Read journey through the wall reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all journey through the wall reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Wall: A Journey Through China []  2020-6-27 18:53

    This is now an old book, but it is still worth reading. Thubron travels third class, speaks Mandarin Chinese, and reports random conversations with locals that segue into illustrations of the Chinese history, philosophy, and 20th century concerns that Thubron knows so well. I have travelled in China and read several books about the country. This added to my knowledge, and yet it could be an introduction to this proud, sophisticated, influential, and very, very foreign country. It also can be read as pure escape. Escaping with Thubron is one of life's amazing pleasures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Wall: A Journey Through China []  2020-6-27 18:53

    Well done travelogue, Thubron is a unbelievable story teller, and I have yet to be disappointed in my purchases of his travel tales. The history he gives us about his journeys is fascinating too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Wall: A Journey Through China []  2020-6-27 18:53

    Missing pages spoilt my fun

    0  


    Add your opinion on journey through the wall or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Wall: A Journey Through China []  2020-6-27 18:53

    Colin Thubron is one of th best ever english language travel writers. I have read all of his books and this is the latest one that I have read. Having never been to China this book gave me some insights into the land and its I too wish to travel in China and maybe learn some mandarin to create the trip more enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Wall: A Journey Through China []  2020-6-27 18:53

    Stifling heat, numbing cold. Desolate nowhere-scapes and their abandoned, scarred inhabitants. Endless discomfort both physical and psychological. Abject Loss. It’s a amazing read, but… Depressing. -s.s.x.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Wall: A Journey Through China []  2020-6-27 18:53

    What differentiates the travel writer from the tourist is not merely an eye for detail. It is also a willingness and humility to accept and appreciate the new, unusual or strange. And what elevates the accounts of a traveller is an ability - such as in this case - to express and explain this alien globe eloquently with words that sparkle. (When talking about a woman who lives in an imaginary globe of an opera diva, Colin Thubron describes her situation as "the narcissism of the emotionally deprived." In another passage, when a bunch of villagers stare at him as the first foreigner they had perhaps set eyes upon, he visualises how he would look in the eyes of the locals. "To this trim, slender people we could seem a waxwork collection of coarse and distorted variety, barbarically, often luridly fat or tall, and created up as if life were a Beijing opera...") This is my first book of travel by Colin Thubron and I would rank it among the very best in this all perceptive and insightful travellers, Thubron observes people with an begin mind with unfailing empathy. He makes use also of the infrequent opportunities "when someone would talk more intimately [with a stranger] than with one of his own." The China he witnesses during his treks is also so palpable, he is afraid towards the end that he may have become indifferent to the country's poverty and harshness and its "terrible obediences".Colin Thubron is in essence like a literary artist who also happens to travel and has the felicity to write about his peregrinations in language that at times verges on the lyrical. I read somewhere that Thubron is a descendent of John Dryden. Dryden's poetic genes are more than evident in this mittedly, the book was first published in 1987. Hence, China has admittedly changed in some aspects since then. However, when the book has such amazing literary merits, this lack of contemporaneity does not seem to matter so much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Wall: A Journey Through China []  2020-6-27 18:53

    I have a deep interest in China. I'm studying spoken Chinese, I read almost every book I can search about 20th Century China, I plan to visit within the next 5 years. But this author's writing is almost indecipherable to is just one example paragraph; nearly every page has one like it. (From page 73): "Where the Amazing Wall joined the town parapets, they erupted into a temple-crowned gateway blazoned 'The First Pass Under Heaven'. Once it guarded the battle-scarred street to Manchuria, and as I climbed it an angled outwork rose still formidable into view, and a half-emptied moat soggy with rice and cabbages. To the south the Wall lunged toward the sea through hovels where white-haired piglets scampered; here and there the villagers had burrowed their method clean through it, or stripped off its bricks three deep to expose a stupendous core of rubble. But to the north, after stumbling brokenly over the plain, the creature lifted bastion upon bastion into the hills, zigzagged along razor peaks and plunging declivities, scaled the furthest precipices in a megalomaniac sliver and disappeared into cloud-patterned mountains."I consider myself an educated person but I cannot create heads or tails of this description. He loses me with misplaced clauses and unnecessarily complicated words and I start to wonder if I'm the problem, since 'The Times' ranked him 45th of the 50 greatest postwar British writers.If you understand and appreciate writing like the paragraph above, send me your address and you can have my book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Wall: A Journey Through China []  2020-6-27 18:53

    Colin Thubron is one of the most prominent living travel authors and his journeys through Asia are justly praised by fans of the genre. He has a peculiar approach to travel writing, by generally going to one country only and then trying to visit as much of it as possible while talking to the maximum amount of people, unlike for example Paul Theroux, who generally writes about travel across a lot of societies. In this book, "Behind the Wall", Thubron takes us on a tour of China, and then I really mean all of China (except Tibet and Manchuria), as it was when he visited it in e effect is an interesting overview of Chinese society as it was just opening up to foreigners after the long periods of battle and revolution. Thubron was by no means the first tourist to do a tour of China since 1949, but he did travel when European tourists were very rare and limited to expensive pack deals and the corresponding upper class environment, be it by Chinese standards. He studiously avoids following in their footsteps, and instead tries to take the cheaper hostels, the lower class train carriages and so forth in order to obtain an impression of true Chinese society as the Chinese experienced it. The degree to which one can do this as a total outsider is still always limited of course, and as any anthropologist knows the very act of being an observant as a stranger can and will change people's behavior. Nonetheless, the rarity of a white foreigner in the locations Thubron goes greatly aids him in conversing with a number of random Chinese he meets, and this leads to some interesting conversations and amazing insight into the diversity of the Chinese peoples as such, 'even' under ubron has been particularly praised for his amazing descriptive writing with regard to locations and landscapes, and this is fully borne out in the book. He manages to be almost poetic about a lot of of the remarkable websites he visits without either sounding over the top or like a travel brochure, which is quite a feat. His somewhat cynical detachment from the actual society probably helps in that regard. Nonetheless, this can obtain quite irritating too. Even though the year is 1987, he insists on asking every single person about the Cultural Revolution, obviously fishing for horror stories - and when a not good farmer tells him the Cultural Revolution for him meant an improvement, he simply refuses to believe it. Generally Thubron seems remarkably hostile to the society he is travelling in, not just politically, but also with regard to culture and habits. He is duly impressed by China's history and architecture, but seems to search most Chinese people he meets easily boring and backwards, and even helpful officials lazy and corrupt. There is probably some truth in this, in both the culture shock and the political cynicism, but it does create Thubron seem like a closed-minded conservative diplomat sent to some outpost of faded glory and not good manners.Overall though, the book includes sufficient memorable descriptions of both popular and less familiar locations and websites in China to create it easily worth the read. One could object that sometimes Thubron is so selective in what provides his inspiration that a lot of a huge town or 500 km trip passes by without much description, but he can be forgiven for this by the rule that a writer should be allowed to use only that raw material he can work with. And when he does it, he does it well. Much has changed in China since "Behind the Wall", and foreign travel will now not be so remarkable and lead to such friendly bemused responses among the Chinese as in those days, but perhaps for just that reason this book is a amazing portrait of a China that is past.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Wall: A Journey Through China []  2020-6-27 18:53

