Read introducing moriarty reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all introducing moriarty reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moriarty: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-16 18:0

    A delightful romp through the globe of Sherlock Holmes without involving him or Watson. All the same it is full of Holmesian antics and a pure delight. An ending that nobody will expect is the icing on this lovely confection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moriarty: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-16 18:0

    Written in the exacting style of Doyle, the book quickly draws the reader back into the London of the amazing Sherlock Holmes. Characters from the past reappear, and the story entertains all the method to its inevitable twisted climax.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moriarty: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-16 18:0

    Well-written, smart, a tribute to Conan Doyle's legacy. 4 instead of 5 stars because Horowitz created me think I was intelligent in figuring out the various plot twists...right up to the end, when he pulled the proverbial rug out from under me!!

    0  


    Add your opinion on introducing moriarty or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moriarty: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-16 18:0

    huge surprise story! and very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moriarty: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-16 18:0

    Fooled me. Whereas House of Silk did not. Clever, if not original, twist at end. A bit too a lot of chases and such. (How unlike Foyle's War.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moriarty: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-16 18:0

    I didn't [email protected]#$%!. Enjoyed it at first but then it seemed to go on and on and on. Just when I thought it was over and all was settled, the true "author" is revealed and it seems to begin all over again. Was disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moriarty: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-16 18:0

    The actual writing style reminded me of the sort of Victorian writing style of Doyle. Love that. Horowitz keeps the suspense of the storyline throughout with a surprise ending. He knows story telling. I also willingly admit to being very much a fan of his TV works. I enjoyed reading "Moriarty" very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moriarty: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-16 18:0

    Only a small method (100 pages) into it and it's got my attention. Written to the point that you can see the action!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moriarty: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-16 18:0

    Loved the story! Really well written, and had a kick for an c 2016: After reading this novel again it's hard to see anything lower than 4.5 stars. First, it's not about Sherlock Holmes at all, but rather his nemesis Moriarty! It is such a amazing story! Give it a chance, and ignore the haters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moriarty: A Novel [Book]  2017-10-16 18:0

    In his second Sherlock Holmes novel, Anthony Horowitz explores the period between Holmes' "death" in "The Final Problem" and his return in "The Adventure of the Empty House". Horowitz approaches the story from a special perspective: a Sherlock Holmes story with neither Holmes nor Watson. Instead, Scotland Yard Inspector Athelney Jones (from "The Sign of the Four") fills the Holmes role while partnering with a Pinkerton detective, Frederick Chase, who takes the put of Watson. Together, these two attempt to track down an American master criminal named Clarence nes and Chase believe that Devereaux had been in contact with the late Professor Moriarty just prior to his death and, following news of both Moriarty's and Holmes' death, the American will attempt to seize control of London's criminal underworld, filling the vacuum left by Moriarty. The story continually contrasts the gentlemanly criminality of Moriarty with the gangster-like work of Devereaux, setting up Horowitz's twist ending.Horowitz demonstrated his affinity for Moriarty in his previous novel, "The Silk House", in which the Napoleon of Crime has a minor cameo and actually aides Watson and Holmes to rid England of a criminal enterprise even he finds reprehensible. "Moriarty" continues this trend of elevating the Professor's hero while retaining his status of criminal mastermind. The story, while interesting in its own right, feels tangential to the Holmes canon at times, despite minor cameos from Inspector G. Lestrade and Inspector Tobias Gregson. Only when Horowitz reveals his twist ending, which I shall not divulge here, does the reader suddenly search this story immediately fitting into the canon with goosebump-inducing results."Moriarty" is a worthy successor to "The House of Silk" while featuring a various enough story that it can stand on its own. Both works demonstrate Horowitz's commitment to the canon, as evidenced by the Conan Doyle Estate's official endorsement of this work. In short, "Moriarty" is sure to entertain fresh and old fans of Sherlock Holmes and his world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Moriarty (A Sherlock Holmes and Lucy James Mystery) []  2020-11-14 18:12

    I have read all of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes works and a lot of other pastiches by various authors. This novel was exceptionally simple to read because to me it seems "less British" than other Holmes material I have read. While the author seems to have everything "right" in terms of time and put for this story, he seems to "go easier" with the "Britishness" of this Holmes story. To purists this will probably rankle; to me I was not offended and found the novel a much quicker read. Readers will have to decide for themselves if this is acceptable or not. Despite being an Anglophile, I have read ens and felt exhausted by the end of a work. While Conan Doyle was a bit more contemporary, I still felt the British influence yet never felt "beaten over the head" by it. I love ens and Conan Doyle. Don't obtain me wrong. This novel just seemed to flow easily and entertain me. If you wish, call it Sherlock Holmes light. Either way, I found Holmes engrossing, Watson endearing and the other characters, particularly Lucy James, engaging. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Moriarty (A Sherlock Holmes and Lucy James Mystery) []  2020-11-14 18:12

    The Latest Moriarty is an entertaining story with a quick moving plot and plenty of interesting characters. Best of all most of it has the feel of a Sherlock Holmes adventure complete with solid period detail and a presentation of the main characters that is faithful to the Sherlock canon. The plot is enriched by the presence of historic figures well known to American readers and is driven by a secret plan to convert the British navy and its logistical operations from coal to oil that has roots in history and is a matter of true significance. As novelists know, however,one of the difficulties in writing a mystery or thriller is the matter of bringing the action to a satisfying end and it is at this point that this story falls short. The resolution of the adventure is driven by a series of decisions created by some very intelligent men that unaccountably topic their necessary project to unreasonable and unnecessary risk and involves small of Holmes' iconic intelligence but instead depends on blind luck and physical violence. For that matter the actions of the equally popular villain which to that point had been clever and illusive suddenly become ham-handed and obvious. All that being said the swift plot and amazing writing plus the appearance of so a lot of figures familiar from history and other Holmes tales create this a pleasant read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Moriarty (A Sherlock Holmes and Lucy James Mystery) []  2020-11-14 18:12

