War, their successes and failures, radically various personalities, and their relationships with Lincoln. It continues to amaze me how individual personalities and private ambitions shape the course of military of history, biographies, and military history will rejoice in this fresh biography of General Grant- which will stand unchallenged as his definitive biography for a long time. An easy, flowing narrative, Ron Chernow's Grant will change the average American's view of Grant forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    If you think Ron Chernow’s Pulitzer Prize winner,”Washington,” makes a human being out of the fog of American literary history or in “Hamilton,” Alexander Hamilton’s awesome journey is so enthralling you can’t place it down, Chernow’s fresh masterpiece, “Grant”, has combined all of his literary magic into a bombshell acc of our 18th President, Ulysses S. Grant, a man whose historic significance for our country has been unconscious until now, a man who would suffer the ultimate try of preserving our union while confronting his demons destined to take him down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant [Book]  2017-10-13 21:15

    GRANT is a miracle of an historical biography. As an aficionado of all things Civil War, I thought I'd not be excited by Chernow's discussion, instead, I learned so much that I had never before read AND found myself often holding my breath because Chernow's writing is so immediate, it felt like I was experiencing the battles. I had physical reactions to a lot of descriptions of the happenings in Grant's life because of the strong descriptions by Chernow. He created me feel as if I were there with Grant and all the other characters. Chernow's writing is exciting because he seems never to use the same word twice, and it's all fresh, revealing and understandable. It's FUN to read. It's a text come alive- you can visualize the places, people, even visualize and feel the weather- when Chernow writes about about mud, I'm sloshing in it, about rivers of blood, decapitations and dismembered bodies I had visceral reactions. After reading GRANT, I tried to read Grant's autobiography, and couldn't because it was dense with minutiae, I gave ernow's GRANT is meal for a Nobel Prize in Literature. Yes, it's long and massive to hold, but worth every min and every page to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Writing: Practical Strategies for Scholars and Professionals (The Concordia University Leadership Series) []  2020-1-13 18:55

    I found this tutorial to be very helpful, engaging, and simple to follow. I appreciated the friendly text. The authors treated the readers as colleagues in need of some practical tip in the grant writing process. And the book just that, concise and relevant info about what to expect and how to proceed in all the stages of the grant cycle. I highly recommend this book. It has been very useful in my grant work. I especially like the samples and the glossary of terms in the appendixes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Writing: Practical Strategies for Scholars and Professionals (The Concordia University Leadership Series) []  2020-1-13 18:55

    Every fresh faculty member and anyone fresh to grant writing should have a copy of this book. This book provides a step-by-step tutorial to those interested in submitting a grant but stymied by the process. Loved the musical framework - so relatable for the reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Writing: Practical Strategies for Scholars and Professionals (The Concordia University Leadership Series) []  2020-1-13 18:55

    Amazing News-- grant writing is a skill that can be learned.What we know is writing and winning a grant provides an perfect professional validation for a ditionally, as specialists we recognize professional, academic, technical and grant writing represent various skill , as experts we possess comprehensive knowledge in our field, however we need validation from peers to advance our career; but achieving the validation takes a various skill set, the skill of grant ant Writing: Practical Tactics for Scholars and Specialists provides a clear, informative and thorough overview of the grant writing a professional, in to achieve the desired outcome of career advancement, focus on the content and then follow the tactics presented in this efficiently written mentioned in the book, grant writing is not an exact science; this fact alone makes this book invaluable. Planning to advance your professional career—add Grant Writing: Practical Tactics for Scholars and Specialists to your reference shelf and utilize the book to learn the skill of grant writing--awards and rewards await.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hoopla Association [App]  2019-8-2 13:37

    2018 information with happening starting tomorrow? The 2019 www service still provides a link to the App. Will it be updated in next day? Waste of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song Association [App]  2020-4-23 13:32

    Have had heaps of fun playing Song Association while staying at home or playing with friends! Lots of decks to choose from and the application is so simple to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song Association [App]  2020-4-23 13:32

    I absolutely love this as a group game. Pity I'm in self isolation. I've been using it as a method to challenge my mind in terms of how a lot of songs I know. Amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SHARE Association [App]  2018-3-13 21:9

    Had problems with manual entries at first, but it started working later in the week. Used the application extensively with no issues

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song Association [App]  2020-4-23 13:32

    This android game is the best! So tough, but also the best fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    United Association [App]  2018-5-12 13:6

    Glad we finally have our own application. Glad to see the UA keeping up with the times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SHARE Association [App]  2018-3-13 21:9

    Really simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SHARE Association [App]  2018-3-13 21:9

    Amazing job

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Song Association [App]  2020-4-23 13:32

    Amazing fun. I love this app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cary Grant: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Perfect book. Well written and researched, gives a realistic, sympathetic picture of the man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cary Grant: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    LOVE...ANYTHING ABOUT THIS MAN IS A OK WITH ME...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cary Grant: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Cary Grant was one of my mothers favourite actors so I wanted to read all about him. This book was fantastic! I hated finishing it. I fell in love with him on every page. Would highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Takes Command [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    This is one of the best books on Grant that I have read. Catton has done extensive research for this book as he contains a lot of letters from enlisted and officers to their wives that give necessary insights into history. Catton not only describes Grant as a strategist but as a commanding general that has to with troops logistics, feeding and clothing newly liberated slaves, and vicious politics both within the troops and within the U.S. government. The issue that I have with this book and others like it is without maps showing troop movements it is hard for the reader to visualise the necessary battles. This book rates five stars for the depth of research and showing the vast complexities of war.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Moves South [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    Catton does a masterful job at examining an individual during the most tumultuous of times, and how that person, Grant, matures into the role that fate and battle had thrust upon ant is and was one of our most misunderstood historical figures, and perhaps this is due to a phenomenon all to common in this modern era: the media and political opponents defining a person vs what the public has personally observed that person doing. In Grant's case, the author convincingly demonstrates that his reputation for the bottle was kept alive by those who were his detractors, while the public and the president observed the accomplishments. But the public does not have archives as did the newspapers and bureaucracies of the day, and it is to those records that most have access to. Catton is outstanding in his research to search what lies t a blow by blow acc of battle, but some are included, the series discusses why the war was fought, how it was planned, and how it then led to the. Ext action, or political maneuvering.A masterful history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    10XMOJI for Grant Cardone [App]  2017-10-27 21:6

    10X!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Beacon Middle School [App]  2018-8-2 13:6

    Laborer Top notch. Worth its weight in gold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Thornton Meetings [App]  2018-12-10 21:6

