Read introduction to environmental soil physics reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all introduction to environmental soil physics reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Soil Physics: The State and the Transport of Matter and Energy in the Soil-Plant-Atmosphere Continuum []  2020-4-1 19:3

    This is a very amazing book for all soil scientist and those who care about the environment. I would suggest that anyone who wants to have a amazing understanding of environmental problems from the soil scientist point of view should have a copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Soil Physics: The State and the Transport of Matter and Energy in the Soil-Plant-Atmosphere Continuum []  2020-4-1 19:3

    Very amazing soil physics introductory book, with huge emphasys in water properties and its relation to soil. I liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Soil Physics: The State and the Transport of Matter and Energy in the Soil-Plant-Atmosphere Continuum []  2020-4-1 19:3

    Useful and simple to read

    0  


    Add your opinion on introduction to environmental soil physics or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Soil Physics: The State and the Transport of Matter and Energy in the Soil-Plant-Atmosphere Continuum []  2020-4-1 19:3

    I liked it it was clean and new, but it seems like it fall down or something because a part of the outer hardcover was broken..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Soil Physics: The State and the Transport of Matter and Energy in the Soil-Plant-Atmosphere Continuum []  2020-4-1 19:3

    I can give the book five stars,as I like it. It really helps me.And the hardcover is e price is cheap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Soil Physics: The State and the Transport of Matter and Energy in the Soil-Plant-Atmosphere Continuum []  2020-4-1 19:3

    This is a amazing lower level book for those who need the knowledge. Don't be afraid to obtain your hands dirty. Oops, I've soiled myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Soil Physics: The State and the Transport of Matter and Energy in the Soil-Plant-Atmosphere Continuum []  2020-4-1 19:3

    Not to much to say. Just that I was completely happy with what I have received and also the delivery time of the book was good. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Physics: Fundamentals, Applications, and Environmental Considerations []  2020-1-15 23:45

    This book is fantastic! Everything is extremely clear and all formulas are discussed in length. Very happy to be using this book for class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Physics: Fundamentals, Applications, and Environmental Considerations []  2020-1-15 23:45

    a amazing book for reference and detailed study . clear concepts and i believe a must buy for studying transport through soils

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Physics: Fundamentals, Applications, and Environmental Considerations []  2020-1-15 23:45

    When we received homework on this class, the textbook did not help. There weren't examples of exercises. This textbook was only theoretical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Engineering []  2020-1-22 18:42

    Very amazing book as an introduction to Environmental Engineering. First edition so there are some minor errors. Also amazing for water and wastewater treatment operators. I would definitely recommend getting it if you're interested in learning about what Environmental Engineers do. It doesn't read like a textbook. Parts are actually entertaining. Makes for easier learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Management []  2020-1-27 0:38

    No comments!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Management []  2020-1-27 0:38

    A lot of subjects covered and nicely written!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Statistical Physics []  2020-7-4 18:41

    I will use this book for my classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Statistical Physics []  2020-7-4 18:41

    I used this book for my statistical mechanics class and I hated it. Most of the materials, as already mentioned in the product description, are basically ripped off from the graduate-level ver by the same author. The material inside should be enough for one semester. While the content does provide a amazing overview of what the reader should learn from a standard statistical mechanics class, the fact that it is full of typos beautiful much ruined the whole book for me. Most of the time I search myself just googling for a pdf of the graduate-level ver of the book just so I could compare (that ver is actually beautiful good). If you're reading this book, create sure you have pen and paper next to you and follow along with the derivations. It skips a lot of info which, while not terribly difficult to figure out, can be very confusing due to the typos. This book is definitely not intended as a first intro book, but if you like a challenge and are very comfortable with multivariable calculus, then it's probably okay to use (but be cautious!). I do not recommend using this book strictly if you're in the unfortunate position of having this as your basic resource. If you really have to buy the book, just obtain the cheapest copy you can find.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Statistical Physics []  2020-7-4 18:41

    I can understand the not good reviews, but this book is clearly not intended as a basic text when taking a course on statistical is a unbelievable reference book for upper level undergraduate and introductory graduate courses in statistical mechanics. It covers a lot of ground in just 300 pages, without being mathematically demanding, and yet carries lots of is concise and the issues are well-chosen. Pair it with a more complete textbook (which is simple to find) for a better overall picture. But it is perfect for what it does.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Statistical Physics []  2020-7-4 18:41

    As others have pointed out it is not amazing as a reference book nor as a book to learn from. It fills no role.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Statistical Physics []  2020-7-4 18:41

    I understand the appeal of this book: it is structured like lecture notes, so a teacher can obtain away with copying the formulas and diagrams onto the blackboard and just reading out the text in between. The issue is the text seriously lacks rigour, with terms left vaguely defined or misleading, unstated assumptions, confusing expositions and motivations, and derivations riddled with mistakes (not all of them harmless!). Frankly I was surprised to search that despite being written by an expert like Huang, it reads more like a book that a student would write who has just wrapped his head around some of the concepts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Statistical Physics []  2020-7-4 18:41

    Class text for Statistical Mechanics. Amazing balance between explanation and physics. A small lite on detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Statistical Physics []  2020-7-4 18:41

    Used it for my graduate statistical mechanics course, and a lot of of my classmates agreed that this was easily one of the worst textbooks we had ever read. It is far too brief in explanations, and is only slightly more useful than a book full of equations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Statistical Physics []  2020-7-4 18:41

    I wonder how come this book come to its second edition!? Not pedagogical, not suffienct 's not for beginners and absolutely not for advanced 's crap!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Atmospheric Physics []  2019-12-11 18:34

    As a budding atmospheric physicist (entering graduate school this fall) holding a B.S. in mathematics and possessing decent knowledge in physics and chemistry, I was extremely disappointed when I bought this book for self study. Andrews summarily exposes the necessary topics, with most of them lacking in breadth, depth, clarity, and physical insight. Additionally, the tone is rather dispassionate. Fortunately I stumbled on 'Fundamentals of atmospheric physics' by Murry Salby, and search it a superior, lucid read. I'd highly recommend going for that instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Atmospheric Physics []  2019-12-11 18:34

    One of the better atmospheric books out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Energy Physics []  2020-2-6 22:19

    As a lot of previous reviewers have already pointed out, this book is not nearly as amazing an introduction to theoretical high energy physics as Griffiths' "Introduction to Elementary Particles". The basic reason for this is that Perkins' book was never meant to be read as a theoretical course in the first place. This is why Griffiths introduces Feynman rules and gamma matrices near the middle of the book and uses them extensively throughout the rest; Perkins mentions them in passing in the first chapter and then completely forgets them. In Perkins you will search small rigorous math, but a lot of experimental physics. If you wish to understand the theory behind T violation, use Griffiths. If you wish to know how physicists measured the electric dipole momentum of the neutron ( thus putting an upper limit on the magnitude of T violation ), Perkins will explain it in detail, together with the schematics of the apparatus they used.Overall, this book does not fit its title well - it is not a amazing introduction to high energy physics ( unless you are so totally averse to math that you can't manage Griffiths or Peskin/Shroeder ). However, it has its own purpose - that is, to teach experimental methods in high energy physics. It probably should be studied after Griffiths by those who are interested in experimental side of particle physics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Energy Physics []  2020-2-6 22:19

    Speaking as a graduate student in physics who is condemned to sort through this abominable text, I strongly discourage anyone from engaging in this book if they are given the choice. It's presentation is extremely fragmented, and explanations obscure - survey unlucky students who are condemned to this text and they will tell you that learning particle physics has been a matter of finding other powerful treatments. Not at all recommended. I am disturbed by the five star marks awarded by Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Many-Body Physics []  2020-7-5 18:49

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Thermal Physics []  2021-1-4 18:43

    I have amazing feelings about this book both ways. I've never found a better Thermal text. However, the text lacks context through out, and I found myself having to flip back and forth between sections and chapters in this book more than with any other physics text I've used. I just finished my fourth year in a Physics degree, with only three classes left to go, and this is my second least favorite book of all that I have used.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Energy Physics []  2020-2-6 22:19

    I just took an intro to particle physics class as a fifth year undergraduate who has had all of the usual courses that one is supposed to have to be able to at least gain a glimpse into the globe of particles. This book by Perkins is one of the worst textbooks that I have ever had to use. The examples were limited if any, and the issues seemed not to correlate with the content of the chapters at all. The issues that I did work on I had to reference other texts just to obtain an idea of what he was talking about. I have to say that Griffiths' (whose EM book was amazing and his quantum book not all that bad) was much more mathematical and clear, as well as Halzen and Martin. I agree with the other comment. Obtain another book before ever buying this book. Plus my Professor was not too thrilled with it as well. I ended up buying the Griffiths text in the end, which helped a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Many-Body Physics []  2020-7-5 18:49

    In my opinion this book has the essential tools for preparing very amazing lectures on condensed matter physics. It is very helpful, with perfect info of specific calculations sometimes hidden in other similar books. The list of solved and proposed issues are an perfect complement to the specific topics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Many-Body Physics []  2020-7-5 18:49

    I have not received the printed book yet, but I have read the lecture notes that this book was largely based on. It was very nicely written, and I have learned a lot of condensed matter field theoretical techniques from it.Another reason I would love this book is that it is not written in a [email protected]#$%!&[email protected] has evolved for a while. First, this means that it has very few typo/misprints, which is a large plus for newcomers to this field. Second, this means it can contain a lot of interesting fresh materials. I saw in the content that compared with the lecture notes preceding the book, the author has added a fresh chapter on topological Kondo insulators, which I can't wait to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Thermal Physics []  2021-1-4 18:43

    This book is a very amazing introduction to statistical mechanics (and some thermal physics subjects are inside, too). The title is Thermal Physics, but I think this book is better read with the mindset of being able to learn enough to be able to read more advanced statistical mechanics st people struggle with understanding what exactly is entropy, what is the chemical potential, etc. This book does a very amazing job explaining how these are all related. You won't search advanced subjects like the two-dimensional Ising model, but that's because this book isn't created for that. It's not a graduate level textbook. If you are looking for those types of topics, this is the wrong book. This book is for understanding the primary foundations of statistical mechanics and seeing how they are similar to primary concepts like pressure, chemical potential, and temperature that the reader learned from chemistry courses or the like. Use this book to build intuition and to solve some classic "textbook problems" in statistical mechanics to prepare for more advanced textbooks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Thermal Physics []  2021-1-4 18:43

    I thoroughly enjoyed the Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics class for which I bought this book, and the book itself contributed to that in no little way. This book is well written and has an appropriately conversational tone, making it easier to read than most books that I've had to buy for upper division physics classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Energy Physics []  2020-2-6 22:19

    This is a nice book to read. It explains particle physics intuitive method but it also keeps accuracy. I recommend first year graduate students to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Energy Physics []  2020-2-6 22:19

    Basically, If you wish theoretical approach stop reading this and buy griffiths' book, it's a lot better.I'm using Perkins for a course mainly created up of senior undergraduates. First of all, a lot of the other reviewers have ripped the book to shreds, and most of their complaints are valid. I'd like to point out that this book actually attempts a fairly difficult task of introducing relatively advanced concepts which require qft, to students without any background in field e long and the short of it is... Perkins' book is geared for learning with a phenomonological, experimental approach. This results in a lot of hand waving, and not a lot of mathematical or theoretical insights. If you're expecting these things, the book will be l of this aside, there are some major flaws in the book. First of all, it kind of lacks on organization. There are a lot of charts, tables and graphs thrown about at random, and with small reasoning or thought. This makes Perkins' fairly useless as a reference, since you might have to look at four or more various charts to search out the relevant properties of a given other major complaint, is that Perkins uses a lot of jargon without sufficiently introducing the terminology. While, this is fine for people who already know particle physics, I'm guessing that if you're reading this book, you don't already know particle ly, despite being a fourth addition, there are still a bunch of misprints/omissions. For example, there's a question (which i conveniently had for a homework assignment) totally based on a concept not mentioned anywhere within the book. Google searches on the subject led only to obscure and inaccessible sically, if you have to use this book for a course be prepared to read and re-read each section of it, and to suppliment with other books. I'd suggest buying griffiths along with it, happening if you're not into the whole theory thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Energy Physics []  2020-2-6 22:19

    This is a book whose content is close to that of most 'traditional' undergraduate courses on particle physics. Yet, you will probably be tempted to throw it in the dustbin after a few pages unless you have trained yourself into thinking that it's better reading it than failing your exam and have already read a book like Giffiths' before, where you will search some amazing theoretical basis for all this stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Many-Body Physics []  2020-7-5 18:49

    I enjoyed reading this book. I liked that Coleman always emphasizes the physics. Some QFT books go into jargon and mathematical technicalities, which isn't a poor thing, but I was looking for a book where the techniques were shortly presented and then applied. Coleman's book does just that. I found the exercises well chosen and insightful. That said, I think the reader should ideally have prior exposure to the techniques in QFT from a typical QFT course or book. This is because it's near impossible to have a fully self-contained textbook that teaches QFT techniques from the ground up and then also applies it to a lot of condensed matter systems. Such a textbook would easily be over a thousand pages long! As such, some of the issues in Coleman's book assume a powerful background in previous graduate physics classes such as quantum mechanics, condensed matter physics, statistical mechanics, and ideally previous exposure to QFT (one semester of QFT is enough).As other comments have mentioned, there are quite a few rather silly mistakes but I don't think they created the textbook unreadable. An attentive reader should be able to figure out what is going on without too much confusion. I sent Piers Coleman a file with a list of typos I found. Hopefully a lot of of the typos will be corrected in a fresh printing. The content itself is very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Many-Body Physics []  2020-7-5 18:49

    I never seen so a lot of typos in one book before. From easy ones like double double words in the middle of sentences, to more serious ones like messing up integral concepts. You can search at lest one typo per page. Concept not explained especially clear, a lot of extra reading from various sources required. Sad, the book had a lot of potential. Could been amazing for learning but now there is nothing but frustration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Thermal Physics []  2021-1-4 18:43

    In the first 3 chapters I felt a definite lack of rigor, like I was back in 1st year university course, but I understand now that it was to focus on understanding the concepts in thermodynamics and also to build some intuition for students who (like myself) have not had a formal course in statistics. Chapter 4 is a beautiful amazing section on applied thermodynamics, especially for engineering students. Chapters 5-7 are truly where the rigor picks up, and he derives a lot of of the first results in these chapters, with simple to follow someone who took the later part of my course on quarantine, chapter 7 is a bit difficult to grasp if you don't have a professor with you. Other than that my only true complaint is that sometimes the exercises seem more like a try of algebra and patience. Though, this is mostly created up for with a lot of amazing applied and theoretical questions, so hopefully your professor gives amazing homework n't really think of a better undergraduate thermo book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Thermal Physics []  2021-1-4 18:43

    This is an outstanding introductory book on thermal physics, with readability and clarity place at the forefront. The author painstakingly explains key derivations, delineating practically every step with a masterful combination of prose and equations. The chapters concerning the key fundamental results on statistical mechanics (the different ensembles and distribution statistics) are the best I've seen, blowing away McQuarrie (both his undergrad and grad level books) and Chandlers' texts. The graduate level books have their merits, either in depth and/or rigor, but on average, I think Schroeder's approach will let the readers to obtain their feet wet the most 's excellent as either your first read or as a companion piece to more comprehensive, first year graduate level texts. There are very few critical typos, which I think is necessary for first time readers trying to parse the difference between the jargon (microstates, macrostates, particle states, system states, multiplicity, density of state...). In any case, the author makes amazing effort in his definitions of terms. You're in amazing hands, I is book requires just a bit of multi variable calculus but no vector calculus is required. The different transforms (Legendre, Fourier, Laplace, etc.) are only mentioned briefly as means to get necessary results, but they are not a prerequisite. Familiarity with a very rudimentary level of wave function formalism of quantum mechanics becomes crucial in the later is text includes very few, completely solved examples. I actually liked this approach since it keeps the book slim and compact. The author explains on his www service defending his choice. I think the effort he locations in explaining the derivations of key ideas step by step more than makes up for the lack of an easily accessible solution ly, I like to point out that the price of this modern, hardcover text is close to one-third of its close relatives. Take a look at the price tags of Ahlfors, Baby Rudin, 2nd edition Sakurai, 3rd edition Boas, etc.... It's one of the most generously priced, recently produced hardcover science texts on the shop ve stars all the way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Thermal Physics []  2021-1-4 18:43

    Schroeder writes like hes putting in his everyday diary entry. He often contains some silly and unhelpful anecdote or creative bit that serve no purpose. In addition his derivations of equations are erratic and hard to follow. If this book is on a needed reading list for a class than I am sorry for you. If you can, seek other texts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Energy Physics []  2020-2-6 22:19

    This is not just a straightforward modernize of a successful book, it is a major rewrite, the most comprehensive revision so far. It covers all significant developments of the past 15 years; equally important, it has been thoroughly reorganized, such that the discussion is now firmly embedded into the classification of particles and forces of the Standard Model. A welcome addition are two fresh chapters which treat 'Physics beyond the Standard Model' and 'Particle physics and cosmology' in much more detail and show the relevance of particle physics in a wider scientific context.Rüdiger Voss /CERNA complete review is available in CERN Courier, June 2000

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Many-Body Physics []  2020-7-5 18:49

    I found some of the math a small difficult to follow, but on the whole, found this fascinating

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Thermal Physics []  2021-1-4 18:43

    This was a needed textbook for a junior level Thermodynamics class at my university. It showed up in excellent condition. I looked through the book and it looks well-written. It doesn't appear to be one of those tedious books that just have line after line of equations and small explanation. The author actually seems to have taken out the time to describe things narratively. There are a lot of equations, so it's not just some qualitative book. It has a mix of qualitative and qualitative and the sections seem to be natural. Certain methods of doing things appear to be collected in their own chapters and sections; and, terminology had bold faced words with a definition after them, which can be beautiful rare to see in physics books. Introduces a concept, gives key words and definitions, describes them and how the pieces fit, and gives examples.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Energy Physics []  2020-2-6 22:19

    This is a textbook which takes time to warm up to ! I ignored it for a time (preferring Griffiths). However, when looked at in a certain manner, reading the text carefully, one can appreciate what Perkins has to offer. Now, my opinion of the text has been realigned. The task is hardly an simple one for any author (that is, extracting as much high-energy physics as possible utilizing a minimum of prerequisites and almost no field theory). The text can be used to amazing efficacy, but one must remain diligent. Allow us take a tour:(1) Of chapter one, a survey of the particle zoo. Reading: "negative energies for free particles appear to be completely meaningless." (page 13). Also, "Klein-Gordon equation is second order in the derivatives, Schrodinger equation is first-order in time, second-order in space..." (page 17). Finally, "at least 90 % of the matter of the Universe consists of unknown particles." (page 32). Page 33 presents ten end-of-chapter problems. If these initial issues pose an issue, one must re-read the entire chapter. Otherwise, the remainder of the text will be unassailable.(2) Particles came first, now we obtain fields (interactions): This second chapter is quite good. "it is the force that is the measured quantity." (page 35). That line needs repeating time and again. You do obtain a first glimpse into Feynman diagrams (page 39), gauge invariance and renormalization (page 42) and the concept of 'crossing' in particle reactions (page 55). Dimensional ysis is utilized in every available instance to amazing effect.(3) First chapter was a warm-up, second chapter a bit more challenging, the third chapter is more challenging yet, but even better: invariance principles and conservation laws. We learn: "fermions and anti-fermions have opposite intrinsic parities." (page 71). There is an perfect discussion of charge conservation: "conservation of energy implies that we cannot make or destroy charge if the potential scale is arbitrary." (page 76). Also, "there is no evidence for a long range field coupled to local gauge symmetry of Baryon number." (page 79). CPT introduced, then an perfect exposition of the neutron electric-dipole-moment (page 83-86). Again, perfect utilization of dimensional ysis for purposes of estimation: "first, allow us test to guess the magnitude of electric-dipole-moment on dimensional grounds."(4) Quarks enter in chapter four. Charm, gluon exchange, confinement, magnetic moments, discussed; experimental basis always emphasized. The top quark discovery (CDF detector) is described at conclusion of chapter. An exercise asks the student to "discuss the possible decay modes of the omega-minus hyperon allowed by the conservation laws, showing that weak decay is the only possibility." (problem #2, page 139).(5) If you have fun scattering theory, you will have fun chapter five: lepton and quark scattering. The collisions encompass: electrons with positrons, electrons with muons, neutrinos with electrons, leptons with nucleons. Suffice it to say, an perfect chapter which emphasizes experimental results compared with theoretical predictions. Figure #5.5 shows the results for the angular distributions of the process: 'electron plus positron' producing two hadron jets, and, "it is indeed consistent with that expected for spin one-half quark constituents." (page 146). Perkins does provide tips to the solution of a lot of issues (for instance: #5.1 and 5.13, pages 168, 170, respectively).(6) QCD continued. Reading: "the angular distribution in the three-jet happenings also allows a determination of the gluon spin." (page 180). Here, a first introduction to asymptotic freedom: "the transverse components of the gluon field exert a shielding effect, but the longitudinal gluons have an anti-shielding result that dominates the situation and 'spreads out' the color charge, resulting in weaker coupling..." (page 185). Deep inelastic scattering and quark-gluon plasma concludes this chapter.(7) Weak Interactions, next. We start with Fermi, then to Pauli, then to parity nonconservation. A nice discussion of the CKM Matrix, row by row, is here presented (pages 224-226). About the matrix entries, "there is at show no understanding of their origins." Neutral Kaon system and CP violation, they are next.(8) Electroweak interactions and standard model, these are explored. Read here: "clearly, the standard model gives an perfect acc of all the data..." Higgs mechanism and symmetry breaking will proceed via Lagrangian approach, merely a brief survey. (That is one minor quibble, these sections could be amplified considerably). Following which, we move beyond the standard model (supersymmetry, grand unification, proton decay,neutrino oscillations and magnetic monopoles). Chapter ten touches upon cosmological connections (dark matter, inflation).(9) Chapter eleven, experimental methods (forty pages). A fine discussion. A ten-page Glossary is adequate and useful.Answers to selected exercises, alongside bibliography, concludes the textbook (my edition: fourth, fifth printing 2006). I like this question, page one: "how pointlike is pointlike ? "(10) I confessed at the beginning that I ignored this text for too long. It is not a direct competitor with textbooks such as Griffiths or Kane. Those textbooks are slanted more heavily in a theoretical direction. Perkins is a nice ancillary text alongside Cahn and Goldhaber (Experimental Foundations of Particle Physics) or Henley and Garcia (Subatomic Physics). Perkins takes time to warm-up to, the style is physics-dense, mostly theory-qualitative. Note the frequency with which Perkins makes use of dimensional ysis. Not to everyone's taste, yet still a worthwhile book to dip into. Recommended for continuing enrichment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Energy Physics []  2020-2-6 22:19

    I used Perkin's book for a one sememester 500 level graduate course. I honestly believe that of the 20+ books that I have used in undergrad and grad school, that this is the absolute worst text I have encountered. The equations in the text are mearly thrown in without the slightest justification or tip of the possible way of derivation. If you would truly understand the significance of the equations, then you would need a background knowledge that I can hardly believe anybody looking for an introduction to high energy physics could have. However, this is far from its largest pitfall. The book is choppy to read. There are almost no quantitative examples and yet the questions are mostly quantitative. I am sure that I could think of more specifics dislikes, but I think that the reader has seen my opion. To anybody considering buying this text I suggest instead purchasing griffiths "introduction to elementary particles." My class was so displeased with perkins text that our professor has promised to switch to griffiths next year. To reiterate.... Perkins book is the epitome of poor writing. I give my apologies to the author, but I don't wish others to waste their time and cash on this text. Buy Griffiths Book, it is good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Energy Physics []  2020-2-6 22:19

    I agree with most other reviewers that this is a poor book, at least if you are actually looking for an "introductory" 's title should read "An introduction to the experimental evidence for particle physics for those that already know quite a bit of particle physics"It may be "comprehensive" in that it touches on a small of everything but, but like most other reviewers, despite having done all the prerequisite courses, I found that it introduces ideas and formulae with small or no background so that you gain very small understanding of anything. It follows this with issues you can't respond and solutions which simply give a value without showing any working, so you can't see how it should have been done. I didn't really obtain a amazing handle on the experimental side of things either due to the general despair that the book created...Having said all that, it (may) be ok as a 2nd or 3rd book on the subject, if you already have a moderate background and are looking to increase your knowledge of the experimental side of particle physics.I've just ordered Introduction to Elementary Particles by D Griffiths which comes much more highly recommended both on amazon and other internet sites, so I hope I'll obtain on better with this!...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Many-Body Physics []  2020-7-5 18:49

    Coleman's book is clear and quite simple to read. There is very massive emphasis on computation of diagrams and path-integral methods. It is very much written for students.While you will obtain a lot of practice computing diagrams, it may be real that computing quantities this method could obscure other, easier methods of computation. I recommend supplementing this book with a more classic book which eschews the use of ly, this book is mostly about equilibrium properties. Non-equilibrium methods, such as Keldysh method, are not covered well in this text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Many-Body Physics []  2020-7-5 18:49

    It has some typos but also has a very amazing logical structure and amazing presentation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Many-Body Physics []  2020-7-5 18:49

    more than expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Thermal Physics []  2021-1-4 18:43

    This is a review of the book construction itself. Schroeder's book is great, but the current printings (yes, the main hardcover edition, ISBN 9780201380279) are suffering from sub-par printing quality. Older printings used a high quality glossy paper. The current printings use a thicker matte paper, adding bulk to the book as a whole. The binding of current printings is glued (like a paperback) rather than using stitched signatures. It's effectively a paperback with boards glued on. The printing itself is extremely low resolution, as if printed on a low-quality inkjet printer. In latest years, it appears that the major textbook publishers are intentionally sabotaging print editions of their books, in hopes that people will switch to e-books. What a shame, Pearson.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Thermal Physics []  2021-1-4 18:43

    Approachable, but doesn't feel rigorous. Amazing for 2nd year, maybe 3rd year. But if you care about the physics you will feel a small bit of a separation between you and the author's understanding. This will later be known as pain and suffering.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Thermal Physics []  2021-1-4 18:43

    This book is a amazing introduction to thermal physics for a physicist, and a unbelievable book for chemists who found physical chemistry hand-waving. This books wants you to understand what's going on more than anything. Very self-teachable, that's how I did it. It is on the simple side, and the issues are relatively simple, but if you wish an introduction, this is it. Helps with the conceptual understanding better than any other thermodynamics book I've ever read (all physical chemistry books are written by people not able to communicate or don't really understand thermodynamics, just memorize). Stat mechanics in it is a small weak, but still a amazing introduction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Chemistry []  2020-2-4 11:57

    Professor Donald L. Sparks has managed to write an perfect and up-to-date book on necessary subjects similar to environmental soil chemistry. The book covers all the essential topics required for an in-depth understanding of all the complex soil processes that control the fate and transport of both inorganic and organic contaminants in the environment. The book also contains amazing descriptions of state-of-the-art instrumentations used in environmental soil chemistry such as synchrotron radiation-based X-ray techniques. I use this book in my course entitled "Soil and Environmental Chemistry" and the book has the excellent length for a one semester course and the students like it. I can highly recommend this book for both undergraduate and graduate students as well as professionals.Dr. Thomas BorchAssistant Professor of Environmental Soil ChemistryDepartment of Soil and Crop SciencesColorado State UniversityFort Collins, Colorado 80523, USA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Chemistry []  2020-2-4 11:57

    I purchased this textbook as needed reading for a grad class, and barely used it. It's a short, thin book, seems to be lacking in key topics, and the index is minimally useful. If I had it to do over, I'd purchase a more rigorous soil chem textbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Chemistry []  2020-2-4 11:57

    As advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Chemistry []  2020-2-4 11:57

    Soil Chemistry by sparks is a powerful text. It covers the essentials of soil chemistry and would be an perfect reference book, as it is concise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Chemistry []  2020-2-4 11:57

    Item arrived on time and in amazing condition. Couldn't ask for e book is really amazing an simple to understand. Amazing Resource book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Chemistry []  2020-2-4 11:57

    Badly written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Chemistry []  2020-2-4 11:57

    This was needed reading for a soil water chemistry course that I took. As the course was problem-based learning, this text came in handy as a resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Chemistry []  2020-2-4 11:57

    The book is very good. I received the product before the date stipulated by Amazon. I am satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Chemistry []  2020-2-4 11:57

    The book is in amazing quality and the delivery was fast.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Environmental Soil Chemistry []  2020-2-4 11:57

    I still need more time to read it. But the contents are a small various from what I have expected. It did not discuss more about the chemistry of elements.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Applied and Environmental Geophysics []  2020-5-7 18:15

    So far (5 weeks into my Gravity and Magnetic Exploration Techniques course), seems like it's missing some fundamentals, such as the formulas you would use to plot the profile of a gravity anomaly over different geometric shapes (e.g. buried sphere, cylinder...), so I had to refer to other texts even though this one is so huge and seemingly comprehensive. Still seems like a amazing reference book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Applied and Environmental Geophysics []  2020-5-7 18:15

    Comprehensive oversight but vague. For an introductory student often difficult to understand or to stay focused.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Water Resources and Environmental Issues []  2020-8-9 18:31

    This book is amazing for me. I have my Bsc in forestry engineering but studied in a various language than my native tongue. This book is excellent for additional studies and cross overs back to [email protected]#$%!&s concise, very simple to understand and all in all a amazing tool for specialists and also those who just have a general interest in the subject. Also very well equipped with international examples and also with questions that stimulate the mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Water Resources and Environmental Issues []  2020-8-9 18:31

    Introduction to Water Resources and Environmental Problems has some of the best summary, vocab, and knowledge pertaining to the topic of environmental studies. It includes some of the best description of nature's components, which is a necessity for readers or learners to understand the nature in depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Water Resources and Environmental Issues []  2020-8-9 18:31

    Perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Engineering and Science []  2021-1-3 19:17

    Book is almost completely detached from the binding and I am afraid to place it in my bag as I worry that the pages will come loose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Applied and Environmental Geophysics []  2020-5-7 18:15

    Well written textbook. I did high school physics over 25 years ago so I have just a very primary physics background. I thought the book was comprehensive and generally covered the subject in an simple to understand and follow format. Clear diagrams and figures that were similar to the material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Applied and Environmental Geophysics []  2020-5-7 18:15

    Book was a described and in prefect condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Water Resources and Environmental Issues []  2020-8-9 18:31

    This book will support beginners in the field of water resources obtain general information for around every aspect of the field as well as understand the main problems today and threats that today’s misuse of water might bring in future. There are unique sections and quotes from renown people of the field, which are interesting and encouraging for a better management of water resources.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Water Resources and Environmental Issues []  2020-8-9 18:31

    amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Engineering and Science []  2021-1-3 19:17

    I used this textbook for a 300-level introduction to Environmental Engineering. The text is well written, with a powerful and personable narrative, and explains the vast majority of the subjects in a clear and accessible manner. Technical jargon is kept to a minimum, and this text could easily be read by a non-engineer. The text covers Water and Wastewater chemistry and treatment, water pollution and control, air pollution and control, solid waste treatment and disposal, and risk and risk management, as well as providing a solid background in the requisite chemistry and mathematics. College-level mathematics, including primary calculus, are included, although the textbook could be used in a non-calculus course without loosing any true continuity or coverage, by eliminating some derivations and a very few formulae. A primary college-level chemistry background is also extremely beneficial for Chapters 2 and 5 (Chemistry and Water topics).However, the provided exercises appear to have been written for an earlier edition and not updated, as the sequence and phraseology differs from that of the text, which led to confusion on a few occasions. Also, no solutions are provided in the back of the book and no student solutions manual is available, which makes study from the text difficult. The text also covers far more material than can reasonably be covered in a one-semester course, so coverage and continuity is in huge part up to the instructor's planning and subject l in all, I found this book to provide a broad, clear, and succinct introduction to environmental engineering. It was simple to read and stimulated interest in the different fields covered, and provides enough depth to create it a useful reference later on (I elected not to sell it back and use it as such, to much benefit in upper-level courses). Hence, I would strongly recommend this text for a sophomore or junior-level introduction to environmental engineers, and to students in such a course or looking to learn more about the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Engineering and Science []  2021-1-3 19:17

    Arrived on time. Did the job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Environmental Toxicology Fourth Edition []  2019-12-8 19:8

    The book is what I expected: an introductory level textbook, and so assumes no prior knowledge of the topic matter. It arrived on time and in amazing condition but the color of the cover is quite faded.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Environmental Toxicology Fourth Edition []  2019-12-8 19:8

    I got it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Environmental Law []  2020-2-6 19:44

    Had a page number error and was missing the latest 100 pages of the book. Absolute no contact from the seller in getting a refund. Do not buy from this seller

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Applied and Environmental Geophysics []  2020-5-7 18:15

    The second edition of this book is one of the best overall books on geophysics I've found. I've used this as a reference in a lot of of my geophysics classes and it has proved a valuable resource. For the majority of readers looking for a amazing introductory book on geophysics, this is the best option. It introduces the primary methods, explains the theory behind them and then explores applications. It doesn't go into vast depth on each of the methods, due to zone constraints, so if you are only interested in a singular way such as seismic, this book is not ideal. However, it provides enough info to introduce the methods and bring you to the point that you could read a more advanced book on the way and understand the terminology. While this book is titled an Introduction to Applied and Environmental Geophysics, it does also cover subject similar to oil and gas exploration and mining. It was even used as a text in my graduate level mining geophysics terms of the first vs the second edition, both books cover the same material and have very related text. The first edition can be had for very small which is nice, however, as a reference the second edition is much improved due to the presence of lots of nice color diagrams and images. I've used both editions and found these photos in the second edition create the book much more readable and as they say, a amazing picture is worth a thousand words. So if you can afford the newer edition, purchase it, you will not regret it. If I could only choose one book to have on geophysics, this would be text I'd choose. Highly recommended for both Geoscience students and enthusiasts, no matter the specific discipline or applications desired.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Applied and Environmental Geophysics []  2020-5-7 18:15

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Water Resources and Environmental Issues []  2020-8-9 18:31

    Best book on water resources I have found!(so far) This books writing is clear understandable and informative so if info on water is of interest to you just obtain this book its a amazing put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Engineering and Science []  2021-1-3 19:17

    The delivery was so fast. It is relatively nice as a used book. This is a paperback US edition, although it looks like the international one. (the international edition has some various end chapter exercises, which is a huge issue if you use it as your textbook in class). Anyway this book does not have that problem, and considering its price and the customer service, I totally recommend it if you are taking this course!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Engineering and Science []  2021-1-3 19:17

    The exercises are very well explained and the book follows a logical order in the chapters explained. The exercises and samples in metric values are very helpful for European students and professors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Engineering and Science []  2021-1-3 19:17

    Highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Water Resources and Environmental Issues []  2020-8-9 18:31

    This book came in on time and very quickly actually ahead of time. It was a brand fresh books and no issues at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Water Resources and Environmental Issues []  2020-8-9 18:31

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Engineering and Science []  2021-1-3 19:17

    Back binding is falling apart, ripped the length of the book. Therefore, leaving the binding in not good condition, leaving it to rip easily with regular use. Several pages got wet previously and dried, wrinkling pages in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Engineering and Science []  2021-1-3 19:17

    Required this book for class. Bought a cheap used copy. Functions perfectly!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Applied and Environmental Geophysics []  2020-5-7 18:15

    Excelent condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Practical Introduction to Environmental Law []  2020-2-6 19:44

    Textbook was fine all year. As I am now at the end of the semester, we've reached the end of the book. The latest 60 or so pages are not from the textbook. They mistakenly have pages from what I assume in an employment law textbook instead of the latest section of environmental law. Very disappointed in this product because of this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Applied and Environmental Geophysics []  2020-5-7 18:15

    I have been using this book for my geophysics class now for over a month. It is very well written and simple to understand. Reynolds takes a difficult topic and breaks it down into simple to digest sections. It is in black and white, but color is not needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Water Resources and Environmental Issues []  2020-8-9 18:31

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Water Resources and Environmental Issues []  2020-8-9 18:31

    Stupid book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Engineering and Science []  2021-1-3 19:17

    It was the support my daughter needed! 🙂

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Environmental Engineering and Science []  2021-1-3 19:17

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion []  2019-12-23 20:30

    The reason I bought this book is solely because it's needed for the course, or I'll not even read is is a very not good book especially for beginners for the following rst, its mathematical derivations are just a mass!!! I don't know whether the author has ever derived the formulas himself or he just copy the derivation from somewhere else without checking. A lot of info are just skipped which makes the derivation really hard to follow. What's more, the style of how he wrote the equations to demonstrate the derivation is not logical at numerous places. It seems like he just collected the derivation mindlessly instead of showing the steps in such a method that can be followed logically by the reader.Furthermore, the author's background is not physics or electromagnetics similar major. His method of showing the particle motion and waves in plasma create me feel extremely uncomfortable. It's just like a novice using some kind of 'strange' way in the demonstration which is not publicly acceptable by the people in this field. I strongly suggest those who has the background of physics or electromagnetics do NOT read this book, since it is just too ANNOYING and DISGUSTING!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Physics, Fifth Edition []  2020-8-18 18:45

    Best book ever written on the subject!Very comprehensive. It will be a reference book for years to come at our facility and will support fresh technicians understand base principles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Health Physics, Fifth Edition []  2020-8-18 18:45

    This won't appear as a confirmed purchase, my employer bought the 5th edition to support me prepare for a fresh role.I have a PhD in a physical science, and have worked through a lot of chemistry, engineering, and physics textbooks. The subjects covered by this book are not terribly complicated, but the discussions and example issues are frequently confusing and would benefit from a thorough proofreading. Unit yses are frequently and demonstrably incorrect, example issues often create unexplained leaps in logic, concepts are introduced using one name and then suddenly referred to using another name without warning or explanation. Symbols in equations are sometimes changed without warning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Frank Chen is considered to be the father of modern Plasma Physics. I teach a course on supercomputing and hypercomputing aspects of fusion, and as most reading this likely know, Fusion itself has now moved almost entirely into Plasma Research as complementary me publishers bring out fresh editions every year just to rip students off, others wait ten years and provide a wealth of fresh material. Over a lot of years I've found Springer to be in the middle, one of the more expensive publishers, but also better than most in providing true fresh material. So, the question: how does this compare to the previous two editions?First, the original 2000/2001 edition is actually a classic, still fetching $100 US from a lot of sellers, so that begs the question. The Second, however, can be snagged for $26 new, so is it worth it to pay $75 to $100 for the "2016" (actually 2015 edition? Well, the truth is that although a lot has changed in plasma in 10 years, NOT a lot has changed in fusion other than it becoming more and more integrated with fusion research. So first, if you're getting this for plasma study, the fresh edition is absolutely worth the investment, and both has and organizes a lot of material you won't search even on the professional research web.Fusion is a small more murky. There are other amazing books on fusion that give more robust bibs, but IMHO Chen is still the go to source for the combination of both, which is where the R&D action is. If you're going into plasma this is a must, fusion, it is a should. If you're very fresh to both, the second is still a true gem.Specifically, page by page comparisons present light updates throughout, including errata and web suggestions, and the two fresh chapters are on unique plasmas, and plasma applications including some magnetic fusion (heavy plasma, lighter laser). If this were JUST a fusion purchase I'd strongly advise considering the second edition, however the most latest developments in that field are all design refinements of plasma containment, leakage, waves, and mathematics, which is absolutely Chen's wheelhouse. The closest (and in my opinion best) competitor to this fine text is Jeff Freiddberg (Plasma Physics and Fusion Energy), and indeed Jeff does switch the balance to less plasma and more fusion. The 7 year difference in the two publication dates that favors Chen here is more germane to plasma than fusion, sadly!All three here are highly recommended but the distinctions are for those, like me, who are on a budget and can't just go snag every fresh edition. BTW, also sadly, the a lot of "petaflop" developments in particle hypercomputing (my field) are only mentioned and not covered extensively in any of these editions, meaning another trip to Amazon for one of several supercomputing in physics texts, such as Segall or Tag Newman (computational physics). The overview is there, but you won't search actual algorithms (pseudo or real), quantum sims, or code, and need to go online for those after getting the refs from these fine texts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion []  2019-12-23 20:30

    It is obvious that this book did not go through a technical revision. There are numerous errors, for example: there are two various issues 4.14, one on page 112 and the other on page 125. Chen’s book is clear example of how clumsy typesetting can spoil a amazing textbook. The indiscriminate use of boldface in chapter 2 would create you believe that division by vectors is possible or that two vectors can be multiplied without an intervening dot or a cross. At some point, on page 116, they did not bother to typeset anymore and just inserted a low-resolution scan of equation 4.101 from a previous edition. In chapter 5 the type selected for Greek letter nu and vee is identical, thus introducing unnecesary confusion. Several of the figures are poor-quality scans of the ink drawings from previous editions. Also, there is a mismatch between the numbering of issues in chapter 4 and their solutions at the end of the book, etc. In short, I do not recommend this edition, pick a 2nd edition instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to the Physics of Sports []  2020-1-29 2:32

    This book does an perfect job in presenting the underlying principles of physics being utilized in a dozens of sports. Then, these principles are applied to other sports with contemporary examples.Furthermore, the reader is introduced to various scientific techniques which support us to understand how scientists approach fresh problmes.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386