    I'm usually not a fan of spin offs, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Veley's command of these beloved characters and historical London is masterful. The female characters are a welcome addition - I feel Arthur Conan Doyle would approve. A true page turner - I couldn't place this book down. I recommend it be added to every summer reading list. So much fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Moriarty (A Sherlock Holmes and Lucy James Mystery) []  2020-11-14 18:12

    To say I am a fan of the Sherlock Holmes trope would be an understatement. When I search fresh stories that are every bit as amazing as Conan Doyle's I don't just read them… I devour them. THE LAST MORIARTY is one of those e writing is perfect and has the feel of the original tales I have long enjoyed. There are any number of other writers who have taken pen to the task of keeping Sherlock Holmes new and new, but few have succeeded as the formula dictates, the story is similar by Dr. John Watson who explains that this tale took put after the "death" of Holmes at Reichenbach Falls at a time few knew of his resurrection. Holmes implored Watson to never tell this tale, but the amazing doctor wrote it and stipulated that it not be published until the twenty-first arles Veley has used historical figures to add a certain realism to the first story of Sherlock and Lucy. Who is Lucy James, you ask? Finding out is part of the overall charm of the narrative. You will be led down dark alleys and garden paths on the street to your discovery. The question provides a tantalizing undercurrent to death and destruction in and around London. Join Holmes, Watson, and, of course, Lestrade as they squad up to save the town and, perhaps, even the stability of that I have discovered this series, there is no doubt I will be reading all of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Moriarty (A Sherlock Holmes and Lucy James Mystery) []  2020-11-14 18:12

    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle died in 1930 and one would presume his most popular creation the fictional consulting detective Sherlock Holmes. But no, so famous is this hero that Holmes lives on (and on) in different incarnations by creative authors (and script writers) such as Mr. Charles Veley. This pastiche ably captures the flavor of Conan Doyle's writing style, dialog and is a very credible Holmes mystery in it's own right. There's probably more action than in a classic original Holmes story (but not the over the top nonsense as depicted in the Robert Downey Jr film depictions) and the pace is brisk. "The Latest Moriarty" is the first of a fresh series of tales featuring Holmes, Watson and a fresh addition to the squad whose origins I won't divulge here. Purists will probably hate it but if you have an begin mind and have fun this time period and these characters this book is worth your time. I'm ordering the second book and looking forward to more from Mr. Veley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Moriarty (A Sherlock Holmes and Lucy James Mystery) []  2020-11-14 18:12

    I really enjoyed this first book in this series of re-imagined Sherlock Holmes. It captures the tone, style, and structure of the original Conan Doyle stories without being pure copycat. Sherlock is Sherlock - acerbic and often inscrutable, but not in an off-putting way. The introduction of Lucy James is brilliant. If there is any quibble it is that the villain is just a tad too gleefully evil, too vendetta oriented, and it got a small tiresome, but not enough to place me off the story entirely. Told from the point of view of Watson, we don't obtain full thoughts and emotions of other characters, which is in keeping with the originals, and I'm not sure I would really like a story told from Sherlock's POV, as that would destroy the mystery of his character.4 stars because I always hesitate to give a very high rating to first books in a series until I obtain a better sense of the larger picture. I'm looking forward to then next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Moriarty (A Sherlock Holmes and Lucy James Mystery) []  2020-11-14 18:12

    I love books based on the hero of Sherlock Holmes; I want they were all as amazing as this one.A very necessary secret meeting of rich American kings of industry and British government officials is planned to take put and one of the security people for John D. Rockefeller sent ahead to ensure all the proper measures are taken to protect his employer is mysteriously killed. Rockefeller insists only the popular Sherlock Holmes can be trusted to explore why this happened and if it is safe for him and J.P. Morgan to meet with the government officials. While investigating Sherlock and Watson meet a attractive young female singer who is unwillingly linked to a suspect who is tied to the death of the security man. Is she the latest Moriarty?They also search spies and moles who are willing to sell what they know for the right price. The safety of the rich Americans as well as the honor of the British nation is at stake and Sherlock has to determine who is the opponent before they can accomplish their is is a very satisfying mystery as well as a amazing Sherlock Holmes story. Watson is the narrator as usual and he tells a amazing story. I hope the author writes more books like this and I would love to read them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Moriarty (A Sherlock Holmes and Lucy James Mystery) []  2020-11-14 18:12

    I have been a devotee of the Arthur Conan Doyle stories for a lot of years. I’ve tried several of the numerous pastiches, but I usually found them lacking. This is an exception. I really enjoyed this book. The story was original and satisfying, and the characters virtually real to Doyle. I especially enjoyed some fresh s, there were a few times I disagreed with the author (such as: a proper Victorian lady accepts an inappropriate bonus from a casual male acquaintance; a woman refers to herself as “pregnant” in mixed society; and I wonder if women would be allowed at all in the non-social Diogenes Club), but these are minor quibbles and irrelevant to the story overall. For the most part, I thought it extremely well ease tell me there will be more books to follow. I loved the characters in this book, and I wish to see more of them, particularly Lucy, who I will just say forms an attachment (non-romantic) with Holmes and Watson and so can certainly become a recurring character. She could also have her own book(s).If you loved any of the more accurate portrayals of Sherlock Holmes (I am thinking of Jeremy Brett and Basil Rathbone, as opposed to some of the more ruder and cruder “modern” takes – were you as shocked as I was when Watson referred to the Robert Downey character’s lack of proper hygiene? – so unlike the “real” Sherlock and his cat-like cleanliness), you will be comfortable with the characterization in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Moriarty (A Sherlock Holmes and Lucy James Mystery) []  2020-11-14 18:12

    I required a mystery fix! The title and attractive cover art caught my eye and it didn't disappoint. Not much anyway. Hardcore Holmes fans will have a issue with this Sherlock's newly revealed past and his occasional misstep. And the a lot of villains all seemed to be so related that I confused them at times. On the whole I really enjoyed the pacing and the plot twists. The story is solidly rooted in an exciting era with a lot of of the day's movers and shakers from both sides of the Atlantic making appearances. The Victorian atmosphere and settings are faithfully rendered. The expected murders, betrayals and political intrigues are softened by a bit of romance from the past. It is this that opens a fresh chapter in Holmes' life and I look forward to joining the adventure to see where the author takes them next. A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Moriarty (A Sherlock Holmes and Lucy James Mystery) []  2020-11-14 18:12

