hidden history of milwaukee Reviews & Opinions


Submit hidden history of milwaukee review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hidden History of the Supreme Court and the Betrayal of America: The Thom Hartmann Hidden History Series review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    I'm 72 years old and regret not reading more over the years. Thom Harman's book helps fill in some of the blanks. For example, the Vietnam battle kept going longer than needed. Nixon's presidential aspirations needed keeping it going, so he struck a deal to cause the battle to linger longer. For a Vietnam veteran, that's amazing to know. I read this before, and now I have it in this handy small book. Of course, the courts have center-stage Hartman makes clear, we, our grandchildren, face an "existential crisis" in the form of human-caused global warming. The fossil fuel industry has a role in shaping courts of the 21st century, as they have a role in climate deception and 415 ppm CO2 atmospheric density, and climbing rapidly. Brushing up on the history of our courts should serve well, then, to explain climate deception, in part. Like, how did corporations gain personhood, and how did cash in politics become a form of free speech?Mr. Hartman's writing gets to the critical history a lot of baby boomers , here's an essential book to both remind us and enlighten us for the this book and read it, share it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hidden History of the Supreme Court and the Betrayal of America: The Thom Hartmann Hidden History Series review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    A amazing must-read, because reality. Well-documented, with a powerful human rights perspective. Read it and weep, or let's do something about it while we can.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hidden History of the Supreme Court and the Betrayal of America: The Thom Hartmann Hidden History Series review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    Fabulous book! Very educational. My husband loved it!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on hidden history of milwaukee or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch hidden history of milwaukee video reviews and related movies:

    See Hidden History of Milwaukee on youtube.

     related image

    See Sasquatch, Spirituality, And Hidden History W/ Kewaunee Lapseritis on youtube.

     related image

    See Juneau's Hidden History - [email protected] on youtube.

     related image

    See The Milwaukee Secret Treasure on youtube.

     related image

    See MILWAUKEE TOOLS The DISTURBING TRUTH Behind Their SUCCESS on youtube.

     related image

    See Milwaukee Tools, A Brief History (aka Milwaukee Electric Tool) on youtube.

     related image

    See Inside the pervasive pimp culture in Milwaukee on youtube.

