Read jerusalem ridge reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all jerusalem ridge reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Ridge []  2020-2-8 19:23

    One of my favorite instrumentals!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Ridge []  2020-2-8 19:23

    I love "picking" music-fast-paced guitars, mandolin, banjo, etc. in bluegrass and country. This song totally delivers, is fun, and has the approval of my mates who hate country music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Ridge []  2020-2-8 19:23

    Amazing instrumental with the "bluegrass" tone!

    0  


    Add your opinion on jerusalem ridge or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Ridge []  2020-2-8 19:23

    He plays this song so well. Such a amazing bluegrass musician.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Ridge []  2020-2-8 19:23

    Amazing ver of the classic! Well worth the effort to purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Ridge []  2020-2-8 19:23

    He's just an awesome artist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem []  2020-1-18 23:8

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem []  2020-1-18 23:8

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem []  2020-1-18 23:8

    I got hip to Alpha Blondy from my Polish and German roomates in Berlin. They took me to a concert after work back in the '90s. I was initiated.A amazing compliment to it's universal reach is the surprise I got when I woke to my mean ol' busdriver (on the long ride from Calais to Dover) groovin' to "I love Paris" on his tape player (I was sitting directly behind him). He smiled when I told him that it was a favorite of at was the same year I attended The Wall concert in Nie mann's Land (excuse the no man's land misspell). I miss my homies in Nollendorfplatz!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem []  2020-1-18 23:8

    Product came in a timely manner and in perfect condition. Classic Wailers sound from the 80's par excellence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem []  2020-1-18 23:8

    Hailing from the Ivory Coast, Alpha Blondy (Seydou Kone) is one of reggae's more eccentric characters- dressing as a Rastafarian, yet carrying a Bible, Koran, and wearing the Star of David, everywhere he goes. He apparently also speaks Arabic in Israel, and Hebrew in Arab speaking countries. He was also committed to a mental hospital in the 80's for a period of spite all of that, his melody is pure Jamaican reggae- the instrumentation and his protest lyrics are first rate. His prime example of his reggae is the awesome "Apartheid is Nazism," the best he has to offer, and which comes highly spite working with the Wailers' backing band for his next effort, "Jersualem" falls flat after the searing triumph of "Apartheid is Nazism." To me, he seems tired on this album, and somewhat uninspired. It was his 4th album in 3 years, and perhaps Blondy required a rest. Whatever the reason, "Jerusalem," despite its title track, lacks the fire that its predecessor is still a fairly amazing album, but "Apartheid is Nazism" is the quintessential Alpha Blondy lp. "Jeruslaem" will be appreciated by long time Blondy fans (as I am..I have grown to appreciate this lp) for the effort given, but newer fans should stick to "Apartheid Is Nazism".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem []  2020-1-18 23:8

    This timeless 1986 finds Alpha Blondy being backed by the legendary Wailers (Bob Marley's band, of course!) and the effect is one of the absolute best Reggae albums of the 1980s. The title track was a large international hit but the entire CD a truly satisfying listening experience from beginning to end and is a true must-have for any serious Reggae fan. Alpha Blondy was always more famous in Europe and Africa than in Jamaica and this landmark album definitely increased his popularity and further cemented his status as an international Reggae superstar. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem []  2020-1-18 23:8

    Just when I thought I knew what was what, I heard this album! I like reggae but I'm not a die-hard. Fortunately that's not a prerequisite to have fun this album. If you like danceable grooves that obtain into your bones, amazing hooks and a varied pace, you'll love Jerusalem. I like Alpha Blondy's voice too. Reminds me a small of Burning Spear's, though he'll slip into a small French or some other language now and again. No issue - the groove the tune the voice is all there and if you hear faint traces of the Wailers, that's because they backed him on this album, his fourth (apparently they had worked with him on the title track of his second album as well). This album makes me wish to hear more from Alpha Blondy. It's a champion all the method through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem []  2020-1-18 23:8

    That the best reggae does not only come from Jamaica has been clearly pointed out by British bands such as Aswad. But a later wave of perfect reggae comes from Africa where it is blended with more traditional African rhythms and lyrics.Who, like me, loves reggae but grows weary of the Rastafarian song texts after some time this albums is a must e album is in the amazing tradition of Bob Marley: politically conscious lyrics with 'pure' e melody is in the tradition of Bob Marley clearly, and not only because the (remaining) Wailers accompany Ivorian Alpha e album is the best Alpha Blondy created (another amazing one is 'Apartheid is Nazism) and it is one of the best Reggae albums I am aware of.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem []  2020-1-18 23:8

    excellente

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem []  2020-1-18 23:8

    Recorded five years after Bob Marley's death and a year before the amazing drummer Carlton Barrett's murder, this is probably the final performance of The Wailers with Carlton on drums.   There's some amazing melody here, especially the track "Bloodshed in Africa," with the unbelievable lead guitar of Junior Marvin, unbelievable drumming from Carlton Barrett, and the Wailers' special ensemble sound. Alpha Blondy is a worthy successor to Marley in fronting this classic band.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    O Jerusalem! []  2020-1-17 21:6

    It was interesting that since the time of T E Lawrence Britain was pro-Arab until Americans changed its mind. I learned much history, such as Golda Meir's fundraising in the United States. Personally, I now know why my husband felt strongly about Clark Clifford who had been a force in recognizing Israel. But also, I learned about the Arabian side though not in such a biased method as our Syrian, now American, daughter was taught. The (late) Larry Collins and Dominic LaPierre were intent on being fair to both sides. There is so much tragedy here, not only Arab and Israeli but the non-combatants.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    O Jerusalem! []  2020-1-17 21:6

    The end of WWII and globe needs a permanent home for the Jews and their ancient historical/homeland is chosen. Problem is that Arabs have controlled the zone for a 1000 years and they are not about to give it up. While Arabs and Jews both live in the land it’s England who is in control. England is very pro Arab as they are looking at the resources of the Middle East. It really is a miracle that Israel was not pushed into the sea. I was pro Israel before reading and I’m even more so after.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalén [Jerusalem] []  2020-1-23 1:22

    Es la segunda vez que leo esta novela. La primera vez a mis 20 años; hoy con más de 50 he disfrutado mucho más la historia.Mi amor a Jesús de Nazaret se ha confirmado una vez más.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalén [Jerusalem] []  2020-1-23 1:22

    Todos los libros de Caballo de Troya son un arte ,una belleza ,viajas con Jason, te sientas al lado del Gran Maestro Jesus sientes que estas alla con El ,es algo tan maravilloso q deberian ser leidos por todas las personas q aman o quieren conocer al verdadero Jesus sus mensajes su amor ,son libros de esos que se guardan como tesoros.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem [Vinyl] []  2020-2-2 21:1

    Just when I thought I knew what was what, I heard this album! I like reggae but I'm not a die-hard. Fortunately that's not a prerequisite to have fun this album. If you like danceable grooves that obtain into your bones, amazing hooks and a varied pace, you'll love Jerusalem. I like Alpha Blondy's voice too. Reminds me a small of Burning Spear's, though he'll slip into a small French or some other language now and again. No issue - the groove the tune the voice is all there and if you hear faint traces of the Wailers, that's because they backed him on this album, his fourth (apparently they had worked with him on the title track of his second album as well). This album makes me wish to hear more from Alpha Blondy. It's a champion all the method through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Countdown []  2020-8-13 19:53

    I bought this in Blu-ray, of course the picture was outstanding. Content was beautiful accurate in that it never strayed from biblical teaching. Personally, I wished it had been a small more preachy, but that may have been my senior age. It was inspiring, thrilling, just another sign of what is yet to come. I think this would be enjoyed by anyone of any age that isn't overdosed on Geritol! Test it, you'll like it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Countdown []  2020-8-13 19:53

    Not what I expected; did not finish watching it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalén [Jerusalem] []  2020-1-23 1:22

    Ficción inverosímil con profusión innecesaria de datos técnicos, monólogos estériles y farragosos y trama retorcida. El verdadero caballo de Troya es la descabellada explicación OVNI de ciertos sucesos históricos. Un perfecto budín.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalén [Jerusalem] []  2020-1-23 1:22

    Buen libro que nos pone en evidencia una realidad que nos han ocultado y que bable. recomendado para los que quieran leer algo diferente

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    O Jerusalem! []  2020-1-17 21:6

    It is a piece of common wisdom that every story has two sides and the story of Israel's independence is no exception. Through painstaking research and impressive first hand accounts, Larry Collins has recreated, as faithfully as possible, this wonderful story, fraught with intense emotions on both sides. Explanations of where the authors received their info gives this acc a legitimacy that allows the reader to decide for themselves the accuracy of the retelling of these events. Building on this impressive research base, the story told is compelling, written in a style that draws the reader in and makes them feel as though then themselves are witnessing the events. It is quick paced, moving back and forth from the Jewish side to the Arab sides, describing the strategies, strengths,and weaknesses of both, from the months leading up to the UN partition vote, to the excruciating battle that followed. This book is a must read for anyone wishing to have a foundational, unbiased understanding of the conflicts underwriting the situation in modern Israel and the middle east.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    O Jerusalem! []  2020-1-17 21:6

    Covers an intense period in latest history and one cannot support but be humbled in the face the suffering, courage and faith that these people experienced. Well written, gripping story - this is a re read for me, think I first read the book in the 1980s and latest happenings in that troubled part of the globe reminded me of the book and kindled an interest in reading it again, especially after numerous work similar trips to the country in latest good, condition of product good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem [Vinyl] []  2020-2-2 21:1

    Product came in a timely manner and in perfect condition. Classic Wailers sound from the 80's par excellence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Countdown []  2020-8-13 19:53

    Not good quality video. Picture was jerky and jumpy throughout movie. Stalled several times as well. I could have enjoyed this film more if the DVD had worked better. However, I am a Christian and I found that the film did not follow Scripture. I was disappointed that this film was poorly written and the acting with well-known celebrities was not that amazing either.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Countdown []  2020-8-13 19:53

    Not a favorite. A small on the cheese side. And the ending was horrible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem [Vinyl] []  2020-2-2 21:1

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalén [Jerusalem] []  2020-1-23 1:22

    Uno de los mejores libros que he leído en mi vida, a pesar de sus más de 700 páginas, lo terminé en una semana perjudicando con mis responsabilidades de trabajo. A pesar de no ser católica y cristiana, este libro te hace repensar sobre la existencia de Jesús, a sabiendas que es un libro de ficción. A pesar de esto, uno no puede dejar de imaginarse que algunas cosas fueron reales, tal como increíble el sufrimiento previo a su crucifixión, dado que era una práctica común en el tratamiento de los condenados de la antigua Roma.En fin, es un buen libro, muy recomendable, uno de los pocos libros que lei de corrido hasta terminarlo, y por supuesto ya hice el pedido de la dos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalén [Jerusalem] []  2020-1-23 1:22

    Es interesante, pero la narración es lentísima. Hay muchos detalles técnicos y científicos que no le prestan nada a la trama central. A pesar de mi evaluación tibia del libro, creo que voy a leer otros de la serie. Espero que no me exasperen por el mismo tipo de narración que he experimentado con el primero.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    O Jerusalem! []  2020-1-17 21:6

    This book not only a detailed and understandable acc of Israel & Jerusalem's history from 70 AD to the electrifying happenings of 1947-1948, it also includes some of the finest creative and simultaneously journalistic nonfiction ever written. Collins and LaPierre somehow managed to report -- from multiple viewpoints -- myriad episodes of Jewish, Arab, and British violence and even terrorism as passionate yet disinterested objective observers, far more committed to an accurate record of happenings than to any form of dramatic license. As a college journalism professor, I recommend this book to any of my students who desire to rise above the quagmire of biased "media" and become real chroniclers of human happenings and compelling history. It is must reading for anyone -- student or otherwise -- who seeks to understand the Israel of today through the lens of the nation's compelling and indelible modern history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    O Jerusalem! []  2020-1-17 21:6

    Written by two journalists this volume conveys in a fascinationg way, the history of Israel's becoming an independant ste in 1948. I reads likeWritten by two professioal journalists, his volume is a history of the founding of the modern state of Israel, It reads almost lika novel, moving, exciting, and in spots leaves the reader almost breathless. It reaveals the laying of the foundation of Zionism, the political manuevering of Zionists, Arabs and others both to restore the Jewish homeland and to hold such restoration from occuring. As the U.N.was coinsidering proclaiming the estblishment of this fresh nation there was a flurring of activity by both sides of the issue. From the Truman signing of the declaration, through the announcment from Jerusalem of Israel's birth, to the Arab battle to erase Israel just as it started, the authors take the reader through major and a lot of minoir happenings that finally brought an Israeli win and routing of the overwhelmingly large Arab forces. Thededication and commitment of istrael's people was amazing, and there are recorded instances that an unbiased view canonly call Divine intervention. I was so moved that I read if four times. Here is history that is exciting, especially in light of today's Middle East events.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    O Jerusalem! []  2020-1-17 21:6

    O’Jerusalem is that rare confluence of happenings that transpire when several unusual circumstances arise to make a compelling and long-lasting masterpiece. First, we have the happening itself, the dramatic and tragic story of Jerusalem, the Holy City, torn apart by two opposing sides during the 1948 Arab-Israel war. Second, two journalists, Larry Collins and Dominque Lapierre took the time to conduct hundreds of interviews with key participants over several years, allowing them to publish not only fresh info that historians rely upon, but visceral accounts that place the reader in the center of the maelstrom. It was extremely fortunate that the two journalists who undertook this task were no ordinary writers, but gifted storytellers. Collins and Lapierre place you front and center in all the momentous happenings that occurred in such a short period of time: The UN vote to partition Palestine and the joy it caused among the Jews and grief it caused among the Arabs, the wars along the Tel Aviv-Jerusalem highway, highlighted by one attack in late March that nearly caused Jewish Jerusalem to starve, the destruction of the Hurva and fall of the Old City, the two grueling wars of Latrun, the fall of Kfar Etzion, the building of the Burma Road, the massacres at Deir Yassin and Hadassah Hospital. All are recounted in rich, full detail, with their victims, Arab and Jew alike, accorded full sympathy by the authors. These happenings are not just dramatic, they are important, and their import continued to resonate today. Therefore, if you only read this one book on the entire Arab-Israel conflict, you will have a amazing starting point, much like if you read the author’s perfect next book, Freedom at Midnight, covering the partition of India and Pakistan in 1947 (also highly recommended).I have read well over a hundred books on this topic and can tell you that this is easily among my top five. On a private note, I was so impressed by the writing style of this book that it was a major influence in writing my own history of Israel. O’Jerusalem is a well-known and richly deserved masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Countdown []  2020-8-13 19:53

    Ok so the rapture scenes with the rent a crowd do look really cool, however, the rest of it is really slow and the action scenes are weak. I think I would have just been happy to watch the trailer about 10 times in a row. It's really wordy, lots of dialog, probably because of a low budget. They did test really hard on this one but David A.R. White is just not believable as an action guy in anything he does. Kinda neat to see the Six Million Dollar Man grace the screen again though. I wouldn't watch it again. Bought in on BluRay and it will collect dust because I won't bonus it or loan it....it's just not that good...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Countdown []  2020-8-13 19:53

    Interesting story line. They could have expanded the story line a bit, but still enjoyed it. Not quite up to the other Pure Flix films as far as the plot, But the theatrics were good. Glad I don't have a nosey neighbor like this one, but he served a purpose for the plot. I am not sure anyone would actually do what he did. haha

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Countdown []  2020-8-13 19:53

    This was a various film from David AR White since I loved the Moment After series (1 and 2). It starts off showing the apocalypse happening, then goes back to the mystery of how it all begun. Yet it shows terrorists under religious obligations are ready to bomb up a zone until detectives obtain some insight to stop them in time. It reminds you of the TV series: 24. It has action, mystery, and suspense with some brief life experiences to bring a person to Christ but the plot is a bit confusing. My mother also watched it and she said the same thing I said after one watch, "What just happened? I need to watch it again, for some reason, I missed something and cannot point my finger on it."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem [Vinyl] []  2020-2-2 21:1

    This timeless 1986 finds Alpha Blondy being backed by the legendary Wailers (Bob Marley's band, of course!) and the effect is one of the absolute best Reggae albums of the 1980s. The title track was a large international hit but the entire CD a truly satisfying listening experience from beginning to end and is a true must-have for any serious Reggae fan. Alpha Blondy was always more famous in Europe and Africa than in Jamaica and this landmark album definitely increased his popularity and further cemented his status as an international Reggae superstar. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem [Vinyl] []  2020-2-2 21:1

    Hailing from the Ivory Coast, Alpha Blondy (Seydou Kone) is one of reggae's more eccentric characters- dressing as a Rastafarian, yet carrying a Bible, Koran, and wearing the Star of David, everywhere he goes. He apparently also speaks Arabic in Israel, and Hebrew in Arab speaking countries. He was also committed to a mental hospital in the 80's for a period of spite all of that, his melody is pure Jamaican reggae- the instrumentation and his protest lyrics are first rate. His prime example of his reggae is the awesome "Apartheid is Nazism," the best he has to offer, and which comes highly spite working with the Wailers' backing band for his next effort, "Jersualem" falls flat after the searing triumph of "Apartheid is Nazism." To me, he seems tired on this album, and somewhat uninspired. It was his 4th album in 3 years, and perhaps Blondy required a rest. Whatever the reason, "Jerusalem," despite its title track, lacks the fire that its predecessor is still a fairly amazing album, but "Apartheid is Nazism" is the quintessential Alpha Blondy lp. "Jeruslaem" will be appreciated by long time Blondy fans (as I am..I have grown to appreciate this lp) for the effort given, but newer fans should stick to "Apartheid Is Nazism".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem [Vinyl] []  2020-2-2 21:1

    Recorded five years after Bob Marley's death and a year before the amazing drummer Carlton Barrett's murder, this is probably the final performance of The Wailers with Carlton on drums.   There's some amazing melody here, especially the track "Bloodshed in Africa," with the unbelievable lead guitar of Junior Marvin, unbelievable drumming from Carlton Barrett, and the Wailers' special ensemble sound. Alpha Blondy is a worthy successor to Marley in fronting this classic band.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    O Jerusalem! []  2020-1-17 21:6

    A classic. I was in Israel recently and saw it on at the Israeli museum. Before my trip, my wife and I had read the book and agreed that it was an awesome story. It should be needed reading for anyone going to Israel for more than a few days. I doubt if 1% of people in the western globe are aware of what went on in 1947/8 . To see what has been accomplished by the Israeli community in 60+ years is truly incredible. To see how the Jewish quarter, which was a pile of rubble in 1948, has been rebuilt, is extraordinary. Israel has also become a high tech phenomenon, a leader in agricultural innovation, and the #1 user of desalinization for its water supply. Do read this book if you wish to truly understand the transformation of a barren land in under 70 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    O Jerusalem! []  2020-1-17 21:6

    I actually read this book in 1977, but it was unbelievable to read it again from the perspective of today. I cannot start to give enough praise to the authors for this perfect book. Not only is their acc extremely well documented, it is also so well told that it was almost impossible to place it down. All the first person accounts of the happenings add to the well balanced telling of the events. If you can only read one book about the middle east, this is THE one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalén [Jerusalem] []  2020-1-23 1:22

    Ya leí el primero y el segundo, los dos bastante buenos, y no es ficción como dicen muchos. Me gusta mucho viajar en estos libros y aunque nunca he seguido ninguna religión, he aprendido a querer a Jesús de Nazareth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalén [Jerusalem] []  2020-1-23 1:22

    Es un libro inesperado!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Countdown []  2020-8-13 19:53

    One of the best Pre-tribulation Rapture films to date. Amazing cast! Well acted!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem [Vinyl] []  2020-2-2 21:1

    excellente

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem [Vinyl] []  2020-2-2 21:1

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem [Vinyl] []  2020-2-2 21:1

    I got hip to Alpha Blondy from my Polish and German roomates in Berlin. They took me to a concert after work back in the '90s. I was initiated.A amazing compliment to it's universal reach is the surprise I got when I woke to my mean ol' busdriver (on the long ride from Calais to Dover) groovin' to "I love Paris" on his tape player (I was sitting directly behind him). He smiled when I told him that it was a favorite of at was the same year I attended The Wall concert in Nie mann's Land (excuse the no man's land misspell). I miss my homies in Nollendorfplatz!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem [Vinyl] []  2020-2-2 21:1

    That the best reggae does not only come from Jamaica has been clearly pointed out by British bands such as Aswad. But a later wave of perfect reggae comes from Africa where it is blended with more traditional African rhythms and lyrics.Who, like me, loves reggae but grows weary of the Rastafarian song texts after some time this albums is a must e album is in the amazing tradition of Bob Marley: politically conscious lyrics with 'pure' e melody is in the tradition of Bob Marley clearly, and not only because the (remaining) Wailers accompany Ivorian Alpha e album is the best Alpha Blondy created (another amazing one is 'Apartheid is Nazism) and it is one of the best Reggae albums I am aware of.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    O Jerusalem! []  2020-1-17 21:6

    It is hard to understand that (most) people have not got a clue or one actual fact about how the State of Israel came into being/or when. Yet, they spew out opinions or platitudes that Israel should not exist. Even Israeli students I have met abroad seem to know very small about the formation of their own country. The two authors that wrote this book created the history come alive about this happening that has played such a part in the world. They also wrote perfect books about India/Pakistan and the fall of Paris. I'd say perfect because they take both sides and report what happened and how. I could hardly place the book down. Highly recommended to understand more about the Middle East. Also recommend 'From Time Immemorial' by Joan Peters as a amazing begin to obtain much more history of this conflict in the Middle East.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalén [Jerusalem] []  2020-1-23 1:22

    Excelente libro! Siempre he dicho q esa historia esta mal contada y le falta! Ese libro a venido a disipar algunas dudas! Ame el libro, sufri el momento de la crucifixión.. nunca he creido en religión alguna, manipulan y me gusta ser un alma libre! Loooove this book! recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalén [Jerusalem] []  2020-1-23 1:22

    Tercera vez que compro y regalo

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Countdown []  2020-8-13 19:53

    I was pleasantly surprised by this film - I was hesitant to this after reading some of the poor reviews which fell into two seemingly at odds categories: "ugh - another preachy film" or "doesn't send a Christian message", but I figured David White is in it, so it can't be terrible. Luckily for me I was right. Personally I didn't feel this movie was overly preachy, and the notice was there, albeit not in the method most of the reviewers expected. There was a stage or two with some stilted awkward lines, but there was no obscenity, and a bit of action and suspense. The ending went a bit various than I expected, and seems to leave room for some follow-on films. I don't see how any reviewers could have missed the "you don't know what you're in for" line AND the Rapture happening at the end; or maybe they just didn't understand the significance. (Which I why I said there seems to be room for follow-on films). Anyhow, I had an enjoyable night watching this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jerusalem Countdown []  2020-8-13 19:53

    A-quality film! This riveting movie is my favorite of all the end-times movies. The acting is very amazing to excellent, and very believable. The unique effects were second to none compared with any secular movie i've seen; and yet, it's evangelical and excellent for film nights! I also like that the supporting actors were as believable as the main. I'd give it five if there was more attention to certain info to create the story more believable (e.g., FBI discussing extremely sensitive matters in a public library, cooperative 911 dispatcher, etc.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ridge [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    I loved this book from an author who should obtain far more attention. Rector goes out on a limb with this one and I'm glad he did. I read most of it in one sitting and would have finished but I really required to go to bed! Amazing suspense and surprising twists that I certainly never saw coming. There was also something almost cinematic about this book for me as I could really "see" this one playing in my head very vividly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ridge [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    THE RIDGE was a lot of fun. Fast-paced story that keeps you guessing, and guessing, and guessing. And while the twists and surprises aren't wholly unexpected, there's an underlying creepiness and humanity to the story that buoys the knife-edge plot. Rarely do you read a thriller as clean and precise as this one and leave feeling like you've experienced something deeply human and emotionally resonant.Highly recommend this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ridge [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    I received this book from Kindle in exchange for a review and it's the first 5 star book I've read. I went into this knowing virtually nothing, which I am grateful for. I was sucked in before the end of the first chapter and could not out it down until the final page. Megan and Tyler are a young couple who have moved from Chicago to a Stepford-like development called Willow Ridge. This community houses the employees of the Hansen Institute of which Tyler is newly employed. After three months Megan has not adjusted to their fresh life and grows increasingly agitated, homesick and wary of her neighbors. We quickly obtain the feeling that all is not as it seems in the Ridge. This book reminded me of the first book in the Wayward Pines series, which was the only one that I loved. I tore through this as quick as I could but it was a fast read. I have some unanswered questions and would LOVE to see a book 2. Fantastic, awesome read. All the stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roberts Ridge []  2020-2-4 23:44

    *20-year vet, grunt, SNCO.Where this book succeeds is in showing the hero of Nate Self, in controlling the fatal outcome of the series of errors that led to the War for Takur is book is detailed and works hard to contain all the detail from the after-battle report. Sometimes, it gets a small confused at times with the kinetics of the firefight. The author does not glorify the action and appears to test to maintain an honest portrayal of the factors that contributed to the Operators, Rangers, FAC/PJs and Aircrew involved in the reads well. For a nonservice person, I would recommend pausing and googling some of the gear and acronyms to better have fun the book.Spoiler********************************************************************A lot of people will be familiar with this event, given it was the largest loss of US forces in Afghanistan to that date. All the guys involved deserve respect and our thanks for being there, feet in the mud doing their job. What this book will do for the serving and retired reading this is present the SNAFU that has accompanied soldiers since Gaius Julius Caesar, George Washington, Patton and e author leads the reader through the critical failures that led to this engagement. From mechanical failures delaying the DEVGRU squad to force the insertion at the hot LZ; to the inability of command chain to provide CASEVAC.Overall, it is a worth reading, when any of the past documentaries on the subject paint the engagement as something planned vs an accidental, series of happenings putting US forces in an uphill attack, versus suppressive fire, without the correct equipment and support.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roberts Ridge []  2020-2-4 23:44

    This is an outstanding book about outstanding warriors. Think Bowden’s “Black Hawk Down”, Bellavia’s “House To House”, or Naylor’s “Not A Amazing Day To Die”, Romesha’s “Red Platoon”, then mix in a fistful of Von Clauswitz’ ‘fog of war’, a dash of Murphy’s Law, determined enemies who refuse to quit trying to slay each other and you have the recipe for one hell of a gunfight. This book - and the war it depicts - is a classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacksaw Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:40

    Hacksaw Ridge We see lots of films with amazing daring do but rarely do we see a film the actually depicts the real life heroism of an actual American Hero. Desomomd T. Doss, a Seventh Day Adventist who could not in amazing conscience pick up a rifle found another method to serve his country and his fellows. He became a combat medic. From his actual citation for the award of the Congressional Medal of Honor......." As our units gained the summit, a massive concentration of artillery, mortar and machine gun fire crashed into them, inflicting approximately 75 casualties and driving the others back. Pfc. Doss refused to seek cover and remained in the fire-swept zone with the a lot of stricken, carrying all 75 casualties one-by-one to the edge of the escarpment...." Imagine that, carrying 75 men to safety, one at a time, through a storm of shot and shell so fierce that the other soldiers were driven from the field. Double Oscar champion Mel Gibson directs as he has directed other awesome movies like The Passion of the Christ, Braveheart and Apocalypto. Writers Andrew Knight and Robert Schenkkan are best known for their a lot of scripts for TV. The writers tall task is to write the dialog and the story that shows Doss for what he is, a man of faith from a rural zone but without mocking him or making him seem mawkish. These two TV guys manage to do it. They also take the time in their script to develop the life history of Doss. When he shows his awesome heroism we have a sense of the man so his acts do not seem disconnected from the person. Andrew Garfield (Amazing Spider-man) plays the leading role. His Doss is humble, powerful in his beliefs and when the need arose, for a period of a few days in his life, called upon his God for strength to save the lives of others and was answered. His fellow soldiers called his success a miracle. He is backed up by Teresa Palmer (Warm Bodies) as his girl, a very amazing Vince Vaughn as the company sergeant and Sam Worhtington. Hacksaw Ridge runs for a amazing long two hours and 11 minutes. It carries an R rating for realistic violence. Gibson is known as a director for holding nothing back in terms of realistic carnage and he holds nothing back here. The film gets the R for violence-be warned. The producers created the four saw blade movie with a smallish for Hollywood $40 million. Desmond T. Doss also received the Bronze Star with oak leaf cluster and the Purple Heart with two oak leaf clusters (the clusters signify multiple awards). His citation singled him out for "outstanding gallantry far above and beyond the call of duty." Truly he represents the best of the 'Greatest Generation'. On a side note for film buffs, the period equipment and weaponry is spot on. Gibson had perfect advisers and scroungers on his team. The American arms are all in period as they should be and even the Japanese weapons are authentic to the period. The five star rating means that I 'love' the film, fair enough. In my rating system five saw blades would mean one of the best movies of all time. While it is fair, I think to give Hacksaw a five star rating it is also fair to give it on a various scale four saw blades, an perfect movie without being in the top movie of all time category. I saw this at the theater.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacksaw Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:40

    Don't know and don't wish to be a jerk but some of the reviewers who don't think this or that was realistic should fess up with their credentials. This film broke my heart and the part where the Dad goes to bat for his kid--don't know if that part really happened or not but it was wow, maybe double wow. My Dad was a WWII guy and his Dad a WWI guy and my time in the sun was 23 combat missions during Desert Storm and had over 22 years active duty with the USAF and since they had not had enough of me I worked another 18 years as a DOD civilian contractor teaching young officers how to use a weapons system (Joint STARS) and then after 9/11 by oldest son enlisted in the Troops and did a tour in Iraq and then another in Afghanistan. With that said, this film is terrifying and as true as I would wish a film to get. I probably lost a job as a history professor in Tennessee once upon a time during an interview implying that my previous combat missions over Saudi Arabia, then Kuwait, then Iraq were fulfilling and invigorating or something to that effect. Anyway, this poor boy ought to snatch up all the Oscars tonight but probably won't because it is not artsy enough. I loved Lala Land and saw it in a amazing theater and worked my method through Manchester. I wanted Lala to end differently but it stayed with me. Hacksaw is the best film that came along in 2016 so now it is time for the Academy to poop all over it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbreak Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:48

    Have probably seen this film a couple dozen times over the years. As a retired US Troops Master Sergeant this is a amazing film with a amazing story! Took me a few times to obtain beyond the action to understand the underlying story. Gunny Highway realized his career in the Marine Corps was coming to an end. Having private knowledge of this event...it can be a difficult transition. Semper Fi!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ridge [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    A quarter of the method into the book I found myself screaming over and over about another stupid protagonist, hopefully she gets killed of soon and the story go into another direction. But after more reading, the pieces started to fall together and I was look forward to another amazing finish. Then, I got what I wanted. Really nice short read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ridge [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    There is a mystery of sorts, but Megan, the lead hero spends too much time wringing her hands over little. I guess the plot was a small thin. It was a quick read, however.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacksaw Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:40

    I watched the documentary before watching this movie. The film seems to keep very grandfather was at Okinawa. He spoke of it to no one, until one summer day we were sitting together in 1997, just 2 years before he died, and he heard a slurry bomber going overhead (fire season). He stood up and scanned the skies. When the plane came into view, he said, "it's ours." Then he sat down and began to weep. I took his hands carefully in mine, his skin was so thin, and his hands were shaking. He looked at me and said, "these hands have killed." He then told me how his sister ship (he was a SeaBee) anchored at Okinawa took a kamikaze hit; and he told me of another time when they came under fire, he ran for a fox hole, but didn't create it - which was a amazing thing in a poor way, as the fox hole took a direct hit and all those inside died. And that was all he ever told me, and later I found out I was the only one he ever told anything of what happened to him in the ople who look at this film for entertainment only, well just don't. This is more. It is truth, even in its gore and horror. This is about war, about one man who changed and touched hundreds of lives through generations. It's about conviction and bravery in extraordinary circumstances by ordinary men (and women). It isn't meant just to "entertain," it's meant to tell a story and support us remember. Freedom isn't free.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacksaw Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:40

    Rarely do we see an honored portrayal of nonviolence within war. In the film, violence is not avoided or condemned, but neither is the strength it takes to carry on in a globe where there is every reason to hate and war but you follow your conviction not to do so. Doss was ready to live and die for his fellow soldiers. He accepted their ridicule before they understood who and what he was. Although this is rated R, I will present it to my kids because it doesn't pretend that battle is anything other than what it is...an attempt to search right in a globe gone wrong and a bloody, scary, and confusing experience that you pray will bring peace and justice at its end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbreak Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:48

    While this is my 2nd time trying to leave a review because awesome AMAZON deside that my latest review was not suitable for it's www service review page . Here I go AGAIN... The PRODUCT which is the DVD in the image provided. Came PERFECTLY PACKAGED. In a timely manner. I am VERY happy with he DVD labeled CLINT EASTWOOD HEART BREAK RIDGE. A MOVIE that I had seen preview on a FACEBOOK AD. And at which point I rushed to Amazon www service to buy. It came in on Sat. as promised. I am 100 percent satisfied with every aspect from this SALE. The DVD was in excellent shape. Nothing broken, cracked or scratched. Thank you for your service. And in my CLINT EASTWOOD T OUT OF MY YARD. LOVE YA.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbreak Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:48

    One of our Clint Eastwood movies. Excellent for romance mixed with amazing old tuff guy Clint. Amazing addition to our film collection that wouldn't be possible without the little businesses that these stuff at very reduced You have to search one you can trust, that send you an perfect product each and every time. Your loyalty means everything to these little businesses that Amazon to choose to from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roberts Ridge []  2020-2-4 23:44

    I can't speak to all elements of the account. However, the author has accurately captured the colourful language, speech patterns, and behavioral impressions of one of the Rangers who climbed up the mountain: my son. He portrayed him correctly right down to his boot soles and SAW. If he did his portrayal of the other men on that mountain as realistically as my son's then he at least captured the thinking and actions of the men involved from their perspectives including background information.If you wish tight action description and an armchair tactical analysis of the battle, then this is not it. However, if you wish to understand the deep confusion and chaos of a little unit action on a tall mountain surrounded by savage enemies, then this is the right account. All the Ranger dead were my son's friends. I understood my son's deep grief better after reading the book and valued better his own contributions to test to save his friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roberts Ridge []  2020-2-4 23:44

    I liked how true the action was portrayed. How there was a lot of breath taking action. I really do not like how the fighting affected our service men. The end of the book is a really sad and I'm sure most of the women (maybe men) could not support crying for this heart breaking battle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ridge [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    I've read everything that John Rector has published and I must say that The Ridge is his finest work. I couldn't place it down and finished reading in one sitting.I really enjoyed the various genres all mixed into one wild story. Crime, suspense, mystery, tech, and science fiction all in one. It's a wild ride and I really didn't wish it to end. Give this one a shot and I promise you'll wish to read John's entire collection of stellar books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacksaw Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:40

    I was astounded! I finished the film and the tears just flowed - it was an wonderful portrayal of an amazingly courageous man who stared into the face of hell and wrangled a real miracle from the flames of death and destruction. "Just one more..." - and to maintain his convictions in the face of ridicule with such an intensity - his steadfast beliefs and his real integrity - he changed their minds. Point to note - NOT FOR CHILDREN!! They spare nothing in portraying battle and how soldiers die. America should be honored to have had a son of such real conviction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacksaw Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:40

    Latest night being Oscar Night in America, I figured it would be a amazing time to watch a film in the comfort of my own home. My film of choice: “Hacksaw Ridge,” which I purchased from Amazon Video. It turned out to be a amazing r those who may not be familiar with it, “Hacksaw Ridge” is a biographical drama about Desmond Doss, the first of only three conscientious objectors in American history to keep the Medal of Honor for conspicuous gallantry on the battlefield. The movie was directed by Mel Gibson and contains among its stars Andrew Garfield, Teresa Palmer, Vince Vaughn, Sam Worthington, Rachel Griffiths, and Hugo e first half of “Hacksaw Ridge” shows Doss (Garfield) growing up in a very religious family in rural Virginia. Committed to nonviolence as a youth, he makes a promise to God never to touch a weapon. As a young man, he meets and marries Dorothy Schutte (Palmer). He enlists in the Troops at the beginning of Globe Battle II, intent on becoming a combat medic. The Army’s insistence that he become firearms qualified severely tests his principles. Doss steadfastly refuses to obey any that violates his promise to God. He faces utter contempt from his fellow soldiers, and a court-martial and dismissal from the service as a result…Fast forward to Okinawa in May 1945. One of the biggest and bloodiest wars of the Pacific battle is being fought there, and Doss, now a combat medic (without a rifle) is with his unit. They must scale the steep cliff of Hacksaw Ridge and dislodge a fanatical Japanese enemy. In the chaos of an unbelievably violent and sanguinary battle, Doss displays uncommon courage in caring for his wounded and dying comrades, gallantry so conspicuous that he eventually receives the nation’s highest award for valor – without ever picking up a weapon…Although I like "Hacksaw Ridge" tremendously, I hesitate to say I "enjoyed" it, because it is so difficult to watch. The second half of the movie includes some of the bloodiest and most violent combat scenes I have ever seen in a battle film. Having said that, however, I still think “Hacksaw Ridge” is an outstanding and inspiring viewing experience. The writing, acting, and production values are all superb, and I believe the movie is well deserving of all the accolades it received this year. Most highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbreak Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:48

    I'm afraid to leave a poor review because Gunny Highway might come and kick [email protected]#$%! I couldn't and wouldn't leave a poor review because it's a amazing kick-zzz film in the usual Clint Eastwood tradition. Decent cast and a amazing movie. There is some cheesy acting in it from other actors but hey, we were all young once. If you are ex-military you are bound to love this and if you are a couch potato command then you too will likely have fun it as well. SJW (social justice warrior) might wish to avoid because it is bound to beautiful much offend them in every method possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbreak Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:48

    As an aging actor, Eastwood carries himself as well as can be expected for an aging Marine gunnery sergeant, but his supporting cast of subordinate Marines are not believable. The Marine Corp would never tolerate peckerheads of that for the movie's excursion to the hostage crisis in Grenada, there are some glaring Hollywood-ish inaccuracies. It wasn't the Marine Corp who carried the Day, but the 82nd Airborne. Still, Eastwood being the entrepreneur-ish director that he is, seized the opportunity to create a semi-believable tale about a handful of undisciplined recon Marines charging up a pseudo "San Juan Hill" and their triumphful return to the U.S. (Apologies are due to Teddy Roosevelt.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbreak Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:48

    My mistake. I assumed this film was about the war of Heartbreak Ridge. My father was a veteran of the Korean Battle and a survivor of Heartbreak Ridge so I thought this film would support me gain some knowledge. Instead I got a hilariously poor 80s movie. I can’t believe it has a 4.5 stars rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roberts Ridge []  2020-2-4 23:44

    Could not place this book down. What our military people have to endure is beyond belief. The military red tape and chain of command issuing orders when they don't know the facts on the ground is getting our fighters killed. Situations on the ground change by the min and can obtain men killed when support does not arrive immediately. I regret that so a lot of men died needlessly. This book is a tribute to our fighter heroes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ridge [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    What a book. I do not think I would like to live at this community. It reminded me of another book that I read a long time ago. This is my first book by this Authour. I will read more of his books. This book was really creepy but it was really good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ridge [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    As I said the first time, I think this was well written but the plot needed a bit too much suspension of disbelief. It is presented as a mystery. If I'd gone into it expecting science fiction my reaction might have been different, but I also wouldn't have purchased it. Honestly I am rsther upset with Amazon for not posting my first review just because it wasn't glowingly positive. Makes me wonder a bit about these reviews!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacksaw Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:40

    Having served in the military myself, the notice this film delivers is tenfold. While our people, all colors, are out fighting and looting in the streets, calling each other out, turning our skin colors into curse words, we have all but forgotten about love, loyalty, integrity to our faiths and beliefs without destroying the integrity of another's. We fought for the freedom of this country, but we never fought to set hate across this land. This story is valid because it has heart, the thing we used to admire in each other. Hope it reminds everyone that battles were meant to stop hate not perpetuate it. And battles were meant to stop. One can not live a life at war. None of us can.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacksaw Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:40

    After watching film for 1st time and my sons 3rd time, we hold getting this notice and I'm not computer savvy and don't know how to rid it. Went to website it was no support because I'm not streaming, stealing, coping, etc. I full for a film I can't watch now. If anyone can give me a fast fix I would much appreciate it!!!! If too a lot of steps, never mind, and Thank you anyways but my fuse runs short when I for an amazing film that I now cannot watch.I tried attaching a picture of my screen but I can't obtain the "add a photo" button to do anything.... 😓

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbreak Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:48

    Sure the base scenes all cool, but having actually served in the 80's... I am horrified by the stupidity of the director in their ABSOLUTE and COMPLETE Ignorance of standard deployment protocol... ridiculous. EVERY SING ONE of those boys would have died in the first stage or crossing a fricking steel bridge huddled close together in FRONT of machine gun fire...ABSOLUTELY guaranteed all dead. AND NO ONE fires a machine gun with th... Nothing was right about this move to the point it is offensive.~ Jeff

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roberts Ridge []  2020-2-4 23:44

    Clear, concise acc of the entire operation surrounding the death of Roberts as part of Operation Anaconda. If you have military experience, it will surely sadden you and frustrate you since the entire mission that led to this story was ill conceived and improperly planned. It exposes the command and control problems resulting from senior officers in far away locations trying to command and control operations for which they do not have situational awareness. If the commanders had only consulted the men on the ground, in the zone of operations, who knew the situation, Roberts Ridge would never have occurred and all those who died trying to save Roberts could have been spared. Amazing story of heroism on the part of the unique operations forces but also an equally amazing story of the failure of several command and control headquarters to do their jobs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roberts Ridge []  2020-2-4 23:44

    If you like non-stop action, Captain Nate Self (USMA grad) and his Rangers will give it to you. Capt Self and his Fast Reaction Force are sent to rescue Petty Officer Neil Roberts, a SEAL, from the top of an Afghan mountain, only to quickly obtain into a difficult situation themselves. This book tells the story of heroism, sacrifice, heartbreak and harrowing action. You'll have problem putting the book down unless you have time to read it in one setting. I am a retired military officer and I couldn't be more proud or appreciative of that war on that mountain our Rangers and SEALs waged. God Bless America and men like Captain Self!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roberts Ridge []  2020-2-4 23:44

    I've only read a couple of books on the battle in Afghanistan. All have been very good. This book, though, has been the best so far. It is riveting and truly be of those "can't place it down / can't wait to pick it up again" books.I only gave it 4 stars for a couple of reasons. First, while it is very well written in general, it's description of the battlefield and relative positions of the actors were hard for me to follow. More detailed maps of specific movements interspersed with the text would have been very secular for me. Second, there were a few military acronyms that weren't defined -- anywhere -- and I didn't know even though I have read numerous military history books. Ironically, if the book wasn't as well written as it is, these minor deficiencies would probably not even be mentioned in my review!All in all I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in the Afghan battle and/or unique operations forces.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ridge [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    another amazing one from John Rector. with a prose that almost turns the pages for you, he delivers story that you cannot stop reading. was glued to the screen of my kindle and could not place it down. one of the things i have fun about John's books is the fact that he can tell a very compelling story without using alot of additional words. just straight to the point, nothing off subject in this one. and for me thats what makes a amazing book, i have no time to read about filler some authors throw in, i just wish the story and John's slim prose delivers that every time. Loved it from begin to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ridge [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    I enjoyed this book immensely. It took a amazing turn and I couldn't set the book down. I'm not typically a sci-fi fan but was entertained through the entire book. Almost created me wan to take part in the experiment....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roberts Ridge []  2020-2-4 23:44

    I really wanted to like this book as those who fought there did so with amazing courage and skill and created such wonderful sacrifices. However, I felt the author allow them down in two basic areas-a lack of background for the original insertion decision and the decisions created from afar during the fight.I was also disappointed with the very limited indexing. There are also some critical inconsistencies in the e Seals came to the zone looking for a mission on very short notice. It was apparently not their decision, but from far up the meal chain and thousands of miles away in a flat land. There was a failure to appreciate the need to adapt to the ntrol of Takur Ghar was not seen as essential in the plan for the operation prior to the arrival of the Seals. However, the author appears to begin with the premise that control was essential, but in the end accepts the view that it was not e decision imposed on the Seals to create a direct aerial assault on the position after experiencing delays, rather than delay 24 hours, was an imposition from above. One of the grave risks of the fresh info age is that those (both military officers and politicians) receiving satellite, UAV data and perhaps battlefield video will abandon their roles of strategic planning and info dissemination in favor of making tactical decisions without situational awareness. It's a recipe for ere's a reason that a amazing football coach is down on the field while the spotters and perhaps those who recommend plays are high above the some respects the limitations of the book are a reflection of that lack of shared info and situational awareness which plagued the warriors during the events. According to Blaber (The Men, The Mission and Me) he was in contact with the Seal squad during their war and also in contact with the AC-130. This acc treats Blaber as being out of contact which appears most unlikely given his role in the overall operation. He was uniquely qualified to provide the Rangers with much required situational awareness.Overall it is a worthwhile read but I recommend reading three other books Not A Amazing Day To Die , The Mission, The Men and Me , and First In to obtain a better perspective on the battle in Afghanistan in 2001-02

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roberts Ridge []  2020-2-4 23:44

    If you are looking for an action packed acc of the battle in Afghanistan, this is it. After reading lone survivor, then watching the film this book seemed like a amazing one to follow. It was. but warnings; the book is hard to place down and sometimes hard to follow if you do. The text is extremely graphic and sometimes to a fault. I mean, do I really need to know how Navy seals relieve themselves during a fight? I was a bit embarrassed by the comedy of errors, being ex - military myself. when you combine Army, navy, marines and unique forces together with various chain of commands you introduce confusion. I also was irritated with the inability to communicate. I mean, stick a drone up there with reception/ transmission capability so they can reach someone. And who ever heard of extraction only after dark.... anyway., these are the problems I had more with the method our military uses our expensive tech these days compared to when I was in Nam. Maybe it's just me , but this frustration detracted from the quality of the book... better written than Lone Survivor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacksaw Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:40

    This was by far the greatest battle film I've ever seen since Saving Personal Ryan. In fact it might've been the greatest battle film I have ever seen. Andrew Garfield gives an wonderful performance, the story goes along at a excellent pace, and the action is some of the best you'll see on screen. As much as I loved Saving Personal Ryan, a lot of it was fictitious. Of course the battle was true but the characters and in fact Personal Ryan himself was a fictional character. While Hacksaw Ridge on the other hand is all based in reality every hero is based on a person who really lived through Globe Battle II. So in my opinion that makes Hacksaw Ridge a much more strong film. This is truly one of those movies that comes along every decade or two that will become the default respond for people's favorite movie of all time. When you ask someone what their favorite movie is you consistently hear Braveheart, Saving Personal Ryan, Forest Gump, The Godfather, Citizen Kane, and obtain ready to hear Hacksaw Ridge more often as this movie is seen by more people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hacksaw Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:40

    After a decade of obscurity, I was anxious to see a fresh movie from Mel Gibson. "Hacksaw" was well worth the wait. While the battle subject isn't fresh for Mel, instead of looking at it through the eyes of trigger-happy hunk, he follows a shy, skinny Desmond Doss (Andrew Garfield) who enlists in the Troops during WWII, seemingly like everyone else. As it turns out, true life can be stranger than fiction. It's a terrific battle movie with strong action sequences and extremely realistic visual effects. It's very well cast, starting with the main character, of course. Another pleasant surprise - a terrific performance by Vince Vaughn. It was almost surreal to see him as an Troops Sergeant whipping his soldiers into shape, but without going over the top. This may not be suitable for young children due to graphic violence in the war scenes. But anyone over 10 years of age absolutely must see this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbreak Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:48

    A few days ago, I had an opportunity to view “Heartbreak Ridge” a military comedy/drama movie from 1986. It was only the second time I had ever seen it – the first time being when I watched it in a theater nearly thirty years ago.“Heartbreak Ridge” stars Clint Eastwood, Marsha Mason, Everett McGill, and Eileen Heckart. Eastwood also directed the film, which tells the story of Tom Highway, a U.S. Marine Corps gunnery sergeant nearing the end of a turbulent three decades-long military career. Highway, a Medal of Honor recipient for his actions during the Korean War, is a blunt-speaking man unafraid to challenge authority. Because of his penchant for getting into drunken bar wars and getting arrested while off base, his superiors view him as a troublesome “dinosaur,” and they wish to obtain rid of is 1983, and Highway accepts a fresh assignment to his old unit – a Force Recon platoon. When he gets there, he discovers his unsavory reputation has preceded him. His fresh commanding officer doesn’t wish him, and the young Marines in his fresh unit are all lazy, out of shape, and deeply resentful of all authority. Now he must overcome their deep hostility and start molding them into an effective fighting unit. What he doesn’t know is how small time he has before he and his men are tested in combat…When I first saw "Heartbreak Ridge" in 1987, I had a very mixed reaction to it. I thought Eastwood and screenwriter James Carabatsos had pulled out every anti-military cliché and stereotype they could find. The characters were all caricatures of Marines and their families and friends. Officers acted like petty tyrants with their subordinates and were obsessed only with career advancement. Non-coms were generally inept sycophants incapable of making leadership decisions. Junior enlisted people were rebellious, self-absorbed, and unwilling to follow their leaders.When I watched “Heartbreak Ridge” latest week for only the second time, I had a much more positive reaction. I realized that this was not a “bad” military drama but rather a amazing satirical comedy that pokes fun at a lot of of the shortcomings of the military and its members. I came to see that “Heartbreak Ridge” is actually beautiful amazing – certainly not Oscar-worthy like some of Eastwood’s later films, but nevertheless very entertaining.I certainly like "Heartbreak Ridge” well enough to add it to my permanent Amazon Video library. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbreak Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:48

    Just what was the point to fighting an attrition war on mainland Asia?The US troops was very amazing at jungle-fighting during WW-2, but that was on different islands which the navy could isolate. Even the Philippines is not one landmass, and due to insanely brutal mistreatment of the locals, the Filipinos fought. The Greater East Asian Prosperity Sphere might just as well have been called the Greater East Asian Poverty etnam is not an me of my older mates were sent to Vietnam, and they say that's about it was like, especially the troublesome race relations. One of the younger ones went to Iraq and then Afghanistan. I quoted Sir Winston Churchill to him, saying "Islam in a man is like rabies in a dog."It never changes, now does it?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartbreak Ridge []  2020-1-20 22:48

    A marine on the verge of retirement takes a post leading a Recon unit that's was previously run by a short timer. He needs to bring them up to Snuff while dealing with an officer that uses his squad for training purposes only so that the Officer's squad can be number one. This will do nothing for any of them except obtain them killed. The Marine changes that situation versus orders. Only to search that his lieutenant supports him. Clint Eastwood never fails to produce a unbelievable job in his movies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Destroy Jerusalem (The Jerusalem Spy Series) []  2020-9-13 18:17

    This first-rate political-espionage thriller is a true page turner! Once again Shai Shaham is at the helm versus his friendly foe Ramzy Awwad, in a situation which could effect in the destruction of websites holy to three globe religions in Jerusalem. This could also cause global nuclear battle if not resolved.An American-raised scientist becomes radicalized after witnessing the destruction of Palestinian homes,  including his extended family's, while on a visit to the Middle East.  What transpires following this unfortunate episode takes the reader on a whirlwind trip around the world, filled with intrigue, as parts of a nuclear weapon are gathered, machined, and assembled to force a definite political decision.If nail-biting, globe-trotting, seat-of-your-pants political-spy action is your genre, then this title is for you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Destroy Jerusalem (The Jerusalem Spy Series) []  2020-9-13 18:17

    The author 's writing style detracted from the essence of the story. I fought my method through three tortuous months, not able to read more than a few pages at a time, till I got to the latest chapter. The story line was interesting; the ending predictable. This was my first and latest Kaplan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Destroy Jerusalem (The Jerusalem Spy Series) []  2020-9-13 18:17

    The characters capture your heart. The plot captures your attention and emotions. The nuances of Arabic-Israeli socio-political relations is as relevant to today as in the early 1990 in which the series is set. A spy novel with adventure and heart that will hold you curled up in bed completely satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    To Destroy Jerusalem (The Jerusalem Spy Series) []  2020-9-13 18:17

    I had plans to bills and write holiday notes, but instead found myself impelled to finish reading To Destroy Jerusalem. I rarely use the phrase "page turner" to describe books, but here I must about Howard Kaplan's books. The sense of put and knowledge of latest history in the Middle East are outstanding features of his series Jerusalem Spy. Each of his characters, the supporting as well as the main protagonists, stand out as distinct individuals with their own created understandable motivations. A UCLA physicist of Palestinian descent decides on his own to make a plutonium bomb to be set off to destroy an Israeli town in an effort to gain a nation state for the Palestinians. The race is on for him to acquire confederates and components and to obtain himself smuggled into Israel to assemble the bomb and for the Israelis to stop him.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386