Read history of blue earth county and biographies of its leading citizens reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all history of blue earth county and biographies of its leading citizens reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Russell County, Virginia: History Revealed Through Biographical and Genealogical Sketches of Its Ancestors []  2020-6-25 18:36

    This book is an simple read, and although short on some details, it is full of stories that would be included in any local lore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Russell County, Virginia: History Revealed Through Biographical and Genealogical Sketches of Its Ancestors []  2020-6-25 18:36

    Exactly as described and helpful info on my research of Russell County!! Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Russell County, Virginia: History Revealed Through Biographical and Genealogical Sketches of Its Ancestors []  2020-6-25 18:36

    The book has been helpful. It also is interesting reading. My family settled in the county generations ago and I have trying to trace my ancestry.

    0  


    Add your opinion on history of blue earth county and biographies of its leading citizens or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Russell County, Virginia: History Revealed Through Biographical and Genealogical Sketches of Its Ancestors []  2020-6-25 18:36

    very interesting historical book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Russell County, Virginia: History Revealed Through Biographical and Genealogical Sketches of Its Ancestors []  2020-6-25 18:36

    This is a amazing resource book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Kosciusko and Attala County Mississippi []  2020-11-11 18:26

    Two sets of my 4x amazing grandparents were early settlers in Attala County, and I may still have cousins there today. This collection of transcriptions provided unbelievable “diary style” articles sharing glimpses of what life was like in the early days of the County. As I read the articles, I could visualize the impact of the railroad, I wondered which side of the courthouse my ancestors may have lined up on after the jail was burned down, and I even had the pleasure of seeing one of my 4x amazing grandfathers mentioned by name. I recommend this collection to anyone with ancestors who lived in Attala County in those days for a better understanding of the time and place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of Arlington County []  2020-7-29 19:19

    Starts off good, then loses focus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of Arlington County []  2020-7-29 19:19

    The book really did a amazing job of history of Arlington on things I never knew about

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of Arlington County []  2020-7-29 19:19

    Charlie Clark grew up in Arlington and has been writing a column about it for a lot of years for one of the local newspapers. He graduated from Yorktown High School in 1971 and a lot of of the stories he tells reflect that time wife and I both grew up in Arlington and graduated from the same high school as did Clark - except 7 years earlier, so a lot of of the things he talks about match with our experiences. I was especially gratified to see that he credited Yorktown teacher Harry Tuell, the Journalism teacher at Yorktown High School, in his forward as having turned him onto Journalism - I also had the pleasure of studying under Tuell, (first at Williamsburg Junior High, and then again at Yorktown HS) and I served three years as the Business Manager for The Sentry, the Yorktown HS newspaper, when we won the Medalist Award from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association - such an award would not have been possible without the guidance of addition to private stories of his growing up in Arlington, Clark does an perfect job of hunting down the different stories and myths that are an integral part of this vibrant county. He does a superb job of showing how Arlington grew to be what it is now, although as an individual that came of age during the turbulent late 60's he seems to spend a tad more time on the different problems of "race relations" than would normally be found in such a e book is a amazing blend of the older (pre-1900) history and more latest happenings (the 1950's-1970), which of course create it interesting to someone, like myself that grew up in Arlington in the 50's and 60's.I bought this book as a Christmas show for my wife this year - she spent most of Christmas day reading it, and then I grabbed it and read it cover to cover the next day - to us, it was a hard book to place down as each chapter brought about a ton of memories. A lot of of our Yorktown classmates are mentioned in different chapters - John Yelverton, Bill Chaconas, Ron Tugwell, and Fred Burhans to name a few - which of course created the book of more interest to us. Also, the mention of the parents of some of our classmates - Cliff Carter, close Texas mate and political operative for LBJ (and father of Kathleen, a classmate of ours) and Joel Broyhill, our local congressman, and the father of Jane Ann, another of our Yorktown classmates, brought the different stories thing I did search of interest, was that Clark went into a fairly long description of the different bowling alleys, but failed to mention the equal number of pool halls that existed in Arlington during the 1960's. But, there are just so a lot of stories and plots that Clark could have followed, so as a reader, we must chop him some slack for the omission of one or two stuff that we personally would have found of interest.If you grew up in Arlington, or even if you live there now, this book will be of interest to you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Guernsey County, Ohio []  2020-12-27 18:18

    A lot of history was captured in this book. Too poor they copied it with an OCR, which doesn't always pick up each letter perfectly, and nothing was done to correct its mistakes. Still, I was glad I was able to obtain it on my Kindle, as I had ancestors there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of Arlington County []  2020-7-29 19:19

    Charlie Clark knows so much about Arlington and its history and thankfully he loves to share this knowledge. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden History of Arlington County []  2020-7-29 19:19

    Charlie Clark has given us a amazing collection of stories about Arlington of interest to anyone who has ever spent any time in this part of Northern Virginia. I was reading that section of his book on Doc Muse the same weekend that Doc Muse passed! (Kind of spooky). This is not a boring "History" book but rather a gathering of the life journeys of the people who have created Arlington a amazing put to live, work and play!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Guernsey County, Ohio []  2020-12-27 18:18

    THIS IS A GREAT BOOK..A REAL KEEPER FOR ME..THE AUTHOR IS A DISTANT MEMBER OF MY EXTENDED FAMILY AND HAD A GREAT MEMORY. FOR SOMEONE INTERESTED IN OHIO HISTORY IS IS ONE OF THE BEST...HOMER SPEER JR. OCTOBER 2009

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birthright Citizens: A History of Race and Rights in Antebellum America (Studies in Legal History) []  2020-1-27 0:40

    Tremendously informative in relation to current national political environment!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birthright Citizens: A History of Race and Rights in Antebellum America (Studies in Legal History) []  2020-1-27 0:40

    created what is an interesting and necessary subject very boring

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birthright Citizens: A History of Race and Rights in Antebellum America (Studies in Legal History) []  2020-1-27 0:40

    A very necessary and timely study of citizenship and race.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birthright Citizens: A History of Race and Rights in Antebellum America (Studies in Legal History) []  2020-1-27 0:40

    I loved this book! Martha Jones is transparent about her archival process and the present-day connections her book has with locations around Baltimore, such as the local courthouse. One of her arguments is that citizenship is not just a concept defined and dictated by the Constitution; citizenship is also understood and practiced by free blacks despite rulings such as Dred Scott. This book changed my conception of law​ because it created me think about how ordinary people are also part of defining it through practices such as traveling and claiming property. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in a history of law that deals with daily life in free black communities!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Birthright Citizens: A History of Race and Rights in Antebellum America (Studies in Legal History) []  2020-1-27 0:40

    Martha S. Jones has delved into a wide range of archival sources to tell the story of extraordinary black activists who overcame white supremacy (including colonization plans designed to exile blacks) by relentlessly pressing for rights through legislative action and the court system in antebellum Baltimore. The stories are told through the lenses of black seamen, black churches, property and firearm ownership, and efforts to adjudicate claims in Baltimore town and Maryland state courthouses. Jones's strong concluding chapter on the legacy of the 1857 Dred Scott decision in Maryland underscores the Kafkaesque situation blacks could face; i.e., that a state could grant citizenship rights without granting citizenship--even in the wake of judicial rulings stating that blacks, while "inferior and subordinate" to whites, had "standing." Jones's prior career as a public interest lawyer in Fresh York Town allows her to approach this topic with insight and sensitivity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Thousand Years of Bread: Its Holy and Unholy History []  2020-12-3 19:46

    Some very interesting insights connecting the art of breathd-making and consumption with global and local events. I knew about the connection between bread and the French Revolution, but most of the other connections boggled my mind, especially since there miht well be more than a easy grain of possible truth in them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Thousand Years of Bread: Its Holy and Unholy History []  2020-12-3 19:46

    I loved this. As a meal historian I would recommend this book to all interested in food, especially bread, grains, and baking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Bible: The Book and Its Faiths []  2020-9-25 18:41

    Barton’s "A History of the Bible" is much more than just a history. He also addresses critical methods and specific content of some of the books of the Bible. The breadth of coverage is impressive, yet some subjects are covered in considerable depth. Examples are his discussion of the structure of Isaiah and his discussion of Paul. If you have read Patzia’s “Making of the Fresh Testament” it may seem to you that Barton should have provided more detail on Fresh Testament canon formation. And of course Kugel’s “How to Read the Bible” provides much more detail about both Jewish and Christian interpretation of specific books from both a traditional perspective and the perspective of modern scholarship. I thought that Barton’s best chapters were those on biblical interpretation in Part Four of the book. There he discusses Christian and Jewish modes of interpretation, and also how Christian interpretations changed from the times of the early church fathers like Origen up to the present. His insight is that the actual text of the Bible doesn’t map perfectly onto either Christianity or seems to me that Barton’s thinking sits about halfway between that of N. T. Wright and Bart Ehrman. Barton seems to operate within the framework of modern scholarship while being sensitive to traditional conclusions (see his discussion of Q for example). Persons who are irrevocably committed to the idea of biblical inerrancy won’t like this book. This is a book for those willing to step outside their comfort location and to be begin to fresh e writing and language are lucid and easily accessible to persons with ordinary reading skills at or above high-school/junior college level. The index is excellent, and the book also has a list of biblical references and the chapter footnotes at the back. A bibliography and suggested further readings are is is one of those books that will pull you back to re-read different chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Bible: The Book and Its Faiths []  2020-9-25 18:41

    The author of 'A History of The Bible' nicely summarized what he was trying to do with this work:"This book has not dwelled on the idea of divine inspiration in relation to the Bible. This is partly because my main purpose has been to explain how the Bible came into existence and how it has been understood through the ages, and how we might think about its elements today."In my opinion, he did a unbelievable someone with an undergraduate degree in ministry and who was engaged in different forms of church work for over 20 years, I really thought I knew the Bible. Hearing a phrase from it was usually enough for me to figure out where to search those words in the Bible. I read, studied, and taught Bible through those more than two decades. And yet, only since I've deconverted have I really been able to understand where the Bible comes my conservative Christian liberal arts education I was only told that higher critics were full of beans, and in my 'How We Got The Bible' class no more than 10 mins were spent on the Hebrew Scriptures. We were told we wouldn't dwell on it, because we inherited it from the Jewish people. The Fresh Testament portion of the class was all about affirming traditional authorship and dates. It wasn't very substantive.'A History of The Bible' is a full education on the origins of the Bible for anyone who is already beautiful familiar with its contents. Someone who really doesn't know much about the Bible might search it a challenge, but a former evangelical minister will search it eye-opening. Despite its imposing page count and dimensions, I found it to be very readable, with technical terms only used with amazing explanations as to their meanings. The writer, Rev John Barton, really took his time to create certain that the reader would be able to follow along.What this book does not do is attempt to provide any justification for any aspect of how the Bible came together, its a lot of contradictions and narrative flaws, or anything of the sort. Despite the fact that the writer is an Anglican priest, it reads as though it were written by a secular biblical scholar who really enjoys the research.I cannot recommend this book highly enough for evangelicals looking for the exit, and for those already well along in the process of deconstruction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Bible: The Book and Its Faiths []  2020-9-25 18:41

    Even as a teenager being confirmed in the conservative Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Church, I was puzzled by the Lutheran catechism respond to the question "Why are we so certain that the Bible is the Word of God?" was because "the Bible says so itself." (Luther's Little Catechism [Milwaukee, 1956] , p. 30) What puzzled me was the circularity of this answer, rather like the logical paradox of the ancient philosopher, Epimenides, who hailed from Crete. and told people that he was a Cretan, and that all Cretans were liars, and therefore, he was lying, and therefore he was telling the truth, and so on, in a self- referential circle. I came to agree with Matthew Tindal, 18th century deist writer cited by John Barton on page 418: ""it's an odd Jumble, to prove the Truth of a Book by the Truth of the Doctrines it contains, and at the same time conclude those Doctrines to be real because contain'd in that Book." And if the Bible isn't the Word of God, what is it? John Barton's "History" provides a lot of answers. Take your pick.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Bible: The Book and Its Faiths []  2020-9-25 18:41

    Most practicing Jews and Christians, as well as a very huge segment of the population at large, have a fairly clear photo that comes to mind when "The Bible" is mentioned. As John Barton makes clear in this monumental history, that photo varies significantly from person to person and faith to faith, not only in the twenty-first century but throughout the long ages since the books that form the Bible were first written. Barton is a theologian who taught at Oxford University and has served as a priest in the Church of England for over forty years. At nearly 500 pages of text, plus copious notes, suggestions for further reading, an extensive bibliography, and a thorough list of Biblical references cited in the text, Barton has made a heavy tome which may intimidate some readers. Passing this by, however, would be a mistake. Barton writes in a scholarly manner, but his discussions and explanations are friendly and approachable. His sermons must be a delight to hear and learn ton's approach is chronological, beginning with the early history of Israel and progressing through the development of what a lot of call the Old Testament, then moving to the Fresh Testament and the growth of Christianity while continuing to chronicle the changes in Jewish understandings of the Scriptures. He continues with examinations of the medieval Church, the Reformation, and on into the modern era and the challenges faced by Judaism and Christianity today. The book requires its readers to be involved and focused, and those who meet the challenge will be richly rewarded.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Thousand Years of Bread: Its Holy and Unholy History []  2020-12-3 19:46

    One of the best books I've ever read. Its not the history of bread, but history caused by bread. Little but really necessary clarification. Would be amazing if someone picked up where it left off (book was written/published in the 1940's), but even so, unbelievable read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Thousand Years of Bread: Its Holy and Unholy History []  2020-12-3 19:46

    Jacob's Six Thousand Years of Bread is an awesome presentation of the relationship between bread and the history of Western Civilization. Even if it were just about bread's history, it would be an awesome book given its scope and knowledge. But it isn't REALLY about bread. It uses bread as an access point for discussing transformations of values and paradigms of knowledge through history. In a word, Jacobs presents a philosophical "genealogy" of Western Civilization through a discussion of the role of us, Jacob's is a special philosophical work. I can't think of any other book in philosophy or history that makes such a clear presentation of the causes and forces of historical transformation. In fact, the term "genealogy" I have used above has a specific sense that is relevant here. Coined by Nietzsche, "genealogy" is a tactic employed for a philosophical discussion of historical transformations of the sort Jacob discusses. But whether comparing Jacob to Nietzsche, Foucault, Derrida, Heidegger, or even Hegel and Kant, I can't think of a better example of a philosophical discussion of historical transformations of values and knowledge. As a bonus, the Jacob's way of using a history of bread to show this genealogy makes it far more approachable than most philosophical discussions. I can't recommend a book more highly. I might even use it as a recommended reading for students in my philosophy classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Bible: The Book and Its Faiths []  2020-9-25 18:41

    John Barton IS a Christian. I don’t know him, but I can read a book flap! I’ve lived most of my life in Bible Belt Texas, and I love the Southern Baptist foundation I grew up with. That said, my first questions about unsettling Bible passages started when I was seven, and I’ve been reading Biblical scholarship for thirty years now. I love this book and don’t give it five stars because its high academic writing level is not for everyone. If possible, for a greater audience, I’d like to see an abridged ver someday with a more eye-catching cover for greater mass appeal. In this book, Barton shows both Christians and Jews on a spectrum of current belief/understanding/practice in relation to the Bible...AND all the other texts that have influenced religious thinking in various ways through the centuries. The Bible is full of words and stories that present God’s power in our lives. John Barton affirms that in a lot of locations throughout the book. And for readers who wish to understand more - the how’s and the why’s of parts that don’t always create sense - this book is most valuable. It’s huge, so I started with the introduction and conclusion first. Now I’m reading chapters in any order I wish, and I’m currently learning about scrolls vs. codices as the Gospels first circulated. Yep, that matters. Each of us has our own relationship with God and/or Bible academia. Questioning and doubt are valid parts of sincere spiritual growth. Yes, FAITH is respectfully addressed in this book. John Barton’s point is that we can balance what we thought we knew with what we can learn more about. God, Jesus, love, faith - all are huge enough for a book like this. Our brains understand what we do, each of us accordingly. Our souls are the mystery with God, Jesus, love, and faith. John Barton knows that too, but that's a various book for another author. If you can join him here for balance in Christian or Jewish understanding, this is an perfect book indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Bible: The Book and Its Faiths []  2020-9-25 18:41

    It neglects the most critical aspect of the Bible, what indeed makes it the most influential book in history. This book is for intellectuals who want to keep themselves above faith. I want the non-Christian globe view of the author would have been created clear before I purchased the volume. My mistake for not investigating the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Bible: The Book and Its Faiths []  2020-9-25 18:41

    To me, it is obvious that the author does not believe the Holy Bible is the Word of God. In the opening chapters, he portrays the content as adulterated and editorialized fable or legend not based on fact or faith. He presents the content of the Hebrew Testament as a fabrication of a lot of writers who penned the early writings as remembrances of folklore and fables. At one point, he even suggests that Moses and the Exodus are more ancient stories that those of Abraham and his descendants. I cannot recommend this book to any serious student of Judo-Christian theology or history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Thousand Years of Bread: Its Holy and Unholy History []  2020-12-3 19:46

    A most detailed acc of everything you could imagine to do with bread. Certainly the staff of life, its importance and how greatly mankind's history has been affected by the availability or not of bread. It was manipulated by those with evil intentions. I learnt far more than I expected and hope that it becomes widely read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Thousand Years of Bread: Its Holy and Unholy History []  2020-12-3 19:46

    Amazing reading of a respected scholar.Takes you back thousands of years in history of meal and plant is book will be appreciated by those who like the truth about the meal history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Bible: The Book and Its Faiths []  2020-9-25 18:41

    This comprehensive and, often, complex history expands understanding of the biblical text and the method we perceive what’s there. From a characteristically Christian perspective, for instance, the Bible shows the ongoing relationship between deity and humankind. i.e., Again and again, we mess up, and each time, God redeems. From a Jewish perspective, however, the Bible reveals providential guidance while instructing God’s people on how to live a life of the old and fresh come together – or not – takes a whole book to discuss, but that’s what the former Oxford professor and Anglican priest John Barton has done in A History of the Bible: The Book and Its Faiths published by Penguin Books, who kindly sent me a copy of this highly researched book to review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Bible: The Book and Its Faiths []  2020-9-25 18:41

    I had high hopes for this history, having read a glowing review in the usually reliable magazine the Catholic Herald by a priest of the usually reliable Dominican order, who called it "unputdownable." Allow it suffice to say that it's very putdownable, as Barton recycles the tired, conventional, and, for at least the past fifteen years, debunked excesses of historical-critical scholarship. In 2019, no serious -- and certainly no orthodox -- Biblical scholar believes that the synoptic Gospels were written in the second century. (In fact, there is a amazing deal of scholarship indicating that even John's Gospel was written in the first, albeit near the end.) Yet Barton asserts it matter-of-factly. Likewise, he rehashes conventional and largely discredited views about Pauline authorship, all but saying that several of the letters are aesthetically pleasing forgeries. I could continue, but you're probably getting Barton's drift. Moreover, "unputdownable" books usually have an enthralling, singular narrative, yet here we have a series of somewhat self-contained essays. Again, putdownable -- and sad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Thousand Years of Bread: Its Holy and Unholy History []  2020-12-3 19:46

    They hold the construction 🚧 sounds out. Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Thousand Years of Bread: Its Holy and Unholy History []  2020-12-3 19:46

    The book looks at human progress through the lens of mankind's essential element: bread. It's a various perspective and far more inclusive than exclusive. Bread - or the lack thereof - started battles and rebellions, encouraged the growth of agriculture and cities, and delivered us to the point that a lot of now view bread and boring and old.Well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the Bible: The Book and Its Faiths []  2020-9-25 18:41

    I think it interesting that the majority of negative reviews state their reason for doing so is the author’s historic treatment of the Bible (which is, after all, even included in the title) ; Apparently, tracing the Bible’s historic roots conflict with their belief system. It does the author a disservice that such reviews bring down the ratings of this densely packed and well- researched tome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Thousand Years of Bread: Its Holy and Unholy History []  2020-12-3 19:46

    This is a very in depth writing of so much more than simply the making of bread. Mr. Jacob, himself, has a very interesting and difficult past, that lends to the story only after your obtain to the final is is a story of civilization, not a dry, politically correct form of civilization,but the long and difficult process of why we in the western globe are who we are.I have read Thucydides at least five times, read Plato's Republic 2x, Homer 4x, Aristotle, Tacitus, Caesar. I have read Don Boorstein, Michner, Donald Kagen, Michael Wood, Niall Ferguson......But this book is a glue that helps place all the pieces together.....An entire college course should be written for this book.I had just recently purchased "Cheese and Culture", by Kindstedt, and immediately found the approach to be towards artisan cheese makers, providing them with the history of cheese, which is fine, but e Bread Book is has nothing to do with baking better bread, it is about life itself.I am tired of this younger generation, rediscovering, and reinventing the a lot of wheels, with no understanding of e intrinsic value has been lost, civilization itself is fragile and the the long street cannot be explained in baking a better loaf of bread.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Thousand Years of Bread: Its Holy and Unholy History []  2020-12-3 19:46

    Very well researched and a fascinating, well written story. If you bake bread it's a must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harnett County: A History (Making of America) []  2020-10-10 19:0

    Amazing old pictures taken in Harnett County and having this book about the history of the county where my mother lived.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The history of Granville, Licking County, Ohio []  2020-11-8 18:16

    The Book was in poor shape when I received it so the seller allow me return it. He repaired it & now it's great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harnett County: A History (Making of America) []  2020-10-10 19:0

    Amazing history with pictures of an zone my husband's paternal family lived. Nothing private about his people, as I had hoped to find.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harnett County: A History (Making of America) []  2020-10-10 19:0

    Perfect writing with a lot of images of the people and the county.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harnett County: A History (Making of America) []  2020-10-10 19:0

    As a transplant to Harnett County 10 years ago, I thought I knew alot about this local area. WOW, this book opened my eyes to the a lot of hidden historical treasures that our humble land holds. A must read for locals, visitors and anyone interested in southern heritage!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    will county case search [ case search]  2020-8-23 19:6
    [email protected]

    best website see it here bankruptcy case find sangamon county case find simple case find wi alabama case find ohio court case find judiciary case find md

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    osceola county case searchhx [dekalb county superior court case searchbg]  2020-8-24 9:40
    [email protected]

    xkpvsutsjhph dallas county court case find dupage county circuit court case find criminal case find texas criminal case records find bay co clerk case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    kane county case search [my review here]  2020-8-25 1:44
    [email protected]

    hop over to this www service understanding vermilion county case find check out here california case find alabama judiciary case find va judicial system case find read this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    brazoria county case search [this website]  2020-8-27 13:26
    [email protected]

    total stranger have a peek at this website helpful website macomb county case find oklahoma case find learn more test this web-site 36th district court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    cecil county case search [maryland judicairy case search]  2020-9-5 13:30
    [email protected]

    have a peek at these guys published here find and seizure case law federal judiciary case find north carolina case find recommended you read san diego case find missouri litigant find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    wayne county case search [oklahoma court case search]  2020-8-24 17:12
    [email protected]

    click this this page take a look at the website here dade county clerk of courts case find my response my find Homepage collier county case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    charleston county case search [go!!]  2020-8-25 10:13
    [email protected]

    judiciary case find md el paso county case find click this link now sccourts org case records find you can test here fort bend county case find www oscn net case find va court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    franklin county case search [minnesota case search]  2020-9-4 23:44
    [email protected]

    fresh jersey court case find pima county superior court case find lee county case find maryland case find mugshots try what she says look at this now Obtain More Info like this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    orange county court case searchfs [sacramento case searchno]  2020-8-21 14:23
    [email protected]

    kfsioukclhgi texas case find oklahoma judiciary case find arkansas case find henderson municipal court case find maryland judiciary case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    nueces county criminal case search [try this web-site]  2020-8-24 3:59
    odv[email protected]

    south carolina judicial case find pinellas county case find Source case find virginia nlrb case find brevard county case find ryland case find bell county civil case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dallas county court case search [polk county clerk of court case search]  2020-8-23 23:3
    [email protected]

    check this out las vegas municipal court case find talks about it san bernardino county superior court case find case net missouri name find click here for more look at these guys butte county superior court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    harris county court case searchis [maricopa county justice court case searchyj]  2020-9-3 1:51
    [email protected]

    nawoziqvclqa find case sensitive wicourts gov case find pa judiciary case find results gwinnett county civil case find la county case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dade county civil case searchgc [nc courts case searchpn]  2020-9-1 6:37
    [email protected]

    tnxrsncuvdwy maryland jurisdiction case find municipal court case find case number find maryland georgia courts online case find fl judiciary case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    denver county court case search [ mo name search]  2020-9-2 6:18
    [email protected]

    south carolina case find Clicking Here cobb county case find las vegas court case find ms case find los angeles county superior court case find this website visit our www service

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    fairfax county va case searchgn [new hampshire court case searchol]  2020-8-24 23:27
    [email protected]

    gredydtxfoyd nueces county district clerk criminal case find marion case find district of columbia superior court case find miami criminal case find nevada judiciary case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    palm beach county case search [additional resources]  2020-8-24 17:57
    [email protected]

    pima county consolidated justice court case find full report anne arundel county case find Look At This click this link here now california judiciary case find find md court cases see this here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dekalb county civil case search [straight from the source]  2020-8-31 16:56
    [email protected]

    howard county case find on Yahoo will county circuit court case find pasco county case find site maryland jud case find miami dade case find district of columbia case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    cook county criminal case search [more tips here]  2020-8-28 16:20
    [email protected]

    los angeles county case find navigate here test here baltimore town case find navigate to this web-site dade county case find state of maryland judiciary case find atlanta georgia case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    duval county court case searchlh [free case law searchto]  2020-8-24 0:17
    [email protected]

    savzelnvknbe fresh jersey superior court case find case number find ohio ny case find family online case find pg county judiciary case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    denver county court case search [civil case search]  2020-8-23 23:36
    [email protected]

    love it case find wi one-time offer here gwinnett case find their explanation oregon case find los angeles county case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Citizens Savings and Loan of Leavenworth [App]  2019-8-10 13:11

    I love it take picture of Bill's no writing checks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Pomona Valley, California, with biographical sketches of the leading men and women of the valley who have been identified with its growth and development from the early days to the present []  2020-12-8 18:23

    I anxiously waited for this book on old Pomona, CA - as my ancestors are mentioned.I got the book yesterday and the printing on each page is so poor/light, I cannot read it.And the book is not cheap. I am waiting for UPS to pick up the book for Return.I will not reorder. I don't trust.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Pomona Valley, California, with biographical sketches of the leading men and women of the valley who have been identified with its growth and development from the early days to the present []  2020-12-8 18:23

    reproduction print is so faint you can't read it!! Not worth $40 plus bucks for a book you can't even read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    riverside county superior court case search [you could look here]  2020-8-23 12:26
    [email protected]

    north las vegas case find find court cases san diego case find pima county justice court case find click here to investigate check lee county case find wi court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    monterey county superior court case searchkz [case judiciary searchur]  2020-8-21 9:55
    [email protected]

    swlniyayvajs www.judicial case find free legal case find gwinnett county civil case find www case find san diego civil court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Citizens of London: The Americans Who Stood with Britain in Its Darkest, Finest Hour []  2020-1-16 15:17

    This is the story of three influential Americans in England on the eve of and during the Second Globe hn Winant was the US Ambassador to the Court of St. James. FollowingAmbassador Kennedy, who was in some ways partial to Germany, Winant came to London as the Blitz was beginning, and became immediately and deeply supportive of the British and did all that he could to foster US help of Amazing Britain.Averell Harriman, a man of inherited wealth, and an ardent self-promoter, became the Director of America's Lend Lease program designed to provide England with weapons it required to combat the German Army.Edward R. Murrow was the CBS reporter whose radio broadcasts from London brought the battle into American homes in the period leading up to and into the US involvement in WWII.Each of these men in various ways supported Britain and supported US involvement in the war.Each of them was directly connected to both Churchill and FDR. Without question, Churchill "used" each of them in his all-consuming effort to bring the US into the war. In the years before December 7, 1941, one of Churchill's foremost objectives was doing everything he could to obtain the US engaged with England for the conquer of the Axis e author of this book, Lynne Olson, tells this story engagingly and in the process shares her insights not only into Harriman, Winant, and Murrow, but also into Eisenhower, Patton, Marshall, Churchill, FDR and Stalin.. In fact, it is her private perspectrives and stories about each of these men that gives makes this fine book the amazing read that it e story of each of the characters in this 'play' is wonderfully engaging and interesting, and left me with the desire to know still more...It's a fabulous book...Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wondrous Workings of Planet Earth: Understanding Our World and Its Ecosystems []  2020-1-28 0:18

    I have included a picture of the table of contents to present what ecosystems are s:Biome map introductionBiome map of each continentA picture of the living things and how they interact in the ecosystemHighlights one animal from each ecosystemHighlights the largest benefitsHighlights the greatest threatSome interesting facts similar to the ecosystemGlossary termsHow we can helpPictures are beautifulTalks about cycles of natureCons:More like just a snapshotNot a ton of detail for a lot of animalsIf you are conservative it does mention Huge Bang theory and millions of yearsSome of the pictures with cycles can be slightly hard to follow for younger onesOverall I do like this book. I initially got it hoping it would be fun for the drawings for my third grader who loves to draw. I think the text is simple enough for her to possibly read on her own. We are homeschoolers and going through the ecosystems right now And like that this is concise enough to give her the general idea without overwhelming her. If your kids are older and need more info for reports and assignments then I would likely recommend getting another type of book. This is more like snapshot of the ecosystems but is nice how it sorts all of them by continents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wondrous Workings of Planet Earth: Understanding Our World and Its Ecosystems []  2020-1-28 0:18

    This book is absolutely beautiful! It has an awesome amount of info in it, and all is beautifully illustrated. Broken down into sections, each section begins with a map of each of the continents showing their respective biomes. Then several of the biomes for the continent are shown in more detail each with a two-page spread, first with an illustration of the primary meal chain flora and fauna, then a description of the ecosystem and its inhabitants. Each ecosystem also contains its largest benefit to the earth and the greatest threat its continued existence. But the book also contains so much more! From describing the flow of energy in ecosystems, what healthy ecosystems look like, the various cycles the create up our awesome earth - such as the water cycle, carbon cycle, phosphorus cycle - it even contains an illustrated gloassary. This book has so much, and I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wondrous Workings of Planet Earth: Understanding Our World and Its Ecosystems []  2020-1-28 0:18

    My 9-year-old nature-loving child really enjoyed having this as a bedtime book for about 3/4 of it, but toward the end we both just got really tired of every single page ending with a paragraph about how each particular biome is being completely ruined. It just felt like being psychologically deflated at the end of each page. Ultimately we didn't read the latest few sections. Also, I want they had included a mini globe map with each biome to present exactly where it was. There were continental maps with general areas, but I had to pull up a separate globe map for each of the more-specific places, such as the Florida Everglades and South Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wondrous Workings of Planet Earth: Understanding Our World and Its Ecosystems []  2020-1-28 0:18

    Amazing artwork. Love books that use awesome art to support learn about things that other books often show in rather dry ways.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Citizens of London: The Americans Who Stood with Britain in Its Darkest, Finest Hour []  2020-1-16 15:17

    Lynne Olson, author of “Citizens of London,” is a bestselling writer of historical nonfiction, aimed mainly at Britain’s critical role in Globe Battle II. Her studies are immaculate in both research and writing skills. Her ability to take a reader through complexity and intense human impact without the aridity usually associated with historical commentary is this book three well-to-do Americans wind up in Winston Churchill’s coterie as advisors and watchdogs over the activities between the US and Britain as the battle escalates. They eventually end up very sympathetic to the plight of the Britishers and less than approving of the opposition from FDR and reluctant US citizens to getting America involved. The hardy and determined British citizens suffered greatly as the United States refused to come to their assistance in battling the German forces that threatened to obliterate their nation and the misery was exacerbated by this hn Winant was the idealistic US ambassador to Britain, Averell Harriman ran FDR’s Lend-Lease program in London, and Edward R. Murrow was head of CBS news in Europe. They all developed such close ties with Churchill that they were actually considered part of his official circles. More than that, all three became romantically involved with Churchill’s daughters. The author handles this touchy situation with aplomb, sparing the reader any salacious info that would detract from her scholarly approach.Each of the three had serious personality traits that they were able to muffle as they assisted Churchill with his decisions. All three were immensely wealthy and/or influential, they were idealistic, and their interest in the British situation was genuine. Winant was extremely shy and a not good speaker, but his boyish charm and unquestionable loyalty created him a favorite with the British people. Harriman, an industrial scion, was intensely self-centered and tended towards covert attempts to ingratiate himself with Churchill. He was refereed to as a “bum-sucker” in the book. Murrow was outspoken and given to critical comments about the US in his broadcasts and writings, something greatly appreciated by Churchill in his never ending attempts to obtain America involved in the war.When America entered the battle after Pearl Harbor, all three, along with Churchill and the rest of the country, were giddy with the decision. The intricate dance of collaboration performed by all the principals throughout the war, and the successful conclusion, is wonderfully chronicled in this intriguing huyler T WallaceAuthor of TIN LIZARD TALES

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Citizens of London: The Americans Who Stood with Britain in Its Darkest, Finest Hour []  2020-1-16 15:17

    Lynne Olson knocks Roosevelt, Churchill & Joe Kennedy a bit off their lofty pedestals as she elevates the historical importance of John Gilbert Winant, US Ambassador to Britain who replaced Kennedy; Averill Harriman, diplomat & implementer of the Land Lease Program; and journalist Edward R. Murrow. The book is a candid, insider's view of trans-Atlantic politics during WW II. The players remind me of the characters in "Downton Abbey" with all the secret affairs and grudges checkering their stories. Olson presents a side of the battle we commoners rarely see--the blemishes and blunders of our leaders and the true brains that created these leaders shine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Citizens of London: The Americans Who Stood with Britain in Its Darkest, Finest Hour []  2020-1-16 15:17

    I've read tons (hundreds?) of books about Globe Battle II, and am always looking for a fresh angle, or a clarification of some aspect that's hazy in my mind. Overall, I'm much more interested in political and social rather than military aspects. "Citizens of London" suits my interests to a "T." Even parts dealing with wars - North Africa, D-Day - focus on political/social matters, with military aspects woven into the broader context. Thus, Olson discusses at some length the result on England of the gradual buildup of American units prior to D-Day, then continues later by noting Allied frustrations as units attempted to cope with hedgerows in the French countryside.Olson is a star at developing full-blown portraits of the three major characters - Averill Harriman, Edward R. Murrow, and Gil Winant - as their lives unfolded during the battle period. My view of Murrow wasn't substantially changed by this book, although I came away with an even more positive view of his role in keeping America informed about the battle in England and in showing compassion and concern for the average Brit. Harriman didn't come off so well. I knew he was a prominent politician, had been governor of Fresh York, and developed Sun Valley, but wasn't aware of his machinations and drive for power during the war. He seemed much more interested in furthering his own interests than in promoting the allied cause. As for Gil Winant, I knew he had been ambassador to Amazing Britain some time during the war, but had no idea the extent to which he gained the respect of the English public, how vigorously he fought for their interests and for U.S. help of those interests, and how often he was frustrated in attempts to obtain his views through to FDR and/or how often he sought to change FDR's views on problems involving the European conflict."Citizens of London" is not only about the lives and actions of these three Americans, though. Olson is very skilled about weaving her portraits of those three into a broader tapestry featuring both the battle itself and the major political figures who dominated the scene. For example, she throws fresh light (at least for me) on the relationship between Churchill and FDR, and how their rapport deteriorated as the battle dragged on. FDR doesn't fare well in this picture, both regarding his relationship with Churchill and his views on how to approach postwar cause of her insights and clear writing style, I certainly look forward to reading Olson's other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    king county superior court case searchjj [search by case numbermn]  2020-9-1 6:49
    [email protected]

    jnedsxjknbfu american arbitration association case find charleston county online case find indianapolis case find california civil case find case find fresh york

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wondrous Workings of Planet Earth: Understanding Our World and Its Ecosystems []  2020-1-28 0:18

    It was hard deciding the rating because this book is attractive and has dozens of awesome information on a lot of various biomes and ecosystems and that SHOULD be all that matters seeing how that is the book is about. My problem is when you obtain to the info on each continent. Almost all continents are depicted with a attractive history, not addressing the violent conquest and battles that lead to that. Except north fails to even discuss the rich heritage of the Native Americans or any positive attributes to the content. My problems is 1) this is a book on ecosystems not battles and 2) that they cherry pick history to show their globe view, which reveals a serious beef with ere is amazing and poor to every civilization's climb but only America and Africa (which discusses racial issues) included any of that negative history, all other continent's are given a rosy description as if they had no violence in their addition they show a rediculouse view that the western and eastern worlds should never have contact since it causes havoc on the ecosystem. It did and does in fact do that but its ludicrous to expect there to be no contact or immigration between the Americas and europe/e book is lovely and with lots of amazing information still so I am dealing with it by having an begin discussion with my child about it (he already knows about the wiping out of Native American culture as it is a devastating piece of our history but we will discuss the bias presented here) and coupling it with a amazing book on Native Americans and on American ame they injected their distaste and biased so strongly into a children's book that is otherwise done amazingly. If you wanted to trash America you at least have to show the same face for other continennts. Sad, but true. Don't cherry pick history. Show the positive on all, intermix it on all or discuss the negative on all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wondrous Workings of Planet Earth: Understanding Our World and Its Ecosystems []  2020-1-28 0:18

    I love this book. The illustrations are gorgeous. There are small quippy jokes mixed in with well-researched info about ecosystems, animal behavior, trophic systems, anthropogenic impacts, and more. As a person currently applying to Master’s programs in ecology, I highly recommend this book. It’s a fun method to remind yourself of the basis of ecosystem science, but more that that, it’s a unbelievable method to introduce children to ecology!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wondrous Workings of Planet Earth: Understanding Our World and Its Ecosystems []  2020-1-28 0:18

    While I absolutely love the artwork in this book, which is why I bought it to supplement our ecology teachings this year, I am utterly exhausted by the constant "humans are destroying the earth" rant and liberal political views on each page. It really takes away from the actual facts contained in the pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wondrous Workings of Planet Earth: Understanding Our World and Its Ecosystems []  2020-1-28 0:18

    Lots of interesting info in this book, laid out in short simple to read sections. The illustrations are unique, our 8 soon to be 9 yr old grandson will have fun this , he loves informative books, and it will be a unbelievable co-reading book for parents/grandparents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Citizens of London: The Americans Who Stood with Britain in Its Darkest, Finest Hour []  2020-1-16 15:17

    As a devotee of all well written historical biographies of FDR and Churchill, "Citizens of London," by Lynne Olson, lets us share the stories of, "the Americans who stood with Britain in its darkest, finest hour." Although familiar with Averill Harriman from my a lot of sorties into the murky, war-torn, political globe of FDR and Churchill, Edward R. Murrow and Gil Winant were peripheral characters in my rrow, of course, was the CBS radio reporter wunderkind whose "This is London... " signature brought Globe Battle II into the homes of Americans on a regular basis, opening their minds and hearts to the plight of Amazing Britain and the danger of German aggression. His reports from the rooftops of London helped to pave the method for a lifting of isolationism as FDR cautiously prodded America to enter the hn Gilbert Winant, Olson tells us, was a natural leader and the American ambassador who soothed British spirits and soul following former Ambassador Joe Kennedy's brash, appeasement-centered, diplomatic relations. And Averill Harriman, a rich businessman anxious to play power android games at a global level, lived huge romantically as he chop a wide social swath across London.When you have a few hours to yourself, pick up this paperback and settle in. I promise you a fascinating read and a thoughtful study of the men who helped lay the foundation for the FDR/Churchill unique relationship. They deserve more attention than other authors have given them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Citizens of London: The Americans Who Stood with Britain in Its Darkest, Finest Hour []  2020-1-16 15:17

    Citizens of London tells the story of three Americans who, more than anyone else, helped bring about the U.S. rescue of nothing less than western democracy by telling the story of wartime England. The three were W. Averill Harriman, administrator of the Lend-Lease program, Gilbert Winant, the American ambassador and Edward R. Murrow, the CBS journalist. Gripping, moving, incisive, this book tells how these three men did so much for so many. It offers, too, insightful views of Churchill, Eisenhower and FDR, the giants of the battle years. The heroism, idealism and sacrifice of these people contrasts sharply with the mean-spirited, selfish and crude politics of the modern day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Citizens of London: The Americans Who Stood with Britain in Its Darkest, Finest Hour []  2020-1-16 15:17

    Yet again, the old adage that 'there's nothing fresh under the sun' is proven in spades. This book considers a lot of of the amazing personalities of WWII from a lot of countries......and they're all SOB's. PERIOD!!!! This book is loaded with scores of wonderful, dirty, small secrets for so a lot of people: FDR, Churchill, FDR's men (Hopkins, Harriman, Winant), DeGaulle, and a lot of a lot of more.....Ed Murrow, William Paley, the generals, battle correspondents.....the list is endless. Plus, safe to say, this book proves, as well, that when it comes to being a duplicitous hack men can't keep a candle to women: Pamela Harriman, the Churchill's are especially showcased here, but there are a lot of others. And now, today, the Washington Post and the Fresh York Times consider Donald Trump unworthy of public office. Yea, sure, 'all the news that's fit to print', 'democracy dies in darkness'......Their collective indignation about Trump only shows how they still think they can set the agenda for public discourse but really have no clue as to why they are held in such low regard. They're all fools!!!!!! It's all baloney!!!! This book can be a unbelievable backdrop as to the politics of today's Washington. When it comes to Washington DC and politics in general......THERE's NOTHING NEW UNDER THE SUN!!!! Turning to the book itself, and the author's craft: the book is a unbelievable read. Simple flow, digestible sentences and paragraphs, short chapters with plenty of points to pause the reader but still retain interest. Very well researched too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Citizens of London: The Americans Who Stood with Britain in Its Darkest, Finest Hour []  2020-1-16 15:17

    An eyewitness-like acc on all aspects of life in London during WW2. Lynn Olson fills the gaps in the "traditional history" in her book Citizens of London.I was particularly impressed by the enormous input of ambassador John Gil Winant towards the VE Day. His name was almost forgotten in the US only because of the method Mr. Winant chose to die, very sad and unfair indeed. Mr. Winant's name was mentioned almost 700 times in the book (more than any other name).There is a reason why so a lot of people gave this book five stars!! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wondrous Workings of Planet Earth: Understanding Our World and Its Ecosystems []  2020-1-28 0:18

    This book is the attractive educational peice you were looking for. I, for one, am hopeful it spawns multiple lines of supporting merchandise for those of us in the wildlife, science and educational field. We bought as a bonus for our 1 year old but I’m not the least bit ashamed to say I plan on enjoying it myself until she’s able to handle the book herself. Looking forward to ecosystem bedtime stories!NOTE: When I preordered (also, this is the first book I was ever compelled to preorder) I was surprised to search a promotion event where you register the preorder and you obtain a corresponding poster for free! I was so excited to hang in my small girl’s room. Unforunately, the poster arrived bent and creased with no method to contact the issuing company for return and reissue. So disappointing. The mishap isnt the effect of the author and I didnt come out with anything less than I signed up for, but still saddened.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wondrous Workings of Planet Earth: Understanding Our World and Its Ecosystems []  2020-1-28 0:18

    I love the graphics and the language, will be reading the whole thing and giving it to students to read (middle school science) but the first page I used (carbon cycle) has an inaccuracy- plants do not obtain carbon from the soil. I will be checking it as I use it for other content mistakes. The book is still very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    circuit court miami dade county case searchmn [sangamon county circuit clerk case searcheu]  2020-9-1 19:59
    [email protected]

    pcotphxefxzd washington case find courts maryland case find immigration case status find washington dc judicial case find macon county find case info

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    riverside county superior court case search [click to find out more]  2020-8-23 7:34
    [email protected]

    fresh york case find wisconsin circuit court access easy case find michigan case find check here explanation travis county case find this page pima county court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Culinary History of Taipei: Beyond Pork and Ponlai (Big City Food Biographies) []  2020-2-6 23:0

    This is one of the best meal books I have ever read--authoritative and densely packed with facts, but extremely readable and delightful. It is more of a meal ethnography of Taiwan than a meal history of Taipei, but all the better for that. One very amazing detail is that the linguistic transcriptions are perfect and sophisticated, not only from Mandarin (in standard Pinyin) but also from Hokkien, the usual spoken language of Taiwan. Hokkien is a most unappreciated language--beautiful, flexible, adaptable, creative, with an wonderful oral literature, and I am glad to see it obtain some love for once (it is slowly dying out as China pushes Mandarin on everybody). There are also some words from Hakka and Cantonese, and from Austronesian languages. This book is a linguists' and ethnobiologists' rticularly special and interesting is the material on the Austronesian-speaking Aboriginal peoples of Taiwan, a diverse and fascinating group almost unknown in the English-language literature. They have a range of special crops, including a species of quinoa, independently domesticated from the South American one--a striking case of parallelism. They also eat wild boars and different wild leaves. This book brings back memories of Taiwan 50 years ago. The best mapo toufu I ever had was in a tiny, rough shack, with an old Sichuanese (presumably ex-soldier) cooking; the dish was about equal parts bean curd, minced (not ground) pork, chiles, garlic, and hot bean paste, with plenty of Sichuan brown pepper. Taipei road meal used to be wonderful--mostly fairly simple, but good. I got yelled at by one Mainlander vender for making the mistake of addressing him in Taiwanese (Hokkien).A little issue is occasional careless translation. Water spinach is translated two various ways on p. 102, and "mei" (East Asian apricot) is mistranslated "plum" on p. 105. Otherwise, this is an exceptionally carefully done book, in marked contrast to too a lot of books on Chinese food.If you are at all interested in Asian food, you need this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Culinary History of Taipei: Beyond Pork and Ponlai (Big City Food Biographies) []  2020-2-6 23:0

    This is a detailed but highly readable exploration of the meal of Taiwan (not just Taipei as in the title), through time and from farm and factory to the plate. As well as being packed with a weight of info making it the go-to reference book for the cuisine of Taiwan, it also has a lot of heart - you sense the authors' pleasure in both sharing their knowledge and passion and in satisfying their own ter reading A Culinary History of Taipei, I've noticed that when I'm eating local meal I search myself thinking about the cultural and historical influences behind it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Citizens of London: The Americans Who Stood with Britain in Its Darkest, Finest Hour []  2020-1-16 15:17

    In reading about America's history, and recently reading several other books that deal with this time frame, I search Olson's work to be accurate beyond subjectivism and insightful as it relates to the politics of leadership and conflict. FDR was not my favorite President. America's behavior, but mostly in hindsight, leading up to WWII as she similar to other free nations under attack was less than appealing and this book will give the reader some insight which may influence their current outlook. I don't judge the United States behavior "back then" with our current attitudes and perspectives (for instance, the internment of Japanese Americans; which we have tried to repay but in fairness to our past generation may well have seemed the very best solution to the extreme hate directed at those innocents) but do take message of ideological motivations and self-serving behaviors and wonder how we might be the same today? A amazing book filled with both historical and private facts and findings that flesh out a period in the US's and Britain's history that is now lost to our progeny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Citizens of London: The Americans Who Stood with Britain in Its Darkest, Finest Hour []  2020-1-16 15:17

    A detailed and fascinating acc of what went on behind closed doors (and elsewhere) as Britain and the USA strive to search common ground in planning tactics and effective policies during WW II. Roosevelt, Churchill, Eisenhower, Stalin; these individuals come to mind immediately but the interest in this most readable book lies in appreciating the influence of journalist Edward R. Murrow, American ambassador John Winant, and statesman Averell Harriman. Not to mention the romantic affairs that are part and parcel of 1939-45 e author's clear prose and reliance on factual support, as well as vivid atmospheric detail, breath life into the long ago days of WW II London. Keen on history? You may really have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penjing: The Chinese Art of Bonsai: A Pictorial Exploration of Its History, Aesthetics, Styles and Preservation []  2020-12-5 20:8

    The pictures are attractive and the text gives you and idea of how they were accomplished.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pursuit of Italy: A History of a Land, Its Regions, and Their Peoples []  2020-1-28 20:30

    Italy is a country with a rich and diverse history. Which is partly why this book was a small overwhelming to read. There was so much info that it was hard to follow/absorb all the facts that were being thrown at me. It was an ambitious ask to place the entire history of Italy in one 400 page book. And I think attempting that created it so I felt at times like I was reading a list of facts instead of a story. Certain chapters provided more in-depth coverage (notably the opera chapter, specifically the info on Verdi) which created me want that the author had decided to do this more often. Instead of getting into everything, I would have love him to pick and choose his spots to focus on.Overall, this is an informative book that provides insight in why the unification of Italy wasn't greeted with enthusiasm by its own citizens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pursuit of Italy: A History of a Land, Its Regions, and Their Peoples []  2020-1-28 20:30

    It is surprisingly difficult to search amazing books on Italy written in English; this book is one of the better ones. The author's main thesis is that the dream of unifying Italy and turning it into a modern nation-state has been mostly a failure, as the regional differences and the provinm of the people have obstructed this effort. The issue of modern pre-1945 Italy was that its leaders wanted battle and conquest to promote the nation's standing in the eyes of the world, but the country was sorely unprepared for such ambitious schemes and in the end Italy was to come off the worse. Even Mussolini found that the Italian national hero was ill-suited to militarism and imperialism. The conundrum for the historian is why the ancient Romans, who awed the globe with their seriousness, sternness, and martial prowess, are so unlike the later Italians, who are easily caricatured as comical, ridiculous, and the worst soldiers in Europe. The final chapter deals with the fascinating phenomenon of Berlusconi, which the author portrays as the triumph of charisma and personality over abstract ideas. The author clearly is not over-admiring of the nation that is his subject, but he seems to have an optimistic sense that Italy has positive things to offer the globe other than political, economic, or military greatness. Buona fortuna, Italia!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pursuit of Italy: A History of a Land, Its Regions, and Their Peoples []  2020-1-28 20:30

    Very interesting "behind the scenes" look at Italy, its history, culture and political development. Having visited Italy several times in the latest 10 years, this was quite an eye-opener for the casual traveler. Unfortunately, the ending is somewhat pessimistic regarding the future for this otherwise unbelievable country. And happenings in Italy that have occurred since the book was published do nothing to contradict the conclusions of the author. Now I understand why my Italian language teacher left his homeland 19 years ago and says he's not interested in every returning there to live.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pursuit of Italy: A History of a Land, Its Regions, and Their Peoples []  2020-1-28 20:30

    Succeeds in summarizing a long, diverse, complex history in a very readable is primarily a political history although some sociological and cultural happenings are discussed as well.While it starts in the early medieval period and continues to the show the focus is on the unification of Italy as a single ere are too a lot of happenings in Italian history to contain all of them, so this book focuses on those that are ultimately necessary inhow Italian unification plays out. This is a reasonable choice but it does affect what is discussed. For example, Savoy which the King of Italy emerges from gets quite a bit of attention, where as Florence and Venice obtain comparatively little.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Penjing: The Chinese Art of Bonsai: A Pictorial Exploration of Its History, Aesthetics, Styles and Preservation []  2020-12-5 20:8

    Amazing coverage on the history of Chinese bonsai, however too much focus was placed on "landscape" style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pursuit of Italy: A History of a Land, Its Regions, and Their Peoples []  2020-1-28 20:30

    I'm unsure about this book. It has an necessary theme, that Italy ,at best, should have a loose federal system, or maybe should have never been united. This has been said before but this book dispenses with the subtle writings of previous English historians. Some of the chapters are quite interesting, as stand alone essays, but the author scours Italian history for precedents which help his views while overlooking those that run counter to his thesis. Some chapters are very detailed while others are simply summaries of periods of Italian history. He describes Verdi's life minutely but barely explains the war of Adowa. Some facts that help his views aren't even mentioned. I was surprised that he never mentioned that in the naval war of Lissa a lot of of the sailors in the victorious Austrian navy were from Venice and the flag of San Marco was displayed from the masts of some of the Austrian ships while the Italian Navy fought to claim Venice. His references to military history of Italy in Globe Battle 11 have long been revised. He states that after Taranto and Cape Matapan the Italian navy played small role in the is would be a surprise to Military historians such as Greene, who have written extensively about naval warfare in the Med.Few current military historians believe that the German invasion of Greece set back the date for Barbarossa. My main complaint is there is small ysis of the failings of post 1860 Italy's complete mishandling of the economy of the South. The author certainly alludes to it, but as the son of a Neapolitan immigrant and first generation Sicilian mother I always wondered why there are almost no Italian Americans in the US whose grandparents came from anywhere north of Benevento. This book simply falls short. That being said the romantic notion of the Unification of Italy is easily left in tatters by this book, as it should be. Though Garibaldi remains a hero. I'm glad that he even as partisan an author as this still leaves Garibaldi as the sun of the 19th Century.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386