     related image

    See The Milwaukee Bridge War on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hidden History of the Supreme Court and the Betrayal of America: The Thom Hartmann Hidden History Series review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    Thanks for offering this book at a fair price!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hidden History of the Supreme Court and the Betrayal of America: The Thom Hartmann Hidden History Series review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    FULL DISCLOSURE - I did not read this book. Reading the jacket’s description of the author’s legal theory is enough. It’s disconcerting that anyone would write a book (especially in these times) that suggests that Marbury v Madison was wrongly decided. This seminal case locations a check on legislative abuses that conflict with constitutional protections. If it weren’t for Marbury v. Madison, there would be no Roe v. Wade or Loving v. Virginia. US civil rights cases that have held statutes unconstitutional in an effort to protect people from states’ abuses of power would never have had result under this theory. And states would have continued to abuse minoritized populations. It is Marbury v Madison that breathes life into our Bill of a rights. Without Marbury, we’d have no method to enforce these rights. Gideon v Wainwright comes to mind. The First Amendment as well. For when a constitutional amendment says, for example, “a state shall create no law...” the implication is that it serves as a regulation on state legislatures. Who else but the USSC could be the final arbiter of what the Constitution means? Or, on whether such conduct constitutes a violation of the constitution? After all, the Constitution does accord that right to the US Supreme Court. This writer might claim to be progressive, but there is something to be said for those who might have moved so far left that they now stand on the right.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hidden History of the Supreme Court and the Betrayal of America: The Thom Hartmann Hidden History Series review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    The Hidden History of the Supreme Court is a must read for those who wish to understand the history of the Supreme Court and its impact on American democratic society, especially in the aftermath of the Reagan Revolution. Author Thom Hartman is one of America’s foremost social critics and progressive talk present hosts. I watch his tv present on Free Speech TV and have read at least one of his prior books, so I was satisfied to pick up a copy of his recent book. It was an interesting read and Hartman makes a compelling case that the Supreme Court has set itself above the congress and president with power to review, strike down, or rewrite laws based on its own omas Jefferson, method back in 1803, called the Supreme Court a despotic branch. The book provides comprehensive facts and evidence showing that T.J. was right during that time and would be right today. Jefferson believed that the framers had empowered the Supreme Court for only two reasons: (1) to hear disputes between individual states and foreign countries and (2) to serve as the final court of appeals. The Constitution does not say that the Supreme Court has the power to decide what is or not constitutional or to strike down or modify laws or policies for US..Chief Justice John Marshall, appointed by Federalist John Adams, said it was the duty of the judicial department to say what the law is (or means). Marshall’s ruling in Marbury V Madison declared that the Court’s powers included interpreting the meaning of the Constitution and applying that interpretation to federal legislation. Jefferson’s response: “Those who control the law, control the nation. Marshall has place himself and fellow justices above both Congress and President.” Jefferson believed the Congress has the power of exception and regulation of the S.C. in Article III, Section 2, of the Constitution.Hartman’s central thesis is that the Supreme Court has always sided with the wealthy, powerful, and corporate versus the poor, weak, and individual. The Court’s decisions have struck down laws passed by Congress and signed by the president via a process called judicial review. Hartman, like Jefferson, argues that the founders never intended for the Court to have that much power. He believes the modern-day corruption of the Court has its roots deep in a memo prepared in 1971 by Lewis Powell. To Powell, who later became a Chief Justice, nothing was more necessary than freeing the very rich and their corporations from the shackles of regulation that prevented them from outright owning politicians and the political process.Powell’s memo was soon place to work in a series of pro-plutocratic decisions which has subverted the democracy and brought us to an oligarchic form of society. In the 1972 decision Buckley V Valeo, the Court ruled that political cash is speech – implying that those who have more cash have more free speech in our political system. In Hartman’s words: “The immediate goal of the Powell Memo was to have huge corporations and billionaires fund an ideological machine that could capture the US government. The short-term goal was to halt environmental and consumer protections championed by Rachel Carson and Ralph Nader. The system Powell advocated was oligarchy.” (page 33)In the 1978 decision, First National Bank of Boston V Bellotti, Lewis Powell authored the decision that overturned state restrictions on corporate political spending, saying such restrictions violated the First Amendment. The 2010 Citizens United ruling essentially handed our elections over to the highest bidder. Political corruption of everything was thus assured. (page 33)The Supreme Court had invented the doctrines of corporate personhood and cash is free speech, leading to a corrupted system. The Court’s rulings fundamentally changed the US political system and opened it up to an unlimited amount of campaign spending from hidden sources. (page 51) “With the Powell Memo, cultural and religious conservatives joined up with the billionaires and business class to recapture functional control of the Supreme Court as a much easier method to seize power than messy elections.” (page 42) That has brought us to where we are today: Republicans must victory elections at all costs and hold their politicians in office in order to continue appointing more supreme court and federal is is a well-researched and written book. I highly-recommend it to anyone who wants a better understanding of the political, economic and religious forces that have corrupted our political system and now threaten our constitutional republic. The Supreme Court has been in the forefront of all this change that has wrought corruption and oligarchy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Hidden History of the Supreme Court and the Betrayal of America: The Thom Hartmann Hidden History Series review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    Be wary- very smart people (the MOST intelligent, usually) that never have to actually participate in the production of anything of value (labor, invention, entrepreneurship) tend to mentally live in a globe of theoretical, where an idea enters their head, they imagine the outcome, they become obsessed with seeing the outcome manifest but never let themselves to look at history for failed attempts at their "bold fresh ideas". Nothing is new, and due to a lack of experience in "real work", and a lack of experience with the "labor class", these types of ideologues are never hit in the face with the reality of how murderously poorly their ideas would manifest.If you love a amazing fantasy book though, this is the one for you. Re-invent history to persuade people versus their own interests. Fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Useless App. Nothing can be done with it. Once you test to look up a museum or so then it comes back with an error that I have no permission. Nowhere is anything in the Application to obtain a permission. Absolutely a waste of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Amazing application :) very user friendly and has some amazing locations to visit

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Does not work. When opening the application it says no data. The map never load's and the find bar doesn't even work when clicking it nothing happens.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    I just downloaded this application today and it is not working at all. Do you know when the problems may be fixed?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Amazing application for discovering history in London

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Waste of time does not load anything or just says no data!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    I would describe my user as 'short-lived' & 'disappointing'. Application installed i opened it & was greeted with 'no data'. Clicked on 'download maps' menu option, & assumed that was the solution to 'no data'. Clicked on it & the application crashed, hanging w/ the circling worm. Later with application closed it sent a giant add covering the top & side boarders of the phone. This caused the desktop application to crash as well. Boo.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    One of the best apps to the date in this category. Withr the GPS, it shows remarkable facts that happened in a chosen place. You can navigate subjects in a attractive magazine-style way, through text find or directly in the map. The interface is polished and fluid. Texts are solidly researched and written. Map displays dinamically necessary details. For now it covers the London area, but expansions are planned. A must have for lovers of unusual and astonishing sights from the History.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    I dont know if I am useing it corectly but I do no that it is lagy and slow for me it worked but slowly. i do not recomend getting this application if you have avrage or below avrage phone/tablet/i pad

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Update: developer addressing my concern, so 5 stars. Original: I want that the developer of this application had created it clearer in the description that the application focuses on UK history. would have saved me time, and avoid a '3 star' review for the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    This is so exciting. It's created me so inquisitive about where we live. Can't wait for more cities to come available! Application works smoothly and is filled with useful info. Definitely recommend to anyone heading into London.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    An essential tool that will greatly enhance your adventures through London. I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn and connect with the history that surrounds them!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Very informative and interesting app. Well laid out and simple to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Application does exactly what it offers!! I Love it! Looking forward to futher updates..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Really enjoyed using the app, Exactly as advertised. Saying a huge Thank You to the creators!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Unbelievable idea and application - looking forward to future developments!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Rubbish won't work on my Samsung

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Great!!! I Really Loved using the app..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Garbage , Total Garbage .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Every fkn article said i didnt have permission to read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    Amazing history and insight

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History review [App]  2020-2-2 22:44

    awesome idea!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Detroit review []  2020-1-29 17:13

    This book is nicely written and provided me with some info I did not know, most of it obscure. There isn't much to it, but it does lead one to realize that the issue with Detroit started with the begin of Detroit. Now, I don't wish to blame the French, me being of those French from early Fresh France, and Detroit, but it seems to be a common denominator here. One aspect that is really noticeable, is the lack of respect given to those who came before, and the drive for progress. I only wished that there would have been more informative info on other aspects of the amazing city; more depth. For instance, the history of Belle Isle and the growth of the town to the 5th most populated and wealthiest town in the country. Maybe how the auto industry changed the face of the planet, but there is no such info. It's just several names and their bio's. I am reading "Detroit: An American Autopsy" by Charlie LeDuff right now. I highly recommend it, if you are interested in the dirt on the D!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Detroit review []  2020-1-29 17:13

    As the author writes, Detroit has seen and continues to see flaws but there is something to learn from the past. The "bits and pieces" approach give small stories about the people and places. I have lived on the outskirts of Detroit for over 50 years and frequently go into the city. This book gave me the answers to why locations are named what they are and what the back story is on some well known spots. And who knew that the MotorCity was once a major factor in the tobacco industry? I know now!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Detroit review []  2020-1-29 17:13

    Recommend to those who live in Detroit and love history. This book takes you on an awesome journey back in time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Detroit review []  2020-1-29 17:13

    I grew up in Michigan and have always loved Detroit. It has a poor reputation, but is coming back. The book is about the cities rich history. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Detroit review []  2020-1-29 17:13

    I've live in the Detroit zone most of my life and search this book to be an interesting history of this amazing city. I even learned some things I wasn't familiar with and was reminded of other things I enjoyed while growing up here. A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Detroit review []  2020-1-29 17:13

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book from cover to cover. It was witty and interesting and I learned so much about Detroit. I thought Ms. Bragg did a unbelievable job and look forward to reading more of her books on Detroit.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Detroit review []  2020-1-29 17:13

    I ordered a whole slew of Detroit history books. In the collection, this was the "sleeper" that is to say, this one was method better than I would have thought. Ms. Bragg is a very talented writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Detroit review []  2020-1-29 17:13

    This book is a casual narrative of Detroit's historical heroes. I am enjoying it immensely.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Detroit review []  2020-1-29 17:13

    A number of anecdotes that seem to generate more questions than they answer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Detroit review []  2020-1-29 17:13

    Although not what I was looking for, she pulls off what she was trying to. Detroit is full of statues in parks that people walk by and have no idea who this dude was. The story behind some of these people is quite interesting indeed, true characters. It is also cool to learn how Detroit got started at all, before the auto industry ( fur trading etc ). It is my impression that Detroit is doomed, but the author has a very upbeat attitude about the pluckiness of Detroiters, and hopefully she is right, and it will recover from being the God-forsaken violent wasteland that it is now.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Sarasota review []  2020-2-6 22:53

    Bought it for a bonus for a friend. She seemed satisfied with it. I did look through it and I think it was well written. I did not read it thoroughly. My mate had met the author which created her very happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Sarasota review []  2020-2-6 22:53

    very good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Sarasota review []  2020-2-6 22:53

    While the anecdotes are often interesting, there is no historical framework to keep them together. Amazing stories but no history

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Sarasota review []  2020-2-6 22:53

    Jumps around a lot, but a fun read. A lot of short stories about how Sarasota got to be what it is today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Sarasota review []  2020-2-6 22:53

    After visiting John and Mabel Ringling's Estate and museum I was very interested in more history of Sarasota, Fl.. This is a beautiful cool book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Sarasota review []  2020-2-6 22:53

    Reading this book is like sorting through a jumbled box of very old photographs and post cards, roughly in chronological order and with a surprise in every stack of a few you lift out of the box. It's absolutely fascinating to drive around in downtown Sarasota today and realize that "this put right here" is where ... The happening described in the book took put 70-80-90 years ago. Jeff LaHurd does a amazing job on the vignettes. A small more chronological order would have been better for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Sarasota review []  2020-2-6 22:53

    The “Hidden History of Sarasota” was an okay book. There were a lot of interesting facts about the town of Sarasota I learned about. My chief problem with this book is the method it was written and formatted. The method its written created the topic sound boring and there was no creative flair to the writing. Nothing grabbed my attention. This was more of a textbook, than a captivating account. I want the author would’ve gone in and showed a small more creativity with the writing to attract readers. If you are interested in Sarasota, I still would recommend the book but don’t go in expecting an awesome read either.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Sarasota review []  2020-2-6 22:53

    This is a very amazing compilation of the history of Sarasota. Having grown up there I recognized a lot of of the names and places.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Sarasota review []  2020-2-6 22:53

    I bought this as a show for my wife, who grew up in Sarasota. She and her dad both thought it was great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Auburn review []  2020-2-8 18:43

    I really enjoyed this book. I am a 1971 graduate and love Auburn. I regret spending all my time studying and not taking in the things written about in this book. Want I could do it over again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Auburn review []  2020-2-8 18:43

    Interesting facts

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Auburn review []  2020-2-8 18:43

    It was a amazing read. Besides, I was hppay to see Virginia Tech's name was mentioned in the mascot part as I went to both schools. I would like to point out one small typo though: in the second to latest paragraph of page 82, it can't be 1846 for both dates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Auburn review []  2020-2-8 18:43

    Bought for son-in-law. He loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Auburn review []  2020-2-8 18:43

    Fast delivery, Love it! is a keepsake

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Auburn review []  2020-2-8 18:43

    Gave as bonus and was very well recieved. Simple read with pics and amazing Auburn secrets. Very cool book for an Auburn alumn/fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Auburn review []  2020-2-8 18:43

    All of my family went to Auburn so after seeing Kelly Kazek mention this book on Facebook, I had to purchase it for my sister. She read the whole book at one time! The book brought back a lot of memories of The Loveliest Village of the Plains. I'm sure she has received a lot of more ideas for this book since she wrote it! I know several.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Auburn review []  2020-2-8 18:43

    Kelly's wonderfully funny and touching story of Auburn is a amazing read. Kelly makes AU history come alive. Battle Eagle!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Auburn review []  2020-2-8 18:43

    Amazing for Auburn fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Auburn review []  2020-2-8 18:43

    Birthday bonus for my dad

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Old Charleston review []  2020-1-29 4:19

