jerusalem ridge Reviews & Opinions


Submit jerusalem ridge review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem review []  2020-1-18 23:8

    This timeless 1986 finds Alpha Blondy being backed by the legendary Wailers (Bob Marley's band, of course!) and the effect is one of the absolute best Reggae albums of the 1980s. The title track was a large international hit but the entire CD offers a truly satisfying listening experience from beginning to end and is a true must-have for any serious Reggae fan. Alpha Blondy was always more famous in Europe and Africa than in Jamaica and this landmark album definitely increased his popularity and further cemented his status as an international Reggae superstar. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem review []  2020-1-18 23:8

    excellente

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem review []  2020-1-18 23:8

    great

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on jerusalem ridge or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch jerusalem ridge video reviews and related movies:

    See Tony Rice - "Jerusalem Ridge" on youtube.

     related image

    See Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper perform "Jerusalem Ridge" on DittyTV on youtube.

     related image

    See Mark O'Connor 'Jerusalem Ridge' | Live Studio Session on youtube.

     related image

    See Jerusalem's Ridge - Mark & Maggie O'Connor (official video) on youtube.

     related image

    See Jerusalem's Ridge on youtube.

     related image

    See Bill Monroe - Jerusalem Ridge on youtube.

     related image

    See Kenny Baker - Jerusalem Ridge on youtube.

     related image

    See Jerusalem Ridge on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem review []  2020-1-18 23:8

    Product came in a timely manner and in perfect condition. Classic Wailers sound from the 80's par excellence.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem review []  2020-1-18 23:8

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem review []  2020-1-18 23:8

    Just when I thought I knew what was what, I heard this album! I like reggae but I'm not a die-hard. Fortunately that's not a prerequisite to have fun this album. If you like danceable grooves that obtain into your bones, amazing hooks and a varied pace, you'll love Jerusalem. I like Alpha Blondy's voice too. Reminds me a small of Burning Spear's, though he'll slip into a small French or some other language now and again. No issue - the groove the tune the voice is all there and if you hear faint traces of the Wailers, that's because they backed him on this album, his fourth (apparently they had worked with him on the title track of his second album as well). This album makes me wish to hear more from Alpha Blondy. It's a champion all the method through.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem review []  2020-1-18 23:8

    Hailing from the Ivory Coast, Alpha Blondy (Seydou Kone) is one of reggae's more eccentric characters- dressing as a Rastafarian, yet carrying a Bible, Koran, and wearing the Star of David, everywhere he goes. He apparently also speaks Arabic in Israel, and Hebrew in Arab speaking countries. He was also committed to a mental hospital in the 80's for a period of spite all of that, his melody is pure Jamaican reggae- the instrumentation and his protest lyrics are first rate. His prime example of his reggae is the awesome "Apartheid is Nazism," the best he has to offer, and which comes highly spite working with the Wailers' backing band for his next effort, "Jersualem" falls flat after the searing triumph of "Apartheid is Nazism." To me, he seems tired on this album, and somewhat uninspired. It was his 4th album in 3 years, and perhaps Blondy required a rest. Whatever the reason, "Jerusalem," despite its title track, lacks the fire that its predecessor is still a fairly amazing album, but "Apartheid is Nazism" is the quintessential Alpha Blondy lp. "Jeruslaem" will be appreciated by long time Blondy fans (as I am..I have grown to appreciate this lp) for the effort given, but newer fans should stick to "Apartheid Is Nazism".

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem review []  2020-1-18 23:8

    I got hip to Alpha Blondy from my Polish and German roomates in Berlin. They took me to a concert after work back in the '90s. I was initiated.A amazing compliment to it's universal reach is the surprise I got when I woke to my mean ol' busdriver (on the long ride from Calais to Dover) groovin' to "I love Paris" on his tape player (I was sitting directly behind him). He smiled when I told him that it was a favorite of at was the same year I attended The Wall concert in Nie mann's Land (excuse the no man's land misspell). I miss my homies in Nollendorfplatz!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem review []  2020-1-18 23:8

    Recorded five years after Bob Marley's death and a year before the amazing drummer Carlton Barrett's murder, this is probably the final performance of The Wailers with Carlton on drums.   There's some amazing melody here, especially the track "Bloodshed in Africa," with the unbelievable lead guitar of Junior Marvin, unbelievable drumming from Carlton Barrett, and the Wailers' special ensemble sound. Alpha Blondy is a worthy successor to Marley in fronting this classic band.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem review []  2020-1-18 23:8

    That the best reggae does not only come from Jamaica has been clearly pointed out by British bands such as Aswad. But a later wave of perfect reggae comes from Africa where it is blended with more traditional African rhythms and lyrics.Who, like me, loves reggae but grows weary of the Rastafarian song texts after some time this albums is a must e album is in the amazing tradition of Bob Marley: politically conscious lyrics with 'pure' e melody is in the tradition of Bob Marley clearly, and not only because the (remaining) Wailers accompany Ivorian Alpha e album is the best Alpha Blondy created (another amazing one is 'Apartheid is Nazism) and it is one of the best Reggae albums I am aware of.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ridge review [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    another amazing one from John Rector. with a prose that almost turns the pages for you, he delivers story that you cannot stop reading. was glued to the screen of my kindle and could not place it down. one of the things i have fun about John's books is the fact that he can tell a very compelling story without using alot of additional words. just straight to the point, nothing off subject in this one. and for me thats what makes a amazing book, i have no time to read about filler some authors throw in, i just wish the story and John's slim prose delivers that every time. Loved it from begin to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ridge review [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    I've read everything that John Rector has published and I must say that The Ridge is his finest work. I couldn't place it down and finished reading in one sitting.I really enjoyed the various genres all mixed into one wild story. Crime, suspense, mystery, tech, and science fiction all in one. It's a wild ride and I really didn't wish it to end. Give this one a shot and I promise you'll wish to read John's entire collection of stellar books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ridge review [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    A quarter of the method into the book I found myself screaming over and over about another stupid protagonist, hopefully she gets killed of soon and the story go into another direction. But after more reading, the pieces started to fall together and I was look forward to another amazing finish. Then, I got what I wanted. Really nice short read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ridge review [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    I loved this book from an author who should obtain far more attention. Rector goes out on a limb with this one and I'm glad he did. I read most of it in one sitting and would have finished but I really required to go to bed! Amazing suspense and surprising twists that I certainly never saw coming. There was also something almost cinematic about this book for me as I could really "see" this one playing in my head very vividly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ridge review [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    THE RIDGE was a lot of fun. Fast-paced story that keeps you guessing, and guessing, and guessing. And while the twists and surprises aren't wholly unexpected, there's an underlying creepiness and humanity to the story that buoys the knife-edge plot. Rarely do you read a thriller as clean and precise as this one and leave feeling like you've experienced something deeply human and emotionally resonant.Highly recommend this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ridge review [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    What a book. I do not think I would like to live at this community. It reminded me of another book that I read a long time ago. This is my first book by this Authour. I will read more of his books. This book was really creepy but it was really good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ridge review [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    I enjoyed this book immensely. It took a amazing turn and I couldn't set the book down. I'm not typically a sci-fi fan but was entertained through the entire book. Almost created me wan to take part in the experiment....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ridge review [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    As I said the first time, I think this was well written but the plot needed a bit too much suspension of disbelief. It is presented as a mystery. If I'd gone into it expecting science fiction my reaction might have been different, but I also wouldn't have purchased it. Honestly I am rsther upset with Amazon for not posting my first review just because it wasn't glowingly positive. Makes me wonder a bit about these reviews!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ridge review [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    I received this book free from Kindle in exchange for a review and it's the first 5 star free book I've read. I went into this knowing virtually nothing, which I am grateful for. I was sucked in before the end of the first chapter and could not out it down until the final page. Megan and Tyler are a young couple who have moved from Chicago to a Stepford-like development called Willow Ridge. This community houses the employees of the Hansen Institute of which Tyler is newly employed. After three months Megan has not adjusted to their fresh life and grows increasingly agitated, homesick and wary of her neighbors. We quickly obtain the feeling that all is not as it seems in the Ridge. This book reminded me of the first book in the Wayward Pines series, which was the only one that I loved. I tore through this as quick as I could but it was a fast read. I have some unanswered questions and would LOVE to see a book 2. Fantastic, awesome read. All the stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ridge review [Book]  2018-3-4 18:0

    There is a mystery of sorts, but Megan, the lead hero spends too much time wringing her hands over little. I guess the plot was a small thin. It was a quick read, however.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Jerusalem: How the Ancient City Ignited Our Modern World review []  2020-1-22 23:44

    Carroll agonizes over violence committed by the dastardly religious. Alas, the cruel reality of facts: Philip and Axelrod’s 'Encyclopedia of Wars' tied religion to 6.98% of all wars, a minuscule amount, and removing those connected to Islam chop the number to 3.23%. Allow me repeat that: 3.23%.But Carroll cares nothing for mere facts: "The connection between religion and violence has been powerfully laid bare in the twenty-first century" (p 310) he mysteriously insists. Atheists created the twentieth century the greatest abattoir in history, with one hundred million people murdered (see the book "The Black Book of Communism") and allow us not forget the fifty million murdered by atheist communists in China (see the book "Mao's Amazing Famine: The History of China's Most Devastating Catastrophe, 1958-1962".They targeted the religious. Nor were the killings in Russia of unarmed, frequently elderly, nuns and priests easy gun shots to the head. Archbishop Andronnik of Perm was buried alive. Archbishop Vasily was crucified and burned. Father Johannes was dismembered. (p 123, The Forgotten: Catholics of the Soviet Empire from Lenin through Stalin.)An official Russian government report published in 1995, estimated that "200,000 Russian Orthodox priests, monks, and nuns had been slain and another 500,000 imprisoned " (p 277) and "Of those priests arrested and interred a grand total of twelve would survive the Gulag (p 277).Other amazing books on the subject: Red Famine: Stalin's Battle on Ukraine", "And God Made Lenin: Marxism versus Religion In Russia, 1917-1929" and "The Plot to Slay God".You would think that after slaughtering 150 million human beings atheists would be hiding in the shadows, trying not to draw attention to t Carroll, who unbelievably contends that "Jerusalem is the cockpit of violence,... for three thousand years." History books tell a various story. They paint Jerusalem as a scruffy small city, essentially a village for a millennia, and it was either ignored or taken over quickly by beautiful much any troops that passed by. The armies of the Mongols, the Hans, the Aztecs, and the other well armed men tramping across the world in hopes of a small fun, scarcely deemed to message Jerusalem. And the facts suggest only about 3% of them were galvanized by its rusalem barely qualifies as a spitball, allow alone as the "cockpit of violence". Carroll is simply wrong, flat out wrong, because religious wars, excepting Islam, add up to a measly 3.23% of wars. And that even contains the Buddhist wars, yet it still totals a piffling amount. What I wish to know is this: how does Carroll explain the rest?Carroll carps that the "Old Testament includes six hundred passages that speak of bloody killing'... War...is at the center of biblical life... because Israel’s God is a fighter God. ” (p 45).Utterly wrong again. Carroll, who once attended a seminary, knows perfectly well that the early Christians had to contend with heretics who fell away from the church on this very point, so he must have heard the answer. The Old Testament was written during a primitive era by a people relating their history as they understood it. They said God was wrathful, or that he changed his ristian theologians dismissed the idea that God could be angry. Or even stub his toe and have a poor day. Christians said entire of the Old Testament had to be viewed through the fresh revelations of Jesus Christ, and these were revelations of love, from a God who was love itself, and joy, since Christ conquered Augustine explained that the Fresh Testament lies hidden in the Old and the Old Testament is revealed in the New, a phrase I'll bet Carroll heard at least fifty times in seminary, yet curiously cannot recall roll is consumed by a shivering, ugly hatred of Christianity, yet smiles fondly at "the benign tolerance of paganism." (p 61).Tolerant Romans butchered every single Druid they could lay their hands on and every Carthaginian. The tolerant Carthaginians slaughtered their own kids in industrial quantities, as a bribe so they could prevail versus the Romans. The tolerant Aztecs and Mayans yanked the still beating hearts from thousands of unfortunates every single year, including children, before settling down to their jolly feasts featuring body parts of the people they had just e tolerant pagan gods cared not a whit about pedophilia, also practiced on an industrial scale by both ancient Greeks and Romans. Nor did the Stoics. Only the Christians cared enough about it to end it.And I doubt Ignatius of Antioch, as he was being fed to the lions, was thinking, "Golly, what luck I was born into the tolerant Roman empire."Those who wrote the gospels, or, as Carroll nastily states, the "interpreters...spin doctors" (p 56) left the Christian scriptures "drenched in blood...(since) God was "violent enough to require the death on a cross of God's only begotten son" (p 46).What a hurtful lie. The crucifixion was an act of breathtaking sacrificial love for humanity. And it was a donation, not a requirement by the e consequences Carroll refuses to examine: if there is no God then might makes right, violence is as much a nothing as kindness, morality doesn't exist except as a private or cultural preference, so why, why is Carroll raging on versus Christianity?The complete failure of his thesis is revealed when he can only search the Crusades to place forward as proof of Christianity's "violence...brought to the altar...a martial ethic". Yes, in two thousand years. Sounding pathetic and desperate, he later grouses over the battle to free the slaves.And as for the Crusades and their "perversions" he fails to mention a few salient points. Before the Islamic armies came, the vast arc of location which was originally under the Roman empire, had been Christian. Four popes came from North Africa, and there were some 700 bishoprics across Africa, Egypt, and the Middle East, the population totaling about fifty percent of the Christian world. Which all fell to the Muslims. The first Crusade was called when the pope had received a letter pleading for help, as an enormous Islamic troops was close to Constantinople. A amazing book on the subject: "God's Battalions".Wrong: Carroll claims Crusaders traveled home laden with "plunder". At least half of those who went on a Crusade died, a fact well known at the time, which is why going on a Crusade was seen as a penitential act, and as for "plunder", it is remarkably hard to obtain plunder when all you do is re errors: early Christianity was "dominated by Gentiles and Hellenized Jewish Christians who had small feeling for the Judean Jewishness of Jesus" (p 84), he insists, not explaining then why the gospels refer to the Old Testament beautiful much every other line.Utter dribble: "The Gospels were composed as a literature of violence, as wartime literature...they were composed ... to serve as a hospitable niche for the self-nurturing virus of war" (p 86).How odd, then, that they resulted in two thousand years of hospitals that tended to the deaf, the sick, and the blind, and those stricken with leprosy. Even today, with all the government aid available, Catholic nuns and priests tend to the majority of lepers in the globe and one third of AIDS patients. Even while they were being persecuted by the tolerant Romans, Christians were raising cash to support the not good or as aid in times of famine.A belief that God was truth itself, the Logos, and that, because we are born rational creatures, we should seek to understand God and the globe by use of logic, began in the west as a effect of belief in a rational God. Technology is a fruit of this belief. So were international human rights, proposed by fourteenth century nominalism. Christian theology argued versus slavery, so slavery was ended across all but the fringes of Europe. Much later, in 1435, the papal bull Sicut Dudum the pope declared that anyone who bought, sold, or kept a slave was excommunicated. This was followed by half a dozen other papal bulls saying the same ch books as "Handbook of Religion and Health" or "Who Really Cares", exhaustively went over the research on religious people compared to those who were non religious. The religious were much less likely to steal, cheat, lie, commit a crime, commit adultery, they had kids who achieved higher outcomes, and gave to charity in far higher amounts than the non d books on the topic of how Christianity changed the globe for the better: "The God that Did Not Fail", "The Charity of the Church", "The Popes and Slavery" and "The Book That Created Your World". "When Kids Became People" discusses the manifold benefits of Christianity for kids and why women converted in droves to the early re error: "The historical Jesus was more likely to have been a defender of the Temple and its cult than a critic of it (p 93). Then perhaps Carroll could explain why the Sadducees wanted him dead.Unhinged: "Temporal dualism and spatial dualism combine to denigrate the here and now, a denigration that has proven to be history’s most potent source of violence versus the earth and its inhabitants—violence carried out in this globe in the name of another world; life assaulted for the sake of afterlife. Only in the hereafter does God’s reign of justice, mercy, and peace apply. In the by-and-by, therefore, anything goes" (p 112).The only Christians consumed with the other globe were saints such as Father Maximilian Kolbe, who gave up his life for that of a married Jew in the Nazi death camps. Violence tends to be what happened to the saints, not what they practiced. And calling Christianity "history's most potent source of violence" is hyperbolic.... even deranged. And 'anything goes"? He's never heard a whisper of the ten commandments?The errors stagger on: "Revelation makes explicit the perversion that implicitly infects the other foundational texts of Christian faith,...Revelation’s inclusion in the Fresh Testament gives the lie to Christian claims to be only a religion of love, and forecasts the bloody mayhem that will be the tag of Christian sway almost everywhere it holds".This is humiliatingly silly overreach, but he's desperate because the Fresh Testament calls for forgiving your opponent seven times seventy a day, not exactly a cry for "bloody mayhem". The only people in the history of Christianity actually influenced by Revelation were a few village schizophrenics and the occasional little nest of hysterics. And "the bloody mayhem that will be the tag of" Christianity? Didn't he have an editor? Or a history book?"The material and the spiritual Jerusalem became confusingly intermingled...in the crudely superstitious minds of northern Europeans" (p 137). Oh, those crudely superstitious Christians, so unlike the glittering genius that is Carroll.He gives the android game away: "the Dominican and I shared a kind of elitist condescension toward the ordinary faith of the vast majority of believers " (p 45). Believers, not good dullard clods. So unlike the end of the book, he introduces his preference to Judaism or Christianity. "Good religion may... have a secular hero (p 314) he craftily states, then slips in, "Good religion may indeed presuppose a religion of no religion" (p 315). Ah, a glimmer of truth in his mountain of fabrications. Carroll's amazing religion is the absence of religion! Why, we are all shocked, shocked! Who could have seen this coming?The only thing Carroll claims is holy is "the therapist" (p 315). I am not making this up. The holy therapist is where you go to worship ease, pray for him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Jerusalem: How the Ancient City Ignited Our Modern World review []  2020-1-22 23:44

    James Carroll goes back to prehistoric times as he relates the story of monotheism. He explores the actual and metaphorical history of Jerusalem; follows the intertwined threads of Judaism, Islam, and Christianity; and carries us up to the show day issues in the Middle East. He matches his scholarship with emotional engagement. I loved the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Jerusalem: How the Ancient City Ignited Our Modern World review []  2020-1-22 23:44

    Packed with awesome information, which is to say: DENSE. A highly recommended study. I'm amazed page after page with fresh sight lines on Judaism and Christianity. The book is a large intellectual adventure, and a very rewarding read provided you give it the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Jerusalem: How the Ancient City Ignited Our Modern World review []  2020-1-22 23:44

    fascinating work on this most popular city; the author knows his material and shows it from the city's early emergence to its presentstatus. Regardless of one's faith or lack of it, the book is worth reading to better understand its prominence today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Jerusalem: How the Ancient City Ignited Our Modern World review []  2020-1-22 23:44

    Carroll raises and respond questions not only about Jerusalem, past, present, earthly and heavenly, but alsogrounds religion and its role in the human violent response to life. Another outstanding book from the mind of ascholar and gifted writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Jerusalem: How the Ancient City Ignited Our Modern World review []  2020-1-22 23:44

    James Carroll at his best!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Jerusalem: How the Ancient City Ignited Our Modern World review []  2020-1-22 23:44

    Brilliant insights throughout the first half of the book, but overextended on the American experience. The ending, especially latest couple of chapters, did not wrap up the thoughts and previous discussions of the first part and could not search the philosophical ground to close the argument. It is as if he rushed to the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Jerusalem: How the Ancient City Ignited Our Modern World review []  2020-1-22 23:44

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Jerusalem: How the Ancient City Ignited Our Modern World review []  2020-1-22 23:44

    Unbelievable and enlightening book. Gives amazing insight about the history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Jerusalem: How the Ancient City Ignited Our Modern World review []  2020-1-22 23:44

    THIS BOOK IS A MUST e my review on the book (AN AMERICAN REQUIEM) BY James Carroll if you wish to be educated on how Jerusalem has effected history and the church.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top 12 Things to See and Do in Jerusalem - Top 12 Jerusalem Travel Guide review []  2020-1-21 22:35

    Amazing summary. It's a fast simple read that provides primary information. Not much detail but a amazing begin to learning about Jerusalem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top 12 Things to See and Do in Jerusalem - Top 12 Jerusalem Travel Guide review []  2020-1-21 22:35

    I intend to buy another book but this serves its purpose giving the major highlights. I would recommend to anyone basically not wanting to obtain inundated with historical facts and information.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top 12 Things to See and Do in Jerusalem - Top 12 Jerusalem Travel Guide review []  2020-1-21 22:35

    It serves as a tutorial giving the historical significance of the websites in one place. It helped us to prioritize and organize where to go before our arrival to Israel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top 12 Things to See and Do in Jerusalem - Top 12 Jerusalem Travel Guide review []  2020-1-21 22:35

    Succinct, but enlightening. Author chose the most interesting tourist spots to present, and highlighted them in such a method as to hold your interest without being too indepth or dry. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top 12 Things to See and Do in Jerusalem - Top 12 Jerusalem Travel Guide review []  2020-1-21 22:35

    I have been trying to search a book that was clear and to the point in regards to travel destinations. Atson did an amazing job with summarizing the main points and areas to go to in Jerusalem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top 12 Things to See and Do in Jerusalem - Top 12 Jerusalem Travel Guide review []  2020-1-21 22:35

    This a remarkable book and it is full of knowledge as well as of images of Jerusalem. . Attractive an remarkable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top 12 Things to See and Do in Jerusalem - Top 12 Jerusalem Travel Guide review []  2020-1-21 22:35

    It was quick. Not a lot of info but a amazing overview of the top 12 things to do in Jerusalem are

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    O Jerusalem: Day by Day and Minute by Minute the Historic Struggle for Jerusalem and the Birth of Israel review []  2020-1-22 0:55

    This book not only offers a detailed and understandable acc of Israel & Jerusalem's history from 70 AD to the electrifying happenings of 1947-1948, it also includes some of the finest creative and simultaneously journalistic nonfiction ever written. Collins and LaPierre somehow managed to report -- from multiple viewpoints -- myriad episodes of Jewish, Arab, and British violence and even terrorism as passionate yet disinterested objective observers, far more committed to an accurate record of happenings than to any form of dramatic license. As a college journalism professor, I recommend this book to any of my students who desire to rise above the quagmire of biased "media" and become real chroniclers of human happenings and compelling history. It is must reading for anyone -- student or otherwise -- who seeks to understand the Israel of today through the lens of the nation's compelling and indelible modern history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    O Jerusalem: Day by Day and Minute by Minute the Historic Struggle for Jerusalem and the Birth of Israel review []  2020-1-22 0:55

    It is a piece of common wisdom that every story has two sides and the story of Israel's independence is no exception. Through painstaking research and impressive first hand accounts, Larry Collins has recreated, as faithfully as possible, this wonderful story, fraught with intense emotions on both sides. Explanations of where the authors received their info gives this acc a legitimacy that allows the reader to decide for themselves the accuracy of the retelling of these events. Building on this impressive research base, the story told is compelling, written in a style that draws the reader in and makes them feel as though then themselves are witnessing the events. It is quick paced, moving back and forth from the Jewish side to the Arab sides, describing the strategies, strengths,and weaknesses of both, from the months leading up to the UN partition vote, to the excruciating battle that followed. This book is a must read for anyone wishing to have a foundational, unbiased understanding of the conflicts underwriting the situation in modern Israel and the middle east.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    O Jerusalem: Day by Day and Minute by Minute the Historic Struggle for Jerusalem and the Birth of Israel review []  2020-1-22 0:55

    Written by two journalists this volume conveys in a fascinationg way, the history of Israel's becoming an independant ste in 1948. I reads likeWritten by two professioal journalists, his volume is a history of the founding of the modern state of Israel, It reads almost lika novel, moving, exciting, and in spots leaves the reader almost breathless. It reaveals the laying of the foundation of Zionism, the political manuevering of Zionists, Arabs and others both to restore the Jewish homeland and to hold such restoration from occuring. As the U.N.was coinsidering proclaiming the estblishment of this fresh nation there was a flurring of activity by both sides of the issue. From the Truman signing of the declaration, through the announcment from Jerusalem of Israel's birth, to the Arab battle to erase Israel just as it started, the authors take the reader through major and a lot of minoir happenings that finally brought an Israeli win and routing of the overwhelmingly large Arab forces. Thededication and commitment of istrael's people was amazing, and there are recorded instances that an unbiased view canonly call Divine intervention. I was so moved that I read if four times. Here is history that is exciting, especially in light of today's Middle East events.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    O Jerusalem: Day by Day and Minute by Minute the Historic Struggle for Jerusalem and the Birth of Israel review []  2020-1-22 0:55

    It was interesting that since the time of T E Lawrence Britain was pro-Arab until Americans changed its mind. I learned much history, such as Golda Meir's fundraising in the United States. Personally, I now know why my husband felt strongly about Clark Clifford who had been a force in recognizing Israel. But also, I learned about the Arabian side though not in such a biased method as our Syrian, now American, daughter was taught. The (late) Larry Collins and Dominic LaPierre were intent on being fair to both sides. There is so much tragedy here, not only Arab and Israeli but the non-combatants.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    O Jerusalem: Day by Day and Minute by Minute the Historic Struggle for Jerusalem and the Birth of Israel review []  2020-1-22 0:55

    A classic. I was in Israel recently and saw it on sale at the Israeli museum. Before my trip, my wife and I had read the book and agreed that it was an awesome story. It should be needed reading for anyone going to Israel for more than a few days. I doubt if 1% of people in the western globe are aware of what went on in 1947/8 . To see what has been accomplished by the Israeli community in 60+ years is truly incredible. To see how the Jewish quarter, which was a pile of rubble in 1948, has been rebuilt, is extraordinary. Israel has also become a high tech phenomenon, a leader in agricultural innovation, and the #1 user of desalinization for its water supply. Do read this book if you wish to truly understand the transformation of a barren land in under 70 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    O Jerusalem: Day by Day and Minute by Minute the Historic Struggle for Jerusalem and the Birth of Israel review []  2020-1-22 0:55

    O’Jerusalem is that rare confluence of happenings that transpire when several unusual circumstances arise to make a compelling and long-lasting masterpiece. First, we have the happening itself, the dramatic and tragic story of Jerusalem, the Holy City, torn apart by two opposing sides during the 1948 Arab-Israel war. Second, two journalists, Larry Collins and Dominque Lapierre took the time to conduct hundreds of interviews with key participants over several years, allowing them to publish not only fresh info that historians rely upon, but visceral accounts that place the reader in the center of the maelstrom. It was extremely fortunate that the two journalists who undertook this task were no ordinary writers, but gifted storytellers. Collins and Lapierre place you front and center in all the momentous happenings that occurred in such a short period of time: The UN vote to partition Palestine and the joy it caused among the Jews and grief it caused among the Arabs, the wars along the Tel Aviv-Jerusalem highway, highlighted by one attack in late March that nearly caused Jewish Jerusalem to starve, the destruction of the Hurva and fall of the Old City, the two grueling wars of Latrun, the fall of Kfar Etzion, the building of the Burma Road, the massacres at Deir Yassin and Hadassah Hospital. All are recounted in rich, full detail, with their victims, Arab and Jew alike, accorded full sympathy by the authors. These happenings are not just dramatic, they are important, and their import continued to resonate today. Therefore, if you only read this one book on the entire Arab-Israel conflict, you will have a amazing starting point, much like if you read the author’s perfect next book, Freedom at Midnight, covering the partition of India and Pakistan in 1947 (also highly recommended).I have read well over a hundred books on this topic and can tell you that this is easily among my top five. On a private note, I was so impressed by the writing style of this book that it was a major influence in writing my own history of Israel. O’Jerusalem is a well-known and richly deserved masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    O Jerusalem: Day by Day and Minute by Minute the Historic Struggle for Jerusalem and the Birth of Israel review []  2020-1-22 0:55

    The end of WWII and globe needs a permanent home for the Jews and their ancient historical/homeland is chosen. Problem is that Arabs have controlled the zone for a 1000 years and they are not about to give it up. While Arabs and Jews both live in the land it’s England who is in control. England is very pro Arab as they are looking at the resources of the Middle East. It really is a miracle that Israel was not pushed into the sea. I was pro Israel before reading and I’m even more so after.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    O Jerusalem: Day by Day and Minute by Minute the Historic Struggle for Jerusalem and the Birth of Israel review []  2020-1-22 0:55

    I actually read this book in 1977, but it was unbelievable to read it again from the perspective of today. I cannot start to give enough praise to the authors for this perfect book. Not only is their acc extremely well documented, it is also so well told that it was almost impossible to place it down. All the first person accounts of the happenings add to the well balanced telling of the events. If you can only read one book about the middle east, this is THE one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    O Jerusalem: Day by Day and Minute by Minute the Historic Struggle for Jerusalem and the Birth of Israel review []  2020-1-22 0:55

    It is hard to understand that (most) people have not got a clue or one actual fact about how the State of Israel came into being/or when. Yet, they spew out opinions or platitudes that Israel should not exist. Even Israeli students I have met abroad seem to know very small about the formation of their own country. The two authors that wrote this book created the history come alive about this happening that has played such a part in the world. They also wrote perfect books about India/Pakistan and the fall of Paris. I'd say perfect because they take both sides and report what happened and how. I could hardly place the book down. Highly recommended to understand more about the Middle East. Also recommend 'From Time Immemorial' by Joan Peters as a amazing begin to obtain much more history of this conflict in the Middle East.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    O Jerusalem: Day by Day and Minute by Minute the Historic Struggle for Jerusalem and the Birth of Israel review []  2020-1-22 0:55

    Covers an intense period in latest history and one cannot support but be humbled in the face the suffering, courage and faith that these people experienced. Well written, gripping story - this is a re read for me, think I first read the book in the 1980s and latest happenings in that troubled part of the globe reminded me of the book and kindled an interest in reading it again, especially after numerous work similar trips to the country in latest good, condition of product good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ragged Ridge Creek: Western Adventure Mystery Thriller Book (The Ridge Creek Trilogy 1) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    The character (Ridge Creek) is wounded as the book opens, leaving him unable to remember his name for a few chapters while he struggles to figure out why so a lot of bounty hunters are trying to slay him.Once he remembers who he is, he remembers a Mexican bandit leader framed him for murder, causing him to be fired by the Texas Rangers.Ridge is about to settle in a little Texas panhandle and forget about clearing his name when an "old friend" drops by, asking for Ridge's thing leads to another when a local gang leader shows up to finish what he started, but this time his "old friend" is there to back Ridge's e "old friend" is also a mate of the governor, who pardons Ridge. Returning to the Texas Rangers, Ridge cuts a wide swath along the Rio Grande border-on both sides. He captures the Mexican Bandit chief who started his troubles, and remembers the girl he left in the Panhandle.I look forward to reading his next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ragged Ridge Creek: Western Adventure Mystery Thriller Book (The Ridge Creek Trilogy 1) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    I read to page 70. So far just shoot-outs, killings. I got bored so deleted it. - Not much talking - just authors telling a story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ragged Ridge Creek: Western Adventure Mystery Thriller Book (The Ridge Creek Trilogy 1) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    Very not good storyline. So a lot of inconsistencies I quit reading after a few chapters. A book has be beautiful poor for me to quit reading and this one is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ragged Ridge Creek: Western Adventure Mystery Thriller Book (The Ridge Creek Trilogy 1) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    Starts out fine, but the inclusion of Wild Bill is not needed. I also feel the author watched too a lot of Clint Eastwood westerns, along with a couple by John Wayne. Just too a lot of cliques and a western I was glad to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ragged Ridge Creek: Western Adventure Mystery Thriller Book (The Ridge Creek Trilogy 1) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    First book I've read by this author. It won't be the going back in time to the old west.Looking forward to Major Creek's next adventure.Highly recommended to all western fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ragged Ridge Creek: Western Adventure Mystery Thriller Book (The Ridge Creek Trilogy 1) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    free 1st book,have to buy the next ones

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ragged Ridge Creek: Western Adventure Mystery Thriller Book (The Ridge Creek Trilogy 1) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    A wild western in amazing detail. If you like solid action this one will hold you turning the pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ragged Ridge Creek: Western Adventure Mystery Thriller Book (The Ridge Creek Trilogy 1) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    i love this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ragged Ridge Creek: Western Adventure Mystery Thriller Book (The Ridge Creek Trilogy 1) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    One of the better western books I've read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ragged Ridge Creek: Western Adventure Mystery Thriller Book (The Ridge Creek Trilogy 1) review []  2020-1-19 20:54

    Nice story. I have read the second volume which I think is even better

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters: Boxed Set 1 - The Swanson Brothers: Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters, Books 1-6 review []  2020-1-21 23:42

    Super sexy, voluntary firefighter bear shifters search all the heat they can handle when one by one they search their fated mates. These books have all a shifter romance fan could want. The characters are smart, sexy, fun, protective and brave and that's just the heroines. The heroes, well, they're all that and they're firefighters! The storylines are engaging and full of suspense, action and sexy romance. Talk about heat! Grab a copy of this set and settle down for hours of reading pleasure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters: Boxed Set 1 - The Swanson Brothers: Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters, Books 1-6 review []  2020-1-21 23:42

    Bear shifters, 5 sons and a mother, are found in this 6 book collection. Unbelievable books with colourful characters. Warmth, family, community as family, a rich tapestry. A lot of times I wanted to either hug the characters or slapping them upside the head. Bravo. I devoured the books and will look for more of Ophelia Sexton books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters: Boxed Set 1 - The Swanson Brothers: Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters, Books 1-6 review []  2020-1-21 23:42

    I absolutely love this series. I bought them individually when I received the ebook settlement but had read them on Kindle Unlimited, first. I love my Kindle Unlimited because it allows me to test fresh authors, by and huge I have been happy with the results. This is an amazing family of shifters, it has a amazing plot, always an HEA and was simply delightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters: Boxed Set 1 - The Swanson Brothers: Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters, Books 1-6 review []  2020-1-21 23:42

    Every single one of the stories in this boxed set were so enjoyable to read. This is a fresh author for me and I am so satisfied to have found her. I loved all of the characters and their stories. Thank you, Ophelia, for this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters: Boxed Set 1 - The Swanson Brothers: Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters, Books 1-6 review []  2020-1-21 23:42

    I wasn't sure what I would search when I purchased this box set but I was not disappointed. This story of the city of Bearpaw Ridge seems so true that living here in Idaho, I wanted to go search it. This is an amazing series and I can't wait to read more!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters: Boxed Set 1 - The Swanson Brothers: Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters, Books 1-6 review []  2020-1-21 23:42

    Powerful women in need of help, firefighter bear shifters in need of mates, amazing characters and exciting stories, you can't go wrong.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters: Boxed Set 1 - The Swanson Brothers: Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters, Books 1-6 review []  2020-1-21 23:42

    Well written regarding the 5 Swanson boys and their friends would highly encourage you to read has emotion heartache emotional obtain togethers and HEA :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters: Boxed Set 1 - The Swanson Brothers: Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters, Books 1-6 review []  2020-1-21 23:42

    What an awesome series. I loved how the Swansons were always there for each other. It was nice to see Mama bearget over her prejudice of matings outside their shifter type. To see that the heart and soul wish what they wish and you can't dictate to your kids who they should love and be with. It shows what families should be.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters: Boxed Set 1 - The Swanson Brothers: Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters, Books 1-6 review []  2020-1-21 23:42

    Amazing stories. Mind blowing. Must read... amazing author . You won't regret buying and spending the time to read... Excellant writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters: Boxed Set 1 - The Swanson Brothers: Bearpaw Ridge Firefighters, Books 1-6 review []  2020-1-21 23:42

    Loved the stories in this and the other box set, well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Drawn and Quartered: One Woman’s Year in the Heart of the Christian, Muslim, Armenian, and Jewish Quarters of Old Jerusalem review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    Tuttle-Singer is a very amazing writer. However, this memoir is in the end a rather progressive and inaccurate view of the heart of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. While real that she has spent considerable time in Israel, and much of it in Jerusalem, she fails to bring a sharp focus onto why there is such bitter turmoil surrounding this unbelievable city. I have been to Israel, twice, the latest time in 2015 just before the rash of stabbings she describes. It is not her imagery that is lacking, but rather her post modern globe view where all the participants of the golden town seem to share equal blame for the bloodshed and lack of peace. No where does she mention the fact that most Arab, and all Palestinians, leaders refuse to recognize Israel's right to exist. In fact, they would prefer that all Jews in the country be driven into the e bemoans the fact that Arab boys are frisked too hard or beaten by Israeli soldiers, all while they could be the next stabbing perp. She never mentions the Palestinian practice of rewarding the families of dead terrorists. She equates Israeli terrorists with Arab ones so that they share equal blame in her mind. She points out that one of her son's teachers told her all Arabs were terrorists. While of course this in not true, at least Israeli schools do not teach and perpetuate the myth of Jewish blood libel, where for centuries they have been taught that Jews create Matzoh from Arabic children's blood. She never mentions that if the Palestinian leaders would only accept Israels"s right to exist there could be peace l memoirs are of of course self-indulgent. However, she must have mentioned at least a dozen times during the course of the book the info of her stoning at the Damascus gate a lot of years ago. Two or three times would have been more than enough. Her abusive relationships with at least two men also contribute nothing to the story.I found myself about half method through this work wanting it to obtain better and finally just to end. She does describe in detail the a lot of interesting characters living inside the city's quarters, but had I not visited there myself, I am not sure I would have felt and sensed the deeply religious flavors that flow there. She at least twice says she feels nothing but stone when she touches the Western, (Wailing) Wall. As a Jew I don't even know how that is e is more excited by Tinder hook-ups, hashish, and and body piercings and tattoos. Perhaps it is generational but I can't relate to these things. In the end the problem I am having is that this book has more to do about her than about e idea and title for the book are tantalizing and she writes well. However, I found myself not being able to wait for it to end. And that is sad.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Drawn and Quartered: One Woman’s Year in the Heart of the Christian, Muslim, Armenian, and Jewish Quarters of Old Jerusalem review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    I bought this book prior to spending two awesome weeks in Jerusalem close to the old city. However, reading it, despite the numerous rave reviews, was utterly disappointing. Jerusalem is magical and a very unique place, irrespective of one's spiritual beliefs, but the author certainly does not capture this for me. While I will agree that Sarah Tuttle writes beautifully and her style is lyrical and pleasing to read, this book reveals a narcissistic personality, and her catharsis in dealing with her issues since a teenager. What saddens me is her willingness to write about her nastiness towards her sick mother, and her eagerness to share some of her destructive behaviors over the years. She would benefit greatly by reading the memoir The Choice, Embrace the Possible, by Dr Evelyn Eger , a holocaust survivor, published a year before Tuttle published her book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Drawn and Quartered: One Woman’s Year in the Heart of the Christian, Muslim, Armenian, and Jewish Quarters of Old Jerusalem review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    “Mermaids Can Go Anywhere” Sara Tuttle-Singer gives us a colourful story of the heartbeat of Jerusalem drawn in vivid colors for all of us to savor. In a potent mixture of joy, sadness, and occasional despair, the author lays bare her private feelings as well as the heartbeat of a town and its people. Her desire to live in every quarter of the town exposes the joy, the horror, the danger of everyday life in the in the city. At the same time, she introduces us to a colourful cast of characters, Jew, Christian, and Arab alike to magical secret locations and rooftops not available to the tourist throng. It’s a shame that these people live their lives behind invisible walls, never looking at their neighbors. Her mermaid tattoo is a symbol of her desire to understand the people and neighborhoods by living in every quarter of the city. By living as a mermaid, Sara experiences everything and watching with her keen eye, Sara can pass through, because, no one pays attention to the mermaid. Mermaids, you see, never really fit in. While on this exploration of the city, the mermaid goes everywhere. Sara takes us along for this journey of discovery, and, we are enriched for it. If only more people followed Sara’s example, perhaps, the conversation can start among the residents and a method forward can be found, finding the universal dignity in each other’s lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Drawn and Quartered: One Woman’s Year in the Heart of the Christian, Muslim, Armenian, and Jewish Quarters of Old Jerusalem review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    This book is a stark dose of reality. It shows the humanity of all sides in the Israeli-Palestine conflict and the reality on the ground in the Old Town of Jerusalem. Sarah frequently delves into the things that motivate and inform her actions, and it was sometimes unbelievable and other times painful to return to those memories, having heard about them first hand. It gives her writing a level of humanitas and reality that is sorely missing from a lot of biopics and travelogues, and shows that she is a beautiful, flawed e stories are inspiring, heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and most importantly, real. There are no caricatures, there are no stereotypes. Sarah shines light on the banality of the mundane and day to day, revealing that everyone is equally capable of compassion and cruelty. She treats everyone with the dignity and respect they deserve, and does not hesitate to call out those who aggrieved her out, even if not by name, while praising those who have had a positive impact on her life and is not a book for those who wish to see the black and white of the conflict or life in the Levant as an eternal struggle of amazing vs. evil (pick your side), but more for those who wish to see the reality. The reality, like the book, is inspiring, heartbreaking, and thought-provoking in all of its grey and pink goriness and shows that the emotions and faith that run as deep as the stone and the roots of ancient trees of the Old n't pick this up expecting a pro-Israeli or Palestinian screed or a real tutorial book. Pick it up if you wish insight into the realities on the ground of the Old City, the tensions, the fears, and the hopes of the people who live there and their unbelievable and surprisingly normal lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Drawn and Quartered: One Woman’s Year in the Heart of the Christian, Muslim, Armenian, and Jewish Quarters of Old Jerusalem review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    This is basically the memoir of the author - including a lot of recycled material from her Times of Israel columns. If you've read those columns, there's no reason to buy this book. It's all about her, and less about Jerusalem itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Drawn and Quartered: One Woman’s Year in the Heart of the Christian, Muslim, Armenian, and Jewish Quarters of Old Jerusalem review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    I am a Sarah Tuttle-Singer reader thru subscription to the Times of Israel and her private Fb for five plus years. I read her because she is fresh, insightful and fun thinking to this highly conflicted region. With her fresh book Sarah becomes rusalem has a "mermaid" who sings a siren song for all the multitudes of the city. And what a raw, honest ballad it is. For anyone, at a thinking level, interested in this region this is a must read. I am sending a copy to Jared and Ivanka Kushner with a request to read. My bet is Ivanka will meet the mermaid over coffee ☕and that will have far reaching impacts in peace for Jerusalem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Drawn and Quartered: One Woman’s Year in the Heart of the Christian, Muslim, Armenian, and Jewish Quarters of Old Jerusalem review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    Jerusalem has always been on my list of "must visit" places. But when I read what Ms. Tuttle-Singer wrote and the gorgeous photographs in the Old City, I felt a pull to Jerusalem that I had never felt before. The kind of pull and longing that you feel about your childhood home.I love how the author has so immersed herself in the people of the Old Town but she never abandoned herself or her own identity. She was a welcome visitor, an honored guest, a returning mate to the denizens of this ancient but timeless ank you, Ms. Tuttle-Singer. Your work is a revelation and a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Drawn and Quartered: One Woman’s Year in the Heart of the Christian, Muslim, Armenian, and Jewish Quarters of Old Jerusalem review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    This book — this woman — so inspiring on levels and in ways I cannot rah Tuttle-Singer wrote something exceptional about Jerusalem.Whether you’re a believer in any of the three Abrahamic religions, Christian, Jewish, Muslim, or atheist, whatevs, her book opens your eyes — widely — to how a lot of worlds are in one rah shares the potential myriad of experiences one can have there beyond a religious pilgrimage.I’m in love with it (totally undeserving since I’ve never been, I know. But I will be very soon).Everyone, please help Sarah and read about how attractive Jerusalem ’s a story you would NEVER e is a brilliant writer and very kind.“Ten measures of beauty were made in this world; nine were taken by Jerusalem and one by the rest of the world. Jerusalem is a beauty unparalleled.” — Babylonian TalmudSarah, thank you for writing this book about the Holy City. Chazak u'varuch. L’chaim.💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Drawn and Quartered: One Woman’s Year in the Heart of the Christian, Muslim, Armenian, and Jewish Quarters of Old Jerusalem review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    The book is extremely well-written...Sarah Tuttle-Singer is a captivating writer....but very small actually "happens" in this book and I came away with it learning and feeling well...nothing. Jerusalem is described as every adjective in the English language, an Arab bashes Israel, Sarah writes about a random sexual fling or a tragic sexual assault, she writes about her mother, and then goes on to describe Jerusalem with a million various adjectives. What's disappointing here is that there's no actual "story." If it was advertised as a book about Sarah's private life experiences and oh she just happens to live in the Old Town for one year, that's one thing. But very small actually happens in that year in the Old Town that can leave the reader with any type of satisfaction. On the whole, extremely well written, but a lot of words that really say very small besides giving insight on the tragedies that have befallen her.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem, Drawn and Quartered: One Woman’s Year in the Heart of the Christian, Muslim, Armenian, and Jewish Quarters of Old Jerusalem review []  2020-1-23 0:37

    This is a wonderful, very personal, autobiography through the lens of Jerusalem's people an neighborhoods. It is neither a tour tutorial or history (though aspects of both leak into the text as background where necessary). Some of Sarah's stories are tragic, some incredibly uplifting. Throughout Jerusalem is the complex nexus for her wonderfully written stories of the people she meets and gets to know through each encounter. It is intimate, funny, perceptive, honest, and heartbreaking. It spoke to me directly of my own experiences of "living Jerusalem" which reflect a very various background, generation, and ank you Sarah. I highly recommend this book - as long as you understand what it is not trying to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    This book wasn't what I expected. It's more for a serious birder since it goes into how they build a nest and where in the woods they are likely to be seen. There are very few pictures and no color pictures at all. Mostly drawings. I am looking for more of a backyard bird book to recognise the birds that visit my feeders and the trees in my yard and surrounding area. I would send back for a refund but it would cost almost as much as the book costs so I will end up donating it to the local used book store

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    I found this book to be for the birds. Extremely wordy and only a handful of black and white prints of birds. The format does not let for fast and simple access to identifying bird species at a glance. It does not serve my need if I have to find through lengthy text to obtain info about a species that I can't identify until I see a color photo.I'm sure the author spend much time in gathering info for this book such as which birds are found in what areas... however, unless you are an experienced bird watcher or ornithologist, this book may be difficult to follow without prior bird knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    This is a marvelous book about the birds of the Blue Ridge Parkway. There are a lot of interesting tidbits that support you go to locations where you can have the opportunity to see certain birds.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    This book is an all-around treasure, for the beginning birder or the experienced ornitholigist, living in or near the Blue Ridge, planning to visit the Appalachian region, or even simply interested in this world-class region. The first fifty pages constitute an introduction to the Appalachian province and birding in general. The rest of the book profiles the birds of over 300 locations, where to go to see them, and how to obtain there. The book includes over two dozen maps, and even info about birding spots with handicapped access; an annotated checklist of birds; and a tutorial to contacts and resources for particular areas. It also features the drawings of H. Douglas Pratt. Part travel guide, part natural history, part handbook, this book is above all a joy.(This review originally appeared November 29, 2000)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Blue Ridge Mountains: A Guide for the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park, and Neighboring Areas review []  2020-1-16 14:19

    This book is an all-around treasure, for the beginning birder or the experienced ornitholigist, living in or near the Blue Ridge, planning to visit the Appalachian region, or even simply interested in this world-class region. The first fifty pages constitute an introduction to the Appalachian province and birding in general. The rest of the book profiles the birds of over 300 locations, where to go to see them, and how to obtain there. The book includes over two dozen maps, and even info about birding spots with handicapped access; an annotated checklist of birds; and a tutorial to contacts and resources for particular areas. It also features the drawings of H. Douglas Pratt. Part travel guide, part natural history, part handbook, this book is above all a joy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem: A Cookbook review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    This cookbook is approachable and the recipes are actually something you will make...and then create again. If you love Middle Eastern cuisine, buy this. I have created the primary Hummus...it takes some time, so be aware that you need 24 hours. It was so good. I agree with the authors that if anything is going to bring the middle east to peace..it's gotta be the hummus. The other thing I created was the Couscous with tomato and onion. Love the flavors, I will create both of these again. The amazing thing about the recipes are, they aren't so wild that you can't imagine making them. The ingredients are, for the most part, simple to find. The techniques are easy enough for the home cook. Falafel is next on the list.****Edit****I would just like to say, that one of the reasons, I think, that this is so doable for a Middle Eastern cookbook, is these are the recipes that regular people make. This is what the moms and grandmas make. That's the kind of meal I wish to create as well, amazing home cooking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem: A Cookbook review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    Amazing book for ideas. I want the recipes were written in a various format, as its harder to follow a paragraph style recipe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem: A Cookbook review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I almost never post reviews, but this books is so wonderful, I felt compelled to add to the accolades it's receiving. I am a professional cook, so I buy and cook from a TON of cookbooks. A lot of I use mainly for inspiration in terms of flavor combinations because the recipes don't actually work so well. Some I use to discover fresh techniques. This cookbook offers both; the recipes work (I should note I have the UK edition without US conversions)--many of the techniques are fresh to me and they work well--and the flavors are amazing. And it's a gorgeous cookbook as e first recipes I created from this book were the roasted cauliflower salad with celery, hazelnuts and pomegranate and the sofrito chicken. I figured there was no method the cauliflower salad could be anything but delicious, and it was. But I had my doubts about the chicken--the recipe involved several steps (browning the chicken, seasoning the chicken, steam-roasting the chicken, frying potatoes and garlic and then adding them to the chicken and its juices). I didn't think it would be any better than a easy roast chicken and vegetables (which is hard to improve on when done well). But it was unbelievably delicious! And had a texture and subtlety of flavor I had never tasted 's real that some of these dishes are not week-night fare--as one reviewer mentioned, you can't throw them all on the table in under an hour. But a lot of of them are. A fast read-through of the recipe should allow you know which are quicker and which take an hour or more of prep and cooking.I am adding this cookbook to my top 10 list because a) it's a beautiful, well-written book, b) the recipes work very well when followed to the letter, but there's lots of room for improvisation, c) the flavor and texture combinations are complex, subtle and well-balanced, and d) the dishes are delicious.Happy Cooking!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem: A Cookbook review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    one of the best cook books with inventive recipes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem: A Cookbook review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I love it, have created a couple of the dishes, they were great!!! Only disadvantage is the difficulty of sourcing out some of the ingredients, but I sorted that out by visiting OASIS BAKERY in Melbourne, they carry every spice you need. So I'm set. hold the book on my coffee table, so all my mates can read it as well and it's turned out to be very popular. Can't wait to have mates over for dinner again, to test other recipes out of the book, before that though i'll test them for our evening food to create sure I obtain it right. That it my insecurity though, as latest time it was perfect. The photography is amazing as well, as are the stories they have told.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem: A Cookbook review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    This cookbook has awesome recipes. I have been cooking them almost every day for three e only downside is the recipes are beautiful poorly written. I highly recommend you read the recipe two times prior actually cooking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem: A Cookbook review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I saw this cookbook at my daughter's house and liked it so much, I bought one for myself. The recipes are illustrated with attractive images of the meal - and everything looks like something amazing you might eat at home, not something fancy that only a restaurant could make. And for a amazing reason - the recipes largely reflect the home cooking of the two authors' families. My husband, who is not at all an experienced chef, has created a number of the meals with amazing results. We hold kosher so we just skip the recipes that have nonkosher ingredients, or create substitutions. Amazing cookbook! If only the people of Jerusalem got along as well as the ingredients in these recipes!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem: A Cookbook review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I learned about this book after being invited to a cooking party from a friend. My mate included a link from the Fresh York Times in her invite about this book. The leader of an organization that I work for is Jewish and she appreciates amazing food. I have never bought her a bonus until now. I thought that this book would create the excellent gift! I looked over the book and the pictures are exceptional they are not only of meal but of the "Old Country" too. I am sure that this bonus will be appreciated and it is something that can be passed down in generations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem: A Cookbook review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    This is a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Jerusalem: A Cookbook review [Book]  2018-1-1 18:1

    I have created quite a few recipes from this cookbook and lately, I have been addicted to recreating what is between its pages. You have to read the recipe before you begin cooking something, or you will miss a step, especially with Ottenlenghi's precise cooking methods. The use of vegetables elevates them from easy side-dishes to standouts. Some of the ingredients may be a challenge to search if you don't live in a diverse metropolitan area, but an individual's logistical challenges should in no method bear ill on whether or not the recipes are delicious. That isn't really the author's fault where you live. Also, there is the internet and spices can be ordered from there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    My Blue Ridge review [App]  2019-4-18 13:39

    Amazing fresh on the go experience

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Beirut to Jerusalem review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    During my service in Armenia, I came across this book in the Peace Corps library. Having enjoyed "The Globe is Flat" I decided to test it out. Part of my rating is based on the fact that it is not only well-informed but very readable, unlike a lot of non-fiction books. His work as a journalist for the NY Times is surely a benefit to the readers who like me might be exploring this subject in depth for the first time. I never felt buried in facts. I also liked the fact that he was stationed there during the 80's and saw things "up close and personal." And finally, it gave me an understanding of "Politics as Theater." Neither side seemed that interested in true compromise but just tipping the Scales of Sympathy on the World's Scene their way. When the GOP and Obama faced off over Fiscal Cliff in December, the same dynamics seemed to be in place. Even though Friedman is portraying happenings that are now over 25 years past, it is a vivid time capsule of how deeply embedded are the dysfunctional dynamics between these two countries. It also gave me some historical perspective on the Armenian attitude toward Turkey that I encountered everyday in the adult population. The historical lesson I came away with was that building your National Identity around "being right" does not give the next generation very much room to negotiate for a better future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Beirut to Jerusalem review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    As a college student studying International Affairs, I managed to avoid the Israeli-Palestinian conflict for 4 years. I never felt like I had a war in it, and felt the field had "too a lot of cooks in the kitchen." I focused mostly on other regions and topics, generally aware of huge picture problems with Israel, settlements, and the plight of Palestinians. I came across this book in searching for books on Syrian history for my job and decided to give it a shot, at least for the portions covering Lebanese history. I have never been a fan of Mr. Friedman's work before, but this book really is a masterpiece, and one that should be read by anyone looking to study history, the Middle East, or international is book has almost too a lot of amazing qualities to list. It is excellently nuanced and balanced, detailed enough for the expert, but explained and quick paced enough for the novice of the region. Do not be fooled by the length of the book, it is a genuine page turner, with only a few slow points, and by the end you are wishing someone would take the initiative and cover the years in depth since its printing in 1988. I was initially afraid at a book so old, afraid I would be missing newly found info unavailable at the time of writing, but unfortunately the region, particularly Lebanon and Syria, isn't covered much even by Friedman is passionate about the topic, to be sure, but as he notes, real mates are honest with each other. Having lived in Beirut for a number of years, and then moving to Jerusalem, he has mates on both sides of the situation, but isn't afraid to discuss problems for a true and lasting peace. The largest issue, for both sides, seemed to be a misunderstanding of the other group. While some Palestinians viewed the Israelis as a minor blip in time on the land, who would eventually surrender the land and leave forever, the Israelis viewed the Palestinians under the umbrella of "Arabs" who would be at home anywhere, refusing to distinguish between an Arab in Egypt and an Arab in Iraq. Leadership, or lack of it, fed into those beliefs. Both sides lacked bold leadership, as neither led from the front, but rather led from the polls. Instead of making bold initiatives toward peace, both felt that time was on their side, when it obviously only created the divisions deeper. In the rare case where leaders did create bold moves (Sadat), they were taken out by their own group, making it even more difficult to lead from the front.While the time in Beirut was the most interesting to me, his chapter on religion in Israel is really eye opening. We Americans tend to see other countries in generally black and white (West Germany good, East Germany bad) and forget that not all Israeli Jews are the same. The method Friedman goes into this subject is supremely interesting and profound, and something American Jews should certainly look at and is something of a miracle that this book was written, on a region that is so often overlooked. With such an necessary topic, I'll take away everything poor I ever said about Mr. Friedman. My only regret on this book is that I did not read it earlier. This book is amazing for someone with very small info on the region or the expert on the region. Read it as soon as you can.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Beirut to Jerusalem review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    Thirty years before My Promised Land (Ari Shavit's unbelievable book) Tom Friedman also takes us on the grand tour. In Lebanon he relates to us an up close and private taste of life amid battle and chaos and suffering. In Israel, he wanders through the mist of questions that exist even in his own mind concerning the path being taken by Israel's leaders. We can see the country through the minds of Americans from a distance and through the minds of the different religious and non-religious citizens of Israel. Mr. Friedman is an impassive and, at the same time, an interested party. He shows us the a lot of conflicts that arise when a country becomes independent and is still finding its method in the world. Americans can relate to that story....we are still developing our own country and trying to hoist ourselves up to the bar of our own ideals. Israel's story, though, seems to be special in the history of mankind and we must want them well. Tom Friedman is still teaching and informing the public on a lot of fronts. He is a master.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Beirut to Jerusalem review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    I knew nothing about the Middle East but when preparing to tour Syria and Jordan focussing on historical monuments, this book was recommended to me. The author opened up a very various land to my own with very various beliefs and lifestyles. Most importantly the author explained the very various method of political thinking and the role of `strong men' in keeping the peace even if temporarily. This book should be compulsory reading for any westerner planning to work in Syria, Lebanon, Jordan and nearby countries.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Beirut to Jerusalem review []  2019-12-20 18:41

    This is an perfect book. Friedman's observations are drawn from lived experience and extensive knowledge of the region. Although the political divisions and conflicts in the Middle East now appear more unsolvable than ever, Friedman's analysis remains relevant. He lays out compelling approaches to achieving peace and greater prosperity for all. Sadly, the different parties, peoples, and factions who would benefit aren't interested.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    From Beirut to Jerusalem review []  2019-12-20 18:41

    (Audio CD Review)Having very small knowledge on Israel, other than what we hear from the media, I enjoyed From Beirut to Jerusalem for several reasons:- With only 3 CDs, it was very brief. Delightfully so.- The first half was dedicated to Friedman's experience in Beirut, the second half was about Israel.- Friedman (who is Jewish)gave a very fair and balanced review of both Beirut and Israel. If anything, he came down harder on Israel, though, in my opinion, justifiably so.- It was educational and simple to follow for the beginning learner of r someone who is just learning about Israel and Palestine, I highly suggest this book. However! It is a excellent example of writers sticking to what they do best, writing. The audio narration is also done by Friedman who should never, ever be allowed to narrate again, unless he sticks to children's stories. His tone and inflection simply did not fit with the mood of the story. But it's still a amazing book.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter