Read hughes reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all hughes reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson Pocket Wine 2020 (Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book) []  2020-2-1 13:39

    Amazing small guide. I have every one for the past 25 years. An perfect reference for wines of the world. I have met Johnson at Sherry Lehmann in NYC. We both agree about Chappellet being one of the best vineyards in Napa. When we spoke he had had dinner with Molly and Donn a few nights before. My dad roomed with Donn’s dad at Stanford. Top notch family. Top notch wine. Top notch small guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson Pocket Wine 2020 (Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book) []  2020-2-1 13:39

    This small gem has always been the best pocket guidebook describing the best wines, vintages, meal pairings, general pricing, and quality of hundreds of wines. It is affordable, simple to take to the wine shop, and is updated yearly, to provide info of the most latest vintages, and of fresh wineries, and trends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson Pocket Wine 2020 (Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book) []  2020-2-1 13:39

    Always the best A compact treasure of information. Always carry in the wineshop

    0  


    Add your opinion on hughes or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson Pocket Wine 2020 (Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book) []  2020-2-1 13:39

    This is still the most convenient and comprehensive wine reference. It descirbes every wine varietal. It also give tip to appropriate wine and meal pairings. It is eminently useful for any gourmand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson Pocket Wine 2020 (Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book) []  2020-2-1 13:39

    Don’t waste your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson Pocket Wine 2020 (Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book) []  2020-2-1 13:39

    Just the right amount of information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson Pocket Wine 2020 (Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book) []  2020-2-1 13:39

    For years I have referenced this little book. Very handy, indeed. An problem that seems an oversight; The exclusion of Temecula, Ca. AVA. Ohio and Fresh Jersey are included, but no Temecula. Makes no sense.I hope I speak for all that have tasted and purchased from the fifty wineries in Temecula,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Hewitt [App]  2019-1-30 13:36

    On Galaxy S7: "Download" isn't really. Can't listen with screen off. This application is not ready for prime time. Why pay for Hughniverse?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Hewitt [App]  2019-1-30 13:36

    This application did not work on ere are 0 podcasts, and listen live does not work. What is left? Uninstalling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Hewitt [App]  2019-1-30 13:36

    This was a really amazing application for listening to Hugh Hewitt, but I have been unable to begin the application for 2 days now. I have already tried deleting and reinstalling. Any support would be appreciated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Hewitt [App]  2019-1-30 13:36

    When it's on you can't do anything else.... I have to stop the application in order to look at email... not good performance for having all the commercials Xxxx

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Hewitt [App]  2019-1-30 13:36

    Outstanding content! Unreliable app.. Content is top notch! Hugh is the best in the biz. This app, however, is buggy, unreliable, lacking in primary functionality & navigation, and crashes often. 5 for content, 1 for functionality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Hewitt [App]  2019-1-30 13:36

    Had it before i restart phone now it won't install....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Hewitt [App]  2019-1-30 13:36

    Application lack consistance Application will drop signal for no reason at all. Difficult to reset when call or other email arrives in inbox and you wish to obtain back to pod cast

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Hewitt [App]  2019-1-30 13:36

    Does not begin on my device

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Hewitt [App]  2019-1-30 13:36

    Frustrating application I have loved Hugh for years and had to turn to this application to listen to him when he went to mornings. Like others, I love the present but hate the app. It regularly drops the feed or crashes altogether, won't reset after a phone call, and will even have difficulty restarting after receiving a text. Finally, the replay on the application replays the latest segment of the second hour of the live present in the first hour. I have contacted Hugh's present and Salem about this but they apparently can't or won't fix it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Hewitt [App]  2019-1-30 13:36

    Agree with others, love the present but hate the app. Frequently stops for no reason and often won't restart. Frustrating to test to listen to the present this method but Hewitt is the smartest guy on radio so I still try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Hewitt [App]  2019-1-30 13:36

    Does not work. Will not load for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    u guys suck... aps down n yur www services down. what is wrong w u? dont u try yur tech 1st? EDIT: the newest modernize is great. love how it tells me the company's name that I'm paying. amazing job, much better than b4

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Does not work and Android device P Beta

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Doesn't allow me sign in every time I begin it. It says that I used the wrong password so I go to change it password and it gives me an error every time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    This application is buggy and does not let you to see transactions on your credit card. Please fix your issues Hughes your customers rely on it to pay their bills and budget our accounts with your credit unit!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    UI, navigation, and features have significantly improved since launch. Fingerprint help is appreciated! Has everything I need now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Almost every modernize crashes the app. Haven't been able to use it for method too long. Always seems to be broken when I need it. Very frustrating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    If you expect a local credit union application to compete with the major banks that hate your guts amazing luck. In my experience this application has functioned with exactly what I required it to do. I would like to be able to sign in with my finger print but that is a wish not a need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Horrible application dry difficult to obtain through the sign up process. The application itself is very limited Hughes is a very primitive technology bank, so I didn't have high hopes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Have been with hfcu for a few years and have never had a issue

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    I left a major branch for this credit union which is amazing but the application is light years behind what other bank and credit union apps can do. Now I can't begin the app. I have to use the web version, which then sends me a verification code each time I test to log in. Such a long process just to check my accounts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Wanted it go depositing checks. Application camera opens then immediately closes. Camera on phone works fine. Everything but what I wanted to obtain dones seems to work ok. :/

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Insanely frustrating i cannot even begin the application anymore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Application took a while to load first time, but seems to work well enough for the basics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Really really slow

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    The application updates never work. I cannot even check my balance because it wont allow me log into it. I always have to go to an atm or call to search out my balance. This application is absolutely horrible and always has technical difficulties

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Not able to begin moble app. No log on prompts,no acc information, not useable at all, i even teies to use the link in a email recieved and norhing. POOF JUST GONE.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    This application in only amazing to view balances and transfer funds but unable to pay credit cards. Also, they need to incorporate the FP scanner to log into your account.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Can't pay credit card What is this application amazing for?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Application will not open! It worked fine until latest update.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Really tired of this application deciding not to work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Randomly decides not to work. Continues to state it cannot validate my info even when it has been entered correctly. Very frustrating!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Errors a lot Too a lot of errors requireing reentry. No help. Says exceeds deposit limit but no explanation of what the limit is. 2nd attempt a couple months later, still doesn't work, asked for respond to security question, I respond and it asks again, continous loop. Also it does not help pasting info. Very not good app. Needs support section to explain requirements for entry and limits. For security they need to implement 2-part authentication and trusted device. Giving up on it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Can't pay credit card with app. *UPDATE* One of two reasons for me to do online banking is to pay off credit every couple of weeks. This application does not have the option to see credit card info or to transfer funds to it, thus making it beautiful much useless for me. *UPDATE* I first tried this over 3 years ago. Tried it again now and somehow they created it worse. I can't use KeePass with this therefore this application is useless to me. I'm downgrading from 2 stars to 1 star.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    The worst I have accounts at 3 various banks. This is hands down the worst banking application I have ever used. It is not user friendly at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Unreliable login I have tried to log into my acc with my correct info and it says unable to validate info and test again later and it still does the same thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Worst application ever Set up app, phone number changed. Now I can no longer log into app. Contacted bank, said it now works...it does not. Don't bother

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Bugs Doesnt work everytime i need it and it doesnt allow me check past payments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Extremely limited. About all you can do is look at your acc balance. Everything else just redirects to the webpage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Its been like 5 months!! :/ I been wait for this application to work for awhile obtain it together

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Password Reset/ Customer Service Useless. 'Nough said.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Very friendly simple too use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Disappointed I loved it at first but when it updates or I turn of my phone for a period of time. The Application locks . Which means I have to hold going into the bank or calling.(Every couple of weeks) Which is such a hassle.(Get horrible Customer service) I'd rather just visit the branch ATM.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Created as inconvenient as possible Prevents using LastPass. Passwords and logins can't be pasted into the dialog box. Meaning the only choices are to use a much simpler password that can be remembered and typed, or not use the app. I have chosen the latter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Hasn't worked at all in months! Doesn't even create it to the login screen keeps saying system error call...blah blah blah please fix! the latest modernize killed this application for me :( it use to be half method decent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Application sucks Had the same login for months. Unable to validate notice comes up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Not working I can't even log in after the latest update, it just sits on the opening screen. Please fix!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Almost there All that's left is being able to deposit checks remotely

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    Crashes on startup. Stopped working after update. Pop-up says "A system error has occurred." Please fix or place back the ver that works. I was satisfied with it before. Want I hadn't updated. UPDATE: Tried uninstall, delete cache, delete data. Got as far as entering credentials and crashed with same pop-up repeatedly. HTC One M9 Android device 6.0.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hughes FCU Mobile Banking [App]  2018-7-3 21:9

    I can only give one star when it should be ZERO! Application crashes upon launch. This is the first time I used the application since downloading the uodate. I guess it doesn't work with Marshmallow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    FNB Hughes Springs Mobile [App]  2019-1-18 13:12

    I didn't wish to even give this application 1 star. layout is method to primary and no fingerprint access. fingerprint access is a MUST.. Nice test but there was nothing wrong with the original app. deleting this one .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes: The Untold Story []  2020-1-3 22:18

    Review of: "Howard Hughes: The Untold Story," Hardcover – March 1, 1996 by Peter Harry oeske and Brown have made an perfect biography. A lot of people came across Howard Hughes (HH) as an icon from Scorsese's 2004 film "The Aviator." Being slightly older I remembered the Hughes legacy from his involvement by lending his name to the Hughes Glomar Explorer (HGE) / K-129 Scandal where the HGE was commissioned to be built for the CIA (thus government owned) in order for that agency to covertly attempt the recovery of the Soviet K-129 Submarine in 1974 from the bottom of the ocean after it sank in 1968. This mission was known as "Project Azorian." I found out about it (like almost everyone else at the time) when the Case of Phillippi v. CIA, 546 F.2d 1009 (D.C. Cir. 1976) was filed and subsequently The Agency refused to "confirm or deny the existence" of any records or info concerning the gardless, back to the biography. Howard Hughes' life is examined in amazing detail. The globe came to know Hughes as "the brilliant inventor and shrewd businessman who pioneered commercial aviation, became the only individual ever to personally own a film studio, led Trans Globe Airlines to become the preeminent international air carrier, womanized his method across the tabloid headlines of the 1920s and '30s, and descended into frightful paranoia and drug addiction in his old age." Authors Brown and Broeske however add much more detail about Howard's parents and background to portray him as a real human being in three-dimensions. The authors focus on Hughes' actual and perceived psychological disorders (most likely OCD, etc.); his passions for innovation in aviation and other enterprises prior to, during, and after WWII to contain science and medicine; his excessive womanizing; his involvement in politics (Donald Nixon Scandal); etc. This biography reads quickly as the reader will be unlikely to place it down. If the film "The Aviator" is of interest to you then read this biography to fill in the gaps particularly about the later years' of HH's life to contain the memoir hoax of Clifford Irving and how HH's estate was distributed after his death (he was ruled to have died intestate, but there were a lot of wills that surfaced).In short, this biography is a amazing read and incredibly detailed. Although it may hover around his eccentricities it pays homage to an wonderful figure of the Twentieth Century; one that is probably still undervalued and under appreciated. Five stars for an wonderful life story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes: The Untold Story []  2020-1-3 22:18

    Being interested in this fella and reading books from the 70`s on came across this one and bought it as the local library had lost it's one copy. After reading it came away with a slightly various take on Mr Huges but got the feeling reading this take on the man that although the authors did an exhaustive job researching the topic too much was created about the female aspect (which wouldn't us guys love to be able to do) but they created up for it showing how the 'Mormon Connection' robbed the guy blind to the tune of billions the whole time covering their tracks by all means available. Which by the method should be a book on it's 's a guy thinking these righteous religious christian zealots would protect his interests and do what's best an do the right thing while the whole time they were just worming their method into his fortune an sealing off all outsiders....what a shame. But his (Huges) paranoia sealed his own fate.Walked away from this book thoroughly disgusted with those people and left with that age old feeling that greed knows no bounds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes: The Untold Story []  2020-1-3 22:18

    During my younger days in the sixties and seventies Howard Robard Hughes Jr. (1905-1976) was generally considered Paul Getty’s chief rival for the title of Richest Man in the World. Getty may have been known for his small eccentricities and petty meannesses, but he nevertheless lived the standard multi-millionaire lifestyle with luxurious residences in several countries and a magnificent art collection. Hughes’s life, by contrast, seemed to be no more than one huge eccentricity. Despite his vast wealth, he did not live in the luxurious style of a Getty, but was a notorious recluse, obsessed with his privacy, spending nearly all his time in darkened hotel rooms and only rarely venturing out to interact with the outside ter his death in April 1976- Getty was to die two months later- Hughes became, as far as I was concerned, a forgotten figure. My interest in him was revived when I saw Martin Scorsese’s masterly biopic “The Aviator” from 2004. Scorsese created it quite clear that, in his youth, Hughes was a very public figure indeed, far from a privacy-obsessed recluse. Getty’s fortune was based on oil and so, in an indirect way, was Hughes’s. His engineer father, Howard Robard Hughes Sr., had invented a fresh type of drill-bit which revolutionised the oil industry, making it possible to drill through even the hard rocks which covered much of the Teas oilfields. The Hughes Tool Company was the foundation of Hughes Jr.’s wealth, but it was not the part of his empire which interested him the most. His three amazing obsessions (although not necessarily in that order) were aviation, the films and sex. Between the late twenties and the late forties he achieved fame in several fields, as a pioneer aviator second only in the public imagination behind Charles Lindbergh, as an aircraft designer and founder of the Hughes Aircraft Company, as Chief Executive of the airline TWA, as a film-maker and studio boss and as the lover of attractive women, especially Hollywood actresses. After his death his wealth went to found the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, one of America’s leading philanthropic e book chronicles Hughes’s achievements in all these spheres, with a particular emphasis on his complex love life. His role in the movie industry allowed him access to most of the female stars of the era, and his lovers, apart from Jean Peters who became his second wife, included the likes of Billie Dove, Jean Harlow, Joan Crawford, Bette Davis, Katharine Hepburn, Olivia de Havilland, Lana Turner, Ginger Rogers, Ava Gardner, Rita Hayworth, Gene Tierney, Susan Hayward and numerous others. (His Wikipedia entry also lists some not mentioned in this book, such as Hedy Lamarr). In fact, it might be shorter to list those Hollywood goddesses who did not become his lovers. Top of that list would be Jane Russell, who was a Hughes discovery- he both produced and directed her first film, “The Outlaw”- but who always refused to have a physical relationship with him. Others who proved immune to his charms included Virginia Mayo, Elizabeth Taylor and Janet Leigh. Unlike some producers, however, Hughes never operated a “casting couch policy”- he continued to promote Russell’s career despite her rejection of him, and did the same for the likes of Hepburn and Tierney even after their affairs were e latter part of the book, of course, does deal with Hughes’s descent into eccentricity and a reclusive lifestyle. In the authors’ opinion the underlying cause was his obsessive–compulsive disorder, a condition not well understood in his lifetime, created worse by a phobia about germs inherited from an over-protective mother and by a number of head injuries which he suffered during his lifetime. Most of these were sustained in aircraft or motor crashes, although one occurred when Gardner struck him over the heard during one of their a lot of quarrels. Other factors included deafness, chronic pain following the near-fatal crash in July 1946 of the Hughes XF-11 spy plane, one of his own designs, and an increasing addiction to the codeine which he had been prescribed to counter that was, of course, a deeply flawed individual, and would have counted as such even without the eccentric behaviour of his later years. His business ethics and his bookkeeping methods, which frequently involved raiding the money reserves of the Hughes Tool Co to fund his more glamorous film-making or aviation projects, would not always have passed close scrutiny. His ability to attract attractive women was matched only by his inability to remain faithful to them, which explains why all his a lot of lovers eventually tired of him. His marriage to Peters lasted from 1957 to 1970, but for most of that time they had been estranged, married in name t the authors create it clear that these flaws were an inescapable part of the obsessive personality which drove Hughes to his a lot of successes and achievements. Had Hughes had a various personality he might have been a better man in moral terms, but also might have been a less fascinating one. He might have died still happily married to his first wife, the Houston socialite Ella Rice, as one of America’s most respected captains of industry, the former Chairman of the Hughes Tool Company, having handed over control on his retirement to his son Howard Robard Hughes III. (A hypothetical figure- in reality Hughes had no kids from either marriage). Such a life would have been, in most people’s terms, a successful one, but he would not have achieved the things which created him one of the most talked-about men in the world. And nobody would have written a book about him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes: The Untold Story []  2020-1-3 22:18

    If you’re looking for Howard the Business Man, hold looking. You won’t search an exhaustive analysis of Hughes’ financial ventures here, nor does this work detail Howard the Aviator (Charles Barton’s Howard and his Flying Boat is currently the single best work available on Howard’s aviation achievements). Sure the book does cover these areas, as it follows the full sweep of the man’s near-mythical life—from his restrictive rearing by a hypochondriacal mother, to his stunningly inglorious demise in 1976—but the main focus of Brown and Broeske’s The Untold Story is Howard the Lady-Killer, the handsome, wealthy rock star with a visionary mind and balls of brass. Through the maze of Howard’s love life, a fascinating, intimate portrait emerges of a man who could be supremely charming and charitable, manipulative and callous. Yet, the book never loses sight of the central villain: Howard’s obsessive-compulsive disorder, the symptoms of which were created worse by numerous head injuries. In the light of this condition, much of Hughes’ seemingly strange behavior is understood. Brown and Broeske do go some length to maintain an air of respect for the man, making impressive use of secondary sources to dutifully dispel some of the erroneous rumors hovering around Howard Hughes, elevating The Untold Story above the dreadful tabloid biographies that plague the market. It’s likely there will always be an air of mystery around Howard Hughes, but The Untold Story does an admirable job in presenting a coherent insight into an extraordinary figure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes: The Untold Story []  2020-1-3 22:18

    After watching The Aviator I wanted to know more about Hughes and this seemed to be the most reputable volume. Very well written and researched, this bio tells you all you need to know about the man and the truth and the info are much more outlandish than even Hollywood can portray. All locations of Hughes’s life are examined in detail but the focus here leans more toward his mental/emotional issues and his pathological womanizing. Hughes remains one of the most fascinating and brilliant figures of the 20th Century but by the end of the book I grew weary of the minutiae of his madness and ended up glossing over a lot of sections which became increasingly depressing variations on a theme: A fearless innovator and adventurer whose wild excesses were unrestrained by financial limits but who was imprisoned, crippled, and ultimately destroyed by physical and mental illness. Readers looking for sensational voyeurism will likely be more happy than history READERS: This edition has an awkward font that can't be changed and creates occasional display errors. No "time left" shown for chapters and individual chapters can only be accessed through hotlinks in the Table of Contents instead of the Go To menu. Beautiful lame, considering the above average price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes: The Untold Story []  2020-1-3 22:18

    There are some things to like about this Hughes biography - one of a lot of - including some interesting fresh material. Where it fails for me, and I admit that this may be simply a matter of taste, is the page-eating obsession of the authors with Hughes so-called "love life." The book devotes much of its text to recount Hughes endless (and that is indeed the appropriate word) affairs with Hollywood starlets; not only are the tales repetitive, they are monotonous and trivial in the extreme. Pick and choose a few - his first wife, then Hepburn, Ava Gardner, and Jean Peters, then explain to us why on earth these women saw anything in this weird bird besides his vast cash and leave it at that. But to bore us with his excessive and relentless womanizing does small justice to what otherwise should be an entertaining story of a spoiled scion of an industrial fortune, an aviator and airline owner, and a film producer of considerable resources and modest talents. Latest and not least was his serious mental illness and the result it had on those around him, American politics, the public at large, and different capers and escapades leading from it. Of course his womanizing was part of his OCD and personality, but it is not unique, and is not worthy of hundreds of pages, while I would argue that the other effects of his mental illness were more profound, interesting, and singular. Personally, I found the biography on Hughes by Bartlett and Steele to be much more illuminating in this regard.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes: The Untold Story []  2020-1-3 22:18

    I was a small disappointed in the proportion of this book that was dedicated to his love affairs. No doubt, reading how he similar to women gives some insight into his hero and his declining mental state. However, I'd say 60%-70% of this book reads like a who's who of Howard Hughes' girl mates and lovers and read like a tabloid magazine of affairs and break ups. Howard Hughes was a very interesting man who achieved much more than bedding a laundry list of women. I want Mr. Brown had given more focus to those other aspects of Howard Hughes' life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes: The Untold Story []  2020-1-3 22:18

    THIS GUY IS ONE OF THE MOST INTERESTING PEOPLE THAT EVER LIVED. TONS OF GOOD STORIES. I REALLY LOVED THE STORIES ABOUT HOLLYWOOD AND HIS BUISNESS DEALINGS. IF YOU LIKE THE HISTORICAL SIDE OF HOLLYWOOD AND STORIES OF ALL THOSE ACTING LEGENDS FROM THE 30'S THRU THE 70'S, YOUR GONNA LOVE THIS BOOK

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes: The Untold Story []  2020-1-3 22:18

    If you are tired of reading books that educate you, then this one is where you might have fun wasting your time. If you've ever read the gossip rags, Enquirer and such then you'll know what I mean. The authors document just about every woman Hughes bedded but who cares? The best part of the book was his flying happenings and tragedies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes: The Untold Story []  2020-1-3 22:18

    I always found Howard Hughes to be a fascinating personality and innovator so I wanted to learn more about him especially after seeing "The Aviator". Peter Brown through documentation, interviews and research really gives a real acc of the genius of Howard Hughes. Mr. Brown also gives amazing insight into the possible reasons for Mr. Hughes's eccentricities and mental illness. Mr. Brown's "The Untold Story" avoids the tabloid sensationalism of the Mr. Hughes's exploits but instead provides a fair and objective portrait of one of America's greatest aviation visionaries.I highly recommend this book for anyone looking to read a really amazing biography of an American icon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes' Airline: An Informal History of TWA []  2019-12-23 20:9

    We flew on TWA to Spain almost every year to visit family with our children. The experience was incomparable, walking down those attractive red carpeted concourses of their terminal, just magical. Our daughter was so impressed with our flights overseas that she became a pilot. TWA built dreams and then it was gone. Our latest flight was when my wife's mother passed away in Spain and TWA bent over backwards to obtain her home in time. But this book was written well before TWA's decline and closure so it was not what I expected. For example, "Skygods", the story of PanAm, is an engrossing history from begin to finish of the other amazing airline. This book leaves you hanging halfway. I learned from buying this book to look at publish dates before buying a historical book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes' Airline: An Informal History of TWA []  2019-12-23 20:9

    The book, thoroughly researched, consists of 3 parts: TWA before Hughes, TWA during Hughes, and TWA after Hughes. But, unfortunately it ends before TWA's sad end. A lot of "war stories" but falls short of a complete history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes' Airline: An Informal History of TWA []  2019-12-23 20:9

    One of the reviews for this book complained that this book isn't finished. It ends before TWA did. That doesn't matter, a lot of airlines suffered mergers or liquidation leading up to and following 9/11. takes us from the early days of an industry struggling to search itself well into the jet ing this book makes me regret my decision a lot of years ago to hold piloting as a hobby. Seems the airline industry would have been a fun globe to create a living in. Granted it would have been post deregulation, but e author does a amazing job of not casting Hughes' in a psychotic light as some authors have done. The man was a genius, but had his quirks. That's how Sterling portrays ain, fun read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes' Airline: An Informal History of TWA []  2019-12-23 20:9

    I liked the method the book personalizes the day to day operations of St. Louis’ once beloved airline. We sure miss you TWA. I originally became interested because of Howard Hughes’s involvement. It’s even more interesting what happened after he left. Sadly, TWA was not able to fend off Carl Icahn as they did Hughes. Hughes loved his airline. To Icahn, it was just another company to be plucked cleaner than a roasted chicken. Alas, where have all the heroes gone?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes' Airline: An Informal History of TWA []  2019-12-23 20:9

    This huge text is a wordy acc of Americas' most colourful airline history. TWA probably woulod have been a much larger success story and airline had Mr. Hughes not been allowed to be the strong force, amazing or bad, that he was. For example, why would the board of directors let Hughes to take the first Lockheed Constellation delivered to TWA away from regular route usage (not allowing for company growth or profit generation) to be used as his own personal aircraft for almost a year? the only issue I had reading the book was that there were so a lot of company and competitor names thrown around that it was sometimes a challenage hold who-was-who straight and how they affected the airlines' purpose. Any airline buff or historian will be fascinated with Mr. Sterling's wonderful knowledge of airline history with this and his a lot of other airline books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes' Airline: An Informal History of TWA []  2019-12-23 20:9

    From the beginning with airmail contracts and Ford Trimotors carrying a handful of people, TWA grew into one of two major intercontinental carriers. Pan Am was the other and they almost merged with TWA during one of TWA's troubled periods. Unlike Pan AM, TWA had a domestic network feeding their intercontinental network and managed to outlast Pan Am by about 10 years. But finally by 2001 (and three bankruptcy filings) they merged with and disappear into American is book only goes till the early 1980's and covers numerous periods of boom and bust where the fleet composition always seemed to be out of sync with the passenger loads. There is Howard Hughes 78% stock ownership allowing him to play with all the aircraft specs and purchases. Consequentially TWA had props to compete versus the first jets at the beginning of the jet age. Hughes left by the mid 60's and by the late 60's TWA was one of the first all jet airlines.During all the financial issues of modernizing the planes, the spirit of the TWA employee shines through. It would be interesting to see how the employees reacted during the next (and last) 20 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes' Airline: An Informal History of TWA []  2019-12-23 20:9

    This is a very in-depth history. Awesome detail. Not for the casual reader, perfect detail. Sadly the books story stops about 1984 or so, just before the most interesting story of TWA's demise ( I should of said " SPOILER ALERT" amazing book !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes' Airline: An Informal History of TWA []  2019-12-23 20:9

    A fast-paced story of the early passenger airlines, focusing on what became TWA. Frightening stories of airline safety and the role of individuals, airlines, and the government. Amazing short biographies of men and women who contributed to commercial aviation. Lots of info (mostly sympathetic) about Howard Hughes and his love of aviation and flying. Book written with a real love of commercial aviation. Great, fast-paced reading. Hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes' Airline: An Informal History of TWA []  2019-12-23 20:9

    A amazing read about a very strange and controversal man (Hughes) and a once amazing airline. Also was fun to read about a family mate who's antics were mentioned in the book, stories I had heard a lot of times while growing up in a TWA family. This was also one of the best historical accounts of TWA that I have read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Howard Hughes' Airline: An Informal History of TWA []  2019-12-23 20:9

    At least it's very readable, and interesting. I was expecting it to be a bit more focused on Hughes himself, but as a history of commercial aviation from the point of view of one airline it seems very complete.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2019 []  2020-1-15 23:5

    I got this book one because I saw a review and introduced me this book. It is also this year's editor's tutorial book for wines. Me and my gf went to Santorini and was like, there are so a lot of options, did not know which one to begin with, and this wine book really accurately described the taste and history of the wines all around the world. I got the Vin Santo for her and got myself one imported from Italy when I back home in Total wine. Really surprise the begin rating in this wine book is very accurate. Now after the trial and error, I'm more confident to learn more from this book and begin my own journey in wine tasting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2019 []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Have been purchasing the annual ver of Hugh Johnson's pocket wine book for a lot of years ... Hugh Johnson is a dedicated expert ... each year there is something fresh to read and learn included in the book ... and, of course, the book is always a handy reference ... would be very disappointed if I were unable to search a copy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2019 []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Wanted a book that provided some guidance to Fresh Zealand wineries while traveling there. Had several pages that listed a lot of but not all of their wineries. Overall you'll search it covers a lot of wineries around the world, but not some of the smaller, better wineries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2019 []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Regardless of what scene you are in your wine education Hugh's pocket books have been indispensable year after year, whether you are just considering opening clarets you bought a decade ago or considering buying something on the fly to entertain your friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2019 []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Pleasant to read, simple to understand. feeling that was missing certain things. still good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2019 []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Always love Hugh Johnson's guides.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2019 []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Amazing book, but came damaged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2019 []  2020-1-15 23:5

    If you are in the wine business this is a must alhabe book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2019 []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Always buy every year. An old mate to review questions with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2019 []  2020-1-15 23:5

    Everything you need to know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Selected Poems of Langston Hughes (Vintage Classics) []  2020-1-22 19:10

    Langston is an wonderful writer. He is very concerned with his skin and what it means to have this pigment define who he is. During his day, this was extremely sensitive and controversial. Some unenlightened and bigoted people today continue to have biased opinions of people due to skin color, ethnic background, or class distinctions, only to be fooled by their misguided pompas belief of ngston is a real human being. One searching for the beauty in every day life. Love in a hate filled world. Though at times he can be biased towards his own "race", it is understandable, for a lot of tend to look down on themselves and Mr Hughes is clearly intending to build people up and to believe in themselves that they are in fact worthy of a better life and should be recognized as True people, not as a lower form of person. A lot of passages created me cry in reading his passion and pain while enduring respect to him as just a poet, regardless of topic matter, he is purely inspiring and incredibly profound. Langston can speak in almost haiku form even in traditional Western verses. He can say so much in a single line, packed with meaning and insight. I have read quotes and reviews that state he was one of the greatest poets of modern literature or of the 20th century. This is an understatement. Can we not stop viewing our ancient poets as greater than modern ones? Can we please simply admit that one of the truly greatest poets ever, lived during the 20th century. And his name was Langston Hughes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Selected Poems of Langston Hughes (Vintage Classics) []  2020-1-22 19:10

    The title of W.E.B. DuBois' classic work, The Souls of Black Folk, would also be an apt description of the poetry of Langston Hughes. This book reads like one amazing communal voice, where different characters and speakers relate a shared experience from various angles. Hughes knew undoubtedly how to transport you to a particular time and place. Though I'll admit, one or two of the sections became tedious to read because of the excessive repetition and similarity between the poems chosen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Selected Poems of Langston Hughes (Vintage Classics) []  2020-1-22 19:10

    I love the book because I love Langston Hughes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Selected Poems of Langston Hughes (Vintage Classics) []  2020-1-22 19:10

    I'm from latin-america, and honestly I didn't know about Langston Hughes until couple weeks ago, when I saw a John Green video (crash course) in youtube about this poet. So I decided to buy this collection of selected poems, organized by Hughes himself. Is a book full of wisdom and love for live, every poem surrounded by the social context of the author. Was a fulfilling experience, so I decided to buy the Collected Poems, which is a bigger anthology of his poems (Look for it in amazon, a small bit more expensive but definitively worth it)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Selected Poems of Langston Hughes (Vintage Classics) []  2020-1-22 19:10

    Just ok. I’ve read other poems of Mr Hughes that are better. These seem to be his earlier work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Selected Poems of Langston Hughes (Vintage Classics) []  2020-1-22 19:10

    This is the third copy I have purchased. It gives a unbelievable insight into the life and times of the poet. I kept one copy, donated one to our retirement community library, and gave one to a grandchild.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Selected Poems of Langston Hughes (Vintage Classics) []  2020-1-22 19:10

    I found this book to be motivational and awakening. An simple read for ALL!.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Selected Poems of Langston Hughes (Vintage Classics) []  2020-1-22 19:10

    Will create you wish to read over and over again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Selected Poems of Langston Hughes (Vintage Classics) []  2020-1-22 19:10

    Nice book of poems!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Selected Poems of Langston Hughes (Vintage Classics) []  2020-1-22 19:10

    It's a book. I used it to read. Nice piece. Blessings

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seduction: Sex, Lies, and Stardom in Howard Hughes's Hollywood []  2020-1-16 6:48

    I love Hollywood gossip so I was really looking forward to reading this. What a disappointment. Nothing fresh to reveal and I got incredibly tired of Howard Hughes repeated conquests. Had to force myself to [email protected]#$%! and felt like a shower afterward cuz he was such scum. Read Noah Dietrich’s book about Hughes instead. Much better than this

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386