    I downloaded it but had to be a member to login. Tried to search out how to be a member, but can't. No info. Thumbs down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Green Alive! []  2020-1-18 23:30

    my husand was asking me about this one song, time to rememeber. and i am glad i found it at amazon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Moves South [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    Perfect history. Concise, deeply informed, and dispassionate. Superb Audible narration by Bronson Pinchot adds much to the narrative. Mr. Catton moves straight ahead with the story, carrying us all the method through to win at Vicksburg. This is history at its warned, my fellow Audible "readers" -- the second installment in the story, "Grant Takes Command," loses much because of the change in narrators. Kevin T. Collins is a not good substitute for Mr. Pinchot. Mr. Collins' reading lacks the dynamic range, subtle hero shading, and smooth pacing Mr. Pinchot gives to "Grant Moves South." What a disappointment! I've stuck with "Command" through Chapter 4 and just can't obtain comfortable with the drastic change of style in the netheless, I stick with it. Even a not good narrator -- and trust me, Mr. Collins does a amazing disservice to this story -- cannot turn me away from Mr. Catton's text.Ulysses S. Grant as a historical figure stands as our most underrated and misunderstood president. He saved the Union during his eight years at the executive helm, guiding the United States through the ashes of the battle -- Civil War, Battle Between The States, whatever shading you choose to give it. General Grant's quiet, steady, and resolute style of leadership did more than any other individual to restore tolerable relations between the defeated Confederate States and the Union. He held us om what I understand, Ron Chernow will do much to rehabilitate President Grant's standing in his fresh book, "Grant," which Audible plans to release on October 10. The tired old narrative of President Grant's supposed corruption, drunkenness, and incompetence was an early example of ideologically-driven pseudo-history -- a false narrative wrought by old-money malcontents that stuck.History, like the literary canon, changes with the generations. Here in the Ozark Highlands, a stone's throw from the Trail of Tears, we are happy to see a renewed historical viewpoint onto the life of Ulysses S. Grant -- looking back with amazing sense and sufficient distance onto of the USA's greatest field generals and most underappreciated presidents.Ebenezer Baldwin BowlesPhi Alpha Theta (2004)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cary Grant: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Marc Elliot writes perfect biographies. Having read a few, the Grant bio sheds light on a very famous actor. You might not like the characterGrant developed but he was very entertaining on the screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cary Grant: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    It's awesome how people refuse to acknowledge unpleasant truths, insisting instead on believing lies and fairytales, spun oftentimes by the artists themselves seeking to protect a personal life, one oftentimes filled with shame and fear of e amazing thing about Marc Eliot's book is that it's not sensational by any stretch of the imagination. And contrary to what some reviewers have written, is in fact well-researched as evidenced by the extensive list of sources at the book's conclusion. Admittedly, some sources are anonymous, but that should hardly come as surprising considering the topic matter. What is surprising are the fans who won't allow go of the photo they've been fed of who Cary Grant was, an photo he himself sought to y Grant was the first one to perpetrate the myth of "Cary Grant" and was also the first to admit he couldn't live up the image. Who could? Eliot goes behind the Hollywood propoganda of the day (which sadly is still slavishly accepted) to present the dark and light, a very complex man in a complex industry struggling to survive the emotional wounds of childhood.What's gotten so a lot of older fans feathers ruffled is the reality of Grant's relationship to Randolph Scott -- something that was common knowledge to Hollywood insiders (as was his earlier affair with Orry-Kelly), but which adoring female fans (I suppose understandably) would rather die than accept. Contrary to the rumors of the day, however, the author clearly notes that Grant was not gay, but bisexual (which if anything is actually a rarer trait).To the author's credit, he neither glorifies nor glosses over that fact. It simply is. Fans who quote Dyan Cannon (his second to latest wife) as stating he was never homosexual are missing the point. Grant's first wife's unpublished diaries tell the real story as did Randolph Scott (as verified by the late George Cukor): Grant loved both men and women.If you can accept that (and there's plenty of evidence to back up the claim), you'll have fun this fascinating book and let yourself to move on to the different other facets of Grant's fascinating life, one that created the fictional roles he played pale by deed, this book would be the excellent basis for a screenplay based on Grant's life. The only true dilemma would be: Who would play him?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cary Grant: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    amazing product, quick delivery. I will again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Takes Command [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    I am not a student of the Civil Battle yet I found this to be a remarkable history book. It is well written and anointed, yet very private in its descriptions of Grant through the latest year or so of the Civil War. One interesting thing from the book is the incompetence of some of the Union commanders and how close the Union came to losing the war. Grant held it together and had the plan for success.Excellent reading! Hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Takes Command [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Bruce Catton is the grandmaster of nonfiction books written for the general public about the Civil Battle as seen from the Union perspective. "Grant Takes Command" is about exactly that--the period just before Grant is appointed as the third Lieutenant-General in the history of the U.S. through the end of the Civil War. This is a fascinating tale, colourful and Catton does a remarkable job explaining General Grant to the reader. He does much to explain Grant's style of leadership, his relationship with others including President Lincoln and General Meade, and how the soldiers in his troops (and those in the Confederate Army!) regarded Grant. Catton also discusses Grant's problems as regards drinking, and largely concludes that Grant had conquered this opponent long before he took on the Confederates as the Union's top me, the most interesting aspect of the book is Catton's perfect analysis as to how Grant finally managed to seize the initiative from Robert E. Lee. After Gettysburg, this was no doubt easier than it had been earlier in the Civil War, but nevertheless it must be remembered that no other Union general had ever really managed to do this prior to Grant, excepting perhaps General Meade at Gettysburg. Incidentally, Catton is relatively complimentary towards Gen. Meade, and points out that so was General Grant.I found the relationship between Grant and President Lincoln to be particularly insightful. It may be summed up that Lincoln quickly began to have complete and implicit trust in Grant, and was frankly relieved to have some of the burden of the battle shifted from his shoulders to Grant. For his part, Grant was loyal and respectful of the President, and was the excellent American general insofar as he thoroughly respected and acknowledged the core American value of ultimate civilian control over the fascinating anecdote was Mr. Catton's relating of an incident at the War of Two Harbors, where Grant proposed to General Lee after the battle, that both sides agree to let their respective medics onto the battlefield unmolested during a stipulated time, to save life and relieve the horrendous suffering of wounded and dying men lying between nomansland. Grant was indifferent to gaining or losing face, and focused solely on quickly coming to an arrangement in to obtain on with the business of relieving the agony of the wounded. Lee, on the other hand, postured for over a day in an effort to create it appear as though Grant were the supplicant approaching Lee the victor. Meanwhile most of the wounded got on with the business of dying, and a lot of lives were perhaps needlessly lost. Candidly, this did nothing to improve my opinion of General Lee, and Catton relates this incident without judgment or rhetoric, allowing the reader to draw his or her own conclusion. He does so largely by quoting the actual letters exchanged by the two generals, so Catton's relating of the happening should probably be regarded as uncontroversial. My own conclusion was that my private estimation of Grant was heightened. I do not, in relating this event, mean to attack General Lee, who is certainly one of the most regarded generals in American history. But it does say something about both ton has a clear style of writing, and he embellishes his narrative with colourful and relevant anecdotes about each war and incident from the perspectives of generals, officers, and men alike. This is a amazing book about a amazing man during amazing times. Unforgettable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    10XMOJI for Grant Cardone [App]  2017-10-27 21:6

    The most 10x [email protected]#$% emojis can buy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Beacon Middle School [App]  2018-8-2 13:6

