human resource machine Reviews & Opinions


Submit human resource machine review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    A fun android game based around programming and a amazing method to introduce some of the concepts of programming. I've only ever used higher-level computer languages so often am left frustrated as to why they don't give you command X rather than having to do command Y plus Z plus Y again. But that may be being real to nature of coding.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    I love this so far. I'm almost halfway through. You don't have to know anything about programming, but it helps if you LIKE programming, because that's what you're doing. You're basically doing assembly language programming using a visual system, like a flowchart, to perform challenges, like "compare two numbers, write out 0 if they have the same sign, 1 if they have various signs" and you have a certain set of instructions that increases as you go through the game. There are gift points for doing it with fewer instructions or with fewer overall steps. The human resource theme is purely ephemeral. In fact, it might be more analogous to working in a mail room than an HR department because you're analyzing and routing things.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    I've seen lots of people having an problem with the jump command, but I personally think this is a variation of assembly language. It reminds me mostly of the Small Man Computer simulation, which is available online. It leads me to think that a lot of people overestimated the complexity of this android game (even though it's still fun and challenging). Overall I think this is really fun and even a amazing introduction to programming. Amazing. :)

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on human resource machine or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch human resource machine video reviews and related movies:

    See Human Resource Machine Gameplay - #1 - Programming in the Mail Room?! on youtube.

     related image

    See BRINGING HOME THE BACON | Human Resource Machine on youtube.

     related image

    See TOMORROW CORP RETURNS - Human Resource Machine on youtube.

     related image

    See Nerd³ Tests... Human Resource Machine on youtube.

     related image

    See Let's Look At: Human Resource Machine! on youtube.

     related image

    See Human Resource Machine - Official Trailer #1 on youtube.

     related image

    See Human Resource Machine 01 (Let's Play / Gameplay) on youtube.

     related image

    See Week of - Human Resource Machine Part 1 - Solutions 1-14 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    I really have fun the game! Fun, very challenging, and a gentle introduction to assembly programming. The lack primary of volume controls controls spoils it however. God forbid you wish to play the android game while listening to own melody or a podcast. You can't hear anything over the game's sound effects.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Minor niggle - if you accidentally have an infinite loop in your code and run it, the android game will eventually crash even if you halt your process. I suspect this is because the android game is running tests on other inputs in the background - and they don't terminate despite you having stopped the visible work. Aside from that, amazing game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Amazing idea, but what's with the jump commands? They were left behind as poor coding style in the 80's. If you used "if" statements instead I'd use this to introduce my children to coding, but like this its very difficult.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    I love this game. I don't play android games often, but went through all of the levels within a couple days, and still periodically jump back in to test to beat the optimization challenges. I'd definitely pay for more levels of greater complexity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    This android game is really fun. The amount of levels is worth the money. The additional challenges can sometimes be a small tedious, but it results in more content nonetheless. The main route was a small simple for someone that can program, but some of the optional levels created up for that. Art style is very special and creates an atmosphere fitting for the game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Been looking for a android game that introduces primary programming concepts to kids, that is fun to play and does not feel like work. This is it!!! My 3 boys (ages 11, 12 and 15) were playing this latest night and could not place it down. Woke up this morning and the first thing they did was jump back into the latest level they had not yet figured out. I love it as does my wife, who is a very experienced programmer. Its based on assembler coding, so don't expect it to teach C or Java.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Not compatible with samsung s8+. Right hand of the screen is chop off, controls are unresponsive. Notice me when its fixed. Dont waste your money!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    If you like TIS-100 and Silicon Zeroes, then just short of having those android games ported to Android, you can purchase this android game and scratch that programming android game itch. To the devs: well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Love it, HINT to Google user who got stuck on lvl 13, overwriting or copying to existing values that already exist, deletes them also you can evaluate something is equal by subtracting integers to see If you obtain zero. DEVs, Perhaps I'm not far enough yet (lvl 15), but you may wish to point out in the first branch or sooner something about the extra tabs on the top right to have 3 possible programs per level. I came across this by accident.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Amazing concept and a fun, difficult game. Puzzles are difficult, but not impossible. If I had one minor gripe it was that sometimes the code was hard to manipulate on the harder levels. Otherwise it was a nearly perfect, if short, game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Seriously love the android game (basically everything about it). Only drawback is that on my tablet it's an INCREDIBLE drain on the battery. Is there a method to create it use less resources? Probably better played on a laptop (it's on steam also) or on a smartphone with amazing batteries.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    I was very excited to play HRM as its from the creators of my fav Globe of Goo(Part 2 asap please!) & Small Inferno. Unfortunatley on my Smartphone the application wont launch, only a blank black screen, nothing happens. I hope there is a fix coming soon. Works fine on my phone. Thank You.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    I'm a programmer myself and have never used a 'jump' in my life.. They just seem convoluted and ultimately inefficient. Why aren't we using if else statements or similar? It makes the android game seem tedious rather than fun. Cute graphics though!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Amazing game, challenging and fun. Sometimes dragging commands off the list is a pain but not enough to dock a star. 😄

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Amazing game. Own it for pc as well. For those complaining about jumps and missing if else statements this android game is close to assembly. If you code in assembly today you still need to use jumps.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Really fun but... It's extremely fun and well created except... I feel like it needs hints... I'm on level 13 and I have absolutely no idea how to beat it... it tells me what to do but doing it correctly without a tip is insanely hard... plus, it tells you "discard all that don't match" you can't discard anything! :( at least give me better instructions... please...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Exceptional game. Don't obtain fooled into thinking it's for kids, as a software engineer I took amazing pleasure beating this game, and it certainly doesn't require any knowledge although some concepts do help. Instant favorite, Tomorrow Corporation again did a unbelievable job.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    As a professional coder nerd I love to play this android game together with my son so he has a glimpse about what I am doing for cash and why it is fun. Thank you guys for yet another amazing game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Only had for 24hr, crashed over ten times on my stock Pixel C. Android game has potential once they iron out the bugs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Amazing programming game. Has introductory puzzles, so there is no need to be familiar with programming beforehand. Really surprised me that it works in mobile so well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    I love it. Fun to play and a nice challenge. It was a excellent companion for my long intentional flight to slay the boredom, and time did passed quickly, indeed. I wholeheartedly recommend this small gem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Awesome Job Simulator. The boss doesn't appreciate the work I do, just like my true job!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    This android game should be compulsory for Computer Science students! Each level requires you to devise a set of instructions to solve increasingly complex puzzles. The actual instructions mimic assembly language and through the course of the android game you move from primary tasks like summing a series of values, all the method up to implementing sorting algorithms and prime factorization. As well as the challenging puzzles, there is a easy and bizarre storyline told through short cutscenes every few levels which adds a nice bit of flavour to the world. Most of the fun is in trying to complete the puzzles and the optional 'optimization challenges' which ask you to solve them efficiently with a maximum number of instructions or steps.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Deserving of one of the fewer than five 5 star application ratings that I have ever given, HRM is a brilliant android game for teaching logical, algorithmic thinking. In a series of fun exercises of gradually increasing difficulty, the player must transfer numbers from the office in-tray to the out-tray, performing operations on them along the way. As one progresses through the exercises, fresh operations and features are introduced that create it possible to write more strong programs. One can shop numbers, increment or decrement them, and even use easy arrays. The player may not realise it at the time, but he/she is effectively learning easy assembly language programming. The exercises are created significantly harder by the presence of challenges to optimise the solution for program size and number of executed operations. Very often, these goals are mutually exclusive and will require two separate solutions to achieve. In short, this is a brilliant android game that will provide hours of pleasure; and not a few of genuine frustration and head-scratching, as one strives to shave the latest few operations off a program to reach the target optimum.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Awesome! I already played and finished the android game on my PC. Finally I can solve and optimize the puzzles on my phone too. Are you planning to release further levels or even a sequel of the game?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Educational and entertaining. Will have you scratching your head a bit. The design is a bit intuitive, but I [email protected]#$%! held your hand a small more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Nice game, but battery usage is awful. It just drains your phone in no time, which is absolutely terrible!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Why am I writing BubbleSort in Assembly?? This isn't FUN, this is tedious. Painstakingly dragging and dropping primitive commands, remembering memory registers and wishing to the gods that they would allow me write a damn compiler... No. Not a fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Thanks, everyone! We believe every problem mentioned here in older reviews has been fixed now. Satisfied programming!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Primary programming logic is gently introduced in this terrific game. Some of the levels are difficult but worth the effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    While I don't like some of the optimization challenges much (still end up doing them though...) the android game itself is great, especially after the first 15 or so.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Awesome game! Levels are decently difficult, but the optimization challenges step it up a notch.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Very well created game. No performance or stability issues whatsoever and a lot of work was done to create the interface work amazing for touch devices. This is a port that they took their time on getting right.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    FOR DEVS, FOUND A MISTAKE In level 11, the subtractions in description are inverted. Just test the level.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Fix level 21 latest numer should be sum but it wish 0 on the end for no reason when example and task present various

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    This is the third time I've bought this android game (PC, Mac, and now Android) . It's really amazing fun and really well implemented across all devices.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Machine review [App]  2018-6-15 21:0

    Really good, I can't believe I haven't seen this before now. Amazing looking, tough and fun logic puzzle android game with a twist of fake programming.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    SHRM SPHR Certification Questions Senior Professional in Human Resources / PHR Exam Sample Questions guide book: SPHR Study, SPHR certification Questions ... Professional in Human Resources / PHR E review []  2020-1-8 18:27

    Their content uses so a lot of real-world examples I couldn't support but understand the material. I can't recommend the book, the videos, the try banks, and their live online tutoring enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Resource Management for School Administrators: Optimizing Fiscal, Facility, and Human Resources (The Concordia University Leadership Series) review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    Don't obtain this unless you have to. The info in it is very basic. It would be OK if you didn't know anything about school leadership.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Resource Management for School Administrators: Optimizing Fiscal, Facility, and Human Resources (The Concordia University Leadership Series) review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    I had to read it for school. It served its purpose. I did not search it an exciting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Resource Management for School Administrators: Optimizing Fiscal, Facility, and Human Resources (The Concordia University Leadership Series) review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    A amazing read fro all school administrators.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Resource Management for School Administrators: Optimizing Fiscal, Facility, and Human Resources (The Concordia University Leadership Series) review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Resource Management for School Administrators: Optimizing Fiscal, Facility, and Human Resources (The Concordia University Leadership Series) review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    This book is full of amazing information, I just didn’t really have fun reading it. I will hold it because it is very useful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Resource Management for School Administrators: Optimizing Fiscal, Facility, and Human Resources (The Concordia University Leadership Series) review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    Very beneficial for my graduate class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Resource Management for School Administrators: Optimizing Fiscal, Facility, and Human Resources (The Concordia University Leadership Series) review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    Just as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Resource Management for School Administrators: Optimizing Fiscal, Facility, and Human Resources (The Concordia University Leadership Series) review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    Amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Resource Management for School Administrators: Optimizing Fiscal, Facility, and Human Resources (The Concordia University Leadership Series) review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    Needed reading

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Resource Management for School Administrators: Optimizing Fiscal, Facility, and Human Resources (The Concordia University Leadership Series) review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    This book truly helped drive home the key notes I required for my School District Business Leader Exam (NYSTCE) It was not long in length be it gave me the key facts to support me pass! Read it in 3 days!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Management review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    The authors provide a wide ranging and detailed coverage of HRM. Chapters address all relevant functional locations to build a foundational knowledge level for readers. I expected more however where they failed to provide footnotes on a lot of assertions. Page 5 "The potential role of HRM in company performance has only recently been recognized"; Table 1.1 pp. 5 and table 2.3 pp. 83 are not in agreement for HRM practices/responsibilities; pp. 204 personnel policies "If the research on recruitment makes one thing clear..." no footnoting. pp 291 "Because of the limitations of e-learning similar to technology..." - outdated. pp 350 LO 8-5 "...the quality approach advocates evaluation of private traits ... which are difficult to relate to job performance unless the company has been structured into work teams." no proof and I disagree. Cooperation is inherent with communication, squad building, efficiency.Anyway, a very amazing book that can be even better with more proof points and less opinions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Management review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Amazing book for my first MHRM class. It provided me with a lot of insight on HR and examples on how things work in the professional world. I enjoyed reading the scenarios at the end of each chapter and thinking about my own point of view on how I would handle that type of situation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Management review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    pick up and drop off was easy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Management review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Precious small info buried under a mountain of verbiage. GET TO THE POINT!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Management review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Buen libro

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Management review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Okay book. Well organized.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Management review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    This is a amazing book for me class at the graduate level. It is simple reading with a lot of resources and examples to choose from.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Management review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    It’s a needed text book. It is what it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Management review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    This book arrived in perfect condition, practially brand new!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Management review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Required the book for a college class I was taking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Development review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Book was actually cheaper here to buy then even rent. I wasn't sure the condition my book would come in for this reason but took a possibility since I had waited until the latest minute and required ASAP. I am very impressed with the quality and have zero complaints. So far I'm into chapter 5 and every page is in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Development review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Amazing text covering a lot of aspects of the training field within Human Resources. I felt the text could have focused more on the ROI of nonprofit training... there was very little. Some paragraphs stated they would be addressing x, y, and z but only focused on x and a bit of y.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Development review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    I rented this book for a class I am taking. As textbooks go it is OK. It will not become a part of my professional library because it does not have what I really need on this topic. It seems a lot of shooting from the hip disguised as research is being done in this particular career field. .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Development review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    The book was marked in and marked up more than I expected, but that comes with a used text.I learned to ignore the previous markings beautiful well. Price was right.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Development review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Read this book for a Training & Development class for my masters program. It was amazing material and the find function worked amazing in the Kindle edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Development review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Thank you thank you thank you to whoever owned this book before me. All the highlighting you did helped immensely and helped me obtain my A.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Development review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Too expensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Development review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Dependable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Development review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Never even cracked this book but still got an A in the class.I'm intelligent ybe I'll actually read it some day but probably not.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human Resource Development review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    the vest was very unsatisfactory very cheaply made, the zipper fell apart, not good product don't buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fundamentals of Human Resource Management review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    👍🏽

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human + Machine: Reimagining Work in the Age of AI review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:2

    There are plenty of books in the shop that paint a picture of the future (good or bad), but stop short of identifying actions you can take today to shape that future. Human + Machine provides a much-needed balanced perspective - giving practical, actionable steps leaders should take now to make fresh jobs and business growth. The book outlines 8 fusion skills people need to develop to succeed in an AI workplace, and it puts its proceeds where its principles are by donating net revenues to crucial education and retaining programs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human + Machine: Reimagining Work in the Age of AI review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:2

    Daugherty and Wilson show the clearest and most compelling vision to date for how the artificial intelligence revolution will require leaders to reimagine their processes and enable humans to collaborate with machines. Because in the future, some roles will require machines helping humans. And some roles will require humans helping machines. Human+Machine delves into the fresh types of jobs that AI will make to fill "the missing middle". And you may be surprised to learn they're not all computer science and coding jobs. A fascinating and approachable read for anyone interested to know what work will look like in the age of AI.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Human + Machine: Reimagining Work in the Age of AI review [Book]  2018-3-21 18:2

    Lots has been written on the dystopian ver of AI. This book focuses more on the opportunities for, and benefits of, collaboration between AI and humans, from collaborative robots in manufacturing to idea generation to sales & marketing. I have a background in software and AI and now run a digital manufacturing company so this book was excellent for me. The book is written from a business executives point of view and I think it's relevant to anyone thinking about what AI and robotics will mean for the future of the workforce in general, their company's workforce and the future of their business. And if you aren't thinking about that, you have bigger issues than what books you're reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Solomon's Code: Humanity in a World of Thinking Machines review []  2019-12-24 20:8

    Solomon's Code was a joy to read. It did a unbelievable job of distilling and demystifying AI for the daily reader. The content and examples were accessible, interesting, and brought the problems to life. At the same time, the book is exceptionally well researched - with insights spanning well outside of the technical arena, from medicine, to history, to criminality. A great, in-depth illustration of just how far-reaching the impact of these emerging technologies will go. I would strongly recommend it to anyone, regardless of background, who is simply curious about the role that technology is playing in shaping the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Solomon's Code: Humanity in a World of Thinking Machines review []  2019-12-24 20:8

    The book covers a range of domains where AI plays a key role, which makes it accessible and digestible to a spectrum of people. Everyone can identify applications they most closely resonate with, and more importantly, obtain a glimpse of the problem-solution dilemma in terms they can action - feeling empowered to be a decision maker in the globe of the future. An perfect read, which I can already see revisiting time and time again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Solomon's Code: Humanity in a World of Thinking Machines review []  2019-12-24 20:8

    This book is a call to arms; if we don't set ground rules now for AI, we let poor actors to exploit us all. The authors avoid sensationalism in favor of a calm, analytical overview of where we're at now with AI, and where we could be headed. It's well-informed, written for a layperson, and focuses on the ethical and moral implications of allowing technology to outpace social norms and legal protections. Highly recommended for anyone interested in where the globe is headed!The book is neither alarmist nor sensationalist, yet it does paint a picture of where we're at now with AI, globally, and where we could be headed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Solomon's Code: Humanity in a World of Thinking Machines review []  2019-12-24 20:8

    I have a technical background, but even without that this well-researched and engaging book would have been simple to understand. It brought up points I hadn't thought of before regarding all the ways advances in AI will slide into our day-to-day lives. Read it, talk about it, and support shape a future we'll all want.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Solomon's Code: Humanity in a World of Thinking Machines review []  2019-12-24 20:8

    As a non-specialist, I was at first a bit intimidated by the book's topic matter. But the authors are knowledgeable and write exceptionally well. The book's wealth of insights into A.I.'s future applications, both promise and problems, increased my understanding a lot of fold. But for me, what was most surprising is how A.I . is already playing a major role in how we live, how things work -- this book is about the show as well as the future, and as such is incredibly important.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Solomon's Code: Humanity in a World of Thinking Machines review []  2019-12-24 20:8

    After receiving and diving straight in Solomon's Code, I've ordered more copies of this extraordinary book to give to colleagues and friends. Olaf J Groth and Tag Nitzberg's future picture of AI provides insights and tutorials the reader to examine ethical and philosophical questions. The use of fictional examples mixed with true stories of tech companies that are driving innovation provides a unbelievable combination of vision and is is the book that every manager and leader should read to keep meaningful and thought-provoking support in designing solutions to current and future social challenges.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Solomon's Code: Humanity in a World of Thinking Machines review []  2019-12-24 20:8

    Either you are an artificial intelligence expert or just a curious beginner, this book gives you awesome insights about the AI economy, the importance of our humanity and how the fresh technologies will unfold and impact our lives forever. On top of all the knowledge you'll gain from it, it's also really entertaining to imagine to future through the lengths of Olaf and Mark!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Solomon's Code: Humanity in a World of Thinking Machines review []  2019-12-24 20:8

    I can't recommend this book highly enough. It provides and perfect outline and tutorial as we enter into this fresh globe of "thinking machines", as the authors call Artificial Intelligence. I feel I now have a much better idea of the landscape ahead. What had previously sounded challenging and even threatening, now sounds a bit exciting. My gratitude to the authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Solomon's Code: Humanity in a World of Thinking Machines review []  2019-12-24 20:8

    If you wish to know the human side of AI and how humans will be affected by AI, this is a must read! This was a really amazing book and can be understood with and without technical expertise. The book goes deep into subjects and provides perfect perspectives. It really highlights not just the technical side of AI but also the human side and impact which is special and refreshing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Solomon's Code: Humanity in a World of Thinking Machines review []  2019-12-24 20:8

    Solomon's Code is accessible and engaging both for laypeople and for those with expertise in the zone of machine learning - no little feat. This book asks all the right questions and does a amazing job providing the lay of the land for AI.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inventing Iron Man: The Possibility of a Human Machine review []  2019-12-29 18:30

    As the title suggests, this book examines whether Iron Man could exist in the true world. As with Michio Kaku’s book “Physics of the Impossible”, answering the question involves defining the different meanings of “impossible.”One method to parse the question is, “Is Iron Man possible today given the existing state of technology?” In and of itself, this question is of limited interest because the respond is, “no.” There’s certainly a demand, and so if Iron Man could exist given current technology, he probably would. That’s not to say it isn’t interesting to learn about what technologies are holding us back and where the cutting edge of relevant technologies lies—both of which are addressed by the ill, a more interesting inquiry is, “Will Iron Man ever be reality given the physical laws that we know to govern the universe?” While more intriguing, it’s also a harder question to definitively answer. It’s impossible to foresee all the technological developments that might come along to respond the seemingly insurmountable challenges (e.g. Tony Stark’s inevitable Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI).) The book deals with the critical question of what challenges would have to be overcome for Iron Man to be Zehr suggests, the appeal of Iron Man is that he’s considered to be among superheroes for the common man. Like Batman, the sufficiently bright and diligent nerd may fantasize that, “That could be me.” You or I can’t be Superman or Wolverine, but given enough money, smarts, and training we could be Batman, or—even better—pilot the Iron Man suit. Place in this light, the book may seem like just another frivolous attempt to capitalize on the popularity of superheroes to sell books. However, there’s actually a amazing deal of meal for thought packed in the book. Like others, I read the book because its title is “Inventing Iron Man” and not “Neuro-motor control of a self-propelled armor system” or some other suitably scholarly title.Dr. Zehr has the bona fides to delve into this topic. He is a Professor who investigates questions of how the nervous system controls movement. That topic may not constitute the sum total of critical concerns, but it’s one of the most necessary challenges. For Iron Man to move the method he does in the films and comic books, Tony Stark’s impulses to move have to be transmitted seamlessly to the servo-motors that move the suit. From dodging Col. Rhodes’ (i.e. Battle Machine’s) punches to ducking RPGs, Stark can’t be fast enough if he has to manually steer the device. Then, of course, there’s the problem of feedback. Any neophyte meditator who’s had his or her foot fall sound asleep will know how difficult it is to walk surefootedly when one can’t feel anything through one’s foot.[“Iron Man 3” film spoiler commentary in this paragraph.] One of the most damning challenges for making Iron Man a reality is the high probability of severe concussions. Let’s say you create the suit out of a material that is virtually indestructible? This may be possible. However, the pilot’s mushy brain is still sloshing around inside that impenetrable armor. One can remotely pilot the suit in order to negate this (as has been done in the comic books and the third movie), but—at that point—is it still Iron Man? I know from a writer’s perspective it’s a lot harder to maintain tension if there’s nothing human on the line. In the third film about 30 autonomously piloted suits obtain wiped out and the viewer doesn’t care—the only source of tension is that Tony Stark is without armor half the me of the most interesting discussions are about where the current state of the art lies with respect to: a.) direct mind control over mechanical systems; b.) a “flying suit”; and c.) robotic movement enhancers. Zehr conducts interviews with those engineers and technologists involved in such technologies, and finds out where we are presently. Letter “a” above seems to be the least developed of the three technologies, but they are all active lines of research.I enjoyed this book and found it interesting. I think anyone who is interested in the state of technology and its limits will search it a nice pop-sci introduction to the subject. The use of superheroes as a pedagogic device may be overdone, but it continues to work because we are fascinated by the edge of possibility, and that’s what superheroes represent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inventing Iron Man: The Possibility of a Human Machine review []  2019-12-29 18:30

    Want I had the cash and time to build a suit!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inventing Iron Man: The Possibility of a Human Machine review []  2019-12-29 18:30

    We have actually purchased several copies of this book, not so much for content, but for the idea of it. Our engineering mates have definitely enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inventing Iron Man: The Possibility of a Human Machine review []  2019-12-29 18:30

    an intriguing, well written book. i've only read the first 2 chapters, but I don't see it slowing down. This is my first e-book and i love the ease of download and it is simple to read on my ipad.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inventing Iron Man: The Possibility of a Human Machine review []  2019-12-29 18:30

    Building one myself in gargage

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inventing Iron Man: The Possibility of a Human Machine review []  2019-12-29 18:30

    Inventing Iron man: a amazing book for those interested in the chance of 'powered exoskeletons' and similar devices. not so amazing in actually presenting a chance of specifically Iron Man or the technical side of things. Much is explained about the feasibility, or lack thereof, for these suits, and putting humans inside detail, for example, is given of latest advances in nanotechnology, materials, power generating/energy harvesting devices, actuators, etc, which could create an "Iron Man" suit actually practical within our lifetime. There's a amazing reason the U.S. military is funding projects like this. As an electrical Engineer who enjoys seeing the technical descriptions and attempts to reverse-engineer devices, this exploration was intriguing, but lacked further exploration. The Iron man suit, is after all, the pinnacle of a futuristic technology. Explaining it away as unfeasable using current technology is only at is all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inventing Iron Man: The Possibility of a Human Machine review []  2019-12-29 18:30

    Review by Steven King, MBA, MEdSometimes, when making an emphatic point to students, a teacher's best intentions do not always accomplish what he thinks they should. As an unashamed Batman devotee, once upon a time I created a passing reference to the greatness of The Dark Knight as a prelude to one of my lessons. Prior to delving into the globe of mathematics with this group of high school students I said something akin to, "Just imagine--a mere man who became a tremendous superhero. No one could be as amazing as Batman." Without missing a beat, one of the students in the middle of the class piped up, "Have you ever heard of Iron Man?" With tongue-in-cheek, I told him I did, but I would only award additional credit for receipt of Batman comic book denizens will know, Iron Man is the invention of Tony Stark, a 30-something genius inventor who inherited Stark Industries from his father at the tender age of 21. Prior to that, at age 15 his penchant for brilliance took him to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology where he would earn two college degrees: one in physics and the other in engineering. On the most latest Forbes Fictional 15, his net worth of $9.4B locations him at the number six slot - two spots above the much more conservative real identify of Batman, Bruce Wayne (Whose $7B net worth is still nothing upon which to sneeze.). Incidentally, he is right behind #5 Jed Clampett (The Beverly Hillbillies), but oil inheritance and country living doesn't sell any comic books.Dr. Paul Zehr answers my former student's query with an insightful analysis about the Golden Avenger. His Inventing Iron Man: The Chance of a Human Machine pulls back the curtain to determine the plausibility of such an endeavor--actually constructing a fighting machine such as the one popularized by Tony Stark in the comic book series.Zehr's analysis is compelling as he seeks to establish the credibility of Iron Man. In the course of his narrative he scrutinizes such subjects as:* What time frame would be needed to produce a pilot sufficiently trained for the job?* The timeline needed to produce the actual suit, based upon applicable technological trends.* Scientific advances in brain-machine interfaces and the type implied in the Iron Man design.* Effects of alcohol intoxication upon the ability of an Iron Man hero (Any Iron Man devotee should recognize that Tony Stark drinks a wee bit much).As I read this account, I found Zehr's development of neuroprosthetics particularly intriguing. Given his doctoral work in neuroscience, he has the uncanny ability of avoiding strained technical jargon in favor of skillfully leading the novice through what would otherwise prove to be a cerebral quagmire. One learns that Iron Man's suit would have to have been an advanced brain-machine interface that merely augmented the neural (and physical) abilities of its wearer. As Mr. Stark even said, "I am Iron Man. The suit and I are one."Previously, I had the privilege (and pleasure) of reading Dr. Zehr's "Becoming Batman." Contrasted with this work, his writing seems to be much freer and more comfortable--giving the reader an insightful, yet thoroughly enjoyable look into the chance of becoming Iron rhaps authoring a few books about superheroes implies that Dr. Zehr has a hidden desire to offer an elective course in their mythos at the University of Victoria, British Columbia. Inventing Iron Man is not merely a scientific work, it also contains plentiful illustrations and frequent comic book quotes to hold Iron Man fans interested. An appendix detailing milestones in Iron Man's development rounds off this work before Zehr's inclusion of an impressive bibliography for those seeking extra information.Highly commended to all who have fun a look into the globe of superheroes--but science nerds will like it, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inventing Iron Man: The Possibility of a Human Machine review []  2019-12-29 18:30

    One of the most prevalent themes of speculative fiction is the examination of the idea of improving a human through the use of technology. There are a myriad of versions, whether it be through bionic implants, cyborgs, or full up androids housing human minds, but the most successful execution of the idea is likely the story of Iron Man. Iron Man was made by Stan Lee, Larry Lieber, Don Heck, and Jack Kirby of Marvel Comics, in 1963. He's appeared in more than a 1000 comic books, several animated series, and two feature have such success and longevity, a hero has to maintain their humanity so that the audience can identify with them. Iron Man is able to do this better than other characters for two reasons - first, because the human, Tony Stark, can easily be separated from the machine and second, because Tony Stark is a very human hero - a mesh of exaggerated flaws and charm.When the audience attempts to identify with the hero they inevitable ask themselves, could I do that? Could I (assuming I was a genius billionaire) become Iron Man? In the fresh book Inventing Iron Man: The Chance of a Human Machine, ul Zehr attempts to respond that question from the perspective of someone that is both a professor of neuroscience and kinesiology and a comic book is is the second time Dr. Zehr has examined, via a book, such a question. A few years ago he wrote a book called Becoming Batman: The Chance of a Superhero. It too, incidentally, is a amazing agine, for a moment, the challenges of creating and being Iron Man. What are the questions you would ask? This is how Zehr attacks the problem. Can a machine emulate the actions of a human? Can a human interface with such a machine? Can a human inhabit such a machine? How would using it impact the body? How long could one be Iron Man?This is a book written for the curious. Don't expect short easy yes or no answers. This is a book that leaves the path to discover tangents that bring a greater understanding of the variables involved. Zehr draws on his own expertise but also brings in experts in diverse locations that serve as parallels to the idea of Iron Man. The Iron Man costume would have to provide the life help of a NASA EVA spacesuit, the protection of an troops bomb disposal team's protective suit, the flying capabilities of Yves Rossy's Jet-man wing, and the dexterous control of NASA's Robonaut. It would also have to interface with the brain like the medical prosthetics used to support paralyzed e curious person, like Zehr, can't just stop there with the technical possibilities, but has to look at the human perspective. How much training would it take to control the suit? How much concentration to5 operate it? What would happen to the body as it experienced the stresses that Iron Man endures every maintain a connection between the reality that is being examined and the original source hero in the comic books and films, scattered throughout the book are quotations and illustrations from the comics to explain how the comics have addressed the same questions. Sixty-one various comics are cited throughout the book.I'm an engineer and an instructor, so I look at any technical discussion from two perspectives: Is it technically correct? and is it being described in a method that is understandable to the audience? Inventing Iron Man succeeds on both counts. It is a quick and fascinating read. I read the 180 page book in a single sitting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inventing Iron Man: The Possibility of a Human Machine review []  2019-12-29 18:30

    This author has a previous book, mentioned on the cover of this book and inside, about becoming the true Batman. I'm tempted to check it out after reading this book. That sounds like it's more about physical training, but this one focuses more on whether a super genius like Tony Stark be able to actually build the suit of armor, master its functions, and not suffer serious ill effects from his time within the suit.Anybody who's wondered, really and deeply wondered, how iron man would work if the suit would one day be possible, should check out this book. I've got to say though that you really have to be in to learning more about physiology, neurology, and psychology than if we can build a laser gun that shoots through a tank. The only true thing I could really knock about the book, and that's if I was really looking hard, would be that it doesn't spend that much time on the weapons systems. It's kind of a fun suck to see the superpowers analyzed for actual plausibility, but it's a thoroughly enjoyable e book does a thorough job of covering things from the mundane to the complex. It also does a amazing job of introducing some of the technologies that are used today in therapy for patients who have had hurt to their motor systems. It's not all about technology though, some of is the mere limitations of the human body and how long the body could stand up under the abusive ironman takes a regular basis. I could actually see this book being used to provide some entertainment to a dry topic in some sort of classroom, maybe an early level physiology n't obtain this book thinking that it's going to be some sort of exciting analysis of him fighting all the different villains, you'll just be disappointed. There's some of that, but the book really is what it claims to be simply about inventing him and how long he could function as ironman. It's very amazing at what it sets out to do. A side note, depending in your social groups, explaining that you've looked into the analysis of this might actually create you appear smarter in some circles. Something covered in a humorous book called Faking It: How to Seem Like a Better Person Without Actually Improving Yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inventing Iron Man: The Possibility of a Human Machine review []  2019-12-29 18:30

    The title of my review is a play on the classic Larry Niven short story, Man of Steel, Woman of Kleenex which dealt with the physical difficulties of any relationship between Superman and Lois Lane. Similarly, as demonstrated in E. Paul Zehr's Inventing Iron Man, there would be definite physical issues with anyone donning the armor of Iron Man.Of course, the book's revelation that Iron Man could not exist in today's globe will be no surprise to anyone. The thing about Iron Man, however, is that unlike Superman, Wonder Woman or the Hulk, Iron Man is at least plausible. It doesn't require some mutation or alien birth, merely amazing technology. But as Zehr points out, things aren't quite that ch of this brief book deals with the demands on the human body that an Iron Man suit would cause, from the physical effects of concussion to the mental impact of extreme multitasking. Essentially, even donning the primitive first ver of Iron Man's suit would be more than most people could handle. Also, all sorts of training would be needed to use such a suitOf course, the purpose of this book is not to shatter our dreams but to use Iron Man as a launching point to discuss the capabilities of the human body and the technology that supports it. Written with decent humor and a bit of a fan-boy flavor, this is a fun book to learn about what we can do now and maybe even in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Guide to the Human Resource Body of Knowledge (HRBoK) review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    I give this two stars because it is recommended for those studying for the PHR exam...but if you buy this book AND the Reed/Bogardus certification study guide, you are really wasting your money. This book is just the study guide, but shorter and more vague. They literally lift passages from one book to the next. If you aren't studying and you wish a general knowledge guide...you should STILL not buy this book. Just obtain the certification tutorial instead, it has much more detail. I'm kind of annoyed that I bought both of these.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Guide to the Human Resource Body of Knowledge (HRBoK) review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Allow me preface this by saying, I passed on my first test for the PHR; this tutorial was a amazing comprehensive summary for studying. I used this, flashcards, and as a lot of web based guides I could find. This is not a try that you can cram for the night before and pass.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Guide to the Human Resource Body of Knowledge (HRBoK) review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    This was an outstanding book to read and study in preparation of the SHRM-CP exam. It covers everything - all of the subjects you need to know for the exam. Especially critical are the appendixes and the glossary of terms, as well as the reference tutorial in the very back of the book. Mostly everything in the SHRM-CP exam are in this book. Read it, highlight it, and memorize the info as you will definitely be questioned on it! Pay unique attention to the somewhat obscure passages as I was surprised how much of that was in the actual exam. This book, and the 1000 question book by Olamide Asekun, as well as the "SHRM-CP Exam SECRETS Study Guide", were the three things I used to sucessfully pass the SHRM-CP exam the first time! Amazing Luck and study hard!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Guide to the Human Resource Body of Knowledge (HRBoK) review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    Amazing book for human resource specialists - I bought this book as a resource as I prepare to take the SPHR exam. It is an perfect resource, simple to read and understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Guide to the Human Resource Body of Knowledge (HRBoK) review []  2020-1-8 19:41

    If you are a person who learn better with reading paper books... This one source would not be the best choice. I believe this book to be a very hard and challenging read. It's literature is primary but sometimes confusing and does not offer a Q&A section to support you grasp relevant topic matters. Some subjects or very wordy and sentence structures do not create sense, therefore, be prepared to read paragraphs multiple times in order to gain, at minimum, a subpar understanding. I have been studying in this book over the course of a few months but do not feel as though I have gained enough knowledge to successfully test. Therefore, I have decided to purchase a study guide, in hopes that it will build my confidence towards testing for the PHR or SPHR. One thing, I feel this book really did a amazing job with is breaking down definitions and terms so that most anyone could understand meanings. The only tip that I can give a person who decides to purchase this book is to create sure to take really, really amazing notes. And because the book is very thick while taking notes create sure to add page numbers so that you will know where to easily search what you had jotted down during your study. -- I hope my review helps!

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter