Read keep holiday traditions in the modern world reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all keep holiday traditions in the modern world reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Atlas of Christmas: The Merriest, Tastiest, Quirkiest Holiday Traditions from Around the World []  2020-12-1 19:4

    This is a amazing small book showcasing international Christmas traditions. I deducted a star because it required a proof-reader (MANY references page “TK”- or “to come”). Oops. This book is still worth it if you’re obsessed with Christmas or are interested in globe customs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Atlas of Christmas: The Merriest, Tastiest, Quirkiest Holiday Traditions from Around the World []  2020-12-1 19:4

    It’s full of info and is a beautiful book. My only complaint is I want there were more images to create it more relatable for kids. I ordered this for my children but it more of an adult book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legal Traditions of the World: Sustainable diversity in law []  2020-7-2 20:17

    Unbelievably dense and prolix. I would only use this book to torture my worst enemies. A bit of tip if you have to read this book. Read the first and latest line of every paragraph, everything else is babbleing and academic colloquialisms.

    0  


    Add your opinion on keep holiday traditions in the modern world or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legal Traditions of the World: Sustainable diversity in law []  2020-7-2 20:17

    This was a mandatory textbook for a class and quite frankly, it's horribly written. You have to reread the same paragraph three times because the author of this book picked the most superfluous and inaccessible language possible to talk about what should be some interesting history. Had the author just written this in plain, bottom-line-up-front language, it would only be about 100 pages long.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legal Traditions of the World: Sustainable diversity in law []  2020-7-2 20:17

    Fresh and as Promised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legal Traditions of the World: Sustainable diversity in law []  2020-7-2 20:17

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christmas Around the World: A Fun Guide to Holiday Traditions from Britain to Brazil []  2020-11-15 18:20

    Love this cliff notes ver of Christmas celebrations around the world. Deepan writes with real skill, his voice is clear, interesting and his sense of humor is refreshing. I recommend this booklet to anyone wanting a fascinating view of Christmas around the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Traditions in Mexico (Cultural Traditions in My World) []  2020-7-23 20:38

    Amazing picture book that provides an overview of the cultural traditions of Mexico.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advent - Celebrating German Holiday Traditions in America: Celebrating German Holiday Traditions in America []  2019-12-17 20:56

    Thank you so much for writing this. I created the vanilla crescents and they were a hit! Loved learning about the German culture and traditions!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advent - Celebrating German Holiday Traditions in America: Celebrating German Holiday Traditions in America []  2019-12-17 20:56

    Love this small book. Brings back a lot of a memory of the Advent/Christmas Time back home in Germany

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advent - Celebrating German Holiday Traditions in America: Celebrating German Holiday Traditions in America []  2019-12-17 20:56

    Not black and white or sugar coated. Attractive traditions, filled with love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advent - Celebrating German Holiday Traditions in America: Celebrating German Holiday Traditions in America []  2019-12-17 20:56

    Short - like an Advent magazine - the ebook picks up the major traditions practiced in a lot of German households here in the States where German ancestry is kept alive - a few heartwarming images and a nice group of traditional German cookie recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Love in the World: A Holiday Anthology []  2020-11-8 18:21

    Reading All the Love in the Globe was like coming home for a family reunion! As a long time reader of Karina's stories, I have been missing some of these characters for a long time, and it was SO amazing to visit with them me of the stories are just lightheared and fun, others a bit more emotional, but I loved them all and now I'm craving more of all of them!! Especially Javi and Luisa, and Lachlan and Kayla.I've been working my method through the EIT books over the years, and reading Ghosted was the shot in the butt I required to speed up my reading so that I'll be ready when the next full length book releases.If you're an avid Karina reader, you will love seeing these beloved characters. If you've read some but not all, I think these short stories will support ramp up your excitement to meet those characters up close and personal. It's the excellent time for this to release, with Halloween just days away and then rounding the curve into the Christmas holidays. I know I definitely required this delightful distraction right about ank you, Karina, for giving us these amazing glimpses into our favorite character's lives!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Love in the World: A Holiday Anthology []  2020-11-8 18:21

    Karina created me so so happy!!!!We obtain more of my man Javier..so excited! His story def fit him and it's quite interesting too lol.I loved seeing all these beloved characters!Some stories are happy, some are a bit sad, all of them y too boot.I didn't read ghosted cause I haven’t read that series yet so I will save it for later!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Love in the World: A Holiday Anthology []  2020-11-8 18:21

    2020 has been such a dumpster fire, and I required some satisfied in my life. This not only gives me the "happies" I need, but it gives them to me with some of my favorite characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Love in the World: A Holiday Anthology []  2020-11-8 18:21

    Just counting stars 🥺Poignant, y and a lot of returns to emotional locations I’ll always be attached to. This anthology is a delight for avid Karina readers, and for those who have fun profound vignettes of necessary moments that draw on history and depth.I’m two stories in, and I can’t hold my emotions in check. I’ll revisit these shorts with the same joy I revisit their initial novel(s) and delight in seeing where life has taken them ch a breath of comfort and peace in a time of confusion and pain. Plus, the . Did I mention the ? No one writes smut like Karina.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Love in the World: A Holiday Anthology []  2020-11-8 18:21

    I rushed to buy this for Ghosted and gobbled it up for the long missed Dex and Perry. How I've missed those two along with the other characters from Experiment in Terror Series, Veiled and The Devil's Duology. This sets up the next (never thought we would ever get) EIT novel which comes out next month. Looks to be some scary items - YEAH!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Love in the World: A Holiday Anthology []  2020-11-8 18:21

    When I first heard about this anthology, I couldn’t wait to obtain my hands on it! What could be better than to be reunited with some of favorite characters from Karina’s books. Just getting the possibility to catch up with these characters was awesome and filled me with all the feels. This anthology was everything I could’ve wanted and more. I was immediately hooked from beginning to end! This holiday anthology that had something for everyone. So whether you’re in the mood for a Halloween, Valentine’s Day, Fresh Year’s Eve, Christmas or summer vacation story, this anthology has a small bit of everything. Moreover this anthology was packed with all the feels, all the laughs and all the steamy goodness that you could ask for! All The Love In The Globe is the feel amazing romance anthology that will leave you begging for more. If you’re looking for the excellent escape, this collection of holiday novellas will be sure to entertain you and tug on your heartstrings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Love in the World: A Holiday Anthology []  2020-11-8 18:21