    Plumbing It gets it done

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Green Alive! []  2020-1-18 23:30

    same amazing melody LOVE IT

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Takes Command [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    The whole series was perfect but this final volume was the best. I've read quite a bit about the Civil Battle but learned some fresh facts in this well written look at the final days of the Civil War. The "myth" is that Grant operated with an overwhelming superiority in manpower - but Catton breaks down how the numbers are extremely misleading and reinforcements for Grant were very over inflated. This was a book I really enjoyed reading and I was disappointed when I came to the end. I highly recommend this volume and the entire "Grant" series by Catton, one of my favorite authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Takes Command [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    The book reminded me of the very significant sacrifices that we created and the poor slaughter that occurred 1861 to 1865. The issues he encountered and a note that stuck with me was the use of animals and because the animals were not in shape to move the Troops forward the Troops waited for the horses to regain their strength I believe 90 days. I am guessing 1/3 of the book is notes and credits.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Moves South [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    This is volume one of a series on General Ulysses S Grant. I chronicles his rise from an obscure colonel to the general who turned the tide with his audacious assault on Vicksburg. There are bewildering info on tactics, tactic and wars which I found myself skipping over as beyond my ability to process. What I found fascinating was the man himself revealed to be a ruthless warrior yet a compassionate man who treated his volunteers like partners, not subordinates. The author carefully documented the falsity of charges of drunkedness raised by a hostile press and political enemies. Grant tried valiantly to curb looting and plundering by his soldiers, and even had to with his father's attempts to profit from the the speculation in cotton. Initially he refused to address the problem of slavery stating the military had no role in abolition..its mission was to victory the war. At first he told runaway slaves they were on their own, and indignant slave owners it was not his job to return slaves. Later it became apparent that abolition and secession were inextricably linked. He created provisions for refugee slaves to build encampments, gave them medical treatment and allowed the officers to hire them to perfom tasks that lightened the burden on the troops. Also fascinating was reading the correspondence between the generals (friend and foe alike).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Moves South [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    This book and its sequel "Grant Takes Command": are a must-read for anyone interested in the Civil War. Catton's narrative style adds color and flair to the accounts of the historical facts. He provides special detail without losing sight of the "big picture" of the flow of events. The two books taken together present the growth of U.S. Grant's stature as a commander and illustrate how his personality and leadership style constituted the foundation for his ultimate so recommend Catton's "Army of the Potomac" trilogy...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cary Grant: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Once I started reading this book, I could hardly place it down. After watching some of Cary Grant's films I was so surprised about his personal life. This book gave me the impression that inside his facade was a lonely, confused small boy who never realized the "happiness from within" side of life. Marc Eliot's writing was very descriptive and matter of fact and I plan on reading more of his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Green Alive! []  2020-1-18 23:30

    My discs came as advertised. Very fast service.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Green Alive! []  2020-1-18 23:30

    Although he received flack about these later albums they are still great. This is my favorite of his funkier albums. Idris Muhammad keeps the funky beat going throughout. The three tracks are all smokers. "Hey Western Union Man", "It's Your Thing" and "Maiden Voyage" are all perfect tracks. I just wonder why they were not issued originally. Since these tracks were all amazing I did not mind upgrading to the reissued version. I wonder what other goodies from Mr. Green are still in the vaults at Blue Note.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Takes Command [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Interesting story, occasionally bogged down with war tactics and troop deployments that were impossible to follow without a map and nearly created me give up reading. Ever test reading a map on a page in Kindle? Also seemed to have a lot of info about a lot of insignificant characters. I wanted more insight into Grant. The book assumes we know much about the general, including his life before the war. Book also ended abruptly. I had hoped it would wrap up with a summary of his post-war life, at least how the battle impacted it..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Takes Command [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Now I know why readers have loved Bruce Catton for years!! This is a very readable work that gives a very human perspective of a man who really had the fate of the nation in his hands and who persevered to a amazing and final victory. Catton's style as a story teller is amazingly amazing for such a detailed historian, and I predict you will not place this book down until you finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Takes Command [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Both this book and it's companion volume Grant Moves South are highly readable works of "popular" military history. Written in the 1960s, they are never the less perfect introductions to the Civil Battle campaigns of our greatest soldier. While they may lack in detailed campaign maps and illustrations, they do provide an perfect prose style which brings the characters, the surroundings, political atmosphere, and wars to life. They should be a part of everyone's Civil Battle "library"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Moves South [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    As a northerner living in Vicksburg for three years, I came to appreciate the two sides to the Civil War. I toured Vicksburg Military Park numerous times and wanted to know more about its Sentinels in Bronze, the innumerable busts and bas-relief plaques of all the officers encircling the lines. This book gave me lots of side stories and personalities to match the faces and descriptions I read ton engages and enlightens, doing his best to reveal the inner workings of the different figures involved in three years of the war. The vocabulary constantly had me learning fresh terms. And I longed to go retrace the steps and pull out other books to relive his vivid descriptions.Having lived in the region for a time and watched two official government films about Grant's movements in Mississippi, the chapters about the whole Mississippi campaign were a joy to read and travel to that time and those locations with fresh understanding.And finally, his exploration of the legend Grant became, his temperament and longing to see the nation become whole as swiftly as he could bring it about, the humanity with which he treated the defeated troops, all created for a very satisfying resolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Moves South [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    Really a amazing and interesting book.....I've always been fascinated with Lincoln's tribulations in trying to search a decent commander in chief (or actually, any general...) who could command the Union armies or ..."a"....Union army. Everyone thought McClellan.....and afterwards a long line of others.....looked, sounded, and acted like amazing generals and amazing commander in chiefs.....and all disappointed.....most feared the opposition too much, usually believing that the confederate troops facing them vastly outnumbered them (when they did not) and so hesitated to attack....always demanding of Lincoln more men, more guns, more....everything."Grant early on learned an necessary lesson.....that while he worried and feared the opposition, and was encountering difficulties with his men, supplies and guns.....the opposing troops usually faced the same issues or worse....consequently, he never backed down or retreated....he always pursued. That lesson can be applied in a lot of stations and situations in life.... This book provides amazing insight into the thoughts, mind and hero of what appeared, on the exterior, to be a rough hewn and easy man. (The other rough hewn and easy man who proved to be truly amazing .... - Abraham Lincoln.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Moves South [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    I suspect this may apply only to the Kindle ebook ver but the internal links to the maps, nice to refer to as the armies took position, we're mixed up. The link to the map of Shiloh was not of Shiloh but of the Vicksburg. The link for Vicksburg went to western Tennessee and so forth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cary Grant: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    an honest look at one of our greatest actors- the quote from Chevy Chase created me think he is an idiot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Green Alive! []  2020-1-18 23:30

    funky soulful 70's grant green. amazing live set

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Green Alive! []  2020-1-18 23:30

    Highly recommended to any guitarist and or jazz fan!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Green Alive! []  2020-1-18 23:30

