Read john jay college students reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all john jay college students reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    John Jay College Students [App]  2018-8-28 21:8

    Amazing social feature

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Nearpeer for college students [App]  2018-1-20 13:9

    Super simple to use. Quick and useful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Geometry for College Students []  2020-1-21 21:39

    The book is amazing and what I wanted. Now if only the class I got it for was like that...

    0  


    Add your opinion on john jay college students or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Geometry for College Students []  2020-1-21 21:39

    Arrived in excellent condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Geometry for College Students []  2020-1-21 21:39

    I was a bit afraid of getting this book. I knew I required Geometry. My Hobby since Retirement (getting fired from Age Discrimination) had been studying Mathematics. And, well, it seems that usual progression to Calculus is via Algebra and Trig. Nobody makes much of a fuss about Geometry... Except! Well, there are People who keep Geometry as their Favorite and most Formative Discipline... Proving Everything and all of that. But the word "Elementary" threw me off. For that kind of money, I did not wish an Elementary Anything... I wanted the Full 10 Gage Goose Gun of Geometry (oh, note... '10 gage goose guns are virtual cannons'... even the hardcore Road Thugs stick with the smaller 12 gages). But the Reviews seems good, and, well, there was Really Nothing Much out there... that didn't obtain horrible reviews... but were significantly cheaper. Here is a Hint. If you are going to sit at the Table Every Day and go through a Math Text Book.... because you think that Should Be Fun... well, you need a Unique Math Text Book. A Cheap and Irritatingly Limited Math Book, at a fraction of the Price, would still take you 3 or 4 Months to obtain through. But the book would be annoying. You would have to run to your computer all the time to obtain cross references and explanations. The Better Book at even its far greater Price is a Bargain after all. A amazing Text Book is something you actually Love. a Text Book is something you quickly learn to loath and despise.I Love this Geometry Book. Well, yes, It turns out that I am more of an Algebra Guy. More than half the Axioms and Theorems seem to be So Obvious as not needing to be Stated. It reminds me of Reviews I had read about Euclid's Books on Geometry... that back in his Dark Ancient Days where nobody knew any better, He left out what were considered Essential Proofs. Now I understand that even Euclid thought some things were just too plain and obvious to need some, well, Idiotically labored 'Proof'... such as "A Line Equals Itself'.... Duh!? who would have it any other way?So, I am Doing the book, paying attention to only what I feel are the Essential Proofs... and Thank God I am not doing this book in a college course, or it would take me a bit longer to go through the Exercises. Oh, yes, a lot of Exercises, and answers in the back for the Odd Problems, and amazing Examples... a True College Book!Its been Amazing Fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Geometry for College Students []  2020-1-21 21:39

    El precio y el estado del libro

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Geometry for College Students []  2020-1-21 21:39

    Book was needed for college geometry class. Rental was great. Book was in amazing condition. Price was amazing and return was easy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Geometry for College Students []  2020-1-21 21:39

    No problems as described. Excellent rental

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Geometry for College Students []  2020-1-21 21:39

    Amazing book to read about Geometry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Geometry for College Students []  2020-1-21 21:39

    WONDERFUL

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Geometry for College Students []  2020-1-21 21:39

    Not very clear to me but required it for school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Geometry for College Students []  2020-1-21 21:39

    Need it for class. Loved the price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What the Best College Students Do []  2019-12-18 20:14

    This book describes me to a tee! Learning for the sake of learning. I bought it for my grand-daughter who is a senior in High School. Hope she loves it as much. So powerful. How to obtain the most out of any college education no matter where you go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Finance for Teenagers and College Students []  2020-1-18 19:30

    amazing intro for the kids

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What the Best College Students Do []  2019-12-18 20:14

    I picked up this book in pursuit of straight A's. What I got instead was a possibility to completely change the method I view education and learning. The goal of this book is not to teach you how to create the grade (although there is tip for doing that at the end of the book) but to present you a process and viewpoint of education that leads to growth and success in life after school. Although the book is not excellent it did change my life, and perhaps save a doomed to fail college career. Here are some of the main things I liked and disliked about the d: (note the length of discussion of each of these subjects varies)-How it encourages learning, growth, self discovery and curiosity over success and jumping through hoops (grades)-Encourages one to take control of your own education.-discussion of intrinsic versus extrinsic motivation-focusing on amazing questions over correct answers-explanation and discussion of strategic and surface learners versus deep learning-the benefits of taking responsibility for outcomes and focusing on the ability to change the future-why self compassion is more necessary than self esteem-discusses attitudes towards failure and why certain ones are better-how embracing the unknown and changing your language can create you solve issues better-the mindful process of deep learning-effects of prejudice on learning and how to overcome it-how living in a various culture effects learning-the result of tournament and comparative thinking on learning-how viewing the globe as flexible can enhance learning and growth-7 levels of thinking, from primary to most advanced-effective ways to learn (can be used to create amazing grades)Disliked:(Mostly private preference)-that there were a lot of long winded stories. While at some times I found them inspiring and useful, others times I got nothing out of them, probably just my mood at the time though.-that there was no clear outline of the principles in the book and how to apply them, of course if one pays attention they can create their ownI gave this book a 5 out 5 stars because I feel it changed my life for the better, especially in regards to college. I believe that if you apply the principles in this book, it will support you obtain more out of college, and life.God Bless!Cody

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What the Best College Students Do []  2019-12-18 20:14

    Excellent! I went back to school and this book gave me a various perspective on how to learn and WHY to learn. I highly recommend it. It is a small slow to start, but I skipped around until I came full circle. Amazing educational philosophy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American College Slang: for International Students []  2019-12-18 20:30

    While looking for some materials to use in my classes, I found and purchased this book through Amazon Japan. It lets you immerse in an American college atmosphere instantly. I want I could have read it before I attended a college in US a long time ago. I search it useful not only for students but for businesspersons. For example, in lesson 13 you practice idiomatic expressions for a student meeting. A lot of of them are heard in business settings as well. Another thing I like about it is the flow and rhythm of the text in each lesson. It's vivid and real. Strongly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Finance for Teenagers and College Students []  2020-1-18 19:30

