Read introducing linguistics reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all introducing linguistics reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    Very helpful for a beginner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    Brilliant.Well researched and reasoned.Written very clearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    Although this is a brief book but it provide a very descent general introduction to works as an overview of the subject and a begin pad to further e reason why I gave 4 stars is the illustrations, I thought that they were of mediocre quality and didn't add much to the content.

    0  


    Add your opinion on introducing linguistics or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    I bought this because....well, I don't know, I think I wanted to look at the pictures or something. It turns out, though, that it does a amazing job of taking major concepts and presenting them in tiny, simple to understand bits. With pictures. It's fun AND helpful. Whaaa??!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    Fun and educational to read. Buy it! Fun and educational to read. Buy it! Fun and educational to read. Buy it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    Easy, informative and fast read. Thought-provoking and full of fun factoids to share with mates who aren't generally interested in this subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    I stocked this book in a professional library for educators because I feel like so a lot of people can use a refresher in Linguistics. It's understandable and covers all the necessary ideas. The teachers appreciate the method it approaches a sometimes dry topic with humor. It won't obtain you through a college course on linguistics but it's a amazing begin or reminder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    Think a fun review of or introduction to linguistics, by no means is this comprehensive nor is it intended to be. Rather, it briefly goes over the core ideas of linguistics. I bought these for me to try out interest in several subjects and found that these books are delightful. They can be finished in a night and may be appropriate for younger audiences, too. Be prepared to have Google handy for some unfamiliar topics, if this is a fresh topic for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    It's necessary to understand that the Introducing series is in the business not of teaching you the entirety of any given subject, but merely introducing you to it. This, as with a lot of other titles in the series, gives you a very fast summary of the movement and its history and touches on a lot of of the significant branches. Believe me, you can always go deeper, and really one ought to if one desires anything close to an actual understanding of the topics the people at Totem Books purport to introduce.What I search is that these books in general, and this title specifically, prepares your for deeper reading by giving you the gist of things, and thus allows you to engage other texts with greater sustain and keener aen. There are other series of course, Cambridge has their wonderful, if frequently denser, Companion series, and Paul Strathern has created his career giving a related gist in 90 minutes. I would say that the people at Totem have hit the so-called sweet spot with these though. Strathern is too often concerned with biographical detail for my tastes, and spends less time with the ideas themselves (though of course the life of a thinker is necessary to understanding them. Cambridge has unbelievable guides, but even these may be a tad much for someone merely seeking to dip their toe in and take a look around. This is why I recommend this e graphic approach hopefully renders these concepts more accessible to a wider audience, and can indeed create what are often thought of as dull subjects, quite entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    Excellent for getting your feet wet in the pool of linguistics. Highly vers the basics from beginning to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics For Dummies []  2019-12-27 19:6

    I search the Dummies books to be hit or miss. With this one, it is definitely a hit! What a unbelievable introduction to the globe of lingusitics. Thorough but simple to read. Incredibly informative. Well organized. For me, it's a fast reference book for concepts that I don't use as often, but if I were to teach an introductory course, I would use this book rather than the $100+ textbook options out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics For Dummies []  2019-12-27 19:6

    This should seriously be the textbook for an intro to linguistics course. This book helped me through that semester, even with the hindrance of the craptastic text book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics For Dummies []  2019-12-27 19:6

    Amazing starter book for nonlinguists who are interested in learning more about how, where & what sounds are produced to create up language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics For Dummies []  2019-12-27 19:6

    Anyone interested in language should search this a amazing starting point or for review for people that have had a Linguistics course. Simple to read and illustrated! Full of terms and fully explained if you are interested in taking a college course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics For Dummies []  2019-12-27 19:6

    This book is a amazing review and assisted me in passing a PRAXIS test. As a result, it was a amazing investment for me. It would be valuable as a fast summary for a person taking a college level Linguistics class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics For Dummies []  2019-12-27 19:6

    This was a very enjoyable introduction, with enough depth to introduce a broad range of linguistic concepts. Linguistics is a very broad discipline, and in some locations it seemed like things were being glossed over quickly; what choice is there with a book like this. At times I was satisfied there was not more depth; I got my introduction, and I'm just not interested in going further. This is a excellent launching point for exploration, and it seems it could create a fine textbook for an introductory college course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics For Dummies []  2019-12-27 19:6

    This is our official textbook for our Introduction to Linguistics class at ISU. Our teacher explicitly stated that, of all the proper textbooks and materials, this was the most concise and consistent he could y other books have stances on subjects that others don't agree with, but this one presents various viewpoints in a comprehensive and non-biased way. And since this is so cheap, my instructor was even more excited to use ter using this for a few months I can completely agree with him. It's fun to read and it explains everything well using amazing examples. I would recommend this over a textbook any day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics For Dummies []  2019-12-27 19:6

    I bought this to support me study for my graduate try in linguistics. However, it turned out that I really didn't need this book because I knew it all! I was hoping to use it to support me to study and reinforce, but this book is really for those who might be interested in studying linguistics or those who need a bit of background info. They don't go terribly far into detail, but that's what makes it so simple to read and understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics For Dummies []  2019-12-27 19:6

    Best definition of meaning, connotation, and denotation I have ever found. Outguns the information wiki has by a substantial margin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics For Dummies []  2019-12-27 19:6

    Interesting and helpful for an English teacher to second language students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Concise Introduction to Linguistics []  2020-9-25 18:43

    The book as a whole was needed for linguistics class. While it reads like a technical manual at times and is confusing, I think that is in part due to instructor failings and not necessarily the book. My one MAJOR complaint with this book is that the digital ver is fire: Cons:A. - No page numbers, only locations. This is detrimental when you have to do homework assignments that are located within the book. Several students had to ask exactly what questions were on the assignment because we didn't have page numbers for reference.B. - Several assignments really require you to go back into the chapter for reading, but the ability to bounce from the exercise pages to the reading material is non-existent.C. - There are several photos within the book that are detrimental to the course, such as diagrams for pronunciation, phoneme and morpheme yses, etc... all of which are mushed into the kindle and unreadable.D. - Since this is a linguistics book, a amazing majority of the words and pronunciations are provided in IPA spelling to contain diacritics, but the kindle didn't translate those symbols and no matter how much you enlarge the words, you cannot create out the diacritic marks being ter having problems almost immediately with being able to use the digital ver effectively on my Kindle Fire, I decided to test it on my kindle reader for the laptop. This way was only marginally better. At least on the kindle reader for PC I have page numbers to access and reference, but it doesn't let you to read a whole page at one time. It basically took the kindle fire ver and threw it on a bigger screen. There is no method to enlarge the page for reading, other than making the font bigger. You don't have the option of viewing a whole page on the screen, only a little portion of it. Still unable to enlarge photos or diacritic yourself a favor, if you need this book for class, obtain the physical book only. Don't waste your time with the digital/Kindle version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics: A Complete Introduction: Teach Yourself []  2019-12-20 18:36

    Originally, I saw Linguistics: A complete Introduction at Barnes and Noble and thumbed through it there. My interests are in gleaning any additional knowledge and insight I can into linguistics so that I can apply that to helping teach others to write and speak English is seller had the book listed for a fair amount less than B&N. The book arrived very promptly, and was everything described: right item, fresh condition, etc.I would definitely do business with this seller again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics: A Complete Introduction: Teach Yourself []  2019-12-20 18:36

    Amazing small book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics: A Complete Introduction: Teach Yourself []  2019-12-20 18:36

    Just a textbook. Arrive in time and in fresh condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics: A Complete Introduction: Teach Yourself []  2019-12-20 18:36

    This book is excellent! Looking for a textbook for my introductory linguistics course that doesn't cost students their next five year's salaries, I bought it, read and loved it. Why? Because it gets at the base of what language is, how it works and how we use in our everyday lives. Only a scant few of my students go on to major in linguistics and master the methodology which is tricky, often mind-bending and challenging, so I've been using texts that either are too technically demanding or written by non-linguists who stay within the parameters of prescriptive grammars. David Hornsby small book here starts out with a clear description of how to approach the study of language, takes the reader through the development of the discipline and covers the complicated mechanics of grammatical ysis with sold explanations, clear examples and stresses the pragmatics of language use. The only challenge I see that American student might face is that being British, Hornsby uses British English examples but this problem is a very minor one. The text is witty, clear, concise and succinct in its presentation. I plan to use it as a textbook for my next class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods in Applied Linguistics: A Practical Resource (Research Methods in Linguistics) []  2019-12-18 20:42

    Amazing introductory book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods in Applied Linguistics: A Practical Resource (Research Methods in Linguistics) []  2019-12-18 20:42

    I am an ESL teacher. I have a master's in educational research and assessment (2005). It is well written and makes research simple to understand for layman or people who wish to start using research in their field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Research Methods in Applied Linguistics: A Practical Resource (Research Methods in Linguistics) []  2019-12-18 20:42

    Very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics for Non-Linguists: A Primer with Exercises (5th Edition) []  2020-1-16 15:46

    Really explains things! I had to buy it for a class but my professor dr Shapiro said this book is one of those books that you'll wish to have always! Basically to refer back to its a basis!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics of American Sign Language, 5th Ed.: An Introduction []  2020-10-15 18:43

    The textbook is just a regular textbook (nothing extraordinary about it). The book was really just hanging on by a thread. I expect textbooks to have the normal wear and tear from rentals but the front cover on this book is one snag away from being detached from the entire book. Also, MOST of the book is highlighted and drawn on. I just don't think people should have to pay the same amount to rent a book that's falling apart as the people that rent their books in good/new/fair condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics for Language Teachers: Lessons for Classroom Practice []  2021-1-7 18:17

    I used LFLT this past semester as the main text in an Intro to Linguistics for MA TESOL students. I appreciated it's attempt to relate linguistics content to classroom issues, although it was surprisingly quiet on subjects one might have expected in this context: phonemic awareness, morphological awareness, phonics versus whole Lg. e issues sets are skimpy and could have included more relevant to classroom practice. I also wasn't sure how much the small "Voices from the Classroom" boxes contributed. The chapters are solid, contentwise, with the exception of the syntax chapter, which is (frankly) weak. Instructors will need to correct some of the insufficiencies in their rules, add discussion about complements vs. modifiers, l in all, though, a amazing outing whose initial deficiencies can all be fixed in later editions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics for Non-Linguists: A Primer with Exercises (5th Edition) []  2020-1-16 15:46

    I rented this textbook as it was required for a needed class for my major this past fall 2018 semester. I opted to rent the textbook to save some cash and this was a mistake. The book is softcover, and clearly had been loaned out a lot of times before. The pages are bent and curling, the cover is one sideways glance coming off the spine, and someone at some point had sed coffee on it, as there is a huge stain that created the majority of the pages stick together. It also smelled incredibly musty and I didn't wish to hold this book in my bag the entire semester smelling everything else up. Perhaps the most laughable thing is the "inspected and repackaged" sticker on the back cover of the book; if anyone had actually inspected it before sending it out to me I don't think it would have passed. I ended up purchasing a brand fresh copy of this book from my school shop (because they were out of rentals) and using that for the duration of the semester e actual content of the book is just fine. I found the info laid out and arranged in a method that was conducive to learning, and combined with my class/the instruction I received I feel properly equipped to continue on to higher level courses. Just don't rent this book unless you can inspect the quality beforehand (i.e. at your own school bookstore).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics for Non-Linguists: A Primer with Exercises (5th Edition) []  2020-1-16 15:46

    Required this book for a class so i had to buy it. Very interesting stuff. The description said like fresh but it definitely wasnt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics for Non-Linguists: A Primer with Exercises (5th Edition) []  2020-1-16 15:46

    Knowledge is expensive to rent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics of American Sign Language, 5th Ed.: An Introduction []  2020-10-15 18:43

    I think this is the closest you can obtain to a comprehensive grammar of ASL in current publication, though be forewarned that is not quite what this is. The book has a lot of info about ASL from a structural linguistic standpoint, which will be useful for learners coming from a linguistic background. However, the book also spends a lot of time justifying its own assertions in a polemic way. The writers seem hung up on anxiety that ASL linguistics will not be seen as legitimate, and so nearly every chapter and section splits itself between explaining a subject and making metaphor to the linguistics of verbal languages. A single subject will consist of interleaved sociological comments, academic editorial, and practical linguistics and grammar. It leaves the info feeling too sparse and prevents the book from serving as an ideal reference. It would be better if the efforts to legitimize ASL as a subject of linguistic study were kept together in a section of the book, separate from the discussion of the structural and grammatical aspects of the language that a learner (who will certainly already accept the legitimacy of signed language) wants.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics of American Sign Language, 5th Ed.: An Introduction []  2020-10-15 18:43

    Amazing resource

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics for Non-Linguists: A Primer with Exercises (5th Edition) []  2020-1-16 15:46

    Horrible condition. Afraid to begin it. It is completely torn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics for Non-Linguists: A Primer with Exercises (5th Edition) []  2020-1-16 15:46

    The pages were in fact clean, but there were several coffee stains on the outer edges of the book. Though it didn’t impact my ability to read the text, I expected completely clean pages from a text I paid $80 to purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics for Non-Linguists: A Primer with Exercises (5th Edition) []  2020-1-16 15:46

    Had to read this for an online class. I did not search it simple to follow. I cannot see it as a book for beginners. It would have been more helpful to have answers provided for the exercises, with explanations. Poor book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics of American Sign Language, 5th Ed.: An Introduction []  2020-10-15 18:43

    It didn’t contain the disc and I was kind of upset because I planned on using the book with the disc to practice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics of American Sign Language, 5th Ed.: An Introduction []  2020-10-15 18:43

    I like this book and my mate was telling me about it. I love it and will able to use it some for my class that I am teaching. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics of American Sign Language, 5th Ed.: An Introduction []  2020-10-15 18:43

    The go to work on Linguistics of ASL

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics for Non-Linguists: A Primer with Exercises (5th Edition) []  2020-1-16 15:46

    Bought this book for a class. The book is very well written and easier to understand than most textbooks. As far as the topic of linguistics goes, a beginner could obtain a lot of support from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Foundations of Computational Linguistics: Human-Computer Communication in Natural Language []  2020-1-23 2:30

    Computational Language: A HistorySpringer, Fresh York, Berlin, Heidelberg, FranceJoseph J Grenier MD PhDThis is a very abstract theoretical approach to language computation dating from Frege’s principles, to DeSaussure’s theories, and beyond. Two and three step mathematical and linguistic approaches to deduction are the primary principles used in this book which is part English and part French. This book is meant for a wide audience including students, fellows, researchers, professors, and so on in the history of logical principles. I heartedly recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics of American Sign Language, 5th Ed.: An Introduction []  2020-10-15 18:43

    The supplemental text in the back of the book is excellent, but the actual book is very short on explanation and does not clearly convey all the ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics for Non-Linguists: A Primer with Exercises (5th Edition) []  2020-1-16 15:46

    This is a amazing reference, with a lot of practical exercises. However, very few of the exercises have answers. So, it is hard to veryify that one is on the right track.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics for Non-Linguists: A Primer with Exercises (5th Edition) []  2020-1-16 15:46

    Really, Thank you for this helpful book and everything you did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics of American Sign Language, 5th Ed.: An Introduction []  2020-10-15 18:43

    The text is clearly organized and concisely written. Both text and accompanying DVD best benefit ASL students of level III or higher. The material includes practical and applicable exercises for each unit, supplemental readings with examples that reinforce info presented in the core parts, and solid references. A glossary is not part of the text, so take time to log vocabulary while BN-13: 978-1563685071 andISBN-10: 1563685078  Linguistics of American Sign Language, 5th Ed.: An Introduction

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics of American Sign Language, 5th Ed.: An Introduction []  2020-10-15 18:43

    Had an assignment to do and found it difficult to search the topics. Classmate had an older edition complete with amazing illustrations and an simple to use Index at the back. I've just ordered an older edition for much, much less.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linguistics of American Sign Language, 5th Ed.: An Introduction []  2020-10-15 18:43

    Awesome book that makes linguistics of ASL clear for those with no linguistics background! Really a amazing book for those learning about Deaf Cultures

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I teach reading. Why do I need to know linguistics?: Because you teach reading. (Linguistics for Reading Teachers Book 1) []  2020-12-30 19:58

    I had to order this boo for my K-12 Reading Certificate for St. Mary's University, Twin Cities. I found this book simple to read and comprehend. It was very thorough and explained well the concepts being r all my class purposes, this book was totally appropriate!The only downfall was that it's an electronic textbook. There isn't a dead tree copy of the book anywhere to be ordered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mnemonics []  2019-12-23 20:1

    Enjoyed it! Well done and flows very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Vakoka []  2020-6-29 20:4

    Vibrant and new. A welcome relief from all the pap and canned muzak that bombards us daily.Annoyingly, when I test to submit an "in addition to" this Globe Melody Network offering - Cristina Branc's "Sensus" (Decca, B00008HCKE) - I obtain a pesky error notice that the ASIN is invalid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    This book is a amazing book for beginners / intermediate / advanced users early the author is passionate about his work, and not just out to produceany old crap to create a buck.I've contacted the author regarding minor questions (I'm a complete beginner)several times, and he's responded quickly and answered all my questions.He will be available to teach Mudbox online as well, his contact information is in thebook (I think it's versus 's rules to post his information here).If you wish to learn / need a refresher / wish to sharpen your knowledge of Mudbox,buy the damn book, and ask about the author's online classes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I bought this book exactly for its title: Introducing Mudbox. The author did a amazing job teaching about the software itself. It speaks how to use it with hints and tricks to create your understanding as clearly as possible. I recommend it if you wanna take your first steps into digital sculpting. It's not my intention to say anything about Mudbox x Zbrush here, by that I mean the basics to intermediate sculpting process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I want the DVD was supplied with the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Vakoka []  2020-6-29 20:4

