how to talk to boys Reviews & Opinions


Submit how to talk to boys review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boys Should Be Boys review []  2020-1-18 20:51

    I have two rambunctious small boys at home. William just turned four and Henry is two and a half years old. With #MeToo, #YesAllMen, and the gross Gillette commercial that aired recently, a lot of moms just like me are concerned for what kind of globe our boys will grow up in. How can we raise young men that aren't participating in #toxicMasculinity, but that are in fact masculine? Having grown up in a single parent household with my mother, I had no clue, and I wanted a better understanding of what masculinity is supposed to be. I decided to begin looking at books geared towards parenting boys. A mate of mine recommended Boys Should Be Boys: 7 Secrets to Raising Healthy Sons by Dr. Meg Meeker and I went right out and bought it.Let me say, if you are one of those people who has #Feminist in your twitter bio, you are probably going to HATE this book. Dr. Meeker takes a no-nonsense approach to boyhood. She talks practically and with real pragmatism about the challenges that boys face in our modern society.Dr. Meeker address things like:pornographyboundaries and ruleselectronicsteenagerssexhow to address difficult situationsthe influence of mothersthe importance of fathersThe true kicker for me came on page 224, where Meeker writes:“There are only a handful of adults in your son's life who will teach him the amazing lessons in life. As his parent, seize the day. HE won't learn these virtues from three hours of television, two hours of computer time, or even six hours in school. He needs to learn them from you, and to see how you place them into practice. There's no time like the show to support your son become the man you wish him to be. He is waiting.”As I said before, Meeker doesn't pull any punches. She is a large advocate for masculinity and boyhood and calls out lazy parenting and schooling for creating this fear of masculinity that we see so predominantly in society today. Overall, I give Boys Should Be Boys: 7 Secrets to Raising Healthy Sons by Dr. Meg Meeker a SOLID A+ and I recommend it for anyone who has a son, knows a small boys, teaches school, works at a church, or might one day wish to have a positive impact in a young man's life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boys Should Be Boys review []  2020-1-18 20:51

    Ideas of gender neutrality have damage our understanding of males at every scene of their development. There is amazing info in here that will go versus current social trends, but it is exactly what needs to be understood.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boys Should Be Boys review []  2020-1-18 20:51

    This is a amazing book about being a father to me reviewers say this is fundamentalist-religious, anti-feminist, anti-single-mother, or whatever. Ignore them. This book is simply very good, common sense tip and you should buy it and inculcate its a man who grew up without his father and a poor step-father, I know in my gut some things were very wrong with the method I was raised. Is this a slam versus my mother? No. It's simply the realization that she couldn't do it all and that I required a better man in my life than I had. Now that I am father to a son, who do I look to for advice? Where do I turn? How can I avoid making the mistakes created with me? How can I support my son to grow up emotionally fitter than I was (or am)? How can I support him to be successful without being overbearing? How can I stop the generations-long family tragedies and test to have a amazing family? This book helps.Dr. Meeker gives voice to what I recognize went wrong with me, my dad, and his dad. And by articulating it, by giving a name to the problems, I can meet those issues head on, avoid them or overcome them. I'm very thankful that she wrote the book and I am glad I bought it. It was a painful read at times because it dredged up poor memories that really created it clear just how poorly I was raised, but at the same time it fills me with hope that I can raise a satisfied and healthy the way, I bought the Kindle edition and with that I was offered a discount to buy the audio edition for only $3.99. I took a possibility and bought it. I'm so glad I did, and it's a testament to how amazing Amazon is. I reckon that I will buy hard copies of this book and give them to mates and family.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on how to talk to boys or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch how to talk to boys video reviews and related movies:

    See Girl Talk : How To Hold A Conversation With A Guy !!!!😩🤔💕| Dont Worry Sis I got you 😉💋| on youtube.

     related image

    See HOW TO TALK TO BOYS on youtube.

     related image

    See How to Talk to Guys (and more!) on youtube.

     related image

    See Cute Qualities Guys Notice First When Talking To A Girl! on youtube.

     related image

    See HOW TO TALK TO BOYS! on youtube.

     related image

    See HOW TO FLIRT WITH YOUR CRUSH: HOW TO GET HIM/HER TO LIKE YOU on youtube.

     related image

    See How to Keep a Conversation Going With a Guy (Watch Till The End) on youtube.

     related image

    See How to STOP Being Shy and Awkward (FOREVER) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boys Should Be Boys review []  2020-1-18 20:51

    What a amazing book! I have t even finished the 1 st chapter and I’ve already learned so much and created a list of things that I can see that basically are not working. After reading it makes so much more sense time why these are not producing the outcome I expected...because I am raising boys! They need to be allowed to be boys. My husband and I have already begun to trade screen time for green time for our boys and they have no complaints! Meg Meeker, thank you for following the Lord and using your profession to support millions of children and parents! You have always been a blessing in our home and we thoroughly have fun you podcast.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boys Should Be Boys review []  2020-1-18 20:51

    Created me reconsider how I will be raising my two year old. It was tough in some places, but I really learned and can refocus my attention now. It also created me appreciate how my dad raised me and where I can do better. It was a amazing book on how to raise confident sons into men.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boys Should Be Boys review []  2020-1-18 20:51

    I have two small boys and this has created a large difference on how I think about raising them. It is intuitive and interesting to listen to. I plan to read it every few years throughout my boys' childhood and adolescence. It doesn't push beliefs or any kind of agenda, just presents what the author has found to be real from years and years in the industry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boys Should Be Boys review []  2020-1-18 20:51

    this is a unbelievable book, written by a medical doctor who is also a mom. her ideas are solid and informative, suggesting the 2 most necessary things you can do to raise a healthy son is to 1. spend time with him and 2. teach him about God. I am enjoying reading her insights and ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boys Should Be Boys review []  2020-1-18 20:51

    I love this book and have told a lot of people about it. It really breaks down parental roles and what our boys need to be contributing members of society versus the entitled generation that we hold creating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boys Should Be Boys review []  2020-1-18 20:51

    amazing read for mothers who think boys should be calm and sedate. They need to learn social graces yes,.., but allow them be the animals they are born to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boys Should Be Boys review []  2020-1-18 20:51

    Everyone wants to raise a son to be a person they'll be proud of - honest, hard working, ethical, virtuous. All these are things we have to support them with. This book is so amazing and imformative, I am ordering more to give to my mates and family who have sons. The author gives a lot of true life examples and her book is fabulously written!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Talked to Dogs: A Memoir review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:2

    This book far surpassed what I expected. Martin shows anybody fortunate enough to read this book that honor, courage and compassion exists in all living beings, we simply have yet to figure out how to communicate these traits with one another, human, dog, and as I am beginning to understand, all species. I read this book expecting to be entertained, and entertained I was! Having never traveled far I was thrilled to live in Martin and his package of dog's world, even if only for the time I enjoyed his words. The Ireland he describes so vividly created me realize that his home, and mine are not all that different. People will bully, and the bullied will survive, grow, learn, love and become whole. This book will stay with me for a long, long time. Thank you, Martin Mckenna for writing it, and living rough, and by doing so learning how to talk to dogs, and ultimately how to reach another human being with your story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Talked to Dogs: A Memoir review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:2

    Here's a hypothetical question to begin with: If you had to choose between your human mates and your animal/pet friends, who would you choose? If you didn't have to think very hard before choosing the pets, I definitely recommend this book. Martin McKenna's story about three years of his life is fascinating because after running away from home, he was basically embedded with a package of feral dogs. He observed how the dogs interact with each other and how they communicate. Soon the dogs created more sense to him than humans and he didn't suffer the anxiety that he felt around his family or at school.While the story is mainly about his relationship with the dogs, his history is interesting in a lot of ways. He grew up with ADHD at a time when people believed the method to deal with an unruly kid was through humiliation and "discipline" (in quotes b/c what was once called discipline is now considered abuse). I would have liked to read more about this because this was a fast read and he mentions he couldn't read or write and was bullied at school, but there's no true explanation for his arrested development other than his ADHD. Nor was there much explanation of his perseverance to literacy and ultimately becoming an author. He shares a lot of devastating info of his life before he ran away, and while he lived on his own. I found myself invested enough to wish to know more about his life after he joined the human globe ank you to the publisher and NetGalley for providing me with a copy for review. I enjoyed it and recommend to animal lovers, and especially anyone who has bonded with animals after having felt misunderstood by the globe around them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Talked to Dogs: A Memoir review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:2

    This was a very emotional book for me because for almost sixty years we have had a dog in the house. I now have a greater understanding about how to interact with them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Talked to Dogs: A Memoir review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:2

    An wonderful , enjoyable and insightful read. I could not place it down and I highly recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Talked to Dogs: A Memoir review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:2

    Purchased as a bonus for our son in law who was most happy to keep it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Talked to Dogs: A Memoir review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:2

    I liked it very much. Would recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Talked to Dogs: A Memoir review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:2

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Talked to Dogs: A Memoir review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:2

    G00D

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Who Talked to Dogs: A Memoir review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:2

    It was NOT what I expected!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy Meets Boy review []  2020-1-12 18:34

    One of my favorite books in a very long time. Ok, so this was a small too much perfection. I can’t imagine that this city will ever exist, & quite frankly I don’t wish it to (I have no use for all the intolerant vegan nazis). That said, this is fiction & was a nice small escape to la-la land. There was even just the right amount of reality involved. I got the 10th anniversary edition which answered a lot of questions. One thing that stood out to me was that the hero Tony was based on a song about a boy who committed suicide & this book was an attempt at changing his so I absolutely loved the ending! It was so excellent leaving them all out in the clearing together rather than a typical prom stage ending.I really can’t say enough amazing about this book!LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy Meets Boy review []  2020-1-12 18:34

    I love David Levithan's books, this one included. My only second thought on this particular story is that the setting is so completely unrealistic. My young gay mate said the same thing - if only a high school and community really responded like this to gay kids, life would be great. But it doesn't, so while it's a fun read, it's also a small disappointing if you're looking for something a small more true-to-life. Definitely something to aspire to for those of us in public education, though. Children with gender and sexual identity questions can always search some hope and fun in Levithan's works. I book talk his work frequently, and children love his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy Meets Boy review []  2020-1-12 18:34

    What an awesome writer. If this book is not for you, please consider itfor your son or daughter. This book is very, very helpful to young gay kidsthat are going thru the problem that being gay can bring.Lots of questions are answered here. It's not a Q & e story is helpful. I can't recommend it uly a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy Meets Boy review []  2020-1-12 18:34

    Muy breve relato que juega con la idea de una realidad diferente (¿utópica?) en la que los conflictos de género que hoy se viven cotidianamente se han solucionado prácticamente en su totalidad. La historia, entonces, trata de mostrar cómo más allá de las dificultades externas, los sentimientos y las emociones nos hacen difícil la existencia por los propios miedos o expectativas que tenemos. Se queda un poco en la superficie y el final me resultó repentino y abrupto, pero es entretenido y, como siempre, los diálogos son divertidos o emocionantes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy Meets Boy review []  2020-1-12 18:34

    The beginning didn't feel like a David Levithan novel. His books always have been so grounded and true to me. This started out kind of ridiculous and outrageous. A lot of of the characters were larger than life. The town it takes put in also seemed nonrealistic. The high school includes a cheerleader biker gang, a high school cover band, and a few drag queens. All of the high school characters seem very sure of themselves. It felt like adult situations just transplanted into a high school and even earlier with stories that go as far back as elementary school. But I think Levithan did this all purposefully.About 80% into the book I finally understood why Levithan made a globe like this. With the protagonist "having it easy" it creates a special lens to look at other gay youth in various situations. The chapter entitled "Tony" had me on the verge of is was David Levithan's first published book and I think you can tell. A lot of of his signatures are just beginning to emerge. The wit and charm of his writing are there. Unique, quirky, and random still describes his writing, but his writing has grown in his more latest books.I did have fun this book and I give it a 4/5. But, if you are looking for a modern gay story you should read "Two Boys Kissing". If you are looking for depth and conversations of sexuality, gender, and individuality you should read "Every Day". I will continue to consume as much of David Levithan's writing as I can.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy Meets Boy review []  2020-1-12 18:34

    Paul has it beautiful easy. The high school sophomore discovered and accepted his homosexuality at an early age, his parents love him the method he is, and he apparently attends one of the most liberal high schools in America. The football team’s star quarterback is a drag queen, who is also elected homecoming queen. Paul has a close circle of friends, which contains his gal-pal Joni and Tony, who in sharp contrast has fundamentalist parents that are trying to pray his gay ever, while Paul may be free from a lot of of the more unpleasant problems often faced by gay teens, his life is far from uncomplicated. As “Boy Meets Boy” opens, Paul has a possibility encounter with Noah, a fresh child at school who takes his breath away. Paul has had boyfriends before, but nobody he felt as strongly about as he does for Noah. And, apparently the feelings are mutual, but things don’t go smoothly for our hero, as his life gets even more complicated and he has to struggle to victory Noah’s heart.I usually avoid books labeled “Young Adult” (YA). I’m definitely not young, and I’m not really crazy about the adult part either, but this book came highly recommended so I decided to give it a try. Told in the first person by Paul, the story starts out a small over the top, with the boy discovering he is gay in nursery school and running as the first openly gay class president of the third grade. By the time you obtain to the cheer-leading team on Harleys, you’re most likely at the whatever scene of just going with it. Oddly, it’s right about this point that the tone gets a small more restrained.While the writing remains relatively breezy throughout, the tone does obtain more somber as Paul faces some true challenges in trying to balance the demands of his friends, his budding romance and being in high school. While Paul faces a lot of of the typical problems of being a teen in love, the story is thankfully free of all the angst that usually makes YA books so avoidable. Yes, he has the occasional moment of doubt, but he never sits on the fence for long. The characters may not grab you, but they won’t bore you at the characters didn’t grab me, I place down to the enormous difference between us, both in terms of age and experience. It’s been a very, very long time since I was in high school, and that was back in the dark ages when those of us who were gay generally tried to blend in as much as possible. There were no openly gay students in my rather huge suburban high school, so Paul’s globe is something I have a hard time even imagining. Paul’s globe is so far removed from my own that it almost reads like speculative fiction, rather than simply an exaggerated view of what the globe can be like for teenagers today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy Meets Boy review []  2020-1-12 18:34

    Already honored as an ALA Top Ten Best Book for Young Adults, An ALA Fast Pick, A Fresh York Public Library Book for the Teen Age, and A Lambda Literary Award Winner, David Levithan's BOY MEETS BOY lives up to its reputation as a groundbreaking gay-themed novel for young adults. The tension made between the characters is top-notch, and the writing quality something after which every writer ul has known he was gay since his Nursery school teacher wrote it in his report card: "PAUL IS DEFINITELY GAY AND HAS A VERY GOOD SENSE OF SELF." Since then, his life hasn't been as difficult as it probably should have been. The city he lives in is supportive, his family loves him for who he is, and Joni (straight as a toothpick) and Tony (also gay--they're just friends) are his best mates forever. Joni's mom and dad are like a second set of parents to Paul, and he's practically got Joni's house memorized he's spent so much time there. Tony's life hasn't been easy. Because of his church-going parents, he's had to lie to them for years so he could sneak out to have any kind of fun. And fun they had.Everything changes when Paul meets Noah, the fresh child at school. Noah's parents don't know he's gay. From the moment Noah invites Paul into his personal art studio, things heat up between the two of them. At the same time they're hitting it off, Paul's old boyfriend Kyle wants to obtain back together. Tony's trying to figure out how to tell his parents who he really is. And Infinite Darling, the drag queen quarterback and homecoming queen, can't seem to mind her own business because her mates are her business.Unfortunately, the characters (Noah excluded) are largely one-dimensional. It's as though the children attending this school are completely obsessed with and defined by their sexuality, while Noah's hero is the only one with any depth to him. The rest of them seem only interested in figuring out their gender and sexual orientation, begging the question--"If these children don't wish people to define them by their sexuality, then why don't they define themselves by something else?" Chalk it up as a missed opportunity to have characters who happen to be gay, instead of gay at said, Paul's story is about love. About how "part of love is letting a person be who they wish to be." How "if you wish to be loved," you've got to "be lovable." It's about a child who everyone else thinks has it all together, and the truth is that when compared to most children like him, he probably does. Even still, he can't support but "want to feel like life matters," like the courage of his mates will somehow create a difference, like for once, he'll be able to have and to keep something real. Which is all he really wanted in the first ed by Jonathan Stephens

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy Meets Boy review []  2020-1-12 18:34

    I had this book in my TBR pile on my Kindle for quite some time and I finally finished it today. I enjoyed it, but I can certainly see how some readers may hate it. I hate to be repetitive, but this is indeed a fantasy world, but not a fantasy globe in a sense that there is magic and fantasy species populate it. No, this is the globe which should be our true globe IMO, with people accepting that everybody is various and being gay does not create you any various from a straight person. I understand why author set it up in the "real" world. The characters indeed could use more development, but even as is they did not annoy me, again I can easily see though how some people may see them as too perfect. So, yeah, I liked it, but I can see the opposing POV very clearly for this one. If you will feel that the characters and settings are too whimsical for you, you are not likely to have fun it.3.75 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy Meets Boy review []  2020-1-12 18:34

    This is a amazing book. If we only lived in a globe where parents are supportive of kids who fall in love with someone who just happens to be the same sex. I hope one day we do. The characters in this book will stay with you long after you read it. I finished it a couple of weeks ago and still think about Paul and Noah. At first, I felt like there wasn't enough hero development before Paul met Noah. I was upset when Paul almost allow Noah slip through his hands. Then I realized, we all do this. We think the grass may be greener with someone else. Before I spoil this for you, I will stop. Allow me say that my hat is off to Mr. Levithan. I would definitely recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy Meets Boy review []  2020-1-12 18:34

    I have a fun time reading this one. My only regrets is that I did not pick it up sooner. The prose is lovely, the narration refreshing and delightful as we obtain to experience Paul's charming young gay life through his eyes. Paul's life is every young gay boy's dream, acceptance by family, mates and teachers. He knows who he is and is more or less certain of life. He is surrounded by a cast of interesting friends. Tony, his best gay mate who does not have it simple with his religious parents. Joni, his best female mate who now values her boy mate more than her best friend. Kyle, his ex-boy mate who wants Paul back. The quirky and humorous Infinite Darlene, a drag queen but also the star quarterback hunk. Latest but not least is Noah, the Boy whom Paul loves at first sight and will do everything to keep on to.A very charming, heartwarming and hate free atmoshpere, where gay boys and girls could love freely, this one is a gem of a story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape review []  2020-1-22 22:29

    This book was recommended by a mate who has also gone through the poor ordeal of rape. I thought it might support me understand her pains further. This book really challenges you to think and recall your own interactions of the past and show and sometimes I had to place the book down as some of the stories really create you mad at the perpetrators and cry out for the victims. It really highlights the various aspects of rape and it's impact to people's lives. No matter who you are I would highly suggest reading this as this may even create you review your own opinion of rape victims and rapists themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape review []  2020-1-22 22:29

    This is a book that should be read by anyone with a warm, vulnerable body and a mind begin to reading about others with related bodies and minds. It is an extraordinarily generous and loving book - really, considering the title, unexpectedly so. I feel augmented and filled with light. Regardless of all the pain, what remains is the light.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape review []  2020-1-22 22:29

    It can be exceedingly difficult to write about rape in a method that makes people wish to hold reading. Sohaila Abdulali has poured her considerable compassion, wisdom, and wit into writing a book that does exactly this. Every chapter elicits powerful feelings, sometimes even laughter, and introduces a fresh and complex idea about a subject that is too often over-simplified and reduced to stereotypes and platitudes. This book should be needed reading..for all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape review []  2020-1-22 22:29

    One of the most necessary books I have ever read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape review []  2020-1-22 22:29

    Item arrived on time and as presented.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape review []  2020-1-22 22:29

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape is a must read. It’s a no-holds-barred, direct light on rape, on survivors, on rapists, and on our society in general. And it’s brilliantly written. Sohaila Abdulali writes a story that reads like a conversation, peppered with facts and real life stories, as well as references to her own private experiences. For me it was such a refreshing read, because Sohaila Abdulali talks about rape and sexual assault in the method it should be talked about: without holding at said, there are locations in the book that may be triggering to some, and there is no method most people will be able to read this in one go. With the status (collapse) of this country right now and all of the mayhem flying around on the news, the nomination and subsequent confirmation of a perpetrator of sexual assault to the Supreme Court, even after the survivor testified and subsequently vilified, as well as just trying to obtain through life in general, I had to read this book in little doses. I’m glad I did because I feel like I got a lot more out of it than if I had sped through ere are certain locations that stood out to me so much while reading that I jotted down some notes, but in general each chapter includes very necessary information, even the interludes. (Interlude on a moment of terror specifically hit me hard). Here are my notes:Sohaila Abdulali does such a unbelievable job of giving the survivor a platform, and not just from a standpoint of they have a voice too, but by showing how widespread victim blaming is, how we look at everything in black and white, and how each time we mention choice we base that choice on our own perceptions without ever putting ourselves in the put of the victims. This is something that always irks me terribly, when I hear the “but she could have...”, the “but why didn’t she walk away...” etc etc. The onus needs to be on the perpetrator, NOT the victim. We need to stop scrutinizing the victim and begin scrutinizing the perpetrator. Sohaila Abdulali is so right about this. So right. I know personally that until we do this I won’t be able to speak either, because what stops so a lot of women from speaking, even years later, is the fact that they know they will be judged, even by those who don’t think they are ere are so a lot of locations that I similar to, and also locations that were very revealing. It was only recently that I equated the fear I feel on the dentist chair to another fear I felt as a child, and Sohaila Abdulali explains the correlation so well. It’s the same feeling I have had with doctors and why I avoid male doctors, especially after some experiences in pregnancy and childbirth that left me feeling even more violated than I felt haila Abdulali was born in India and survived a brutal rape as a young woman. She went on to work as a rape counselor and public speaker, amongst other things, and also spent a lot of her academic life studying and writing about rape and rape culture. When the #MeToo movement moved to the forefront in 2017, an old magazine article she had written 30 years before where she talks about her rape resurfaced. Sohaila Abdulali then went on to write this book even though she wondered whether it was a safe thing for her to do seeing as she mainly has been able to move on in her life. I am personally so satisfied that she did write this book as it has been very, very helpful to me, and in general I think it should be assigned literature for all to read.If we don’t talk about rape we will never see a ank you Sohaila Abdulali!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape review []  2020-1-22 22:29

    Thank you to NetGalley, The Fresh Press and Sohaila Abdulali for an ARC ebook copy to review. As always an honest review from me.What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape is a book we need to be talking about more. When the author started talking about rape in India, few people were discussing the topic. Now more people are, especially with the #MeToo Movement. But culturally there’s still more to be done. This book helps explain a lot of of these concepts. Most people know and believe that rape is bad. It gets ambiguous for some people when it comes to the actual definition of rape, consent and micro agressions, rape culture and its contributions to actual assaults, sexual harassment and more. It’s shocking to me, but not completely surprising, that a lot of people don’t understand these nuances.I like that the author educates the reader about the nuances of rape culture. It doesn’t come across as preachy, but more like “here’s some info that you might not know. Allow me share it with you.” I think most people could learn something , if not a lot of extremely necessary e only negative aspect of the book is that it could be a trigger for some people. So read with caution and please take care of yourself.Overall, another extremely relevant book to continue on with the discussion of the #MeToo conversation. Give it a read, and let’s begin talking!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape review []  2020-1-22 22:29

    Content warning: Naturally a book with ‘rape’ in its title is going to come with a content warning from me. This book is confronting so I would caution you to be aware of the potentially triggering nature of the content, but it was one of the best I’ve ever read on the e author considers the difficulty of categorising this book and I agree; it’s a blend of private experience, other peoples’ experiences and insights. What kept popping into my head as I was reading was that it’s a conversation. I loved Sohaila’s down to earth tone and how she makes this multifaceted and too often silenced experience approachable. Her writing is considered and empathetic. She doesn’t shy away from the gravity of the trauma associated with rape, yet at the same time I came away feeling hopeful and validated.“Discussions about rape are so often irrational, and sometimes outright bizarre. It’s the only crime to which people answer by wanting to lock up the victims. It’s the only crime that is so poor that victims are supposed to be destroyed beyond repair by it, but simultaneously not so poor that the men who do it should be treated like other criminals.”Although titled ‘What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape’ this book is also about what we don’t talk about when we talk about rape, like how “it’s the weirdest things that can obtain you. Like dentophobia.”When I was two thirds of the method through this book I’d already recommended it to a counsellor who works for my state’s rape crisis hotline and would recommend it to anyone who has experienced sexual assault, knows someone who has experienced sexual assault, works with people who have experienced sexual assault or wish to read an intelligent, thoughtful book about this truly global issue. While there are stories of people from America in this book there are also those from all of those other locations that aren’t America, like India, Australia, Africa, Europe and the Middle East. There’s also a unbelievable cross section of peoples’ experiences, from the poorest and most marginalised to well known cases and e whole notion of ‘institutional consent’, which holds to acc both men and women, was surprisingly fresh to me; “you know you can obtain away with it because the whole system is set up to support you obtain away with it.”My favourite lightbulb moment during my first read of this book (I expect it will be the first of a lot of reads) came when I encountered an acronym that has validated my experience so much. Jennifer Freyd, writing about betrayal trauma theory in the nineties, “proposed that abusers frequently answer to accusations with “DARVO” - Deny, Attack, and Reverse Victim and Offender.”There were a few sections that seemed a bit disjointed to me and info of some stories were repeated in a couple of chapters, although the repetition did serve to remind me which person’s experience I was reading about. Absent from this book was any mention of women who rape; while uncommon, it does happen, and I would be interested to hear what this author has to say about is book is sociological, political, private and contradictory. Now, contradictory may sound like a criticism but it’s not and as Sohaila expresses, rape and the method we talk about it is contradictory, so to highlight these contradictions is vital to an honest discussion. I loved/hated the “Lose-Lose Rape Conundrum”; it is so infuriatingly accurate:“If you talk about it, you’re a helpless victim angling for sympathy. If you’re not a helpless victim, then it wasn’t such a huge deal, so why are you talking about it? If you’re surviving and living your life, why are you ruining some not good man’s life? Either it’s a huge deal, so you’re ruined, or it’s not a huge deal and you should be quiet.”Thank you so much to NetGalley and The Fresh Press for the opportunity to read this book. My current activism level is set to: Need to do something positive immediately!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape review []  2020-1-22 22:29

    Thank you NetGalley and The Fresh Press for this ARC."So what is this book? It's about shining a light on what we talk about, but also on what we don't talk about."This is a fabulous description of the content. The author sits you down and talks to you like an older sister. Sharing stories, facts and opinions while allowing you to form your own. She questions everything and makes you feel safe and welcome to do the same."Discussions about rape tend to be irrational, and sometimes outright bizarre."No one likes talking about rape. It's a horrible occurrence and uncomfortable for everyone. Does that mean we shouldn't talk about it? Of course not. I search the things we are most uncomfortable talking about are usually the most necessary things to discuss for that very reason. No one talks about it."Words are the opponent of impunity."Opening a dialogue on any subject we are uncomfortable with can only cause it to become easier to discuss the next time. I search starting a conversation about rape is always weird and awkward and sometimes scary when you hear other peoples opinions. It's necessary to create it part of the discussion. It is necessary to create people feel comfortable coming forward and talking about experiences, emotions and knowing that they are safe to do so."If we can expose our kids to talk of genocide, racism, bikini waxing and the inevitable melting of the planet, why should we leave out sexual abuse?"I really enjoyed her begin and honest approach. She doesn't claim to be an expect or that there is a right or wrong method to deal with or discuss sexual abuse. She just opens the door on the conversation and gives you info to be show in that conversation."No matter what the respond is, we certainly won't search it if we don't talk to each ere was some repetition with the stories, but not enough that it ruins the experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape review []  2020-1-22 22:29

    With the advent of electronic communication, it is far easier for us today than it ever has been before to search and converse with others who are like-minded or who have related experiences/backgrounds/cultures. This has been a unbelievable development, allowing collaborations and real-time info updates, and so much more. And, although it is difficult to consider this a "positive," per se, our ability to share info around the globe at the speed of sound has enabled us to see the darkest parts of humanity.We should not cheer to realize that women and girls throughout the globe are being systematically raped. We cannot consider it a boon to society that rape is deliberately used as a tool to terrify, subjugate, threaten, and control vulnerable people. However, we, as a global people, must not be willing to back away from this info and plead ignorance. We know what's going on. Now, we need to do something - a lot of somethings - about it.Rape is something that we must never become comfortable with or let to become set apart from us, as a larger group. I love this book because it does not shy away from the subject of rape. This is a genuine, brutally honest discussion about one of humanity's worst weapons. This book gives us names and faces, facts and histories. True info to broaden our understanding and let further honest conversations to thing this book is not, is comprehensive. Don't look to it as a complete subject contained within two covers. This is just a start. A method to become familiar with terminology, some primary facts, and then it is up to the reader to hold progressing from much needs to be done to address the rape crisis in this world. What to do for survivors, how to prevent attacks, how to punish violators. How to educate about the reality of this situation. How to stop victim-blaming. How to prevent the creation of fresh survivors and ke no mistake. Rape is absolutely a weapon. Rape has been used as a weapon since time immemorial, and is still used today because it continues to do exactly what the violators wish it to do. Rape still causes catastrophic damage. Rape is still terrifying enough to create people willing to bend to another's will, if only to avoid it event to themselves or others.I don't personally believe, at this point, that we will be able to take the power out of rape. What we can and MUST do, however, is search a method to create the cost unthinkable to offenders, and to empower victims and would-be victims. And we must, must search a method to answer on a global scale, as this is genuinely a global problem.I cannot recommend this book highly enough. I sincerely think it should be needed curriculum in every high school, secondary school, and college throughout the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable review []  2019-12-18 20:49

    An perfect book this is ! It covers all the salient features similar to little talk and its importance for living well with a developed and also extraordinary personality. This book specifies few practical steps to be implemented to obtain rid of all the obstacles like little talk issues that can keep you back. A well planned guideline to obtain your anxiety and fear under control has been mentioned to support you with making a amazing first impression as well as following up with the relationships you'd like to continue. You can go on with this to be aware of the merits of little talk.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable review []  2019-12-18 20:49

    After reading this book I felt more confident of going out there are making some sort of conversation with people I normally don't associate with in a regular basis. And I can vouch that from private experience, the instructions in this book are a tremendous boost to this book the various strategies to use in various situations are given, but personally I think at the end of it you can implement these strategies anywhere you want. Most importantly and the part that captured my interest was the chapter on reading body language and facial expressions. I now actually practice in front of the mirror to learn to cover up my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable review []  2019-12-18 20:49

    A pack of amazing hints and tactics for developing your communication skills has been offered in this book. Each chapter of this book discusses on a particular subject and shares a clear suggestions and steps to be taken for improving your communication skill. The author also gave importance to the development of active listening skills and mentioned various ways to do it. On the whole, the contents inside this book must enable you to shine your personality. I would like to recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable review []  2019-12-18 20:49

    Some people are such introverts that they refuse to even go for a counselor's help. I can understand a majority of that feeling. Its not all about just being able to go out and talk, but its also about knowing that the listener does actually listen to and likes to talk to you. In this book, I realized that there are numerous practices one can employ to obtain themselves out of their shell all on their own, sorta like a DIY anti-introvert guide. Particularly I was immensely interested by the facts in chapter 2 on the Non-Verbal actions that say a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable review []  2019-12-18 20:49

    A book that you can actually use practically. The instructions and tip are all logical and simple to follow. The author follows a gradual course of study, dealing with the difference circumstances where shy people obtain stuck. And each circumstance, he asks self assessment type questions, such as "Would they agree with what I say?", "Is this the right thing to say?"... so there, people do come across those questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable review []  2019-12-18 20:49

    This book gives quite sensible and easily practicable measures to take to become a social person. Additionally, I see this as a amazing feature in this book - it does not only give the theory of the concept or solely the practical, but it deals with both of them together, like why and how this certain practical will improve your skills. The book begins with making a amazing first impression and my first impression of this book came from that chapter - perfect guidance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable review []  2019-12-18 20:49

    It's necessary for us to know and aware how to communicate well to others. So that we can build a amazing relationships , for our better humanity. This is necessary aspects in our life to have mates and to attend some events. That will support us to grow, I learned a lot and I realized that my skills is not enough to achieve it. So that I really need to apply all the skills and techniques to complete it. And I know it would be simple to achieve what I want. Thanks for sharing this it is a huge support for me to improve much my self.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable review []  2019-12-18 20:49

    I finally found the right tutorial how to apply excellent my conversation to others. The most common weakness from that is my fear and of course insecurities. That gives me lot of questions and how to handle it, it's very necessary to know the right skills. To build a powerful communication we must know how to apply well . Amazing conversations will lead us to become more happier and comfortable , in our daily life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable review []  2019-12-18 20:49

    A learned a lot of things that I really need to improve more my self. We need to control ourselves when we communicate to others. Be grateful and nice to them, and expressed ourselves in an enthusiastic but not in a judge mental manner. Now I fell more confident and aware to build lasting ,fulfilling relationship to others. I know that it will work and I will be success in what I wish in my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Small Talk: An Introvert's Guide to Small Talk - Talk to Anyone & Be Instantly Likeable review []  2019-12-18 20:49

    Fulfilling relationship is the method how we communicate well. And the attitude we have both of them have a huge role to our everyday life. This build us to do things together more frequent . That we build a powerful and amazing friendship, that is the skills and techniques that I need. To become simple and fast I will apply it asap. Thanks for this unbelievable and helpful tutorial that really needs of anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Talking-live chatting. review [App]  2019-10-25 13:23

    Totally fraud Application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Talking-live chatting. review [App]  2019-10-25 13:23

    Useless App, 100% pay2win. You can't even notice a woman, need to have a subscription.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Talking-live chatting. review [App]  2019-10-25 13:23

    怎么不能换中文

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Talking-live chatting. review [App]  2019-10-25 13:23

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Talking-live chatting. review [App]  2019-10-25 13:23

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy review []  2020-1-18 20:14

    My 10 yr old loves Dahl's books, but this one fell flat. We were excited to hear about where he lived, how he grew up and his adventures, but it was hard for my son to relate to Dahl's experiences. Lots of time spent talking about boarding schools and punishments from different headmasters and teachers , in too much detail. I tried to discover how various things were back then with my son (no cars, no modern medicine, no airplanes, various kinds of schools, etc) but he looked forward to to book ending so he could move on to something else.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy review []  2020-1-18 20:14

    Amazing children’s book. Very amazing book to read as a family.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy review []  2020-1-18 20:14

    I have never read any of Roald Dahl's children's stories, but have always wanted to. His first memoir, BOY, is a very slight volume, less than 200 pages, but it is full of perhaps the most delightful and whimsical vignettes of childhood ever penned. While it is real there are some very shocking references to beatings and "canings" which were apparently quite common in English public schools, administered by both the masters and the older boys, the overall tone of the book is one of wonder and fond reminiscing. This is particularly real when Dahl talks of his home life, which was obviously a very loving albeit often unsupervised time, when boys could just be boys. Dahl's father, a very successful businessman, died when Roald was very young, but his mother, a Norwegian immigrant, kept her huge blended family (6 kids in all) very well, and stayed in Wales (then England) to raise them all, as her husband would have wanted her to. What I found most interesting in the book (although it was ALL absolutely wonderful) were the stories of young Roald's experiences at different boarding schools. These things happened back in the 20s, and yet a lot of of these tales were so much like my own stories from one year in a Catholic seminary (a boarding school) that I was astounded. For example, when he explains "Prep," which was the same as what we called evening "study hall" at St Joe's in the late 50s."Every weekday evening the whole school would sit for one hour in the Main Hall, between six and seven o'clock, to do Prep. The Master on duty for the week would be in charge of Prep, which meant that he sat high up on a dais at the top end of the hall and kept order ... The rules of Prep were easy but strict. You were forbidden to look up from your work, and you were forbidden to talk ..."This easy descriptive passage took me immediatley back to St Joe's Seminary in Grand Rapids when I was just 13 or so, and sat at my study hall desk right next to my mate Tom Cassleman. We often skirted these strict rules by raising the tops of our desks, ostensibly to obtain a book or pen, so we could whisper to each other or pass notes, smirking and huffing silently to each other, immensely happy with ourselves at fooling the priest "master" up on the dais in the center of the hall. Ah, yes, Mr Dahl got it right, even though he himself was a fearful small boy of only nine in his tale, which took put in an English school over thirty years before. I could relate, as could any St Joe's student from those years in the 1950s. As for the canings, they were gone by the 50s in American schools, but we could be sent to see the dreaded Dean of Discipline, Fr Leo, if we were caught for any infractions of the rules. And I did hear rumors of a certain perhaps predatory short Monsignor who invited the smaller boys into his rooms to "counsel" them. Thankfully, since I was already over six feet tall, I never got the call. Another passage in Dahl's story which I immediately felt a kinship with was the one where he talked of the propensity of doctors and dentists in his day who never bothered with anesthetic when operating on children."Pain was something we were expected to endure. Anaesthetics and pain-killing injections were not much used in those days. Dentists, in particular, never bothered with them ..."Yup, I had an old-school dentist, even in the 50s, who didn't believe in "wasting" novocaine on kids. The prevailing theory was that children didn't really feel pain. I remember crying every time I got a filling, and I got a lot of them back in those pre-fluoride days. Dr Brown would frown and tell me to "stop being such a baby." @#$%!&?! Once again, Dahl understood and got it right. If it isn't obvious yet, I loved this book. On to its sequel now, GOING SOLO. Watch for my review of that soon. - Tim Bazzett, author of the Reed Town Boy trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy review []  2020-1-18 20:14

    We have the printed and Audio versions of this book. Dan stevens does a very amazing job of narrating. My 9 year olds were at the edge of their seat listening.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy review []  2020-1-18 20:14

    This was fun to read. Ronald Dahl is an interesting chap!The story caused me to wonder about the headmaster though. Hmm...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy review []  2020-1-18 20:14

    I loved this autobiographical narrative when I was 9 and was a small apprehensive about purchasing it for my girls who are less seeped in British culture and for whom a lot of of the cultural references would be lost, but I was wrong, they loved it, were not place off by any of it and it is the first book in this genre they have tackled so I am satisfied it was a amazing experience. This is not just a amazing read, when I was at school it was used to teach us life narratives so I recommend it for classroom use as well (3rd grade and upwards).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy review []  2020-1-18 20:14

    I am almost 50 and bought this book because I still just love reading anything by Dahl. I was not disappointed. I passed the book off to my 10 year old nephew. Hope he decided to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy review []  2020-1-18 20:14

    This was needed for summer reading but he actually really liked it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy review []  2020-1-18 20:14

    The snippets of clear childhood memories were interesting and provocative. These would serve as springboards for a lot of of Dahl's future books. If you are a fan of his works, I think you will have fun this mini autobiography!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Boy review []  2020-1-18 20:14

    goog

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Hamster, Repeats What You Say Plush Animal Toy Electronic Hamster Mouse for Boys, Girls & Baby Gift . review []  2020-1-25 22:4

     Took my time reading review comments of the a lot of talking hamster products. This one worked out of the plastic (no packaging) and sounds great! This is the one to get.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Hamster, Repeats What You Say Plush Animal Toy Electronic Hamster Mouse for Boys, Girls & Baby Gift . review []  2020-1-25 22:4

     Work perfectly! Fun to play with, and will be a amazing bonus for others. Very cute hamster, I named it Mr. Hamster:) Have a lot of creative video idea that can be done with it. I also bring it to a android game night party at my dorm, and we had a lot of fun, amazing conversation stater. Recommend;)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Hamster, Repeats What You Say Plush Animal Toy Electronic Hamster Mouse for Boys, Girls & Baby Gift . review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    My dog LOVES IT and takes it to the other room. It still records my voice while he is in there!! I was pleasantly surprised by that!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Hamster, Repeats What You Say Plush Animal Toy Electronic Hamster Mouse for Boys, Girls & Baby Gift . review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    I bought this to play with my animals - 2 dogs and 2 cats. They have a ball with this thing. I hold it up and out of reach so that they can hear it answer to them. I also turn it on randomly when we have guests. This was the best entertainment investment ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Hamster, Repeats What You Say Plush Animal Toy Electronic Hamster Mouse for Boys, Girls & Baby Gift . review []  2020-1-25 22:4

     I stumbled across this and was totally intrigued. Not only does the talking hamster repeat what you say, it does it with the same intonation that you used, except in a chipmunky voice. If you sing a song, it will sing just like you did, in a hamster voice. One thing I found is that it doesn't work well in a crowded room where a lot of people are talking, since it seems to wish to wait for a silent break before it starts talking. So it works best in a quiet room. Right now I am driving my wife crazy with it. I like to tell her first thing in the morning "Good morning, gorgeous!" Now I have the hamster joining me with my morning greeting, and she just says "Ugh."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Hamster, Repeats What You Say Plush Animal Toy Electronic Hamster Mouse for Boys, Girls & Baby Gift . review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    My husband and grandson loved it so much I had to by a second one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Hamster, Repeats What You Say Plush Animal Toy Electronic Hamster Mouse for Boys, Girls & Baby Gift . review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    My niece away talk to me about talking hamster ,I buy this for her birthday bonus ,she love this .she tell me when she sad or satisfied away tell hamster 😂😂😂

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Hamster, Repeats What You Say Plush Animal Toy Electronic Hamster Mouse for Boys, Girls & Baby Gift . review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    This was so fun to see how my son and daughter reacted to this. It repeats their words in various voices. It is so cute,hilarious and they love it! This talking hamster is a amazing bonus for both boy and girls!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Hamster, Repeats What You Say Plush Animal Toy Electronic Hamster Mouse for Boys, Girls & Baby Gift . review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    I ordered it as a white elephant bonus but we had so much fun, we ordered a second one ten mins after playing with it. You will die laughing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Talking Hamster, Repeats What You Say Plush Animal Toy Electronic Hamster Mouse for Boys, Girls & Baby Gift . review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    Love this! Bought it for fresh baby but need to buy another for myself. I created a huge mistake in not checking Amazon first before buying a talking hamster online from another FB advertiser. The Amazon talking hamster is much much clearer to understand than the other one purchased from 5to9 which I regret doing but what's done is done. I'm going to order another one from Amazon and everyone that has seen this (family, friends, etc.) are planning to do the same. It's a true hoot for all ages...can't stop laughing even tho you're actually only laughing at yourself because it's just repeating what you say. Can't explain it but it's a true gem! So glad I bought it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Woodyotime Moving and Talking Unicorn Toys Repeats What You Say Interactive Plush Toys for Boys and Girls Perfect X'Mas and Birthday Present (White) review []  2020-1-25 22:4

     This talking and moving unicorn is amazing. Well created and so cute. My daughter is going to love it. Would definitely recommend to my friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Woodyotime Moving and Talking Unicorn Toys Repeats What You Say Interactive Plush Toys for Boys and Girls Perfect X'Mas and Birthday Present (White) review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    Parents, DO NOT create the mistake we did in presenting this to our daughter before installing batteries. The screw holding the battery compartment was screwed down too tight. The plastic was cracked, and the screw itself was stripped. Cue bawling 5 year old girl, distraught over having to send back her Yule toy (which was set to arrive two days before Yule, but came 5 days late) for a replacement. So when we got the replacement, it had the exact same issue. At least this time I checked it husband and I are livid that this ruined our daughter's holiday. Don't allow it ruin your child's.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Woodyotime Moving and Talking Unicorn Toys Repeats What You Say Interactive Plush Toys for Boys and Girls Perfect X'Mas and Birthday Present (White) review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    Friend’s child came to visit, he was obsessed with this unicorn, so I got him one for his birthday. What a lovely unicorn!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Woodyotime Moving and Talking Unicorn Toys Repeats What You Say Interactive Plush Toys for Boys and Girls Perfect X'Mas and Birthday Present (White) review []  2020-1-25 22:4

     Really cute. It walks too which is super cute!! But...The sound quality is not good though

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Woodyotime Moving and Talking Unicorn Toys Repeats What You Say Interactive Plush Toys for Boys and Girls Perfect X'Mas and Birthday Present (White) review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    Thought it was really cute, granddaughter loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Woodyotime Moving and Talking Unicorn Toys Repeats What You Say Interactive Plush Toys for Boys and Girls Perfect X'Mas and Birthday Present (White) review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    Very cute unicorn. My son has named it Uni, latest name corn. LOL. Both my son who is 8 years old and my daughter who is 23 months LOVE this walking, talking unicorn. The unicorn repeats whatever you say to it. It will walk when it is repeating back to you. Very cute! The children are having so much fun screaming and yelling into it, as well as just talking to it. It has a cute small voice when it talks back. With the horn it measures about 11 inches and has a soft plushy feel. AAA batteries needed. We are very satisfied with our purchase. Definitely can not go wrong giving this as a bonus or just getting it for your kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Woodyotime Moving and Talking Unicorn Toys Repeats What You Say Interactive Plush Toys for Boys and Girls Perfect X'Mas and Birthday Present (White) review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    The playback is not super clear it's a small crackly but my seven-year-old loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Woodyotime Moving and Talking Unicorn Toys Repeats What You Say Interactive Plush Toys for Boys and Girls Perfect X'Mas and Birthday Present (White) review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    i bought this for my daughter,and she really taken to this toy and loves to play with it. She always walks with it, pats it , kisses it and takes it for a ride in her buggy. It seems to be a sturdy small toy and she is able to control it easily. Excellent size and soft too. REcommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Woodyotime Moving and Talking Unicorn Toys Repeats What You Say Interactive Plush Toys for Boys and Girls Perfect X'Mas and Birthday Present (White) review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    Ok so my 4 year old is just thrilled that Santa brought this. Mom and Dad not so much. It does repeat everything in a high pitched voice. Warning do not have it on by a crying toddler. Toddler will obtain more upset and you will die laughing at the sounds it makes. [email protected]#$%! had a volume control function and timed out after a bit. Overall it has served it's purpose and maid the 4 year old happy. But it may have to run out of battery before too long. Would be a amazing bonus to give to someone else.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Woodyotime Moving and Talking Unicorn Toys Repeats What You Say Interactive Plush Toys for Boys and Girls Perfect X'Mas and Birthday Present (White) review []  2020-1-25 22:4

    So my 5 yr old received this for his birthday. Honestly it is really fun and does a million things. He sings, dances, repeats what you say and shoots disks, just to name a few. The only problem we had was upon opening it he would shoot disks because of misplaced wires in his head. I'm positive it is probably just a fluke. I got an immediate response from customer service and a fresh one should be on its way. I would totally buy this one again and have recommended it to other s really cute

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Hoo-Boy: The Adventures of Candy Boy review [App]  2018-11-6 13:0

    Not good graphics with disastrous gameplay..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    TalkRating: Talk Back to Talk Radio review [App]  2019-8-13 21:19

    registered, no email sent, checked all in boxes, waited 15 minutes, nothing. tried to re-register but states user name is taken. no method to request registration email to be resent. can't use app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Crisis: Why Our Boys Are Struggling and What We Can Do About It review []  2020-1-6 18:34

    One endorsement of The Boy Crisis claims that is “the most necessary book of the 21st century.” I would amend that to “most important book.” Encyclopedic as it feels–almost 500 pages–it could have been four or five books, given the wealth and dozens of its topics. While aimed at parents, particularly fathers, as they help struggling young men to search healthy purpose and real male success in life, reading it causes me to reflect on my life as a man. For some women it may be a tough read, given that it incisively challenges a lot of of the near dogmatic assumptions of what is wrong with men by offering well-researched alternative ere are two distortions in the male narrative that challenge us, the distant or absent dad in contemporary societies and the anachronistic sacrificial disposability of men in the gender meta-narrative. Both need be questioned and countered. Farrell and Gray do exactly om the fathering perspective, the demands of work life and familial help all but eliminate meaningful presence in parenting for a lot of men, while divorce, on the increase as women search self-sufficiency, may exclude them entirely.When it comes to true combat, men don’t count, except for a few heroes, living or dead, who sanctify the sacrificial offerings of the rest. Everyday news reports from battle zones count women and kids dead and mutilated, leaving men to lie among the numberless casualties or be identified the poor guys who killed them. In famous media the killing of men is part of daily entertainment and causes small concern. “The traditional male character is about self-sacrifice, not self-actualization.” The battlefield and the workplace often function alike in this ough the women’s movement is rightfully empowering women to resist abuse and search rewarding and satisfying roles in life, there is small effort to let men to follow “the glint in their eye”, to evade or redefine the stock, stereotypical roles of protector and provider. It is time for men to say their own, “Me too.” One hopes that the coming generation, now seemingly destined as micro-entrepreneurs, will have greater freedom to do so, but a fresh outcome does not depend solely on messing with the constraints of capitalism and commodification, but also on redefining the traditional male sense of purpose and adopting a life style that flows from it and supports e book is replete with parental insights and suggested practices that start to provide for this shift to a broader sense of purpose. This should not echo the veterinary sense of “fixing” men, but is about opening paths of opportunity for richer, more satisfying and, yes, heroic roles in male creativity, relationship formation and parenting. A amazing part of this is identifying and countering the “social bribes”, the pay-offs which deviate men from discovering their richer purpose offering a false currency of acknowledgement for outdated and too often tragic role most the latest third of the book is focused on mental health problems most specifically on ADHD and its causes, effects and alternative remedies. I was hoping for OCD as well but was disappointed in this respect. Much wants e pages are extremely well written, often with memorable lines in bold print. A few examples:• “Time trumps dime” – valuing a father’s time with family, not just his earnings.• We are inclined to “Save the whales but not save the males.”• The shifting economy, “from muscle to microchip.”The endnotes are abundant and supportive of the content, which will no doubt be contested as it frequently contradicts commonly accepted assumptions about men, their behavior and their highly touted sum, thanks guys!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Crisis: Why Our Boys Are Struggling and What We Can Do About It review []  2020-1-6 18:34

    Just got The Boy Crisis today and while I have not yet read the whole thing I am very moved by what I have read so far. Warren Farrell has been researching and studying the struggle facing boys for decades and is able to offer a perspective on their plight perhaps like no other. I predict this book will kick off a fresh movement. Or at least a very necessary cultural conversation about how we as a nation are supporting, or in so a lot of ways not supporting, our is book, I should add, is not saying that girl’s problems aren’t true or don’t matter. Not at all. Rather, it takes the perspective that for society to be healthy both boys and girls need help and love and positive views of themselves. I couldn’t agree more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Crisis: Why Our Boys Are Struggling and What We Can Do About It review []  2020-1-6 18:34

    My dad was in the invasion of Okinawa on Easter Sunday April 1st 1945 and returned from battle with what they called shell shock. His father served in WWI and defending the country was an honor to my dad's early to mid-career as a pipeline electrician, he had debilitating panic attacks, smoked, became alcoholic, had un-anesthetized shock treatments, and was prescribed Librium and other drugs. Not an simple home-life for any of us but in his devotion to living by the code, he stayed until he quit drinking in the via the recovery movement, and quit smoking, too. Mom, although not alcoholic, followed his lead. My dad died fairly recently at 90. Boy Crisis place the missing pieces together for me. Not only in relationship to my dad, but my brother, uncles, cousins, husband, stepson, and a C-suite consultant for 18 years in the gas and oil industry, I've seen the emotional scars and I’ve heard the Amazing Santini stories. And, I know engineers who could have been professional musicians and financial executives who are better suited for teaching or counseling.Women's Movement gave me an energetic boost. I'm grateful. I've had a lot of opportunities. As a result, my desire is to be able to see my 7 year-old grandson entering his working years buoyed with a culture change that Farrell and Gray believe is possible.If you are a dad or have a dad, you will search treasure between the pages in Boy Crisis. I wish to do my part and spread the word about. So far, I've ordered 12 hard cover books and an Audible version. I suspect I'll order more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Crisis: Why Our Boys Are Struggling and What We Can Do About It review []  2020-1-6 18:34

    Mind-blowing. I have 5 daughters ages 15-27 who are awesome and healthy and happy. I just had a son 6 months ago! Bought this book after hearing the author on the radio....can’t recommend this highly enough. Whatever your political views or economic status or geographical location, we are all united by the desire as parents for happiness and health for all children. The book hits you between the eyes that this is a NATIONAL CRISIS WE ARE ALL RESPONSIBLE FOR, and even better - supplies tools with which to work on this critical issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Crisis: Why Our Boys Are Struggling and What We Can Do About It review []  2020-1-6 18:34

    I am frankly surprised at all the 5 star reviews. I couldn't obtain through it. It seemed to ramble and, as one reviewer pointed out, seemed to not know who it's target audience is. I found this distracting.Where I place the book down and started the Amazon return process is when it started criticizing the Affordable Care Act as biased toward women and versus men. The whole passage in the book was strange as if the author(s) had a private gripe versus the healthcare system in this country as it relates specifically to men. It seemed to miss the point about the large differences in women's and men's health needs which is probably the most necessary and obvious reason why there are "well woman" visits and men don't have "well men" visits. They offer a strange hypothetical example of two young adults going to the doctor independently before engaging in a sexual relationship (a strange hypothetical, in my opinion) the woman gets a thorough exam and inquiry from the doctor while the guy doesn't feel he does. . No mention was created that there are unique doctors for women (they're called gynocologists - ever heard of them?) because women's reproductive health problems are so complex, internal, and involve fertility not to mention screening for cancers that men don't have to worry about. Women are usually the ones who have to take responsibility for birth control, so that's a conversation right there most guys don't have with their doctor. I agree that more could be done to screen men for all sorts of things, particularly sexual performance problems (which men are often loathe to discuss with health care professionals) and depression. The issue is getting men in annually. Our healthcare system in general should be more proactive in screening men and women for diabetes, heart disease, Vitamin D - all that items an annual blood try will tell you if your doctor would only send you a reminder to go in, like the gyno and the mammogram people do every year. This was not a major argument in the book, but a strange, unsupported, ridiculous, and distracting one that created it hard for me to wish to read any e rest of the book rambled and repeated itself as well. A lot of of the assertions seemed obvious, common sense thoughts that anyone could have said without much teeth to them in the method of statistics.I have read some of Dr. Farrell's quotes on other matters relating to gender and found them to be thought provoking and unbiased. I am not sure what happened with some of the passages in this book that seemed whiny and scientifically ward the end of the book they started rambling on about ADHD with lots of pseudoscience about treatment, and that's when I knew I was done with the book...I purchased the book hoping to better understand boys and how to support them, as I have one, but this book didn't give me the answers I was looking for. I'll hold looking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Crisis: Why Our Boys Are Struggling and What We Can Do About It review []  2020-1-6 18:34

    As the stay-at-home father of two boys and the husband of an executive wife, the Boy Crisis is such an necessary read. After reading a section about the importance of fathers in the lives of boys, I couldn't stop thinking of my wife who works the type of hours her father would have worked decades ago. I, conversely, take care of things my wife's mother or my mother would have taken care of decades ago. (A time when men worked and women traditionally stayed home.) I started thinking about my wife's hours away from the kids and how it makes her feel. She often worries about my role in a globe that is still not ready to accept stay-at-home dads. After reading a section of the book, I asked my wife, "Do you feel like your father sometimes? I know I sure feel like your mother." It was a amazing ice-breaker and allowed a conversation to happen about the hopes we have for our kids and the roles we wish to play in their is book helped begin conversations with my wife about the ways we can be better parents to our kids and better spouses to each other. When I read about the traditional roles of men described in the book, I think of my wife, yet I see the maternal and feminine touch she brings to our boys. It's very various than the kindness and orderly discipline I bring to our boys. But both are so essential. The Boys Crisis is more than a book about the crisis of boys: it's a book that helps me think deeply about the roles of mothers and fathers in a globe of boys and girls that need love, guidance, compassion, and understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Crisis: Why Our Boys Are Struggling and What We Can Do About It review []  2020-1-6 18:34

    Amazing book. I found out about Warren from the Red Pill documentary. He has been in the business of relationships for over 30 years. I emailed him about this book and he told me that if I didn't like it he would refund my money! I ended up buying another book to give to my brother : ) Book created me realize that boys needs are being forgotten. As a school counselor I see a lot of what he says in the book event at school. Boys are being taught, subconciously and I believe not maliciously, that testorone is not amazing for males. I work at a school in the inner town in Los Angeles. I took some data and came up with some interesting numbers. My colleagues and I created a list of all of the students who we have had contact with this year who we know we're missing a father at home. The figure was 12% of the students. I think it is probably closer to 18 or 20%. At what percentage point is this considered an epidemic? Anyway, please buy this book. Actually, buy 2 copies and give 1 copy to your best mate if he or she has a son. Warren- thank you for writing this book. I always fresh something wasn't right about what was going on with boys and men nowadays and thanks to you I am able to name it. I feel liberated!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Crisis: Why Our Boys Are Struggling and What We Can Do About It review []  2020-1-6 18:34

    I have been a fan of Warren Farrell’s work more than 30 years, and in his recent book, The Boy Crisis, he passionately addresses what I see as the most under-reported and under-rated issue not only in the United States, but across the developed world. Starting with Why Men Are the Method They Are in 1986, and peaking with his best-known work, The Myth of Male Power: Why Men Are the Disposable Sex in 1993, Warren has shown that because they are seen as having power, men can be derided, attacked, and sacrificed with small concern about their full humanity. Sadly, a lot of feminists have not embraced his views on this.But now Warren (along with John Gray of Mars-Venus fame) has focused on a group for whom it’s hard for even the most radical feminist not to feel compassion: boys. With numerous references, but written in a very simple to read and down to earth style, The Boy Crisis clearly shows the difficulties facing our boys, but doesn’t leave us hanging. Workable solutions are also discussed.A major focus of the book is the importance of fathers in the lives of boys (and girls too). And recognition of this fact is certainly an necessary part of the solution to the boy crisis. Much research supports this, and Warren makes the powerful case for father importance in a central part of the book, titled “Dad-Deprived Boys vs. Dad-Enriched Boys.” In addition to these research findings, as the father of three grown sons and five grandsons I can relate to this problem personally as well. I am so grateful that my grandsons are all dad-enriched, and I can see the benefits this has for them (as well as for their fathers and grandfathers).I have long admired Warren Farrell. Like a lot of necessary figures in cultural history, much of his work stems from one crucial insight. In this case it is that boys and men are full-fledged human beings who have long been seen as disposable. For millennia, we have taken for granted that whether it’s war, risky jobs, or literally brain-threatening android games like football, it’s our sons, husbands, and fathers who will bear almost all of the burden. Warren has been ahead of the curve in recognizing that we must cherish our males. And in this, his recent work, the focus is on the youngest of them, our boys. After all, they are a vital part of our future, and attention must be paid.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Crisis: Why Our Boys Are Struggling and What We Can Do About It review []  2020-1-6 18:34

    This awesome book written by a well credentialed supporter of women's equality digs into the solutions that can bring boys back from becoming a fresh social underclass. If you wish well reasoned answers to boys falling behind in all major metrics, you'll search them here.Dr Farrell does not suggest going back to old solutions, he proposes forward thinking solutions that can bring out the best in both boys and girls as individuals and still keeping their respective strengths. The solutions require dedication to developing the next generation of all children, not just boys and not just girls. When one sex wins, all sexes lose. If you care about the next generation, this book is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Boy Crisis: Why Our Boys Are Struggling and What We Can Do About It review []  2020-1-6 18:34

    As the father of two little boys I picked this up in the hope that I can support navigate the globe as it is now, not the globe as it was when I was growing up. In this respect, the book was a partial success. I think he overemphasized the need for health intelligence over heroic intelligence as if this path is taken by all young men we would have a serious problem filling our risky jobs. Not everything can be automated. Seeking safety and hygge over being willing to run into a burning building to save your family will not victory you the respect of anyone. That said, it was amazing to understand all the social signals and social bribes that led someone like myself to seek contact sports and ultimately join the military. As he said in the book, I will now be able to present my own sons why they may feel the social pressure I did and create a more informed decision. I bowed to the pressure of trying to relentlessly prove my manhood after being bullied in middle school.I am ultimately bringing this review down from a four star to a three star because of the section on ADHD and homeopathic remedies. It did not fit in the book and detracted heavily from the overall message. It should have been a separate book, and this book should not have been used to shill for quack medicine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    I’ve never read a Murakami novel before so I had no idea what to expect from his running memoir. I’d seen it on the bookshelf of a number of runners so as I started training for my first marathon a few weeks ago, I picked up the book as well.I loved most of it. I found his philosophy with both running and writing to be related to mine. There are a lot of things that someone who’s not an endurance athlete can’t understand so maybe this book speaks to a narrow audience. But I’m glad to be a member of that audience. I found myself nodding along. I’d read a free sample on my Kindle, then found a used paperback to buy so I could underline passages and create notes in the margin. I loved this book so much I penciled it that I’ve seen this glimpse into his mind I wish to test his novels, too.I would not say this is “equal parts training log, travelogue, and reminiscence,” as the book description does. It contains all those things, but not in equal parts. It’s a series of essays that he wrote, mostly during his training for the 2005 Fresh York Town Marathon, but the memories take him to other races and other periods of his life, and on a whirlwind tour of his stomping grounds across Hawaii, Boston, Greece, and Japan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    I have this theory that goes like this: sometimes we search books, and sometimes books search us.Oftentimes I'll pick up a book, read a few lines, and quickly close the covers. I'll instinctively know that no matter how much I wish to read it that that book's notice was meant for a later time. And sure enough, years later, I'll spot the book on the corner of my shelf and be moved to pick it up, only to search exactly what I required to hear. It's funny how life, and reading, works that way.Other times I'll search a book in the most random method - through a footnote or a random citation in an obscure periodical, for instance - and that book's notice will be exactly what I required to hear at that moment in my life. That was certainly the case with Japanese novelist Karuki Murakami's unbelievable small book, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running.While training for the Fresh York Town Marathon Japanese novelist Haruki Murakami decided to write about it as well. What materialized was a special memoir that discusses his twin passions of writing and running, and the interesting method they nurture and inform each other.I've been struggling as of late staying focused on the hard work of writing, so when I opened the book and read the following lines I knew that a notice that I required to hear had found me:"One runner told of a mantra his older brother, also a runner, had taught him which he's pondered ever since he began running. Here it is: Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional. Say you're running and you begin to think, Man this hurts, I can't take it anymore. The damage part is an unavoidable reality, but whether or not you can stand any more is up to the runner himself. This beautiful much sums up the most necessary aspect of marathon running."If you feel called to creative work, and are struggling with finding the discipline important to make a body of work, you'll search this playful, oftentimes philosophical memoir meal for your soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    I really liked this book. It didn't blow me out of the water with inspiration like I kind of expected, but that's ok. It's a memoir, not a manifesto. As a runner and writer myself, it was nice to see how the two mesh together for the author. I am anxious to read one of his novels now after getting a glimpse of his writing ide from the joy of gaining insight from his decades of experience, I found the author to be respectable, humble, and generally just a likable guy. Id' love to have coffee with him pick his brain some more. I found his humility and honesty refreshing and rare in a field where I am accustomed to sensationalized, horn-tooting tales of superatletes. I liked that he opened up about limits that come with aging, (though he's still faster than I may ever be) and how the love of running can wax and wann over time. Humility is an aspect often left out when people talk about running, but I search that at times I leave for a run expecting to feel a amazing sense of accomplishment, and return humbled instead, and those runs are every bit as important. I am grateful that he touched on those feelings. Running is such a metaphor for life, it only makes sense that a writer may be an avid runner. I often write in my head while I run, and I enjoyed this acc of someone who has been doing both for decades.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) review []  2020-1-8 19:5

    Because I love Haruki Murakami’s novels, and because in the latest year I became very interested in running (which increased my interest in the books about running) I was very satisfied to finally be able to read what a lot of people consider a cult running book – Murakami’s “What I talk about when I talk about rakami has been a runner for years (his results are on ). I have actually seen him running along Charles river in Cambridge, as his stay there overlapped with mine. In his very private acc of the running experience, he describes how he began running seriously. I really love how he writes about his successes and failures, his feelings while running training runs and races, and his evolving attitude to cause Murakami is a writer, his book is various that other runners’ accounts or tip on running. He simply writes better. He is able to create the reader feel his pain, elation, frustration, tiredness and pride associated with the training process and participation in races. I loved his first marathon choice – he ran the original route in reverse, from Athens to Marathon, alone, and wrote an article about his experience. Also, his acc of an ultramarathon in Japan (100 km race) is breathtaking, and his notes on the transition into triathlons are very metimes he sounds a small too proud of himself – like when he comments on the female Harvard students passing him during his training runs in Cambridge – but this just makes the descriptions of his thoughts more believable and. He seems to be completely genuine, no matter what he writes, and this is also why I liked even his opinions on particular brands of running gear – they did not sound like a product placement at all, just a frank opinion on what he personally thinks is best for him. Particularly interesting are the thoughts on the impact of running on the rest of the author’s endeavors as a writer, pub owner and lecturer. Strikingly, he writes very small on his marriage and I would like to hear more on how he and his wife incorporate his running into their everyday life as a couple, but I understand it might be a personal matter.I will return to this book for sure, I understand why it is a cult book among runners, and I want Mr. Murakami a lot of more years of satisfying running and triathlons!

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter