Read how to choose santa costume reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all how to choose santa costume reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    bringg dispatch How to setup [For Panera Drivers]  2020-5-28 1:23
    [email protected]

    I download the application ands it asks for my email and pads and I can’t see hint registration to use the application what’s their point no help page or nothing! Help me out

    3  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    vidalista 20 how to use [vidalista ct 20 deutsch]  2021-3-11 6:42
    [email protected]

    super vidalista and alcohol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can buy lasix buying lasix in canada how to buy lasix in Norway best price for lasix in Long Beach where to purchase lasix in Washington how can i buy lasix best method to search cheap lasix in Czech Republic where is better to purchase lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to buy lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


    Add your opinion on how to choose santa costume or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forum Novelties Simply Santa Costume, White/Red []  2019-12-18 21:43

    This was better than expected suit for the money. Its a lightweight material, and the 5x size fit this 350 pound Santa's helper with room to spare. It does need some velcro at the top to hold it from coming begin all the time, but that was a three min fix with velcro strips.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forum Novelties Simply Santa Costume, White/Red []  2019-12-18 21:43

    Legs long but can be rolled up. Sleeves long. When sleeves rolled up you loose white trim. Hat OK, beard OK, belt comes loose, need to pin it. Otherwise amazing suit for the money. Want trim was wider.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forum Novelties Simply Santa Costume, White/Red []  2019-12-18 21:43

    I ordered this suit. The tie string is hard to obtain to much less tie. The coat has no velcro, zipper, or buttons. I don't know how they expect you to hold it shut. Plus the belt will not stay tight. Very poorly engineered suit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forum Novelties Simply Santa Costume, White/Red []  2019-12-18 21:43

    The ratio of the pants sizing to the top sizing was not the same. There are no closures to the top so it kept slipping open. The belt looked very cheap and wouldn't stay in put either. If you just wish a silly costume this would work. We used it for pictures with Santa, and were very disappointed. The beard was hideous. We ordered a wig from a various vendor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forum Novelties Simply Santa Costume, White/Red []  2019-12-18 21:43

    The Additional Huge should actually be called XXXL, because it was the largest thing I have ever worn. The material feels like standard velcro felt and not really like any cotton, although it is soft and semi-warm.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forum Novelties Simply Santa Costume, White/Red []  2019-12-18 21:43

    This was for a party!!! Very nice and looked goI’d!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forum Novelties Simply Santa Costume, White/Red []  2019-12-18 21:43

    Works well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forum Novelties Simply Santa Costume, White/Red []  2019-12-18 21:43

    Fit fantastic! Only thing is the pants the small draw string is really no use on a huge man. Needs something to support keep them up. Everything else is on point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forum Novelties Simply Santa Costume, White/Red []  2019-12-18 21:43

    I'm a huge guy 300+LBs the coat was a bit small. Other wise a amazing buy for the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forum Novelties Simply Santa Costume, White/Red []  2019-12-18 21:43

    This Santa costume is what you pay for. I was looking for something cheap and funny for my husbnad to wear to an adult Christmas Party (he was the "Dirty Santa" and it was GREAT!! )It looks like a Ninja suite kind of...but it makes it even funnier. We ended up wearing this also for our family christmas card picture (I wore it 35 wks pregnant...it was FUNNY). So if your looking for a nice normal santa costume, this IS NOT it. This is cheap and funny, but really does the job. This size is beautiful big, I would say its like a 2XL, but it could be bigger. There is a tie draw string kind of, the pants are large and the jacket kind of wraps around you and the belt holds it close. For the price and free shipping, I thought it was worth it. Dont have high expectations, but it is amazing for what we required it for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Intimate Detail: How to Choose, Wear, and Love Lingerie []  2019-12-15 18:1

    I was so excited about this book. I have always been into intimate wear, but life got busy, and things fell by the wayside. Anyway, I realized that my bras never fit well, and I was beginning to obtain those dark bra strap marks on my shoulders. I can remember the days when there were women in department shop lingerie departments who would fit you, but those days are long gone. I also remember being fitted at VS, which was a disaster - only liked them for PINK cotton knickers that they don't really create ck to the book - it is a lovely bonus to yourself, sister, teen niece, daughter, or anyone into feminine intimates. The author has included some history on each type of lingerie at the beginning of each chapter for context. It's not long, but simply a brief survey. Her bra chapter is excellent! I vaguely remember my mother talking to me about bra fit, but it is a subject that needs to be revisited - you can do that with this book. She also has a really amazing discussion on breast shapes. I used to feel a small insecure, but you don't realize how much indoctrination we keep through media/entertainment about the excellent breast shape. I took her suggestions about style for my breast shape, and splurged on some very pretty, high quality bras. This really changed the android game for me. I will not go back. I also purchased delicates wash by Tocca -fabulous - and hand washed my bras. Friday night with a glass of wine - yes! The only section I really want that she would've spent more time on was the knickers chapter. I still don't feel like I know what to look for, so I will continue to wear my cotton bikinis, and perhaps branch out one knicker at a time. Also, the print is a bit small. I can't wait for her next one! Treat yourself to this lovely book with a nice ribbon bookmark attached.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Intimate Detail: How to Choose, Wear, and Love Lingerie []  2019-12-15 18:1

    This book is a treasure. Thoughtful and thoroughly written, while at the same time beautifully illustrated. It exemplifies how we as women should view ourselves and our approach to lingerie - with care. The fact to Cora Harrington has shared her expertise with all of us in such an simple to understand and accessible manner - well, I am thankful and beyond impressed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Intimate Detail: How to Choose, Wear, and Love Lingerie []  2019-12-15 18:1

    This book is incredible. Firstly, it’s beautifully bound and has a black ribbon bookmark which was a really nice touch. All of the illustrations are great, and add so much elegance to the chapters.I have owned maybe one truly good, attractive bra in my life (got fitted while I was living in France!) and thought that was the exception, but Cora has convinced me that it should be the rule. This book created me feel attractive even though I was reading it in grody sweatpants and a Hogwarts T-shirt. It seems a small out there, but the easy process of reading this book created me feel better about my body, and excited to look for proper fitting, comfortable lingerie, as opposed to being intimidated by the process. I whipped out a tape measure and took all of my measurements after finishing it, and I can’t wait to purge my ill-fitting, faded, stretched out lingerie and to begin slowly investing in amazing pieces. Thank you, Cora, for a amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Indistractable: How to Control Your Attention and Choose Your Life [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    This was easily the best book I have read in the past year. The steps laid out to support improve relationships with family, mates and work are simple, elegant, and effective. Much care was place into explaining how our time and attention is diverted away from what we truly want, while referencing the relevant peer reviewed psychology articles supporting the proposed conclusions. Debunking common myths, helping me understand how to take accountability for excuses I didn’t even realize I was previously making. I recommend this book for any parent, manger, kid or person who finds themselves distracted. In essence, I think everyone could benefit from this book. The true question is, do you actually apply the tip or just listen to it?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Indistractable: How to Control Your Attention and Choose Your Life [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    I don’t read non-fiction private development or self-help books too often, but when I do, I create sure to pick up Nir Eyal's books.Overcoming distraction for me is an incredibly crucial part of my day, and I am hyper aware of how distracted I am throughout the day, with one of my nightly questions being, “Was I less distracted today than I was yesterday?”So, with this in mind, I wanted to read this book more as a solidification of what I already do to stop distraction, as opposed to a tutorial to support me overcome it. I did not expect to learn anything new, but there were some nuggets in here that I found this book, the author, through private anecdotes, entertaining stories, and impressive experiments, is able to captivate the reader and turn a subject that to be honest, I believed was going to be redundant because of my preexisting interest in it, into something that kept me reading until the end. I even picked up on a few fresh techniques that I will be applying to my own life, which is rare when I read self-help at this scene in the is is a comprehensive and enjoyable tutorial about navigating technology in a healthy method in this technologically advanced world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Indistractable: How to Control Your Attention and Choose Your Life [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    This book is packed with ways to be indistractable. One was to move time-suck apps off your home screen. I swapped out LinkedIn and Flipboard for Pocket and Kindle. Now I'm taking more deeper-dives on necessary subjects and skimming less about famous culture. I rate it a top Five DRUMBEATS ¡¡¡¡¡ and have place it on my All-Star Reading List. Bravo, Jon Denn, author DRUMBEAT Productivity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed: Revised Edition []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Why did ancient civilizations (Anasazi, Easter Island, Maya, the Norse colonies on Greenland and North America, and others) fail? Why was Iceland nearly denuded of vegetation? Why does it appear that the Bitterroot Valley in Montana, USA, is "in trouble"? Diamond presents descriptions and explanations in the framework of science and reason, applying archaeology, anthropology, palynology, and other sciences including dating by tree rings and carbon decay. In some cases (Iceland) factors unknown to settlers were largely instrumental. In some cases, it appears that poor decisions by leaders and the population, itself, were instrumental. What lessons can we learn? If you are younger than 20 or have kids or grandchildren, you owe it to yourself or them to read and understand this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed: Revised Edition []  2020-1-23 2:13

    I have dipped into and out of this book for a while. The overall thesis is, of course, hard to prove. Having read again the comments Stephen Hawking created about the innate greed of mankind, and the willingness to destroy itself, it may be proven sooner rather than later. And the statistics of sustainability. Not , that said, the doentation of earlier cultural systems that seemed relatively secure and self-sustaining, but failed, is interesting. From the tropics to the arctic, ignorance or hope-over-reason caused the downfall of different systems. I didn't read Diamond's earlier book, Guns, Germs and Steal, but the same thesis was applied to a narrower subset from what I ry interesting read, and see if you're convinced by the thesis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed: Revised Edition []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Why I read this book:I had seen Jared Diamond's earlier book Guns, Germ, and Steel but had never gotten around to reading it. There is something fascinating at why some societies thrive and others fail. I've always had an interest in the rise and fall of the Roman Empire. So Collapse was a read I couldn't resist when it came to a book buying round at one sentence summary:Societies that over-exploits their resources are doomed to fail, especially in a fragile and hostile environment, unless the issues are recognized and addressed.Kuddos:The book is divided into four parts. Being a history nut, I was drawn to part two on past societies. Diamond presents a highly readable and interesting overview of what is known about several societies that have failed and ones that have succeeded. His interpretation about what led to the downfall of the former is compelling and presents some necessary (context specific) second favorite part was the third part about modern societies. I was horrified to read about the ecological context of the Rwandan genocides and the cycle of violence set up by over-population and over-exploitation of precious resources. There are successes mixed in with the horrors that do present hope for the future.Quibbles:Diamond tends to go on. Often times I felt like I was re-reading the same info as he recaps often when making his final points for each chapter. I also found my attention wandering when it came to the first and fourth parts of the book that focus on modern Montana and practical Verdict:This is a book has a put on my book shelf. It includes a a lot of historical lessons that were learned the hard way. While I'm still getting used to reading books with a message, I think the ones Diamond puts forth are important.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All New Fabric Savvy: How to Choose & Use Fabrics []  2020-6-19 19:20

    I am a quilter who is crossing over to garment sewing and as someone who has only had experience with quilting cotton, this book has been a terrific addition to my library! The book gives facts about each fabric; what it’s suitable for, hints on working with said fabric, how to tag and chop it, whether or not to interface, type of needle, thread, presser foot and seam finish to use and much more! I don’t even hold this one on my bookshelf but in a drawer right by my machine because I refer to it so often. I highly recommend this book to anyone who uses various types of fabric in their craft!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All New Fabric Savvy: How to Choose & Use Fabrics []  2020-6-19 19:20

    I thought it would be helpful to have this book on my Kindle to refer to when fabric ping. Was disappointed when it arrived and when I searched in the book by fabric name, the response was that the book is not indexed. That negated the hoped for usefulness when ping. This should be created clear on the www service for people ordering the Kindle edition. Also, the author did not contain suggestions as to what type of lining, if any, might be appropriate for each fabric. Other wise, having reviewed the book in a bookstore, the info looked useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All New Fabric Savvy: How to Choose & Use Fabrics []  2020-6-19 19:20

    This is an perfect book. I have been sewing a long time and I often consult this book when I'm using a various fabric, most recently, crinkle gauze. Shrunk terribly during prewash. Wasn't sure if I should press or buy more fabric. Here's the answer. So helpful and comprehensive. Right at your fingertips. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose Self Defense Ammunition (Cunningham Grant) []  2020-8-3 18:49

    Reading "How To Choose Self Defense Ammunition" you will learn that the author does not agree with nor use the conclusions of Marshall & Sanow's *Handgun Stopping Power*.Here is what Chuck Hawks has to say:"I think that, regardless of the flaws in their statistical ysis, Marshall and Sanow 's primary approach is far more realistic: examine what actually happened when true [email protected]#$%! true people. Police shooting statistics provide a data base that is far more valuable than all the ballistic gelatin ever mixed. It represents true globe results as opposed to e other study that impressed me was the Strasbourg goat shoot. Unlike the Marshall and Sanow study it did not involve actual human beings. However, living, bleeding animals the same size and with the same lung capacity as humans were shot under carefully controlled (and instrumented!) conditions. The results of that grizzly series of tests tended to verify the results of Marshall and Sanow, not the theoretical work of Martin Fackler and the FBI."The author of this book, Mr. Grant, uses some uncalled for powerful language versus the published results of tests that present various conclusions to his own. I don't like that, it serves no Grant's conclusions about which ammunition to use, given you already have a gun (guns) in a certain caliber(s), is quite sound in my opinion. And reading them confirmed most of what I already believed, including specific brands and loadings.His work is concise, does not wander, and stays focused. He sets down amazing principles and tip early on and then goes into detail based on them. It's all very logically for the early testing from long long ago that Grant criticizes, it is necessary to remember that a lot of of these early tests were done on live huge animals at the stockyards that were about to be slaughtered anyway. And even on deceased human corpses. Such tests cannot be done today. But the materials being shot at in those unpolitically correct tests then, are various to our modern tests today into little ham carcass from the supermarket or cloth wrapped gelatin blocks. These types of tests from earlier times obviously involved shooting into materials which more closely match the human material that would be aimed at by a home defense shooter in our own e book, however, is sound advice, and very cheap in the Kindle format.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose Self Defense Ammunition (Cunningham Grant) []  2020-8-3 18:49

    Amazing practical immediately usable decision making information. I loved your book!! I have the book on revolvers as well. ALL worth the cost to buy & time to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed []  2020-1-19 22:14

    Why did ancient civilizations (Anasazi, Easter Island, Maya, the Norse colonies on Greenland and North America, and others) fail? Why was Iceland nearly denuded of vegetation? Why does it appear that the Bitterroot Valley in Montana, USA, is "in trouble"? Diamond presents descriptions and explanations in the framework of science and reason, applying archaeology, anthropology, palynology, and other sciences including dating by tree rings and carbon decay. In some cases (Iceland) factors unknown to settlers were largely instrumental. In some cases, it appears that poor decisions by leaders and the population, itself, were instrumental. What lessons can we learn? If you are younger than 20 or have kids or grandchildren, you owe it to yourself or them to read and understand this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed []  2020-1-19 22:14

    The author, a professor of geography and an environmentalist, has written a lengthy book that is a wakeup call whereby he clearly demonstrates that the sustainability of life on this planet as we know it is in some jeopardy. The depletion of natural resources; the hurt and pollution to our lands, waters, and air; and climatic changes combined with an exploding global population, if not significantly addressed, could have unpleasant, even devastating, consequences in only a matter of addition to looking at the early 2000's environmental and political situations in Rwanda, Haiti, Australia, China, and the state of Montana, he drives home his point by examining several ancient societies that literally collapsed due to environmental failure, namely, the Eastern Islands, the Anasazi of the Southwestern US, the Mayans of the Yucatan, and the Norse of Greenland, among e relevance of the demise of those societies hundreds of years ago may be questioned. They were highly isolated, if not totally, and obviously had no scientific understanding of their environments. All lived in difficult climatic conditions that could not help their populations. Deforestation, soil erosion, and the elimination of edible species presaged their end. Clearly, the elites of those societies mismanaged resources to enhance their standing, but did they really have the capacity and info to choose to take their societies in various directions and not sucb to their harsh environments?Inhospitable environments are no stranger to the 21st century, and if the vast amount of scientific and ecological info does not filter into a society, they can search themselves facing the same sort of starvation and man-versus-man confrontations of those older societies. Several locations of Africa are prime examples, and Haiti is not far behind. The author repeatedly makes the point that we live in a globalized, integrated world. The effects of population growth, environmental degradation, resource depletion, and climatic changes cannot be confined to isolated locations such as the Easter the 21st century, it is global corporations that have worldwide impacts. While not all of the earth's issues can be laid at the feet of global corporations, the author shows that the oil, mining, timber, and fishing industries have had deleterious impacts on the environment. The author is cautiously optimistic that the public will be able to sufficiently pressure corporations and governments to be far more pro-environment. Some initiatives are underway in some industries with modest successes.While COLLAPSE is an necessary book and at times interesting, it is long, slow-going, and repetitious. Regarding his optimism, the author really does not demonstrate that there are effective environmental political movements that have substantial influence in the political process. Is choice more a chimera than not? Furthermore, he assumes that the world's main issues are environmental. Where would he place the large worldwide divides concerning religion and haves vs. have-nots and the possibilities of nuclear war?The author tells of his students wondering how it is that someone could chop down the latest tree on Easter Island, but one might equally wonder in our democratic era how it is that we have allowed large personal entities to have so much power over our lives and permitted such a mal-distribution of resources and earnings. So who are the stupid and irresponsible: the ignorant people of the Eastern Islands or modern societies with the benefits of science, information, and the study of the past?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed []  2020-1-19 22:14

    Jared Diamond combines numerous fields in his exploration for why societies collapse. The chapters on the Greenland Norse and Hispaniola contrasting Haiti and Dominican Republic provide fascinating past and show examples for how environmental problems can drive societies to economic misery, decline and collapse. Diamond provides a lot of other examples, including a discussion on Montana's environmental and social challenges to begin the book. As Diamond points out, the environmental challenges we face today are solvable and controllable by human populations. History provides us lessons we can apply to today's policies. Yet, a lot of societies fail to recognize the challenges faced or fail to solve them. Amazing read if you're interested in environmental history and how environmental issues drive economic and political instability.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Intimate Detail: How to Choose, Wear, and Love Lingerie []  2019-12-15 18:1

    This book is superb. It's attractive to look at, comprehensive, inclusive, and FASCINATING. I feel like there are these large generation gaps when it comes to lingerie: for decades, no one really taught people about lingerie, its history how it should fit, what it should do, what it all meant; instead, there all these unhelpful myths and weird "facts" that are totally created up yet obtain repeated over and over again. Brands and retailers hoarded knowledge, leaving consumers and lingerie enthusiasts confused or having to wing it on their own. In Intimate Detail gives you an wonderful crash course in lingerie history, what all the words mean, how to choose what YOU wish to wear, how to fit yourself, how to , and contains info for trans and nonbinary lingerie enthusiasts. The watercolor illustrations are so beautiful, I wish to leave the book begin to a various page on my coffee table every day. As a person who developed a very full bust very early and had no idea what to do with this body I'd suddenly grown, I desperately want a book this helpful and celebratory had been around during my preteen and teenager years. This should be a must read for anyone even tangentially connected to lingerie: pers, fitters, retailers, brands, costume designers, tailors, everyone! Lingerie really can be for everyone, and this book helps us understand why. I loved reading it, and I wish to buy a copy for all my friends. There's no other book on lingerie really like it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Intimate Detail: How to Choose, Wear, and Love Lingerie []  2019-12-15 18:1

    Attractive coffee table book that's more than just a beautiful cover. It's super informative, with gorgeous Illustrations and non-judgemental, inclusive information. There's no "here's how to look skinnier for your man!" talk, only "here's what these various garments do and how they can fit" talk. Created a amazing gift!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Indistractable: How to Control Your Attention and Choose Your Life [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    There are really two logical parts to this book, as there are to most tip books of the e first part tells you all about the problem. Often that's just constant repetition but this author thankfully avoided that trap, and instead presents original research and dozens of interesting material about distraction, the nature of it, and why the human condition tends toward distraction. Amazing research and amazing writing, which gives us a number of clues as to how we can war distraction or at least learn to live with it and hold it out of the e second part is actionable advice, some fresh and some more on the classic side.What's new? An interesting chapter on how culture and distraction are similar in the office environment, with a case study on what to do about it. Another interesting chapter on how to train your kids to be less susceptible to e classic tip is what you'd expect: ways to tame social media and other electronic distractions, and so on. That's not fresh but it's certainly valid, and is repeated in the context of the research presented in the first part of the book, giving it a new e idea of "pacts" is also introduced. These are often called "contracts" in other literature on this topic, but the idea is the same. You create a more or less formal commitment to do/not do something, with the idea that this will give you impetus to create improvements. Verdicts are mixed on this; it works for some people, not as much for ever, there is one type of pact introduced that I think is most unfortunate in that it unnecessarily reduces the credibility of an otherwise very credible treatise. The idea, in essence, is to create a cash pact. If you fail to hold the terms of the pact, you have to set fire to a hundred dollar bill.I've seen this idea before, and it just doesn't create sense. You haven't got the willpower to avoid distraction on your own, but you've got the willpower to burn a hundred dollar bill?And therein is the one failing of the book: it never really pinpoints willpower as the issue with distraction. I think this was a bit of a missed opportunity. With all of the author's fine research, he could have attacked this problem head what's my bottom line on this book? It's absolutely worth reading and will give you tremendous insight into the nature of distraction. It will give you a plethora of ideas and techniques to support you avoid distraction (just ignore the money-burning thing), and those ideas are demonstrated in a number of environments. I'll go four stars on this book.(This review revised 04 October 2019 as I believe my original review was too severe.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Indistractable: How to Control Your Attention and Choose Your Life [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    Indistractable is a practical book that will support you take control of your life! As someone who works a full-time job and runs a business on the side, there are always distractions that come up. I've seen major improvements in my productivity since I read Nir's e tip and examples in the book are very actionable and you can apply them at your own pace. Unlike other books, in Indistractable, Nir helps you realize how much the distractions in your life are actually affecting you. That helps you realize that you need to create a change, and this is where Nir introduces a model to support you identify the distractions and their underlying causes. He explains how to manage both internal and external distractions. He explain specific strategies to address these, but the most valuable realization for me was that "managing distraction is m ore about managing pain and emotion" than anything else. If you can't manage the discomfort from remove a distraction (e.g. reducing time spent on your smartphone), then you aren't going to create any progress.While I am still working on implementing this in my life, this method of thinking has helped me begin to identify distractions as they come up in my life. That trigger helps me obtain back on track. It is still a work in progress, but I feel like I am on the street to overcoming these distractions. Indistractable is a book that everyone who wants to be more productive should read. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Indistractable: How to Control Your Attention and Choose Your Life [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    Indistractable is a well-researched practical tutorial to taking control of your life. The tip and examples create it simple for you to take action at your own pace. Putting one of the suggested strategies in put will pay for this book on the very first day. There are a few things that stood out to me and created it various from any other book of its kind. First, the authors support you to realize how much the distractions in your life are impacting you. Secondly, they provide an actual model that helps you to identify distractions, their underlying root cause and how to overcome them. Finally, I truly enjoyed the chapters on implementing the technics at home with family and how to teach kids to do the same giving them a large advantage. Indistractable is a book everyone should read who wants to be as efficient as possible so that they spend their time on what matters most to them. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed: Revised Edition []  2020-1-23 2:13

    "Collapse" is my third Jared Diamond book and, as before, he does not disappoint. Combining Anthropology, History and Geography with Environmental studies of how humans use, and misuse, Natural Resources, Diamond draws interesting insights into past societies and how their fates can relate to our modern world. To help his conclusions Diamond cites the findings and thoughts of a lot of spets, past and present, as well as his own field research at different areas around the world. With in depth proses "Collapse" gives the reader plenty of meal for thought. Starting with his experiences in modern day Montana, Diamond examines the state's problems with logging, mining, soil erosion, water conservation and wildlife, both native and foreign. The insights by local ranchers, miners, loggers, rural and urban people give you an idea on how Montanans feel about government regulations and laws on those issues. Moving on to past societies the author follows the same scenario. In depth histories of such far flung locations as Easter Island, Greenland and Iceland, Fresh Guinea and Japan explains how they may have dealt with the same environmental issues that plague us today. I really enjoyed the Easter Island history and how this isolated speck of land moved from a sub-tropical paradise to a barren, treeless island and what role religion may have played in it's story. Up north the Vikings were facing their own issues when they colonized Greenland. At first they did well but conditions slowly deteriorated and when the Inuit returned, the Norse colonist were faced with human competitors as well as environmental challenges. The Anasazi and the Mayans are also looked at, how each society dealt with changing conditions and leaders that failed to address their a lot of issues of population and environment. Changing to modern societies Diamond looks at the Rwandan Genocide, the problems faced by The Dominican Republic and Haiti. China's and Australia's evolving societies and how they are moving into today's world. With all this background Diamond discuses his conclusions and poses questions like; Why do some societies create the wrong decisions? What role do Huge Business and the environment play in our future survival? The chapter on Huge Business is especially enlightening with segments on Oil and Mining Companies, the Logging and Seafood Industry and how these vital businesses result our future, for amazing or ill. Lastly he poses the question of what, if anything, can we learn from past societies's successes and failures. This is a amazing book, one that covers a lot of problems and gives both sides of the story. Jared Diamond is one of the best writers of science and history. He consistently takes me into fresh realms of wonder with interesting subjects and special insights. While I experienced no down loading issues with this Kindle edition is did message a couple of "quality control" issues. Through out the book there were several locations where punctuation's were left out and in the chapter on the Vikings in Greenland; the word "fjord" was replaced with "3ord". In neither case was the issue poor enough so that I couldn't follow the text, nonetheless it showed a certain lack of that quality control by the publisher. Regardless, this is a book well worth reading and I'm glad to have it on my st Ranger

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed: Revised Edition []  2020-1-23 2:13

    While the globe seems to be headed to path , at times, unsustainable --we obtain impression that Jared Diamond knew about it ahead of time. Diamond skillfully yses past instances lost civilizations. Although some may argue that the doom and gloom approach isn't important -- Diamond lets the reader understand how the past could be avoided in our show pre-crisis stage.While it is accurate to say that the globe does answer to extreme crisis--slowly if almost imperceptible at times. Diamond does give reasons for hope. Although he does not explicitly state it-- Diamond believes not so much that we will exercise our own freewill to avert crisis -- he believes we will answer if by either heeding his warning or responding to the first catastrophe that is slated to within our children's lifetimes. Cynical as it may sound -- there are some limits to growth. We are the main limits to our own growth. What I can say

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed: Revised Edition []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Human population advances seem inevitably connected to deforestation, habitat destruction, overhunting, overfishing, water bonafides, and other calculus imprints. All these problems connect in some ways with starvation, wars, disease and a lot of societal consequences. These are not from the pages of history but apply to current challenges and endemic to global diseases, cultural and religious conflicts, an upward trajectory of population growth to infinity, and political battles of mass the U.S. Montana is a notable target from environmental assaults conspicuously reflected in toxic wastes from metals mining found in ground water, rivers and soil. Logging and forest tree burnings are part of the Montana llapse of the Maya civilization is a topic of archaeology and its evidence that severe drought conditions and overcrowding combined with warfare made a society of conflicts and eventual destruction of society.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed []  2020-1-19 22:14

    While the globe seems to be headed to path , at times, unsustainable --we obtain impression that Jared Diamond knew about it ahead of time. Diamond skillfully yses past instances lost civilizations. Although some may argue that the doom and gloom approach isn't important -- Diamond lets the reader understand how the past could be avoided in our show pre-crisis stage.While it is accurate to say that the globe does answer to extreme crisis--slowly if almost imperceptible at times. Diamond does give reasons for hope. Although he does not explicitly state it-- Diamond believes not so much that we will exercise our own freewill to avert crisis -- he believes we will answer if by either heeding his warning or responding to the first catastrophe that is slated to within our children's lifetimes. Cynical as it may sound -- there are some limits to growth. We are the main limits to our own growth. What I can say

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed []  2020-1-19 22:14

    GG&S and 3rd Chimp were incredibly researched insightful well presented info and explanation of human beings. In collapse, he goes too far using a few examples of failed societies like Somalia to promote his opinion on environmentalism in conservation excetera. Where is his explanation of why and how the Roman Empire failed?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All New Fabric Savvy: How to Choose & Use Fabrics []  2020-6-19 19:20

    I love this book!! It provides info on preshrinking, marking, cutting, seam finishing 107 various fabrics. It tells you what to look for, and what to avoid in a specific fabric. There's a finished piece for each fabric as an example, which is very inspirational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All New Fabric Savvy: How to Choose & Use Fabrics []  2020-6-19 19:20

    You cannot go wrong with a fabric reference book by Sandra Betzina. I use her other books quite often, so when I discovered this newer version, I quickly ordered it. I sew a lot and I love that I can be savvy about the fabrics I purchase. Takes a lot of guesswork out of the sewing equation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All New Fabric Savvy: How to Choose & Use Fabrics []  2020-6-19 19:20

    Amazing book, especially if you're unsure what the fabric is that has been in your stash for awhile. Contains amazing methods of finishing seams too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose Self Defense Ammunition (Cunningham Grant) []  2020-8-3 18:49

    Well written . Concise, organized, but with adequate explanation and examples.I will refer to this text often in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose Self Defense Ammunition (Cunningham Grant) []  2020-8-3 18:49

    Extremely well written book for beginners to experienced shooters. I highly recommend for a fast but detailed description into self ammunition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Intimate Detail: How to Choose, Wear, and Love Lingerie []  2019-12-15 18:1

    This a amazing primer for people wanting an introduction to the globe of lingerie. Attractive hardbound cover, Ribbon bookmark, and gorgeous water color illustrations throughout create this a amazing reference and gift. But while the info was well organized and presented beautifully, I do agree that the info was not as detailed or sophisticated as the book's advertising implied. I am satisfied to help Cora in this first book, and I hope for more detailed volumes to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Indistractable: How to Control Your Attention and Choose Your Life [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    Let's obtain this straight. He writes a runaway bestseller on creating addiction (Hooked) for companies, and now he's giving us not good addicted consumers another bestseller-- the antidote for the pain-easing addictions. Awesome talent! How do all his juicy tidbits on tactic (the ego-flattering, pain-easing, love-stroking pseudo carrots of social media, for example, addictive triggers he taught businesses) relate to the strategies of funnels, pinpoint niche interest bullseyes and other tactics?Not so much. Example: Eyal tells the story of Zoe Chance, another marketing/behavior guru, who gets hooked on a fitbit. She ruins her life, compelled to hit 24,000 steps a day. His penultimate example is one night where the Striiv tells her to "just do a few more steps" to obtain double the points, where the odds obtain REALLY exciting. She goes on and on, stepping up till 2 am like a "fitness zombie." DIdn't the guy even READ HOOKED? This is absolutely idiotic. If he were real to his on strategy, at the strategies level, the device would have told her she got those additional steps by HOOKING OTHERS on the device, with an affiliate program! Yes, you heard me, he missed the whole point of addicting the addicted to addicting others by becoming advocates, crusaders, fans, ambassadors and MLM FANS, not just zombies.I will create you fishers of men. I will give you crack so potent that you will HAVE to SHARE it, LIKE it... obtain others hooked on it too. I'm Tommy Halstead, "The Viral Professor." I teach the addicted to addict others. I give five stars to books like Brendan Kane's ONE MILLION FOLLOWERS. Not good Nir, he's trying to place the Genie back in the bottle! A bottle HE opened??!!What he doesn't get, like most academics, is that the human soul yearns for a LOVER that nothing material can match, no product stroke can scratch, no funnel can hatch. The billions of hours of video being uploaded on YouTube by young entrepreneurs hoping to become the next WhositsPie and achieve wealth, fame eternal stardom are missing, just like dear Nir, Deb Ford's seminal message, as she died with astonishing joy during 11 years of agonizing cancer, that true bliss is living in the Authentic Self, the Real Self that celebrates inner poverty in reunion with it's Best Beloved. Do yourself a favor if you wish focus: sure, read this as a set-up, but obtain Debbie Ford's Why Amazing People do Poor Things, or The Dark Side of the Light Chasers, or Your Holiness, as the true payday physically, emotionally, and especially, spiritually, OF the focus you gain, and the WHY of gaining it to start with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed []  2020-1-19 22:14

    I have dipped into and out of this book for a while. The overall thesis is, of course, hard to prove. Having read again the comments Stephen Hawking created about the innate greed of mankind, and the willingness to destroy itself, it may be proven sooner rather than later. And the statistics of sustainability. Not , that said, the doentation of earlier cultural systems that seemed relatively secure and self-sustaining, but failed, is interesting. From the tropics to the arctic, ignorance or hope-over-reason caused the downfall of different systems. I didn't read Diamond's earlier book, Guns, Germs and Steal, but the same thesis was applied to a narrower subset from what I ry interesting read, and see if you're convinced by the thesis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed: Revised Edition []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Jared Diamond combines numerous fields in his exploration for why societies collapse. The chapters on the Greenland Norse and Hispaniola contrasting Haiti and Dominican Republic provide fascinating past and show examples for how environmental problems can drive societies to economic misery, decline and collapse. Diamond provides a lot of other examples, including a discussion on Montana's environmental and social challenges to begin the book. As Diamond points out, the environmental challenges we face today are solvable and controllable by human populations. History provides us lessons we can apply to today's policies. Yet, a lot of societies fail to recognize the challenges faced or fail to solve them. Amazing read if you're interested in environmental history and how environmental issues drive economic and political instability.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All New Fabric Savvy: How to Choose & Use Fabrics []  2020-6-19 19:20

    Again Sandra has produced a unbelievable book for selecting fabrics. There are so a lot of fresh ones and how to sew is a ndra explains how to sew, needles to use, and unique treatments employ.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose Self Defense Ammunition (Cunningham Grant) []  2020-8-3 18:49

    Grant has the amazing ability of taking complicated science (terminal ballistics, for example) and explaining it in a simple, easily digestible way. Because of this, the conclusions he comes to about ammo selection don't require large leaps to understand and appreciate.If you're in a rush, skip ahead to the final chapter and select one of his recommended loads - they're solid choices. If you're like me and need to know the whats, wheres, whys, and hows, read the whole thing front to back. It's all clearly explained.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose Self Defense Ammunition (Cunningham Grant) []  2020-8-3 18:49

    Well written, by a foremost authority on firearm safety and use. I'm a retired military officer (26 years now) who hasn't fired little arms in decades, and am beginning a refamiliarization process. This book is a excellent tutorial. Thanks much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed []  2020-1-19 22:14

    "Collapse" is my third Jared Diamond book and, as before, he does not disappoint. Combining Anthropology, History and Geography with Environmental studies of how humans use, and misuse, Natural Resources, Diamond draws interesting insights into past societies and how their fates can relate to our modern world. To help his conclusions Diamond cites the findings and thoughts of a lot of spets, past and present, as well as his own field research at different areas around the world. With in depth proses "Collapse" gives the reader plenty of meal for thought. Starting with his experiences in modern day Montana, Diamond examines the state's problems with logging, mining, soil erosion, water conservation and wildlife, both native and foreign. The insights by local ranchers, miners, loggers, rural and urban people give you an idea on how Montanans feel about government regulations and laws on those issues. Moving on to past societies the author follows the same scenario. In depth histories of such far flung locations as Easter Island, Greenland and Iceland, Fresh Guinea and Japan explains how they may have dealt with the same environmental issues that plague us today. I really enjoyed the Easter Island history and how this isolated speck of land moved from a sub-tropical paradise to a barren, treeless island and what role religion may have played in it's story. Up north the Vikings were facing their own issues when they colonized Greenland. At first they did well but conditions slowly deteriorated and when the Inuit returned, the Norse colonist were faced with human competitors as well as environmental challenges. The Anasazi and the Mayans are also looked at, how each society dealt with changing conditions and leaders that failed to address their a lot of issues of population and environment. Changing to modern societies Diamond looks at the Rwandan Genocide, the problems faced by The Dominican Republic and Haiti. China's and Australia's evolving societies and how they are moving into today's world. With all this background Diamond discuses his conclusions and poses questions like; Why do some societies create the wrong decisions? What role do Huge Business and the environment play in our future survival? The chapter on Huge Business is especially enlightening with segments on Oil and Mining Companies, the Logging and Seafood Industry and how these vital businesses result our future, for amazing or ill. Lastly he poses the question of what, if anything, can we learn from past societies's successes and failures. This is a amazing book, one that covers a lot of problems and gives both sides of the story. Jared Diamond is one of the best writers of science and history. He consistently takes me into fresh realms of wonder with interesting subjects and special insights. While I experienced no down loading issues with this Kindle edition is did message a couple of "quality control" issues. Through out the book there were several locations where punctuation's were left out and in the chapter on the Vikings in Greenland; the word "fjord" was replaced with "3ord". In neither case was the issue poor enough so that I couldn't follow the text, nonetheless it showed a certain lack of that quality control by the publisher. Regardless, this is a book well worth reading and I'm glad to have it on my st Ranger

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed []  2020-1-19 22:14

    Human population advances seem inevitably connected to deforestation, habitat destruction, overhunting, overfishing, water bonafides, and other calculus imprints. All these problems connect in some ways with starvation, wars, disease and a lot of societal consequences. These are not from the pages of history but apply to current challenges and endemic to global diseases, cultural and religious conflicts, an upward trajectory of population growth to infinity, and political battles of mass the U.S. Montana is a notable target from environmental assaults conspicuously reflected in toxic wastes from metals mining found in ground water, rivers and soil. Logging and forest tree burnings are part of the Montana llapse of the Maya civilization is a topic of archaeology and its evidence that severe drought conditions and overcrowding combined with warfare made a society of conflicts and eventual destruction of society.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Choose a Medical Specialty: Sixth Edition []  2020-1-21 19:57

    I begin medical school at UW Madison this fall. This was a amazing book. A lot of amazing information. Found out about a few specialties that I didn't know existed. I just read it, didn't do the personality assessments, etc. It still was worth it to me. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed: Revised Edition []  2020-1-23 2:13

    I think the conclusions were oversimplified and dissenting opinions were not mentioned. I like the book for what it says about groups of people basically needing to adapt to a changing environment. I think it has some worthwhile info in that regard and the case studies were engaging, but I did obtain bogged down in places. I think the author could have picked up the pace in some of the vignettes and stretched it out a bit in the ysis at the end. Also, I read this for a class that needed me to search independent peer reviewed sources. A lot of of them contradicted the author's anthropological and climatological conclusions. Use it as a parable and you're fine. Look too close and you may obtain lost in the weeds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed: Revised Edition []  2020-1-23 2:13

    GG&S and 3rd Chimp were incredibly researched insightful well presented info and explanation of human beings. In collapse, he goes too far using a few examples of failed societies like Somalia to promote his opinion on environmentalism in conservation excetera. Where is his explanation of why and how the Roman Empire failed?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Intimate Detail: How to Choose, Wear, and Love Lingerie []  2019-12-15 18:1

    I loved learning the history of certain lingerie stuff and how they developed into their modern counterparts!! It's also extraordinarily nonjudgmental, a true feat to achieve... For example, about what kind of breast shape tends to be in fashion at a given time. We often assume these beauty standards have remained steady, but wrongly so. A joy to read, learn from, obtain vocabulary, and inclusive to all types of experiences, too. Whoop!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Intimate Detail: How to Choose, Wear, and Love Lingerie []  2019-12-15 18:1

    An awesome and very well written book. A tutorial to everything lingerie. From choosing to caring for your lingerie. Step your lingerie android game up and read this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Indistractable: How to Control Your Attention and Choose Your Life [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    I read the pre-release of Indistractable at an necessary time in my life: as an early scene startup founder, I have no time to be distracted. In Nir's words, being indistractable is "finally doing what you say you will do." Starting a company is the ultimate try of doing what you say you will do, and I've seen major improvements in my work and life since reading a person who values hard work, competence, and private growth, I have studied lots of books, articles, and other media during my early adult years. I've read all the method from the classic works to the recent and greatest. Indistractable is the first book that gave me the aha moment about distraction: it starts from within.I love technology, but I don't love when it keeps me from doing work that matters to me. In the past, I have taken drastic, Luddite measures to control its grasp on my attention. These techniques worked for a while, but eventually I always got back to the same place: my mind and my attention wanted to be elsewhere, not on the task at Indistractable, Nir goes straight to the root of the issue of distraction. It hurts to read that the issue is you, but it's necessary to hear. For me, this was a "why didn't anyone ever tell me this before?" kind of moment. My struggles finally created r goes on to methodically lay out a model for managing both internal and external distractions. While the book does have some specific tactics, the most necessary takeaways for me were timeless messages. Managing distraction is more about managing pain and emotion ("time management is pain management", as one chapter says) than managing the notification settings on your iPhone. Sure, that helps, but not if you can't manage the pain and discomfort that's keeping you from doing what you care about.While I'm still a work in progress, I have noticed a distinct difference in my attention and work in the month since I finished reading the book. Among a lot of examples of improvement, what stands out to me is a fresh ability to catch myself right when an internal trigger for distraction goes off in my mind. Indistractable gave me an additional fraction of a second to catch myself, refocus, and obtain back to doing what I say I will do. That's subtle but important: in my case, it might be the difference that finally lets me hold the promises I've created to myself and others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Indistractable: How to Control Your Attention and Choose Your Life [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    I love that this book is full of actual tips, not just theories, and is backed by research. It's worth reading if you wish to focus more of your time on things that matter to you :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose Self Defense Ammunition (Cunningham Grant) []  2020-8-3 18:49

    Saw this title on my recommended list so decided to obtain it. It is a fast and simple read, the second or third that I have read from Mr Cunningham. I appreciate his experience and knowledge on choosing self-defense ammunition. It was worth the time and expense. This book is an example of the value of Kindle publishing. This book is too short to be published in paper, and would never obtain wide distribution that way. As an electronic book, it was well worth the 99 cents I paid. Mr Cunningham gets to monetize his work and I obtain the possibility to share in his wisdom and experience. A win/win situation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All New Fabric Savvy: How to Choose & Use Fabrics []  2020-6-19 19:20

    This book is an perfect book for someone like myself who has very small experience with fabric and sewing all together. It is literally a one stop for anyone looking to learn almost everything there is about what needles work best, what sewing notions work best as well as interfacing, etc. The only reason that I didn't give it five stars is because a huge number of the included images are very outdated. However, the info important to be successful and get the info I was looking for is all there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed []  2020-1-19 22:14

    I think the conclusions were oversimplified and dissenting opinions were not mentioned. I like the book for what it says about groups of people basically needing to adapt to a changing environment. I think it has some worthwhile info in that regard and the case studies were engaging, but I did obtain bogged down in places. I think the author could have picked up the pace in some of the vignettes and stretched it out a bit in the ysis at the end. Also, I read this for a class that needed me to search independent peer reviewed sources. A lot of of them contradicted the author's anthropological and climatological conclusions. Use it as a parable and you're fine. Look too close and you may obtain lost in the weeds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed []  2020-1-19 22:14

    Why I read this book:I had seen Jared Diamond's earlier book Guns, Germ, and Steel but had never gotten around to reading it. There is something fascinating at why some societies thrive and others fail. I've always had an interest in the rise and fall of the Roman Empire. So Collapse was a read I couldn't resist when it came to a book buying round at one sentence summary:Societies that over-exploits their resources are doomed to fail, especially in a fragile and hostile environment, unless the issues are recognized and addressed.Kuddos:The book is divided into four parts. Being a history nut, I was drawn to part two on past societies. Diamond presents a highly readable and interesting overview of what is known about several societies that have failed and ones that have succeeded. His interpretation about what led to the downfall of the former is compelling and presents some necessary (context specific) second favorite part was the third part about modern societies. I was horrified to read about the ecological context of the Rwandan genocides and the cycle of violence set up by over-population and over-exploitation of precious resources. There are successes mixed in with the horrors that do present hope for the future.Quibbles:Diamond tends to go on. Often times I felt like I was re-reading the same info as he recaps often when making his final points for each chapter. I also found my attention wandering when it came to the first and fourth parts of the book that focus on modern Montana and practical Verdict:This is a book has a put on my book shelf. It includes a a lot of historical lessons that were learned the hard way. While I'm still getting used to reading books with a message, I think the ones Diamond puts forth are important.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed: Revised Edition []  2020-1-23 2:13

    The author, a professor of geography and an environmentalist, has written a lengthy book that is a wakeup call whereby he clearly demonstrates that the sustainability of life on this planet as we know it is in some jeopardy. The depletion of natural resources; the hurt and pollution to our lands, waters, and air; and climatic changes combined with an exploding global population, if not significantly addressed, could have unpleasant, even devastating, consequences in only a matter of addition to looking at the early 2000's environmental and political situations in Rwanda, Haiti, Australia, China, and the state of Montana, he drives home his point by examining several ancient societies that literally collapsed due to environmental failure, namely, the Eastern Islands, the Anasazi of the Southwestern US, the Mayans of the Yucatan, and the Norse of Greenland, among e relevance of the demise of those societies hundreds of years ago may be questioned. They were highly isolated, if not totally, and obviously had no scientific understanding of their environments. All lived in difficult climatic conditions that could not help their populations. Deforestation, soil erosion, and the elimination of edible species presaged their end. Clearly, the elites of those societies mismanaged resources to enhance their standing, but did they really have the capacity and info to choose to take their societies in various directions and not sucb to their harsh environments?Inhospitable environments are no stranger to the 21st century, and if the vast amount of scientific and ecological info does not filter into a society, they can search themselves facing the same sort of starvation and man-versus-man confrontations of those older societies. Several locations of Africa are prime examples, and Haiti is not far behind. The author repeatedly makes the point that we live in a globalized, integrated world. The effects of population growth, environmental degradation, resource depletion, and climatic changes cannot be confined to isolated locations such as the Easter the 21st century, it is global corporations that have worldwide impacts. While not all of the earth's issues can be laid at the feet of global corporations, the author shows that the oil, mining, timber, and fishing industries have had deleterious impacts on the environment. The author is cautiously optimistic that the public will be able to sufficiently pressure corporations and governments to be far more pro-environment. Some initiatives are underway in some industries with modest successes.While COLLAPSE is an necessary book and at times interesting, it is long, slow-going, and repetitious. Regarding his optimism, the author really does not demonstrate that there are effective environmental political movements that have substantial influence in the political process. Is choice more a chimera than not? Furthermore, he assumes that the world's main issues are environmental. Where would he place the large worldwide divides concerning religion and haves vs. have-nots and the possibilities of nuclear war?The author tells of his students wondering how it is that someone could chop down the latest tree on Easter Island, but one might equally wonder in our democratic era how it is that we have allowed large personal entities to have so much power over our lives and permitted such a mal-distribution of resources and earnings. So who are the stupid and irresponsible: the ignorant people of the Eastern Islands or modern societies with the benefits of science, information, and the study of the past?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Intimate Detail: How to Choose, Wear, and Love Lingerie []  2019-12-15 18:1

    There are a lot of books on Lingerie. Most of them are about a specific type of lingerie or about how to create it. It is a complex subject, moreso than I think most people realize. Even having done quite a lot of independent research into vintage lingerie and corsets over the years for cosplaying and retro reenactment events, I never considered just how varied lingerie was... I never stepped back and looked at it as a whole. In Intimate Detail created me do that. It is nothing less than a comprehensive tutorial to lingerie for the modern woman. This book is awesome in several key ways. I'll give a summary of whats available in the book. I'll tell you what I like best about it and I will tell you who I think should read it. Then, stay tuned for final thoughts. I did keep an Advance copy of the book for review. This is my complete and honest opinion about the is book is broken down into several sections; Bras, Underwear, Shapewear, Hosiery, Loungewear, How to both in shop and online, and care of your Lingerie. I found that all of them are comprehensive without feeling like you are slogging through a non fiction book. It's narrated by the author in a light hearted, kindly professor sort of way. You know those awesome teachers you only obtain to take a class from once who are passionate and are very amazing at explaining something without making you feel stupid? Then by the end of the explanation, you realize you are just as passionate about that subject? Yeah, that's Cora Harrington.Within each section on the main categories of lingerie, she breaks it down into historical evolution (something I search fascinating myself), primary information, main types of that category as well as some amazing guidelines to follow... best practices, if you will. There is also appendices which sounds droll but actually is a great, easy-to-navigate resource on bra sizing, underwear concerns, and what a amazing primary set of Lingerie should be to start.What I like best? There are 3 main things about this book that I search create it worthy to read:1. While she is inclusive and body positive throughout the whole book, she has necessary sections in the appendices that really shine for inclusivity. She has sections for mastectomy fitting, trans/non-binary fitting, pregnancy/maternity, physical disabilities, fibromyalgia and other ailments, binders, breast augmentation, etc and give hints on navigating those unique concerns when looking for and purchasing lingerie. There is no judgement in these pages. You can tell that Cora Harrington just wants to share her passion with you and support you search what's going to suit you best.2. It's simple enough to read... entertaining enough to read, that your teenager who is just starting to wear true bras could read it but also any veteran of wearing lingerie would obtain something out of it. The Lingerie Addict Blog, started by Harrington, is a excellent companion to this book. My recommendation is that you should begin with the book and go to the Blog to learn more. There is nothing else like it out there in one simple to reference place. I will search myself referencing this book probably for the rest of my life. It is such a handy guide.3. There is no mention of lingerie brands in the book except brief historical citation. The book isn't about selling you anything. Its about educating and helping you, the reader.What I do not like: I would have liked to see the Corset section have more in it and have Intimate Detail is a book that educates in a cute, intellectual way. It is not hard to read. There are attractive illustrations to support give visual representation to topic matter. It's inclusive and helpful for an array of troubles one might search in their journey to love lingerie and love their bodies in lingerie. I highly recommend this book. It was so good, I can't wait to buy the finished version; have it in my hands and on my shelf. I was starting to love lingerie before... Now... I am obsessed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Intimate Detail: How to Choose, Wear, and Love Lingerie []  2019-12-15 18:1

    Was a amazing buy and priced right. The water color illustrations were just gorgeous!! The info was amazing and well organized and presented, but the info was not as detailed or sophisticated as the books advertising was letting me to believe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Indistractable: How to Control Your Attention and Choose Your Life [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    I obtain it. There are so a lot of things that you can give your attention to. That's the whole point of this book in the first place! But instead of scrolling through Ig for 10-- okay, 30-- mins today, why not read about how you can obtain back in control of your time? I was especially moved by Nir's discussion of how to be a parent who raises mindful, show kids by setting tech boundaries and applying them to yourself. Reading about how Nir and his wife interact with their own daughter makes my heart glow.If you wish to learn how to break free from the chains of your technological distractions, and obtain show in your daily life, this is the book for you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All New Fabric Savvy: How to Choose & Use Fabrics []  2020-6-19 19:20

    Beginner to advanced sewers will obtain much from this book. Describing every fabric with info on the best fabric for your project, handling the material, using the correct needle and presser foot plus a lot of hints to create your project the best it can be. A true time saver!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All New Fabric Savvy: How to Choose & Use Fabrics []  2020-6-19 19:20

    I sew all the time and I am finding a lot of fresh fabric blends. This book tells me about the fabrics and how to work with them. Amazing book to have. Amazing ideas and suggestions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose Self Defense Ammunition (Cunningham Grant) []  2020-8-3 18:49

    I don’t agree with a lot of what he said. He seems to think testing in gel, which is laboratory data, is more necessary than true data from the street. Although he points to a road study who’s results really are just based on someone else’s subjective criteria. He also like massive bullets, most of which have been proven the poorest performance per caliber. 147 in 9mm and 158 in 38? Not good choices. Don’t read this, read the books by Sanow and Marshall which are the ones he disparages in his. Don’t buy this book, I’m sorry I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose Self Defense Ammunition (Cunningham Grant) []  2020-8-3 18:49

    I have three handguns so I didn't need all the info supplied in this book, Still, it is worth having.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose Self Defense Ammunition (Cunningham Grant) []  2020-8-3 18:49

    Gives a lot of info to consider and to evaluate before purchasing any ammunition to stake your life on while carrying for self protection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how many days do you have to fill a prescription [Egosteva]  2021-3-12 10:13
    [email protected]

    fake prescription joke birthday

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose The Right Picture Frame (How to Frame Book 5) []  2020-3-30 20:39

    This book was amazing reading. I like how the writer covered framing. This book helped me to consider framing techniques that go deeper than just getting a cheap frame. Framing should express the artist and the art in a special method that allowed both the art and the frame to become journey as a hobby photographer lead me to consider matting where I was faced with really making my photographs come alive. Now with this book on framing, I also must consider the whole piece as the art, not just the photograph.An ogy would be whether you would dress a baby in ugly clothes or attractive clothes. If you dressed the baby in attractive clothes it would enhance her, not take away from her beauty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Choose The Right Picture Frame (How to Frame Book 5) []  2020-3-30 20:39

    If I could have given 0 stars I would have. The 7 secrets were generalized cliches that didn't explain anything in any detail or in depth. He gave such tip as "The sixth secret is learn how to choose and use the right equipment." or "the 7th secret is to hold learning about frame designs and picture framing." What?? These would be fine if they were headings that lead to some follow up info about these topics. Instead, he wastes the few paragraphs he has written on utter nonsense like, " With picture framing it is wise to hold your tools sharp and well maintained if you want to create amazing frames." The entire book is filled with this crap. Books like these aren't books, they are shameless promotional advertising and scam material

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medieval Costume and How to Recreate It (Dover Fashion and Costumes) []  2020-12-1 19:46

    I wanted a bit more direction on how to create. Very not good with that aspect. Oh well I guess I just wasted $10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medieval Costume and How to Recreate It (Dover Fashion and Costumes) []  2020-12-1 19:46

    Cool book! It was a Christmas bonus for a friend. She loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medieval Costume and How to Recreate It (Dover Fashion and Costumes) []  2020-12-1 19:46

    Dorothy Hartley's book, first published in 1931, has a lot of amazing things about it, and also a lot of not-so-good things. The book does have a wealth of black-and-white illustrations reproduced from period sources, and these are outstanding. Ms. Hartley's interpretations of medieval dress, however, are not always on the mark...page 103, for example, has a drawing of a "sleeveless coat" which is actually a mis-interpretation of a fur-trimmed sideless surcote. Also confusing is the "loose side piece" in her diagram of a hunting tunic on page 57...nothing in the period illustrations would indicate a garment chop and worn that way, and it just doesn't create ..like a lot of other costume texts published in the early 20th century, don't take everything in this book for gospel truth, and double-check the info versus other sources if you're looking for real authenticity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medieval Costume and How to Recreate It (Dover Fashion and Costumes) []  2020-12-1 19:46

    not much to say, its informative, needs better illastration and instruction

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medieval Costume and How to Recreate It (Dover Fashion and Costumes) []  2020-12-1 19:46

    It is a very nice book having exactly what I required in the costumes, how to create them, what they are for in. Pictures and photographs from paintings showing their use, very practical and I appreciate it it's

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medieval Costume and How to Recreate It (Dover Fashion and Costumes) []  2020-12-1 19:46

    My granddaughter loved the book. We are building her a "Library" of Costumes Designing and Patterns for her future as a Costume Designer whether Theatre or Movies. Wherever her dreams take her. It is really nice that I can sit down and "browse" the books and order when I anks to the suppliers who deal with and their honesty and prompt shipping of the stuff ordered.Have A Safe and Satisfied Fresh Year

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medieval Costume and How to Recreate It (Dover Fashion and Costumes) []  2020-12-1 19:46

    I'm of mixed feelings on this book .First, if you don't own a single costuming book, then obtain it, just for some e best reason for anyone to obtain the book is the illustrations......over 200 period illustrations to use for anted, they're in black and white.......so you don't obtain the colors to see, but Ms Hartley often describes the colors, so that e has provided a number of pages of detailed line-drawing illustrations to support explain/show how cloth was chop and sewn to make different such, they are helpful, sometimes.Ditto, other times they are off the me of her interpretations are, shall I say 'creative' without adequate proof in her period sources to help her theories of construction.With that, I have some major problems, but if her purpose is to give a resonable facsimile for scene interpretation, then her theories are adequate.If her purpose was to provide accurate historical information, then she is often being misleading in regards to the needs of the serious historical re-inactor.i.e. she interprets the 'modesty panel' triangular insert, in a 15th c. gown as a 'vest'. Granted, she says "a little triangular vest" so maybe her idea of a vest, and mine, are merely a difference in understanding. But her perception of a Hellsgate overgown is off the mark. Because the upper portion of the winter worn ones is often covered in, or lined with, fur, she incorrectly interprets the upper portion as a totally seperate garment, calling it a 'sleeveless jacket/coat' and both her line drawings and her text clearly indicate she genuinely believed it to have been such, stating : ".........shows a sleeveless jacket which must have been comforting in drafty halls-it may be fur-lined, or only fur trimmed- but it is definately part of the jacket. The front seems to be stiffened by light strips of wood or whalebone (I have major issues with this, as it has no sound basis, at all. Stiffening elements were used, in later times, as means of support, but were not required for this garment, which hung loosely. Her interpretation is apparently based on the stiff appearance of the panels, but this is due to the massive weight of the (Attached)skirts holding it vertical)..... and the jacket secured to it firmly by metal studs or clasps. The whole jacket is essentially a sturdy small affair, and though in some cases it seems to have been worn as part of the robe, we believe it was always created and place on seperately." Her line drawings shows it as a easy fur-lined vest (with a normal sleeveless opening......which her period illustrations do not support, at all ) and a line drawing of one (vest) with a button-front panel down the center, which she has taken the creative measure of showing 'how' it was 'surely' attached to the edges of the front vest opening, by method of 4 buttons at the corners of the front insert, going through button holes, in the vest, barely concealed at the edges of the fur edging along the front edges. There is absolutely no historical evidence to help this theory; she had, clearly gotten it in her head, that this was a seperate jacket, and is attempting to demonstrate how the period variations might have been achieved, to help this silly idea. I need to add that in a lot of of her other line drawings she seems to rule out the chop of the cloth pieces being a shaping factor, and, instead, resorts to the use of darts to present how to achieve a fitted look. Only in two incidences has she shown the use of gores to widen a skirt. In at least two cases (of men's garments) she has done something interesting with the cloth directly below where the chop goes into the body of the cloth, to isolate the sleeve for sewing the underarm seam. She has, instead of cutting it from the body of the garment, (to use as sleeves, etc.) left it, begin and seamless, to wrap the front, back around the sides of the body, and the back panels, forward over those to make a double layer of cloth at either side of the torso, (for warmth ?) held in by the belt. I've never seen the first bit of period source to help this theory, nor does any of her period sources provided in the book, help it. She also shows an interesting theory on the chop of a laborer's shirt with high collar (under her chapter on 'Artisans' oddly enough) Cuts are created down either side of what is to be the high collar, and the cloth, to either side of the collar, is folded down over the shoulders in a manner like the side panels earlier mentioned, and stitched into place. Once again, she tucks in darts to shape with. She also elaborates on her 'padded shoulders' theories by showing two other drawings of "shoulder flaps" again, un-supported by any evidence in the form of period illuminations, etc.Dispite all of this, believe it, or not, but I Still LIKE the book !!!It's well worth the cash in period pictures, if for no other reason.I also like the fact that she's steered away from the usual emphasis on royal garments, and has concentrated her efforts on the clothes of the daily common man, dividing her chapters to cover individual professions. Her line drawings are excellent, even if off-the-mark at times with her theories of construction......she has nicely isolated some interesting info of accessories to go with the various professions and situations, as in the clappers, etc. that the lepers were needed to announce their approach,...her text in these things, elaborates more on the assorted situations, with helpful historical l in all, my single biggest issue with her concise small book is when it comes down to her attempts to introduce her own theories as to construction; using her line drawings to test and prove how her theories might have been achieved, while she neglects to provide period sources to give visual help to her ideas. As a fast tutorial to theatrical costuming, it has it's merits. As a first costuming book for Medieval Historical re-inactors, it is valuable for the period illustrations, but her interpretations often need to be taken with a grain of salt, as a lot of will not fly if entered in an A & S costuming competition, judged by informed judges...so you be the judge of how valuable this book may be in your library. I have over 100 costuming books in my own, and I'm still glad I added this one, if for no other reason than as a sometimes poor example,....but, again, the period illustrations are well worth the cost of the book. R.D. Wertz/Shara of Meridies

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medieval Costume and How to Recreate It (Dover Fashion and Costumes) []  2020-12-1 19:46

    For years I've had a photocopy of this book that I've lugged around, so I was very satisfied to search this as a reprint edition. One of the amazing things about this is that the author has done her research, and tends to construct the clothing from easy shapes -- namely if you can sew a straight line, or hem, you can create these costumes. The poor part is that there are some very odd stuff in here -- one tunic has a flap that ties in place, and the woman's gown is constructed in a very odd method -- you 'can' do it, but the seams look very out of place. Still, the price is amazing for a begining reinactor, and will instill confidence to go on and create more complicated items.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medieval Costume and How to Recreate It (Dover Fashion and Costumes) []  2020-12-1 19:46

    My son and grandson are fresh to the SCA and the costumes in this book are great. They also give instructions on how to recreate them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Decorating with Plants: What to Choose, Ways to Style, and How to Make Them Thrive []  2020-1-16 22:8

    This is a gorgeous book. Not only is it something to display, it really teaches you about plants and how to use them in making your home beautiful. Simple to understand and follow (I do not have a green thumb) - I can't wait to test these ideas! I highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Decorating with Plants: What to Choose, Ways to Style, and How to Make Them Thrive []  2020-1-16 22:8

    This book is a work f art. Attractive images and narrative. Very much have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clearance Sale !!Santa Claus Costume,Ultra Velvet Santa Suit with Gloves Christmas Velvet Adult Santa Claus Costume Santa Costume Deluxe Santa Suits for Men for Party Cosplay (S, Red) []  2020-8-24 18:17

    This is absolutely garbage. The material is cheap. I ordered a 2x. Pants say 31.5 inches. My inseam is 32. They are knee highs. The top is a pull over and barely fit. The shawl Velcro around your neck. I couldn't even attach the Velcro. Cheap Iron on stencils.I ordered this because my suit is currently being made. It won't be finished until May or June of next year. This was to obtain me through this year. This cheap crap is going back. I am better off in my regular road clothes as Santa then wearing this garbage

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clearance Sale !!Santa Claus Costume,Ultra Velvet Santa Suit with Gloves Christmas Velvet Adult Santa Claus Costume Santa Costume Deluxe Santa Suits for Men for Party Cosplay (S, Red) []  2020-9-22 19:17

    This is absolutely garbage. The material is cheap. I ordered a 2x. Pants say 31.5 inches. My inseam is 32. They are knee highs. The top is a pull over and barely fit. The shawl Velcro around your neck. I couldn't even attach the Velcro. Cheap Iron on stencils.I ordered this because my suit is currently being made. It won't be finished until May or June of next year. This was to obtain me through this year. This cheap crap is going back. I am better off in my regular road clothes as Santa then wearing this garbage

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Decorating with Plants: What to Choose, Ways to Style, and How to Make Them Thrive []  2020-1-16 22:8

    Three words describe this book: Beautiful, inspiring, and achievable. If you would like to add greenery to your life, this book shows you how through explanation, examples, and attractive photography. No plant stylist, designer, or fancy items required.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Decorating with Plants: What to Choose, Ways to Style, and How to Make Them Thrive []  2020-1-16 22:8

    Like it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Decorating with Plants: What to Choose, Ways to Style, and How to Make Them Thrive []  2020-1-16 22:8

    This is a unbelievable book to learn about the needs of different common (and uncommon) houseplants, where to place them, what they like/don’t like, and how to support them thrive! Anyone who loves plants should obtain this book. Attractive photos, and will definitely create you wish to obtain allllllll the plants!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Decorating with Plants: What to Choose, Ways to Style, and How to Make Them Thrive []  2020-1-16 22:8

    Such a Classy and informative book. Love the pictures & of course I'm learning a lot about the placement of plants in my home & how to care for my precious houseplant family. Plus it's such a amazing addition to my collection of houseplant coffee table books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medieval Costume and How to Recreate It (Dover Fashion and Costumes) []  2020-12-1 19:46

    Informative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Decorating with Plants: What to Choose, Ways to Style, and How to Make Them Thrive []  2020-1-16 22:8

    This is not a complete reference for houseplants, or an encyclopedia, I will say that right up front. You need something else for that stuff. What you obtain here is nicely presented inspiration, ideas, and suggestions, along with a primary and short section of some of the most common houseplants you might search and how to care for them. Definitely go through the Resources section at the back and visit the websites. I found a amazing online plant seller within 50 miles of my home in this section, for those things I really wish but can't search locally. I've already bought a plant from them, and it arrived in excellent condition. Before I read this book I never would have thought about buying houseplants online!One warning I will give, though, is that a lot of the items you see in this book, in terms of planters and other accessories, is horrendously expensive. I shouldn't have been surprised since I first became aware of the book through a recommendation in Sunset Magazine, which used to be for regular people but is now apparently for only the most well-off among us. Anyway, it's fun to look at, and if the houseplant bug bites you then you can search plenty of A to Z reference work on keeping your plants alive somewhere else. This is a book to hold on the coffee table.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Decorating with Plants: What to Choose, Ways to Style, and How to Make Them Thrive []  2020-1-16 22:8

    This is a gem of a book. It’s beautifully presented and armed with oodles of tid bits to obtain you started in the art of decorating with indoor plants. I’m a real novice and wholeheartedly appreciate the insights and tools that this book has given me. The authors design aesthetic is breathtaking - I wish to recreate so a lot of of the gorgeous pages in my own home! Thank you for creating this book and an even bigger thank you for inspiring me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Decorating with Plants: What to Choose, Ways to Style, and How to Make Them Thrive []  2020-1-16 22:8

    Had to buy after I borrowed from the library. Love the info and the pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Decorating with Plants: What to Choose, Ways to Style, and How to Make Them Thrive []  2020-1-16 22:8

    I was introduced to Chapman with her first stunning book, The Plant Recipe Book. This book took me through the steps to make stunning succulent gardens on my property. I wasn't sure how she could make another book teaching me fresh skills. However, she did it. Decorating with Plants opened my eyes to fresh plants and ways to make living art in our home. The book is an inspiration with wonderful images and decorating ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clearance Sale !!Santa Claus Costume,Ultra Velvet Santa Suit with Gloves Christmas Velvet Adult Santa Claus Costume Santa Costume Deluxe Santa Suits for Men for Party Cosplay (S, Red) []  2020-8-24 18:17

    Terrible!!! This came with all cheap gold sequin and was a 3x. A midget couldnt wear this. Super little and cheap. Looks nothing like the picture. Dont buy this! The beard had like 5 strains of hair, the belt was plastic and the size for a child.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386