    After his wildly prolific period in the early 60's, Green disappeared from the melody stage for several years due to drug problems. When he re-emerged in the late 60's to early 70's it was with a completely various sound. Gone were the bop and the blues, in with the soul-jazz/funk. Green formed a tight, funky group for live appearances, including on this date Blue Note house drummer Idris corded with the usual Blue Note perfection at the Cliche Lounge in Newark, NJ on August 15th 1970, this CD will create you feel like you're right there in the audience. You can actually hear the ice clinking in the drinks and the fans talking and shouting. Close your eyes and you're right there in a smoky early 70's jazz club listening to a real legend obtain down with his poor self! But ever the seasoned showman, Green knows enough to "bring the room down" for two slower songs, and two highlights of the album they are!"Grant Green Alive" is far from Green's justly popular earlier works in the more traditional Blue Note style, but if you love soul-jazz/funk like this, it's a masterpiece. Fans of classic records like "Idle Moments" and "Grantstand" might wish to consider these reviews before adding this one to your collection, as more traditional jazz fans might not dig it.I do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Takes Command [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Catton is America's acknowledged expert on the Civil War. His detail is exhaustive, and illuminating. His narrative seems to be without editorial bias. He aspires to be a completely neutral observer, a purveyor of the facts. His writing style is Mid 20th Century so readers fifty or so years after this book was written might search the passages and paragraphs overly long by the standards of today's staccato tempo of data exchange. We have gotten out of touch with the politics, the bureaucracy, and the wildly divergent quality of federal military leadership, however. So books by Bruce Catton are essential to the education of America - lest, in our ignorance, we repeat the mistakes of the past.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Takes Command [Book]  2017-11-4 18:0

    Must say one of the best books I have read on the subject of the Civil War. The book is well written with lots of detail in regards to people, locations and wars fought during the battle between the states. Can obtain a small over detailed, but that is what makes this book amazing to read. I thought I knew somewhat a lot about Grant, but learned so much more through this book. Fascinating to read the relationship he had with Lincoln, Stanton, Mead, Sherman, etc. Also his utmost respect for Lee, but also wanted to destroy Lee and everything to do with the Confederacy. Suggest if you into Civil Battle History to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cary Grant: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    Interesting background material on movie industry in 1940's-70's as well as some intriguing insights into the person who became Cary Grant. I didn't search it compelling reading, finished it mainly because it was book of the month for my local book clip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cary Grant: A Biography [Book]  2018-2-10 18:0

    "Even I wish to be Cary Grant." What a excellent quote said by this unbelievable man! This is an interesting story... a quick read and enjoyable!You can't go wrong buying it!Perfect girt for the lover of the old time films and the stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Moves South [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    This is an perfect book written by an eminent Civil Battle historian and masterful storyteller. The narrative is focused on the period of U. S. Grant's military career from his assuming his initial command of volunteer infantry to the fall of Vicksburg. Along the method the reader sees Grant's career evolution from a barely known unskilled soldier to an ultra pragmatic leader of men and an aggressive victorious military commander. Grant's trials and tribulations are brought to light. Disregarded by his peers, hampered by his lack of political subtly, constrained by his commanding officer, he nevertheless won win after victory; Belmont, Fort Henry, and Fort Donelson, Shiloh, and Vicksburg. These wars are described in crisp prose and just the right amount of e author relies on military communiques, eyewitness accounts, Grant’s writings, and Mr. Catton's inspired prose to provide the reader with insight, context and ever, that although the author makes a valiant attempt at presenting a balanced portrait of General Grant, this is definitely a very partisan book. Mr. Catton is VERY clearly a supporter of Grant and that's OK, as long as the reader realizes this fact. In addition, although the book does include key maps, I thought that they were too detailed and complicated. As a result, they did not support me follow the action, particularly in regard to the Vicksburg campaign. These shortcomings prevented me from assigning a higher rating to this otherwise monumental work, but has not deterred me from eagerly looking forward to reading the next volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Moves South [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    At the request of the widow of Lloyd Lewis, Catton takes on the work Lewis began with "Captain Sam Grant." In this volume, and its sequel, "Grant Takes Command", Catton not only makes the topic matter uniquely his own but, intentionally or not, begins the rehabilitation of Grant's private and military e tone is purely Catton at his best. It is folksy, as though he were telling you about another acquaintance. He similar the historical narrative with the story of the true human behind that narrative. Though rigorously researched, documented and footnoted, Catton never resorts to the stilted academic tone too often found in histories and biographies.I have read numerous works from the Catton canon. This is probably his best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Moves South [Book]  2017-11-28 18:1

    I came late to Bruce Catton. My Civil Battle interest started with the Gettysburg movie, then Michael Sharra's Assassin Angels book, then Shelby Foote's trilogy, and then James McPherson's War Cry of Freedom. I want that I'd come to Catton years ago. I now feel that I have a better sense of the battle in the mid-south that I lacked, even though that theatre is addressed in both Foote's and McPherson's books. I especially have a better sense of U.S. Grant and that part of his journey to Appomattox.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Cardone's 10X VIP [App]  2018-1-11 13:11

    amazing grant content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Cardone's 10X VIP [App]  2018-1-11 13:11

    10X app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Beacon Middle School [App]  2018-8-2 13:6

    cool as heck

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Green Alive! []  2020-1-18 23:30

    4 songs on this baby but I promise you these 4 songs are long and take you on a funk journey. It is the kind of funky jazz that is no longer heard. You will feel like you are in the club where this was recorded, smell the smoke, and the bar. This is raw jazz at its finest. So a lot of songs were based off the melody heard here. Amazing album- should not miss this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Green Alive! []  2020-1-18 23:30

    Very Amazing ! Thank You.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Green Alive! []  2020-1-18 23:30