    This is not by any means a coherent, readable history; it is a random assemblage of unrelated, arcane tales of small interest, even to the historian, poorly written. I'm not sure how it could have been edited, as it includes numerous mechanical and factual errors (e.g., on p. 59, the authors assert that "one in every fourteen, or a staggering 35 percent" of Charleston men who fought for the Confedracy were killed or lost in action. Do the math.) Fortress Monroe is written "Munro." There are a lot of more. But most importantly, there is small to learn from this beside a few lengthy accounts of minor family events, duels, and different buildings. There are much better histories of Charleston out there, notably Walter J. Fraser, Jr.'s superb Charleston! Charleston! The History of a Southern City.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Old Charleston review []  2020-1-29 4:19

    Nothing unique about this book what so ever. This book pledges that it will teach you some "unknown" history about Charleston. On the contrary, this book is, at best, a scrambled rambling of a tired old broad who is past her station in life. The facts throughout this book are slightly factual at best. The book claims to portray stories that are untold, however, the stories told in " said volume" are based all in a pretentious convoluted globe which Mrs. Middleton (Because her name is synonymous with the local gentry thinks she has some sort of persuasion) are folklore at best. Honestly the worst compilation of Charleston knowledge I have ever read. This book is a disgrace to the history of the people of Charleston. This book is nothing but the ramblings of a self-indulged over privileged woman who thinks just because she possess the name Middleton she is entitled to some sort of opinion. Cannot even grace the reader with the continuity of the golden era of charleston. Chapter 2 the sons of liberty was the worst chapter of any book i have ever read. Do not buy this book. Atrocious. Honestly as a Charleston local, 7 generation native I have never been as disgusted as I have reading this book. Seriously, Marget Middleton go jump in the Ashley river with no life preserver

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Old Charleston review []  2020-1-29 4:19

    Ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Old Charleston review []  2020-1-29 4:19

    Lots of amazing facts here that underlie the history of a attractive old town and surrounding area. A amazing read if you're familiar with the zone - Or wish to be!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Old Charleston review []  2020-1-29 4:19

    Interesting but difficult to follow. This book focuses more on people from old Charleston rather than the history of the town itself. It was tough to follow because it jumps around a lot telling stories about a lot of various Charlestonians. Still a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Old Charleston review []  2020-1-29 4:19

    No. Just no.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Old Charleston review []  2020-1-29 4:19

    Great!!! I'll be back!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Old Charleston review []  2020-1-29 4:19

    Charleston's history is deep and this book is the newest contribution to that history. From family archives there come very interesting stories about different families in Charleston.I highly recommend it if you a lover of history. Amazing source material and well researched and compiled.I will admit however a bit of bias as I am a descendent of several of the families written about in the book. These were stories I was raised on and it is unbelievable to finally see them in print!.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Old Charleston review []  2020-1-29 4:19

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of Old Charleston review []  2020-1-29 4:19

    I'm from Charleston, parents are from Charleston, grandparents and great-grandparents from Charleston... This is merely mildly interesting to me. Cannot imagine anyone else would care...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of the Florida Keys review []  2020-1-29 17:16

    “Hidden History of the Florida Keys” is a amazing book on the Florida Keys. I learned a lot of things that I didn’t know about before reading the book. In particular, the treasure hunting and Key West historic preservation chapters were eye-opening and informative as well as the first two chapters that give a historical point of view of what life in Key West was like all those years ago. I recommend this book for your dose on Florida Keys history!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of the Florida Keys review []  2020-1-29 17:16

    A fun history of the Florida keys with some info of colourful characters that called the keys home during its colourful development. I learned a lot. It was simple to read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of the Florida Keys review []  2020-1-29 17:16

    This is a unbelievable book, beautifully written and well researched. Amazing for anyone loving history, Florida and the Keys! Also amazing for bonus giving. I loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of the Florida Keys review []  2020-1-29 17:16

    Interesting book with some Keys history I did not know. I lead historic bicycle yours of Key West, so this is gold!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of the Florida Keys review []  2020-1-29 17:16

    A amazing read. Being born and raised in Miami I still can't obtain enough of the history of my beloved keys and this book has so a lot of amazing stories it's hard to place down. A must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of the Florida Keys review []  2020-1-29 17:16

    bought as a gift, which they loved

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of the Florida Keys review []  2020-1-29 17:16

    Well written colourful stories about the early movers and shakers in the Florida Keys. Lots of pictures of how it was then.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of the Florida Keys review []  2020-1-29 17:16

    If you are even browsing this title, it means you must be a lover of the Florida Keys and their history. So you already know it’s a history full of romantics, eccentrics, schemers and often dubious dealings. This is a collection of ten tales of such characters or dealings. The title is a small misleading, as the stories are more forgotten than hidden, in the sense of being scandalous. But that doesn’t create them less interesting. From duelists to treasure hunters - not the one you think - to dreaming developers, I am sure that there is something here to surprise even the most knowledgeable Keys buff. The final chapter, about how the show day charm of Old City Key West was engineered by a little group of dedicated locals, could and should be a book in itself. So take the plunge on this carefully researched effort that brings back to life some vivid characters unfairly hidden by the mists of time!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of the Florida Keys review []  2020-1-29 17:16

    For nearly two centuries the Florida Keys has dazzled and dumbfounded us with its tales of peculiar people and often renowned events. Here Laura Albritton and Jerry Wilkinson have researched and assembled the very best stories, and retold and added to them with remarkable style. In the ten wonderfully written chapters there are the usual crooked businessmen (and women), straight and narrow soldiers, shifty treasure hunters, tavern tenders, exotic dancers, and numerous other hard and soft workers. The Keys are also a trove of attractive and wide-ranging architecture that the authors contain in numerous images throughout the book. The notes, bibliography, and index are first-rate and thorough. Certainly this is one of the best and sharply focused books on FL history that is out there today, and a fun and very informative read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden History of the Florida Keys review []  2020-1-29 17:16

    This history of the Florida Keys, written in an elegant narrative style, is a amazing method to learn more about that unbelievable area. Somewhat reminiscent of the focus of the late Gene Burnett's 3-volume set of Florida histories - quirky stories that present the true Florida - but set in the Keys and much more interesting and relevant to the show time. Albritton and Wilkinson create a very amazing team. Wilkinson's memories and research along with Albritton's research and writing, just can't be beat. Thanks for a really amazing method to learn Florida history!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1804: The Hidden History of Haiti review []  2020-2-7 21:34

    This documentary about the Haitian Revolution is long overdue. Thank you Tariq Nasheed for bringing it to fruition. For those who think that this movie is somehow bashing a certain race of people, obtain over yourselves. This is not a work of fiction, it is history. He's re-telling a TRUE story, of how....for once, African slaves actually stood up for themselves and WON. If that bothers you, then this documentary is not for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1804: The Hidden History of Haiti review []  2020-2-7 21:34

    I contributed to this film as well as went to the theater latest night to see it! It was wonderful! I left the theater knowing why the dominant society is so incessant with their strategies to hold all Africans down as a people! This film along with ALL the Hidden Colors series should be shown over and over again in our homes and schools. It will build up the self-esteem that has been literally/figuratively beaten out of our people and to take real pride in our special and undeniable talents/strengths! Thank you Brother Tariq and Cast for your professional and accurate info/execution of this most necessary movie! Can't wait to keep my DVD!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1804: The Hidden History of Haiti review []  2020-2-7 21:34

    Another watershed moment in Black history . 1804 the history of Haiti is the quintessential documentary explaining in amazing detail about the Haitian Revolution . All I have to say is buy this documentary, do not bootleg it , buy it . Thank you again brother Tariq Nasheed for bringing us the truth about our history . We cannot wait for the dominant society to dictate the narrative we must tell our own unapologetic history. The reason the Haitian revolution was omitted in history books, is because the Haitians successfully defeated the Europeans using the African spiritual system known as voodoo. they were outgunned with those Haitians summing up the power of the ancestors and defeated the enemy. But don't wish to spoil it for you all, obtain this documentary and allow us begin patronizing our black filmmakers so our story will be told in truth and Justice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1804: The Hidden History of Haiti review []  2020-2-7 21:34

    First of all, you just cant view this just one time. You have to view it 3 or 4 times just to allow all this history sink in. This dvd should be in every black history classroom and every melanated family home on the planet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1804: The Hidden History of Haiti review []  2020-2-7 21:34

    I really enjoyed watching this DVD. The fact that the creators of hidden colors decided to give Haiti credit as pioneers and present that we have a history of bravery and powerful spirits while at a time of oppression shows that this goes beyond nationality. Haiti's history IS black history. A lot of interesting info provided and well told. Very accurate, I might add. I suggest that everyone continue to help their movement of educating black youth about their history globally.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1804: The Hidden History of Haiti review []  2020-2-7 21:34

