international climate change law Reviews & Opinions


Submit international climate change law review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Significant Changes to the International Plumbing Code®, International Mechanical Code®, and International Fuel Gas Code® (IPC®, IMC®, IFGC®) (Significant ... Code and International Fuel Gas Code) review []  2020-1-17 21:43

    When will the codemakers create the code like this?? Why can't they contain any diagrams? Think about it, every code has some illustrated companion confirming that the code is inadequate on its own. Amazing book, thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Significant Changes to the International Plumbing Code®, International Mechanical Code®, and International Fuel Gas Code® (IPC®, IMC®, IFGC®) (Significant ... Code and International Fuel Gas Code) review []  2020-1-17 21:43

    This is the one book you must have.We are going to change to 2013 code and this is the best book a must buy. Paul

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Significant Changes to the International Plumbing Code®, International Mechanical Code®, and International Fuel Gas Code® (IPC®, IMC®, IFGC®) (Significant ... Code and International Fuel Gas Code) review []  2020-1-17 21:43

    As described, quick shipping.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on international climate change law or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch international climate change law video reviews and related movies:

    See Climate Change in International Law on youtube.

     related image

    See International Climate Change Law and Policy | NewcastleX on edX on youtube.

     related image

    See Bringing human rights into international negotiations on climate change on youtube.

     related image

    See The Paris Climate Change Agreement Explained on youtube.

     related image

    See Climate Change & Rule of Law: Lecture by Philippe Sands QC chaired by Lord Carnwath, UKSC, 17.09.15 on youtube.

     related image

    See Climate Change Law and Policy (LLM) on youtube.

     related image

    See CA Extends Most Ambitious Climate Change Law on youtube.

     related image

    See Climate Change and Rule of Law on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Significant Changes to the International Plumbing Code®, International Mechanical Code®, and International Fuel Gas Code® (IPC®, IMC®, IFGC®) (Significant ... Code and International Fuel Gas Code) review []  2020-1-17 21:43

    Amazing illistrations and explanations. I want they would do a tutorial to the whole code book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Bank Account: 22 Feng Shui and Law of Attraction Exercises to Manifest More Money review []  2020-1-18 19:10

    It was an simple read, simple to understand, and simple to follow. I'm optimistic that with a small work I can rewire my brain to begin thinking positively, and adding Feng shui to the mix is very interesting. It's going to be a challenge but the book excites me enough to actually wish to create some changes. I'm not always the most positive thinking person.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Bank Account: 22 Feng Shui and Law of Attraction Exercises to Manifest More Money review []  2020-1-18 19:10

    Provides compelling info about how a person’s mental state can bring about physical changes to a person’s physical well being with studies and such. It then continues the next step on how utilizing the mental positive energy you can achieve other goals external to the self such as money. Undoubtably, being positive is a true part of the equation in any endeavor. This work provides a degree of inspiration at the very least, not certain if it will provide the impact the book asserts it will, but will give it a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Bank Account: 22 Feng Shui and Law of Attraction Exercises to Manifest More Money review []  2020-1-18 19:10

    I had been looking for more. The gist is there but it's.missing something. I felt like I was reading an idea for a book rather than an actual book. The tid bits were where they required to be and the info passed along is okay. The subjects are rich and ready for someone to dig into. The single subject of Feng shui with it's involvement in LOA , had method more to be said, no, required method more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Bank Account: 22 Feng Shui and Law of Attraction Exercises to Manifest More Money review []  2020-1-18 19:10

    If you wish more money, then you need to accept that you deserve this money. You need to obtain rid of the negativity and embrace positivity. In this book, Ingrid Morgan shares technigues including meditation, Feng Shui, journalling, and vision boards to support you clear your mind and focus your attention on positive energy in the pursuit of financial freedom.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Bank Account: 22 Feng Shui and Law of Attraction Exercises to Manifest More Money review []  2020-1-18 19:10

    Very interesting reading. This author created some very amazing points, regarding the powers of our minds. I think I'll test meditation!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Bank Account: 22 Feng Shui and Law of Attraction Exercises to Manifest More Money review []  2020-1-18 19:10

    A quick, interesting read that puts forth some very amazing ideas. The law of attraction mixed with other well know techniques are definitely amazing locations to begin anyone off on the street to bettering themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Bank Account: 22 Feng Shui and Law of Attraction Exercises to Manifest More Money review []  2020-1-18 19:10

    I really liked the info contained in this book....it is a fascinating read with a lot of "aha" moments. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Bank Account: 22 Feng Shui and Law of Attraction Exercises to Manifest More Money review []  2020-1-18 19:10

    There is a lot of wisdom in this short book that combines the tenets of The Law of Attraction with those of Feng Shui.I was familiar with most of the principles of the Law of Attraction because I have read (and edited) a lot of books on that topic and this is a amazing recap that talks about the importance of working on our subconscious mind and any potential obstacles that stand in our method of achieving what we want. Abundance will not appear magically for someone who has a deep-seated belief that he or she is not deserving, especially of money. There is also a bit of a seeming contradiction in that the method to achieve more is to care about it less. The Buddhists have always known this and that is why they focus on detachment and a lack of craving. At the same time, we wish to affirm and believe that we can be financially e Feng Shui was fresh to me. I appreciated the concepts of creating order, tidiness, and cleanliness in our homes and working environments. That created sense. Some of the other things sounded a small silly like moving 27 objects to a various place, but I understand the assumption behind that — we are just creating change and welcoming it into our l in all, this was a very amazing read. One of the things I liked best was the suggestion that in order to keep more, we should give more. My brother has always lived by this philosophy and it has served him well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Bank Account: 22 Feng Shui and Law of Attraction Exercises to Manifest More Money review []  2020-1-18 19:10

    I absolutely inhaled this book. It’s an amazing read and it provides readers with essential info about how things might work in the universe, and in our everyday lives…even if most of us aren’t cognizant of this being the cording to Ingrid Morgan, everything around us is created from little sub-atomic particles that are vibrating with energy. Human beings are created from the same stuff, and how we think often affects the energy patterns we transmit. It’s a beautiful easy concept to understand: If you think positively and place that kind of energy out there, the same kind of positive vibrations are going to search their method back to you.I have always tried to apply a lot of the tip found in this book in my own life. I definitely believe that the energy you place out comes right back in your direction. And this is probably real with regards to cash and finances.I highly recommend this book to anyone looking to add some positive energy into their life while getting a fresh glimpse on how the universe might work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Bank Account: 22 Feng Shui and Law of Attraction Exercises to Manifest More Money review []  2020-1-18 19:10

    This book focuses mostly on the law of attraction. It's wrapped in a shell of making money, which everybody needs- but really focuses on changing your attitude towards life in general. The point is, everyone needs a amazing attitude too. I admit I am intrigued by the law of attraction but still have doubts about it. Without delving too deeply into studies there is some concrete evidence provided that proves controlling your mind can be lucrative to life. The placebo result is true and maybe that's amazing ere is also a Feng Shui section of the book as well as exercises to place the two ideas together to increase wealth (or create yourself whole, the two are really intertwined). The book doesn't claim that all you have to do is move some furniture around you'll be rich. It does claim that Feng Shui and visualization are amazing first steps. That's why I liked it, it's easy steps towards success that even someone on the fence/skeptical could follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reconsidering Logical Positivism: A Comparative Study of EC and US Law (Cambridge Studies in International and Comparative Law Book 8) review []  2020-1-17 22:1

    Friedman's acc of the logical positivists. The first section was a bit of a whirlwind ride through the school and the debates of the era, and I found it tough going with a lot of assumption of background knowledge which I have largely forgotten. The second section (an examination of Carnap's Aufbau) and the third (on the principle of tolerance, largely centered on Carnap) are clearly written and an perfect explication of Carnap's thought. Highly recommended for students of Austrian analytic philosophy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reconsidering Logical Positivism: A Comparative Study of EC and US Law (Cambridge Studies in International and Comparative Law Book 8) review []  2020-1-17 22:1

    This book is an perfect collection of essays by Michael Friedman (most of the essays have been previously published) on logical positivism. Friedman challenges the so-called "received view" of logical positivism (the focus of the essays are on Carnap, Schlick, and Reichenbach). Friedman demonstrates his rich understanding on the history of 20th century analytic philosophy, the exact sciences, and the positivists. The book also reflects Friedman's bonuses as historian and philosopher. In my view, Friedman presents a persuasive case for viewing the positivists as neo-Kantians (especially, in the "relative a priori" that he argues that they articulate), however, he takes this interpretation a bit too far at some points (NB, a useful sequel to this book is Friedman's "Dynamics of Reason"). Nonetheless, the resulting book represents a valuable contribution to scholarship on logical empiricism and the history of analytic philosophy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reconsidering Logical Positivism: A Comparative Study of EC and US Law (Cambridge Studies in International and Comparative Law Book 8) review []  2020-1-17 22:1

    There is a movement of reconsidering logical positivism since the 1990's. Anybody, who is interested in logical positivism, and wants to learn more on it, not just the received view, this book is interesting. But of course more essential for specialists, who must know about these fresh theories.A lot of the received view on logical positivism is refuted in this book. All the content is by Friedman, some of it taken from his latest articles.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reconsidering Logical Positivism: A Comparative Study of EC and US Law (Cambridge Studies in International and Comparative Law Book 8) review []  2020-1-17 22:1

    Collects some amazing papers together in the effort to redeem a few strands of positivism. More folks need to read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks: A 21 Day Law of Attraction Experiment To Help you Achieve the Physical Appearance You’ve Always Dreamed Of review []  2020-1-13 19:19

    I've always been a small bit skeptical about the ideas around manifesting your desires simply by believing in them/yourself. On the other hand, I have seen it work for other people and I do believe positivity is always a better method to approach life. I like the method the book is laid out with guidelines for each day because I think its hard to bring some of these ideas to fruition (easier said than done, as they say).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks: A 21 Day Law of Attraction Experiment To Help you Achieve the Physical Appearance You’ve Always Dreamed Of review []  2020-1-13 19:19

    This book is amazing for anyone who is fresh to the globe of law of attraction and wants a fast dive into the deeper elements of this hot subject problem to support them live a more optimistic and spiritually inclined life.I like how the book begins by mapping everything out in 1.) ask, 2.) believe, and 3.) keep format. I also appreciated that the author expressed that it would not be simple to do this. She didn’t just gloss over this fact, and I found it comforting that she reminded us that our beliefs, past conditioning block us from receiving. As she puts it the sub-conscious mind jumps in the method and blocks our conscious choices. Our fear affects our amazing vibes preventing us from actualizing our dreams. She then reminds us that “The reason this affects your results with the Law of Attraction so powerfully is because the Law of Attraction can only deliver situations and experiences that align with your dominant focus.”One of the stand out moments in reading through this book was the chapter “You Don’t Wish What You Think You Want” because it was really confronting. It reminded me how often I wish material things in my life, or rather think I wish them, but really I am wanting safety, happiness, joy, freedom but it is masked in nice hair, an expensive car, etc.Another chapter that was an epic reminder for me was “Don’t worry about the how.” I think since I struggle with this it was nice to be reminded that there are a billion ways to reach the same outcome, so to not be so focused on achieving things in the narrow minded method that I think is best. God or as the author puts it, the Universe knows best!Three extra ideas I enjoyed were:1.) Act like you are living the life you want. Something about dressing for the part, or conjuring the emotions of success increase the vibration around you, elevating your likelihood to search that same level of success.2.) “To fix a issue ignore it” - To me this idea was crazy because we like to consume ourselves with solving problems so its so trippy that when you focus on what you love or what is amazing the issue or the hold-up about the issue just goes away.3.) Hold secrets - telling other peoples spoils the process and slows us down, not to mention their fear is projected on us.Okay I could go on forever because this stuff’s interesting! Go check out the book for yourself and allow me know what you think.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks: A 21 Day Law of Attraction Experiment To Help you Achieve the Physical Appearance You’ve Always Dreamed Of review []  2020-1-13 19:19

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks feels like a personal philosophical discussion between two friends, over a glass of wine. Or an older sister giving advice. I want there were specific references to the studies at the beginning of the book; (age in reverse, the hotel study, the Cleveland Clinic study) but Morgan’s passion outshines any deficiencies!Ingrid Morgan is passionate about the Law of Attraction; in the process of writing about her love gives the reader a glimpse into her soul. She has a method of thinking with duality, of striving to create the best of every r example, she mentions laboring outside all day doing landscaping as getting paid to have fun the weather and work out. One of my first jobs was landscaping. It was dirty. As a young man, I couldn’t wait for the end of the workday. But there were a lot of positives I didn’t see. For example, I was part of a close-knit group, became muscular, tan. The results of my labors gave me confidence. If everyone had Morgan’s perspective, the globe would be a better place!Morgan puts it so simply; when you’re feeling down, do things that’ll pick up your spirit. The skeptical person might say, “Sounds so simple for you, but it’s impossible for me!” But Morgan writes with such conviction, her faith drips off the pages. Reading passages from it again will rub off. Having the book close by on a bedside stand or on a bookshelf by a memory-worn chair could be a life-altering experience!Often, the concept of Belief is a Muscle (pg 29) has happened to me, but I just place it in the coincidence category. Also, practicing an attitude of gratitude is another amazing piece of advice! Morgan articulates them well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks: A 21 Day Law of Attraction Experiment To Help you Achieve the Physical Appearance You’ve Always Dreamed Of review []  2020-1-13 19:19

    I became a fan of Ingrid Morgan latest year when I read Practical Magik, so I was delighted when I discovered her recent works. I decided to read “Change Your Brain Change Your Looks” next because my main discovery from her earlier book is she provides a clear and effective method to think about change. To be honest, I wasn’t that interested in changing my looks, but my intuition was that her tip would be applicable to other locations that required my focus. I really enjoyed the refresher on the Law of Attraction because to me it represents a reminder to go back to the basics at the begin of any fresh challenge. Send a clear signal, believe in it and then be openly receptive to what a loving, caring universe sends your way. I’m sure everyone out there who thinks this method has a long list of amazing examples of things that go method beyond mere coincidence. It is clear that most people do not like change in any way, shape or form. And yet, change is an inevitable fact of life. I feel like by reading this book and embracing the actionable advice, it gives me a leg up on the vast majority of people who resist it. What I also liked about this book is that, like most of us I suspect, there is a lot of evidence that it takes 21 days for a fresh habit to take root. It is one thing to know that, but quite another in executing on it. In “Change” the author provides the reader with everyday exercises that create the 21 day challenge less daunting. She provides coaching on how to make your own momentum and then build on it. I particularly liked the idea of getting into the habit of picking up a piece of trash yourself instead of passing it by. It’s an easily actionable method of being show in your everyday life and embracing change wherever you search it. And lastly, I enjoyed being exposed to amazing minds like Vonnegut, Goddard and Zea that I might not have found on my own. I’m off to the races on my own, private 21 day challenge!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks: A 21 Day Law of Attraction Experiment To Help you Achieve the Physical Appearance You’ve Always Dreamed Of review []  2020-1-13 19:19

    I received a copy from the author and though I have read several "Law of attraction" books, this one does take an interesting viewpoint on physical appearance. Though I am not completely convinced of the whole concept of "law of attraction" yet I do believe there is some truth in it. Some of these principles absolutely can be applied to reversing aging and how we are growing and developing physically and how we view and see ourselves. This is a amazing book to read if you're dealing with self confidence problems and wish to see yourself in a fresh light. Everything does take work and effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks: A 21 Day Law of Attraction Experiment To Help you Achieve the Physical Appearance You’ve Always Dreamed Of review []  2020-1-13 19:19

    Ingrid Morgan’s “Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks” is – above all else – satisfying. For one, the book is beautifully formatted and well-written. The tone is casual but not too conversational and Morgan’s optimism throughout is a welcome change compared to a lot of other books within the “self-help” or self-improvement genre which more often than not are written by authors trying to demean readers into following their advice.I enjoyed Morgan’s ability to easily define the methods she claims will support improve readers’ appearances or at the very least their confidence, as Morgan puts it. I was also pleasantly surprised that Morgan also included several relevant studies conducted by psychologists to help her claims. Morgan also does well to avoid any sort of psychological jargon and presents her tactics for utilizing the Law of Attraction to better one’s self effectively while also offering tip for dealing with any counter-arguments that skeptical readers might have.Overall, Ingrid Morgan’s “Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks” is well-informative without being overly-detailed and is an optimistic tutorial on how to better one’s self should you simply be opened minded and willing enough to try.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks: A 21 Day Law of Attraction Experiment To Help you Achieve the Physical Appearance You’ve Always Dreamed Of review []  2020-1-13 19:19

    As a fresh author, reading this book was timely and inspiring. I really appreciated how the author took the time to break down the more "high level" concepts and provide real-life examples. When I'm in the right frame of mind, it's simple to employ the "law of attraction" to influence a positive outcome. However, I never really contemplated the impact that my subconscious level of doubt would have on the effectiveness of my more optimistic e Santa Claus comparisons were perfect, and I will be consciously reframing my thought process about being a successful author along those lines. "State of joyful expectancy" is going to be my mantra today. Finally, after reading this book my goal is to (against my nature!) forget about the "how" for a moment to obtain into a more receptive state. It's short, simple to read, and includes valuable info for anyone who is curious about the law of attraction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks: A 21 Day Law of Attraction Experiment To Help you Achieve the Physical Appearance You’ve Always Dreamed Of review []  2020-1-13 19:19

    I really, really like this book. I only want I had a book like this some forty years ago when I was first reaching for my dreams, and often fell short because of my lack of confidence in myself and the method I perceived my physical self. The mind is very strong and as Ms. Ingrid Morgan points out, with poignant examples, it is very often the person that keeps the negative reactions and thoughts from surfacing and concentrates on the positive who create head method that eventually leads one to accomplish his/her goals and wishes. The writing is lucid, simple to understand, informative and one could easily read the book in one sitting, and it will be well worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks: A 21 Day Law of Attraction Experiment To Help you Achieve the Physical Appearance You’ve Always Dreamed Of review []  2020-1-13 19:19

    This book accomplishes the task of explaining the nuances of how the law of attraction works in easy yet somewhat profound ways. After reading it through at a moderate pace, I soon realized I'll have to go back and read again as the transpersonal philosophy behind this dissertation has deep roots in a lot of eastern teachings that I'm already familiar with. However, this book distills the ambiguities into a much easier format for both study, contemplation and private growth. After having ready a lot of books over the latest 40 years on related topic material, this book zero's in quickly on the paradoxical nature of how we think and how manifest our reality. It's an perfect discourse and is well composed without being too dictatorial. The examples were excellent and the entire notice has a heart-felt wisdom that's been reshaped for a fresh generation of seekers. This book gets it done. Amazing Job and thanks for taking the time to write this much required information. Neil Primack

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Change Your Brain, Change Your Looks: A 21 Day Law of Attraction Experiment To Help you Achieve the Physical Appearance You’ve Always Dreamed Of review []  2020-1-13 19:19

    I've always suspected your insides represent your outsides more than people understood and this book really helped me understand that better. You know when you see someone and they just have "it?" I am always trying to work on the "accept" part of the process the author talks about and this sort of really positive, helpful guidance is just wish I was looking for to support me manifest in my life the energy and outlook I always want. Thank you!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    P.F. Chang's Internal review [App]  2019-2-16 13:42

    Horrible...requested 3 times for an email to request to restart password ....never recs any emails. Oh well.....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    P.F. Chang's Internal review [App]  2019-2-16 13:42

    ugh

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    P.F. Chang's Internal review [App]  2019-2-16 13:42

    Who is the moron that thinks that in 2018 its acceptable to place a piece of like this out there. It's an embarrassment to all hard working Chang employees

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    P.F. Chang's Internal review [App]  2019-2-16 13:42

    Would not accept gmail email acc or password. Link for technical grayed out and did not work. Password requirements not shown. Generally, most useless application I have ever seen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    P.F. Chang's Internal review [App]  2019-2-16 13:42

    Doesn't work I used the old application and it worked great. This application you can't even log into and put an order.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    P.F. Chang's Internal review [App]  2019-2-16 13:42

    Application won't allow me log in. I have to log in using my desktop computer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    P.F. Chang's Internal review [App]  2019-2-16 13:42

    Useless application Can never log in....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    P.F. Chang's Internal review [App]  2019-2-16 13:42

    Why is there no pf Chang's ordering app??? There's a Pei Wei one. 🐶🐶🐶 Adopt a Shelter Pet 🐯🐯🐯

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    P.F. Chang's Internal review [App]  2019-2-16 13:42

    M work pf Chang's bistro this application support me

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Earthrise - Climate Change Activism review [App]  2019-4-9 21:20

    Huge starts with small. Application is amazing itself, simple to use, unifies people to do amazing things! Proud to be a part of tomorrow :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Facts 2017 review []  2019-12-11 18:33

    This book deals with virtually all of the major climate issues, from atmospheric temperatures to sea level rise to ocean acidification, the Amazing Barrier Reef and the Paris Agreement. Moreover, 21 of the 22 chapters written by leaders in their fields have been written especially for this book and seem to me to be absolutely up-to-date through 2016 and even a few mentions of happenings in 2017! (The exception is a chapter from a book published in 2010 by the late Bob Carter, a paleontologist and marine geologist.) The essays are very well-written and highly detailed; they do not seem to have been restricted in length. Thus the book is very satisfyingly complete at 335 pages. For those who want to go further into any topic, there are 45 pages of well-chosen references (perhaps 500 in all).Highlights for me are as follows:Carbon Dioxide and Plant Growth, by Dr. Craig D. Idso. The author has done much to study the impacts of CO2 on plant growth. His Table 13.1 is a detailed look at the result on plant growth of a 300 ppm increase in CO2. As all greenhouse operators know, CO2 levels at 800-1000 ppm are amazing for growth, but Table 13.1 tells us that an increase to about 600-700 ppm will produce 34-36% increases in the world's most necessary crops (wheat, rice, sugar cane, etc.), with corn not far behind at 24%. With globe population increasing, these benefits of increased CO2 are crucial to maintaining and increasing globe meal production. Idso points out the increased greening of the planet as shown by NASA satellites that has led to a 6-13% increase in basic plant productivity since the e Impact and Cost of the Paris Agreement, by Bjorn Lomborg. The author begins his chapter with the statement that global warming is real, mostly man-made, and will have a negative impact over the long run. He then calculates not only the benefit (reduction in global temperature) but also the cost associated with each country's statement of their intentions in the Paris Agreement. He assumes that each country actually makes amazing on its stated intentions (such as the USA promise to reduce CO2 emissions by 26-28% by 2030) and also considers the extension of these actions out to 2100. The effect is absolutely flabbergasting: A reduction in global temperatures by 0.05 degrees Celsius by 2030 compared to the expected increase of a degree or so, and a reduction by 2100 of 0.17 C compared to the expected increase of about 1.5-2 C. Under an optimistic scenario of amazing efficiency of these actions, the cost is estimated at 946 billion, but under a more realistic scenario the cost balloons to about 1.9 trillion US dollars. At the time of writing, this was the only peer-reviewed benefit-cost analysis of the Paris e Not good are Carrying the Cost of Today's Climate Policy, by Dr. Matt Ridley. Ridley estimates that ethanol subsidies have consumed about 5% of the globe meal crops and quotes the UN conclusion that it was the main cause of the rise in meal prices in 2008 and years following. Dr. Indur Goklany has calculated that this policy resulted in the death of 200,000 people. Wind turbines slay rare birds of prey, including eagles, hawks, gannets, and swifts, plus amazing numbers of bats. Wind and solar power both keep large subsidies from a lot of governments, which enrich rich people and raise the price of electricity for not good ss Death Dies Hard, by Clive James. This chapter is NOT written by an expert in climate science, but it is still one of my favorites. Clive James is a poet, author, and broadcaster. He writes "I speak as one who knows nothing about the mathematics involved in modeling non-linear systems." But he does know something about the language and uses language precisely enough to hold me laughing throughout his chapter. Here is a sample: "The Australian climate star Tim Flannery will probably not, of his own free will, shrink back to ...being an expert on the extinction of the giant wombat. He is far more likely to go on being one of the mass media's mobile experts on climate...It will go on being risky to stand between him and a TV camera. If the giant wombat could have moved at that speed, it would still be with us."I enjoyed reading almost every chapter. The main person responsible for the book appears to be the editor, Jennifer Marohasy, a Senior Fellow at the Australian Institute for Public Affairs. As such, there is a distinct leaning toward subjects of interest to Australians, such as the Amazing Barrier Reef (two chapters) and the astoundingly mediocre (or worse) Bureau of Meteorology (several more chapters). One of the most excellent takedowns of the BOM is the chapter by Joanne Nova, writer of the witty and always perceptive climate science blog . She documents in unanswerable detail the trials and tribulations of one temperature station in Rutherglen, Australia, which has consistently reported temperature using the same equipment in an zone that has not undergone much urban growth, thus a rare example of a long-term undisturbed data series. The raw data present a gentle cooling over 100 years, and this trend is matched by 4 nearby stations. However, the BOM transforms this into a rather sharp rise by "homogenizing" the Rutherglen data with measurements from 23 stations, some rather distant. This appears to be an example of contaminating amazing data with bad, a practice that Anthony Watts (another author of another chapter in the book) has repeatedly called attention to. (Watts is the proprietor of the most widely read blog on climate science)I should state that I chose to buy the rather expensive paperback book rather than the very affordable Kindle version. I am very satisfied with my decision, because the paperback book is so well place together, with amazing binding, wide margins, and highly readable type. It has clearly been planned with considerable care. I expect it will be useful to me for years to come, so for me the book was the better option.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Facts 2017 review []  2019-12-11 18:33

    This is a collection of articles, so the quality and rigor is inconsistent. However, there are some really eye-opening indictments of the method "climate science" is framed and conducted, and some of the revelations about early data points and homogenization procedures will create anyone with any life sciences background sit up and take notice. It should also serve to allow even those who disagree with its conclusions understand that those who question the strictest construction of climate-change alarmism have valid reasons for doing so.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Facts 2017 review []  2019-12-11 18:33

    Who do you trust on global warming/climate change? Do you have the time and background to be able to evaluate what you read and see about it?I took Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth of 2006 as a serious warning. As a Democrat in the U.S., I took it as career has been in communications. I’ve worked on public info campaigns on recycling of household products, and the dangers of children inhaling some consumer products. I’ve worked on crisis communications problems such as chemophobia (fear of chemicals) and clergy sex abuse. The first rule in crisis communications is: Tell the background in science is: high school and college primary biology, high school chemistry and physics, and career focus on chemical products. Beyond that, I discovered an adult onset interest in science and I read in general interest treatments of science from cosmology, paleontology, evolution, the environment, cancer, diabetes, the brain, health and nutrition to climate change, to mention a few topics. Am I intelligent enough to understand any of these subjects on my own? No, I need to rely on experts who know a lot more than I do. But I live in a democratic republic and I have a responsibility as a voting citizen to educate myself as well as much as I can.When I had breast cancer two years ago, I had to trust in my chemotherapy oncologist and surgeon before I could agree to the treatments they recommended. Although I had to work like a devil to understand a Triple Negative tumor and the ways that chemo was working in me, I trusted these medical experts to be steering me as best they could. I’ve got an 80% possibility of not having to deal with cancer anymore and a 20% possibility of it rearing its head in me again. I’m happy with those odds and contrast, something has bothered me greatly about the global warming/climate change proclamations of the past dozen years. Not debate, not discussions, but proclamations. Instead of really educating us on the questions of climate heating or cooling, most authorities have pronounced that climate change is settled, that most scientists say it is settled, that it is caused by carbon dioxide (CO2) and that reducing what is vividly named our carbon footprint will save our planet. My president, Barack Obama, so held these things. His attorney general, and therefore my attorney general, Loretta Lynch, was considering prosecuting people and businesses labeled “climate change deniers.” Labels, no-discussion proclamations, and most of all opposite-opinion prosecutions -- this is no method for a democratic republic to set policy and it’s no method for science to go imate Change, The Facts 2017, was edited by Jennifer Marohasy, senior fellow at the Institute of Public Affairs, which has close ties to the conservative-libertarian Liberal Party in Australia. Does the political leaning of the IPA--which would not be my approach–-bias the reporting of the 23 contributors to the book? I found it instead to be informative and thought-provoking. You can disagree with the facts presented, but there are facts to disagree with or not. I think I need to read it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Facts 2017 review []  2019-12-11 18:33

    This book includes a series of articles on climate change. They are perfect and science-based. I especially liked the first article, on the Amazing Barrier Reef (GBR). As expected, there is nothing wrong with the GBR. Bleaching happenings are normal for reefs.I also liked the superb, satirical article by the popular Clive James at the end of the book. His article also appeared in The Australian r anyone note yet radicalised by the man-made climate change hysteria, this book will provide much important info to defend the skeptical point of view. Five stars.Dr Gerrit J. van der Lingen, geologist and paleoclimatologist.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Facts 2017 review []  2019-12-11 18:33

    This book is a mindblowing counter to IPCC scientific modelling (and subsequent public statements) on climate change. This book has been compulsive reading for an environmental scientist such as myself who firmly believed in athropogenic climate change in the 20th century being the major contributer to the so called accelerated temperature warmings. If one had to highlight one single item from the book to reveal to the anthropogenic climate change believers the flaws in IPCC state of the art modelling I would highlight the referenced letter by 49 former NASA scientists and astronauts to the Business Insider, 11 April 2012 complaining about NASAs activisit stance toward climate change at the expense of empirical evidence.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Facts 2017 review []  2019-12-11 18:33

    I read the original 2015 ver of Climate Change:The Facts and it really opened my mind to the what is going on in the Climate conspiracy(for that is what it truly is). This 2017 ver is a completely fresh book and is even better than the original. What you will learn is that the planet really does need to be saved - but it’s not from CO2 or global warming. A highly credible collection of essays from a very distinguished group of scientists and freethinkers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Facts 2017 review []  2019-12-11 18:33

    Quite a lot of amazing science and refutation of poor science in the book. A more detailed chapter on CO2 forcing values would have been helpful. Never mentions the projected atmospheric CO2 concentration used in the models to obtain 4 degrees C of warming in 2100, nor is there any review of what max value is likely. Also there is no mention of other biasing factors in the modern global average temperature such as airport siting of instruments and the "march of the thermometers". Some estimate (or guesstimate/SWAG) of the total bias in the average used by the "authorities" would have been helpful. Otherwise fairly convincing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Facts 2017 review []  2019-12-11 18:33

    A very necessary book to consider after the United Nations pretention to charge CO2 taxes to the developed nations because of its CO2 emissions without realizing that in this countries there are also a considerable not good population to be affected. The conclution is that there is a little warming of the Globe and a climate change that we can only can adapt to. We can't rule over the Sun who drives the climate on Earth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Facts 2017 review []  2019-12-11 18:33

    Honestly, a amazing bit more about Australia than I cared to read, but a amazing review of the science of global temperature measurement. I think it gives a amazing acc of why the current grasp at our cash has no more true science behind it than the latest one. They gin up a panic, backed by partisan fervor, and then ignore counter arguments. Take our money, rinse, repeat.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: The Facts 2017 review []  2019-12-11 18:33

    There are no true climate “deniers” because no one has actual proof that the Earth’s climate is not warming due to anthropogenic causes. I’m a climate skeptic. The book provided an perfect survey of problems - with amazing source citations - that exist with current climate dogma. I’m looking forward to the next edition. Before we spend trillions on CO2 mitigation and damage low income people throughout the globe as a effect we’d better know what we’re getting. We’ll need more than a warm feeling which is all the alarmist pseudo-science offers us.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Financing Education in a Climate of Change review []  2019-12-23 19:33

    Expensive, not good to read, and the product gave me difficulty when trying to use either Kindle Cloud reader and my android device device on my phone to access it. i was only able to use my PC and Kindle Fire to read this book. Possessively too much for my device to consume. no issues with other books, just this monster. Too expensive, not easily accessible, and not greatly written either.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Financing Education in a Climate of Change review []  2019-12-23 19:33

    I had to rent this book for a course that I took latest semester. Thank goodness for book rentals because this is the most boring, wordy book that I have ever read. I don't think it's because it had to do with finances, I just think it was poorly written. I wouldn't recommend this book as toilet paper and I want that professors would give other options. There has to be a more relatable method to talk about financials in schools.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Financing Education in a Climate of Change review []  2019-12-23 19:33

    This book is a VERY boring read! The concepts, ideas and info presented in this book is extremely hard to follow and comprehend, almost like another language. Honestly, I'd rather watch paint dry. I only rented this book because it was a course requirement for a school finance class I took. Don't waste your cash or your time, unless you have to buy it for a class. You can thank me later.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Financing Education in a Climate of Change review []  2019-12-23 19:33

    Honestly, one of the most incomprehensible reads I have ever encountered. Unnecessarily convoluted. I wouldn't waist my money. Most of this info can be Googled anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Financing Education in a Climate of Change review []  2019-12-23 19:33

    Finance turned out to be the best class to not only understand school finance but how to obtain keep of your own finances.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Financing Education in a Climate of Change review []  2019-12-23 19:33

    Provided a ton of info on financing education throughout the nation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Financing Education in a Climate of Change review []  2019-12-23 19:33

    Ordered for school

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Financing Education in a Climate of Change review []  2019-12-23 19:33

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Financing Education in a Climate of Change review []  2019-12-23 19:33

    Amazing book, but way, method overpriced for a paperback. Bought this only because it was a graduate class requirement.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Financing Education in a Climate of Change review []  2019-12-23 19:33

    Not an simple read! Bored me to sleep.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don't Be a @#$%: Change Yourself, Change Your World review []  2019-12-28 18:31

    Well written, simple to read, full of interesting, relatable stories & practical exercises. Awesome how a small book helped shift my perspective & transform the method I am relating to so a lot of things: people, life events, & most importantly myself! Highly recommend this book for anyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don't Be a @#$%: Change Yourself, Change Your World review []  2019-12-28 18:31

    I liked rg’s recent book. Having read all of his other “Irrelationship” books I had high expectations and was not disappointed. It is a beautiful simple book to finish, with practical exercises for the reader. Don’t allow the jocular title fool you- rg is a serious scholar and if you, like me, have fun learning about psychology you will definitely like the book and probably learn something.I’d recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don't Be a @#$%: Change Yourself, Change Your World review []  2019-12-28 18:31

    I cannot possibly be the only person who feels that this author is my doppelgänger…can I? This Dr. Borg character, the dodger, the parry-er of hurled turd, seems to speak in the voice of all of us who are (regularly) tempted to justify our questionable behavior based on what he calls the “dickery” of others.I can (now) admit it: I am one of the ones who saw the title of this book and had a list of people who I believed "should" read this book flash through my head. And now, after reading it, I might be better able to agree with the author: That anyone who thinks someone else ought to read this book, might wish to read it her- or e author implies that we might be living in Gen D (Generation @#$%). Does that mean there is a dick epidemic? Is there no escape from the rampant onslaught of dickery in our world? Do we have to spend our everyday lives avoiding or otherwise protecting ourselves from dicks? Maybe. But this book suggests a solution: Don't be at seems like a crucial suggestion at this exact moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Don't Be a @#$%: Change Yourself, Change Your World review []  2019-12-28 18:31

    Amazing subject and simple read. Very Helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    IHL – International Humanitarian Law review [App]  2019-8-19 13:30

    A amazing source for those interested in IHL

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    Amitav Ghosh, who is about equally known as a novelist and an essayist, begins this terrifying book--really a "cri du coeur"-- by asking why anthropogenic climate change, the central crisis of our time, is nearly absent from contemporary fiction. This question initially struck me as odd and narrowly-focused and poorly reflective of the broader societal response to the problem. But he devotes most of the rest of the book to showing that the absence of climate change from fiction is indeed reflective of society's unwillingness to confront it at all. Why? Because of its scale, its pervasiveness, its dreadful implications for the future; the excellent conditions to trigger denial. Ghosh compares the texts of the 2016 Paris Agreement and Pope Francis' environmental encyclical "Laudato Si." Of the first, he writes: "The Agreement's rhetoric serves to clarify much that it leaves unsaid; namely, that its intention and the essence of what it has achieved, is to make yet another neo-liberalfrontier where corporations, entrepreneurs, and public officials will be able to join forces in enriching each other." He is much more sanguine about the encyclical, seeing it as a moral guidepost to effective action, if not a directly applicable one. But to what extent can moral force overcome entrenched interests, short-term vision, and institutionalized hypocrisy?Two more observations: (1) This display of Ghosh's wide-ranging erudition encompasses a lot of allusions unfamiliar to American readers. Because I teach tropical ecology I am familiar with the Sundurbans. I am not familiar with a lot of of the South Asian writers and thinkers referenced here. I hope other readers will be motivated, as I am, to learn more about them. (2) On page 5 Ghosh refers to the Lake Nyos outgassing disaster, in which some 1700 people died. He says Lake Nyos is in the Congo. It's in Cameroon. The error has no impact on the notice of the book, but it's annoying that it got through the editing process.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    This book, though very short, has a lot of valuable ideas that one doesn't encounter often in discussions of climate change in the West, such as how critique of empire is neglected for critique of capitalism, when in fact they are two separate issues. His discussion of why coal leads to more worker solidarity than oil is also something I haven't seen addressed elsewhere, and he generally thinks through climate change in original ways. However he completely lost me at the end when he compared the Pope's encyclical with the Paris Accord -- criticizing Paris for being written by a committee and neglecting completely the fact that it was binding among governments whereas the Pope didn't have to obtain anyone to agree to do anything. His conclusion that religious groups might be our only hope seemed bonkers -- most of the rational European West is increasingly secular -- and most of the power is in this West. The religious American Right of course opposes the idea of climate change, and I doubt that Islamic countries which are heavily dependent on oil revenues will move this way. China is not religious, and as he points out in India there is a move toward increased accumulation of Western things. The Pope can't speak for birth control and women having a lot of kids won't help. Buddhists? So far not a very strong force in globe politics that I can see. Anyhow, his conclusion disappointed me and colourful my overall feeling for the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    I very strongly recommend this book. "Where was I at 400 ppm?" should be asked on all campuses by all students. We need to change the method humanity thinks, and Gosh helps point out where the issue lies, in part. There are so a lot of insights in this book in historical, cultural, and political economy terms that it's really too hard to write about them parts two and three Gosh shares his insights into the role of fossil fuel's role in imperialism, cultural chauvinism, technological innovation, and climate denialism. I asked, "When's the latest time you were reminded that imperialism actually helps slow the addition of carbon dioxide to the?". Well, Gosh reminds readers that by controlling the growth of non-carbon societies like India and China, they slowed the increase in carbon dioxide, although unwittingly, unknowingly, violently. Fossil fuel driven economies did not of the reasons we don't care is that anywhere we look in our culture we search individualized modes of expression and symbolism. We search the role of capital and the drive for the greatest return in the shortest time leading to environmental suicide. Meanwhile, the collective mindset, the holistic view of the earth for the long-term goes unheeded. These are my terms and I cannot hope to match Gosh's control of the English language in print. I can only recommend that you read this book and lead others to. Talk with others about this book and the role of the arts, religion, and literature in climate denial. It's very important.Eddie Evans -

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    An excellent, informed, wide-ranging analysis of what the arts might do in the service of communicating climate change. Ghosh's three part structure ("Stories," "History," "Politics") allows him to cover a remarkable breadth of social conditions which have left us unprepared and perhaps unable to face the climate challenge. Especially pointed in its description of what it sees as the challenges for Asia, and for South Asia specifically, in gearing up for this fresh era already upon us.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    This is the deepest analysis of the cultural causes of climate change I have seen anywhere, and I have been looking. Delightfully not Western in point of view, yet well informed of it. Mr. Ghosh is very well read, and in history too. He is one of a very few people who who could have written this book; a amazing contribution.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    This is an outstanding analysis of the inevitable disasters that is global warming and the total unpreparedness of the west to deal with it. I just hope that this will not unfold during my children's lives....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    The breadth of literature and authors cited, both Western and Asian is quite stunning. This critique of the arts and especially literature draws a special arc so bold it's difficult to describe, nor can I adequately convey the enlightening elevation of the arts above economics & politics. As well, this text serves as a mini history lesson on the carbon economy. Even if you, like I, have read deeply in Global Warming literature, you will search nearly all of this particular work fresh to you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    Everyone should read this necessary and beautifully written book. If everyone (and I mean everyone) read this book, the planet could quite possibly remain habitable for future generations. Climate change is the problem that overwhelms all others and yet it is largely ignored by the public and our leaders. The author explores the reasons for our "denialist" or derangement mentality.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    This might be the best literary treatment of climate change in existence. A superb essay. Ghost asks a fairly easy question then superbly answers it. Hard to disagree. If you're involved in the climate war at any level, this is a must-read, especially if you're an eclectic. Highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable review []  2019-12-18 21:28

    With literature at the core he draws in politics, history, culture, and ideas of change in a method that gives a fresh picture of climate change. A thought provoking work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    International Environmental Law: A Modern Introduction review []  2020-1-17 21:25

    A very clearly and concisely organized introduction to international environmental law. Provides a very amazing framework for further study without overwhelming the reader. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lukewarming: The New Climate Science that Changes Everything review []  2019-12-7 18:9

    I highly recommend this book. I’m not sure why another reviewer described the writing as awful. The book is well done. It is comprised of multiple short, concise, clearly written chapters covering all the facets of climate change science in just the right amount of depth. The accompanying graphics are excellent--- better in color on my Kindle Fire vs my black and white. I didn’t message any distracting ebook problems at all. It is a science book, as advertised, which is what I was looking my view, the discovery of empirical methods has been the key driver of modern human material prosperity. That’s kind of a truism, but it is intriguing to observe how even very intelligent people can sometimes lose the focus on primary principles of valid statistical inference. A strength of this book is the focus on those very primary principles as applied to climate e scientific proposition driving climate change alarmism is that we can predict the future---that climate is predictable to a level of accuracy and precision on the relevant timeframe such that public policy can reasonably be based on those light of current understanding of complex non-linear systems one may reasonably ask: What is the prior probability that human-made computer algorithms starting around the end of the 20th century will accurately predict global temperature 20, 50 or 100 years into the future? It’s an extraordinary claim. It’s a hypothesis requiring robust empirical validation by out of sample prospective data. Stated more technically: the prospective data must reject the null hypothesis that climate is unpredictable. In any other discipline that latest sentence would be uncontroversial. But somehow, along the way, in climate science the null hypothesis has now shifted to imminent risky anthropogenic global warming. It’s as if the burden of proof is now on those that doubt predictions of climate very well reviewed in this book, the climate models used for the IPCC consensus reports are predicting substantially more warming than is actually occurring. There is a systematic error in the climate models. To my view, this is the nut of the issue with climate alarmism, casting true doubt on the myriad predictions of all sorts of severe climate similar problems. But now that the null hypothesis has somehow shifted to risky global warming there is no failure of the models that can ever disprove the null hypothesis. All of the multiple retrospective explanations for failure of the models are presented as refinements of our understanding of global warming instead of post hoc reasoning. It is argued that the models are amazing enough. We can’t wait 50 years for them to be validated. Because global warming. Objecting to the lack of empirical validation of predictions of catastrophe now becomes anti-science and immoral.1.3 billion people live without access to electricity, mostly living in Sub-Saharan Africa and developing Asia. The attempts to block the construction of coal-fired power plants in Africa and India because of predictions of risky global warming decrease the possibility that young people in these regions will have access to electricity in their lifetimes. Poverty kills people. Lack of access to affordable electricity shortens lifespans. The WHO estimates that 3.2m million deaths per year are caused by indoor biomass burning. This is true hurt to true people in the here and mans have a powerful proclivity to predict the future, especially apocalypse. It’s been a feature of humankind since the beginning. Environmentalists don’t have any better track record than others in making accurate predictions, although they may be the champs on the apocalypse scale. We need to be very sure that climate alarmism in not just another chapter in the story of human evolutionary psychology, with the digital computer as the recent Oracle of e other driver of modern human material prosperity is exploitation of energy concentrated in fossil fuels. Decision makers in the rich nations owe it to people living without energy security to be scrupulously scientific when examining predictions of climate catastrophe caused by burning fossil fuels. This book presents a thorough discussion of the quality of the science from an appropriately skeptical stance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lukewarming: The New Climate Science that Changes Everything review []  2019-12-7 18:9

    Told in very short essays, this book is tremendous. He gets quickly to the heart of each problem and explains it well. Using his definition I am a "lukewarmer" but I don't like the term much. I'm a scientist by trade and prefer the term skeptic. I still think skeptic is the accurate term for someone who questions the "settled" in "settled" science. But, the globe is warming and man probably plays some unknown role in the warming. So, some like to say lukewarmer so they don't obtain confused with those that dogmatically deny the globe is warming or that man has any role, no matter how small, in the warming. A lukewarmer would say that we don't know the causes of warming, we can't measure accurately the natural forces affecting warming, so we can't say how huge man's contribution is. Which is also what a proper skeptic would say. In any case I found the book to be an enjoyable read and quite accurate. The nice thing about the book is it is written in short and simple to digest chapters. I disagree with the other reviewer who said the writing is poor. I thought the writing was quite good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lukewarming: The New Climate Science that Changes Everything review []  2019-12-7 18:9

    I am happy to give five stars. This book covers it all. I found it to be eminently readable on the topic of climate change. The authors say a lot in relatively few words. There are 42 chapters. The authors believe that lots of shorter chapters are easier to obtain through than a few long chapters. The chapters are like individual essays that flow into each other nicely. The book features a lot of graphs that also are simple to read and mitted man-made climate change advocates likely won't take to . But for those persons who are 'up in the air' about the topic, they will search to be simple and e authors point out poor info from other sources and how it came to pass that such info became heavily promoted. Governments are largely to blame. It has been the official position of the 8-year Obama Administration that the globe is going to hell via man-made global warming. Climate scientists and their fellow travelers have a vested interest in parroting the Gov't's. preferred position because that is where the cash is. There are significant grants to followers of the Gov't's. line in their investigative findings -- millions of r reviewer is an over-educated and well-read non-scientist who has read fairly deeply into the climate material written for the general reader, plus a few harder ones. is one of the best in my opinion. There are shorter books on the subject. One of them, A. Fensin's might qualify as an outline of . But if one chooses to read the former first, he definitely should next read the latter in order to flesh out what he might have found in an outline. I would call needed ENDMENT, Feb. 9, 2017Since writing the above I have come across two separate reports of hanky-panky on the part of NOAA pertaining to its fudging data. Neither source was mainstream media but I have confidence in both. I have seen nothing in the MS media about it and am not surprised. The whistle-blower is a newly-retired NOAA climate expert who has come out with damning information. It causes doubt to be raised about certain climate research that has caused some scientists to 'allow' a slight warming trend of late, whereas previously there had been none that was solidly recognized. I hope to see more about this in print.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lukewarming: The New Climate Science that Changes Everything review []  2019-12-7 18:9

    As I write this, Pres Trump has been in office just over two weeks. Even before his campaign, there has been a battle on the facts of reality. Climate science is a excellent example. A lot of would have you believe that 95% or more of "scientists" agree with anthropogenic climate change alarmism. This strikes me as more of a, 'if everyone jumped off the cliff, would you jump too?'What these gentlemen have done, as I've come to expect from Cato's powerful intellectual wellspring, is show unmanipulated facts on this topic. Their exhaustive [email protected]#$%!s all the major talking points, and more. They sit between the denier and alarmist camps, stating that anthropogenic actions do emit greenhouse gases and that the effects of these are negligible; temperature changes are far and away a product of natural ill don't take my word for it, read this and decide for yourself. It will obtain a bit technical but hang in there, they've created the facts and the debate particularly readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lukewarming: The New Climate Science that Changes Everything review []  2019-12-7 18:9

    I bought this book because I saw an Interview of Patrick J Michaels on the Tag Levin show. He was very well informed and clearly explained the facts of the Climate Warming Hoax. He is an acknowledged expert on this e Book is Not for the average reader. It is more like a Textbook than anything else. Graphs, Acronyms and technical Data to the Extreme. It was very boring and Hard to Read for me (I have two Engineering Degrees). Additionally this is a Puffed up book. The main part of the book (pages 1 to 232) is full of Blank enty Eight to be exact. Also there were Twenty three pages that were at least half blank. This, at a minimum, works out to be 17.4% of the book is BLANK! Another minor point. The thickness of the pages was absurd. Each time I turned the page it felt like I was turning 2 or 3 pages. (Thus Puffed up). Save some cash and listen to the Tag Levin Interview (available on-line for free) and you will know about as much as I do, who read this book, without reading and wasting your time being frustrated as I was.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lukewarming: The New Climate Science that Changes Everything review []  2019-12-7 18:9

    I have followed the climate change problem for some time now and have even read some of the original scientific literature written by those doing research on this topic. That contains especially latest satellite data on greening of the Earth and satellite temperature data. This book strikes at the middle ground by presenting necessary data which counters the claims of the alarmists, but yet shows that there is mild global warming going on. In that sense climate deniers do not really have no legitimate stance. It brings a reasoned presentation of what careful scientific research has to say about climate change (and climate is always changing of course). To anyone seeking a middle of the street presentation of climate change and what we actually know from up-to-date measurements, I highly recommend this book. Obviously, there is much we do not know about what drives climate, therefore, the science is not yet settled.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lukewarming: The New Climate Science that Changes Everything review []  2019-12-7 18:9

    LUKEWARMINGThe Fresh Climate ScienceThat Changes Everything Patrick J. Micheals andPaul C. KnappenbergerReviewed by Roy Murry, AuthorI have listened to Main Stream Media and heard a lot of debates concerning Global Warming over the latest fifty years. Moreover, when President Donald J. Trump pulled us out of the Paris Accord, I started to think about it again. Was he right in doing so?LUKEWARMING came up in an interview. If you hated President Trump, like many, you would call him and others "deniers" and pay up accordingly to an agreement, not a treaty that President Obama signed because he could not pass it through e wording of the original document was President Obama's dilemma. He signed another executive order in essence. Hail to the e two scientists from the CATO Institute who penned LUKEWARMING, in so a lot of words debunk the notion that the globe is in danger of over warming to the point of the coastal lost in Florida (a 1989 prediction by Al Gore and others) and other HOT predictions. They write about the truth about those government paid prognosticators whose "Sky is falling" ideas brought the craziest surrounding their ing mathematical and logical comparisons, these CATO scientists show a easy understanding of what is event to the earth that an individual like myself can understand. You will search t to the chase: President Trump is right as these scientists suggested before him taking office - the Paris Accords would damage only the USA and the EU. The rest of the globe would keep funds for the wrong reasons.Easy to read, with short paragraphs and uncomplicated descriptions of their observations. The read is worth the price, but it should be free so people could know the truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lukewarming: The New Climate Science that Changes Everything review []  2019-12-7 18:9

    As the head of the Center for the Study of Science at the CATO Institute, Patrick Michaels not only uncovers a lot of bias in climate science, but also in science itself. He argues that a lot of it is due to government funding. While I wouldn't argue versus cutting all or even most funding, Michaels has clearly shown how it creates bias and this is something that needs to be a spectrum ranging from alarmists, through lukwarmers to outright skeptics, a lot of people familiar with Michaels would probably consider him a skeptic and be surprised at his self description as a lukewarmer. I would argue that a huge portion of skeptics are actually lukewarmers who have been mislabeled by alarmists who have attempted to polarize everyone into "us" versus "the deniers".He goes over a lot of subjects such as fat sensitivity tails, model projections and endangered polar bears and shows how they have been exaggerated. He writes fairly well and is also an entertaining speaker. There are a lot of amazing YouTube videos of him and I'll place a link to one in the first comment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lukewarming: The New Climate Science that Changes Everything review []  2019-12-7 18:9

    There is a lot of amazing scientific detective work here but it is overwhelmed by the "shoot the messenger" sentiments of the authors.Unlike climate change denier tomes, this book takes the very reasonable position that humans are causing some changes to the global climate, but takes problem with the predictions of the standard models, estimating that such change is more likely 1/3 to 1/4 of that claimed based on the totality of data and problems with common data sources. The "gold standard" work of a British university is held up as the most plausible in the author's e books is a collection of short columns, as others have noted, and it is this format that gives it its pugilistic attitude - one has to come to come to a conclusion quickly to fit into the thousand word or so limit of a monthly column. The book would have benefitted from a more in-depth and paced development of its arguments - though if that were done it would probably have been only 1/4 its show length and not is necessary to note that the term "climate change" is an necessary label to use in this very necessary discussion...we are talking about the difficult to predict effects of pouring fossil fuel energy into the earth's natural energy flows - and the effects of that greater circulating energy cause various effects in various places, the most consistent evidence of that being greater volatility in natural patterns...unfortunate because it does not lend itself to political agreement.I like the concept of "lukewarming", because it takes us out of the absolutist corner of moralistic and ideological argumentation and into the - uncommon for these times - pragmatic and factual sphere, which allows for us to address remedy or adaptation cooly and logically. Like Bjorn Lomberg, who, regardless of what you may think of the depth of his argumentation, certainly is opening up the conversation towards innovations in both remedy and adaptation

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lukewarming: The New Climate Science that Changes Everything review []  2019-12-7 18:9

    Book was excellent. I have read at least three dozen books on Global Warning and this was one of the best. It was perfectly organized for me in that every chapter could be easily read in about twenty minutes. I have read three other books by Michaels + others and this was my favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Biochar Solution: Carbon Farming and Climate Change review []  2019-12-23 20:22

    This book is a treasure trove of interesting information. I learned a lot about biochar and much more about other stuff- ancient civilizations, farming, aid for people in not good countries. The book is written in an engaging style and references are well cited. I am now wondering how I can create a pyrolysis stove in my back yard... Anyone who is into farming, carbon management, botany, chemistry would have fun this me changes could have created this book better. Illustrations are by and huge too little and of too low quality, so it is difficult to see. The end of the book feels rushed. It is a fast summary of sustainable communities in the West; the few examples given are cursory and rather insignificant. It may be that there are just no amazing examples of sustainable living in the west and that is rather sad. I would have also appreciated a discussion of how climate change may be tackled through a multi-pronged approach, not just through biochar. This is especially important, because in my opinion the greatest hurdle for action on climate change is people's feeling that such action is unattainable without drastic sacrifices.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Biochar Solution: Carbon Farming and Climate Change review []  2019-12-23 20:22

    This book was interesting and simple to read, starting with a brief history of the discovery of terra-preta, and then moving on to discuss the impact of agricultural practices on the climate, and how we can reduce the rate of pollution by storing carbon in the soil, which brings us to a closer look to understanding Soil and the role of soil ter that the book turns to the topic of biochar and its effects on soil improvement and building an beautiful environment for the microorganisms that contribute to improving agricultural output and carbon sequestration and its positive effects on the this scene of the book it would've been amazing if a detailed exploration of the available charcoal kiln or charcoal retort designs were added. Instead, the book focused on the available stoves that can be used for cooking and creating charcoal as a byproduct which is amazing but the addition of some info about how to build a charcoal kiln for little gardens or farms would have been e book then takes a fast look at some of the projects that have had a positive impact in general, through which biochar can be used to improve the soil and carbon storage and multiply the benefit and the effects on the the end of the book there was a brief discussion of the drawbacks of biochar from the standpoint of its enemies and some responses to their general I recommend reading this book to all those interested in global warming ,climate change, and those interested in agriculture or gardening in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Biochar Solution: Carbon Farming and Climate Change review []  2019-12-23 20:22

    I remember the author in the early 1980s. He spearheaded the Tennessee Farm's (called "the hippie farm" by the locals)anti nuclear power war with an impressive book titled "Honicker vs. Hendrie" which helped a group of us in southern Illinois figure out how to organize in our area. This book has the same depth and breadth of research and is so loaded with stories, science, history, recipes and ideas I read it twice and think I might read it again-- I rarely read books twice. The main focus of the book is on the context of how we got to where we are now and what we need to do; the book is not massive on how to create biochar but if you're interested in making it or if you are making it you will love this book. I place it up with Rachel Carson's "Silent Spring".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Biochar Solution: Carbon Farming and Climate Change review []  2019-12-23 20:22

    The Biochar Solution is full of info about how agriculture and population have swept down through the ages to place us in an poor predicament and about how Native Americans along the Amazon used the land so well that their story points to a solution for us today. I found the history parts fascinating and enlighening, and I found the later chapters a cause for hope and a method to heal our planet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Biochar Solution: Carbon Farming and Climate Change review []  2019-12-23 20:22

    This is an perfect introduction to the biochar debate, with historical antecedents, a bit of soil microbiology and a review of the burgeoning field of response options to the looming climatic tipping point. Published in 2010, I only want I could read an updated edition as the field is changing quick and time is short Nevertheless, highly recommended, an invaluable cornucopia of info and leads about a vital activity coming to the fore everywhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Biochar Solution: Carbon Farming and Climate Change review []  2019-12-23 20:22

    A amazing introductory book to Biochar and it's potential to improve soils and mitigate climate change.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Biochar Solution: Carbon Farming and Climate Change review []  2019-12-23 20:22

    Biochar is a topic that is close to my heart. This book is a valuable addition to the debate, especially because I think the value of biochar isn't just in its soil nutrient retention properties, but also in its awesome ability to enhance carbon capture projects with a half-life of 1,000 years. Farming with biochar on a planetary scale could change the dynamics of climate change. Policy makers and everyone else should read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Biochar Solution: Carbon Farming and Climate Change review []  2019-12-23 20:22

    Delightful and very accessible presentation of historic background leading to an understanding of nature's easy magic soil blend and how it can be incorporated in a dozens of obvious and not-so-frequently thought of locations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Biochar Solution: Carbon Farming and Climate Change review []  2019-12-23 20:22

    Can't wait to obtain my kiln built and operational.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Biochar Solution: Carbon Farming and Climate Change review []  2019-12-23 20:22

    The Biochar Solution gives earth's people a method to turn around global warming and reverse ocean acidification. For those who care about the soil, the land, the people, the ocean, the fish, for earth's cargo of life: read this book and act on it. I read it and founded the Alaska Biochar Initiative. Obtain a biochar initiative going wherever you are! If we all do biochar we can sequester carbon dioxide in the soil by the gigaton.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2019-12-26 18:53

    While this is a short book it still takes awhile to read because the chapters are a small wordy and can obtain a bit massive on the science explanations sometimes. It is supposed to be a brief explanation and while it does cover a few of the basics it also could be a small massive for someone who doesn't know anything about climate change and also the science behind it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2019-12-26 18:53

    This book is an opening door to the concept of climate change. If you consider yourself curious, but uninformed, A Very Short Introduction to Climate Change is for you. It outlines in understandable language exactly what the globe is facing in light of the changes our planet is going through. It would do us all a globe of amazing -literally- if more people read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2019-12-26 18:53

    This is an perfect summary of the science of climate change, including a primary overview of climate systems in general as well as forays into the politics of responding to and managing climate change. Maslin directly addresses some of the arguments leveled by climate change skeptics, and he is straightforward and clear about locations of uncertainty. This is a book by a serious scientist, not a journalist, so what you can expect is an explanation of data and evidence, not a polemic. For that reason, I specifically recommend this book for people who have doubts about climate change in general or about anthropogenic climate change in r those who are particularly curious, I recommend pairing this book with Maslin's other book in the Very Short Introduction series: "Climate." That one includes a far more detailed description of Earth's climate history and how the climate system operates, making it a useful companion to the book focused on present-day climate change.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2019-12-26 18:53

    Hits all the main subjects you need to know if you know nothing of climate change. Definitely helps you obtain interested and begin a change to help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2019-12-26 18:53

    Maslin covers all of the main subjects quickly but does not leave out anything important. His discussion of the science is masterful and highly readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climate Change: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2019-12-26 18:53

    This is a beautiful amazing book to obtain a basis of what's going on with climate change. However, lots of typos - kinda annoying since it's a science book. I want they had necessary terms bolded or something, more like a textbook.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter