Read how to be funny reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all how to be funny reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Funny How Love Can Be []  2021-2-11 20:9

    These guys had a unbelievable sound. I want they had place out more than they did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Compassionate []  2020-1-30 20:4

    Words of wisdom and love. Words to create you stop and think about how to be kind without being a mush or a this peaceful book while commuting created my commuting a lot better. I would look up at my fellow riders and realize that they are just like me -- life is tough enough - why cause more problems?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Compassionate []  2020-1-30 20:4

    Awesome Book

    0  


    Add your opinion on how to be funny or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Yourself []  2020-1-23 2:14

    I started out listening to Ellen's Podcast, The Savvy Psychologist, and that's where I found out that she was writting this book. I preordered it and I have to say this bookis amazing. Anyone dealing with social anixiety will love this book. There are stories tied to the socially anxious traits to better understand how they manifest. Now, it has me thinking about my past and how they've affected me now. The ebst prt of the book is not only the explanation, but the challenge to change these behaviors. And also for the socially anxious person to realize there's nothing wrong with you.I RECCOMEND THIS BOOK TO EVERYONE!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Yourself []  2020-1-23 2:14

    A lot of famous self-help books are light on science, and a lot of research-oriented books lack practical tip and are a slog to read. Ellen Hendriksen totally nails the rare combination of a book with a solid research foundation that is chockfull of accessible hints and strategies. As a fellow clinical psychology Ph.D, it's clear to me that the author knows what she's talking about. She uses amazing story-telling and engaging writing to introduce well-validated techniques from CBT and other therapy approaches. If you've struggled with social anxiety (and who hasn't?) this book will help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Yourself []  2020-1-23 2:14

    This book includes sound and easy-to-follow tip for people who suffer from social anxiety. More importantly, it is well-written, witty, interesting, and enjoyable to read. It's so good, I couldn't place it down, which is an awesome accomplishment for a self-help book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Straight []  2020-1-15 22:42

    This book is the #1 bestseller in Aesthetics category, and even though I don't know what that means, I agree thatit deserves the top slot. Never shy to give his opinion or advice, Milo is a man that got his huge break on a bus trip across America, spreading his humor and wit (among other things) and this book is a helpful reminder that he is still with us, lurking in the bushes of the internet. It's a quick fun romp of a read for those that have fun the lighter side of politics and social intercourse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Straight []  2020-1-15 22:42

    Milo. Stop trying to create The Comeback a thing. It’s not a thing. Just go gracefully, fade away. Cut chop.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Straight []  2020-1-15 22:42

    Must be a amazing book. Bought it as a fan, but didn't read yet. Will modernize the review if the book sucks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Black []  2020-2-6 19:39

    This was a very funny book, for any and all races. He describes being black in various cirtances, and postulates various responses from those involved. There were many, a lot of moments I recognized from life (as a white person, myself) interacting with each other. As well as these "oh,yeah" moments, there were quite a few "really? is that how it feels?' moments. He doesn't pretend to be a voice for all black people, but finds situations that we can relate to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Poor []  2020-2-4 10:35

    I enjoyed Milo back during the Trump campaign. He was always a powerful provocative free speech activist. I was horrified when the right (never trumpers) smeared him with half truths and all out is book shows though his finances were destroyed he has kept what set him apart from other writers his wit and timing. Milo writes something provocative but it is on point. The reader must look at what he is really stating for instance meal when not good look for true meal on clearance much better than quick meal for you and your wallet.I enjoyed the book and look forward to seeing Milo on TV & on social media more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Poor []  2020-2-4 10:35

    I have always liked Milo’s straightforward approach to fighting the ills of the Left, and his private story created him somewhat immune to the usual critiques. However, after his deplatforming he basically disappeared. Here he recounts the absurdly reckless and frankly idiotic behavior that ruined him financially, and how he has changed that. The first chapters review some very primary things to obtain out of poverty in real Milo style. However, it’s the latest one that shows the soul of the man, and the root of the solution. Owning up to mistakes, confessing sins, taking responsibility, and recommitting to the war for Western culture and his family—It’s about repentance. Amazing on him for recognizing errors, fixing who he is, and his relationship with God.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Poor []  2020-2-4 10:35

    What a beautiful, happy, fun book! Milo has this happiness about him. Amid extraordinary persecution and stress, he can give some funny but useful tip and talk about what really matters in life. This book is a amazing antidote to our culture and a reminder to be responsible and real to your conscience and/or faith. I think Milo deserves our help too - he has done an enormous amount for our society.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Luminous []  2020-8-25 19:39

    All the color disappeared from her globe along with her mother. While trying to remedy the situation, Minnie worries that she might have inherited more than her mother's artistic love for grief and loss books was really happy by How to Be Luminous. This book was beautiful, heartbreaking, and poignant. Hapgood's exploration of grief was well executed, and she did a attractive job capturing the various ways people deal with amazing e story was told from the point of view of Minnie, the middle Sloe daughter, but her sisters also played a huge role in the story. The three young women were dealing with their mother's disappearance in vastly various ways, and I always appreciate, when the complexities of people's sorrow is shown from various perspectives, because grief is not a one-size-fits-all thing. Hapgood present the good, the bad, and the ugly sides of mourning, and was really able to convey the emotions attached with this e Sloe sisters had place their mother on a pedestal, and would explain away her moods as "starlight and sinkholes". After much soul-searching, and the discovery of a box of prescription , they realized that there was an explanation for their mother's behavior. It was sad to see the girls finally accept that their mother's highs and lows were symptoms of her mental illness, and I felt their pain and anguish with having to admit it to themselves. This conflicted with their vision of who their mother was, and it was obvious how difficult it was for the teens to comes to terms with roughout the story, Minnie was trying to deal with her emotions, her monochromatism, and the ghost of her mother. By examining the past and making some not good decisions, Minnie was able to process her grief as she discovered fresh things about addition to grief and loss, I love stories with siblings, and this was one interesting trio. Each sister was dealing with the loss of their mother, but there were also some old wounds to contend with. Things were touch and go with the sisters for a while, but in the end, they were there for each other, and I was really happy with the method Hapgood handled their situation.Overall: This was a beautifully written book about how people grieve and struggle to come to terms with their loss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Straight []  2020-1-15 22:42

    Amazon is refusing to stock this book, even on Kindle - yet it stocks Mein Kampf. Allow the readers judge, this virtual book burning and oppression of free speech serves no purpose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Compassionate []  2020-1-30 20:4

    Once again HH Dalai Lama presents sound, meaningful life messages in an approachable fashion. This is a short book with short chapters averaging 10-12 pages each. Each chapter is like a life lesson that has a meditative exercise at the end. The latest part of the book even reviews all the exercises from the preceding chapters which was very useful.I found it difficult to follow through on the meditations as instructed. In previous talks, the Dalai Lama discusses two types of meditation - calm abiding and ytical. I can only assume these meditative exercises are for a more ytical meditation approach. Although I meditate daily, I follow more of a calm abiding style. SO, I wasn't able to really "meditate" on each concept. Instead, I used them as thoughts for the day - little bites of wisdom that are to be savored and digested necessary point he touched on was that our compassion should be universal and thus incorporate our mates and enemies. He extends this concept as a method to avoid global conflicts - through compassion. In this way, the reader can see how developing our individual compassion can have far-reaching, even universal effects. National leaders should take his words to heart!I combined the reading of this book with listening to it on audio as I went through each chapter. It seemed to create the words come more alive. I plan to review this gem periodically.Highly recommended read - as a bonus to yourself & those around you!! :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Compassionate []  2020-1-30 20:4

    A serious work! Like all Dalai Lama books, this one is very good, but...it is not an simple read. This is not an "as told to" prose, it is a translation of the Dalai Lama's classes in India and other areas that are meant to be instructive, in beautiful deep detail. It is all good, but challenging. Be ready!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Compassionate []  2020-1-30 20:4

    Unbelievable book, if taken seriously can really change someone's life. I've bought multiple copies and give often as gifts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Compassionate []  2020-1-30 20:4

    Unbelievable to listen to. Give up anger, jealousy, and other negative, enervating emotions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Black []  2020-2-6 19:39

    If you’re an old fart baby boomer leftist commie pinko like me, you’re gonna change your thinking after reading this book. Yes, makes you think, because you’re gonna learn a lotta things you never imagined. And you know what? You’ll laugh, you might cry but your eyes will begin to seeing a much better reality in the future for all of us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Yourself []  2020-1-23 2:14

    I don’t normally like books that purport to tell me “how to do” anything with my life, but this book is the exception. In an engaging and readable style, Dr. Hendriksen gives us step-by-step tip based on doented psychological research that makes breaking out from our Inner Critic and “busting the myths” of social anxiety possible. I was thrilled to search that a technique that I've been using on my own to control my social anxiety is recommended in this book. Now to test her other suggestions! This is real, practical tip for the 40% of us.Dr. Hendriksen takes a gentle but authoritative approach to a serious subject. Neither preachy nor navel-gazing, and never condescending, theengrossing narratives about actual clients and about herself create the book relatable and honest. Full of witty language and cultural references, I found myself laughing out loud a lot of times. Highly recommended!Don’t allow the cover fool you. This book is definitely for him, as well as her and them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Yourself []  2020-1-23 2:14

    I’ve been a fan of the Savvy Psycholgist since Dr. Hendriksen began, mainly because the segments are chock full of actual peer reviewed studies used as the back bone for each show. Her applications of research to everyday life is well-done and relatable. I was so excited to hear about her book, and it was all I’d hoped for! Like Dr. H, I’m a clinical psychologist who also experiences social anxiety, and the concepts and research were familiar. However, her style of applying science to examples from her own or patients’ lives create this book truly stand out as useful. I have now recommended it as a supplement to psychotherapy for several of my patients. In summary, this is a well-done, science based approach that is also very practical. Thank you, Dr. H! I can’t wait for your next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Poor []  2020-2-4 10:35

    Milo was and is flamboyant, which generally is a amazing method to dispose of a fortune. He did. So, firstly, buy the book: amazing people should be helped out of bankruptcy, particularly when they have written a confession of their faults and sins. Do as he does: eat well at home. walk everywhere, use public transport, have a network of people who can fix things, and be a man. Take responsibility. Your behaviour got you into this mess, changing it will obtain you out of it.Well worth the read, despite his declaration that his hair is a twin spirit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Poor []  2020-2-4 10:35

    This isn't a self-help book unless you are a rapper who has come into money, or a sports star, or some other variant of this kind. Any normal person, like a person who buys $3 books and reads them, will search nothing here of value. Most people are not good enough, living paycheck to paycheck, where they don't even need to learn the lessons Milo , to be fair, I don't buy it that Milo is pretending to support people who are recently impoverished or deplatformed. The whole book is written to be funny. The issue for me is I didn't search any of it funny because I found Milo to be so autistically stupid with cash I became disgusted. I also had no idea how rich he had gotten. And for what? What did he do to obtain such a windfall? I've tried to look up the items Milo has done that has created a return on peoples' investment in him. Without doing any careful research, I can recall from memory that he had some spicy segments on news channels challenging feminism, he had something to do with GamerGate, he had a lengthy talk with Joe Rogan, he had his college tours shut down or protested, he was large on twitter but then shut down, he worked for Breitbart and seemed to be working to obtain Trump elected, but to what extend was he visibly helpful? A lot of items seemed to be focused on the fact that he was but conservative. I thought it was his sharp wit and invulnerability from his ity that created him popular.I didn't realize he became wealthy from all of this. I realize I know next to nothing about Milo. He was merely an ally in the internet battle of ideas I had come to know. He may have become impoverished simply by his wild lifestyle rather than being deplatformed. He openly says he created 3 million off his book Dangerous. That's really good. But how quick did he blow through all of his cash and then some? He is now turned around? I don't believe it for a second. I also don't believe the nonsense about him finding God and turning to the church. The church has nothing for him. If he really learned his lesson, and saw himself as such a strong warrior for free speech, he would renounce possessions and focus fully on his goal and become the St. Francis of Assisi of free speech. This book comes across as a fast and simple money grab to pay some bills. It's about as weak as any self-help scam can be and I guess I don't search Milo to be funny.A lot of the jokes read as inside jokes. Like, you have to be fully in Milo's camp to obtain them. I've forgotten all of them already. The memory of this book is already fading from my mind. I don't wish to hate on Milo, he is not an ideological opponent of mine, but I feel cheated from reading this. If Trump can't even support his base, how much more can Milo do? Is it right that he profits so much for doing so little? This book did nothing for me, taught me nothing, was very short, very light in weight, and who profits? Milo does. He always has, I guess. What's next? A Milo cookbook where he shows us how to create half-assed hamburgers and chips? Honestly, I'd rather Milo spend his energy, his wealth of knowledge, connections, experiences, and arguments into constructing the next amazing novel. I think he has a solid foundation to become a amazing novelist instead of a journalist iconoclast. Think of the amazing H.L. Mencken. Journalist iconoclast extraordinaire. Known a bit in his day. Did a lot of awesome things. Wrote better than anyone else. How a lot of know him? How a lot of care? But people still read Joseph Conrad, someone Mencken helped bring to light.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Poor []  2020-2-4 10:35

    In order to better understand the realities of life and how it can all go wrong you have to give this book a test and see it from Milo's point of view. Written with a lot of sass and god knows how a lot of bottles of wine in him its a damn amazing read that keeps you stuck on it all night long.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Luminous []  2020-8-25 19:39

    In How to Be Luminous by Harriet Reuter Haphood Minnie and her two sisters, Niko and Emmy-Kate, are suddenly left without their mother. Minnie, the middle sister, finds a suicide note in her mother’s art studio but no sign of her body. Niko has to take over as guardian, Minnie loses all her color, and Emmy-Kate is going out at all hours of the night. Their mother was an artist, as well as the three girls, so losing color makes things very difficult, but Minnie doesn’t wish to tell anyone, including her boyfriend.I thought this was a really amazing book about mental illness and suicide, and I thought all the art was really interesting. I also love whenever one of the characters is deaf.I thought there might be some in the beginning, and I wasn’t a fan of that in a YA novel, but it ended up not event and being okay. It was also hard for me to obtain past some of the words the author used to create the story appeal to youth (“eff” and “WTFasaurus”).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Black []  2020-2-6 19:39

    Well written, comprehensive, and very informative. It was also interesting and entertaining, with a lot of helpful suggestions. After reading it, I feel better equipped to relate to black people in my neighborhood, if there are any.(That latest comment was a joke, meant to draw attention to the fact that a lot of white people have very small exposure to black people, other than at work).How to Be Black is a humorous book, and a satirical book, but it is also a very serious book. The author uses humor and awkward situations to convey a amazing deal of info about a lot of of the things that can happen in a black person's life. In doing do, he hopes to create it easier for all of us to talk about race. At the end, he presents interesting and positive suggestions as to how black people can shape their experience differently, and a better method in which we can address problems of race without fear and discomfort. Perhaps that's what Rodney King was trying to say.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Yourself []  2020-1-23 2:14

    I've been wandering around the social anxiety self-help block for about 3 years now. I must have read at least a dozen other books on this topic, from "best-selling" authors and groundbreaking researchers. However, no other books broach the subject as deeply and strike as close to my heart as this one.Each chapter includes a compelling and useful tool on how to combat social anxiety, and what's more, together they paint a thorough picture of the, or at least my, social anxiety experience. Very few authors really capture the nuanced thoughts that occur during social anxiety, but this author is quite unique in that she has personally had social anxiety and she knows how to describe the experience vividly.I would highly recommend this book as the go-to tutorial for anyone looking to improve their social anxiety.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Yourself []  2020-1-23 2:14

    If you experience social anxiety or know someone who does, please read this book. I want I had this book in my life earlier, and I found myself moved to tears a lot of times while reading it. I first read How to Be Yourself a lot of months ago, and I’ve been nagging myself that I need to write a review because of this book’s importance. Regarding my own anxiety, nothing has created me feel more reassured, acknowledged, encouraged, and knowledgeable than this book has. I've researched about social anxiety, but I feel like I never fully understood what was going on in my brain until I read this. Not only that, but I feel like I now also have realistic tools to overcome my anxiety and be myself—by loving myself!There are three particular ideas in this book that really struck me as helpful and enlightening. The first is the author’s attribution of the name “Inner Critic” to social anxiety, i.e. the voice in our head that tells us we’re not amazing enough. The author explains how the critic is misguided and incorrect, and I have found this method of thinking very helpful because I can now recognize when my thoughts are coming from my inner critic and address them using the methods she suggests throughout the condly, the author’s chapter comparing social anxiety to an apple tree was probably one of the most reassuring in the book, considering a hallmark of social anxiety is the thought that something's wrong with you. She explains that social anxiety is simply the effect of two important qualities, social awareness and behavioral inhibition, growing out of control. That is to say, those of us with social anxiety just have too much of a amazing thing—and better yet, it can be controlled. I love this quote: “Social awareness and behavioral inhibition are such useful traits in maintaining harmony and security that to Mama Nature it’s worth the risk of sometimes going overboard.”The third idea wasn’t explicitly created by the author, but I took this away by synthesizing all of her incredibly helpful tip and testimony regarding methods to overcome anxiety: I need to love myself. I have spent much of my life listening to the Inner Critic and believing that I wasn’t amazing enough. By using her methods including replace and embrace, mindfulness, “doing it before you’re confident,” and “daring to be average,” now I feel like I have the tools to practice true self-love by believing in my true self! This quote from the author caught me quite off guard the first time I read it because of how deeply it resonated: “I realized how a lot of opportunities I missed because I was afraid of people rejecting me, but I was just rejecting myself.”Finally, I would like to add one more quote from the author: “Ironically, the individuals I work with who experience social anxiety—the same people who think they’re inadequate, awkward failures—are, time and again, the most interesting, beautiful, and kind people one could ever hope to meet.” If that doesn’t encapsulate how entirely comforting and motivating this book is, I don’t know what would. This is a notice I want I could scream from the ere is still a lot of stigma surrounding any mental illness, and regarding the socially anxious there is particular stigma around not having a lot of mates or not being easily sociable. I’m in my early twenties and so a lot of people of my generation and younger struggle with social anxiety—I want I could give them all a copy of this book. Therapy is not an option for everyone, and I truly hope that there will be more education and awareness of mental health in the though healing is a slow process, my method of thinking has definitely changed for the better since reading this book. Thank you, Dr. Hendriksen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Straight []  2020-1-15 22:42

    A amazing read, with actual laughing out loud included. Brilliant, witty, timely—and necessary! Buy and read. We love you, Milo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Compassionate []  2020-1-30 20:4

    If you could take control of the most necessary thing in this life by changing your perspective, would you? This book about compassion is a large step in along that more mindful path. Amazing fast read that puts things in perspective so effortlessly

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Poor []  2020-2-4 10:35

    Humble apology while still being the best at what he is...a provocateur.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Poor []  2020-2-4 10:35

    What Milo preaches about in How To Be Not good are things I already practice and to see my fave poor boy living now as a mere mortal makes me love him even more. I’m sure those who hate him take delight in his fresh poverty status but he is still rich beyond belief in wit, humor, and his love for God and his husband. He outshines those who want him ill in ways they’ll never achieve. Thank you Milo for baring your soul. Hold fighting the amazing fight, I, along with an troops of your supporters, will always have your back. God speed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Poor []  2020-2-4 10:35

    Milo's personality hasn't been crimped by his financial woes! I'm glad for his sake that he's gained some self-awareness from his turmoil. And it's always amazing to be reminded to be creatively frugal, even if you're not as indebted as Milo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Black []  2020-2-6 19:39

    This was excellent. Although at times I was not sure where the lesson ended and the satirical genius began, I found the entire book to be thought-provoking. As I suppose a caucasian, me, reading this book should know, is it better create you think. There were a lot of times where I wondered when I was on the other side of situations he was describing. This is a amazing thing, its amazing to be created to think by an enjoyable but strong collection of words on ybe this will not obtain some sort of "required reading," status but it certainly should be considered. His willingness to go fairly deep on the autobiographical front doesn't just lend credibility, it creates a relatable reality that makes me appreciate the book that much more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Black []  2020-2-6 19:39

    Loved this is funny, smart, and leads the reader through a thoughtful social commentary, using humor and info from the author's life throughout. Starting out, it is laugh out loud funny, becoming more serious as the novel progresses.Race is not a comfortable subject for most Americans. The latest election exposed a dark, ugly side of America that I didn't know existed (in such amazing number). Thought provoking with a healthy dose of satire, I highly recommend this book to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Black []  2020-2-6 19:39

    All of his illustrated life stories mentioned in his text are all experiences I have gone through and I am only 23 years old.He comes from a neutral perspective to give an insight on how black people are portrayed by Whites as well as other Blacks. This entire book pays tribute to Blacks who might be in the "middle of the pack," or in other words "educated ."I am paraphrasing a bit, but the one excerpt that stood out to me the most was his feelings of not "being black enough" or being "too white" are simply the struggles that come along with having a bright education and future.I am not here to write a long extended review but to simply tell you if you feel like you are irrationally treated by both groups, this book can simply give you a second chance. Baratunde goes into a unspoken dynamic of social problems that are unheard of and at the same time gives a amazing laugh here and there. BUY THIS BOOK AND SUPPORT THIS AUTHOR, DONE!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Black []  2020-2-6 19:39

    I would recommend this book to any and everyone. It’s insightful, and causes you to be just a bit more introspective in how you view people. It created me really think about how I percieve my own blackness, as well as how the black community interacts with itself in comparison to other minority communities. These are conversations that I think need to be had, even if I don’t have the words to begin them myself. It is especially necessary in the current cultural and political landscape of the United r the full review, please go here:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Compassionate []  2020-1-30 20:4

    I didn't search it helpful but was revealing of Dalai Lamas thinking on self-control

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Compassionate []  2020-1-30 20:4

    In my humble opinion the Dalai Lama is pure wisdom. This book devoted to the esence of what is required to be in peace is something that the whole humanuity should read with 100% of attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Straight []  2020-1-15 22:42

    As usual, no matter the subject, Milo always entices, as his incredibly witty style, dark humor and exceptionally well researched information, is a unbelievable read. Hang in there Milo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Yourself []  2020-1-23 2:14

    As a chronic online self-help article-skimmer, not much in this book was brand spanking fresh to me, but after reading it and really digesting and applying the material to my life, I feel like I can actually see a change. If you're like me, you might begin reading this and think it's for some shut-in, crippled by fear, but hold reading, and begin your mind. I was able to apply so much to my more mild anxiety, and I'm better because of it. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Straight []  2020-1-15 22:42

    Milo has carved out a niche as a wise man, a prophet, with rock solid values that serve the best interests of humankind. He is also delightfully in the best way, with the wit and humor of the globe as well as the in your face courage to tell it like it is. Amazing job Milo. God loves you. You are a bonus to our culture and a counterbalance to the s trying to destroy our lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Straight []  2020-1-15 22:42

    He makes trolling an artform. Nuff said. Can't wait till our birthday on Oct 18th Milo, I will think of you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Yourself []  2020-1-23 2:14

    Incredible. By far thr best material I have read on social anxiety, and I have done a lot of research. After a lot of years suffering from chronic shyness and crippling self-toture before, during, and after social situations, I have learned that it's okay to create (what I consider) mistakes, and treat myself with self-compassionate. I have realized that being around people doesn't mean I have to place on a performance, because who you are is already enough. This book includes a lot of insights into what makes up social anxiety, why sufferers of capital-S Social anxiety feel and act the method they do, and offers different effective strategies to combat it. Highly recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Yourself []  2020-1-23 2:14

    I am really enjoying this book so far. The stories are entertaining and the author brings her patients to life as characters, while also providing facts about how our brains work when we're anxious and practical advice. I can see this book helping a wide dozens of people, from the person who is nervous to speak up at work to the teenager who has developed social anxiety & "FOMO" from social media (Instagram, Facebook). Dr. Hendriksen makes the approach feel really modern and, although it is self-help-y, the book is very grounded in storytelling and specific anecdotes, which create it fun and memorable to read! This is my favorite kind of nonfiction because it shares stories, facts, and tip all at once.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Black []  2020-2-6 19:39

    Update.............. although this book is an perfect read, I now have a issue with the seller. I'm sitting at my dining room table right now trying to read the book, and as you can see by my pictures I've gotten to page 84 which abruptly skips to page 95 because an entire section of the book was ripped out! how can I truly read the book for what it is if there is an entire section missing, not to mention that when I went to see what part of the book was missing, pour the contents it's an entire section that starts between how to be the black mate and how to speak for all black people. This is extremely unacceptable to say that I paid for a book that I can't completely finish. I hope the seller sees this and responds accordingly. after looking forward through out the rest of the book, I found that there are multiple sections and pages that are have been ripped out of the book. This is extremely unacceptable and disappointing! From what I've been able to read I give the actual book five stars but since I can't continue I have to give the seller one star based off of the missing sections....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Black []  2020-2-6 19:39

    This book is funny and serious at the same time. It would support race relations in this country if it was needed reading for everyone.I found myself laughing at the absurdity and crying at the truth of those same absurdities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Black []  2020-2-6 19:39

    Part autobiography, part irony rolled up into a whole lot of very wise social commentary. Thurston makes some very insightful observations about the method that people exist and thrive in multiple worlds. I suspect that this book holds a lot that is familiar to anyone who is a member of a minority group. That group need not be ethnic or racial in nature. There are in effect, a minimum of two worlds in every interaction between various people. There is the other person's perception of your globe and there is your own perception of your world. In this particular book there is an example of how being black is perceived to be by non-blacks, contrasted by how being black is to Thurston. The thoughts, feelings and emotions about what it is to be black to Thurston, are shared by a lot of of us who are black (hence the success of the book). The caveat is that Thurston is describing the experience of what it is like to be black in a white, middle-class, American environment. Underlying this is a theme about how those of us who are "different" are actually ambassadors for those differences; helping to shape, sharpen and maybe even change the perceptions of others. I think the true brilliance of this book is the acknowledgement that these differences in perceptions exist at all. This book was thoughtful and refreshing, humorous and amazing natured. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Compassionate []  2020-1-30 20:4

    I'm a serious Christian and found this remarkably helpful. The Dalai Lama has nudged me into beiing a better Christian.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be Poor []  2020-2-4 10:35

    I didn't search all the tip personally useful, but the attitude is dead on. When your life collapses around you the best thing you can do is take responsibility and decide to act. If you think maybe you've got problems, this fast read will support place things into perspective. Milo writes well and the book is engaging and honest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bringg dispatch How to setup [For Panera Drivers]  2020-5-28 1:23
    [email protected]

    I download the application ands it asks for my email and pads and I can’t see hint registration to use the application what’s their point no help page or nothing! Help me out

    3  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    vidalista 20 how to use [vidalista ct 20 deutsch]  2021-3-11 6:42
    [email protected]

    super vidalista and alcohol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can buy lasix buying lasix in canada how to buy lasix in Norway best price for lasix in Long Beach where to purchase lasix in Washington how can i buy lasix best method to search cheap lasix in Czech Republic where is better to purchase lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to buy lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Perfectly Unhappy [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    It's so nice to have one of my favorite comics published into a book! I know you can read this for free at the oatmeal's website, but it's just not the same as having a physical copy. I love my Exploding Kittens and Bears versus Babies games, now it's time to expand my collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Bad @#$%! []  2020-1-29 9:21

    Honestly I love Amber but this book is hard to read if you’re an avid reader or intelligent. I brought it to present help but I just can’t.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Bad @#$%! []  2020-1-29 9:21

    This book is amazing it helped me with self confidence and is a amazing read for woman empowerment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Supervillain []  2020-1-23 19:29

    Funny and imaginative for kids. My child loved it and requested the next one in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Supervillain []  2020-1-23 19:29

    this was a bonus for my 10 year old nephew, he was thrilled to obtain this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a conservative []  2019-12-20 18:35

    One of the better books on conservatism by its greatest living sage

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be an Antiracist []  2019-12-20 18:38

    I thought I'd listen to this in my vehicle on my commute but I've just wasted $19 because I can't follow it and can't obtain past the method the orator is reading the book. As another reviewer posted, save your cash and obtain the book at the library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be an Antiracist []  2019-12-20 18:38

    It's a one-sided account....opinions really, and it's not well written at that. People turn a blind eye to blatant racism like affirmative action for example. There are too a lot of examples to list. I'm just glad I didn't purchase this, but rather got it from the library. Save your cash and obtain it from the library...read it at bedtime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be an Antiracist []  2019-12-20 18:38

    I have never highlighted as much of a book as I did this one. It’s full of amazing insights. And yes, it might create you uncomfortable. It created me uncomfortable in places. I’d like to think that I spend more time being an Antiracist than I spend being racist. This book created me look hard at myself an all my preconceptions. I’m still not sure I agree with everything the author says. I’m still thinking about a lot of what I found in this book. I was fascinated by the history of race and racism. In some ways the book created think we’ve created less progress in my lifetime than I’d thought and hoped but it also left me more hopeful. I’ll finish this review with the following. Go out and vote for those who strive to be Antiracist!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Mentally Strong [App]  2019-11-24 21:34

    Amazing app. Straight to the point. True genuine advices. Worth downloading. I found myself reading for hours. Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Mentally Strong [App]  2019-11-24 21:34

    The terms and conditions were unrealistic. Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Mentally Strong [App]  2019-11-24 21:34

    It was OK

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Mentally Strong [App]  2019-11-24 21:34

    perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Conservative []  2020-1-18 20:40

    Amazing read! Scruton is a brilliant apologist for the cause of conserving the Union, the U.S. Constitution, and freedom.While only a few brave left-wingers would dare or care to read this, it is a worthwhile tool for those who know the truth, and might remain unclear about what to do about it and how to move forward in that Scruton's interview on the Hoover Institution's youtube sight. He's weathered on the outside, but his bright light shines through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Conservative []  2020-1-18 20:40

    One of the better books on conservatism by its greatest living sage

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Conservative []  2020-1-18 20:40

    I absolutely loved it, I recommend it to e book helps us to demystify conservatism its method of seeing the globe and its concerns.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Footballer []  2020-1-16 1:11

    For anyone who has been following the android game in the latest twenty years, this book is an enjoyable part-biographical, part-expose look into the life of a footballer. There are numerous funny tales, and Crouchy seems to be one of the latest of a dying breed of the drinking football culture. This is definitely not the Roy Keane book as there are no earth-shattering revelations, but it’s a fun light-hearted page-turner that’ll hold you entertained.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Footballer []  2020-1-16 1:11

    Amazing book with very interesting insights into the globe of professional football. If you are fan of the podcasts you will have fun the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Lion []  2020-1-16 7:50

    Amazing lesson on standing up for yourself and others peacefully, and what you believe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Lion []  2020-1-16 7:50

    I liked it so much, bought 49 copies and gave one to almost every child I know...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Lion []  2020-1-16 7:50

    I love this book for my son. Bought this as a bday book for him. Like the few lesson of life children should think about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Remy Cameron []  2020-8-1 18:52

    Fabulous read! If I could give it more stars, I mething that draws me into any book is the inexplicable magic of almost poetic prose, powerful characterization, and a sense of universality--the feeling that this story could be about me. No, I'm not black. I'm not . I'm not adopted. I am the mother of a 17-year-old. But, the desire to understand oneself beyond the labels that people put on me rings so real to me. I think that is part of the appeal of YA literature to adults in general, we've all had some ver of these experiences, so we understand them at a visceral level. However, this is even more that that. Remy's journey speaks to the lost soul inside of each of us--the person who simply wants to understand love, life, where they are, and where they are heading.I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Remy Cameron []  2020-8-1 18:52

    Every teen (and teen at heart) can relate to the struggle of figuring out who you are. Remy, in How to Be Remy Cameron, is particularly unmoored as an adopted kid striving to please everyone around him that he forgets how to please himself. The romantic thread will draw you in and Remy’s tear-jerking find for his identity will hold you turning pages. A gem of a story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be an Artist []  2020-3-30 19:21

    After four interminable months of anticipation, Jerry’s book (Kindle edition) was finally delivered to my device. All that wait for 144 pages? I did actually hesitate to buy it because of the slim page count. But, as a striving artist myself, how could I ignore one of the few raw, driven and colourful cheerleaders of the modern art world? I knew there would be passages to cherish and savor, and that is indeed the case with this “pocket book” of ideas and directions. I’m sure I’ll be returning to it frequently, in those moments where I need to take a pause and obtain my bearings.I kind of feel like I know Jerry, at least his public persona. Seeing him at openings (via James Kalm videos). Seeing a few of his recorded talks online. Seeing him as the critic host on Bravo’s 2010 two season reality present “Work of Art: The Next Amazing Artist.” Reading his forthright confessional “My Life as a Failed Artist” in a 2017 Vulture article. And of course, his multi-cover 2018 Fresh York Magazine article, whose content is largely contained in this rry wears his awkwardness and vulnerability like a badge of honor, and his views feel off-the-cuff, unfiltered and uncalculated. Jerry plies the huge poor art stage like a through-and-through Fresh Yorker. An ideal, thorny antidote to the giddy, money-deranged modern art world. And as a critic in this day and age, his voice is a refreshing alternative to the dry, haughty, unbearably pious intellectualism that was tossed around art school, back in the early 1990s at least. Jerry is down to earth, direct, and a real believer in the art enterprise. He pulls no punches.But this book is not a book about established artists or art criticism. It’s a gentler cookbook of ideas and tip to support artists who are “on their way” and need the firm yet caring commands of a ring-side to Be an Artist is indeed a super fast read, but that’s partly because it’s so bubbly and rry lays out six steps (to be an artist) in 63 bite-sized chapters. The book winds at a brisk pace through diverse ideas, thought experiments, and challenging art studio exercises. It is bundled with quotes by Louise Bourgeois, Flaubert, Bob Dylan, William Blake, Carroll Dunham, Frank Stella, Picasso, Bridget Riley, Oscar Wilde, and even Einstein. I’m looking forward to being much more granular as I dig back into it and read it for a second low are a just a few of my highlighted passages:>> But doubt is a sign of faith: it tests and humbles you, allows newness into your life. Best of all, doubt banishes the stifling result of certainty. Certainty kills curiosity and change.>> I wish you to begin yourself to what the philosopher Ludwig Wittgenstein meant when he said, “My head often knows nothing about what my hand is writing.” In other words: Learn how to listen, and the work will tell you what it wants.>> Don’t worry about whether your art “makes sense.” The faster your work makes sense, the faster people will lose interest. Allow go of being “good.” Begin thinking about creating.>> Avoid lingering on the well-worn path; you don’t wish to be a minor example of someone else’s major style or idea. It’s a far better thing to allow yourself obtain lost than never to stray at all.>> Artists, like cats, communicate abstractly, at a remove. This is why artists hate to be asked what their work means. Even if what they create is a picture of a landscape, or a race riot, it’s not “about” only those things. It’s about much more—including itself, its materials and how they were used, and how the artist sees the for art itself, that’s much more like a dog: never quite behaving, making a mess, costing a lot, always making you obtain supplies, but paying you back in wonder and delight.—I’d like to finish this review with two requests for Jerry, if I may. First of all, how about re-releasing some of your other books / criticism collections for the Kindle? Wouldn’t you or at least your publishers (e.g. Hudson Hills) wish to hold a bit of a revenue stream going? A lot of people, myself included, do 90% of their reading on devices now. I’d love to read “Seeing Out Loud” or “Seeing Out Louder.”Otherwise - would you consider putting out a fresh collection of your critical writings from the past decade or two? (Don’t allow Peter Schjeldahl have all the fun now!).Secondly, in this book, I really loved the breadth and reach of artist quotes and anecdotes. I’d be quite satisfied to pay for a lot more! A rambling, loosely assembled book of just quotes by artists or other art globe similar figures, perhaps with a bit of wry commentary by Jerry Saltz? Dore Ashton did a unbelievable book of quotes by Picasso (I’m sure you have it in your library). Just a stly, if you are just starting your quest as a struggling artist, consider pairing this book with “The Battle of Art” by Steven anks Jerry, for the inspiration and guidance.- Greg in Japan (aka tonsfocus)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be an Artist []  2020-3-30 19:21

    Enjoyed the ideas. If you are looking for a rule book and step by step tutorial to be an artist this is Not it. If you wish to discover and be an artist then this is it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be an Antiracist []  2020-6-21 19:3

    How To Be An Antiracist is a confusing, frustrating book that fails to create a convincing case that "antiracism" is the best, or even a amazing method to war back versus racism. It's as if Kendi was given free reign to write whatever he wanted, and no editor ever pushed back to ask questions like "does the definition you're proposing create sense" or "do you have any evidence to help your claim?"For example, Kendi starts out each chapter by defining a word like "racist" or "success," supposedly in an effort to clarify things. But these definitions end up being more confusing than clarifying. Kendi's definition of racist is, "One who is supporting a racist policy through their actions or inaction or expressing a racist idea." He uses the word "racist" twice to define the word "racist."Similarly, the central idea of antiracism seems to be that all racial groups are equal, and therefore, any inequality is proof of racism, and any policy that arguably contributed to that inequality is also racist. This too, does not create sense. If inequality is due to racism, how can we explain inequality within racial groups? Why do white people in one state create more cash than in another state? Why do chlidren from two parent households generally do better academically than kids from single parent households of the same race? Racism can't be the answer. And Kendi rarely offers any proof that racism is the basic source of inequality between groups, allow alone the only source. The book also feels overly long and highly repetitive, with Kendi driving home the same handful of points/ideas over and over again.Racism is a true issue that requires legitimate, evidence-based solutions. How To Be An Antiracist is not that. It is a half-baked philosophy that a lot of other black academics like John McWhorter have effectively picked apart. This book will undoubtedly earn plenty of praise from other self-described "antiracists" and white people who wouldn't dare say a critical word about a book about racism written by a black man, but the book is not convincing, nor intellectually rigorous. If you're looking for a tutorial to fighting versus racism, look elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Woman []  2020-9-16 18:36

    Overall: I loved this s:-hilarious-articulates a lot of things that have required deeper discussionCons:-crude and disgusting- I hesitate to recommend it because of experiences I don’t agree with or have hadApproach:-with an begin mind (to obtain past things that are disgusting...first few chapters were wretched)-the ability to disagree and continue-laugh a lotI had to look at the 5 stars and the 1 star reviews to see how to best describe this. I can understand why people said what they did for the 1 star reviews. But I also totally obtain the 5 star reviews. I obtain it. But I also loved this book and thought it was fabulous!!! SO, I feel 4 stars is totally fair. A amazing book should elicit a range of emotions. This is a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Woman []  2020-9-16 18:36

    "When the topic turns to abortion, cosmetic intervention, birth, motherhood, , love, work, misogyny, fear, or just how you feel in your own skin, women still often won't tell the truth to each other unless they are very, very drunk."Caitlin Moran is right. Nowadays, you DO have to be drunk. The latest time I heard a female mate relate anything even remotely private was when L. had too much wine at book club and really tore into her deadbeat ex-husband. (Seriously, you earn $98,000 a year but can't pay kid support? You JERK!)older women who were returning to finish degrees that had been nudged aside for marriage and family. Those broads rocked my globe and led me away from the path of righteousness, and I THANK THEM every day for doing so. Thirty years have slipped by, and I've yet to search another group of women to whom I can say ANYTHING and not be judged. And, man, do I ever miss that! Now, if you talk about S-E-X, it's deemed T-M-I. Why is wanting to talk about something we all do too much information? Why does no one wants to go there?Well, Ms. Moran GOES THERE. From pubic hair (Yes!) to high heels (No!), she lets it all hang out. And what fun it was spending time with her. Though a continent and more than a decade separate us, I may possibly have more in common w/ Moran than any woman I've met in true life. I found her let-your-freak-flag-fly notice to be reassuring, entertaining and pants-wettingly funny. Not everyone will like her, or her book. And that's okay. If even thinking about the f-word makes you blush, if you've never concocted an imaginary relationship with a male celebrity, or if you've never touched yourself "down there," place the book down and back away.If you're like me, you'll love ing a woman . . . after all these years, I'm beautiful sure I've been doing it right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be a Woman []  2020-9-24 18:51

    "So here is the fast method of working out if you're a feminist. Place your hand in your pants.a) Do you have a ? andb) Do you wish to be in charge of it?If you said 'yes' to both, then congratulations! You're a feminist.”I read this book as part of a feminist reading club on Goodreads. I had never really thought about being a feminist before. In fact, a feminist to me sounded like one of those red-faced, mad women protesting about something or the other, and always @#$%!ing about men. But guess what, being a feminist is about understanding yourself as a woman and defining the role you wish to play for yourself in your own life. It's about taking control, it's about asserting our freedoms, and it's about celebrating our interactions with men in a method that is satisfying and fulfilling for itlin Moran tells her story in a relatable, humorous, and often irreverent style that did create me stop and think about a lot of issues. Some of her life choices may be questionable, especially in the culture I was raised in, but hey, that's exactly the point. She can --and should-- choose what she believes is right for herself. In the end, I found her courageous for speaking things a lot of of us will shy away from, and to search humor in it too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be a Woman []  2020-9-24 18:51

    This is a fun book, often very funny. There are some parts that are thought-provoking and beautifully written: “This is the brutal, root truth of adolescence—that it is often a long, painful campaign of attrition. Those self-harming girls with the latticework of razor cuts on their arms and thighs are just reminding themselves that their body is a battlefield.”Moran is definitely right that feminism is too necessary to be discussed only by academics. I think it’s amazing that female and male celebrities are proud to use the word to describe themselves. Celebrity means a lot in this culture, and if they can support take the stigma away from this word, I say, “Yippee!”Much of what Moran talks about is the language we use, particularly in regards to women. Because she is British and uses a lot of slang, not all her discussions on language meant a lot to me. I’ve been to England twice and read a lot of British authors, but slang changes quickly, and even here in America I often need someone (Google) to translate Millennials’ English to my Gen-X y of her thoughts on feminism are related to mine: “So you don’t wish to be owned by your husband? You’re welcome, that was us.” And so on . . .This is not a quick read, however. It’s at times disjointed, feeling like stream of consciousness thoughts that don’t always seem to logically follow one point to the next. I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t like some books that I simply can’t wait to obtain back to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Be a Woman []  2020-9-24 18:51

    "When the topic turns to abortion, cosmetic intervention, birth, motherhood, , love, work, misogyny, fear, or just how you feel in your own skin, women still often won't tell the truth to each other unless they are very, very drunk."Caitlin Moran is right. Nowadays, you DO have to be drunk. The latest time I heard a female mate relate anything even remotely private was when L. had too much wine at book club and really tore into her deadbeat ex-husband. (Seriously, you earn $98,000 a year but can't pay kid support? You JERK!)older women who were returning to finish degrees that had been nudged aside for marriage and family. Those broads rocked my globe and led me away from the path of righteousness, and I THANK THEM every day for doing so. Thirty years have slipped by, and I've yet to search another group of women to whom I can say ANYTHING and not be judged. And, man, do I ever miss that! Now, if you talk about S-E-X, it's deemed T-M-I. Why is wanting to talk about something we all do too much information? Why does no one wants to go there?Well, Ms. Moran GOES THERE. From pubic hair (Yes!) to high heels (No!), she lets it all hang out. And what fun it was spending time with her. Though a continent and more than a decade separate us, I may possibly have more in common w/ Moran than any woman I've met in true life. I found her let-your-freak-flag-fly notice to be reassuring, entertaining and pants-wettingly funny. Not everyone will like her, or her book. And that's okay. If even thinking about the f-word makes you blush, if you've never concocted an imaginary relationship with a male celebrity, or if you've never touched yourself "down there," place the book down and back away.If you're like me, you'll love ing a woman . . . after all these years, I'm beautiful sure I've been doing it right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Bad @#$%! []  2020-12-6 20:34

    I admire Amber for fighting her method to the top and over coming all the obstacles that she has. But dear goodness is this book cringy to read. Maybe it's a fun read if you're a teenager, but as a twenty something adult I just can't [email protected]#$%!. I'm sure there are a lot of experiences in her life that had potential to be used to make a hard hitting and interesting piece of work, but this was not it. She talks about how to deal with anxiety and depression: doctors and medication. Wow thanks for the insight. And how her mom was her largest supporter and to believe and love yourself. The kiddy pool in my back yard is deeper than this book. Overall, disappointing. I think she has such potential to create quality work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Bad @#$%! []  2020-12-6 20:34

    I started not to obtain this book and some of the reviews I simply don't agree with. This was by far my best read of 2016, so far it is very interesting. I picked up some vital inspiration and insight on becoming a poor B*! BAD @#$%! is just a figure of speech... The book really covers and teaches the foundation of being a confident and attractive woman in other words. This book was very well written and attention holding. Honestly, the photo that is often portrayed of Amber on social media, etc, really doesn't coincide with the Amber that wrote this book. I'm glad I purchased this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Perfectly Unhappy [Book]  2017-11-1 18:1

    This book is literally nothing but the webcomic already seen on No fresh material has been added.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a conservative []  2019-12-20 18:35

    Scruton leads into the book with a description of his childhood. His father was a working class guy, a labor voter by habit who distrusted the aristocracy in a method that only an English workingman can. Nonetheless, he was quite conservative in his own way. Scruton has a amazing quote to the result that people tend to be conservative in the matters that are closest to them. His father worked with his hands, and was conservative when it came to architecture. He savored hanging on to what was good, old and real in English church and secular e second chapter introduces the theme of conservativism. People grow up in a web of relationships that is already in place, supporting them as they grow. From the inside out, it contains parents, extended family and clan, neighborhood groups and civic associations, church, local and provincial governments and finally national government. To that, in his lifetime in mind, have been added supranational organizations such as the European Union, WTO and the United is the organizations that are closest to us that have the most influence on our formation. In my words, not Scruton's, human beings are social primates. Fellow members of our family and tribe introduces into the habits and customs of our people. More than that, they joined together to defend the tribe versus outsiders and versus tragedies such as famine or the unexpected death of a breadwinner. As members of the group we accept an obligation to help the others, in return for which we keep their unstated commitment to help us. Though we call this the "social contract," there is nothing written, and the consideration being exchanged transcends the merely financial. Moreover, our commitment is often not rational.A amazing a lot of books address these themes. The ones that come immediately to mind are Mother Nature and Mothers and Others by Sarah Blaffer Hardy on our primate inheritance, and books by Daniel Kahneman and Dan Ariely on the end of this review, I offer a few of the most useful quotations from Scruton's second chapter entitled "Starting from Home."The next six chapters address the ways in which conservativism turns out to be form of social organization that best fits human nature. We are not atomistic, free-floating and independent monsters of the Enlightenment, but we are born to be and function best as interdependent members of society. The chapter titles are:The truth in NationalismThe Truth in SomThe Truth in CapitalismThe Truth in LiberalismThe Truth in MulticulturalismThe Truth in EnvironmentalismThe Truth in InternationalismThe Truth in ConservativismWoven throughout these chapters is the notion of contracts freely entered by free men, and obligations willingly accepted. For instance, the argument versus multiculturalism and internationalism is simply that a lot of of those who would come to enjoyed the benefits of living in England do not reciprocate by integrating themselves into British society. Quite specifically, a lot of cling to Sharia law. The argument versus communism and fascism is that the obligations are taken under duress, not freely accepted.A theme that appears throughout the book is that conservativism is a rearguard action. As Bill Buckley said, "Standing athwart the globe yelling 'Stop!'" He is concerned that it is a losing battle, but a war worth fighting nonetheless.With that as a review, here are the particularly useful quotes I copied from chapter 2, "Starting from Home.""A shop can deliver a rational allocation of goods and services only where there is trust between its participants, and trust exists only where people take responsibility for their actions and create themselves accountable to those with whom they deal. In other words, economic order depends on moral order."Scruton, Roger. How to be a conservative (Kindle Areas 403-405). Bloomsbury Publishing. Kindle Edition."(Edmund) Burke saw society as an association of the dead, the living and the unborn. Its binding principle is not contract, but something more akin to love. Society is a shared inheritance for the sake of which we learn to circribe our demands, to see our own put in things as part of a continuous chain of giving and receiving, and to recognize that the amazing things we inherit are not ours to spoil. There is a line of obligation that connects us to those who gave us what we have; and our concern for the future is an extension of that line. We take the future of our community into acc not by fictitious cost-benefit calculations, but more concretely, by seeing ourselves as inheriting benefits and passing them on."Burke’s complaint versus the revolutionaries was that they assumed the right to spend all trusts and endowments on their own self-made emergency. Schools, church foundations, hospitals – all institutions that had been founded by people, now dead, for the benefit of their successors – were expropriated or destroyed, the effect being the total waste of aculated savings, leading to heavy inflation, the collapse of education and the loss of the traditional forms of social and medical relief. In this way, contempt for the dead leads to the disenfranchisement of the unborn, and although that effect is not, perhaps, inevitable, it has been repeated by all subsequent revolutions. Through their contempt for the intentions and emotions of those who had laid things by, revolutions have systematically destroyed the stock of social capital, and always revolutionaries justify this by impeccable utilitarian reasoning. Homo oeconomicus enters the globe without social capital of his own, and he consumes whatever he finds."Society, Burke believed, depends upon relations of affection and loyalty, and these can be built only from below, through face-to-face interaction. It is in the family, in local clubs and societies, in school, workplace, church, team, regiment and university that people learn to interact as free beings, taking responsibility for their actions and accounting to their neighbours. When society is organized from above, either by the top-down government of a revolutionary dictatorship, or by the impersonal edicts of an inscrutable bureaucracy, then accountability rapidly disappears from the political order, and from society too. Top-down government breeds irresponsible individuals, and the confiscation of civil society by the state leads to a widespread refusal among the citizens to act for themselves."Scruton, Roger. How to be a conservative (Kindle Areas 425-438). Bloomsbury Publishing. Kindle Edition."Although the social contract exists in a lot of forms, its ruling principle was announced by Hobbes with the assertion that there can be ‘no obligation on any man which ariseth not from some act of his own’. 1 My obligations are my own creation, binding because freely chosen. When you and I exchange promises, the resulting contract is freely undertaken, and any breach does violence not merely to the other but also to the self, since it is a repudiation of a well-grounded rational choice. If we could construe our obligation to the state on the model of a contract, therefore, we would have justified it in terms that all rational beings must accept. Contracts are the paradigms of self-chosen obligations – obligations that are not imposed, commanded or coerced but freely undertaken. When law is founded in a social contract, therefore, obedience to the law is simply the other side of free choice. Freedom and obedience are one and the same."Scruton, Roger. How to be a conservative (Kindle Areas 464-467). Bloomsbury Publishing. Kindle Edition."Unless the ‘contract between the living’ can be phrased in such a method that the dead and the unborn are a part of it, it becomes a contract to appropriate the earth’s resources for the benefit of its temporary residents."Scruton, Roger. How to be a conservative (Kindle Areas 495-496). Bloomsbury Publishing. Kindle Edition."We can envisage society as founded in a contract only if we see its members as capable of the free and responsible choice that a contract requires. But only in certain cirtances will human beings develop into rational choosers, capable of undertaking obligations and honouring promises, and oriented towards one another in a posture of responsibility. In the course of acquiring this posture towards others, people acquire obligations of quite another kind – obligations to parents, to family, to put and community, upon all of which they have depended for the nurture without which the human animal cannot develop into the human person. Those obligations are not obligations of justice, such as arise from the free dealings of human adults. The Romans knew them as obligations of piety (pietas), meaning that they stem from the natural gratitude towards what is given, a gratitude that we spontaneously direct to the gods."Scruton, Roger. How to be a conservative (Kindle Areas 501-507). Bloomsbury Publishing. Kindle Edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a conservative []  2019-12-20 18:35

    Roger Scruton is the steady tutorial for those who want to understand the contours of conservative philosophy. The book offers both clarity and insight concerning problems past and present. Strongly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to be a conservative []  2019-12-20 18:35

    A lot of amazing thought in the book. Not a wildly right-wing manifesto, but a amazing "loyal opposition" book explaining why despite the amazing points of both liberals and conservatives, the right end view turns out to be correct. Also explains the difference between modern conservatism and traditional conservatism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be an Antiracist []  2019-12-20 18:38

    I am a white man from an affluent family. This is quite honestly one of the best books I’ve ever read. Kendi’s writing is piercingly clear, thought provoking, and illuminating. Every white American should read this book, especially those who are troubled by racial inequality but aren’t sure what to do about it. Those with an interest in politics, philanthropy, social justice, and other subjects similar to building a better and more just globe will benefit immensely from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be an Antiracist []  2019-12-20 18:38

    I am an unabashed fan of Dr. Kendi's work but I was disappointed that "How To Be An Antiracist" is not as prescriptive as the title indicates, but rather instead reads as one man's intellectual theory on race. I applaud him for this attempt and I understand the courage it took to write ever, his theory categorizes, and then labels, every person as either racist or antiracists as a function of how evolved their thoughts are relative to 'his' critical race theory. And that, in my estimation, comes off as a bit pompous. That's not to suggest I disagree with his theory, but rather it's delivery.I respect his right to call homophobic African Americans 'Queer Racists,' but methinks that kind of talk is best left in the ivory tower. On the streets, well..., let's just say, not so much. And to say it is not pejorative to call people racists, as Kendi has suggested, strikes me as a wee bit creating an either/or paradigm based on his private beliefs, Dr. Kendi's theory is by definition polarizing. American's are either with him or agin him. Again, this does not mean I disagree with his theory. But I think it does mean that his structure forces him to judge others as inferior to himself in order to prove his theory. And because of this, "How To Be An Antiracist", is practically devoid of the emotional components that are needed to be an n we build an equitable society without love, empathy, and acceptance of our fellowman? I think not. And I would suggest he doesn't either, as evidenced by his private story. The memoir portions of this book are replete with examples of how people in his life accepted him where they found him. And how critical their patience and love was to his understanding of not just race, but of himself. I am delighted he chose to share these largely self-critical stories with his readers. But it was disconcerting to me to have them juxtaposed with his repeated labeling of past civil rights icons as "racists", without taking into consideration their intent.I recommend this book to anyone with a conscience. Perhaps not as strongly as I would recommend "Stamped." But I really think a picture or coloring book based on the Fresh Testament would be more useful in learning why someone should live and be Antiracist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be an Antiracist []  2019-12-20 18:38

    I will begin by saying that I am biased because I attune myself to be a human living in the social setting of America, with the label of Black, and love it. I have also waited for this book and keep "Stamped from the Beginning" in the highest regard.I loved the storytelling and the sharing of his experiences towards his current growth. I found Kendi's autodidactism to be familiar and in correlation to so a lot of Black people I know. My favorite chapter, for a lot of reasons, is chapter 8 "Behavior." Truthfully, there is consistent opportunity to learn and reflect on your own racist and antiracist practices, yes Black people can be racist too, according to Kendi, but he puts a caveat on it. The Book is just well done. My only critique would be for Kendi to expound on the "Black racist" due to the lack of knowledge that they have power. This is a huge step in Black intellectual thought and I would have benefited from a deep more explanatory discourse on how he came to the notion that Black people obfuscate other Black people's power, on a larger level than just citing a few examples of strong political Black people. For us who don't yield that kind of power, it's difficult to see the functioning reality of labeling other Black people racists for their deeds towards people of color. I obtain it, I would have liked to understand how Kendi came to that summation.Overall, I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Mentally Strong [App]  2019-11-24 21:34

    I love your app. Kudos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Mentally Strong [App]  2019-11-24 21:34

    I really have amazing support to those in need of it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be Mentally Strong [App]  2019-11-24 21:34

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Conservative []  2020-1-18 20:40

    I'm still more of a libertarian than a conservative but I learned a lot from this book. Sir Roger Scruton is the most necessary British political philosopher since Edmund Burke, the two also happen to have a lot in common. Scruton's voice is uniquely suited to our times, his warnings should be heeded lest we lose all our freedoms that our ancestors sacrificed so much to secure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Conservative []  2020-1-18 20:40

    Roger Scruton is the steady tutorial for those who want to understand the contours of conservative philosophy. The book offers both clarity and insight concerning problems past and present. Strongly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Be a Footballer []  2020-1-16 1:11

    Nice insight into behind the scenes of a footballer

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386