    This is a must see for those who are interested in the untold history of Haiti, and how it similar to happenings in America and France at the time. The backlash they received from the powers that be and how they are still suffering repercussions from those historical happenings up to now. There are a lot of untold histories of the Americas that the mainstream historians refuse to deal with, or only superficially. Tariq Nasheed did a amazing service to Africans throughout the diaspora by putting together this work, and his previous Hidden Histories. By watching this work and the others, the general public might be able to better understand part of the reason why Haiti is in the condition it is in today. It is clearly no accident. Well worth watching.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1804: The Hidden History of Haiti review []  2020-2-7 21:34

    Koupe Tet, Boule Kay!!! Love my country and love our history. A people of strength. This dvd does a amazing job covering our courage and explaining why we are not a healthy country today due to the constant negative impact of the European globe powers. They could never let a Black Country to present the Blacks of the globe that we can do it alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1804: The Hidden History of Haiti review []  2020-2-7 21:34

    Amazing Movie! Loved Every Second Of It! A Must See!!! Tariq Nasheed Really Did His Thing On This Movie. I Have Showed This Film To My Wife & Children and They Loved It Also. A++++++++ Amazing Visuals & Reenactments.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1804: The Hidden History of Haiti review []  2020-2-7 21:34

    Another amazing documentary from Tariq Nasheed, every film seems to obtain better. The advantage this movie has over the hidden colors movies is that it tells a story instead of following a narrative. This is truly Tariq's best movie to date 5 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1804: The Hidden History of Haiti review []  2020-2-7 21:34

    Amazing documentary! Haiti's history is so rich and is neglected on purpose. It's the most true of the "freedom or death" battles in the past because the Haitian people were enslaved and would rather die fighting for their freedom than continue on with the greatest evil ever committed by mankind, slavery. It's wonderful to think the actions committed by a few creatures in the past still affect us to this day but it highlights how truly heinous and destructive slavery was. Humans beings were born and died enslaved.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What is Migration History? (What is History?) review []  2020-3-30 18:51

    My son did well this term at college, so the book must have done something. I had no first hand experience with it. I had it shipped to him, and that worked just fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Heir: A Hidden Novel (The Hidden Saga Book 10) review []  2020-1-20 19:31

    This story is about as stressful of a read as you can find. From begin to finish your kept on the edge of your d and Ryann, the king and queen of the Light Elves, are expecting a baby. Not as simple feat for those with Elf blood. But Ryann has some human in her, so who knows if that was the l seems to be going well in their lives, until a Christmas shopping trip turns into a devastating kidnapping. From that point and onward the story is one of fear, searching, trying to search the least small clue of who has done this and where are Ryann and her unborn e Dark Elves and the Light Elves, the human authorities and anyone else who offers support is desperately needed. Frustration and worry consume Lad, their families and mates as time churns and nothing of Ryann's whereabouts ly a break surfaces, but now even more danger is realized concerning Ryann's and her baby's safety. Will both mother and baby be lost at the hands of this deranged kidnapper??An exceptionally heartbreaking series of happening makes the end of this story one that will hold your heart in your throat until the conclusion.Another Amy Patrick masterpiece!!!Kathy Barber Doyle - 1/10/2019

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Heir: A Hidden Novel (The Hidden Saga Book 10) review []  2020-1-20 19:31

    I loved all the various characters and how they all entwine. Getting to know each one specifically is nice. Culley was fav, then Wes and Alessia got me. Lol The ending was amazing in this series. Kind of felt like since this latest book was about a certain dark characters vendetta but we barely know anything about her like he did other characters. But I guess because the other characters all had a nice turnaround. I guess the reason (evil plan) didnt feel like a amazing excuse for a book. But also I finished this book in less than a day so ofcourse I still loved it. I love the original characters. The love Lad has is very strong. The first book had me laughing out loud! Lol I enjoyed the whole series! Amazing author. I wonder if another book #11 will be in the works because it didnt say this was the latest book. I think I would love to see the future in this series. Lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Heir: A Hidden Novel (The Hidden Saga Book 10) review []  2020-1-20 19:31

    One day I was bored and I entered Fb when suddenly I saw a publication that stared like this: He isn't supposed to even talk to a human, much less fall in lo with one.... And then a unbelievable landscape led you to some attractive green eyes hidden deep in the forest. And that's how after ten books I'm still here, in love with a magical hidden dear Amy, you always leave me wanting more of your unbelievable r the adults who are out there looking for a fresh book and getting lost in their words, allow me tell you that you will have a amazing time reading Hidden books. I like all kinds of reading,I'm fan of Cohelo, Dueñas ,Allende, Ruíz Zafón, Austen,Casa,S.Kong among a lot of other amazing authors. Now, the name of Amy Patrick is added to my ank you Amy for giving us your talent. I can't wait for your next story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Heir: A Hidden Novel (The Hidden Saga Book 10) review []  2020-1-20 19:31

    Per the usual in the whole series, just when you feel like things are finally going amazing for these characters... BAM... Something happens and throws a wrench in the with every "happy ever after", the characters that we have all come to know and love obtain through each challenge 'by the skin of their teeth' and the help of their friends. This book, like the others before it, takes you to the Hidden globe and leaves you wanting more and more. There are plenty of twists and turns and just when you think you have it figured out, something else happens.If you read this book, you will need to begin with book 1. At least 1-3 so that you have a decent foundation for this book... Although, reading the whole series is best as you shouldn't miss a word of this series or a moment in this world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Heir: A Hidden Novel (The Hidden Saga Book 10) review []  2020-1-20 19:31

    I dont leave reviews but I do read. A lot. I finished the whole 10 book series between Dec 25th and January 5th. It's an awesome series. I cant even describe how much I loved these books. You do learn how the romance will play out which some people dont like BUT you are never really sure how they will obtain there or how much they will have to go through to obtain there. Totally worth it and this latest book, especially the latest few chapters, had me on the edge of my seat, almost in tears. You can really feel and understand what the characters are going through. Loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Heir: A Hidden Novel (The Hidden Saga Book 10) review []  2020-1-20 19:31

    I’ve been a fan of Amy Patrick for years now and I was excited to hear this was coming out. As most of the previous books I got sucked in immediately! Absolutely adored this book even though I cried several times. But I expect that cuz I obtain very emotionally involved. I loved being able to spend more time with Lad And Ryann and feel like apart of their family. Again this is an awesome book, you won’t be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Heir: A Hidden Novel (The Hidden Saga Book 10) review []  2020-1-20 19:31

    With Lad just coming back home to his attractive wife, Ryann, is he being a small to over protective of his wife and unborn child. Lad has just return from a trip visiting other countries, and he saw how sick and troubled people are. So, he wants is wife to stay place and not worry about Christmas shopping.. However, with a small sweet talking Thank obtain her method and their lives are turned upside down in just one ense read! For those that love this series, you don't wish to miss this latest installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Heir: A Hidden Novel (The Hidden Saga Book 10) review []  2020-1-20 19:31

    *Disclaimer I received an arc for my honest opinion. I did have this book on preorder before I received my copy though :)Just like all her other books from the hidden saga I love it but often a small to quick paced for my likely(it could also be my fault for not putting it down). I loved coming back to Lad and Ryann who created me fall in love with the series and discover the fae globe from the beginning. I'm glad we were able to obtain this book the bring the whole series full circle! Since it is book 10 I suggest reading most of the series before picking this book up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Heir: A Hidden Novel (The Hidden Saga Book 10) review []  2020-1-20 19:31

    From the very beginning this series has entertained. Hidden Heir is no different. Well developed characters pepper the plot and the twists often blindside you. It has been a pleasure to read Amy Patrick's series. Hidden Heir is a fitting story to bring the take full circle. The books will be read over and over.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hidden Heir: A Hidden Novel (The Hidden Saga Book 10) review []  2020-1-20 19:31

    I have to say Amy Patrick did it again. She did not disappoint. This book was just as amazing if not better than the previous books in this series. I was hooked right from the first page. I found it hard to place it down. It was so nice to see the other characters from the other books in this one working together. I have to say I think I Experienced every emotion Possible that a person can feel. I found myself at one point yelling at Lad. I would highly recommend this book along with all the others in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FORGOTTEN HISTORY: The Most Forgotten Figures That Defined Our History.: Forgotten History. review []  2020-1-23 19:16

    This book is extremely entertaining. I'm very glad that I got it and I feel like I learned so much about so a lot of historical figures that I've never even heard of before. It really gives a amazing perspective on how much difference one person can create and how easily they can be forgotten despite what they've done.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter