human reproductive biology Reviews & Opinions


Submit human reproductive biology review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Reproductive Biology review []  2020-1-22 20:43

    I rented this book to provide my daughter with reproductive education since her Christian school requires this of parents. The pictures are beautiful amazing and they cover all subjects from baby formation to STD's and the reproductive organs and processes. The illustrations are fairly well documented and presented. This book allowed us to review the facts of reproduction in one or two evenings mainly using the illustrated pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Reproductive Biology review []  2020-1-22 20:43

    I had to purchase this book since the publisher would not provide me with a desk copy. Worth the value. Very detailed. Appropriate for second or third year undergraduates in biology.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Reproductive Biology review []  2020-1-22 20:43

    The book is written in a method that is understandable and interesting, and I love the clinical abnormalities that they contain which I am most interested in. Amazing diagrams and layout too.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on human reproductive biology or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch human reproductive biology video reviews and related movies:

    See Reproductive System, Part 1 - Female Reproductive System: Crash Course A&P #40 on youtube.

     related image

    See Human Reproduction Class 12 Biology | Male Reproductive System | iWiz Sarika on youtube.

     related image

    See Male Reproductive System | Human Reproduction | Class 12 Biology Chapter 3 | NEET 2020 - 21 Exam on youtube.

     related image

    See The Human Reproductive System on youtube.

     related image

    See CBSE Class 12 Biology, Human Reproduction – 1, Male Reproductive System on youtube.

     related image

    See Reproductive System, Part 2 - Male Reproductive System: Crash Course A&P 41 on youtube.

     related image

    See Biology - Human reproductive system and fertilization process in human - English on youtube.

     related image

    See Human #female reproductive system |sexual reproduction| 10th Biology :CBSE | ncert class 10 |Science on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Reproductive Biology review []  2020-1-22 20:43

    Amazing book, informative, simple to comprehend, renting the book is a amazing option, not too technical but a small material sometimes feels out of place, repetative, or scarce. Overall a amazing sense of the reproductive system for anyone to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Reproductive Biology review []  2020-1-22 20:43

    It's will create do for the price. But definitely not good shape.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Reproductive Biology review []  2020-1-22 20:43

    The first few chapters are beautiful boring but the rest of the book is interesting, simple to read, and has amazing information

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Reproductive Biology review []  2020-1-22 20:43

    Hi still couldnt handle at my ikindle.why?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Reproductive Biology review []  2020-1-22 20:43

    This book came in excellent condition. It came hardcover and sealed. The campus stores sold this book for $150. This is a steal!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Reproductive Biology review []  2020-1-22 20:43

    It came in like a brand fresh textbook. Hope it isn't hard to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Human Body: The Facts Book for Future Doctors - Biology Books for Kids | Children's Biology Books review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    The content is primary and simple. I would recommend for a amazing reader, this is suited for a 5-7 year son is 9 and has other books quite more advanced which he reads with I said it's basics but well laid out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Human Body: The Facts Book for Future Doctors - Biology Books for Kids | Children's Biology Books review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    My 3 year old wants to be a doctor. Amazing book for the level she is. The writing quality is suspect.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Human Body: The Facts Book for Future Doctors - Biology Books for Kids | Children's Biology Books review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    My seven-year-old daughter love this book she enjoys learning about the body wants to grow up to be a doctor and it's a amazing investment to teach them!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Human Body: The Facts Book for Future Doctors - Biology Books for Kids | Children's Biology Books review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    True easy to understand and a amazing book to begin children off on understanding the human body. I would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Human Body: The Facts Book for Future Doctors - Biology Books for Kids | Children's Biology Books review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    Amazing for kids

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Human Body: The Facts Book for Future Doctors - Biology Books for Kids | Children's Biology Books review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    Amazing book for children who wish to be a Doctor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Human Body: The Facts Book for Future Doctors - Biology Books for Kids | Children's Biology Books review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    My son loves this book while we browsing in the shop bookshelves. Very well organized and fun to young kids. This is second science book I bought as supplement reading for his science learning. This will definitely give him extra interesting knowledge to what he has working on through the online Beestar Science program. I look forward to his reading of this book whenever some biology/human body subjects appear in the weekly beestar. It will be our fresh addition to the read-together books for my small future doctor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Human Body: The Facts Book for Future Doctors - Biology Books for Kids | Children's Biology Books review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    Got this for my son. He really like this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Human Body: The Facts Book for Future Doctors - Biology Books for Kids | Children's Biology Books review []  2020-1-20 19:18

    Very happy with purchase. The info and facts are very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    I mistakenly ordered this book as part of a homeschooling curriculum, choosing between 2 self-teaching tutorials based on the comments. I received the 2nd edition, rather than the 3rd edition which I thought I'd ordered, and am presently regarding other reviews with amazing astonishment. Had I looked more closely, I would have realized this was not what I wanted. This book, listed to have 106 pages, has 66 pages of material with extra exerpted material from a physics book. The edition I received has NO photographs or illustrations beyond the cover. It certainly would not be appropriate to read to little children, as other reviewers stated they had done. The formatting of paragraph after paragraph justified to left and right without indentations or any other visual interest presents like a college paper. I did not search the topic matter presented in the order I would've expected from a textbook, which is how I'd planned to use this book. To the positive, the book is readable, the author enthusiastic and clearly well-informed, and there is a amazing deal of interesting material within. It is likely amazing material for an adult who would like to dip her toes back into a topic without taking a class on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    Apparently this was a first draft, unedited, rough outline for something that never developed into its title. Publishing company did a amazing job with the front cover. Absolutely no substance on the inside to back it up.TERRIBLE. The author didn't even proofread. Just one example of a lot of glaring errors:"For example, humans have sex, thus giving the egg an opportunity to join with the egg and settle into the uterus to start the process of growing into a baby."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    Unfortunately, I don't have much confidence in this book. I thought it was going to be a formal, used textbook on biology. Instead it is small, appears to be self published, short, definitely not a formal textbook, and the back cover has a major typing / wording error on it. I feel like reading it, and using it for home teaching, would be a waste of time because I feel it is too likely to include errors and misinformation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    I unfortunately purchased this book without previewing what was available to me. I bought this book to uses as a resource and fast reference when tutoring students. It is not only borderline too rudimentary, but the typos, lack of necessary info important to a amazing science lesson, and not good sentence structure are hard to ignore. While the content is primary biology, it lacks the info to successfully build upon the primary concepts of biology.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    This is not a textbook and shouldn’t be considered a textbook. However, its a short read that but well-written so that anyone can understand the importance of the study of living organisms. I have a background and a PhD in biology and I recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand the basics. This is a amazing introductory read for anyone wanting to obtain into science.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    This is set up to look like a textbook but is not. Very primitive understanding by the writer of the science of biology with a lot of technical as well as grammatical errors. Don’t spend your cash if you are looking for a logical progression of biology education.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    Heed the lowest ratings: The innumerable typos start on the very first page. The sentence structure would not pass muster in a fourth grade English class. I paid $2.99 for the Kindle edition, but I should have reviewed the material and reviews. 62 pages long with no illustrations, just not good writing. I question the author's mastery of the material. Could she have created it through an undergraduate curriculum with this degree of ignorance? I hope not.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    The copy I received was horrible. No images or illustrations. An wonderful amount of typos. This has an extremely primary explanation of biology. You’d be better off saving the cash and looking at articles or videos online.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    Biology is a lively topic because it's a study on life. This books does helps us understand what's the biology beyond it's scientific meaning. How can we dwell our life here in earth on the long run. If we hold destroying our natural resources, how can we sustain the stability of living things. This book can change you point of view in life!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: The Ultimate Self Teaching Guide - Introduction to the Wonderful World of Biology - 3rd Edition (Biology, Biology Guide, Biology For Beginners, Biology For Dummies, Biology Books) review []  2020-1-15 23:37

    Very simple introductory book for non-science people. There are multiple typos so remove one star. Also, I can't believe this book does not have illustrations. This is a biology book so there should be lots of figures!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    After receiving the product, I discovered that it is for college level biology. My error. I do like the colourful and simple to read presentation of material, though. Will probably use it later.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    This book was just the study aid my granddaughter required to support her understand the concepts for her biology class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    This is a amazing series! I looked over this and read some of this when I purchased it for my daughter, it really seems to explain biology in an easy, concise manner! If you have always struggled with traditional biology textbooks, this e-book is a much better choice for explaining biology principles in method that makes much more sense for the beginning biology student!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    This work is a amazing value. The author covers most of the main biology topics. The format is close to a modified outline. There are more diagrams here than in related works. However, learning biology very much requires visuals.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    If I could give this book zero stars I would. I began reading the book for my college bio class and found numerous errors in the first 3 pages.Unacceptable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    Loved it!Lots of info and contains pictures to understand better.Easy to read and very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    It is place into easy terms and helps when learning a fresh subject ! Could use better organization maybe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    Returning item

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    Gives amazing insight. Want I had it to begin the course.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ace Biology!: The EASY Guide to Ace Biology: (Biology Study Guide, Biology In-depth Review) review []  2019-12-18 20:8

    Nice book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology review [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    After watching shows like Humans and Westworld as well as hearing futurists and Bill Gates and Stephen Hawkins refer to the Singularity I decided to go to the source. The theme is that the continued exponential growth in GNR (Genetics, Nanotechnology, and Robotics) will lead to intelligence and capability far exceeding that of humans. The argument, backed by charts and data, is compelling and Kurzweil is primarily an optimist. He sees a future where aging, disease, and poverty can be eliminated but, at the same time, is humble enough to acknowledge the dangers and uncertainties. Whether it's resisted or not, whether it looks like Humans or Dark Mirror or not; this future is coming and we'd all be wise to ponder it's implications and join the discussion on how to ensure it's a positive for humanity!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology review [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    A definite must read for those who wish to obtain a glimpse of near future in order to create preparations and logical investments. This book is the fresh word in a lot of ways it has a messianic nature, it tells us of the amazing flood and tells us to build boats or obtain ready to drown. Ray is a magnificent man a certified genius and he shares his projections and grand vision with both positive and negative aspects, nothing gets sugar coated. Read it and obtain ready

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology review [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    First check Ray Kurzweil's biography. I trust you agree that he’s probably quite smart, a serial achiever, and a thinker of consequence, fairly special and that his deliberations might deserve serious consideration. I have studied his 2005 book ‘The Singularity is Near – when Humans Transcend Biology” and have recognised it as the foundation to much that has been written, reproduced and debated ever since. I’m no various and I’ve leant heavily on his work in my book 'Leading into the Future' (WIP).The publication of ‘The Singularity is Near’ was ground breaking and remains a definitive logic study of science not because it’s the only treatise of a technology shaped future but precisely because it was written by Ray Kurzweil. He is the man on the spot; in the know and part of the collegiate of thought leaders that are making it happen. This is no armchair ‘what might be’ expose or a fresh series script for a ‘Space Odyssey’ sequel. It is an explanation of why it is so and why it matters, and it is still today, discussed and debated; it remains highly relevant and a verifiable street map of our progress towards actualization of technological progress.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology review [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    Amazing may know me as the genial, white-haired book reviewer, but I once had a secret identity. I was Doctor D. Filed, the angry scientist, and my job was to introduce kids to "the future," around when they were nine years may remember "the future." We would zoom round the galaxy, meeting alien races, living forever, and having robot computers that were smarter than we are. However, all this would happen a lot of years from now, and our great-great-grandchildren's great-great-grandchildren might catch a small glimpse of it. Otherwise the future we ourselves encountered would be just like today, only more ever, Ray Kurzweil has been doing the math on those latest two things, and he has a revised date for when we'll be immortal and have super-smart computers. And his date is . . .at's right, the year 2045, thirty-five years from now, less than half a lifetime. That means that more than half the people alive today will see that date. And don't take that to be some wishful thinking. Kurzweil has extrapolated the rate of change in technology and biology to arrive at that date. He points out that these technologies improve exponentially. That means that if our technology knowledge doubles every year, we are not going to see twenty times the knowledge in a decade, but two multiplied by itself ten times, or over a thousand times.Kurzweil quotes the Human Genome Project, which after seven years of a fifteen-year process, had completed one percent of its work. However, it finished on time, because technology improved all through that period. His work is meticulously sourced, with a lot of a footnote reference. His charts present that over and over again knowledge takes an exponential course. EDIT: I read recently of a human genome being read in four weeks, and today I hear of someone who did it in a week. Exponential enough for ya? EDIT of EDIT:An ex-ICU nurse told me today (9/9/09) that someone who nursed in an ICU as small as three years ago would have to go through months of training to obtain up to speed on ICU changes since then. AND THE LAST EDIT: "Complete Genomics has completed 14 genomes since March (20 human genomes in the globe have been published), priced at $5000, and aims to complete 10,000 genomes by the end of 2010." (also 9/9/09, still less than twenty years since the first mapping.)He believes that "the singularity," no matter how far away it seems today, will be here on time. This will mean that some technologies will reach their limits, but fresh technologies will arise before they're needed. The history of computer technology certainly bears him out. Equally biology is helping us understand the brain, so its re-creation in software is likely to might think that there is too much to learn about the brain, but it's a reasonably easy machine with complex ways of doing things. So let's just concentrate on the higher powers, rather than reconstructing neurons. To give you an example, for more than a hundred years we have been able to fly. We've had birds around us all through human history, but we didn't copy them. Beautiful much all our development has been with fixed- and rotating-wing aircraft being pulled through the air. Our "non-bird" flying has created us superior to birds, but we also have to obtain up there and come down safely. Hence a non-neuron brain, provided that it works at a higher level, can replace an incredibly complex series of cells.Kurzweil believes that we'll see advances in GNR, or Genetics, Nanotechnologies, and Robotics. Our DNA will be transformed to create us unable to catch major diseases, we'll have little machines inside our bloodstream, and these machines will improve our health from within. The day before I wrote this I read of "bacteria-based computing," and we're already capable of putting together little machines atom by atom, so it's not far away.Where does that leave us? Don't look at me - my white hair is a effect of being born in Globe Battle II. I won't see the singularity - but you might. A lot of people test to believe that it will never happen as soon as Kurzweil says - but that's like going out in a thunderstorm "because hardly anybody gets killed by lightning." The day will come, because "Objects seen in the future are closer than they appear."When those things happen it will cause a major disruptive force. Some understanding of what's to come makes us more able to judge these technologies when they occur. An unprepared population is likely to be panicked into making a wrong choice. I'm sure your reaction to this news was a kind of fear - when something needs fixing that you thought was OK. Kinda like your first reaction to Global Climate Change.But just as we recognized and now are doing something toward fixing Global Warming, so we can recognize this and discuss it. It's obviously a far bigger problem, but even if the projections are off it's still likely to occur. Most people don't realize that there are more embedded computers than people in the globe - chips that run your remote control, your car, and your dishwasher. We are so used to them we don't even know that they are me criticisms of this book are that it's repetitive, but Kurzweil has to present that everything points to it. His background is impeccable, but I wouldn't take tons of pills as he does, but then I've given up living long enough to see The Singularity. I applaud him for not making the book into some kind of horror story, and his apparent optimism is simply explaining that the process will happen, and there are enough amazing things to look forward to dealing with may agree with Kurzweil or you may not, but at least you'll know that there is an problem coming up that you'll probably have to deal with. Parts of it may seem unlikely to happen, but you're reading this on a system that has just about all the knowledge in the world, and the half human/half computers will have direct access to it. In fact, we'll invent the latest machine we need - the "inventing machine," which will be like the "mathematic machine" we call a computer, but it will invent fresh things and even improve don't laugh at the white-haired book reviewer - in the late twenty-first century, and the twenty-second century, and the twenty-third century, this could be you, telling the youngsters how unlimited knowledge and life was once a figment of people's imaginations.And if you have the slightest interest in this subject, buy this book. In 1975 - thirty-five years before now, imagine a book that told you what life would be like in 2010 - Communism crushed, a computer in just about every home, and all the knowledge in the globe on tap. This book is far more necessary than the 1975 book, and I'll bet you wished you'd read the 1975 book and created a few wise investments. But "The Singularity Is Near" will prepare you for a major coming crisis, and you'd better be prepared.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology review [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    WOW...this is a most strong book for an inquiring mind! Count yourself lucky if you the interest to absorb this fabulous history behind the development of artificial intelligence. This is not in any method science fiction -- Ray Kurzweil is the man behind artificial intelligence as we have come to know it, thanks to the work of Alan Turing before him. Amazing minds, both of them. This is a book that you will savor and contemplate as you read, not a fast read unless you just wish to say you read it. A favorite book of mine in 2014. It poses a lot of interesting, philosophical questions for you to ponder...about what we think we know today and what tomorrow will bring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology review [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    I've always thought about the future. It's in our nature to do so, though I think I tend to give it a more thorough and solid analysis of its possibilities than most. I've always heard of fresh advancements in technology and predictable patterns which I never took the time, nor hand the knowledge or data, to sit down and analyze. Ray Kurzweil does just e book is centralized around the Law of Accelerated Returns. Kurzweil looks toward the future with cautious optimism, predicting positive progress for humanity, but also warning versus its negative, though subtle in contrast to the positive, consequences. I like how Kurzweil discusses a bunch of various concepts, such as wormholes, aging, the economy, nanotechnology, and is book was written in 2005. I'm reading it in 2013 (and NOT because it took me this long - I elected the audiobook). I like reading this a small later so you can see how accurate his predictions were for the next few years. Also, it's more hopeful to think that he mentions something wonderful event 20 years out, which if you're reading it today, is only 12 years ahead.I would highly recommend the audiobook from Audible. This is NOT a sit-down-and-read-for-fun book. It's difficult, time-consuming, and full of words you'll likely struggle to pronounce, especially if you're a slow, meticulous reader like I am. It's like walking through a swamp - fun, scenic, but slow and demands a lot of energy. Listening to the audiobook is like taking a hovercraft across that swamp. It makes it a lot easier to absorb, and you don't have to be drudging through pages of fine text in order to obtain the message. The Audible ver is great. The reader takes a few mins to obtain used to, but after that, it's natural and simple to absorb.If they haven't already, they should create this into a so, if you're looking for a amazing drinking game, take a sip every time he uses the word 'panoply'. I think you'll be surprised how often this comes up. I was, considering that I haven't heard anyone use this word ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology review [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    Like so a lot of forward looking texts, Ray Kurzweil's book has suffered a small from the intervening time since writing. This does not detract from the fact that the core ideas are valid and that mankind is set upon a path that will take us towards a future in which integration of machine and human is almost e proposition that an smart "being" not born of woman but born as a side result of our own intelligence is a scary prospect but, once again almost inevitable given that if experience tells us anything, emergent behaviour is a law of nature. The combination of amino acids into DNA and life itself is an emergent behaviour that took put on a logarithmic timescale over a billion years or so. Since then the pace has picked up almost to the point where the line on today's chart of development is to all intent and purpose, vertical.We may not see this exact vision in the next few years but what will happen is likely to be as scarily close to Kurzweil's idea that it will create no difference and create him a prophet indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology review [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    Kurzweil is very amazing at making his points regarding the benefits of a unbelievable technological future. I freely admit that I am neither a computer engineer nor a luddite. However, there has to be a spot somewhere in the middle where we look at the amazing benefits as well as looking at the downside of technology. I have worked in the tech field all of my life and have seen enough computer glitches just in my own health care with misplaced records, incorrect entries and multiple various systems trying to interface to understand that when we begin talking about transcending our biology I hope that we are beta testing better than Microsoft.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology review [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    This book is definitely an smart read! This is an interesting look at the future, using logic to continue trends we have seen over the previous 100 + years to extrapolate where technological growth is heading. This is a VERY hopeful book if you have a disastrous health situation that looks like it will never be back to normal and healthy. If the fresh technologies work out, things from horrendous spinal injuries to multiple amputations will be able to be corrected in the near future, and that is the most hopeful thing I've read in a long time!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Singularity Is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology review [Book]  2017-10-29 18:1

    This is one of the most necessary books you'll ever read. I hope he comes out with a current update. The technology occasionally gets beautiful heavy, but the underlying notice is crucial. How come no one nationally is discussing this?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst review []  2019-12-19 18:54

    There are a lot of perfect works that explain how we create the decisions we make. Sapolsky tells us why we create them. This book is a must read for anyone interested in why we create decisions that often times seem inexplicable. More importantly, it provides a foundation for changing our social systems in ways that will be far more efficient and productive. I didn't obtain through the introduction before my first aha moment. He has taken complex science and presented it so it is understandable and enjoyable to read. The downside of reading Sapolsky's recent work is it will cause you to question long held beliefs about guilt or innocence, amazing and evil, moral or immoral. It is a ride worth taking and will leave you wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst review []  2019-12-19 18:54

    The newest on brain science by the globe wide expert, Robert Sapolsky. After watching a class taught by him on Amazing Courses, my husband and I felt he was a leading expert in his field. He also can keep an audience, keeping you interested by inserting anecdotes into what can sometimes be an overwhelming amount of scientific information. In this book, you will learn how much your "subconscious" runs your life. You will see that sometimes why you did something is caused by a butterfly result that started months ago. You will have a much greater understanding of people and why they do what they do. So worth reading. Awesome achievement, this book, this author, deserves your attention. He's on the cutting edge of our growing base of brain science.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst review []  2019-12-19 18:54

    It took me twelve days to read this book. I'm a Chilean reader so my English is no native and it's hard for me to understand everything, but this book deserved to retry any time I couldn't catch the entire meaning of a sentence or an idea. Robert Sapolsky writes as a lecturer. The reader is seated in the classroom and he's the professor who talks, so you feel very comfortable listening him and, more than that, you feel welcome by him. He's so natural and informal that you feel that a distance has been abolished, and this is just what is required to capture the very essence of this tremendous e book is about "us" and "them," and how our biology has modeled us to to replicate and to live this duality as an inexorable destiny. That's the reason why Sapolsky in a very intelligent design of the book dedicates the thirteen first (out of seventeen) chapters in describing to you how does our brains (and by extension our biology) to produce a human being with all that it means. And it means a lot. More than I can say here. Thus, the first thirteen chapters of the book leave you with the sensation that we are all design to be just the method we are. So nothing to be much optimistic ere's (for me at least) a tipping point in the book that synthesizes everything. It is in page 448 and shows you a graph that plots the "proportion of rulings in favor of the prisoners by ordinal position [i.e., the order in which they were heard by the judge]," with "points [indicating] the first decision in each of the three decisions sessions." Well, the thing is that "in a study of more than 1,100 judicial rulings, prisoners were granted parole at about a 60 percent rate when judges had recently eaten, and at essentially a 0 percent rate just before judges ate... Justice may be blind, but she's sure sensitive to her stomach gurgling."Well, there you are. And this is just one example, there are tons before and after indicating how sensible we are to the environment, the internal and the external one, something that Sapolsky summarize at the end of the book: "...we haven't evolved to be "selfish" or "altruistic" or anything else--we've evolved to be particular ways in particular settings. Context, context, context."As long as you read you think that the book was written to allow you know how remarkably begin AND close is our nature, in such a method that we are condemned to suffer our tremendous limitations: there is no method out (or in). Yes, as Sapolsky says, it's complicated. In fact, that could have been the title of the book. But that would have lessened the final chapters which are like the cracks in the wall through which a silver lining filters. The thing is that you didn't expect what Sapolsky tells you tis is not a detectives novel so what's the point in not commenting what's there for everyone of us? Well, I guess that the point is I shouldn't deprive you of discovering by yourself as I did. Yes, I'm talking here of the pleasure that renders the experience of something that sounds (even in a scientific manner) like a revelation. And that is: at the end of the book you see...I'm sure that other reviewers have revealed everything in order to criticize some points here and there. I guess that could be several, but to me that's not the point. The point is that Behave has not been written to convince you, not at all. Behave has been written to present you. Behave is not a book is a window as I suppose any amazing book I said, I'm Chilean and here, in my country, are hundreds of political prisoners that haven't the minimal possibility of being paroled. Not even that light ray that could traverse a crack in a wall. Not even that. They have no chance. Unfortunately this book is not going to be translated to Spanish. And if it is, it's not going to arrive to our commercial and not good (intellectually speaking) bookstores. My country is a very quiet one compared with the rest of the world. Nobody even message it, so quiet it is. We are like Switzerland bur without the money. And with the political prisoners they don't lsky it's not going to change nothing, but that's not the point, I insist: the point is that things are going to change anyway because history tells so. The thing is that we could do something to hurry the future. I don't know how. Sapolsky either. And what about you?Read this book if you are interested into thinking how does it feel not to be the amazing guy you think you are most of the time. In a sentence: how does it feel to be human.And it feels ve highly deserved stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst review []  2019-12-19 18:54

    This book describes the neurological processes of the brain. Most interesting was the numerous times that one's brain chemistry is doing something other than what you think you are thinking. For example you know that you are not prejudiced versus the "other" but your brain knows r me a difficult read. Lots of unfamiliar terms and territory. The unbelievable jokes and anecdotes greatly lightened the load. Their inclusion in uber-small type was a e primary notice is "it depends." Nature , nurture, early childhood experience (including abuse), and peer pressure all have an impact on behavior. There is no "silver bullet" that explains individual is is a scholarly work. The pop culture rewrite probably would run 200 pages without the plumbing and wiring diagrams. The frequent recaps and summaries support hold on on track.A final irony. We are told that the human brain doesn't reach maturity until the mid-twenties. A lot of of the cited studies were carried out with students as subjects. Are we studying immature brains?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst review []  2019-12-19 18:54

    Please read this book!We are capable of both far worse than we wish to believe and can do more to change the globe for the better than we tend to think we're able; and in both cases it's because of things we don't know, can't explain or don't wish to control. But the more we test to expand the little sliver of knowledge we do have, with respect for how little that sliver is; and the more awareness we can have that the globe around us and our biology drive much more of what we do in any moment than our conscious intellect, emotions or "free will" do - the more hope we have of doing more to change the globe with the small bit of actual influence we ere is infinitely more that we'll never know than any of us ever can know. Life, and even more so we as humans, are complicated beyond comprehension. A lot of times over this book created that abundantly clear. More often than not, those lessons created me question the certainty of what I believe (or thought I knew as fact) about me, people, relationships, politics, economics, race, religion, God, culture, civilization, war, peace and any other slice of life I can think bert Sapolsky, with humility and amazing respect for the limitations of science, has written a truly globe view changing book that is as well written as the science he has aggregated is fascinating and eye-opening. He artfully conveys meaningful, relevant understanding and context for the hopelessly complex subject of what drives human behavior. A review that led me to this book described it as one of the best works of non-fiction the reviewer had read, and it is hands down the same for me. It is also likely to prove one of the most meaningful and necessary books I ever will read because of how fundamentally it has me re-thinking, well, everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst review []  2019-12-19 18:54

    This is an impressive book. It’s a kind of encyclopedia of human nature, with the earlier chapters focused on the functions of various parts of the human brain and the later chapters focused on this brain’s behavioral bert Sapolsky is nothing if not engaging in his writing style. He knows how to show complicated topic matter in easily digestible and logically coherent portions. And he has a sense of humor which, often enough, hits home. Here’s his take on who reads academic research papers: “The number of times your average science paper is cited can be counted on one hand, with most of the citations by the scientist’s mother.”As an academic, all I can say is “ouch,” but it’s an ouch of recognition, not is quote, by the way, is part of a thorough discussion of the work of three of the most cited social scientists in history - Solomon Asch, Stanley Milgram and Philip Zimbardo - a discussion which, by itself, is almost worth the purchase price of "Behave."So, if you’re interested in the recent research on what people-and-the-things-they-do are all about, and would also appreciate having a valuable source for future reference on a wide array of subjects in this area, Professor Sapolsky’s recent book is just the thing. Strongly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst review []  2019-12-19 18:54

    by Robert Sapolsky is a monumental book of nearly 800 pgs., Appx. 720 of them devoted to the book's body and appendices, and the rest to indexing. Not counting the index I estimate that runs to around 250,000 words.Why only three stars from me when others rate it higher? Because I am neither biologist nor neurologist. The author is both. So why did I read it? Because I read a review in the Wall St. Journal wherein the psychologist-reviewer praised it to the sky. This was not the first time I bought a book under related circumstances only to be disappointed. I should have learned my lesson Sapolsky is fresh to me. He is knowledgeable in the extreme, writes beautifully and has a wry wit. Those admirable qualities were not enough for me to overcome a feeling that the topic was narrow enough to have been covered with at most, half the pages used.I know

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst review []  2019-12-19 18:54

    Behave is a sweeping and in depth accounting of the neurobiology of humans. It covers everthing! The Chapters begin with The Behavior, One Second Before, Second to Mins Before, . . . Centuries to Millenia Before . . . Us Vs Them . . . Morality . . . EpilogueSo a lot of huge subjects are covered in this book! I've picked some themes that resonated with my current understanding of what it is to be human. These are represented by some scant notes of mine clearly labeled as [jch note:s]. All quoted text is verbatum from the book, with sonating Themes: It's complicated! (Addressing Nature v. Nurture), Us v. Them, Autopilot (Free Will?) Brain Science, Income Inequality, Moral Foundations, CultureSapolsky is a amazing writer! The text is clearly presented by someone with a firm grasp on the tree of knowledge and how to pass it on. There are a lot of noted os a private nature, usually with a unbelievable sense of humor. And there are many, a lot of unbelievable references such as "untruthiness".It's Complicated! - That's the theme of the book.p.248 "This is summarized wonderfully by the neurobiologist Donald Hebb: “It is no more appropriate to say things like characteristic A is more influenced by nature than nurture than . . . to say that the zone of a rectangle is more influenced by its length than its width.” It’s appropriate to figure out if lengths or widths explain more of the variability in a population of rectangles. But not in individual ones."Epilogue Bullet: " Genes aren’t about inevitabilities; they’re about potentials and vulnerabilities. And they don’t determine anything on their own. Gene/ environment interactions are everywhere. Evolution is most consequential when altering regulation of genes, rather than genes themselves."Epilogue Bullet: " Adolescence shows us that the most interesting part of the brain evolved to be shaped minimally by genes and maximally by experience; that’s how we learn—context, context, context."Epilogue Bullet: " We are constantly being shaped by seemingly irrelevant stimuli, subliminal information, and internal forces we don’t know a thing about."p.267 Figure from Cluture Gender and Math ( Luigi Guiso et al. ) showing girls better at math in IcelandEpilogue Bullet: " Brains and cultures coevolve."p.92 "Words have power. They can save, cure, uplift, devastate, deflate, and kill. And unconscious priming with words influences pro-and antisocial behaviors."p.97 culture shapes what we see "Thus, culture literally shapes how and where you look at the world."Us vs ThemEpilogue Bullet: " We implicitly divide the globe into Us and Them, and prefer the former. We are easily manipulated, even subliminally and within seconds, as to who counts as each."Epilogue Bullet: " Be dubious about someone who suggests that other types of people are like small crawly, infectious things."p.388 IAT "Rapid, automatic biases versus a Them can be demonstrated with the fiendishly clever Implicit Association Try (IAT). 3 Suppose you are unconsciously prejudiced versus trolls. To simplify the IAT enormously: A computer screen flashes either pictures of humans or trolls or words with positive connotations (e.g., “honest”) or negative ones (“ deceitful”). Sometimes the rule is “If you see a human or a positive term, press the red button; if it’s a troll or a negative term, press the blue button.” And sometimes it’s “Human or negative term, press red; troll or positive term, press blue.” Because of your antitroll bias, pairing a troll with a positive term, or a human with a negative, is discordant and slightly distracting. Thus you pause for a few milliseconds before pressing a button."p.629 "The core of that thought is Susan Fiske’s demonstration that automatic other-race-face amygdala responses can be undone when topics think of that face as belonging to a person, not a Them. The ability to individuate even monolithic and deindividuated creatures can be remarkable."Epilogue Bullet: " When humans invented socioeconomic status, they invented a method to subordinate like nothing that hierarchical primates had ever seen before."p.144 "There’s unbelievable context dependency to these effects. When a rat secretes dozens of glucocorticoids because it’s terrified, dendrites atrophy in the hippocampus. However, if it secretes the same amount by voluntarily running on a running wheel, dendrites expand. Whether the amygdala is also activated seems to determine whether the hippocampus interprets the glucocorticoids as amazing or poor stress."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst review []  2019-12-19 18:54

    Well, i am not only disappointed but frightened. This book is a huge review of papers and facts of all sorts from all species of animals, birds, hyenas, apes, fish, all place together in one heavy frankenstein text. It is simply not practical to check every reference in the book to see how well each study was done and whether the results were interpreted correctly or just created to fit the tactic of writing. But things written this method are like scientific reviews - readers assume the author is right given that he did so much research. The fact that it may be very far from the truth struck me when i came across the passage about Stalin and Pavlik Morozov example. Not only it is historically grossly wrong, it was also interpreted in the best tradition of propaganda-infused ideology masked as neurophysiology. And of course presented as fact. Boom. What about trusting the author's interpretation of all other facts in this book?Two stars instead of one for indeed a amazing description of primary neuroanatomy and endocrinology.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst review []  2019-12-19 18:54

    I am in awe - this is a tour de force & worth the time if you really wish to understand behavior with a big-picture perspective! If you care to understand the multiple causes & conditions that contribute to the behavior of humans & other animals you will likely have amazing gratitude that Sapolsky took the time to write this masterpiece. Behave is beautifully written, very engaging, well-documented (for those who read end-notes & basic sources), and even funny at times which I appreciated. If you are daunted by the size of this book, take it page by page. I was hooked after reading the introductory chapter!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Embryology and Developmental Biology E-Book review []  2020-1-21 20:7

    First allow me say that I am Associate Professor of clinical science who is designing a advanced course in the topic of embryology.I originally gave this book only one star because of inconsistency with the mainstream embryology books and the frustration of reading ever, after spending a couple months still designing my embryology course, I search myself coming back to this book over and over again to obtain the full story. The other classic embryology books (Langman, Larsen, and Moore) do not go deep enough to give you a full understanding of the story. Carlson does!So if you really wish to understand embryology and not just pass the test, this is a amazing book to only complaint is that it still needs to be edited for clarity. Some of the stories are still very confusing and even contradicting in certain places. But that said, you have to have this book if you're really wish to be well-informed on the topic of embryology.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality, 2nd Edition review []  2020-1-20 22:45

    I completed all the lectures in this course. The professor is a very amazing speaker, organized and systematic. I come from a medical science background. It started off fairly easy and gradually got more complex. I found some of the info informative. I discovered the series is a bit older than I had anticipated, I believe from around 2005. It was impossible to tell from the add in amazon just what the copyright date was when i looked at it. My goal was to learn more about the neurologic basis of individuality. There is clearly a fair bit about this but it was not nearly what I was hoping for. I did not feel like the course title adequately reflected what ultimately was discussed. He did point to several text book references repeatedly in the little treatise that accompanied the course, a brief summary of each lecture, which was nice. I have since ordered several of these books, often in more current editions and found much more of what I was looking for in the course. Most of what he said did not seem terribly controversial but I have to take umbrage toward the end of the lectures where he went off on a rant about how religions that derive from desert bands have more or less taken us astray. He asserted that if we were more like people of the rain forest it might be a various and improved world. I'm not sure what universe he was talking about but i can only conclude he knows small about people from rain forests. This was my first "Great Course". It felt like a lot of effort for a small gain.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality, 2nd Edition review []  2020-1-20 22:45

    There are few speakers better qualified on this topic than Robert Sapolsky. He has a lifetime of work to ground his conclusions and his speaking style is clear and simple to understand. He is also quite funny at intervals during his speaking. My husband was a complete novice on the topic and he enjoyed it very much. I have a lot more experience in the topic and there was also plenty of fresh information/perspectives for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality, 2nd Edition review []  2020-1-20 22:45

    I enjoyed the course very much. Hold in mind, that this is not general entertainment and may not be for everyone. Nevertheless, it gives a very simple to understand, very progressive, and very complete understanding of both the physiology of the brain and how this can result the behavior. This ver is an make batter from earlier versions in that it discusses DNA and has a more complete discussion of hormones. I enjoyed the learning experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality, 2nd Edition review []  2020-1-20 22:45

    This was a very interesting course with much detail. The professor demonstrated humor as well as a very comprehensive commend of the subject. When I ordered the course, I really did not know what to expect. I'm glad I gave it a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality, 2nd Edition review []  2020-1-20 22:45

    I am a professor of Evolutionary Psychology. There are no words to express how valuable these lectured are.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality, 2nd Edition review []  2020-1-20 22:45

    Amazing course from amazing professor

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality, 2nd Edition review []  2020-1-20 22:45

    A corny college style lecture. Dozens of simple to understand info. The prof is funny and quirky and simple to listen to. I am glad this is on DVD and not an audio program as it is a lot of info..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality, 2nd Edition review []  2020-1-20 22:45

    I was ripped off. The marketer said I would keep the 2 CD set along with session transcripts. I only received two thin paperback books,...not worth $20 collectively, BUT I paid nearly $e author is funny but reading is a bit disjointed since I am reading direct transcripts of the video... its not the best method to read....Topic is very interesting. Speaker has clever, novel analogies. Want I could see him give the talks!!NO PROBLEM wiht the subject or speaker... but I WAS RIPPED OFF. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS VENDOR!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality, 2nd Edition review []  2020-1-20 22:45

    He is so afraid of losing research grants or otherwise hurting his career. He repeatedly states that differences in human intelligence and behavior are almost entirely due to environmental influences and that almost nothing is due to genes. The party line in the USA is that people of all races and sexes have exactly equal potential at the moment of conception, and that all differences in outcome are due to environment; this lecturer knows that he dare not stray from that faith, regardless of evidence to the contrary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality, 2nd Edition review []  2020-1-20 22:45

    If you have just a grain of interest in the brain, physiological processes, and evolution, you'll probably be enthralled by Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality, a seminar series taught by the exceptionally gifted Dr. Robert Sapolsky. Sapolsky is one of the most talented speakers I've ever heard. He takes concepts/content that seem quite complex on the surface, and breaks them into comprehensible, digestible nuggets of knowledge that nourish and strengthen the mind. And, he peppers his discourse with plenty of humor. If in doubt about making the investment in the DVDs, watch a few mins of any one of his lectures on YouTube. I've finished watching both this lecture series and another series by Sapolsky titled Stress and Your Body, which I recommend watching after Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: Science of Life, Cell Theory, Evolution, Genetics, Homeostasis and Energy (Cell Function, Origin of Species, Biology Essentials, Biology Life ... Modern Biology, Life Cycle, Homeostasis) review []  2020-1-22 20:45

    The book is a complete refresher on the Biology class we were in during our school days. I was really glad I came to buy this book and have read it. I surely will hold this for future reference for my niece whom I thinks would definitely use this in the near future. Nice one!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: Science of Life, Cell Theory, Evolution, Genetics, Homeostasis and Energy (Cell Function, Origin of Species, Biology Essentials, Biology Life ... Modern Biology, Life Cycle, Homeostasis) review []  2020-1-22 20:45

    The book provides a amazing overview of biology but it includes grammatical errors at times. Not a poor publication overall.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: Science of Life, Cell Theory, Evolution, Genetics, Homeostasis and Energy (Cell Function, Origin of Species, Biology Essentials, Biology Life ... Modern Biology, Life Cycle, Homeostasis) review []  2020-1-22 20:45

    It provides the reader with a primary understanding of various divisions of biology. And it explains each of these divisions in a simplistic manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: Science of Life, Cell Theory, Evolution, Genetics, Homeostasis and Energy (Cell Function, Origin of Species, Biology Essentials, Biology Life ... Modern Biology, Life Cycle, Homeostasis) review []  2020-1-22 20:45

    A fast read I found it very well written an created simple to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Biology: Science of Life, Cell Theory, Evolution, Genetics, Homeostasis and Energy (Cell Function, Origin of Species, Biology Essentials, Biology Life ... Modern Biology, Life Cycle, Homeostasis) review []  2020-1-22 20:45

    A amazing beginner's tutorial to biology

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Embryology and Developmental Biology E-Book: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access review []  2020-1-22 19:36

    I am purchasing this book based on Bruce Carlson's solid reputation as author of other developmental biology textbooks. I expect this book to be comparable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Embryology and Developmental Biology E-Book: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access review []  2020-1-22 19:36

    I teach developmental biology and study invertbrate devlopment and evolution. For my course I use Scott Gilbert's perfect text and teach my course as a general introduction. I just became pregnant and purchased this book to exapand my knowledge on human development.I'm rather disppointed. It's not detailed enough and while the illustrations are nice, there are several diagrams that illustrate paracrine factor targets but are never mentioned in the text or explained. why diagram them then? Even more disturbing is a underlying teological bias that a lot of smart designers would salivate over reading. For instance page 209 "a master blue print" is used to describe the interactions of several tissue types to form the limbs. It's disturbing to think that our MD's might be using this text for their human embryology courses- its a very primary pass frought with not good word choices that would satisfy any creationist.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Embryology and Developmental Biology E-Book: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access review []  2020-1-22 19:36

    I use the book to my embryology class and I have to say that is the best book of embryology I find. The contents are very up-date, and handle much info of the molecular basis of the development and the genes that are expressed in every step of the human development. The book have a very amazing redaction and the gene info of the book is the best one. It's a very up-dated book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Embryology and Developmental Biology E-Book: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access review []  2020-1-22 19:36

    Must have!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An Introduction to Systems Biology: Design Principles of Biological Circuits (Chapman & Hall/CRC Mathematical and Computational Biology) review []  2020-1-23 2:26

    I have had the first edition for years and welcome this fresh edition. The updates and added material have extended the explanations that the author has developed for this necessary field of study. This book along with the class room youtube presentations create an perfect combination to learning about Systems Biology.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An Introduction to Systems Biology: Design Principles of Biological Circuits (Chapman & Hall/CRC Mathematical and Computational Biology) review []  2020-1-23 2:26

    It is a very amazing book. Very well written, everything is clearly illustrated and presented. It makes a tough topic simple to follow

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    An Introduction to Systems Biology: Design Principles of Biological Circuits (Chapman & Hall/CRC Mathematical and Computational Biology) review []  2020-1-23 2:26

    Arrived in not good condition. Dirty. One corner of the book has water damage. I thought I was buying a fresh book but this book seems used.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HUMANITY 2.0: THE NEW HUMANITY review []  2019-12-27 18:44

    Charol's necessary work, HUMANITY 2.0: THE NEW HUMANITY, is a clearly guided addition for the Globe to read. My Spirit soared as I gleaned fresh insights, and I felt the Love that God has for me, and for everyone. I was captivated by her gracious style of writing, giving me time to pause and think, and offering me a possibility to grow and expand as a seeker. I will recommend this book over and over ncerely, Claudia Watts Edge author of GIFTS FROM THE EDGE Stories of the Other Side

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    HUMANITY 2.0: THE NEW HUMANITY review []  2019-12-27 18:44

    Charol is very open, show and heartful in presenting the next scene of evolution available to all of rry

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anatomy and Physiology: Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: A Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals (Anatomy and Physiology, Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Human Anatomy and Physiology) review []  2019-12-19 18:52

    I am not a biologist and (almost) won't comment on the content. But if spelling mistakes, ungrammatical sentences, missing illustrations and repeated texts are a turn-off for you, hold away, at least until the text has been thoroughly edited, in content and 's one example of a really silly mistake: "The body is composed of cells that consist of thousands [sic!] of various chemical elements".Here's another: The list of "Anatomical Terms" appears twice, once before the illustrations and once after. In both, the terms are given as adjectives ("Axillary, Frontal, etc.), except for "Dorsum" (instead of "Dorsal"), for some reason.Lots of missing illustrations, for example all the illustrations in the chapter on "Basic Muscle Movement".I could go on, but you obtain the idea.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anatomy and Physiology: Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: A Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals (Anatomy and Physiology, Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Human Anatomy and Physiology) review []  2019-12-19 18:52

    I have used this text as a tool when I tutor and the short direct points the authors create are simple for a high school student to grasp. Whereas other texts in A&P are well illustrated and describe a lot of details, Vaughn's book hits the necessary points without extra detail. Whereas this book would not serve as a stand alone text it does let the reader to reinforce concepts which the larger detailed texts have described but in a form that may be grasped readily. A very amazing supplemental text for high school A&P and undergraduate first courses in A&P.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anatomy and Physiology: Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: A Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals (Anatomy and Physiology, Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Human Anatomy and Physiology) review []  2019-12-19 18:52

    I purchased this book to begin learning about Medical Billing and Coding to support my daughter (a vascular surgeon) after I retire. She thumbed through the book and said it was very complete.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anatomy and Physiology: Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: A Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals (Anatomy and Physiology, Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Human Anatomy and Physiology) review []  2019-12-19 18:52

    I remember having anatomy and physiology during my nursing years. Interesting to learn things through the topic matter. Human body is a very special creation that is thought-provoking and educational. Through this book I learn things that my professor unable to teach us. Sharing this to my colleagues in our nurse station.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anatomy and Physiology: Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: A Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals (Anatomy and Physiology, Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Human Anatomy and Physiology) review []  2019-12-19 18:52

    Really amazing beginners anatomy book. Very simple to follow and understand. Very primary and excellent for starting out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anatomy and Physiology: Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: A Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals (Anatomy and Physiology, Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Human Anatomy and Physiology) review []  2019-12-19 18:52

    It is a amazing piece of masterful information. I have been reading it and it is so amazing that the resources in it are readily available which really entices me about the book. The materials in are not only primary but they are also relavent and straight to the point. I think that it will necessary if there could be an audio ver of the book so as to support students be able to correctly read some the tongue- twisted medical and scientific anks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anatomy and Physiology: Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: A Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals (Anatomy and Physiology, Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Human Anatomy and Physiology) review []  2019-12-19 18:52

    hopefully it's a amazing book even if you retook anatomy and physiology or if you just wish like a light read to freshen up your memory on a lot of things. It's a amazing source I've read it and it kind of helps me sometimes just to refresh my memory on certain body movements or how things work including that it's a amazing source for references when writing papers 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anatomy and Physiology: Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: A Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals (Anatomy and Physiology, Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Human Anatomy and Physiology) review []  2019-12-19 18:52

    I've been using this along with my notes in Bio and it's helped immensely! Clear and concise language with visuals to help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anatomy and Physiology: Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: A Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals (Anatomy and Physiology, Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Human Anatomy and Physiology) review []  2019-12-19 18:52

    So helpful. Detailed and pictures that method you can better understand the material. Minor errors not extreme. This book helped me on A&P 1. I'll continue using this in A&P 2 and also in my career

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Anatomy and Physiology: Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: A Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals (Anatomy and Physiology, Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Human Anatomy and Physiology) review []  2019-12-19 18:52

    This book has multiple spelling errors. This is unacceptable as the point of anatomical terms is to provide a precise language with which to communicate to other health care workers.I am sending back back because of this issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human : Fall Flat Human Walktrough 2020 review [App]  2019-12-14 13:10

    P😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀🏁

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Spatial Humanities: GIS and the Future of Humanities Scholarship review []  2020-1-10 18:50

    This book proposes the development of a spatial humanities that would revitalize and redefine scholarship by (re)introducing geographic concepts of zone to the humanities. The power of GIS for the humanities, the editors propose, lies in its ability to integrate varied kinds of info from a common location, regardless of format, and to visualize the results in combinations of transparent layers on a map of the geography shared by the data. The authors propose taking what GIS offers in the method of tools, while urging fresh agendas upon GIS that will shape it for richer collaborative engagements with humanities disciplines. For example, the chapter, "The potential of spatial humanities" discusses how one researcher used GIS to rebut the standard Dust Bowl narrative that blamed farmers in Oklahoma and Kansas in the 1920s and 30s for using ruinous, ecologically insensitive agricultural practices, thus turning a pristine prairie into wasteland. It also illustrates how another researcher re-mapped Europe from AD 300 to 900 to present the connection between developments in communication and transportation that scholars previously had studied in isolation. The editors conclude with a discussion of six themes that tag the nascent field of spatial humanities.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    More Than Human review []  2020-1-13 19:16

    I happened to be searching for my next amazing book to read when a dear mate recommended Theodore Sturgeon's "More Than Human." I am so grateful for that recommendation. The book is quirky, twisted, and most rewarding. And it does rise to the level of being a amazing rhaps when we think about science fiction, in general, we may still obtain lost. Even today, there are well-regarded writers in that genre, of amazing literary stature, who are due for a wider audience. In the case of Theodore Sturgeon, I am certain that, once a follower of his work, there is no turning back. What “More Than Human” achieves is nothing less than to inspire the reader. Its very purpose is to do just e case is made, in a dazzling way, in favor of humanity. All of humanity, in one form or another, is brought up for your consideration. The very notion of humanity is stretched and pulled. We search characters who are clearly living subhuman lives. As in a fable, these characters, at first, seem less than true except, as the story builds, they compel you to turn the page.What exactly is going on is something we won’t know for some time to come. All we know, at first, is that we have some characters in distress. They’re in a compound in a secluded forest and their very humanity is in danger. But light keeps breaking the dark. And a war ensues between light and dark. Sturgeon makes us hope for the characters and then gives us reasons to hope for them and well beyond the characters themselves.Further into the story, one locale will give method to another and one character’s journey will blend with another. Or, as is more to the point, we see key characters who not only blend with one another. They will “blesh” with one another. In fact, our key characters will blesh into something greater than the sum of their parts. And, thus, the title of the urgeon provides a seemingly spare and direct style that percolates with fanciful word choice and description. It’s a sturdy narrative with consistently elegant turns. In that way, the pathos of a village idiot, or an insensitive man, or a vulnerable young woman, is best evoked.“More Than Human” is about some most unlikely misfits who together form the next step in human evolution. Like anything worthy of being a classic, it is so much more than just that. It is more in the method the story unfolds and what it has to say about all of us. It’s more in its determination to express such goofy, yet essential, idealism. Published in 1953, it was ahead of its time in its inherently quirky approach. But, in the years to come, Sturgeon wasn’t exactly obscure to the general public. For instance, he wrote two of the most beloved episodes of the original Star Trek tv series. "Amok Time" is the episode where Mr. Spock first displays the Vulcan hand salute and first says the Vulcan motto, "Live long and prosper." All thanks to Theodore Sturgeon.When Kurt Vonnegut caught the limelight, he helped to add to the growing acknowledgement of Sturgeon. Those in the know, always held Sturgeon in the highest regard. Just give Vonnegut a careful read and you’ll see for yourself. There is a recurring hero in the Vonnegut universe named after Sturgeon. His is name is Kilgore Trout.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    More Than Human review []  2020-1-13 19:16

    I read this as a young man in the early 50s and again now as I approach 80 . . . and tears streamed down my cheeks--I don't know exactly why--at the stage in which Gerry is introduced to the group. They all wonder about him and someone asks "Are you sure?" And Baby's respond (through Janie) is "Sure. He's the one." I want the notion of his being "the one" were expanded a bit . . . and I [email protected]#$%! was created clearer exactly what he added to the group. He himself wonders what he can do for the group that they can't do for themselves. OK, his job is to keep the group together . . . but why is he "the one"--apparently the only one--who could do that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    More Than Human review []  2020-1-13 19:16

    This book was written the year I was born, and I first read it when I was in High School. Reading it again in my 60's I now see it as a hopeful beacon for the fate of humanity, what it means to be human and the ethical choices we must make. Sturgeon and Vonnegut were my favorite authors as a 'young adult'. As a young person I was inspired by the wonder of speculative fiction, now as an old person, I am inspired by the hope it represents.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    More Than Human review []  2020-1-13 19:16

    I had read Sturgeon before but somehow missed "More Than Human". I ran across references to it for years and finally decided to read it. It was not what I expected, but it was (of course) excellent. It is composed of three interlocking novellas, "The Fabulous Idiot", "Baby is Three" and "Morality". Baby is Three was published first, in 1952, and then again bookended by the two other chapters the following year. It is, perhaps surprisingly, a bit of a tough read, in part because each of the segments is narrated by (Baby is Three) or focuses on (the other two) a protagonist with prodigious and supernormal mental abilities. We, the reader, are as confused as they are, particularly in parts 2 and 3 where the protagonist has urgeon's novel posits and explores a fresh evolution in humanity, homo gestalt, where complete meta-human are made from several individuals with unusual mental abilities. Lone is the "idiot" of the first section, a 25 year old feral man with powerful telepathic and empathic abilities. He becomes the defacto leader of the group that lives in a cave in the woods that that comes to consist of Lone, Janie, a young telekinetic girl, Baby, a mongoloid savant who cannot communicate except though Janie but who is a human computer, and set of black toddler twins who can e storyline introduces a number of elements that were groundbreaking for the time; problems of sexual equality, racial integration, the relative nature of morality and "bleshing" a combination of blending and meshing that enables the individuals to function as a homo gestalt. The concept of bleshing foreshadows in a method (and likely influenced) R.A. Heinlein's "grokking" in "Stranger in a Strange Land", published a decade later. The same goes for the discussions of the relative nature of morality for post-humans interacting in (current) human society. The language and (then topical) cultural references clearly date the story as belonging to some past America, but it remains a classic commended.J.M. Tepperp.s. My kindle ver did not include the extras described on the Amazon page. Only the complete text of the novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    More Than Human review []  2020-1-13 19:16

    Well wow! This small book (192 pages) was so wonderful! I saw it on numerous Science Fiction book lists, and I added it to my to read list. While there is the Science Fiction aspect, there is also much to categorize it also as e beginning is quite eerie, unbelievable and suspenseful. Six extraordinary people with strange powers “blesh” (sort of a blending and meshing) their abilities together, and are able to act as one organism. Leading to a next step in human evolution.Highly recommended.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter