Read hang-a-pic reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all hang-a-pic reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hang-a-Pic [App]  2017-10-22 21:10

    Other wise nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang A Witch [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    I love the trailer of this book, it's what drew me to his bewitching book. I love that the author Adriana Mather somehow connected this story to her own family and history. The heroine of this story Sam is a sweet girl, who had the wrong latest name. Moving to Salem with the latest name Mather was it's own curse. I really enjoyed the globe and the story that this book told. There's so much going, that I want the trailer was a film or a television show. It's really an interesting YA paranormal/fantasy with a tip of romance. I love both Elijah and Jaxon, I understood her feelings for both. They are two amazing men, but she can only hold one. The ending was bittersweet, but a well deserve ending for all especially Elijah. Elijah was such a attractive soul. Love him lots.Hoping to read book 2 soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang A Witch [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    I had this book on my reading list for a while and finally decided to give in and it. I am so glad I did. Once I started reading I could not place it down. Now, before I begin, I am an avid reader and lately, because of that, I have found most stories to be predictable and boring. This did not disappoint however. The book moves at a quick pace that keeps you guessing. It is really simple to like Sam and obtain caught in her emotions. As a reader I felt her confusion, fear, anxiety, and so forth. I felt like I was a piece of her in this book. The story itself leads to you question everyone and join Sam as she tries to search a method to save her father. As for the history included in this book, it was brilliant. The author allow history tell the tale and she simply weaved her story into it. I love that she took the realistic confusion and controversy surrounding the Salem witch tries and tied to the magical globe and that which we cannot see. I really hope to see more books like this from her in the future. The highlight for me? That the book is actually written by a descendent of Cotton. Just amazing!

    0  


    Add your opinion on hang-a-pic or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang a Witch []  2020-1-14 19:31

    My Highly Caffeinated Thought: The excellent combination of magic and history, all the while being grounded in the show and highlighting the social problems that so a lot of with TO HANG A WITCH is not just your typical YA read. Set in Salem, this book is steeped in a history. By weaving together the witch trials with the contemporary descendants of the major players, Mathers made a story that is so much more than a young adult roughout the pages of this book, I was instantly captivated by the characters and the interlacing of the past with the present. The author's ability to tell a tale is exceptional. She so carefully balanced the darkness and fantasy with wit and heart so that the reader could obtain a well-rounded experience while living within these pages if just for a small TO HANG A WITCH has to be one of the best witch-centric books that I have read in a while. Even though the book is classified as a young adult read, I believe that it can transcend to any age. This is truly a must read. I loved every min I got to spend in Salem. I cannot wait to go back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang a Witch []  2020-1-14 19:31

    Samantha has lived a challenging life in Fresh York City. Whenever she’s with friends, poor things seem to happen to her them. Needless to say, she doesn’t have any friends. Things obtain worse when her fther becomes seriously ill and her stepmother moves him to a hospital in Boston, MA, sells their apartmentand moves her and Sam to her father’s childhood home in Salem, MA.Hoping to obtain a fresh begin in a fresh school making friends, Sam quickly learns that isn’t happening. It seems there is something the townspeople don’t like about her latest name, especially a group of children in school they call “The range things start to happen. The one person who befriends her, she doesn’t trust, and she finds herself, instead trust her fresh ghost mate that only she can see.I loved this story as it was not only a amazing ghost/paranormal story, but was also a historical fiction. I enjoyed how the ghost helped Sam figure things out,the descriptions of her father’s childhood home, and other scenes of historical Salem, MA.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang A Witch [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Loved, loved, loved this book. I usually books in my native language and have a hard time finding english books that I enjoy, so finding one is always exciting. I preordered this book after seeing the video trailer and thought it looked interesting. I love the paranormal and have always been interested in the Salem witch trials. I fell in love with the characters, I was rooting for Sam and Elijah. I tried guessing the end like I do with any other mystery novel and I have to say that the book did a amazing job at keeping you guessing. I enjoyed that the author who herself has an ancestor involved in the witch trials used historical accurate info in the novel. I received this book the day it was released and as soon as I got home started reading, I stayed up until 4 am to [email protected]#$%!. Could not place it down. Recommended for sure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang A Witch [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    This book was absolutely tantalizing, captivating, and so much more. I couldn't place it down and when I was forced to proceed with life for a couple hours, I found myself contemplating the story, characters and definitely Salem and the witch trials.I'm not sure I've ever read a book that has lit a fire to visit a town as much as this one has with the exception of maybe twilight. I must note I drove past the city of forks once.I really was engrossed with this story and the parallels between the Salem witch trials vs. modern day bullying. I never place the two together, but once giving thought to that concept, it does ring real on a lot of is is a book that anyone who is captivates by the Salem witch trials would have fun as well as my beloved YA ere aren't a lot of books that I send out recommendations for, but this will be one of the few!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang a Witch []  2020-1-14 19:31

