Read how to make the first christmas bomb reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all how to make the first christmas bomb reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deck The Halls: How to Make a Christmas Wreath [Book]  2017-12-6 18:1

    Another amazing EBook by Nancy Alexander's. I have several of her books and always learn something fresh and useful in each one of them. She shows you how to create a wreath that you will be proud to display in your home. She also gives you ideas that you can transfer to other projects. She also encourages you to use you own creative ideas on your wreaths. I really bebeive that you will have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deck The Halls: How to Make a Christmas Wreath [Book]  2017-12-6 18:1

    Well written and gave info of the supplies you would need. I liked the images also of the projects

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deck The Halls: How to Make a Christmas Wreath [Book]  2017-12-6 18:1

    If you wish to learn to create a Christmas wreath....this is the book for you. Step by step instructions create it super simple and they always turn out beautiful!!

    0  


    Add your opinion on how to make the first christmas bomb or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deck The Halls: How to Make a Christmas Wreath [Book]  2017-12-6 18:1

    Alway love Nancy's instructions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deck The Halls: How to Make a Christmas Wreath [Book]  2017-12-6 18:1

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deck The Halls: How to Make a Christmas Wreath [Book]  2017-12-6 18:1

    I am hopeful to be able to create these wreaths before the holidays.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deck The Halls: How to Make a Christmas Wreath [Book]  2017-12-6 18:1

    I loved all the ideas and it is written very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deck The Halls: How to Make a Christmas Wreath [Book]  2017-12-6 18:1

    This Christmas design book for a attractive wreath is wonderful. The instructions are perfect and the accompanying images create it very simple to follow. I love this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deck The Halls: How to Make a Christmas Wreath [Book]  2017-12-6 18:1

    Unbelievable book. Joined her group, as well. Perfect teacher and feel like she is as unbelievable as she seems in her videos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deck The Halls: How to Make a Christmas Wreath [Book]  2017-12-6 18:1

    Quick shipping

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Make Bath Bombs : A Beginners Step By Step Guide To Making The Perfect Bath Bomb Everytime []  2020-8-27 19:15

    I liked the method the author described how to create the items, and his descriptions of the various herbs. One day, I'll give it a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Make Bath Bombs : A Beginners Step By Step Guide To Making The Perfect Bath Bomb Everytime []  2020-8-27 19:15

    This like a 10 page booklet that is not in a amazing format which doesn't use an simple to read recipe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Make Bath Bombs : A Beginners Step By Step Guide To Making The Perfect Bath Bomb Everytime []  2020-8-27 19:15

    This book is fine if you wish to go through the problem to create your own bath bomb. It seemed like a lot of work and I unfortunately don't feel I wish to devote the time to do this. There were formatting problems within that were distracting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    vidalista 20 how to use [vidalista ct 20 deutsch]  2021-3-11 6:42
    [email protected]

    super vidalista and alcohol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bringg dispatch How to setup [For Panera Drivers]  2020-5-28 1:23
    [email protected]

    I download the application ands it asks for my email and pads and I can’t see hint registration to use the application what’s their point no help page or nothing! Help me out

    3  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Make A Cake: Learn How To Make Your First Cake In The Next Five Minutes! Learn All There Is To Know On How To Bake A Cake. Learning How To Make Cake Is A Piece Of Cake! []  2020-2-6 23:9

    Christmas is quick approaching and I wanted to earn a small this coming holidays for cash to buy my loved ones some presents. I decided to learn how to create cakes because not only do most people have a sweet tooth, cakes are also the trend in giveaways and souvenirs during the yuletide season. This article is very comprehensive that I was able to create various kinds of cake using the written hints and procedures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can buy lasix buying lasix in canada how to buy lasix in Norway best price for lasix in Long Beach where to purchase lasix in Washington how can i buy lasix best method to search cheap lasix in Czech Republic where is better to purchase lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to buy lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-6-11 18:56

    This is an wonderful book. This is originally a compilation of Robert Serber's notes he gave to incoming scientists at Los Alamos in the 1940s, explaining to them the purpose of the Manhattan Project and the expected means by which they would achieve their goal. This particular copy, courtesy of the University of California Press, includes not only an introduction by Mr. Richard Rhodes (author of The Making of the Atomic Bomb - strongly recommended), but notes throughout the Primer itself by Robert Serber. It is fascinating to read comments on a doent by the man who wrote it a lot of years afterward. Be warned: This is NOT a how-to book, and does require some primary knowledge of calculus and physics. It is, however, unbelievably interesting, and worth the cost to add it to your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-8-15 18:43

    This small book is amazing for anyone interested in the history of the Manhattan Project. It describes the theoretical challenges in learning how to do something that had never been done before. What's more they (the scientists at Los Alamos) had very small on none of the active material on which to try their theories. There is mathematics in the book but for the reader who is not mathematically inclined it can be passed over as a demonstration that it was done and is correct without the reader having to verify it. The Introduction by Richard Rhodes is amazing - written after the fact - he gives an overview of the Project which had established the need for the Primer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-8-15 18:43

    It was a total surprise to realize each and everyone of the Los Alamos squad was handed the mimeographed primer prior to commencing their work in the lab. The amount of information that was already understood, the insightful, smart guesses are just spellbinding. You obtain a real sense of the absolute conviction that the bomb will be built, it will be dropped and it will work. Concurrent projects of uranium separation at Oakridge and the manufacture of plutonium at Hanford Washington...proceeded with total conviction even though the explosive power of fission, while calculated had never been observed. In today's globe where everything is miniaturized and communication is at the speed of light, nonetheless, both the uranium bomb and the plutonium bomb were only a few pounds in weight as necessitated by 1945 technology. With higher quality nuclear materials and infintely better tampers and higher neutron efficiency, you can only guess the little size of today's devastating nuclear devises.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-8-15 18:43

    Amazing "Primer" for such a difficult topic. Method to go R. Serber1

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-9-21 18:59

    This is a fascinating insight into what physicists were thinking at the time of building the bomb, together with a sometimes amusing retrospective by Robert Serber. Although it is technical in locations the lectures were originally simplified to show the essential physics, which is perfectly accessible to any high-school e Frisch-Peierls memorandum is a nice touch; after reading Serber's lectures it gives and idea of what others were thinking and where the major uncertainties e electronic ver of the book loses a star due to the execrable editing; despite the steep price the publishers evidently decided none was necessary. The display equations are simply copy and paste photos interspersed with improperly typeset inline math littered with errors. The original lecture extracts and Serber's commentary are in the same font and it's not always simple to tell which is which. A shoddy job, UCP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-12-13 18:50

    It was a total surprise to realize each and everyone of the Los Alamos squad was handed the mimeographed primer prior to commencing their work in the lab. The amount of information that was already understood, the insightful, smart guesses are just spellbinding. You obtain a real sense of the absolute conviction that the bomb will be built, it will be dropped and it will work. Concurrent projects of uranium separation at Oakridge and the manufacture of plutonium at Hanford Washington...proceeded with total conviction even though the explosive power of fission, while calculated had never been observed. In today's globe where everything is miniaturized and communication is at the speed of light, nonetheless, both the uranium bomb and the plutonium bomb were only a few pounds in weight as necessitated by 1945 technology. With higher quality nuclear materials and infintely better tampers and higher neutron efficiency, you can only guess the little size of today's devastating nuclear devises.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-12-13 18:50

    This is an wonderful book. This is originally a compilation of Robert Serber's notes he gave to incoming scientists at Los Alamos in the 1940s, explaining to them the purpose of the Manhattan Project and the expected means by which they would achieve their goal. This particular copy, courtesy of the University of California Press, includes not only an introduction by Mr. Richard Rhodes (author of The Making of the Atomic Bomb - strongly recommended), but notes throughout the Primer itself by Robert Serber. It is fascinating to read comments on a doent by the man who wrote it a lot of years afterward. Be warned: This is NOT a how-to book, and does require some primary knowledge of calculus and physics. It is, however, unbelievably interesting, and worth the cost to add it to your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-8-15 18:43

    This book was a fresh addition to my library on 'Special Weapons'. I've had a long term interest in all things dealing with them. The Los Alamos Primer would have been a amazing purchase if it had simply consisted of the original lectures. The 4 men who contribute to this work have produced an necessary book. Richard Rhodes introduced and edited (conducted) this book. I believe any book with his name attached, is worth a buy. I search his writing to be very clear and interesting. Robert Serber, who gave the original lectures, does an perfect job of a literary 'voice over' on them. He explains, expounds, and fills out the primary lectures. On top of what those 2 guys have made, this box of Cracker Jacks came with a very nice surprise. Included in this book are 2 old (1940-41) memorandums by Rudolf Peierls and Otto Frisch. These were instrumental in the notification of the Atomic potentials to the US/British governments. I have read about them, but never expected to read them. In 3 words- BUY THIS BOOK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-6-11 18:56

    This is a fascinating insight into what physicists were thinking at the time of building the bomb, together with a sometimes amusing retrospective by Robert Serber. Although it is technical in locations the lectures were originally simplified to show the essential physics, which is perfectly accessible to any high-school e Frisch-Peierls memorandum is a nice touch; after reading Serber's lectures it gives and idea of what others were thinking and where the major uncertainties e electronic ver of the book loses a star due to the execrable editing; despite the steep price the publishers evidently decided none was necessary. The display equations are simply copy and paste photos interspersed with improperly typeset inline math littered with errors. The original lecture extracts and Serber's commentary are in the same font and it's not always simple to tell which is which. A shoddy job, UCP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-9-21 18:59

    This is an wonderful book. This is originally a compilation of Robert Serber's notes he gave to incoming scientists at Los Alamos in the 1940s, explaining to them the purpose of the Manhattan Project and the expected means by which they would achieve their goal. This particular copy, courtesy of the University of California Press, includes not only an introduction by Mr. Richard Rhodes (author of The Making of the Atomic Bomb - strongly recommended), but notes throughout the Primer itself by Robert Serber. It is fascinating to read comments on a doent by the man who wrote it a lot of years afterward. Be warned: This is NOT a how-to book, and does require some primary knowledge of calculus and physics. It is, however, unbelievably interesting, and worth the cost to add it to your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-9-21 18:59

    This book was a fresh addition to my library on 'Special Weapons'. I've had a long term interest in all things dealing with them. The Los Alamos Primer would have been a amazing purchase if it had simply consisted of the original lectures. The 4 men who contribute to this work have produced an necessary book. Richard Rhodes introduced and edited (conducted) this book. I believe any book with his name attached, is worth a buy. I search his writing to be very clear and interesting. Robert Serber, who gave the original lectures, does an perfect job of a literary 'voice over' on them. He explains, expounds, and fills out the primary lectures. On top of what those 2 guys have made, this box of Cracker Jacks came with a very nice surprise. Included in this book are 2 old (1940-41) memorandums by Rudolf Peierls and Otto Frisch. These were instrumental in the notification of the Atomic potentials to the US/British governments. I have read about them, but never expected to read them. In 3 words- BUY THIS BOOK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-12-13 18:50

    This book gives a brief and highly technical summary of what was known about nuclear fission in 1942 and how to go about turning this knowledge into a "practical weapon". Amazing fun to read if you have an engineering or physics degree or related background knowledge. The author has extensively annotated and updated the terse original lecture notes that were given to fresh arrivals at Los Alamos. Interestingly, the annotations now take up more zone that the original notes. These annotations may support to create the topic accessible to a non-technical audience as they provide invaluable historical and technical background. Invaluable for anyone interested in science history and/or the Manhattan Project.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-6-11 18:56

    This small book is amazing for anyone interested in the history of the Manhattan Project. It describes the theoretical challenges in learning how to do something that had never been done before. What's more they (the scientists at Los Alamos) had very small on none of the active material on which to try their theories. There is mathematics in the book but for the reader who is not mathematically inclined it can be passed over as a demonstration that it was done and is correct without the reader having to verify it. The Introduction by Richard Rhodes is amazing - written after the fact - he gives an overview of the Project which had established the need for the Primer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-6-11 18:56

    It was a total surprise to realize each and everyone of the Los Alamos squad was handed the mimeographed primer prior to commencing their work in the lab. The amount of information that was already understood, the insightful, smart guesses are just spellbinding. You obtain a real sense of the absolute conviction that the bomb will be built, it will be dropped and it will work. Concurrent projects of uranium separation at Oakridge and the manufacture of plutonium at Hanford Washington...proceeded with total conviction even though the explosive power of fission, while calculated had never been observed. In today's globe where everything is miniaturized and communication is at the speed of light, nonetheless, both the uranium bomb and the plutonium bomb were only a few pounds in weight as necessitated by 1945 technology. With higher quality nuclear materials and infintely better tampers and higher neutron efficiency, you can only guess the little size of today's devastating nuclear devises.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-6-11 18:56

    This book was a fresh addition to my library on 'Special Weapons'. I've had a long term interest in all things dealing with them. The Los Alamos Primer would have been a amazing purchase if it had simply consisted of the original lectures. The 4 men who contribute to this work have produced an necessary book. Richard Rhodes introduced and edited (conducted) this book. I believe any book with his name attached, is worth a buy. I search his writing to be very clear and interesting. Robert Serber, who gave the original lectures, does an perfect job of a literary 'voice over' on them. He explains, expounds, and fills out the primary lectures. On top of what those 2 guys have made, this box of Cracker Jacks came with a very nice surprise. Included in this book are 2 old (1940-41) memorandums by Rudolf Peierls and Otto Frisch. These were instrumental in the notification of the Atomic potentials to the US/British governments. I have read about them, but never expected to read them. In 3 words- BUY THIS BOOK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-8-15 18:43

    This is a amazing book for someone who already knows a small about modern physics in general or the making of an atomic bomb. Written by the scientist who was charged with bringing fresh arrivals to the Los Alamos up to speed. Reading this book is like enrolling in a short course taught by a master teacher. You learn the same things that a scientist or engineer working on the Manhattan Project would have learned.If you have a month and wish to learn as much as possible, read Richard Rhode's books on the subject  The Making of the Atomic Bomb  and  Dark Sun: The Making of the Hydrogen Bomb . Be prepared to be exhausted. If you have an afternoon and wish to learn as much as possible sit down with this book. You'll learn a surprising amount of material. It's the ultimate crash course in fission bombs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-9-21 18:59

    The annotations cover some of what was learned later, corrections to the math, and the human context. This makes more interesting reading than the original e biographic appendix in this edition of the primer is a nice Who's Who of the Los Alamos e website discusses the engineering design of nuclear weapons in more detail, based on later is shows where they were at the begin of the process. The primary facts of the physics involved are now in the public record, which as Serber says, is not the same knowing as the engineering details.If you just skim the equations and read the conclusions in this book, I think you could understand the basics with today's high school math and physics. It takes more math and physics to derive some of the r more of the human dimension I'd refer you to the biography of Serber  Peace and War , still available as a used book, and to Richard Rhodes' books. The biography describes his trip to Japan to assess the bomb effects, and his post-war career. He was not treated as badly as Oppenheimer, but he did face some questioning in the McCarthy Era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-9-21 18:59

    This small book is amazing for anyone interested in the history of the Manhattan Project. It describes the theoretical challenges in learning how to do something that had never been done before. What's more they (the scientists at Los Alamos) had very small on none of the active material on which to try their theories. There is mathematics in the book but for the reader who is not mathematically inclined it can be passed over as a demonstration that it was done and is correct without the reader having to verify it. The Introduction by Richard Rhodes is amazing - written after the fact - he gives an overview of the Project which had established the need for the Primer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-9-21 18:59

    This is a amazing book for someone who already knows a small about modern physics in general or the making of an atomic bomb. Written by the scientist who was charged with bringing fresh arrivals to the Los Alamos up to speed. Reading this book is like enrolling in a short course taught by a master teacher. You learn the same things that a scientist or engineer working on the Manhattan Project would have learned.If you have a month and wish to learn as much as possible, read Richard Rhode's books on the subject  The Making of the Atomic Bomb  and  Dark Sun: The Making of the Hydrogen Bomb . Be prepared to be exhausted. If you have an afternoon and wish to learn as much as possible sit down with this book. You'll learn a surprising amount of material. It's the ultimate crash course in fission bombs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-9-21 18:59

    Amazing "Primer" for such a difficult topic. Method to go R. Serber1

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-12-13 18:50

    This small book is amazing for anyone interested in the history of the Manhattan Project. It describes the theoretical challenges in learning how to do something that had never been done before. What's more they (the scientists at Los Alamos) had very small on none of the active material on which to try their theories. There is mathematics in the book but for the reader who is not mathematically inclined it can be passed over as a demonstration that it was done and is correct without the reader having to verify it. The Introduction by Richard Rhodes is amazing - written after the fact - he gives an overview of the Project which had established the need for the Primer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-12-13 18:50

    Amazing "Primer" for such a difficult topic. Method to go R. Serber1

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-6-11 18:56

    The annotations cover some of what was learned later, corrections to the math, and the human context. This makes more interesting reading than the original e biographic appendix in this edition of the primer is a nice Who's Who of the Los Alamos e website discusses the engineering design of nuclear weapons in more detail, based on later is shows where they were at the begin of the process. The primary facts of the physics involved are now in the public record, which as Serber says, is not the same knowing as the engineering details.If you just skim the equations and read the conclusions in this book, I think you could understand the basics with today's high school math and physics. It takes more math and physics to derive some of the r more of the human dimension I'd refer you to the biography of Serber Peace and War, still available as a used book, and to Richard Rhodes' books. The biography describes his trip to Japan to assess the bomb effects, and his post-war career. He was not treated as badly as Oppenheimer, but he did face some questioning in the McCarthy Era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-6-11 18:56

    This book gives a brief and highly technical summary of what was known about nuclear fission in 1942 and how to go about turning this knowledge into a "practical weapon". Amazing fun to read if you have an engineering or physics degree or related background knowledge. The author has extensively annotated and updated the terse original lecture notes that were given to fresh arrivals at Los Alamos. Interestingly, the annotations now take up more zone that the original notes. These annotations may support to create the topic accessible to a non-technical audience as they provide invaluable historical and technical background. Invaluable for anyone interested in science history and/or the Manhattan Project.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-6-11 18:56

    This is a amazing book for someone who already knows a small about modern physics in general or the making of an atomic bomb. Written by the scientist who was charged with bringing fresh arrivals to the Los Alamos up to speed. Reading this book is like enrolling in a short course taught by a master teacher. You learn the same things that a scientist or engineer working on the Manhattan Project would have learned.If you have a month and wish to learn as much as possible, read Richard Rhode's books on the subject The Making of the Atomic Bomb and Dark Sun: The Making of the Hydrogen Bomb. Be prepared to be exhausted. If you have an afternoon and wish to learn as much as possible sit down with this book. You'll learn a surprising amount of material. It's the ultimate crash course in fission bombs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-8-15 18:43

    However, not so hot for insight. My favorite book for learning calculus is less than 200 pages, the one I had in school was over 1,000 pages. If you are looking for the first book, this is definitively that first book. If you are trying to fill in some holes and you have, say, a modern bachelor's degree; this book is a fun hour read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-8-15 18:43

    This is an wonderful book. This is originally a compilation of Robert Serber's notes he gave to incoming scientists at Los Alamos in the 1940s, explaining to them the purpose of the Manhattan Project and the expected means by which they would achieve their goal. This particular copy, courtesy of the University of California Press, includes not only an introduction by Mr. Richard Rhodes (author of The Making of the Atomic Bomb - strongly recommended), but notes throughout the Primer itself by Robert Serber. It is fascinating to read comments on a doent by the man who wrote it a lot of years afterward. Be warned: This is NOT a how-to book, and does require some primary knowledge of calculus and physics. It is, however, unbelievably interesting, and worth the cost to add it to your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-9-21 18:59

    However, not so hot for insight. My favorite book for learning calculus is less than 200 pages, the one I had in school was over 1,000 pages. If you are looking for the first book, this is definitively that first book. If you are trying to fill in some holes and you have, say, a modern bachelor's degree; this book is a fun hour read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-9-21 18:59

    This book gives a brief and highly technical summary of what was known about nuclear fission in 1942 and how to go about turning this knowledge into a "practical weapon". Amazing fun to read if you have an engineering or physics degree or related background knowledge. The author has extensively annotated and updated the terse original lecture notes that were given to fresh arrivals at Los Alamos. Interestingly, the annotations now take up more zone that the original notes. These annotations may support to create the topic accessible to a non-technical audience as they provide invaluable historical and technical background. Invaluable for anyone interested in science history and/or the Manhattan Project.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-12-13 18:50

    The annotations cover some of what was learned later, corrections to the math, and the human context. This makes more interesting reading than the original e biographic appendix in this edition of the primer is a nice Who's Who of the Los Alamos e website discusses the engineering design of nuclear weapons in more detail, based on later is shows where they were at the begin of the process. The primary facts of the physics involved are now in the public record, which as Serber says, is not the same knowing as the engineering details.If you just skim the equations and read the conclusions in this book, I think you could understand the basics with today's high school math and physics. It takes more math and physics to derive some of the r more of the human dimension I'd refer you to the biography of Serber  Peace and War , still available as a used book, and to Richard Rhodes' books. The biography describes his trip to Japan to assess the bomb effects, and his post-war career. He was not treated as badly as Oppenheimer, but he did face some questioning in the McCarthy Era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-12-13 18:50

    This book was a fresh addition to my library on 'Special Weapons'. I've had a long term interest in all things dealing with them. The Los Alamos Primer would have been a amazing purchase if it had simply consisted of the original lectures. The 4 men who contribute to this work have produced an necessary book. Richard Rhodes introduced and edited (conducted) this book. I believe any book with his name attached, is worth a buy. I search his writing to be very clear and interesting. Robert Serber, who gave the original lectures, does an perfect job of a literary 'voice over' on them. He explains, expounds, and fills out the primary lectures. On top of what those 2 guys have made, this box of Cracker Jacks came with a very nice surprise. Included in this book are 2 old (1940-41) memorandums by Rudolf Peierls and Otto Frisch. These were instrumental in the notification of the Atomic potentials to the US/British governments. I have read about them, but never expected to read them. In 3 words- BUY THIS BOOK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-6-11 18:56

    However, not so hot for insight. My favorite book for learning calculus is less than 200 pages, the one I had in school was over 1,000 pages. If you are looking for the first book, this is definitively that first book. If you are trying to fill in some holes and you have, say, a modern bachelor's degree; this book is a fun hour read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-6-11 18:56

    Really neat book. Amazing for people who are interested in history AND understand physics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-8-15 18:43

    The annotations cover some of what was learned later, corrections to the math, and the human context. This makes more interesting reading than the original e biographic appendix in this edition of the primer is a nice Who's Who of the Los Alamos e website discusses the engineering design of nuclear weapons in more detail, based on later is shows where they were at the begin of the process. The primary facts of the physics involved are now in the public record, which as Serber says, is not the same knowing as the engineering details.If you just skim the equations and read the conclusions in this book, I think you could understand the basics with today's high school math and physics. It takes more math and physics to derive some of the r more of the human dimension I'd refer you to the biography of Serber  Peace and War , still available as a used book, and to Richard Rhodes' books. The biography describes his trip to Japan to assess the bomb effects, and his post-war career. He was not treated as badly as Oppenheimer, but he did face some questioning in the McCarthy Era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-8-15 18:43

    This book gives a brief and highly technical summary of what was known about nuclear fission in 1942 and how to go about turning this knowledge into a "practical weapon". Amazing fun to read if you have an engineering or physics degree or related background knowledge. The author has extensively annotated and updated the terse original lecture notes that were given to fresh arrivals at Los Alamos. Interestingly, the annotations now take up more zone that the original notes. These annotations may support to create the topic accessible to a non-technical audience as they provide invaluable historical and technical background. Invaluable for anyone interested in science history and/or the Manhattan Project.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-8-15 18:43

    This is a fascinating insight into what physicists were thinking at the time of building the bomb, together with a sometimes amusing retrospective by Robert Serber. Although it is technical in locations the lectures were originally simplified to show the essential physics, which is perfectly accessible to any high-school e Frisch-Peierls memorandum is a nice touch; after reading Serber's lectures it gives and idea of what others were thinking and where the major uncertainties e electronic ver of the book loses a star due to the execrable editing; despite the steep price the publishers evidently decided none was necessary. The display equations are simply copy and paste photos interspersed with improperly typeset inline math littered with errors. The original lecture extracts and Serber's commentary are in the same font and it's not always simple to tell which is which. A shoddy job, UCP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-9-21 18:59

    It was a total surprise to realize each and everyone of the Los Alamos squad was handed the mimeographed primer prior to commencing their work in the lab. The amount of information that was already understood, the insightful, smart guesses are just spellbinding. You obtain a real sense of the absolute conviction that the bomb will be built, it will be dropped and it will work. Concurrent projects of uranium separation at Oakridge and the manufacture of plutonium at Hanford Washington...proceeded with total conviction even though the explosive power of fission, while calculated had never been observed. In today's globe where everything is miniaturized and communication is at the speed of light, nonetheless, both the uranium bomb and the plutonium bomb were only a few pounds in weight as necessitated by 1945 technology. With higher quality nuclear materials and infintely better tampers and higher neutron efficiency, you can only guess the little size of today's devastating nuclear devises.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-12-13 18:50

    However, not so hot for insight. My favorite book for learning calculus is less than 200 pages, the one I had in school was over 1,000 pages. If you are looking for the first book, this is definitively that first book. If you are trying to fill in some holes and you have, say, a modern bachelor's degree; this book is a fun hour read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-12-13 18:50

    This is a fascinating insight into what physicists were thinking at the time of building the bomb, together with a sometimes amusing retrospective by Robert Serber. Although it is technical in locations the lectures were originally simplified to show the essential physics, which is perfectly accessible to any high-school e Frisch-Peierls memorandum is a nice touch; after reading Serber's lectures it gives and idea of what others were thinking and where the major uncertainties e electronic ver of the book loses a star due to the execrable editing; despite the steep price the publishers evidently decided none was necessary. The display equations are simply copy and paste photos interspersed with improperly typeset inline math littered with errors. The original lecture extracts and Serber's commentary are in the same font and it's not always simple to tell which is which. A shoddy job, UCP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Los Alamos Primer: The First Lectures on How to Build an Atomic Bomb, Updated with a New Introduction by Richard Rhodes []  2020-12-13 18:50

    This is a amazing book for someone who already knows a small about modern physics in general or the making of an atomic bomb. Written by the scientist who was charged with bringing fresh arrivals to the Los Alamos up to speed. Reading this book is like enrolling in a short course taught by a master teacher. You learn the same things that a scientist or engineer working on the Manhattan Project would have learned.If you have a month and wish to learn as much as possible, read Richard Rhode's books on the subject  The Making of the Atomic Bomb  and  Dark Sun: The Making of the Hydrogen Bomb . Be prepared to be exhausted. If you have an afternoon and wish to learn as much as possible sit down with this book. You'll learn a surprising amount of material. It's the ultimate crash course in fission bombs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to kiss for the first time [App]  2020-1-20 21:40

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the first move [App]  2020-2-8 13:42

    Not as Advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Make the first move [App]  2020-2-8 13:42

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unwrapping the First Christmas []  2019-12-20 18:43

    Dr. Cooper has written a book that is both engaging and faith affirming. A quick, but not simplistic read, this book addresses our Western fascination with Santa while pointing us to the real reason for Christmas, the incarnation. The first half of the book discusses pagan origins of Christmas and early church history, particularly Christianity's difficulty in separating from the surrounding culture. The second half of the book centers on dating of Jesus' birth as well as Christianity's relationship to early astrology. Like all amazing theology, this book has a devotional quality to it and constantly points us to our Savior, Jesus Christ. Pick up and read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unwrapping the First Christmas []  2019-12-20 18:43

    When I first heard about this book, I thought, “Just what we need, another Christmas book.” Then I read the synopsis and realized maybe this is a helpful offering for the season.Upon diving into this eloquent yet considered book, I recognized it is a much required and timely deconstruction of what the West knows of Christmas. “Unwrapping the First Christmas” peels away the layers of commercialization and oft misguided tradition and what we are left with is the attractive mystery of the birth of Jesus. I look forward to using the devotional found in the back of the book with my daughter in our bible study time. I strongly recommend to anyone who celebrates Christmas. I can’t wait to share this with mates and family this season.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden In Plain Sight 8: How To Make An Atomic Bomb []  2020-1-16 0:26

    As I was reading this book, I was questioning some of its statements so I started researching them from reliable sources. I found that there is some fairly misleading "facts" in here. I continued reading for a while but realized that there was much that was not really in line with scientific discoveries or scientific thought. It's trying to be a series on physics, but is more a jumbled mess of the author's thoughts. If you believe the ramblings of Deepak Chopra, then this book is for you. (But please don't believe it). If you are a scientist or a critical thinker at all, it may create you ill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden In Plain Sight 8: How To Make An Atomic Bomb []  2020-1-16 0:26

    A amazing book. I like the YouTube links which take me to the old historical films that supplement the text. A amazing fresh idea for enjoying the book and films all on the one device seamlessly. The historical pictures also add to the ambience and the formulas and equations of the Math and Chemistry and Physics are just what I love as an additional dimension to the overall text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden In Plain Sight 8: How To Make An Atomic Bomb []  2020-1-16 0:26

    I began reading this book primarily because I enjoyed Andrew Thomas ' previous 7 books. Not so much because I was actively seeking to learn about making an atomic bomb. However , I have to hand it to Andrew again, he sure knows how to show a topic in a very compelling and entertaining way. The end effect of understanding how a nuclear weapon is place together wasn't the amazing payoff for me. The payoff was from the journey of learning the history and science that went into creating the atomic bomb and the different other applications the technology can be used for. Another amazing read by Andrew Thomas!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden In Plain Sight 8: How To Make An Atomic Bomb []  2020-1-16 0:26

    This book includes nothing that isn't included in most of the books written about the Manhattan Project except for an interesting introduction regarding a meeting with Edward Teller in 1964. There is a amazing deal of difference between knowing how to build a bomb and actually making one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden In Plain Sight 8: How To Make An Atomic Bomb []  2020-1-16 0:26

    It is the first book I'm reading by this author and it was fantastic! I kind of stumbled upon this book by accident but I'm glad I e author does a amazing job of introducing the topic and then builds on that for the rest of the book.Another point in favor is that he explains rather complex ideas for the average reader i.e not from the field with rather accessible concepts and examples. It was a amazing amazing read. I decided now to read the entire series from the first book not the latest though...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden In Plain Sight 8: How To Make An Atomic Bomb []  2020-1-16 0:26

    An perfect and a very entertained acc of the making of the atomic bomb. It works almost like a recipe plus history, amazing humor, and illustrations, i.e., videos, drawings, links, and photographs, that in the total sum gives you the idea that for a moment at least you knew how to build a small piece of sun in your is book is highly recommended with all the rest of the serie. I have read four of them and all are five star y ir. You'll not be dissapointed at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden In Plain Sight 8: How To Make An Atomic Bomb []  2020-1-16 0:26

    "Hidden in Plain Sight 8" is a somewhat strange departure from Dr. Thomas's other books in this series, which delve into the fundamental mysteries of reality. You can complete the book in a couple of sittings because it's short, simple to read and well-written. The appendix goes into the mathematics of differential equations used to determine the critical mass in some detail, which is fine for technical wonks like myself, but it may be a bit intimidating to a general e Kindle ver includes numerous links that immediately take you to interesting Internet video clips and web sites. I think that was a very nice touch. The book is technically accurate and is based on simple to get declassified material. It gives an fascinating historical acc of the discovery of nuclear fission and the development of atomic energy, including a number of vintage photographs.I think the author could have included a few other details, however. For example, Germany also attempted to create an atomic weapon during WWII. Did they give up because their scientists calculated the wrong value for the critical mass? Or were there other reasons for their failure like internal sabotage? Another detail that should have been included involves the operation of nuclear reactors like Fermi's popular "pile" on the squash court in Chicago discussed in the book. It turns out that about 1% of the neutrons in a reactor core are "delayed neutrons" meaning they are emitted by the decay of daughter products of fission. As the name implies, delayed neutrons are released seconds or mins after the fission that produced the daughter products, thereby increasing the time constant for supercriticality. Without this time delay, a reactor would be uncontrollable, becoming what is termed "prompt critical" with a time constant on the order of milliseconds. There have been a number of prompt-critical accidents involving reactors, including the popular Chernobyl is is a very interesting and well-researched book. I learned quite a few info from it, such as the fact that the projectile in the original gun-type uranium bomb was hollow. Dr. Thomas also revealed a very necessary design safety feature that prevents stolen nuclear weapons from being detonated unless exact hidden timing sequences are applied, That info certainly helps me sleep at night. This was a amazing read and well worth the price. I'd definitely recommend the Kindle version. Unlike some other Kindle books, this one clearly displays the formulas. Five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden In Plain Sight 8: How To Make An Atomic Bomb []  2020-1-16 0:26

    If you are a knowledgeable science and physics reader, there is nothing really fresh here. However, it has some really interesting background leading up to and through the Manhattan Project, especially covering Leo Szilard. As most people know, he was the person that convinced Einstein to write to FDR about the chance of making a bomb. There is extra info covering his relationship with Einstein and his earlier contributions. Well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden In Plain Sight 8: How To Make An Atomic Bomb []  2020-1-16 0:26

    This reviewer, as a technical person who went to school in the era of “atoms for peace” and learned some theoretical nuclear physics and had access to an experimental nuclear reactor, found this book about making an atomic bomb fascinating. In particular, the fascination was in efforts “to search out if a credible nuclear explosive can be designed with modest effort, by a few well-trained people without contact with classified information.” As it turns out the author demonstrates on the one hand, the simplicity of the concepts that are readily available but on the other hand this is juxtaposed with, for example, the WWII Manhattan project constructing a building in Oak Ridge, TN larger than the Pentagon to enrich Uranium, U-238 into U-235 with a 2,892 scene process. Such efforts clearly are only in the realm of nation states, making the theory relatively straight forward but the engineering massively difficult and expensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden In Plain Sight 8: How To Make An Atomic Bomb []  2020-1-16 0:26

    Andrew Thomas is brilliant - explains complex ideas of physics and our reality in a thoroughly engrossing way, then puts them in a set of books that sell for cheap. This whole series ought to be part of any high school or college physics curriculum. By the way, I don't necessarily buy every idea in the book series, but certainly do with most of them. The rest are unbelievable meal for thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Make Friends with the Dark []  2021-3-4 19:14

    Warning: this book will grab your heart and pull it out of your chest. But it's so amazing you won't mind. I'd been warned I would cry, and I did. I've lost several close family members and Glasgow does such an awesome job describing what that grief feels like. I won't be forgetting Tiger anytime soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Make Friends with the Dark []  2021-3-4 19:14

    This was a tough read to obtain through. Not because of poor writing, the writing was well done, but because of my own issues, it hit home beautiful deeply and I found myself having to stop to gather myself before I could continue.I really felt for Tiger as well as the other characters, especially for Thaddeus. You really don't know what people are going through and you can only deal with things the best you know how.I think sometimes the only method to survive is "Making mates with the dark".This book doesn't just deal with loss and grief, it also touches on abandonment, abuse, addiction and making some crappy choices. Sometimes the poor things that happen to you in life affect the choices you make. It's realism.I'm glad the author didn't just have Tiger grieving for a day or two then making everything honkydory after that, because life doesn't work that method and grieving is a long process. The pain never goes away, you learn to live with it. Some days being harder than others. Some days you're okay and other days it can hit you like a ton of bricks. So I'm glad the author gave realism to loss and ere was something that tugged my heart towards the end when there's talk of loved ones visiting in dreams, it created me cry yet gave me a warm feeling because I saw loved ones in my dreams that felt so true and peaceful and it, I don't know how to explain it, it just tugged my heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Make Friends with the Dark []  2021-3-4 19:14

    It wasn’t a poor book. It just wasn’t good. The plot was weak. The story wasn’t told from a relatable main hero and the story line was just slow. I couldn’t even finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Make Friends with the Dark []  2021-3-4 19:14

    I cried a lot thru this book. I went thru the grief process first as a six year old when my grandparents died young and they were my second set of parents... always around en at 17 my best mate committed suicide. Its been 20 years and I still mourn her every. Single. Day. Some of the things said in the book resonated and some were fresh to me. Perfect story. Glad it was written and glad I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Make Friends with the Dark []  2021-3-4 19:14

    This book broke my [email protected] heart! The End!Mel 🖤🐶🐺🐾

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Make Friends with the Dark []  2021-3-4 19:14

    Tiger Tolliver is a fairly typical, sixteen year old girl, trying to search her method in the world. She's looking forward to her first school dance, enjoying her first kiss with her first crush, and wishing her mother would finally give her some autonomy. And it's those wishes that drive Tiger to attack her mother when she finds out she's purchased her a matronly dress for the dress. It's those wishes that motivate Tiger to tell her mom to 'just leave her alone!' And it's those wishes, that create that the latest encounter Tiger will ever have with her mother.When June Tolliver dies unexpectedly from a brain aneurysm, no one is more shocked or devastated than her only daughter. Tiger has no one else in the world. She has no idea who her father is and her mother was an only kid whose parents died when she was a young woman. Alone and sixteen, Tiger thrown into the foster system where she learns that not a lot of people care about her woes and a lot of of whom have even worse troubles of their Tiger tries to navigate her fresh life without her mother, she faces more and more unexpected challenges that will try her sense of self, create her question who her mother really was, and will upend any semblance of a life she is was an extremely emotional read. Tiger's grief is palpable and the heartbreak leaps off the pages. Just when the sadness felt overwhelming, levity and hope were injected into the story, adding twists I didn't expect. Though it is a young adult novel, the content and heaviness created it a slower read for me. All in all, I found this to be a truly attractive story about family, love, loss, grief, and coping with the devastation of losing your mother.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Make Friends with the Dark []  2021-3-4 19:14

    Glasgow’s sophomore novel is as raw and strong as her searing debut, Girl in Pieces. Tiger’s grief is heart-breaking and so very real. I ached as I read this book. For Tiger. For Glasgow’s gorgeous prose. For all the children I’ve known in related situations. Tiger reminds us that there is no one, excellent method to grieve, just as there is no one, excellent method to mother or love or survive. How to Create Mates With The Dark is hard and devastatingly beautiful. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Make Friends with the Dark []  2021-3-4 19:14

    (I received this book in exchange for an honest review from netgalley. This in no method shapes what I say about the book.) I am absolutely mind blown at how awesome this novel was. From the very first sentence I was ready to not stop and to see where kathleen was going to take us on this journey. I will say, if you need a trigger warning please be warned about abuse and suicide. Those subjects were discussed but, it wasn’t as overpowering as I was expecting it to be due to me getting out of a domestic violence situation recently. The storyline was very captivating and I felt apart of the book the entire method through. It was very well written and I will continue to read anything she writes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Make Friends with the Dark []  2021-3-4 19:14

    Bonus for my daughter. Not sure of the story line as it was a book on her xmas list and we have various reading interests but hardcover and well made. As long as it makes her satisfied and she enjoys it is all I care about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Make Friends with the Dark []  2021-3-4 19:14

    Probably the saddest book ever and the sadness just lingers until it suddenly takes a downward dip and then pops back up and wraps up the whole story just like that. On the fence about the star rating, but overall, this was a really amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving the Original Sinner: How Christians Have Used the Bible's First Man to Oppress, Inspire, and Make Sense of the World []  2020-1-31 21:56

    This book is about and for Christians wrestling with questions about a historical Adam and Eve. Giberson begins by discussing the current controversy over the historical Adam, in which he is personally enmeshed. He then discusses the history of the doctrine of original sin, the history of concordist tactics for relating science and the Bible, God’s Two Books (Scripture and nature) and the racial implications of views on a historical Adam.During his discussion, Giberson breaks down the Christian responses to biological evolution into fundamentalists circling the wagons, traditionalists trying their best to embrace science, and modernists understanding the Bible as a purely human book. He makes an necessary distinction between the less necessary biblical Adam (how and when he was created) and the more necessary theological Adam (the source of sin, death and the curse).Giberson concludes that “the key to making peace with evolution was learning to do without an historical Adam” (p. 172), that “Adam and Eve, as described in Genesis, cannot have been historical figures” (p. 173), and that “there is no original sin and there was no original sinner”, but that “we must not forget that the Christian tradition’s long conversation about sin was primarily about what was wrong with us and only secondarily about how we got to be that way.” (p. 176)Meanwhile, his publisher has committed the bibliological sin of endnotes instead of footnotes, and has compounded that sin by listing the endnotes only by chapter number, while the text is identified on each page only by chapter name, making the notes even more unnecessarily difficult to find. This ought to earn his publisher a spot in at least the “vestibule” of Dante’s riously, Giberson’s book is a well written, informative, and interesting history of Christianity’s views on historical Adam over the past two thousand years. He does not go into how Christianity needs to deal with the fresh reality, but Giberson is, after all, a scientist, not a theologian. Others, like John Bimson, Robin Collins, Peter Enns, Daniel Harlow, Denis Lamoureux, John Schneider, Raymund Schwager, and Christopher Southgate are dealing with the theological issues, for which a satisfactory resolution has yet to be found. Theologians are going to be busy for a long time.I heartily recommend this book to Christians struggling with the historicity of a historical Adam and its implications on Christian theology and anyone else interested in the discussion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving the Original Sinner: How Christians Have Used the Bible's First Man to Oppress, Inspire, and Make Sense of the World []  2020-1-31 21:56

    As an atheist I started reading Saving the Original Sinner fearing it might be a dull religious screed eschewing rationalism for faith based ideas of Christian ethics and politics...happily this wasn't the case at all, in fact quite the opposite. Mostly a "Modernist" Christian defense of science versus Christian fundamentalism and biblical literalism, Mr. Giberson clearly and convincingly info how for the latest 1600 years or so, the concept of a literal Adam (and other Biblical myths) has worked as a counterweight to cultural and scientific progress within Western Christianity. Giberson argues that Biblical literalism isn't compatible with the scientific method, rational thinking, evolution, etc., and that its this literal interpretation that has caused a lot of of the abuses of Christianity: racism, slavery, closed-minded anti-scientific irrationalism, persecution of heretics and so on. His arguments are well reasoned pleas to stem the tide of increasingly isolated and fanatical American Christian fundamentalist theology. Giberson opens and closes the book by discussing how he and other university professors have been fired or otherwise shunned for teaching evolution and anti-literalism at certain evangelical universities in the US. Apparently intellectual freedom and begin dialogue don't exist for questions of faith at these schools where they'd like to prevent the spread of heresy.A highly recommended work indeed, with the caveat that it seems primarily intended as an inner-faith dialogue between Christians. A lot of of the arguments will likely be superfluous for the non-religious or those of other faiths, but even as an outsider I found it a fascinating discussion, as well written and reasoned as any of the current anti-religion/pro-science works of Richard Dawkins, Daniel C. Dennett, Christopher Hichens, Jerry Coyne, John Loftus and such.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving the Original Sinner: How Christians Have Used the Bible's First Man to Oppress, Inspire, and Make Sense of the World []  2020-1-31 21:56

    Dr. Giberson most latest book, Saving the Original Sinner, takes the reader on a bit of a historical journey by providing an overview of how Christians for the past 2,000 years have treated the story of Adam and Eve. For anyone interested in learning about just how Christians throughout the centuries have interpreted and used Genesis 2-3, this is a amazing book to obtain your is in his introduction that Dr. Giberson introduces the reader to not only the primary claims of young earth creationist groups like Ken Ham’s Answers in Genesis, but also to their determined efforts to destroy any Christian scholar or scientist who crosses their path. In their minds, to question the historicity of Adam is to destroy the Gospel itself. Given this, the goal of the Giberson’s book is beautiful straightforward: to respond the primary question, “Is young earth creationism correct when it claims that its view of Adam and Eve has been the method Christians for the past 2,000 years have always viewed Adam and Eve?” The answer, as Giberson conclusively proves beyond the shadow of a doubt, is a resounding, “No.” When one looks back over the course of the past 2,000 years—from Philo, to Augustine, Aquinas, Dante, Francis Bacon, Columbus and the early explorers, slave owners, abolitionists, modern day young earth creationists and theistic evolutionists—it is abundantly clear that the story of Adam and Eve in Genesis 2-3 has been read and understood in a host of various chapter 1, Giberson provides a brief overview of the happenings in Genesis 1-11, and then points out that any decent reader will see that there are a host of unanswered questions in Genesis 1-11. Because of that fact, people have tended to speculate on what the answers to those unanswered questions may be. The 1st century Jew Philo of Alexandria speculated that the first man was far superior to those living in the show day. Papers were written in 17th century France, arguing that Adam was 140 feet tall. Modern day young earth creationists teach that Adam was 12-16 feet tall, possessing superintelligence and a excellent chapter 2, Giberson focuses on the Apostle Paul’s treatment of Adam. Perhaps the quote that best sums up Giberson’s point about Paul is the following: “Paul’s engagement with Adam, however, is far from straightforward. His tradition read their scriptures with the assumption that Adam and Eve were historical figures, as true as Moses and David. But precisely because they assumed this history uncritically, it is hard to tell how necessary it was to them. Our historical questions were not theirs” (30). Giberson’s point is simple: Did Paul assume Adam was a historical figure? Probably. Was that a question Paul ever really gave much thought to, or considered crucial to the proclamation of the Gospel? Probably not. Although it might seem that Paul implies all humans inherited their sinful natures from Adam, the fact is that no early Church Father within the first three centuries viewed Adam that way. It wasn’t until Augustine that such a view became so influential in Western apter 3 is an interesting chapter, in that it provides a glimpse of how the early church in the early centuries dealt with the theological understanding of sin. Giberson points out that when talking about the reason for the evil world, early Christians pointed to Satan and demons, and never really referred to Adam and his fall into sin. The main question in regards to Adam was simply this: “Did he pass something down to us that makes it impossible for us to avoid sin? Or do we have the same possibility to avoid sin as Adam did?” (50). Basically, in the early Church, on predominant method Adam was viewed was as "Everyman."In Chapter 4, Giberson points to Augustine, the one who established the “original” doctrine of original sin, as the one who probably is most responsible for American Christianity’s rejection of evolution. It was Augustine who established for the Western Church Adam as the historical source for original sin. How this eventually takes one to American Christianity's rejection of evolution--well, you need to read the Chapter 5, Giberson gives us a glimpse of the Late Middle Ages, and discusses medieval scholars like Thomas Aquinas, Copernicus, Dante, and the medieval notion of "natural philosophy."In Chapter 6, Giberson takes us on a brief jaunt through the 16th and 17th centuries. The overall gist of the chapter is that with the emergence of the scientific revolution and the age of exploration, the assumption that Adam and Eve were historical figures became more entrenched. At the same time, though, that didn’t stop people from using the story of Adam and Eve in a dozens of Chapter 7, Giberson discusses how the people of the scientific revolution first addressed the problem of the age of the earth. A lot of people have heard about Bi James Ussher, who added up the genealogies in Genesis and concluded that God made the universe in 4004 BC. Yet there were others at that time who were also speculating on the age of the universe. The reason for this type of speculation should be obvious. As Giberson notes, there became an increasing attempt to reconcile Genesis 1-11 with the fresh scientific learning that was sweeping the West. This is known as concordism—and it is from this that different attempts (i.e. Day-Age theory, Gap theory) to obtain Genesis 1 to “jive” with science came.I search chapter 8 to be one of the most fascinating chapters in the book. Giberson takes us to the 19th century, and the emergence of Darwin’s theory of evolution. Yet Darwin’s theory was not the only thing that revolutionized how we see creation (and subsequently Genesis 1-11). The other major discovery was that of certain doents of the ancient Near East, namely the creation myths of Gilgamesh, Atrahasis, and the Enuma Elish. Together, these two things sent tremors throughout the scientific and religious communities of Europe and America. It is in this chapter that Giberson summarizes the different reactions to Darwin's theory: that of the "Modernists," "Traditionalists," and the "Fundamentalists."In Chapter 9, Giberson takes the reader on a tour through the dark side of racism. Contrary to the claims of Ken Ham, the racism of the 19th century was not an evolutionary phenomenon. Racism existed in all walks of life, and some of the most ardent racists were so-called Christians who used the Bible to help things like slavery. If ever there was a chapter that blew a hole through this claim by Ken Ham, chapter 9 is Chapter 10, starting with George McCready-Price, and making his method through Henry Morris, and all the method up to Ken Ham, Giberson focuses on the modern 20th-21st century young creationist movement, and it exposes some of the truly bizarre claims it makes. Needless to say, the subject of Chapter 10 could have been a book unto Chapter 11, Giberson takes the reader full circle, to the dilemma he introduced back in the introduction: the danger the YEC movement poses for the Evangelical community. After briefly describing a number of scientific discoveries that simply obliterate YEC supposed scientific claims, Giberson then points out that a lot of of the theological arguments versus evolution are the exact same arguments that were levied versus Copernicus’ claims of a heliocentric universe: it upsets Christian theology, and it conflicts a literal understanding of the early chapters of conclusion, I found Saving the Original Sinner to be a unbelievable book that provides a very insightful overview at how Christians throughout the past 2,000 years have read and interpreted the Adam and Eve story. If anyone wish to obtain a mini-lesson in Church history on this topic, Giberson’s book is a amazing put to start. In addition to that, though, one will also have a firsthand acc of the kind of pain and frustration a lot of thoughtful, Christ-honoring, sincere Christians have suffered at the hands of—if I can sound very grade-schoolish—some people who are just mean.If you have wrestled with the problems of the age of the earth and the historicity of Adam, Saving the Original Sinner is a amazing put to obtain your historical bearings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving the Original Sinner: How Christians Have Used the Bible's First Man to Oppress, Inspire, and Make Sense of the World []  2020-1-31 21:56

    Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving the Original Sinner: How Christians Have Used the Bible's First Man to Oppress, Inspire, and Make Sense of the World []  2020-1-31 21:56

    I received the hardcover ver of this book through the Goodreads First Read program. Liked it enough that I purchased the Kindle ver (mostly for Kindle's portability and note taking abilities.)In any event, it took me a long time to read through – not because it was difficult to read but because the topic matter needed much reflection.I rarely give a book 5 stars, normally only to books I feel are worth reading more than covers a lot of material, a lot of history of biblical literalism with emphasis on the difficulties of the historicity of Adam and Eve. And does it quite berson would likely consider me a traditionalist but I go to a fundamentalist church and am a scientist (Chemist) who reads the bible as God's story of Jesus Christ. I dont much care if the stories could have been filmed by Channel 4 News if they had been ey are stories that speak of God and how He interacts with us and what He has done for us through His I occasionally (OK frequently) run into difficulty with my fellow church members, I have been a Christian since 1983. I sometimes need to point out that even if the Bible is inerrant (and its not – just look up who was High Priest when David and the guys ate the shew-bread Fresh Testament ver and who was High Priest Old Testament version; in fact most Christian Apologetics seems to be explanations of how errors got into the Bible rather than demonstrating the errors don't exist) and even if the Bible is infallible (more likely depending on how you define/qualify the term) THEY ARE NOT! Fallible men reading the Bible with fallible sin-tainted eyes does not equal “God's plain teaching.”At least not at all times.I went to talk to a 40 year-old pastor to discuss the meaning of a passage not too long ago (I have been studying scripture since he was age 7) and his response was, “Don't you believe the Bible?” Well marginally better than, “you are calling God a liar” which I've heard from others at times. Boy am I off track. Well as Saint Paul said, for now we look through a mirror is book will create you think, and wrestle a bit with some serious questions. Enjoy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving the Original Sinner: How Christians Have Used the Bible's First Man to Oppress, Inspire, and Make Sense of the World []  2020-1-31 21:56

    Saving the Original Sinner is the most latest book from Karl Giberson exploring key problems in science and religion. Giberson's prose is winsome and informative. Although I teach at the university level on the subject, I learned several bits of historical information. The book is a product of extensive research!The concluding chapters were particularly stimulating. In them, Giberson mentions the consequences for Evangelical scholars who propose ways of reading Adam various from the usual/historical ways. Giberson argues that primary concept of original sin points to a deep truth about the evil prevalent throughout history and evident today.Unfortunately, Giberson is probably right when he says "anyone challenging the historicity of Adam should probably abandon evangelicalism, since they are likely to be ejected anyway." I pray this book helps to change this pattern of ejecting those who dare to discover the best in science and the best in omas Jay Oord

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving the Original Sinner: How Christians Have Used the Bible's First Man to Oppress, Inspire, and Make Sense of the World []  2020-1-31 21:56

    This book encourages an begin mind about the evolution of not only humanity but Christianity. I am still searching for where I "fit in" because of my fresh to me understanding a of science, evolution, and retaining my faith, this book has been helpful in showing me from where the path(s) my "inherited" beliefs came through history. I can accept that there is no literal, historical Adam and still believe that humanity is inherently flawed and needs the Savior.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving the Original Sinner: How Christians Have Used the Bible's First Man to Oppress, Inspire, and Make Sense of the World []  2020-1-31 21:56

    Perfect telling of the ruts "Christians" fall into, and tall tales perpetrated by those under the proverbial steeple.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving the Original Sinner: How Christians Have Used the Bible's First Man to Oppress, Inspire, and Make Sense of the World []  2020-1-31 21:56

    This book provides an historical overview of the history of Adam in Christian Theology which leads to the point where we are today in which a substantial number of people feel that they have to accept a literal Adam and Eve and being a part of their worldview. Dr. Giberson provides a amazing amount of expertise within the evangelical tradition. However, once he leaves that tradition to discuss other branches of Christianity, he is on weaker grounds. This book provides a helpful background to the current controversy over evolution

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving the Original Sinner: How Christians Have Used the Bible's First Man to Oppress, Inspire, and Make Sense of the World []  2020-1-31 21:56

    Evangelical Christianity is so threatened by scholarship that requires a flexible discussion of the Bible that any criticism is met with censure and isolation. Author Giberson knows this two well. His introduction almost borders on bitter as he recounts self-appointed guardians of the faith at theological college, traditional believers with no scholastic credentials but amply funded checkbooks, who wage intellectual battle versus legitimate biblical scholar, including himself, who are still being forced from their academic positions for daring to question the thing epitomizes the ongoing controversy between science and theology better than the first couple, Adam and Eve. DNA alone invalidates a literal pair of humans, particularly on Bi Ussher’s 6000 year timetable. Historically, the prominence of Adam dates back to Paul, who Giberson notes, was using Adam as part of a well-established literary tradition, not in a historical sense. In the Hebraic texts of the Old Testament, Adam is not a significant figure once expelled from Eden. Augustine establishes Adam as both the original sinner and the source of the original sin, positioning the first man in a role more necessary than Moses, Abraham, or even Paul. Giberson observes that in Augustine’s theology, only Christ has a more significant role than Adam. But even then, there was debate, there was discussion and science and theology were considered complementary studies, not berson believes, and makes a compelling argument, that modern inability to yield and the counterproductive belief in an inerrant Bible is causing radicalized Christians who embrace their inability to interpret and let interpretation as virtues. No distinction is tolerated that would differentiate between theological concepts compared to stories that are ephemeral from the authors and irrelevant today. So if someone can live in a whale for three days, or a flood can decimate the world, Adam must similarly be a real. These congregants live in a location of anti-science that self-perpetuates creationism, a fairly fresh concept developed by an amateur geologist and Seventh Day Adventist named George McCready Price combined biblical literalism and pseudoscience into a neat, easily digested package. And as science progresses, the chasm berson’s book is a renewed call for dialogue between science and theology. Not every scientific breakthrough is an assault on the faithful, and if a fresh discovery counters a core doctrine, Christians should feel free to discuss, not be forced to choose. The very existence of evangelicalism may indeed be under siege, but it is a situation of their own design, Giberson offers the leaders and institution a call to action to return to relevance in the modern world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how many days do you have to fill a prescription [Egosteva]  2021-3-12 10:13
    [email protected]

    fake prescription joke birthday

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEEKEEPING FOR BEGINNERS: How to Raise Your First Bee Colonies to Make Your Hive Thrive! []  2020-11-27 18:39

    My Mate Give It To Me , It's Really A Amazing Book. You Should Test It.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BEEKEEPING FOR BEGINNERS: How to Raise Your First Bee Colonies to Make Your Hive Thrive! []  2020-11-27 18:39

    This is amazing tutorial for anyone that is looking to obtain into beekeeping. Learned a amazing deal here, and appreciated how it talks about certain tools one should use as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Make Gnocchi: Learn How To Make The Perfect Gnocchi In The Next 10 Minutes! []  2020-7-19 19:6

    I was doing research on various kinds of dumplings when I came across this article on how to create gnocchi. I did not know that even Italian cuisine had its own ver of dumpling. I decided to create some gnocchi on my own (it was beautiful tricky to create especially for a newbie like me) and though it was not perfect, my dog kind of loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How To Make Gnocchi: Learn How To Make The Perfect Gnocchi In The Next 10 Minutes! []  2020-7-19 19:6

    The book had some amazing hints for judging the proper texture of the dough but there was no approximate measurements of the ingredients. Really doesn' give a put to begin from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Days: From Fake Snow to Santalands, The Things That Make Christmas Christmas []  2020-12-13 18:30

    I'm really enjoying this book, reading a chapter a day leading up to Christmas as it is intended to be read. For American readers: be aware that the focus of this book is on the history and traditions of Christmas in Canada, not the United States. I search it fascinating to compare and contrast our traditions, and I'm learning history I never knew (and I'm a huge reader of Christmas history and traditions.)But if you are looking for something about the history of Christmas in the U.S., this is not so be aware that the writing style is a @#$%!&oppy. The author is not a huge fan of complete sentences. It took a bit of getting used to for me to read the method the author apparently speaks. If grammar is necessary to you, skip this book - you will search it annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Skills Blueprint 2 In 1: How To Make It Past A 30 Second Conversation And Leave A Great First Impression []  2019-12-18 20:29

    By this book you can learn about what confident people know about boosting their self-esteem by using these 4 easy methods - and anxiety-ridden people don' to begin a conversation with a stranger - and how to fix it in no time if things obtain too awkward. Author also contain the absolute worst 6 things you may be doing right now, that are making things unbearable and awkward for everyone involved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Skills Blueprint 2 In 1: How To Make It Past A 30 Second Conversation And Leave A Great First Impression []  2019-12-18 20:29

    For anyone serious about understanding social theory, you should read this book. It has amazing examples and is simple to understand if you place in the time and read it seriously.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386