Read into the river reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all into the river reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into the River []  2021-1-10 19:18

    As this book was "banned" in Fresh Zealand I purchased it from Amazon and have to say, well done Ted Dawe - you are an wonderful writer who sees Aotearoa and his people "the method it is". No holds barred. I have a 12 yr old and not sure if he would be ready just yet to digest all that this book has within its cover but, he will read it possibly next year. We will discuss some of the pieces in it beforehand that I think may shock him a small however, as I know he reads books already that have much explicit content in them (too difficult for me to vet every one of his books and what he sees online) and what his friends talk about at school - I think he'll probably gain some incite into how difficult life can be in this day and age. As a young Maori tween, he is already becoming aware of much of what Ted alludes to. So, definitely one that hopefully will be created into a film (c'mon Taika or Peter J) - surely? Or Nikki Caro?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into the River []  2021-1-10 19:18

    I was very disappointed by this book. It had a brilliant beginning with the main character, Te Arepa, doing things a typical boy living in a rural setting would do. Once the story moved to the 'City' it seemed to disintegrate. Te Arepa's name is changed to a westernized 'Devon' at a boarding school right out of a Charles ens book. With all the abuse scandals in schools around the globe I can't see the amount of violence versus kids as is depicted in the book being allowed to exist in a thoroughly modern Fresh Zealand. The atmosphere at the school just doesn't gel with the modern world. Te Arepa or Devon as he is now called starts the story as a boy of about eleven years old. He goes home at the end of his first year at boarding school and has a encounter. No mention is created of his transition into puberty, his first wet dream or even his first experience masturbating - the reader is just taken straight to this liaison during his school holidays. for me Ted Dawe's handling of Willie, Steph and Briggs characters verges on homophobic and in today's modern globe that is unacceptable. At the end of his second year he's expelled from school and is now this [email protected]#$% character. Sorry, I obtain that there are children who turn bad, I obtain that some boys have experiences very early in life but for me this story didn't gel, it just didn't seem real. The encounters were gratuitous and didn't contribute anything to the story. Nor did the implied homoity o the three characters I discussed earlier. However, not everything is bad. I found Ted Dawe's style of writing extremely simple to read but feel a glossary at the end of the book explaining the various Maori terms would have created understanding Maori culture easier for someone like me, a foreigner, easier. Ted handled the death of one of the books characters extremely well and in a most unexpected method - reflecting how unexpected death can be in reality. I personally would not recommend this book to anyone under the age of 16 without parental guidance being available to deal with the and implied homoity of a couple of characters and the bullying, The book however, is worth reading in spite of my own private disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into the River []  2021-1-10 19:18

    This novel presents life in all its complexity and turns of fate in a setting that is at once familiar and foreign. Can one search a fresh home? How loyal should one be to friends? What will this next choice mean to me? A beautifully written life story.

    0  


    Add your opinion on into the river or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into the River []  2021-1-10 19:18

    How could a young adult book be Banned in Fresh Zealand? As a teacher very familiar with publications aimed at this demographic I had to see if "Into the River" was setting some fresh bench tag and frankly it does not. Most worthy is the opening which features a patois of English and Maori language, I felt drawn to the two young boys on an outdoors adventure as they felt connections with their ancestors and environment. However when the protagonist wins a scholarship to a stuffy Nineteenth Century style boarding school the story lost its way. Rather than be torn between the 2 cultures he becomes completely inamoured by the school, despite nasty victimisation and racism. Ultimately rejecting the Maori community who loved him. Yes there is too much profanity and some poorly written and I gained small from the book. Of course it should not be banned, but I will not be placing it on my list of recommended reads. Test "Whale Rider" or "Jasper Jones" instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into the River []  2021-1-10 19:18

    This is quality literature aimed directly at the teenage shop and a book that might well be read by adults. It will be instructive, especially for those adults who choose to ignore teens or believe their perceptions of the globe should be enforced on e story is set in Fresh Zealand and yes, it includes some material in terms of implying male and intedcorse between two young teenagers in a social setting. It is neither prurient nor sensationalist, treats the rhythms of life in a natural and normal manner and these happenings that have drawn such attention to the book are simply part of the side story - not a is book has obvious literary qualities, is contemporary and should take its put as a study text in english literature classes. The facility to yse both the writing, the story construction, the language and the nuancing of the author is superb and will add to the formal education of young is relevant, at least to Fresh Zealand, and quite probably to the english speaking parts of the world, brining Maori culture and problems into some sort of perspective through the eyes of a young teenager.I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into the River []  2021-1-10 19:18

    I started to read this book before the storm of hypocrisy hit it hard. It is a page turner. It is a well told story. It is a coming of age story. But more importantly it is a milestone in Fresh Zealand literature. This book is a must if you wish to understand anything about this country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into the River []  2021-1-10 19:18

    The first few chapters grabbed and held my attention. I thoroughly enjoyed the beauty of the setting and the richness of the characters in these first few characters. When the man hero moves away from home to the school in Auckland the whole book changed - and I guess that's the essence of the story. The boy's hero is robbed of his family and home. It's not a happily ever after story but the entire story felt true and while it's not necessarily a feel-good experience I strongly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into the River []  2021-1-10 19:18

    I bought this book after seeing the media coverage on TV and online about it being banned in Fresh Zealand schools. I was curious to know what could be so poor about about a coming of age novel for young adults? Wow. read this book. This is a truly attractive story of a young guy thrust into a completely various and overwhelming world. It is a very honest portrayal of growing up, doing stupid things and and figuring out who you are. I'm going out to buy an paper back copy too.I highly recommend this book to anyone (young adults included).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into the River []  2021-1-10 19:18

    As soon as I heard on CNN that this book was banned in public libraries in Fresh Zealand, I ordered it. What advanced, liberal democratic country these days bans book? All it does it provide invaluable free publicity."Into the River" is a quintessential coming of age story; describing the wonder of boyhood in a community that still has roots in shamanistic traditions. The boy's paradise is shattered when he goes off to school in the town and discovers the large contradictors that society forces upon its youth in the name of arently, the book is banned due to its language and content, but there is nothing here that most youth don't encounter in some method or another, especially in an urban school setting. Indeed, I would think having these experiences articulated in such a amazing story would be therapeutic and educational for youths who face related situations.And a amazing story it is. It kept my attention and was very believable, even though I have no first hand experience of the Maori at said, I had some issues with the book. There are a lot of Maori terms which probably brings the story home to those who know the terminology, but for those of not in the know it took time to look up all the fresh words. Also, all the adults in this book--except for the ones in the Maori community--come across as one dimensional and exclusively e tender relationship between Devon and Steph is the heart of the story, and I found myself wishing that in spite of the literary necessity of their traumatic and forced separation, that the two had found a method to continue their journey together. But, the ending is such that it calls for a sequel, and I hope the author indulges us with more tales of Te Arepa and his on going relationship with himself, Steph and the globe around them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into the River []  2021-1-10 19:18

    This was not as "shocking" as I expected it to be, considering it was banned overseas. I didn't like the main hero that much either, and thought the outcome of the book was disappointing. Meh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into The River (Devon Santos) []  2020-1-21 22:26

    As this book was "banned" in Fresh Zealand I purchased it from Amazon and have to say, well done Ted Dawe - you are an wonderful writer who sees Aotearoa and his people "the method it is". No holds barred. I have a 12 yr old and not sure if he would be ready just yet to digest all that this book has within its cover but, he will read it possibly next year. We will discuss some of the pieces in it beforehand that I think may shock him a small however, as I know he reads books already that have much explicit content in them (too difficult for me to vet every one of his books and what he sees online) and what his friends talk about at school - I think he'll probably gain some incite into how difficult life can be in this day and age. As a young Maori tween, he is already becoming aware of much of what Ted alludes to. So, definitely one that hopefully will be created into a film (c'mon Taika or Peter J) - surely? Or Nikki Caro?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into The River (Devon Santos) []  2020-1-21 22:26

    This is quality literature aimed directly at the teenage shop and a book that might well be read by adults. It will be instructive, especially for those adults who choose to ignore teens or believe their perceptions of the globe should be enforced on e story is set in Fresh Zealand and yes, it includes some material in terms of implying male and intedcorse between two young teenagers in a social setting. It is neither prurient nor sensationalist, treats the rhythms of life in a natural and normal manner and these happenings that have drawn such attention to the book are simply part of the side story - not a is book has obvious literary qualities, is contemporary and should take its put as a study text in english literature classes. The facility to yse both the writing, the story construction, the language and the nuancing of the author is superb and will add to the formal education of young is relevant, at least to Fresh Zealand, and quite probably to the english speaking parts of the world, brining Maori culture and problems into some sort of perspective through the eyes of a young teenager.I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into The River (Devon Santos) []  2020-1-21 22:26

    This novel presents life in all its complexity and turns of fate in a setting that is at once familiar and foreign. Can one search a fresh home? How loyal should one be to friends? What will this next choice mean to me? A beautifully written life story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into The River (Devon Santos) []  2020-1-21 22:26

    I was very disappointed by this book. It had a brilliant beginning with the main character, Te Arepa, doing things a typical boy living in a rural setting would do. Once the story moved to the 'City' it seemed to disintegrate. Te Arepa's name is changed to a westernized 'Devon' at a boarding school right out of a Charles ens book. With all the abuse scandals in schools around the globe I can't see the amount of violence versus kids as is depicted in the book being allowed to exist in a thoroughly modern Fresh Zealand. The atmosphere at the school just doesn't gel with the modern world. Te Arepa or Devon as he is now called starts the story as a boy of about eleven years old. He goes home at the end of his first year at boarding school and has a encounter. No mention is created of his transition into puberty, his first wet dream or even his first experience masturbating - the reader is just taken straight to this liaison during his school holidays. for me Ted Dawe's handling of Willie, Steph and Briggs characters verges on homophobic and in today's modern globe that is unacceptable. At the end of his second year he's expelled from school and is now this [email protected]#$% character. Sorry, I obtain that there are children who turn bad, I obtain that some boys have experiences very early in life but for me this story didn't gel, it just didn't seem real. The encounters were gratuitous and didn't contribute anything to the story. Nor did the implied homoity o the three characters I discussed earlier. However, not everything is bad. I found Ted Dawe's style of writing extremely simple to read but feel a glossary at the end of the book explaining the various Maori terms would have created understanding Maori culture easier for someone like me, a foreigner, easier. Ted handled the death of one of the books characters extremely well and in a most unexpected method - reflecting how unexpected death can be in reality. I personally would not recommend this book to anyone under the age of 16 without parental guidance being available to deal with the and implied homoity of a couple of characters and the bullying, The book however, is worth reading in spite of my own private disappointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into The River (Devon Santos) []  2020-1-21 22:26

    How could a young adult book be Banned in Fresh Zealand? As a teacher very familiar with publications aimed at this demographic I had to see if "Into the River" was setting some fresh bench tag and frankly it does not. Most worthy is the opening which features a patois of English and Maori language, I felt drawn to the two young boys on an outdoors adventure as they felt connections with their ancestors and environment. However when the protagonist wins a scholarship to a stuffy Nineteenth Century style boarding school the story lost its way. Rather than be torn between the 2 cultures he becomes completely inamoured by the school, despite nasty victimisation and racism. Ultimately rejecting the Maori community who loved him. Yes there is too much profanity and some poorly written and I gained small from the book. Of course it should not be banned, but I will not be placing it on my list of recommended reads. Test "Whale Rider" or "Jasper Jones" instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into The River (Devon Santos) []  2020-1-21 22:26

    As soon as I heard on CNN that this book was banned in public libraries in Fresh Zealand, I ordered it. What advanced, liberal democratic country these days bans book? All it does it provide invaluable free publicity."Into the River" is a quintessential coming of age story; describing the wonder of boyhood in a community that still has roots in shamanistic traditions. The boy's paradise is shattered when he goes off to school in the town and discovers the large contradictors that society forces upon its youth in the name of arently, the book is banned due to its language and content, but there is nothing here that most youth don't encounter in some method or another, especially in an urban school setting. Indeed, I would think having these experiences articulated in such a amazing story would be therapeutic and educational for youths who face related situations.And a amazing story it is. It kept my attention and was very believable, even though I have no first hand experience of the Maori at said, I had some issues with the book. There are a lot of Maori terms which probably brings the story home to those who know the terminology, but for those of not in the know it took time to look up all the fresh words. Also, all the adults in this book--except for the ones in the Maori community--come across as one dimensional and exclusively e tender relationship between Devon and Steph is the heart of the story, and I found myself wishing that in spite of the literary necessity of their traumatic and forced separation, that the two had found a method to continue their journey together. But, the ending is such that it calls for a sequel, and I hope the author indulges us with more tales of Te Arepa and his on going relationship with himself, Steph and the globe around them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into The River (Devon Santos) []  2020-1-21 22:26

    This was not as "shocking" as I expected it to be, considering it was banned overseas. I didn't like the main hero that much either, and thought the outcome of the book was disappointing. Meh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into The River (Devon Santos) []  2020-1-21 22:26

    The first few chapters grabbed and held my attention. I thoroughly enjoyed the beauty of the setting and the richness of the characters in these first few characters. When the man hero moves away from home to the school in Auckland the whole book changed - and I guess that's the essence of the story. The boy's hero is robbed of his family and home. It's not a happily ever after story but the entire story felt true and while it's not necessarily a feel-good experience I strongly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into The River (Devon Santos) []  2020-1-21 22:26

    I bought this book after seeing the media coverage on TV and online about it being banned in Fresh Zealand schools. I was curious to know what could be so poor about about a coming of age novel for young adults? Wow. read this book. This is a truly attractive story of a young guy thrust into a completely various and overwhelming world. It is a very honest portrayal of growing up, doing stupid things and and figuring out who you are. I'm going out to buy an paper back copy too.I highly recommend this book to anyone (young adults included).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into The River (Devon Santos) []  2020-1-21 22:26

    I started to read this book before the storm of hypocrisy hit it hard. It is a page turner. It is a well told story. It is a coming of age story. But more importantly it is a milestone in Fresh Zealand literature. This book is a must if you wish to understand anything about this country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stepping Twice Into The River: Following Dakota Waters []  2020-1-7 19:20

    Robert King's book on following a river in South Dakota throughout its length is a fascinating reflection on the geography and history of a little-known zone of the west (little-known outside tourist haunts such as Mt. Rushmore). The book meanders like the river, and this is part of its charm. King is a poet, and his lyric talents enrich the descriptions of nature in the book, a work best appreciated by the reader who takes the time to dip into it, set it aside, and then dip into it again. The natural globe of the west is more than mountains and forests.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stepping Twice Into The River: Following Dakota Waters []  2020-1-7 19:20

    A unbelievable read and stories from a small known corner of the country. North Dakota is terra incognito for most people, but King does a amazing job of tying it into the fabric of America.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chattooga: Descending into the Myth of Deliverance River []  2020-9-23 20:33

    John Lane has done it again... John never siezes to amaze me with his timeless writings. John Lane paints the most vivid pictures with his words. In all my years I have never read such brilliant literature. This book really hit home with me. All my life I've traveled on rivers, namely the Chattooga. The rhythmic beauty of its current is captured in John Lane's words. I am haunted by waters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chattooga: Descending into the Myth of Deliverance River []  2020-9-23 20:33

    This is a amazing review of the latest history of this river and why so a lot of people have powerful opinions on it. As with most natural resources various groups have various interests in the use of the river, and that's the fascination with this river in particular with its "Deliverance" associations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chattooga: Descending into the Myth of Deliverance River []  2020-9-23 20:33

    Chatooga is a flowing book - pun intended. John Lanetalks about the result of the book Deliveranceand the film on the people living around the Chatoogain North Georgia. He talks to the people,he hikes on the banks of the river and he kayaks the is is a private book, as much about Lane asabout the river. A amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stepping Twice Into The River: Following Dakota Waters []  2020-1-7 19:20

    John King, as a retired English Professor, wrote here a classic gem of a travel book. It blends his deep reading and understanding of the geology and history of a seemingly drab and neglected region while slowly traveling the length of the Sheyenne River in North Dakota. He provides accurate observations and interesting encounters with natives not always at their best. With his heartfelt fondness for the region and sadness over the inexorable depopulation hitting this zone as with the entire North American center he philosophizes on the greater things touching all mortals struggling to live fully awake on earth. He ends his reflections often on ironic tones of ambiguity which as a reader you will search yourself looking forward to and smiling inwardly. As a conscientious teacher of English and poet he exhibits outstanding literary craftsmanship, invoking spot-on local odd small speech inflections and word choices. Since I'm from the zone I know I'll be returning often to this book to review his geological and historical understandings - outshining much larger and boring volumes. People not from this zone can learn about a true trip down a little North Dakota river; but even more, all can learn how a classic travel book should be crafted. You will never believe the surprise ending!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chattooga: Descending into the Myth of Deliverance River []  2020-9-23 20:33

    Once again, John Lane has succeeded in writing a book that really connects with the regular fan of the wilderness with a desire to read. As a person that grew up in the zone of the Chattooga, and have rafted the river myself, John's insights and stories were wonderfully written and a treat to have read. John Lane is the writer of my people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stepping Twice Into The River: Following Dakota Waters []  2020-1-7 19:20

    I gave this book as a bonus to my husband who is from the area. As he was reading it he constantly came and told me about locations the author was talking about, and how we need to go and discover some areas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chattooga: Descending into the Myth of Deliverance River []  2020-9-23 20:33

    There is a issue with the description of this book. Because I am interested in Henry Bugbee. I purchased this book of the basis on the description. On reading, I found no mention of Henry. There is no reference in the index. This book is a hymn to James ey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fellowship of the River: A Medical Doctor’s Exploration into Traditional Amazonian Plant Medicine []  2020-1-16 0:12

    If you have not heard about medicinal plant medicine, you will hear about it very soon. I have personally experienced profound healing in my time working with the author. Knowing Dr. Tafur personally is a real bonus and he has helped me more than hours of therapy or pharmaceuticals could even scratch the surface on. This is a great, straight forward explanation of what is event with this medicinal healing movement wrapped in Dr. Tafur’s inspiring private story. Unbelievable book and very simple read. I give it my highest recommendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fellowship of the River: A Medical Doctor’s Exploration into Traditional Amazonian Plant Medicine []  2020-1-16 0:12

    This is one of the most necessary books on this subject. As so a lot of diseases and illnesses are on the rise, our medical system is ill equipped to handle them all. Dr. Tafur proposes a new perspective on utilizing ancient technologies to obtain to the root cause of a lot of modern illnesses and conditions, offering hope and healing to those who have not found health in a prescription bottle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Drifted Into The Amazon: a homemade bamboo raft down the mighty Amazon River, unsupported []  2020-12-26 19:24

    Amazing work, Henrik! This book was fun to read and covered an adventure that few will ever obtain to experience in true life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fellowship of the River: A Medical Doctor’s Exploration into Traditional Amazonian Plant Medicine []  2020-1-16 0:12

    This book takes a subject that is notoriously difficult to write about clearly and makes it accessible, but with enough depth to warrant a few separate reads. I read it before any experience with ayahuasca, again following a retreat, and few weeks later as a mental health clinician eager to more fully understand the intersection of traditional western health care and Amazonian shamanic healing. Each reading was both rich and clear, meeting me as a reader as my intention around the material changed. I also found the author's approach to the subject very grounded and his recounting of his vocational journey as a medical doctor relatable and honest. Even those not interested in exploring Amazonian plant medicine will have fun the biographical aspects of this book as the story of person who took risks to follow a vocational path with amazing private meaning instead of following a safer and more conventional path. I would recommend this book to any medical clinician or patient curious about the process of healing in other cultures or anyone interested in psychedelics as healing medicines. Fascinating, no difficult-to-swallow or un-nuanced approaches to spirituality, and very readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Drifted Into The Amazon: a homemade bamboo raft down the mighty Amazon River, unsupported []  2020-12-26 19:24

    Wow! What a freaking adventure. Well done - a unbelievable story that I read straight through. He really gives you a perspective on what unexpected things you run across when you build a dang 30 ft. raft in the jungle and sail down the Amazon. I highly recommend this eBook and will read it again. Cheers, Henrik!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fellowship of the River: A Medical Doctor’s Exploration into Traditional Amazonian Plant Medicine []  2020-1-16 0:12

    I have been worked with ayahuasca for fourteen years, and have also managed a retreat center in Peru. When I met Joe Tafur around 2012, I knew right away that he was a person of knowledge and integrity. I have read so a lot of books about ayahuasca and none compare to this one. It provides the context and perspective as well as clinical descriptions, all told in an honest and real style. I would say that there are very few people like Joe, an american MD who truly understands the spiritual paradigm and healing tradition of the Amazon. The ayahuasca movement is blessed to have him as a spokesperson as his voice is without arrogance yet full of truth. For anyone looking for a book about ayahuasca and Amazonian plant medicine, I highly recommend this one. To me, it is the quintessential literary work on the topic. Absolutely fantastic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fellowship of the River: A Medical Doctor’s Exploration into Traditional Amazonian Plant Medicine []  2020-1-16 0:12

    Dr. Tafur provides a special and strong insight into the traditional globe of Ayahuasca and other plant medicines. Unlike most of the books out here, it focuses less on the magic and more on the actual benefits of the plant medicine, and Dr. Tafur provides some interesting theories and hypothesis on how Ayahuasca heals or repairs the body.If you are considering trying Ayahuasca or you have done it before, and wish to further your upstanding, then I highly recommend this is an easy, and enjoyable read, and you will not be disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fellowship of the River: A Medical Doctor’s Exploration into Traditional Amazonian Plant Medicine []  2020-1-16 0:12

    I read The Fellowship on the River after some years spent exploring ayahuasca and Amazonian plant medicine. I loved Tafur's sincere and grounded approach - it is a book I easily recommended to people who have a hard time understanding or believing in the potential(s) of plant medicine, or who obtain caught up in thinking of it as primarily "psychedelic" experience. The book has much to offer in starting to bridge the gap between allopathic medicine and the globe of healing medicine found in the Amazon jungle (both the plants and the practitioners). Tafur presents a lot of cases, all of which I found interesting. I highly recommend the book to anyone who has experienced ayahuasca (it will deepen understanding) and to anyone who is curious and seeking a straight-forward approach to learning about this form of healing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Drifted Into The Amazon: a homemade bamboo raft down the mighty Amazon River, unsupported []  2020-12-26 19:24

    I found this book looking on the internet, after a trip to the Napo River in my home country of Ecuador. Our tutorials had told us about a "crazy dude" who built his own raft and went to Brazil from Ecuador, down the Napo and Amazon rivers. I was amazed by this adventure, and had to search out more. I eventually found Henrik and his blog. What an awesome experience my friend! You are living life to the fullest, and I salute your courage and determination! Thanks for writing this book and sharing your experiences. Please, hold us posted on your fresh adventures to come!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Drifted Into The Amazon: a homemade bamboo raft down the mighty Amazon River, unsupported []  2020-12-26 19:24

    An extraordinary tail about a part of the world, that very few from the modern globe knows. A mix of vivid description of surroundings and happenings and the reflections and emotions on humankind and the inner self. It is an absolute beauty of a story that I will recommend for anyone with interest in society, developing in the world, traveling, adventuring or simply just someone who takes an interest in life itself!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Drifted Into The Amazon: a homemade bamboo raft down the mighty Amazon River, unsupported []  2020-12-26 19:24

    very entertaining, I read this entire book in 3 separate readings, couldn't place in down. I enjoyed every page, maybe not Earnest Hemi gway , but certainly well written and very entertaining. I like real stories for knowledge of the true world, this book certainly accomplished that. amazing story, very informative about the people of the amazon basin.,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fellowship of the River: A Medical Doctor’s Exploration into Traditional Amazonian Plant Medicine []  2020-1-16 0:12

    The Fellowship of the River traces an American Medical Doctor's experience of training in shamanic healing with ayahuasca. This is a rare glimpse into the very process of how ayahuasca heals from both an indigenous perspective learned during his shamanic training and a Western medical point of view. One of the book's most necessary contributions is how ayahuasca helps shamans to see illness in the body and how it enables them to remove dark energy with songs. Dr Tafur reveals how the medicine opens up the shaman's bonus for singing and how the Shipibo designs contribute to the healing process. This book will support tutorial readers both before and after their ayahuasca experiences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fellowship of the River: A Medical Doctor’s Exploration into Traditional Amazonian Plant Medicine []  2020-1-16 0:12

    Well it's finally time to sit down and write a review...I'll test to hold it short and sweet although I could sing my praise for days. First of all I should state that I have been working as a clinical social worker / family therapist in Fresh York Town for the past 5 years. I have worked in public schools and public clinics and I have seen it all in terms of "psycho-pathology"...and of course I have seen the limits of our Western "medical model" when it comes to treating supposed mental health conditions with psychotropic that I have spent two weeks at Nihue Rao and I can say for certain that our model, for the most part, is doing more hurt than good. We treat the brain-mind with strong psychotropics and we leave out entirely the heart and the spirit. My journey to Peru was focused around healing my chronic lower back pain...which had been plaguing me for the past 7 years. I had a break-thru during my latest ceremony and, synchronistically, I left Iquitos on Jan 1 2020 with a fresh back...because really I left Iquitos having found my soul.I am forever grateful to Dr. Joe, Ricardo, and all the staff at Nihue Rao. I will be back for more healing and hope to continue to spread the ace and Love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fellowship of the River: A Medical Doctor’s Exploration into Traditional Amazonian Plant Medicine []  2020-1-16 0:12

    Joseph Tafur does a amazing job of explaining and describing the Ayahuasca experience in a method that is truthful and does not lead you to have any false expectations. If you are like a lot of other people who are wondering what drinking Ayahuasca is like this is a amazing book to respond that question for you. What's special is that Joseph is also an American doctor so even if you are a seasoned Ayahuasca drinker you obtain the experience from a medical perspective. Joseph does a amazing job in making the context relatable and simple to read. Highly reccomend! Must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Drifted Into The Amazon: a homemade bamboo raft down the mighty Amazon River, unsupported []  2020-12-26 19:24

    My buddies and I created a raft somewhat like this one on the Lafayette River in Norfolk, Va in 1962, and have never forgotten the amazing times we had. I now live in Ecuador and go to the jungle yet again tomorrow. This book is simply fabulous and will bring out the boy in you; I promise you. It did so much in me that I contacted all my old mates still living and proposed building a raft here and duplicating the trip in this book, no takers, and you will see why, chickens! Terrific read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Drifted Into The Amazon: a homemade bamboo raft down the mighty Amazon River, unsupported []  2020-12-26 19:24

    Amazing read if you like adventure stories! Henrik tells you early that he is not a writer; however, I absolutely disagree with him.......he's a amazing writer and the best adventure books create you feel part of the action. He does this brilliantly without fanfare or the usual hyperbole. He "simply" takes you with him on a ride down the Amazon on a raft built cheaply and from available materials. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Drifted Into The Amazon: a homemade bamboo raft down the mighty Amazon River, unsupported []  2020-12-26 19:24

    Nicely written, sometimes a bit overwhelming with a bit of sort of preaching, but I enjoyed the book totally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fellowship of the River: A Medical Doctor’s Exploration into Traditional Amazonian Plant Medicine []  2020-1-16 0:12

    For those who are curious and have yet to experience this bonus (ayahuasca shamanism) of the Amazon Jungle, and seeking clarity on ayahuasca shamanism; Dr. Tafur offers a beautifully crafted car for the reader( passenger). With this vehicle, he takes you on a journey deep into the jungle. A journey well navigated, Into the depths and shines light which pierces through the mysteries. In the end, leaving the passenger with a renewed sense of understanding of a bonus often misunderstood.Dr Tafur smoothly cuts through the curves and turns of the topic so that all (novice and experienced in the topic of ayahuasca shamanism) will gain a keepsake of knowledge deep within the chambers of the heart. His ability to make a bridge for everyone to cross in order to reach this is a wonder to have come across.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Drifted Into The Amazon: a homemade bamboo raft down the mighty Amazon River, unsupported []  2020-12-26 19:24

    Amazing book and a very exiting adventure to read about. Like to obtain a small history from the various cities and all is relevant to the finitely recommend this book to all and especially to people who are considering some kind of adventure themselves

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River []  2020-1-14 19:24

    I choose a 5 star because I am a large fan of the Brian's is book gives life to Brian and through hatchet did the same this book place Brian in a situation where he had to care for himself and someone else.... though as amazing as this book is I feel it did not capture the survival situation that they went to do. Yes with the emergency of Derek being in a coma lead to the rafting down a river but they never really reach their destination of the trade post, considering dereks condition this is understandable. Only part that wasn't really realistic was he never stopped for meal with all that work all those hours he would have required to eat to hold up his energy to do so. Like I said however this is still one of my favorite books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River []  2020-1-14 19:24

    My students love this book. This along with Hatchet and Brian's Winter are a huge hit with my students. My students struggle with reading, however through having them listen and follow along with the print ver has greatly helped their overall reading ability.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Allow me just obtain the one poor thing out of the way. Spoiler alert for the first two chapters; Brian returns to the wild because goverment survival instructors need him to teach them survival methods. This has to be one of the most absurd plots I've ever heard for a book. The idea that the people who train Green Berets and Marine Force Recon need a teenage to teach them to live off the land is ridiculous. I have a military problem surival book meant for soldiers in case of capture that addresses a lot of of the issues Brian faced in Hatchet. Often it provides better methods than Brian ends up using to deal with problems. Added to that is the fact that, in addition to everything else Brian faced, escaping POWs have opponent soldiers hunting them. Yet in The River, the instructors actually say neither them nor anyone they (meaning the government) know has ever been in a true survival situation. That said, once you obtain passed that, the book is great. It is the reason I spent several hundred dollars on a kayak. And for younger audiences, it can definately spark a life-long interest in the amazing outdoors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Not quite as amazing as Hatchet, as the struggle to survive is contrived to start with. Military experts wish him to go thru a related experience while being observed so they can figure out how he was able to survive. They need to know what about him helped him the first time. What he teaches them could support others who might be in related situations. When things go wrong Brian has fresh issues to solve. He is responsible for another person who has been struck by lightening and is in a coma. There is less focus on how painful and consuming hunger can be. More focus on making critical decisions. How to obtain the injured man back to civilization, building a raft, learning how to navigate on the river. There are periods where Brian is exhausted because he is trying to obtain to the trading post as quick as possible. He falls asleep, dreams and hallucinates for portions of this excursion. Still a amazing story. We will look for the next one in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River []  2020-1-14 19:24

    THE RIVER by Gary ORY BRIEF:This is the sequel to and should be read after "Hatchet." The River takes put a year later. In Hatchet, 13-year-old Brian survives for 54 days in the Canadian wilderness alone. The next summer the military hires Brian to do it again with one of them taking notes so they can train other people how to survive. Because it will support save lives, Brian agrees to do it. He and Derek fly to a various zone in the Canadian wilderness. While there lightning strikes Derek causing a coma. The radio is also broken. Brian decides to build a raft to take them down the river to obtain support since Derek will die in a few days without ER'S OPINION:I loved Hatchet. This was enjoyable but not as good. I have fun being with Brian as he thinks and acts in the survival environment. This book didn't have as a lot of episodes or scenes with various animals and threats as the first book. In other words - not as a lot of issues to solve and Brian didn't learn or grow as much as he did in the first book. So, not a lot happens here but I still liked e book is shorter than standard novels. The narrator Peter Coyote was excellent.OTHER BOOKS:The author wrote a lot of books, but the Hatchet series consists of:5 stars. Hatchet (read first)5 stars. Brian's Winter (read second or third but I prefer second)3 stars. The River (read second or third)4 stars. Brian's Return3 stars. Brian's HuntDATA:Unabridged audiobook length: 2 hrs and 31 mins. Narrator: Peter Coyote. Swearing language: none. content: none. Setting: current day mostly the Canadian wilderness. Copyright: probably 1991. Genre: young adult adventure fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River []  2020-1-14 19:24

    My 12 year old really likes this series which is amazing because he is not a huge fan of books. Listening to them on tape is great. We loved the first one and the second one is just o.k. Kind of short. Judging by other reviews we agree that the second one is not as amazing as the first, but it had really amazing moments. Definately will check out the next in the series because they are amazing enough to continue on. I wouldn't hesitate to obtain this and recommend finishing the series, especially for a boy who doesn't like to read, it is almost a miricle series. Peter Coyote (forgive the spelling) is a fabulous reader, he gets 5 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Amazing sequel to The Hatchet. Amazing book for a boy who or a girl who doesn't like to read very much. Exciting, boy has to survive in the wilderness by himself building fires, finding out which berries he can eat how to catch the fish how to skin the fish how to cook the fish just an perfect book I would recommend it to any boy or girl probably 9 years old or up but I would definitely suggest that they read the Hatchet first before they read the River

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River []  2020-1-14 19:24

    My 9 year old LOVED Hatchet so we bought him all the books by Gary Paulsen. He says they all seem to follow the same literary "formula" just in various settings - winter, an island, etc but he loves the outdoors and adventure books so he enjoys them, despite their slight predictability.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Just A few hours to read. Then at 82% it’s OVER and the other 18% is just previews from his other books. I’ve already place $20 into this series for just a few hours of reading and starting to regret it. Still feel like I need to finish the series. Oh well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Review - The Brain Sagas by Gary PaulsenI have now finished all five of the Brian Sage books - “Hatchet,” “The River,” “Brian’s Winter,” “Brian's Return” and “The Hunt.” and the epilogue “Guts” by Gary Paulsen. “The Hatchet” is one of three Newberry Awards that Gary Paulsen has sically the series is one story. The story of an teenage boy who at age 13 is left alone in the North Woods of Canada due to a pilot’s fatal heart attack and plane wreck. The first book, “The Hatchet” tells of the guts, intelligence, patience and luck of a 13 year old boy with small wilderness experience in learning how to live and survive in a remote wilderness. We obtain a marvelous set of instructions in wilderness lore and living, and a glimpse into an smart mind that issue solves, learns and masters a strange world. At the end of this book Brian retrieves a signal radio from the submerged plane and is “Brian’s Winter” is an alternate ending. Brian is not rescued, but manages to learn more and survive into December. We see more of Brian’s talents and abilities and fresh found skills. Here, Brian stumbles into a family of Cree Native Americans manning a trap line, who take him in. Brian flies out on the next supply place. The Cree family consider him like one of the “old people” for Brian is dressed in skins he has captured and his arrows have stone points he has created himself. Yes, some of the story is very fortuitous for Brian, but that does not distract from the lessons of the wilderness and the lessons of life Brian has to learn to survive.“The River” is a book with Brian returning to the North Woods with a psychologist, Derek, of the military attempting to learn how to teach survival to the military. The man is not schooled in the wilderness at all, and Brian become “the adult” in charge of the adventure. Brian sends the 200 pounds of supplies back with the plane that flew them in, and commences to recreate the globe he knew in the first two books. Half the book is a terrifying trip over 100 miles, 3+ days, down a river, its rapids, lakes and swamps, with Derek unconscious on a wilderness created raft. We obtain a first hand look at the guts important to achieve this. Again, the manage to create a trapper’s cabin and are “Brian’s Return” we see Brian not fitting back into civilization, 15 - 16 year old’s school and society. Brian has adjusted to the Wilderness, and that is the reality he much prefers. Brian takes along a few supplies an d does very “The Hunt” Brian is back in the North Woods learning more woods lore and ways. By now he is nearly a expert. Brian finds an old man, Billy, in his camp one evening. Billy and Brian share a mutual evening of silent communication and while few words are exchanged, Brian gains “medicine.”’ In respect, Billy, leaving camp very early before Brian is awake, leaves a amulet of white tail deer fur and crow’s feathers for Brian. Brian recognizes the significance of this and immediately hangs it around his neck. Shortly thereafter, Brian and a wounded dog search each other. It turns out the dog belonged to the Cree Family Brian had met in “Brian’s Winter.” Unfortunately, a bear had devastated the cabin and family of the Cree family , killing two members of that family. Brian rescues the wife, buries the dead, and deals with the stoic, bureaucratic officials. Once they leave, Brian hunts and in a unbelievable stage - which I will not spoil - kills the bear.“Guts” is stories from Gary Paulsen’s life, rough childhood, adventures in Minnesota, Canada, the American South West, Colorado. These episodes Gary wove into Brian’s Story - a story beautifully and touchingly told. Gary’s knowledge and actual experiences gave him the insight to write the Brian Saga. Not only is the woods lore appropriately, accurately and well handled, but the changes that the North Woods induces in Brian are well followed. The books are at once a deep lesson in both survival and in life. We learn much about wilderness living. But we also are treated to the contrasts of life in the town and in the Wilderness.Due a few violent scenes, this series should not be read by youth under 13 or so. Death is a part of life, and life is an endless living with what is there. It takes “guts”, perseverance, and patience, to achieve what Brian achieved, and that is the true notice of these books. Life takes True Guts,lots of perseverance, and lots of e books read very well. The stories are well told. The reading level is at least 8th grade. And for those with an interest in Nature and the Wilderness, be it North Woods, SW desert or ocean, the lessons apply. I found the reading to be extremely enjoyable, and the lessons deep and well taught without being preachy. A amazing series of books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Drifting into Darien: A Personal and Natural History of the Altamaha River (Wormsloe Foundation Nature Book Ser. 14) []  2020-5-23 18:14

    This is a very amazing book. The author is an perfect story teller. She also touches on necessary problems in Altamaha River basin, as well as, problems in the agriculture and logging industries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Drifting into Darien: A Personal and Natural History of the Altamaha River (Wormsloe Foundation Nature Book Ser. 14) []  2020-5-23 18:14

    Written very tangential, slightly difficult to follow. Written more like a biology lesson 101 with shallow hero ysis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Drifting into Darien: A Personal and Natural History of the Altamaha River (Wormsloe Foundation Nature Book Ser. 14) []  2020-5-23 18:14

    It's OK

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Drifting into Darien: A Personal and Natural History of the Altamaha River (Wormsloe Foundation Nature Book Ser. 14) []  2020-5-23 18:14

    Private interest

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Drifting into Darien: A Personal and Natural History of the Altamaha River (Wormsloe Foundation Nature Book Ser. 14) []  2020-5-23 18:14

    Part fiery environmentalist's polemic, part homage to her home and her spiritual center, and a private tribute to a lot of of the individuals actively engaged in protecting and promoting that home today, Ray's "Drifting Into Darien" is an engaging read, especially for those of us who love Georgia's remaining wild places. (Full disclosure: I am originally from so far north, I don't even qualify as a "damned Yankee," being Canadian by birth, but I have called Georgia home for over 27 years now, almost half my adult life.) As we read, we learn that a river and its surrounding lands, its sources, its tributaries and its lasting effects on everything from agriculture to transportation are so much more than meets the eye. Ray draws us in, and makes us wish to go out and work for our own locations (of origin or of current residence) with the same white-hot love she feels for the Altamaha river basin, its swamps and floodplains, its rich zoology, its changing seasons, and its human inhabitants.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Drifting into Darien: A Personal and Natural History of the Altamaha River (Wormsloe Foundation Nature Book Ser. 14) []  2020-5-23 18:14

    This story gave you insight to a various globe of the Altamaha River and what it meant not only to the writer but to her family and community. Well written, a put I would love to visit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Drifting into Darien: A Personal and Natural History of the Altamaha River (Wormsloe Foundation Nature Book Ser. 14) []  2020-5-23 18:14

    I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed this selection. I enjoyed Ms Ray's writing style,her words flow just like the river she writes about. I live not far from the Altamaha,have canoed down some of it, didn't realize what we had and will do my parT in helping to maintain and preserve this jewel in is a amazing read and really helps you understand how we all are depend on each other....bugs,critters included.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Drifting into Darien: A Personal and Natural History of the Altamaha River (Wormsloe Foundation Nature Book Ser. 14) []  2020-5-23 18:14

    What can I say? I am totally smitten by the writings of Janisse Ray, the author of this book. She speaks to me in her special powerful Southern woman voice. She is SUCH an advocate of taking care of planet earth in general and the Altamaha River specifically. The river has a amazing protector in this woman. The book is about a trip down the Altamaha to the Georgia coast line. Every day was an adventure. It is all well doented in this book. This book is sort of the companion piece to "Altamaha-A River and its Keeper". I give this book my highest endorsement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Drifting into Darien: A Personal and Natural History of the Altamaha River (Wormsloe Foundation Nature Book Ser. 14) []  2020-5-23 18:14

    I'm a fan of Janisse Ray's writing and Drifting into Daren has not disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Drifting into Darien: A Personal and Natural History of the Altamaha River (Wormsloe Foundation Nature Book Ser. 14) []  2020-5-23 18:14

    Loved the book. Love the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE RIVER at Smyrna [App]  2019-4-10 13:20

    Very nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ace on the River []  2020-1-11 18:53

    This is a amazing book for any poker enthusiast. The pictures alone are worth the price. It is probably one of the best looking poker books on the market. However, outside of the autobiographical section, most of the tip is geared toward a player who is pondering making the move to professional poker. That doesn't mean that the average player should not pick up a copy. Quite the contrary. Anyone can learn from such a disciplined and seasoned pro as Barry Greenstein. One of the more interesting discussions in the book is the charitable donations of his competition winnings. A lot of people think that Barry is so wealthy that he can just give away the millions he makes in high-stakes tourneys. Barry points out that, yes, his career in the globe did afford him the luxury of playing full time, but he is very dependent on his income from CASH games.He also goes into amazing length to dispell the myth that is the glitz and glamor of the globe of professional gambling. He points out that it can be a lucrative industry, but it requires a LOT of self-discipline. There are so a lot of distractions that accompany gambling--, , alcohol, sports betting--Barry discusses the pitfalls of them all. What he does is place poker playing for a living in perspective. His writing style is easy and simple to read. No complicated math formulas or probabilities discussions a la Sklansky. While he does discuss these things, he discusses them in terms we all can favorite part of the book is his discussion of different competition hands he has been involved in over the years. He presents the scenario (pictures to help) and then asks, "How would you play the hand?" After thinking, turn the page and see how he yzes the hand. Sometimes his ysis differs from how the hand actually played out, hindsight being 20/20! These are very valuable for any interested competition player.Overall, this is a must add for any poker enthusiast, and would be worthy of coffee table display for even the casual poker/gambling fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ace on the River []  2020-1-11 18:53

    This book is filled with practical info that will be valuable to intermediate and advanced players. Barry Greenstein is a very smart and sensitive person. He has written a book about how to play certain issue hands, the other players and how to manage your own life as a poker player.His chapter on poker society helped me obtain into the minds of the people who play this android game a lot more often than I e hand examples go over the most common tricky situations you search yourself in at the table. I think the info contained in this part of the book helped me overcome a serious flaw in my own android game and create the transition from being an inconsistent player to a winning one. There was also something about his general poker and private philosophy that really clicked with me.I had been struggling at the intermediate level for a few months at the time i read this book. Immediately afterwards I became aware of some of the situations where I was donking off chips and began to avoid them and winning (of folding) in the same e charts in the back of the book showing certain hand match-ups, number of outs, and winning percentages will give you something to chew on after you finish the book.Without the illustrations and photos, this would be a thin book but the value of what is written in is very high. This is clearly a case of quality over quantity.I see Mr. Greenstein at our local casinos from time to time. I am going to begin keeping this book in my vehicle so I can have him sigh it. I'd also like to thank him personally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ace on the River []  2020-1-11 18:53

    I bought this after having read the works of Harrington, Gordon, Sklansky, Brunson, etc. This book is a mixture of Greenstein's thoughts on the poker society in general and some tactic examples. My impression of the book is that it just seems to be a series of random thoughts by the author and that it was not very comprehensive. Each chapter is fairly short and the book is full of color images that serve as filler material and don't add any value (no captions on the pictures). A couple of points I did like were the points Greenstein created about buying in for the minimum instead of maximum in money android games and his theory to aculate chips early in tournaments (instead of playing tight early as a lot of others advocate). I would only recommend this as an addition to a comprehensive poker library and not as an early read (it is subtitled as an advanced poker guide).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ace on the River []  2020-1-11 18:53

    Ace on the River is easily one of the finest books about the android game of poker ever written. How To books on poker are a dime a dozen, but this fine tome does not fit that category. A book that every potential poker pro should read, Ace on the River provides answers to all those questions we've all had over the a lot of hours spent at the table and away, but were unable to even place into words, allow alone answer. Written by one of the real gentlemen of the android game (and one of the most financially successful), Ace on the River provides info on everything from etiquette to and all points in between. If you wish to learn which hands to play, read some other book. If you wish to learn how to play, victory and live the android game of poker, read Greenstein. I finished the book wanting more...a sequel is in order!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River: A novel []  2020-1-1 18:0

    I picked up this book both because i have fun outdoor adventure stories, but also because i took a 10-day canoe trip in that zone at camp as an adolescent, and it was a formative experience in a lot of ways. However, I stayed with the novel (which I read rather quickly) because of the poetic descriptions of the river, the ferocity of fire, and the remarkable relationship between the two young men. It recalled both Jack London and Jon Krakauer in its capacity to maintain a slow developing sense of suspense, while never losing sight of the miraculous power of nature. I immediately wanted to go back to the Canadian boundary waters and embark on a similar, yet safer, adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River: A novel []  2020-1-1 18:0

    Peter Heller doesn't disappoint. Again. He isn't a formulaic writer..once again, it's a various kind of story, told in a various way. Just when you think you are settling in to have fun a "camping story"[email protected]#$% happens, huge time! If you are a Peter Heller fan, you'll love this book. If you are not...I'm sorry for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    I've read philosophical books on consciousness and was excited by their premises. Sacks' River of Consciousness is rewarding reading because it explores what neuroscientific research is discovering about the remarkable diversity of brain functions and how, as I understand it, this diversity creates consciousness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River of Consciousness []  2020-1-13 19:11

    I absolutely love Dr. Sacks, so this is in no method objective. Nevertheless, I can say straight out the things he says about the physical brain, with all it's neuro-biology, added to the somewhat nebulous (but not) ideas over time about thought and mind -- were so fascinating I didn't wish to turn off this audio book. Another huge winner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    The application will not stay on. I have to constantly reset it. Not simple to do while working or exercising

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    I love this application and the songs they play. I can listen to my favorite melody anywhere I go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    Amazing station, best classic rock around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    Need more rock from 90s .early 2000

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    I love the Classics I grew up with. I live in SC but listen to the River all the time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    Simply the Best in Rock and Roll!!📻🎼🔊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    Amazing dozens of melody

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    The river application is amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    Hope to figure out where canton Ga is see ya there...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    Works well luv the river

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    Love The River!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    this application is amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    ROCK ON!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    Love my classic rock

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    We love the River.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    greatest melody

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    97.1 The River [App]  2020-5-25 13:31

    Love tha river hold it going from Pickens county Georgia

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The River Instrumental 1 []  2020-1-22 2:29

    This is anointed melody that will bring you quickly into the presence of God whether you are alone or in a group. Amazing background melody for intercession times or just fellowshipping. I have listened to this one CD for hours on street trips or cleaning the house.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chike and the River []  2020-1-22 21:35

    Had Chinua Achebe's "Things Fall Apart" as needed reading in high school and dreaded every lesson; so ars later, I decided to revisit the author starting "light". Amazing start. Phew. Will now venture onto "Girls at War" and "There was a country" and give this "Chike and the River" to a young nephew.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chike and the River []  2020-1-22 21:35

    This by far one of my favorite books to read on those days when your super bored it's so adventurous and really gives a detail about Africa and African literature My son who is 12 finished it in two days👍🏽 5/5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where the River Ends []  2020-1-22 22:49

    A beautifully written "life journey". Mr. Martin is a master story teller. His hero development has you feeling like you are part of the ter reading the final pages with a tear soaked face, I went to my Amazon and bought another of his books. He's got a fan for life.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386