Read in control clothing reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all in control clothing reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Control Clothing [App]  2019-3-26 13:22

    love this store!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fashion 101: A Crash Course in Clothing []  2020-1-19 20:47

    I bought two copies, one for myself and one for a young teen who is a budding fashionista. The target audience appears to be a teen or young adult who is just starting to dig deeper for fashion knowledge beyond the occasional magazine. It provides some helpful definitions and descriptions for clothing including dress and neckline shapes, but anyone with a deeper knowledge of sewing or fashion will catch several factual errors. As a first book for a younger teen this might spark an interest in learning more about fashion or sewing, but I do not agree that a real design student will search it helpful. There are a lot of other reference books that would provide the serious student of fashion more content for their and waste less zone trying to be hip and current. I would recommend home sewers or design students save their for Threads or Burda magazine subscriptions where they will gain perfect hints on techniques, inspirational articles and/or patterns to actually sew and modify in every problem (Burda Globe of Fashion or Burda Plus).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fashion 101: A Crash Course in Clothing []  2020-1-19 20:47

    This book is more of a collage than a book and I found it difficult to read from beginning to end. I decided to hold it for reference only.

    0  


    Add your opinion on in control clothing or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fashion 101: A Crash Course in Clothing []  2020-1-19 20:47

    This book as decent, it's amazing if you're looking to know types of pants or types of collars, but I was hoping to learn more. Most of it consisted of things anyone would know. A platform shoe, a sports bra, a vest. Easy articles of clothing people wear all the time created this book very generic and not very imformative to someone aspiring to learn more about fashion and what makes it work. However, the one feature I loved was where it described who created it to start with, and who created it hot. If you're looking for fashion history this book could be quite useful. Amazing luck, I hope you search what you are looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fashion 101: A Crash Course in Clothing []  2020-1-19 20:47

    Absolutely loved this book. want there were more fashion vocabulary books out there! simple, colorful, and concise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fashion 101: A Crash Course in Clothing []  2020-1-19 20:47

    The Industry reviews for this book do state it is for ages 12 and up and for grades 9-12. I want I had attention to that. The title is appropriate. It is only a crash course. There is a small bit about how the item came about, what it is and who in the past century might have been known to wear it--usually referencing mid to late 1990's actresses and musicians. The latest paragraph per item is about "How to Rock It" or how to wear or style the item. This is also mostly a mid-to-late 90's style. All the paragraphs together created me confused about who the audience is for the book. The book was published in 2008. Current 13 year olds would search the 90's references to be dated. The other references were mostly for 1940s, 50s, and 60s actresses who I doubt the majority of 13 year olds would know. The part about "How to Rock It" (that title alone seems dated) was either very plain and obvious or inappropriate for a 13 year old--for instance, wear a "wifebeater" tank top with a black or colourful bra e illustrations are bad. This makes sense when you learn its the illustrator's first professional project. The illustrations are not consistent and are either line drawings, colourful pencil, or filled in with a single color or pattern with strange white locations that create no sense to the garment. Worse yet, the illustrator created "pull lines" which are the folds in a garment or pulling locations which indicate a not good fit on a body. What a amazing method to give a 13 year old the wrong impression of how a garment should fit.Overall I wouldn't recommend this for a 13 year old and it is too young for a person over 18. The writer should have picked an audience and stuck with them. Either create it for 13 year olds and don't create dated references (and obtain a better illustrator), or create it appropriate for people over 18 and contain info about various aspects of clothing (hems, sleeves, necklines, waists etc), and more info about history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fashion 101: A Crash Course in Clothing []  2020-1-19 20:47

    Illustrations are not amazing and book is corny. However, I gave it to my 14 year old.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fashion 101: A Crash Course in Clothing []  2020-1-19 20:47

    this is a amazing history book. it goes in the the fashion trend during the years and decade. it shows the diffent type of clothes that were worn during a certain time period. the book goes into the history of dresses, skirts,shorts, swim suits,coats, shoes, pants, underwears, stocking. it also explains how they got their names. amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fashion 101: A Crash Course in Clothing []  2020-1-19 20:47

    This book is amazing as a reference book for fashion terms with illustration to create it easier to feel more confident when selecting patterns for example....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fashion 101: A Crash Course in Clothing []  2020-1-19 20:47

    I am an artist and wanted a book with a lot of drawings of clothing for the people I was drawing, this book dis not fit the bill. I kept it however for the info on the various types of clothing descriptions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fashion 101: A Crash Course in Clothing []  2020-1-19 20:47

    It is a comprehensive book with highlights on a lot of topics, and the title suits the info inside: "a crash course". A amazing book for an overview of the fashion industry at a very basic, introductory level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing (A Sydney Rye Mystery , #9) []  2020-2-5 1:29

    Disappointed! I was really looking forward to reading more about Sydney and Blue. Those are the characters that created me read all of the previous books and actually pre-order this one. Though the book in itself was beautiful good, I was taken aback by the lack of the main character. Also, the chapters did not have any smooth transitions taking you from one hero and one zone to another without fluidity. I still wish to follow this series if Sydney is back as the main player.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing (A Sydney Rye Mystery , #9) []  2020-2-5 1:29

    More tightly written than a lot of of its predecessors in this series, and better, though not perfectly , edited. I love the characters and the twists and turns of this plot and enjoyed getting inside the different characters ' heads as the chapter's focus moved from one to another. Emily, please go back through this entire series with a fine toothed comb for the a lot of spelling and punctuation errors....for instance : brakes on a car, not breaks. Some choices of words are also incorrect;, though related in spelling to the word you needed, they have a completely various meaning. Fortunately, in this book, they were not as prevalent as in books 2-6.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing: Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People []  2020-1-31 21:36

    This book should be needed reading. For everyone. Period.I had no idea that there was such a personality known as "covert-aggressive" but now that I DO know, I realize just how a lot of times in my life I've been raked over the coals by these types, most times leaving my head spinning in shock that it happened, yet again.I never "got it" until I read this book.I've always been considered a "nice" person. Sometimes maybe TOO nice. And with this perception often comes "confusing kindness with weakness."Covert-aggressives money in on this full-throttle. They're sneaky, conniving, smart, and ALWAYS watching you to decide which move they'll create to obtain what they want, in the same method a cat watches a mouse: quietly. Cats never come right out and pounce on their prey; there's always the "lead up" time where they just take it all in and STUDY their victims. This is PRECISELY what covert-aggressives do for a living with flattery, baby-talk, no conscience, no accountability, "poor me" and "I had no idea" all rolled into one hugely dysfunctional (and damaging - to YOU) IS is the fresh "evil." Pay attention - they're , read this book and search out what to look for IMMEDIATELY.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing (A Sydney Rye Mystery , #9) []  2020-2-5 1:29

    I have read all the Sydney Rye books and until this one, I enjoyed them. The author’s decision to depart from Sydney as the prominent hero was one I found disappointing. The best of the Sydney Rye Series were the stories being told through Sydney. This book had method too a lot of characters and was disjointed both thematically and chronologically. The horrors experienced by a lot of of the characters brought me to a sad put and one of despair. The optimism of the previous 8 books was gone in this one. I look forward to the next book with a high degree of trepidation and pessimism. I hope Emily proves those fears unfounded.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing (A Sydney Rye Mystery , #9) []  2020-2-5 1:29

    I've followed Emily Kimelman's Sydney Rye series since the publication of UNLEASHED in 2011. She never disappoints. The tales of Sydney's dark, violent vigilante adventures are always fast-moving, crisply written and eminently readable. But she's no superhero. She comes through her globe-trotting adventures scarred, physically, mentally, and emotionally. She has a massive for what she describes as "doing amazing by doing bad." But beneath the rousing adventure, there is a strong, consistent message: the empowerment of women must be led by women, who must be willing to a serious private price, if need be, to achieve their ends. In Sheep's Clothing create that point more directly than its eight predecessors and serves as a fitting coda to them. One can only hope that it does not spell an end to the adventures of Sydney Rye and her giant canine companion, Blue. There are a lot of readers of thrillers and mysteries, myself included, who would greatly miss them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing: Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People []  2020-1-31 21:36

    The stories that preface the proceeding chapters are important but after a bit I found myself wanting to obtain through them quickly. They are important to know later to apply the concepts given, but got cumbersome towards the end of the first half of the book. The hints on how to with manipulative behavior were worth the read. Also, I really enjoyed the author’s point of view that people need to stop analyzing people’s behavior as inherently low self-esteem and past trauma and accept that some people are biologically wired to behave aggressively. Also, that after awhile, you should care less about they “Whys” and focus strictly on someone’s behavior and what you can to do to control your own behavior in relation to that abusive person.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing (A Sydney Rye Mystery , #9) []  2020-2-5 1:29

