Read heaven is for real movie edition: a...' reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all heaven is for real movie edition: a...' reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real Movie Edition: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-2-22 18:1

    The story is well written. I have yet to see the movie. I have no doubt this kid is telling what he believes to be a real story. I hope it is real as well. As the story progresses and the boy begins to elaborate on his tale at his father's prompting, I couldn't support but feel he was embellishing. Clearly the fact the he was raised around his preacher father's life style and sermons gave him more material on which to draw than say a kid raised in a zero faith family. I do however hope and feel he experienced something.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real Movie Edition: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-2-22 18:1

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real Movie Edition: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-2-22 18:1

    I loved the book! Heaven is for True is an uplifting story. I read a lot of of the reviews and was disappointed by all of the negative comments. As a society, a lot of have become so cynical to believe this is a real story. As a parent, I can only imagine what a difficult decision it was for this family to tell this attractive story to the world. I can only say "Thank You to Colten and the rest of the Burpo family for sharing your story. It gives us all hope that our life on this earth may end, but our journey will continue on!

    0  


    Add your opinion on heaven is for real movie edition: a...' or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real Movie Edition: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-2-22 18:1

    This is the most unbelievable and inspiring book that I have read in a very long time. I truly believe this small boy's story because there is no possible method of him knowing these people and happenings unless it actually happened to him. I would recommend this book to everyone, no matter what your beliefs are.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real Movie Edition: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-2-22 18:1

    Stories like this are so necessary to support in the healing of grief. This small boy has been touched by the hand of God to bring a notice to grieving parents, or anyone who has suffered a loss so crippling that they are unable to function in every day life. There is life beyond this one and he is living proof. He is proof there is hope, and a globe that holds a lot of blessings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real Movie Edition: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-2-22 18:1

    Even the most faithful often have moments of doubtEven the most faithful have moments of doubt, moments when they want for absolute certainty, And this book speaks to those moments beautifully. Whether you wonder about what's next for yourself or someone you lost, this will give you something to think and pray about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real Movie Edition: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-2-22 18:1

    They say a book is always better than the film which is why I decided to the book and not just watch the movie. As I have not seen the film for comparison, I can't remark on how the book compares to the e book is amazing although I feel that the writer drags things out a bit much. It feels like the writer is trying to create the book longer by dragging out the story line. Although this is an author problem and not a story is is a certainly a faith building story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real Movie Edition: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-2-22 18:1

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real Movie Edition: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-2-22 18:1

    This film is a re-enactment of a young boy, a pastor's son, who travels to heaven while on the operating table in the hospital. He travels to heaven, though he remains alive the entire time. It reveals a lot of aspects of heaven not revealed before. But, as always, fresh info and the questions they respond always make a lot of fresh questions. The movie's focus attempts to prove that the boy went to heaven, and only peripherally describes the environment & lifestyles in heaven. It raises far more questions than it answers. The film isn't that long -- it doesn't give its length on the case. I [email protected]#$%! took more time to respond some of the more obvious questions it raises. More viewers might be willing to accept that the boy did go to heaven if it e case says it is not recommended for kids because of violence. I disagree. I don't remember any violence in the move. Pastor does scream at God when he thinks his son is dying in the hospital. This film can strengthen anyone's faith in God. It shows a dynamic, not a surreal, relationship with God. It is a must see for the entire family, and the entire family should watch it together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real Movie Edition: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-2-22 18:1

    Not knowing what someone very unique and myself were about to face soon after seeing the film has helped tremendously. I am so glad to have seen the film before reading the book. The book was a unbelievable extension. The film was the eye opener and the book touched the heart. Thank you so much for sharing your family and life. Nelson of Florida

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is a Playground: 4th Edition []  2020-1-18 19:20

    Like.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is a Playground: 4th Edition []  2020-1-18 19:20

    Not exactly what I expected. Hoped there would have been more about the road legends suck as Connie Hawkins, Herman Knowings and others. Still provides an inside to NYC playground basketball.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is a Playground: 4th Edition []  2020-1-18 19:20

    I would recommend to any basketball fan or anyone interested in inter town life. This books seems like or was written about a various planet. Times were various and the environment was very different

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is a Playground: 4th Edition []  2020-1-18 19:20

    I have read several sports nonfiction novels before and this is one of the best book. I see what's event behind the scene, I mean sports and the young in the obtain to. I like the atmosphere and love those people have for young kids. Hope those children can live in better environments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is a Playground: 4th Edition []  2020-1-18 19:20

    Outstanding book. Amazing journey through the eyes of Rick who loved the android game and who lived it through the souls of those he came to know on the play grounds of Fresh York.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is a Playground: 4th Edition []  2020-1-18 19:20

    Loved reading about one of my mates in this true story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is a Playground: 4th Edition []  2020-1-18 19:20

    A very well written outsider's acc of the inner-city. This was a fair and not overly judgemental view of young, poor, and street-wise black children playing the android game of basketball, but were ill-equipped to play the android game oof life. Loved it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is a Playground: 4th Edition []  2020-1-18 19:20

    one of the best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is a Playground: 4th Edition []  2020-1-18 19:20

    An perfect read...more than a book about basketball, it's really a sociological study. And although some things have changed in the 40 years since this book was originally published--like guns being more of a issue in the inner town now--it holds up remarkably well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is a Playground: 4th Edition []  2020-1-18 19:20

    Right up there with Loose Balls. Enjoyed the hell out of it I could not place it down. Thanks Rick!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    This is a well written book - and a fast read (I finished in a small over 6 hours). While the underlying story of Colton Burpo's brush with death; his parents' renewed faith in God's eternal plan; and a perspective of Heaven, death/dying, eternal life, Christ from the eyes of a kid is truly inspiring - it is difficult not to take this story with a massive dose of skepticism. Colton's father, Todd Burpo, is a PAID minister (albeit, in a one-horse town); and as far as I can tell, this book was a FOR PROFIT is difficult for me to separate the inherit financial conflicts of interest for Pastor Burpo in writing a story about Heaven, Christianity, etc., when he derives a portion of his livelihood peddling the same at said, this book discusses every Christian's deepest hope: that the faithful disciples of Christ will return to live with God in an eternal paradise; that we will be reunited with our loved ones in a perfected state; that angels and the Holy Sprit are true - and intervene on our behalf; and that God is aware of every aspect of our lives. From my perspective, the child-like innocence and discussion of these raw subjects is quite beautiful. And I hope (with all of my heart) that the Burpo's are telling the truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    It is a amazing book - like the method it is written. I am an avid reader and there are some massive books out there – this is not one of them. My only problem (and it is huge for me otherwise I would have given it a five stars) is how deep it went into the bible. As soon as it went into verses, remember how Jesus said or did, or how the apostles said and did – my eyes glassed over and I was lost. I am sure for those who are more into religion will love it.I do recommend the book but be warned… if you didn’t like going to Sunday school or search yourself counting the mins for the homily to be over…. This book may not be the best for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-25 9:17

    This book lovingly and realistically portrays heaven as seen by a child. The Bible tells us “a kid shall lead them.” Kids are loved and treasured by Jesus in his time on earth, and we are encouraged in our beliefs that Heaven waits for all who know Jesus in their hearts. I wish my grandsons to share this belief and pray for them to do so because I wish to see them in heaven.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-25 9:17

    I read this book a few years ago. I purchased this most latest copy to give to someone whose dad died in a car accident. This book helps affirm that God exists, and there is a heaven. I thought this book would be of some comfort to the person I gave it to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    A lot of of my mates and family have read this book and I had always meant to read it. So glad I finally did. Simple to read, I read it in one sitting. This book will encourage you, more than likely strengthen your faith, and leave you with a smile. (Have the tissues ready though, there is at least one put you will need them!). Don't delay like I did. Go ahead and read it. You will be glad you did!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    It is a very loving book, and because it is based on the words of a 4 year old child, whose family is in the ministry, I had to overlook a very necessary misconception. With the father a Minister, I'm surprised it went into print with the idea that people die, go to heaven and become angels with wings! At Creation, angels were CREATED and we don't die and become ANGELS. We will have unique glorified bodies, which we cannot describe as we are not told by the Word, other than we will be like Jesus, neither married nor having gender, glorious without sin or sickness for all eternity. We will be known as we were known (that was brought out nicely); but the idea of animals is a fresh thought too, one a kid might like to think about. We just don't know, God's Word only tells us that Angels have souls only, Animals have bodies only, and God's Kids were made with bodies and souls, alone among God's creatures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-25 9:17

    I have read this two times, and I'm reading it again. Rather than a steady diet of watching them dissect cadavers on NCIS and whatever else the media wish to feed me, I test to sup with the King, and encourage myself, and motivate myself as well. There is a stage of a war described that also gives me constant inspiration when I think about it. Our wars today with all the small kingdoms around us are things that we can affect, for amazing or for not-so-good, and I need to know that I can create a difference, so hold trying!By the way, I study these died-and-come-back stories, and there is a book by Petti Wagner called "Murdered Heiress, Living Witness" that I also read constantly. In it, after bringing Petti back to life, he educates her about the three persons that comprise Him. AND he helps her create an impossible escape from a prison they built in a psych. ward of an abandoned hospital in Texas.I also love the book by Richard Wurmbrand, "In God's Underground", in which he supernaturally forgives his prison torturers and goes back to test to victory them. Now that's love! These stories have both really tough parts, and really amazing parts... kind of exactly like life. Hope this helps!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-25 9:17

    I liked everything about this book and Colton's descriptions of Jesus, God, & the Holy Sporit. The method he described Heaven was so familiar to me because during my mother's latest days she described Heaven and how the colors of Heaven were not like the colors we see here on earth. She described hearing my brother who passed away two years before her; also describing the stairway to Heaven (all what she described and what Colton described is backed up by the scriptures). Reading Heaven is For True brought back memories of my latest days with my Mom and knowing I will see her again. Thanks to the Burpo family for sharing your family to the globe by writing this book. This book and Colton's experience in Heaven truly blessed me. I wish to share this book with a young couple I know whose baby passed away at 2 months. They know he's in Heaven and I think the method Colton talked about the sister who was miscarried and how he met her in Heaven is very comforting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    Heaven is for True is the most convincing book about the "afterlife" that I've ever read! The revelations from four-year old Colton, who had a near death experience about Heaven and the Holy Trinity are truly remarkable! This non-fiction acc is provocative and reassuring that our spirits are destined to dwell in the kingdom of God as long as we cling to our faith in Him and accept Jesus Christ as His son. There was no guile in Colton's telling of his experience to his father and mother over a period of one and a half years. It simply doesn't seem possible that an innocent kid of his age could fabricate these stories or have the knowledge of the people and locations he experienced in Heaven. Heaven MUST be true after all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    I know heaven is real. I liked hearing this young child's descriptions of heaven and seeing how closely it came to my own beliefs. I did not like the fact of wings. If we are made in God's image, then there should not have been wings. Overall I enjoyed this book. What an awesome experience for Colton and his whole family. Yes! Heaven IS real.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-25 9:17

    Having just experienced my husband Tom's passing, I found the descriptions by Colton of the death experience to be very comforting. This small boy was able to lift me from a feeling of deep separation from Tom, to feeling Tom's comforting presence. In the Burpos' angst in the Colton's illness arose much spiritual understanding and hope in life everlasting. Colton created death as normal as getting an ice cream cone on a Saturday afternoon. We are right now planning my husband's memorial and I approach it with greater joy than I could have imagined. .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-25 9:17

    Another book I've read after my mother passed. I required some reassurance, and info and acknowledgement about what happens in the afterlife. The day after my mother passed, several curious happenings happened to me that reassured me she is fine in the afterlife….and that there is one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-25 9:17

    I was given a copy of this book and the video that was created about it from my sister. When I had finished the book I felt closer to God than I have ever felt before. I bought a copy also for our pastor to obtain his opinion on it. A lot of people have given it a thumbs-up and I also would recommend it. As far as what you personally believe or what I believe, whether you agree or disagree with it, that is up to you. Read your Bibles my friends! God does NOT lie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    I've seen Colton Borpo on TV. I've heard the gist of his story, so why would I this book? I wanted to read the rest. It's a amazing story, and such encouragement to Christians and non-Christians alike. It explanations of the knotty questions most thoughtful people wrestle with: Why do poor things happen to amazing people? Does God care? Does God respond prayer? What happens when we die?I found it refreshing that the narrator, a Christian preacher and pastor, had these same questions. He tried to be careful in gleaning the answers.Had this Kindle edition been complete it would easily have merited 5 stars. Mangled formatting created some chapters tough to follow. But if you hold reading you can parse it out. I highly recommend this book. It's to be shared and discussed, and gifted to any mates and family you care about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    I first saw a film concerning this child's visit with our Lord. I was awed, happy, excited and truthfully a bit jealous (Godly so not resentful). I seek the presence of our Master everyday and it is astoundingly unbelievable that Heaven chose kids to show to. What a blessing. I had to have the book to know more. I purchased the book read it one night. Found I could not place the book down. When I finished reading it I weeped in love for Abba Father, our Lord Jesus and the Precious Holy Spirit. Even as I write this review tears of joy and wonder well up in my eyes. I feel as if The Burpos are my family and I am truly honored and glad they were so couragous in sharing this unbelievable devine experience with the world. I am inclined and determined more than ever to live a holy and righterous life according the principles of the Bible. God Bless you Burpos forever. My heart is being lead to more of these books and give this to my grandson and granddaughter and other kids that God sends cross my path. I too am in ministry and this is as grand a book as the Holy Bible. Thank you for sharing with us. Peace

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-25 9:17

    A unbelievable first-hand acc of the glories waiting for born-again believers. After reading about how Colton got to meet his other sister in heaven my heart rejoices because now I KNOW I will obtain to meet my son there as well. After we had 2 attractive & precious daughters my wife lost a son. When God calls me Home I will meet him. Glory, glory, hallelujah! Praise the Lord! ✝️😇🙏🏻❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    This book both give me strength for what lies ahead and, being a sinner, scares me terribly. I've done things in my life for which I'm not proud and know I will have to respond for those sins in the presence of God someday. I've already confessed for the most serious of my sins and feel I received absolution. Nevertheless, I continue to believe through this book that someday I will stand before God someday to atone for all my sins.On the positive side, my Dad was a professional baseball player in his younger days. By the time I came along, Dad's knees were already too far gone for him to play catch with me. In heaven, I look forward to endless android games of baseball with my Dad at Wrigley Field and to see his face when the Cubs victory the Globe .Series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    Amazing book! My son was a stillborn at 39 weeks, which totally devastated us. This book is a amazing read and defiantly helps to give us hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-25 9:17

    What I liked was hearing everything that Colton had to say about heaven and his experience there. What I liked least is that it didn't hold going. I would like to know everything that Colton saw and experienced. This book has expanded my faith greatly. It has comforted me more than I can possibly say. It has given me a kind of peace that I've never had before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-25 9:17

    This is one of those books that when you are finished, you wish to give it to all you know!! Even though we've been taught through the years most of the messages of this book; sometimes life becomes burdensome and we tend to become discouraged and doubtful! This small boy's experience has been like a cold drink on a hot day...refreshing the body and soul. Thank you to the Burpo family for sharing this extraordinary bonus you were given!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-16 9:6

    My 7 year old son was really questioning death and having sobbing spells. I ordered this book for him and we read it together. It was excellent and not too advanced, or too childish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-16 9:6

    The illustrations featuring everyone in Heaven having wings ruined the book for me. This was so biblically unsound that Instead of giving it to my nephews, I instead threw it away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-16 9:6

    Well done recall of his son’s visit to Heaven. Admittedly through a child’s interpretation but truly believable and meaningful. Well presented and detailed.I’ve read a lot of NDE accounts and this is not only consistent but reinforces the possibilities of a NDE. I listened to the cds which I believe reinforced much of the emotions and surprise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-16 9:6

    I bought this book for my small sister , who has autism and who had problem understanding why our mother died. The colourful pictures helped to give her a clear picture of what heaven was like. She liked the section how everyone has wings in heaven.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-16 9:6

    The book is age appropriate for younger children. I have two grandsons who will be getting the book for their 5th birthday very soon. I feel confident they will love it. I was looking for a book for some time, one that would explain the concept of heaven in acomforting, non-threatening way. After seeing videos and hearing interviews of the family and their awesome story, I knew this was the book I wanted for my younger grandchildren. With the desire to show the bible and Christian concepts to my grandkids I have also purchased Veggie Tale books. While they love Veggie Tales, this books presents on a more private level. The books arrived within days and in excellent condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-16 9:6

    Be careful when you this book.,I thought I was buying the regular agine my surprise when I went to read it and found an illustrated puny book meant for e sad thing is that I kept turning the pages thinking it was an additional feature before the actual book started,otherwise I would have asked for my back. A colossal waste of my money

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-16 9:6

    It is my grandkids favorite! I bought the Heaven is For True for me and saw this one for children because !y granddaughter kept wanting me to read mine to her. She now has her own copy illustrated that is simple for her to understand and the 2 of us have our quiet study time together when she is here. It especially helps her now understand and with her grief since her grandfather passed in February. Thank you for such a unbelievable book. She especially loves the part about Colton praying for a rainbow. She does every night. One day we came out of Walmart and everyone was looking at the sky. We looked there was the largest brightest rainbow. Our window was begin in the van when I said Nebaeh, look! It's your rainbow. She said" Oh Mimi you were right! Heavenly Father does respond my prayers just like Colton in my book said!" "I prayed for that latest night" The lady stamdinding next to our van came over heard her and said to her " small child', you have such faith, please pray that my house sells!" Wow the faith of a child. Colton knows! My grandchildren amaze me everyday. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for such an awesome instruction manual is what I would callL it for my grandkids. It helps to give them principles to live by even though they are yet only 6 and 7 and they are being examples to others GOD does live!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-16 9:6

    I bought to support my 4 kids understand death after the sudden loss of my kids range in age from 3-13

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-16 9:6

    In to understand the experiences that are detailed about the small boy in this real story, who is named Colton Burpo, about his dad Todd,the rest of his family, their community,and their relationship to the concept of heaven,I am advising people who have read this children ver with its attractive illustrations, or potential readers,to also invest in reading the adult ver of HEAVEN is for Real, HEAVEN CHANGES EVERYTHING by the BURPOS, and latest but never least, the book of life also known as The Holy Bible. The study of the life,death and resurrection of Jesus the Christ, is the key to understanding this family's relationship to one another,to the love of Jesus, to your relationship to Jesus,and to the revelation of an existence called heaven. The book,Heaven is for True for children and the other suggested readings, go beyond a one dimensional or perhaps limited understanding of the concept of another is beyond what may be deemed as rational.IF YOU ARE READY FOR INCREDIBLE,LIFE CHANGING EXPERIENCES that are part of the suggested readings and The Holy Bible's teachings,A WILLINGNESS OF HEART WILL RENDER THEM YOURS. Cheers,Delilah/D-Arnita Acquaah.April 8,2016.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back []  2020-1-16 9:6

    Amazing short book for little children. I read the original and thought this would be exactly the same just with pictures for my 8 year old. Unfortunately, it was method too short. He loved it but wanted to read more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is a Garden: Designing Serene Spaces for Inspiration and Reflection []  2020-1-4 21:18

    I have been a landscape designer for a lot of years and teach garden design at the Fresh York Botanical Garden. I have a rather huge collection of garden books, as a lot of gardeners and garden lovers do. Heaven is a Garden is the best garden book I have ever read! Jan Johnsen has a style of writing that just flows and draws you in. I didn't wish to stop reading! The images are all so attractive and inspiring. I will always hold Heaven is a Garden with me to present to clients, students and friends. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in gardens and creating serenity around their home. This book is a amazing gift, also!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is a Garden: Designing Serene Spaces for Inspiration and Reflection []  2020-1-4 21:18

    This is a hard book to place down! It takes flight the moment it begins. A lot of garden publications concentrate on the technical, but this book makes you "feel" the green zone that surrounds us. It's unlike anything else I've encountered in the genre. Own it! You will not regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is a Garden: Designing Serene Spaces for Inspiration and Reflection []  2020-1-4 21:18

    From the first page of "Heaven Is A Garden" one knows one is in the hands of a master tutorial who has spent a lifetime –or perhaps several– studying the intricacies of gardening, landscape, and how they can be a conduit between nature and our deeper selves. The images are beautiful, the writing heartfelt and inspiring, and full of vast knowledge apparently gained through extensive globe travel. I was taken on a journey of possibilities and we are looking forward to incorporating some of Ms. Johnsen's ideas into our own modest garden. Best of all the book is not one of those Jovian coffee table tomes that require massive lifting and are usually doomed to a life as eye candy collecting crumbs from the munching of crackers and dip. This work can be taken right out in the garden to support one directly visualize the possibilities for a more uplifting backyard. Easily 5 stars for "Heaven Is A Garden."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is a Garden: Designing Serene Spaces for Inspiration and Reflection []  2020-1-4 21:18

    This is one of those attractive books you don't really need to read.(Heresy!)We know a picture is worth a thousand words right?.Tells you what you can look forward towhen you plop the book begin to any uble thumbs up -- one green, one brown!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is a Garden: Designing Serene Spaces for Inspiration and Reflection []  2020-1-4 21:18

    I bought this book because I am a designer in the Northeast, and I was impressed with several of the author's projects for high profile clients. From what I understand, 'Heaven is a Garden' is essentially the Cliffs Notes to Johnsen's graduate school design studio at Columbia University. I have met a few of her students, and a few of her clients. The common reaction that I obtain from them is that she seems to have an inner bonus for visiting a website and immediately recognizing its specific strengths and weaknesses. After reading the book, it is clear to me that Johnsen makes it look simple because she is passionate about the topic and because she has spent decades developing her talents. Like any successful designer, this is a woman who pays very careful attention to every detail, and leaves nothing to chance. The book itself is a excellent example. When it arrived I was surprised by the 8.5"x8.5" dimensions. I own two bookcases full of garden design books, and virtually all of them are oversized. When I opened it, it immediately became clear to me that the size was no accident. Neither is its sturdy construction. I can't remember the latest hardcover garden book I bought that didn't have a paper jacket. Evidently Johnsen intended to write a book that any designer could hold handy and refer to continually -from someone working in their own yard, to a professional like myself. I'm putting it right into my work bag, next to my plant identification books, my 200ft tape measure and my graph paper. A common axiom in the trade is that there are no "new" ideas: "Take what you like, and create it your own." 'Heaven is a Garden' is packed with historical references, cultural inspirations and unconventional insights that prepare the reader to search the special qualities (and avoid costly mistakes) for every site. Thanks to this book, I will be borrowing ideas from Johnsen for years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is a Garden: Designing Serene Spaces for Inspiration and Reflection []  2020-1-4 21:18

    I was taken aback by the little size of this book only 8.5 in by 8.5 in, method too little for a amazing visual design guide. Worse, the quality of the (color-ink-print-clarity) photography is below par. Hence only three ever, the design principles are solid and well presented, although hardly in-depth given that the book is only 133 little pages with pictures on each reads as a "school" book - everything is well-executed, but personally I thought that some of the designs lacked the special creativeness that several reviewers gushed about - it simply was not vertheless, this book includes amazing info and if you are looking for guidance on designing a serene garden this book is spot on. Maybe I'm simply spoiled by coffee table size books with breathtaking photography - a picture is worth a thousand words -. I will say this book is packed with solid info along with lovely ideas but each concept is discussed within one to three pages at most.I have no doubt the author is an perfect garden designer but this book had the potential to be so much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is a Garden: Designing Serene Spaces for Inspiration and Reflection []  2020-1-4 21:18

    Very helpful and attractive presentation. Inspires you to see your garden as a journey into yourself and what’s possible. How to think about harmony with nature. I re-read periodically for inspiration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is a Garden: Designing Serene Spaces for Inspiration and Reflection []  2020-1-4 21:18

    I got this for my grandma because she wanted to make her own "zen" garden. I loved that it gave various ideas to create your own garden, not just told you what someone else's idea of the excellent garden is. She loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is a Garden: Designing Serene Spaces for Inspiration and Reflection []  2020-1-4 21:18

    This is more a promotional piece about the author. This book should have been called Heaven is Landscape Design by Jan Johnsen. The path to a heavenly garden is apparently a high maintenance grass stairway. As another reviewer stated, lots I, me, my language create this book an irritating turn off. There’s a grab bag sampling of superficial, culturally appreciated thoughts and random quotes from every corner of the globe. Lots of feelings and pseudoscience abound ’s what Makes no sense; the author is well educated and has a diverse experience. She shines at moments regarding stone in landscape design. Her discussion about the use of white in the garden stood out as something with depth and creativity. The closing thoughts were attractive until they're ruined with another fatiguing self promotion. It is reminiscent of artists that out to the point of losing creative soul. The most creative aspect that shines from the author is their ability to shop e images are indeed blurry, muddled and hard to see. Collaborating with a amazing photographer would have helped create this book look better. This size is too little to enjoy. It’s one of the few garden books that might be better in a digital r the most part though, she lacks most plant details. It is frustrating when landscape designers consider plants as a secondary afterthought in a garden. Her plant designs are mostly dated and something as easy as you’d search at a huge box store. Plants are a foundational soul of the garden. This book lacks the flame that kindles the creative soul of a garden. It’s a amazing portfolio of a successful landscape designer but it’s not a tutorial to a heavenly garden.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is a Garden: Designing Serene Spaces for Inspiration and Reflection []  2020-1-4 21:18

    **This review is on just ONE aspect of the book, having to do with Johnsen's bonus with words. It is not about the specifics, which other reviewers have covered.**Jan Johnsen has the bonus of being able to translate "matters of the spirit" into language. This is not easy, being as language is often the antithesis of "the things you cannot see," things you cannot quantify, things that are less of the physical globe and more of the heart. In landscape design, I am speaking of what makes a put comfortable and pleasant to be in. I'm NOT talking about what makes it practical or well engineered. Any given landscape can be, on the surface, quite practical and well built. But it may not be pleasant, and people WON'T gather there. Most people would not be able to explain WHY. Johnsen can. She's able to translate the QUIET voice inside. This is a rare bonus when language and logic are LOUD, and can drown out the soul of a thing.I literally use this book as a reference for the language and wording that Johnsen gives. I'm a landscape designer myself, and it helps me to one design over another. It helps me to describe that quality that is very much REAL, but so often people don't "get," especially if their logic is dominant (as most people's is). This quality is true because every human certainly can feel it, when comparing one zone to another. Johnsen's wording helps me talk to people of things their left brain can't quantify. And always without being woo-woo or sappy. It simply makes sense, coming from Johnsen.I also just have fun the nature of this book on a private level. I adore that it shows my absolute favorite thing about all amazing gardens: their tranquility, harmony, peacefulness, feeling of comfort, their ability to be both calming and invigorating at the same time. Those words are inadequate, but, for communication sake, they're all we have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away, a Play []  2020-1-17 22:29

    Hock Tjoa has undertaken a large task in this short historical play, adapted from another, long play written some years ago by another Chinese playwright. Its background is Chinese society during two war-torn periods in the first half of the 20th century, a poor time for China. In his introduction to this two-act piece, Tjoa lays out why--civil war, social and political dislocation, traditional values vs the fresh order--and also what family structure was like as seen in honorific titles and the like. I felt I was in amazing hands, and especially appreciated his orderly and sympathetic approach. It was a pleasure to e play is, however, a bit static. All the action occurs on one set, a teahouse that has survived if not thrived since the Manchu dynasty, and which is slowly succumbing to age and war. Its owner, though a real entrepreneur, is beset by issues from dislocated relatives and mates to shakedown artists, i.e. police and soldiers. Each hero not only embodies a particular social issue but also tells the audience what that issue is, so there's quite a bit of explanation and small action beyond a couple of dramatic moments. This is why I say static. On the other hand, with amazing scene direction, people could express plenty, and also probably move around a lot onstage, resolving the challenge of so a lot of people telling their stories. The plot is more philosophical than dramatic, another challenge.But Mr. Tjoa has done a lovely job overall of conveying the uncertainty, fear and the method both amazing generosity and petty greed play out during two times of civil war.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away, a Play []  2020-1-17 22:29

    'Heaven Is High and the Emperor Far Away, a Play' by Hock G. Tjoa, was a most enjoyable and informative read of a most tragic period of Chinese history, of a time when China was recovering from the ravages committed by the Japanese troops during Globe Battle Two, only to plunge into the civil battle as the Communists rose to power. The play gives us a glimpse of daily life in this time, by letting us experience it through the goings on within a teahouse that had survived decades of power struggles and wars.I felt very sorry for the shopkeeper as he poured his life and years into the teahouse, only for the vultures of a corrupt government take advantage of him time after time. I lost count of how a lot of times he had to fork out bribes, to cops, agents, and others, just to hold in business or to hold them away from his customers.And all the while the shopkeeper is preparing to re-open the teahouse. As I read I began to wonder if he would even be able to re-open the teahouse before running out of money. There is a broad spectrum of characters, from a lot of walks of life, and watching them interact with each other is a treat.Disclaimer - I was provided a copy of the play by the author for an unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away, a Play []  2020-1-17 22:29

    This play is set in China, but written in English, in the early part of the 20th century. The author did a very amazing job conveying the time and place, and the conflicts event in China during this time. There is plenty of suffering and conflict, and the characters are likable. I found myself feeling much sympathy for them. Especially for Pockface Lu. I didn’t see an actual story line, rising action, climax or falling action. It was more just a look at this particular Teahouse in various e author did a amazing job with all of the scene directions, etc. I could see the actors playing the parts in my head, and see the interior of the tea shop.I appreciated the look into the conflicts and difficulties of battle following war, and the pain and suffering it caused. The author did a amazing job of showing that, and I think people who have fun a amazing history lesson would like this play. It would be interesting to see the play performed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away, a Play []  2020-1-17 22:29

    Writer Hock Tjoa states that his intention with this play is to create traditional Chinese culture more widely known and Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away certainly achieved that for me. I am wiser about Chinese social and familial relationships, history, politics and culture than I was.I understand that this is a translation and adaptation of an original work. Certainly the dialogue, though reflecting all the forms of politeness and understatement one associates (perhaps stereo-typically) with the ever-courteous and retiring Chinese person, displayed none of the awkwardness which translations can sometimes carry. I found it accessible and iefly, this two act play compares the same Beijing Teahouse some twenty five years apart, revealing all that has changed, and all that has remained the same. Only two characters survive the turbulent history of the intervening times but the rest of the characters, though various in each act, prove the French proverb `the more things change, the more they stay the same.' Although the puppet-masters change, the puppets must still dance.I liked some of the scene direction which is intended to support the actors; some quite Stanislavskian `impulses' calling for subtle interpretation like `in a tone which suggests that he has found a method to create a better mouse trap,' and `with unconcern, but not bravado.'I found the preface very helpful. It explained modes of address as well as something of the history of the times. I presume that these notes would appear in the program of a theatrical production. However some of the explanations did sound more like value-judgements which the author should perhaps leave for others to ing a play straight from the page can never do it proper justice and one has to leave a huge allowance for the animation, emotional in-put and characterisation which the actors would bring to it. However the dramatic structure seemed to me to lack cohesion. The first act culminates in a shocking climax but the second act does nothing to resolve it or to trace its fall-out. That happening sinks like a stone into a pond, leaving no ripples. Although times are hard and there are threats at hand, there is no out-and-out conflict between characters, which I do think a play needs. There are undercurrents of tension but it would take a really talented cast to exploit these thoroughly enough to satisfy the audience's need for dramatic tension, eruption and resolution. The nearest here was the return of a woman to confront the man who had sold her to a eunuch some years before. More of this kind of confrontation would have created for better drama, but perhaps such is not the Chinese e first act is a fairly hard mountain for the reader/audience to climb given the quite huge cast, and what I presume would be their unfamiliarity with the topic matter. One would expect the second (final) act to be something of a free-wheel after this ascent, carrying the audience along in the dramatic surge made by the first, but in fact the non-continuity of a lot of of the characters, plus the time-lapse, create the second act another steep learning curve. The cast of characters is huge to the point of being unwieldy and I failed to see how some of them contributed to the drama other than as representatives of various sections of society or as mouthpieces to explain life outside the teahouse. I thought the playwright's suggestion that the same actor play the same role in its earlier and later manifestation might confuse the audience, too.Just because a topic is unfamiliar or a form various does not mean that we as readers should baulk at the challenge and I am grateful for the opportunity which Hock Tjoa gave me to read his work in return for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away, a Play []  2020-1-17 22:29

    This is a short play about a shopkeeper, his tea house, and his family and mates as he struggles through political change, economic woes, and societal immoralities in a China not so long is was a very enjoyable and light read. Translating and adapting an original work is difficult, and delivering a play in an interesting and accessible format is quite a challenge, but I think the author did a fabulous job of balancing historical context, dialogue, and scene direction to help the reader in conjuring up an photo of the play in his or her e preface was extremely helpful, not only because it set up the political and social environments in which this play unfolds, but also because it allowed for some of the author's voice to come out. Favorite quote: "Heaven is high and the Emperor is far away was a familiar saying in the provinces of China...It reflects the sense that human ideals are quite remote from out mundane reality." The author has a knack for elegant yet not overly embellished writing, and this preface contrasted well with the simplicity of the play itself.Of course, because this is meant to be a play, and we as readers aren't able to see the actors' facial expression, catch their subtle motions, or hear the anguish or laughter in their voice, much of it is left to the readers' imagination. For those who are seeking descriptive hero development and a detailed plot, you may not have fun this as much. But for me - an avid reader who appreciates when books leave a lot of room for the readers' own imagination - this was a very enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away, a Play []  2020-1-17 22:29

    It took me a few pages to obtain into the feel of the book, but once I settled into this style I found it an enjoyable read. I'm sure there are guidelines for writing the play, but I'm not familiar with those and therefore won't review the writing e story line reminded me of an Croatian TV series that follows the small barber before, through, between and shortly after the two globe wars. The barber's main line was "I won't tolerate politics in my shop." Yet, politics was all that was talked about. Same in the Teahouse, the owner place up signs about not discussing the politics, yet the developments in the country was the only thing on people's mind.I would love to see this onstage. Perhaps it'd be less confusing with the lines for actors the kind of voice they should say the lines.I understand that this is a translation into English, but perhaps some various words should have been chosen. For instance eunuch, the dictionary tells us it is "a man who has been castrated, esp (formerly) for some office such as a guard in a harem" Yet in this story eunuch, from what I gathered, was a man of wealth and influence who had as it was implied used a then young girl to show her as his kid bride. I found this a bit confusing, but contributed it to being lost in l in all, this was a amazing and entertaining read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away, a Play []  2020-1-17 22:29

    Hock Tjoa’s “Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away” is a fictional play set in China in the historical period surrounding the second globe war. Tjoa conveys a amazing understanding of this time and place, as a vivid backdrop and well crafted characters. I was only vaguely familiar with the historical context before reading Tjoa’s play, but through his words I feel I have now lived a short time is a difficult and tumultuous time in China’s history. The stories follow a dozens of daily characters through the tribulations they face. The people in general are plagued with poverty and starvation and surrounded by chaos, corruption and immorality flowing first from the ravages of globe battle and then from the internal strife of civil war. From that perspective, it was a difficult experience, in huge part because of Tjoa’s ability to transport you into the character’s lives. For example, (without giving too much away) I honestly felt sorrow for one of the characters who was wrongly accused and executed for a crime he did not a play, this was a more visual experience for me than a lot of novels. I found myself wondering who might play different roles as I read. Perhaps this is because what prior knowledge I did have of this period came from different Chinese period films (Ip Man, in particular).I would recommend this play to anyone interested in historical fiction with only a few caveats. First, note that this is a play and not a novel and, as such, is a very various experience. Though I knew this going in, it’s been a lot of a lot of years since I’ve actually read a play, so for me it took a bit of a mental adjustment to obtain myself into the flow. Second, this is a difficult and somewhat disturbing time and put in history. Again, simply being prepared for the journey into a more harrowing time will let the reader to more fully embrace the experience. That being said, it is a journey worth taking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away, a Play []  2020-1-17 22:29

    This was a fascinating play. The introduction will be invaluable for those, like me, who are less familiar with Chinese culture. Even so, I found myself referring back to it to follow along with the subtleties of the characters status' and interactions.I'm not sure if it was a effect of the translation, but the dialogue was a bit abrupt. I'd have preferred to see some of the scenes develop slower, with characters exposing bits of the interaction through the scene, rather than explaining it in one line of dialogue and moving on to the next concept. I understand this is chop down from a longer play: I'd love to see a full translation, to see how much of that is inherent in the style of the original, and how much is a effect of cutting it down and simplifying it for a various cultural ere's not a defined "story" to be seen, and sometimes the lack of a decided dramatic arc created it difficult to carry things through, from one scene/period to the next. I actually liked the concept of that, though, since it allowed the focus to be on the characters' lives in a larger pattern, rather than on any one left me with a powerful desire to research more literature from this era, to obtain a fuller sense of the people and culture. It touched on a lot of complex cultural issues, and some of the characters were quite entertaining in their coping mechanisms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away, a Play []  2020-1-17 22:29

    This play is an awesome look into China, a country that most schools gloss over in their textbooks, and a time period where most teachers talk about other things. It's a two act play that manages to convey in dialogue the happenings of two various days in the life of a shopkeeper, his family, and the people who come to his tea shop. It also allows you an idea of what was actually going on in China in the early twentieth century.Heaven is High and the Emperor Far Away is a play that should be shared more, either performed or read aloud. I recommend it for people who like plays, or like China, or just really wish to read something good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is Real: Lessons on Earthly Joy - from the Man Who Spent 90 Minutes in Heaven []  2020-1-19 22:34

    The author, gives his acc of his 90 mins in heaven during the first chapter. The episode lasts only about 4/5 pages. The rest of the book is focused on his accident and the recovery period. The title suggets that for the most part, the book would discuss more of the afterlife, but in reality, it just discusses how painful and agnoizing his recovery was. This is all too real and I do sympathize with the author but if I wanted a book on recuperation and recovery, I would not have purchased this book. I was looking for answers about the hereafter so while I am deeply sympathic to his plight, I was disappointed with the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is Real: Lessons on Earthly Joy - from the Man Who Spent 90 Minutes in Heaven []  2020-1-19 22:34

    a wonderfully gripping story in true life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is Real: Lessons on Earthly Joy - from the Man Who Spent 90 Minutes in Heaven []  2020-1-19 22:34

    I was just supposed to pick up a book for my wife.(she's a librarian in a middle school). While the books were being assembled I was asked to return in about 20 minutes. I wondered around the book shop and Donald Pipers book "Heaven is Real" jump off the shelf as I walked through a section (Christian Inspirations) I have never been in. I picked it up and I couldn't place it down. It referred to Mr. Pipers first book ("90 mins in Heaven") a lot of times. My mother died 3 months earlier and I was attending the funeral of one of my closest mates mother the next day. I knew what he & his brothers and sister were going through. My mother was 92 and their mother was 95. It answered a lot of of my questions about my mothers' passing. This book brought comfort to him & his family about what their mother and all of us who have faith have to look forward to when our earthly life has ended. It relieves the anxiety of death for our elderly loved ones and for those who care about them when they need it most. These copies were ordered for my church's library so my mates could experience the bonuses I now share with those who I come in everyday contact with . Believe.....Heaven is Real!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is Real: Lessons on Earthly Joy - from the Man Who Spent 90 Minutes in Heaven []  2020-1-19 22:34

    Very nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is Real: Lessons on Earthly Joy - from the Man Who Spent 90 Minutes in Heaven []  2020-1-19 22:34

    Heaven is is is the title of the book, and I believe it has clearly delivered that notice to the me may complain that the book only briefly mention about Mr. Piper's experience in Heaven. This might actually disappoint some readers' intention of buying this ever, even you go to heaven for 10 mins right now and come back, you will write not much differ from Mr. Piper's story.Heaven is attractive place, it's a put where God is happy to see everyday. Heaven cannot be described in our words, there's no words that can describe how heaven feels and looks alike. Even the single ray of color in Heaven cannot be described in our words because there's no color of Heaven in this globe that we can ere were few people who saw a glimpse of Heaven in the Bible, but they did not fully describe in detail because it's not possible for us to comprehend.If anyone can describe Heaven to the fullest detail, avoid him for he is not telling the truth.What Mr. Piper tried to achieve this goal is Heaven is real; it's not about 'let's tour Heaven with Mr. Piper in 90 minutes' kinda is book is a book of conviction, and declaration that Heaven is real. And the only method to go to this Heaven is through Jesus Christ.I hope you understand this, and you will appreciate this book more.EHG.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is Real: Lessons on Earthly Joy - from the Man Who Spent 90 Minutes in Heaven []  2020-1-19 22:34

    I HAVE NOT FINISHED "HEAVEN IS REAL" SHOULD BE READ AFTER "90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN". THERE IS HOPE FOR ALL AND THIS BOOK GIVES YOU THE TRUE MEANING OF HOPE AND JOY. HE HAS HELPED SO MANY PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD TO OVERCOME AND HOW TO CARRY ON WITH GOD'S PLAN FOR EACH LIFE. MORE AFTER I FINISH THE BOOK

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is Real: Lessons on Earthly Joy - from the Man Who Spent 90 Minutes in Heaven []  2020-1-19 22:34

    I met Don before he became popular for his books, we were then, and still are strangers to one another. I feel uniquely qualified to comment on his works since I can attest to his authenticity, as well as his understanding of his experiences and how he relays them to others through his books. Don approached me in a crowded, public forum, in front of my staff, he was not invited, nor introduced. But he had a notice for me, and it was personal. He blurted out the message, and I knew what he was talking about immediately. Nearly 20 years had passed since my life changing experience, but all of the emotions I'd had from it, as well as my shock that an absolute stranger knew anything so personal about me, shook me to my core. I've seen other remarks from those who call him a fraud on the web, but I will voluntarily, without being asked, nor in any form, place forth my testimony to affirm that he does have knowledge of those things held secret by others. He told me my notice didn't come from him, and I know he was being truthful, as I don't believe humans are supernaturally endowed without assistance. I cannot verify from where any man obtains info regarding another's unspoken secrets, but I can tell you Don Piper's intentions are to support others, as he did me. I know from private experience he is trying to explain truths which defy words to portray them. Read his books, I have, and while not a power himself, he certainly has encountered them, and regardless of what we wish to hear or believe, he is trying his best to explain that part of the truth to which he has been witness. There is always something to be learned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is Real: Lessons on Earthly Joy - from the Man Who Spent 90 Minutes in Heaven []  2020-1-19 22:34

    Not a reader but loving these books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is Real: Lessons on Earthly Joy - from the Man Who Spent 90 Minutes in Heaven []  2020-1-19 22:34

    After reading 90 Mins in Heaven, I turned immediately to Heaven is True as I required more reassuring knowledge to rebuild my belief in Heaven. In my review of Don Piper's 90 Mins in Heaven, I explained how my globe had been turned upside down by my husband's taking his own life latest March. I first heard about both books a month or so ago when a local TV station's morning present anchor did an audio interview with Pastor Piper. I watch small TV, and the morning present is on more for company than anything else as I prepare for either my parttime job or for a day at home. However, as I was walking through the livingroom on that day, something created me stop to close attention to the interview. When it was over, I yelled and cried simultaneously in front of my husband's picture, "Heaven IS real! We will be together again after all. Wait for me!" Just Piper's words were overwhelmingly inspiring, so I went on line and ordered both books right then. After reading them, I can honestly say that my faith and belief in Heaven has been restored. Oh, I still have my "down" days, much as Pastor Piper has had his since his return to earth, but I am finally beginning to find for my "new normal" as he calls the life I am left with. The old life with my husband is gone for now, but someday he'll be waiting at those golden, pearly gates to keep my hand in love once again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heaven Is Real: Lessons on Earthly Joy - from the Man Who Spent 90 Minutes in Heaven []  2020-1-19 22:34

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Is a Flight Attendant Career Right for You?: 2018 Edition []  2019-12-23 20:9

    Decided that Flight Attendant is not for me. I will not be persuading a career in this field. Very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Is a Flight Attendant Career Right for You?: 2018 Edition []  2019-12-23 20:9

    This book was not only informative but also eye opening in the respect that flight attendants work harder than the general public can fathom. From info on the scale to the hiring process and all of its qualifications the author does not mince words. Definitely a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Is a Flight Attendant Career Right for You?: 2018 Edition []  2019-12-23 20:9

    This product was of no use to me, really does not give sample answers to questions interviewers would ask. Not worth the I spent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Movie History: A Survey: Second Edition []  2020-1-26 22:13

    Love this book. Would definitely again from this company or recommend to a friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Movie History: A Survey: Second Edition []  2020-1-26 22:13

    cheaper than the school bookstore. used for class.. fresh and clean.... I really do not have anything else to say

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Movie History: A Survey: Second Edition []  2020-1-26 22:13

    Bought this for my Son's use in college and he is making amazing use of this book. He says it's an interesting book- finished reading it in a few hours.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Aviation []  2019-12-18 20:5

    This informative picture book is a excellent method to teach kids about various aircrafts. Each page is filled with illustrations and info that boys will wish to read over and over again. A excellent book for children fascinated with airplanes. I also think military families will search this book exceptionally interested by children, especially families with servicemen and women in the airforce.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Aviation []  2019-12-18 20:5

    This is various from other alphabet books because it focuses solely on aviation and because it has the NATO alphabet as well. This was a amazing method to learn some fun facts AND the ABCs. The pictures were really nice too and I would recommend the book to all fans of ever, I had to simplify as I read it to my 4-year-old

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Activist []  2020-1-29 17:46

    I'd never seen propaganda published for toddlers until I found this book, which is all that and worse.Why, you may ask, and rightly so. Questioning everything is always a amazing thing, but only to establish the facts of a case, what is true, what is not, what to do about it (if anything), and so r toddlers, though, these ideas far too huge and advanced to understand, as are a lot of of the concepts in this book. Which is why it is nothing but propaganda.If you obtain children little enough reciting words and phrases like activist, corporate vultures, megaphones, marching, organize, you obtain children with cemented thinking and nothing else. They will be less likely, not more, to decide things for themselves, to determine the course of their lives, to think and answer l of which, I suppose, is the reason to begin the propaganda push before children can even ride a bicycle.Cement their minds into a rigid position that disables their abilities to think for themselves for a long long time, and maybe forever. That's what totalitarian societies do. Parents and teachers in societies should not. Unlike children in totalitarian societies, kids in democracies have the right to learn everything and anything they'd ddler books should be about concrete things and easy concepts, not concrete philosophical ideas that would take at least a high school reading level to understand even 's downright depressing but this book is intended to produce children to spout off slogans rather than teach them to consider each thing and idea on its own merits or present that life is unbelievable because of what we create of is is the kind of thing one might have found in the former Soviet Union. It's for you if you wish to produce a rubber-stamped, brainwashed child unable to think for him or herself, and to begin additional early.But if you wish to support you children analyze things now and forever, I would tear this book in bits and throw its pages in the nearest paper recycling bin.When your children are old enough, in other words, not when they are still toddlers, teach them that A is for Analyze.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Activist []  2020-1-29 17:46

    I bought this book for my son, and there are parts of it that are wonderful. The illustrations are attractive and overall it does a amazing job of introducing a lot of justice concepts to young children. However, I think it struggles with not knowing its me pages are excellent for the board-book set. The "K" page - "Kings are fine for storytime/knights are fun to play/but when we create decisions/we will choose the people's way" - is one of my favorites. It's a great, age-appropriate introduction to anti-imperialism. The "W" page has an absolutely attractive poem about celebrating diversity. Several pages have a very lyrical rhythm to the writing that reminds me of rap melody or spoken word poetry and is very fun to read.Others, however, aren't really age appropriate. The "R" page, for example, uses a facetious/sarcastic tone that is method beyond the understanding of young children, especially when it's such a departure from the tone of the rest of the book. The "S" page has a amazing small poem celebrating solar power, but follows it up with "silly selfish scoundrels sucking on dinosaur sludge? Boo! Hiss!", a line I could easily imagine leading to a rather upsetting conversation for a sensitive preschooler, since right now the vast majority of families simply don't have access to fully sustainable power sources. The "D" page references, and is solely illustrated by, the donkey/elephant symbols of American party politics, which besides being internationally limiting is method over the heads of the target audience.On the more academic side of things, there's the problem that this is, ostensibly, an *alphabet* book. The page for "U" - which says "U is for..." for several "W" words before correcting itself - drives my teacher sensibilities crazy. Ditto for the illustration for the "T" page, which doesn't depict any of the objects-starting-with-T that the text lists.And while I wouldn't take off stars just for this, I do think there was a missed opportunity here for some parent education...I'd have loved to see a page in the back listing brief descriptions of the people mentioned in the text. There were some I'm not familiar with, and a small more to go on for looking them up would have been useful (there are several names on the "J" page, in particular, that I'm not sure if they're meant to reference specific individuals or not).It's a amazing concept, and overall I like it and intend to hold it on my bookshelf, but I'm definitely bummed about the varying quality of writing from one page to the next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Activist []  2020-1-29 17:46

    I found this at my school (I’m a teacher) and immediately ordered it for my future children. It’s iconic, perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Activist []  2020-1-29 17:46

    Shouldn’t we focus on teaching our young preschoolers empathy and proactive issue solving and focus less on anger and strife? The globe is an poor place, and yes we need to teach our children to support change it, but they are still children and it’s also our job to protect them from poor things, at least to an extent. I don’t think calling for violent revolution and demeaning the opposition do y huge buzzwords are used that will thrill and excite the reader, but young listeners will be lost. There are no explanations for the long strings of words far beyond the preschool ’s a lovely notice that should have perhaps been formatted and presented for a older age group with a more sophisticated sense of right and wrong.I must say I much prefer Counting on Community and the method it normalized proactive steps and highlights the good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Activist []  2020-1-29 17:46

    I really appreciate this book- the colourful pictures and the necessary education and messages it provides. My only complaint is that the letters are hidden on some pages and for a two year old learning his alphabet, its a bit hard to search some of the letters that are hidden in illustrations. But- I still give it FIVE STARS! It will stay in his collection of books and we can discuss what each item means on each page as he continues to develop!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Aviation []  2019-12-18 20:5

    A amazing huge nothing burger. Not much else to say, had to think hard to meet the ten word limit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Aviation []  2019-12-18 20:5

    A is for aviation is a very entertaining book that is also tremendously didactic.I think the idea of ​​taking ​​the alphabet to with the topic of aviation and air transport is a success. I am very satisfied because this book has created my children curious about airplanes, and they have realized that there are a lot of and very lustrations are very beautiful, they support a lot to present the differences between the planes. In addition, texts are instructive but short, and very entertaining, with a very warm typography.We liked the book a lot!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Aviation []  2019-12-18 20:5

    My husband is an aerospace engineer so I loved reading this book with my daughter. It is excellent since it has both the NATO alphabet and aviation examples. We homeschool so this is excellent to integrate into our lessons. Going to the handwriting activity book now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Aviation []  2019-12-18 20:5

    This book is excellent for the small pilot or astronaut in your life. While it is designed like most alphabet books it also contains the NATO alphabet as well. It is excellent for older kids due to some of the advance vocabulary. However, younger kids will have fun it as well due to the unbelievable pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Activist []  2020-1-29 17:46

    Philosophy must always be critiqued. It is a important part of the process of determining the ethics of chosen a work. Do not fool yourselves, A is for activist is a work of philosophy, albeit, a sophomoric build on a Hegelian epistemology. For this reason, it should not be considered a work for children, unless the writer intended to propagate Kant’s corruption of noumena, by disguising reality and introducing phenomena as a priori. The work fails, even under Kant’s requirements of reason to create a valuable determination of the nature of humanism. This review cannot assume the reason for this, because it is not possible to fully understand the writer’s epistemology and thus the review has no tool by which to measure how the conflicts and confused notions can co-exist amongst its e book's layout is an attempt to show a way of learning the alphabet for whom we must assume to be children. Each page is dedicated to a single letter such as “A is for…” as the title implies and goes all the method to the letter “Z”. By the letter “B” the book is already advocating the destruction of other people’s property, by suggesting an ‘activist’ (defined on the letter “A” page) when disagreeing with someone’s personal practices is entitled to stop their business and force them to listen. The picture depicts a banner hung from what looks to be a crane. It is highly doubtful that the so-called activist will (or rent) an expensive piece of building equipment just to hang a homemade banner from. Yet, to present the absence of a logical reason based epistemology, the letter “C” indicates it means to cooperate. Within three pages of this so-called educational book, it has already proved it is not based on a metaphysics of reality, but dances inside Kant’s phenomenal world, where only emotions are moral truth. Only Kant and through Hegel, are emotions a measure of reality. No metaphysics worth its salt would leave reality out of the equation with trying to determine what is e book is rife with anti-human ideals; such as political dominance by a perceived idea of majority (D is for) even when no such majority actually exists; notion of equal rights (E is for) except when someone else’s idea of rights is opposite to your own (B is for, M is for, N is for, O is for, P is for, and Z is for).What is missing from the book? F is for Freedom, an axiomatic notion: the a priori value of self and the right to own all of your own ideas: even those opposed by others. H is for Humanism, the love of humanity even when it is various from your own. L is for Liberty, the authority over your ideas, even if they fall outside the perception of a thing calling itself a majority.And most of all it is missing:A is for anarchy: which is from the greek, composed of two words: “an” meaning without and “arkhos” meaning ruler; no rulers only the self. A book about activism is no book at all unless it stems from the center of the soul of the writer. True activism comes from their own atmosphere and loves others regardless of their views. Activism is humanism, not the advocation of theft, violence, and destruction of other people’s is book is not a children’s book, it is propaganda with a tone of force on others. As is clear with the tone, voice, and words for the letter O that suggests when others impose systems that you disagree with that it is okay to agitate and organize. There is nothing individual or in the nature of being human in that statement. The title should have been "A is for absolutism, it is our method or else"To close, A is for activist is a philosophical work in the vain of Saul Alinsky and all anti-natural, anti-humanist communists. This book should be added to your library to support teach your children. It can be used to present them how propaganda is not education, it is not critical thinking and it is not, most importantly, about self-responsibility and the natural rights of men.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Activist []  2020-1-29 17:46

    I should have read it prior to buying. It is not a quality book. Some of the descriptions are weird. Also, it had jicama listed under letter "h". I wouldn't recommend. I gave it three stars though because some of the pages are informative and might spark interesting conversation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Airplane/A es para avion (Alphabet Books) (Multilingual Edition) []  2020-1-16 8:5

    Me gusta el libro y al bebito le gusta ambient. Me gusta como incluye la letra "ñ". Dice, "ñ es para ñame." en espanol y "ñame means yam." en ingles.I like this book and the baby does too. I like how it contains the letter "ñ". It says, "ñ es para ñame." in Spanish and "ñame means yam." in English.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A is for Airplane/A es para avion (Alphabet Books) (Multilingual Edition) []  2020-1-16 8:5

    So they choose words that start with the same letter in both English and Spanish. But it doesn’t work all the time like W- Washington D.C. or X- xylophone. Amazing book still

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386