    Just finished Heather B Moore's Condemn Me Not: Accused of Witchcraft so I thought I'd give this book a try. Both were priced right for an introductory read of a fresh author. At least they were fresh to me. And both were written by descendants from people at the actual Salem witch trials. I guess that was another thing that drew me to this book. I have to disagree with the reviewer who complained of the plot. I thought that was one of the book's powerful points. The story was very well told, logically moving from one episode to the next. At least it kept my interest, but maybe I'm too easy.Another complained about repetition which probably was a just complaint. It was the same kind of event--a confrontation or rejection or supernatural experience--from chapter to chapter, and Sam the protagonist's reaction was beautiful much the same from chapter to chapter. Kind of reminded me of Book I of the Quijote where the Don moves from chapter to chapter getting beat up but still moving on unaffected, whereas in this book Sam gets scared or rejected and is still beautiful much the same person she was at the beginning of the book. But the book doesn't pretend to be high brow literature, but neither does the Quijote for that matter. Both are stories well told with twists and turns to hold the interest going. The Sancho Panza here is a very polished ghost who's beautiful much taken in apter 30 explains how the ghost does some of his supernatural stuff, a delayed explanation that adds its own level of suspense to the story. Unlike the Quijote I, this book stays on topic. There are no annoying side shows like shepherd stories to distract from the main story line, which might have happened if the author had taken time to explain more about the supernatural, or the fall-out from the witch trials, or--the most troubling omission in this story--why Sam the protagonist never did any homework and never suffered any consequences at the end, the book gives some sympathetic treatment to the ancestral Cotton Mather, but there's no reconciliation with the descendants of the condemned, the girls who attempted to bully Sam the protagonist in high school. But the most obvious question in all this was neither asked nor answered: who in the hell names their child 'Cotton'? Would he have felt such a need to prove himself by fighting imaginary witchcraft if he had been named Benedict or Arnold or Donald?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang a Witch []  2020-1-14 19:31

    As a longtime fan of Alice Hoffman's "Practical Magic" and Katherine Howe's "The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane," I'm always on the lookout for amazing stores about witches, and I love the genre of magical realism. And I've always been fascinated by the history of the Salem Witch trials. Mather's book did not disappoint -- and really exceeded my expectations.I hesitated to the book at first, given that it's for "young adults" and I'm definitely an older grown-up. But since my family history is connected to the Mathers and early Massachusetts settlers, I had to see what it was all about.While the book clearly appeals to younger readers -- the story is told from the perspective of a teenager who's just moved to Salem -- it is so riveting and so well-paced that I couldn't place it down. The author did her research, and peppers the story with historic info about the witchcraft hysteria of 1692, and has woven a sense of intrigue around her novel's fictional characters. At the risk of sounding too cliche, I really had a tough time putting it down until I finished it. It's not as sophisticated at the work of, say, Alice Hoffman, but it's an entertaining read and worthy of adding to anyone's collection of witch novels. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang A Witch [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    I enjoyed this book very much. I love that the author even has the "Mather" name! I loved watching Salem when it was on TV and this book was nothing like the TV show. This book has a fresh new twist on things. I enjoyed all the "Mean Girls" and I can't wait to hopefully meet the "Dad" and learn more about him in the next book. I was sad there he was in the hospital through all of this book and we really did not obtain to know him since Samantha talked so highly of him in this book. I was hoping we could "meet" him. I felt Samantha's pain about her dad in the whole book. I can't wait to read more from this author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang A Witch [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    I've always been fascinated by Salem and the Witch Trials, so when I heard that this book was not only about those topics, but was written by a descendant of Cotton Mather, I knew I had to read it! And I'm glad that I did, because I really enjoyed it! While the first half started out just okay for me, and kind of silly at parts, the plot started picking up the second half, and had me guessing throughout who the true villain was. I loved the main characters, especially Elijah. I also loved how the info about Salem created you feel like you were there walking the cobblestoned roads with Sam. There were a few areas that I googled and found were true locations in Salem, making the story feel true as well. And the ending surprisingly created me emotional. By the latest page I was sad to see it ending what seemed like so quickly. And even though I do feel like I got closure once the story finished, I'm also hoping that there will be a sequel. I would love to see these characters again. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang a Witch []  2020-1-14 19:31

    **Review originally posted on My Fangirl Chronicles**As you may or may not know, one of my current work-in-progress is an urban fantasy novel that involves witches, so when I heard about this book a few weeks before Adriana’s joint signing at Chevalier’s Bookstore with Charlotte Huang and my mate Julie Buxbaum, I already knew I had to read ey were definitely not exaggerating when they marketed “How To Hang A Witch” as “the Salem Witch Trials meets Mean Girls” because that is exactly how I would describe the book. But it was also a lot creepier than I was expecting! There were several times where I got the chills while reading this book (and listening to the audio), but it was also just so fascinating! But probably the coolest and most special thing about this book is that the author, Adriana Mather, is a direct descendant from one of the major figures in the Salem Witch trials! How insane is that!?I haven’t really read a historical fiction before (I have a slight aversion to anything similar to history because I disliked that class in high school) but this book had a slight historical contemporary feel to it. Surprisingly, however, I really didn’t mind! In fact, I was enthralled with the rich history contained in this book. I have never been to Salem or have really considered going there until I met Adriana and read her book. The rich and creepy history of Salem that she displayed in her book really caught my interest, and the fact that witchcraft and magic isn’t as far-fetched over there as it is in here in California. While reading I really felt as if I were in Salem because I could picture everything so vividly. That kind of proved to be a issue when all the creepy items was happening…The main hero is Samantha Mather and, like the author, is a direct descendant of Cotton Mather. I could relate to Sam in a lot of ways and often found myself sympathizing with her. Like Sam, I was bullied by a group of mean girls in school, felt/was alone in a fresh and unfamiliar school setting, and had problem trusting people, particularly guys. Despite going through all this – in addition to her dad being in the hospital and having to with some scary witchcraft – Sam stays powerful and focused on her goals. She’s tenacious, persistent, brave, and would do anything for loved ones. I also admired Sam’s sarcasm and sass. In short, she reminded me a lot of, well, me!In case you were wondering, yes, there is a love-triangle in this story. But before you go rolling your eyes and dismissing this book completely, I think you should give it a possibility and read it first. Just because there’s a love-triangle doesn’t always mean the story isn’t worth a read. It’s not even the main conflict in this book, which I was very grateful for. I also actually really liked both guys, but of course, as with all love-triangles I’ve come across, I’ve chosen a side. Haha At times it did obtain a small cheesy but I found it sweet, adorable, and e main antagonist was a bit predictable but the creepiness-factor and badassery of the showdown at the climax of the book created up for it. At that point in the story, I was on the edge of my seat and could not place it down until the end! But then it got past the climax and then I was just sad and my heart damage for the characters. You’ll see why when you read it!I can’t wait for the next book, Haunting the Deep! It’s similar to the Titanic and I have been obsessed with anything similar to that since I was a small girl and I watched the movie. It releases October 3, 2017!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang a Witch []  2020-1-14 19:31

    “I have to convince a group of people who hate me to support solve a curse that could be killing our families.” – p. 125How to Hang a Witch (Knopf, 2016) is a YA paranormal novel written by Adriana Mather, an actual descendant of the Salem Witch Trials’ Cotton Mather. The protagonist in this story is Samantha Mather – a fictional descendant of Cotton’s – who has just moved from Fresh York Town into her late grandmother’s home in Salem, Massachusetts. Sam lives with her stepmother, Vivian, while her father remains in a coma for unknown soon as Sam arrives to Salem, the city wants her out. Especially a group of goth girls at school, known as the Descendants, who are descendants of the persecuted Salem witches. It doesn’t support that strange and poor things hold occurring to everyone who comes into contact with Sam, almost as if she’s cursing them…when, in truth, it’s likely she’s the one who’s fast succession, Sam meets two guys: the outgoing boy next door, Jaxon; and a seventeenth-century ghost who haunts her grandmother’s mansion, Elijah. Sam is the only one who can see Elijah, and while he wants her gone, he also begins to support her piece together Salem’s real history to uncover why she is cursed, and how to end the pattern of killings in town. I liked the love triangle made between Sam, Jaxon, and the spirit, Elijah. Something about Sam and Elijah’s relationship reminded me of Casper and Christina Ricci’s hero in Casper (1995).This fast-paced YA occult suspense was an absolute delight to read. The chapters are short and punchy; Sam’s narration is to-the-point, sympathetic, and often humorous; and Mather’s supernatural vision of Salem, as well as her fascinating and approachable portrayal of its history, jumps off the e-pages. And we can’t forget the witches in the story – Susannah, Alice, Mary, and Lizzie – who are like something straight out of Mean Girls or The Craft. If you’re a fan of fun commercial YA with some solid, spooky witchcraft, a history-seeped mystery, and a amazing ol’-fashioned ghost story with a positive and strong message, you need How to Hang a Witch in your life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang A Witch [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    Spooky. Paranormal. Angsty. I should have read this around Halloween but still read in 2 days (probably would have read in one if not Thanksgiving/family time). Samantha Mather moves to Salem from NYC due to her family's financial situation after her father goes into a mysterious coma. Weird, slightly sinister things seem to have been event to people around Sam for as long as she remembers and just obtain worse in Salem. The mystery of the Mathers and the Descendants curse kept me turning the pages. There was the excellent mix of witches, ghosts, premonition, and history/folklore. I loved all the history and back stories that seemed to tie in at the end. I liked that an actual descendant of Cotton Mather actually wrote this book and I felt that she captured the feel of Salem perfectly. I felt like the love triangle didn't need to be there and Sam should have not shut people out/kept quiet about all the weird things event to her especially at the beginning. Overall, I liked that the moral of the story for the witch trials and modern day bullying were connected at the end and created me think about causes of each and how to prevent both.I gave this 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang A Witch [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    What a unbelievable acc and modernization of the Salem Witch Trials and Puritan Salem. I was completely engrossed and enamored from the start. Attractive and artfully written with an extremely powerful heroine and equally despised "villains". Centuries of fear, misunderstanding and betrayal come to light in this charming tale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang a Witch []  2020-1-14 19:31

    Loved, loved, loved this book. I usually books in my native language and have a hard time finding english books that I enjoy, so finding one is always exciting. I preordered this book after seeing the video trailer and thought it looked interesting. I love the paranormal and have always been interested in the Salem witch trials. I fell in love with the characters, I was rooting for Sam and Elijah. I tried guessing the end like I do with any other mystery novel and I have to say that the book did a amazing job at keeping you guessing. I enjoyed that the author who herself has an ancestor involved in the witch trials used historical accurate info in the novel. I received this book the day it was released and as soon as I got home started reading, I stayed up until 4 am to [email protected]#$%!. Could not place it down. Recommended for sure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang a Witch []  2020-1-14 19:31

    How To Hang A Witch by Adriana Mather, 368 pages, Knopf Books For Young Readers, July 26th 2016, Genre: Young Adult/Horror/Fantasy/Paranormal. Warning: May Include by Leigh Holland.    Samantha Mather’s returning to Salem to live in the old family homestead. When her father went into a coma, her step-mother Vivian sold their Fresh York home to save so they could afford her dad’s medical treatment and to be closer to him as he had been moved to Boston. Sam is resistant, but feels a bit better once she meets their bakery-owning neighbor Mrs. Meriwether and her son Jaxon, a dreamy upperclassman at Salem High.  Salem has a dark history, never buried, always vibrant and a source of tourism and pride for the town. Unfortunately for Sam, being a descendant of Cotton Mather marks her as the least liked person in town. She draws the ire of “the descendants”, a tight knit mean girls group directly descended from the accused witches of the Salem Witch Trials. When poor things begin event and people begin dying, everyone starts whispering that Sam’s cursed. Sam also befriends a ghost who helps her solve the riddle of the town’s curse.Our culture is fascinated with winning, power, and violence, so I’ve always wondered why some people are so surprised that some children bully. People bully others when they feel they’ve been wronged or are jealous. They do so when they are or were bullied themselves, trying to escape a constant feeling of powerlessness by forcing powerlessness onto others. They may have low self-esteem, or be influenced by being part of a package led by a bully. Sure, plenty of people suffer these things and don’t turn to bullying. But bullies haven’t developed mechanisms to express themselves or seek confidence and self-empowerment through less damaging means. For them, winning is all that matters, and the methods they employ to victory are always justified in their own e hysteria among children and adults builds slowly over the course of the book, giving insight into how mass hysteria starts and spreads. Mather does an perfect job of linking the theme of modern bullying with the motives and happenings of the Salem Witch Trials. The plot was engaging, the pacing was perfect. There is a love triangle which added to rather than detracted from the book. The mean girls were mean, but they were human. I could still feel for them when poor things happened to them. This book features Salem, witches, ghosts, an old curse, high school rivalries, and secret rooms. What’s not to love?I’d recommend this book to fans of young adult fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang A Witch [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    The book description says the book is the “Salem Witch Trials meets Mean Girls.” It’s one thing when mates or reviews describe a book as a mash-up, but when it’s in the book description itself, I obtain a small skeptical. But Mean Girls is a viciously funny film (“Raise your hand if you have ever been personally victimized by Regina George?”), and I’ve been intrigued by the Salem Witch trials for most of my life. It comes with the location when growing up less than an hour away from Salem. I’ve visited Salem several times, and I’ve both been in and directed the play The Crucible. But it was the added information that author Adriana Mather is a direct descendant of someone involved in the witch trials that created the prospect of reading the book even more intriguing. Would she create the book be all the things—funny, biting, satirical, and spooky—implied in that mash-up?Absolutely!The story starts with Samantha Mather—a direct descendant (like the author) of Cotton Mather, a minister who supported the witch trials—moving from Fresh York to Salem with her stepmother while her father is hospitalized in a coma. She moves into the old house where her father grew up, a put where strange, ghostly things begin happening. In school the next day, her latest name alone attracts negative attention among other students, particularly a collection of four girls and a boy known as the Descendants. Their family trees contain ancestors who were accused, tried, and hanged as witches back in 1692. No wonder they don’t like e gets bullied, and as a teacher, I was slightly place off by how the school population (students and teachers) is somewhat complicit in the bullying. The school administration and her stepmother chalk it up to Sam’s somewhat troubled past. But this is fiction, and as the plot got more mysterious, spooky, gripping, and scathing, it bothered me less because there’s a really strong and necessary notice buried inside the intricate, twisty plot. But before I obtain to that message, I wish to talk about the characters and m is a amazing narrator. She’s smart, snarky, and stubborn. She lacks some self-confidence because of all that’s happened to her, but she’s also got a powerful sense of what’s right and wrong. As her situation at school gets worse, and she is ultimately accused of being responsible for some freaky and risky things event at the town, all she wants to do is support everyone by solving the problem—a curse on the descendants (including herself) of those involved in the witch e supporting cast is also well-developed. I like that the Descendants have distinct voices and personalities, and Susannah—the first to reach out to Sam—was my favorite of that bunch. As in a lot of YA books, there’s a kind of love triangle with Sam and two boys: sweet, noble neighbor Jaxon and proper, mysterious Elijah. I only loosely consider it a triangle, and it was never a distraction, but it was quite the contrary, as both relationships were different, unique, powerful and important to the ere are at least two huge mysteries, and it was fun watching them converge and diverge throughout the plot. The stakes are clearly raised through the book, and though I sniffed out the ultimate villain, that villain’s real motivations surprised me. I didn’t wish to place the book down when I had to, particularly through the climactic confrontation.What elevates this book toward best of 2016 status is the message. Sam is trying to stop a curse that has been repeating itself in Salem since the witch trials, but the unsubstantiated finger-pointing that occurred then has repeated far too a lot of times in history. Whether it was the “Red Scare” of McCarthyism in the 1950s (the inspiration for Arthur Miller’s The Crucible) or the profiling of various ethnicities in a lot of eras of history including the present, the hysteria is unnecessary. And it happens in high school also if one “popular” group of students socially banish others for no reason other than they’re different. Even without witchcraft, this happens, and hopefully well-written books like this can support point out why that’s risky while doing so with an enjoyable story is book exceeded my expectations, especially after reading a few books that didn’t. Maybe my reading dry spell was a curse, finally broken by How to Hang a Witch and its FIVE STAR rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang A Witch [Book]  2017-10-14 18:1

    ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! After watching the trailer for this book I was instantly intrigued and had to purchase. I have Prime and happened to in time and was able to select same day delivery. As soon as the book came, I couldn't wait to read it. I couldn't place it down and read the entire book in a day (Saturday evening into the early morning hours of Sunday).This book has it all, a powerful lead character, mystery, wit, humor, history, and romance. I love when I can put myself in a book as if I'm one of the characters, and in this book I definitely was able to do that with Sam on her journey to end a 300 year old curse in Salem. I'm a large history buff especially the history of the witch trials and this book definitely did not disappoint. I've already passed the book to my sisters to read and can't wait to read it again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang a Witch []  2020-1-14 19:31

    The book description says the book is the “Salem Witch Trials meets Mean Girls.” It’s one thing when mates or reviews describe a book as a mash-up, but when it’s in the book description itself, I obtain a small skeptical. But Mean Girls is a viciously funny film (“Raise your hand if you have ever been personally victimized by Regina George?”), and I’ve been intrigued by the Salem Witch trials for most of my life. It comes with the location when growing up less than an hour away from Salem. I’ve visited Salem several times, and I’ve both been in and directed the play The Crucible. But it was the added information that author Adriana Mather is a direct descendant of someone involved in the witch trials that created the prospect of reading the book even more intriguing. Would she create the book be all the things—funny, biting, satirical, and spooky—implied in that mash-up?Absolutely!The story starts with Samantha Mather—a direct descendant (like the author) of Cotton Mather, a minister who supported the witch trials—moving from Fresh York to Salem with her stepmother while her father is hospitalized in a coma. She moves into the old house where her father grew up, a put where strange, ghostly things begin happening. In school the next day, her latest name alone attracts negative attention among other students, particularly a collection of four girls and a boy known as the Descendants. Their family trees contain ancestors who were accused, tried, and hanged as witches back in 1692. No wonder they don’t like e gets bullied, and as a teacher, I was slightly place off by how the school population (students and teachers) is somewhat complicit in the bullying. The school administration and her stepmother chalk it up to Sam’s somewhat troubled past. But this is fiction, and as the plot got more mysterious, spooky, gripping, and scathing, it bothered me less because there’s a really strong and necessary notice buried inside the intricate, twisty plot. But before I obtain to that message, I wish to talk about the characters and m is a amazing narrator. She’s smart, snarky, and stubborn. She lacks some self-confidence because of all that’s happened to her, but she’s also got a powerful sense of what’s right and wrong. As her situation at school gets worse, and she is ultimately accused of being responsible for some freaky and risky things event at the town, all she wants to do is support everyone by solving the problem—a curse on the descendants (including herself) of those involved in the witch e supporting cast is also well-developed. I like that the Descendants have distinct voices and personalities, and Susannah—the first to reach out to Sam—was my favorite of that bunch. As in a lot of YA books, there’s a kind of love triangle with Sam and two boys: sweet, noble neighbor Jaxon and proper, mysterious Elijah. I only loosely consider it a triangle, and it was never a distraction, but it was quite the contrary, as both relationships were different, unique, powerful and important to the ere are at least two huge mysteries, and it was fun watching them converge and diverge throughout the plot. The stakes are clearly raised through the book, and though I sniffed out the ultimate villain, that villain’s real motivations surprised me. I didn’t wish to place the book down when I had to, particularly through the climactic confrontation.What elevates this book toward best of 2016 status is the message. Sam is trying to stop a curse that has been repeating itself in Salem since the witch trials, but the unsubstantiated finger-pointing that occurred then has repeated far too a lot of times in history. Whether it was the “Red Scare” of McCarthyism in the 1950s (the inspiration for Arthur Miller’s The Crucible) or the profiling of various ethnicities in a lot of eras of history including the present, the hysteria is unnecessary. And it happens in high school also if one “popular” group of students socially banish others for no reason other than they’re different. Even without witchcraft, this happens, and hopefully well-written books like this can support point out why that’s risky while doing so with an enjoyable story is book exceeded my expectations, especially after reading a few books that didn’t. Maybe my reading dry spell was a curse, finally broken by How to Hang a Witch and its FIVE STAR rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Hang a Witch []  2020-1-14 19:31

    So much love for this book!A Hocus Pocus vibe mixed with The Craft, "How to Hang a Witch is the excellent read for Fall and I could not place it is book follows Samantha Mather, a descendant of the notorious Cotton Mather, a powerful instigator in the Salem Witch Trials. After her father is stricken with a sudden illness that lands him in a coma, Sam and her step-mother move into his childhood home in Salem to support offset the cost of medical bills. However, Salem is a city deeply connected to its history, so it is no surprise when Sam is ostracized by a lot of of her peers due to her ancestor's connection with the witch trials, especially from the Descendants, a group at her high school that are similar to those persecuted ever, after the zone experiences a high amount of illness and death of the Descendant's family, it seems there may be a curse upon them, one that Samantha, along with the group that hates her, and a handsome ghost who is inexplicably connected, will have to test to solve first, I wish to acknowledge that I did not rate this book highly because it was literary masterpiece. Not at all. The writing style felt very young, it did feel as though a teenager was writing the story. So it was in no method this serious and deeply thoughtful mystery. However, this was one of those suspenseful, "I just can't place it down" books, and I don't believe the magic of that can be discounted. I enjoyed this book immensely despite its somewhat more obvious e main complaint I have heard regarding this story, is that it is too "tropey." And in certain ways, sure. It is. The main hero is an often bratty and self-absorbed teenager whose not good attitude only enhances the tension in situations. There is also highly unusual love triangle included in the story. But Tropes exist for a reason. They are either relateable, or enjoyable to read and if they are done well or add to the story in some way, I don't search that they detract from my enjoyment. I did not necessarily search any portion of this story to be unbearably cliche, although in the end it was somewhat predictable.I would say my main irritation throughout the story was Sam herself, it just felt as though she was constantly saying the wrong things and reacting inappropriately to the situation which just fueled the so, as I mentioned above, the cause of the curse ended up to be fairly predictable, but it worked for the story line so I am not upset about ly, towards the end of the story, I found myself getting a bit perplexed as it went on since there was no true structure or to the various pieces of the mystery that we were being provided. It felt a bit scattered and was hard to hold track. Though it did create it difficult to connect the dots, it also created it harder to follow.Ultimately, this story is a excellent combination of contemporary and suspense story, and I highly recommend for a fast and fun read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Fun android game and enjoying playing!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    fun and helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    love this android game when will there be more updates love playing this android game with my grandkids and my best mate when are you going to modernize again I hope very soon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Unable to use it as it just flickers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Only created it to level 3! Not enough coins for clues so that was a quick waste of time. Uninstalled

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    This android game makes you work your brain, beautiful easy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    2 ads DURING each picture puzzle and 3 ads after every picture puzzle solved??? Overkill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Entertainment while using your mind!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Very Tasking... Makes You Think Outside The Box

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Seemed like a decent android game except I cant search any method to zoom in more than what it does, I cant see all of the stuff in the image so I cant guess what the word is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    So far so good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Loved this game. Sometimes the letters would obtain too to be seen on the screen but I don't know if that was the android game or my device. Very fun android game for adults.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Non. Stop. Ads. No thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Just when you think you have the answers, you must rethink! Some are very challenging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    This android game stimulates my mind and think before I put a lettee

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    I love the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Even though ive for ad free, im now getting ads again. :-( Fun android game though, simple, however some of the uk English spelling is incorrect, and some words just plain wrong! This makes it frustrating at times, and not fun. (Hedgehogs do not have 'thorns'! Lol) In my view also shouldn't have any celebrity names as people may just not know them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Fun, keeps me thinking for long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Best android game to play

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Really super poor control setup. You have to move two sliders, one for each axis, to select a square, then you tap to color it. Completely ridiculous for a touch screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    I love pic-a-pix as a puzzle, and Conceptis has awesome web puzzles. But this app's control system is easily the worst I've ever encountered. I cannot imagine anyone playing with this control system and thinking "Oh yeah, nice." Makes me wonder what Conceptis was thinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Clean interface, puzzle packs are a bit pricy. Difficult to organize puzzle packs. No "hold position" option to easily revert to a position before testing a milti-stage theory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Appalling controls. Love these android games completed a lot of 2 mins after installing I uninstalled it as the controls are awful. Change please and I might consider reinstalling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    very user friendly. easy so simple no glitchiness

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    I love several of the android games from Conceptis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    to expensive to play puzzles

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    totally addicted to this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Video test is awkward and tedious. Having to tag empty locations slows play down. Graphics are very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    I love these pixel puzzles. Amazing range from novice to expert no matter your skill level you'll have endless puzzling fun. Highly recommend this app, it is by far my favourite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Addicted. Can't stop playing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    I love it, I just search the additional packs expensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Amazing app, fun puzzles, no upsells!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Attractive adaptation of my favorite Windows game. It's especially fun on a 10-inch tablet, although I had done problem getting some puzzles I for to sync to my 7 inch tablet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Wonderfully fun & relaxing logic puzzle video test that's a amazing time-waster. Pic-a-Pix saves each board/grid's progress individually allowing you to play in short bursts, making it a amazing companion while commuting or standing in line, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    I think the controls are better than the computer because you don't have to focus on the android game all the time you can look somewhere else and play.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    The data entry interface is unusable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    If you like logic puzzles and paint by numbers, this is the application for you!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    WAY TOO MANY ADS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Love this game! But method too a lot of ads! It's so annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    To a lot of pop ups

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Don't bother watching the videos for coins. I have watched so a lot of of the videos and you obtain nothing. A rip off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    The android game is fun, but ads pop up approximately every 2-5 seconds. Some pop up immediately after getting rid of the previous ads! I can't search the option to for no ads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Will be typing my word and boom theres an add.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    The pictures and words are logical and well thought out

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    I think it is great! Fun and challenging!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Fun challenge for eyes and vocabulary

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Android game was amazing till after level 300 then it started having problem downloading levels to my phone, drastically adding to the wait time between levels

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Fun idea, but so a lot of ads that you just obtain irritated. NOT recommended! Really expensive if you wish clues. Support can be found for if searching the net

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Like this gsme , but to a lot of interruptions. Would give more stars if interruption s were lots less.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    This is a really fun android game that challenges your powers of observation as well as your spelling ability.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Ads ads ads ads ads ads. Uninstalling

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Why are there no instructions? Delete because of this. Really can't rate cause I never got to play.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    I really like this android game but getting increasingly annoyed about the amount of adverts that hold popping up. 30 second videos that you can't exit and drain your battery. Getting a bit fed up. I would to make batter to obtain rid but there's no option to do so. Perhaps you need to look into this?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Kind of fun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    I have played 4- -FOUR!- -levels and the application has crashed exactly four times. Given I have never, not once, had an application crash on my tablet, I am confident in surmising the problem lies in this game. Also...an invasive full screen add every single level? Cutesy concept for bored housewives, children and the kardashian krowd...but, delete.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    ADS, ADS, ADS, ADS, ADS, ADS, ADS, play, ADS, ADS, play, play, play, ADS, ADS, play, ADS, ADS, ADS, SDS, ADS. Please produce a PA ID version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    This has the worst controls ever. One of my favorite puzzle styles but I am deleting it because the controls are too frustrating. And was is this "turn off cursor" setting? I don't see that anywhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Very poor, annoying method of filling cells Hard to control, useless. These grid lines spoiles everything and there is NO option to remove them in settings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    You cant remove the grid lines so it takes twice as long to complete a puzzle because you have to drag the grid. Needs to be an option to remove this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    not even a min after installing, I uninstalled because of the control system. letting us tap the boxes instead of having to navigate the grid is much more convenient than what this android game requires us to do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Enjoyable, but would be better if empty squares were automatically filled when a line is complete.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    It's fun. No ads, yay!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Amazing puzzles to pass the time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    What a bizarre and inconvenient control scheme.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    controls are awfull.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Amazing game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Android game is okay, but controls are exhausting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Like other Conceptis games, challenging and interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Having to move the cursors to each individual box to fill them in is incredibly annoying and time consuming for no reason. Other picross android games I play you can just tap the damn boxes or create a line to fill multiple at once. This would be a amazing puzzle android game if it wasn't so damn tedious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Have fun playing related versions of this on my computer, this is, as others have stated, to time consuming to navigate & to touch sensitive. Squares obtain changed to easily just trying to move the silly grid lines... you go grab to move & it changes the square.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    Not good controls create android game a struggle. No zoom. Should be *easier* than pencil and paper, not more tedious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    I have tried other android games like this one , this is the only one that lets you know if the row u just finished is correct or not, u don't have to wait till ur almost done to search out u did something wrong this is the only android game like this I suggest to obtain this one it's the best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    I feel it is too simple to accidently change the state of a pixel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conceptis Pic-a-Pix [App]  2020-2-1 22:36

    All in all the best I've played.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    I love theses kind of android games

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words in a Pic [App]  2019-11-25 21:29

    Some levels have foreign words as the answers, which shouldn't be in the English game.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386