    Amazing method to begin the conversation. Both my seniors took private finance in high school but reaffirming the concepts from a private perspective for our family is key. They will be both starting various colleges in the fall and is not unlimited. Slowly we are starting on budgets and discussing making choices. Learning about is a life long pursuit and the sooner we can do it with our high school children the better because we wish them to be independent financially when they leave college.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What the Best College Students Do []  2019-12-18 20:14

    This book isn't like the gimmicky "how to obtain all As" books out there. Instead, the author, a former college professor and now provost, interviews a dozens of individuals who have created a creative impact on their fields. A lot of of these individuals are also financially successful, but financial success is not the focus of the book. Instead, the author describes the patterns in the attitudes, habits, and skills that these individuals cultivated while they were in college years ago. Some of the patterns he noticed through his interviews contain a growth mindset towards intelligence, genuine curiosity, a reliance on intrinsic motivation, an interdisciplinary approach to solving problems, and an embrace of failure. He showcases these patterns through anecdotes (a small heavily a times) and current research, and he explains how today's college students can incorporate these characteristics into the approach to their own education. Insightful and accessible to today's college students, this book will create an impact on most readers and support them strive towards the deep education important to create a creative impact in whatever career field they pursue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Finance for Teenagers and College Students []  2020-1-18 19:30

    Brought it for a class, some info seems very obvious and others seems out of date. It’s a fast read with huge text and excerpts of people’s private options and experiences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What the Best College Students Do []  2019-12-18 20:14

    I was recommended this book by an instructor I trusted and although I'm not huge on reading, I really enjoyed this book. I use the techniques it has shown me within my daily life. It really has created me a better student by making me think differently and I don't think I could have done that without this book. The main reason I love this book is because I am constantly thinking of ways my classes overlap and connect with one another. I would recommend this book for anyone wanting to improve their learning techniques or anyone looking to challenge their process of thought and memorization.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What the Best College Students Do []  2019-12-18 20:14

    This was actually the book for my college English class, but it certainly doesn't read like a textbook. It's really geared towards studying different learning methods, and learning more about the specific learning methodology [deep learning] that most successful people seem to have in common. It also goes over how to develop this learning method, and break old habits, in to better embrace failure, learn more deeply, attain more knowledge, and become all-around more successful at life. A must-read for readers with a thirst for knowledge. : )

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What the Best College Students Do []  2019-12-18 20:14

    Professor Ken Bain ha written an perfect book on how to be a successful college student , better , a successful human being. Lots of examples of how learning deeply, instead of being overly concerned with achieving amazing grades is the keys to be a healthy, satisfied and successful individual

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Personal Finance for Teenagers and College Students []  2020-1-18 19:30

    I bought this for teenagers in the family--my granddaughter and great-niece as part of their birthday gifts. Not sure how they liked it. Their parents were impressed though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What the Best College Students Do []  2019-12-18 20:14

    This is an perfect book which should be read by everyone interested in learning, whether they are pre-college, in college, or e central point of the book is that real, lasting, and impactful learning requires (a) a powerful motivation to learn, fueled by curiosity and/or desire to create difference in the globe and (b) a learning approach which emphasizes deep understanding, multidisciplinary breadth, integration of knowledge (i.e., connecting the dots), and app of knowledge in the true world. Trying to obtain amazing grades with minimal effort usually results in a superficial and temporary semblance of understanding, not real, lasting, and impactful ch learning requires time and effort; such learners will usually go beyond assigned coursework and will naturally do things like ask novel and penetrating questions, read critically, conduct thought and physical experiments, be imaginative and creative, deliberately expose themselves to situations which they're not used to, rely on effort rather than 'natural ability', take reasonable risks, and learn from failures rather than be defeated by them.I plan to re-read this book - it's that good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What the Best College Students Do []  2019-12-18 20:14

    This is a amazing book for everyone. A lot of studies suggest that a growth mindset can support people fulfill their potential more effectively. When I finished this book, I marveled at how much I had learned from this book. The author gave the readers lots of stories from creative and successful people, and it shows not only our mind can change our body, but it could also change our life too. The author wants to inspire college students by using those remarkable examples as motivation to deliver his notice about how the most successful people are often deep learners. The successful people also have very amazing growth mindsets which helped them achieve their knowledge and goals. This book talks about Professor Paul Baker and how he teaches his students that growth is the discovery of the dynamic power of the mind. Mr. Baker encouraged his students to have conversations with themselves and explore themselves because knowing oneself can really create a difference. If people learn to celebrate and appreciate who they are and the unique qualities and experiences they bring, they can make in ways that no one else can. I was amazed at how much people can change and improve themselves through a changing their mindset. I am going to practice what I learn from this book to become a better me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What the Best College Students Do []  2019-12-18 20:14

    Had to for school, but it was not something I'd like. Full of researchers labeling people. I don't like labels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    College for Students with Disabilities: We Do Belong []  2019-12-18 20:52

    This is a amazing book for learning about the experiences of college students with disabilities. It provides a lot of insights into problems most people aren't even aware of, as well as providing the perspectives of students who themselves are disabled and the problems they have faced along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Steps to College Success: Learning Strategies for STEM Students []  2020-1-23 2:39

    As someone who is currently helping people navigate the college admissions process, I found this book to be a amazing resource. This book amazing perspective for those of us that are set in our ways. This book addresses the main problems that caused me to struggle in college AND most importantly the research the tip is based on is cited. This is not some individual's philosophy or just a book with amazing ideas. This is a manual based on empirical evidence on what it takes to succeed on every level. Just as importantly; college has changed even since I was applying and this was able to obtain me up-to-date on the process. College is exceedingly stressful and this book does not dance around that issue. Instead, this book addresses the stress of college for what it is; a important evil that can be controlled. I will be totally honest, I cannot say for certain that 18 year old me could have sat down and read this book cover to cover which is why I advise parents and councilors to read this book. This will support you coach your kid/student to success with the recent tactics available. So, if you know someone graduating high school obtain the book for their parents and it may end up being more effective.High Points:-Based on empirical evidence-Most up to date info available-Invaluable tutorial to coaching young people in the globe today

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Steps to College Success: Learning Strategies for STEM Students []  2020-1-23 2:39

    Six Steps to College Success is a excellent tool for students of all disciplines, especially those beginning their college careers. Though I am a seasoned collegiate student, I still found a lot of of the techniques and exercises to be extremely informative. Time management can be challenging for a lot of students, but with the guidance of this book I think it can be quickly alleviated. Overall, a amazing read with much insight!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students []  2020-6-10 20:4

    Assumes every teen who is pregnant is ghetto fabulous. Look inside to see the chapters including on paternity. Was looking for a book for my nephew and his GF who are trying to do the right thing and learn how to cope with being young parents while getting an education and working. This offered nothing tangible in that manner I returned the book about a third of the method through. Some young people create mistakes and wish to do the right thing. Author shouldn't generalize. And honestly I know married couples in their thirties that are more clueless than these children about having a child. Book just didn't anything tangible about how to prepare for parenthood while preparing for life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students []  2020-6-10 20:4

    AA++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students []  2020-6-10 20:4

    I bought this title to add to my library's Young Adult collection, in anticipation of beginning programming for pregnant/parenting teens. I could tell that the publishing quality was less polished than most of my purchases, but I wasn't automatically going to bypass it in favor of a mainstream publication - especially since it was tough to search materials aimed at teens, rather than at their parents or at educators and other specialists serving teen populations. My greatest concern after receiving the book wasn't what the cover looked like or how the formatting could have been improved, but rather that it wasn't closely edited. After my first glance turned up a grammatical error (second-trimester abortion is an "evasive" procedure??), I read the whole book to see what else might have been overlooked. There are numerous instances of "your babies health" and "a mothers body", etc., and related errors that could have been easily corrected by a proofreader. Additionally, some legal and medical developments have created info in this 2004 edition obsolete: emergency contraception is now available without a prescription, for example, and there are extra types of hormone-based contraception like the ring and one form of e info overall was solid and written to an appropriate level. I found the treatment of options like termination of pregnancy through abortion, keeping the pregnancy to term and parenting the baby, and placing the baby for adoption to be balanced and non-judgmental, which was especially necessary to me. I also appreciated adoption-positive language -- no "giving up your baby" here. I'm going to hold this book in my collection for now, and provide supplementary materials to the teens in my program. However, I would love to see an updated version!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students []  2020-6-10 20:4

    This is really an perfect book for pregnant teens and college students. The info on parenting is very valuable to someone who doesn't know much about being a parent. I found the chapter "What To Buy Now, and What Can Wait" very helpful. I bought this book for a pregnant church member of mine and together we used it as a resource guide. This book has amazing information for young women who are pregnant and their pregnancies may have been planned. The chapter on "Continuing Your Education and Parenting" lists colleges and universities that family housing. I never realized just how a lot of universities have family housing options. I commend the author for all of the research she did in putting this book together. The book is a small on the short side but the necessary items is all there. It's very objective and the stories from the women in the book present the upside and downside of unplanned e author lays out facts about abortion, adoption, pregnancy, and just puts all the info out there without opinion. She also notes programs such as WIC and Medicaid--two programs that low income women can benefit from. The activities in the back of the book are helpful as are the discussion questions which are broken down by topic. The author even has Webquests associated with the book on the books website, the URL is listed on the book. Unbelievable book! Kudos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making the Most of College: Students Speak Their Minds []  2020-7-24 18:26

    One of the best HS graduation bonuses available. A lot of amazing pieces of tip that I want I had known when I started college.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Engaging College Students: A Fun and Edgy Guide for Professors []  2020-7-30 18:25

    As a fresh adjunct, I will be using a lot of of the examples given in this text. I hope to be as successful in my teaching career as Mr. Kowis has obviously been. Teaching is not only to be educational, but it is a God given calling to support others through life!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Engaging College Students: A Fun and Edgy Guide for Professors []  2020-7-30 18:25

    This was an perfect book that I offered a lot of unbelievable hints about how to hold college students engaged. I will definitely implement a lot of of the suggestions presented in this book. It was definitely an inspiration to see and read all of the positive and even the negative comments that students had about this course that the author taught. I would definitely recommend this book to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers of America: George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson (7-Books Box Set Book 1) []  2020-2-4 3:44

    I found this book to be very well written, informative and interesting. I recommend this book to all who wish to know more about our government, history and formulation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers: A Captivating Guide to Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Jay, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and James Monroe []  2019-12-18 20:19

    I really have fun reading this book. Any patriotic American should read this book because it explains the philosophical ideals of these Founding Fathers and where they stood. It is something we should go back to and learn from. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers: A Captivating Guide to Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Jay, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and James Monroe []  2019-12-18 20:19

    I highly recommend this set of reads about the fathers of our country and their thoughts and plans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Steps to College Success: Learning Strategies for STEM Students []  2020-1-23 2:39

    As a student athlete, it is difficult to search a healthy balance between academics and athletics. When it came to finding fresh techniques and tactics to support me manage my time, reduce stress, and improve my academic performance I had tried everything. There was no planning or tactic when it came to my studies, simply because I was holding on to the same study methods from high school. My study habits in high school were amazing enough to earn decent grades, so I assumed college would be the same. The first couple years of college went fine academically but it came at a very high cost. The sleepless nights, not good nutrition and unhealthy energy drinks were really starting run their course. As a student- athlete every second counts. I quickly found myself spending more time trying to recover from the sleepless nights and not good nutrition than the time I spent actually studying. My study habits worked for a short period of time but were very ineffective for long-term memory. As I progressed in my collegiate career, classes became more difficult and my grades became worse. Six Steps to College Success has helped me in a lot of aspects such as sleep, nutrition, time management, distractions, motivation and tactics to study. The lessons I have learned from reading this book have allowed me to live a more efficient life both inside and outside the classroom. This book helped me reduce my study time and improve my scores on exams, quizzes, and homework. A lot of students work harder not smarter but by applying the tactics that this book teaches, you are able to achieve more for less. The book is a super simple read and the techniques are very simple to follow. My favorite part of this book is step three because it taught me that I did not know how to take notes! I am the type of student who writes down every word the professor says, now this is not a poor thing but it will cause you to spend more energy and time than needed. Step three also teaches you how to place your notes into category charts, for me this was the golden ticket. Learning how to effectively use category charts helped reduce the time I spent looking at my notes. It has also helped me convert the info from short term to long-term memory. Before Six Steps to College success I was a student that had lost all hope. If I had to describe this book in one word, that word would be HOPE because that is exactly what this book has provided for me. Regardless of where you are in your academic career, each class will require a various way of studying but this book has left nothing out. Stop settling for average because this book comes equipped with everything you need to achieve success at the highest level. Six Steps to College Success is by far the best tool a college student can invest in. As college students we spend on things that will not return us much for our investment, but I can assure you Six Steps to College Success will be the best investment in your future. This book has forever changed my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students []  2020-6-10 20:4

    Amazing information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making the Most of College: Students Speak Their Minds []  2020-7-24 18:26

    There is a lot of amazing information and tip from other students to incoming freshman (and also transfer students, since community college is structured quite differently from a four-year institution). Occasionally, the author wanders into a policy discussion meant for professors, advisors, and administrators. Overall, there is a lot of info here that students might not think about on their own - such as how to make amazing relationshiops with professors and advisors and how to search a mentor.I would especially recommend this book for any first generation college students like myself (I'm actually entering grad school, but was able to extrapolate the important information to my situation). If you are the first in your family to attend college, there are so a lot of things your family cannot advise you on or even create you aware of, since they haven't experienced it for themselves. I didn't realize this until long after my undergrad program and it would have been helpful to know these things before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making the Most of College: Students Speak Their Minds []  2020-7-24 18:26

    I think this book should be needed reading for every higher education faculty member, department head or manager. You will learn things from students that you never would have thought of asking. It's a look from the student's perspective. Very informative and interesting. You will learn how to be a better teacher/advisor/mentor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making the Most of College: Students Speak Their Minds []  2020-7-24 18:26

    Purchased for a specific class, this was actually a very informative book. I'm glad the instructor needed it and that I actually read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Engaging College Students: A Fun and Edgy Guide for Professors []  2020-7-30 18:25

    This is a fast read and enjoyable. I appreciate the authors willingness to share his tips. Some are a bit obvious, if you have taken any type of pedagogy course. Telling people not to fart on students, should be quite obvious. For those who are first time teachers or those needing a reminder this could be a useful text. For those who work with higher education and are involved in teaching pedagogy and evaluation, this won't add much information. However, it does provide evidence of the importance of student engagement and it is necessary lesson from this book is that teachers do need to hold up with the changing times and be proactive with their own teaching and learning. While I don't agree with everything as there are some gendered problems with some of what he writes (female professors are evaluated differently than males so swearing, wearing zany hats, and singing and dancing may not be the best choices for female instructors), there are some amazing reminders. Story telling, using names, and being energetic are amazing examples of what to do, as are correcting students, using relevant and timely examples, and encouraging is is a amazing text for a newer teacher, but be cautious as gender identity and class demographics will also play an necessary role in how you teach.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Engaging College Students: A Fun and Edgy Guide for Professors []  2020-7-30 18:25

    Book had a few amazing pointers, but too edgy for me. Not how I would prefer to instruct.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Steps to College Success: Learning Strategies for STEM Students []  2020-1-23 2:39

    Six Steps to College Success is related to a six-week workout regimen. If you are consistent and follow it closely, you will see long-lasting results. Six Steps is encouraging yet convicting. As I read it, I saw that there were a lot of things that I was doing correctly and provided me with ways I could improve on them. On the other side, I was convicted of different habits and thought processes that were unproductive and flat-out wrong. Some of them I knew were poor habits; others I was surprised to search out were not so good. Just like any workout plan, it is rough in the beginning as you see what all you have to work on but it is encouraging when you start to see results. With this book the results can be felt sooner rather than is book covers basically every common hindrance faced by college and even graduate students. Are you a worrier? There is a section on that. Procrastinator? They cover that too! Different note-taking types, which type of note is best for what course material, ways to improve your notes, and managing your schedule are all covered in depth in this valuable is not a powerful enough descriptor for this book. Parents, this is a excellent graduation bonus for your kids and will support ensure success. Students, skip the McDonalds for a while and this book. Your GPA and your future self will thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Steps to College Success: Learning Strategies for STEM Students []  2020-1-23 2:39

    This book is a useful and practical resource for college students. The methods detailed in the book support focus student’s study and learning practices. The authors are extremely knowledgeable and credible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Analytical Writing: For College Students and GRE/GMAT Test Takers []  2019-12-23 19:59

    It doesn’t contain sample essays, defeating the purpose of practicing writing. It does contain skimp overview of the general subject categories

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get into Any College: Secrets of Harvard Students []  2019-12-24 19:18

    Very amazing for when you're stuck on your essay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    College for Students with Disabilities: We Do Belong []  2019-12-18 20:52

    College students have a LOT to read already with the needed reading lists for their classes. Yes, I know this from first hand experiences. But this is a book they will wish to voluntarily read. It is first hand experiences (written in first person format) of people with disabilities who attend college. Instead of attending college at only a 'special' number of campuses, the people in this book applied to and are in school at institutions across the country. They are successful because they do learn how to resolve challenges--which are openly described in the book Being able to navigate resources and get a higher education degree is essential training for when these students apply for a career. The employers will expect them to also advocate for themselves. I had to largely figure out how to do this advocacy on my own, but this book is a amazing 'guide' to support a transitioning high schooler who wants to attend college.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Engaging College Students: A Fun and Edgy Guide for Professors []  2020-7-30 18:25

    This was a dreadful book. Full of ridiculous ideas and not good language. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. Doesn’t even deserve one star.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making the Most of College: Students Speak Their Minds []  2020-7-24 18:26

    If you are interested in this book, check out the hard-cover edition which is available both fresh and used for substantially less than the paperback.I was introduced to this book by a mate who is heavily involved in undergraduate advising. I had not heard of Prof. Light or of this work previously, and I wonder whether it is less widely known than it deserves to e title and cover of the book are a bit misleading. It could easily be mistaken for a self-help book and/or a book that covers a wide spectrum of college environments. For this, I fault the publisher rather than the author. Readers who come to it expecting one of the above will indeed search it lacking. It assumes students are motivated and goes from there. If you're looking for a book to provide motivation, this is not e book in fact presents the results of ten years' research, primarily around Harvard undergraduates. To understand the context fully, one should read the first item of back matter, "The Assessment", first. There has been some attempt to generalize by involving faculty from 25 other institutions (which are neither named nor characterized), but the true focus is on ere are amazing reasons for this. Harvard is a very selective place, and its administration has both the wherewithal and the motivation to create every student's experience as rich as possible in the full knowledge that for every student who disengages, there were ten other equally qualified applicants for whom there was not room. Thus, Harvard funded the study, the results are particularly applicable to it, and its own press published it. It is unrealistic to carp that the book wasn't about something who should be reading this book? Sadly enough, it should most be read by those Harvard faculty members who are not particularly interested in developing undergraduates to see what they're missing. Perhaps Harvard's recently-launched initiative in excellence in teaching will help; the question of advising remains murkier. Academic staff anywhere who aspire to do a better job in helping their students begin their adult lives are bound to search useful perspectives and practical nuggets. I think the book will be mostly lost on undergraduates; I wouldn't have understood it then, much as it might have been useful. Parents of high-potential college students might search it helpful in understanding what their kids are going through, but to use it as a tutorial to advising their parentally-resistant (or, worse, parentally-dominated) offspring may be unproductive. Using it in a peer-advising context is a waste of time, as you can see from other reviews. I suspect there are amazing nuggets here for secondary school educators as is book makes an interesting contrast with the more latest book, "Excellence Without a Soul" by Harry Lewis, who was the Dean of Harvard College during the time Light was finishing this book. Lewis's book reflects private opinions on the same problems (and more); its underpinnings are based on his own experiences rather than the extensive interviewing process Light uses. Taking the two together provides even better insights than either dness: Among his a lot of detailed points, Light talks (sometimes through the students) of the importance - and difficulty - of clear exposition in reporting on scientific research and of the value of evidence-based discourse, and this book provides an exemplar of both. The book is not massive on theory with consequent bulky endnotes, and the bibliography is of reasonable size.Quibbles: Light intermixes Harvard-specific terminology (e.g., proctor) with more generic equivalents (e.g., dorm supervisor) without making the connection for the reader. He presents most of his dilemmas from the viewpoint of a student in the social sciences, which are somewhat various from those encountered by students in the humanities or - especially - the natural sciences. There is so small indentation in the extended quotes from the students that it is sometimes hard to tell whose voice is speaking. The inner margins in both the hardcover and the paperback are so tight that it's hard to read without breaking the spine. And the editing could have been a bit e above could easily reduce my rating by a star, but on balance I think the importance of the work and the clarity (if occasionally redundant) of the exposition overcome these. Perhaps I should say five stars if your desired frame of reference is a selective, research university, and four stars otherwise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making the Most of College: Students Speak Their Minds []  2020-7-24 18:26

    A resource book delivered in an expeditious manner, Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students []  2020-6-10 20:4

    This was an impulse for me, as a college student at barely 4 weeks pregnant. I wish to obtain my degree in Biochemical Engineering and eventually a Master's, and I couldn't imagine giving birth to and raising a kid while going to school. I read through most of the book but I knew if I was keeping the baby I was keeping it, so some of the items on adoption and other options weren't applicable. I seriously read over the abortion options. In the end I decided that I couldn't abort. It's the baby of my fiance, and I decided I would definitely regret it. I don't know if the book swayed me either method on the does have a list of baby essentials for cash-strapped newbie moms, and tells you what stuff you really can wait on, which I'm going to consult again after these 9 months are almost over because I'm a student and had to quit my job recently to continue school. I am still scared about the lack of so anything I can do to safely chop costs, I has several anecdotes from teenage/college-going mothers. It doesn't give much info you couldn't search on the Internet, but it is a little comfort if you've just barely found out that you're unexpectedly pregnant and scared.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students []  2020-6-10 20:4

    What am I going to do? What is my family going to think? What will my boyfriend think? What will he do?These are just a few of the a lot of questions that might go through the mind of a teenage female (soon to be woman) that discovers that she is or might be pregnant. Unfortunately, if the try proves positive, her life as she knew it ends and those private questions become extremely important. Not only will she be bombarded with emotional stress but financial stress to supply healthcare and help for a `new edition' to the world. Within such a short amount of time, a young woman is forced to create life-changing decisions at a time she is extremely emotional and least equipped to do so. What on Earth could lighten the load for a young woman who has suddenly found herself with this seemingly unbearable responsibility?The respond to this question, in my opinion, is the following. "Educate yourself. Create a plan. Take action." Author Dorrie Williams-Wheeler has written "The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students" for exactly this purpose."The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students" is less than 120 pages, however, it is an encyclopedia of information. It could serve as the OnStar© for any young woman who has become lost in the wilderness of unplanned pregnancy. Its tip provides them something they don't always know they nfusion without hope becomes destruction. This book provides hope. Not only is it packed with info on adoption, safe haven laws, paternity testing, financial assistance and valuable phone numbers and web resources, it includes stories of young women who have been in the same situation. It includes stories, from young women who've been in those shoes, who were still able to forge ahead. These stories reassure young women that they are not alone and that they are not the spirit of the author, I believe I can say that no young woman wants to search herself in this situation. It is a situation that people want not to discuss until they are faced with it. I will also go further to say that you might not need this book on your bookshelf...however, I would not necessarily recommend you this book for yourself. Those in need of it are probably not thinking "Is there a book out there for me?" Nevertheless, I guarantee you that within the latest 5 years, or maybe even now, you've known a young woman who desperately required this book. What these young women need is education and help and this book more than provides this for them. Buy it for them...because for them, it is essential , Dorrie Williams-Wheeler, holds a Masters of Science of Education degree from Southern Illinois by Robert Denson IIIManaging Editor of Sunpiper Press

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students []  2020-6-10 20:4

    The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students is an perfect resource for young parents-to-be. Williams-Wheeler has compiled a step-by-step tutorial so an individual can formulate a course of action and gain insight into their purpose in life. The chapters are detailed and a non-judgmental description of all the options available. Particular attention is given to determining if you are actually pregnant, how to have conversations with parents and boyfriend/child's father, what to expect during the pregnancy, parental assistance programs, what will the baby need, the 411 on abortion, adoption, future contraception, and an extensive resource section with addresses, telephone numbers and internet addresses.Williams-Wheeler has taken the time to develop a resource that will enlighten lives and encourage young people. It is written in simple to read language and organized to respond the questions young parents may have. She first-hand stories and testimonies from teens and young adults who found themselves in related situations. There is also a section with questions to stimulate conversation and activities to be used in conjunction with the reading. This is a superb resource for every high school counselor, youth group advisor, or organization that works with ed by M. Bruner for Loose Leaves Book Review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Steps to College Success: Learning Strategies for STEM Students []  2020-1-23 2:39

    This book would have meant so much to me when I was a classroom teacher! It provides all of the structure required to scaffold our students in the tactics and habits that are required for academic success. The impressive dozens of research that has gone into this book is place forth in a straightforward and user-friendly way. The online ver provides a lot of hyperlinks to references and resources. Straker and Kelman suggest a lot of useful apps as rents of middle school and high school students can use this book for justification and credibility in the study expectations that they set up in the home. "Look, kid. The research is there for what I am telling you! "Teachers and professors can use this book for study skills curriculum. This should be needed curriculum for freshmen in high school and college. College students who wish to succeed can teach themselves from this book if they use it as instructed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Steps to College Success: Learning Strategies for STEM Students []  2020-1-23 2:39

    I really, really want I had had Six Steps to College Success in college. It would have created a huge difference in my use of time, the effectiveness of my studying, and of course my grades. Every bit of tip in this book makes a lot of sense, and it's all backed up with research. If you know anyone heading for college, or struggling now, obtain this book for them , in my professional life, I have found several of the hints to be helpful. Even the easy process called 20-20-20 that's suggested in this book helps: look at something 20 feet away for 20 seconds every 20 minutes. This keeps me alert and feeling better as the day goes by. So if you Six Steps for a student, check it out first for yourself before you hand it over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making the Most of College: Students Speak Their Minds []  2020-7-24 18:26

    As an admission officer for a selective liberal arts college, I know I am biased about this subject, but this truly is a amazing book offering insights about an effective four year college essor Light does an perfect job of weaving a tapestry of tales from college students about the seminal happenings of their collegiate experiences. Having just read the Android game of Life and The Shape of the River which were primarily statistical analyses, the first hand acc style was both new and simple to comprehend (although some empirical data would have been nice).The chapters on interaction with faculty are problably the most useful for families and prospective students, while the final chapters on diversity are most applicable to colleges themselves. Of course what other colleges have the ability to shape a diverse class like Harvard? Some of the ideas presented are amazing for schools who are 20-30% udents and families who take the key lessons from this book to heart and utilize it when selecting a college will search an institution that will be value-added and will create a difference in the student's life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making the Most of College: Students Speak Their Minds []  2020-7-24 18:26

    Assigned for a class in my Master's degree program. Came in perfect condition. Mostly interesting, a small long; some parts I skipped over because the stories were repetitive, but it did provide some valid points and I liked the incorporation of student and professional stories/points-of-view.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making the Most of College: Students Speak Their Minds []  2020-7-24 18:26

    Well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Engaging College Students: A Fun and Edgy Guide for Professors []  2020-7-30 18:25

    Insipid. Don’t waste your or time on this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Engaging College Students: A Fun and Edgy Guide for Professors []  2020-7-30 18:25

    A lot of years ago, I taught statistics in a university setting. After working in corporate America for the latest 16 years, I've decided to pursue my first love again. In that amount of time, technology has created amazing advancements and I wanted to obtain an idea of what has changed in the classroom. I like to be fun and edgy so I thought the title looked appropriate. The author was very boastful and included LOTS of comments from student evaluations that lauded his demeanor and approach. He apparently is a stand up comedian in the classroom and I wonder how much learning is happening. He even talks about intentionally farting on a student - yikes. However, there were a few tidbits that were take-aways, the book isn't completely without merit. I would recommend finding another title though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students []  2020-6-10 20:4

    This book has amazing info and will be a amazing addition to our counseling library. Thanks for providing it at a reasonable cost.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers: A Captivating Guide to Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Jay, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and James Monroe []  2019-12-18 20:19

    I’m a fresh fan to the series. These books are simple to read. Chapters are short and would be simple to use with middle school or older students. I did learn more about the founding fathers that I haven’t read or heard of before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers: A Captivating Guide to Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Jay, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and James Monroe []  2019-12-18 20:19

    A amazing compliation. All you need to know and when we knew it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers of America: George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson (7-Books Box Set Book 1) []  2020-2-4 3:44

    Another gem from a unbelievable rred a small by a need for some more careful editing here and there to correct a few grammatical errors and though it's touched on a small - some more explanation of the tyranny of distance in those times when dealing internationally would be me Americans may already know - but there is no explanation of how/why the 13 colonies in early 'America' developed and were e 13 just seemed to evolve - so some explanation of how they originated and then became united would add to the overall picture of the times ...?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers of America: George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson (7-Books Box Set Book 1) []  2020-2-4 3:44

    If you are interested in knowing what these Founding Fathers went through during their time to make this country, this is the book for you! I loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers: A Captivating Guide to Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Jay, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and James Monroe []  2019-12-18 20:19

    This is an perfect overview of the founding fathers of our nation. This could very well be used in an Early American rough all of the various personalities involved & their differences the ultimate effect was a powerful foundation was laid to create America the greatest country on eat info contained within the pages as well as an exhaustive list of is may be the best knowledge that Captivating History has produced!!!KUDOS !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers: A Captivating Guide to Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Jay, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and James Monroe []  2019-12-18 20:19

    Another amazing bundle, I like the bundles, you obtain a amazing read and a amazing deal. As always a amazing read, very insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers of America: George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson (7-Books Box Set Book 1) []  2020-2-4 3:44

    Hourly History is one of the amazing bonuses available on the internet. Today, Hourly History is giving away five simple to read history books, books that can be read within an hour. They are simple to read. Reading Hourly History books is like attending a history course in college, but it is more fun. In this book, for example, we learn about the legendary figures of America, seven of them. Seven who formed the United States. People like George Washington and Benjamin Franklin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers of America: George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson (7-Books Box Set Book 1) []  2020-2-4 3:44

    We are surprised in reading this that George Washington does in fact need an introduction. We mislead ourselves into thinking that whatever we required to learn about him we learned in school. Not so. Read. This. Book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Steps to College Success: Learning Strategies for STEM Students []  2020-1-23 2:39

    A amazing list of guidelines for fresh college students. I liked the format. I didn’t need all the Bibliography except at the very end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Steps to College Success: Learning Strategies for STEM Students []  2020-1-23 2:39

    I was satisfied to add Six Steps to College Success: Learning Tactics for STEM Students to my collection of professional educational books. STEM is a an acronym referring to the academic disciplines of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The idea is that the success of students in the four locations of STEM is linked to the future success of the United States, which has placed more emphasis on the four locations of achievement for students. As an educator, classes are offered to train teachers in promoting these four locations of education and integrating them into all fields of study. Six Steps to College Success: Learning Tactics for STEM Students gives college level students guidelines to increase success in the four fields of thanks to Kathleen Straker, author and to Goodreads First Reads Giveaway for my copy of Six Steps to College Success: Learning Tactics for STEM Students that I won and plan to share with my best friend's four sons going to college in the fall.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Six Steps to College Success: Learning Strategies for STEM Students []  2020-1-23 2:39

    This book was not only a amazing read but it is a tool to propel your success as a college student. It is an interactive book that gives you hints and guidelines on how to create your day and studying as effective as possible. I have been using this book and it has truly assisted me with my productivity and even motivated me to continue on when topic locations were difficult. There are also tactics to support combat try anxiety and how to properly balance your life. Overall, I recommend this book to any collegiate student but especially a student in STEM!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Miracle Morning for College Students Companion Planner []  2019-12-23 19:28

    I found this helpful to apply what I learned in the Miracle Morning series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unplanned Pregnancy Book for Teens and College Students []  2020-6-10 20:4

    I bought this book thinking it was more of a pregnancy tutorial for my teenage daughter. What it turned out to be was more of a reference tutorial for things like adoption, abortion and abandonment. It had a few short private stories for each section. Definately not a book for a teen who plans to hold her baby.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Making the Most of College: Students Speak Their Minds []  2020-7-24 18:26

    It is hard to characterize this book without using cliches:A must read, should be on every college professor's bookshelf, should be needed reading. But these are all real for this book. In easy terms, Light's research as summarized in this highly readable book provides the much required substance to unite academic and student affairs in a method that will let professors and administrators to IMPROVE STUDENT LEARNING AND COLLEGE SUCCESS.About 12-15 years ago I attended a workshop by Dr. Light and it changed my professorial life. Now as a dean, I am going to test to search a method to a copy of this book for every faculty member in my college.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Engaging College Students: A Fun and Edgy Guide for Professors []  2020-7-30 18:25

    I was hoping to search some new ideas and examples on student engagement and engaged learning. This was, instead, a list of "pro tips" from a famous professor that focuses primarily on how to infuse a small more personality and humor into your classroom persona. It's not that the tip is poor (be funny, learn student names) although some of his 'edgy' items seems a small odd (wear funny hats; don't fart in class as a source of humor). But it isn't very substantive. He's spot on about using engaging examples and drawing from the true world, and he clearly has some worthwhile tip to pass on. But I'm not sure this is a book's worth of material and I was disappointed that there is not more here I'll be able to use next term.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Engaging College Students: A Fun and Edgy Guide for Professors []  2020-7-30 18:25

    Funny

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Engaging College Students: A Fun and Edgy Guide for Professors []  2020-7-30 18:25

    There is definitely some valuable info here. I'm not saying I either agree nor disagree with his more risque tip but I know for a fact if I did half of the items he suggests doing I'd be fired for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers: A Captivating Guide to Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Jay, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and James Monroe []  2019-12-18 20:19

    I'm really enjoying this book. It really gives you a better understanding of the values and goals of our founding fathers as individuals and they're relationships with each other. Like I knew that all these men had met and signed the declaration of independence but I didn't understand how much debate and negotiation went into the document.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers of America: George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson (7-Books Box Set Book 1) []  2020-2-4 3:44

    This book is terrific! The Founding Fathers biographies are well covered and their contributions to our country are described in detail. I learned a LOT about them and their times. I did keep a copy of the book, my review is independent of that. This is a very amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers of America: George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson (7-Books Box Set Book 1) []  2020-2-4 3:44

    A unbelievable overview of our founders the constitution,wars,expansion of the government and land

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers of America: George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson (7-Books Box Set Book 1) []  2020-2-4 3:44

    This and your book on the Battle of 1812 were both enjoyable and informative. This one could stand a small proof-reading. Lots of amazing info in both books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers: A Captivating Guide to Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Jay, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and James Monroe []  2019-12-18 20:19

    Can’t wait to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers: A Captivating Guide to Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Jay, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and James Monroe []  2019-12-18 20:19

    Informative book about our founding fathers. Definitely recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers of America: George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson (7-Books Box Set Book 1) []  2020-2-4 3:44

    I love to read about our American history and this is one of the best. I loved the complete history of each Founding eir life from beginning to end, their loves, dislikes, political beliefs, things that influenced their eat book, thank you for taking the time to research them and write this eat read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Founding Fathers of America: George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson (7-Books Box Set Book 1) []  2020-2-4 3:44

    I love these history in one hour books. They aren't full of surplus unimportant stuff: Just the significant facts. I'm learning a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    America's Best Colleges for B Students: A College Guide for Students Without Straight A's []  2020-1-10 18:45

    This tutorial hope to the less accomplished students that there are colleges which will not only accept them but also be satisfied to have them. These colleges are academically challenging but a nurturing environment within which the student's success is important.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    America's Best Colleges for B Students: A College Guide for Students Without Straight A's []  2020-1-10 18:45

    If you have a kid who is worried about getting into college due to not good grades then this is a amazing book to begin with. It is an simple read written to the student and reads a bit like a pep talk of "You Can Do It!". I especially like how the author poses question after question to really obtain the student thinking about what type of college will be the best match for them and emphasizes that it is never too late to improve your grades or learn a skill required to obtain into college (ie. how to write the essays). I sure want someone had asked me these questions and told me what to expect as I was making my college choices! I am very glad that the impact of learning disabilities is at least brought up in this book and that supportive services are listed for each school since LDs are often a cause for not being a straight A student. The largest downside to this book is that it is full of ideas but does not contain specific info for implementing a lot of of those ideas. I really want the chapter on scholarships for B students had been more indepth. I read the recent edition (3rd) and it is a book to begin with as you start your journey to choosing a college.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    America's Best Colleges for B Students: A College Guide for Students Without Straight A's []  2020-1-10 18:45

    Is this author serious? Does she really think a college or university whee I must full freight for should a return of 50% as a graduation rate? I don't think so. And, I'm quite sure that Christian and Catholic institutions of higher learning are not the only schools that accept "B" lly me, as I should have heeded the warnings of previous reviewers. What a waste of two hours of my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    America's Best Colleges for B Students: A College Guide for Students Without Straight A's []  2020-1-10 18:45

    I use this book all the time. Every time someone tells me about a college, I begin this book up and obtain tins of information. It's a gem. Price, population, city, school info. It's a must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    America's Best Colleges for B Students: A College Guide for Students Without Straight A's []  2020-1-10 18:45

    Book happy what we were looking for. Extremely happy with the EXCELLENT condition considering how very small it cost.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    America's Best Colleges for B Students: A College Guide for Students Without Straight A's []  2020-1-10 18:45

    This product I purchased as a bonus for someone; I reviewed the content and noticed a wide range of info it had listed. The receiver of this bonus didn't expressed the benefits he received from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    America's Best Colleges for B Students: A College Guide for Students Without Straight A's []  2020-1-10 18:45

    I am a college counselor, and I was fast to this book, for I anticipated that it would be helpful in helping my 12th graders looking for non traditional approaches to some over looked colleges. It is far from that. When one looks at some locally placed colleges in Illinois, the book refers to DePaul, Loyola Chicago, and Bradley. While there are students with B's on their transcripts attending these schools, these students also scored within a high 20 to mid 20 on their tests, and I am certain that they have 3.o plus gpas.I guess my major difficulty with the book is that is doesn't deliver what the title promises. It promises info regarding school for "B" students. I don't think it did that well at far as the info provided, it is accurate, correct and quite comprehensively delivered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    America's Best Colleges for B Students: A College Guide for Students Without Straight A's []  2020-1-10 18:45

    I feel that this tutorial might be misnamed. B students at powerful schools where most of the students are college-bound probably could go to "more reputable" schools than the ones listed here. Not that reputation is necessary in itself, but one thing that's usually real is that a school that is hard to obtain into will (usually) have students who have better study habits, and your child's peers have a lot more influence over how seriously he or she takes his/her education than beautiful much anything. For the most part, I think a B-minus or C student could have more luck with this tutorial than a solid B ever, there is a better tutorial for the "mid-range" student called Finding The College That's Right For You by John Palladino. (Again, probably most appropriate for students with an average lower than a powerful B to C+ or C) It's much, much more thorough than this title and defends its reasons for choosing the colleges it recommends very well. This book (Tamara Orr's) is very spotty when it comes to discussing the individual schools. Some of the entries (such as Auburn's) are informative while others are too short and unhelpful.I think Orr's book can be useful. For students who are not secure about their chances of getting into college at all, who are scared they'll fail out of college, or who just don't wish to go, this book some confidence boosting tip in the front section. Also, while this book contains a few schools that are well-established as amazing choices for students who need nurturing as well as amazing enough for A students(such as Eckerd, Goucher, Agnes Scott, Guilford), most of the schools are ones that aren't listed in the other guides. Therefore, it can be a supplement to Finding The College That's Right For You or Colleges That Change Lives by Loren Pope.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    America's Best Colleges for B Students: A College Guide for Students Without Straight A's []  2020-1-10 18:45

    When searching for "the best" college fit, getting info from several sources can be very helpful. This book, "America's Best Colleges for B Students," is an perfect addition for anyone gathering college information. The book a large list of colleges and their individual profiles--a amazing put to start in comparing what each of them has to offer. A lot of young adults do not have enough help or resources making the college find overwhelming. Solid step-by-step tip on finding help and resources are given throughout the first part of the book. The author also gives encouraging words and hints that are particularly helpful and essential to getting the college process started and moving forward. Anyone can look up college info online or obtain a list of colleges in a book. This book much more!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386