    It is not often that an author has the temerity to allow the secondary characters in a series step to the fore and carry a book, but that is what Emily Kimelman has done this book. Sidney Rye herein is secondary, a catalyst for those who have both loved and hated her. Her disappearance enflames the passions of those who care for her enough to set them on life altering journeys to test to search her and support her. Versus this backdrop we see an anti-ISIS movement being born and nurtured by the blood and belief of the maligned and abused women finally rising to demand equal value. We are also created aware of the shrouded woman who has found Sydney, healed her, and controlled her to use as a symbol of the fresh prophet. Fascinating stuff, very well executed, well written, and exciting enough to create us want for more. Amazing reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing (A Sydney Rye Mystery , #9) []  2020-2-5 1:29

    Being very generous and giving this to Stars since I'm only 70% of the method through the book but this is been a large disappointment so far. Very small event other than the continued thread that women are treated poorly by certain sects in the Middle East compared to Western far, Sydney has appeared a total of 3 times for a total of 6 Pages. How can this be called a Sydney Rye novel? I appreciate an author expanding their horizons by offering more input from secondary characters, but when the entire book is based around secondary characters, I believe it is very misleading to call this a Sydney Rye dendum: Finished the book and nothing changed. Both Sydney and Blue are almost non-existent. Personally, I did not care for the story. To everyone, if you're considering buying this book thinking it would be a usual, amazing Sydney and Blue adventure spend your hard-earned elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing: Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People []  2020-1-31 21:36

    A covert narcissist worked in my office for awhile. If you are not the narcissist, this can be a job- or career-killer for you, as they will test to slay your hopes and dreams and livelihood. They won't slay you physically but they will drain you of everything positive. It was a scary time. Thankfully my office wised up to the issue and he was fired. Meanwhile 13 months of working with him were the worst of the 25 years of my s like this support you understand. And I think "understanding" is unfortunately about the best you can do. I found learning about the narcissist personality and strategies they will inflict on you support you to build armor around yourself. They will create you think YOU are the problem. You have to be powerful and know that you are not the problem. Knowing their modus operandi helps you to counteract it. For example, don't fall for the gaslighting, consciously recognize when it's event so you can protect yourself.I'm not sure anything can support you solve the problem. Every bit of tip I found said "non-communication" is the only solution. That's hard to do when the narc is a colleague on a little squad and you MUST communicate. I found these helped me:-- Do not meet with the narc without someone else present. EVER. Because everything said will obtain twisted by the narc and create you look bad. You need someone else (a non-narc and a non-friend of the narc) so someone else can corroborate your side of the story. Believe me if you don't wish your professional reputation ruined, DO NOT EVER MEET ALONE with a real narcissist. ESPECIALLY a covert narcissist. Also the narcissist will say negative things and use body language (eye rolls, scrunched up face) that may likely create you emotionally upset. Getting upset and recovering from it is very distracting when you have work to do. This treatment might be less likely to happen if there's someone else in the meeting who is your ally and not the narc's ally. And if the behavior does happen, someone else can corroborate your description of what happened. My workplace has a squad environment, so it was simple in our culture to be sure someone else was always at meetings with our "office narc." Usually several people are working on a project together. If you don't have a squad environment, you may have an office best mate who might be willing to support you by sitting in on meetings with you.-- Definitely do not ever meet behind a closed door with only you and the narcissist. Hold that door open, especially when there's people working outside the door who can overhear. You wish them to overhear. If you meet with the narc alone, everything will obtain twisted, it's your word versus theirs, and if you are not also a wolf, they will create you look bad. They're better at that android game than you are. Hold the office or meeting room door open. If the narc wants to close a door, tell a white lie like the temperature isn't comfortable, you need air (who would argue with that?) etc. If the narc closes the door, obtain up and begin the door again while saying this. It's not likely they will test to close the door again, unless they really are ridiculous. And yeah I think it's ridiculous that you have to obtain into android games like this, but this is the destruction of reasonableness by narcissists.-- Instead of talking, communicate through email. You will have documentation of every instruction you give (that typically isn't followed, understood or it's argued with unprofessionally). And you will have documentation of every word the narcissist writes to you. You will likely see some really unprofessional behavior come from the narcissist. They can't support themselves. You will then have this documented. You wish this. Usually they are so full of themselves that they will be unable to see that what they wrote is unprofessional. They will test to frame you as unprofessional. But you will have it in writing, in black and white, and any reasonable boss or HR rep will be able to see the truth. I did this and it helped other people see the real nature of the communications between me and our workplace narcissist. I can't emphasize the importance of this enough. DOCUMENT. Test to not discuss necessary things verbally. When things go wrong, it will become them versus you and you will have no documentation if communications are verbal.-- They may figure out what you're doing and accuse you of not talking to them. Our workplace narcissist did this to me. I responded very frankly (because the person's boss and a VP were in the meeting where we discussed my non-communication) that I had to communicate by email because when I didn't, the narcissist forgot things or didn't follow things. And they seemed to do better when instructions were given in email. And, to be honest, I wanted to make a papertrail about this. You can call it exactly what it is first, so they can't blame you for making a papertrail. There is nothing wrong with papertrails. A lot of office procedures are specifically designed to build papertrails. Our workplace narcissist's issue with following instructions was known to many. I stated a fact, I didn't obtain emotional in response to hist attack, and actually he admitted he had a issue remembering things and following instructions and he would test to do better. So ... know that you may obtain attacked for following these steps. Be prepared to defend yourself with a rational explanation. Documentation and papertrails are very rational and appropriate for the workplace.-- If the narc is your boss, look for another job. I'm sorry but having dealt with this personality, that is your only option to save yourself, your career reputation, and your livelihood. Wise up to it fast. It hurts but the situation won't change. Face reality and take the actions you need to obtain out.-- If you wish to attack the narc, be prepared for their attack back at you, and be prepared that they will be very amazing at what they do when they attack you. They may attack you behind your back and you won't see it coming. This is why I recommend DOCUMENT, DOCUMENT, DOCUMENT.-- Have amazing people in your private life who can support help you. Focus on building and maintaining your amazing reputation at work with others. Obtain professional counseling if you must. You need to protect yourself. Work out your frustrations with exercise, test not to use too much alcohol or reality TV shows. :) I admit I wasn't so amazing at this latest bit of tip -- poor TV is so good!! :)This review went method beyond the book - but this was what worked to support me, and I expect you are here because you're having a problem. My tip relates to workplace narcissists because I haven't yet run into one in my private life. I hope my tip helps you! I want all the best for you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing: Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People []  2020-1-31 21:36

    This book describes so much about the behavior of spoiled people and their tactics. It also describes manipulation strategies and a various point of view that allows us to realize some people just aren't good. It helps to identify peoples motives and their underhanded ways to obtain what they want. It helped me place my finger on a situation that eluded me for almost 2 decades. That's how "in the dark" I was about the wolf and how cunning they are. 5 stars are not enough for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing: Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People []  2020-1-31 21:36

    Very well written and enlightening in the method it enforced the idea that the hero disturbed individual is Just That. Not the victim they so often claim to be. Amazing suggestions for "handling" these types while maintaining your own integrity. A must read for anyone with someone in their life that always leaves them feeling like "something just isn't right". As this book points out, these people are very skilled at doing what they do, all the while making you question whether or not you're justified in feeling like you've been used, manipulated, treated cruely, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing: Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People []  2020-1-31 21:36

    I lived with one of these people as a co-worker for a year and a half. Looking back, it took me about four months to figure out that there was something wrong. I managed to cope with this nut job for another 6 months, but traditional coping just did not work. In looking around for ways to further understand this person - starting the find with "toxic coworkers", I found books and articles that just didn't ring completely true. Then I found this book, and read a Kindle sample. Bang! Everything fit in put suddenly, I had found the problem at last. Everything clicked. And I mean, it begins with YOU feeling like YOU are doing something bad. And it's hard to describe the present to anyone else, it makes you feel like they think you are nuts and being unfair - "he's a nice guy, what do you mean?" It's what they do. I actually have become aware of another person practicing this and have watched that one from afar. It's absolutely e book was essential for dealing with this person. He was a manager, but I was not working for him. That was the essence - he could not control me and practiced his covert aggression to test and remove me from his sphere of influence. And it was not a power struggle - I was only trying to survive, but if you've read anything on narcissism, you will search there are ways that they focus on people and don't allow the end, I survived and he left the company - too a lot of people were discovering his modus operendi and he was getting pressure from all sides since his work ability was a house of cards. I only required to allow go and allow him do himself in. However, you need to know HOW to prevent them from latching on to you. One of the key moments was when he came at me on something I had actually done that place him in the spotlight. He attacked directly - but in the covertly aggressive method - and I instantly recognized what was happening. I refused to rise to it and kept deflecting it back to the core problem and not where he was trying to take it. They are masters at manipulating, but in the most covert ways. You MUST learn to recognize it. I held on and with my refusal to be drawn in, he finally just gave up. It was a HUGE win to me, and set the tone from there on ere's a part in the book that says if one of these people is your manager, you may have no choice but to simply leave. I am convinced of that, and the fact that this guy had lived in the company as a manager for 6 years is a tribute to their ability to hold things covert. But unless I wanted to sound like a nut, I had to only reveal actual happenings to my manager, and not test to explain what this nut really was. Having studied this person for a long time, and making notes (which often were just venting), I found I had come to truly know what was going on. In a sort of crescendo/finale, when I had been hauled into HR over something he had created up, I was able to lucidly described all the behaviors (mostly excluding me from things I should have been involved with) to HR and two levels of management. And I mean, I castigated him completely. I was able to describe the behaviors without much on the condition, and since I was drawing from things that were also witnessed by others, I literally "won the war" despite losing so a lot of of the small wars along the way. Without this book I could NEVER have been prepared in the method I was. Related to another reviewer, this was the worst year and a half of more than 35 years in the workplace. Do not underestimate these people and their ability to hurt you.Well, that's a long method of explaining that this book was essential to my understanding of what was event to me, and even more essential to navigate it. After a full read-through, I kept coming back for reinforcement and learned how to survive him. I believe that low ratings here in the reviews come from people who were looking for help, but did not have a covert-aggressive but instead were experiencing other forms of mental issues. I felt this was right-on in my case, he was a classic covert aggressive to be sure.If you can read a sample with the Kindle app, do so. If a covert-aggressive is what you have, I think the descriptions will jump out at you. If it doesn't, you may need to continue on your journey of self-help. (It's still a amazing read though!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing (A Sydney Rye Mystery , #9) []  2020-2-5 1:29

    I have to say, I'd really been looking forward to In Sheep's Clothing, but the book was predominantly viewed through all the other characters, with very small input from Sydney's perspective. On top of that, the novel ended in a cliffhanger with nothing resolved and in the middle of a crisis. Considering the cost of the book, I feel short-changed (although, I am not detracting from the rating based on my value-received--the writing is good, even if the story felt incomplete). This will be the latest book I read in the series, as I don't think I like the author's focus away from Sydney, and I refuse to $5 for installments (rather than a complete storyline).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing (A Sydney Rye Mystery , #9) []  2020-2-5 1:29

    Caribbean. Animals had already gotten to Philip (assassin) Rye (Fortress Global Investigations security firm founder) was bert Maxim (21) was not satisfied about acon’s (pilot) chopper created a sweep of the area.Daesh had kidnapped Sydney.April, Nadia, Farridah, Jihane, Berfin, Shayma, & Soughayla all were hidden by their burkas.7 Daesh soldiers were eyeballing them. 4 of them had been/shot/killed.Farridah had been gunned lver Beard had taken Nadia captive.I did not keep any type of compensation for reading & reviewing this book. While I keep books from publishers & authors, I am under no obligation to write a positive review. Only an honest one.A very amazing book cover, amazing font & writing style. A very well written adventure book. It was very simple for me to read/follow from start/finish & never a dull moment. There were no grammar/typo errors, nor any repetitive or out of line sequence sentences. Lots of exciting scenarios, with several twists/turns & a amazing set of special characters to hold track of. This could also create another amazing adventure movie, or better yet a mini TV series. There is no doubt in my mind this is a very simple rating of 5 ank you for the author; LisaatManybooks; Amazon Digital Services LLC.; bookTony Parsons MSW (Washburn)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing (A Sydney Rye Mystery , #9) []  2020-2-5 1:29

    I had the opportunity to read an ARC ver of the recent Sydney Rye and Blue adventure in exchange for an honest review. And honestly, I can say the story was everything I was hoping for. This was another non-stop reading binge for me-much like my reading of the previous 8 books. My hubby had to physically tap me on the shoulder to obtain my attention. That said, this story is somewhat various from the others in that while the plot revolves around Sydney and Blue, they are not the central "action figures" throughout most of the story. Sydney's mother, Mulberry, and of course Robert Maxim, figure heavily in the quick paced action and mayhem that has you holding your breath as you anxiously turn the page to see what happens next. I debated a 4 star rating as there are, in my humble opinion, some significant leaps of faith in several of the escape scenes and in some of the "cavalry to the rescue" events. And while I still have lots of unanswered questions after finishing the book, I have to think that is part of a savvy author's plot (pun intended) to hold us wanting more and salivating for Sydney's next adventure. My tip for you before you start reading is to turn your phone ringer off, have a day's worth of drinks and snacks close at hand, search a comfy put to sit or recline, and cease to worry about your typical everyday routine. Oh, and ENJOY!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing: Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People []  2020-1-31 21:36

    This book is one of my favorite's on the topic of a covert abuser. I was married to one for a lot of years. My life has been blown apart in all ways. I was married to a master covert aggressor. A real wolf in sheep's clothing. George Simon clearly is an expert at detecting their nuances, which can go under the radar for most of us lay people. Want he was our marriage counselor vs the one we used that just reinforced more hurt with her negligence, lack of skill and arrogance. She doted on him and never held him accountable. I had been reporting gaslighting and blame shifting from the beginning, but I did not know the terms. These people are deadly and dare I use the term evil. Sometimes the best method to detect such an underhanded snake in the grass is through your body. My body had been trying to warn me from the beginning through different ways to contain serious health things. I read an article once that said if you are having health issues, evaluate WHO is in your life. Not what you eat or your exercise though those are clearly important. I had no idea someone could affect you like this. I am clawing my method out of the affects of the abuse. I am a shell of my former self. I had so much going for me before I met this monster. Had I known about NPD and Antisocial PD, all the pieces of the puzzle and all the warning signs I experienced would have created sense and I would have run for the hills. I had no idea such darkness could share your bed and go under the radar for so long. These people know what they are doing and have fun the torture. I really like that George shared stories to support the reader connect to the subtleties of the abuse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing: Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People []  2020-1-31 21:36

    I'm fascinated by psychology, and why people do what they do. The book explores the interesting concept of the "covertly aggressive" individual, someone who uses subtly manipulative strategies to further his own agendas, while still preserving the photo of a amazing person ("impression management") and effectively concealing his real intentions. These strategies are insidious, and particularly confusing to conscientious people, who often fall prey to these underhanded individuals with less-than-stellar motives. The two most valuable insights that I gained from the book are the reminder to be aware that not all people operate from a put of private integrity, and that over-intellectualizing why people do what they do, is counterproductive. It's more necessary to recognize manipulation when it occurs, confront it in the moment and self-protect. In all of the examples presented, the manipulation "victims" knew something was wrong, but failed to trust their own initial intuitions and perceptions. I do believe that most people are predominantly good, but also recognize that there are others who exist solely to advance themselves at any expense to others. This is perhaps the hardest thing to learn. It is easier to excuse poor behavior than stand up to it, but freedom exists in being aware and assertive. This book is a amazing starting point of reference for anyone interested in psychology and human behavior. It is informative and instructive, though other books in the same genre may more in-depth material. Typographical errors detracted from the content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing: Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People []  2020-1-31 21:36

    This book dissects the manipulative personality and gives practical ways to more effectively with manipulative people. Dr. Simon initially had a various approach than most psychologists, but it appears that more are coming around to his method of thinking, as psychologists are not immune from manipulative folks any more than the rest of us, unless they are aware of what is really happening.He is especially amazing at explaining the motives and strategies of covert aggressive people, which is helpful because when aggression is not obvious, the tendency is for us to give them the benefit of the doubt and second guess ourselves, which is exactly what they wish to continue their deception and war for advantage and control. Dr. Simon explains why we are all vulnerable to this kind of manipulation, and what one can expect. After studying this book, I understand motives and recognize devious strategies much more readily as he describes each one in detail. My eyes were opened in a lot of ways as he described strategies that I have seen firsthand. There were incidents and situations that I've experienced that now create sense. There is a very helpful section where he explains how getting to know ourselves and our own vulnerabilities helps shield us from attacks, and he explains our responsibility to be alert for these tactics. He also gives practical tactics for countering these strategies that do require quite a bit of strength of hero and confidence to carry out.I had a small disagreement with the section on proposing win-win tactics with the manipulative person. In my experience, this is extremely difficult to do and impossible in some cases. It would have been helpful if he had explained exactly how to do in more detail. My experience is that covert aggressive people would much prefer they victory and you lose, and see ANY victory by you as a reason to continue fighting until you lose. Another thing that is missing from the book is the acknowledgement that you can test as hard as you can to counter their manipulation tactics, but they nearly always continue without change. Sometimes the effort is not worth it any more and you just need to end contact with someone who will never acknowledge that they are abusive and manipulative, never stops fighting, and sometimes escalates when you no longer allow them have their l in all, this is a very helpful book, that gets down to the nuts and bolts of defending oneself from manipulative people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing: Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People []  2020-1-31 21:36

    I would recommend this book to anyone that feels confused or frustrated by a friend, family, or co-worker who uses manipulative or cunning methods to obtain what they wish rather than being up-front and honest. For several years I could not place my finger on what went wrong in what I thought was a close private friendship. I was damage deeply and cycled through my head over and over what I could've done differently. After speaking to a mutual mate and reading this book, I now see clear as day that my "friend" was covertly aggressive and using myself and others to obtain what she desired. I now have a amazing amount of closure, knowing that it wasn't something that I did wrong that destroyed the friendship, but rather it was her hero disorder that ended it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Sheep's Clothing (A Sydney Rye Mystery , #9) []  2020-2-5 1:29

    I enjoyed the book, but it is very various from the others. There are a lot of Fresh people to follow along with the others. Everyone is trying to search Sydney or control her. She doesn't create a true appearance until the final chapters. The book went off on a women's rights and problems in the middle east tangent. It was action packed and also left a large cliff hanger. I am NOT a fan of those and will usually stop reading a series. All of these books have fully resolved issues, then foreshadows what is in the next book with a teaser in latest chapter. That is not a cliff hanger as long as everything in book is resolved. The life and death problem with Mulberry is unacceptable. I dropped a star due to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    HOW TO START A CLOTHING BUSINESS: in 7 steps []  2020-7-6 19:23

    This ebook is a very fast read yet extremely insightful. [email protected]#$%!s upon key points that are vital for the success of not only a clothing company but any fresh business. I would agree that starting out with a very defined business plan is key! The 7 points are truly an perfect put to start. Amazing luck in your future clothing ventures!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Front Control Dishwasher in Black []  2019-12-13 18:11

    I installed this dishwasher a few weeks ago and I am very impressed. It is so quiet we hardly message it (and it's located in a kitchen-living room combo). It performs great, my dishes haven't been cleaner. I installed it by myself and wasn't hard at all. My only complaint would be I had to various brackets to connect it to the side of the cabinets vs under the counter top. Super satisfied with this dishwasher and would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Front Control Dishwasher in Black []  2019-12-13 18:11

    Worst dishwasher I ever owned. I've had portable ones in a dorm that worked better. In less than 2 years, it broke 3 times. The top dish rack barely worked from day one, and then one of the spinners melted then the motor went out. The cost to replace with motor and having it installed is the cost of the whole dishwasher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Front Control Dishwasher in Black []  2019-12-13 18:11

    This is the worst dishwasher I have owned. Each time I have used it I have had to wipe down the interior because it won't dry. Everything in the compartment still is sopping wet even after a heated dry cycle. Jet dry doesn't support the issue one bit. It is still under 30 days, I am replacing it with something else. They should be embarrassed to place the created in America seal on it.8/11/16: received the replacement of the same model which doesn't leave the compartment sopping wet-- just wet, so if you don't have to do dishes daily you will have a musty, nasty smelling dishwasher like me when I didn't wipe down the walls after the try thinking they would dry. This is the worst dishwasher I have ever owned. I can't give it negative stars, but if so it would be a negative 5 star rating.On a side note: The house I purchased came with a Whirlpool oven from 2006. You can't set the clock or the timer hour setting independently of the minutes. For example, if you wish to cook a Thanksgiving turkey for 3 hours, you have to press the temp/timer up arrow that only controls the mins 180 times. I have called Whirlpool twice and each CSR says that this is the only method to do it. If I had known that I would have to by a timer from the dollar shop to cook on my "Made in America" Whirlpool stove, I would have gone ahead and purchased a Samsung dishwasher. Stay away from this company!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yours Clothing [App]  2019-4-26 13:23

    Much easier to navigate than the website, however, it won't allow you find for things by size ranges, you have to on individual stuff to establish if they are available in your size. It doesn't present you offers, for example 2 for £10 on knickers, you only see that once you are at the Checkout.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yours Clothing [App]  2019-4-26 13:23

    👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yours Clothing [App]  2019-4-26 13:23

    is a amazing application BUT on the www service u can view reviews and what the material is on the clothing dont obtain why yous havent added all that on the application :/ il change the stars when those have been added to the application 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yours Clothing [App]  2019-4-26 13:23

    Amazing application simple to use and descriptions are in depth

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    15KG Compact Electric Portable Clothing Dryer - Portable Clothes Dryer Rack Dries Clothing in 30 Minutes. Saves Time, Money & Space. Dries Everything. Use it Anywhere. [Book]  2019-12-6 18:50

    This small wardrobe dryer works great, the included rack is nice for hanging socks, underwear and other little linens. You can hang shirts on clothes hangers and pants around the top center bar, but if you allow them dry to long shirts are definitely wrinkled and need to be ironed. For the and product description it has definitely met my needs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alligators, Old Mink & New Money: One Woman's Adventures in Vintage Clothing [Book]  2018-6-6 18:1

    Interesting but I bought in for a mate who has a in Cambodia. It will be interesting to see what she thinks of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alligators, Old Mink & New Money: One Woman's Adventures in Vintage Clothing [Book]  2018-6-6 18:1

    I saw this book when it was first launched in a bookstore while I was waiting for the boat at the wharf and at that time I was just graduated from Uni. Months later, I found the book at yard for a couple of dollars so I bought it. This book is charming with Alison's private narrative on how she became a model and opened her vintage store. I learned vintage names from this book and I have to admit arousing my desire on vintage items. Since then, I visited a lot of secondhand shop in San Francisco hoping to search some gems, even to a point planning on visiting her shop in Brooklyn. But, my style and my eyes towards vintage had not sharpened yet. Then, 11 years later, I have developed my skills on building vintage stuff but the desire in buying and collecting it have evaporated. Tastes changed overtime I guess. I lost the book 2 years before, but the book reminds me of a amazing times adn naivete that I had when I was young so I bought another copy two months ago. My favorite part of this book is coloring the illustrations. Alison has a amazing description and her words are so vivid that I can actually see the vintage clothes in front of me. It is sad now that Hootie Couture is closed permanently and the www service is also disappeared. I found some of Alison professional taken pictures wearing vintage clothes and saved them. That is how much I loved the book and vintage items. But, lack of skills in incorporating vintage stuff into modern wardrobe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (An Exotic Pet-Sitter Mystery Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:38

    Belinda Blake delivers again. This is a stand-alone read but you will appreciate some of the characters more if you read Book #1. Amazing attention keeper and somewhat emotional roller coaster. I may/may not have stayed up to the wee hours to [email protected]#$%! THEN immediately bummed that Book #3 is not yet available. Read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zipper Rescue Zipper Repair Kits – The Original Zipper Repair Kit, Made in America Since 1993 (Clothing) []  2020-1-7 18:16

    Outstanding!!! I fixed my jacket and it was so easy. The directions were outstanding and said to call them if none of the zippers fit (how nice!) The zipper fit great. So stoked. Would again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zipper Rescue Zipper Repair Kits – The Original Zipper Repair Kit, Made in America Since 1993 (Clothing) []  2020-1-7 18:16

    I bought this Zipper Rescue Kit to repair a winter jacket that I had purchased at a tourist spot. The zipper slider that came with the jacket fell apart after 1 year of light e Zipper Rescue Kit had a unbelievable and simple to understand instruction booklet which included some interesting history of the zipper.With the a lot of choices of sliders/pulls included in the kit, I was able to match a fresh slider to my jacket and fix the issue myself in about 30 seconds! Much better than tossing away an otherwise perfectly amazing jacket.I was very impressed by this product, and I would recommend this kit to anyone who needs to replace the slider or broken zipper on their clothing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist's Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World []  2020-7-20 19:10

    Being not only an avid reader but an avid nudist for 20+ years, I believe Tag Smith has "nailed' it with this book. My wife and I have been to a lot of of the destinations or experienced related venues he has described. I believe newbies, wannabes and veteran nudists will have fun this book and Mark's sense of humor in his presentation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    15KG Compact Electric Portable Clothing Dryer - Portable Clothes Dryer Rack Dries Clothing in 30 Minutes. Saves Time, Money & Space. Dries Everything. Use it Anywhere. [Book]  2019-12-6 18:50

    I wanted to give 3.5 starts but apparently no half star. I like it well enough. Fairly efficient as long as you don't over-stuff it, quiet, and don't take up much room. Price is reasonable for what you get. A bit awkward to assemble, and a bit awkward to hang the laundry in it, and a bit awkward to turn the switch because you have to kneel on the floor to do so. I'm still trying to figure out the best method to arrange the laundry in it, such as the use of the rack in the middle. (If you use them, anything long hung on the top pole will drape over the rack.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    15KG Compact Electric Portable Clothing Dryer - Portable Clothes Dryer Rack Dries Clothing in 30 Minutes. Saves Time, Money & Space. Dries Everything. Use it Anywhere. [Book]  2019-12-6 18:50

    Here is my Honest review.Why did I wait so long to this. It does what it says, it's the excellent size and portable for my apartment. I was so easy to place together and I don't have to worry about it damaging my clothes like a regular clothes dryer. My only problem is I [email protected]#$%! was taller, other than that this was a amazing so I was annoyed that it went on the day after I ordered it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alligators, Old Mink & New Money: One Woman's Adventures in Vintage Clothing [Book]  2018-6-6 18:1

    It has been some time since I read this book. It was ok. Donated it to the local library for others to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alligators, Old Mink & New Money: One Woman's Adventures in Vintage Clothing [Book]  2018-6-6 18:1

    FELL ASLEEP IN THE SECOND CHAPTER AND REALLY WISHED I HAD NOT WASTED MY TIME ON THIS MUNDANE MUSTY OVER-WORN BOOK!!!..EVEN GOODWILL WOULD'NT WANT THIS SCHHMATTA!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zipper Rescue Zipper Repair Kits – The Original Zipper Repair Kit, Made in America Since 1993 (Clothing) []  2020-1-7 18:16

    Amazing quality repair kit for all sorts of zipper issues. I was able to search a slider to correct the problem with my jacket (missing tooth and missing slider) and instead of typically fixing the slider through the top (which I tried non-stop for 2 days to no avail), in a fit of desperation, I figured i'd fit the slider through the missing tooth portion of the zipper, and viola! It fit! So I did what you would usually do and test to zip it...And it worked! I felt so much satisfaction and relief knowing that I fixed a jacket that I haven't worn in over 2-3 years because of the missing e only negative, I suppose, is the instruction manual that came with it. Yes, it does explain most things thoroughly (and comically at that), but I just couldn't figure it out through the instructions for my particular jacket. I had to rely and the old handy dandy YouTube guides for a better netheless, this is a amazing repair kit for the price. And I did look around. This was the better QUALITY choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (An Exotic Pet-Sitter Mystery Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:38

    A fun mystery with an easy-to-relate-to heroine. I recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist's Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World []  2020-7-20 19:10

    I have never given much thought to nudism, naturalism, or the anti-textile life. I read this book based on a podcast review. The author immerses himself in the nudist world. The writing is instructive, clever, and funny without being degrading. He writes equally about the history of nudism and about his experiences at different naked activities and vacations. I especially enjoyed the discussions of laws regulating or banning nudity. Where and how do we draw the line between behavior that is acceptable and unacceptable? This is very timely and thoughtful discussion. I won't run out and become a nudist based on this book, but I respect your right to do so.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist's Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World []  2020-7-20 19:10

    I thought this a was a really amazing book. Helped me learn a bit more about the lifestyle and opened my eyes even more to some of the things going on in this lifestyle. I think it's a amazing read for anybody that is begin to trying the nudist life or even if they have been involved in it in someway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    15KG Compact Electric Portable Clothing Dryer - Portable Clothes Dryer Rack Dries Clothing in 30 Minutes. Saves Time, Money & Space. Dries Everything. Use it Anywhere. [Book]  2019-12-6 18:50

    We got this to pair with the 14lb Panda Washer and Spinner to act as our in-house small laundry unit because the laundry in our complex was costing $6 per load. It hangs a full load from the washer well and we use both coat hangers on the top part and the middle drying racks. It definitely raises the humidity of the air around it so we create sure to place it near a window and it's not too bad. It's amazing that it just uses regular 120V AC power so we have laundry capability no matter were we move (we're renters). We usually just set it before going to bed or before leaving for the day and everything is nice and dry later. With some creative hanging, we've dried queen-sized sheets and duvets. Not ideal for intense laundry needs because it takes the full 3 hours for a lot of clothing to dry. When we have to dry a bunch of things, we'll just air dry some things and cycle them in as stuff dry in dryer. All-in-all, a amazing solution for renters or people who don't wish to go to a laundromat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    15KG Compact Electric Portable Clothing Dryer - Portable Clothes Dryer Rack Dries Clothing in 30 Minutes. Saves Time, Money & Space. Dries Everything. Use it Anywhere. [Book]  2019-12-6 18:50

    I was hesitant to something like this for years for fear it'd steam up the whole apartment. It does generate some humidity but the forced air does as much of the work and it only raises the indoor temperature by a degree or two when the central air is running. Setup is a breeze. Heater unit seems to be a ceramic element and something like a huge PC case fan so it's probably beautiful safe but not necessarily childproof. Things are now drying in a couple hours instead of sitting on my drying rack getting both positive and negative it's beautiful compact so zone is limited - my Haier apartment washer is 2.3 cubic feet and when packed it ends up being two dryer loads in this thing. Certainly makes it portable-ish for balcony or patio 'd be nice to have one more hanging bar and extra racks for up top for hanging socks etc but all that is surely hackable. I really wish to test using the heater with a larger Origami closet I already own (once vents are added) and Ikea should really look into using something like this for a combination sauna/closet/clothes-dryer if the fire hazards of that brilliant an idea could be te that during assembly you need to slip the cover over the bottom rods and the heater sits under it with the cone poking through. I was expecting an begin bottom or something like a solid board making it easier to replace the outer cover without taking it all apart. Performance does seem optimized as-is though, just be prepared to sweep lint and hairs out of the bottom of the cover every once in a while. Also remember to begin the zipper after the cycle so the latent heat in the clothes can finish the drying process for e other minor but very easily addressed gripe is the mechanical timer feels sturdy but the sloped knob is fiddly to grip with damp fingers - it'll probably loosen up and obtain easier once I've used it more than a dozen is will save your life if you've gotten used to waiting 3 days for dry musty jeans in summer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alligators, Old Mink & New Money: One Woman's Adventures in Vintage Clothing [Book]  2018-6-6 18:1

    A completely captivating and charming book! Ms. Houtte's writing style is as refined as her vintage style!As a dabbler in the fabric arts, a student of clothing construction, and someone born with the "thrifting gene," I found her story so engaging I devoured the book in a weekend. Her total lack of snobbery and self-importance was appealing. Here's someone who created their avocation their vocation and still gets excited about working every day. I absolutely loved the stories about her modeling life, how she got into the vintage clothing and accessories business, and most of all her accounts of the people she's met and experiences she's 's not a how-to book (thank goodness!), but the reader can see Ms. Houtte's confidence grow in proportion to her success as a model and later as a business owner. She relates stories of her failures - both private and professional - with as much élan as she does the stories of her successes. An interesting and refreshing book about things that in and of themselves aren't of any importance, but taken together really add up to a life well-lived.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alligators, Old Mink & New Money: One Woman's Adventures in Vintage Clothing [Book]  2018-6-6 18:1

    I started out thinking it was going to be a amazing read but I soon got bored with it. Too much of the same kind of antidote. If you are really into vintage clothing it would be instructional.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zipper Rescue Zipper Repair Kits – The Original Zipper Repair Kit, Made in America Since 1993 (Clothing) []  2020-1-7 18:16

    Although the instructions are a bit long-winded and imprecise, the kit is amazing for replacing zippers with ease once you understand what to do. The insert labeled "Clothing Kit Contents" is most helpful, because it shows you the size of each zipper base and whether it is meant for metal or plastic zippers. You simply yank the current zipper stops from the top of the zipper with pliers, replace the zipper with the right size and material design (metal or plastic zipper teeth), and pinch on a fresh metal zipper stop onto the top of the zipper track that the zipper is on when the article is "open" (zipper stops are included in the kit).Once I understood I was trying to jam the copper-colored zipper (for metal teeth) onto the plastic zipper teeth of my hoodie, I switched to the black zipper designed for plastic teeth and it went on like a dream. Now I have plenty of zipper slides for all of my typical city-wear should the need come to replace them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (An Exotic Pet-Sitter Mystery Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:38

    Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing by Heather Day Gilbert was one of the most satisfying cozies I have read. It just hit my reading sweet spot. The characters and story will stay with me as will the fear and trepidation. If I could, I would pick up book three, and begin reading immediately. Thoughts?First, while you can read this as a stand-alone, it will flow better if you read the books in condly, this cozy was totally satisfying...from the first word to last. The mystery involved animals, it was believable, and it moved along at a amazing pace. I was both in awe of the wolves and terrified of them at the same time. There were several quirky characters, but this is the Greenwich area, non? Gilbert draws some characters in ways that will cause you to love them, others are written to be abhorred, but all are mysterious and possible schemers. Finding the assassin before she/he finds Belinda eluded irdly, we start to see a beautiful interesting love triangle develop. Where is book three?! Ah, Sigh!Fourthly, there were plenty of humorous lines to off-set the seriousness of the subject, keeping this fun novel well within the « cozy» parameters. Available Oct. 1st or you can pre-order.I received an ARC complimentary copy of this book from the author and publisher through NetGalley. This did not affect my opinions which are solely my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (An Exotic Pet-Sitter Mystery Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:38

    I actually this book but mostly because of Belinda and the wolves. I liked the characters too, but I'll have to read at least 1 more book, before I'll know if I really like these books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (An Exotic Pet-Sitter Mystery Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:38

    4.5 starsThis is such an enjoyable series! I read Belinda Blake and the Snake in the Grass ahead of reading Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing for this review & loved it as well. You can definitely read book 2 as a stand alone but it will just create you wish to read book 1 so you might as well begin from the linda is just adorable. She’s sweet and sassy and relatable, despite the exotic animals she tends. I love that her best mates are her family, and I love the ‘guy next door’ even more, especially when his eyes give away his feelings for Belinda (even though she’s a small clueless lol). Jonas (said guy next door) is super swoony and steady at the same time. He truly cares for Belinda, and while their budding romance is moving slowly I can’t wait to see how the author continues to develop their friendship. Belinda’s pregnant sister is equally delightful, and I love her mama bear tendencies toward her small sis. Her occupation as a psychologist comes in handy, too, as she helps Belinda talk through the suspects. I love Red too – everyone needs a Red on their side!Gilbert gives personality and heart to the wolf packs that Belinda is helping with at the preserve, while also keeping them real to their wild nature. I fell in love with Njord & Freya especially and, even though nearly all the humans at the preserve are a bit of a hot mess, I hope we obtain to see the wolves again. The double murder mystery takes several unexpected twists and turns and definitely keeps Belinda – and readers – on her toes. It’s well-plotted and nicely paced, intelligent and tom Line: Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing is everything I love about cozy mysteries – and more! Belinda is a delightful heroine, and her interactions with the exotic pets in her care have now created me love a snake & a couple of wolves too. The story is well-written with wit and heart, as well as more layers and depth than we usually see in cozies. Add in a wealth of potential suspects & some surprising twists and reveals … and a simmering romance with a swoony fella … and you’ve got another must-read from this author.(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist's Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World []  2020-7-20 19:10

    A very thought-provoking read, written in a breezy, entertaining style, filled with logical arguments and gems of wit. For me, the main take-away is American society's irrational gymnophobia. There is no reason why people should have to dues to join official naturist clubs or dish out huge sums of to vacation at nudist resorts simply to have fun the freedom of the outdoors au naturel by swimming or hiking in secluded spots, instead of having to endure clammy bathing-suits at public beaches or stifling clothing when the weather is warm. I can understand the prohibition versus blatant in-your-face attempts to shock unwilling viewers of nudity, but it is utterly absurd to impose the risk of arrest on people who are doing their best to avoid even accidental confrontations with textiled sportsmen at beaches or in woods and fields. It is also extremely hypocritical of a schizophrenic culture that condones all sorts of immorality, yet forbids (except at a few specially designated areas) something that is totally innocent in itself. European society has a far more enlightened laissez-faire attitude when people are not deliberately bothering anyone else by their natural state, which everyone has underneath, anyway. At the very least, American law should permit more "clothing-optional" venues, instead of shutting down even the few that once existed (such as the Cape Cod seashore).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist's Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World []  2020-7-20 19:10

    On:Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist's Adventures in the Clothing-Optional Worldby Tag Smith First, I like the book. That is not to say I liked everything in the book. I have seldom read a book in which there was not some part that for one reason or another I didn’t like. I doubt that any author would say he or she expects everyone always to like everything they’ve written; especially when it comes to a documentary-type work as this is. But would I recommend the book to others? Yep. Number one on my list of likes is the obvious extent of research and attentiveness to accuracy that went into it. In chapter after chapter, the reader will note the historical detail and people he took the effort to track down and interview for it. Hand in hand with the above, goes his coverage of the subject itself. I can’t think of an aspect of nudity/nakedness/naturism he didn’t hit on in one put or another. He first engaged in, and then reported on, nude hiking (free hiking), nude cruises, nudist venues in Europe and the USA. Through interviews and private observation, he noted the widely varied behaviors of nudists in various locations and settings and also the reactions of non-nudists, including his own. He recorded much about the history of nudism and the development/suppression of same over the years and from put to place. I may be forgetting to mention aspects of the book that I might have, had I been taking down notes throughout; but I’ll finish up by talking about my second largest like and my largest dislike. I liked the humor that was show throughout this work. I cite two examples that created me laugh out loud. Early in the book he declares his fascination with subcultures of people and says that when he writes about them he is inclined first to personally experience that about which he is going to write; as he apparently did with Cannabis for a previous work. When he announced this fresh endeavor to his wife, her response was, “First you’re stoned all the time and now you’re going to be naked? Why can’t you write a book about cheese? You like cheese.” Then, the first time he went to a resort and nervously left his room for the pool area, being acutely aware of the no-gawking rule, he noticed a couple of elderly women sitting at poolside obviously ignoring that rule as they gawked at him. Wondering what was attracting their attention specifically to him, he looked down at himself and created this discovery: “The spray-on sunblock that I had so scrupulously and thickly applied had turned my d*** into something resembling a solar flare. I could’ve sent a distress signal to a find and rescue team.” Lastly, the part I disliked…and I will have to struggle to hold this short because for me it is an problem that deserves detailed attention. What I disliked was when he talked about being on a nude hiking excursion in the European far north and the groups of ‘Christians’ who went by and their reactions. The first group as one, turned their backs, refusing to look at his group until it had passed by. I will test to explain briefly why this offends me. It has to do with what I call “Cultural Christianity.” By that term, I refer to church-goers in any society, who label anything of which they do not approve, as sin. I’m talking here about things the Bible makes small or no mention of whatsoever. One amazing example is smoking. The Bible is so devoid of any mention of smoking, I’m not sure if anyone had even tried smoking in that part of history. Another is drinking of alcohol. The only thing the Bible says about that is that it is no expedient to let anything from outside the body to ‘master’ us. Common sense, really. Being a theologian and someone who in all my years of preaching, strove to be very Biblically accurate in what went over my pulpit, cultural Christianity is offensive to me. It is the only kind of so-called Christianity that people outside the church will ever see and it always, ALWAYS, sends the wrong message. There is so much more to say, but I have to stop. Even if you’re not a nudist and never intend to be, if you are simply curious by nature and wish to understand these people a small bit, this book is the put to go.When you’re finished, you might check out “Christian Body: Modesty and the Bible” by Aaron Frost

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist's Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World []  2020-7-20 19:10

    Fun read and very educational if reader is not a nudist or naturist. I found it interesting but take exception to some of his interpretations. I've been participating in nude activities for more than 40 years and agree that the lifestyle has become more normal than when my husband and I first joined. More clothing optional resorts these days and the cruises are lots of fun. It is a very relaxing vacation and you need package lightly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist's Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World []  2020-7-20 19:10

    I am just short of finishing this book, however Tag Haskell Smith has done a amazing job in describing how a newcomer feels and how a single man is treated at resorts from what I understand. He does a lot of historical proof for some assertions, and I love that he is so inquisitive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ambrie Clothing [App]  2019-4-14 13:23

    Love it! will be so much faster to obtain my orders in! placed one today. I will now have all the park leggings and swing dresses!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yours Clothing [App]  2019-4-26 13:23

    I expected amazing things from the fresh app, but I'm disappointed. It does not present what fabric stuff are created from, so I can't tell if a top is cotton or polyester for example. There is also no method to see customer reviews and this is a feature that I search very useful. Suppose it's back to the www service until the application is improved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yours Clothing [App]  2019-4-26 13:23

    so much easier to navigate than the website, no gliches. a perminate spot on my phone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alligators, Old Mink & New Money: One Woman's Adventures in Vintage Clothing [Book]  2018-6-6 18:1

    Really can't review this book as I bought it and two others as gifts. Looks like fun, though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alligators, Old Mink & New Money: One Woman's Adventures in Vintage Clothing [Book]  2018-6-6 18:1

    The Houtte sisters deliver a fascinating diversion from high fashion iconic to treasure hunting vintage. You'll never the same again! Both interesting and beautifully written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zipper Rescue Zipper Repair Kits – The Original Zipper Repair Kit, Made in America Since 1993 (Clothing) []  2020-1-7 18:16

    I bought this kit to repair one zipper on one jacket, and so was a bit disappointed when none of the zippers that came with the kit fit my jacket. However, the customer service at Zipper Rescue was great, and after sending them some images they sent out the right size I required and were very fast to respond emails about any questions I had. Highly recommended company to from, if you don't obtain exactly what you need they'll work with you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zipper Rescue Zipper Repair Kits – The Original Zipper Repair Kit, Made in America Since 1993 (Clothing) []  2020-1-7 18:16

    PRAISE!!! My handmade piece of luggage had the zipper popped off by an overly anxious kid and I thought it couldn’t be fixed. After reading reviews, I was hopeful that this product would work but a bit concerned about the reviews on the instructions. No issue as the company has YouTube videos to help. Granted it took some negotiating and choice words before...EUREKA!!! My bag is now functional and I’m over the moon happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zipper Rescue Zipper Repair Kits – The Original Zipper Repair Kit, Made in America Since 1993 (Clothing) []  2020-1-7 18:16

    Bought this kit to replace my kids’ jacket zipper sliders, simple enough to use but zipper pull broke 10 minutes after replacement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (An Exotic Pet-Sitter Mystery Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:38

    Unbelievable cozy mystery. It's well written. I love that the main hero has a special job that of an exotic pet sitter. It makes this book stand out from all the rest of the books I'm reading. It was difficult to place down. I can't wait until the 3rd book in this series comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist's Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World []  2020-7-20 19:10

    Tag does a amazing job in covering naturism in its a lot of aspects.He actually experiences the life and truly respects naturism.While not a convert,he does help the ideals and even his wife tries naturism on a 's amazing to see a respectful treatment of naturism,especially by someone who isn't a naturist.Worth a read whether your a naturist or are curious about warning,try it and you may not go back.Hopefully,you'll at least gain respect for eat job,Mark.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    15KG Compact Electric Portable Clothing Dryer - Portable Clothes Dryer Rack Dries Clothing in 30 Minutes. Saves Time, Money & Space. Dries Everything. Use it Anywhere. [Book]  2019-12-6 18:50

    So this is a ~$100 clothes dryer, hence I don't expect it to perform like a $1000 major appliance. If you need a full size dryer, this won't is will take a little amount of clothes that you can hang loosely and gently dry it. We mostly line-dry, but in the winter, massive fabrics can take a while. As others have mentioned, it's quiet and relatively efficient. As long as you don't package clothes too tightly, it does a decent jobs of drying light fabrics and speeds up drying of massive fabrics. synthetic shirts are dry in about half an hour. Cotton blends can take a couple of hours. Massive cotton fabrics (towels) might not dry completely in the maximum 3 hours available on the timer, but it's much faster than not having any ere is no true feedback control, it's just on until the timer runs out. I tend to run it in half-hour increments, removing garments as they are dry.Drying performance relies on having airflow around the fabric, so it's necessary to hang things loosely.When on, it consumes 800-850W continuously (measured with a Kill-a-Watt meter) and pumps borderline hot air into its environment. We have this in our living space, so in the winter, the heat helps to warm the house. It's basically like having an 800W zone heater. Don't really need to use it in the summer, but if I did, it would probably go into the garage to vent the heat. I can't really tell if this is any more energy efficient (on a per pound of laundry basis) than a regular clothes dryer. It is certainly quieter and gentler, and it's easier to justify using when you have only a few things that need drying rather than a full ght and moves around easily on casters (two locking to hold it place when needed).Drawbacks:Construction is kind of flimsy. One of the metal tubes arrived bent slightly out of round. Easily fixed with e assembly instructions were for a various design, but there's really only one method that this can be rationally assembled, so again, not a huge takes about 10 mins to reassemble once you take it apart for storage. So not as convenient as a folding drying n't handle any true huge items, like blankets, but I might be able to kludge it by removing the shroud from the top half and placing the blanket there. But you have to be careful with venting to prevent overheating the blower and creating a hazard. Will experiment this winter.Unknown reliability at this point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    15KG Compact Electric Portable Clothing Dryer - Portable Clothes Dryer Rack Dries Clothing in 30 Minutes. Saves Time, Money & Space. Dries Everything. Use it Anywhere. [Book]  2019-12-6 18:50

    I prefer this over a tumble dryer. It was very simple to assemble. It's so quiet I had to stop and listen to see if it was running. It dried a load of towels followed by a sheet set in not much more time than regular dryer. And my sheets smell and feel great! Adding that I just dried a load of my clothing in it and I am even more excited about this product. So glad I got it. I have no need for a conventional dryer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    15KG Compact Electric Portable Clothing Dryer - Portable Clothes Dryer Rack Dries Clothing in 30 Minutes. Saves Time, Money & Space. Dries Everything. Use it Anywhere. [Book]  2019-12-6 18:50

    My dryer broke down so I purchased this about a week ago. It took about 15 mins to set up and is simple to operate. I am a huge guy but can still load a couple pair of pants, four or five shirts, two or three pairs of underwear, a couple pair of socks, and some wash towels in one load. In about 90 mins my clothes are dry to near dry. It is surprisingly quiet and I can sit in the living room watching TV and do not message it is running. Amazing product and back up dryer.Had a minor problem with a tear in the cover. They were very helpful and sent me a fresh cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alligators, Old Mink & New Money: One Woman's Adventures in Vintage Clothing [Book]  2018-6-6 18:1

    Cheerful, honest, fun story of a business. Some amazing tips about clothing care and repair for vintage wearers (and Goodwill shoppers). I wish to be her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alligators, Old Mink & New Money: One Woman's Adventures in Vintage Clothing [Book]  2018-6-6 18:1

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It sparked my interest in vintage clothes. Maybe one day I will obtain to visit their store.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (An Exotic Pet-Sitter Mystery Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:38

    3.5 stars"Was this whole thing some kind of elaborate mind game?"What on earth had she gotten herself into? Exotic pet sitter Belinda Blake expected "off the beaten path"; it was the nature of her occupation, but when her first day on the job at the White Pine Wolfe Preserve brings here face to face with a mangled body, she is second guessing her decision to sign on the dotted line. . . . no matter how much she required the aying the course, Belinda determines to remain on the job. But nothing is adding up and it seems that everyone around the preserve is being less than forthcoming. And then, again; the unthinkable happens.Enjoy this author's ability to pen picture-perfect-perplexity; she makes quirky totally acceptable and normal totally questionable. Thank goodness Belinda has sweet, solid Jonas in her life . . . . or is it the handsome, hedge fund whiz child that should be garnering the most attention?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (An Exotic Pet-Sitter Mystery Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:38

    Belinda does it again!The second installment of the Exotic Pet-Sitter series did not disappoint! Again, the author was able to make a unbelievable globe and this time it was set in a wolf preserve. You read that correctly, this time Belinda is pet sitting wolves. There's mystery, sabotage, a small framing (as in setting someone up) and maybe just a small bit of romance.I am loving this series and can not wait to read the next installment!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (An Exotic Pet-Sitter Mystery Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:38

    I’ve not read anything by Ms. Gilbert that I didn’t absolutely love! And Belinda Blake is no exception. So intrepid, so enterprising, so ingenious. So e Belinda Blake series is so original, such a creative story line. Twists and unexpected turns on nearly every page. Suspects left and right. And Belinda always a step ahead.A delightful tale—well, as delightful as murder and betrayal and [SPOILER] can be…I found myself more than a small bit envious of Belinda—minus the murders—caring for the wolves, showing them love and earning their love in return. I tagged along with her as she got acquainted with them, as she learned to care for them, and when she stumbled on the first victim. I followed her lead as she pondered and questioned, in her mind and aloud, and investigated. I cautioned her and I cheered and applauded her. I laughed and I cried and I gasped, I cautioned and I warned. And still, I was caught unaware to learn the killer’s identity!ROBIN’S FEATHERSFOUR FEATHERSI received a complimentary copy of this book, but was under no obligation to read the book or to post a review. I my review of my own will. The opinions expressed in my review are my honest thoughts and reaction to this book.#Blogwords, Tuesday Reviews-Day, #TRD, Book Review, Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing, Heather Day Gilbert

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Belinda Blake and the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (An Exotic Pet-Sitter Mystery Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:38

    Belinda Blake is a pet sitter for the 21st century! Belinda is a brave animal lover and a brilliant video android game reviewer and amateur sleuth. The characters in this second of a fresh series are delightful, the setting gorgeous, and the solution hard to unmask. We obtain to know Belinda, who I really like, better, even as she learns more about herself through the mirror of long-time friend, linda lives in a guest house in Greenwich, CT and has been expanding her exotic pet sitting business here as well as going into Manhattan for repeat clients. The guest house is on the Carrington estate, where she recently helped solve murders of mates of Stone Carrington Fifth, adult son of the linda gets an urgent call requesting her services, so she can’t turn it down…even if it is at a wolf preserve. Dahlia is the owner of White Pine Wolf Preserve. She is going to visit a preserve in Arizona. Belinda will support the basic feeder with chores for the wolves and hobby farm animals. She has the pleasure of meeting Evie, Dahlia’s private assistant, and Shaun, the best tour guide; he recognizes her from her gaming reviews in a famous publication. Despite the keep harmless disclaimer in the contract, there haven’t been injuries there in the past, so Belinda signs for the eight days.On the first day, Belinda meets Rich, the man who feeds the wolves. Rich has known the wolves since the facility opened. One wolf, Njord, was born in captivity, and Rich was show at his birth. Rich feeds the wolves by hand and will continue to do so. Belinda will fill their water troughs. At the first of two package enclosures, she meets Freya, who had been badly abused before being taken into the preserve. Freya wants to become mates at first sight, rolling over onto her back for a amazing belly rub. Rich and Belinda meet a grisly sight when approaching the second enclosure. Njord has a dark red stain on his attractive fur. Lying inside the entry is a staff member wearing one of the bright-green vests, dead.Words can’t express how strongly I felt Belinda’s reaction! It is hard to imagine that the wolf, handled by humans since birth, would turn, at least until the other two wolves in that package are seen with related stains on their fur. The police sergeant, Jacob Hardy, doesn’t disguise his feelings about the death of the staff member. I am surprised he didn’t demand that they be taken into is is an intense and challenging mystery! I appreciate the research the author has done on wolves and incorporates into the story, and how Veronica, one of the tour guides, is using what she learns at the preserve for her master’s thesis. I also have fun seeing Belinda spend time with Jonas, as they were such close mates when growing up. Of the two guys in her life, he would be my choice, but time will tell what Belinda chooses. Discovering the source of the staff member’s death, and other situations that arise far too quickly, was a challenge. While I did obtain to the first step before Belinda, I got to the rest of the staircase at the same time. I would be scared to death to obtain into some of the situations Belinda does! I highly recommend this novel to fans of the author and those who appreciate well-executed cozy mysteries, very likable characters, and special pet sitting om a thankful heart: I received a copy of the ebook from the publisher through NetGalley, and this is my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zipper Rescue Zipper Repair Kits – The Original Zipper Repair Kit, Made in America Since 1993 (Clothing) []  2020-1-7 18:16

    Just what I was looking for to repair the zipper on my jacket! I had previously taken pliers to the original zipper pull which got it functioning for a short period of time but then it started to begin up in the middle of the zipper. Originally I was going to take it to a tailor and have the zipper replaced but then I saw I could replace just the zipper pull. The kit came in 2 days - thank you Prime! I watched a short video on U-tube as suggested by other reviewers, opened the kit and selected the right size. Presto! Fixed in under 2 mins and this pull glides much easier than the original! The only difficulty I ran into was the fact that the fabric of the zipper was folded over at the top so the old pull was a bit tricky to obtain off even after I had removed the stop with the pliers. Same problem with putting the fresh zipper pull on. I had to work it over the folded fabric. Once this was done, I zipped up the jacket to create sure it worked and then placed a fresh stopper at the top. Better than new!! I then replaced the pull on my granddaughter’s winter coat. Hers took a small longer as it is a plastic zipper and the stop at the top of the zipper had to be broken in to obtain it off. I highly recommend this set for anyone needing to fix a zipper on a coat or jacket!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zipper Rescue Zipper Repair Kits – The Original Zipper Repair Kit, Made in America Since 1993 (Clothing) []  2020-1-7 18:16

    I required to repair the zipper on my husband's sweatshirt and bought one of the other brands that had lots of zipper pulls in it and a small case to shop it in. Well, after lots of trying, there was not one zipper in there that would work. So, I ordered this set because it specifically said it would work for clothing. It was amazing--it had lots of cute info about zippers--what the various kinds were, history, etc. and instructions unlike the other one. And, best of all, although I couldn't search the right pull, I called the company and this lovely person named Ana helped me within a couple of mins and I had it fixed right away! Unbelievable customer service. I just want I hadn't wasted my time and buying the other one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zipper Rescue Zipper Repair Kits – The Original Zipper Repair Kit, Made in America Since 1993 (Clothing) []  2020-1-7 18:16

    Did the trick, and had everything I required to repair a zipper on an old (my favorite) light jacket. Zipper Rescue, Zipper Repair Kit, Clothing. I especially liked the instructions which contain to-scale outlines of the zipper pulls in the kit, so it was simple to take my old zipper pull, line it up with the right outline and choose the replacement pull I needed. Definitely recommend these!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist's Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World []  2020-7-20 19:10

    Allow me say that I have never had the fortitude to test this, although it is an item on my bucket list. I have known several people who have gone to "clothing optional" resorts and found them to be quite relaxing. It was in that vein that I picked up this book, in to expand my knowledge on the subject, and possibly decide that I do have the fortitude to pull it e author, in a quest to explore the globe of the naturist and the nudist, enters that globe and explores it from, pardon the pun, every angle. He writes about the history of the nudist movement, explores different types of naturalists and examines resorts in Spain, France and Palm Springs, CA noting the differences in each and the attitude of the people in and around the addition, he went on a naked hike through the Austrian Alps as part of an organized, annual happening and explored a popular clothing optional beach in Southern California, as well as a naked cruise aboard a major cruise ship. Along the way, he dispels a lot of myths about the naturalist ly, the author examines, in some depth, the puritanical attitudes that cause people in this country to seem to freak out at the thought of providing zone on beaches and in parks for people that wish to shed their clothes and go au natural. One interesting tidbit….3 arrests for skinny dipping in Montana can lead to a life sentence in prison. Seems a might harsh!The author did an perfect job exploring this subject, and writes quite well. He has a special sense of humor that caused me to laugh out load on more than one occasion, and although he is serious about the subject, he writes in a method that makes it fun to learn about. I enjoyed this book immensely and would recommend it heartily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Naked at Lunch: A Reluctant Nudist's Adventures in the Clothing-Optional World []  2020-7-20 19:10

    i enjoyed the book very much. It is a fast read. The book although having much detail and background from the thought of a reluctant nudist, didn't for me have as much commentary as I would have liked.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    15KG Compact Electric Portable Clothing Dryer - Portable Clothes Dryer Rack Dries Clothing in 30 Minutes. Saves Time, Money & Space. Dries Everything. Use it Anywhere. [Book]  2019-12-6 18:50

    So I obtain this lightweight box in the mail, and I think.......hmm...... I begin the box and start to question the $84 I just spent. Then I start to place it together. It's like my brain is hooked to a dimmer switch. Ah, I obtain it. I'm dealing with engineering geniuses! It's perfect. Uncomplicated, lightweight, simple to assemble and maneuver, sturdy, quiet,.........but, does it work? Yes, it does. In fact, I'm so happy with this product that I've actually told strangers about it. I'm thinking of purchasing a second! Bonus, the Easy Living Products company is incredibly courteous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    15KG Compact Electric Portable Clothing Dryer - Portable Clothes Dryer Rack Dries Clothing in 30 Minutes. Saves Time, Money & Space. Dries Everything. Use it Anywhere. [Book]  2019-12-6 18:50

    Very Amazing and sturdy! Method of drying clothes gently without damaging it! Detachable rack in the middle gives you an option to dry larger longer clothes or smaller clothes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Too Perfect: When Being in Control Gets Out of Control []  2020-2-1 17:26

    As others have noted, this is a amazing book. It captures people who are too rigid and too perfect. Almost every chapter, I thought to myself, "this is me!" There are solutions in the book, but it will not come easy. Most of the solutions involve awareness (as often in life, you need to be aware of the issue to come up with a solution). This is probably why some reviewers didn't like it. It requires work to be able to change. And change requires awareness. (Want to be more aware in general? This is where meditation helps a lot.) At the same time for us perfectionist, who are hard on ourselves, I strongly recommend, Self-Compassion (by Kristen Neff).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Too Perfect: When Being in Control Gets Out of Control []  2020-2-1 17:26

    I could have used this book any time in the 18 years since it was published, but was particularly ripe for it now, since I've been doing a lot of work with problems of perfectionism and (it turns out) demand resistance. It's well written and goes down easy, at least in my experience -- the author is so nice about those obsessive traits that we've just taken a bit too far, so that they're hurting us. We have been buying multiple copies and passing them out. This is tricky because you can't just hand something to a typical perfectionist and say "you really need this"! Luckily my husband didn't it for me, and he didn't give it to me to read, otherwise it would still be sitting on the shelf. (See page 88!) Instead it has become our most necessary book in a year unusually crammed with necessary books, and has generated a lot of interest and discussion among the many, a lot of people we know who are "interested in the subject." No coincidence since people who care about doing things right tend to hang around together. Another dozen copies ought to do it, though!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Too Perfect: When Being in Control Gets Out of Control []  2020-2-1 17:26

    I agree with another reviewer this is not the most hands on book in terms of solutions (it's not filled with practical tips) but I think this is THE first book you should read in case you're looking for support with your obsessiveness. You'll see, clear as crystal, all the patterns and behaviors dissected through definitions and true life examples. You may go after a book with proposed solutions after reading this one but after is the operative word here, as now you understand each of the patterns of obsessive behavior, identified yourself with a few and know exactly WHAT you should focus on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Too Perfect: When Being in Control Gets Out of Control []  2020-2-1 17:26

    Perfect book. Described me to "perfection" :) I never realized the extent of just how obsessive I was or how much it could affect my habits, relationships, etc. Very eye opening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Too Perfect: When Being in Control Gets Out of Control []  2020-2-1 17:26

    Humbling. I'd like to smile upon those who have been able to admit to themselves that they need support with this subject. I don't know Allan, but he sure does know a lot about me! So far about 92% of what he says resembles me. Some of the characters in his book could easily be replaced with my name. Quite scary.Hope to journey together with all of you!Post any hints or resources, please!Best of luck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Too Perfect: When Being in Control Gets Out of Control []  2020-2-1 17:26

    Book was helpful for partner to understand the condition. This book is amazing if you are the partner/spouse of someone who doesn't accept this is them (leave it laying around maybe they will read it and have a realization). Also amazing if you are unsure if you are this type of person or if you have recently been diagnosed and need more info. I have known for years and found this is more of an explanation and general idea book, but not so much a self-help book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Too Perfect: When Being in Control Gets Out of Control []  2020-2-1 17:26

    I couldn't rate this book at 5 stars simply because I'm not knowledgeable in the topic field and wouldn't know if I was reading one of the best books on the topic - But I did have fun it, and I think it info of value in an simple to read format. I am an obsessive person, with over 65 years of experience in how to implement the lifestyle. I found the author's explanations clear and simple to understand, though his tidbits of actual patient encounters didn't always seem to drive the points home as he might have intended. Several reviewers have commented that the author "offered no solutions or action plans" to address the issues he discusses. On the contrary, he does provide high level guidance on some of the more necessary problems (there's an entire chapter devoted not the obsessive person, but to the people who have to live with such a person and steps they can take to cope and assist). More to the point, right in the book's preface the author clearly states the book is not intended to solutions, rather the intent is to describe and explain the obsessive condition in its a lot of forms. I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone interested in understanding obsessive behavior in themselves or in others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Too Perfect: When Being in Control Gets Out of Control []  2020-2-1 17:26

    Perfect and simple to read. Has the ability to really begin people’s eyes if they are willing to see.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386