Read guide to eritrea reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all guide to eritrea reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    need pin to play rsweeps []  2020-5-22 6:38

    Lost my pin for RSweeps

    2  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bringg dispatch How to setup [For Panera Drivers]  2020-5-28 1:23
    [email protected]

    I the application ands it asks for my email and pads and I can’t see hint registration to use the application what’s their point no help page or nothing! Help me out

    2  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    go to this web-site [california superior court case search]  2020-8-21 2:59
    [email protected]

    see this website like it state of virginia case find henderson justice court case find hop over to here superior court of fulton county case find for beginners have a peek at this web-site

    0  


    Add your opinion on guide to eritrea or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Oakland online [how to buy lasix in Puerto Rico]  2020-9-17 7:28
    [email protected]

    lasix online from Seattle buy lasix online from UK how to lasix in Portland lasix from Los Angeles lasix buy lasix online from San Diego where to lasix in Kansas online buy lasix in Sweden lasix online pharmacy in United States

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Albuquerque online [best price for lasix in Netherlands]  2020-9-13 17:18
    [email protected]

    cost of lasix lasix online canada lasix in Omaha where to lasix in Austria where to lasix in Detroit where to lasix in Memphis price lasix purchase lasix from Fresh York where to lasix in El Paso

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Czech Republic online [how to buy lasix in Italy]  2020-9-13 21:51
    [email protected]

    how to lasix cheap lasix in Hong Kong discount brand name lasix where to lasix in France lasix online india lasix per pill where to lasix in Buffalo where to lasix in Columbus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    navigate to this site [Visit Website]  2020-8-27 11:0
    [email protected]

    pop over to this website missouri case net name find check this out like it more info washtenaw county court case find navigate to this www service hop over to this web-site

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can lasix buying lasix in canada how to lasix in Norway best for lasix in Long Beach where to lasix in Washington how can i lasix best method to search lasix in Czech Republic where is better to lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Greece [cheap lasix in New York]  2020-9-13 15:58
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Phoenix online top 8 best locations to lasix in Omaha lasix online pharmacy in Denmark where to lasix in Tucson online best method to search lasix in San Francisco how much does lasix cost where to lasix in Austria best for lasix in Fresh York

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Denver online [best way to find cheap lasix in Long Beach]  2020-9-17 4:36
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Boston canada lasix generic top 6 best locations to lasix in Los Angeles where to lasix in Toledo buy true lasix where to lasix in Greece online best for lasix in United Kingdom best for lasix in Austin best for lasix in Japan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    what google did to me [york county civil case search]  2020-8-24 19:43
    [email protected]

    san diego county superior court case find obtain more here to search out more henderson justice court case find king county court case find mo case net litigant find the this article

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Tucson [buy lasix online from Japan]  2020-9-13 22:54
    [email protected]

    lasix in Tucson lasix online pharmacy in San Francisco lasix online pharmacy in Kansas buying lasix best method to search lasix in Charlotte top 3 best locations to lasix in Indianapolis best for lasix in Norway

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Netherlands [lasix medication]  2020-9-17 6:15
    [email protected]

    how to lasix in Detroit where to lasix online canadian lasix online lasix online from Canada cheap lasix 100 canada lasix online pharmacy in Seattle lasix by mail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to purchase lasix in Charlotte [purchase lasix cheap]  2020-9-14 2:9
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Omaha online can u lasix over the counter top 11 best locations to lasix in Canada cost of lasix for dogs get lasix prescription how to lasix in Omaha cheap lasix in Fresno lasix dosage purchase lasix from Austin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    top 7 best places to buy lasix in Finland [buy lasix in Toledo]  2020-9-14 1:27
    [email protected]

    lasix from Omaha lasix how much where to lasix in St Louis lasix online pharmacy in San Jose buy lasix online from El Paso how to lasix lasix online in india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guide to Eritrea []  2020-1-16 12:41

    THIS BOOK WAS VERY HELPFUL TO ME ON MY VISIT TO ERITREA, I HAD NEVER BEEN THERE BEFORE AND IT PROVIDED ME WITH A VALUABLE REFERENCE GUIDE. MY FAMILY CONNECTED ME TO MY ROOTS BUT THE BOOK HELPED ME EXPLORE ALL THE DIFFERENT POINTS OF INTEREST IN ASMARA AND THE REST OF ERITREA. IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A GROUP TO TOUR ERITREA WITH, GO TO N.U.E.Y.S HEADQUARTERS IN ASMARA. THEY GIVE TOURS IN THE SUMMER. ONE LOVE.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eritrea: A Tourist Guide []  2020-7-13 19:35

    The sub-title 'A tourist guide' describes exactly what this is. It's very practical, with info on what clothes to take, how to rent a car, tipping, visas, locations of interest and locations to stay. I've not (yet) been to Eritrea, but there is plenty of useful info here plus a small general background on history and culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eritrea - Wink Travel Guide []  2020-1-18 0:4

    Nothing to this at all. A few paragraphs, looks like printed on someone’s home printer. The paragraphs are generic descriptions of about 7 key websites in the country - so maybe about 100 lines of text in the whole book. Not at all a travel guide. Rather, someone printed off a few paragraphs from Wikipedia or somewhere, printed them in their basement, and are pretending that makes a travel guide. I’d give zero stars if I could.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eritrea, 4th (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-7-26 21:42

    To my knowledge this is the only guidebook in English devoted solely to Eritrea. The closest comparator is the Lonely Planet tutorial which covers both Ethiopia and Eritrea. As one might expect in a volume devoted purely to Eritrea, this volume has more info and detail (more maps of specific towns, for example) and the historical discussion of the origins of the independence movement is informative. As another reviewer mentioned, successive political regimes have changed the names of roads in downtown Asmara; in my experience, local people are familiar with both the "traditional" and the "official" names, and the use of the maps in this tutorial was not problematic. The one aspect in which the Lonely Planet tutorial tops this book is in that book's walking tours which I found quite useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eritrea, 4th (Bradt Travel Guide) []  2020-7-26 21:42

    This is one of the poorest guidebooks I have ever used!In powerful contrast to Bradt's perfect tutorial to neighbouring Ethiopia, this tutorial to Eritrea is so not good it is nearly useless.Even before departure, I found that the book just failed to create Eritrea sound exciting - it created it sound e very weakest points are its maps!Can you believe that a full page regional map of say, Western Eritrea, can have a grand total of four (yes, FOUR!) locations in that region marked on it, fewer than are marked on the much smaller map for the entire country, and failing to present even the locations that are described in the relevant section of the guide???The town map for Asmara is a joke (I've uploaded a scanned photo of it to see for yourself), with no names marked for most streets, and most of those that are marked being old names that were changed years ings to see & do? Very few described, very poorly.History & politics? These chapters look as if they had been contributed by the propaganda department of the Eritrean government, with glorifying accounts of the heroic war for freedom and no mentioning of the disgraceful present.Flora & fauna? The author's knowledge seems to end at distinguishing a mammal from a bird - e bottom line is that until Bradt gets a fresh author to rewrite this tutorial completely, you are far better off reading the shorter but much better chapter on this unbelievable country in Lonely Planet's Ethiopia & Eritrea tutorial than wasting your money, like I did, on ordering this e 2 stars were only given as an acknowledgement for the publisher's effort to place out a separate tutorial to this unusual destination, not for the actual value of this book which is closer to zero.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea (Country Travel Guide) []  2020-7-9 18:58

    Amazing guidebook. I really like that it contains Djibouti and Somaliland.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea (Country Travel Guide) []  2020-7-9 18:58

    Planning a trip to Ethiopia is hard enough, as there is very small available online of in depth information. But, Lonely Planet has answered most of my questions, as usual, which always makes my trips much easier to plan. As a single female traveller, I obtain upset when there isn't a LP tutorial for a certain country and their Ethiopia/Eritrea book does it all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea (Country Travel Guide) []  2020-7-9 18:58

    A wealth of info for my upcoming trip to Ethiopia. However, the font/type is so little that it is impossible to read without a magnifying glass. I always Lonely Planet tutorial books for everywhere I travel, and none of them have this problem. Perhaps the issue arose because they tried to place info about two countries into one book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea (Country Travel Guide) []  2020-7-9 18:58

    Lonely planet always makes the mark!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea (Country Travel Guide) []  2020-7-9 18:58

    I bought this as a Peace Corps Volunteer before going to Ethiopia in 2012. It was cool to look at the locations nearby that I could visit, and it did search some use when my Dad came to visit me and we were looking for amazing hotels in Arba Minch. But to be honest, my best resource for travel and hotel recommendations was my fellow Peace Corps Volunteers who lived in the area.If you're a PCV about to leave for Ethiopia, I would suggest investing in the phrase book and leaving this book at home.But if you're a tourist heading to Ethiopia and don't know anyone who already lives there, I would definitely pick up this book. It all depends on what you're using it for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea (Country Travel Guide) []  2020-7-9 18:58

    As advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea (Country Travel Guide) []  2020-7-9 18:58

    Still doing the travel planning. the overviews, history, and maps are all helpful, but it sure would be useful to have some photographs. We were huge fans of Rick Steve's travel book for Spain, and hoped for something similar. Jury is still out on this one, but will test to remember to revise/update review AFTER the hiopia, 5th (Bradt Travel Tutorial Ethiopia) came highly recommended...but only heard of it after already having purchased Lonely Planet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea (Country Travel Guide) []  2020-7-9 18:58

    Exactly what I wanted! Exactly what I got!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea (Country Travel Guide) []  2020-7-9 18:58

    I love Lonely Planets, I could not travel without them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea (Country Travel Guide) []  2020-7-9 18:58

    This book was disappointing. Very very few pictures, outdated visa requirements about yellow fever vaccinations (which I've read elsewhere have never been a requirement), not much primary travel info (like country weather, dress, currency) which is usually covered well in Lonely Planet books, like LP China, for example. The writers are clearly European, but their powerful style leaves me wondering what nuances I may not be picking up on as an American. These omissions create me less confident about the other facts and recommendations given in the book. None of the writers are female, which also makes me wonder if the locations they felt safe would be comfortable to a female traveler. All in all, this book was not as thorough and well researched as other Lonely Planet books I have read and used.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea []  2020-6-23 19:21

    Exactly what I wanted! Exactly what I got!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea []  2020-6-23 19:21

    I love Lonely Planets, I could not travel without them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea []  2020-6-23 19:21

    This book was disappointing. Very very few pictures, outdated visa requirements about yellow fever vaccinations (which I've read elsewhere have never been a requirement), not much primary travel info (like country weather, dress, currency) which is usually covered well in Lonely Planet books, like LP China, for example. The writers are clearly European, but their powerful style leaves me wondering what nuances I may not be picking up on as an American. These omissions create me less confident about the other facts and recommendations given in the book. None of the writers are female, which also makes me wonder if the locations they felt safe would be comfortable to a female traveler. All in all, this book was not as thorough and well researched as other Lonely Planet books I have read and used.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ERITREA A COUNTRY PROFILE []  2020-1-18 0:4

    I was a Peace Corps teacher in the attractive small town of Adi Ugri, also known locally as Mendefera, from 1962 to 1964. I could not have been sent to a more unbelievable place. Eritrea at that time was part of Ethiopia, and the battle that led to its independence was just beginning. This Profile is heartbreaking in view of what Eritrea could have become by now had it not been for warfare, the intractable tensions with Ethiopia, and the tragedy of its internal politics. The book is a quick, helpful modernize for those who know and care about Eritrea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea []  2020-6-23 19:21

    A wealth of info for my upcoming trip to Ethiopia. However, the font/type is so little that it is impossible to read without a magnifying glass. I always Lonely Planet tutorial books for everywhere I travel, and none of them have this problem. Perhaps the issue arose because they tried to place info about two countries into one book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea []  2020-6-23 19:21

    Lonely planet always makes the mark!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea []  2020-6-23 19:21

    I bought this as a Peace Corps Volunteer before going to Ethiopia in 2012. It was cool to look at the locations nearby that I could visit, and it did search some use when my Dad came to visit me and we were looking for amazing hotels in Arba Minch. But to be honest, my best resource for travel and hotel recommendations was my fellow Peace Corps Volunteers who lived in the area.If you're a PCV about to leave for Ethiopia, I would suggest investing in the phrase book and leaving this book at home.But if you're a tourist heading to Ethiopia and don't know anyone who already lives there, I would definitely pick up this book. It all depends on what you're using it for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea []  2020-6-23 19:21

    Still doing the travel planning. the overviews, history, and maps are all helpful, but it sure would be useful to have some photographs. We were huge fans of Rick Steve's travel book for Spain, and hoped for something similar. Jury is still out on this one, but will test to remember to revise/update review AFTER the hiopia, 5th (Bradt Travel Tutorial Ethiopia) came highly recommended...but only heard of it after already having purchased Lonely Planet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea []  2020-6-23 19:21

    As advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea []  2020-6-23 19:21

    Amazing guidebook. I really like that it contains Djibouti and Somaliland.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia & Eritrea []  2020-6-23 19:21

    Planning a trip to Ethiopia is hard enough, as there is very small available online of in depth information. But, Lonely Planet has answered most of my questions, as usual, which always makes my trips much easier to plan. As a single female traveller, I obtain upset when there isn't a LP tutorial for a certain country and their Ethiopia/Eritrea book does it all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bradt Eritrea (Bradt Travel Guides) []  2020-1-23 0:32

    THIS BOOK WAS VERY HELPFUL TO ME ON MY VISIT TO ERITREA, I HAD NEVER BEEN THERE BEFORE AND IT PROVIDED ME WITH A VALUABLE REFERENCE GUIDE. MY FAMILY CONNECTED ME TO MY ROOTS BUT THE BOOK HELPED ME EXPLORE ALL THE DIFFERENT POINTS OF INTEREST IN ASMARA AND THE REST OF ERITREA. IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A GROUP TO TOUR ERITREA WITH, GO TO N.U.E.Y.S HEADQUARTERS IN ASMARA. THEY GIVE TOURS IN THE SUMMER. ONE LOVE.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of Ethiopia and Eritrea []  2020-7-21 19:52

    Basics: 2009, hardcover, 463 pages, 29 of 32 endemics with color photos, 872 species with a breeding/status atlas map, text of distribution and habitat, a lot of listsThis is a thorough reference book to the distribution and status of all species found in both Ethiopia and Eritrea. The heart of the book is its 872 atlas style maps. Using a grid of 528 squares over the region, the presence of each bird in a square is represented by four distinct symbols. These represent either a confirmed sighting/specimen, an uncertain record, confirmed breeding, or uncertain e paragraph accompanying each map consists of the bird's status in the country, migration pattern, distribution notes, breeding behavior and dates, and favored sites. This info is about one paragraph in length.Other than a dozen or so black-and-white images of different habitats, the only other images in this book are 29 excellent, nice-sized color images. These represent all but 3 of the region's 32 endemic birds. Not illustrated are the Red-billed Pytilia, the uncertain Ethiopian Cliff Swallow, and the never seen Nechisar Nightjar (known from only a single wing).For the data oriented birder, this book a amazing of extra information. The 70 pages at the beginning cover a wide range of info from ornithological history to topography and geology to vegetation to breeding seasons. There are also 14 amazing quality color maps of the region showing a dozens of geologic, climate, and vegetative e latest 78 pages of the book a lot of lists that cover hybrids, endemics, hypotheticals, necessary bird areas, bird ringing/banding, a gazetteer, and is book will appeal to the more ardent ornithologist, the traveling birder, and the Abyssian enthusiast; however, its emphasis on maps and data with few images and no identification may be a small dry for a lot of other birders.I've listed several similar books below...1) A Tutorial to Endemic Birds of Ethiopia and Eritrea by Pol2) Ethiopia's endemic birds by Urban3) Birds of the Horn of Africa by Redman4) A Checklist of the Birds of Ethiopia by Urban5) Ethiopia: In Find of Endemic Birds by Francis6) Birds of Somalia by Ash7) The Birds of East Africa by Stevenson8) Birds of Kenya and Northern Tanzania by Zimmerman9) A Bird Atlas of Kenya by Lewis(written by Soleglad at Avian Review or Avian Books, May 2009)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kum Neger | ቁም ነገር - Ethiopia & Eritrea Dating [App]  2020-5-19 13:19

    So innovative! As a Habesha woman, it is nice to have a respectable put to meet mature habesha men. Stay classy my people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kum Neger | ቁም ነገር - Ethiopia & Eritrea Dating [App]  2020-5-19 13:19

    Amazing experience overall. I have had some amazing matches, and the help squad has been fast with answering my questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Eritrea - A Volunteer in East Africa []  2020-4-19 18:51

    I know the author and was one of his supporters during his time in Eritrea. This book brought back lots of memories of his exploits and experiences, both amazing and bad. The style of writing is unusual but typically Kevin and serves to obtain across the stories of the plight of some of the people he came t always an simple read, but a compelling account.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kum Neger | ቁም ነገር - Ethiopia & Eritrea Dating [App]  2020-5-19 13:19

    I decided to Kum Neger a test because my mate heard about it. I was surprised to search some quality matches. I hope it works out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Eritrea - A Volunteer in East Africa []  2020-4-19 18:51

    Commendably entertaining and informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Eritrea - A Volunteer in East Africa []  2020-4-19 18:51

    What I search strange about this book, is the pictures on the cover which are definitely not from Eritrea. Although the book is titled 'Inside Eritrea,' all the pictures on the cover, which are 3 various frames of the same shot seem to have been taken in Addis Ababa. The blue and white minibus taxi in the background, the huge billboard with the Ethiopian flag of green, yellow, and red stripes and the high-rise building under construction indicate that the picture is necessarily taken somewhere in Ethiopia. This seems to be a misrepresentation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kum Neger | ቁም ነገር - Ethiopia & Eritrea Dating [App]  2020-5-19 13:19

    Wow..this is awesome! It's about time habesha peeps have zone to connect specially in times of corona :) Kudos on privacy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kum Neger | ቁም ነገር - Ethiopia & Eritrea Dating [App]  2020-5-19 13:19

    If you this application you are probably the only person on it .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Athiopien, Somalia, Eritrea, Dschibuti = Ethiopia, Somalia, Eritrea, Djibouti = Ethiopie, Somalie, Erythree, Djibouti []  2020-7-13 19:37

    Very detailed map in a scale 1:1,800,000 on a waterproof paper suitable for exploration of Ethiopia, Eritrea, Somalia, and Djibuti.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea []  2020-1-23 0:32

    I always have fun reading Robert Kaplan, so the book is a amazing tour of Africa. Even though the material is now somewhat dated, I am sure that the political and social contexts have not changed all that much in the intervening years. I recommend this like all Mr. Kaplan's other works highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea []  2020-1-23 0:32

    Insightful and simple to read analysis of the 70s and 80s Horn of Africa. And the political side of the 1980s famine. As always a amazing book from the Author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea []  2020-1-23 0:32

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea []  2020-1-23 0:32

    I've been reading Kaplan for years. He has a special method of exploring an problem or region of the globe and bringing it home for the reader in a method that balances history, politics, and culture with a touch of the exotic. Kaplan also has a hold grasp of the globe and where it is going. Reading Kaplan is always interesting, provocative, and thought-provoking. I would recommend any book he's written as a amazing read.I must confess my ignorance about Ethiopia. I grew up with the commercials for starving kids and famine relief and Live Aid, but I never actually knew much about it. I just figured it was another group of hungry people who were doomed by poor weather and poor geography. I never much attention to the problems of that part of the world, so I was shocked to learn just how much I had missed in my own lifetime in Ethiopia. Kaplan does a terrific job of explaining the background and bringing the problems to vivid life. This book is somewhat dated, but it still serves as a amazing description of what was event in the region in the 1980s and 1990s and it helps shed light on the problems facing the region today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea []  2020-1-23 0:32

    Kaplan has amazing books because he is on the ground, describing what he sees. This one would have been better if I would have read it years ago. Still, it is a amazing history of the region. You can tell it was one of the first books that he wrote. Sometimes you lose track of the people he is writing about. But overall, it is a amazing read, especially if you like his other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea []  2020-1-23 0:32

    I was not particularly impressed with this book. Kaplan tend to repeat the same thoughts (and phrases) in each chapter. Obviously, he did not wish to do much research into the zone as the same handful of sources are referred to. It is a shame that such short shrift is given to this region as it is one continuously neglected by the famous media.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea []  2020-1-23 0:32

    This is essential reading for any professional soldier or diplomat conducting business in east Africa. Kaplan neatly lays out the narrative as is his style. His commentary is on target. I have worked this theater for 5 years now and he does not write one thing which I can say is inaccurate. His insights provide explanation to what may seem to the uninitiated as chaos. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea []  2020-1-23 0:32

    Another brilliant book by Robert Kaplan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mapa Cartographia Ethiopia, Eritrea y Djibouti (Mapas Cartographia) (French Edition) []  2020-7-21 19:52

    Map wasn’t nearly as detailed as I expected. Country boundaries, waterways, and a couple of major streets but that’s about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti (CARTES (19600)) (French, English and German Edition) []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Map wasn’t nearly as detailed as I expected. Country boundaries, waterways, and a couple of major streets but that’s about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea []  2020-1-23 0:32

    I apologize for the obnoxious and arguably flippant alliteration in that title, but it manages to be remarkably accurate. I found this book to be an extremely well-written and enlightening, if at times somewhat chaotic, acc of the complicated situation on the horn of Africa around the time of the mid-1980s. Its focus is on the underreported factors that contributed to the famine that ravaged the region, namely that regional battles and corrupt leaders were far more responsible for the mass starvation and suffering than simply the drought itself. A compelling if depressing read that sheds light on protracted, devastating happenings that are largely unknown to most of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea []  2020-1-23 0:32

    very biased, although admittedly so. Better than anything else I could search on Ethiopia. Could be more well rounded in what it covers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) []  2020-1-25 17:24

    I was really excited to this book and the color plates are terrific. However, the range maps are so min that they're a joke. They are beautiful well impossible to read, even with a magnifying glass. I realize that the only alternative is to have the range maps on a separate page, but that would be preferable to not being able to read them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) []  2020-1-25 17:24

    I bought it for Ethiopia travel. The author is probably Eritrean, but the map is amazing quality and has info of cities like Addis Abbaba.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia Eritrea and Djibouti (Lonely Planet Travel Survival Kit) []  2020-1-28 0:41

    A latest front page article in the Fresh York Times on the Lalibela churches in northern Ethiopia sent me running for my LP copy of this book. I was most pleasantly surprised to search over a dozen pages of detailed info on this wonderful center of early Christianity. F. Linzee-Gordon's first hand acc of a visit to the churches provided a most informative background lacking in the NY Times article. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eccentric Graces: Eritrea and Ethiopia Through the Eyes of a Traveler []  2020-6-23 19:21

    Tutorials on Eritrea and Ethiopia are not abundant but the two countries would be better of with NO tutorials at all in case the only alternative would be the hair-raising gibberish presented under this pretentious title.Everything this woman "knows" is based on the little bibliography she managed to consult and a number of utterly superficial conversations with the occasional passer-by. Beyond that, there is absolutely nothing eccentric and graceful about this book which would probably have looked exactly the same in case she would have travelled Ghana or Egypt or China or what this book in case you need warning about bringing toilet paper when visiting public toilets or in case you search a kid leaving a turt on a busseat interesting reading ...Otherwise: Forget about this irritating rubbish and Obtain Philip Braggs's perfect "Guide to Ethiopia" for practical info and e.g. Kevin Rushby's highly acclaimed "Eating the flowers of paradise" ... and DO go and vitit Ethiopia !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) []  2020-1-17 20:47

    very biased, although admittedly so. Better than anything else I could search on Ethiopia. Could be more well rounded in what it covers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) (French Edition) []  2020-7-17 20:21

    Brand new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) (French Edition) []  2020-7-17 20:21

    I bought it for Ethiopia travel. The author is probably Eritrean, but the map is amazing quality and has info of cities like Addis Abbaba.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides (51)) []  2020-4-19 18:51

    I've been using this book while working and traveling in the Horn of Africa. It has been very useful ... I really like the layout--the pictures are perfect representations of the species (and as one reviewer noted, subspecies). The flight profiles and range maps have been key to my identifying some birds--the hardest birds to identify I search are the plain ones and this book does a very amazing job of describing and showing the subtle variations needed for positive identification. My copy is now dog-eared, coffee-stained, and marked up ... After 3 months, the binding is coming loose somewhat but the pages are still stitched in beautiful well. It's been stuffed in backpacks, thrown on hot dashes, tossed around in a dive bag on the beach--so it's holding up very well all things considered!If you are coming this method and you like birds, it's the book for you! Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia Eritrea and Djibouti (Lonely Planet Travel Survival Kit) []  2020-1-28 0:41

    I just went to Djibouti for a 10 day visit and this is one of the only English speaking guidebooks available (used). Luckily, it's very well written and the descriptions are still spot on. Maybe it's because very small changes in Djibouti given its geological history, but the author's recommendations (restaurants and tourist attractions) are still accurate. I've used a lot of lonely planet tutorials and this is by far the most readable and full of interesting details. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia Eritrea and Djibouti (Lonely Planet Travel Survival Kit) []  2020-1-28 0:41

    I live in Norway, and Africa's Horn is far from my daily life. I have travelled several times to Eritrea though, and have been searching for tutorial books from the country. When I went to Eritrea latest fall it was with amazing pleasure I bought the LP book by Frances Linzee Gordon, Ethiopia, Eritrea & e book is one of the best LP books I've read. The writing is clearly, and it gives us amazing insight in history, facts, geography, and so on. I have read parts of the book about all three countries, but the Eritrean part is the only one I have actuallu used when e books has some very amazing pictures and maps, and give alot of up to date information. My favorite part is the part about Asmara's architecture, "Asmara, or Piccola Roma, soon came to epitomise the fresh philosophy: it was not just beautiful, but was well planned, well built and, above all, functiomal. The book is a amazing tutorial to use when you plan your travel ahead, and is even better when you actually are there and need or wish information.An additional benefit of the book is the little notes you search alot of, giving interesting information. Reading these notes makes your travel alot more special.When I travel I use my guidebooks as kind of diaries. I write down restaurants I visit, hotel I stay at, interesting locations I see and so on. And this book is filled with my writings almost on all pages. Gordon has seen it all, and gives very useful info about a very interesting, though small known itt Arnhild Lindland

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia Eritrea and Djibouti (Lonely Planet Travel Survival Kit) []  2020-1-28 0:41

    As a Lonely Planet author, I'd like to echo the words of other reviewers of this book. This is clearly Lonely Planet's best title - the writing is clear, concise and informative, the asides are entertaining, the tone is objective yet engaging, and Frances Linzee Gordon's images are nothing short of spectacular. Congratulations, Frances - you've produced a winner!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) []  2020-1-25 17:24

    we used this book during our 27 day journey through Ethiopia. Its perfect and we would have been lost without it. The index is clear the photos amazing and the descriptions of the birds very helpful - they highlight what you need to concentrate on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) []  2020-1-25 17:24

    I was wanting a map of Ethiopia. This one definitely has an "Eritrean" leaning. It is "o.k." for Ethiopia, but is quite dated. The service by the vendor was just fine. The product itself didn't meet my needs so well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) []  2020-1-17 20:47

    Kaplan has amazing books because he is on the ground, describing what he sees. This one would have been better if I would have read it years ago. Still, it is a amazing history of the region. You can tell it was one of the first books that he wrote. Sometimes you lose track of the people he is writing about. But overall, it is a amazing read, especially if you like his other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) []  2020-1-17 20:47

    Another brilliant book by Robert Kaplan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) (French Edition) []  2020-7-17 20:21

    I was wanting a map of Ethiopia. This one definitely has an "Eritrean" leaning. It is "o.k." for Ethiopia, but is quite dated. The service by the vendor was just fine. The product itself didn't meet my needs so well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides (51)) []  2020-4-19 18:51

    I was really excited to this book and the color plates are terrific. However, the range maps are so min that they're a joke. They are beautiful well impossible to read, even with a magnifying glass. I realize that the only alternative is to have the range maps on a separate page, but that would be preferable to not being able to read them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides (51)) []  2020-4-19 18:51

    This is another perfect bird tutorial by the authors. On a latest trip to Ethiopia, I found this book to be an indispensable companion. The drawings are outstanding as is the text on each bird. The range maps and in particular the elevation tutorials were very helpful in this geographically variable country. The info of this tutorial are well covered in previous reviews and this book would be a welcome addition to the library of those who love to travel in Africa. I left this tutorial with our local semi-bird tutorial to encourage his growth in birding. He was both emotional and appreciative to keep this book. I bought a fresh one on my arrival home. Ted Peterson Lynnwood WA USA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eccentric Graces: Eritrea and Ethiopia Through the Eyes of a Traveler []  2020-6-23 19:21

    There are far better books that can give you a perspective of these two countries. This author's work is nothing but an attempt propagating a prejudiced, if not condescending, view of Ethiopia. I search her outlook insulting and patronising to Ethiopians and Eritreans alike. It is like a not good attempt of a 90's travelogue Evelyn Waugh's style, as it is steeped in colonial hypocrisy and unabashedly patronising globe view. A waste of my time, glad I didn't it, as I got it from a library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) []  2020-1-17 20:47

    Insightful and simple to read analysis of the 70s and 80s Horn of Africa. And the political side of the 1980s famine. As always a amazing book from the Author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) []  2020-1-17 20:47

    I was not particularly impressed with this book. Kaplan tend to repeat the same thoughts (and phrases) in each chapter. Obviously, he did not wish to do much research into the zone as the same handful of sources are referred to. It is a shame that such short shrift is given to this region as it is one continuously neglected by the famous media.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia Eritrea and Djibouti (Lonely Planet Travel Survival Kit) []  2020-1-28 0:41

    I am a huge fan of Lonely Planet. I travel a lot around the the globe using ONLY LP guides. I just bought Ethiopia tutorial to plan my next trip - this is the best LP tutorial ever. Full with info and helpful advices, there is everything. And what was my surprise - the tutorial is written only by one writer, a woman and all the pics are taken by her. Congratulations Frances Linzee Gordon and LP for this masterpiece. This is not only a amazing guide, it's a amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Basics: 2009, softcover, 496pp, field/identification guide, 213 color plates of all 1,000+ species in the region; range mapsThis is another top quality book produced by the authors for the eastern region of Africa. Upon opening this book, you'll recognize a lot of of the plates from their earlier work, "Field Tutorial to the Birds of East Africa" (see #6 below). You'll also see a lot of fresh plates along with modifications of prior e artistry is very good, easily making this book equal to or better than any other field tutorial on African birds. The 213 color plates illustrate all 1,000+ species found in the four "Horn" countries of Eritrea, Ethiopia, Djibouti and Somalia (plus the island of Socotra, which belongs to Yemen). Nearly every bird is shown with multiple (2-5) drawings that display perfect detail. The Yellow Wagtail has 13 various illustrations that compare the wide variation of this species. The plates do a amazing job at showing variations between genders, ages, and subspecies. I especially appreciated the additional effort that went into separating out the a lot of subspecies. Extra focus seems to have been given to in-flight poses for a lot of of the non-passerines.A brief paragraph is given for each bird across from its illustration. Although the amount of text may seem light, the info is very informative, to the point, and precise. About 80% of the info is on identification. A couple more lines are dedicated to habitat, distribution notes, and voice. You may wish to take note of the font size, which is little and thin; consequently, you might wish to have your reading glasses e range maps - one for each bird - shows the resident, breeding, and non-breeding ranges in three various colors. These maps reflect the bird's range within only the four countries and artificially stop at the political borders. The maps present very amazing detail; however, this is sometimes difficult to create out due to the shaded highland regions in the background and to the rather faint gray boundaries that separate the countries. Ranges of birds with a very restricted distribution (e.g., Sidamo Lark, Ash's Lark, Djibouti Francolin, Black-backed Cisticola) can be difficult to see with just a little dot representing the range. Inserting an arrow would have been helpful. Making a more prominent note of the 70+ endemics would also have been appreciated, vs simply burying the word "endemic" within the case you're wondering if you would need this book over the authors' prior book for East Africa, the respond is "Yes, if you are visiting any of these four countries." Twenty percent of the birds found in the Horn are not in the other book. Also, when there is overlap of the species between the two regions, the authors' have modified the plates to reflect the plumages of the local is is a superb tutorial that will be essential for birding in these countries. Being the only complete book for this region makes it even more indispensible.1) Birds of Ethiopia and Eritrea by Atkins/Ash2) Ethiopia's Endemic Birds by Urban3) A Tutorial to Endemic Birds of Ethiopia and Eritrea by Pol4) Ethiopia: In Find of Endemic Birds by Francis5) Birds of Somalia by Ash6) Field Tutorial to the Birds of East Africa by Stevenson7) Birds of Africa South of the Sahara by Sinclair/Ryan8) Birds of Kenya and Northern Tanzania by Zimmerman9) A Checklist of the Birds of Ethiopia by Urban(written by Soleglad at Avian Review or Avian Books, May 2009)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) []  2020-1-25 17:24

    I've been using this book while working and traveling in the Horn of Africa. It has been very useful ... I really like the layout--the pictures are perfect representations of the species (and as one reviewer noted, subspecies). The flight profiles and range maps have been key to my identifying some birds--the hardest birds to identify I search are the plain ones and this book does a very amazing job of describing and showing the subtle variations needed for positive identification. My copy is now dog-eared, coffee-stained, and marked up ... After 3 months, the binding is coming loose somewhat but the pages are still stitched in beautiful well. It's been stuffed in backpacks, thrown on hot dashes, tossed around in a dive bag on the beach--so it's holding up very well all things considered!If you are coming this method and you like birds, it's the book for you! Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea, Djibouti, Somaliland 1:2,000,000 Travel Map GIZI, 2011 edition []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Amazing quality map of Ethiopia and the Horn

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Not a whole lot of detail for Ethiopia, and several of the streets are outdated as of 2019. It's OK as an overview, but I wouldn't rely on it for anything other than the main highways. Also, the text written about the countries suggests this was written by an Eritrean with a gripe versus Ethiopia, and the level of detail for Eritrea is much higher (though curiously not consistent with the overlap on the Ethiopia side).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Amazing map on a plain paper in 1:2 Million scale with plans of Adis Ababa and Asmara, including a brief history of Ethiopia and Eritrea

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides (51)) []  2020-4-19 18:51

    While heavy, it is comprehensive and simple to use. Perfect index and plates. Fellow birders carried smaller Birds of Eastern Africa and kept asking to see my Redman guide. Local tutorials also used Birds of the Horn...I recommend Redman's book strongly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) (French Edition) []  2020-7-17 20:21

    Nice map. Perfectly sufficient for my travel needs. Amazing maps are hard to search in Ethiopia so one before you depart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia Eritrea and Djibouti (Lonely Planet Travel Survival Kit) []  2020-1-28 0:41

    I gave this book to my husband who is working in Djibouti. So far, there have been no inconsistencies in the info presented and the actual culture, climate, etc. of Djibouti. Accurate and highly readable. I reccomend this book to anyone planning a trip to Djibouti.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lonely Planet Ethiopia Eritrea and Djibouti (Lonely Planet Travel Survival Kit) []  2020-1-28 0:41

    Frances Linzee Gordon's tutorial to Ethiopia, Eritrea and Djibouti is not only clearly the best of the available tutorial books for these countries, but is also a true pleasure to read. I have used it twice this year while filming tv documentaries in Ethiopia for National Geographic Tv and it has created both trips easier, more interesting and more enjoyable than they would otherwise have been. The practical info is comprehensive and accessible and the historical and geographical info is elegantly written and more readable than is often the case in tutorial books. But what makes this guidebook stand out is the infectious passion and enthusiasm for the countries which it displays. The private reflections and the incidental info (particularly in the boxed text) give the guidebook a texture which really helps to create the country come alive. I would higly reccomend it to anyone making a trip to Ethiopia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides (51)) []  2020-4-19 18:51

    An perfect book we look forward to using when we visit these countries in January 2020Similar to one we used when we visited Uganda & Rwanda latest October : color plates & descriptions & maps are outstanding

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides (51)) []  2020-4-19 18:51

    we used this book during our 27 day journey through Ethiopia. Its perfect and we would have been lost without it. The index is clear the photos amazing and the descriptions of the birds very helpful - they highlight what you need to concentrate on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides (51)) []  2020-4-19 18:51

    I used this book when I studied tropical ecology in Ethiopia earlier this year. I won't repeat what others have said, but this is a very amazing field guide. One major flaw is that some species are given full species status or various names when that is not how they are recognized in current globe checklists. That makes it difficult for those that use eBird or other listing databases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) []  2020-1-17 20:47

    I apologize for the obnoxious and arguably flippant alliteration in that title, but it manages to be remarkably accurate. I found this book to be an extremely well-written and enlightening, if at times somewhat chaotic, acc of the complicated situation on the horn of Africa around the time of the mid-1980s. Its focus is on the underreported factors that contributed to the famine that ravaged the region, namely that regional battles and corrupt leaders were far more responsible for the mass starvation and suffering than simply the drought itself. A compelling if depressing read that sheds light on protracted, devastating happenings that are largely unknown to most of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) []  2020-1-17 20:47

    I've been reading Kaplan for years. He has a special method of exploring an problem or region of the globe and bringing it home for the reader in a method that balances history, politics, and culture with a touch of the exotic. Kaplan also has a hold grasp of the globe and where it is going. Reading Kaplan is always interesting, provocative, and thought-provoking. I would recommend any book he's written as a amazing read.I must confess my ignorance about Ethiopia. I grew up with the commercials for starving kids and famine relief and Live Aid, but I never actually knew much about it. I just figured it was another group of hungry people who were doomed by poor weather and poor geography. I never much attention to the problems of that part of the world, so I was shocked to learn just how much I had missed in my own lifetime in Ethiopia. Kaplan does a terrific job of explaining the background and bringing the problems to vivid life. This book is somewhat dated, but it still serves as a amazing description of what was event in the region in the 1980s and 1990s and it helps shed light on the problems facing the region today.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386