if the creek don Reviews & Opinions


Submit if the creek don review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Cold Creek Noel & A Very Crimson Christmas: A Cold Creek Noel (The Cowboys of Cold Creek) review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    That he delivers the goods as always.Just when you think that she can't obtain any better,she gives you a book that knocks your socks off.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Cold Creek Noel & A Very Crimson Christmas: A Cold Creek Noel (The Cowboys of Cold Creek) review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    Enjoyed very much amazing story line.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Cold Creek Noel & A Very Crimson Christmas: A Cold Creek Noel (The Cowboys of Cold Creek) review [Book]  2018-1-19 18:0

    Liam and Natalie were the best characters in a amazing story. I liked the setting of Colorado and the snow. Tanner was a amazing hero also. So was Ruth. I liked that the story moved along nicely.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on if the creek don or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch if the creek don video reviews and related movies:

    See Dylan LeBlanc - If The Creek Don't Rise on youtube.

     related image

    See Dylan LeBlanc - If The Creek Don't Rise (Glastrophobie Remix) on youtube.

     related image

    See DTM - Creek Don't Rise on youtube.

     related image

    See Craig Of The Creek - Don't Look At Me Bird SONG on youtube.

     related image

    See If the Good Lord's Willing - Johnny Cash on youtube.

     related image

    See God Willin' & The Creek Don't Rise (Live on Letterman) on youtube.

     related image

    See Creek Don't Rise on youtube.

