Read jenkins reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all jenkins reviews below or publish your opinion.

97 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Morris-Jenkins [App]  2019-7-3 13:10

    User-friendly interface! Love how this application makes everything so accessible :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elmo Jenkins 4-5-6 [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    These are just the most enjoyable books --you really like all of the characters--they become mates you look forward to spending time with. It's almost like reading life, or the method you would like life to be. There's not alot of high drama but they are a amazing read for pure relaxation, some laughter, and a time of escapism! Love this author and his writing style!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elmo Jenkins 4-5-6 [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    I really like this series, and was not disappointed with these. Hold you wanting to read, hard to place down. I would recommend. Refreshing because a nice clean read.

    0  


    Add your opinion on jenkins or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elmo Jenkins 4-5-6 [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    I love all these stories and can really relate to them as my husband is a retired pastor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elmo Jenkins 4-5-6 [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    loved it, want there were more books in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elmo Jenkins 4-5-6 [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    These are clean books that are fun to read. I like Elmo and the other characters are interesting and enjoyable to read about. They take us backstage, so to speak, at a huge town church. Mixed in all the fun are some amazing theology and some interesting mini-sermons. The author is a former minister who draws on his own experiences. While the books are fictional, we all know people like these.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elmo Jenkins 4-5-6 [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    This was a fun read following my reading of the fist three Elmo books. I loved not really knowing which brand of Christianity First Church was and seeing that their church and all the churches I have been part of have the same foibles and fears, amazing and difficult members, and stumbling bumbling staff people in common. What a refreshing method to say that we are all in churches for the same reasons and search ways to create each member an necessary part of God's plan. I feel like Mr. Moody had as much fun writing these books as I had reading them. And I learned a few things in the process too! Waiting for books 7, 8, and 9!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elmo Jenkins 4-5-6 [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    I have thoroughly enjoyed the entire Elmo Jenkins series. Oh How some of the stories are so relatable! Amazing hero development and storylines.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elmo Jenkins 4-5-6 [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    As a retired Lutheran pastor, I commend the author for his clear presentation of the Gospel of Jesus, the Christ. The a lot of situations faced by Elmo brought to mind related events in my ministry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elmo Jenkins 4-5-6 [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    I liked books 1 and 2 alot. It was either the 3rd or 4th book that caused me to lose my interest when the focus of writing was on the various characters and they were speaking. Elmo himself was funny and entertaining. It reminded me a small of Jan Karon's Father Tim hero

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elmo Jenkins 4-5-6 [Book]  2018-1-15 18:0

    These are such amazing fun to read. There is truth of Scripture and life interlaced with following the adventures of a young minister and all those he comes in contact with. I look forward to a lot of more of Elmo's adventures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Agent (Charles Jenkins Book 2) []  2020-9-23 18:0

    Men rush into a woman’s hospital room and hustle off her to cell to be interrogated quite painfully. The novel then switches to the main character, Charles Jenkins, who six months after being found not guilty for espionage. He is finally free of the vestiges of these happenings by signing his latest check to pay the latest contractor hired by his former company. He was now debt free and living with his wife and kids on his Washington State Camano Island farm. He is visited by a well dress man looking for Jenkins. Jenkins asked what it is about. The man responds, “Russia.” He is from the CIA and explains that the woman that helped Jenkins escape from Russia, Paulina Ponomayova, is believed to be alive in Lefortovo prison. She is being interrogated for the identity of the latest four sisters, U.S. spies. The CIA wants to obtain her out, and who is better candidate for this job than Jenkins. How could Jenkins refuse to save the woman who he thought had died saving him and named his then unborn daughter after her? From this seed, the main storyline grows.Once Jenkins makes the decision to proceed, the action is fast-paced. I was captivated immediately. A lot of of the characters from the first novel create an appearance starting with Demir Kaplan who helped Jenkins escape from Russia the first time. Fresh and equally entertaining characters are introduced that enrichen my reading enjoyment. Jenkins also needs his former nemesis during his escape from Russia, the disgraced former FSB Colonel Victor Federov. The plan develops and morphs as the situation changes. The main storyline stays new as it continually shifts and proceeds in a fresh direction. The voices of the chapters changes and belongs to the main hero of that chapter. The reader receives multi-perspective view into the main e storyline is very rich. At the start, the decision to proceed is a family discussion. There is much interaction with his wife that provides a very poignant insight into the Jenkins’s character. Extra insight is provided in Jenkins interaction with Victor and Paulina. Jenkins’s nemeses in this novel also are well developed as are some fresh and returning FSB characters. These B-storylines were well woven into the main storyline e level of and language is very low. There is violence and described as it happens, but the descriptions are not graphic. These aspects should not hinder most readers. This is the second novel in the series. A lot of characters reappear with the baggage from the first novel. I have read the first novel, but adequate background and context were provided, so I believe reading this novel first is quite feasible. A reader will just miss a amazing story.I observed only one drawback. The ending was a plug for the next novel. I call these ending after the seasonal ending to the TV show, Dynasty, “Who shot JR?” ending. The ending of the first novel didn’t have this type of ending. It was saved for beginning of this novel. This is a nitnoid of sed upon the enjoyment I received in reading this novel and how it held my interest right up to the end, I rate it with five stars. If you liked The Eighth Sister, do not miss this one. If you like exciting chases, do not skip either. I am looking forward to reading the next novel in the series.I have received a free e-book ver of this novel through NetGalley from Thomas & Mercer with an expectation for an honest, unbiased review. I want to thank Thomas & Mercer for the opportunity to read and review this novel early.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Agent (Charles Jenkins Book 2) []  2020-9-23 18:0

    Buckle up for another wild ride as Charles Jenkins, former CIA agent, agrees to go back to Russia and rescue the American asset Paulina Ponomayova from an infamous prison. Paulina has been interrogated without mercy as the Russians test to search out the names of the remaining four women who have spied for the CIA for years. The mission has less than a 1% possibility of succeeding, but Charles cannot leave Paulina behind especially since she risked her life to support him escape Russia the first Dugoni weaves a suspenseful tale of a precision mission that relies on the barest of chances that happenings will happen as the CIA has planned. With obstacle after obstacle is thrown into their escape plan and dogged by a determined and obsessed Russian interrogator, Charles and Paulina adjust plans and race versus time to obtain out of Russia. This is the second book about Charles Jenkin and it can be read as a stand-alone, but I think reading the first book will increase your enjoyment of this book.I voluntarily read this advanced reader copy and all opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Agent (Charles Jenkins Book 2) []  2020-9-23 18:0

    Book Review: The Latest Agent (Charles Jenkins #2)by Robert Dugoni(Published by Thomas & Mercer, October 22, 2020)4.25 Book 1, "The Eighth Sister", Author Robert Dugoni creates a spy, - a departure from the Tracy Crosswhite detective thriller eight-book series, and other genres in his considerable body of work - to the delight and enthusiasm of his readers!That high-speed chase across Russia, the Thunderball escape, the unmasking of a deep state mole, and the scurrilous counter-accusations and legal problems that exacerbate the perils of modern day intelligence gathering, of a spy who defies all Book 2, "The Latest Agent", Charles Jenkins embarks on the ultimate Mission Impossible, the most devious display of ingenuity as he attempts to infiltrate the impregnable citadel of Russian /Soviet repression, - the Lefortovo prison - that dungeon of horrors dating back to 1881.We obtain a closer look at the profile of the protagonist - his moral compass, his humanity, and his limitations - a 64-year old Vietnam vet and retired CIA spy, 6' 5' African American, husband and father of nkins is, for all intents and purposes, a senior citizen, plunged into a mission that would stretch the limits of a younger operative at his prime; known to and hunted by Russian intelligence and faced with facial recognition and other counter-intelligence technologies; and, not in the least, shouldered with the utter peril of a tall black undercover agent sticking out like a sore thumb in the milieu of the white palm of the Tsars.We've seen this rodeo before!The sequel isn't quite a repeat of the Russia infiltration /escape adventure of Book 1, at least in motive and methodology, for in creativity and imagination, the author does excel.But even for one of my favorite writers, a second dip into the well of an arguably identical plot will inevitably invoke the law of diminishing vertheless, whatever could be next for Charles Jenkins, is certainly anticipated with high t quite as thrilling and as compelling as Book 1, but nonetheless a amazing read!Review based on an ARC from Thomas & Mercer and NetGalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Agent (Charles Jenkins Book 2) []  2020-9-23 18:0

    Chalk up another champion in this series - after reading the first, "The Eighth Sister," I couldn't wait to obtain my hands on the next one. And it certainly didn't disappoint. I'm not a very "excitable" reader, really - and I'm always beautiful sure an author won't place his or her series star six feet under. But the closer I got to the end of former spy Charles Jenkins' adventures getting into and out of Russia, the tighter I held my Kindle and the closer to falling off the edge of my arlie, now married with two kids - the daughter named after Paulina Ponomayova, an agent who sacrificed her life to save his in the previous book - isn't exactly satisfied with his former life. His own country betrayed him and even place him on trial for treason, so he owes nothing. But then, an agent from the CIA's Clandestine Services pays Charlie a visit - telling him that a woman believed to be Paulina is alive - but probably not well - in one of Moscow's nastiest ter the method he's been treated, Charlie has no confidence that the agent bringing the news is telling the truth; he could be setting Charlie up for a fall that could be permanent. There's also no proof that the imprisoned woman is Paulina, although clues strongly suggest that is the case. In any event, the agent plays to Charlie's indebtedness to Paulina as he tries to convince him to return to Russia, determine whether or not the woman is his old mate and, if she is, obtain her out of the prison, out of Russia and safe in the United 's quite a tall order, and even Charlie isn't sure he's up to the task. His wife Alex isn't thrilled with the thought of such a risky mission, but she acknowledges that her husband is with her only because of Paulina's efforts. So off he goes, and the nonstop adventure begins - starting with a surreptitious and almost disastrous venture to Russian soil. First up is identifying the woman; for support with that, he must search a former Russian officer who once was Charlie's is here that I must stop; otherwise, I'd give away too much. Suffice it to say Charlie's adventure only gets more fast-paced and frightening as the chapters zip along to an exciting end - one that leaves the door begin for the next adventure. I'm more than ready - and until then, I thank the publisher, via NetGalley, for allowing me to read and review an advance copy of this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Agent (Charles Jenkins Book 2) []  2020-9-23 18:0

    This is the 2nd book in the Charles Jenkins series but I think it could be read as a stand alone. The author fills you in on info from the previous book so you won’t obtain lost. I enjoyed reading the book but it does require you to suspend reality. There are too a lot of close calls that Charles manages to escape from. Also I have a small problem with his age and some of the situations he gets in, the average man his age wouldn’t be able to perform at the level in this book. On the whole I enjoyed the book and would recommend it. Thank you to net galley for an advanced readers copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Agent (Charles Jenkins Book 2) []  2020-9-23 18:0

    The Latest Agent is a sequel to The Eighth Sister. I read (and enjoyed!) The Eighth Sister, but wouldn't have had a issue following the storyline if I hadn't read it. The Latest Agent certainly puts Robert Dugoni at the head of the class for edge of your seat moments. I wish to thank NetGalley and Thomas and Mercer for an early copy to review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Agent (Charles Jenkins Book 2) []  2020-9-23 18:0

    I am usually not a fan of spy thrillers, but I had really enjoyed The Eighth Sister. So, I was thrilled that Dugoni had written a second book in the arles Jenkins is at home recovering. He’s been found not guilty of espionage but needless to say, he’s still holding a grudge versus the CIA. But when an agent comes calling, asking for support to extract Paulina Ponomayova, the Russian who saved Jenkins in the first book, he agrees. The job seems hopeless - Paulina is in the Lefortovo is story goes a mile a minute. The reader hardly has a possibility to catch their breath from one suspenseful stage to the next. Efimov is the excellent villain, his whole career riding on catching Jenkins and Ponomayova, because who wants to be the one to tell Vladimir you’ve failed?The book is filled with other fabulous characters, several larger than life, with a dozens of various the author’s note, Dugoni info the conversations he had with his experts, always wondering if a solution “ was beyond the realm of fiction.” Some may stretch, but they all read as plausible. I’ve read that the first book has been picked up for a possible television series. We can only hope they move forward with both is does not work as a standalone. You need to have read The Eighth Sister for the complete back story. I’m glad that the ending seems to leave begin the chance for a third thanks to netgalley and Thomas & Mercer for an advance copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Agent (Charles Jenkins Book 2) []  2020-9-23 18:0

    This was my introduction to Charles Jenkins, and it is apparent that he has had adventures previous to our introduction. Author Robert Dugoni handled this very, artfully filling in enough of the back story and making it unnecessary for me to read a previous book (The Eighth Sister) in order to understand what is e hero of Jenkins is interesting enough, though, to entice me to read the earlier book. Jenkins is conflicted and wants to do whatever he can to satisfy a perceived debt, yet is understandably distrustful of an agency that has betrayed him. He is forced to balance these feelings versus accepting a mission that locations him in danger and may cause him to never see his family ere is a amazing pace to the early plot, and the latest half of the book is a virtual sprint as Jenkins tries to stay ahead of the efforts of his Russian counterparts. Definitely a solid effort that will satisfy both those who have fun a amazing thriller as well as the hardcore adrenaline junkies. Four-and-a-half thanks to NetGalley and Thomas and Mercer for a complimentary electronic copy of this title.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Agent (Charles Jenkins Book 2) []  2020-9-23 18:0

    In this second installment to his Charles Jenkins spy series, Robert Dugoni delivers another riveting, edge-of-your-seat story that left me clamoring for more!While “The Latest Agent” can easily be read as a standalone, the main premise is a follow-up to the first book in this series, “The Eighth Sister,” bringing Charles Jenkins back to Moscow on another heart-pounding mission that’s tied to his ough this is not typically my preferred genre, Robert Dugoni has created me a convert. Clearly, he has the Midas touch—because whatever he writes is absolutely golden. And “The Latest Agent” is no exception. Pick it up and give it a try. If you love a amazing spy novel, you won’t be disappointed!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Agent (Charles Jenkins Book 2) []  2020-9-23 18:0

    Robert Dugoni always gives us more story in exchange for our reading loyalty. If you read THE EIGHTH SISTER, you know he often tells a character's story in distinctive parts. THE LAST AGENT is again centered on Charles Jenkins, a man of principle who just wants to be left alone so he can raise his kids in peace. He does not trust people easily and reacts quickly to threats versus those he feels indebted to. When he learns that a Russian woman who helped him escape needs rescuing herself, Charles takes us on a wild journey and survives a lot of near misses to search her. Mr. Dugoni's book are full of action and tension from the first chapter to the last. You will feel a definite sense of winning...a YES moment....at the end of this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eighth Sister: A Thriller (Charles Jenkins Book 1) []  2020-1-21 21:16

    Dugoni's writing has fascinated me for a while, as it is always so well researched. I've finished the Tracy Crosswhite series, and it captivated me. I've also read some of the David Sloan series and intend to read more. But this latest, The Eighth Sister, is my overwhelming favorite yet. It's quick paced and seems quite realistic. Though it is fiction, it also opens up a lot of questions about the government's ability to suppress evidence. Create sure that you have time to read it through, as you won't wish to place it down once you begin reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eighth Sister: A Thriller (Charles Jenkins Book 1) []  2020-1-21 21:16

    Once again, Robert Dugoni does not disappoint! This was a fascinating book and I enjoyed it immensely! Impossible to place down!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eighth Sister: A Thriller (Charles Jenkins Book 1) []  2020-1-21 21:16

    This book created me rst of all the main hero is an Afro-American and 6'5'', which is fine if you are NOT a spy sent to Russia! There is NO method this man could run and hide anywhere in Russia, because he would stick out everywhere he went! You have to understand that out of a population of 142+ millions Russians there are only 0.01 % Afro-Americans. So everybody would point out the American spy, based on his skin color. I laughed when the Russian spy looking for Jenkins, was showing images to Russians, asking if they've seen this man! All he had to do was mention his skin color!Second, there are a lot of Russian phrases used, that are written in Russian. They sound like they've been plucked from a Russian tutorial book and some are grammatically incorrect! If the author wanted to use Russian, he should've consulted a native speaker at least!In conclusion, I don't think the author should write about Russia, because he hasn't done enough research, and has no clue about Russian life, based on this preposterous story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins: The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace []  2020-1-22 2:22

    For some reason Amazon seems to be lumping the reviews for the Anniversary Edition together with those of the original edition, but they're beautiful separate recordings.I first encountered The Armed Man in 2007, when I performed it with a choir in Fresh Hampshire. It was a really moving experience, and the melody stuck with e original release is decent. However, this fresh release is really beautifully done. The recording is much more crisp than that of the original, and so it's much easier to distinguish what the words actually are. In my uneducated opinion the engineering is spot-on, with amazing depth and balance. The orchestration is, place simply, for the piece itself, it carries a tremendous amount of passion. So do a lot of other pieces of classical music, but this is more "accessible" as others have noted: the passion can be felt and appreciated by everyone regardless of how knowledgeable they are about music. Jenkins does an awesome job of using various harmonies and melodies to embody atmospheres that are exciting, macabre, sad, hopeful, despairing — to downright uncomfortable, like the screaming in "Charge!". Even without the lyrics it would be simple to feel what's "happening" in the music. I wouldn't call this piece cerebral, but it certainly makes you only criticisms are that some of the lyrics are a small cliché and I'm a lyrics snob. Also, the vocalists are clearly classically-trained and that's maybe a small too evident in some locations for my liking: the baritone's perfectly-rolled 'r's detract a small from the emotionality and genuineness of "Angry Flames", for instance. Those are both little things to nit-pick.I would highly recommend this piece as a method of presenting classical melody in a method that's relatable to those who may not have had much exposure to it. I'd also recommend it to anyone who's a sucker for emotion. I just bought this recording yesterday and have already listened to it 5 times all the method through. It's also really tempting to sing along since the lyrics and melodies are clear and simple to understand. How often can you say that about classical?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins: The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace []  2020-1-22 2:22

    Karl Jenkins is a contemporary British composer perhaps most popular for his melody for the de Beers diamond commercial--the score that sounds like Vivaldi but isn' this commissioned Mass Jenkins sets out to sum up Battle and Peace in the 20th Century (it was a millennial project) and he mimics if not just the melody of the 20th C. at least the melody that we listened to in the century, at times you'll think Faure, at other times Monteverdi (although the liner notes say "Palestrina.") The overall result is like a score for a movie, but a amazing score at that. The broad selection of texts is itself derivative from Britten's Battle Requiem and in a hint to multiculturalism also contains a Muslim call to prayer (somewhat pretentious in a Christian Mass, I think).The performances are powerful with the National Youth Choir remarkably polished for their age and experience. Jenkins conducts and one could say "over conducts"--as others have noted, the emphases seem a bit forced and a lot of numbers end with a sudden staccato, an odd effect. The recording is the effect of multiple takes in a lot of various studios and the resultant mastering reflects this: The CD in no method sounds like an actual performance of the work. As John Lennon said of one Beatles album, "Play loud" and it's man's pastiche is another man's familiar favorite and despite the lack of orginality this Mass is likely to have enduring popularity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    More Than Love (Jenkins Family & Friends Novella Book 3) []  2020-3-31 18:58

    Sharon, I have always enjoyed your books but this was so so good. Ben & Makena was really a attractive couple and we got some of the others from Jenkins Family thank you so much Sharon all the best until I hear from you again Yours always,Marcia

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    More Than Love (Jenkins Family & Friends Novella Book 3) []  2020-3-31 18:58

    Ben and Mac have been mates since childhood. Each has been through divorce and are finding after all these years, there is more for them. Ben is in hot pursuit. Mac is trying to talk herself out of something she wants. However, a mystery man causes Mac to question much of what she has ever known about Ben. The mystery is shrouded in secrets that are over 50 years old.Will the revelation cause Ben to never trust again? Will Mac have the love she has always wanted and her best friend?Great read..love the author and Jenkins family..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    More Than Love (Jenkins Family & Friends Novella Book 3) []  2020-3-31 18:58

    OMG, this is an awesome story! I love, love Ben & Makenna. Finding out he was adopted really messed with Ben but the love of a amazing woman healed his heart!Ms. Cooper has done it again, yup MJ strikes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eighth Sister: A Thriller (Charles Jenkins Book 1) []  2020-1-21 21:16

    Very disappointing book. The plot created small sense and was full of holes. Not credible in any way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins: The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace []  2020-1-22 2:22

    I heard this accidentally and was amazed. I have been listening to the CD for a few weeks . The more I hear it, the more I like it. I am a collector of sacred and choral music. This is wonderful. I have already bought two copies to give to friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins: The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace []  2020-1-22 2:22

    Absolutely one of my favorites. Unusual, beautiful, moving... fabulous. Gifted this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    More Than Love (Jenkins Family & Friends Novella Book 3) []  2020-3-31 18:58

    Oh my never a disappointment, wow a lot of twist and turns and jaw dropping moments. Ben and Mac finally gave into their real feelings and it was magic from the beginning. Pop and Mom Jenkins are the greatest and even while Ben struggled with his secret adoption they never stopped loving him as their own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    More Than Love (Jenkins Family & Friends Novella Book 3) []  2020-3-31 18:58

    I really didn’t wish to obtain it 3 stars, but I so love Mrs. Cooper, but Benjamin’s story was blah and kinda of boring. Yeah it had a plot twist, But where did Makena come from? Was she mentioned in any other books? Maybe I missed it. Wasn’t really a romance more suspense I guess. Now his sister, Carolyn’s book was 🔥. Was expecting his book to be a small more. Nonetheless I love the Jenkins family. Hope to obtain more from them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    More Than Love (Jenkins Family & Friends Novella Book 3) []  2020-3-31 18:58

    I do loved this story. Family secrets can come back and bite you in the behind. Even though this secret was revealed, Ben and MaKena remained real to each other. Real love never dies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eighth Sister: A Thriller (Charles Jenkins Book 1) []  2020-1-21 21:16

    I love all of your novels , a lot of I have read several times impatiently waiting for a fresh one. Having realized this one was very much out of your comfort location , I prepared for an all. ,nighter one of my favorite ways to read your books.. This one didn't disappoint in any method ,I even enjoyed the Russian . So now I will pass it to my oldest son who speaks a lot of languages including Russian for him to enjoy. I can't recommend this book highly enough. Thanks Robert , PLEASE hold those ideas.flowing. Carol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eighth Sister: A Thriller (Charles Jenkins Book 1) []  2020-1-21 21:16

    How does one search the right words to describe a book that holds you hostage from page one to the end? I stepped into the shoes of Charles Jenkins, former CIA agent, on page one as the strains of Russian melody filtered through my head. I felt palpable danger. I held my breath, I felt a deep sense of anxiety that wouldn’t allow up. I tried to place it down but I couldn’t. Charles was not safe. I had an unexplainable fear that if I stopped, I would be leaving him in a risky situation, putting him at risk. I had to hold going until he was finally safe. That was not until the end of the book. That is a writers dream for a reader to be invested so deeply, and a reader’s dream of a amazing book that pulls you into the story so far you must hold going to the end. Bravo, Mr. Dugoni, well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eighth Sister: A Thriller (Charles Jenkins Book 1) []  2020-1-21 21:16

    I had been a large fan of Dugoni’s, have read all of his books, and was waiting for this release. But I was sorely disappointed. There is method too much political propaganda. If I wanted to read government propaganda fiction, I would just read the news. The government pays Hollywood, Major league sports venues, etc millions to propagandize for them- have they added successful fiction writers to their stable? I was saddened to think this could be the case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins: The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace []  2020-1-22 2:22

    This unique edition of 'The Armed Man: A Mass for Peace' composed by Karl Jenkins is incredible. The CD is fully digital (DDD). On amazing equipment the fidelity will blow your mind. Besides the CD there is also a wide screen video DVD of the live performance which is equally e composition 'The Armed Man: A Mass for Peace' seems completely modern yet reminds me of earlier masterpieces. The melody is dedicated to the Victoms of mply wonderful. The Kyrie (3rd movement) will create you cry. You will think about these melodies for days after you listen to them.If you have fun classical melody at all you need this. Simply magnificent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins: The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace []  2020-1-22 2:22

    Strong work of Jenkins. A call to peace arriving a call to arms. This is a attractive work, varied in it's complexity and message. Rarely heard, it would be a nice addition to any collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins: The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace []  2020-1-22 2:22

    Jenkins is an enormously huge time conducror and composer in the UK and Europe and I do not quite understand why his melody has not spread to the US. Maybe it is due to the style of his music. It is not full Classical and not Pop style. It is simply stunning in every way. Haunting as well. The mix of chorus and full orchestra in a style you have never heard before. This CD is about 75 mins long and every min will thrill you. You can listen to some songs via Google or Amazon. Do yourself a favor an listen. He has a lot of recordings but start with The Armed Man , A Mass for Peace.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    More Than Love (Jenkins Family & Friends Novella Book 3) []  2020-3-31 18:58

    Miss Sharon did the thang again. Brilliant story telling and well worth the wait. This was a attractive story about friendship, love, forgiveness, understanding, and acceptance. Story that resonates with my age group about 2nd time around at love. Ben and Makena the power couple. Makena helping Ben cope with a life changing event, that he's learned about. Ben pursuing the woman who captured his heart 40 years ago, and refusing to allow her obtain away a second time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    More Than Love (Jenkins Family & Friends Novella Book 3) []  2020-3-31 18:58

    Those darn Jenkins. Mates create the best lovers. Ben and Mackenna 's story was another nice addition to The Jenkins family series. A lil intrigue and a whole lot of loving equals a story worth reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eighth Sister: A Thriller (Charles Jenkins Book 1) []  2020-1-21 21:16

    I've been devouring everything Robert Dugoni has written ever since I picked up a copy of Wrongful Death and met him at a book signing. When I heard he was returning to the globe of David Sloane with a spy book focused on his mate Charlie Jenkins, I could not wait to obtain a copy. I figured the author's skill at writing thrillers would serve him well. I was not arlie is approached by his former CIA station chief and reluctantly recruited into what is supposed to be a few fast trips to Russia to gain some valuable intel. It will also provide some required money to hold his business afloat. His first trip is suspenseful, but successful. On the second trip, things go horribly wrong and we're off to the usual, the author's writing is clear and vivid. The characters, areas and action come alive, even when they fall into some obvious spy novel stereotypes. The reader is kept on the edge of their seat, turning pages to search out what happens next. Then, about two-thirds of the method through, the story takes a bit of a left turn, changing from a spy novel to a legal drama. By this time, the story has the reader hooked and anxious to finish. But the change in pace is a bit jarring.I won't say I saw the end coming. But I feel like I picked up on most of the clues to the underlying mystery as they were dropped along the way. This didn't detract from my enjoyment of the story. But I like it when spy novels hold me guessing a small more. Even so, I enjoyed this book and recommend it.Disclosure: Thank you to Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer for providing a free copy of this book in return for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eighth Sister: A Thriller (Charles Jenkins Book 1) []  2020-1-21 21:16

    Outstanding plot and believable. Amazing characters. Dugoni ‘s latest two books were a disappointment but this one makes up for them. He is back to writing marvelous stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins: The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace []  2020-1-22 2:22

    I see this work as a Mass being divided into 2 parts. The first part is sinister, with its military beats tells me how religion has been used through the ages as an excuse for belligerence with its accompanying horror and grief, so that the words of the Mass which usually have been set to less military sounding scores, are seen to easily lend themselves to this style. The Muslim call to prayer fits perfectly with this, along with the references to the warlike Lord of hosts of the Bible, the God of glory, of Sabaoth, Jehova of the Thunders, and with pleas for his e second part introduces hope. A fresh God, who sends a saviour, and who grants a millenium of peace - eventually.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins: The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace []  2020-1-22 2:22

    This recording is quite amazing by the composer even though it was studioed (orchestra recorded, choir recorded and soloists recorded in various locations at various times). Not necessarily poor but nothing like hearing the whole thing live, at one time and in its ill quite a amazing recording. Recommended e and hear the Oregon Repertory Singers and the Vancouver Symphony perform this unbelievable piece of melody in September 2016.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins: The Armed Man - A Mass for Peace []  2020-1-22 2:22

    I bought this because my college choir was singing it and having something to listen to in order to drive the melody in my head helps me since my sight reading skills are 's a decent recording, and the melody is beautiful, sometimes haunting, and just generally awesome (albeit derivative as others have said). I love that it has a poem written by someone in Japan who survived both the bombs at Hiroshima and Nagasaki right next to a selection from the Mahabharata (an ancient Indian text). The pairings of the text and melody are only slight annoyance with this recording is a few incorrect pronunciations of words (namely in the French), but it doesn't take away from it, really.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eighth Sister: A Thriller (Charles Jenkins Book 1) []  2020-1-21 21:16

    Well it appears that the only kind of books Robert Dugoni knows how to write are EXCELLENT ones!!! I have read every book he’s written and hold thinking each one is his best ever. The Eighth Sister was so intriguing and suspenseful. Looking forward to his next book for sure!!! Plus I think he’s a amazing family man and add that to his writing abilities it makes him additional awesome!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    More Than Love (Jenkins Family & Friends Novella Book 3) []  2020-3-31 18:58

    Ben and Makena's story is well worth the wait. It was amazing seeing these two childhood mates finally search love. The Jenkins's guild was in rare form and though they were tested at times, the love this family has for each other showed their love can stand the try of time. This story was funny in places, sad in others but b over with love the whole method through! A amazing job as usual Ms Cooper a really amazing job with Ben and Makena's story!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    More Than Love (Jenkins Family & Friends Novella Book 3) []  2020-3-31 18:58

    This was an perfect book from begin to finish. The suspense hold me tied to the book. After meeting Edward, I tried to figure out the secret. I didn't even come close. Kept me guessing and anxiously reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. Jenkins Freezer Paper Sheets, 12 by 15-Inch, 40 Per Package []  2020-1-19 0:25

    I give freezer paper to my elementary children for their painting projects- the plastic backing means so leaking through, no matter HOW much water or paint they use! Love that these are already chop in sheets- it's easier than storing a large roll of it in the drawer, and the children can obtain it themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. Jenkins Freezer Paper Sheets, 12 by 15-Inch, 40 Per Package []  2020-1-19 0:25

    Grat product. Works as expected -- I use it for crafts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Cubs: Where Have You Gone? Ernie Banks, Andy Pafko, Ferguson Jenkins, and Other Cubs Greats []  2020-10-9 18:50

    This was a very amazing book and I really enjoyed reading is as a cub fan and general baseball fan it brought back memories of certain players and game's

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins at the Majors: Sixty Years of the World's Best Golf Writing, from Hogan to Tiger []  2020-7-15 18:55

    Dan Jenkins is the dean of American golf writers, by his count he's covered 197 Major Championships over 60 years for different publications, beginning with the 1951 U. S. Open, he has selected 94 of the best for our perusal. What lifts this book above the usual collections of columns by sportswriters is it's superb organization. It's organized chronologically so that it's simple for the reader to follow the march of golf history forward. It's a fast, fun read, the columns are short so the pages really fly by, this could also be seen as a negative however, as the medium of a column rarely offers one the zone to give an in-depth, hole-by hole acc of who won and how. Jenkins is usually limited to who won, by how much, and the general impression the competition left him with. Luckily for us, thanks to his considerable skills, this feels like more than enough in most nkins at the Majors is absolutely essential reading for anyone who loves the game, especially for those fans whose golf consciousness began in the Tiger era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins at the Majors: Sixty Years of the World's Best Golf Writing, from Hogan to Tiger []  2020-7-15 18:55

    Received quickly. Attractive book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. Jenkins Freezer Paper Sheets, 12 by 15-Inch, 40 Per Package []  2020-1-19 0:25

    This freezer paper is amazing for making applique templates for your quilt projects. The only draw back I see is getting the paper to feed through your printer, as the paper sticks together. Jogging the paper does not help, finally I rubbed a dryer sheet on each of the slick side of the sheets to chop the static electricity to permit sheets to feed individually.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. Jenkins Freezer Paper Sheets, 12 by 15-Inch, 40 Per Package []  2020-1-19 0:25

    This freezer paper is amazing for applique!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins at the Majors: Sixty Years of the World's Best Golf Writing, from Hogan to Tiger []  2020-7-15 18:55

    Would like to have had more in depth stories on fewer tournaments

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins at the Majors: Sixty Years of the World's Best Golf Writing, from Hogan to Tiger []  2020-7-15 18:55

    Perfect book by amazing writer. Perfect service. Very satisfied with whole transaction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Cubs: Where Have You Gone? Ernie Banks, Andy Pafko, Ferguson Jenkins, and Other Cubs Greats []  2020-10-9 18:50

    “Chicago Cubs: Where Have You Gone?” doesn’t fulfill its promise. I was eagerly anticipating finding out where the Cubs of yesteryear were and what and how they were doing. Yet the chapters generally went into more depth about the players’ careers with the Cubs and how much they enjoyed playing in Chicago than about where they are now. Sometimes, the book seemed to be a promotional brochure on how unbelievable it is to play for the Cubs. I suppose Cubs fans may have fun the walk down memory lane, but, overall, it was too shallow to obtain the run home. I guess my favorite bit was the chapter on Randy Hundley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Cubs: Where Have You Gone? Ernie Banks, Andy Pafko, Ferguson Jenkins, and Other Cubs Greats []  2020-10-9 18:50

    And where are they now? I chuckle at this thought when I see a commentary on TV talking about the before and after of popular film wise, as a diehard Cub fan for a lot of years, I'm always interested in learning about the before and after of Chicago Cub baseball players. And there are so a lot of in this book to learn about like Ernie Banks, Ferguson Jenkins, Billy Willams, and Milt Pappas, to mention only a few. As I scan the pages I can easily obtain lost in another globe for a lot of hours. I like the amazing old days and sometimes want I could bring them all an alumni guide, this book provides a biographical sketch of a lot of baseball players before, during, and after they played with the Chicago Cubs. I think every diehard Cub fan would like to have this book in their private library to share with mates and family for a lot of years to come. There's lots of nostalgia in these pages.. And as I obtain lost sitting in my simple chair reading these pages it feels like my mind is about to pop. It's like a computer that is about to shut down because of memory overload. Marvin P. Ferguson, author of BOYS ON THE GOLD COAST.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. Jenkins Freezer Paper Sheets, 12 by 15-Inch, 40 Per Package []  2020-1-19 0:25

    I love to use this for my quilting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. Jenkins Freezer Paper Sheets, 12 by 15-Inch, 40 Per Package []  2020-1-19 0:25

    Did what I wanted it to do for a project. Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins at the Majors: Sixty Years of the World's Best Golf Writing, from Hogan to Tiger []  2020-7-15 18:55

    It was ok. But I really like his other books a lot better

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins at the Majors: Sixty Years of the World's Best Golf Writing, from Hogan to Tiger []  2020-7-15 18:55

    Pure golf literary genius. Jenkins' prose is so rich & colorful. It paints the pictures of classic major championships of the past 6 decades. It covers Hogan to Woods with elegance as well as humor. A must for duffers and scratch golfers alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Cubs: Where Have You Gone? Ernie Banks, Andy Pafko, Ferguson Jenkins, and Other Cubs Greats []  2020-10-9 18:50

    Bought this book for my father He's a large cubs fan! He liked this book very much because it catches up on the after lives of former cubs greats! Would reccomend to any real cubs fan out there!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Cubs: Where Have You Gone? Ernie Banks, Andy Pafko, Ferguson Jenkins, and Other Cubs Greats []  2020-10-9 18:50

    Being a Chicago Cub fan since 1945 I found this book enlightening. I saw most of the Cubbies mentioned play and found it interesting to explore what they are doing after baseball. I met and talked with Ron Santo, Don Kessinger and Glenn Beckert. I found them to be down to earth, friendly guys. If you wish to know more about those who have played for the Cubs and what they are doing now, this is a amazing rman Jones, Ed.D. author of Growing Up in Indiana: The Culture & Hoosier Hysteria Revisited

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. Jenkins Freezer Paper Sheets, 12 by 15-Inch, 40 Per Package []  2020-1-19 0:25

    Does not work for me. Ink dried so quick I couldn't transfer photo to wood. I have transferred over 100 photos using the 8.5x11 sheets to wood without problems. I now have 39 unusable sheets. MY ERROR. THE PROBLEM WAS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN PRINTERS. MY EPSON ET 2650 WORKS FINE WITH THIS PAPER BUT THE EPSON WF 7610 WHICH USES WHAT THEY CALL DURABRITE INK DOES NOT. THIS INK DRIES TO FAST AND WILL NOT TRANSFER. MAKE SURE YOUR PRINTER DOES NOT USE A SPECIAL INK AND IT WILL WORK FINE.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. Jenkins Freezer Paper Sheets, 12 by 15-Inch, 40 Per Package []  2020-1-19 0:25

    Wow amazing product. Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins at the Majors: Sixty Years of the World's Best Golf Writing, from Hogan to Tiger []  2020-7-15 18:55

    If you're even a semi-serious golf history fan, you'll have fun "Jenkins at the Majors", and if you've read Jenkins' golf fiction (and you should...) you'll recognize some tastes of actual happenings that he incorporated into the lives of his fictional golfer characters Kenny Lee Puckett and Bobby Joe ere will be some who obtain their backs up at his Hogan-centric views of professional golf, but he comes by his prejudices honestly, as they say, as he is a fellow Fort Worth native, and covered Mr Hogan's career since he was a college journalist. As a Texan twice-removed myself, and a golfer who was introduced to the sport nearly a quarter-century ago (pre-Tiger) by the writings of Mr Jenkins, I share his reverence for Mr Hogan, and the opportunity to read his coverage of the major tourneys which occurred before I came to the sport (and a lot of before I was born...) was a true treat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins at the Majors: Sixty Years of the World's Best Golf Writing, from Hogan to Tiger []  2020-7-15 18:55

    This book is a selection of Dan Jenkins's newspaper and magazine articles over the latest sixty years about the majors. He is the best golf writer over that period, and his pieces on the majors have always been a joy to read. If you like -- or better yet love -- the android game of golf, read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Cubs: Where Have You Gone? Ernie Banks, Andy Pafko, Ferguson Jenkins, and Other Cubs Greats []  2020-10-9 18:50

    lacked detail on where have you gone. Just generic writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. Jenkins Freezer Paper Sheets, 12 by 15-Inch, 40 Per Package []  2020-1-19 0:25

    Works as needed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. Jenkins Freezer Paper Sheets, 12 by 15-Inch, 40 Per Package []  2020-1-19 0:25

    I was fresh to freezer paper applique, so I watched some guides on YouTube. This paper was highly recommended and works great! Will definitely buy it again when I need some more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins at the Majors: Sixty Years of the World's Best Golf Writing, from Hogan to Tiger []  2020-7-15 18:55

    Just a amazing look back at 60 years of Major Golf Tournaments. Written by one of premier golf/sports writers Dan Jenkins. If you love golf this is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jenkins at the Majors: Sixty Years of the World's Best Golf Writing, from Hogan to Tiger []  2020-7-15 18:55

    Too long and too a lot of ancients discussed in too much detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Cubs: Where Have You Gone? Ernie Banks, Andy Pafko, Ferguson Jenkins, and Other Cubs Greats []  2020-10-9 18:50

    I would like to have seen more earlier Cubs described. This did bring back some very fond memories of these players and their time at Wrigley Field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bluffing Texas Style: The Arsons, Forgeries, and High-Stakes Poker Capers of Rare Book Dealer Johnny Jenkins []  2020-10-25 19:36

    It is a bit of a cliché that one becomes a rare book dealer because he is otherwise unemployable.  Such a remark tips that a lot of booksellers possess an intellectual restlessness, a fertile imagination and extreme competitiveness  not suitable for a humdrum desk job.  Many of these "unemployables" are indeed my amazing mates and there is seldom a dinner that is less than lively with them.  Nevertheless, in the extreme, the profession and the hunt for treasures also attracts those that are susceptible to  greed, willful naivete,  ruthlessness, cunning,  narcissism, and self-aggrandizement.  It is clear from reading Michael Vinson's thoroughly engrossing book, that Johnny Jenkin's possessed the full spectrum of these qualities  from genuine charm to chicanery.   The book is a must-read for all those in the trade including  dealers, collectors and librarians and an necessary addition to the book-on-books canon.  It is filled with fascinating - sometimes wonderful anecdotes (i.e. Einstein manuscripts), memorable tidbits and chronicles one of the amazing coups in the rare book globe - the purchase of the famed Eberstadt stock.  However, the work also has a much broader audience.   It is eloquently written, well-paced, and material that may be abstruse to a non-spet is clearly and simply explained from rare Texas imprints to the forensics of forgery detection.   At its heart, the book is an insightful psychological profile.  The author makes numerous observations, but lays the case out as facts and leaves the reader  to ponder how a gifted businessman, who could have permanently secured his reputation as one of the greatest Americana dealers,  instead chose the path of betrayal and self-destruction.  

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bluffing Texas Style: The Arsons, Forgeries, and High-Stakes Poker Capers of Rare Book Dealer Johnny Jenkins []  2020-10-25 19:36

    My husband and I have both read this interesting book about such an interesting man. I vaguely recall Jenkins being in the news (Life magazine?) back then, but didn't really grasp what was going on... WOW! Thank you Michael Vinson for putting this interesting info together for us to read and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bluffing Texas Style: The Arsons, Forgeries, and High-Stakes Poker Capers of Rare Book Dealer Johnny Jenkins []  2020-10-25 19:36

    Johnny Jenkins was an unusual character. A hard-charging Texan who managed to build a substantial rare book business based on selling historical doents, mostly from Texas. He was also a high-stakes poker player. Eventually his globe came crashing down when it turned out he had been forging a significant number of the doents he was selling and that he had been cheating some of his best clients in other ways, such as substituting inferior copies for the nice copies the collectors thought they had bought. He also turned out to have been much less successful at poker player than he had claimed. He died under mysterious cirtances--possibly a suicide as his business empire collapsed or possibly a 's a amazing story and Michael Vinson does a beautiful amazing job in telling it. His focus is mostly on Jenkins's rare book dealings, which is fine. But I was disappointed that he spends very small time on Jenkins's private life. After spending a few pages discussing Jenkins's courting and marrying his wife, she drops almost entirely out of the story. That's odd because his endnotes indicate that he interviewed her. They apparently had at least one child, but there's only a brief mention of a son near the end of the book. Did he have other kids? Was he a amazing father? What kind of house did he live in? Hard to fully understand Jenkins's self-destructive actions without a better understanding of his private e first half the book also suffers from sloppiness with more than a few typos. Oddly, the second half of the book had no typos that I noticed. Makes me think that the first chapters were copyedited by someone who was more careless than whoever copyedited the second half. Vinson's writing is also a small spotty. There were more than a few sentences that I required to read a couple of times to figure out the , while Vinson could have done a better job, the story is so compelling that I would still recommend the book, particularly to anyone with an interest in the rare book business.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bluffing Texas Style: The Arsons, Forgeries, and High-Stakes Poker Capers of Rare Book Dealer Johnny Jenkins []  2020-10-25 19:36

    Vinson gives us a glimpse into one of the most infamous rare book dealers of the 20th century: John Holmes Jenkins. Through interviews with people that knew him best, and available archival resources, the reader is entertained and enlightened about Jenkins, the golden age of Texana, and some of the stories from the rare book globe of the 20th ose stories and interviews create this book really stand out. Mr. Bryan, Dr. Tyler, Mr. MacDonnell, and Mr. Reese knew Jenkins well and were generous with their time and stories: giving us a glimpse into the most Texas of booksellers: Jenkins.Heartily recommended for those interested in Texas history, rare books, and the book trade generally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bluffing Texas Style: The Arsons, Forgeries, and High-Stakes Poker Capers of Rare Book Dealer Johnny Jenkins []  2020-10-25 19:36

    "He's a sneaky, clever rat, and that's not a put-down; John Jenkins is as fine a man as ever place gun-powder on a safe."- Amarillo Slim, quoted in Bluffing Texas Style, Michael VinsonFirst, the book is well-researched. The latest 44 pages of this little book are notes, interviews, and bibliography. It also comes with the author's background in rare books and archives. I can only imagine how difficult it is to draw a picture of a linear historical figure but writing about one who is a fabulist and forger, adds extra complexity to the task of trying to capture Johnny Jenkins.I remember first reading about Jenkins in Calvin Trillin's piece in the Fresh Yorker once when I was spending an extended amount of time in an Troops Hospital in Landstuhl, Germany. I'd totally forgotten about that connection till I was about 1/2 method through this book. Vinson also does a amazing job of capturing the energy of the Texas rare books and doents shop (and the a lot of colourful idioms of Texas). Texas appears an almost excellent setting for rare doents (like California for grapes). It is a state with tremendous pride in its history and people, combined with a significant number of wealthy, competitive men (and women) interested in owning a rare part of Texas.I wondered why? Why would what normally would be considered a fairly regional hero and story would search its method into the Fresh Yorker in the late 80s? Why would Vinson's book (from an Oklahoma Press) about a forger who died 30+ years ago would be covered by WSJ? I think it goes to the root of what this book is REALLY about. Forgery is a type of fraud. Fraud isn't regional. Every industry has it. The financial globe is full of con-men, men who create huge bets, lose it all, bakers who hack their buyers with wood pulp in their bread. There is always a temptation to cross ethical lines. We live in an age where huge personalities and corruption seem to be headlines every day. Perhaps, this book resonates because Vinson, through Jenkins, pulls back the cover just a small bit on what makes a man (or women) dupe his friends, bet it all, bluff, and hold raising the stakes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bluffing Texas Style: The Arsons, Forgeries, and High-Stakes Poker Capers of Rare Book Dealer Johnny Jenkins []  2020-10-25 19:36

    Although the book is thoroughly researched and generally well written, its climatic description of Jenkins’ death is highly speculative and unconvincing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bluffing Texas Style: The Arsons, Forgeries, and High-Stakes Poker Capers of Rare Book Dealer Johnny Jenkins []  2020-10-25 19:36

    Insightful story of the colourful Johnny Jenkins. The book explores in detail the life and legacy of Johnny. We learn of his ambitions, triumphs, fears, and downfall, along with the seemingly perpetual crookedness. However the author contains positive stories of Jenkins and paints a attractive story of this Cowboy hat wearing Texan who was of short stature, but had a huge ego, loved to take risks, and was proud of his home state and it's founders

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bluffing Texas Style: The Arsons, Forgeries, and High-Stakes Poker Capers of Rare Book Dealer Johnny Jenkins []  2020-10-25 19:36

    Perfect journalistic research of the crimes committed by Texas rare book dealer Johnny Jenkins. A who’s who list of Texas notables runs through this volume — J. Frank Dobie who took a liking to a young Jenkins; Harry Ransom, chancellor of the Univ. of Texas who encouraged Jenkins to become a publisher; Ross Perot who “got took”; and a stellar list of the world’s noted rare book dealers. Vinson traces Jenkin’s career of misdeeds and crimes beginning with his involvement with early thefts from state archives and local Texas county courthouses to forgeries, to heartbreaking destructions of historical rarities for piecemeal sales, to double crossing organized crime bosses, to arson, and finally suicide in the Colorado River. A “must read” for Texas historians, rare book dealers, and those who love real crime stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bluffing Texas Style: The Arsons, Forgeries, and High-Stakes Poker Capers of Rare Book Dealer Johnny Jenkins []  2020-10-25 19:36

    I collect books about booksellers, bookstores and bookselling history. A must for bibliophiles.I also highly recommend the author's other book "Edward Eberstadt & Sons: Rare Booksellers of Western Americana".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bluffing Texas Style: The Arsons, Forgeries, and High-Stakes Poker Capers of Rare Book Dealer Johnny Jenkins []  2020-10-25 19:36

    I bought the book to look at the arson aspect. There is very small info about the arsons, other than some generic stuff. Jenkins was most likely involved in arsons, but really wasn't very amazing at it. One may have been cleverly disguised as an accident, but the second one was a complete bust as far as a high quality e history of the bookselling business was very interesting, but a bit tedious. It was a small overly complicated, but the gist of it is that the author depicts a lot of people in that globe as suckers, thieves, or fraudsters of some level. This case is related to another, much better forger of historical doents, Tag Hofmann, aka the Mormon Bomber. Unlike Jenkins, Hofmann was a master forger/fraudster who fooled the very best. When he was eventually confronted with his crimes in 1985, he began a bombing campaign as opposed to arson.While I found this book a tad confusing at times, I thought the author did his homework fairly well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Sports Page: A Century of Classic Columns from Ring Lardner to Sally Jenkins: A Library of America Special Publication []  2020-12-24 20:42

    These are stories that you may never have known about but you should have. Amazing writing about true people,not just champions but losers and bums too. Some grab your heart and others discuss you but all are real, extraordinarily well written. Have fun every sentence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Sports Page: A Century of Classic Columns from Ring Lardner to Sally Jenkins: A Library of America Special Publication []  2020-7-23 19:44

    If you love sports, buy this book. If you like sports, buy this book. If you’ve ever played sports, watched sports or are just interested in sports, buy this book. Begin any page and you’ll search a gem—-from Westbrook Pegler’s “The Olympic Army,” to Sally Jenkins’s “Male Athletes Encouraged To Do The Wrong Thing” and in between, John Schulian’s strong “Pistol Pete” and witty Mike Downey’s witty “He May Be Playing In Year 2131.” John Schulian’s brilliant editing makes his reader realize that these tales were told not by a writer who happened to write about a sport (Mailer, Talese) but as we know from the title, SPORTSWRITERS—-every day. And on a deadline. There’s something amazing about that, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Sports Page: A Century of Classic Columns from Ring Lardner to Sally Jenkins: A Library of America Special Publication []  2020-12-24 20:42

    Fun read, especially the scribes from the 20's. Why you left out Liebling, Talese and Mailer is a bit glaring, but otherwise a amazing book to accompany an A.M. radio ball game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Sports Page: A Century of Classic Columns from Ring Lardner to Sally Jenkins: A Library of America Special Publication []  2020-7-23 19:44

    These are stories that you may never have known about but you should have. Amazing writing about true people,not just champions but losers and bums too. Some grab your heart and others discuss you but all are real, extraordinarily well written. Have fun every sentence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Sports Page: A Century of Classic Columns from Ring Lardner to Sally Jenkins: A Library of America Special Publication []  2020-12-24 20:42

    this was a bonus but I was told it is really a amazing addition to his library

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Sports Page: A Century of Classic Columns from Ring Lardner to Sally Jenkins: A Library of America Special Publication []  2020-7-23 19:44

    this was a bonus but I was told it is really a amazing addition to his library

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Sports Page: A Century of Classic Columns from Ring Lardner to Sally Jenkins: A Library of America Special Publication []  2020-12-24 20:42

    Interesting Reading

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Sports Page: A Century of Classic Columns from Ring Lardner to Sally Jenkins: A Library of America Special Publication []  2020-7-23 19:44

    Fun read, especially the scribes from the 20's. Why you left out Liebling, Talese and Mailer is a bit glaring, but otherwise a amazing book to accompany an A.M. radio ball game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Sports Page: A Century of Classic Columns from Ring Lardner to Sally Jenkins: A Library of America Special Publication []  2020-12-24 20:42

    If you love sports, buy this book. If you like sports, buy this book. If you’ve ever played sports, watched sports or are just interested in sports, buy this book. Begin any page and you’ll search a gem—-from Westbrook Pegler’s “The Olympic Army,” to Sally Jenkins’s “Male Athletes Encouraged To Do The Wrong Thing” and in between, John Schulian’s strong “Pistol Pete” and witty Mike Downey’s witty “He May Be Playing In Year 2131.” John Schulian’s brilliant editing makes his reader realize that these tales were told not by a writer who happened to write about a sport (Mailer, Talese) but as we know from the title, SPORTSWRITERS—-every day. And on a deadline. There’s something amazing about that, too.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386