    Recorded melody from Madagascar is not plentiful, but the available melody is always exquisitely tuneful, satisfied and rhythmic in the African fashion. Musicians and groups like D'Gary, Rajery and Tarika are all highly recommended. This Malagasy All-Stars recording, a one-off project lasting six weeks initiated in 2003 by Sean Whittaker, can also be recommended even if it's not as consistent as the began as a series of live gigs in a restaurant by a range of musicians playing original Malagasy soul, and one method or another thirteen of them ended up in a studio together. It's heartening and sometimes comical to read of the awesome time Whittaker had with the group, who place their heart and souls into the e nature of the melody itself is beautiful diverse, from melodic dance hall numbers to chants to ballads, so appreciation will vary depending on the listener. The quality of the musicianship is unbelievable and the arrangements are always interesting and often highly complex. There's lots of joy and spontaneity apparent in the coming together of various musical traditions, and the effect is a special blend of old and new. Recording quality is very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I have found this book to be unbelievable for the beginner. It has taught me a lot of lessons that I was unable to learn through some of the online guides that sometimes went method too quick for me. I'm very glad that I bought it and will have it for a valuable reference for in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    The book takes quite the circuitous route in the demo explanations, esp when moving back and forth to Maya, his explanation of proper file structure to integrate with Maya is sorely lacking. If you follow along, be prepared to obtain lost and left behind to search your own method through the file structure. I'll tell you right now, the best method to play in the mudbox is to begin your project file in Maya (so you have a working file structure), then export an .obj file,then import into Mudbox and do your work that way. Also the demo videos on the DVD are super uneven in sound quality and sometimes the author is just wispering to the point of inaudibility. Chapter 3 files are a total corrupted joke, and Wiley(publisher) will just send you more corrupted un-unzippable dbox is super cool and powerful, and it must be very challenging to test to write for, but I feel that these kinds of texts, should really be worked through by the uninitiated and their input folded back into the final release, 'intro to Maya' had a lot of simillar problems where if you knew the program you would just work past any gaffes, but if you're just learning, the only thing you have is what they've told you, and that can be difficult when they lead you down a wrong path or leave you hanging at an inconvienient segue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing America []  2020-12-1 19:5

    This book worth reading, It provides helpful info for fresh immigrants to successfully merge in the community, also it does provides info that a lot of citizens will search helpful in their everyday businesses

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I've only recently started working with Mudbox, and have been going the self guide route. (Background experience contains previous professional training in Softimage, some classes in Maya, and years of working with Photo.)While I have played casually with the Mudbox tools just to see what the program can do, I felt that I required a tutorial that could present me the in-and-outs of the software and teach me the finer points re: it's capabilities.Picked up a copy of "Introducing Mudbox" - and I can definitely say that this book does the trick, delving into all the levels of the program and walking the reader through manageable guides to obtain them used to the interface and toolsets. I'm still in Chapter One - but *already* feel that I've gotten my money's worth - can't wait to obtain to the more advanced sections.Well written and simple to read, this is a amazing starter book for anyone interested in Mudbox. As long as you know at least a *little* about 3d software, UVs, etc, it's an simple and very useful read....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mnemonics []  2019-12-23 20:1

    Amazing book. As amazing as any other expensive course you will find. Tried a lot of but this one had a few twists that will obtain you thinking about how to do it easier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I've been using Maya for about a year and a half and had been wanting to learn a program like Mudbox to take my models to the next level of realism that only a digital sculpting program like Mudbox would allow. I've had this book for about 3 weeks and couldn't be happier with my end results model wise. This book cover everything from the basics of creating a human model in Maya and exporting the model into Mudbox for further detail to hard surface texturing of a robot that is created up of various kinds of metal and dents. Ara also covers going between Mudox and Image for adding textures, colors, decals, etc. I found using both Mudbox and Image really brought out my textures than just using Image for all of it. Ara also goes over using digital 3d scanned photos within Mudbox, as well as exporting your final Mudbox model out and dealing with normal, bump, displacement maps, etc. An added gift was that his web address and email are printed in the book for any issues that the reader is facing. I ran into a issue and he was able to support me through it. Im feeling really comfortable now In mudbox because of this book and would suggest it to anyone who is first learning Mudbox or digital sculpting in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    The book was a amazing introduction to Mudbox 2011. The author explanation of the various subjects were clear and simple to understand. The DVD is a amazing supplement to the book. I got up and running fairly quickly. I have only one complaint the files for chapter 3 did not work it was a broken rar file. That's why I gave the book four stars. Buy it!!! You will love!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I had initially given a single star because there was no link in the book to obtain the accompanying DVD, but the author (I assume) had so kindly provided a telephone number--(877) 762-2974--that I can call to obtain the help DVD. For this I am changing the one star to four stars. I still think it is wrong that it needed the intervention of the author to obtain this. The telephone number should be place in the (Kindle) book. Thank you again, Ara.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Vakoka []  2020-6-29 20:4

    This island of special charming animals also holds special charming music. The people of Madagascar are thought to be a cross of primarily African and Malay-Indonesia descent: listen to the melody on INTRODUCING VAKOKA, much of it played on instruments found nowhere else in the globe (including my favorite, the valiha), and you will be transported at times to Southeast Asia, Southern Africa, or even the Manding countries of West Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing America []  2020-12-1 19:5

    Every immigrant in America needs to read this book...it’s free today and tomorrow...grab a copy 🙏😃

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    If you use or wish to learn to use Mudbox, this will be your ultimate tutorial to using this program.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Chomsky: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-1-6 18:2

    As a avid reader of books on evolutionary psychology and sociobiology, I thought I would be able to cope with the degree of difficulty of this "Introduction". In fact, I gave up trying one third into the book. Not only are the technical terms not defined, but any attempt to derive their meaning or establish relationships between concepts ch of the argument is enigmatic rather than explanatory. A lot of utterances seem to be drawn out of least as an introduction to a difficult subject, there's nothing for it but to regard this book as a failure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Chomsky: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-1-6 18:2

    This is a amazing introduction for beginners. It is not however a dumbed-down ver with pictures used to replace useful textÑalthough I found the repetition of certain pictures (ones of Chomsky and the author...) a small tedious, it starts you down the street with the basics of linguistics so you can understand how his expertise affects his political views on media and government. It started me off right as an individual looking for some more info about the man and his work. This whole series seems like it would be amazing in a middle or high school classroom for a teacher who wants to begin her students' eyes to alternative perspectives on media, language, and politics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Infinity: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-1-13 18:1

    A bit too brief in concept and explanation; fewer clever graphics would have helped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Critical Theory: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-1-16 18:1

    This book is a tidy, little introduction that might support beginning literature students understand primary concepts. The book is not very well-organized, but nevertheless appeals to students because of the style in which it is written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Critical Theory: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-1-16 18:1

    Item as described; thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Chaos: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-1-21 18:1

    I'm a fan of the Introducing series. I don't wish to be too critical of this book, but I was a bit disappointed. I did learn a small more than I knew before I read it, but as a lot of of the reviews say, the organization is a @#$%!&?aotic" to the point where you feel you're never given a real overview of the subject. An introduction to any subject should at least test to leave you with some framework of organization for the subject as a can probably learn as much about Chaos theory by reading the Wikipedia article. If I'm going to buy a book, I wish something more. Perhaps a deeper exploration into one practical app of Chaos theory that shows it as a true science with a purpose. One is almost left with the impression that Chaos theory is more a post-modern criticism of western science rather than a real alternative explanation of phenomenon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Economics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    Broad but not deep. Amazing to hold on my desk as a concise overview of the history of economic thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Economics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Quantum Theory: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    I really enjoyed this book and I think I learned a lot. I'm most interested in the philosophical aspects of quantum mechanics, especially wavefunction collapse and the mind-body problem, and I found that this book was not very philosophical. There were only a couple pages on Schrodinger's cat and a couple pages on the slits & interference experiment. For those sensitive to this sort of thing, there's a biographical page on Schrodinger which is R-rated. (Well, maybe PG-13. Whatever.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Epigenetics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    As the book explains, while DNA is the code that defines an organism, epigenetics provides the notes on how to translate the code into a true live e book is formatted for modern readers. It is short as Kindle books go – only 1385 locations. It is divided into chapters about one page each in length. I contain the chapter index at the end of the review. It is rich in writing such a book, the author must strike a balance between readability and completeness. She has to create some assumptions about the reader. This book appears to assume that the reader will be college educated, not flummoxed by the introduction of fresh technical terms, and somewhat familiar with genetics. In other words, it is not for everybody.I am 50 years out of college but have read much of the famous literature on genetics, starting with Dawkins' Selfish Gene. I found that the book demanded my attention, forcing me to reread a few chapters in order to fully grasp the concepts, but in the end quite satisfying.DNA, the blueprint for our bodies, is invariant. Every cell of the body includes the same long, complex DNA molecules. However, DNA always exists among other, supporting molecules, which do differ from cell to cell. These epigenetic assistants control how the info from the DNA is translated into building proteins for the different types of cells within the body.DNA stands for diribonucleic acid – the double helix, half from the father, half from the mother. RNA stands for ribonucleic acid, the more general form. Proteins are formed by what is called messenger RNA. These molecules are copied from short subsets of the whole DNA molecule. Messenger RNA tells the cell how to build the proteins needed to be, for instance, a brain cell or a liver e structures surrounding DNA in a given cell contains markers that control which part of the DNA will be used as templates for building amino acids within the cell and which will be ignored. There are various structures for various the chapter titles below indicate, a lot of things affect the epigenetic material surrounding DNA. Among these are aging and exposure to chemicals such as those in tobacco. While the DNA may not change within an individual, the body parts created according to that DNA model do change via epigenetics.Epigenetic diagnoses for disease, and epigenetic-based cures for disease our already in place, and a lot of more appear to be on the horizon. This book will be useful reading for investors interested in the next huge things in biotechnology. It will support them read investment product prospectuses and annual reports from companies involved in esoteric fresh e book is truly a five-star effort. The author deserves a amazing deal of credit for striking such a amazing balance among readability, completeness and e chapter titles:Genes, RNA and ProteinsChromosomes, Nucleosomes and ChromatinDNA Replication and MitosisMeiosis and InheritanceBeyond the DNA Sequence: Gene RegulationNature and NurtureTwin StudiesThe History of EpigeneticsThe Modern Understanding of Epigenetic ModificationsDNA MethylationHistone ModificationsChromatin RemodellingNuclear LocationRNAInteractions Between Various Epigenetic ModificationsEpigenetics Explains What Genetics Alone CannotEpigenetic Changes During Embryonic DevelopmentX Chromosome InactivationHow Our Environment Affects Our GenesNot So Identical TwinsEpigenetic InheritanceEpigenetic Inheritance in Animal ModelsHuman Epigenetic Inheritance: The Dutch Hunger WinterHuman Epigenetic Inheritance: ÖverkalixMechanisms of Epigenetic InheritanceEpigenetics in EvolutionEpigenetics in Disease: AgeingEpigenetics in Disease: Inherited Mutations in EpigeneticRegulatorsEpigenetics in Disease: Imprinting ErrorsThe Epigenetics of CancerEpigenetics in MedicineStem Cell TherapiesEpigenetics and PseudoscienceThe Future of EpigeneticsEpigenomicsNew Epigenetic ModificationsThe EpitranscriptomeEpigenetic EditingEpigen-EthicsLooking AheadGlossaryRecommended Further ReadingAuthor’s Acknowledgements

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Epigenetics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    A lot of wasted zone on "graphics" that are not at all helpful. Not much detail so not for beginners. Also a lot of time spent trying to turn adaption into evolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Epigenetics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Capitalism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:2

    I now have a amazing notion of what other thinkers I wish to pursue further and ideas I would like to explore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Buddha: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:2

    This is a amazing publisher, check out their extensive catalog of unbelievable graphic tutorials that reign in all sorts of complicated systems of thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Buddha: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:2

    The book might be worth reading but I had difficulty reading the little print cartoon balloons in the kindle version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Buddha: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:2

    Very interesting...if at all interested buy it. Gives amazing insight. Love how the early monks would tell nonsense riddles that create sense if you "get it"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Logic: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:1

    Absolutely unbelievable read, explained all subjects in a very accessible and entertaining way, one of my best book purchases. Simplified the concepts, but did not short-change them or diminish the explanations in any way. Loved the graphics, they contribute so much to the understanding, and the interrelatedness of all of the players involved (the various mathematicians and logicians and their particular contributions) was fascinating, going all the method back to Aristotle and Chrissapus. Highly recommend this book, especially since after obtaining and reading a related 'introductory' book on 'Logic', found out how much better this presentation truly is, and how much I learned in comparison.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Logic: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:1

    This book is a amazing starter for people like me. The graphics were too little on my Kindle Fire, though, which was annoying. That's why I only gave it 4 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Game Theory: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:1

    I Loved this book! Daily life examples support create the theory accessible to everyone. The text is clear and simple to understand. The cartoons sometimes created me laugh out loud. I'd recommend this book to anyone from teen to 80 who'd like an introduction to this roducing Android game Theory: A Graphic Tutorial

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Nietzsche: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    I am thrilled for the content of this book. Firstly, English is not my first language, in fact I couldnt barely speak

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Philosophy: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    Maybe a tad wordy for a comic-style book (or perhaps would simply benefit from larger artwork/pages), this was nevertheless a beautiful interesting general overview of the history of philosophical thought that didn't require me to slog through tons of text books. My overall retention isn't amazing when covering a ton of philosophers for an average of a paragraph or two each, but I did obtain a feel for where we've come tually, if I learned anything it's that most of philosophy's history has been one person disproving (or trying to disprove) the latest all the method up to the 19th century or so, when thinkers began formulating some of the first concepts that still could be considered relevant today. So maybe I can thank this book for keeping me from reading countless books on philosophies that I wouldn't consider applicable to modern life (not that there's anything wrong with that, but I have no interest in being a student of philosophy, I'm more interested in real-world applicable concepts).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Philosophy: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    I agree with the positive comments by other reviewers. The book is unclear in a few places, but a visit to Wikipedia can fill in the gaps. I also agree that Gaarder's novel "Sophie's World" provides a much better explanation and discussion, especially for newcomers to philosophy. But this book covers more ideas and ties more things together. Both books present the huge picture of ideas appearing and evolving over time, in religion, science, art, government, and culture. Reading both, and perhaps a few of Paul Strathern's "90 Minutes" series, should provide almost any adult reader with a amazing overview of Western philosophy (great background for other pursuits), and a satisfying sense of participation in the amazing voyage of humanity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Psychology: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    This is a amazing text for the high school, "Intro" psych college student, or anyone who wants to know the major tenets of modern psychology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Marxism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    While this book does an perfect job in explaining Marx's philosophy, as you obtain into the book the author begins to insert his extremely anti-Marxist opinions. He also makes sarcastic anti-Marxist remarks. Not a serious tutorial to Marxism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Evolutionary Psychology: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    I search this book to be a worthy read - because it underscores a valuable paradigm awareness. Contrary to one previous review, I feel that its lack depth yields conciseness, which enhances its benefit. You obtain a broader view of evolutionary psychology addressing a deeper sense of how over vast expanses of Time, Nature has adapted humanity towards better chances of survival, and how that manifests in our psyche. Focusing scene by scene on these psychological upgrades, and providing descriptions of our "wiring" adaptaions leave the reader with a pragmatic paradigm that is very helpful in accepting - or sometimes in changing - your perceptions of human behavior.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Feminism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    Used by my teen daughter for a high school class. She liked r your teen daughter. Empower her to think and be independent. This is a amazing start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing the Holocaust: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:1

    I feel poor for the writer -- it is obvious he is delusional & has some serious identity issues, and otherwise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Aristotle: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    Philosophy has always fascinated me and over the years I have taken numerous philosophy courses and read countless books on this subject. My favorite ancient philosopher is Aristotle. I have read several graphic tutorial books lately and I purchased this volume (Introducing Aristotle: a graphic tutorial by Rupert Woodfin and Judy Groves) at a bargain price on is 176 page paperback is surprisingly detailed on Aristotle’s life and his different approaches to philosophical issues. This perfect book covers the early education of Aristotle, his joining Plato’s school and how his ideas were various than Plato. He is probably most popular for being Alexander the great’s teacher. His brilliant mind explored a wide range of subjects and is often credited with discoveries in literature, poetry, metaphysics, logic, mathematics and science. He turned out to not always be right when it came to a lot of scientific issues; nevertheless, his contribution to knowledge is recognized in spite of the fact most of his writings have been lost to time. Where Plato's views bordered on the mystical and the elitist politically, Aristotle's philosophy emphasized reason, logic and individualism. If you are seeking a concise but also detailed primary overview of the amazing philosopher Aristotle you might wish to obtain a copy of this illustrated guide.Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Never trust a politician: A critical review of politics and politicians).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Aristotle: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    I have a number of these books. They're very amazing to read when I can't pay attention to an actual book.Unfortunately the publisher is not applying much quality control as you can see from the books binding in the photo. Also you will see that the illustrations are not very good, almost embarrassing when I message others peering over my shoulder :-) Fortunately the illustrator for this book is not the illustrator for other books in this series. I gave it three stars because the info sans illustration is actually interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Aristotle: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    This book does a amazing job of explaining some primary Aristotelian concepts. The illustrations don't do much to aid in the reader's understanding but they do break up the monotony. Woodfin makes at least one significant mistake in the book. He says that Aristotle said everything had a final cause but that is not the case. Aristotle only said that everything can be explained through the four causes. He did not say that everything could be explained by each one of the four causes. The book is OK, but be wary of misinformation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Plato: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:1

    Used this to support refresh my memory of Plato before teaching The Republic to my college students. Very helpful and reminded me of Plato's context and relation to other philosophers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Plato: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:1

    To my surprise, the author expresses strongly negative opinions towards some of Plato's conclusions, while maintaining that Plato "asked the right questions."The author presents Plato as a proto-fascist. Plato's theories of the forms are muddled, and Aristotle was wise to clarify or dispense with them. Laws was a horrid work which formed an unfortunate ending to Plato's writings.I search the author's opinions to be eminently reasonable. His views represent a common-sense approach to Plato. The author, too, asks the right questions.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386