     related image

    See Westminster Chorus - If the Good Lord's Willing and the Creek Don't Rise on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Blood Creek review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Director Joel Schumacher mixes Viking rune-stones in the USA with Nazi occultists who drink blood, test to grow a third eye in order to become supermen. A prologue set in the 1930s sees Nazi historian Richard Wirth (Michael Fassbender) arriving at a farm in Virginia study ancient Viking runes but intends to use the power of the stones for his own means and the German family that owns the farm become his unwilling accomplices through the decades. In the show day Evan Marshall (Henry Cavill) a paramedic suddenly comes face to face with his battle character brother, Victor (Dominic Purcell) who has been missing, presumed dead. Victor tells him his outlandish story of being held captive in a farm which he has escaped from and now wants to return and slay everyone there. Evan finds the immortal family who claim to be living there is terror and a demonic Wirth in the cellar who needs blood in order to mutate. Schumacher has created a low budget but quick paced horror movie with a better cast than he ought to have. He even manages to fit in a zombie horse, the plot makes small sense apart from Wirth planned Victor to escape in order to complete his transformation in this blood soaked film.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wolf Creek review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Just when you thought it was safe to go hiking in the bushes again...along comes Mick Taylor. Kristy, Ben and Liz are three pals in their twenties who set out to hike through the scenic Wolf Creek National Park in the Australian Outback. The problem begins when they obtain back only to search that their vehicle won't start. The trio think they have a method out when they run into a local bushman named Mick Taylor. Wait until you obtain a load of what Mick has in shop for them. Their troubles have just begun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don Giovanni review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Frustrating rendition of Mozart's masterpiece. The singers are all first-rate, and led by Lorin Maazel and the Orchestra of the Paris Opera. But the direction by Losey and his squad is unfocused, and seems to care more about making some confused socio-political commentary, and not so much about telling a clear story. (For just one example, what in the globe has Losey done to the sextet in Act 2? Does that stage create any sense?) In short, here you will search magnificent Mozart, and lousy Losey.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cripple Creek review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Undercover Crisis in Cripple Creek. Cripple Creek is directed by Ray Nazarro and written by Richard Schayer. It stars George Montgomery, Jerome Courtland, Richard Egan, Karin Booth, John Dehner, Don Porter and William Bishop. Melody is by Mischa Bakaleinikoff and Technicolor cinematography by William V. Skall. Two secret service agents go undercover as gunmen in the mining city of Cripple Creek, Colorado. Someone has been smuggling gold ore out of the country at a time when gold reserves are critically low. Harmless, colorful and vigorous, Cripple Creek is solid Western entertainment. It packs a lot into its relatively short running time, with chases, gunfights, robberies and an almighty barroom brawl. The narrative is not without brains, with a healthy mystery element ticking away throughout, and in amongst the shifty shenanigans perpetrated by denizens of Cripple Creek there’s some surprises in store. The acting is the standard fare for such a production, which is ok as the cast all engage with their efforts, while set designs and colour photography score favourably as well. 6.5/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Coroner Creek review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    He's lost his spirit, you can see it in his eyes. Out in the remote Southwest a stagecoach his held up by renegade Apache Indians led by a mysterious white man. All bar one of the passengers are killed, the other, a female, is taken as captive but takes her own life rather than suffer any more indignities. That woman was the fiancée of cowboy Chris Denning, who upon learning of the news vows revenge and goes in find of the mysterious leader. A find that takes him to the little city of Coroner Creek... Coroner Creek doesn't mess about, it's a tough, no nonsense Oater that may have flecks of humour, and beautiful gal familiarities, but most assuredly thrives on its darkly revenge driven core. Directed by Ray Enright and starring genre supremo Randolph Scott as Denning, Coroner Creek is adapted by Kenneth Gamet from the novel written by Luke Short. Very much following the old biblical thematic of "an eye for an eye", Enright's film, produced by Harry Brown, boasts rousing fist fights, simmering sexual tensions and a riveting finale. Scott is terrific, as he mostly always is in these genre pieces. Denning's sense of pain and hunger for revenge is perfectly brought home to the viewers by Scott, an actor who has the ability to express so much with darkened eyes and a down-turned mouth. And of course more crucially, Scott brings believability to his characters. You really wouldn't know he was 50 years of age whilst making this picture, such is the gusto he puts into the role. He's backed up by George Macready doing a solid line in scar faced villainy, the always enjoyable Wallace Ford as Denning's newly formed confidante Andy West, while Sally Eiles and Marguerite Chapman fill the necessary female roles with professional turns. On the minor downside is the use of Cinecolor, a two colour process that fails to bring Fred Jackman's cinematography to life, whilst simultaneously giving the actors an odd looking sheen. DVD and TV viewers may search they have to tone down a couple of hues on this one to search a decent colour balance. Still it be a fine genre entry and one that is a must see for Randy Scott enthusiasts. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Last Don review [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Mario Puzo wrote a masterpiece when he wrote The Godfather. Even though The Latest Don falls short of that designation, it is still a compelling and wonderfully entertaining read. The absolutes that were born in Sicily such as "omerta" continue into mid twentieth century America even as the Clericuzio family strives toward leaving behind the criminal empire they have embraced for years. Reaching legitimacy is created more difficult when some of the family members including one of the grandchildren obviously have no intention of abandoning the violence and criminality that is the family legacy. Even the more legitimate businesses of the casino and film investments are eventually touched by murder and mayhem even as the family reaches for respectability. Puzo's brilliance as a writer, his astute hero development and his ability to weave into this story believable narratives about all the characters that populate the pages of this novel create this a must read for fiction lovers and people who read also to understand various aspects of American culture. It may be fiction, but there is some truth here also.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Last Don review [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    The story was predictable and didn't have the same tension that The Godfather had.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Last Don review [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Really powerful read!! Puzo writes these books like no other. Very graphic and detailed, so beware!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Last Don review [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Perfect reading material.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Last Don review [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    This by far for me, was the best book I've read so far. If you liked the film The Godfather, you will lov e the Latest Don. Mario Puzo has once again written a book that I've read more than once. I would recommend this to all who loved the Godfather movies.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Last Don review [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    I've always been a Puzo fan and this one was enjoyable. Not well written but entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Last Don review [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Classic mario puzo. A real artist. He makes two worlds collide. That of the mafia and of Hollywood. A must read for a puzo fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Last Don review [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    This is an extraordinarily amazing read by master author Mario Puzo. It is the story of the fictional Clericuzio Family--the latest amazing Mafia family in the United States. The Clericuzios at the height of the powers are dominant in gambling, drugs, and other similar rackets. But the family patriarch, Don Clericuzio, sees organized crime for the dead end that it is, and devises a plan for his progeny to eventually transition to, and enter into the "legitimate world." But his plan envisions this transition to occur on his own terms, so that when the Family indeed abandons crime, it will do so from a position of strength, entering the ordinary globe with wealth and ere are problems. Some members of the family are less than enthusiastic about abandoning the underworld, and this is the nexus of the story. Nephew Cross De Lena and Grandson Dante Clericuzio war what amounts to a secret civil battle within the Family, even as the legacy of earlier not good deeds by the amazing Don himself finally come home to roost. This is an entertaining and insightful story, well-written. It is equally amazing with beer and chips, or for a more introspective e book is not without faults. As an attorney, I can only say that Puzo's depiction of "California juries" as regards the insanity defense, is simply asinine, and shows either a contempt for the method things really are, or a easy disregard for facts in order to entertain. OK, I guess, authors are entitled to take liberties with the truth in order to entertain us, I just thought that this particular liberty was unnecessary, since the book seems authentic in so a lot of other ways. e novel's treatment of Hollywood is hilarious. Basically, Puzo depicts the struggles of competing studios, actors, and actresses in the entertainment globe as essentially a legalized mob conflict, without the guns. I don't know much about Hollywood, so I have no comment about this except to say that here Puzo was beautiful entertaining.Overall, this was an outstanding book that makes for an perfect read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Last Don review [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    This is an extraordinarily readable novel. As always when writing about the Mafia, Puzo tells a amazing story. This is the story of the Clericuzio crime family and the long range plan of its ruling Don to join the legitimate globe and exit the Mafia, with the family wealth intact. This plan is fraught with peril and requires much bloodshed, setting the scene for the e Godfather dealt with the Mafia from roughly the 1930s through the 1950s. This novel is more contemporary and appears to be set in the 1990s. Mostly, the story has an authentic quality to it, and it moves along at a very brisk pace. Puzo's prose is clear and makes the book a pleasure to me of the sub-plots in the novel are just plain unrealistic. For example, he explains how a Hollywood attorney and a "California Jury" fails to convict a murderer based on a temporary insanity defense, and a few months later the perp is walking the roads a free man.... But hey, makes a amazing story, anyway. And create no mistake, this is a minor quibble--this is a amazing story.Puzo's portrayal of the film business as being essentially as brutal as the Mafia is hilarious. Is it real to life? I doubt it, but it sure is e Latest Don was created into a miniseries which is fairly faithful to the novel (Part 1 of the miniseries is, that is). If you have fun the novel, the DVD of the miniseries is a amazing entertainment value.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Last Don review [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    After reading it, I now consider it one of my favorite books. Must read, and provides more info of key characters than the mini-series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thickety Creek review [App]  2018-12-15 13:0

    Unbelievable game! It really makes you think outside the box and use your memory. It took me 2 hours to finish without cheats.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Thickety Creek review [App]  2018-12-15 13:0

    Another AWESOME Fire Maple Game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Harris Creek review [App]  2018-12-23 21:8

    Luv this application and this church

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    perfect except, i didn't victory a penny off my free play....#notapenny!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    Nice app. Playing for fun, but the ability to money in points for free play $, free rooms and meal is a plus! would like to see auto spin added though

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    love playing here REALLY LOVE THE TOURNAMENTS I WISH THEY HAD MORE TOURNAMENTS AND A FEW MORE GAMES. BUT BIG IMPROVEMENT OVER WHAT IT WAS A YEAR AGO. AND I WISH THERE WERE MORE CHANCES TO WIN A PRIZE INTHE TOURNAMENTS. LOVE THE CASINO'S

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    amazing fun amazing service from the help mangers

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    Amazing Application !!! $ mookie $

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    love it, although i think the free play ought to be free, 50 base points before u can use a 5 dollar free play after spending all that time earning the wscore is small too much. but all in all two thumbs up

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    fix the freezing and slow loading geesh!? create the android game worth it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    keeps cutting off won't stay loaded what's up

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    praying on my phone, trying to any method

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    I have issues when playing games, other than that I really have fun playing these games.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    sucks does not work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    not the best but i had fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    getting there, trying to sign up

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    begin of course for all A++

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    love this application and free play I earn

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    Android game stay jumping out

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    It's a really fun android game but when theres a competition about to begin an it hits 0000 the competition dont start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    can't obtain in

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    love this application , it's a must have

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    enjoyed my visit

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    amazing slots

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    love this put

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    garter and amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    Phenomenal Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    Amazing experience

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    just want could victory like this at the true casino but still have fun online

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    Need more bonuses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    will not load!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    won't allow me play online tournaments

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    I love it's entertaining

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wind Creek review [App]  2019-4-18 13:43

    super

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don Juan DeMarco review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    I realize that I gave this too a lot of marks, but if there's anything I have realized about cinema, it can best be said by a line that I watched, performed by Jean-Louis Trintignant, where he stated (and I paraphrase), something like, 'I can't remember the movie, but I can recall my feelings', and that sums up nicely why I feel the method I do about the movie. It's an interesting idea acted well by very amazing actors (a lot of people dismiss Marlon Brando's work here, but I don't think it's that bad, honestly). If anything, the issue here is the film doesn't know where to go after it's decent start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don Juan DeMarco review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    **He who says every woman is a mystery to be solved.** One of the earliest movies for Johnny Depp and very surprising. Thematically, the movie is for the grown ups, but well created without too much sexual exploit. That means you can comfortably sit and watch with your family. This is not actually about Don Juan, but kind of 'The Fall'. I mean the flashback reveals everything and remains as a mystery. The story follows a man who himself declares the true Don Juan DeMarco, the greatest lover of the world. So he ends in a psychiatric centre for the treatment after trying to commit suicide. A doctor who is on the verge to retire set to treat him and when the DeMarco narrates his life story, the doctor too inspires to reinstate his romantic life. The remaining narration tells how they work out to solve the problem once for all. Not a masterpiece, but kind of interesting drama, particularly for how the movie characters were drawn. And the story was built cleverly, till the final stage by giving out the viewers a positive notice that worth living life to love and to be loved. So if you opt it for the title, not a poor choice, since the theme remains about the love, even the person you are looking for is not present. More like it is a metaphor, when it comes to the true Don Juan and the one in this film. Like people say god is everywhere, the love is as well and so the version/personality of Don Juan in every person. Johnny Depp was so good, an ideal person to play the title role. Marlon Brando was too great, in a easy way. The rest of the cast was not bad, but the entire movie focused on these two than anybody else. It's been nearly 25 years since it came out, but I feel a remake would be not a poor idea with changes in the script. Todays writer and directors are clever at doing that, but it should come from a huge banner with huge names. Maybe Johnny Deep to play the doctor in the modern version. I hope some filmmakers read this and consider that. Meanwhile, it is a worthy film, so it a try. _7/10_

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gunfight at Comanche Creek review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Where he was going he'd be an outlaw or a corpse. Gunfight at Comanche Creek is directed by Frank McDonald and written by Edward Bernds. It stars Audie Murphy, Ben Cooper, Colleen Miller, DeForest Kelley and Jan Merlin. A Panavision/De Luxe Color production with cinematography by Joseph Biroc and melody by Marlin Skiles. Murphy stars as an agent for the National Detective Agency who goes undercover to search the outlaw gang that has been breaking convicts out of jail to support them to commit more crimes. The resulting crimes cause the bounties upon the fugitives' heads to rise, thus the outlaws then slay the convicts and claim the rewards. Apparently a remake of 1957 movie The Latest of the Badmen, Gunfight at Comanche Creek is a suspenseful and entertaining blend of detective shenanigans with Western staples. It's an interesting role for Murphy, playing Bob Gifford (AKA: Judd Tanner) as a fearless ladies man having to just use his wits instead of guns just to survive the undercover operation. It's not exactly what you would call a high energy action movie, since we don't really obtain the pulse raised until the finale, but there's enough twists and intelligence in the plotting to hold the story intriguing. Negatives? There's a continuous narration by an uncredited Reed Hadley which is most intrusive. Instead of letting us be involved fully with the unfolding story, the makers felt the need to have Reed fill us in on what is event at every turn in the plot! Clearly they were going for a hard-boiled detective angle, but it's misplaced. While Miller is saddled with one of those token female roles. But the help cast do what is needed to create the movie work, Murphy delivers a amazing one for his fans and Biroc's colour photography is very simple on the eye. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fury at Furnace Creek review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Rufe and Cash. Fury at Furnace Creek is directed by H. Bruce Humberstone and collectively written by Charles G. Booth, Winston Miller and David Garth. It stars Victor Mature, Glenn Langan, Coleen Gray, Albert Dekker and Reginald Gardiner. Melody is by David Raksin and cinematography by Harry Jackson. When General Blackwell (Robert Warwick) is accused of instigating an Apache massacre, he refutes the allegation so strongly in court he keels over and dies. With the family name tarnished, the estranged Blackwell brothers (Mature and Langan) must place aside their differences to hopefully unearth the truth and clear their father's name. Nice. Without bringing fresh dimensions to this formula of plotting, Fury at Furnace Creek is stylish and doesn't take the simple narrative options so prevalent in other Westerns of the 40s. Sure, the standard action quotient is adhered to, with Apache attack, pursuits, saloon shoot-out and the amazing vs poor finale, but screenplay and scripting has an intelligence about it; and the cast performances coupled with Jackson's shadowy infused black and white photography, create this well worthy of a look by the Western faithful. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    I honestly can not recall the latest time I called in sick just so I could finish a book I'd begun the evening is is for a lot of reasons one of the very best books I've read in ages, and really amazing books, unfortunately, are rather rare these days for picky readers. I almost passed on it because reading about Appalachia is not of interest to me, despite family ties. But folks, the sense of place, of time, of people I've seen and talked with, was so eerily familiar--and uncomfortable in places--that I was hooked from the first page, as they e characters, the ones you cheer for and the ones who irritate you and the ones you might take a 30-aught-six to without a qualm, are simply brilliant, each with his or her own distinct voice. There was not a cliche among the entire gaggle. Not one. Even the villains are graced with a history that gives you pause, and their actions, though reprehensible at best, and truly evil at worst, arise from a amazing deal more than the usual is novel also includes the best--and most judicious--use of accurate North Carolina mountain dialogue I've heard since the latest time I went to Decoration Sunday at the South Toe River Baptist Church within tobacco-spitting distance of Burnsville. I believe it should serve as a "how-to" manual for other writers whose fondness for dialect is often en there's the plot, a string of points of view from the characters like salt-water pearls knotted on a golden chain. An awesome feat that again is rarely done well. I found no tip of what was to come, or how, which adds to what is, after all, a suspenseful tale. In this case, I thought the "getting there" was a heartbreakingly lovely, often painful, and quite satisfying journey in and of itself. Othe reviewers have provided the plot outlines but as usual, I prefer to say why the plot works for tom line: I just bet you can't place this one down, or at least not for long.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    This may very well be the novel of the year. As far as I'm concerned, it's to best so far this year. At the very least, it's the best novel based in Appalachia that I've read. Leah Weiss writes with wisdom and with compassion. She proves to have extreme familiarity with the zone and with its people. She works with a huge cast of characters, and they are each very true in her ere's warmth here. But there's also some bitternness. We obtain all stages of the spectrum. The writing is warmly vibrant. This is a story to become immersed in. In short, it's a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    If the Creek Don't Rise,  Leah WeissI really thought I'd have fun this, it sounded so intriguing. sadly I just found it too grim for me, too dirt not good desperate and couldn't like or engage with any of the characters, though I felt incredibly sad for them trapped by circumstances into a life like that.I'm sure for a lot of people it's s very well written, a amazing debut for those that like this type of story. I look for more upbeat books though, ones I can have fun reading, an escape into another's life, and I don't mind that being dark, or sad so long as there's hope that it gets better. With this though it just felt like unremitting sadness, no hope of anything positive coming out.I just couldn't continue reading, I could feel myself being dragged down into the story without any light at the end. True life is enough like that for me right now, I don't wish to obtain sucked into that in my leisure 's one of those cases where its me not the book, I just found it too depressing, it just wasn't one for me, and I couldn't [email protected]#$%!.Stars: two, DNF, too grim for me but well written and excellent for C supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    I loved, loved, loved If The Creek Don't Rise by Leah Weiss. Generations back, my mother's family lived in Kentucky and Tennessee and I suspected that a lot of of their handed down beliefs and folk medicine even some of the language are the same. One of the beliefs that is powerful in this book is the same that was told to me and grandmother told my mother. It was "You have created your bed and you can never return home." Therefore, no divorces, that was immoral. But there are things that are worse than divorce that they are in this t in the attractive mountains of Appalachia, the grim truth of poverty prevails. Poverty that is starker than in the cities. The preacher''s daughter uses a string to keep one of her shoes together. The characters in this book were well developed. For example, the preacher skips lectures on religion to gorge himself on ice cream with his e book is told in first person for all the main characters. The info are rich enough to justify a series. Sadie, a pregnant girl who lives in an unprotected globe finally has had enough and will obtain even with her husband. Wife beating is common but people often think there is nothing that you can do about it. Often the scars of poverty and neglect are also viewed as a method of life with no remedy.I highly recommend this book to all people who wish to learn about Appalachia.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    IF THE CREEK DON'T RISEThis book brings light to the poverty, ways, and living conditions that take put in the Appalachian Mountain zone of the e book is narrated by ten various characters, all telling their tales and lives and how they revolve around their small zone in the mountains, their hopes, dreams, but mostly orbiting around Sadie Blue. Sadie is dirt not good -- as are most of these people -- and has created a large mistake by marrying. The consequences of her married life effects all of the people telling their story. The conditions in the valleys are horrible -- poor, dirty, rugged. However, the people living here are kind, generous, tight-knit, looking out for each other. Well, most of them! They are also superstitious, backwards, and doubtful. They believe in ghosts, magic, use potions and herbs, and haven't advanced at all in regards to the modern globe that is out of their e book really tells the story of Sadie, but also the lives of the other people living in the fictional city of Baines Creek. Their stories all weave together and have a conclusion that you rather do see coming . My only complaint regarding this book is wishing readers would have found out how the other characters fared, what happened to their private trials and tribulations, what direction certain relationships went.Leah Weiss has wit, a charming method of writing, turning out some amazing phrases. She keeps your interest and keeps the story moving along. Her dialect of the zone was amazing and more than once she had me laughing or in tears. The characters literally jumped off the pages they were so down-to-earth. Each character's narration was special and different. Even though each chapter was told by someone different, this was not confusing or hard to understand in any way. I truly have fun a book wherein each hero tells their part of the is is a amazing book, one I think most of you would enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    "He's gonna be sorry he ever messed with me and Loretta Lynn"I have been reading a lot of really amazing debut novels lately. This story is told in a very special fashion. Although this book is about Sadie Blue and her tortured relationship with Roy Tupkin, her husband of 15 days, it is also the story of people who live in her Appalachian die had been warned about Roy. She had been told he was "trouble" and she would due best to stay away from him. Boy oh boy does she want she would have listened to them. Pregnant and alone most of the time, she lives in fear. She, like a lot of other women in the town, have a bleak future. But then one day, someone comes to city (Kate Shaw) who gives Sadie hope that there may be more to life than being Roy's wife.Each chapter tells another person's story. They each have their own voice, experiences, emotions and perspectives. Most of their tales are bleak, sad, or are about a hard life, created even worse by those they share their life with. There are those who look out for others in this book (i.e. Marris). Marris was my favorite hero - loving and strong. She is the glue which holds a lot of of them is is not a satisfied go lucky book. There are really no satisfied endings. Life might obtain better for some but there is still no silver lining. This book is not a suspenseful page turner but it is the glimpse into the life of those living in Appalachia. This book is hero driven and the characters are powerful and memorable. The Author does a amazing job of describing their pain and desperation. It almost drips from the pages. This is southern grit at it's best.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    The dialect takes a bit to obtain used to, but as you learn more about the characters, you realize that it just rounds out your vision of the person. We obtain to know a number of characters really well, as most have a chapter or more devoted to them and the role they play in the life of Sadie Blue. Sadie's a young girl who has known only the Appalachian culture - and she's created a sad mistake in marrying a e city of Baines Creek has hired a fresh teacher for the one room school, which brings out the town's feelings about this "jasper", who knows nothing about their ways. Preacher Eli, has known the "different" - having been to the valley for his education. Birdie, the "medicine woman", cures most ills with her vast array of herbs and potions, while walking around with a crow nesting in her topknot. Marris and Gladys, Sadie's grandmother and aunt, have perfected the art of bickering over almost everything. Roy, Sadie's monster-husband, and his sidekick, Billy, are mostly drunk and up to no amazing - hunting, trapping and minding their still. Roy surfaces to beat Sadie regularly. Sadie's mates and relatives are concerned about her safety, particularly when she becomes pregnant.If the Creek Don't Rise, conveys an authenticity about Appalachian life, that few know about or understand. The reader feels the truth in this tale of life there in the 1970's, and wonders how that culture has progressed. Is it still the land of outhouses and "revenuers" (probably called ATF now)? In this regard, the story is a learning experience, with a desire to learn more.Rarely are readers given such well-rounded descriptions of characters and place. The plot moves along and becomes a page-turner. Weiss's comfortable prose (and the dialect, once you're used to it!) create this a thoroughly comfortable read that you don't wish to end. Getting to the end employs some twists and turns and a satisfying conclusion, however. So, will we hear from the amazing folks of Baines Creek again? This reader hopes so!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    This debut novel has everything a reader wants: well-detailed characters, interesting setting, unexpected plot twists.Leah Weiss has made characters that touch emotions, whether it's Sadie Blue and her wife-beating husband, her cantankerous grandmother or the unexpected strength of a new, yet older school teacher. All the characters come together in the rural and mystery-laden Appalachian backwoods to fuel a novel that's rich, honest and gritty.Everyone in Baines Creek knows Sadie isn't safe, but few have the physical or emotional strength to protect her. Life isn't simple in their community. Those who can live, and the ones left behind - well, they obtain by the best they l that changes when the preacher brings a fresh teacher to town. Kate Shaw is older than expected, and she comes with her own emotional baggage. She's determined to create a put for herself in Baines Creek and to lend a hand to those who seem unable to support ers will search themselves wanting to know more about the characters, and Weiss feeds that hunger with well-developed back stories. The characters literally jump off the pages as they test to come to grips with how the past (superstitions) and the show (knowledge) to make a stronger r this reader, the Creek does rise - all the method to top of my favorites list for C provided by NetGalley

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    If The Creek Don't Rise immediately caught my attention when I saw the cover and even more so when I learned that it had an Appalachian setting. I grew up in a little city in Eastern Kentucky so I love reading fiction set in a related zone to what I grew up in, though Baines Creek is definitely a lot rougher than the hills and hollers of my I began reading, I fell hard for Sadie Blue, as a reader. I wanted to know more about her, learn more about her struggle and how she planned to fix the wrongs in her life. Her life was broken and sad and not uncommon for locations of living like hers. She lost her heart too quickly, got caught in the romance and flew off with the wrong sort of man but discovered method too late. Also, growing up listening to Patsy Cline and Loretta Lynn, I had a fondness for Sadie's innocence and how determined she was to not allow the holler end her life. She wanted to be powerful and break free like Loretta and I found that to be an admirable quality.I will admit that, through the first half of the book, I found the constant changes in point of view to be a small bit much. The amount of characters that had a story to tell was almost overwhelming but, but by the end of the book, I realized that each hero had their own put and their own part to play. Each of their stories required to be told for the sake of understanding what life was like in Baines Creek and how each person and their actions intertwined and affected one another as a whole.I really enjoyed this glimpse into poverty-stricken Appalachia and Leah Weiss did an awesome job at creating well rounded characters with personalities and colloquialisms all their own. If The Creek Don't Rise is a beautifully haunting tale of Appalachian life.Rating: 4 Stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:0

    3 out of 5 stars to If The Creek Don't Rise, an historical fiction novel set to be published in August 2017, written by Leah Weiss. I enjoyed reading the book, selecting 3 stars because it had several powerful parts but also some concerns that I'll share later. Overall, I'm glad I read it.Why This BookI read the description of this book via NetGalley, where I find for all my ARCs, and thought it would be a amazing read prior to my upcoming trip to North Carolina, where I may be stopping in the same rural mountain ot, Characters & SettingThis is an ensemble book about a cast of 10 characters in the mid 20th century who live in the rural zone of the Appalachian Mountains in North Carolina. It covers a few happenings that occurred to some of the townspeople in Baines Creek, providing the view points from various sides of the story. It centers around Sadie Blue, a 17-year-old girl who marries the man who has just gotten her pregnant. From there, the book covers domestic abuse, murder, religion, family, love and friendships. At its core, the novel covers the different relationships built in the town, understanding who sits back doing nothing vs who takes action when they are passionate about the outcome and protection of roach & StyleI read the electronic ver on my Kindle via an iPad over the course of five nights. The book is about 300 pages, each 20 pages long across 15 chapters. Each chapter is told from a various character's point of view, written in the first person perspective. Dialect is necessary given the book is recreating life during a historical time period in a very specific region where culture and society are quite rengthsThe characters are very clear and distinct. Each of the major players has a voice you will recognize and understand. Sometimes you will love them and sometimes you will hate them, but each one will leave an e setting is quite strong. You will feel transported to this rural city in the mountains. From the description, to the dialect and to the method the story unfolds, it matches what you'd expect from the constructs of this type of environment. You will feel like you are in the deals with very specific private and family problems that will resonate will a lot of people. From a social perspective, it highlights things that happened in the past that were almost condoned or allowed to happen, due to people's fears and lack of education or ncernsWhen I read the description, I thought it would be a amazing plot and story. But when I read the book, it was quite different. This is not a novel where a basic plot point drives the chapters. It's a character-driven story that tells of the events in a little town. The plot isn't as necessary as the method each of the characters interpret it. I found myself skimming pages to obtain to the crux of the story, but it never happened. It's a preference style, and I think the book should be marketed differently and have an alternative description or cover summary. It would support search a various set of readers who have fun this type of book. Had I known, I might have spent more time investing in the characters in the beginning rather than trying to piece together a plot that wasn't going to become any more clear. That said, it's still a well-written book and will appeal to a wide & Other Related BooksAlthough they are not of the same caliber, it reminded me of the book Beartown by Fredrik Backman. Both books cover highly controversial social problems within a little town, telling the story of how everyone reacts to a few critical events. Where Beartown brings a focus on plot, this book is more about how people interpret society's values and 's the author's first book, but she shows a lot of promise. I would read another of her books, but I'd wish to be careful to understand the plot and approach to telling the story to verify it matches with the method I like to read a ThoughtsIn my world, a 3 is a amazing review. It means you had amazing elements and a few things I didn't quite latch on to. If this had a small more action and some clarity around the plot and point of the book, I might have given it a 4. That said, it will definitely resonate with a lot of readers given it has a powerful pull to connect you to the characters and the setting. Hope you have fun it.About MeFor those fresh to me or my reviews... here's the scoop: I read A LOT. I write A LOT. And now I blog A LOT. First the book review goes on Goodreads, and then I send it on over to my WordPress blog at ThisIsMyTruthNow, where you'll also search TV & Movie reviews, the revealing and introspective 365 Everyday Challenge and lots of blogging about locations I've visited all over the world. And you can search all my social media profiles to obtain the info on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and allow me know what you think. Vote in the poll and ratings. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and photos were linked from other websites and belong to them. A lot of thanks to their original creators.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clear Creek ISD review [App]  2018-8-16 21:8

    Tells me I'm offline It would be nice to use, but it thinks I'm offline when I've clearly got a connection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clear Creek ISD review [App]  2018-8-16 21:8

    Cannot obtain this application to work at all I really wish to use this application but constantly says I'm offline when I am not. Won't let me to begin it at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Clear Creek ISD review [App]  2018-8-16 21:8

    Not working for me. Says I am offline

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cedar Creek Church review [App]  2019-1-26 13:21

    First time, checked it out, looks great, simple to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cedar Creek Church review [App]  2019-1-26 13:21

    Seems user friendly. Very amazing 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cedar Creek Church review [App]  2019-1-26 13:21

    Well organized. I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cedar Creek Church review [App]  2019-1-26 13:21

    Simple to navigate. Amazing use of technology.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Creek Nation Connect review [App]  2019-3-22 13:18

    cool amazing neato so far

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Deer Creek-Mackinaw CUSD review [App]  2018-5-17 21:8

    Amazing app...thanks Dee-Mack!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    awesome i had a dog but she is my grampa and gramas sog so she is there so it feels like there's a dog by my side just go into the android game im also glad because its helps animal shelters!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    please change the font size. they are too small.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    Fun to play, simple to learn! A amazing experience overall

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    The only reason I'm giving this a low rating is due to the lack of info about the donations. I could only search where the donation goes "best friends" after downloading the android game and have yet to search out how much is actually being donated. Is it 100% of profits? 5%? The android game itself is primary but fun, so really it boils down to how fund will be donated. Edit: I will leave my review as is then. Having the percentage of donations kept secretive is very shady. You said confidential.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    Thank you for this game! I just love the idea of instead of just making an application filled with ads, you actually created a game. I personally love android games where you obtain to take care of animals. And instead of just taking the ad revenue for yourself, you donate most of the cash to support save animals in need. Amazing job, devs

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    Hey guys! This is an awesome application for an awesome cause! It's profits go to saving animals! I love this application so much and recommend it! I downloaded it because of RaleighLink14 she Is amazing. Thanks Raleigh!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    it's a amazing android game for a amazing cause, why wouldn't you play it? I got this android game because of RaleighLink14 btw

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    I'm also because of RaleighLink14 . It's super fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    The android game is really exciting and innovative, and the donation part is beautiful cool and special

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    I think this is such a amazing game, its for a amazing cause plus the drawings are so so cute. I 110% recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    Amazing android game for a amazing cause. #Raeleighlink14#bossunicorn

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    There is a lot of potential in this videogame. Donating for free is simply incredible!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    its so sad if anyone leaves there dog uoy support it dont leave it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    I'm here because of RaleighLink14 and I am SO GLAD I downloaded the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don-Ay: Pet Land review [App]  2019-1-27 13:52

    gr8 m8 8/8

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    PLUM CREEK KENNEL SUPPLY review [App]  2019-1-30 13:22

    Simple to use and store for products from the hound supply store with the best customer service! All your Plum Creek social networking bookmarks in one place!

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter