Read incarcerated thoughts reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all incarcerated thoughts reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Incarcerated Scarfaces []  2020-1-27 22:25

    This collaboration was good. I loved every book I read D-block I wish more of it lol and I wish more of PG-13 book also. Don't wish to give away the stories but Hood Chronicles had me stuck lol I enjoyed it all and I want they wasn't short stories I would definitely love to read full books of these . So well written I love it !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Incarcerated Scarfaces []  2020-1-27 22:25

    The short stories were good. Some seemed to drag on. The first two were the best. I want all these authors much success with future books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Incarcerated Scarfaces []  2020-1-27 22:25

    I absolutely LOVED this book. Looking forward to part two in some of them. Will totally love to read more, if any of them have other books out. You did it again. You are the best.

    0  


    Add your opinion on incarcerated thoughts or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Incarcerated Scarfaces []  2020-1-27 22:25

    The short stories in this book were good. I have only read the work of Sa'id Salaam before. I enjoyed the other writers also.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Incarcerated Scarfaces []  2020-1-27 22:25

    It seemed as if the writers of each of the stories were writing about some aspect of their lives they l were very amazing stories with a warning, the girl who kills her daughter and no amazing husband , but left the gun in plain sight, the boys who wanted to obtain some fast money had me howling, when the one said his anus was sacred. Perfect read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Incarcerated Scarfaces []  2020-1-27 22:25

    In this book you have 4 short stories 2 by Sa'id Salaam and 2 by Hood Chronicles. My favorites were the 1st and 3rd ones. If you don't like short stories then this book isn't for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Incarcerated Scarfaces []  2020-1-27 22:25

    He is fire hands down its amazing he gave others a possibility while some need work it was still a amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Incarcerated Scarfaces []  2020-1-27 22:25

    The latest 48 was quick paced. Deputy Jenkins was taking advantage of his badge and went to far. Marlo was battling with the loss of her son and having to deal with the person behind that. Carlos listening to Dana [email protected]#$% lead him to do the unthinkable. Just when decided to give a well required apology. It didn't go the method he planned. The Ladies of D Block was interesting. I knew sooner or later Lisa was going to snap and she did. After the constant disrespect by her husband and daughter. Lisa also created the wrong move given her mother access to her cash after she found herself in trouble. Whore was interesting. Amber realized after her attack. King was heartless and he fueled Rena jealous for Amber. David got Amber to see that she deserves better but King wasn't letting Amber go that easily. Bleed like me was a eye opener for teenage boy's who are so fast to create simple cash not knowing the consequences it could bring. I want this story could have been a full length book. Pimp Bed left me wondering "What the hell". Nothing really stood out with this story. With all the dirt Stack was doing. I am curious to search out will Karma come to visit him and is April who's she's really claiming to be. I would like to see PG13 turned into a full novel. It drew you in from the beginning. All in all this compilations of short stories were interesting and entertaining. You obtain to see the uniqueness of each Author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Incarcerated Scarfaces []  2020-1-27 22:25

    I love short storylines its pimp bed caught my attention the most and I’m sure it has to be another book following, I’m waiting on the fresh stack and how his life went.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Amazing words

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Kool application The thoughts are very motivating and helps one hold going... Amazing app.. Loved it...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    खुपच छान...! १ च नंबर...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    I love this application it really helpful . we can use is it in our everyday work .I think it can more impact in our behavior.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Amazing app Nice collections of thoughts

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Nice concept...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Amazing application Gives fresh thought for everyday. Nice design

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Nice thoughts Useful in day today life the thought you have given.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Nice Application Amazing Thoughts!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    There are no settings menu. So no option to obtain any kind of notification from the app. False advertising. Misleading. 😕 👎

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Great, please add features to present some quotes on international days (like earth day passed, on that day present some thoughts about earth) :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Amazing application Users can find nice thoughts by selecting the categories and amazing interface, and icons used, it's really awesome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Nice thaughts Very nice app..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Luv it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Nice application that gives u everyday dose of inspiration

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Amazing Its amazing application provide with one thought every day . which refresh your whole day

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Nice App Everyday thoughts great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Nice thoughts

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Its amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts [App]  2018-5-28 21:8

    Love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Alone in the World: Children of the Incarcerated []  2020-9-19 18:24

    This book was very well written. It is awesome how dysfunctional our system is when it comes to taking care of our children. This book is very informative and folks that work with kids whose parents are incarcerated, or folks that work in law enforcement would benefit from reading this. I read this book for a graduate class at John Jay College of Criminal Justice and I also work in the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Alone in the World: Children of the Incarcerated []  2020-9-19 18:24

    It was my honor to have read this book. Somehow she captures perfectly the trauma of a young kid left in the wake of her parent's arrest and subsequent incarceration. You cannot read this book without a massive pang in your heart for these children, but beyond that she is able to create you feel for the convicts when upon their release they are left stifled by an wonderful lack of options.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Alone in the World: Children of the Incarcerated []  2020-9-19 18:24

    Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Alone in the World: Children of the Incarcerated []  2020-9-19 18:24

    We have failed to measure the real cost of our policy of incarcerating offenders and Nell Bernstein describes the costs that we have yet to pay. The hurt done to a whole generation of young people who have grown up without their incarcerated parents are coming of age, and we need to recognize and address the issues that the punishment policy has Bernstein has introduced us to these kids and the sadness that they will carry for the rest of their lives. She makes us care. She has also given us a well researched review of the system and the issues that have been made by society as well as making suggestions on how to prevent or diminish the hurt that we are doing.A must read for anyone who cares about the health of our society.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Alone in the World: Children of the Incarcerated []  2020-9-19 18:24

    Interesting, but not the most riveting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Alone in the World: Children of the Incarcerated []  2020-9-19 18:24

    This book changed my life as a social worker. I HIGHLY recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Alone in the World: Children of the Incarcerated []  2020-9-19 18:24

    Very insightful and well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Alone in the World: Children of the Incarcerated []  2020-9-19 18:24

    Important, compelling, and sad book about the millions of kids who have parents in prisons ("A six-year-old crouches behind his bed as armed strangers ransack his home, breaking through floorboards and throwing his parents to the ground. Downstairs, two police vehicles wait: one for his parents, one for him...."). Nell Bernstein and Soros Foundation deserve our thanks, and these kids deserve our support. Ari Kohn

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Alone in the World: Children of the Incarcerated []  2020-9-19 18:24

    I read this book for my Sociology of Childhood class. I loved it! It actually helped me to decide what demographic I wanted to work with for graduate school and my career overall. It is hard to place this book down. It is easily organized and includes such intimate accounts of those who experienced the a parent or parents who were incarcerated.I would highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Alone in the World: Children of the Incarcerated []  2020-9-19 18:24

    All Alone in the World: Kids of the Incarcerated required for a college class. Amazing price and service. very trustworthy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Third Thoughts []  2019-12-19 18:53

    Practically incomprehensible meanderings of a particle phisicists whose deep thoughts and theories will escape most readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Third Thoughts []  2019-12-19 18:53

    Although there are some thought provoking essays, much of the collection consists of prior presentations the author has made. It therefore has the feel of more of a convenient means of compiling a book to generate revenue. Not an beautiful proposition for a scientist of his stature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Third Thoughts []  2019-12-19 18:53

    This recent collection of essays by Steven Weinberg includes 25 gems. Highly recommended for their clear prose and thoughtful insights into physics and culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ow Thoughts []  2019-12-18 21:27

    Actual Rating: 4.5/5I adored this book of was sweet and genuine. I found myself smiling, laughing, and tearing up as I read. The vast majority of the poems were pleasant and relatable, but there were some flashes of real genius in Courtney's descriptions that left me only criticism (and the reason I knocked off half a star) is that I feel like it got a bit repetitive at times and there were a few cliches that created me wince. Honestly though, all poets are guilty of that, and it did not much result my overall enjoyment of this was also really nice to read an Own Voices LGBTQ+ book of poetry that focused on love and the normal ups and downs of relationships. Sometimes, it feels like the majority of LGBTQ+ literature involves some sort of strife that rooted in our ities. It was nice just to read about a love story for a change. That sort of queer literature is just as necessary as the stories that focus on coming out etc.I highly recommend it to fans of The Chaos of Longing and milk and honey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ow Thoughts []  2019-12-18 21:27

    This book is honestly my favorite poetry book I’ve ever read over milk and honey and books like that and trust me, I’ve read dozens of poetry. It is broken into sections to match what you are feeling. For example there is a section for missing someone or if you are moving someone things like that. If you have happened to stumble across this book don’t think twice press that purchase button it is awesome and worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2am Thoughts []  2020-1-28 23:4

    I am not one to leave reviews but I absolutely adore this book. I received it today in the mail and as soon as I picked it up, I turned to a random page and I fell in love. There are so a lot of attractive writings in here and as someone who takes pride in their writing, I know I will not be able to place it down. This book is beautiful, raw, deep and intricate in all the brilliant ways

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2am Thoughts []  2020-1-28 23:4

    Wow, it came so much quicker than it said it will, and since I live in Fresh Zealand, it only took 9 days which is actually quite fast! It wasn’t damaged at all and the book itself is amazing. I love the front and back cover, and every page is so raw and wow, so deep! Dusk is about being heratbrokened by a person, what loving felt like, while Dawn is about learning to move on, and how only you can save yourself. I love the notice it has at the end. Also the art goes so well with the poetry, and it makes the poetry more detailed! And the book is quite thin but I really don’t mind. 100% satisfied with my purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2am Thoughts []  2020-1-28 23:4

    I got this for a 14 year old girl, but read it first before giving it to her. I absolutely loved it! And she now loves it too! I really appreciated that it has a “dusk” and a “dawn” section... I think that is was relatable and very uplifting for my struggling teenager. Attractive poetry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2am Thoughts []  2020-1-28 23:4

    I absolutely loved the book. The covering is so matte and clean. The pages are so clean and pleasing. I truly felt connected with this book. I have read it a lot of times and still continue to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beautiful Thoughts []  2020-10-12 18:45

    Attractive peaceful piano instrumentals!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beautiful Thoughts []  2020-10-12 18:45

    Best CD. I've owned it for 20 yrs and have bought so a lot of for gifts. Best melody I own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ow Thoughts []  2019-12-18 21:27

    This is an enjoyable book to read. Some of her lines like “Time has no agenda. You can meet someone and love them right away or grow your love over a lot of years. You could have known someone for eternity and they still could not understand your core existence, yet the stranger at the bus stop knows exactly who you are. Time doesn’t mean a thing” could just have easily come from "Aleph" by Paulo Coelho, another favorite author. There are a lot of related books out there but this one and Rupi Kaur's "Milk and Honey" are the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Third Thoughts []  2019-12-19 18:53

    Some parallels can be seen between "Third Thoughts" and “Reason and the Find for Knowledge” (RSK) by Dudley Shapere: "Not that we know in advance what kinds of understanding is possible and satisfying. Learning is part of the work of science." (p. 64), and in RSK by DS: "The aim of science, then, cannot be restricted any method in advance of the investigation of nature." (p. 399); Steven Weinberg: that from the history of science we understand better what it means to be "... learning how to learn about the globe …" and "Much of the history of science has been a matter of learning what sort of questions should and should not be asked." (p. 64); and in RSK by DS: "Science thus develops through a give-and-take interaction between the methods with which it approaches nature and what it learns about nature … in all these aspects, science is topic to change. And it has learned to create those changes, wherever possible, in the light of reasons -- reasons which, for us, consist of observations of nature." …. "... learning through observation, we gradually forge concepts which reflect what we have found to be the case, or at least believe to be the case on the basis of the best reasons we have available; and then we seek to learn further about nature, and perhaps we will be led to further revision of the concepts we have forged, and so on." (p. xxxiii).The author has been at the forefront of modern science, explored physics, cosmology, and spoke on climate and security problems ("Lake Views", doentary movie "Nobelity"); acted as a public intellectual and created this knowledge accessible ("Facing Up: Science and its Cultural Adversaries"); and has studied the long, prestigious, and frequently arduous history of science ("To Explain the World").

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Third Thoughts []  2019-12-19 18:53

    Weinberg has done a amazing job with this book, as expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Third Thoughts []  2019-12-19 18:53

    It is profoundly instructive to learn that one has been wrong about something. It combats arrogance, and opens the mind to fresh ideas. Steven WeinbergPhilosophy is to be studied, not for the sake of any definite answers to its questions. . . but rather for the sake of the questions themselves; because these questions enlarge our conception of what is possible, enrich our intellectual imagination and diminish the dogmatic assurance which closes the mind versus rtrand Russell The Issues of PhilosophyPoetic and Polemic Mario Livio astrophysicist author of Why?: What Makes Us Curious 3Aug2018 Vol361 Problem 6401 rhaps what distinguishes us as human is our ability to move beyond reflexive emotional anoesis into dianoia discursive language and thought. Philosophy is the domain which allows wide ranging questions to be raised, shared and deeply considered among others who share the process of reading, conversation, self reflection and inquiry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beautiful Thoughts []  2020-10-12 18:45

    Attractive Thoughts, subtitled "Instrumental Melodies for Reflection" is appropriately named. The piano renditions are peaceful allowing me to read, write, or simply think without distracting me. The melody is also amazing background melody for quiet dining and conversation. I purchased two of Prim's CD's, this one and "Rachel's Song." I prefer "Rachel's Song" becausse of the songs included on it; nevertheless, either CD is a amazing buy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beautiful Thoughts []  2020-10-12 18:45

    One of the best relaxing CDs I've ever had

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2am Thoughts []  2020-1-28 23:4

    Amazing packaging! Super cute! Has some pictures if you were wondering. Can't really search a use for it now, but it has some nice quotes to look at from time 2 time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2am Thoughts []  2020-1-28 23:4

    The art in this book is beautiful cool! The poetry is beautiful good. I liked how the author ended each poem with the time of the day /night. It's different, because you don't see that often.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2am Thoughts []  2020-1-28 23:4

    Looove this book!! Takes u thru so a lot of various emotions. I felt nostalgic & sad at first, then free & independently content by the end lol. Easily one of my favorite books..There aren’t any boring, slow poems to skim through, either, like in other books. It’s all so raw & painfully relatable. The author clearly didn’t keep back when writing this..definitely something you could read more than once!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2am Thoughts []  2020-1-28 23:4

    My mate told me about this book im not really into these type of poem books but i loved reading it. I recommend it to others. Its amazing to ready at night before bed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ow Thoughts []  2019-12-18 21:27

    2.5 Stars.I tried so hard to like it, but it read more like a journal or a diary. It lacked the emotional pull and connection I was looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ow Thoughts []  2019-12-18 21:27

    Was recommended to me by a friend. I love poetry, but this was just not up my alley. I did read through about half of it before putting it down. The poems are sweet but very young and most focus on the same thing over and over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ow Thoughts []  2019-12-18 21:27

    I've been going through a rough time, as I have recently been broken up with, and reading these poems created me feel as if I wasn't alone. I hope that when I write my own poetry that I can be half as amazing as Courtney.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Third Thoughts []  2019-12-19 18:53

    A nice collection of beautifully written essays.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beautiful Thoughts []  2020-10-12 18:45

    We had this melody on a cassette tape and lost it. I was so excited to search it again and are AGAIN enjoying it over and over. Soft soothing melody without being fresh agey. We're delighted to have it in our lives again. We have three grandchildren living with us now and it offers relief from the stressful times. It even calms them down. The pieces are written by David Combs and performed by Gary Prim. Easy beauty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2am Thoughts []  2020-1-28 23:4

    An wonderful book that captures the emotions we can’t always place into words. Including the times the poems were written is not only special but illustrates the rollarcoaster of emotions we go through each day. You won’t regret buying it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ow Thoughts []  2019-12-18 21:27

    What are poems and attractive words supposed to create you feel? Connected. Like the strings of your heart are intertwined with the ink on the page. Although at times I feel a bit of something, I can’t relate much to the chapters. The various sections need referring to the table of contents rather than standing out in it's own kind of feels like the author did not pour her own feelings and thoughts into this, but rather snatched other people’s emotions and scribbled them down. Some of the poems feel empty and not powerful enough to pull you in with it. It is almost as if she is not feeling the certain emotions she is writing about at the time of writing.I don’t wish to be that person that compares but this is no ‘milk & honey’ book for sure. You can tell Rupi Kaur, the author of ‘milk and honey’, really poured her heart and soul to share her experience with her readers, yet this left me feeling blank after several e cover and art is amazing, and I love the black and white aesthetic although it came with a substance wiped on the front (not noticable unless directly under light).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Third Thoughts []  2019-12-19 18:53

    The books title prepared me for a series of reflections from one of the greatest theoretical physicists of our time. Unfortunately, the articles that dealt with technical matters were mostly impenetrable. I have a MS in Nuclear Engineering so I wonder how a lot of readers could understand a lot of this.When the book turns to more private thoughts, I found a very unremarkable liberal mindset. The comment that consumers generate the economy, not jobs, ignores the fact that except in a sot commune, you need a job before you become a consumer.I was embarrassed to pass this book along

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Third Thoughts []  2019-12-19 18:53

    This book is a small preachy and brings NY political view to almost every subject that could be political.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beautiful Thoughts []  2020-10-12 18:45

    This is my all-time favorite David combs/Gary prim collaboration. The most attractive piano melody you’ll find. Very relaxing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beautiful Thoughts []  2020-10-12 18:45

    This precious recording gave us joy hearing it in Carmel, CA on our 25th anniversary which was 22 years ago. How unbelievable to revisit it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beautiful Thoughts []  2020-10-12 18:45

    Enjoyable dinner music. A small sleepy in some cases. Gary's Prim's style. A nice addition to my piano, simple listening collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Third Thoughts []  2019-12-19 18:53

    Steven Weinberg is one of the few physicists who can create physical reductionism aesthetically pleasing. Having read most of Weinberg's work, however, this book is largely a recapitulation of his previous writings (some essays are directly taken from his other essay collection). Nothing particularly novel in this collection, but a amazing starting point for anyone fresh to Weinberg.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ow Thoughts []  2019-12-18 21:27

    I absolutely love this book :) if you like R.H. Sin or Lang Leav you’ll like this author as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ow Thoughts []  2019-12-18 21:27

    So beautifully written. I felt every word! So relatable as well. I read this book in 4 days, i could not stop reading. I read every possibility i had! I also really like how the book is seperated by section. I know whenever I need some advice, i know exactly where to turn. I definitely reccomend this book! I cant wait to purchase her next book “Road Between.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ow Thoughts []  2019-12-18 21:27

    *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*Simply put, I found this collection to be absolutely beautiful. Each poem was thoughtful and moving and an absolute joy to read. It touched my life at a time when I required it most, so I could not support falling in love with ow Thoughts. Peppernell’s writing flows perfectly, and her poetry paints a stunning picture of life’s ups and downs. She eloquently coveys every poem—breathes life into them—and gives them a amazing amount of depth. These poems are the sort that readers can truly connect with, and each person’s interpretation will be different. They reach into every corner of our hearts and remind us that it is okay for us to feel—gives us a raw and vivid portrayal of what it is to be is is a collection that I believe most people will be able to connect with and search meaning in. Every piece is straightforward yet incredibly profound—very accessible for anyone, no matter who they are or where they are in life. I found comfort in these words as they told me that I am not alone, even when I’m feeling lonely in the midst of my troubles. These poems transcend their own simplicity to make a meaningful depiction of the most primary and universal experiences we face in our lives. The reader will search their own special meaning depending on their private lives, and take away what their soul is craving at that moment. I look forward to reading more of Peppernell’s work in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2am Thoughts []  2020-1-28 23:4

    This book of poems is amazing!!! Anyone who has had their heart broken can feel what Makenzie is writing about. She has a very inspiring, positive outlook. So much heart for such a young woman. Any parent with teenagers should read this, to understand how much their children feelings matter. And not just teenagers but us adults need to know that life is an adventure, So let's live it!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beautiful Thoughts []  2020-10-12 18:45

    When I first started listening to this CD, I loved it; but by the end of the CD, I was disappointed. The pieces all began to sound alike. I'm keeping it because I create playlists and inserting a few of these pieces into a mixed CD, they will be fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beautiful Thoughts []  2020-10-12 18:45

    We enjoyed every song on this CD, which is rare and it was truly 'like new'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Becoming Ms. Burton: From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women []  2020-1-19 23:21

    A remarkable story -- and a book you will never forget. Becoming Ms. Burton is an ideal companion to Michelle Alexander's The Fresh Jim Crow and every American should read it in order to understand the not good human cost that the battle on and mass incarceration have had on our society -- a cost felt way, method disproportionately by people of color -- and to appreciate the nearly impossible odds people face when they obtain out of prison after ostensibly having paid their dues. Susan Burton got lucky by getting treatment and support but there are thousands upon thousands like her whose lives have effectively been destroyed. The book is particularly amazing at describing how kids whose parents obtain caught up in the criminal justice system (often for minor offenses for which middle-class white parents would obtain community service or probation) are treated like criminals themselves and how insanely unfair and inhumane our criminal justice system is. Some of the statistics in the book are really shocking but despite the topic matter, there is nothing dreary about the book: in the first half Burton chronicles her difficult childhood but in the second half the book soars as Burton describes developing an understanding of what happened to her and her family and points the method toward what can be done. It is also a thrilling recovery story that people will search enthralling and inspiring. This is one of the most moving books I have ever read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Becoming Ms. Burton: From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women []  2020-1-19 23:21

    Becoming Ms. Burton is an wonderful story about the average person in America that has struggled with addiction and is caught up in the judicial system. Ms. Burton goes through her childhood, the death of her son, her addiction, and her success in becoming one of the country's leading voices for the formerly incarcerated. Her story is very touching although is not one of a kind. She makes a point in the book to explain that every life has a value and a meaning. Ms. Burton defied the odds of a repeated offender not only to turn her life around but to support others. Ms. Burton’s calling of life was truly to live the life she did, so she support create a difference and give opportunities to others. She made a foundation called A Fresh Method of Life, this foundation has been successful in helping others turn their life’s around. I am a Teacher that works inside the prison system. I chose to read this book to not only support understand my students but to support them become better individuals. After reading this book I plan on sharing Ms. Burton story with them. Sometimes I feel that it takes a amazing success story to give incarcerated individuals the drive to better themselves. Ms. Burton has done a amazing amazing telling her life story and delivering the notice in this Book A++++.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind Barbed Wire: Searching for Japanese Americans Incarcerated During World War II []  2020-1-22 0:34

    History

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Day: A Year of Love and Survival Teaching Incarcerated Kids at Rikers Island []  2020-6-24 18:28

    Total behind-the-scenes look at a fascinating subculture. Peterson writes in a very casual, road intelligent style. I worked in a prison, and I think this is one of the most realistic portrayals of the everyday grind behind the walls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prison: The Hidden Sentence™: WHAT TO DO WHEN YOUR LOVED ONE IS ARRESTED AND INCARCERATED []  2021-4-6 22:19

    Prison: The Hidden Sentence is a much needed, long-awaited resource and help for mates and families of incarcerated persons. Author Julia Lazareck combines her own and others' private stories of what it's like to be a mate or family member of someone in prison with practical "how to" and "what to do" guidelines for what to do and what questions to ask if it happens to you. Ms. Lazareck removes the veil of secrecy and shame when a mate or family member is incarcerated and invites all of us to look through eyes of compassion rather than judgment and offer help rather than turning away because we don't understand what it's like. If you know anyone who has a loved one being arrested or imprisoned, give them this book. And buy one for yourself so you can better understand and help them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind Barbed Wire: Searching for Japanese Americans Incarcerated During World War II []  2020-1-22 0:34

    While this book is not yet available on Amazon, I had the pleasure of attending the author's book signing on April 20, 2019 at the Japanese American National Museum in Los Angeles and bought the book there. Paul started researching these photographs when he learned from an uncle that there was a image of his father when he was incarcerated as a teenager with his family during WWII. As with a lot of of these families, it was not discussed and, in fact, Paul did not search out about the incarceration until he was 16. Being of non-Japanese decent, I did not learn about it until a mate who was deeply involved in Asian America problems told me about it when I was 19. Given latest happenings on immigration around the world, this story is even more relevant and needs to be shared so that we are (hopefully) not doomed to repeat history. Never again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Becoming Ms. Burton: From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women []  2020-1-19 23:21

    This book was so riveting, so honest and raw. I couldn't place it down. I cried because I could feel her pain through her writing. In reading this memoir, I could imagine Susan Burton's childhood, the melody of that era, the roughness of her brothers, her pain that caused her descent into addiction - then on to overcoming her addiction to becoming the voice and support for hundreds of women and kids affected by and societal inflictions of all the issues - I admire her SO much. This book is a must-read!Velma JenkinsMiami, Florida

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Becoming Ms. Burton: From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women []  2020-1-19 23:21

    This book is a complete page-turner and a much required first-person voice in the realms of courageous, resilient lives who heal and overcome tremendous challenges. Ms. Burton's life is huge because of her outstanding living, huge risks, huge healing, and huge movement building. She exposes how systems intertwine in the lives of Black and Brown people in our country an how essential it is for us to build a movement, to demand more of ourselves, our own lives, and most importantly our institutions. Even so, even if you place the book down half-way through you'd knwo what an extraordinary woman this is. Read it all, and claim more for your own life, too! Let's roll up our sleeves and obtain to work with this motivating, inspiring, call to action!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Day: A Year of Love and Survival Teaching Incarcerated Kids at Rikers Island []  2020-6-24 18:28

    As a unique education teacher, I found Ms. P's story to be riveting. Her method of telling her story through her eyes and the eyes of her students was moving and real. I appreciated her authenticity. This is a must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prison: The Hidden Sentence™: WHAT TO DO WHEN YOUR LOVED ONE IS ARRESTED AND INCARCERATED []  2021-4-6 22:19

    This book will support anyone who has someone entering the prison system. It is an simple read and well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Becoming Ms. Burton: From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women []  2020-1-19 23:21

    I am so thrilled with this book. Susan Burton's story about her childhood, the death of her son, her descent into addiction, and her emergence as one of the country's leading voices for incarcerated and formerly incarcerated people is inspirational, painful, and enlightening. It's a must-read for anyone concerned about women, prisons, poverty, addiction, and abuse -- problems that intersected for the author and intersect for a lot of women who end up in America's jails and prisons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Becoming Ms. Burton: From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women []  2020-1-19 23:21

    The book provides insight and info so desperately required for understanding a subject too easily avoided. Warehousing, locking away and denying opportunities to persons labeled "criminal" "felon" or "law-breaker" keeps us ignorant of human beings with complex life experiences and dreams like we all have. I was deeply moved, hugely inspired and greatly challenged by reading this perfect book of stories. Read and then take actions to improve our world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disability Incarcerated: Imprisonment and Disability in the United States and Canada []  2020-1-17 21:32

    In the post-911 era, this fresh "criminal justice" book (our two authors from the unique education field), marks the fresh Zero Tolerance period in the US resulting in the highest incarceration rates in the world. The exposes of 2015 criminal justice systems can start to rival those of the Burton Blatt and Kaplan Christmas in Incarceration of Women Reported in Disability Fieldceptionally written and researched, the authors share fresh startling incarceration figures including a 800% incarceration rate of black women and 400% of white women in the US. By 1999, 72% of the women imprisoned were for offenses, and the US women prison population reportedly grew from 12,300 in 1980 to 182,271 in 2002 (Ware, Ruzza, & Dias, 2014). Syrus Ware leads the "attack" ("It can't be fixed because it is not broken"), on the Prison, Industrial Complex (already the PIC) which benefits, among others, the "nonprofit industrial complex".Intellectual and Developmental Disability: Deinstitutionalization and History of Custodial CareDr. Phil Ferguson (now from the state of Oregon), who has been tracing the history of Fresh York Asylums or Institutions, begins with the Central and Northern Fresh York institutions established in the late1800s (e.g., with an necessary "class insight" on the separation or "comingling" of the "curable and the "incurable". The institutions involved are: Syracuse State School for Feeble-Minded Kids (1852; not reported in chapter as planned closure to community); State Custodial Asylum for Feeble-Minded Women (est., Newark, 1878); Rome State Custodial Asylum (est. 1894, closed, and 2 prisons opened on site); Letchworth Village (1911); Willard Asylum (1865); and Craig Colony for Epileptics (est. Sonyea, 1896, status of reported closure available in Braddock, et al, 2015). Dr. Ferguson extensive research intends to illuminate the historic practices of institutions to the well known "history repeats itself" (e.g., Walter Fernald of Massachusetts in 1891 on the use of "higher functioning female inmates" to care for the "lowest grade idiots, paralyptics [and] the helpless".)At the Institutional to Community Care BorderI thank Chris Chapman, Allison Carey and Liat Ben-Moshe, for the first phrase that I believe applies to institutions: the people must "accept institutional conditions that no one would choose to inhabit" - "my feeling" from huge scale nursing homes to intellectual disabilities and psychiatric institutions (those three health care facilities or hospitals these days, 2015) to huge campuses (now growing and expanding with assisted living and other funds in US) and another set of penal institutions most know not of, prisons and jails. Their chapter reports that in 2005, "more than half of all prison and jail inmates were reported to have a mental health problem". In Chapter 2, Chris Chapman will become historian and begins, "in medicine, contemporary to the amazing confinement".School to Prison: The Fresh Jim Crow and DisabilityDr. Nirmala Erevelles, a doctoral student from Syracue University back in 1991 or so, aligns with the significant book by Michelle Andersen "The Fresh Jim Crow" in her examination and critique of the "school to prison pipeline" (Aul IV, 2012). In the political science context, she describes the "complex network of laws, rules and policies and policies supported by the exploitative political economy" (p.82) and what is now termed the "mass incarceration" with due process and sentencing. She traces the Zero-Tolerance policies of schools to the Gun-Free Schools Act of 1994 (Winn & Belizadel, 2011) and cites literature on the "cradle to grave prison track" (Heitzeg, 2009) and "medical necessity" of lf Advocacy and the Revisitation to PennhurstMark Friedman and Ruthie-Marie Beckwith primarily discuss Speaking for Ourselves with Roland Johnson and People First of Tennessee. with Tia Nelis of Illinois and Nancy Ward of Nebraska writing for the national Self Advocates Becoming Empowered. Roland Johnson, whom I met in a Sheraton Hotel discussing the need for jobs (introduced by Bonnie Shoultz), former resident of the historic Pennhurst case, visited a 100-bed Annex to Pennhurst (Pinehill) indicating that "It smelled like Pennhurst. It was just an poor sight to see...I had tears when I came out of there." (1999). The chapter reveals that Roland was part of a Pennsylvania effort to answer to a state legislative proposal to restrict the ability of the Governor to close institutions with their ternative to IncarcerationLiat Ben-Moshe (2014) "makes an effort" to intertwine what she believes are the "confluence" of the prison abolitionists, anti-psychiatry and deinstitutionalization activists to seek alternative responses "to hurt and ways of dealing with pain and altered states of mind". Her list of resistance contains "strange bedfellows" from the American Mates Service Committee (religious, Quakers who are non-violent activists) to prison projects (e.g., the Prison Moratorium, Prison Activist Resource Center) to the range of "residential" and "health care activists" (e.g., psychiatric survivors, intellectual disabilities, such as L'Arche). She decribes Morriss' effort to distinguish between "true community alternatives" and prisons in the community, describing the co-optation by states and criminal justice for its own use "in almost everything she worked in".The alternatives to incarceration chapter reminds me of the context of "who is on voluntary or involuntary community status", significant federal-state education projects with universities in the US, the community and activist efforts to "retrieve the brethren" from the government's hold, and the need to move to transformative vs restorative justice. In the difficult environment of the current "criminal justice status quo" (e.g., see, Alzheimer's surveillaince, amber alerts, police surveillaince cameras, GPS monitoring), she adds that "prison abolition activists do not view....electronic monitoring bracelets as adding to the freedom of those who have been criminalized" but increasing the "net incarceration and punitiveness-at-large". Agreed! And the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (2006) and the expect debates at the Globe Health Organization (WHO, 2014) in the mental health field are critical avenues to pursue in addition to addressing the "parent role of university education" to its "criminal justice and substance abuse" programs in community CommentaryCritically necessary, but insufficient to address the context of how to address the size and shape of the current situation in the US and in Canada, the book will be a successful addition to textbooks for graduate students in the college and university sectors. We welcome participation in developing the US Direct Professional Help Workforce (Larson et al, 2014 in Racino, 2014) at which contains "addiction aides" and an expected multicultural workforce through findings in community integration (2014) are that the actual "municipal police" with "federal justice" claimed to be the community integration (See, wikipedia, community integration) leads for jobs and housing, and I would assume "took the community funds" in that manner (e.g., creation of unemployment of other professionals). The criminal justice groups have also coalesced around "money for return from prison", health care in prisons, stricter enforcement and expanded nets and controls at traditional "moral vices", expansion of the old campus facilities, expansion of community treatment orders, and still practically no info on "who dun it" to us ("an elite class") or the Julie Ann Racino, Courtesy, October 2015

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Day: A Year of Love and Survival Teaching Incarcerated Kids at Rikers Island []  2020-6-24 18:28

    This book set my soul on fire with passion and love. As a Hispanic woman, student, and educator this book spoke to my soul on so a lot of levels. Ms.P aka Sista Liza speaks the truth of what so a lot of people are blinded to see about what is event to our Black and Latino in this country. It is raw and it is true and that is why it is a must read for everyone! 10/10 highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prison: The Hidden Sentence™: WHAT TO DO WHEN YOUR LOVED ONE IS ARRESTED AND INCARCERATED []  2021-4-6 22:19

    This book is not a novel or a feel amazing story. It is a primer, a resource should you search yourself or someone you care about dealing with the incarceration of a loved one. It has info on obtaining power of attorney and what color clothes not to wear on a visit to prison. The author also emphasizes the importance of finding support from a prison family help group. It is a helpful reference book should you search yourself or someone you care about “doing time on the outside.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prison: The Hidden Sentence™: WHAT TO DO WHEN YOUR LOVED ONE IS ARRESTED AND INCARCERATED []  2021-4-6 22:19

    Julia Lazareck uses her firsthand experience of having a brother inside to illuminate ways that loved ones can cope while dealing with the harsh realities of incarceration on both sides of the fence. Written in a user-friendly fashion with true life ogs, Prison The Hidden Sentence is a practical book. The type of book that could really save a family member from sinking into depression, or an incarcerated person from feeling like they've lost a keep of their community outside. It is the kind of book that will bring people together. Thanks to Ms. Lazareck for bridging that gap and being vulnerable with her true life experiences to do that. This is a must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Confessions of the Incarcerated: The Faces & Voices of Men: Some Serving Time/Some Doing Life []  2020-1-15 21:9

    This book is about true guys and their life they lived and crimes they did. If you are the curious type of person about an inmates life that lead him to prison, this book is for you. So much more than just interviews. Keith, Finally got it published. Man I was about to give up on you, but you proved me wrong. I said I'd buy it if you published it. Hold up the amazing work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Confessions of the Incarcerated: The Faces & Voices of Men: Some Serving Time/Some Doing Life []  2020-1-15 21:9

    amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind Barbed Wire: Searching for Japanese Americans Incarcerated During World War II []  2020-1-22 0:34

    You hear about books like this and stories like these and you wonder how we got here at one time. Then you look at the globe you are living in today and wonder how don't people see how simple it would be to slip HIND BARBED WIRE by Paul Kitagaki, Jr. to me does three things: 1) it takes the reader/viewer on his own journey to tell the stories of those closest to him; 2) it gives others who might not have felt as though their stories and experienced mattered a platform to be seen and heard and 3) it reminds us that the human race is the only race that should matter----and no one should ever be treated less than because of what they look like or where they are from.I went through the book feeling sadness as well as inspired by the tenacity of those who we now obtain to know beyond a image and a number. I also felt like if they were able to overcome all that they did so could I.A book that needs to be seen, read and reflected upon. This is one of those works that remind us of the importance of remembering (and protecting) our humanity.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386