    The Latest Moriarity is another Sherlock Holmes novel as told through the eyes of Dr. Watson. It is not written by Arthur Conan Doyle. Thus it moves at a various pace. It also introduces some characters that we might not have met before. The story is quick paced and told in a various manner than previous Sherlock Holmes novels. We meet both John D Rockefeller, both senior and junior. There is also JP Morgan and Andrew Carnegie. Needless to say the action takes put at the turn of the century. That's the 20th century. So reader what was event at that time to bring those characters to Amazing Britain? A hint! A major technological advancement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Vakoka []  2020-6-29 20:4

    Recorded melody from Madagascar is not plentiful, but the available melody is always exquisitely tuneful, satisfied and rhythmic in the African fashion. Musicians and groups like D'Gary, Rajery and Tarika are all highly recommended. This Malagasy All-Stars recording, a one-off project lasting six weeks initiated in 2003 by Sean Whittaker, can also be recommended even if it's not as consistent as the began as a series of live gigs in a restaurant by a range of musicians playing original Malagasy soul, and one method or another thirteen of them ended up in a studio together. It's heartening and sometimes comical to read of the awesome time Whittaker had with the group, who place their heart and souls into the e nature of the melody itself is beautiful diverse, from melodic dance hall numbers to chants to ballads, so appreciation will vary depending on the listener. The quality of the musicianship is unbelievable and the arrangements are always interesting and often highly complex. There's lots of joy and spontaneity apparent in the coming together of various musical traditions, and the effect is a special blend of old and new. Recording quality is very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I have found this book to be unbelievable for the beginner. It has taught me a lot of lessons that I was unable to learn through some of the online guides that sometimes went method too quick for me. I'm very glad that I bought it and will have it for a valuable reference for in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    The book takes quite the circuitous route in the demo explanations, esp when moving back and forth to Maya, his explanation of proper file structure to integrate with Maya is sorely lacking. If you follow along, be prepared to obtain lost and left behind to search your own method through the file structure. I'll tell you right now, the best method to play in the mudbox is to begin your project file in Maya (so you have a working file structure), then export an .obj file,then import into Mudbox and do your work that way. Also the demo videos on the DVD are super uneven in sound quality and sometimes the author is just wispering to the point of inaudibility. Chapter 3 files are a total corrupted joke, and Wiley(publisher) will just send you more corrupted un-unzippable dbox is super cool and powerful, and it must be very challenging to test to write for, but I feel that these kinds of texts, should really be worked through by the uninitiated and their input folded back into the final release, 'intro to Maya' had a lot of simillar problems where if you knew the program you would just work past any gaffes, but if you're just learning, the only thing you have is what they've told you, and that can be difficult when they lead you down a wrong path or leave you hanging at an inconvienient segue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Vakoka []  2020-6-29 20:4

    This island of special charming animals also holds special charming music. The people of Madagascar are thought to be a cross of primarily African and Malay-Indonesia descent: listen to the melody on INTRODUCING VAKOKA, much of it played on instruments found nowhere else in the globe (including my favorite, the valiha), and you will be transported at times to Southeast Asia, Southern Africa, or even the Manding countries of West Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing America []  2020-12-1 19:5

    Every immigrant in America needs to read this book...it’s free today and tomorrow...grab a copy 🙏😃

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    If you use or wish to learn to use Mudbox, this will be your ultimate tutorial to using this program.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mnemonics []  2019-12-23 20:1

    Enjoyed it! Well done and flows very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Vakoka []  2020-6-29 20:4

    Vibrant and new. A welcome relief from all the pap and canned muzak that bombards us daily.Annoyingly, when I test to submit an "in addition to" this Globe Melody Network offering - Cristina Branc's "Sensus" (Decca, B00008HCKE) - I obtain a pesky error notice that the ASIN is invalid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    This book is a amazing book for beginners / intermediate / advanced users early the author is passionate about his work, and not just out to produceany old crap to create a buck.I've contacted the author regarding minor questions (I'm a complete beginner)several times, and he's responded quickly and answered all my questions.He will be available to teach Mudbox online as well, his contact information is in thebook (I think it's versus 's rules to post his information here).If you wish to learn / need a refresher / wish to sharpen your knowledge of Mudbox,buy the damn book, and ask about the author's online classes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I bought this book exactly for its title: Introducing Mudbox. The author did a amazing job teaching about the software itself. It speaks how to use it with hints and tricks to create your understanding as clearly as possible. I recommend it if you wanna take your first steps into digital sculpting. It's not my intention to say anything about Mudbox x Zbrush here, by that I mean the basics to intermediate sculpting process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I want the DVD was supplied with the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mnemonics []  2019-12-23 20:1

    Amazing book. As amazing as any other expensive course you will find. Tried a lot of but this one had a few twists that will obtain you thinking about how to do it easier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I've been using Maya for about a year and a half and had been wanting to learn a program like Mudbox to take my models to the next level of realism that only a digital sculpting program like Mudbox would allow. I've had this book for about 3 weeks and couldn't be happier with my end results model wise. This book cover everything from the basics of creating a human model in Maya and exporting the model into Mudbox for further detail to hard surface texturing of a robot that is created up of various kinds of metal and dents. Ara also covers going between Mudox and Image for adding textures, colors, decals, etc. I found using both Mudbox and Image really brought out my textures than just using Image for all of it. Ara also goes over using digital 3d scanned photos within Mudbox, as well as exporting your final Mudbox model out and dealing with normal, bump, displacement maps, etc. An added gift was that his web address and email are printed in the book for any issues that the reader is facing. I ran into a issue and he was able to support me through it. Im feeling really comfortable now In mudbox because of this book and would suggest it to anyone who is first learning Mudbox or digital sculpting in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    The book was a amazing introduction to Mudbox 2011. The author explanation of the various subjects were clear and simple to understand. The DVD is a amazing supplement to the book. I got up and running fairly quickly. I have only one complaint the files for chapter 3 did not work it was a broken rar file. That's why I gave the book four stars. Buy it!!! You will love!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I had initially given a single star because there was no link in the book to obtain the accompanying DVD, but the author (I assume) had so kindly provided a telephone number--(877) 762-2974--that I can call to obtain the help DVD. For this I am changing the one star to four stars. I still think it is wrong that it needed the intervention of the author to obtain this. The telephone number should be place in the (Kindle) book. Thank you again, Ara.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing America []  2020-12-1 19:5

    This book worth reading, It provides helpful info for fresh immigrants to successfully merge in the community, also it does provides info that a lot of citizens will search helpful in their everyday businesses

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Mudbox []  2020-12-8 19:35

    I've only recently started working with Mudbox, and have been going the self guide route. (Background experience contains previous professional training in Softimage, some classes in Maya, and years of working with Photo.)While I have played casually with the Mudbox tools just to see what the program can do, I felt that I required a tutorial that could present me the in-and-outs of the software and teach me the finer points re: it's capabilities.Picked up a copy of "Introducing Mudbox" - and I can definitely say that this book does the trick, delving into all the levels of the program and walking the reader through manageable guides to obtain them used to the interface and toolsets. I'm still in Chapter One - but *already* feel that I've gotten my money's worth - can't wait to obtain to the more advanced sections.Well written and simple to read, this is a amazing starter book for anyone interested in Mudbox. As long as you know at least a *little* about 3d software, UVs, etc, it's an simple and very useful read....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Cultural Studies: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-3 18:1

    The commentary often did not match the graphics. The graphics were a distraction more often than not. I was disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Fractals: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    This is an EXCELLENT introduction to fractals! My kids even read it. I have given this book as a bonus tons of times. It should be needed reading for everyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Semiotics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    This is a amazing pocket tutorial to gain a better understanding of public visual communication. It is a nice size that can be carried in a coat pocket. Read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Kierkegaard: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    Very amazing introduction to this philosopher . Very entertaining and it entices the reader to delve more deeply into Kierkegaard ( at least it had that affect on me )

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Kierkegaard: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:1

    Kierkegaard is one of my gods, and this book is true, but hilarously funny at the same time. The comic-book-like illustrations are wonderful. This is the first "Introducing" book I've come across, but I will probably read more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Modernism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:2

    Not a amazing introduction to anything. A very long list of what is considered to be Modernist art, but very small discussion as to why. No useful elaboration on what modernism in itself is or what holds all this work together. Nor am I particularly convinced that the graphic portion of this book adds anything. Other volumes of this series are better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Modernism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:2

    I have gone through several sellers before I decided to order my book. This is the first time I purchased form this seller. It is a amazing experience. The shipping is speedy with easy yet secured packaging. The price is very competitive which is a gift for grad students like me! I will order from this seller again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Lacan: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:2

    The "Graphic Guide" captures a lot of of Lacan's primary ideas with creative pictorial imaginations. I have published on Lacan myself and know very well a lot of other introductions. You can not compare those with a Grahic Guide. That seams quite obvious to me. Therefore taking into acc what a "graphic guide" can do I was astonished about the a lot of insights this small book can convey. I know other books of Darian Leader and I think with this book he did a very amazing job again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Lacan: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:2

    The book matched the description, was affordable, and was exactly what I required for my gender studies class. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Lacan: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:2

    I'm puzzled at the other reviews; this really is the best put to begin with Lacan. It is the Third intro to him I've read. The first was Zizek, which was very interesting, but he explains Lacan in more cultural terms, as Lacan relates to famous culture. Then I read Sean Homer's book, and I was a bit disappointed, in trying to simplify he left me feeling like I hadn't gotten enough information to understand really what Lacan meant with certain terms. This book I loved. Yes, it is simple, but extremely clear. A lot of of the terms I had previously read about `clicked' with me the method they were presented in this book. Usually I don't write reviews, I would never have bought this, it was given to me, but I am so glad I read it. Psychodynamic art.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Consciousness: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:2

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Foucault: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:2

    I bought this book because generally the Introducing titles are beautiful amazing starters, as well as providing a list of other books on their topics in the back. And I wanted a general picture of Foucault's ever, I found the tone taken by Chris Horrocks in this introduction to be a small snarky. The book starts off well introducing Foucault's influences and seems gloss over an outline of Foucault's body of work, but getting into the meat of the book it becomes more and more clear that Horrocks clearly does not like Foucault and contains a bunch of superfluous info about his private life. Ok Chris, so he was , I don't care. Honestly all I wanted was an unbiased introduction to Foucault's work and maybe an overview of a few of his texts, but when it comes down to it Horrocks doesn't really deliver. He seems to be more concerned with attacking the man's hero and writing Foucault off than presenting Foucault's work in a concise manner especially near the end. This kind of writing might be acceptable in a critical article but not in an short, save your cash and look elsewhere for an introduction to Foucault.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Foucault: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-2-4 18:2

    As a student fresh to 20th century intellectuals, this book on Foucault is a amazing tease into the life and work of this amazing thinker. After reading this book, and having closely studied his "Discipline and Punish" work, I agree that this title is NOT AN IN-DEPTH study of Foucault, but rather a refreshing "short film" on his life and work which ought to snag the attention of more interested readers, thereby leading to further readings which the "suggested readings" page is most generous to list.If anyone is seeking a amazing introduction to Foucault, this book is invaluable for its ability to springboard the reader onto the various focuses of Foucault's t it first, read the texts thereafter. It could serve as a coordinate map to support the reader navigate the thickets of Foucaults work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Economics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    the amazing thing about this INTRODUCING SERIES they are graphical guides, which makes it simple to read.another thing the method things are explained are in a fun historical method that attracts you to go on about sically with this book you can obtain a gud grasp of what economics are, how it started and how is it in our lives. u can finish the book in no time, jjust give your self teh time to read it properly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Economics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    The font in this book is nightmarishly little and the margins are huge. This book has been a complete disappointment, which is sad because the materials looks like I would have really enjoyed it if I could read it without a magnifying glass.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Economics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    I can see rationales and relationship of each economics theory like never before!!This book explains the development of each theory begin from Pythagoras's Idea in the past to Behavioral Economics in the show

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Quantum Theory: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    The value/interest of the book certainly depends on one's previous info and "knowledge" of quantum is nice, skims along, and tries to explain the basis to this unbelievable e book humourously introduces the main characters and history of the theory's e graphics are somewhat little for a kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Quantum Theory: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    Yeah, it was great. Amazing illustrations, not enough math. So see Leonard Susskind from Stanford who shows how the Shroedinger's Cat dilemma is taken care of in later developments in QF.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Epigenetics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:1

    Amazing briefly demonstration for someone who has experience in DNA and genetics but not for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Capitalism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:2

    Nice small book. I like this series. This small graphic tutorials are beautiful scholarly. They obviously won't create you an expert on anything, but they are nice for giving orientations / outlines

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Capitalism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:2

    A well organized mini history of the invention of capitalism. You will have a better understanding of the coming collapse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Buddha: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-20 18:2

    Well, not really. But at least I now know the popular story of his life, and have a very amazing overview of how the movement has split/changed over the centuries. Very amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Logic: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:1

    I like these graphic tutorials on the various topics available in this format toSUPPLEMENT other nooks. Mine is a slow walk to understanding these matters. USEFUL to me and difficult for me to know how so for individuals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Logic: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:1

    If you've been exposed only to formal logic in some college course, this book will support you pan out and obtain the bigger picture. The illustrations are fun too. It's a fun method to see the practice uses of logic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Game Theory: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:1

    A fun small jaunt that left me wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Artificial Intelligence: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:1

    I always like these Introducing books. The take complex, forbidding topics and create them seem a small friendlier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Artificial Intelligence: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:1

    I like these series of book and how they approach the topic history and outline the subjects in historical time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Nietzsche: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    I love this book!! I will be getting more of these books. It is a amazing introduction to the topic and it is quick and simple to read. I recommend it to anyone wanting to obtain a fast idea of what a topic is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Philosophy: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    I was hoping for a philosophy primer for my precocious ten year old niece. This is not it.......it may be illustrated, but it would be over her head. Maybe in a few ing it myself I was not happy with the illustrations, and found the summations on each page incomprehensible. Still, halfway through, it seemed to become more clear or maybe got into philosophies more familiar or palatable to me. I started installing bookmarks to indicate philosophies to delve into more later, and it became nearly every page. SO I think this small pocket tutorial accomplished a worthwhile purpose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Philosophy: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    Amazing summary

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Philosophy: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    Perfect & accessible introduction to Philosophy. A amazing choice for non-traditional students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Psychology: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    cute novelty

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Evolutionary Psychology: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    A amazing introduction for people with virtually no previous knowledge. I have fun these graphic intros even though I know that they are not academic texts and should not be overly criticized for their brevity. However, nothing is said about the origins of human violence towards other humans and religious behavior. It seems to me that these aspects of human behavior would have powerful roots in our evolutionary past. Why are we so violent? Why do we persist in believing in imaginary beings? And similar - why, if we are evolved from egalitarian group behavior, are we so brutally insensitive to our fellow man? A lot of more questions are generated than answered. This is a amazing thing, but still, I feel that something was lacking. The reading list at the end of the book is not likely to respond these questions either. I was left wondering if there were political reasons for not addressing these concerns

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Feminism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-21 18:2

    It's necessary to understand that the Introducing series is in the business not of teaching you the entirety of any given subject, but merely introducing you to it. This, as with a lot of other titles in the series, gives you a very fast summary of the movement and its history and touches on a lot of of the significant branches. Believe me, you can always go deeper, and really one ought to if one desires anything close to an actual understanding of the topics the people at Totem Books purport to introduce.What I search is that these books in general, and this title specifically, prepares your for deeper reading by giving you the gist of things, and thus allows you to engage other texts with greater sustain and keener aen. There are other series of course, Cambridge has their wonderful, if frequently denser, Companion series, and Paul Strathern has created his career giving a related gist in 90 minutes. I would say that the people at Totem have hit the so-called sweet spot with these though. Strathern is too often concerned with biographical detail for my tastes, and spends less time with the ideas themselves (though of course the life of a thinker is necessary to understanding them. Cambridge has unbelievable guides, but even these may be a tad much for someone merely seeking to dip their toe in and take a look around. This is why I recommend this e graphic approach hopefully renders these concepts more accessible to a wider audience, and can indeed create what are often thought of as dull subjects, quite entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    Easy, informative and fast read. Thought-provoking and full of fun factoids to share with mates who aren't generally interested in this subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    I stocked this book in a professional library for educators because I feel like so a lot of people can use a refresher in Linguistics. It's understandable and covers all the necessary ideas. The teachers appreciate the method it approaches a sometimes dry topic with humor. It won't obtain you through a college course on linguistics but it's a amazing begin or reminder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Linguistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    Think a fun review of or introduction to linguistics, by no means is this comprehensive nor is it intended to be. Rather, it briefly goes over the core ideas of linguistics. I bought these for me to try out interest in several subjects and found that these books are delightful. They can be finished in a night and may be appropriate for younger audiences, too. Be prepared to have Google handy for some unfamiliar topics, if this is a fresh topic for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Aristotle: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    It's what I was looking for

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Aristotle: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-22 18:2

    This is a very solid introduction to Aristotle and very thought-provoking as well. It is very lucid, well-organized, and one of the best in the Introducing series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Plato: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:1

    Plato was an Athenian cosmopolitan aristocrat and student of Socrates. He believed that the best society was one ruled by philosopher kings, and that all wise men were aware of their own ignorance. He established the first academy and was tutor to young King Dionysius II and Aristotle. He died a pauper at ato's philosophy began by asking questions that went beyond religion, myths and superstitions in a find for life's uncertainties. Before philosophers, along with its a lot of warring gods, the sophists ruled Athens. Plato wrote his "Republic" to set them all addition to Socrates, Pythagoras, and Heraclitus also influenced Plato. Pythagoras' religion was numbers; Heraclitus believed change to be the fundamental process of nature; and Socrates was obsessed with fundamental questions of human virtue: What should humans strive for? His respond was: that man should seek truth through crates invented the first methodology of philosophy, the "Socratic Method." It involves a dialectic consisting of structured enquiries bound together by logical inferences and nested deductions. Socrates also believed that everything had an underlying "essence" or constituent part which could be revealed through dialectic ato dedicated his life and most of his works and teachings to exposing the globe to Socrates' methods and thinking. Plato's first work, Eurthyphro, is the first of several imagined dialogue with Socrates on his method to his death. It was about the ultimate source and meaning of moral knowledge.He begins by pointing out that "doing the right thing" and "doing what god demands or approves," are not necessarily the same things. Morality does not always reduce to god's teachings. For morality and religion often are at odds. To be moral, often means violating religious rules and teachings. Morality grows out of man's interactions with other men.His second work, the Apology, is Socrates' imagined non-apology for having been found guilty of heresy. Crito, his third work, is a dialogue in which Plato offers Socrates an escape plan, but one Socrates rejects, preferring to go to his death as a non-criminal martyr of state injustice, than fleeing and thus becoming a true criminal by actually violating state law. Phaedo, is Plato's death bed confessions to fellow philosophers. It expresses the notion that philosophical thinking is designed to free the mind, and death is just another step in this process. After all, it is the soul that remains after death and that also has the ability to grasp intellectual ideas, therefore only the soul is is Plato's epistemology, however that created him famous. Plato believed that there were two worlds, the surface globe of the particulars; and the underlying globe of ideal forms, or universal classes that create up the substrate of all material essences. All of Plato's mentors, Socrates, Pythagoras, and Herclitus, had impressed upon him that it was futile to look for knowledge in the empirical world. He was especially impressed by mathematics which he thought was the excellent form of knowledge. Four stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Postmodernism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:1

    Highly recommend this book for all who are studying art and art history. Very interesting method of teaching it. amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Postmodernism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:1

    Allow me first note that this review isn't for the print book but rather for the 2-hour audio presentation, which is a very various animal. Instead of just narrating the book, the presentation uses actors playing characters, sound effects, melody samples, and interviews. In other words, the presentation format is itself postmodern, which I imagine was quite intentional. For the most part, this unusual approach works, though a significant negative is that some of the actor's accents were so powerful that I had a hard time understanding e presentation starts with postmodern art, which I think was a mistake, since both art and postmodernism are each seperately plenty amorphous, so trying to combine them makes it doubly hard to clarify what postmodernism is. As a result, my evaluation of this presentation had dropped to 3 stars at the half-hour mark, and was flirting with 2 stars by the one-hour mark. But things started to improve after that, as much of the fog cleared during the second hour, so I was able to (barely) give 4 stars by the time I reached the end. However, 1 star is a gift for the creative presentation, leaving only 3 stars if one were to judge this presentation based solely on clarity in introducing rsonally, my sense is that the hallmark of postmodernism is a foundationless and dynamic pluralism in ways of knowing, ideas and worldviews, and forms of expression (artistic or otherwise - or maybe everything is artistic?). This is why it's so hard to pin down what postmodernism "is." The whole point is that postmodernism is the name for a situation in which there's no single prevailing worldview (or "meta-narrative"), rather than being a worldview me positive aspects of this situation are that we have diverse and ever-changing menus to choose from, we can express individuality by mixing ingredients with more freedom, and we generally begin fresh vistas for creativity and enriching experiences in all spheres of life (arts, humanities, science, theology, etc.). This might even enable genuine progress in some arenas (eg, science, technology, and social organization), which is somewhat ironic since a lot of consider the idea of progress to be contrary to the ethos of postmodernism.But some negative aspects are that building consensus can be very difficult (even with respect to primary values and standards), we may be too fast to disregard worthy traditions and necessary lessons from the past, and groundlessness and instability can be fragmenting and disorienting, potentially to the extent that we run the risk of altogether losing our grip on reality. In that regard, to those hyperintellectuals who assert that the virtual and true are blurred together, allow me just bluntly point out the significant difference between virtual death (eg, in a video game) vs true death (eg, losing a loved one). Let's please remember that inability to firmly pin down reality doesn't mean there is no (objective) reality.Anyway, as I mentioned, I've given this presentation 4 stars, so I suppose I can recommend it, but hold in mind that clearer introductions to postmodernism are available, so this presentation might not be the best put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Time: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:1

    It's not that the back is not amazing quality....it just isn't amazing for ME. It was method too technical and I found myself unable to follow the concepts. But when it comes right down to it, I may not have been that interested, either. The graphics were amazing and what grabbed my attention in the first in place. So I recommend the book for those who really wish to learn more about time, literally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Time: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:1

    A very amazing book because it shows, graphically, manythisngs about the "misteries" o the Universe. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Time: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-23 18:1

    Very well done overview...easy to understand and digest. I have read 4 of the "Introducing..." series and loved them all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Islam: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-24 18:1

    I've read several of the Introducing...series, including Introducing Christianity. I purchased Introducing Islam, as I'll be spending alot of time in the middle east next year, and would like to have a better understanding and appreciation of the religion and culture.Where it works: Introducing Islam provides a amazing historical overview of Islam, including it's strong influence on science, medicine, mathematics, astronomy, art, poetry, government, and the legal system.Where it doesn't work so well: The Introducing series are famous because they delve into the philosophical aspects of whatever they are discussing, including the controversial. Introducing Christianity does an perfect job of this. However, in Introducing Islam, you sometimes obtain the impression Sardar is walking on eggshells. The text is mostly apologetic. There is a perception, whether deserved or not, that Islam is an intolerant religion. Sardar could have pointed out the philosphical differences and conflicts within Islam, which he does not.Why is there a prohibition on publishing an photo of Mohammed? Why do women live under such massive restrictions in the Muslim world? Why did huge parts of the Muslim globe slip back into cultural, artistic, and scientific oblivion after dominating all three of these locations for centuries? Why was there no universal outcry in established Islam after the happenings of 9/11? None of these problems were answered. For 9/11, Sardar contains a picture of the twin turrets and the easy statement "There is no relationship between Islam and the happenings of 9/11." but says nothing else. One almost suspects that Sardar fears the same monstrous intolerance that has dominated the headlines-both true and imagined-in the Western world. This was an opportunity for Sardar to really set the record straight, but in this regard, mostly says ultimately, very much worth reading, but in some ways a lost opportunity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Islam: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-24 18:1