    I test to read as much as I can about China, and Mr. Thubron's treatment (nicely updated in his latest 'Shadows of the Silk road) is the best I've read. More serious than Tag Salzman, more fluent than Rob Gifford's latest book, more interesting than Peter Hessler, and more insightful than Paul Theroux or Simon Winchester -- fine writers all, but none quite capture the put the method Thubron did. Most of these books cover the same themes, but this is the only one I want had been longer.Of the a lot of people he meets and talks to on his journey, the story that sticks longest in my mind is of the statuesque young bride of an American he meets while visiting a cave. He paints a portrait of an absolutely indominatable woman, noting that her husband "didn't stand much of a chance." But the unexpected end of the encounter shows what a masterful writer he is.If you can't read everything about China -- and who can? -- place this on your short list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Wall: A Journey Through China []  2020-6-27 18:53

    ONE OF THE REVIEWERS DESCRIBED THIS AUTHOR AS A CLOSED MIND CONSERVATIVE ,THIS MADE ME TO PURCHASETHIS BOOK INMEDIATELYTHIS BOOK IS SET IN CHINA IN 1987, ELEVEN YEARS AFTER THE DEATH OF MAO, WHO ALONGSIDE WITH STALIN ANDPOL POT STAND AS THE GREATEST MASS MURDERERS OF THE TWENTY E AUTHOR GIVES A DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE COUNTRY AND ITS PEOPLE , EMERGING FROM THE MADNESSOF THE CULTURAL REVOLUTION.I SPECIALLY LIKE THE CHAPTER ON CONFUCIUS,WHO HAS BEEN RIGHTLY RESTORED,WHILE MAO HAS BEEN THROWN IN THE DUSTBIN OF HISTORY,ALONGSIDE ALL THE COMMUNIST GARBAGE.OTHER BOOKS BY COLIN THUBRON:1) SHADOW OF THE SILK ROAD2)TO A MOUNTAIN IN TIBET3) AMONG THE RUSSIANS4)THE LOST HEART OF ASIA5)IN SIBERIATHIS BOOK TET MAKES AN EXCELLENT TRAVELOGUE COLLECTION THROUGH THE GREAT LANDMASS OF EURASIA,FROM THE FROZEN ARTIC IN NORTH SIBERIA TO THE TROPICAL FOREST IN SOUTH CHINA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey Through the Ark Encounter []  2020-8-27 19:8

    This book does not so much inform and explain as it does cement memories for those who have gone there. Although it's well place together, don't expect to learn anything from this book; it's more like a $17 brochure for remembering the ark encounter park(not the Ark itself...which seems like cleverly disguised self-promoting blasphemy) through pictures. Beautiful gimmicky stuff. If you wish to actually learn about the actual Ark discovery itself, look up Ron Wyatt's book and videos. He was a nurse anesthetist by trade, but became obsessed with bible lore and found a lot of things, not the least of which is the actual Ark remains, with which the government of Turkey agreed and created into a national park (not even mentioned in the ark encounter book). Very fascinating. Now THAT would be worth remembering with a brochure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey Through the Ark Encounter []  2020-8-27 19:8

    After visiting the Ark Encounter this fall, I wanted this book and wasn't disappointed. Attractive book. Arrived on time and in excellent condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey Through the Ark Encounter []  2020-8-27 19:8

    We went and saw this model of the Ark and missed getting a book about it and now have one. The Ark Encounter Park is well worth seeing. It shows the biblical Ark plausibility. The Book is a nice preview.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey Through the Ark Encounter []  2020-8-27 19:8

    Truly opens your mind to the full requirements and possibilities available in fulfilling God's command to Noah in building the ark and providing for all the supplies and care required for his family and the a lot of species of animals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey Through the Ark Encounter []  2020-8-27 19:8

    This is an perfect book. We actually toured the Ark Encounter and this book is amazing to see more of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey Through the Ark Encounter []  2020-8-27 19:8

    Attractive reminder of our visit to the Ark. Thoroughly captures the scenes and descriptions of this unbelievable place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey Through the Ark Encounter []  2020-8-27 19:8

    This was a gorgeous book, they were out of it when we visited the Ark Encounter and I was satisfied to see that Amazon carried it. We purchased several books while there but really wanted this one to complete out Ark Encounter Experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey Through the Ark Encounter []  2020-8-27 19:8

    This is the second one I've purchased. The body is sturdy and the hint very responsive and secure. The attachment is very convenient. Overall, I'll be purchasing again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey Through the Ark Encounter []  2020-8-27 19:8

    This came in like fresh condition. I bought one at the museum but gave it away the same day to a relative. Was SO satisfied to obtain this one and have the condition like new!!!!! Thank you!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey Through the Ark Encounter []  2020-8-27 19:8

    I've gone through it at a glance. Looks very interesting. Loaded with pictures & corresponding information. I'm planning to visit the Arc with a group later this year. So looking forward to it and got a jump begin on making this purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fool's Journey Through the Tarot Swords []  2021-3-31 18:59

    Noel Eastwood is a master astrologer, hypnotherapist, and meditator. This series of books, The Journeys of the Fool, are an amazing, free-flowing, exploration of unconscious archetypes and the depths of subconscious and unconscious minds. There is an entire universe running beneath the surface of our lives. An untapped reservoir of energy, creativity, and potential healing. With Mr. Eastwood as our guide, we are in amazing hands.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fool's Journey Through the Tarot Swords []  2021-3-31 18:59

    Noel Eastwood does with words what Gustave Dore did with plume and ink: He illustrates stirring heart-felt photos to reveal the essence of ancient e most famous notion of Tarot regards the Tarot cards as an instrument of divination. Yet, as necessary as divination may be, working with the Tarot (in the vein opened up to you by Noel) reveals far more transformational secrets than mere glances of a possible all his books on the Tarot, Noel unlocks secret doors few are ever privileged enough to walk I understand his books on the Tarot cards, Noel hands his reader the keys unlocking a portal leading to Archetypical in Noel, here in this journey through the Swords, as he leads you on a path filled with opportunity and insight important to connect with the genuine archetypes of the principle of the mind: the Sword connecting with these Tarot Archetypes, more than merely gaining an intellectual understanding of these archetypes, you will start to sense and feel them, and then as the ebb and flow of your journing practice deepens, they become more than advisors; from the depths of your unconscious they do become partners and co-creators with fully understand the depth and power of what Noel is up to in guiding you through the path of the Swords, I do recommend you read his Tarot books together with a copy of his "Self Hypnosis Tame Your Inner Dragons". Reading them together would be a lot like eating cake with ice cream: truly joyous.Even without reading his self-hypnosis book, I have the highest confidence anyone who journeys along through the Swords, as guided by Master, Archetype-meditator, Noel Eastwood, will be transformed all the method through to one’s rl Renfro, Ph.DPsychotherapist

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trawler: A Journey Through the North Atlantic []  2020-2-1 5:17

    After reading "In Problem Again" and "Into the Heart of Borneo" I had pegged O'Hallahan as a prime example of the British "Fish out of water, funny things happen" school of travel writing. Sort of Bill Bryson in really exotic places. And I really liked these books."Trawler" is something else, though. The setting this time is not some tropical jungle, but a fishing vessel in the middle of a winter storm in the Northern Atlantic. Nature becomes a terrorizing presence that robs the people on the boat of peace of mind and sleep, and leads to frenzied, almost delusional conversations about everything from life on little islands to marine biology. The pace is close to Hunter Thompson's -addled ramblings, but here it is driven by the need to create sense of at least something in the face of the on-slaught of the e ideas expressed in the book would be interesting even if expressed in a more conventional setting, but the rythm that is pushed onto the people on the boat by the storm makes it irresitable. As much as I liked "The Lobster Chronicles", I don't think it holds a candle to this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Dragon: A Journey through Burma []  2020-1-25 17:44

    Bought this for a Myanmar trip. I enjoyed the journey searching for a basket, and history mixed in with the travelogue, however, some of the writing was distracting, and a small cheesy/raunchy. Read the first few chapters, and you'll know what I mean.I found Land of the Green Ghosts much better written, more informative, and realistic/awe-inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Dragon: A Journey through Burma []  2020-1-25 17:44

    Half method between a novel and a travel diary, it tells the story of the find for a unique basket through various regions of Myanmar. The travel is the occasion to unravel the stories of some Myanmar women, and to tell us how they coped in spite of hardships and discrimination.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trawler: A Journey Through the North Atlantic []  2020-2-1 5:17

    I really enjoyed this book. It takes you deep into the relentlessly physically demanding and risky globe of trawler-men. The basic method, though, is very unusual - dialogue between those aboard illuminates the inner-workings of both the ship's sociology and the author's pyche. It reads as stream of consciousness, not as a writing style (say of Kerouac) but as a re-creation of the reality between shipmates suffering from extreme sleep deprivation. Amazing stuff, with the bones of the story - fishing in the far north in the middle of winter in Force 12 winds and seas and the Darwinian wonders of deep sea life that comes up in the nets - driving the nonfiction tale of a two-week cruise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trawler: A Journey Through the North Atlantic []  2020-2-1 5:17

    Redmond O'Hanlon continues tormenting himself with extreme travel. From Borneo and the black rhino, he's moved on to the North Atlantic in winter storms on a fishing trawler. On board as a novice trawlerman, O'Hanlon produces another of his ineffable stews of esoteric knowledge, extreme discomfort, and gobs of facts you've never heard before about the fish and depths of some of the roughest seas in the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Dragon: A Journey through Burma []  2020-1-25 17:44

    Under the Dragon gives an almost intimate acc of a trip through Burma/Myanmar in a quest to search a certain type of basket. I used it while travelling there for both the atmosphere and the info in the book. Rory Maclean uses his characters as examples of the fate of a lot of ordinary Burmese and it was both touching and enlightening to read. I ended up buying a basket myself, perhaps the same type, but most of all I enjoyed reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Dragon: A Journey through Burma []  2020-1-25 17:44

    This book taught me more than I could dream it would. The writing, especially the hero development, is on power with Hemingway. It is much more than a travel book, and it is a must read for anyone who hopes to understand today's Burma. Rory MacLean deserves a Nobel Prize for Literature this tom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Dragon: A Journey through Burma []  2020-1-25 17:44

    Riveting story that weaves the history of Burma through the centuries as experienced in the everyday lives of a lot of Burmese and foreigners as well. I could not place my Kindle down until the book was finished.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trawler: A Journey Through the North Atlantic []  2020-2-1 5:17

    Those of you familiar with Mr. O'Hanlon,, probably Lord O'Hanlon by now, recognize the title of this review as the title of another of his books. That is the theme since his character, while not seeming to be an adventurer, constantly embarks on awesome is story involves going on a fishing trawler as an observer's assistant in the north Atlantic during a mid-winter gale. The hook is that he received a grant to write a piece about the vanishing wild locations of Amazing Britain and decides that is the continental shelf. While he mostly writes about his tropical jungle misadventures, he brings the same keen powers of observation and imaginative cowardice to the table. The natural history is really compelling and the humor absurd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trawler: A Journey Through the North Atlantic []  2020-2-1 5:17

    Having worked on a trawler in my youth, I felt this book would give me another person's perspective and awaken some of my own forgotten memories.I won't draw it out, I couldn't [email protected]#$%!. After several determined attempts I gave up. I hate doing it and have done so only twice e book is almost entirely based on conversations and it was absolutely boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amerzonia: A Savage Journey Through The Americas []  2020-1-19 21:33

    Loved the perfect descriptions of characters, locations and events. This is travel writing at its best although I have to admit I struggled through the experiences---Overall a amazing read and an acknowledgement that authors like Tag bring to life a amazing deal of the globe that we know small about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Dragon: A Journey through Burma []  2020-1-25 17:44

    Having just returned from three weeks in Myanmar it was very interesting to read this perspective on the history of an interesting country. The people there are still very warm and inviting. They have suffered a lot of injustices and welcome tourists!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Dragon: A Journey through Burma []  2020-1-25 17:44

    Interesting story that I read while preparing for a journey to Myanmar. The book is well-written, and taught me a lot about the history and culture of the people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trawler: A Journey Through the North Atlantic []  2020-2-1 5:17

    But then, Redmond O'Hanlon never brings the usual. This one seems to be a small weirder than his other books. If you can obtain weirder than long journeys up rivers with a slightly crazed, slightly podgy middle aged son of a vicar, a tour on a North Atlantic trawler is probably your best bet. Endless hours of work on small to no sleep in the freezing cold in risky January weather is a hard method to create a living. O'Hanlon brings us his ver of deep sea trawling that is most definitely not your father's deep sea trawling account.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trawler: A Journey Through the North Atlantic []  2020-2-1 5:17

    Redmond O'Hanlon lost me on this one. There are a handful of fine vignettes of everyday life and duty aboard the ship in "Trawler: A Journey Through the North Atlantic." But those few succulent morsels are seriously outdone by a ponderous, rambling narrative, dashed off late at night which he never revisits to polish up, which simply, tires you out.I was disappointed because as an armchair adventurer, this could have been the type of tale I relish. But O'Hanlon's writing here is sloppy and loose, unstructured with lots of tangents that lead to dead-ends. It was too massive to shake off.I can't recommend this book as a book of its type. There are a lot of other seafaring adventure tales that "tell the tale well." You might glance through this book and search the few juicy morsels but that's it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trawler: A Journey Through the North Atlantic []  2020-2-1 5:17

    This book is a wild romp -- informative, funny, and fascinating about various fish and the customs and culture of the men who man the trawler. The writer, a reporter, signs on with a deep sea trawler in North Sea for a month-long voyage and writes about all aspects of the that trip. The book is wildly funny about the fisherman, a lot of of whom are Shetland Islanders, and life on board the trawler. The writer is also hilarious about himself -- there's some tips of autobiography here. The book feels like a mystery at times. The trawling is so deep, fish come up in those nets that no one has ever seen. There is a fish biologist on board too. And the politics of fishing regulations are amusingly husband and I read Trawler aloud to each other and couldn't wait for the next "reading" C, Maine

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amerzonia: A Savage Journey Through The Americas []  2020-1-19 21:33

    I liked the book. It's a beautiful decent travelogue AND I recommend you read it. I'm born/raised in Texas and fortunately had a guy from California edit my book - which meant he weaned out a whole lot of regional vernacular that I wasn't aware was regional vernacular. Tag is obviously from the UK, but his editor didn't wean out much UK vernacular, so I had some problems with translating some of that stuff. Also, I'd like to have read about what happened as a effect of his ayahuasca adventure. He's a bit asocial, which I get, but own some of the items like when he described how he would beat up someone on mass transit in the UK listening to loud music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amerzonia: A Savage Journey Through The Americas []  2020-1-19 21:33

    Found this by possibility and so glad I did. He writes a amazing story about his solo adventure through the wilds of Latin America. He often veered well off the beaten track into outright risky territory. Yet despite the risks, he makes the journey sound fun. I laughed a lot, and it really brightened my lunch breaks reading this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trawler: A Journey Through the North Atlantic []  2020-2-1 5:17

    Yes, yes fellow reviewers, this book is a bit fishy, so to speak, in a lot of respects, not the least of which being the supposedly verbatim accounts of dialogue aboard ship. But, "aye", anyone who's read ANYTHING by O'Hanlon knows that he has to be taken with a few dashes of salt, in this case perhaps a whole shaker. My issue with the book was that O'Hanlon's playing a bit quick and loose with the truth did not create it fun to read, as in his previous books. Indeed, I felt seasick and in need of sleep (though I'd had plenty) after some chapters. So, on the one hand, he DOES do what the trawlermen hope he'll do: Present us what a hell on earth it is like for them out at sea. On the other hand, these sleep-deprived manic ramblings are more than a bit hard on the reader. It's not a very jolly book to plough through, a first for O'Hanlon. So, unless you have some deep and abiding need to know what it's like to be on a trawler in the worse possible weather for days on end with no sleep, or desire to go on a fishless diet for some medical reason, my tip is to pick up one of O'Hanlon's earlier works, such as No Mercy. - I've been on a lot of a deep sea fishing boat and never been seasick. But something tells me, with memories of this book lodged in my head, next time I just might be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trawler: A Journey Through the North Atlantic []  2020-2-1 5:17

    Amazing Read. Lots of humor and amazing storytelling mixed with in depth science reporting and naturalism and portraits of an unusual breed of men. One of the protagonists is an expert on sustainable fishing practices in the North Sea, a topic rarely explained. I read this book while at see which only added to the salty flavor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Dragon: A Journey through Burma []  2020-1-25 17:44

    Provided a more in depth view of the happenings that shaped the current situation in Myanmar, helped me understand the different ethnic groups and there role on its history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Dragon: A Journey through Burma []  2020-1-25 17:44

    This book is indisputably well written. But it taught me nothing about Burma I didn't already know and it was rather dull in much of the book. The author uses little stories about various characters to tell the story of Burma's latest history and repressive practices, but the stories just aren't that interesting in a lot of cases. Captivating this book is not. I didn't search it to be travel literature or politically informative, and as fiction it was concise but ul

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Dragon: A Journey through Burma []  2020-1-25 17:44

    Part history, part travelogue, part memoir. I read this book as I traveled in Myanmar and could hardly place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Through-the-Wall Radar Imaging []  2019-12-24 19:47

    Thanks for your comments Waveman, and apologies that you received a poor copy out of this entire printing! All stock has been fully checked, and none contain printing problems. Waveman, return the book to me directly and I will replace your copy - it is a terrific book and there is no need to wait for the 2nd Edition for a fluke printing error. Sincerest apologies! Nora Konopka, Publisher of Engineering, CRC Press.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Through-the-Wall Radar Imaging []  2019-12-24 19:47

    While the cover was correct, the actual contents of the book I received today was another book titled "Understanding Autism: From Primary Neuroscience to Treatment." Need I say more? Do not buy this book, wait for the second edition?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl through the Holocaust [Book]  2017-12-2 18:0

    The satisfied life lost makes the horrors more disturbing. Thankfully the story doesn't end in the concentration camp. The final chapters bring a deeper understanding of what it meant to really and truly survive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl through the Holocaust [Book]  2017-12-2 18:0

    This has proven to be one of the most noteworthy books of the a lot of I have read recounting the period of the Holocaust, its perpetrators and its victims. Most show the horrible happenings and the effect of the remarkable cruelty visited by mankind on mankind. In a rather special way, the authors of this book focus the reader on the humanity of the individuals depicted to a very private degree, thereby magnifying the cruelty and resulting private tragedy to a more meaningful level that the reader, these a lot of years later, can share (to some extent) the loss and anguish of those a lot of survivors of the Holocaust.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl through the Holocaust [Book]  2017-12-2 18:0

    This is one of the best WW II books that I have ever read. Extremely well written and a very compelling story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    Ronson is at it again - annoying a substantial segment of our population with his deep research and witty insights. This time, it is the medical/insurance/psychiatric world. As usual, Ronson is full of tales about his subject and provides significant facts about how the globe really works. The Psychopath Try (yes it is in the book) is interesting in itself. But the illustration of how not good a job psychiatrists actually do is worth the read alone. This is not to say that some people are not legitimately afflicted with scores of mental problems - they are and this is a sad act. But some of the insights are simply amazing. For example, the psychiatrist globe is pressing "abnormal" closer and closer to "normal". The devastating impact is that more and more people, especially children, are being wrongly lablelled with some sort of "disease" when really, all they are is just a small bit different. I remember when some child in the class would devolop an affinity for eating paste. Just an odd thing really. But in today's truly crazy world, that child would have a squad of health specialists diagnosing and labelling her. And when a child is a issue - hey why not? The medical profession wins with more patients. The pharmaceutical companies victory with fresh . The insurance companies win. And best of all, the parents win. "Yes, our litttle Jesse cannot read and he has behaviorial issues. But it is not HIS fault ant not OUR fault. He has a disease." Lazy pareneting, the urge to not take responsibility - it works well for eveybody. Well, not for the kid who is never disciplined, never fails and never learns. This book should be a MUST read for any parent who wonders if his kid really has manic depresssive disorder, autism, or any one of a number of wrongly diagnosed confiditons. Oh, and wondering if the MMR vaccine is behind the rising number of cases of autism? Think again. The people who profit from this business simply changed the definition so that number of cases of these conditions increased by an order of magnitude. No change in the population. No change in the true number of patients. Just a change in a book. Oh yeah, and an increase in the number of deaths of innocent children, killed by their parents who let them to die from preventable disease in a wave of misplaced hysteria.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    This is my first reading on this topic. I am in the middle of the book at the moment, but couldn't resist to write the review! The book is just AMAZING: simple reading (almost like a fiction), full of fascinating facts and exciting stories. It's doesn't go too much in a details, but whenever I am interesting I just google more (and even already place on my reading list several more detailed books). The author doesn't over-complicate it (since he is a journalist, not a psychiatrist), no crazy terminology. FANTASTIC book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl Through the Holocaust [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I struggle with what to say about this book. Difficult to read, yes, but very good. I will be thinking about it for a long time, I’m certain. My main thought right now, having just finished it, is that I am so grateful Martin Little took the time to record his story. His descriptions of his childhood and adolescence in Poland were so vivid that I felt I could imagine the scenes. His miraculous survival and all that he went through during the Holocaust... simply mind-blowing. I won’t contain any spoilers here, but his story is _almost_ unbelievable. It’s one of those times when truth is stranger than fiction, in the method that things played out and all the coincidences he experienced. I wondered at times if these things could have possibly happened the method he described. But, though I don’t know this man from Adam, something about his writing, his “voice,” just makes me trust him. I do believe he wrote this story as accurately as he possibly could. I highly recommend to all who are interested in this time period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl Through the Holocaust [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    This story takes put in three acts of Martin Small's life. The first part is a glimpse into life in a Shtetl on the Polish/Russian border. I could feel the warmth of community and family in the author's words. I had a better sense than I have ever received before of Jewish life in that put and time. I appreciated not getting the min info of life in a concentration camp. I have seen the pictures and read of the horrors. Re-hashimg them again was not necessary. Life after the battle was also an eye opener as I had no idea it took so long to obtain a visa. What a full and interesting life Martin lived. This book is worth every min you spend on it. Very educational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl Through the Holocaust [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I was drawn to this book because it was promoted as defining a culture that was lost in the Holocaust rather than a litany of horrors. I also wanted a feel for life in an zone where my grandmother had lived before the war. I was not disappointed. This is a touching luminescent jewel of a book that provides a glimpse into the easy and colourful life of Maitchet and makes the reader understand the full extent of what was destroyed by the Nazis and their supporters. And also, what was carried as treasure inside the hearts and minds of those who survived. In some cases mind numbing, heartbreaking treasure, but still necessary and valuable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey to the Ragged Islands: Sailing Solo Through The Bahamas []  2020-1-4 20:59

    Through unrelenting spray while beating to windward as well as the rhythmic motion of riding wing-on-wing downwind, Paul takes you on his journey from his home port of America's oldest city, St. Augustine, FL through the a lot of islands, inhabited and otherwise, that create up The Bahamas. As a sailor, I appreciated the insightful knowledge that Paul drops throughout the book, and as a lover of adventure, I enjoyed the lively and detailed descriptions of his encounters with sharks, abandoned ruins, coral reefs, and surfing waves that few ever obtain to even see, allow alone ride.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey to the Ragged Islands: Sailing Solo Through The Bahamas []  2020-1-4 20:59

    Enjoyed reading about a sailing adventure. It was also a private journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guatemala: A Journey Through the Land of the Maya []  2020-1-16 20:47

    I absolutely love the photography in this book. Unbelievable pictures which really bring you into the moment. Text is one step down, but still helpful. Definitely recommend for anyone thinking about traveling to this zone (or afraid to do so).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guatemala: A Journey Through the Land of the Maya []  2020-1-16 20:47

    The cover of this book is an wonderful image that in a single photo captures the historical and modern-day essence of Guatemala. It is a book to be amazed by, a book that will remind you of or compel you to visit this attractive country with its unbelievable people. And it is not just the cover! Each and every photo in this book is absolutely stunning. Each and every page tells a tale, highlights info or looks from afar. And all combined it is a gorgeous book that you will never regret buying. I've given mine a prominent put on my book-shelf, showing the full front cover instead of just sliding it in with the masses. And I've ordered another one for a friend. Do it right, and obtain the hardcover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bleeding Sky: My Mother's Journey Through the Fire []  2020-1-28 20:39

    Mala grew up in a little Polish city near the German border. When the German's invaded, her husband was sent to a work camp and Mala and her daughter went into hiding with sympathetic Poles. Scared, the Poles were only able to hide her for a short period of time before sending her away. Ultimately, she grew tired of hiding and ended up in the Jewish ghetto. Despite her efforts, her daughter was separated from her, and sent to die in the gas chambers. When the ghetto was liquidated she ended up in a multitude of work camps, where she used her wits to trade for much required meal and is is a story of courage and determination. Although most of her family perished during the war, Mala is above all a survivor. Well written, the reader's hearts aches for Mala as she suffers and struggles. Overall I found this book to be a page-turner, and would recommend it to anyone interested in the holocaust.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bleeding Sky: My Mother's Journey Through the Fire []  2020-1-28 20:39

    This straight forward acc of a Polish Jew's survival of the Shoah created me feel as all the memoirs of Holocaust survivors do: it was just a matter of luck who would survive and who wouldn't. In Mala's case, however, she, to a amazing extent, created her own e incident in which she takes out her prayer book and prays only to be ridiculed by those around her for still believing that prayers are answered says it all. Mala never stopped believing and realized what few do: prayers are a means of worshipping and loving God unconditionally not merely to seek having our worldly desires, no matter how just and desperate, fulfilled through divine intervention. How a lot of could pass that test? I'm not sure could but this was the hero of Mala and yet she was so worldly and wily in the everyday challenges of getting what she required to survive. A remarkable woman and a remarkable story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bleeding Sky: My Mother's Journey Through the Fire []  2020-1-28 20:39

    Author's mom with awesome resilience, smarts and survival skills....and memory.....have also read countless books on the Shoa, as well as other Jewish history....would recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Selection: A Child's Journey Through the Holocaust []  2020-2-1 1:23

    A moving acc of a very young Jewish girl and her experiences in the Holocaust. Goldie and her family were from Bodzentyn, Poland. They were one of the very few Jewish families that was very wealthy, they were lucky enough to be able to use their wealth to support the family survive. Most of the family suffered through slave labor, Goldie was in hiding with a Polish woman for over one year since she was probably too young to survive the labor. Goldie and most of her family were able to survive until July 27, 1944 at which time they were transported to Auschwitz. Sadly, on that trip, Goldie's father and one brother were killed in a disagreement with a few other Jews on the train to Auschwitz. Some of the other Jews had resented the wealth of Goldie's family and how they used it to support the family to stay alive. What a tragedy! To not even be able to obtain to the camp to see if you could possibly create it through the selection of who would live and who would die. This is a really amazing book, but it takes a while to obtain into it. There are over 60 pages to obtain through before the battle started. A very valuable addition to Holocaust literature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kaukasis The Cookbook: The culinary journey through Georgia, Azerbaijan & beyond []  2020-7-14 19:11

    This book is so attractive I have bought it numerous times as bonuses for my foodie friends. The images are sensational and moving and the book is full of sincerity for the regions, appreciation of culture and shares an enthusiasm for perfect cuisine at the farmhouse table. I love this book and everything about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kaukasis The Cookbook: The culinary journey through Georgia, Azerbaijan & beyond []  2020-7-14 19:11

    I love Olia Hercules' Mamushka, so I had to obtain her fresh book. This is such a gorgeous book. The recipes are special and interesting (and tasty!), and the stories surrounding them create them feel even more special. This book is worth checking out if you like trying fresh things and exploring the globe through food.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love & Death: My Journey through the Valley of the Shadow []  2020-8-9 18:0

    Would be useful to all of us since death is on everyone's list of things to do. Coping with death and loss and how to revere our love in loss is challenging. Forrest Church brings it all together. My mother found the book comforting in her final year. I have passed a copy on to many. We all need the huge picture. The circle of life comes to all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love & Death: My Journey through the Valley of the Shadow []  2020-8-9 18:0

    Enjoyed the book, but found it a small preachy in spots. Only Mr. Church's point of view. Well written and readable, Just not much to say. One thing I did search interesting was the concept of an ethical will. After doing a small more research on them, I've decided to write one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Journey Through Cancer: Healing and Transforming the Whole Person []  2020-7-21 20:22

    We consulted with half a dozen wildly divergent practitioners from mainstream oncology experts, to oriental medicine clinics, to Native American shamans. All of them were helpful in sorting out the a lot of layers of the puzzle we faced. That said, there was one person who really had the keys to the kingdom, Jeremy Geffen, remy has developed an extraordinarily helpful map for managing the challenging decision curve you are about to traverse. Of all the tools we found, this was the best at ordering everything else into something we could feel amazing about, that felt right for us. It gave us confidence in our ability to create amazing choices. This was huge.I would also highly recommend his audio or DVD series, The Seven Levels of Healing. This provides a clear map for making amazing decisions on all levels. It is also full of attractive stories that support normalize the surreal nature of this experience. [...]Dr Geffen also offers classes. The flyer for these will give you a feel for the content of the seven levels: [...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Journey Through Cancer: Healing and Transforming the Whole Person []  2020-7-21 20:22

    Dr. Geffen's book has been and remains a key guidestone for me through my 8 month journey of treatment and healing from Scene II bladder cancer. His wisdom, insight, practical guidance and compassion are invaluable bonuses from an exceptionally broad-minded, deep-hearted oncologist who has had the courage to do his own work. The Journey Through Cancer is an integrated, transforming approach to reclaiming our essential wholeness. The Seven Levels of Healing can be readily embraced not only by people with cancer, but by anyone experiencing a life altering illness who is tenacious about life and committed to their own special and precious healing process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Traveller's Tree: A Journey through the Caribbean Islands []  2020-9-23 20:43

    The Master. Patrick Leigh Fermor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl through the Holocaust [Book]  2017-12-2 18:0

    Every remembrance of the Shoah contributes to a deeper understanding of this calamity. This memoir lingers on the fullness of this author's pre-war shtetl culture, amplifying the horrors yet to come. It also does a amazing job describing the post battle obstacles facing the masses of displaced people. Well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl through the Holocaust [Book]  2017-12-2 18:0

    As I look at the living hatred that is even now taking over much of our 21st century globe I can only pray that we will learn from this history of man's inhumanity to other humans. May Martin Small's story never be forgotten...he has , with the support of a compassionate writer, managed to begin a window into a period of absolutely unimaginable depravity. Nothing I've ever read about the holocaust has affected me so profoundly...and I've read much. As the granddaughter of a man who fled Germany for America [email protected]#$%!ler was assending and who was not Jewish I used to hear him talk with a mate about "that madman" This book would have grieved him even more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    Throughout the entirety of this book you obtain to see Jon go through various phases of belief. He was extremely honest in admitting his thoughts and also admitting when those thought might have changed. This was not just a book to persuade you of someone's opinion, but rather, it was an objective acc of someone seeking their own answers to be persuaded one method or another. In the end we search that almost everyone admits that the madness industry is not as concrete as they would wish to believe it is. We love to label, and classify. We see it every day. But none of us really think about the grey areas. I would recommend this book as a tool to anyone with an interest in understanding both arguments of the "sane" and "insane". This book alone would not be sufficient evidence to persuade you one method of another, (both sides are equally covered) but it's a unbelievable supplement to generate thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    Review: The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry By Jon Ronson"This is a story about madness. It begins with a curious encounter at a Costa Coffee in Bloomsbury, Central London," and from this meeting the crazy journey takes-off for Jon Ronson, and for us. Ronson takes us with him as he tackles some serious subjects with just the right mixture of seriousness and "Monty Python-like" British humor . The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry by Jon Ronson is a true page turner, and extremely well researched. I loved every min of it. I hated for the adventure to end.When I read nonfiction, I am always looking for the takeaway! I ask myself, what did I learn from having spent hours reading this book? Well, there are so a lot of takeaways to be found within the pages of The Psychopath Test. From Ronon's encounter with the Scientologists, where we learn their views on psychiatry, to his interviews with Tony (not his true name); an inmate classified as a psychopath at Broadmoor Wellness Centre, a prison for the criminally insane in England, to his travels abroad where the plot thickens, and more and more is revealed about the pharmaceutical industry, psychology, and of course, psychopaths.Did you know, out of every hundred people, one is a psychopath? Did you know that there is a true psychopath try or checklist called the PCL-R Checklist? The checklist has twenty stuff to tick-off, but not all necessarily have to apply for one to be a psychopath. Interestingly enough, the checklist is employed by such agencies as the FBI. What type of stuff are on this test? Well, checkout the first eight:Item 1: Glibness/Superficial CharmItem 2: Grandiose sense of self-worthItem 3: Ned for stimulation/proneness to boredomItem 4: Pathological lyingItem 5: Conning/manipulativeItem 6: Lack of remorse or guiltItem 7: Shallow affectItem 8: Callous/Lack of empathyRonson doesn't just show the list, he goes on to share true case studies where the checklist was applied. These were each fascinating reads, in and of themselves, but after reading them I began to think about the folks that have walked through my life, some which I've known well, others who were just on the periphery, and then some others who were walk-ons, necessary for only a brief amount of time. Two immediately came to mind that scored off the charts on this test. Each individual was practically a twenty out of twenty. You can't help, but be on the "Psychopath Patrol" after finishing this book.Another one of the a lot of fascinating chapters was entitled "Night of the Living Dead." It was here that the reader learns the history of Sunbeam's demise and the corporate psychopath who brought this company to its knees. Interestingly enough, psychopathic CEOs, as well as, psychopathic politicians are not uncommon. In fact, "a disproportionate number of psychopaths can be found in high places." Which makes them quiet common. According to Robert Hare, PhD, the creator of the PCL-R Checklist, "'Corporate and political and religious psychopaths ruin economies. They ruin societies.'" To take it a step further Mr. Hare suggested that, "Why is the globe so unfair? Why all that savage economic injustice, those brutal wars, the daily corporate cruelty? The answer: psychopaths." Mr. Hare is not alone in these conclusions Martha Stout, a professor at Harvard Medical School and author of The Sociopath Next Door, stated:"They are everywhere...They are in the crowded restaurant where you have your lunch. They are in your open-plan office. As a group they tend to be more charming than most people...They have no warm emotions of t heir own but will study the rest of us. They're the boss or the coworker who likes to create other people jump just for the pleasure of seeing them jump. They're the spouse who marries to look socially normal but inside the marriage present no love after the initial charm wears off."After reading The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry by Jon Ronson you too will be on the "Psychopath Lookout". In case you are unfamiliar with Jon Ronson, he is the author who gave us The Men Who Stare at Goats, and I can't wait to read that one too. Needless to say, Jon Ronson has a fresh Thoughts for those of you out there who don't plan on reading this one:"People who are psychopathic prey ruthlessly on others using charm, deceit, violence or other methods that let them to obtain what they want. The symptoms of psychopathy include: lack of a conscience or sense of guilt, lack of empathy, egocentricity, pathological lying, repeated violations of social norms, disregard for the law, shallow emotions, and a history of victimizing others."- Robert Hare, Ph.DThe Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl Through the Holocaust [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    What created this Holocaust book so various and better than others I’ve read is that Martin Small’s entire life was recounted, not just his concentration camp experience. I learned what life was like for him and other Jews in Poland before the Nazi invasion, which gave more perspective to the story, and a deeper appreciation of all that was taken from them. And I enjoyed that the story didn’t end with liberation, which is usually the case. Life as a DP was all fresh to me; the fact that the suffering continued for years after liberation, as the survivors were homeless wanderers with no nation willing to accept them despite their suffering. I liked that the founding of Israel was included in the story as the only put for displaced people to finally return home. And I enjoyed the final segment of Small’s life story, living an American life and creating a fresh family in Fresh York. For all these reasons, this was the best book I have read about the Holocaust.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl Through the Holocaust [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I wondered if this book would be able to tell the story that Martin Little (as he became to be known) promised to tell, in a method that would enable me to obtain some inkling of the privations of his life. If I say that the contents of the book revolted me, reduced me to tears and had me gasping for breath, one may obtain the tip that he succeeded in telling the story. At times my heart almost stopped with passages that, if one were simply told about them, one would not believe. The stage of the 8 year old girl asking for her mummy is particularly poignant. So to are the passages that describe the behaviour of those who were once childhood mates turned at Martin Little came out of the holocaust at all, is a wonder, that he came with his faith is remarkable, that he came with nighmares is hardly surprising, that he came with his dignity, strength and love is a is is a book that should be a mandatory text in every secondary school in the ny Taggart

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bleeding Sky: My Mother's Journey Through the Fire []  2020-1-28 20:39

    Interesting to have a survivor's story told through interviews by her child. Remains a testament to the strength of a survivor despite all the hardships.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bleeding Sky: My Mother's Journey Through the Fire []  2020-1-28 20:39

    This book is a must read! I've read numerous books on the holocaust and continue to be amazed at the private experiences,not only of Mala and her family, but of others with whom she shared almost four indescribably horrific years, and yet, survived to tell the globe of the Nazi creatures who tortued human beings in such insanely actions. The plight of these not good people, what they had to do to survive, how they survived, how they at times fought with each other just for a crust of bread, sometimes to the point of cannibalism - is almost unbelieveable; but, it did happen. It is incomprehensible to believe that the Nazis treated other human beings with such brutality. Most assuredly info on the holocaust must continue to be written, and continue to be presented to the globe to serve not only for historical preservation, but to insure it NEVER happens again - ever. It should be mandatory to at least introduce today's students to this historical era. I highly recommend this book without reservation. E. A. Slanga

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guatemala: A Journey Through the Land of the Maya []  2020-1-16 20:47

    I purchased this book as I have other books that Kraig Leib has photograhed. In my opinion, this is his best work. He captures the essence of the people of Guatemala through his lens. He is able to do this as people are going about their daily life, you feel you are 'with' them during each photo; but it is natural and never e photography captures the expressions of the individuals and you feel as if you know exactly what they are thinking and feeling. The colors are stunning and well e cover captures a huge vista of a ciy--that as you 'enter' the book, you feel you have decended that vista and are now into the lives of the people photographed. This is a stunning piece of artwork to match the fabulous writing of Michael Shapiro.I'd highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey to the Ragged Islands: Sailing Solo Through The Bahamas []  2020-1-4 20:59

    I only say this because the first book seemed to be more about diving and fish than sailing. This book however met my expectations on the sailing level and just the right amount of diving and adventure. I would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey to the Ragged Islands: Sailing Solo Through The Bahamas []  2020-1-4 20:59

    Paul's take on this adventure was inspiring. This book was an simple read and felt like a mate telling you all about the adventure that he had just returned from. Although Paul is obviously a competent sailor, he is also not afraid to share some of his mistakes (& what he should have done differently) which makes him seem even more genuine. I enjoyed this one so much that I also read Paul's prior book "Becoming a Sailor" and it was just as good! Just like most of my sailor mates would say..."the hardest part of the journey is casting off those dock lines"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Journey to the Ragged Islands: Sailing Solo Through The Bahamas []  2020-1-4 20:59

    This is a very interesting book written in an simple to read style. Author is very amazing describing the scenes. Definitely makes you wish to sail away on your own adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Journey Through Cancer: Healing and Transforming the Whole Person []  2020-7-21 20:22

    I gave it to a mate and she is enjoying it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kaukasis The Cookbook: The culinary journey through Georgia, Azerbaijan & beyond []  2020-7-14 19:11

    I have bought her other book ( Mamushka) and absolutely love her recipes! I am unfamiliar with the regions that this cookbook covers. All I know is some Georgian dishes (Kachapouri/tarragon soda/Khinkali) and the addition of dried fruits etc. I am really excited about trying some of these dishes. I recommend this book if you wish to test something different. I also recommend watching 'Parts Unknown' with Anthony Bourdain on Georgia. It will obtain you inspired!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kaukasis The Cookbook: The culinary journey through Georgia, Azerbaijan & beyond []  2020-7-14 19:11

    An outstanding book with amazing stories, awesome pictures of Caucasus and detailed recipes. The author gives options for ingredients that might not be available in your country and also provides online sources to buy the important ingredients. The book is written with heart, and it will inspire you to go discover Caucasus. 100% recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love & Death: My Journey through the Valley of the Shadow []  2020-8-9 18:0

    As with virtually anything in life, our focus and interests are based on our immediate experiences. At this point, taking a deeper look at my own life purpose has come to the forefront due to my father's latest transition from this I have explored different authors' works I search it most awesome the a lot of philosophies and beliefs regarding what is most necessary to live a fulfilled life.Out of the tons of books and articles I have read, the following statement deeply resonates with me; "The goal of life is to live in such a method that our lives will prove worth dying for," writes Reverend Forrest of the recommendations from Reverend Church is to wish what you have, appreciate each and every moment we are alive and live without the regret of, "if only". If only I would have ..... If only I didn't .... In only....He goes on to say that often we realize only after something is taken from us how valuable it is; whether it be our health, a loved one or a verend Church speaks not only from the over three decades as a minister whose main notice is love and death, but also from the perspective of a man who was diagnosed with incurable cancer being given only months to live. It was in the diagnosis he was able to understand fully if all he professed to be real really reading his book, Love and Death, My Journey -Through the Valley of the Shadow, Reverend Church shares a level of wisdom so intensely simple, yet immensely e further I delved into the wisdom in this short and very simple to read book, the more I fully recognize the greatest bonus we can give to ourselves and others is to live with such a deep level of congruency with what we claim to be true, what we speak of as truth and what we know to be is one thing to say we believe something to be real and something else to live in such a method that our life is an example of this truth. As you look at your own beliefs, philosophies and faith do your words match your thoughts and your actions? If not, is now not the most necessary moment to start to live your truth recognizing today may in fact be the only day left to do so?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love & Death: My Journey through the Valley of the Shadow []  2020-8-9 18:0

    This is the son of Sen. Frank Church of Idaho who died about 2003. Forrest Church, a unitarian pastor, writes that love must be sacrificial, willing to be vulnerable and willing to risk, and without taking such risks one's life really loses its significance, its value. This all comes from very poignant cirtances involving his father's approach to life and death, and its principles apply to MANY aspects of life, not just its eventual end. Well worth reading - we are sharing it in a men's group of 4 who are considering how our church's men can bring more significance to their lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Traveller's Tree: A Journey through the Caribbean Islands []  2020-9-23 20:43

    A very interesting and informative travel book about the islands of the Caribbean circa 1950, several of which were devastated by the 2017 hurricane. My tip is buy the book but don't plan to visit the Caribbean anytime soon. You'll have a much happier experience as an armchair traveler right now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Traveller's Tree: A Journey through the Caribbean Islands []  2020-9-23 20:43

    Sadly Mr. Fermor has passed on at age 92 but the quality of his observation then skill in writing is amazing. I have read all of his work published to date. This book is the most thorough I have ever seen on Caribbean culture and even though written in 1947 it provides the true background to what is event there today. A delight to read - never boring and his other works are equally edifying. Be sure to create notes of the words you don't know the meaning of - you will be amazed at his word choices once you look them up! Amazing teacher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl through the Holocaust [Book]  2017-12-2 18:0

    I have read a lot of books but this story stands alone. Just like the story reads; sometimes there are are not words that can express what these people went through! Very compelling is an understatement. Thanks so much,Jim.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl through the Holocaust [Book]  2017-12-2 18:0

    This book was an amazing read. The real story of Martin Small, a holocaust survivor,Is riveting! It is one of the best accounts that I have read.I recommend this book to anyone who wants to search out more about the Jews during this time in history and what they went through. So a lot of lost their is book doented true life during Globe Battle 11.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl through the Holocaust [Book]  2017-12-2 18:0

    I approached this book with trepidation. I know the general story of the Prison camps of WWII, but I was not prepared for the strength and courage of this man's story. Be prepared to be horrified. Be prepared to cry, right up to the ending. Be prepared to look within yourself and ask some very hard questions. But be prepared to listen and to witness and to say, "Never Again!"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    I am thoroughly charmed by Jon Ronson after reading this book and have gone on to read a slew of his others as a result, but I still think this one is my favorite. Is it because it's where I first fell in love with his writing? No, I am not that shallow. It's a fascinating book that changed my everyday thoughts during the time I was reading it and it's something I still reference or think on from time to time months later. I set it down for a day and my boyfriend quickly read it cover to cover in that time, hygiene be damned. We are now both Ronson devotees and would probably join his cult if he had one. Amazing thing he is not a psychopath...or is he? (He's not.)It's hard to describe what exactly goes on in this book - he does talk about the try and he does discover some psychopath history with lots of research, but it's a telling that feels personal, relatable, informative, and interesting unlike some research books. This is a superior research book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry [Book]  2018-6-26 18:0

    I just finished watching 'Nightcrawler', a movie with the anti-hero psychopath as a rising star in the news industry. Ronson's book seemed to echo the true life symbiotic relationship between psychopaths and the rest of us. We need personalities who can do what it takes to obtain th he job done, whether it be provide gory news footage or lay-off entire towns so companies can see their stocks rise and still sleep at night.I really liked Ronson's journey between viewing psychopaths, or any mental disorder, as being a black and white diagnosis to a conclusion that we are all on a spectrum. He explores the media's exploitation of dysfunctional personality traits for our benefit. Editing out what detracts from the black and white depiction of the story is a meandering story, but this lends to the humanity of the subject. I was able to finish the book in about 2 hours.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl Through the Holocaust [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Yes, to know the entire abomination that was the Holocaust, you need only to read this one stunning, riveting, strong accounting of one survivor. Mr. Little manages to tell this storytelling miracle without concentrating on the explicitness of the torture. He treads very lightly there, yet still manages to create us feel the enormous grief that was his life and the lives of 6 million others. He lives to a very old age and never stops being haunted for even one day. He explains, "It was too horrible to remember, but too horrible to ever forget."We learn much that is not usually part of the telling of this most massive-scale depravity in human history, much of which I knew but preferred to forget, such as the fact that the Polish hated, tortured and murdered the Jewish people, just as the Germans did. The Polish atrocities were perhaps worse because they had formerly been their mates and st people think that at the war's end, the concentration camp survivors went home to resume their lives where they left off. Not so!There were no homes to return to! What had not been destroyed in the rubble that was now Europe, had been confiscated by others. Europe was then a teeming mass of millions of wandering, homeless "displaced persons," a lot of of whom were Germans attempting to hide from and escape justice. Foreign countries did not wish these survivors, so there was only one solution -- the land that God had promised them -- Palestine, and so the rebirth of Israel.I hope with all my heart that Mr. Little is now peacefully at rest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Remember Us: My Journey from the Shtetl Through the Holocaust [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Perfect book. It presents the whole picture of Martin Small's life from the shetl' to the concentration camps, to his life afterward. It covers the holocaust after the holocaust as tens of thousand of displaced Jews roamed Europe looking for family members or even thief old covers what happens to Martin as he lives a full ninety years and ends up in America.I have read a lot of books n the holocaust but never one that told the whole picture of life after the holocaust.Highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bleeding Sky: My Mother's Journey Through the Fire []  2020-1-28 20:39

    Felt like I was actually there . Step by step encounters, taking me through the years of this women's survival. How people had to plan for anything that could happen and be alert, adaptable, cunning, emotionally strong,aim for survival every min of every day. This story was never boring. A lot of info of life in the camps were explained that I had not heard before. Recommend this book to anyone interested in the Jewish life during the war.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bleeding Sky: My Mother's Journey Through the Fire []  2020-1-28 20:39

    I AM SO GLAD HE GOT HIS Mother's story. It is so well told and her memories for details, dates and names is wonderful. Her intelligence and cleverness shines throughout...it is no wonder at all that she survived. It speaks volumes that she could not fire the gun. I wonder if I could have been as understanding and forgiving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guatemala: A Journey Through the Land of the Maya []  2020-1-16 20:47

    Attractive book. Unbelievable photography.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guatemala: A Journey Through the Land of the Maya []  2020-1-16 20:47

    Perfect pictures of Guatemala, but not of the people.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386