    This is one of my favorite anthologies I've ever read. As a Karina Halle fangirl, it was amazing to obtain a story from some of my favorite couples she's written. The swooning, humor, and heartfelt words on every page were just what I needed! A story for every season and every reader, All the Love in the Globe was amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Love in the World: A Holiday Anthology []  2020-11-8 18:21

    There is nothing as unbelievable as checking back in with your favs. Each story has captured the vibe of the series. They feel like warm hugs on a cold day. Thanks for these small nuggets!I voluntarily read an early copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Love in the World: A Holiday Anthology []  2020-11-8 18:21

    ***5 Stars***This anthology is filled with all kinds of goodness!I was sold as soon as I saw that Lachlan and Kayla were getting a novella in here, but then I was given time with Javier, Esteban, The Nordic Royals and I was a ch. A. Goner.If you’re like me and love catching up with what is going in the lives of the characters we meet in books after they obtain their HEA, or even a secondary hero that may never obtain their own HEA for whatever reason, but you fell in love with ~ then this collection will create you all kinds of happy!It is suggested that you do read the books/series that these characters are from before diving in because there will be spoilers, and for the most part, I do agree because it makes the experience that much more enjoyable. But there are a couple of stories in here that revolve around characters I haven’t had the pleasure of meeting and I still found them to quite enjoyable.~ Copy provided by the author/Valentine PR & voluntarily reviewed ~

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Love in the World: A Holiday Anthology []  2020-11-8 18:21

    Eeeeeek!! This is one of the BEST anthologies I have ever read! My favorites were Dex and Perry from the Experiment in Terror series. I missed them so much! But all of the stories were absolutely amazing. I loved all of these characters so much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift: Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World []  2020-1-25 3:45

    Deserves a constellation of stars. I have read this book a lot of times, and just recently read it again, and it is even better than I remembered. There is now an entire literature on the relationship between a bonus economy and a shop economy, spawned in part by work of Jacques Derrida and others in the higher reaches of theology (e.g. the grace of God as a gift). But this book was in there first, is still better to my mind, full of sudden insight, simple to read, beautifully written, life changing. The amusing thing is that the author is under the impression that it is about artists: that is a little fraction of its insight -- it is really an attack on the entire globe view in which we operate, and opens up whole ranges of spiritual understanding. A well run society would send a free bonus copy to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift: Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World []  2020-1-25 3:45

    There's no doubt this is a quick and inspirational read. Like all self held books it really comes down to the read to place the principals described in the book into action. If you take that approach then I recommend you read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift: Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World []  2020-1-25 3:45

    Some popular people loved this book, and I'm not famous, so beware. Marcel Mauss wrote a great, short Essay on the Gift, and a lot of anthropologists including Levi-Strauss have wrestled with it, and I think it's fabulous, but this book mixes up a whole bunch of concepts, sort of a Fresh Age stew, with a poor flavor! I'd rather have my concepts straight up! I don't need mishmash. But, like I say, you might trust popular people more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift: Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World []  2020-1-25 3:45

    I liked the book overall and there were a lot of amazing points established by the author regarding the overall concept of the artist producing their works as bonuses instead of material commodities. A lot of thorough examples of the applications of the author's thematic approach and also highlights how artists in the past have led parallel lives along the same concept that the author tries to invoke. Although, there are a few points in the book which I struggled with understanding or perhaps have a difference of opinion regarding the views of the author I feel in summation that the book has changed my opinions on the method artistic works are produced and how they should be viewed by a society driven by material wealth and conspicuous consumption.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift: Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World []  2020-1-25 3:45

    This book is a heavily laden, academic, text that has very small to do with the creative process and more to do with the intellectual aptitude of the author. This book is rather an expose on the meanderings and idealizations of academic thought rather than a narrative on creativity and the product of those efforts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift: Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World []  2020-1-25 3:45

    Beautifully written, thought-provoking history of humankind's struggle with culture, possessions, commerce, through the annals of religion, societal mores, and how it applies to all of our lives, especially the arts. A various method of seeing our 'gifts' of talent, as well as how we deal with others in business. I would love for this book to be needed reading for all MBA's!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift: Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World []  2020-1-25 3:45

    A few worthy gems, but I expected more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift: Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World []  2020-1-25 3:45

    Lewis Hyde's recent ver of "The Gift" is clearly a Masterpiece for human beings trapped and hypnotized by the modern globe of commerce. It historically traces the differences between Commerce & Bonus giving. It is not what we ordinary folks expect. Full of surprises and a must for any writer of fiction. It reveals the mystery of accessing the Creative Spirit within us all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift: Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World []  2020-1-25 3:45

