Read i loved her in the movies reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all i loved her in the movies reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I just finished Robert Wagner's recent book, "I Loved Her in the Movies" and like his "You Must Remember This" the book takes us back to a beloved era in Hollywood. His book discusses a lot of of the most beloved female stars in Hollywood,( Norma Shearer, Elzabeth Taylor, Susan Hayward, in fact, all of the top stars of the day) he discusses their acting, their personalities, and some times a bit of gossip but never is he salacious nor does he sensationalize these women.I appreciated the respect he has for the trials and tribulations of these actresses and I loved him for his appreciation of films, even my favorite the Silent films. This is easily a five star read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I FOUND THE BOOK TO BE AN EASY READ. WOULD HAVE LIKED THE BOOK TO BE EVEN LONGER AND EVEN MORE DETAILED. THE TITLE OF THE BOOK I LIKED, AND THAT WAS THE DECIDING FACTOR IN PURCHASING THE BOOK. A SECOND BOOK ONTHE BOOK'S SUBJECT, I WOULD BUY.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I bought this for my mom at Christmas time. She was super excited as she is a true film buff. She LOVED the book. I found out about it via GMA and I am so glad I ordered it from Amazon.

    0  


    Add your opinion on i loved her in the movies or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    I would have liked more in-depth descriptions of the women described in this book. But Robert Wagner was a gentleman, except for Shelly Winters, and a few others. But it was truthful because any time Shelly Winters is mentioned in a book, Shelly was not a nice person. Same thing about the “kiss”at Liza Minnelli’s latest wedding from her fresh husband, not a thing anyone wants to see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    This book was very interesting especially to older adults who had seen the film stars highlighted in Robert Wagner's writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    RJW has been around a long time and Hollywood is a little town. He knew just about everyone and worked with a lot of more than I had thought. I wanted more on Natalie, but he held back when writing about her. It was worth the cash and time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    This is another Robert Wagner book, and I liked it better than his Pieces of My Life, because of it's wide range of topic matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    In the introduction to this book, Wagner writes that he will explain "why they became stars, and how their specific emotional and dramatic chemistries affected the choices they made....and will also discuss the strange alchemy of the camera---how it can transform the beautiful into the stunning...and vice versa." That's a lot to take on and, unfortunately, he doesn't succeed in this otherwise enjoyable but lightweight paean to a lot of goddesses of the silver screen. It is really more a jaunt down memory lane for him, beginning with meeting Moira Shearer who was the mother of a classmate. The chapters cover the decades beginning with the icons of the thirties. Shearer, Crawford, Davis, Stanwyck, Kate Hepburn, Irene Dunne, etc. The closest he comes to explaining their appeal is classifying Stanwyck and Crawford as ambitious working class icons and Hepburn, Claudette Colbert as aristocrats. As for the more latest stars of the 50's and onwards, stars with whom he worked, small explanation is given of their "chemistries", but is it really possible to explain the magic and luminousness of Monroe, Taylor, or Audrey Hepburn? However, he has interesting anecdotes to relate and he is unfailingly generous and kind with his compliments, except for a few negative remarks about Shelley Winters and Raquel Welch. The book is a quick read and entertaining. I particularly enjoyed the sections on such stars as Irene Dunne, Loretta Young, Anne Rutherford and a lot of more. Some of the women are fairly well forgotten today (Betty Hutton, June Allyson,June Haver, Debra Paget) but it was still interesting to read about them and recall their movies. All in all, this is a lightweight but pleasant book of reminisces. We do learn two things about Wagner: he has worked with and known a huge number of people during his 65 years in the business and he is still very much the star struck lad he was when he began his career.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Robert Wagner takes us along on his journey through Hollywood by giving us the actresses he has known along the way. A fun and revealing portrait of a byg era. A time we may think of as more innocent that today....but may not have been so various after all. You decide?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses [Book]  2018-2-11 18:0

    Love his e method it was......

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Monster I Loved: The true story of a young girl and her father's betrayal. []  2020-6-20 18:40

    It's almost too much to read at times. Her father should be executed. There's no rehabilitation for ppl like him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Monster I Loved: The true story of a young girl and her father's betrayal. []  2020-6-20 18:40

    This is a testament to the failings and general indifference of social systems worldwide and how small is done to protect our most precious, and most vulnerable. These people who knew and said nothing are equally to blame. Shame on them. I hope for their sakes there is a reckoning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Monster I Loved: The true story of a young girl and her father's betrayal. []  2020-6-20 18:40

    This is a very sad story. Shannon has been through the worst nightmare imaginable, and I look up to her for standing up and telling her story. She's a very powerful young lady and I hope her story helps others to survive their horrific nightmares.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Monster I Loved: The true story of a young girl and her father's betrayal. []  2020-6-20 18:40

    Such a sad story. I've heard a lot of reports where people turn their heads away. You've had a lot of betrayal in your life. I love that you know it wasn't your fault. That is a huge hurdle to obtain over. Thank you for being courageous and sharing you're life. You create a difference

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Monster I Loved: The true story of a young girl and her father's betrayal. []  2020-6-20 18:40

    Shannon is such a powerful individual! She gives so much hope to this globe and young women. Hope everyone reads this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Monster I Loved: The true story of a young girl and her father's betrayal. []  2020-6-20 18:40

    This was a fast read. Kept your wondering what could possibly obtain worse, and to see the strengthen of this young woman go through something most couldn’t do is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Monster I Loved: The true story of a young girl and her father's betrayal. []  2020-6-20 18:40

    I struggled them rough this whole book hopefully this sweet girl would search some relief.I balled my eyes out during a lot of parts of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Monster I Loved: The true story of a young girl and her father's betrayal. []  2020-6-20 18:40

    Thank you for sharing your story. It saddens me that noone protected you. This proves how people choose to ignore kids being abused and living in hell every day.I commend you for getting through all those years of terror and hope you can search fulfilment and happiness out there that you greatly heart went out to you reading this book and i was able to connect with you on some of what you went through by a father who was supposed to love and eir are creatures out there everywhere and sadly some are fathers. God bless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) []  2020-1-18 22:52

    this CD is legend, timeless, I recall during the childhood my mother and mates listening to Ms. Frankliin. Its only recently that I was told that Ms. Ree and I are related, her grandfather and my amazing grandmother were siblings. How awesome is that?!! Perhaps one day I will be able to introduce myself to her. I've seen her 4 times, once at her book signing, the other 3 times were at Radio City, Westbury and Carnegie Hall. I pray that she recovers from her current condition. It's awesome how blessed she has been and we are blessed to have travelled her journey through music.God Bless the Queen and my cousin! I'm still happily shocked.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) []  2020-1-18 22:52

    Or should I say 'The One That Started It All!' After this Legendary Album Aretha has NEVER had a dry spell and/or looked back (Over 5 Decades of #1 Billboard Hit Singles & Albums and Countless Billboard Top Ten Hit Singles!). Starting with the Gold Billboard #1 Smash Single "I Never Loved A Man"! Aretha come back a few Months later with an even BIGGER HIT!...The #1 Gold Billboard R&B and Pop Hit Single: "Respect" which has become the All-Time Female Anthem. The album also contains B-Sides: "Do Right Woman-Do Right Man" which was a Top 40 Billboard Chart Hit Single, and the Non-Charting "Dr. Feelgood", along with Album Killers: "Baby, Baby, Baby", "Drown In My Own Tears", and "A Change Is Gonna Come" Aretha was offically off and running!!! Just for the History Records: This Album has NEVER been Out Of Print since it first seen the light of day. The down side to this Compact Disc Reissue is that it is presented in Mono with the exception of: "Respect", "I Never Loved A Man" & "Do Right Woman-Do Right Man" being Repeated. They (Rhino Records) call them 'Bonus Tracks' WHY???. This I don't understand when this entire project was Released In Stereo back in the day (Yes!, I still have my Stereo Vinyl Record of it!). In the meantime this is a Must-Have for ANY Collection, and who knows, maybe one day we'll obtain a Heavy Box Set Of Aretha's COMPLETE ATLANTIC OUTPUT of ALL of Her Recordings for the label!...Wouldn't that be nice????

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) []  2020-1-18 22:52

    I have this album on record, everyone keeps telling me to allow my record collection go ,I refuse . Because of gems like this one. Since we are in another time and put ,into The cyber globe I just had to purchase this album for one of my devices. You know how a song keeps running through your head I kept hearing "Do right Man, Do Right Woman" and got the idea to download the album on my Kindle HDX. Played it all day. It was soooo nice !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) []  2020-1-18 22:52

    creature assassin album. Aretha smokes on this one!!! She's created some perfect albums and had a seemingly inexhaustable run on different singles charts, but the fire, energy, and intensity she puts forth here takes some beating, and is a joy to behold. Is this the best soul album of all time? Probably would spark a large debate, but I tell you what, in my humble opinion, it's close, and quite frankly, the true deal is that it's one of the best albums of all time period. Released uh, shall we just say, waaaaay back in the day, ok 40 years ago and it's STILL an wonderful listen now. It truly doesn't obtain any better than this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) []  2020-1-18 22:52

    This is a classic collection of some of the Queen's legendary hits! Some of early work in a more jazzy genre is included in this collection. I was reminded of songs I hadn't heard in a long time........She will truly be missed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) []  2020-1-18 22:52

    Words will always fail to describe the voice of Aretha Franklin. Something in those poignant and rigorous tones resists the limitations that mere syllables impose upon all things transcendental, ineffable and miraculous. That voice helped shape famous melody and even aspects of American culture throughout the twentieth and early twenty-first centuries and it will always speak loudly and clearly for itself. It doesn't need words. That legendary voice now no longer resonates in true time, so perhaps we owe some gratitude to recording technology for capturing it not only for our own generation but for future ones as well. Franklin's unmistakable voice emerged and developed during the 1950s largely within gospel and religious settings hosted by her father, the popular Baptist minister C.L. Franklin. As his reputation spread throughout the country, Aretha found herself face to face with such luminaries as Martin Luther King, Jr., Sam Cooke and Jackie Wilson. Her undeniable natural talent and her father's connections led to the recording of a few gospel singles in 1956 and 1959, but she would soon decide to pursue famous music. Columbia Records released her first album in 1961 and a string of nine albums over seven years didn't attract much attention or acclaim. Everything changed forever when she left Columbia and signed with Atlantic records in 1967, which resulted in her timeless tenth album "I Never Loved a Man the Method I Love You" and the inauguration of an unforgettable career that would continue until her death in rhaps Columbia didn't know what they had and failed to shop Franklin effectively? Or maybe one of those mysterious historical shifts occurred that pushed the tide in her favor? Likely the strength of the fresh album itself vaulted Franklin to the celebrity that she enjoyed, more or less unabated, thereafter. The album's first track alone demanded attention and pleaded for proper consideration and understanding with the power of that astounding voice propelling it to heights rarely attained in famous music. Franklin's classic recording of "Respect" alters the original Otis Redding ver in surprising ways, arguably breathing fresh life and perspective into a song originally about domestic strife from the masculine side. Her rendition spoke to an entire generation of the underrepresented, not only to those active in the busy Civil Rights movement, but also to millions of women of all shapes, sizes and colors who had gradually become frustrated with their limited role within 1960s society. The song still sounds new today and could definitely inspire countless more generations of people seeking dignity or justice. Franklin arguably not only sang this song, she also became it in a lot of ways. Quite an accomplishment for only two and a half anklin's excellent voice of course dominates the rest of the album and often soars above the mix. Her performance on "Drown in my own Tears" makes the desperate loneliness and neglect of the lyrics palpable. The title track continues the theme of emotional distress as Franklin passionately wails about the agonizing paradox that a lot of face in life: falling hopelessly in love with someone who doesn't return the favor. "Soul Serenade" sways and rocks with more unrequited love: "everyone but you adores me, but do you know beautiful soon they bore me... they bore me with their beautiful small words, those beautiful small words of devotion." "Don't Allow Me Lose This Dream" infuses some Latin rhythms into extra hopes for true, everlasting love. "Baby, Baby, Baby" goes even further: "But believe while I'm away, that I didn't mean to damage you, don't you know that I'd rather damage myself?" "Dr. Feelgood" introduces some gospel organ and staccato horns over a fairly clear and unambiguous notice to mates who wish to sit and chit-chat while more necessary things await. Sam Cooke's "Good Times" emphasizes enjoying the amazing times that come to a person accompanied by a very danceable beat. Franklin effortlessly croons "Do Right Woman - Do Right Man" in a reprise of the "Respect" theme: "A woman's only human, yes, you should understand, she's not just a plaything, she's flesh and blood just like her man." A easy fuzzy guitar chord progression drives "Save Me" in its find for love salvation. Another Sam Cooke classic closes the album and Franklin, not surprisingly, owns it. "A Change Is Gonna Come," like "Respect," has also served as an anthem for different social justice movements. It provides the excellent final song for this terrific many, 1967 represents the "Summer of Love," psychedelia and free love, but Franklin's breakout album shows that even more interesting things were event while hallucinating hippies wriggled in parks. At the time, pop/rock had just discovered the "theme album." Franklin's albums, serving as more collections of individual songs, never really embraced that side of the melody industry. Arguably, the songs on "I Never Loved a Man the Method I Love You" do exhibit a loose theme of crazy jilted love, but that probably results from coincidence rather than design, as a lot of pop songs at that time dealt with frustrated love. Regardless, the strength of the songs carries the album from begin to finish without any higher artistic pretensions other than amazing melody and wonderful performances. This album helped define Aretha Franklin and introduced her to the globe as a performer, a personality and a resounding voice to reckon with. As she sailed to the end of her career and life, she definitely earned the respect and adulation of millions. She will always occupy an necessary put in the melody and culture of her age. Sock it to me, indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) []  2020-1-18 22:52

    Soul at its best. The R&B opener Respect will obtain anyone's attention right away. The soul track Drown In My Own Tears continues and Aretha's voice is the most pure and when you thought it couldn't obtain better, the next track, I Never Loved A Man will hit you right in the heart. The whole album consist of pure, honest soul melody that has rarely seen anything come close to it ever since. The gift tracks on this re-edition are the stereo versions of Respect, I Never Loved A Man and Do Right Woman - Do Right Man. Besides honesty, integrity, pure, and Soul, there is one more word than come up to describe this album, R-E-S-P-E-C-T

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) []  2020-1-18 22:52

    OLD SCHOOL- SO HAPPY TO GET THIS AWESOME ALBUM. I will add the rest of Aretha'@#$%!s and be on cloud nine. This album was her first and best album. The album notes were perfect as well. This included current notes and the original notes as well. What a reasonable price. Thank you, Amazon for making this old album available with the original cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) []  2020-1-18 22:52

    For all Aretha Franklin fans and those who appreciate the soulful sounds of Aretha, this is a must have CD. Your collection can not be completed unless this CD is included. This CD never grows old. All the cuts on this CD are must haves. I bought the original LP when it was first released... over the years since then some things obtain lost and abused. I was glad to purchase the CD. I'm enjoying it now as it sounds just as amazing now as it did then. This CD is a "MUST HAVE".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) []  2020-1-18 22:52

    I loved Aretha’s melody for a lot of years. I wasn’t cognizant of how very much she improved over the years. This collection is mainly her very early career recordings. She hadn’t reached the plateau of her abilities yet, but rather this cd portrays the immaturity of her vocal ability. So disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I hope this reaches her in time []  2020-1-16 9:56

    A very soulful read. Anyone who has been mistreated can, and most likely will relate automatically. It truly created me think. To appreciate. To be thankful. In my own life... I have been mistreated and forgotten... until she, having all of her own pain, until she found me. When I asked her... she said yes. And now our life is complete. May you search your peace as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I hope this reaches her in time []  2020-1-16 9:56

    R.H Sin does it again.He never disappoints, I have all of his books and I adore him!Every poem seems to be written about me. This man has changed my life & created me love myself again! ❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I hope this reaches her in time []  2020-1-16 9:56

    Fanatic of poetry, dating back to the early 50s. This book thoroughly touched me and inspired me in ways like no other modern day poet has. Written from the perspective of a MAN tech recognizing the struggle felt by women, conditioned to be weak and wrong in their struggles, brings fresh perspective and hope that we, as women, are not alone and not ever recognized by all, often those conditioning us to feel this way. Not only in our love life, parents, anyone who relates to these subjects faced head on, can search splice and self validation in the pages. Written by a man, makes you the words more meaningful to me, due to the begin perspective and provoking validation expressed through thoughtful literature in this book. I highly recommend this book and this author. Revelolutionary and various for this time period of poetry. The greatest authors fill the shoes they have not, cannot ever wear. That is R.H. Sin. If you are broken, bruised or not experiencing a low; this book was written for you and your struggles... amazing read, better gain. So it’s nexpemsive, it’s worth a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I hope this reaches her in time []  2020-1-16 9:56

    I bought this book as bonus for my mom because it kept coming up while I was searching for other books she'd actually asked for. I thumbed through it when it arrived and I have to say it is beautifully written and a must have for all women for sure. Me should read it too but especially women of all ages. Additionally, my mom noted it was her favorite bonus and the first of a dozen or more books she received at Christmas that she read cover to cover. I highly recommend this book and I'm excited to read his other works. Also I have now bought this book 3 more times for myself and a few friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I hope this reaches her in time []  2020-1-16 9:56

    I like this author a lot but I’m disappointed in the quality of the book. Several pages had the ink run off where I couldn’t even read or create out the word that was supposed to be there

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I hope this reaches her in time []  2020-1-16 9:56

    I love this book. It's as if the author of these poems (verses?) lives within my head and my 's sad to know that heartbreak and being disappointed by those around you is something so universal that a strangers words say just what I feel right now and what I have felt for a lot of years prior.If so a lot of of us are hurting inside bc of the method we have been, or are being, treated by someone who betrayed us.....If we all can relate to the pain caused by those who possess the skills required to lie, by those who have mastered the ability to live without a conscience and by those who have the creativity to shop themselves as saints.....if it is such a common thread amongst people like us who live with this sadness...then why are we only encountering those who are dead inside; those people who by proxy murder the kindness that lived within our hearts prior to their arrival in our lives? Why are the sincere and loyal so elusive and the deceitful so prevalent?My personal truth has been written by the hand of another who does not know of my existence or my cirtances but yet our pain is so familiar and similar, it's hard to believe they aren't in my head. I think anyone who is going through a tough time caused by the careless actions of someone else will really search comfort in reading the words of an author who sounds as if their armour has also been dented by the same stones. Even though those stones have been thrown at us by various ank you r.h. sin for writing what my illiterate heart could not. If your words were a house, I would be home.I will definitely be ordering more of this authors work by weeks end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I hope this reaches her in time []  2020-1-16 9:56

    The best thing about this book was that I got to add a finished book to my challenge of reading 100 books a year, even if I was a tad embarrassed to claim it. I found this while looking for more Rupi Kaur and thought I would give it a chance. I kept waiting for it to obtain better. It didn't. It was ... Dull. There was nothing particularly sparkling or catchy or fresh about the writing. Mostly, it was cliche and beating a dead horse. Maybe some of the other items is better. This was beautiful lackluster and left me wanting something to clear the cobwebs that developed in my brain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I hope this reaches her in time []  2020-1-16 9:56

    This book is one long, melodramatic sigh. It’s like a parody of teenage angst. I’m no stranger to emotions but amazing lord. Dashboard Confessional has already covered all that can be said about breakups. And from what I remember, they did it with better grammar than this author used. If you need a amazing cry and poorly written poetry fix, just go to your middle school MySpace page. It’s equally cringy but won’t cost you anything other than your self respect!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I hope this reaches her in time []  2020-1-16 9:56

    “I Hope This Reaches Her in Time,” a fresh poetry collection by Ig poet r.h. Sin, tells a story, a love n has published several poetry collections, all of them since 2016. He’s something of a “phenom.”The poems of “I Hope This Reaches Her in Time” are untitled, and so they become a kind of extended and deeply similar narrative. That narrative is a love story, with its love both requited and unrequited. Sin speaks of temporary loves and permanent ones, if there’s such a thing as permanent in this Ig universe. Perhaps he writes a narrative of a lot of love stories, and the emergence of these poems on the Ig platform shapes them that live in the momentswhere my eyes cannot closeyou survive in shattered dreamsand the bruising of my soulbut just like the nightyou fade behind the horizonand just like the sunI rise, possibly brighterand stronger than beforethe morning will comethe day will beginand you will be forgottenonce moreSome of the poems are so short, a line or two, that they appear to be more like aphorisms: “the heartache will teach you / then peace will fill you.”If it’s not obvious yet, it should be noted that Sin is averse to capitalization and punctuation, which turns out not to be a problem. But if you like short love poems, ones that stop you and create you consider what’s event in them, then “I Hope This Reaches Her in Time” is a amazing collection of e basic audience for the Ig poets seems to be younger Millennials and the older members of Generation Z, roughly people between 18 and 24. This dramatic increase in reading poetry doesn’t appear to have spread to established, more traditionally published poets. But it’s nonetheless encouraging to see younger adults engaging with poetry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I hope this reaches her in time []  2020-1-16 9:56

    Honestly fell in love with this book so quickly

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guanajuato: A Guide to the City I Loved []  2020-7-19 19:2

    I loved all of the attractive pictures. I wanted to read this before I travel there in January. This gave me amazing suggestions on locations to visit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A World I Loved: The Story of an Arab Woman []  2020-2-6 19:31

    Totally enjoyed this honest , sometimes emotional writing about one person's memories of the best of life that growing up in the Levant could provide. Her political views were implicit and intelligent, to my assessment. I have passed this book on to my sons and to mates for whom this book would resonate. I would like to thank the author for choosing to doent her life , instead of doing all the other things that hold one busy. I liked the unpretentious title as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A World I Loved: The Story of an Arab Woman []  2020-2-6 19:31

    I was a student at Madam Cortas' school in the mid-1960s. While I admired and respected her and I loved Lebanon, I understood small of her life and the heritage of the land she loved, from Beirut to Baghdad to Jerusalem and back, across borders that would not exist but for the ambitions and interests of the far-away politicians and peoples in Europe, before the catestrophic consequences of European ideologies, and beyond imprint of organized violence on what is now Lebanon. Even the textbook I used in my history class the year I attended Cortas' school bore a colonial imprint; literally an imprint of a UK publisher, this text of ancient history was entitled _The Globe Before Britian_. _A Globe I Loved_ drew me in and challenged my views of the terrain and the people of what are now Lebanon, Syria, Iraq, Jordan and Israel. Cortas teaches history from the too rare perspective of an optimistic, educated, compassionate Arab woman, a woman who held her identity as an Arab woman with amazing pride. Cortas dedicated her life to educating girls and to working toward a curriculum grounded in the profound history and experiences of Arab peoples. Her story should be essential reading for anyone who wants human understanding the Middle East or who questions limited photos we in the U.S. have of what it could have meant live the life of an Arab woman in the 20th century.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A World I Loved: The Story of an Arab Woman []  2020-2-6 19:31

    I loved this book, which is both the private memoir of a fascinating broad-minded accomplished woman educator and a political history of the forces riling her enlightened world. Her empathy for Jewish refugees and their kids whom she educates in her cosmpolitan school is balanced versus her knowledge of the plight of the Palestinian children, separated from family and land, whom she also educates and cares for. She worked for and longed for tolerance, acceptance, and the integration into a cosmopolitan life of people of all faiths and creeds; she watched the dream recede until it ended in Civil Battle in Lebanon, the expulsion of the Palestinians and a militarized Israeli state. Through it all, she found sustenance in music, in the accomplishments of her students, and of her own four children, in the stories of the people who lived in her mountain village, and in the beauty of the land. The globe she loved and brings to life is a globe all people of amazing will might love. With a foreword by her daughter and an afterword by her granddaughter, the reader also follows three generations of Arab women and comes to admire each.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A World I Loved: The Story of an Arab Woman []  2020-2-6 19:31

    a loving family, a neighborhood we all would love to live in. However, sometimes a small too wordy. I do recommend it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A World I Loved: The Story of an Arab Woman []  2020-2-6 19:31

    After reading "A Peace To End All Peace", I was looking to read more about the lingering effects from Globe Battle One but not from Western eyes. This was an perfect book!This book is written from an Arabic point of view. I gained an appreciation for Arab peoples and their view on life and the world. It's an embarrassment to come from Louisiana , home of the Congressman who proudly stated that we should arrest any one wearing a diaper on their head wrapped with a fan belt.If you wish to gain a broader understanding about how we got to where we are today, read this book. News media in the west is pitiful. An informed public needs to have a solid understanding of what happened in the past before listening to media in the U.S.A. And this book gives a amazing balanced view from the Eastern perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To all the people I loved before loving me []  2020-6-3 18:43

    This book is special. To all the people I loved before loving me is a stark reminder that you are not alone, that you are not the only person going through something, and that there are people who wish to support and understand you.5*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A World I Loved: The Story of an Arab Woman []  2020-2-6 19:31

    A wealth of knowledge in this unbelievable read. I highly recommend to anyone who’s looking to learn about the truth of Palestine and the history of the Middle East. It’s not only a biography but a wealth of info about the Middle East in that golden era. Wadad Makdisi Cortas is truly an wonderful Arab woman!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A World I Loved: The Story of an Arab Woman []  2020-2-6 19:31

    When I bought "A Globe I Loved" at a book reading held by Mariam Cortas I was not sure that I was going to read the book. I had known the Cortas family for over fifty years, and I thought I would not learn anything new. Boy, was I wrong. I started reading the book on my 30 min train ride home and then I stayed awake until the wee hours of the next day until I finished hindsight, I think that my attraction to the book was strengthened a lot of times over by the wonderfully written introduction by Mariam Cortas , the daughter of the author.Her acc was full of candor and revealed some very unique intimate info about the life of "The Arab Educator" par excellence. (We learn for example that Mrs. Cortas never had a bank checking account). The book itself is a concise history of the forces that have shaped the Middle East after WWI told through the lens of the private experiences of a woman who spent a life time teaching, preaching and discussing such necessary subjects as the injustice of the Sykes Picot much as I liked the book it yet left me wondering if it had been over edited. The early parts of the book do not provide enough explanation for the positions that Mrs Cortas took and how she arrived at them. The latter part of the book is so over edited that at times a full year is dispensed with in one paragraph.Let me end this review on a private note. This eminently informative and pleasant book does not give one an insight into the unbelievable private attributes of why Mrs. Cortas was such a galvanizing force in Lebanon and the Middle East. Her largest asset was her temperament; she was confident , passionate, considerate, rational and a person who inspired trust.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Toughest Job I Ever Loved: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-1-26 23:3

    Imagine being dropped off in a village of few dozen people in the middle of the rainforest, given a bicycle and a mud wattle, dirt floor hut to live in. No electricity or running water. This will be your home for the next two years. You know no one and your only means of communication is the small bit of French you (and they) can speak. You are expected to teach the protein-challenged villagers (and those up and down the street for a lot of kilometers) to build and maintain fish ponds, stocked with tilapia. Throw in driver ants, dengue fever, roundworms, chiggers, and drenching downpours. When there is meat for dinner it will be half-rotten bush meat that you will have to learn to stomach. This was the life of a Peace Corps fish culture program volunteer in Gabon in the late 1990s. I never met Jonathon, but I did meet a lot of of his Peace Corps Volunteer (PCV) colleagues in Gabon during this period when I was there studying the country's native freshwater fishes. Unflagging fortitude, resourcefulness and amazing will were the characteristics of the who stuck it out. (I was most astonished by the female PCVs who managed to persevere in a country in which traditional gender roles were so firmly ensconced.) There could not have been better ambassadors for the United States than these (mostly) young Americans and a lot of doors were opened to me as a effect of the warm feelings Gabonese villagers had for Americans due to the 'Corps de la Paix.' I have long hoped that one of them would publish their memoirs and here it is. Shacat relates his experiences, reconstructed from his diaries and memory, in a straightforward style that will transport you right to his jungle village. You will feel as if you've really visited the place, without suffering a single insect bite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A World I Loved: The Story of an Arab Woman []  2020-2-6 19:31

    This book was written by a woman who was the principal of and involved in the development of a school for girls in Lebanon for 40 years. Married with four children, she covered problems pertaining to zone history and the culture, some facts about development of the school and some about the Arab philosophy. Several pages of photographs were also another reviewer, I also purchased this book at a deep discount. I picked it up only because of price and curiosity. I'm not a history buff and admit that my knowledge of similar problems is virtually nil. While I've traveled extensively internationally on business, it's not been to any of the locations covered in this book which one might term the "Middle East".As a positive from my perspective, the book read more like a story than a "history book" and as effect moved along as an "easy read". I found the book interesting and insightful although I would not have enough knowledge or background to judge its validity. I took it on face value.When I finished the book, my first thought was that I wished it had covered more of the subjects in depth. For anyone strongly interested in women's problems and/or those who might search interest in "just a glimpse" into the Arab world, especially that of a progressive, successful family, I'd recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A World I Loved: The Story of an Arab Woman []  2020-2-6 19:31

    Bought this for a friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A World I Loved: The Story of an Arab Woman []  2020-2-6 19:31

    This is a beautifully written, engrossing story of a remarkablewoman and her acc of life in Lebanon and the region, spanningthe early 20th century to the late 1970's. She takes the readerinto a various globe and I thoroughly enjoyed the journey!The story of her extraordinary life is woven into the narrativeof the history and politics of the era, together with vividdescriptions of everyday and family life, the landscape, people andfriends - prominent and r those seeking to better know and understand this region, itshistory and its people - which are so small known and understoodin the U.S. - or for those seeking an inspiring story of aprincipled Arab woman dedicated to education and service - or both -this is a must-read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jacob Have I Loved []  2020-1-26 23:50

    True characters, feelings, struggles, & life problems create this a true gem of a book. Yes, it's geared in a lot of ways to a younger female audience. But Ms. Paterson has successfully made something unique for young & old, alike. I would share this with my daughter or granddaughters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jacob Have I Loved []  2020-1-26 23:50

    my favorite childhood book, glad I was able to search it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jacob Have I Loved []  2020-1-26 23:50

    It is a story worth reading but it disappoints overall. Spends method too much time on the childhood of the main hero and not enough time in her adulthood. In my mind, some problems are left unresolved. The locale, an island in the Chesapeake Bay, is dealt with very well and really brings home life on the island of Rass. I liked the main character, Sara Louise (Wheeze), and wished to learn more about her as a midwife in an Appalachian Mountain city of Truitt. Maybe in another book???

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jacob Have I Loved []  2020-1-26 23:50

    I read this when I was young, and I remember feeling like I had found a friend. In this book, I found a hero who struggled with the same problems with family members, self worth, impossible crushes, and God that I did. But instead of dwelling on the struggles, we see the difficult childhood of this girl pass.I always cry at the end, because she ends up doing what she wants to do. She loves it, she's amazing at it, she finds success and love and a put to belong. I required a picture of that when I was young. (Sometimes I still do!) As a previous reviewer said, it's amazing for 5th grade and up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jacob Have I Loved []  2020-1-26 23:50

    I read this when I was younger and re-reading it now, it still held some of it's appeal. The characters, plot, and setting are all interesting; they just don't write books like this one much any more. I did search Sarah Louise "Wheeze" just a tad bit overdone on the poor-me-I'm-a-martyr thing, which created her hard to like sometimes. But simple to identify with, in some other ways. Anyway it's a fast read and not bad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jacob Have I Loved []  2020-1-26 23:50

    I read this book a number of years ago. I enjoyed it just as much now as I did before, but have a couple misgivings. This story is set in the 1940's, and follows the teen years and early adult years of Sara Louise Bradshaw. Sara Louise has grown up in the shadow of her fraternal twin sister Caroline, who is beautiful, gregarious, and musically talented. The family lives in a little island community in the Chesapeake Bay. Caroline is extremely famous in this setting, and Sara Louise feels less-than. Their parents are kind, loving and understanding, if not a small passive. The difficulty is that the girl's paternal grandmother lives with them. Grandma is caustic, bitter, mean-spirited and just hateful. Growing up with her would give anyone psychological issues! I can't understand why these nice parents let this cruel woman to live in their home and harrass everyone. There are very few boundaries. This is evidenced not only by their grandmother's free reign, but also Caroline's take-over ways. She has been allowed to ride roughshod over Sara Louise, and this continues throughout the book. Caroline gets her method constantly, often at Sara Louise's expense. She horns in on Sara Louise's friendships and plans. Meanwhile, Grandma grows crazier as the years pass. She begins to compare the twins to Jacob and Esau in the Bible, implying that Caroline is the chosen one, and Sara Louise is hated by God. This causes Sara-Louise to turn her back on God and her faith. She grows up to explore that her parents do value her, and that she has been the one holding herself back. She goes to college, becomes a nurse, marries, and settles in the Appalachia mountains. She is satisfied in her life, and has created peace with her past. Sadly, the only part of it she doesn't create peace with is God. That was a disappointment. I'm not sure if the author was trying to give a notice versus faith. The book demonstrates a powerful knowledge of both Catholic and Protestant beliefs. I dislike how the grandmother knows the Bible so well, but uses it as a weapon. Still an enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jacob Have I Loved []  2020-1-26 23:50

    Amazing product, price and fast delivery. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jacob Have I Loved []  2020-1-26 23:50

    Paterson captures the inner turmoil and damage of the lesser-loved, plainer, and less-obviously gifted twin, Sara Louise ("Wheezy"), growing up on a remote island in the Chesapeake Bay in the 1940s. Caroline, her musically talented, beautiful, and spoiled sister has stolen the spotlight ever since birth, having been born fragile and sickly. Boredom, longing, psychic pain, and rage are exquisitely described yet there is humor - especially in the protagonist's interactions with McCall, the dunderheaded boy with whom Sara Louise shares a lot of adventures. In the end, though Sara Louise is thwarted from her ideal career (due to being female ), she achieves one she can be proud of along with - at long latest - love and acceptance in her private life. I have fun how this author is able to detail her characters's feelings with depth, intensity, and amazing honesty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jacob Have I Loved []  2020-1-26 23:50

    Every time I read this book, I feel more emotions. Especially now, as an adult who knows a pair of twins whose lives uncannily resemble Louise and Caroline's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jacob Have I Loved []  2020-1-26 23:50

    The beginning was kinda slow, but as you hold reading, it just gets better. I really loved the ending, it was perfect. She gets what she wants, and was that Caroline singing, or some stranger? Whoever it was, they sang her poem, she's not forgotten or hidden anymore!!! Amazing book, maybe for older readers though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    English Pub Beer Glass 20 OZ Clear 4 piece Set I Easy Stacking in the cupboard I Dishwasher safe plus great for drinking with friends and loved ones I Freezer compatible []  2020-10-27 18:58

    Classy and excellent for water, beer, and even milkshakes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    English Pub Beer Glass 20 OZ Clear 4 piece Set I Easy Stacking in the cupboard I Dishwasher safe plus great for drinking with friends and loved ones I Freezer compatible []  2020-10-27 18:58

    Purchased for a family member they loved them said just right size and feels comfortable in the hand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    English Pub Beer Glass 20 OZ Clear 4 piece Set I Easy Stacking in the cupboard I Dishwasher safe plus great for drinking with friends and loved ones I Freezer compatible []  2020-10-27 18:58

    Bought these for my husband for a birthday gift, and he really liked them. Would definitely buy again for another gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    English Pub Beer Glass 20 OZ Clear 4 piece Set I Easy Stacking in the cupboard I Dishwasher safe plus great for drinking with friends and loved ones I Freezer compatible []  2020-10-27 18:58

    I threw these in the freezer and on football Sunday broke them out with some ice cold beer delicious!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    English Pub Beer Glass 20 OZ Clear 4 piece Set I Easy Stacking in the cupboard I Dishwasher safe plus great for drinking with friends and loved ones I Freezer compatible []  2020-10-27 18:58

    A amazing all around glass.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    English Pub Beer Glass 20 OZ Clear 4 piece Set I Easy Stacking in the cupboard I Dishwasher safe plus great for drinking with friends and loved ones I Freezer compatible []  2020-10-27 18:58

    Amazing product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    English Pub Beer Glass 20 OZ Clear 4 piece Set I Easy Stacking in the cupboard I Dishwasher safe plus great for drinking with friends and loved ones I Freezer compatible []  2020-10-27 18:58

    Excellent shape, amazing weight. Classic pub glass

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    English Pub Beer Glass 20 OZ Clear 4 piece Set I Easy Stacking in the cupboard I Dishwasher safe plus great for drinking with friends and loved ones I Freezer compatible []  2020-10-27 18:58

    These glasses are quite nice. They have a nice shape & feel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    English Pub Beer Glass 20 OZ Clear 4 piece Set I Easy Stacking in the cupboard I Dishwasher safe plus great for drinking with friends and loved ones I Freezer compatible []  2020-10-27 18:58

    Study classic pub glasses excellent for beers and fits well in the hand. Come well packaged

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Her Name in the Sky []  2020-7-7 19:11

    I believe this is the author's first novel and it shows. Some wooden prose, sometimes verbose, it could have benefited greatly from a amazing editor. That said, there are passages where the author seems to definitely be in touch with her muse and the results are breath taking, e.g., when Hannah and Baker lose their virginity to each other. The chief value of this book, and why is should be read, is how it illustrates the danger of teaching people to believe in myth and then imbuing that myth with some allegedly divine authority that applies to all people at all times such that people are separated into "normal" and "abnormal", "saint" and "sinner", "saved" and "condemned"; and the destruction this wreaks on the lives of people who, because of their indoctrination, strive to live in accordance with the teachings of the myth. The false shame and guilt, the anxiety and depression and fear Hannah and Baker struggle with is very true for a lot of LGBTQ children as is the hatred, humiliation, ridicule, persecution and violence at the hands of the "believers"; all in the name of some deity and the teachings of some religious institution. Sadly, the truth is that a lot of LGBTQ children do not search the satisfied ending and acceptance by family and mates that Hannahbear and Bake do, especially in religious families and social groups. Instead they are disowned, thrown out of homes, attacked verbally and physically by peers and family, and told they are "unnatural", "abnormal" and "condemned to hell". Is it any wonder why so a lot of of these children struggle with self destructive behaviours and suicidal thoughts? Given the level of venom and hatred being expressed these days toward LGBTQ people and LGBTQ children in particular, this is a book everyone should read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Her Name in the Sky []  2020-7-7 19:11

    This has to be one of the most attractive stories I've read this year. Truly, this book surprised me in all the best ways.I've been trying desperately to read more LGBT+ books, especially F/F since it's one that is forgotten in the romance genre and is often pushed aside. And most of the F/F books I've read have been beautiful amazing but this book...damn this book was more than "pretty good". I didn't think it was possible for me to connect to a story as much as I did this one. From the moment I started reading I felt like I was reading the intimate story of a friend, someone that I knew and loved and ever single word on the page just felt so realThe writing in this book is so freaking spectacular, it's poetic. I feel like I highlighted so a lot of passages because of how deep and true the words these hero speak are. And it's not only the serious moments, it's the friendship moments too. The moments when mates are talking abut something silly and yet in that very moment, you can tell how much of a unit the whole gang is, and you feel almost like you are a part of this senior year with them too, scared to graduate, scared of the change and yet hopeful for what is out there. I felt myself rereading so a lot of passages, sometimes just pausing for a moment with this tingling sensation in my nose as i held back tears and just said, “damn”. It’s not often that a book makes me feel like this and I could tell from almost the very beginning that this book was going to be a is book talks on so a lot of serious subjects and I love the method the author interwove religious beliefs into the book. Normally I'm one to stay far, far away from anything concerning religion in my books because it tends to feel like the author is trying to preach to you or push their beliefs but with this book it didn't feel that method at all. Seeing Hannah and Baker struggle with their beliefs, with what you're told your whole life vs what is your reality and now it's left you questioning everything, I feel like that's something every single person who has ever grown up religious can relate to. That moment where you begin to question the things you blindly followed as a kid, where you question where you fit into it all and if you belong even if you don't believe everything or you have doubts or even you feel you go versus what your beliefs say. Honestly I feel like the writing was so strong that it created me empathize and relate to every single characters struggle, from Hannah, to Joanie and even to Wally and Clay. I loved every single hero so, so much and I saw pieces of myself in nearly every single character.I loved that this book was so hero driven and about this group of friends. I love them all so much! I really cannot say that enough because throughout reading I just continued to feel more and more like they were my mates and like I knew them and I wanted so desperately to support them through all their struggles. I really loved Joanie's relationship with Luke and I love that the author spent time developing each of the side characters rather than just making them primary secondary characters that don't really have depth. I could easily see myself reading books for any of the other friends, in fact I'm dying for more of this group. I'd love a Joanie and Luke book, a Wally book or even a Clay for the main couple, Baker and Hannah? I loved them so much my heart aches just thinking of them. I really, truly did not expect to love this book as much as I did. But love it, I did. I honestly cried so much reading this book and I feel like that rarely happens for me anymore. To feel that emotionally invested in a book that I literally wish to sob because it hurts me that they hurt. The love and friendship that Hannah and Baker have for each other is deep, soul friend love. The angst is too true in this one but it never felt strung out or exaggerated because the pacing was realistic and is very rare for me to spend $5.99 on an ebook but this book was worth every single penny and more. This was the best impulse buy and the best $6 I've spent this year. I cannot recommend this book enough! I really think this is a book that everyone should read and if you're someone who hasn't ventured into a lot of F/F books I think you should begin with this book because it's so attractive that I don't think you could not wish to read more F/F after finishing this THIS BOOK!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Her Name in the Sky []  2020-7-7 19:11

    Fine light dining for the mind. Don't be shy about handing this book to your favorite adult or teen reader, or straight. Quindlen has written a sleek but substantive novel about the tensions of teen life, the exploration of love - and not just angst or same attraction. There is bravery and there is bigotry, loneliness and surprising strength in the face of violence, with gradations in between. If you think the setting of a Baton Rouge Catholic parochial high school is a little box to have characters inhabit and bump versus the corners, think again. The narrative would play just as well in any U.S. city or city, Seattle to Boston, Akron or Austin. Between these pages is an entire community populated by ineluctable saints and sinners but, as in life, few foregone conclusions. The strongest note is the interior conversations our protagonist Hannah has with herself and about the handful of antagonists who impede her journey to real north Baker, including Baker herself. At age 17, surrounded by 5 long time mates all college bound and in their latest year of high school, Hannah's choices now rest with her - as do the consequences. At times, she will stand alone, searching for solutions among the static. In an era of American arrested development, not enough authors give young girls the credit anymore for a range of thoughtfully formed emotions at the cusp of adulthood, as well as the ability to break free from the miasma of religion, conformity and betrayal of others on their own journey. It's always a pleasure to read lean, pitch excellent dialogue uttered by well-crafted young characters. Her Name in the Sky is modulated, with emotional spikes that ring true. A lot of adults, male and female, will relate and search themselves traveling back in time to view their younger self at critical moments when life irrevocably pivots for them or someone they knew. Others will relate to the adults who support or hinder. Would they create the same choices, would they have the courage to help those faced with dancing along the edge of conflict?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Her Name in the Sky []  2020-7-7 19:11

    This book...this author...holy crap. Everything about it rings true. The method the book reads is almost stream of consciousness through the eyes of the protagonist, Hannah. At its core, Her Name In The Sky is about finding courage. Courage to acknowledge who you are as a person, courage to war through the pain that coming-out often entails, courage to war for something so inherently buried within us all: the power to love and be loved in return. Kelly Quindlen goes for gold with this book...foregoing the typical formulaic mush that has stereotypically defined fiction. Yes, there is angst (and lots of it), but there is also triumph, and truth, and discovery, and growth. The characters all serve a purpose and in a method symbolize our very humanity. There is cruelty and ignorance in Father Simons and Michele, empathy and passion in Joannie and Hannah, fear and acceptance in Baker and Ms. Carpenter, jealousy and forgiveness in Clay and Wally.If youre looking for a sappy, simplistic time-filler, well...look elsewhere. Though it has it's nastolgic, relatable, humorous moments, the majority of the novel touches on complex problems such as same -attraction, religion, and the lenghts we go to to hold ourselves free of confrontation. Nothing about falling in love is easy, especially when you fall--hard--for your also-female best friend. How the two main charccters deal with that attraction is both liberating and heartbreaking. The author's prose is truly poetic. Her words are powerful, piercing, attractive and magical simultaneously. Read this book, people. You'll be glad you did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Her Name in the Sky []  2020-7-7 19:11

    I have lost myself in this book 3 times and will read it again. It is beautifully written, and the story wonderfully told. I highlighted so a lot of passages: some due to the power of the writing; some because of the intensity; some that are key to understanding the people and their actions and thinking; and some that are even life lessons to consider. This story is so awesome on so a lot of levels—rich and deep and satisfying. There are several parallel stories being told, dealing with problems central to our times, portrayed by people you obtain to know, like for real. The writing is excellent and delivers all you might hope for when you begin reading. One of my favorite passages is this, “Hannah knows that she and Baker are outside of time. She can tell by the whisper of the air and the pattern of the stars, by the swell of her heart and the immediacy of her pain.” Wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Her Name in the Sky []  2020-7-7 19:11

    This is an interesting examination of the intersection of LGBTQ identity and Catholic identity-- recommended to me by someone who has experienced this particular tension. Some of the dual-consideration created me a bit uncomfortable (somewhat explicit scenes connected directly to God). This was obviously purposeful, and likely important in order to achieve the purpose that Quindlen was going for, and I [email protected]#$%! hadn't been quite so uncomfortable for me... Maybe it says more about me and my stint at Catholic school than I would first, the mate group of six was hard to disentangle, but the role of each hero in relation to the protagonist, Hannah, soon became clear and no longer confusing. They served various purposes in terms of help or extra complications for Hannah to discover her own identity while dealing with various levels of acceptance within this group and from the adults that play a peripheral yet necessary role in her own is book serves as an necessary consideration for teens exploring their own ity AND relationship to faith/god/religion. I wonder if people from non-Catholic (or other conservative Christian sects) would be enlightened or alienated by the specific setting in a Catholic school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Her Name in the Sky []  2020-7-7 19:11

    4.5This took me a min to obtain into because I'm a few years older than the target demographic, but if I had read this as a teenager, I would have absolutely adored it.With a professional editor, I think the more rambly scenes could have been chop down and the dialogue could've been a small more realistic, but the story reads genuine and it was simple for me to connect with. I also believe this was completely self-produced, so if this was a self-edit, the author did an awesome s:- would have absolutely loved this if I were still in the target demographic- even being older, I enjoyed it enough to finish in two days- really sweet characters. loved their dynamic- the friendships and conflict ring genuine- it was funny and light while also being incredibly realCons:- campy and less-than-realistic dialogue, especially in the first few chapters- a few formatting and technical errors (but again, for a self-edit, the author did really well)I think teens who were raised in the Bible Belt will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Her Name in the Sky []  2020-7-7 19:11

    In short: This book is a DNF for me. I stopped reading about 76% of the method through and never picked it up again. The first 15% of the book intrigued me enough to purchase the kindle edition, but I soon realized that the beginning did not reflect the overall quality of the Detail: The two main characters of this novel feel flat to me. You could switch their positions and I believe, more or less, things would be the same. The tension at the end of the novel also falls flat; no doubt a effect of the random side characters being deeply involved in it. There is no tension - no stakes. I shouldn't say there aren't stakes -rather, none that I cared about. We never meet the people that Baker would lose (ie. her family). It is implied that it would destroy her life but we are never showed what result that would have on her, just told. Everything that is event at the end of the novel feels utterly disconnected from the rest of the plot and I was disinterested in the characters at this point. To boil it down to one sentence: it is a stereotypical plot with flat characters and, while I can see it was written with passion, it's laughably unoriginal.Harsh... but what is the point of a review if not to be honest?That being said, I think the first 15% was very well done. The flat characters weren't evident as they were just being introduced and I found the plot quite intriguing. I'm sorry to say that this wasn't the case throughout.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Her Name in the Sky []  2020-7-7 19:11

    "Her Name in the Sky" is the best love story - the best book - I've read in is is a stunningly amazing novel of falling in love and coming of age. The writing is beautifully lyrical and is reason enough to buy the book. "Her Name in the Sky" so much more than exquisite language.I loved Hannah and Baker and the possibility to share their lives. They share a love that we all hope to have at least once in our lives. While there are rough patches there are soaring transcendent moments of Quindlen draws her characters sharply and clearly, without a missed stroke. They are typical teenagers with all of their rough edges, genuineness, duplicity, love, kindness, and sometimes lack of judgment. They are also endearing and the sort of people you had as mates in high school if you were lucky.I read the book obsessively to see how the lives of Baker, Hannah, and their mates would develop and intertwine and I read with the bittersweet knowledge that each page I read was another page closer to the inevitable end of the book. "Her Name in the Sky" moved me to tears, to enormous smiles, to outright laughter with the characters again and again. I became jealous and would not even read the story in the same room with anyone else. (I can't ever remember ever having that intense of a reaction to a book.) I didn't wish to share this rich life-changing experience or have to test to explain the complexity of the story if someone asked why I was crying.Having lived in the South and having a number of relatives and mates down there still, the descriptions of life down there were spot on. When Ms Quindlen describes a party of high school seniors and juniors, she brings it to life and gets the info me reviewers have emphasised that this is an LGBTQ+ story. Please don't pigeon-hole this as just an LGBTQ+ story. That is real but it is much much more than just that. Even if you are not interested in LGBTQ+ stories you owe it to yourself to read this because it is a wonderfully told story of a love that any of us would dearly wish to have. As someone who is LGBTQ+ in a Catholic family, the descriptions of the added pressures of society and the Church on LGBTQ+ relationships ring true."Her Name in the Sky" is the best love story - the best book - I've read in decades.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Her Name in the Sky []  2020-7-7 19:11

    Holy crap, where do I start? I am NOT a reader, I beautiful much never read, I just can never obtain into it, but I’ve been wanting to read more so I purchased this book. I just got it yesterday, and I have already finished it and am reading through it again! I have NEVER had a book move me before, but this book had me so emotionally invested I literally could not wait to obtain done with work to begin reading it again. Now, I am nowhere near being a high schooler anymore, but the characters were so unbelievably relatable and place into words feelings I felt myself growing up and the difficulty that comes with realizing who you are and how to deal with accepting it and coming out. I am also not religious in any method and usually anything that pertains to religion already makes me less interested, but this was so beautifully written that I even enjoyed the religious factor, it plays a role in the plot without being overdone. I could write so much more about how much I LOVE this book, but ultimately all I can say is it is definitely a must read, and a book I think I will continue to pick up for years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am in Here: The Journey of a Child with Autism Who Cannot Speak but Finds Her Voice []  2020-9-25 18:33

    I really enjoyed this very sensitive book, something that I was unprepared for. but Elizabeth Bonker has portrayed the journey with detail n imagination. well worth reading as to an insight into this affliction that is claiming far too a lot of young peoples lives. n a thought provoking look at what can be done for these kids, something as easy as a letter board can create all the difference, so come on Pollies create sure that every family who has an autistic kid has the proper resource to give life to each child

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am in Here: The Journey of a Child with Autism Who Cannot Speak but Finds Her Voice []  2020-9-25 18:33

    This book, written by the mother of a non-verbal child, touched my heart. Virginia Breen has an ivy league education and a amazing deal of moxie. She did not accept the idea that her kid was mentally deficient and did what most parents would do. She became Elizabeth's best advocate and fought unrelentlessly to obtain the services her daughter required to bloom and grow. Uplifting story for parents of unique needs kids and anyone who works in Unique Education.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am in Here: The Journey of a Child with Autism Who Cannot Speak but Finds Her Voice []  2020-9-25 18:33

    This is a well written book by someone with an inside look at the globe of autism. The poems written by Elizabeth, who has autism, give a attractive look into her very bright mind. I would recommend this book to anyone who has contact with an autistic person or has an interest in learning about autism. It would be especially helpful for teachers and parents of autistic kids no matter where they are on the spectrum. I enjoyed reading this book and learned much from it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am in Here: The Journey of a Child with Autism Who Cannot Speak but Finds Her Voice []  2020-9-25 18:33

    This story held a magnifying glass to the mind and spirit of Elizabeth who shows us all how God has created each of us. We need to treat all people with kindness and respect as we know small of their journey here on earth. Pain brings a perspective to all the days of our lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am in Here: The Journey of a Child with Autism Who Cannot Speak but Finds Her Voice []  2020-9-25 18:33

    This unbelievable book invites the reader into the globe of an autistic person. We all need to learn as much as we can about this condition which is so prevalent in our world. When we understand what a non-speaking person is thinking, we can interact with them better. Elizabeth Bonker write attractive poetry to express her feelings and observations of the world. Her mother adds comments and explanations that support the reader understand the challenges of parenting an autistic child.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am in Here: The Journey of a Child with Autism Who Cannot Speak but Finds Her Voice []  2020-9-25 18:33

    This is a real story about an autistic girl who can't speak but learns how to use an alphabet board and keyboard to write very amazing poetry. She shows wisdom method beyond her years and through the poetry explains how she feels trapped in her body. The story will inspire you and also create you grateful. You will also learn a lot about autism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am in Here: The Journey of a Child with Autism Who Cannot Speak but Finds Her Voice []  2020-9-25 18:33

    This is the first time I ever read a book from the viewpoint of a nonverbal autistic, and it was an interesting read! It talks about the struggles of Autism not only from the viewpoint of the afflicted daughter, but from the viewpoint of the mother and older sister, as well. As I said, a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am in Here: The Journey of a Child with Autism Who Cannot Speak but Finds Her Voice []  2020-9-25 18:33

    This is the most amazing and inspiring book I have read in a long time! There has been a lot about autism in the media recently butone cannot understand fully what these people and their families really go through. The awesome ability of this young girl to "find" her voice is awe-inspiring. Read her poetry; it is beautiful! Elizabeth, please don't stop writing, even when you finally start to speak; I know this will happen because God has His hand on you. You are marvelous!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am in Here: The Journey of a Child with Autism Who Cannot Speak but Finds Her Voice []  2020-9-25 18:33

    As I read this heartbreaking story of a kid locked in the globe of autism and the courage and perseverance of her powerful and resilient mother I found myself praying for Elizabeth to be able to speak. This attractive kid is so far beyond her years in intellect and spirit and shows her strength and courage in her extraordinary follow Elizabeth through her everyday terrors of her prisoned mind as she struggles to obtain out. Her mother does all she can do humanly possible to support her kid search her method into the world. She travels near and far to search someone who has the key to unblock her child's mind and voice. Through their travels and experiences they meet some wonderful people who support Elizabeth and her mother to search spiritual peace and God's blessings.A remarkable story that will move you to tears and create you appreciate the easy things in life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Am in Here: The Journey of a Child with Autism Who Cannot Speak but Finds Her Voice []  2020-9-25 18:33

    This is one of the best books about autism that I have read. Really lets us know how Elizabeth feels about not being able to talk. And how frustrating it is for her to not be able to control her actions. God bless her mother as she travels this street with her autistic daughter and never gives up. I hold reading books about autism so I can understand a young mate that is autistic. Thank you for writing this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Loved: A Novel []  2020-6-6 18:0

    This is a story in three parts defined, in huge measure, by different forms/stages of love and loss. It would tell too much to lay out the plot points of each part. The story is narrated by Leo, an art historian. Leo discovers a painting by Bill and the two become close friends...actually, those two words fail to encompass the deep connection and affection between the pair. Leo is married to Erica and there are two women in Bill's life, Lucille and Violet. These four characters and the families they form are the backbone of the though a few other key players do emerge, these four are all intensely/intimately connected and all are also, in different forms, artists. Art is, in fact, probably another main hero and there are discussions about true artists and about fictional artistic works "by" the main characters. There's a amazing deal of discussion about art more broadly including the role of women & women's bodies* in art, the dichotomy of seeing & being seen, and the interplay between how art defines us & how we define art. Ultimately, however, while art matters deeply, this is a story about relationships and, more specifically, love. To use more paired descriptions, it is about what love does to us & what we do for it and also about what love cannot do & what love cannot save.Overall -- I very much enjoyed the first two parts. I truly disliked the third part. this book is very literary and very concerned with what some might call "academic" matters. In truth, calling this book pretentious may understate the case; somehow, though, this didn't really turn me off, perhaps because it fit the characters. Overall, the language is quite beautiful. I'm torn between three-and-a-half and four stars and suppose this time I'm lucky a lot of review websites don't let for half-stars. The rating reflects the fact that my enjoyment of the language overall. Ultimately, it also reflect the fact that my interest in parts one & two overshadow my dislike for part three, especially since I've had a small time to remove myself from the immediacy of the concluding section.Honestly, I can't tell you how long this one has been sitting on my "to read" shelf...well, I couldn't until I checked Amazon and saw I bought a used copy for a penny ($4 with shipping) on 12/7/11. I'm glad it finally surfaced. It calls for a reader who will admit to enjoying the literary and artistic. This reader is probably comfortable admitting to enjoying the pursuit of learning, a philosopher in the real sense of one who loves wisdom (and talking, or at least reading about it!)....okay, the ideal reader is used to hearing terms like "dork" and "nerd." It is, as I say above, pretentious and you need to accept that about the book and about the characters.*Random Aside (more a private experience given context by the book than a reaction to the text itself, though the word "reaction" is quite on point)...the review is done so feel free to stop, but leaving the rest (from my blog) for anyone who might be interested -- The book mentions women who used their bodies as art, "drawing" on their skin by scratching it lightly to create red marks appear. This caught the narrator off-guard a bit and sent me on a bit of a search. I remember a lot of a doctor over the years running a dull edge along my skin and noticing that a red tag arose a few moments later. I can't recall any ever mentioning it though until this year when my dermatologist was looking at an intense allergic reaction. I didn't catch the word she used but offered to demonstrate on her own since she didn't wish to irritate me further and as soon as she mentioned scratching her skin I responded by saying "and a red line appears."Anyway, apparently the term is dermographism. Honestly, I don't know if there are degrees of severity, but it is nothing I've ever found really troublesome. But it surprised me to learn that only 4-5% of people have it. I knew it wasn't something that happened to everyone, but it was always my normal so I guess I assumed it was beautiful common. It does explain a bit though....whenever something has been itching and I've inevitably given in and scratched. the zone becomes very red and angry. Again, normal to me (and I assume anyone could irritate an already itchy zone by scratching, but probably not to this extent) but sometimes concerned onlooker and I never understood why until I dug into it because of the is a really interesting condition and there are indeed people who've turned it into art. There are also a lot of people who go online looking for a cure (there isn't one though antihistamines can help) but it isn't something I feel any need to treat given other maladies. It has also created me think a lot about e we construct our concept of "normal" and how intensely private that term truly is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Loved: A Novel []  2020-6-6 18:0

    Siri Hustvedt, author of `What I Loved,' is an extraordinary wordsmith whose prose is poignant, probing, and brainy. I found myself re-reading a lot of passages repeatedly, thus, it took me a bit longer than is usual to complete this novel. Siri Hustvedt appears to have a unique union with her characters, her sentences, her everything in this novel. It reads almost effortlessly, and yet one knows that this was written with deliberation. The passages are almost akin to works of melody - the pacing, timing and tone are that effective.`What I Loved' is an accessible book where the characters are infused with all of the a lot of facets of life. This is accomplished almost in an unrecognizably methodical manner. These characters seem incredibly real, as does their life's journey.Leo Hertzberg narrates this story, and it is Leo's voice that is so compelling, so entreating. At first, the story revolves around his friendship with Bill Weschler. Leo purchases Bill's painting and becomes increasingly enthralled by this work. He contacts Bill, and their story begins. I became one of Leo's most attentive pupils and effortlessly submitted to his memories. Leo's story is told through a clear mind, but his eyes are now ers will search their method through this novel by utilizing their independent perspectives. Since my fascination involves the fine thread by which so a lot of of us appear to connect, I was especially interested in the intricately laced patterns that interweave the lives of Leo, Erica, Bill, Lucille, Violet, Mark, and Matthew, as well as other stvedt captured my interest from page one. I first bought this for my husband who is an artist. We are familiar with the fickleness and vagaries of Fresh York's art scene, and this book hit its tag every nce I do not wish to spoil this truly attractive piece of fiction, let me to share that it is about friendships, marriages, parenthood, sadness, art, memories, perceptions, personality disorders, and criminal e major characters crackle with life as do the minor characters. This is such a unbelievable book, and during a lot of sections, it is a heart-wrenching read. I seldom hold my books, but this one I am certainly keeping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved You First: Anthology []  2020-10-7 18:28

    Amanda Ronconi is one of my favorite narrators, and she knows how to create the characters come alive. You can never go wrong with her if it's a little city story that has quirky characters. Now that is out of the way, time to dive into the stories.Take Two by Suzanne EnochWe have Eleanor Ross and Brian [email protected]#$%!&?ty in this story. They use to have a relationship, and now they have a working one. Okay, not really. This story was adorable, and a fast listen. They had a lot to work on to repair all aspects of their lives. It's nice small pick me up sties and Not good Decisions by Molly HarperWe have Anastasia Villers and Ned Fitzroy. In this story Anastasia hits rock bottom, and needs to come crawling home. She never thought that her coming would be a welcoming one, but it wasn't what she expected. Ned and Anastasia use to have a relationship until she ghosted him. Need some patching up with these. Honestly, this story could have been a full on novel, because there's potential to create it longer. However, it was a cute st Possibility Motel by Karen HawkinsThis was a super cute story. We have Evan and Jessica Graham. They have an extremely rocky relationship. It was so poor that Jessica left Evan and sent him divorce papers. Evan tries to victory back Jessica, but has an uphill battle. Overall, it was a cute story.Overall, these stories were cute. They all could have been created the stories a full fledge novels, but it was amazing to have something fast to listen. Also, they were heart-warming, and gave fuzzy feelings at the py provided by author via AudiobookRating:4 Stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Loved: A Novel []  2020-6-6 18:0

    Without utilizing any literary tricks or implausible narrative twists, Siri Hustvedt has created, in her emotionally strong and unforgettable "What I Loved", a novel that at its best captures the challenges and multiplicities of life. To reduce this book to any single descriptor- a romance, a thriller, a critique on the art world, an existential reflection on adulthood- would be doing a large disservice to the rich and complex tapestry that Hustvedt has woven in this novel. The novel focuses on young lovers Leo and Erica, art aficionadoes who befriend a rising young art star named Bill. As they each live their lives- marriage, children, tragedy- Leo provides the focal point around which all their successes and failures revolve. Bill's success in the art globe brings praise and harsh criticism, allowing the author to comment on the fickle nature of the art world. Romance allows Hustvedt to write at her most poetic and eloquent. Unexpected loss allows her to write at her most gut wrenching. And just when the story seems to have settled onto a satisfying path, the narrative takes a natural but not expected turn, providing an element of suspense and anicipation that neatly manages to tie all the other ends together. At this risk of reducing this book to an simple read that satisfies a lot of readers, "What I Loved" manages to package a lot into its 400 pages. Laughter, tears, contemplation, frustration- all of it written with style and intelligence. A definite must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Loved: A Novel []  2020-6-6 18:0

    "What I Loved" is a story about the friendship between an art historian and an artist, and their two families including their two sons who are nearly the same age. It is a novel of loss - the loss of children, spouses, mates and lovers over a span of twenty-five years. It reminds us that change is an inevitable part of life. It is also an indictment of the vacuity and moral ambiguity of modern day life, particularly in the trendy, quick paced Fresh York art globe and club scene, where an artist who creates art works of cleverly violent moral bankruptcy can rise to the pinnacle of success; and where the club stage is filled with teenagers whose parents are absent while they chase success, leaving their children rudderless, rootless and literally and figuaratively empty. A huge part of the novel explores one of the teenage sons and his descent into the hellish netherworld of the club scene. Another segment of the book follows one of the characters as she writes a book on 19th century hysteria and it's late 20th-21st century equivalent, anorexia. This is a gripping and atmospheric novel of complex ideas on art and modern day life, and what it means for us and our children. Sometimes sinister, sometimes wrenchingly painful, this is a novel definitely worth reading and reflecting upon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved You First: Anthology []  2020-10-7 18:28

    Ah, Karen... once again you knock it out if the park. Doyle is such a busy body e other novellas in the book were also entertaining and satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Loved: A Novel []  2020-6-6 18:0

    I am always delighted to explore a book that makes me wonder how it is I hadn’t come across the author before, particularly where the book isn’t fresh and the author has been around for decades. I asked myself this repeatedly while reading What I Loved by Siri Hustvedt recently. (How have I missed her until now?) It’s a story about friendship, love, art, grief and deceit. But, while the plot is intriguing (indeed, the final third of the book is a page-turner), it’s the intelligence of What I Loved that impressed me. The narrator, Leo Hertzberg is a professor of art history and his close friend, Bill Weschler is an artist. Much of book is about art and I don’t think I have read another novel that so impeccably observes and describes art. I enjoyed What I Loved and will certainly read Hustvedt’s other works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What I Loved: A Novel []  2020-6-6 18:0

    The book was superb in the second and third section. It deals with different types of deep grief:the accidental death a healthy, developing child, the deterioration of another kid into different social ills, and with losing a lifelong friend. The sections on satisfied marriages and joint activities, including having with a best friend's ex-wife, are boringly the same as other books, but set the scene for the deeply thoughtful later stages. The reader suspects that it is very various from the author's life in a little city in Minnesota that she must be both a wide reader and a keen watcher of people. I suspect her life in NYC transformed her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved You First: Anthology []  2020-10-7 18:28

    I really enjoyed this anthology. Each of the stories were very well done. Amanda Ronconi's narration was excellent, as always.Take Two by Suzanne Enoch:Suzanne Enoch is a fresh author to me. I enjoyed her story. The setting was beautiful. The characters were interesting, but a small frustrating. It was a well rounded sties and Not good Decisions by Molly HarperMolly Harper is a favorite of mine. I loved this story. The put was interesting and welcoming. The characters were multi-faceted, believable, funny and lovable. And of course, a small snarky. There were surprises. I would definitely recommend this e Latest Possibility Motel by Karen HawkinsKaren Hawkins is also a fresh author to me. I really enjoyed this story. It was interesting and really held my attention. I felt for the main characters and rooted for them. The supporting characters were also excellent. And I love a amazing twist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Loved You First: Anthology []  2020-10-7 18:28

    Just finished the Latest Possibility Motel. It was amazing to be back in Dove Pond, seeing people I’d met in the Book Charmer and Love in the Afternoon. I’m with Jess with the meatloaf unique at the Moonlight Café, nothing better than with garlic mashed potatoes and green beans, yum! And seeing how Evan can repair their marriage to Jess, finding the love and passion they shared when they were young, before life intervened. A truly lovely story Karen Hawkins has written, with, of course, a small Dove Pond magic!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386