    I sometimes wonder how much a amazing book is actually worth as opposed to what you pay for it the first time you buy it? In case of this particular book, it cost me more for the easy fact that I bought it at the ISNA Bazaar at the ISNA Convention in Rosemont in September and registration for the happening alone was a cool $65. But I can say this without a doubt that this book is worth every penny just for the sheer creativity with which it presents the e book mainly focuses on introducing Islam as an innovative 'idea' (I will come back to this) complete with illustrations,callouts and Fez -the book's very own tour guide. So is this the right approach of explaining something as complex and misunderstood as Islam? Is the author trying to oversimplify things? 'Yes' to the former and 'Maybe' to the latter. But let's be honest here. How a lot of people actually like 'to read'? Personally I think reading is the most 'faked' hobby anyone has for the easy fact that it is literally fake-able. You see people peering down at a newspaper or a fat paperback and you are convinced. But if that was so why do we have such a dearth of 'well-read' induviduals?Anyway, the point is that people do less reading and more looking and for that reason alone, something that serves both purposes, this book is e book breaks the mould by not presenting the primary Islamic teachings first off but starts by talking about Prophet Muhammad (p.b.u.h) directly and correcting the (new) readers of not calling Muslims 'Mohammedians'. This is the first misconception and it is quite e book continues further to explain a bit of history and the revelation of the Quran, it's importance and impact. Here's such an extract from the book :"The need for interpreting the Quran arose immediately after the death of the Prophet. Early interpretations of the Quran relied on the comments and ysis of the Companions of Muhammad (p.b.u.h) and their successors. Written commentaries of the Quran began to appear towards the end of the 9th century. Amongst the earliest and most frequently cited are those of al-Tabari, al-Wahid etc. These authors developed Quranic interpretation into an elaborate science, with numerous spet branches known as 'tafsir'."However the best part of the book is the sheer research the authors have done to highlight the works of Islamic thinkers, scientists, mathematicians and different pioneers in other fields. To name just a few of them :-Nizam al-Mulk, builder of the first school or 'madrassah' - institute of learning in 1067-Al Ghazzali , theologian & author of 'The Revival of the Religious Sciences in Islam'-Ibn Sina, physician and author of 'Canons of Medicine' and 'the most popular scientist Islam and one of the most popular of all races, locations an times'-Ibn al-Haytham, optics expert, author of 'Optical Thesaurus' - one of the most plagiarised text in the history of science.But coming to the point of whether the book does justice in presenting Islam as an idea, I think it does but with caveats. The purpose of any idea is to create people think, implore and to seek out. Islam in that very sense is then the 'ultimate' idea there could ever be. But the book is not a scholarly reference. Some contemprary subjects have been explained only superficially such as the role of women, the put of fine arts, Islamic jurisprudence. Keeping in mind the short memory of a lot of readers these subjects are better left to the scholars for their dissertation. Any such subject that does not take into acc the opposite/papallel view in consideration could be charged with oversimplification so I think i will leave the reader to his own conclusion about this. Having said that, 'Introducing Islam' is the sort of book every non-Muslim must browse through before any finger-pointing competition. I would also appeal to my Muslim brothers and sisters to definitely consider gifting this book in case you wish to support someone unaware of Islam, obtain his/her facts right. It's one of those things that will definitely do you some amazing in return.(Introducing Islam is actually part of a series published by Icon Books UK on different famous topics including philosophy, science, politics, religion etc.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Emotional Intelligence: A Practical Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-25 18:0

    A amazing starter of eq development

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Kant: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-25 18:2

    This book does NOT explain Kant, it actually makes him more incomprehensible. I'm not any kind of Kant expert, but I do know something about Kant's Critique of Judgement, and I know for a fact that the author makes Kant's ideas on the sublime more confusing and incomprehensible. Stay away, and don't waste your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Kant: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-25 18:2

    I got three quarters through this book, and at some point I thought when are they going to discuss the antinomies, or the phenomena / noumena distincition? To summarise Kant, a philosopher who is difficult to read, he challenges the Newtonian view of the globe that zone and time is absolute. He argues that space, time, and causality are the important conditions for all experience, therefore they are subjective. Phenomena can only arise through space, time and causality. Phenomena is the only the method we experience the world, not as the globe is in-itself. Noumena is the globe as it exists in-itself. Noumena may not be bound by space, time and causality. We cannot know this since we only experience phenomena. It is impossible to know noumena, therefore metaphysics is impossible. What I like about Kant is that he says that anything said beyond phenomena can only be based on faith. So one cannot disprove religious beliefs, nor can one prove garding the Critique of Practical Reason or the Fundamental Principles of the Metaphysics or Morals, Kant challenges the Aristotle's explanation of morality as eudamonia, i.e. that doing amazing is a important component of a amazing life. Kant argues that doing amazing acts as a means to having a amazing life is not the method we view morality as the motive would be based on self-interest. Morality must be based on a selfless rational principle. Kant proposes the maxim: act in such a method as if that act were a universal law. The individual should not expect any outcome or gain from their act, they should do it simply on their own rational r me Kant is equally the greatest of the philosophers because he satisfies my philosophical views of metaphysics, ethics, and aesthetics. I was VERY dissapointed with this introduction because it does not mention any of the above. Instead this introduction is utterly incomprehensible, post-neo-Habermassian-Derridian mention Kant alongside charlatans such as Heiddegger, Foucalt, Lyotard, and Derrida, and the lunatic Nietzsche, is the greatest insult. Thanks to these fraudsters the amazing ideas of Kant have been greatly neglected, when such ideas should be compulsory in all secondary school curricula. This nonsense has inhibited the globe from being a smarter place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Relativity: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-25 18:2

    An simple to read book on unique and general relativity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Relativity: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-25 18:2

    If you're a visual learner and search that graphics are much more effective than text to aiding learning, this is an perfect resource. It also doesn't obtain all bogged down in the mathematics behind the theory and history like most other texts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Stephen Hawking: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-25 18:2

    McEvoy & Zarate's Introducing Stephen Hawking (ISH) is as clear as clarity gets. I came to it well read in the history of science in general and of mathematics and physics in particular as well as all manner of out-of-date textbooks with all the pain that such reading entails. Though to read is not to comprehend, the bit of light that trickles through is a keen pleasure. Habit being a daunting foe as well as a mightily generous friend, I am slowly but surely clambering onto a seat whence I can read physics and poetry with near equal bewilderment and illiteracy and innumeracy. It helps to love staring at text--even in letters or ideograms that look like poor H is not only easier and clearer than Paradise Lost or the Iliad, it covers larger ground in a tenth the length of either. The book has nailed in put for me all the basic photos from Sig. Galileo to Hawking. Git the book, read it, and you'll experience a related gratitude to the one I have toward McEvoy & Zarate. And, Hurray for Amazing Britania for her obsession with Introducing... (I ain't no Brit either. Not by a long shot)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Stephen Hawking: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-25 18:2

    Cartoons, comic book style, sumo wrestlers - all these will from now on be associated with astronomy and quantum theory, thanks to this book. If like me you are just reading for general interest this book will explain it all, but without bogging it down with detail. A amazing read, and now I feel confident to read Hawkings book 'A brief history of time'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Statistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-26 18:2

    As a person with very small background in statistics I found this book to be very informative, mathematically educational, and enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Statistics: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-26 18:2

    Not everything in this book is bad: the historical info is very interesting. (The author has a PhD in the history of science.)Unfortunately, however, the book is riddled with blunders and misconceptions, obfuscations and nsider just one topic: the standard deviation -- beautiful necessary when it comes to understanding statistics.We are told that the standard deviation 'indicates how widely or closely spread the values are in a set of a data' (fine so far, apart from the typo of an additional 'a'), and then that it 'shows how far each of these individual values deviate from the average'. No: as a single summary figure, the standard deviation cannot possibly give info on 'each of these individual values'. (That is not its purpose, of course; indeed it almost the exact opposite of its purpose.)The accompanying graphic carries the info that the 'standard deviation ... corresponds to the moment of inertia ... of dynamics'. No: it corresponds to the radius of gyration. And we are told that the moment of inertia is 'a geometrical property of a beam, and a measure of the beam's ability to resist buckling or bending'. Oh dear! Clearly the author's grasp of mechanics is no better than her grasp of e formula for the standard deviation is then given -- but it is typeset incorrectly!Next, the standard deviation for a set of data (with mean 8) is calculated (correctly!) as 2.82. The accompanying comment is 'This means that the average amount of deviation in this set of data is 2.82 troops away from the mean value of 8 and that, therefore, there is a little amount of variation in this sample'. There appears to be no explanation of the criterion by which the variation is deemed huge or small. Certainly it is not a criterion known to this ly, we have 'Although the standard deviation indicates to what extent the whole group deviates from the mean, it does not present how variable a particular group is.' I have read that over and over again and I am at a loss to know what it is trying to say.I want I could say that the other statistical concepts in the book fared better than the standard deviation -- but they don't. I can't resist mentioning the coefficient of variation which is said to be useful in comparing the variability of temperatures in two cities, one set of measurements being in in degrees Celsius and the other in Fahrenheit. This, of course, is a excellent example of when it would *not* be appropriate to use the coefficient of variation -- because the mean could be zero and the coefficient of variation would then be infinite.If you understand anything about statistics this book will infuriate you; if you don't understand much about statistics the book will hinder not help.Avoid!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Political Philosophy: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-26 18:2

    ..our author sublimates himself to worst impulses of Milton Friedman-Ayn Rand neoliberalism…which runs rampant throughout treatise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Hegel: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-26 18:2

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Newton: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-26 18:2

    Obviously this is not where one turns to learn Physics --I however found it "fascinating" to learn about happenings that I was not aware of--Newtons contemporaries, his failures, poitics of the day, and other happenings that were event at the same time frame etc.I have always wanted to someday search time to read Principia--I dont think I have enough training to understand it though--but like most people who watch ER and have no idea of medicine--I guess in a related voyeristic fashion, I like to read about Physics and Mathematics !This was an perfect book from that stand point of view--enough to make curiousity to "look for more". I want I had read it when I was in school.Y. Trakru M.D.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Newton: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-26 18:2

    The treatment of Galileo could have been more accurate and less crude, but I really like this book. Perfect presentation of both history and ideas in the context of history. I gave a copy to my wife, and also require my students to read it when I teach both elementary and modern physics (relativity).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Hinduism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-27 18:2

    Travelled through India for 3 months, when i got back i read this book in a couple of hours and now everyone in the US thinks i am an expert on Hinduism...really fun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Hinduism: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2017-12-27 18:2

    Terrific tutorial and a well informed ysis by Prof. Lal. This book not only address aspects of the Hindu religion as a whole but also its political nuances.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Chomsky: A Graphic Guide (Introducing...) [Book]  2018-1-6 18:2

    I bought this book at the book shop which didn't have any of Chomskys political books (I wonder why). All there was was this one which had some of Chomskys ideas. The majority of the content in this book is about linguistics. To tell the truth, I didn't really know what linguistics was until I got this book. I agree with the other reviewer who said that this book didn't explain all the technical terms too well, or at all. I finished this book with hardly anything learned about linguistics. The Social Critic section didn't define too a lot of terms either, but I already knew most of it so it was ok. Next time I'll buy a true Chomsky book because I like his essays that I search online, but this book wasn't so great, but then again, it also wasn't written by him.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386