Read home schooling reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all home schooling reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Home Schooling Series []  2020-8-4 18:24

    Ambleside Online has place their annotated edition (which is copyrighted by AO under the type of copyright known as a derivative work) on their www service and created it available free of charge. This does not, however, mean that Wilder is free to take it and violate AO's copyright and License however they [email protected]#$%!& may be free, but AO still owns the copyright and the maintains right to do as they want with it. Wilder does NOT have AO's permission to print their work and create a profit on it.Wilder has repeatedly stolen AO's work and created it available for a cost. This Omnibus edition is merely a compilation of all their other copyright violations, in one e only hard copies I know of that are NOT in copyright violation are the red/white or pink/white gingham editions. If you are looking for an e-version, just go to AO's website and place the free ver on your Kindle using Push to Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Home Schooling Series []  2020-8-4 18:24

    I love it so much! This book is amazing for homeschooling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Home Schooling Series []  2020-8-4 18:24

    Misspelled name on the cover???? Really??!?!?!?

    0  


    Add your opinion on home schooling or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Home Schooling Series []  2020-8-4 18:24

    Quality is fine but the font print is beautiful small, though I understand the need as all her books are in one. It’s hard to study from, I feel like I’m stuck at a desk studying like in college with a giant massive book that’s uncomfortable to keep and leaves an indent if you balance it on your stomach or arm or whatever. I wouldn’t recommend this, it’s worth it to spend a bit more and obtain individual books. They’d be more convenient to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Home Schooling Series []  2020-8-4 18:24

    Not only is the work stolen from Ambleside, the author's name isn't even spelled right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Home Schooling Series []  2020-8-4 18:24

    This shouldn't be allowed to be sold. It's obviously an unauthorized copy as even Charlotte's name is misspelled on the COVER! Ridiculous. Returning and buying the originals from a credible source. Do not buy this copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Home Schooling Series []  2020-8-4 18:24

    Very little typeface and hard to read with no italics, spacing or formating, just a wall of little words. It seems to have been taken right from the Ambleside Online www service without editing or correction. Ambleside Online's modern comments and typos are found throughout this one volume edition and also in the publisher's individual volumes as well. Yet, surprisingly, no mention of Ambleside Online can be found inside the book/ also appears the publisher did not even refer to the first original "Original Homeschooling Series" , the one in the red box set, to correct the mistakes. I will stick to the original "Original", the ones published by a true homeschool family. Check this one out:  Charlotte Mason's Original Homeschooling Series

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Home Schooling Series []  2020-8-4 18:24

    How excited I was to keep this material. A book of gold full of God's wisdom to teach and train home schooling families in every aspect. An absolute must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Catholic Education: Homeward Bound: Homeward Bound - Useful Guide to Catholic Home Schooling []  2021-2-17 20:6

    I kind of miss having page numbers, but this book was an encouragement. May still obtain a paper copy of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Catholic Education: Homeward Bound: Homeward Bound - Useful Guide to Catholic Home Schooling []  2021-2-17 20:6

    This is my first review for Amazon. I just started homeschooled my sons for seven months. Homeschooling is one of the amazing decision I have ever created in my life as it is still rare and uncommon in our country at the moment. When people hear that my sons don't go to "school", they will shout and shoot me with thousands of fore I decided to pull out my children out of school, I have read a lot of homeschooling books to support me with the questions I will obtain from people around and to confirm myself. I am very sorry that I didn't read this book as my first reading. Although it was published 16 years ago, it really makes me charmed and amazed with the wonder of home education toward is book includes 4 parts:Fact Finding - the primary reasons to choose home education. I am really interested with the natural reasons of home education as family cision Making - the most common questions might be asked by parents before or when deciding to home educate children. Some of those questions might appear after we decide to home educate.Extra Consideration - the challange of home educate some various ages of children, ho to obtain support from society, and deeper FAQ regarding home education in some Education - Homeward Bound, Catholic tradition, philosophy, "teaching" to strengthen family life.I have been Catholic since I was a baby, but I have never thought how essential Catholic home education for my sons before I read this book. I can see the example of Catholic home education "result" when I browse into Ms. Hahn's family facebook. It is very nice to see how those five kids pictured at the back of cover (and plus one more) have growned up and created families which might immitate their parents' family. It can be a duplication of teaching for the next ank you very much Ms. Hahn and Ms. Hasson.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Catholic Education: Homeward Bound: Homeward Bound - Useful Guide to Catholic Home Schooling []  2021-2-17 20:6

    A helpful tutorial for home schooling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Catholic Education: Homeward Bound: Homeward Bound - Useful Guide to Catholic Home Schooling []  2021-2-17 20:6

    I have purchased several copies of this book over the years. Most recently, I bought a bonus copy for a dear mate who lives overseas, where homeschooling is actually illegal. This review is written with particular kudos to the seller: hippo_books/ Hippo Books Online. The bonus was lost during transition from the US to UK postal systems and never arrived. Nonetheless, Hippo Books provided a FULL refund and were exceedingly courteous. I DO recommend this book to anyone considering a Catholic homeschooling education for their kids as it is an invaluable resource for curricula and guiding principles for a classical Catholic education. Thank you Hippo Books, as well, for supporting the homeschooling community.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Catholic Education: Homeward Bound: Homeward Bound - Useful Guide to Catholic Home Schooling []  2021-2-17 20:6

    First off, I know of and completely respect the authors. After reading this book I felt encouraged to start this journey with our two youngest children. I want I had had this when our three older kids were in grade school. I felt called to homeschool, but afraid to take the first step.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Catholic Education: Homeward Bound: Homeward Bound - Useful Guide to Catholic Home Schooling []  2021-2-17 20:6

    While this book is an simple to read tutorial to homeschooling, there are issues with its "Catholicity". Kimberly Hahn has recommended some sources which are Protestant -produced and anti-Catholic. There is an underlying tone of disapproval of traditional Catholic sources such as the baltimore Catechism which most homeschooling Catholic parents I know prefer to use.Just beware. Why two "catholic" authors have chosen to do this only points to the fact that there are deep divisions in the Catholic hoemschooling movement. These two ladies see themselves as Catholic home educator leaders but they do not represent all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Catholic Education: Homeward Bound: Homeward Bound - Useful Guide to Catholic Home Schooling []  2021-2-17 20:6

    I found this a very informative material for a beginner mom who's considering homeschooling. I truly realized how spirituality can be applied in educating my kids which is a God-given right to every parent. The authors gave much of their private experiences in homeschooling plus an extensive list of bibliography of resources. I want they can modernize some of them. I want they would also contain solutions for parents and kids who had experienced typical school life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Catholic Education: Homeward Bound: Homeward Bound - Useful Guide to Catholic Home Schooling []  2021-2-17 20:6

    As a practicing Catholic and as someone who is interested in homeschooling, I checked this book out from the library. I am so glad I did not buy it. I do have to disclose, however, that my perspective is beautiful liberal for a Catholic and that's a product of my upbringing and my E GOOD: The authors are very encouraging of mothers, telling them they are the best teachers for their children. Indeed, the Church teaches that we are the first teachers of our children, something with which I agree. However, there are amazing teachers in public and parochial schools, and the authors create the reader feel as though it would be a sin to place a kid in a school environment outside the home. It is not always possible to homeschool and yes, sometimes parents need to place their faith in the school system while at the same time, being their children's first teachers and aware at all e list of locations to purchase curriculum, if the reader chooses to do so, is probably out of date as the book is 13 years old, but it's a amazing starting point while doing Internet research.I really liked the blank schedules and logs at the back of the book. They are simple enough to adapt to one's E BAD: I did not like the part about discouraging homeschooled kids from participating in the local public school's sports squads and at the end of the book, quoting a report by Phyllis Schlafly on education. If I had known about the Schlafly part, I would not have even checked this book out of the a person who is biracial and not born in this country, and for whom English is not a first language, I object to the authors' dismissal of curriculum that contains a multicultural perspective. I realize this book was written in 1996 (I don't know of more latest versions) but even in 1996, surely anyone could appreciate the wealth of diversity in this country, something that cannot be denied. We're here and we're everywhere. How would the authors deal then with the problem of racial minorities who are Catholic? In my children's school, the majority of the students (~75%) are Asian. Would the authors have the parents of these students show a white, western perspective?Finally, while I realize that mothers provide the majority of homeschool education, with fathers playing a lesser role, I felt that the authors were very focused on traditional male-female roles in the home. There was an imbalance of power between the parents which reinforces the view that dad goes out to work and when he comes home, he expects his home to be clean, that dinner be on the table and the kids well-behaved. It promotes the notion that the mother is not working a multitude of jobs (child reading, kid educating, cleaning, cooking and chauffering, etc.). I felt like I was reading a book from the 1950s.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Catholic Education: Homeward Bound: Homeward Bound - Useful Guide to Catholic Home Schooling []  2021-2-17 20:6

    Homeschooling grows in popularity every year and parents need all the best resources available - this book is one of the tools that parents need to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Catholic Education: Homeward Bound: Homeward Bound - Useful Guide to Catholic Home Schooling []  2021-2-17 20:6

    Today there are so a lot of books available on the shop on how to homeschool your child. A lot of promote a certain curriculum, others just leave you confused and scratching your head.I love the method Hasson and Hahn hold it simple! You are able to glean from their experience, their triumphs and failures. It is written by "the experts" the homeschooling moms ey are real/relevant in their approach to homeschooling. This book is directed towards people of the Catholic faith, however as I Christian I found it to be one of the best books on the market.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    I like this one. It's relaxing. The fish look amazing and I like the method the water moves up and down when you look up. The sound effects and bubbles add to the experience. Also, there was no lag. - Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge w/ Cardboard headset

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Needs a lot of work. I can't even look up and down. Add that and I will give it 5 stars easy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    I download it but it's present only some colorful lining and it's not help my divice. I use micromax nitro2 mobile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    But no shark in the android game plz

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Could use a small excitement here or there. But overall I think its really cool. Amazing job :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    :d

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Original: Will give 5 if with sound, Edited: I guess sound is off because cardboard makes it no sound heard, thanks yeah it has sound. Kinda laggy but nonetheles marvelous

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Calming experience. You should create a lot of a lot of more VR apps !! I don't know why but the first time I tried to install it, it got downloaded but didn't obtain installed. It was successful the second time. Amazing effort!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Monotonous

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Submitting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Surface Water movement is needed. Amazing job on fish movement and schooling

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    It's amazing specially Water movement

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    I love fish so i love the android game it fills rill and it fills like i am in the ocean

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Would be cooler if water on the surfaced moved to add to illusion, the sharks swims a bit funny, maybe other sea monsters like squid, crabs and corral reef on the sea floor, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Was a amazing app, be nice if you could see some sharks or seals or other ocean life swim by or obtain bumped by. That would be be cool, beautiful cool otherwise..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    I like to watch floating fishes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    OK

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    VR is all about interactive virtual worlds... There is no movement here, and no method to even exit the "game" without taking the headset off. Could be amazing with a bit more work, though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    feel like im seeing true fishes in the ocean.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Won't allow me move around

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Air plane chicken sold ger

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Looks amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    I like the underwater result with the fish. But I've always hated that breathing sound. It's very distracting, annoying, and not relaxing at all. If not for that, this would be very soothing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    If you ever wanted to be a barnacle with eyes, this is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    My only want is Cardboard VR had some kind of focus adjust (like on binoculars) so people with glasses could use this better. Having said that, this fish viewer is still very relaxing....I could use this all day if I had the time. Very satisfied with this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    The graphics and sense of immersion are fantastic. The behaviour patterns are intriguing, however something more interested could be added. If the developers are after educational vr, then perhaps adding capsules of information. Or if you simply wish an accurate immersion, perhaps enable a swimming ability.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    There is a huge black zone above mine plz fix because i like the application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Not good graphic, poor bubbles grahic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Please add some scary and exciting things like shark!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Nice app, best optimization. No stutter no frame rate drop. Just right. Plz add jelly fishes. And if you could create water surface celling small wave like water. But still at show its WOW

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Nice relaxing VR experience - no guns or shooting. Clever fish movement, how is that done? Response to your response: Thanks for the information, I'll have fun the application even more now. Coincidentally, my 83 year old mother-in-law tried the application latest night and thought it 'wonderful and calming'. I like the upgrades, in particular the sea floor rendering. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Installed this application and started getting pop-ups on my phone. I've uninstalled the app, and now the pop-ups are gone. I'd steer clear of this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    The idea is amazing but the execution is somewhat lacking. Not much goes on and you obtain bored of just seeing fish swim around you. Maybe some more diversity in sea life would add to the experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    got bored less than a min.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    It was really freaking amazing I am scared of water but I did it it is amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Good. .feeling cool. .well done

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    It was so cool

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Kheyli jalebe

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    Really neat, calm app. The only setback I've experienced is that the framerate is excellent while my head is perfectly still, but so long as I'm rotating there is a significant lag. I'm running it on an LG G3.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Schooling VR [App]  2017-11-26 13:6

    It's not even a game!!!There's "NO" interactchin when you tern or tilt your head nothing moves!!!ITS JUST A BUNCH OF STUPID FISH SWIMMING OUROND!!!How's it a android game when you can't even play it?!!!I think you shudent ever play this nongame because ITS NOT A GAMMMMMMMMMMMMMME!!!!!!!!!! #STUPID!!!!!!!!!!😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headphones with Microphone, Vogek Lightweight Foldable on Ear Headset for Kids Teens Adults, Wired Stereo Headphones with Deep Bass, Portable Design for Home Office Travel Virtual Schooling, Black []  2021-3-8 20:21

    Nice looking head phones. Bought 2 pair of various cheap head phones along with these, these are my favorite. Best sound of the 3 on low output device's.....tested with Kindle. Best at high output too...tested with Onkyo home reciever. [email protected]#$%!&s hard on high output, shakes your head. I don't wish to step on any toes, so i will just say headphones on the left side of the picture are my second favorite and ones on the very right are my very, very, least favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headphones with Microphone, Vogek Lightweight Foldable on Ear Headset for Kids Teens Adults, Wired Stereo Headphones with Deep Bass, Portable Design for Home Office Travel Virtual Schooling, Black []  2021-3-8 20:21

    Using then right now. Have been using them for a amazing 2 weeks or so? Plan on using them for another long time. They are definitely y at a price this low, and this amazing of quality! It has a spring at the end of the aux part so it won't mess up as easily. (Unlime my other 60$ headphones XD ) they come in this little looking box, almost disappointing. But I begin them up and test them out. They sound just as amazing as my 60$ one. I'm confident the aux end will be safe for a long time. No need to worry if your pocket is bending it. So far 2 weeks in my pocket and it's amazing as new. It's seriously amazing quality at a low price. There's a mic but no actual volume control. Not that I found at least. Mates hear my fine over the phone and on my PS4. For anyone on a low budget trying to obtain some amazing headphones, this is it. For anyone on a high budget looking for something on the little side for travel, won't have to spend much, this is it. Love this headphones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headphones with Microphone, Vogek Lightweight Foldable on Ear Headset for Kids Teens Adults, Wired Stereo Headphones with Deep Bass, Portable Design for Home Office Travel Virtual Schooling, Black []  2021-3-8 20:21

    I wanted to love these. Most people gave them a amazing review, and considering the price, they seemed like the excellent pair to cart with me to the gym. The first pair looked amazing out of the package, seemed well made, and were comfortable.....but when I tried to use them, I could only hear the background melody on the TV while using the treadmill. NO voices, no matter what I tried. What was THAT about?! So....returned them for a various set. This time, out of the gate, they would only work if I “pushed” on the jack. When I did that, the sound was good. But I’m not about to keep it in put for an hour while I walk. I did test four various pieces of equipment thinking that might be the problem.....but it wasn’t. So back they go. Again. I’m so disappointed! On the upside, returns were super easy both times. Maybe I just happened to obtain the “jankety” sets because other people have loved them. I won’t be trying them again. Amazing luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headphones with Microphone, Vogek Lightweight Foldable on Ear Headset for Kids Teens Adults, Wired Stereo Headphones with Deep Bass, Portable Design for Home Office Travel Virtual Schooling, Black []  2021-3-8 20:21

    Pros:Very compact and simple to shop and carry around. The speakers have an ample range of e sound is crisp and has a beautiful amazing ey are very comfortable even for a person that wears eye glasses but after several hours it starts to damage (glasses) which is no fault of the headset. I usually have to take a break with other headsets (even more expensive ones) after 1 is compatible with the XBox One adapter and controllers with the 3.5mm jack as well as the PS4. The sound when playing is excellent and it is a very amazing alternative to expensive e connector has a metallic shell that protects the wire from pulls and bends which is a definitive e padding is amazing but does not go over your ear unless you have little ns:The microphone is in the wire and it normally doesn't fall in the direction of your mouth, sometimes people might not hear you loudly but so far, it has worked without problems when I play.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headphones with Microphone, Vogek Lightweight Foldable on Ear Headset for Kids Teens Adults, Wired Stereo Headphones with Deep Bass, Portable Design for Home Office Travel Virtual Schooling, Black []  2021-3-8 20:21

    I purchased these headphones to replace the awkward and ill-fitting earbuds that came with my MP3 player. The Voget headphones fit comfortably and, when jogging, remain solidly in und quality is perfect and, even at high volume, distortion is not noticeable. Those that habitually jog alongside busy and risky roads will be glad to know that background sounds will not be entirely rain relief is provided at both ends of the cable. The headset’s band is adjustable to acc for head size, and the earpieces can be twisted and folded for storage. An inline microphone allows this device to be used with a cellphone.I like the Voget headphone. It is comfortable, inexpensive, and provides perfect sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headphones with Microphone, Vogek Lightweight Foldable on Ear Headset for Kids Teens Adults, Wired Stereo Headphones with Deep Bass, Portable Design for Home Office Travel Virtual Schooling, Black []  2021-3-8 20:21

    I looked for amazing headphones and found these. Not too poor for the price and how they 's the pros and cons, in my opinion:Pros:- Amazing Sound Quality- Able to hear/make calls on ns:- Didn't had a case (Minor)- Doesn't have an portable aux like wire to pull in/out and carry. (Minor)I couldn't describe about the noise cancellation because I'm divided on where its at. But I can give an explaination: if you're in a put that's loud, turn up the volume, or if it is quiet, create it sound at a right spot, but have some care with the eardrums as tom line: I'm digging these headphones, they are the best with what you only expect but I myself love them. High recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headphones with Microphone, Vogek Lightweight Foldable on Ear Headset for Kids Teens Adults, Wired Stereo Headphones with Deep Bass, Portable Design for Home Office Travel Virtual Schooling, Black []  2021-3-8 20:21

    Edit to add: We have now had them almost a month and they are still in like-new condition. For my offspring that is a truly awesome thing, especially with a headset that has moving parts. I will definitely be purchasing these again.OP: I bought these to cover an emergency loss of prior headphones for a 15y/o. They were shipped right away and the boy was impressed with them. We both like the metal connector and the spring at the connection that will support prevent breakage at that point, a put that a lot of of my son's headphone fail. He has used them for several days and hasn't had a single complaint (could be the end of days). More importantly, this affordably priced product is still working after four days despite the fact that my teen uses them 18 hours a day. There are a amazing a lot of brands that can't create that boast. I am certain that there are higher quality (and more expensive) headphones out there, with all kinds of bells and whistles probably, but given how hard the boy can be on his hardware, I will be happy to come back to this brand again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headphones with Microphone, Vogek Lightweight Foldable on Ear Headset for Kids Teens Adults, Wired Stereo Headphones with Deep Bass, Portable Design for Home Office Travel Virtual Schooling, Black []  2021-3-8 20:21

    I 'm an audiophile. I have sony MDRS Sennheisers, Porta pro HD., and Grados. The melody I love goes from Iron Maiden to Lionel Richie, to Pennywise, to Alabama I love sound... These head phones are out of the box.. They sound great. I did not know when I purchase them they had a volume adjustment . It's so sleek you can hardly message it but it works. I don't tell people to buy something . Boy oh boy for the price... Everyone in the globe should have a set of these. They are built and sound magnificent for your laptop or phone. If you had to go to something else I would say portapros but they break to easy. I don't know how anyone can sell these for this price.... Buy them and then I dare you to tell me I lied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headphones with Microphone, Vogek Lightweight Foldable on Ear Headset for Kids Teens Adults, Wired Stereo Headphones with Deep Bass, Portable Design for Home Office Travel Virtual Schooling, Black []  2021-3-8 20:21

    These headphones might be great, but for anyone that doesn’t have a large skull, these won’t work. They can’t cancel noise because they don’t fit securely. Even if they were adjustable, which they are not, they have no “squeeze”, so they don’t fit securely around your e pads are soft and comfortable. They sound fine, nothing exceptional. For the price, they are amazing headphones, but not for kids or women or men that aren’t large.Rather disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headphones with Microphone, Vogek Lightweight Foldable on Ear Headset for Kids Teens Adults, Wired Stereo Headphones with Deep Bass, Portable Design for Home Office Travel Virtual Schooling, Black []  2021-3-8 20:21

    -UPDATE 6/19/20-I've had these for over a year now and they are still going strong. This is probably one of the best sets of budget headphones available. If you are looking for a replacement for the Amazon Basics lightweight headphones, I would highly recommend going with these instead of the current ver of Amazon Basics - less expensive and better quality.I can now also verify that the in-line mic works well too. I have been working from home for over 3 months now due to COVID and have been using these everyday for meetings and phone calls, as well as listening to music. Everyone I've asked has said I sound clear. These also block out enough background noise that I am able to stay focused on work and not obtain distracted by TV noise or screaming children since I don't have a separate room to work in. These headphones have been a life-saver!-ORIGINAL REVIEW-The overwhelming amount of positive reviews on these headphones was what ultimately sold me on them, and I must say I agree with what others have said. As far as sound quality goes, these are competitive with other headphones method above their price range. They aren't going to out-perform $300 Sennheisers or anything, but they are easily on par with something you would search for $50. If that's what you are looking for, give these a shot first - you might just save yourself $40.A few notes...- The sound quality is surprisingly amazing for their price point, and I was shocked by the amount of bass they are actually able to output. It's not head-rattling, but they definitely have more capacity than I expected.- They're not the most comfortable headphones I've ever tried (that award goes to the Phillips SHP9500s and would be hard to beat), but they're not the most uncomfortable pair either. As far as on-ear headphones go, these are beautiful amazing in this zone - I can wear them for several hours before they begin to bother me. There are certainly worse options out there.- I have not tried using the mic, so I can't comment on that one method or the other.- I really like the metal strain relief they used on the plug. I have never seen any other headphones with that feature and it works well, so this helps elevate these above the rest.- These don't have much in the method of noise cancellation, but they weren't advertised as such and I didn't expect them to, so no true issue there - just more of an FYI for anyone who might be curious. They do block a small bit of outside noise, but don't expect complete silence. Basically, if someone 5 feet away from me is talking at a normal conversational level, with melody playing I can still tell that they are talking but I can't hear them well enough to tell what they are saying (I've received more than several irritated responses from my wife when asking her "what did you say?").These have become my go-to headphones for general daily listening. I'll reach for one of my more expensive sets if I really wish to relax and sink into some amazing tunes, but these are more than adequate for just about everything else. I have a pair of the (discontinued) Amazon Basics headphones that I use every day at work, and honestly I think these sound better. If those ever break, I will absolutely be buying another set of these to replace them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equestrian Pilates: Schooling for the Rider []  2020-1-26 20:46

    A brilliant book. Simple to follow. Amazing exercises that you can do anywhere. Highly recommended for anyone that has a horse, or would like better core strength and balance. Fabulous

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Equestrian Pilates: Schooling for the Rider []  2020-1-26 20:46

    I'm an equestrian who has been taking Pilates classes, so this seemed like a natural choice. I have fun how this book incorporates stuff horse owners would likely have available into the exercises, rather than requiring unique equipment. The descriptions are clear and the a lot of illustrations add to understanding the moves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    t-mobile home internet []  2021-2-15 4:24

    The fresh 5G t-mobile home internet has significant limitations. It is a amazing device for families with kids, but for adults, it is a piece of you know what. First, their configuration software does not allow you create changes to the DHCP Server IP addresses - so you cannot add wired APs to the device. Second, the service DOES NOT help VPN services - so if you do work from home, this is not your device. It seems that their device was rushed out the door or was designed for elementary school students. Will be returning mine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inequality in the Promised Land: Race, Resources, and Suburban Schooling []  2019-12-18 20:41

    Just as described. Quick delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dumbing Us Down: The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling []  2020-11-2 18:50

    I didn't have fun reading this book. We homeschool with a mostly "unschooling" or interest-driven methodology slant so I would have expected this book to be affirming. Instead I found it unsettling. The method the arguments and opinions were presented created it feel like a series of loosely justified, mad rants. I felt I was reading propaganda from a divisive and militant speaker intent on proving a heavy and deliberate conspiracy. The state of schools today (I think) is more likely linked to apathy and top-heavy centralized management of the organization. That was formed less from some manic desire to rubber stamp kids and more out of a realization that the unequality in substance and resources from one school to another boiled down to cruelty drawn along socioeconomic and racial lines. We continue to smooth away the curriculum into easier to teach and fast to understand lumps because it's easier to measure. If you take out coverage of subjects that could make controversy, there's less complaint from those masses that participate. Industrialized schooling is not borne from a calculated elitist conspiracy but the mundane ease of generalized app to a huge population.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dumbing Us Down: The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling []  2020-11-2 18:50

    John Taylor Gatto is an award winning teacher that isn’t afraid to buck the trend.Dumbing Us Down – The Hidden Curriculum Of Compulsory Schooling by John Taylor Gatto is a masterly an in-depth view into how public schooling really mpling a lot of of his best private essays, Dumbing Us Down features the real reasons why education in our modern day system is failing: because it’s meant to be that tto reinforces his main premise with a thorough examination of public schooling in America. He carries this out rather incisively given his no holds barred approach to the matter, and this is very refreshing.While a lot of others have tippy toed their method around the issue, Gatto harpoons the heart of the matter with statements such as:“…schools and schooling are increasingly irrelevant to the amazing enterprises of the planet. No one believes anymore that scientists are trained in science classes or politicians in civics classes or poets in English classes. The truth is that schools don’t really teach anything except how to obey orders.”[1][Bold Emphasis Added]“Schools are intended to produce, through the app of formulas, formulaic human beings whose behavior can be predicted and controlled.”[2][Bold Emphasis Added]“It is absurd and anti-life to be part of the system that compels you to sit in confinement with people of exactly the same age and social class. That system effectively cuts you off from the immense diversity of life and the synergy of variety; indeed it cuts you off from your own past and future, sealing you in a continuous show much the same method tv does.”[3][Bold Emphasis Added]Such scathing statements leave no question to Gatto’s courageous stance, and helps the reader understand the plight we face rather cogently.Another component of this ongoing public schooling problem is how vital the community is, and more importantly, the family unit, in helping foster a healthier, more independent, more curious, and ultimately more self-sufficient individuals through proper education. While this might seem obvious in hindsight, it isn’t being employed that much at all in our modern roughout the length of the book, Gatto fiercely touches upon the a lot of various factors that have helped cause this growing dilemma. Some of these contain the overwhelming amount of tv being watched by society in general, and more specifically by children, while other components have to deal with the inherent designs of schooling such as the fragmentation of education, the removal of the family from an individual’s education, the not good life tenets individuals are taught, and much of the best parts of the book is what Gatto calls ‘The 7-Lesson School Teacher’, where the author shows what teachers are truly expected to inculcate into students. Once read, this particular lesson to the reader might seem facetious, but it’s really not. When one views what Gatto is stating with an begin mind – while keeping cognizance of the fact that he worked decades for the system – then one completely gets to be aware of why failure in schooling isn’t the exception, but the fact, more specifically, Gatto gets at the heart of why public schooling is destined to fail:“Mass education cannot work to produce a fair society because its everyday practice is practice in rigged competition, suppression and intimidation. The schools we’ve allowed to develop can’t work to teach nonmaterial values, the values which give meaning to everyone’s life, rich or poor, because the structure of schooling is held together by a Byzantine tapestry of reward and threat, of carrots and sticks. Official favor, grades, and other trinkets of subordination have no connection with education; they are the paraphernalia of servitude, not of freedom.”[69][Bold Emphasis Added]Gatto has unbounded a phenomenal book in the field of public schooling and more importantly, what real education should encompass. Please hold in mind, schooling and education are not the same thing. Particularly, this differentiation and what each means is one of the main gems of this finalize, this book is a veritable fountain of info that is intense in precision and thought-provoking in its implications given that they filter into all aspects of our lives, and ultimately seep into the future. This is why it’s vitally necessary for individuals to become autodidacts, and support others become so through our interactions with our families and communities. Self-teaching is more necessary now than ever, especially with the deteriorating effects of public cause of all the reasons mentioned above, and myriad more, this book is definitely a must read for the author saliently notes:“Aristotle saw, a long time ago, that fully participating in a complex range of human affairs was the only method to become fully human…”[47][Bold Emphasis Added]____________________________________________________Sources & References:[1] John Taylor Gatto, Dumbing Us Down – The Hidden Curriculum Of Compulsory Schooling, pg. 21.[2] Ibid., pg. 23.[3] Ibid., pg. 24.[4] Ibid., pg. 69.[5] Ibid., pg. 47.____________________________________________________Suggested resources reviewed below for those seeking ideas to self-teach and become autodidacts:Socratic Logic V3.1 by Peter Kreeft e Trivium – The Liberal Arts Of Grammar & Rhetoric by Sister Miriam Joseph To Read A Book – The Classic Tutorial To Smart Reading by Mortimer J. Adler & Charles Van DorenPhilosophy 101 – An Introduction To Philosophy Via Plato’s Apology by Peter Kreeft e Complete Workbook For Arguments – A Complete Course In Critical Thinking [2nd Ed.] by David R. Morrow & Anthony WestonThe Imaginative Argument – A Practical Manifesto For Writers by Frank L. CioffiThe following books reviewed below cover the disturbing problems within the public schooling system:Rotten To The Common Core by Dr. Joseph P. Farrell Ph.D.& Gary LawrenceA Various Kind Of Teacher – Solving The Crisis Of American Schooling by John Taylor GattoWeapons Of Mass Instruction by John Taylor GattoDrilling Through The Core, by Sandra Stotsky & ContributorsThe Underground History Of American Education by John Taylor Gatto

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dumbing Us Down: The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling []  2020-11-2 18:50

    I have already removed my kids from the government institutional schools a lot of years prior to reading this book, so I didn't think I'd search much of Gatto's editorializing shocking. However, I did. John Taylor Gatto will likely not obtain the full respect he deserves for his musings and experience until a revolutionary end to compulsory schooling has taken place. If you've witness enough of the school system, and are on the fence about leaving it for the greener pastures of educational freedom, I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World Schooling: How to Revolutionize Your Child's Education Through Travel []  2020-11-22 19:4

    Honestly, traveling to foreign countries is scary. Even though my wife & I have both lived abroad, we know what sacrifices we created to do so & we could never imagine taking our children to 3rd globe countries to live if we didn't have access to a ton of bloggers already doing , we’ve carried this burning desire to move overseas with our 3 children in spite of all of the limiting beliefs & frowns from mates & family but it has been countless hours of sifting through tons of blogs with very specific experiences & no alternative advice. So we did our best to cheat together the best information & plan in order to obtain ready to move our small family of 5 to Costa you imagine, we’ve been desperate to search a resource that reviews multiple ways to create our wild adventure more structured, and this book does exactly that.I've never had a hard time understanding the power that travel & education through travel can have on kids, but the author does a amazing job of leveraging very practical stories & logic to support people understand why the "existing education system" isn't the ONLY respond to bright futures for our 's not only resourceful, it's engaging & simple to read & scan for the fast answers, too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World Schooling: How to Revolutionize Your Child's Education Through Travel []  2020-11-22 19:4

    As a former teacher turned Homeschool Mom of 3 boys, this book has empowered my husband and I to take the next step in educating our children. That being Worldschooling! Amazing resource for newbies and veterans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Growing Without Schooling Volume 1 (GWS: The Complete Collection) []  2020-12-28 20:3

    This is an Perfect collection of valuable magazines on homeschooling. There are tons of valuable articles in this collection that create it worth the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Progressive Dystopia: Abolition, Antiblackness, and Schooling in San Francisco []  2019-12-18 20:30

    Informed by abolition democracy and Afropessimism, this is a sobering, beautifully written, and theoretically sophisticated ethnography of one "progressive" school in San Francisco. The author illuminates the antiblackness that underlies the daily "progressive carcerality" of Robeson Justice Academy and the abolition practices that Black students engage in. I greatly enjoyed this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inequality in the Promised Land: Race, Resources, and Suburban Schooling []  2019-12-18 20:41

    An insightful look to the obvious

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Privilege: Lessons of Power and Identity in Affluent Schooling []  2020-1-21 19:32

    Raised in Appalachian poverty, Adam Howard found himself a teacher at a personal high school serving mainly wealthy students. As an outsider within, Howard became interested in studying how "privilege" was taught in affluent schools. Using the tools of an educator/ethnologist, Howard spent time observing classrooms in three elite independent schools and a public high school located in an affluent little "Learning Privilege", Howard delves deep into the non-curricular lessons taught at these schools. His interest is on how an identity is made and reproduced. In some insightful chapters, Howard looks into such varied subjects as the role of trust, the honoring of tradition and how the privileged see the non-privileged. With his simple access to this affluent world, Howard takes his readers into locations most of us will never an "outsider within", Howard is ultimately critical of the values taught in these affluent schools. "Learning Privilege" is well written ethnography geared towards an academic market. Nevertheless, I think this an perfect book for both teachers and administrators who work in independent schools. For the parent patient enough to deal with Howard's academic approach, "Learning Privilege" offers special insights into the globe of independent schooling. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World Schooling: How to Revolutionize Your Child's Education Through Travel []  2020-11-22 19:4

    Do you often want you'd gotten a better education - not just beyond secondary school, but when you were much younger and still excited about learning? And also when learning was so easy, because it was fun...and wonder, what could have been different? And what could I do now to create sure my own children, or grandchildren have that richer, happier experience? Ashley Dymock De Tello's book has the answer. We don't need to create kids ready for the world, forcing them to sit still and be quiet, waiting out the years until they are old enough to create their own method in life. Rather, we need to use the globe as their teacher. It's simple to dismiss this idea as something that might work...perhaps...for the wealthy...but the author shows how almost any family can enrich their child's life with the broader education available beyond school walls and regimented classrooms. This isn't to say that traditional education is wrong...but it is deeply flawed and has been for a long time. It crushes the creativity and deadens the spirit of too a lot of children. If you agree (and perhaps you were one of these kids who found traditional education rigid and mind-numbingly boring) this is a book you won't wish to miss. Especially recommended for concerned legislators, educators and parents who wish to raise creative, inspired, compassionate, thoughtful and productive globe citizens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World Schooling: How to Revolutionize Your Child's Education Through Travel []  2020-11-22 19:4

    It's ok. The author seems nice and tries to support you. If you don't know anything its fine to start. Almost the entire book though is quoting other people and my husband and I found it very annoying while I was reading it out loud constantly saying "quote". She gives you the primary tools, just [email protected]#$%! seemed more original and her thoughts, not just constant quoting other people. Not too creative on her end. Most the information you can very easily get online. Or just follow a blog or 2. Not a book you would need, nor have to even reread ever again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dumbing Us Down: The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling []  2020-11-2 18:50

    This book is surprisingly better than I thought. Being woefully aware of the pitiful state of public education today, I thought this book would have nothing to teach me. I expected it to be more like a reminder or clarification of conditions I already knew. I was terribly wrong. This reading has much wisdom and knowledge to pass on. I recommend this book wholeheartedly. It is short, sweet, and I frankly could not place the book down once I started reading. Be blessed and empowered!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Growing Without Schooling Volume 1 (GWS: The Complete Collection) []  2020-12-28 20:3

    John Holt is my favorite writer on education. He is sincere, passionate, caring, reflective. I love his writing style. This would be an inspiring and maybe eye-opening read for any educator.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Education Gospel: The Economic Power of Schooling []  2021-4-8 20:17

    Amazing confirmation. Amazing reading! Thank You!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Against Schooling: For an Education That Matters (The Radical Imagination) []  2020-2-1 20:2

    Versus Schooling builds on the arguments articulated in Aronowitz's clear, and user friendly previous book THE KNOWLEDGE FACTORY. If you don't know that book, I would recommend reading it first in order to obtain a clear picture of Aronowitz's perspective and in order to obtain a helpful overview of the 20th Century history of US colleges and e show volume is more theoretically ambitious, denser, and at times more disjointed. However, the ysis of the current (early 21st Century) set of predicaments facing college faculty is convincing and devastating, and Aronowitz diagnoses the issues of the liberal/left in the academy with precision and sympathy. He makes a few very helpful suggestions as to what one might do to break through the impasse. Likewise, his discussion of the history of labor unions is helpful and well-written. I also appreciated the discussion of Gramsci's views of education -- of which I was unaware. The book ends a bit curiously -- with what feels like a separate essay on Paulo Freire.But all in all, it's a very fine book, and to my mind, no one really understands what is event at the university better than Aronowitz. And to his credit, he's not willing to just sit around and bemoan the sorry state of things. Whether or not you share his political views, you'll be hard pressed to deny his ysis of the US economy, the job market, and how these matters are connected inextricably to college and how it works and what it y it out. But be sure to read the Knowledge Factory first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inequality in the Promised Land: Race, Resources, and Suburban Schooling []  2019-12-18 20:41

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dumbing Us Down: The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling []  2020-11-2 18:50

    Gatto writes from a position of authority having taught in government schools for 30 years and having won "teacher of the year" for Fresh York Town and Fresh York state. Chapter One, the seven lesson schoolteacher explains how schooling produces boredom, dependency, class position and indifference plus and partly because schools exist to condition students to accept and propagate government values and a population of non-thinkers. All seven chapters offer much "food for thought" from a real expert and an ex-believer in government schooling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World Schooling: How to Revolutionize Your Child's Education Through Travel []  2020-11-22 19:4

    There is no better education for your children than traveling the globe and experiencing various cultures!I am a digital nomad myself and on my globe explorations, I have met so a lot of parents with children who created it all work! The author will tutorial you through the a lot of special challenges and rewards you will gain educating your kids in a special way. You will search a detailed overview of traditional and non-traditional teaching methods while emphasizing the rewards your kids gain from Globe Schooling! I highly recommend this book to all digital nomads and those families who see travel as integral part of their lives and wish to raise their kids free of prejudices and traditional constraints.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World Schooling: How to Revolutionize Your Child's Education Through Travel []  2020-11-22 19:4

    This book was super informative and exciting! I had never heard of globe schooling before, but have always wanted to travel as I raise my family and immerse them in various cultures. This book gave me dozens of insights of other families that are doing it and how! It's completely possible! It also empowered me as a parent that I am responsible for the education of my kids and there are a lot of alternatives to the traditional public school system. This is a book I will re-read and use all the references. Very thorough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World Schooling: How to Revolutionize Your Child's Education Through Travel []  2020-11-22 19:4

    If you have ever wondered if you'r kids are really getting a amazing education and if you are fresh to the idea of homeschooling, unschooling, or globe schooling this book is a amazing resource, with lots of support on how to obtain started!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    LGBTQ Voices in Education: Changing the Culture of Schooling []  2021-2-17 20:7

    Beautifully compiled. Extremely relevant!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Education Gospel: The Economic Power of Schooling []  2021-4-8 20:17

    Amazing overview of a perspective on American education system. I learned a lot from this read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inequality in the Promised Land: Race, Resources, and Suburban Schooling []  2019-12-18 20:41

    Even in some of the most well-resourced suburban schools, low-income students of color confront persistent obstacles to a high-quality education. It's a frustrating fact. After reading this book, however, you understand why—and not only that, you learn fresh ways of thinking about these problems and walk away understanding some of the tactics that create lasting change possible.With the clarity, thoroughness, and objectivity we urgently need on this issue, Professor Lewis-McCoy addresses the flaws in conventional wisdom and demonstrates how even the most well-intentioned participants in the educational system reinforce inequality. In this book, all readers—policymakers, parents, educators, and everyone in between—will search fresh language and ideas to discuss educational inequity, grapple with the sometimes counterintuitive barriers to student achievement, and leave with reasoned perspectives and solutions for change. The author's ysis is grounded in the stories of teachers, students, and parents, which are woven into every chapter, making his insights and prescriptions all the more reliable and compelling. Not content to simply dissect problems, the author offers fresh frameworks for understanding those issues as well as concrete approaches to addressing them in the near- and long-term.I recommend this book without reservation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inequality in the Promised Land: Race, Resources, and Suburban Schooling []  2019-12-18 20:41

    I'm not the type of person who writes reviews but i felt i had to in this instance. This is an extremely necessary work delving into the inequality's of suburban schools with regards to race. Buy this book now. R. L'Heureux Lewis-McCoy has written a piece of work that needs to be standard reading for educators in this country across all age groups.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dumbing Us Down: The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling []  2020-11-2 18:50

    John Taylor Gatto, upon winning the award for teacher of the year after 30 years in the classroom, delivered a speech that was so shocking that the reverberation is still being felt today. This speech is the first chapter of Dumbing Us Down: The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling and it is honest, insightful, and scathing. Essentially, he is an education whistleblower.“School is a twelve-year jail sentence where poor habits are the only curriculum truly learned. I teach schools and victory awards doing it. I should know.”Those “bad habits” he is referring to are what he outlines in the first chapter as being the real lessons taught in schools: confusion, class position, indifference, emotional dependency, intellectual dependency, provisional self-esteem, one can’t hide (constant surveillance).This book does not leave you feeling inspired – it leaves you outraged. But sometimes, that’s exactly what is required to spur change (and it’s why the Sage Homeschooling book begins with our experience exiting the school system).Read the book. Face the truth. Make a better path.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dumbing Us Down: The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling []  2020-11-2 18:50

    Amazing book. I have spent almost twenty years in college education. Colleges had to adjust their material to the watered down curriculum that gets passed on to it from high schools. At one point I had attempted teaching in the high school system but it is poisoned. They are more oriented to social indoctrination than education. There is still safety in Mathematics and the physical sciences if you can create it to upper division classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dumbing Us Down: The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling []  2020-11-2 18:50

    As with most reviews I do (which admittedly are not many) - I will speak to two things: the mechanics of the actual writing, and the rst, mechanics: Gatto is a very amazing presenter of ideas and information. I supposed this comes from being an educator, and most especially an educator in public education systems. I found the flow of the text simple to follow, and even though there is much editorializing by Gatto, it was engaging and passionate, and whether I agreed with it or not, I enjoyed cond, subject: Gatto resigned his post as a teacher after a number of years, citing frustrations around the manner in which education is designed/deployed in public schools in the US. As a product of public education myself, I can agree with at least one thing here: public education did very small to develop a love of learning for me. But my parents did. And where the public school system fell short, my parents succeeded. From the time I was kid until my parents were deceased, I was encouraged to read, ask questions, think for myself, weigh answers, search evidence, etc. About anything and everything. Gatto suggests that public education "dumbs" this down, and reduces the child/young adult to a automaton designed to fit into capitalist work society. I suspect there may be truth to this, but unlike Gatto, I do not think this is by design. Gatto believes it to be an intentional gap in public education, whereas I disagree. Since I disagreed with this, I gave the book four stars instead of five.Overall it is a very good, well-written book that presents meal for thought in an easy-to-understand fashion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World Schooling: How to Revolutionize Your Child's Education Through Travel []  2020-11-22 19:4

    I have always wanted to do my children's schooling differently than just going through our school system. I've never known exactly how or what to do and worry about the outcome of doing it differently, but this book gave such amazing direction, ideas and possibilities of how to change education for my kids. It had amazing stories, a fun writing style and makes family education/travel a true possibility

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386