Read haskell design patterns reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all haskell design patterns reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Design Patterns Pro [App]  2019-10-11 13:40

    Amazing content and beautiful and user friendly design.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    this is all in one and must have application for those who wants to improve their coding skills giving 5 begin coz it has example in 3 diff languages. and really simple to understand. thanks for providing this app. it will be amazing if you could provide modernize for this application for recent Android device phones it constantly gives popup to check for update. Again thank

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    It lacks a lot of information. No basics, no UML intro, no example scenarios and discussions on what design to consider, what not. It's just theoretical in nature without providing much insight, which is quite disappointing.

    0  


    Add your opinion on haskell design patterns or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Highly recommended for any fresh or experienced architect. Umar is an perfect trainer in terms of his ability to explain difficult concepts in the simplest way. You can relate to his examples immediately!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Amazing app! Offers clear & concise explanations. Also quite handy as a fast reference whenever needed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Design and patterns content is very amazing with examples

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Excellent for learning / checking at any time, very happy of the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Amazing as a fast tutorial on patterns

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Design Patterns Pro [App]  2019-10-11 13:40

    Worth to it...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Design Patterns Pro [App]  2019-10-11 13:40

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Very amazing android device application for understanding design patterns. Descriptions, diagrams, quiz and code (in all major languages) all are presented in very amazing way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Helps me a lot in my OO Design class. I highly recommend this app, it's worth more than the listed in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Very amazing application for one who wants to learn the design patterns.Lot of code examples explained n be used as a fast reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    The best application to be installed by all IT engineers and students who are willing to learn patterns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    A amazing application for Design Patterns with amazing explanation. A must have Application for developers .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Must for every developers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    This application created my life easy. Rather than reading & scrolling pdfs with lot of pages this application provides simple navigations to less theory & amazing examples which are enough to understand a Design Pattern. Thanks guys, hold up the amazing work :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Great, but have to add more advanced information regarding the patterns

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    The only book which explains design patterns along with C++ examples. The style of writing is self explanatory and it answered a lot of of my un-answered queries about various design patterns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    must needed application for people who wish to learn design patterns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    The best application on Design Pattern you may hold referring during your career. There are insightful case studies which support one relate to and agree to the strategies presented in this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    this application can save your time to google. for a application though, definitely over charged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Helps me clear opps concept as well as design patterns.Lots of code with explaination which helps for in depth concept understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Must have app for every developer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Very useful and nice app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    hold on improving! recommended, thumbs up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Not good app. Very small content. Not worth the money. I wish a refund.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Design Patterns Pro [App]  2019-10-11 13:40

    It's too simple. Easy is good, but for a app, it's lacking depth. There's a lot of apps that go above what this application does in terms of progressive and informative detail to really support you understand. This is shallow and disappointing. Also, Java now supports interfaces with default methods, and FA. What did I just say? Please find yourself, like how this application tells you to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Very informative. Simple to navigate between various options to quickly refer other patterns. Explanation with code examples give excellent picture about the concepts. Recommended for all developers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Must have for every programmer!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Easy and to the point. The C# examples sold me. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Very amazing application for those who wish to learn for design patterns. Explained with very amazing examples.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Does what it says on the tin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    This is handy and perfect application for developers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    A must application for any programmer..loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Handy resource for all developers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Needs more content only

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Content is Very well organized, simple to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    A must have for any developer. Equips programmers with the knowledge of common patterns for creating applications, which serve as the basis for any framework. To understand Gang of Four is to understand platforms at their most primitive level, and instills amazing practice in any developer. This application presents these concepts in an simple to digest manner that's excellent for reading on the go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    A consice and an honest attempt to decipher the original GOF DP book. The application clearly briefs about the relevant info and highlights the consequences of using every pattern. Very helpful to anyone interested in learning design principles and their applications. Recommended to all coders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Perfect Application !! I have got one which explains C++ code as well with other languages for design patterns !! Amazing efforts place in 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    A very handy application for fast reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Easy and best explanation ever read. Most used patterns at one put to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    The course material is amazingly detailed and helps u have a through understanding of the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Amazing App.. Learnt lots of things..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Tryed many. This is the best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GoF Design Patterns [App]  2019-12-7 13:32

    I was astonished to search that why there is no comment on this app. I checked the Permissions tab to search if there is something fishy, then, found that, nope, permissions are safe. Well, then whats the problem! So far no problem. It is not very interactive program rather than a handy reference. I am not sure why I could not see the tabbed view of C# Source Code++ Source etc for a pattern as shown in the screenshot. [[ Modernize : I received email from developer and he said that the source code tab view can be seen from the the Option Menu ]] Anyway, anyone who wants to hold a pocket reference for GOF patterns, I would say, look nowhere else. This one is complete :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Design Patterns Pro [App]  2019-10-11 13:40

    perfect.. thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern C++ Design: Generic Programming and Design Patterns Applied []  2020-2-1 12:19

    This was quite fantastic. However it is dated because his concepts got rolled into C++ 11, 14, 17.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern C++ Design: Generic Programming and Design Patterns Applied []  2020-2-1 12:19

    I am still learning C++ and this book makes the already difficult task even more difficult. The issue is with the numerous code snippets that include little typos. For example. on page 137 "bool destroyed_" is supposed to be static and the author even says as much in the text but in the code the variable is _not_ declared as static. There are a lot sloppiness in different code examples and conventions are often changed in the code which is couple pages apart. This book requires a fresh edition which will fix all typos and add fresh developments in C++ since the book was published.Apart from the above complaint I like the book: it describes pattern that create my life easier designing scientific applications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern C++ Design: Generic Programming and Design Patterns Applied []  2020-2-1 12:19

    The book is amazing but it needs more examples. A lot of my colleagues complain about it for other reasons that I do not agree.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern C++ Design: Generic Programming and Design Patterns Applied []  2020-2-1 12:19

    I do not recommend buying this book unless you have a lot of years hands on experience writing C++ programs - including a reasonable understanding of templates.But for those that do, this book will take you on a beginners ride into the globe of meta programming and compiler programming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern C++ Design: Generic Programming and Design Patterns Applied []  2020-2-1 12:19

    The material presented in this book is mainly for library writers and senior developers who are in charge of design. Having said that, the material here is unlike you'll search in any other book. Author discusses design and implementation of reusable components like a (very sophisticated) singleton, visitor, generalized functors, intelligent pointers, etc. I found discussions on intelligent pointers and singleton to be particularly enlightening. Its awesome how a easy design pattern like singleton could have so a lot of intricacies.But the chapter which blew me away was that of typelists, and what author achieves by using easy metaprogramming constructs (although I would be the first one to admit that a mere mortal developer like myself would not be using typelists everyday, but its still fun to learn about them).This book is very various from whatever material I had read earlier on C++. Do read this book once you are familiar with subjects like templates, common design patterns and intelligent pointers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern C++ Design: Generic Programming and Design Patterns Applied []  2020-2-1 12:19

    Although this book is now six-plus years old, compilers have finally caught up with the implementation allowing the techniques outlined in the book to be used in production code. Alexandrescu infuses what could be a dry subject with humor, and does a amazing job of explaining fairly esoteric ideas with enough grounding in concrete implementation to be approachable by a wide range of e book does a amazing job of outlining factory classes, which are often given a hand-waving description with no explanation of how to with the 'start up' issue of populating the factory with the set of classes it should be creating. This usually leads to lots of boiler-plate, hard-coded linkage between various pieces of the system, but Alexandrescu outlines techniques to automate this process.If you have been chafing at some of the restrictions imposed by the C++ standard after being exposed to more dynamics languages like Objective C, Ruby, etc., you may search a few tricks that will enable you to achieve your goals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern C++ Design: Generic Programming and Design Patterns Applied []  2020-2-1 12:19

    Finally I picked up "modern C++ design". It was on my list for a long time. Latest years I've been diving more in Java, Groovy, Ruby and other languages. So, this book was back to C++ for me.I found the book well written, even almost funny at times. The code was clear and it was all simple to understand for me. So, well done since it's always difficult to explain fairly advanced concepts in easy e book consists of 2 parts. The first part describes concepts like policy-based design and typelists. I liked the concept parts and this was my first encounter with typelists, thus I was quite e second part of the book describes how to design generic patterns. I liked them, however, I felt that making some of these patterns generic is not really worth it. The amount of duplicate code removed, is not very high. The complexity added by the generic implementation, however is high.An example is chapter 7, intelligent pointers. I've designed some libraries in the past and as library designer we agreed on 3 various types of intelligent pointers. We write three various classes and that's it. Is it worth making a generic implementation which can cover all of these three types. In my opinion, no. However, as an exercise of what you can all do with templates in C++, it was very interesting!I'm now and then working with developers who develop in C++. They already struggle with the complexity of the language, the environment and the tools. Giving them generic programming in C++, would probably increase their struggle and wouldn't really gain much. Maybe a fresh language need to be made with better generic programming help instead?Anyways, for any C++ fanatic or programming fanatic, this is a unbelievable book. For "the normal developer" it's probably overkill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern C++ Design: Generic Programming and Design Patterns Applied []  2020-2-1 12:19

    A lot of years ago, I began to feel that the power of templates in C++ has not been fully exploited. In more latest years, the emergence of the STL has shown that templates can be used to amazing advantage for containers, allowing conceptually easy generic implementations to be reused in a wide dozens of situations, with no run-time penalty. This advance only increased my sense that we haven't yet seen the full power of exandrescue's remarkable work is, in my view, the most original and necessary advance in C++ since the STL. It has been an article of faith in the design patterns community that one can't implement a reusable design patterns library in any language, because each pattern has tons of necessary variations, and an unlimited number of custom variations, all seemingly interdependent. Alexandrescue's work seriously challenges this assumption. He uses "policy classes" (explained in Chapter 1) together with a lot of innovative template techniques to pull apart these interdependencies. The heart of the book describes in detail how he developed the "Loki" library containing a lot of gang-of-four design pattern implementations. Loki's SmartPtr, one of the high points of the book, puts to shame the Standard C++ auto_ptr, which has been the state of the art until now.Even before Alexandrescue's work, templates provided C++ programmers with major advantages not available in "more modern" object-oriented languages such as Java and C#. Alexandrescue multiplies the existing advantages a lot of times, facilitating dramatic increases in C++ programming productivity and quality. Isn't that what high-level language programming is all about?The only negative comment I have is not really a criticism of Alexandrescue's work, but of the deplorable state of C++ compiler implementations. Because a lot of C++ compilers, especially the most famous ones, still do not fully help Standard C++, a lot of of Alexandrescue's techniques cannot yet be used in a lot of practical situations. I would like to think that the importance of supporting Alexandrescue's library will motivate compiler vendors to create the necessary, and long-overdue upgrades.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern C++ Design: Generic Programming and Design Patterns Applied []  2020-2-1 12:19

    Never has a professional/technical book created such an impact on me.I've had this book for a lot of years,but decided to write this review only now because after so a lot of years the pearls of this attractive masterpiece are unfolding to me. If I love C++ it is because of Andrei Alexandrescu and his awesome book. I only want that he would write some more books like this. If you search this book to be scary at first and hard to understand, I would like to encourage you to hold on reading and trying. You'll obtain it eventually and once you do, there is no method back :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Modern C++ Design: Generic Programming and Design Patterns Applied []  2020-2-1 12:19

    I remember reading this book for the first time about 7 yeas ago and feeling my head turn inside out. Upon re-reading it recently I found it exciting and very understandable. The techniques outlined in this book solve issues that no other techniques can resolve. I search it awesome what can be done with classes and functions that never even obtain finitely gives a amazing coverage for all aspects of Meta Programming I think one of the measures of respect by which this book is regarded is how a lot of of these pioneering techniques have created It into the Boost oroughly recommended for the intermediate to advanced programmer to have in his library. Even if you don't use C++.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-22 23:40

    amazing source

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide []  2020-1-31 4:17

    First and foremost, I love this book. It's very well written and it gets its points across in plain English.I bought this book in October of 2018 and received the 2014 updated ver (which I guess just updated some of the Java specific references for Java 8). The code examples are done in Java, but if you know C# (or really any object-oriented language), the meat of the code examples will be easily readable to you. If you have experience with any object-oriented language, then a lot of the concepts will also be very familiar to you. Even when they go into a 1-2 page discussion about a Java specific thing, you can still just view it through a conceptual lens and follow along with the ere is a amazing use of humor, pictures, abstract analogies, and concrete examples to support convey the lessons of each chapter and while this is like a 500-600 page book, I burned through it in a single weekend because it was not only insightful and instructive, but it was also a very entertaining read.If you're trying to learn more about design patterns and incorporate them into your process, definitely add this book to your arsenal. It's amazing for learning and amazing for a fast reference tutorial as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide []  2020-1-31 4:17

    I was kind of uneasy buying this book, I have NEVER bought a head first book...I've seen them at some of the larger book retailers and I've thumbed through them and quickly dismissed them as a gimmick and "for kids" due to all the illustrations and goofy quotes...I feel very sorry about that now, I have a TRUE FEELING that I would have a much deeper understanding of C++, Java, and PHP if all of Head First's books are written as well as this one...this book DOES create lots of use of "out of the ordinary" techniques when it comes to a development book. It DOES NOT give detailed "cook book" code samples, and it DOES NOT promise to teach you EVERYTHING there is to know about Design Patterns. I wouldn't even say it gives you MANY "REAL WORlD" examples, nothing that you code in this book is OVERLY COMPLEX. What this book DOES DO, is a SIMPLE, VERY EASY TO UNDERSTAND, VERY INFORMATIVE, AND ENTERTAINING method to LEARN the most useful design patterns. This book is everything I wanted and more, it is not a Book's job to teach me how to be creative, or how to implement their exact code into my client's software...it does do EXACTLY what it should and presents the info in an EASY to grasp method without wasting your time. I would BUY THIS BOOK NOW.WARNING: If you don't have a powerful OO background before getting this book you may be making a mistake, the authors do an OK job trying to explain OO principles but if you don't understand some of the more common terms (or haven't looked at them in quite a while) it really helps to brush up prior to reading this book. I HIGHLY recrommend Object-Oriented Thought Process by Matt Weisfeld as an introduction or refresher, it is a FANTASTIC read on OO.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of Home: The Ten Essentials of Enduring Design []  2020-1-20 1:2

    this is an perfect modernize suitable for the lay person when considering what factors attribute long lasting result in designing and building a fresh home.. I was super excited to search this as I used Pattern Language, written by some of the same architect authors 40 years ago when I built my dream home- and this modernize distilled the 200 plus patterns described in that tome down to a very manageable ten!!! Now I am using this Patterns of Home book to build my 'age in place' retirement home. Kudos!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of Home: The Ten Essentials of Enduring Design []  2020-1-20 1:2

    I'm a graduate student in Building Science and this is a needed text for one of my drafting courses. My presumption had been that this, like most books chosen for class room teaching, would be less than exciting. I'm glad to say I was very wrong. I haven't read it all the method through yet, but will before this semester ends and I look forward to it.If you're an experienced designer, this book may not have much to offer, but if you're a student just starting designing, you should be very inspired by it. This early in the semester, I've only read the first 4 chapters but have gained a lot of insight and have already been able to incorporate most of it into the few designs I've had to do for class so far, especially in terms of the importance of outdoor locations - too often completely overlooked in home designs! I can hardly wait to obtain through "Flow Through Rooms" and "Places in Between".I have a amazing mate who has been designing "green" house for the past several years and he told me he re-reads "Patterns of Home" on a regular basis because it's so inspiring. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software []  2020-1-23 2:20

    Twenty Two years since the book's publication it remains incredibly relevant. In the beginning I was surprised the discussion in 1994 was this high level. The preface and introduction are awesome. For example, there was one discussion about dynamically typed languages vs statically typed lanugages... I was not even aware this was being discussed in certain situations you see how this book changed the method the field of computer science developed. Before the writing of the book the authors originally called the Singleton pattern the Solitaire pattern. They changed it latest min (explained in the Conclusion) from Solitaire to Singleton, and that is a major part of why everybody calls it Singleton me people may have an problem with the age of book. When you read the introduction, they mention that C++ and Smalltalk are cutting edge programming languages. I know C++ beautiful well, but I have never used Smalltalk. What I learned from the book was how Smalltalk was fundamental to creating the MVC (Model-View-Controller) framework. In a lot of locations the authors point out situations where C++ programmers would implement a pattern one way, and Smalltalk programmers might use the pattern another e book's examples are mostly about text writing programs, windowing, and drawing. These examples fit well for the patterns. You can also see how the current state of programming was much different. Text editors were creating large innovations back is book requires sophistication as a programmer. It will be a challenging book for beautiful much anyone to understand completely. You need to have familiarity with the word choice as well. The authors assume you are well versed in their language. The glossary was beautiful amazing in this book, I would recommend taking a look before you e progression of the book is excellent. There is a lengthy introduction before getting to the patterns. This helps place the entire book in context and prepares you for the challenge to come. Each pattern is special in subtle ways that the authors explain hundred years from now this book will still work. The patterns are fundamental to design itself. I want most authors were this bold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software []  2020-1-23 2:20

    A classic that's certainly worth having, I've had it for about a year and I've certainly picked it up a few times just to reference certain things. However, it's not as relevant now as before since it's so outdated. Also, I'm not a huge fan of the style of writing, sometimes it can be hard to join the dots.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-22 23:40

    school book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software []  2020-1-23 2:20

    The book is quite old and c++ code there is dated, nobody writes like that anymore. But the concepts and approaches are timeless. So a lot of times I saw code that should be refactored according to the patterns presented in the book. The book really is a amazing source of inspiration on how and why the code should be written differently. Modern libraries and products are inherently complex and amazing architecture is a must to create them reusable and scalable. Among the cons I would highlight the dated c++ code, but overall I think c++ is not the best language to show patterns. The book is rather dry on theory, hence the reader has to be prepared to consume dry technical material. Another quite sad disadvantage is that the book doesn't introduce a reader to GRASP patterns (General Responsibility Assignment Software Patterns), which is a list of guidances. GoF (GoF is gang of four and GoF patterns are the patterns presented in the book) patterns have much more sense if one thinks of them in terms of a amazing companion book, I would recommend "Applying UML and Patterns: An Introduction to Object-Oriented Analysis and Design and Iterative Development" by Craig Larman. Larman's book gives a more gentle introduction to some of GoF patterns, explains why they are useful via GRASP guidelines and presents patterns via UML (and c# code if you like code more than diagrams) which is, in my view, much more accessible for developers who do not write code in c++. I agree that UML is outdated, but it gives a reader a amazing opportunity to grasp the ideas without constraints of a particular language. So two books work amazing together to introduce a reader to the globe of amazing engineering w I recently (summer 2019) had several interviews in huge tech companies in silicon valley and in 2 of them I was told that this book is a very much recommended reading for every engineer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software []  2020-1-23 2:20

    Pros: Get's straight to the pointCons: Mildly DenseGreat Reference for Design Patterns. I'm a math student so I'm used to obstinately dense texts and thus this one isn't nearly as poor as some I've seen. But I understand the reviews of others who think it's too dense. My class is working out of a various book that I didn't like, so I asked the teacher for a recommendation and he pointed me here. Definitely a lot better for someone who can read dense texts and has a very busy schedule. 8/10 Would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of Home: The Ten Essentials of Enduring Design []  2020-1-20 1:2

    This is a pleasant alternative to the developers' narrow selection. So dream a little. Look at examples from various parts of the U.S., using breezeways, special placements of stairs, entry doors, and auto parking. See how various architects dealt with lot shape, natural features (like streams), and homes built on a sloping lot.If you are fascinated by a home around a courtyard, Pages 55-71 discuss indoor/outdoor living through use of huge doors, plantings, and patios. Besides the numerous photos, there are planviews of the room arrangements. Some examples are remodels which preserve a historic aware that the dramatic ceilings, window views, or walkways can not be grafted onto standard designs. They require detailed integration with A/C, wiring, insulation, and structural members to avoid contractor misunderstandings.I agree with other reviewers that Susanka communicates better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of Home: The Ten Essentials of Enduring Design []  2020-1-20 1:3

    I have paired this with the Susanka books to support design a practical home to meet our needs. Easy does not mean unattractive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide []  2020-1-31 4:17

    So far, I love this book!The beginning of it goes into detail about how the book was written to provide maximum comprehension and retention, which is cool. I skipped this part and go to the meat of the book starting with the duck example. Their way is working very well because the Tactic pattern couldn't be any clearer. I understand it well enough to even implement a variation of the pattern in Ruby.. And I also spent time thinking about how to implement this in Javascript. I'm moving on to learning about the Observer pattern.I've tried a lot of times to understand a lot of of these patterns but, again, a single well written book trumps reading 1000 articles across the helps to have a powerful understanding of OO basics before diving into patterns though. So in addition to being a well written book I believe I'm also just very ready for this e book says it's not for people who don't use Java or C#, but I ignored that and I'm glad I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide []  2020-1-31 4:17

    I'm a small disappointed, to be honest. If you know what the Gang of Four is, this might not right for you. I was looking for something a small less dry than their book, but this seemed a small too introductory and only covers a fraction of the patterns in that book. On the positive side, it's very readable and easier to remember the examples.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide []  2020-1-31 4:17

    Scream out to Eric and Elisabeth. Please bless us with the leftover patterns with a HFDP 2. I don't wish to read the GoF one that book came out the year I was born and I wouldn't touch C++ with a ten foot pole

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of Home: The Ten Essentials of Enduring Design []  2020-1-20 1:2

    I am a large fan of Christopher Alexander's The Timeless Method of Building and I ordered this book without knowing that it was written by several of his disciples. It was a pleasant surprise when I discovered that this book brings to life Alexander's fundamental premise that living locations can be made when positive patterns are repeated. Admittedly, I'm often sucked in by a lot of books with amazing pictures and I never really obtain down to reading the text from cover to cover. This book is different. Not only is there unbelievable visual reference, but the copy does a thorough job of explaining the reasoning behind the architectural decisions. I love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of Home: The Ten Essentials of Enduring Design []  2020-1-20 1:2

    This book provides valuable informaion for those who wish to pursue the perfectly built and positioned home. The concepts are fasinating and could be somewhat simple to place into pratice, however, the author uses large, VERY expensivly built homes leaving the impression that only the very wealthy can afford such superior design. This is unfortunate. I do believe that some the most primary concepts can be place into play in most homes it would just take some imagination and determination.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-22 23:40

    for school :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software []  2020-1-23 2:20

    A amazing classic every object oriented programmer should is book provides a amazing share of wisdom about modern systems. Especially because not everything is up to date with modern standards. It teaches how the best practices about twenty years ago can withstand the judgement of time. Reading it helps understanding how huge system have been created and how previous engineer designed software. Therefore reading this book can support communication in squads with different generations as well as with managers that were previously is book is not exactly for "reading": it's best use is practicing every case with a private implementation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software []  2020-1-23 2:20

    As others have already noted, this is a seminal work on design patterns and is considered by a lot of specialists as a must read. It is probably a bit too complex for novices to design patterns in which case they are better off using another resource for starters (e.g.: Head First Design Patterns) and then eventually move on to this book. Head First design patterns was obviously easier to read and understand since the examples are more up to date and material is not as thorough as this book. It took me more than a month and half to read this book carefully from cover to cover. Although a lot of the patterns are discussed in depth from a theoretical level including evaluating trade-offs created with specific implementation choices, the examples in SmallTalk are out of date and not that relevant anymore but that's understandable given the publish date of this book (1994). Like some other books (e.g.: Java Concurrency in Practice), multiple readings are important to fully digest the material and that needs to be coupled with either independent practice of the specific implementation choices and/or other resources that have more examples of pattern implementations so as to not only reinforce understanding but also lay a solid foundation for Object Oriented Design. Most senior folks working with Object Oriented Systems typically have this book at their desk as a reference. I found one particular pattern, namely Interpreter, beautiful difficult to follow. Other than that the rest of the material is readable. Having some familiarity with UML notation will support but the appendix contains explanation of the notation used in the book, so it is not a stopper if you don't have any exposure in that area. Towards the end of each chapter covering a given pattern, the authors contain a section on similar patterns which can be extremely helpful. This book also organizes various patterns into creational, structural and behavioral categories and also identifies which ones within a given category can supplement each other and which ones compete versus each other. This book is not meant to be a comprehensive resource on design patterns and will have to be supplemented by other books. Highly recommended for anyone working with Object Oriented Systems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hands-On Design Patterns with C++: Solve common C++ problems with modern design patterns and build robust applications []  2020-1-31 3:50

    I was the technical reviewer for this book. Mr Pikus did an awesome job writing about the advanced subjects in this book. Some are a bit difficult to follow but there's plenty of examples in each chapter to support with the explanations. Before reading this book I only knew a handful of these patterns so this book definitely expanded my knowledge. I come from a C++ 98 and 03 background so I did struggle a small bit with patterns that created massive use of C++11, 14, and even 17 features. I'd recommend being familiar with at least C++11 before diving into this book, or at least learning it in parallel if you don't know it already. Some of the patterns may be more useful than others and whether or not you'll actually search them helpful will largely be determined by what you're writing. If nothing else, this book is amazing reference material to hold handy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hands-On Design Patterns with C++: Solve common C++ problems with modern design patterns and build robust applications []  2020-1-31 3:50

    You won't search any better book on design patterns in C++ with emphasis on C++. The book is just awesome. Thank you Fedor Pikus for writing the book. I was always struggling with reading advanced, modern C++ code until I found this book. The C++ community owes you one - or two!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide []  2020-1-31 4:17

    I haven't been overwhelmed by the Head First series so far. They teach some code, but they don't necessarily teach you what you need to know in the same method that a college course teaches code. So you learn to do a few things, but the logic structures are sort of missing.I suppose it's a decent intro book, but not what I'd wish for a more serious study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide []  2020-1-31 4:17

    This is a super book for java developers. I recommend this over the "Gang of Four" of the related title that defined the field because this is aimed at a more entry level developer or one who is interested in learning object oriented methodologies for the first time. Head first books have always had this awesome sense of humor and tackiness that makes something that is considerably dry palpable. It covers most of the patterns that you'll need and I still see developers with 5-10 years of experience in Java programming picking up the book to solve day-to-day problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-22 23:40

    Who doesn’t love a amazing Ching book?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-22 23:40

    Once again Ching and Wiley provide the basis of architectural knowledge you can't obtain in a classroom. Brilliant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-22 23:40

    Amazing book by ching

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-22 23:40

    Another amazing book by Ching. It describes the basics of building structures in a succinct manner. However, the book should have included calculations as well, which it completely lacks, thus the four stars instead of a excellent score.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software []  2020-1-23 2:20

    I reference this book all the time. The method I organize my code improved tramendously after studying this book cover to cover!While the psuedo code seems to be more tailored to C++ and qualifiers like “friend”, the author(s) do create an effort at keeping the psuedo code generic, so the patterns may be easily applied to other OOP languages like Java, C#, Python, etc.I highly recommend this book along with Robert C. Martin’s “Clean Code” and Koopman’s “Better Embedded System Software” for any engineer’s library!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software []  2020-1-23 2:20

    This book is a must have tutorial for every intermediate programmer who wants to advance in object orientated development. It would probably as well extend a web designer's knowledge in terms of practical approach for prototyping and designing applications, although it requires general knowledge in programming languages from the reader, that is to say the least, in to exploit its full potential. This material is not something you read once and place on a shelf, but rather use on a regular basis as a reference for building all kinds of software, while digging deeper and exploring fresh layers of object orientated design patterns each time you begin it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of Home: The Ten Essentials of Enduring Design []  2020-1-20 1:2

    I liked this book agreat deal. It provides a vocabulary to describe the elements that create a amazing design. It is well organized and the concepts are simple to understand. I can now go into houses I like and don't like and identify why, as well as what I wish to incorporate into our remodel. I followed this book up with Home by Design by Susanka. While organized differently, the latter uses a lot of of the same concepts, and is a amazing companion volume. On the basis of reviews here, I bought "A Pattern Language". I think it is best appreciated after having looked at one of the two described above.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Patterns of Home: The Ten Essentials of Enduring Design []  2020-1-20 1:3

    The authors of this book have taken the best of Alexander's "A Pattern Language", and combined wonderfully designed and excellently photographed homes to publish an inspiring and thought provoking book. Frankly, the globe has too a lot of "500 House Plans" types of books. This one describes the logic, reason, and common sense that involves the interlocking of ten primary patterns that could create any primary design more successful. As a residential architect, I consider this among my five top-rated books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hands-On Design Patterns with C++: Solve common C++ problems with modern design patterns and build robust applications []  2020-1-31 3:50

    This book covers the subject very well with amazing code examples. A must read for c++ programmers, not for beginners though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-22 23:40

    As usual, Mr. Ching has delighted us with another amazing book. Drawings are fabulous and the text a complement to fully understand the topics. I have bought Mr. Ching's books since the late 1980's and never got disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-22 23:40

    Super amazing book! Amazing illustrations! Using it for structural behaviors class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design, 2nd Edition []  2020-1-22 23:40

    The best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software []  2020-1-23 2:20

    When I first learned about this book I found it an exciting method to codify and categorize different OO techniques - I wouldn't say it introduced any fresh design/implementation strategies, but it gave us all a common terminology for what we'd been doing all these years. Since then, I suppose the terminology has largely entered the programming lexicon so it's useful for all OO programmers to be familiar with these concepts and ever, we are way, method overdue for a fresh edition, one written using C++11/14 or modern Java for the examples. The C++98-based examples really date this book - lines and lines of code to illustrate what you'd do with a bit of STL in modern C++. The patterns themselves are still relevant, but I hope no one is taking the code examples too seriously.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software []  2020-1-23 2:20

    This book is a classic. I don't know what more can be said to convince a serious computer scientist that this book should be included in ones private library. If you are obtaining an education in computer science or engineering you will eventually be introduced to architecture. Think of design patterns as a sub-class of architecture. When designing the same "patterns" tend to occur. This book explains the well known patterns which the reader can expand upon in their own projects.Whether your projects are desktop, mobile, or other, design patterns are an necessary part of one's knowledge "toolbox".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide []  2020-1-31 4:17

    I am old. I did my undergrad work before patterns were a thing and worked on legacy systemsy whole career. I found myself on a fresh project with fresh technology and fresh grads. I did not understand what they were talking about with factories, Singleton's, dependency injection, etc. Now I do. I am not an expert but I know the vocabulary and the reasons for what we are trying to do. I can also implement patterns. I certainly lack their expertise but I can talk the talk and start to walk the walk. Head First methodology is excellent. If you have read other titles you know that already. If you don't, then allow me recommend the format.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide []  2020-1-31 4:17

    I love this book for its exposition of programming concepts in a simplified and humorous presentation. I also recommend that, as an appetizer, readers should first watch the video guide presented by the authors of this book (Eric and Elisabeth) at That video guide covers seven of the most widely used patterns show in this book.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386