Read house of shadows reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all house of shadows reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Court of Shadows (House of Furies Book 2) []  2020-7-26 19:47

    I saw this book on Fb quite a bit in my ads. So I figured what the heck I'll buy it. It did not disappoint!!! This book is the second in it's series and I enjoyed it so much more than the first. There were so a lot of twists and turns and I never knew what was going to happen next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Court of Shadows (House of Furies Book 2) []  2020-7-26 19:47

    I was confused and lost the thread of w hat was event it did not keep my attention

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Court of Shadows (House of Furies Book 2) []  2020-7-26 19:47

    I was not disappointed with the second book! I could not stop reading it. It draws you in and gives you a non stop storyline! I cannot wait to read the third book. She is a unbelievable writer

    0  


    Add your opinion on house of shadows or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Court of Shadows (House of Furies Book 2) []  2020-7-26 19:47

    I have been waiting for this book to come out after reading the first book. I can tell anyone reading this that I was just as impressed with this book. The ending makes me wonder "what's next?!"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Court of Shadows (House of Furies Book 2) []  2020-7-26 19:47

    Court of Shadows is a amazing sequel to House of Furies. The story and characters create you wish to hold reading it. If you liked House of Furies, you will also like Court of Shadows. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Court of Shadows (House of Furies Book 2) []  2020-7-26 19:47

    Amazing 2nd book to the series!! Absolutely a page turner!! I was hooked in the first few pages throughout the entire book!!The only thing I wasn’t thrilled about was getting the book out and the cover was damaged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Court of Shadows (House of Furies Book 2) []  2020-7-26 19:47

    Once again Madeleine Roux knocks it out of the park with this gothic horror tale. "Court of Shadows" finds Louisa coming to terms with her changeling powers while working for the Devil. We learn more of her past, her absent father and what's more - the Shepard and his angels pay a visit to Mr. Morningstar and his employees. Wanting to free her mates from their contracts, Louise enters a deal with the devil, trying to outmaneuver the master of lies. "Court of Shadows" has just the right amount of mystery, murder and creeping horror to hold you engaged to the thrilling end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Court of Shadows (House of Furies Book 2) []  2020-7-26 19:47

    Sequels are often boring but loved this one! Highly recommend the series so far looking forward to next installment. 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Court of Shadows (House of Furies Book 2) []  2020-7-26 19:47

    My granddaughter loves this author and this series. This book was one of several I got for her this year. She's satisfied - I'm happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Court of Shadows (House of Furies Book 2) []  2020-7-26 19:47

    Amazing book. Hard to place down. Amazing finish to triology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    You better place some walls on the android game so that the players will be safer at night and we players. Will injoy. Making some cool stuff.. Because if you live it like that. It sucks... With out wall and attractive houses... Its so boring. I hope you read these... One.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    still getting used to controls, but so far so good...storyline is exciting and keeps me captivated. it's like a first person survival game...could use a bit more instructions in the beginning..can take a minute to figure out how to do certain things...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    I love the controls, and the graphics, but the physics could be a small better, and I would have fun a jump button as well too 😄 This is a amazing game, and it kind of reminds me of Dead Island with a twist of Minecraft survival! 🔥

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    Attractive begin globe game! Scary enemies! The anomalies are tough! The enemy/player damages are perfectly balanced and overall it's a amazing game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    The android game got very boring for me well its a phone android game obtain a pc instead of a 1000 dollar phone if you wish amazing survival android games like 7 days to die or the mist

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    I loved it but if the creator created this multiplayer I would have all my mates playing this can you please create this multiplayer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    the android game is amazing but after the android game tasks not understand and android game looks boring..... after 10-15 task the android game not understand that how to the cross that level otherwise the android game is amazing hold it up...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Kurgansk [App]  2019-5-17 13:44

    I think it is a amazing android game but cuold u please add one more story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    not good camera and kind of flunky controls

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legend of Shadows [App]  2019-4-30 13:0

    Some love went into this, but it needs a lot more. Everything seems very early in development, but the largest problem for me is how the camera sways sickeningly as you move (no player control of camera).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lake Of Shadows []  2020-1-11 20:15

    This is not just another album from Phil Coulter. It holds a lot of moments of childhood memories and tragic loss in the Lough Swilly (River Swilly / Lake of Shadows).It was in childhood that he and his siblings vacationed and played and swam in the River Swilly. From those satisfied memories of kid innocence to the tragic moments of losing his brother Brian in a sailboat accident on the Swilly, the album covers the whole gamut of experience. The song The Star of the Sea is a dedication to Brian.About a year later Mr. Coulter stood on the pier in Buncrana (County Donegal, Ireland), where he sadly watched as his sister Cyd's vehicle was raised from the Swilly. One of her patients had called Cyd on her son's tenth birthday. Being the caregiver that she was, she responded to his call where he forced her to drive into the Swilly where they both perished. The Shores of the Swilly is his tribute to e album features the talents of Liam Neesom, Sinead O'Connor, Roma Downey, Aoife Ni Fhearraigh, Henry McCullough, Dermot Byrne, The Ballyclare Male Choir, the Coolea Choir and the Fresh Age Chamber Orchestra. When all of this coalesces you have a very attractive and touching repertoire of songs which reach into the depths of what it means to live on this Phil Coulter's own words:"I still go back to the Swilly. I still walk on the beach and watch the sunsets. Fate seems to have decreed that my life be entwined with that stretch of water. And even after all, I still love it."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lake Of Shadows []  2020-1-11 20:15

    This an album with attractive and haunting melodies delivered in Phil Coulter's smooth, harmonic style. Amazing listening for anyone who loves Irish music. I liked it the first time I listened to it, and each time I play it I hear some fresh subtlety. This is an album that touches a lot of emotions. I highly recommend it as one of the most soulful of Coulter's albums.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Circle of Shadows []  2020-1-11 19:21

    I've enjoyed Evelyn Skye's other series and of course had to read about the Taigas. Spirit and Daemon, bonded by friendship and something else (you'll just have to read it yourself to search out what it is) think that their current assignment is a dull, routine mission. They stumble across a group of travelers that may ultimately threaten their kingdom and their Taiga with the other book series I had to read this all in one go. How could I place it down?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Circle of Shadows []  2020-1-11 19:21

    Loved this book! Such an interesting globe and amazing characters! I can’t wait for the next book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out of Shadows []  2020-1-11 19:27

    This book is almost always in action so it is amazing for readers who love to be reading exciting books. The only objection I have to this book is all the cussing. If you have a rule versus cussing then I strongly advise that you don't read this book. Although it's a amazing book and fun too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out of Shadows []  2020-1-11 19:27

    What would I have done in that situation? Take a amazing look at yourself and wonder. Very well written; compelling story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Shadows []  2020-1-1 18:20

    I got this books for a college class and found myself learning a lot more than I had expected. In this book you examine why, in Japan, things look the method they do and are built in the ways they are. You really delve into the cultural significance as well as the spiritual, What you take away from this book is an understanding of the why the materials that were used in feudal buildings were and are still used today. Not a boring book at all. It does obtain dark sometimes while reading, no pun intended, but nothing too drastic. The read was smooth and I retained a lot of what I read. This book is a classic, and gives you a amazing perspective into Japanese aesthetics as a historical driving force in Japan. It also allows for you to create your own conclusions on if aesthetics are still show in Japan to this day and if its existence is still relevant to Japanese culture. It is not a very long book at all and you can knock it out in a very short while. Though it is short, you will have a better understanding of Japanese sociology as well as the reasons why Japan has formed the method it has. Overall, I felt this book offered a lot. This book has been around for a while, and I am glad that I got around to reading it. If you are interested in Japan at all, please take a look at this book and obtain a feel for the country, more than just the superficial and stereotypical "sushi" and "manga" perspectives. You'll take away a lot more than anyone else who just looks at current Japan ever will. Light, simple read with very insightful explanations of Japanese sociological workings and their reasons for existing. Recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Shadows []  2020-1-1 18:20

    I was forced to read this for my media aesthetics movie class. I could not obtain past page 6. If you wish to learn about Japanese value on toilets and bathrooms and such things, this is probably a amazing book for you. It's a thin book but it spans a lot of topics. I believe there is a moment where they talk about adultery ???

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Shadows []  2020-1-1 18:20

    It's a short read, but still in-depth enough to intrigue you. This essay will give you a very various perspective on things you've never thought of. It shows the beauty in the mundane and the anesthetics of darkness and ambiguity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Shadows []  2020-1-1 18:20

    while only about 50 pages I found this essay to provide a nice insight on their appreciation of architecture, enjoying the little things and ect. It was borderline humorous and poked fun at Western Civilization which created it all the better. Some very amazing points and examinations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:22

    The amount of beheading, killing, and gore described--oh so casually in this book--is one reason I ended up skimming the entire second half. The overweaning overconfidence of characters that they can engage in wars and not be seriously injured got boring after a while. The one third of the book not having to do with fighting, following, or crawling through the sewer tunnels involved actual dialog, in which our protagonists live in apparent relaxed safety under the noses of the evil regime that is their enemy. She can write engaging dialog, I'll give her that, and it almost makes the characters interesting enough to offset the ridiculousness of the actual plot. But not quite. It's an enormously complicated political scene. Yawn. I wanted to like it more.I message the local library has classified most or all of Sarah J. Maas books a "Young Adult", which I also search bizarre, given how violent the action is. But then, all the best fantasy and sci-fi is now YA, which I search mildly insulting. What is wrong with us older folks liking a amazing fantasy? On a scale of 1 (worst) to 10 (best), I'd rank this one maybe 4.5.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:22

    Wow I don't know if I can really place into words how much I loved this book! I hit such a slump and it took me a month to read Heir of Fire. I was worried the series was going to flop for me, but no. This book was a large comeback and I loved every second of it. Intense and quick paced, but also with a lot hero development and looks deep into the characters. And the scheming! This is the best Aelin I've seen so far and she absolutely surprised me at every turn. I never knew what to expect and was never bored. I am so attached to these characters that I know it's going to damage badly when poor things happen to them. Also Manon is probably my favorite hero right now. Brutal and strong, but also sly and with kindness (even if she has to dig really deep to search it). I can't wait to see more of her and her 13! The characters can be grey, but the evil is truly horrifying. I need to know what happens next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:22

    Just when I thought this series could not obtain more dramatic, Sarah J. Maas raised the stakes even higher!!!! I cannot believe how far Aelin has come and how far she still has to go. Sometimes I search the female protagonist a bit overbearing because they think that they can do everything on their own and they don't need anybody's help. But I have loved every bit of Aelin from the start. There are times when she knows that she can handle things on her own and times when she knows that she needs help. And I love the fact that she is not afraid to ask for help, even though she does not wish to endanger her friends. Also the fact that her mates are just as risky as her probably makes it easier for her ask them for help.Oh there is some much to talk about!The showdown between Aelin and Arobynn was...It gave me such joy!! I know I looked like a lunatic while reading because I had the widest grin and kept laughing weirdly. But I couldn't support it. The whole encounter gave me life! I have read it at least five times since. Just that part. I cackle manically every en there are the witches. I've watched and read some reviews where people don't like them. BUT I LOVE THEM! I think they are amazing and I can't wait to see what they are going to do in the next book. I liked Manon from the second she appeared on the page. I search her risky but still very loyal to her guild and the Thirteen. Especially when Asterin tells her the secret she's been keeping. And when she finds out the truth about what her grandmother is asking her to do I really felt poor for her because I think she felt really betrayed. I also really liked her relationship with Elide. That created me like her even to Kaltain. I was really confused throughout the entire book about her significance but it all become clear towards the end. She has been a mystery since book one. But I was totally surprised and horrified at how Perrington used her and what her purpose ere is so much I could say but if you wish to know what happens buy the book and be amazed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lord of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:24

    The story kept your interest throughout the entire 699 pages of the book, as usual with Cassandra Clare's Shadowhunter books. I have always loved the special story lines and twisting plots. This book did not disappoint. Seldom did the action or story plot slow and I look forward to the next book. I, however, didn't feel she handled the social problems in the story as elegantly as in past books. In this book it was very obvious she wasn't just telling a story but wanted to create a moral commentary/point or stand. It's not that I mind her taking a stand or dislike the moral to her story. I'm just saddened to see she took a commercial outward stance when in previous books she took moral stances and topics and handle them in an original, elegant, and classy fashion. This book seemed geared to commerm and hitting her reader over the head with her moral and social opinions and commentary, the story line seemed secondary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lord of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:24

    I really enjoyed both the other series and wanted to have fun this one too. What lost me was the crazy love stories. There were too a lot of to the point that nothing was flushed out. I have not gotten attached to any of the characters because instead of developing a plot the book just jumps to one confused relationship after another. The shadow hunting was lost and this could have just been a poorly done romance novel. Won't be continuing, which is sad because I loved the globe she created, want she had stuck with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I bought the book and finished it out on the audio, mainly because I didn't wish to place it down while I was working. I think that there are a few things that surprised me about the book. I was beautiful much figuring it would be a middle book allow down, where there is no clear resolution. There will be more in the series, or at least that door is left wide open, but I was at least happy with the ending. There are a lot of back story elements I am still left a bit curious about, but I actually enjoyed this a bit more than the first book. Some of the reason has to do with seeing the growth in the characters, both in their skills, but overall maturity. There is the over-arching element of doubt which makes the characters more human and relatable. At first I was bummed by the charters spending so much time apart in this story, but I do feel that it helps with creating their maturity and own identity. The only thing that I really could not obtain on board with was some fighting, from a distance, that did not really let for a fast resolution, or any resolution with the characters kind of reflecting on how they treated each other. Meh, it's small, but overall, I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    Perfect sequel. This book was just as much a page turner as the first, if not more so. I enjoyed following the individual development of both lead protagonists and how that growth enhanced their relationship. I hope there will be a third book in this fun magical series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mask of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I received an early copy from NetGalley in exchange for a honest is my first impression. I mean WOW. I loved it. I loved the story line and the characters. I just wish more now that it is finished. I thought the ending wrapped up everything nicely but left it begin enough for a sequel. The writing was superb and I found the plot to be captivating. I loved the idea of having auditions to become one of the Queen's assassins. I wanted more background of Twenty Three the main hero because it was touched upon but I don't feel like I had the whole story. The development of the globe was amazing and I hope when it goes out there will be a globe map because that would be favorite hero was Sallot. Sal was an interesting hero with a colourful history. Sal was smart, quick, snarky, smooth, flirtatious, and powerful. It is the type of hero that you can really have fun because it is special and someone you wish to know more about. You wish to be around Sal and it feels like you can't obtain enough of this favorite moment was the first night of auditions. I found the dynamic of the all the auditioners and the servants created for a very tense scene. I loved the introduction to Maud (who I fell in love with) and my second favorite auditioner Four. It was quite a strong few scenes and set the tone for the rest of the story. I couldn't imagine having to do all of those things with Ruby, Emerald and Amethyst watching every move you make. It was tense and I will hold saying that.Overall I would recommend this book to all of my friends. I'm pre-ordering it as we speak because the cover is gorgeous and I just loved the story. I wanted to thank NetGalley and Sourcebooks Fire for the possibility to read this awesome story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Realm of Shadows []  2020-1-16 23:45

    Want I had had this for Samhain. I found the artist though Pandora and fell in love. If you like the slightly gothic/classis/scarry melody you will have fun this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Realm of Shadows []  2020-1-16 23:45

    Realm of Shadows is one of Midnight Syndicate's best albums, no doubt about it. I know a amazing gothic or Halloween album when I hear one. A amazing album maintains a consistent mood and mysterious atmosphere and captures the listener's attention at the very beginning and holds the listener's attention throughout. It also has tracks that connect well with each other, thus reducing the likelihood that the listener will skip to the next track. I experience this when I listen to Realm of Shadows. The content of this album is not "choppy" and fragmented with sudden silence and sudden bursts. Instead, the melody kind of flows and connects well together from track to track, which is excellent for this album's is album is definitely one of the spookiest and atmospheric albums from the band. This album has a rather thin and easy theme - an abandoned seaside village in ruins where spirits don't rest easily. But sometimes thin and easy themes work extremely well, and this album is a amazing example. The wind and rain effects, along with bells tolling in the distance, really support to paint the stage in my mind of an abandoned village by the sea in ruins. There is a certain spookiness/eerieness to this album, a feeling of emptiness in the village with winds blowing and bells tolling at night, with not a soul around. This album features massive use of strings, which contributes to the darkness of the music, along with synthesizers, pipe organ, piano, bells, and choirs. Just about all the songs have a really sinister sound to them, provided by massive use of stringed instruments such as violins and top three favorite tracks are Realm Of Shadows, Spectral Mist, and Witching Hour, followed by (in order) Sanctuary, Twilight, Eye Of The Storm, The Summoning, Raven's Hollow, Beyond The Gates, Noctem Aeternus, Black Woods, The Night Beckons, and Legions Of The Dead. These are my top thirteen e whole album is awesome. Not one poor track. Go to Midnight Syndicate's www service to order this album while supplies last, because it is out of print. Or, buy Out Of The Darkness (2006), which are re-recordings of some songs from the self-titled debut album (1997), Born Of The Night (1998) and Realm Of Shadows (2000). These re-recordings differ slightly from the originals, and some of them sound better than the originals. However, if you wish the original Realm Of Shadows album in its entirety, buy it from Midnight Syndicate's www service while supplies alm Of Shadows is my fourth favorite Midnight Syndicate album behind only Creatures Of Legend, Carnival Arcane, and The 13th Hour. I highly recommend Realm Of Shadows for your enjoyment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors []  2020-3-30 19:4

    There are those people who think that there is nature and then there is us.Blind to the fact that we are a part of gan makes it quite clear that this is the case, as he postulates the difference between our actions and those of our fellow monsters is of degree, not intent.He brings into view a lot of examples of animals displaying characteristics we thought only we where capable of.Even though an avowed pragmatic scientist, sagan looks at things with a philosophers wisdom,sees and appreciates the mystery and interconnectedness of all things and doesnt deny the possiblity of things outside our gan and fellow thinker adam smith have both come to the conclusion that every species only perceives what needs to be perceived to survive and operate with our fellow mates.which begs the question what is beyond these varying levels of perception for we are not at the y animals have greater perception capacities than us, we are not the paragon,just one of many, a highly successfull one but perhaps not forever, it is just our gan as always is provocative and introduces amazing points for ink about what he proposes and you can no longer be comfortable among the mindless drones that sleepwalk through society thinking themselves superiorsteven harrison

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors []  2020-3-30 19:4

    After I read The Dragons of Eden, I learned that Carl Sagan explored more than cosmology. He also explored evolutionary biology-stimulated by his wife, the biologist Ann Druyan. Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors is a book that Sagan and Druyan wrote together. It is much more scientifically rigorous and sophisticated than The Dragons of Eden, and deals not with the evolution of the tripartite brain, but on the evolution of consciousness itself. Druyan and Sagan write that we are like babies left in a basket on a doorstep, never knowing and always wondering what our ancestry is. For me, the most influential of the book's explorations involve the study of the levels of consciousness in other animals, aside from the human animal. Through study after study, a lot of amusing and all interesting, Druyan and Sagan emphasize that the difference between the consciousness of the human animal and other animals is "a difference of degree rather than kind." Indeed, some of the studies indicate that some of the other animals may have consciousness that surpasses in degree that that of the human animal. The book stresses that we will not understand who we are until we view ourselves as part of a continuum, and the book also explorers the history of human resistance to this idea. One or two of the chapters were too difficult for me to understand as a non-scientist, but I was basically able to understand the book while only skimming the difficult chapters about DNA construction and such. It was nice to know that rigorous science was part of the book. This is one of those books that will change your outlook on the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors []  2020-3-30 19:4

    Their Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors is a well written easily readable book. It's a text on the relationship among all beings. Sagan and Druyan discussion of microbiological construction of microbes to complex mammals enables the reader to understand how one being or sets of beings can affect all life on our planet. Then, the tales of the behavior primate species bring out the similarities between humans and our primate cousins.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Shadows []  2020-2-6 20:10

    I have always been fascinated by the Hades & Persephone mythology. (So much so, that my bestie and I named a kitten we rescued Persephone due to a shared custody situation.)Persephone has been sheltered by her mother her entire life. She has reached the point where she wants to escape. To experience things. Her fascination with the Fresh York Public Library...I love e has been taught that Hades is dangerous. That he will be her when she finds herself throwing herself at his mercy to save the boy she was meeting, she has no idea what she's in for.Hades (Luther) rules his globe with an strict hand. Everyone has given themselves over to him in exchange for something. Small does he expect Demeter's daughter to end up in that position.He is fascinated by the innocent Persephone. He finds himself thinking of her more than he ever has for ey are both drawn to each other. He senses her darkness. She finds herself wanting him to do those dark things to finitely a unbelievable modern take on the myth...and a much more adult take on it as well.Dark, dark, dark. Love the is is only the beginning. Ends on a n't wait for the rest.And I so hope Amelia explores the others, Zues, Demeter...fingers crossed.I received a review copy. I am voluntarily leaving an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Shadows []  2020-2-6 20:10

    "He’s not the sun, and he’s not the moon. He is total darkness, a put no light can touch. "This book. Wow, this book. This is something a bit various from this author, but it is so, so good. Luthor Hades is a loner of sorts. He's tough, brusque, and all man. He likes things his method and doesn't take no for an respond when He wants something."He tastes like snow and fire and the burn of some searing alcohol I can’t start to name. "Persephone is used to one method of life with her mother. All she wants is escape. Go to Fresh York library and see it in person. She thought she found a method out, but things change greatly. She makes a deal with the devil."I am destroyed, and I’m looking at a man on the verge of his own destruction. "These two are as old as time. Vastly various from the other but they search something with each other. A various kind of life. Hades doesn't like what he feels for her, but can't deny it. Persephone finds a various kind of life than the one she lives before but one still full. Will they be able to keep what they found or will it be ripped away from them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Shadows []  2020-2-6 20:10

    King of Shadows was an awesome dark read. It is filled with mystery and suspense. You could not support but cheer on Hades. It ends a cliffhanger. I can’t wait to read the next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Europe (Shadowrun) []  2020-1-22 23:55

    Shadows of Europe is the sort of book that I want Catalyst could do. Heavily detailed about a continent, with amazing maps and information. Frankly, this is a must buy to me, as you obtain dozens of info. about 13 regions in Europe. Admittedly, this is now 10 years out of date, but that is beautiful simple to handwave. Shadows of Europe allows you to run a amazing European game, and has encouraged me to buy the other Shadows book that Fanpro place out.Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prince of Shadows []  2020-1-16 1:42

    OMG! This book is wonderful.A retelling of the Romeo and Juliet saga but from the POV for Romeo's cousin Benvolio. Usually I am not a large fan of books told from a male POV, but here I loved it, Benvolio has such a tortured and honest e prose is lush and atmospheric/moody.A few examples:"I had kissed her before, but lightly, gently, and this was no gentle thing..""Rosalind Capulet tasted like all I had ever wanted in my life, and now I knew that for truth"" Then I kissed her, and I tasted tears, and flowers, fear and hope, dread and dreams. Her lips were soft and warmlike the petals of a sun heated rose.."What a lovely homage to Shakespeare. Please read this book- Benvolio and Rosaline' s story has a HEA and you will love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prince of Shadows []  2020-1-16 1:42

    This is a well-written and interesting book. I love this author, she puts emotions and humor into her characters. I liked the view of Romeo and Juliet being told from a fresh viewpoint, that of his cousin, Benvolio. And the ending is much better than the film version.I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Self []  2020-1-26 23:47

    This is book 5, However Books 1-3 take put 300 years previous and this continues the saga from a wild west motif. Sanderson, says authors will often write huge series where society and cultural never changes in time and technology. The idea is both obvious and yet daring. I love me my high fantasy in medieval times and than trick me into reading a western? The linchpin between these novels is the magic system. The magic is compelling and yes its a western but your gun slinger is a coin shot not just using his six e plot of this poor boy pits our character Wax versus a shapeshifter Bleeder. This book is quick paced and fun and throws you for the largest plot twist in the history of plot twists in the end. At its core it is related to its predecessor a easy cops and robbers romp, however, when the history of things come into play and even tie in with the original trilogy...this makes this book so much more than a run and gun fun page turner...its almost epic in how it feels. All praise Sanderson and his amazing Cosmere!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legion of Shadows []  2020-6-29 19:59

    Nox Arcana delivers yet another riveting, haunting, heart pulsating, and gothic album. I only want they would dedicate a 21 track album to the mental condition known as Insonmia and place Insonmia into musical interpretation! Also an album dedicated to the Fallen ArchAngel Lucifer! The Dark Father of us all and the Master Shadow of the Legion! The album is unbelievable and a wonder for all who relish in gothic, eerie, haunting, and spine chilling melodies. So what are you waiting for? Buy this album and become a member of the Legion of Shadows yourself. We await you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legion of Shadows []  2020-6-29 19:59

    Are you a fan of Edger Allen Poe? His writing style that can place goose bumps up and down your x Arcana is the musical verison of Poe. Putting the same goose bumps up and down your spince, this time in musicTurn out the lights, take up your favorite cool one, increase the volume and melt into the music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legion of Shadows []  2020-6-29 19:59

    I've been a large Nox Arcana fan for over 10 years, and I love each and every one of their CD's. And this one doesn't fail me in the slightest bit. I don't think that they could ever place out a poor one. The darker the better!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legion of Shadows []  2020-6-29 19:59

    There is nothing that Nox Arcana has place out that I don't like, with the exception of their winter music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Shadows []  2020-7-13 19:33

    The most in depth book written on the exploration of Yellowstone. A historical, adventure novel. Some of the characters we know, John Colter, Jim Bridger. Others, we know small of, such as Gustavus Doane, the man that made "Wonderland." We have breathtaking adventure and heartbreaking disappointment and loss. We are offered journal entries, letters and interview pth is given to the genocide of Native people. The mismanagement of military leadership, and exploitation of our national treasure. One will chuckle about Bridger's exaggeration of Yellowstone, where emerald's hang from trees! Black's writing reminds me of Stephen E. Ambrose, who is the master of historical storytelling. The latest section of the book are footnotes of historical research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Shadows []  2020-7-13 19:33

    I live 5 hours from Yellowstone National Park and I go there every year (sometimes multiple times a year). I am beautiful familiar with a lot of the terrain and locations referenced in this book. It was a very well written acc of the history and it held my attention throughout. I loved learning more about a put that I love so much. It is especially fun to read through prior to a trip to Yellowstone Park. It is too huge to be used as a handy reference once you are at the Park and trying to look up specific locations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Skinful of Shadows []  2020-1-19 21:5

    I was a bit bored at the begin but the story got beautiful exciting halfway through. The historical setting was interesting - I found it funny how much they were afraid of baths. Also I had no idea that they hated catholics that much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Skinful of Shadows []  2020-1-19 21:5

    Latest year, I read (and very much enjoyed) The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge, so when I found out she had another book coming out, I was in! Alas, though it was strange and magical (in that it contained a supernatural bent), it just wasn’t what I was e concept is fascinating: a young girl discovers she can sense spirits, which is terrifying in and of itself. However, it turns out she can also house those spirits within herself, and the spirits know it. Desperate to “relocate” and hang onto human life a small longer, they pester her and torment her, forcing her to learn how to fend them off. In fact, her mother forces her into a graveyard regularly to practice, despite how much she hates doing so, and though she resents her mother for putting her through this, it eventually makes her powerful enough to fend for herself versus much older and stronger specters, the likes of which she never much prospect in this story, but ultimately it fell a bit flat for me. Makepeace is an interesting character, and I admire her moxie. She is served up a rather difficult existence from the get, but she never gives into despair, always strategizing for the long-term goal. However, the other characters were rather despicable, even those who we are to believe are redeemed. I suspect that I was supposed to come back around and forgive a certain hero (trying to avoid spoilers here), but the truth is, I never liked him to start with, and the close relationship Makepeace was supposed to share with him was never fleshed out enough to feel like was weird, and I generally like weird. But I think I expected spooky or creepy, and it certainly wasn’t that. Since The Lie Tree was slow to boil, I anticipated the same with this book, but at some point, I started to wonder if the burner was even on. It just never got beyond lukewarm for a word: te: I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley. I pride myself on writing fair and honest reviews.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book Of Shadows: Charmed []  2020-9-4 18:51

    This is so much fun. Like a pocket edition of The Book of Shadows original. Smaller and paperback but still has all the Spells and all the detail and it's fantastic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tempest of Shadows []  2020-11-8 18:22

    So freaking interesting!!! I am so sick of the same books with the same premise ..This book was AWESOME!So different, so well written....Give me more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Darkness []  2020-10-28 18:28

    Amazing story. The series is wonderful. Especially nice is how Mr. Roeder has a better editor and the errors in previous books are gone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    HALO: Shadows of Reach []  2020-11-3 18:21

    got this book the moment it came out and it was everything i expected. While you never do search out what it is that Chief is looking for on reach, there are tips and some people may be able to guess it. there were also several satisfying tidbits about different events in the halo universe including Buck finally getting married to Dare and how Chief feels about the Arbiter. all in all, i would comepletely recomend this book to any halo fan who appreciates a amazing book about the S-IIs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    HALO: Shadows of Reach []  2020-11-3 18:21

    Troy Denning has done a unbelievable job with this book. I picked it up to read for a small while and before I knew it I was 8 chapters in. This is a book that you’ll wish to read begin to finish in one sitting. It’s an perfect read for longtime Halo fans, and those just jumping into the series. Highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    HALO: Shadows of Reach []  2020-11-3 18:21

    If you're well accustomed to Halo's fiction you'll be well at home here! This is a unbelievable read! Honestly it's probably my fresh favorite book period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadowrun Court of Shadows []  2020-11-23 19:44

    Not one of my favorites. I just could not obtain into this book and I really wanted to. While not poor it also wasn't very interesting either.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows Of The Workhouse []  2021-2-2 19:39

    Unlike the other two Call the Midwife books that I have read, this book tells the life stories of two characters that the author encountered working at Nonnatus House. The first, Jane, is a quiet, fearful young women. She fears her own shadow, and cannot be trusted with any responsibility due to her fear of making a mistake. The other character, Mr Collett, a soldier who fought in the Boer war, begins as a client needing a nurse, and becomes a real mate to the author.Jane's story is the story of the workhouse, a horrible institution that punishes people for being poor. Starting out life as bubbly, charming, smart small girl, Jane's spirit is completely broken by the inhumanity of the workhouse e soldier, Mr. Collett starts out as a patient, but moves into the category of mate as his wounds heal. His life story is gradually revealed as her visits become more social than h stories reveal the humanity of the people who came into contact with the sisters and nurses of Nonnatus House, until changing economic times forced the end of the East End and the need for the services of Nonnatus House.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Realm of Shadows []  2020-1-16 23:45

    "Realm of Shadows" (2000) is Midnight Syndicate's second dose of "haunting orchestrations and sinister sound effects (creating) a dark, gothic soundscape." Having purchased all of their CDs (twice - for work and private use) and using their melody (with their permission, of course) as soundtracks for our local Halloween haunted attractions, I can honestly say that I will always be anticipating their next with "Born of the Night" (see my review), the production quality of this CD was outstanding. The melody is stirring and the sound effects are realistic. The raven calls in track #9 "Ravens Hollow," the synthesized strings in track #12 "Spectral Mist," and the creaking timbers in track #20 "Harbored Souls" are particularly noteworthy. I actually prefer Syndicate's limited use of vocal effects, which normally come off as "cheesy" attempts to sound creepy. And once again, the bell tones in track #13 "Soliloquy" and track #21 "Eclipse" should have been digitally sampled instead of using tubular ere are 21 selections totaling a small more than 52 mins of music. Most of the tracks would have benefited from lengthening and building upon the base melody and effects- they left me wanting more. The best tracks on this CD are #9 "Raven's Hollow," #10 "Beyond the Gates," #15 "Serpent's Lair," #19 "Witching Hour," and #20 "Harbored Souls."As with their previous CD, this melody begs to be played on a high-quality sound system, preferably one with some kick-butt subwoofers and enough power to handle this CD's wide dynamic range. Otherwise, listen with care on less-capable systems before you crank up the volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Realm of Shadows []  2020-1-16 23:45

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Realm of Shadows []  2020-1-16 23:45

    Creepy exciting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Circle of Shadows []  2020-1-11 19:21

    I loved this book so much! I was over the moon excited when I found out Evelyn Skye was releasing a fresh novel! If I waited longer to read this, I may have just exploded! This book was fantastic! The characters were so much fun and I loved them so much! I love the Gemina falling in love when they’re really not supposed to! (Forbidden love is one of my favorite tropes)! The plot was so much fun, it kept me going through parts of it. It was super intriguing and I could not place it down and I had school! It was so sad to not be able to read because it was just so FREAKING GOOD! The globe was awesome! I loved how everything was planned out and the politics that went along with the world. I just had such a fun time with this book and in the end, it was so worth the wait! I am so excited for the next book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Circle of Shadows []  2020-1-11 19:21

    I really liked this fresh story! I loved Evelyn Skye’s other books and I was excited to read something new. The characters are really relatable. I found myself needing to know what happened next each time I had to place the book down! A wait for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lake Of Shadows []  2020-1-11 20:15

    Wanted the recording.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lake Of Shadows []  2020-1-11 20:15

    This CD has a magical quiality. If I had to select a Phil Coulter favorite album, this one would definitely be in the running. Very glad that I happened across his music. I love his all piano CDs as well as the orchestral ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:22

    Well, holy cow. I don't even know where to start...This book. This series. These characters. THIS AUTHOR.We are in full on queen mode in Queen of Shadows, obviously. Hence the title. Calaena shows up some, for the sake of appearances, but she has completely accepted her heritage and now goes by Aelin. She's still the intense, no nonsense, scary-as-heck chick we've all grown to know and love, but there's dozens more to her hero that we only got a glimpse of in Heir of Fire. She's ready to go and taking names. Like literally taking names as she crosses the ocean back to Adarlan. Her iness and downright meanness in the first two books really rubbed me the wrong method at times. You can't support but to be drawn to her character, but the things she said and did were.. disturbing, to say the least. And she still has that fire, but there is so much more depth to her now that she has accepted who she truly is and, in the process, is opening her heart again to the people she loves instead of shutting them out and running off of pure rage. Her complexity makes her one of the best female protagonists I've ever read.We begin out back in Rifthold, and at this point everything is up in the air. We know why she's there and who she's after, but how she's going to go about doing this is anyone's guess. I will say this, A LOT gets resolved in this book. Granted, there are plenty of other monumental surprises that step into take their place, but I was surprised by how a lot of plot lines got tied up. I was expecting two for sure, but the third one threw me for a complete loop. If anyone says they predicted that to happen, they are a liar. And my goodness, these latest two books are going to be downright scary. I was on pins and needles the entire time. You thought show Erilea was bad.. it's about to obtain wayyyy worse.And as for the book being 650 pages.. Why are people upset about this?! I say, the more the better!Now onto the other characters, because there are quite a few POVs in this book...I've always been partial to Dorian, so being in his POV was absolute torture. The ending of HoF about sent me over the edge and I didn't even wish to think about what what was going to happen in this book. I was a nervous wreck. And then PAGE ONE happens. Like, literally as soon as I begin the book, there it is. Chapter One. Beautiful sure my heart dropped into my stomach. And then every time we were back in his POV after that. I did not handle it well. I hate Valg demons.And while I've never particularly liked Chaol's hero (I know I'm in the minority here), he sort of takes on a whole fresh persona in QoS. Maybe it's the fact of what all he's given up and how he sees the globe changing that makes him into the person he's become. He's always seemed to me like a guy who is scared of change, and has an wonderful ability to pick and choose which parts of people to accept. And I'm not just talking about Aelin, but also the king and Dorian. He sees only what he wants to see, and if he doesn't understand it or like it, he just shuts it out completely. He doesn't like magic. He's scared of it. He's also very scared of what will happen if people with magic have free reign again. We've known this since Crown of Midnight so I'm not sure why his continuing dislike of it surprises anyone. Chao is not going to be the same person he's been for the first three books. His life has completely change, so while his hero is infuriating to me at times, he's still a vital part of this story and I don't dislike him. His character, by the end of this book, grows leaps and bounds and I was glad to see it for Rowan. Ah, Rowan. I still don't know how Sarah Maas did it. She gave us Dorian and Chaol in the first two books and everyone was on their respective team. Then in one book, ONE BOOK, she created me toss all my loyalties aside fall in love with Rowan's character. How anyone can not like him is beyond me. He's like the male ver of Aelin, and the interaction between those two are some of the best dialogue of the book and they just work very well together. With his hero showing up in Rifthold, you see him having to adjust to life without magic. And as the bond between them grows, you see different, softer sides of the Fae warrior. I love him.We didn't obtain too much from Aedion in this book apart from the first few chapters as he awaits his execution. His reunion with Aelin was everything I thought it would be.. I ain't ashamed to say I may have teared up a bit. They are the only bit of family each other has left and they totally had their moment. It was on's POV scares me. (Besides Abraxos, because who doesn't love Abraxos?) She is dark and wicked and infuriatingly loyal to that wretched grandmother of hers. I know she's redeemable, but for a amazing chunk of the book I was hoping Asterin would just overthrow her and become the fresh heir.. assuming that's how it works. Which it probably doesn't. BUT Manon has some feels going on that she's not even aware of and I think in this next book she will most definitely have to create a choice of which side she is on. It very well could've happened in this book, but we have no resolution where this is concerned. And that stage with Aelin.. on the edge of your seat items right there. I'm not sure how I feel about some illusions of her character, but I'm not completely versus her playing an even bigger role in the latest two books.I'm not even going to spend time on Arobynn because I hate him. But some of the other characters, I loved. Calaena has been surrounded by a troupe of men for far too long and it's about time the women came out to play and they did not disappoint! Lysandra, wow. Love her. So much more to her hero than meets the eye, and her and Aelin's relationship was refreshing. Nesryn, even though we don't obtain anything from her perspective is also a beautiful poor chick and helping Chaol with the rebels. It's safe to say, unless you're in denial, you will know why she's there from the obtain go. And lastly, Elide, Lady Marion's daughter, is brought into the picture and hanging with the witches, no less. Very much excited about what role she will be playing in the future. She's got some surprises in store, I r the most part, the book felt like long build-ups. Part one was a build-up and it was resolved. Part two also felt like a build-up, and it wasn't as cleanly resolved as the first. I still have some lingering questions about that. Prepare yourselves for part two. Huge time android game changer coming your lI can say, is that if you truly love this series, and I mean disregard the romances and all that, and are in love with the story, this book will not me spoilers ahead...I'm going to rant just for a sec. I hold seeing some low to mid reviews on this book and they all have one thing in common: Chaol Westfall. I know people shipped Calaena and Chaol really hard, but being this distraught over the downfall of their romantic relationship does a disservice to this series. And I can say that because I am completely Squad Dorian and have had to place up with Chaol from day on. Not to mention Sorscha from HoF. Was not a fan of that small surprise. Never once have I given these books poor reviews simply because things weren't event the method I wanted them to. If the romance aspect is your largest concern, go read romance novels. The growth and maturity of the characters is wonderful, and I'm glad that Maas is not scared to slay off characters we love or sever relationships if it means progressing the story to where it needs to go. I'm completely okay with the direction Aelin and Rowan are headed because they work. Even if in my heart of hearts I had this little hope of King Dorian and Queen Aelin falling love... yada yada yada... Rowan is the dude and I'm okay with that. So if all you're going to do is obtain on here and rant about, "I wish the old Calaena back," "Maas completely ruined Chaol's character," "These books are too long," Guess what? Go read another series! Or some watered down YA novel where everything works out just as it should in the ese books are gold. Sarah Maas is a genius. And you can't convince me otherwise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queen of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:22

    I was trying to prolong finishing this book so that it would still be beautiful new in my mind when the 5th book comes out. Be prepared for major spoilers...Dorian and Manon! I totally ship it. Like if it was the Titanic and I went back in time knowing it was going to sink I'd still obtain on the ship. I am satisfied that Dorian will be back in the next book. I really like his character. Manon had grown on me exponentially. I didn't like reading her parts in HoF. I thought they were super boring but I am glad now that there is some back story so I can understand her more. I also ship Aelin and Manon.I am glad that Chaol is back to being the guy that I liked in the first two books. I hated him in the beginning of this one. Although I never wanted him and Celaena together as a couple, I really like how their relationship has come full circle. Speaking of Chaol, Nesryn is excellent for him. She is like Celaena with none of the poor aspects that were brought into the relationship her and Chaol started.Elide. I hope she can create it on her journey which I know we will see more of her. Hopefully she figures out fast who Celaena Sardothein is and finds her queen. Kaltain, I am glad that her suffering is over and she took out a third of a mountain in the wan and Aedion are to of the manliest men who never were just men. It's nice to see them as brothers and not alpha males fighting over top spot. The brother aspect is so much more sandra is a [email protected]#$%. She is taking names and getting revenge where revenge is due. Her and Aelin's relationship has developed into team goals. I really love these two around each other and I think Lysandra is unbelievable to Evangeline. Also Aedion and Lysandra is another ship I would go down terid's story is heartbreaking. Being a mother myself this is the story that hit me the hardest and it was only about a page long. I hope the Blackbeak Matron burns. I hope the Manon and Asterid burn her roughout the book I honestly had no idea where Lorcan came from. I didn't remember him from HoF so his part of the story always confused the heck out of me.I am sad and satisfied to have finished this. I was cherishing it because I love the globe and characters so much. I am sad about the latest book coming out this year but I can't wait to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lord of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Note, I will be petty: when place together the books should have an photo that is complete. This book is not the spine art I was hoping for and will turret over the other books in her previous series.If you were getting this in hopes of completing the spine art- this is NOT the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lord of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Wow this book really place me through the ings this book taught me about myself:1. I will obtain so emotional over all these characters but especially the TMI squad even being mentioned.2. I care more about Malec than I ever thought possible. (Truly, I cannot believe how much I loved them and enjoyed their scenes. I feel like I have a newfound appreciation for them and I can't wait for the spin off series)3. I can be a stone cold witch (with a b) but nothing makes me soft like soft male characters.I'm really satisfied that I waited until QOAAD was released to pick this one up because there's no method I would've survived waiting a year after that at ending honestly destroyed me. I knew it, I knew what to expect and I thought that it would somehow take the pain away but I was so wrong. I'm still trying to come to terms with it and understanding why the author chose to do this as well as what the implications of this ending means for these characters. I'm so nervous to read the third book because it's clear that Cassie has no issue destroying character's lives even as she gives them a bit of e reason for a 4 star rating rather than 5 is that there were times where I found myself a tad bit bored, though that mostly had to do with not really enjoying the other POV's except Julian and Emma. Kit, Mark, and Cristina all took me a very long time to begin to like (in terms of POV). Mostly I found myself dreading it and counting the pages to the next Julian or Emma POV. I like all the hero but I will admit that I'm not a fan of some of the character's sub-plots and since Cristina and Mark's pov's mostly center around their messy romance with Kieran I lost interest. As for Kit, I found him to be a small annoying but by the end of the book he grew on me and I don't think I'll mind his POV in the next book as much. I just want Cristina's hero was about more than her romance with two men, I wanted more for her so it makes me a small sad that we didn't really obtain that.Overall the writing is superb and this was another awesome addition to the shadow hunter world. I can't wait to read book 3 even though I know it will probably slay me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    If you haven’t yet, you need to read “Of fires and Stars”, you will then fall in love with it. After you fall in love with it be satisfied and know there is a second book “Of ice and Shadows”. I promise you will not be disappointed. You willlove the characters and the epic globe that Audrey builds in each story. Check it out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Of Ice and Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    I absolutely loved this book. Awesome to see Denna and Mare’s relationship grow and develop. Above all else though it’s amazing to finally have a book with queer characters that aren’t demonized or ized and actually have their own hero development and story arcs that have nothing to do with their ity. It’s refreshing to see fleshed out characters that aren’t defined by who they love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mask of Shadows []  2020-1-14 19:33

    This was ALMOST too violent for me, but I persevered. (It isn't as violent as say, EMBER IN THE ASHES.) I'm glad I stuck with it, because I fell deeply in love with Sal and their adventures and the lovely, gentle romance. While I was rooting for Sal the whole time, I was also super invested in the side characters. Especially one that I won't name here for the sake of spoilers who captured my heart and then ripped my heart to shreds. I found myself craving more stories about side characters the method I felt about the marauders when I read Harry Potter.I loved how Sal's gender fluidity wasn't the focus, it was just part of the story. As a queer woman, I have fun seeing this without it being like an after school unique lesson or tragic because of the main character's is is a beautiful fast read with really interesting globe building. (I wish all the beautiful clothes.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prince of Shadows []  2020-1-16 1:42

    I was skeptical at first, because I could not see how you could improve on this literary classic. Also I've enjoyed the Morganville series and have fun her quirky spin on the super natural,but hated to see it applied to this as, she pulled something incredibly various out of her hat for this story and I was blown away! I rarely write reviews, but this work of amazing imagination and skilled story telling deserves acknowledgement! I highly recommend to teens, adults, lovers of classic literature, and those who just like a amazing story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Praise of Shadows []  2020-1-1 18:20

    This was an interesting book about light and shadows, but it's more or less a commentary on the differences between cultures and a desire to maintain a cultural identity and values in the modern age. I use the term "modern" loosely, because while the book was written several decades ago (the publication date is listed as 1977, but the essay appears to have originated much earlier), the primary principles of aesthetics still apply today. We're still grappling with influences in architecture, technology, and design that have the potential to change the manner and pace through which we approach life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Europe (Shadowrun) []  2020-1-22 23:55

    This book is beautiful amazing for those of you who have a thirst for the the locations in Shadowrun besides Seattle and Denver. This book info most of Europe with the exception of the Balkans and western Russia which i suspect will be covered in Shadows of Asia. Shadows of Europe gives all the information required to do runs and evan campaignes in Europe. Ranging from cities like London Paris to evan Rome and Munich. This is a must for the runners tired of Seattle and Denver

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Skinful of Shadows []  2020-1-19 21:5

    There are several very prominent, and quite wonderful, characteristics which run through all of Frances Hardinge's work: a rich and masterly use of language, a highly original and idiosyncratic imagination, a tendency to darkness and a dry, wicked sense of humour. Indeed her self-projected author image, with long dark hair and an ever-present black hat, seems to echo her writing very well; not quite a witch, but with an almost eccentric air of rather dark mystery and intelligent, thoughtful A Skinful of Shadows Frances Hardinge's highly individual imagination and her ability to conjure strange darkness are at their strongest. Set versus the background of the English Civil War, the story of the book centres on a young girl who has inherited the 'talent' of hosting departed spirits within her own body. In consequence of this, her malevolent relatives want to use her as a vessel for their aculated shop of ancestral 'ghosts'.Frances Hardinge is one of the most richly enjoyable YA writers around. She is fully on song here. This makes A Skinful of Shadows one of the most richly enjoyable books of the year. It pulses with all the distinctive qualities of her writing, but housed in a totally fresh skin, a compellingly original and imaginative story. It is a skinful of dark but wondrous e my full review posted at

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book Of Shadows: Charmed []  2020-9-4 18:51

     Love it it really helps me in my true life witchcrafts

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadowrun Court of Shadows []  2020-11-23 19:44

    Perfect book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Darkness []  2020-10-28 18:28

    This was another well written and excellent addition to the youth Chronicles. I'm glad that through understanding that one little piece of evil (Devon) was able to redeem himself and have a second possibility at getting it right even if it did take over twenty years and death for him to obtain his do-over. Devon had to move on knowing everything he had ever done to damage the people in his life and then to in the end be saved and loved by those same people showed us all that there is goodness in most everyone. Devon had a possibility to live the life he was meant to live the first time around but couldn't through the hatred and jealousy he harboured towards Taylor and Mark. i liked that It showed some of our previous favourites all grown up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Darkness []  2020-10-28 18:28

    Quite dissappointing!This is definitely Tag Roeder's worst effort and in fact is barely an effort at e characters and plot is in amazing part merely lifted from several of his other books and then "rehashed" and "remixed" to form a not really quite "new story." He even brings into his Youth Chronicles series two (good) vampire boys from his only novel not previously a part of this series -- The Vampire's Heart. And the several fresh characters are sterotypical and vapid.I would suspect that more than 50% of the paragraphs found in this book are merely rewording or rehashing of those from previous works.And what there is of the "new story" -- bringing back one of the most evil characters and evil spirits of previous stories into a "new 16 year old body" so he may start a fresh "good" life as a boy as he was "supposed" to be, and another boy who died but now brought back as one of the "evil" vampires -- with no explanatioin as to how this could have happened -- barely keeps one interested. The plot is constantly interrupted by the reintroduction of previous characters (with too much rehashed info from previous stories) who do not really play any true part in advancing this "new plot" -- what small there is of it. And a lot of of the plot features follows no logical basis nor is there any adequate explanation given for them.I sincerely want that Tag Roeder would go back to the kind of story that got me reading his works to start with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    HALO: Shadows of Reach []  2020-11-3 18:21

    Cant fully describe how amaze i am at this book! This is my first ever Halo book i read and boy can i say how amazing and amazingly written Masterchief is and how amazing the story in here is too! This just got me even more hyped for Halo Infinite!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    HALO: Shadows of Reach []  2020-11-3 18:21

    My book came bent with a small rip on the corner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tempest of Shadows []  2020-11-8 18:22

    Yet another masterpiece by the awesome Jane Washington! I loved the story from the very beginning and can't wait to see how it will continue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Self []  2020-1-26 23:47

    *********************Completely Spoiler Free Section:*********************First things first Do you need to have read the original Mistborn series to read this book? - Technically no you don’t BUT…there are a lot of more references to what happened in The Final Empire and while I would say that you could totally read Alloy of Law without reading Mistborn 1-3 I believe wholeheartedly that the enjoyment of this book in particular would be decreased if you hadn’t read them. I actually had just finished a re-read of the first three of the series and was really glad, because I picked out so a lot of little info added e thing that I really love about Brandon Sanderson (BS) novels is that I have no problem picturing myself in the story. He tells the story in a method that I’m shown the buildings and the surroundings, I’m given insight into the culture, religion and magic system and it is done in such a method that it is in the story and almost never feels like an information dump. This is awesome especially if you look at the size and complexity of the globe he is adows of Self like Alloy of Law is sort of a mash up of Mistborn Globe + Steampunk + Industrial Revolution + Wild Wild West. It has a lot more humor in it than The Final Empire and it feels generally lighter. The banter and humor of Wax, Wayne and Marasi is unbelievable and sets the tone of the entire story. Honestly the Bromance between Wax and Wayne is my favorite in fantasy slightly beating out Tyrion and Brom they are hilarious on page together and actually Wayne is hilarious and stage stealer all on his own too. But don’t allow that fool you there are still a few gut punching moments that really knocked me in the feelings.Favorite Hero in this book – WayneLooking through my quotes he has the most highlights. He says deep insightful things one min and then is ridiculous the next. But I smile every time he is on page, there are Wayne quotes below in the semi-spoilery review but we also obtain to see into a deeper side of Wayne and I loved the depth it gave his character.Favorite Fresh Hero – MeLathough it can be argued she is an old character….but semantics. She added some insight into the days just after The Final Empire ended and what became of her people. Also I really loved the method she played with the team, I hope she is a player in the next book as st Improved Hero -SterisDon’t obtain me wrong I’m still completely on the Wax/Marasi ship and it might take a Chasmfiend or Koloss Warlord to sink that but Steris really grew on me this book. I have always liked her and her stiff overthinking overplanning ways, hey I can relate, but she really shined in this. She isn’t like a lot of female characters in fantasy and I like the non-emotional relationship that she and Wax have and how she deals with him. She has no illusions about who or what he is and just plans around it. Honestly her latest stage in this H no words really. Because I loved her in that moment and I could even see how she and Wax might become really amazing mates or perhaps more BUT I’m sailing on the amazing ship MaraWax or Waxasi and there isn’t a Chasmfiend in sight yet so…..sorry e fresh danger is a serial assassin that seems to be trying to destabilize the town and throw it into a chaos related to the happenings that led up to the latest huge shift of power in latest history *cough* Mistborn *cough*. Wax, Marasi, Wayne and others are searching trying to figure out who is next on the hit list and prevent the town from undergoing another revolution. The perpetrator of the happenings is messing with Wax specifically trying to throw him off and he will need to outthink someone trickier and smarter than himself or another revolution will happen.****************Semi-Spoiler Review Section READ AT YOUR OWN RISK **************************Where to begin??? I’m still processing my feelings about this book because that ending left me ….well you will know when you obtain there. Everyone just give Wax a virtual hug he needs e Humor is one of the things that I’ve really enjoyed about series of Mistborn books. There are so a lot of funny instances and dialogue that I laughed so a lot of times throughout the story.***“I heard voices in my head once too, you know.”“You did?”“Sure. Gave me a fright. I banged my head versus the wall until I went unconscious. Never heard them again! Ha. Showed ’em good, I did. If rats move in, best thing to do is to burn the nest and send ’em packing.”“And the nest … was your head.”“Yup.”Steris stopped on a page in her notebook, then turned it around. There, in her neat handwriting, was a detailed agenda for their evening at the party. The third entry read, 8:17. Method into the building likely blocked by traffic. Lord Waxillium carries us up to the top floor by Allomancy, which is completely inappropriate and at the same time breathtaking.He raised an eyebrow, checking his pocket watch, which he carried in his gunbelt—not his vest—to be easily dropped with his other metals. “It’s 8:13. You’re slipping.”Regular folk, they called something after what it was. You’d say, “What’s that, Kell?” And they’d say, “That? That there’s the crapper.” And you’d reply, “What do you do with it?” And they’d say, “Well, Wayne, that’s where you place your crap.”It created sense. But rich folk, they had a various word for the crapper. They’d call it a “commode” or a “washroom.” That way, when someone asked for the crapper, they knew it was a person they required to oppress.****The Characters are three dimensional. Wax has a complicated past with his history in the roughs and trying to be both a Lord to his house and a Lawman. It’s a difficult put to be and maybe he is being pulled in too a lot of directions one day he will have to decide who he is… An Allowmancer or Terrisman/Lord or Lawman/Pawn or Sword no wonder he is a small surly.****“What’s wrong with you lately?” Marasi demanded. “You complain about the motorcar, about me being here, about your tea being too hot in the morning. One would almost think you’d created some horrible life decision that you regret deep down. Wonder what it could be.”Wax kept his eyes forward. In the mirror, he saw Wayne lean back in and raise his eyebrows. “She might have a point, mate.”“You’re not helping.”“Wasn’t intending to,” Wayne said. “Fortunately, I know which horrible life decision she’s talkin’ about. You really should have bought that hat we looked at latest week. It was lucky. I’ve got a fifth sense for these things.”***Wayne while usually the fun loving sort has a demon in his past that he is still trying in his own method to atone for. I liked seeing what he puts himself through in an effort to create some sort of recompense for his greatest sin. Wayne has a peculiar method of looking at the globe and some of it create awesome sense while other parts of it are ridiculous. But that just makes him all the more lovable.****“I coulda delivered that, you know.…”“You, she would shoot,” Wax said.“Only ’cuz she likes me,” Wayne said, smiling. He’d have welcomed an excuse to go see Ranette. This night was getting darker and darker, it seemed.“Wayne…” Wax said. “You know she doesn’t actually like you.”“You always say that, but you’re just not seein’ the truth, Wax.”“She tries to slay you.”“To hold me alive,” Wayne said. “She knows I live a risky life. So, keepin’ me on my toes is the best method to create sure I stick around…”***I’m almost hoping that he wins her heart one of these rasi didn’t obtain a lot of development. She is now working with the constables and Wax has tried his hardest to place some distance between them after the initial attraction that was sparked in Alloy of Law. She seems to be over her semi-hero worship of his time in the roughs though and has become more secure in herself overall. Her alomancy even came in handy a time or two in this story and I was glad to see how it could be useful in certain situations. She is extremely competent and I believe that she and Wax are a amazing squad hence my being on the MaraWax ship. My only disappointment is that those sparks from book 1 are totally missing here as Wax is committed to the arranged marriage with Steris and Marasi is trying to have a professional relationship with him since he is supposed to marry her half-sister. I missed the sparks. : (The Tie In’s To the Original Mistborn SeriesBEWARE: lots of small spoilers in this sectionI’m going to *squee* a small here because there are still Kandra!!! I wasn’t sure what happened after the happenings of The Final Empire and I was beautiful sure I caught one or two in Alloy of Law but now there is conformation that the Kandra are still around…*happy dance*MeLaan coming onto the stage was unbelievable and I loved learning how the Kandra now live within society instead of hidden away. She was such a amazing addition to the story and the team. I liked how she is so various from the Kandra that we met in The Final Empire…***MeLaan finished her beer, then dramatically held up her hand. The palm split, forming lips, which then allow out a soft belch.“Cheating,” Wayne said.“Just using what Father gave me,” MeLaan said. “Don’t tell me you wouldn’t belch out of other body parts if you could.”“Well,” Wayne said, “now that you mention it, I can create a true interestin’ sound wif—”***AND we obtain to see TenSoon. Can I just say that I was so excited that he was still around even if he isn’t glad that his name is known.***“I’ve read about you,” Wax said.“Thrilling,” the kandra growled. “I’m so satisfied Sazed included me in his small book so that drunk people can curse by my name.”“They … do that?”“Yes.” The wolfhound growled quietly in the back of his throat. “There are … stuffed toys too.”“Oh yeah,” Wax said. “Soonie cubs. I’ve seen those around.”***But the remembrances of Vin mostly and Elend sometimes choked me up a bit. This was my favorite quote in the entire book and it is about Vin herself. I thought it was completely fitting of who she was.***“When she fought, she was the blade. When she loved, she was the kiss.***There is also a small section where Wax thinks he sees her outline in the mist…dare I hope that she is still somehow around???****The Historica, a section of the Words of Founding, said she had melded with the mists. She had taken them upon herself, becoming their guardian as they became her essence. As the Survivor watched over all who struggled, Vin watched over those in the night. Sometimes he felt he could see her form in their patterns: slight of frame, short hair splayed out as she moved, mistcloak fluttering behind her. It was a fancy, wasn’t it?***Please don’t just be fancy…I would love it is Vin somehow will play a part in this. Because [who better to support kill a god than dare I say it another god…who might be Vinesk *Hoping*Conversations with Sazed/Harmony. I’m really excited about this. It seems that he might be pushing and pulling a bit in this globe as Harmony. Damn his job is hard, MeLaan explains it so well toward the end of the story when Marasi is so upset for Wax…Hell I was upset for Wax. But I’m hoping to obtain both sides of the story because it seems like [Harmony might have played a really huge part in Lessie’s death and how could you not have a crisis of faith after the end of so in the broad Sheets I caught a glimpse of the Shardpool and Hoid showed up to drive the carriage those were some cool NDERSON ENDINGS KILL ME - Seriously I know that I need a quiet put to finish out the latest 20% of any of his books because there is no method that I can think of anything else until it is over. That holds real here as well and while it didn’t gut punch me as hard as some of his other books *cries again about the ending of The Final Empire* it still hit me beautiful hard and squeezed all my emotions. At the end I wasn’t sure what I felt except sorry for Wax.***Harmony does the best He can—the best possible, by the very definition. Yes, He damage Wax. He damage him badly. But He place the pain where He knew it could be borne.”***GAH…..this is one of those times that I’m so sad the next book isn’t already out because I just wish to know all the things so badly.Overall - Sanderson is a master storyteller and that still holds real here. My one and only complaint is that there wasn’t a lot to do with The Set his Uncle or the Women that went missing in Alloy of Law, but I assume that he will obtain to all of that eventually. We all know that I’m not super objective when it comes to Sanderson or Ilona Andrews so let’s just say if he writes it I’ll read it…multiple times usually.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadows of Self []  2020-1-26 23:47

    Shadows of Self is the second in Sanderson’s Wax and Wayne series (or the fifth Mistborn, however you like to look at it) and is set in the same globe as the Mistborn trilogy only several hundred years later at a point in which the society is on the cusp of becoming industrialised. It has a deliberate steampunk feel to it. Sanderson is known as a master of worldbuilding, plot, pacing and magic systems and that is certainly borne out in Shadows of Self. The plot is imaginative, the pacing perfect and the magic system/worldbuilding outstanding as always. However, the more (recent) books of his I read, the more I realise I’m not very fond of his writing style. For me, personally, the informal style does not match the setting. It could be this is a deliberate choice by the writer - I know from his work on The Wheel of Time and The Stormlight Archive that he can use a more formal style when important - in which case I have to disagree with his choice for these latest ternatively, it could be that he’s under pressure to crank out too a lot of books - he’s a massively prolific writer - and perhaps each book is not receiving the full care and attention to detail it cause of this, I gave Shadows of Self three stars out of five.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legion of Shadows []  2020-6-29 19:59

    For dark, somber, powerful, gothic music, Nox Arcana is tough to beat. Place this disk to playing on some dark (and maybe) stormy night and sit yourself down to a amazing gothic ghost story. Enough to give you nightmares perhaps. Amazing mood melody for the spooky and creepy. Best not be in the castle alone, however.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legion of Shadows []  2020-6-29 19:59

    This one of my favorite Nox Arcana CDs (nothing can top Transylvania, but this comes close). I'm no melody expert. All I can tell you is that it's amazing mood melody when I'm writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Shadows []  2020-2-6 20:10

    So unfortunately for me this book ends with the promise of the next book. It's not really a cliffhanger but the story is still not finished. I should have read some reviews and waited for all the books in the series to come out before reading. But it didn't have any bearing on my review. I actually liked this book. As I was reading I thought to myself how things were progressing nicely. But slowly. I got to the latest chapter and things had no method of wrapping up. This was definitely not a love story per se. There are no hearts and flowers. There is no gore. There is nothing distasteful. It is a good, clean yet very dark read. It was extremely dark and I loved it. I literally can't wait until the next story comes out. I will probably have to read this again to refresh my memory.I really liked Hades. He is unforgiving. He is cruel. He is very dark and mysterious. Persephone is very naive and untouched. Her hate for Hades is disguised as love. I think she fell in love with him but she's hiding behind the hate. It is too soon to tell if I like them together. They've only been together once. And their story is just only downfall was that Hades created Decker (Persephone's "friend") watch as he pleasured her. I felt like it was not needed. Decker liked Persephone but I dont think the feelings were mutual. And just to allow you know there is no cheating. I can see the significance of an audience, I just don't think Decker required to be front and center.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Shadows []  2020-2-6 20:10

    This story is one of the best I read this year. It has everything your looking for in a book. I loved the mythology intertwined in the book. I was perfection

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    King of Shadows []  2020-2-6 20:10

    Amelia Wilde is a fresh to me author, but I've been on a Hades and Persephone kick lately so I decided to give this book a try. I was definitely not disappointed! This is one the best Hades and Persephone retellings I've read so far. Ms. Wilde place an interesting twist on this well known and myth. Hades is so deliciously alpha and quite the dirty talker. Is he the villain in this story? It's unclear. But he rules his "underworld" with the iron fist. Persephone's hero is a lot more straightforward. She is sheltered and naive, a light to Hades's darkness, but not without a naughty side of her own. I'm very intrigued to search out more about Demeter and Zeus. What are their motivations? Demeter and her connection to Hades and Zeus seems especially interesting. The book is both a slow burn and scorching hot from the start. You'll have to read to search out how that's possible, but Ms. Wilde made so much chemistry and sizzle that I was worried for my kindle overheating. The book ends on a large cliffhanger, but book two is available for pre-order.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Shadows []  2020-7-13 19:33

    Amazing reading throughout this book of skillfully told history including the explorers' feats of survival in the wilderness in horrible weather and seemingly impassable terrain. If you like history, this book will only add to your pleasure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Shadows []  2020-7-13 19:33

    Very interesting but much too much detail for me.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386