    When I look at the vinyl ephemera (much of it courtesy of CTI records) in my collection from the 1970s, this is one of the few albums that I don't have slotted for the Salvation Troops box. The tunes have the repetitive, caught-in-a-rut modal-rhythmic characteristics of material from this period, yet the solo work along with chord voicings and minimal changes provide much of redeeming value. The groove is occasionally monotonous but frequently hypnotic and, unlike so much recorded material from the era--even with acoustic instruments and straightahead swinging sounds--the bass isn't overamplified to the point of drowning out, or at least upstaging, the rest of the musical action during the session. "Time to Remember" is a tune that got to me to the point that I wrote several other melodies based on its chord progression (the truth can finally be told).Although most of the amazing melody of the seventies is "countercultural"--i.e. reactionary mainstream recordings (by Oscar, Basie, Pass, Zoot) on Pablo or by Bill Evans on Fantasy or Blakey and the Jazz Messengers on just about any European label (no domestic label would record him) or Clifford Jordan's transcendent "Glass Bead Games," "Grant Green Alive," while certainly no "Glass Bead Games," is an album not only reflective of its times but fairly enjoyable listening even ill, of all the Green albums I've listened to, there's one standout. As amazing as the guitarist is on Mobley's "Workout" or on his own "Idle Moments" (that title track!) and "Grant Stand" (with Yusef Lateef at his plain tenor-talkin' best), the true sleeper among his sides, imo, is "I Wish to Keep Your Hand." Not just the melody but Van Gelder's capturing of the trio's sound (Larry Young's has got to be the least wearing Hammond B3 on record) adds up to a minor masterpiece, and a neglected one even by Green supporters (it's barely mentioned in the latest bio of Green, and rather disparagingly at that).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: The First Grant County Thriller (Grant County Thrillers) [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    blindsighted by karin slaughter. oh wow, slaughter is just an utterly strong author. masquerading as a writer of famous fiction, slaughter writes XXXXing dark, massive stuff. i'm so excited that this novel is the first in a series, about the characters living in a little city in georgia, as i'll obtain to spend more time with them. of course, as is always the case, intense darkness percolates beneath the seemingly idyllic rockwellian surface. slaughter writes hard southern gothic, putting her characters through, literally, wonderful torment and trials, while also making their perseverance and intelligence shine. as difficult as it can be to read much of what happens in blindsighted, much of what's inflicted, her characters behave in hearteningly smart and resilient ways. i've only read two of her novels, but the method relationships--particularly between women--define her stories is completely, jaw-droppingly delightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: The First Grant County Thriller (Grant County Thrillers) [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    Plot/Storyline: 3.75 StarsThe plot was very amazing with interesting side knowledge of a poison that I knew nothing about. I do love it when authors search fresh ways to kill/maim/torture e mystery left a small to be desired. I prefer my mysteries where there are tips as to the perpetrator, especially the kind where the reader can do face/palm at the end with a 'Why didn't I catch that?' thought. This one, while it offered a small foreshadowing, did not give the subtle tips I e reader was also left hanging a bit on one plot thread. I mean, I think I figured it out, but it was never confirmed and that's annoying. I can't describe in depth due to aracter Development: 4.25 StarsMost of the characters were beautiful deep. However, the author fell a small flat with some, like Jeffrey, the sheriff.I also felt kind of blindsided (no pun intended) by the perpetrator. I really felt like the reader should have gotten a small more perspective on him.Writing Style: 5 StarsMs. Slaughter has an intriguing writing style. Her prose is very tight and to the point.I will definitely be purchasing more work by this author.Editing/Formatting: 5 StarsI found no significant editing errors in this novel, and the Kindle formatting was perfect.Overall: A very amazing thriller, but don't look for terrific 'mystery' components.Rating: R for Rape, Violence, Blood, Gore, and Adult Situations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Write a Grant: Become a Grant Writing Unicorn []  2019-12-18 20:20

    I am fresh to writing Grants. I don't know the lingo, or anything else about it. I'm a Social Worker and wish to write Grants for the organization for which I volunteer. This book has it all - extremely clear, concise language, simple to read and understand, and amazing advice! I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: The First Grant County Thriller (Grant County Thrillers) [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    In my opinion, Karin Slaughter can do no wrong! I've loved everything I've ever read of hers, and this was no exception. Blindsighted is the first in her Grant County series, and features doctor and coroner Sara, and her ex-husband/chief of police Jeffrey. When Sara and Jeffrey are thrown together to work on a case that hits close to home, Sara realizes her own secrets can't stay buried any longer.I loved this one from the very beginning, and I was immediately hooked! I was able to identify the assassin from very early on in the book, but that didn't stop me from wanting to know WHY. Like a lot of of Slaughter's other books, Blindsighted is graphic and depicts violence, torture, and rape, mostly directed toward women, so if that's not your thing, this isn't the book for you! If you can stomach the gore, I definitely recommend this one for all thriller fans!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: The First Grant County Thriller (Grant County Thrillers) [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    Blindsighted revolves around the murder of Sibyl Adams, a blind professor at the community university. She is found raped and clinging to life in the bathroom of a diner by the city coroner, Dr. Sara Linton. Ultimately, Dr. Linton is unable to save her and the chase is on to search her killer. This is little city Georgia and there are a lot of problems to complicate the already messy murder investigation. Sara was married to the police chief, Jeffrey Tolliver, and is also confronting her own demons because of Sibyl's murder. Couple that with racial tensions and the fact that Sibyl's sister is a hot-headed cop out for revenge and you have one tangled e story was a amazing one, the writing was solid, and there was just enough drama among the lead characters to hold the reader interested. All of that usually adds up to an enjoyable novel. This one, however, left me feeling irritated. I wanted to slap the s*** out of the female leads, Sara and Lena. Neither had a sense of humor and even though both of them had issues, it seemed like they walked around with perpetually sour expressions. The reader quickly finds out that Sara and Jeffrey were married and the marriage ended when Jeffrey cheated on Sara. Even knowing that, Jeffrey was still a much more likable character.Another thing that bothered me was a tone I picked up on in the story. This is little city Georgia, and being a native Atlantan, perhaps I am a bit over-sensitive, but still. It seemed as if Slaughter was saying, I know little towns, particularly Southern little towns, are full of hicks and bigotry and I don't into that so I am going to write humorless women that are above all of that. It was annoying. This is my first Slaughter novel and maybe I am being a bit oversensitive, so I'll probably test another one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: The First Grant County Thriller (Grant County Thrillers) [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    I am a fresh reader to Ms. Slaughter. My sister mentioned I may like this series and she was right, I am really liking it. This is the first in the series, and I am on my third one now, and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon. Although I think it is a series that begs to be read in order, there is so much going on with the characters, their families and their lives together, I think you would miss something by reading them out of order. I'm glad they are all still available.With that said, I also wish to point out that so far, the books I have read, are very graphic, so if you only like cozies, stay away.I gave it a four for only one reason, I had the poor guy figured out right away, I mean I just knew from the first time the hero was introduced. I still enjoyed the story very much, so I didn't allow that stop me from reading, but I thought well this is a small too simple to figure out. It also did not hold me from running to read the next in the series, I am on the third one now. And loving it!!So for anyone out their looking for a series to pick up they may have not read yet, I highly recommend this author. Oh and I understand she has another series with various characters, but I have not gotten to them yet. Just a matter of time!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Write a Grant: Become a Grant Writing Unicorn []  2019-12-18 20:20

    Hats off to Meredith Noble for a couple of reasons. First, she created chasing grants sound fun, meaningful, and important, which it is, but is rarely communicated that way. Second, her writing gets right to the point. i.e. Step 1 literally begins on the second page of the first chapter. THANK YOU! I sat down and read this book in ~2 hours and came away with a solid grasp of the grant process.'Knowing where the is and how to obtain it' is the strong secret sauce in the infrastructure consulting business. I'll be sharing this one with my staff. Simple five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Write a Grant: Become a Grant Writing Unicorn []  2019-12-18 20:20

    Amazing read for the overview I required for developing a grant tactic and working with others who are writing lots of grants. Examples of success and failure were really helpful. The book filled in the gaps I had in thinking about looking for and encouraging more grant development, with enough detail that I can follow the process that was outlined to begin support others who are working on grants or even working on a few grants myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Cardone's 10X VIP 2020 [App]  2020-2-12 13:7

    Professional looking app. Never heard about it during the conference. Was cleaning my email 1-week after the conference and found a link. Next year skip the everyday flyers and only use the app. Going to VIP passes for 10X 4 through the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Cardone's 10X VIP 2020 [App]  2020-2-12 13:7

    I feel like the application may have been released too soon. The application crashes when selecting a lot of of the menu options. Will modernize when fixed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Ulysses S. Grant? []  2020-2-1 2:3

    I a lot of this series for the kids of a mate who doesn't have amazon. The kids really have fun these. They are amazing for children who like history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Ulysses S. Grant? []  2020-2-1 2:3

    Send to grandson who loves reading about our presidents

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: (Grant County series 1) []  2020-4-3 19:26

    BLINDSIGHTED [GRANT COUNTY BOOK #1] By KARIN SLAUGHTERMY REVIEW FIVE STARS*****I was a fan of Karin Slaughter's novels over a decade ago, but became reacquainted with her works rather recently in a somewhat unusual fashion. To be brief, I spotted CRIMINAL (her 6th installment of the WILL TRENT BOOKS) on a list [SERIAL KILLER THRILLERS: TEN OF THE BEST]. courtesy of Instead of taking a direct route and buying a copy of CRIMINAL, I opted to read all of Slaughter's WILL TRENT BOOKS in chronological order, to contain my "target" (CRIMINAL), and three of the novels that followed in the series. I stopped only after reading UNSEEN BOOK 7 (2013). I am "coming back" for A KEPT WOMAN (Book 8 of the WILL TRENT SERIES).It occurred to me that I had cheated myself by not REALLY going back to the beginning, that is, to before Karin Slaughter was a household name. Her debut novel BLINDSIGHTED awaited me, the book that first introduced pediatrician and coroner Dr. Sara Linton (and the little city setting of Grant County, Georgia).I finished reading BLINDSIGHTED early latest month, but I'm just getting around to leaving a review. It was dubbed an "ME thriller" beautiful much out of the gate per some reviews I glanced at or even "Thomas Harris Meets Patricia Cornwell". It was my impression that the editorial reviews were in some cases lackluster or even on the negative side due to the critics having set an extraordinarily high bar given the pre-release praise. This was circa 2001 and I was reading Cornwell during the '90's and gobbling up every fresh release of this awesome author's work. Thomas Harris was deemed an incomparable author with perhaps the most original villain in crime fiction history with the likes of Dr. Hannibal Lector. I was proudly displaying hardcover editions of The Red Dragon and SOL at this time, and Cornwell's ME novels was a high bar to be sure.But I digress---the thing is---I just wasn't expecting to be exactly "blown away" by the first Slaughter novel BLINDSIGHTED (2001). Some reviewers were declaring that Sara Linton "is no Kay Scarpetta" and that Slaughter's villain was no more than "a mere shadow of the complex, chilling Hannibal.." The truth is that had I read BLINDSIGHTED in 2001 I might not have found it to be a serial assassin thriller with such a smart, intuitive, likeable female protagonist, nail-biting suspense, and with such an intriguing sociopathic predator. Looking at this novel nearly two decades down the pages of times, I am THRILLED that Sara is no Kay Scarpetta, and while I love Hannibal Lector, it is Karin Slaughter who has risen to the challenge of continuing to thrill us with her GRANT COUNTY BOOK series and her intersecting series of BOOKS featuring the indomitable Will Trent with all of the ancillary characters in his universe. She is the author who sets the newest gold standard for excellence. She did not stop writing after half a dozen novels, or continue to write but with diminishing returns. We refer to "Early Cornwell", "Early Patterson". "Early Koontz".. and at least in my case "Early Stephen King" for a reason.I loved so a lot of aspects of BLINDSIGHTED, but I'll test to describe just a few. It was MY first introduction to the globe of Lena Adams, a young woman hand-picked from the academy by Police Chief Jeffrey Tolliver, largely because of her relentless desire to serve as well as succeed as a cop, later a detective. Lena wears a proverbial "chip on (her) shoulder" with the same "in your face" fierceness as she wears her badge and gun. The reader learns that Lena's background is one of poverty and painful private loss that leaves her emotionally guarded and hobbled by serious intimacy issues. She distances herself from everyone in her orbit with the sole exception of her twin sister Sibyl. It is thus a devastating emotional blow to her entire being when Sybil is violated and viciously murdered in the opening pages of the novel. She pushes potential allies away, including her only remaining blood relative (Hank, the uncle who raised her and Sibyl), her boss Jeffrey, and naturally any psychological counseling. Lena's rage is barely contained, and her own self-worth is directly tied to her Detective Shield. It is Lena's story that captivates me the most in the is within the context of interchanges between Jeffrey and Lena that the reader learns more about Lena's belief system. Her perception of the targets of predators, the victims of rape is simply shocking --- she locations the blame on the female, i.e., that it is only the weak, stupid, or unprepared that are victimized. It is such misogynistic garbage being uttered from the lips of a young woman it created me wish to gasp. But then we are given more reasons to dislike Lena than to sympathize with her. Her Uncle Hank (who raised the twin girls) comes to city following Sibyl's murder. He is a recovered drug addict/alcoholic who bears the scars of needle tracks on his arms while the scars inside his psyche will never heal, only be rendered more bearable by the service he can provide to Lena in particular and humanity in general. Lena is hostile and even aggressive toward him, outwardly demonstrating her hatred, shame, and disdain for this man who created horrible mistakes yet his dues. Perhaps even more inflammatory and harder to take is Lena's actions toward her murdered sister's lover and life partner. She approached her own sister's lesbianism with anger, denial, and shame when she was alive. Ruefully not much changes when Sybil is gone and lost to Lena, her partner who loved her, and the community who welcomed them both with friendship. Lena confronts Nan with anger, a lack of empathy and compassion that is staggering. She is cold, distant, and unsympathetic---her "go-to" emotional coping strategies. We obtain to know the young Lena as a unforgiving, misogynistic, and homophobic @#$%!. It becomes simple to grasp why that the mature Dr. Linton had small time for the impulsive, perpetually mad hellcat that was Lena fore I forget, Slaughter used her "single-word title" here, and I always have fun trying to decipher her intent and the undercurrent of her choices. In this case it meshes with the author's intriguing use of BELLADONNA as the drug of choice that our villainous lust assassin uses to facilitate his horrendous crimes versus his female victims. In fact, the word "blindsighted" strictly speaking refers to the ability of a person without sight to nevertheless be able to sense objects within the environment. BELLADONNA is a drug which creates a perception issue in an otherwise sighted person. The victim may discern properties that are associated with an object but their perception is distorted to the extent that they can't identify the object. This side result and other properties of belladonna create it an incredibly interesting choice, more mind-bending than LSD. But for the purpose of the novel, at first blush I felt that it translated to point out that our protagonists viewed everything in front of them in full Technicolor, and yet could not tell what they were really seeing. Specifically, they could not place the pieces together.I am not especially concerned about spoiler alerts, but "just in case" there is an "old" Slaughter fan out there like me that is just now getting around to reading BLINDSIGHTED, I'll just say that Lena lives to rue her earlier assessments of a lot of things, including what it means to be a victim, and how she perceives some of the people in her orbit. The back story of Sara's time in Atlanta and what prompted her to return to GRANT COUNTY, the interplay between Sara and Jeffrey (set two years following their divorce), and the race versus time to intercept and stop the trajectory of a remorseless sadistic predator from killing again...this is intense, mesmerizing, and absolutely riveting stuff. I REALLY enjoyed this book and look forward to reading all of the books included in the entire GRANT COUNTY series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: (Grant County series 1) []  2020-4-3 19:26

    "Blindsighted" is Slaughter's first novel, originally published in 2001 and there have been a number of subsequent books in the Grant County (Georgia) series. I have read Slaughter before, a couple of books in another series, including the well-regarded Fractured. At the time I thought those "Atlanta" series books were amazing but I chose not to read others in either series. So I did not have particularly high expectations for Blindsighted, and I am satisfied to say that I found this debut novel much better than expected. The story takes put in a little city in Georgia about a four hour drive from Atlanta. Jeffrey is the Police Chief, managing a force of about 9 officers. His ex-wife Sara, doubles as a pediatrician and the town's medical examiner. A blind, young woman is found bleeding profusely as the effect of a rape/stabbing in the bathroom of the local diner. Sarah attempts to rescusitate her but is not successful. The victim's twin sister, Lena, is an officer on Jeffrey's team. The investigation begins and we learn more of Lena's relationship with her sister and the uncle who raised the two girls. We also learn a amazing more about Sara and Jeffrey's marriage, and Sara's family background. The 392 page story moves along at a brisk pace, with interesting, well written characters and a comfortable level of tension. There are a number of passages with very graphic info of results found in the rape investigation and post mortem, including some paricularly nasty mutilations inflicted by the killer. And this is not the only victim.... The crime of rape saturates this book, and it may not be for those readers who are particularly upset by this crime. I thought the book was well written, yet one major criticism I have is that I thought there were too a lot of coincidences and incidents that stretched credibility. Secondly, the police force seemed to be waiting for happenings to happen instead of proactively investigating. While the local offender's list was scrutuinized and interviews conducted, there was relatively small initiative subsequently I will probably read the second book in this series and my largest concern is that given a little city setting will the second book seem to be only a variation of the first in plot, structure and character. I'll see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Ulysses S. Grant? []  2020-2-1 2:3

    Son loves these fast small books about history. Its the only thing he wants to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Ulysses S. Grant? []  2020-2-1 2:3

    My 4th grader, who is not a fan of reading, found this book simple to read and interesting. He did his first oral report with the support of this book. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Cardone's 10X VIP 2020 [App]  2020-2-12 13:7

    love it. if you need true estate in Miami. allow me know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: (Grant County series 1) []  2020-4-3 19:26

    blindsighted by karin slaughter. oh wow, slaughter is just an utterly strong author. masquerading as a writer of famous fiction, slaughter writes XXXXing dark, massive stuff. i'm so excited that this novel is the first in a series, about the characters living in a little city in georgia, as i'll obtain to spend more time with them. of course, as is always the case, intense darkness percolates beneath the seemingly idyllic rockwellian surface. slaughter writes hard southern gothic, putting her characters through, literally, wonderful torment and trials, while also making their perseverance and intelligence shine. as difficult as it can be to read much of what happens in blindsighted, much of what's inflicted, her characters behave in hearteningly smart and resilient ways. i've only read two of her novels, but the method relationships--particularly between women--define her stories is completely, jaw-droppingly delightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: (Grant County series 1) []  2020-4-3 19:26

    Every story has to begin somewhere. This was a amazing start. You jump right into the lives of these characters. And Slaughter does a unbelievable job of getting you hooked on them very quickly. You wish to know why they are all angry at Jeffery when he seems like a amazing guy. You wish to know what Sara is holding back. You are touched by her reactions and her feelings. You instantly understand you are not going to like Lena anymore than anyone else. There are some poor guys that are obvious and some that it takes you a while to decide on.I had a small bit of an advantage going into this series because I had read the Will Trent series first. I was fresh to Slaughter and didn't know that the two series were tied together. So I started at the beginning of one with the intent of reading the other after. I just picked the wrong one to start. So, I started with a small bit of knowledge about the relationship between Sara and Jeffery. Which, as it turned out, was not as clear chop as I had expected going into the first book based on my knowledge from the Will Trent series. The fact that they were divorced through me a little. But I have to say I was thrilled with how this book aughter does a very amazing job of humanizing these characters. They could be your best friends, and you be privy to the ins and outs of their marriage. Or they could be the next door neighbors that you say hi to but don't really know what's going on behind closed doors. And now you are getting a look at the personal lives; the feelings and struggles and the tragedies that create them who they are. It could be any one of us dealing with the same feelings and insecurities and heartache. Being able to identify with Sara and Jeffery makes them true to you as a reader. You either have had mates that have gone through what they are going through or you have experienced to some degree personally. So you obtain invested.I don't like to give plot or story away. So I won't. What I will say is that you will have fun getting to know these characters -- even through their sometimes very true life. And we all know that true life is hard and messy.But don't read this book if you aren't ready to commit to seeing the series through to the end. I have read through to the end. While this is a amazing book, it is the beginning of the story. And you will miss out on a lot if you are just looking for a fast read that you have no intention of investing in.ENJOY!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: The First Grant County Thriller (Grant County Thrillers) [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    "Blindsighted" is Slaughter's first novel, originally published in 2001 and there have been a number of subsequent books in the Grant County (Georgia) series. I have read Slaughter before, a couple of books in another series, including the well-regarded Fractured. At the time I thought those "Atlanta" series books were amazing but I chose not to read others in either series. So I did not have particularly high expectations for Blindsighted, and I am satisfied to say that I found this debut novel much better than expected. The story takes put in a little city in Georgia about a four hour drive from Atlanta. Jeffrey is the Police Chief, managing a force of about 9 officers. His ex-wife Sara, doubles as a pediatrician and the town's medical examiner. A blind, young woman is found bleeding profusely as the effect of a rape/stabbing in the bathroom of the local diner. Sarah attempts to rescusitate her but is not successful. The victim's twin sister, Lena, is an officer on Jeffrey's team. The investigation begins and we learn more of Lena's relationship with her sister and the uncle who raised the two girls. We also learn a amazing more about Sara and Jeffrey's marriage, and Sara's family background. The 392 page story moves along at a brisk pace, with interesting, well written characters and a comfortable level of tension. There are a number of passages with very graphic info of results found in the rape investigation and post mortem, including some paricularly nasty mutilations inflicted by the killer. And this is not the only victim.... The crime of rape saturates this book, and it may not be for those readers who are particularly upset by this crime. I thought the book was well written, yet one major criticism I have is that I thought there were too a lot of coincidences and incidents that stretched credibility. Secondly, the police force seemed to be waiting for happenings to happen instead of proactively investigating. While the local offender's list was scrutuinized and interviews conducted, there was relatively small initiative subsequently I will probably read the second book in this series and my largest concern is that given a little city setting will the second book seem to be only a variation of the first in plot, structure and character. I'll see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Write a Grant: Become a Grant Writing Unicorn []  2019-12-18 20:20

    How to Write a Grant - Become a Grant Writing Unicorn by Meredith Noble is filled with actionable info that I found to be simple to understand. She breaks down the grant writing process, from searching for funding opportunities, gathering your team, setting a manageable schedule, to writing the narrative and building the project budget. The book is filled with useful info for those who are just beginning to write grants and for those who have plenty of experience, but are looking to hone their a program manager for a non-profit service provider, grant writing has become a part of my working life. When I first began working on squads that where applying for grants, they seemed incredibly technical and complex. They've gotten a bit easier over time as I've worked on several grant applications with managers and peers, picking up a few hints each time. I've had some success guiding my squad through a few grant applications, but after not receiving an award for a huge grant, I knew it was time to hit the books and build my skills.I'm glad I picked up How to Write a Grant, I feel more prepared to tackle the next funding opportunity that comes my way. I don't know if I believe in unicorns, but I do believe I have the skills I need to support my program shine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Write a Grant: Become a Grant Writing Unicorn []  2019-12-18 20:20

    This book is a beginners tutorial for grant writers, I like the method the author does not overwhelm the reader, with too a lot of min deals, and gives u a general overview about the topic of successful grant writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Ulysses S. Grant? []  2020-2-1 2:3

    My 9 year old loved reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Ulysses S. Grant? []  2020-2-1 2:3

    My 9 year old son enjoys the "Who was" book series. Amazing for his reading level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: (Grant County series 1) []  2020-4-3 19:26

    In my opinion, Karin Slaughter can do no wrong! I've loved everything I've ever read of hers, and this was no exception. Blindsighted is the first in her Grant County series, and features doctor and coroner Sara, and her ex-husband/chief of police Jeffrey. When Sara and Jeffrey are thrown together to work on a case that hits close to home, Sara realizes her own secrets can't stay buried any longer.I loved this one from the very beginning, and I was immediately hooked! I was able to identify the assassin from very early on in the book, but that didn't stop me from wanting to know WHY. Like a lot of of Slaughter's other books, Blindsighted is graphic and depicts violence, torture, and rape, mostly directed toward women, so if that's not your thing, this isn't the book for you! If you can stomach the gore, I definitely recommend this one for all thriller fans!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blindsighted: (Grant County series 1) []  2020-4-3 19:26

    NO SPOILERSJust a few weeks ago I decided to read the first two books in the Will Trent series, having found them in a used book store. I hadn't read crime fiction in years and though I was aware of Karin Slaughter I kind of dismissed her books without a look. My mistake. I was so impressed I decided to begin with Slaughter's first though there are a couple rookie mistakes, including an unfinished but seemingly unimportant plot thread having to do with "the lodge", a couple of racist detectives on the force who aren't fleshed out enough to be anything more than cipher, a small confusion on when a vehicle was purchased, a poor habit of characters being described as "doing as they're told" or some variation that the author apparently kept through the first two Trent books, no effort is created to track down who was in the diner beyond acknowledging 'the regulars were there" where the murder took place, and I felt like I'd figured out the assassin too early. Except for this latest the others had no true impact on the plot, and even that latest is very subject. Figuring out the assassin in Slaughter's books doesn't signify the end of the mystery; there's still more to e main characters are kind of created for Hallmark Mysteries - the part time coroner (Sara) is the divorced from the police chief (Jeffrey); the police chief promotes a female to detective (Lena) with a chip on her shoulder (and we're told about the chip twice, in case we missed it the first time) within a deep south amazing ole boy police e brilliant part is that Slaughter makes you not care about the predictability but rather have fun the dynamics between the Sara and Jeffrey, and Lena is the type of "unsympathetic" hero one can sympathize e key to it all is amazing globe building in the city and county and the kind of dialogue that makes the characters come alive off the page. Inserting "Sara said" or "Lena screamed" is almost superfluous as each hero has their own voice. I noticed this as well in the Trent novels. Also, there is no drag in this e plot is intricate and the resolution goes back to a past happening that unfolds nicely within the story. There's one squeamish stage that is important but not method over the top. Sara is tough and amazing even as she is emotionally wounded; a trait she shares with the other main r these reasons I've overlooked the little mistakes and rate this a solid four and a half stars. I already have the next one on to arrive today. I'm looking forward to seeing what she does with the ensemble cast, and the town.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grant Cardone's 10X VIP 2020 [App]  2020-2-12 13:7

    application doesn't work. not 10x

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Counseling Association [App]  2017-11-4 13:7

    I loved it until today when I required it and my phone kept freezing when I opened it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Apartment Association [App]  2018-4-26 21:8

    This is an advertising application it does not support you do anything. It allows businesses to advertise directly in your face that is all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Library Association [App]  2018-4-4 13:6

    I love the app. It helps me hold up with the heaviness of carrying paper around and losing it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Association for Jewish Studies [App]  2019-12-16 21:31

    Worked fine in 2017. In 2018, it's impossible to log in. No sense in using an application that can't be used without logging in but won't allow you sign in by any of the means it claims to create available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Florida RV Trade Association [App]  2020-1-15 21:34

    amazing application for the Florida RV show. this method you dont jave to guess where you are going. amazing think let's you connect with a vendor to obtain info prior to going to create sure dude is there. Cant wait to see up comes with present approaching.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    nathanielwrign reviews equilli reviews tracfax reviews leather craft wooden handle nylon hammer leathercraft carving hammer sew leather cowhide tool kit reviews antlers deer horn silicone keychain mold perforated resin clay mold crafts tools moulds for plaster silicone keyring epoxy mold reviews straw toppers apple shape reviews 1 lb hystrene 5016 commercial stearic acid food grade white flakes reviews bourbon chai toddy candle fragrance oil 1oz reviews heallily 24 pcs candle making tins empty metal candle tin jar container candy case for diy candle starters reviews gr2 titanium wax carving tools kit wax carving tool colorful reviews dip by alcamy reviews 3pcs 100ml silicone measuring cups diy resin glue tools cup for making handmade craft nonstick silicone mixing cup reviews 910 burnishing compound powder 5 pounds reviews speedwox bead crimper tool for jewelry making bead crimping pliers 5 inches standard precision fine pliers bent head for closing crimp covers multi use diy craft beading hobby reviews womens long sleeve maxi dresses v neck wrap skater dress tie knot bow pleated split sundress summer casual swing long beach party wedding dresses reviews housweety 100pcs jewelry earring ear studs hanging holder display hang cards reviews i heart u darth vader pin by jamie lee cortez reviews alexcraft silver plated brass 50 pcs 9mm small lobster clasps and 100 pcs 4mm open jump rings set jewelry making findings reviews pandahall 100pcs tube brass slide on end clasp golden with fish earring hooks and alloy lobster claw clasps stainless steel open jump ring iron twist extender chains for jewelry making reviews supvox 5 packs t pins vintage alloy t shaped pins needle flat head pins for diy necklace bracelet jewelry making wigs sewing knitting 26mm reviews

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386