    "It is an assumption of this book that art is a gift, not a commodity."Hyde opens his treatise on the nature of Art as a bonus with anthropological studies of bonus exchange coupled with folklore. The diverse sources provide an perfect depiction of the two economies in which the artist (and her art) must participate. One economy is the visible, capitalistic one of which we are all aware in a daily, accounting-ledger way. This is the economy of commerce, and Hyde traces the origins of capitalistic wealth and usury, plumbing the disconnect between the "evergreen value" of art and the b "exhaustible" value of capitalistic wealth. In opposition is the second economy, that of the gift. The bonus economy is spiritual in nature, and the basic difference between it and commercial economy is that grasping at or hoarding a bonus destroys the bonus economy. The bonus must move to participate in the economy, and a lot of of the folktales illustrate that treating a bonus as a commodity results in loss, sorrow, or even rhaps understanding how opposed such an economy is to our (Western) method of coalescing and amassing fortunes, Hyde provides a modern day example of the bonus economy: Alcoholics Anonymous. In AA, the newcomer is taught that to hold the bonus of sobriety, she must someday pass the bonus of her hope, strength and experience to someone else. Like the bonuses in the different anthropological studies, the value of the AA teachings are in the sharing of them, to wit the AA saying, "You have to give it away to hold it." In terms of an artist and her art, however, problems become blurry because there is the persistent need of the artist to clothe, feed, and shelter herself. If art is to be her living, how can she avoid killing the divinity of the bonus and still traffic in it as a commodity? Hyde proposes that the artist must split herself into two modes of interacting with the various economies. Whitman and Ezra Pound are presented as cases studies of (somewhat) modern artists encountering the modern globe impinging on their gifts. Whitman, it seems, stayed truer to his bonus whereas some unnamed disappointment led Pound to pervert his bonus into a hateful ideology. Hyde's point here is that the artist, much like the ill-fated daughters of the opening folktale, will be damaged if he does not search a method to be real to his bonus - despite all societal pressure to the contrary. A lost artist is one who cannot fulfill the bonus by giving their art away, or who twist their art to some other purpose . This doesn't mean an artist must never accept cash for her work, but that she must maintain the purity of her pursuit of producing and sharing the bonus separate from her pursuit of to do this, how to make and earn a living without subverting the nature of the gift? Hyde doesn't respond the question of how to preserve the bonus in the modern world. Instead, he illustrates why it is imperiled by modern commerce. The epilog describes some common solutions for artists, including a long section on the rise and fall of American patronage (hint: it owes much to the Cold War). This section is the only put where the book, which was originally published in 1983, shows its age by failing to address the mechanism of crowdfunding. The employ of an agent is another common solution to the issue of working in two economies; the agent handles the commerce economy, thus freeing the artist to remain exclusively in the realm of the gift. The vast majority of modern artists, though, have solved the issue of cash by having a "second job." As a writer myself, I love that Hyde puts the emphasis on the secondary nature of doing anything that is not a direct effort towards my bonus and craft. THE GIFT: CREATIVITY AND THE ARTIST IN THE MODERN WORLD is a thought-provoking read for those who seek an understanding of the unseen forces that can cultivate or slay an artist's gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gift: Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World []  2020-1-25 3:45

    This is the classic book taking a look at the history, tradition types, and deeper meaning behind the act of gifting. It is a amazing asset to creative people looking to obtain in touch with a deeper sense of meaning when it comes to presenting their work to their audience, strangers, people of importance and people close to e book was hard to read for me because even though it is an necessary work, it spoke of a topic I was entirely unfamiliar with, and as I reread it, I realized a whole bunch of us are unfamiliar with a amazing and almost lost aspect of culture going back thousands of years. Of course, not everybody looks at things as philosophically and culturally as I do, so read that into my netheless, if you are a creator, or a culture fan, reading this will give you an awesome backdrop into the purpose, pleasure and reciprocation aspects of giving art, giving your bonus of talent, and puts you in touch with how we all should be giving more, of all kinds of things to preserve the best parts of being ingly yours,Arthur HermansenThe Lone Comic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Well Gardened Mind: Rediscovering Nature in the Modern World []  2020-11-27 20:28

    I bought this book for a mate of my mom's whom I also know. He has a attractive garden that he has had for a lot of years in the back yard of his house in San Diego, California, where he grows cactuses, succulents and other plants. He emailed my mom several various times about The Well-Gardened Mind, saying that he loved the book because it was inspirational and he learned things and thought about gardens in ways he never did before. Seems like a amazing bonus for someone who gardens, and I may read it myself!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Well Gardened Mind: Rediscovering Nature in the Modern World []  2020-11-27 20:28

    Others in the family thought it offered them some insight into my gardening experience, but as a long-time gardener, I was looking for something a bit more theoretical or philosophical. Maybe because of my gardening experience, or perhaps due to my overall view of the world, it didn't show me with anything I hadn't already considered. In short, it affirmed much of what I already believe, but it didn't challenge me to think in a various way. A bit simplistic -- I wanted more to chew on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Well Gardened Mind: Rediscovering Nature in the Modern World []  2020-11-27 20:28

    Everyone should read this book, truly thought provoking, and inspiring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Well Gardened Mind: Rediscovering Nature in the Modern World []  2020-11-27 20:28

    Judging by its title, a casual reader may think that The Well-Gardened Mind is a self support book in which the author argues how people can transform their lives and improve their mental health by taking up the hobby of gardening. Indeed, Sue Stuart-Smith cites a lot of true life examples and scientific evidence to illustrate how prisoners, veterans, at-risk youth, the elderly, and the mentally ill can all benefit from the healing power of gardening.A more discerning reader, however, will know that Stuart-Smith accomplishes a lot more than arguing for the point that every gardener already knew. The garden is magical. It gives pleasure and joy. It has the power to heal. Everyone who has ever tended a garden knows this. But not every gardener knows why. This is where Stuart Smith distinguishes herself from other self support authors. She explains the whys by delving deeper into the existential meaning of doing and being, our relationship to mother earth, our experience of time, cognition in relation to nature, and the cyclical significance of growth and decay, living and dying. In other words, this book offers a lot more than help for mental health. It is a book of meditation on the interconnectedness of all things on earth. An ambitious undertaking no doubt, but highly readable and full of surprises, this book is a must read for everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Well Gardened Mind: Rediscovering Nature in the Modern World []  2020-11-27 20:28

    bought this for my wife - a seasoned gardener - she absolutely loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Well Gardened Mind: Rediscovering Nature in the Modern World []  2020-11-27 20:28

    The recommendation for this book popped up in one of my feeds and I'm so glad it did. I listened to it on Audible while working in my flower gardens and found it so inspiring. The author has a remarkably amazing reading voice and hearing the book read aloud was both soothing and inspiring. I did not know that I was curious about how gardens comfort and heal us, but apparently I was extremely keen on learning about these topics. If you are too, you will love this book. I suggest you listen to it, if you are an Audible member. Better yet, listen to it in a garden!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Well Gardened Mind: Rediscovering Nature in the Modern World []  2020-11-27 20:28

    Massive reading and often without the joyousness of gardening. Wordy, philosophical, intense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Well Gardened Mind: Rediscovering Nature in the Modern World []  2020-11-27 20:28

    I purchased this book as it looked like a amazing read, I have not as yet had a possibility to read it, when I do I will write more about the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Well Gardened Mind: Rediscovering Nature in the Modern World []  2020-11-27 20:28

    Lots to talk about when it comes to THE WELL-GARDENED MIND by Sue Stuart-Smith. I went into this book not knowing what to expect, but I came away with a better appreciation not just of the importance of nature but the connection we can form with it. Using her own experiences and that of others, the book shows that we can learn about life, loss and the peace that is possible by spending time outside, especially e process not just connects us back to the ground but allows us to think about the bonus that is life around us---and how that appreciation can support us as we are looking at ourselves and others.Powerful book about connection and possibilities. THE WELL-GARDENED MIND reminds us that peace and understanding are all around us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Well Gardened Mind: Rediscovering Nature in the Modern World []  2020-11-27 20:28

    Perfect read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Herbal Renaissance, Growing, Using & Understanding Herbs in the Modern World []  2020-7-11 19:28

    While there are a lot of books on how to use herbs, an authoritative and accurate reference book on how to grow them is rare. Herbal Renaissance is that rare book that is both a pleasure to read, and absolutely useful, whether you wish to grow herbs for your own use and pleasure, or grow them commercially. An added benefit is that it will introduce you to useful and delightful herbs you may have never considered. I bought the book when it first came out and continue to use it as one of the main reference resources in my library. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Herbal Renaissance, Growing, Using & Understanding Herbs in the Modern World []  2020-7-11 19:28

    The author forgets necessary info like when to begin certain herbs such as oregano. Also info is not delineated with subsections for essential info such as soil type, ph, begin date, etc. Instead all of this info is bundled together with history, uses, etc making it difficult to find. I don't care about the history, I wish to know when and how to plant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Herbal Renaissance, Growing, Using & Understanding Herbs in the Modern World []  2020-7-11 19:28

    Unlike the reviewer Mr. Landendorf, I search the material in this book easily accessible for my gardening needs. This book is not merely a planting chart,(though it includes the planting chart information also). As the word 'Renaissance' in the title implies, the info concerning each herb is many-faceted. It contains each herb's history, uses, plant characteristics, chemical compounds, toxins (if any), considerations, factors and instructions in growing the herb, drying or preserving instructions (or not) etc., etc. The herbs featured, are not just the common culinary ones or just the more usually discussed of the medicinals. There is a broad and in-depth coverage of the lesser-knowns as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Herbal Renaissance, Growing, Using & Understanding Herbs in the Modern World []  2020-7-11 19:28

    My husband uses this book frequently. It is a very well presented reference book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People of the World: Cultures and Traditions, Ancestry and Identity []  2020-1-1 18:27

    Considering the vast number of cultural differences of people in the world, this broad, beautifully photographed and doented bookis full of concise descriptions and to the point ysis of current influences on people and their communities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mosaic Techniques & Traditions: Projects & Designs from Around the World []  2020-1-16 22:23

    Almost all mosaic books contain an obligatory "how to" section. I have been making mosaics for about two years and found that this book filled in the gaps about not only the "how" but the "why". An example: you don't add acrylic paint to grout for a colorant--because it is not a pigment and the latex will give the grout a plastic look and may also cause the grout to crack. That is merely one such bit of information. Helpful hints occur throughout the book. Thank you for taking the time to address a lot of small things that ulatively add up to the difference between an okay piece and a amazing piece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mosaic Techniques & Traditions: Projects & Designs from Around the World []  2020-1-16 22:23

    What can I say? Photos are beautiful. The book is amazing for ideas. The photographs are well taken and very much illustrative of the points that are being created in the book. Another amazing one for the collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People of the World: Cultures and Traditions, Ancestry and Identity []  2020-1-1 18:27

    Love it! Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mosaic Techniques & Traditions: Projects & Designs from Around the World []  2020-1-16 22:23

    This book was written by a mosaic artist and teacher who's travelled extensively and kept her eyes begin (and her camera ready)while sightseeing. The breadth of her scope is very satisfying (ranging from the ancient Greek and Roman to the very, very modern, with every significant school represented). She absolutely knows the medium, and gives sound and practiced techniques for creating different types of mosaics. She also contains photographs of all kinds of various work, so the reader can be inspired by a style that speaks to him or her. My only reservation about this book comes from the fact that my taste and hers differ, so there are other books available which (in my opinion)offer a more pleasing selection of mosaics to be inspired by.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mosaic Techniques & Traditions: Projects & Designs from Around the World []  2020-1-16 22:23

    Book was brand fresh and at a very amazing price. Also arrived in a very timely manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mosaic Techniques & Traditions: Projects & Designs from Around the World []  2020-1-16 22:23

    I live in South America, and seldomly you can search a book on Mosaic Art, so for me this book is wonderful. I had the possibility to view lots of artists works, from around the world, Mostly classical mosaic Art and some of the modern artists. It is also well worth to see all the various hints and tips I could search in it's t only the pictures of art are valuable, but also the explanations. English is not my mother tongue, and even so, I could understand most of the book, and then find for the words I couldn't.I want this book would be translated to spanish!!!I would definitely recommend this book to any mosaic artist, either if it's a novice or not. I thank the author for giving us the opportunity of reading such a valuable material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mosaic Techniques & Traditions: Projects & Designs from Around the World []  2020-1-16 22:23

    I ordered this book upon the recommendation of an instructor in a fresh class: The Art of Mosaics. It's an perfect book for a beginner, an advanced student, or even someone just interested in mosaics. It gives interesting history with images and then also covers tools, supplies, and techniques. I've found myself going back to it repeatedly for tip on the techniques and then to look at the perfect images for examples. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone as your bible for mosaics!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People of the World: Cultures and Traditions, Ancestry and Identity []  2020-1-1 18:27

    This book is really amazing. It tells about so a lot of various cultures and races even I never knew a lot of of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mosaic Techniques & Traditions: Projects & Designs from Around the World []  2020-1-16 22:23

    Absolutely FANTASTIC book! Chock full of incredibly useful info written by someone who has obviously done this for a amazing long time and can advise you on how to create things easier and also how to not create mistakes. I loved the suggestions that came up frequently that you just don't read in most books. I have yet to obtain all the method through it, but I've read the most meaty first 1/3 and I've already gleaned more than I have in reading half a dozen other books. I couldn't be happier w/ this purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mosaic Techniques & Traditions: Projects & Designs from Around the World []  2020-1-16 22:23

    I looked at a lot of descriptions of mosaic books and took some out of the library to try. I was very lucky I picked this one to buy. It has a amazing section on the history of mosaics and a lot of unbelievable en it shows in detail what tools you need and how to use them for mosaic projects. It describes the glues and the kinds of material you may be using: tessere, smalti, broken china etc. And then there are projects you can do to gain skill.I was looking for a book that had a more in-depth approach and this is it. I would recommend it to anyone interested in mosaics. Even if you don't do any projects, it expands your knowledge of the artform.I come from an art background and was interested in using mosaics for practical purposes like the garden. I also wanted to use the broken beads left over from making lampwork beads and this technique seems to be ideal for that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Holiday Traditions and Baby Additions! []  2020-6-18 20:54

    Please fix this. the third episode is the second re loaded as episode 3. hmm. Please fix this. OH I said that already.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Holiday Traditions and Baby Additions! []  2020-6-18 20:54

    Episode 3 is the same one as episode 2... either credit my acc or send the correct episode to my channel.. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mosaic Techniques & Traditions: Projects & Designs from Around the World []  2020-1-16 22:23

    If you are interested in creating mosaics, this book will not disappoint. It has clear, concise info that will benefit everyone from the beginner through more advanced mosaic artists. There is invaluable technical info regarding creating mosaics for all conditions, from indoors to outdoors in freeze/thaw climates. There is safety info regarding everything from glass handling to adhesive fumes. All theconstruction techniques are detailed and recommedations for products are included. There are also valuable design tips, several complete projects (various levels of expertise covered), historical background, and a lot of perfect inspirational photographs of mosaics of varying styles. This could be the only mosaic book you'd ever need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mosaic Techniques & Traditions: Projects & Designs from Around the World []  2020-1-16 22:23

    This book covers mosaic art quite well - with sections on the history, design, techniques, tools, projects to obtain one started, and lots of eye candy from a lot of artists, including the author. I became fascinated with mosaics during a trip to Italy in August of this year. Upon return to the States, my goal was to get a better level of knowledge so that I might eventually be able to experiment a bit. King's text does an perfect job of explaining the process, from design through to placing the tesserae and grouting the finished work. My confidence has gone up quite a bit by reading and giving some thought to the recommendations provided.I also agree with earlier reviews stating that this book and Emma Biggs' "Encyclopedia of Mosaic Techniques" create a nice combination. Between these two, I'm ready to tackle a project. Some smalti, weldbond, nippers, cutters, and wedi board is already on the way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    People of the World: Cultures and Traditions, Ancestry and Identity []  2020-1-1 18:27

    This is the best edition by far of the three that National Geographic has place out on this topic. Each culture is illustrated with a photo, and there are extra sections on genealogy, genetic groups, group migrations, and ethnic-identity testing. The timely intro reminds us that Earth's billions share an interrelated past...and future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Holiday Traditions and Baby Additions! []  2020-6-18 20:54

    I just bought season 9 episode 3 and when I go to play it, it airs episode 2 again??

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Holiday Traditions and Baby Additions! []  2020-6-18 20:54

    The wrong episode downloaded. It was episode 2 again. Please fix

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Holiday Traditions and Baby Additions! []  2020-6-18 20:54

    We bought episode 3 but when we went to watch it, it was episode 2. Seems like there might be a technical issue? I can’t search anywhere to reach out so I’m hoping this will obtain a response.( love this present though)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Holiday Traditions and Baby Additions! []  2020-6-18 20:54

    Love this series as a whole, typically no issues with amazon. BUT this is not the correct episode and when you pay for something because you can't obtain the channel its disappointing to pay for the wrong product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Holiday Traditions and Baby Additions! []  2020-6-18 20:54

    I love this present but reposting episode 2 when I paid for episode 3 is ridiculous. Also, I just wasted 40 mins of my life in a chat where I got dropped and reassigned to another customer service representative without any message at all and then the newly assigned person never bothered to join the chat. Thanks for making me feel like a valued Prime Member. So glad I pay over $100 a year for the honor of being ignored.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Holiday Traditions and Baby Additions! []  2020-6-18 20:54

    Love the show

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Holiday Traditions and Baby Additions! []  2020-6-18 20:54

    I purchased Episode 3, but it is just the same thing as Episode 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Holiday Traditions and Baby Additions! []  2020-6-18 20:54

    I purchased episode three but it's showing episode 2 again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World: Leibniz, Spinoza and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2019-12-20 18:32

    Matthew Stewart has retired to pursue a life of contemplation. The globe of books would benefit a amazing deal if more clever people and iconoclasts had the means to do t only does this tale entertain its reader in a method that academic books are not allowed to, it is surely a serious contribution to the history of Spinoza - even if the academic establishment has grave doubts. It is replete with thought-provoking observations, remarks and anecdotes and tells a thorough story - based to amazing extent on surviving bits and pieces, but also on educated speculation - around the meeting of the two of Leibniz will complain that it is nothing but a hero assassination, while Spinozists will tend on the whole to appreciate the detail the story adds to a philosopher whose life remains to a huge extent favourite philosophical remark is the claim that contrary to conventional wisdom, which puts Spinoza in the rationalist tradition, his work is more sensibly read as radical empiricism. Grist to the mill of those of us pursuing lives of independent favourite piece of irreverence is the almost but not entirely concealed implication in the telling of the cirtances of Spinoza's death that Leibniz may have had some hand in it. Which of course surely cannot be true, can it?To anyone who is not afraid to rattle the cages of the academic establishment, this is a book very much worth reading. Staunch defenders of the dry anachronisms of academic scholarship should also therefore read this book very carefully.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World: Leibniz, Spinoza and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2019-12-20 18:32

    Kids prefer stories to explanations, a fact that has led thinkers to convey their views in poems, plays, and novels rather than treatises alone. Stewart, a serious thinker, follows suit by expressing his perspectives on modern (post-Machiavelli) philosophy by means of a story about a short meeting between two seminal philosophers. Exchanges between living philosophers of equal greatness are almost non-existent. Locke refused to have a "dialogue" with Leibniz, and in the Platonic dialogues Socrates always outclasses his interlocutors, except for Parmenides, who is far superior to the young Socrates. So an acc about the interaction between two amazing minds naturally arouses curiosity among us e story Stewart tells, however, is something of a nothing-burger. I don't wish to spoil the non-ending, but fundamentally we don't know what went on between the two men, nor even how a lot of days (or hours) they talked. Stewart is somewhat successful in building what scraps of evidence we have into an interesting narrative, and his speculations about what went on between the two are intriguing, but the true "story" is why the thought and method of life of these two men matters to us today.Temperamentally and intellectually I've always been closer to Leibniz, whose major works I have read and reread, so I was skeptical about Stewart's initial depiction of the young Leibniz as something of a mendacious [email protected]#$%, as opposed to the long-suffering philosopher's philosopher, Spinoza. But read on and you search that Stewart gives a nuanced picture of both men: he shows Leibniz's Bodhisattva side as well as Spinoza's pride, ambition and possible atheism. The author also shows that while Leibniz may well have been a Spinozist in some sense--this continues to be debated--he was alarmed at what he considered a reductionist teaching that undermines common belief in the divine, including the immortal soul. Stewart puts both men in a larger context, showing how their philosophies are a response to primary issues in the dualism of Descartes, and also showing how two opposing streams of modern thought can be traced to them. In reading the story, for example, I became aware of how much Nietzsche was influenced by Spinoza, both agreeing with and reacting to him. After finishing the book--and this is the highest compliment I can give Stewart--I dusted off my old copies of Spinoza's is stimulating book is a amazing gateway to early modern philosophy. As the (now) 76 reviews demonstrate, the nothing-burger turns out to be a very juicy steak for those who like to think upon philosophy and the philosopher's life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World: Leibniz, Spinoza and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2019-12-20 18:32

    Interesting scholarship, which views Leibniz as a reaction to Spinoza, in an a almost Hegelian dialectic manner. Spinoza is set as the first philosopher of "modernity" but the facts of his life are barely mentioned. Leibniz is set as his opponent, but with a self-conscious reserve that makes it seem like a pose or act. A lot of detail about one known mainly for disputing the invention of calculus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World: Leibniz, Spinoza and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2019-12-20 18:32

    Decent, entertaining work but pushes Spinoza's result on Leibniz a bit too much. Certainly beyond the probable. Worth a read though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World: Leibniz, Spinoza and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2019-12-20 18:32

    it's a amazing historic book on the life of Leibniz. If you wish in-depth philosophical review of the work of Spinoza, you'll have to look somewhere else. Spinoza and his work is only discussed, with some detail, in reference to the development of Leibniz's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World: Leibniz, Spinoza and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2019-12-20 18:32

    I have read numerous books by and about Spinoza and, while doing so, became somewhat acquainted with Leibniz since he is frequently mentioned in books and articles about Spinoza. Other than what I what I was exposed to about Leibnitz as a result, I knew very small about him. Other reviewers have suggested that the author of The Courtier and the Heretic, Matthew Stewart, has a bias in favor of Spinoza and versus Leibnitz. Those reviewers appear to allege that his bias calls into question Stewart's credibility regarding Leibniz. I have no method of assessing the validity of those allegations, but It is clear from reading this book that Stewart's conclusion is that Spinoza was motivated by a sincere, honest, and consistent belief in the theses presented in his different writings and that Leibniz was rarely sincere, honest, or consistent. Regardless, The Courtier and the Heretic provides a vivid picture of the strong influence of religion and contentious environment show during the lifetimes of both Spinoza and Leibniz. If one is concerned that the Courtier and the Heretic is not a balanced look at these two brilliant men, that concern may be warranted. But it is also entirely possible, and maybe even probable, that whatever imbalance is represented is justified. Leibnitz, while a brilliant polymath, does seem to have been an almost unapologetic opportunist with more intellectual power than conviction. Whether this is an accurate description of Leibniz, his lasting influence pales in comparison to that of Spinoza, the latter the conclusion of a wide array of centuries of serious students of philosophy. The Courtier and the Heretic is very readable, thoughtful, and incisive. Recommended reading for anyone interested in learning more about two fascinating individuals who continue to be the topic of debate even to the show day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World: Leibniz, Spinoza and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2019-12-20 18:32

    This book fascinated me by telling a story of an intellectual connection between two of the greatest thinkers of our time in a method that makes it apparent that the connection and the debate between the two men is really the personification of the debate between the Age of Faith and the Age of Reason that is still very much alive. The book starts out, innocently enough, with descriptions of the childhoods and early education of Spinoza and Leibniz. This makes it seem that the book will turn into two parallel biographies of the two men, and in a method it does, but the weight that it gives to each of their lives is not equal. It is really a story of Spinoza's discovery of the modern, secular worldview and it's the impact on the medieval, God-as-Supreme-Being-based worldview that was predominant in the 17th century, and that had an unrelenting keep on the philosophy of e connection between Leibniz and Spinoza begins when Leibniz finds out about Spinoza's early work while working as an adviser for a German noble. He is intrigued by Spinoza's ideas on the nature of God and the attempts to describe God in a method that, unlike the traditional religious outlook, is logically consistent. At the time, Spinoza was hated and reviled by the mainstream culture because the description of God as an impersonal Substance, instead of a Supreme Being, was more than the religion-dominated society could comfortably tolerate. Leibniz begins a clandestine correspondence with Spinoza, which culminates in a brief visit to Spinoza's room in The Hague. During the discussions with Spinoza, or shortly after the visit, Leibniz realizes the full implication of his host's philosophy. The implication was that, if Spinoza was correct, then the revealed truths of any religion can no longer be accepted by anyone with a shred of reason. This presented a huge issue for Leibniz because his greatest ambition was to contribute toward stopping the constant battles tearing through Europe at the time and he was convinced that the key to peace was a theocracy of a single unified and universal Christian Church. Leibniz makes an intellectual U-turn and spends the next forty years of his life trying to refute Spinoza's ideas with fresh philosophical theories with, in hindsight, a very limited success at addition to the dramatic plot, the lively style of the book makes it a pleasure to read. Descriptions of Spinoza's and Leibniz's personalities create the two characters come alive and make the impression that you start to know then as people. The writing is at times humorous and even sarcastic, though most of the humor and all of the sarcasm is at Leibniz's expense. It is obvious that the author is much more sympathetic toward Spinoza, understandably so. This brings me to the drawbacks of the book, which were the reason why I gave it four stars. Not enough credit is given to Leibniz. One or two times he is described as the "last universal genius" and it is briefly mentioned that he left his tag on almost every branch of science of his time. But, besides inventing calculus, there is no description of what it is that he did to deserve such a grand title. I want the author spent at least as much time on Leibniz's achievements as he did on waxing sarcastic on Leibniz's nerdy and awkward appearance.Another point rubbed me the wrong way. For Spinoza, Matthew Stewart writes, "self-interest is virtue itself." On the other hand, when talking about Spinoza's main motivation in philosophy, he writes that Spinoza looked at himself as a revolutionary out to bring freedom to the masses and destroy the old theocratic political order. While doing so, "Spinoza brazenly crossed the line that divides self-interest from the common good" (p. 107). The same inconsistency is on p. 176: "Spinoza maintains that virtue in fact leads to a very unselfish social behavior." It seems that Stewart has a very narrow view of self-interest and does not see that self-interest and the common amazing can be one and the same. In other words, the common amazing was in Spinoza's self-interest, and the self-interest and "selfishness" of each individual becomes the common good. Its hard to believe that a writer such as Stewart would miss this point, but I see no other finish up, I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more about Spinoza and the philosophy of the Age of Reason.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World: Leibniz, Spinoza and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2019-12-20 18:32

    Very amazing story of two of the three people (Descartes) who gave us the Age of Reason. I'm quite partial to Spinoza, but Leibniz is one of the amazing minds humanity has produced. They place the idea of God in its rightful place: outside the boundaries of reason and solely into the realm of faith, thus separating the two amazing fields of knowledge achievement: science and faith. Science preoccupies itself about reality or what can be known, while faith, as the name implies, is concerned with metaphysical concepts that in principle cannot be proved. Faith is private and unprovable, whereas science is universal and must be proved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World: Leibniz, Spinoza and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2019-12-20 18:32

    Leibniz is an amazing character, especially when juxtaposed to the other amazing characters and political figures and scientific thinkers in his age. Mathew Stewart is just awesome at weaving this all together. He clearly has a amazing handle on all this material, gets the philosophy in detail, an even sticks in some irony or sarcasm. I am a large fan of his books, and have purchased a bunch of them. Amazing items for biography buffs, people interested in political philosophy, mathematical philosophy, and even Jewish philosophy, as Baruch Spinoza plays a prominent role as well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World: Leibniz, Spinoza and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2019-12-20 18:32

    The Courtier and the Heretic is a fascinating look at both the philosophical debates that raged in the late seventeenth century as well as a study of two very various men who approached the globe from very various , it is difficult to imagine a time when philosophical debates were the thing of Main Road discussions, at least among the educated. This has been real at different times in history, but is so absent today, that it is hard for us to imagine. The debate basically centered on the primary worldview of humanity and its relationship to God. Is God an anthropomorphic being who made mankind in his image? Or is man a material being who is part of the substance of God? This debate still rages today, in the guise of creationists vs. secularists. Stewart very clearly spells out the differences in the globe views and the ways that they influence a lot of aspects of life. He also, interestingly, spells out the commonalities in what would appear to be very diverse beliefs and leads the reader to consider how we can search reconciliation in today's heated debates.On another level, The Courtier and the Heretic are about two very true and very human men. Spinoza was a Jew who was expelled from his Jewish community because of his denial of anthropomorphism, which was the norm of his age. He led a very sober and righteous life, filled with self denial and study. Leibniz was an apologist for Christianity who did not attend church in his later years. His lifestyle was very lavish and superficial and he was accused of greed and is book is fascinating, although not simple for those of us who are not seeped in philosophy. However, it is a very worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolt Against the Modern World []  2020-9-24 20:59

    This is an wonderful book. Since I was a young boy I clung dearly to my tradition, ancestry, culture. I could never understand why and what it meant. As I developed I came to understand more and this book was a divine revelation to me. Very fulfilling, conscious expanding. Thank you Evola. A amazing man to read with. Looking forward to reading much more of his work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolt Against the Modern World []  2020-9-24 20:59

    A prophetic book that foresaw what is unfolding now before our very eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolt Against the Modern World []  2020-9-24 20:59

    Before you buy any other of Evola's books, buy this one first, as it puts the rest of his thoughts into context (esoteric, cultural/political and otherwise). Well written, but very dense topic matter. Evola's writing, perhaps due to translation, needs to read and stewed over before you grasp what exactly he is trying to say. Whether you are just learning about this unorthodox thinker, or well versed in Traditional thought, this would be the book to begin with. Evola also provides copious notes on almost every page, providing fresh paths of research for the curious. The one shame is that this book brings you up to 1969 (he died in '74), and I for one would have loved to have his take on the modern ysically a well created book, highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolt Against the Modern World []  2020-9-24 20:59

    This is probably as necessary a book to read and much easier to search as “The Rule of The Inferiour” by Edgar Jung.Evola does an perfect job at explaining the decline of traditional values as long as the christization of The Catholic Church and how it lead to our Moden Crisis.He believes in the cyclical nature of time and that we are in the end of The Iron Age ,it could obtain much worse but thought metaphysical understanding the chosen must ride the storm out as one would in the center of a hurricane or the vortex of a black e spiritual singularity has appeared to arrive and will wipe away this age of decay and e false belief of humanism is evolving into the coming disaster of trans-humanism and those the the progressive sand faith will be drown once again in the rising tide.Everyday forward is another back to the past,Ride The Tiger people from The Polestar !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolt Against the Modern World []  2020-9-24 20:59

    This book should be on everyone's to-read list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolt Against the Modern World []  2020-9-24 20:59

    Evola was an INTJ genius, with only minor idiot savant like tendencies, as in the story of him being hit with metal from a bomb because he was walking around during the bombing raids assuming he was untouchable somehow, and became parylized. Not sure if that was true, but he did look old and sick, and died around 75. :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolt Against the Modern World []  2020-9-24 20:59

    I bought this book as a curiosity. Some of the content is obviously...well...'dated', and that's all I will say about it. That said, his critiques of materialism and democracy are (I feel) beautiful spot on. As well as his criticisms of both the Catholic and Non-Catholic churches, and their roles in degrading traditions and misusing the Bible to further materialistic viewpoints that were/are en vogue. It was quite interesting and a neither a perspective or critique I had heard before. I don't value this to sound "anti-christian" either. The 'western' church thoroughly lacks an understanding of its past, and dares not to reconsider past behavior or causes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolt Against the Modern World []  2020-9-24 20:59

    One of the greatest books I have ever read.While I would not recommend this book to someone completely unaware of the Traditionalist worldview, to those who are it is like a divine revelation."Beside the amazing 'currents' of the globe there are still individuals who are rooted in terra firma. Generally speaking, they are unknown people who shun the spotlight of modern popularity and culture. They live on spiritual heights; they do not belong in this world. Though they are scattered over the earth and often ignorant of each other's existence, they are united by an invisible bond and form an unbreakable chain in the traditional spirit. This nucleus does not act: it only exercises the function to which the symbolism of the "perennial fire" corresponded. By virtue of these people, Tradition is show despite all; the flame burns invisibly and something still connects the globe to the superworld. They are those who are awake, whom in Greek are called the εγρήγοροι."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolt Against the Modern World []  2020-9-24 20:59

    This was my first foray into Evola's writing. If you are like me and fresh to the idea of a traditional society, I would strongly recommend you steer clear of this book until you have read some more entry level literature. Evola's writing is very difficult to penetrate, and his vocabulary causes a lot of confusion. There are nuggets of info that can be understood, and those create sense, but it's surrounded by esoteric language and ideas that wrap in on themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Revolt Against the Modern World []  2020-9-24 20:59

    Not an simple read, very mystical. I am about 1/3 of the method through, it's a tough slog.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2020-10-7 18:14

    This is an extremely well-written book that was very enjoyable to read. It info the lifestyles of two amazing philosophers in such a method that it is fun to learn about them. Their views were explained and portrayed as well as compared back and forth. I liked the method the author alternated between each of the philosophers. I personally recommend this book to anyone who enjoys philosophy or anyone who wants to learn about Leibniz or Spinoza. That means everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2020-10-7 18:14

    Decent, entertaining work but pushes Spinoza's result on Leibniz a bit too much. Certainly beyond the probable. Worth a read though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2020-10-7 18:14

    Kids prefer stories to explanations, a fact that has led thinkers to convey their views in poems, plays, and novels rather than treatises alone. Stewart, a serious thinker, follows suit by expressing his perspectives on modern (post-Machiavelli) philosophy by means of a story about a short meeting between two seminal philosophers. Exchanges between living philosophers of equal greatness are almost non-existent. Locke refused to have a "dialogue" with Leibniz, and in the Platonic dialogues Socrates always outclasses his interlocutors, except for Parmenides, who is far superior to the young Socrates. So an acc about the interaction between two amazing minds naturally arouses curiosity among us e story Stewart tells, however, is something of a nothing-burger. I don't wish to spoil the non-ending, but fundamentally we don't know what went on between the two men, nor even how a lot of days (or hours) they talked. Stewart is somewhat successful in building what scraps of evidence we have into an interesting narrative, and his speculations about what went on between the two are intriguing, but the true "story" is why the thought and method of life of these two men matters to us today.Temperamentally and intellectually I've always been closer to Leibniz, whose major works I have read and reread, so I was skeptical about Stewart's initial depiction of the young Leibniz as something of a mendacious [email protected]#$%, as opposed to the long-suffering philosopher's philosopher, Spinoza. But read on and you search that Stewart gives a nuanced picture of both men: he shows Leibniz's Bodhisattva side as well as Spinoza's pride, ambition and possible atheism. The author also shows that while Leibniz may well have been a Spinozist in some sense--this continues to be debated--he was alarmed at what he considered a reductionist teaching that undermines common belief in the divine, including the immortal soul. Stewart puts both men in a larger context, showing how their philosophies are a response to primary issues in the dualism of Descartes, and also showing how two opposing streams of modern thought can be traced to them. In reading the story, for example, I became aware of how much Nietzsche was influenced by Spinoza, both agreeing with and reacting to him. After finishing the book--and this is the highest compliment I can give Stewart--I dusted off my old copies of Spinoza's is stimulating book is a amazing gateway to early modern philosophy. As the (now) 76 reviews demonstrate, the nothing-burger turns out to be a very juicy steak for those who like to think upon philosophy and the philosopher's life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2020-10-7 18:14

    Very amazing story of two of the three people (Descartes) who gave us the Age of Reason. I'm quite partial to Spinoza, but Leibniz is one of the amazing minds humanity has produced. They place the idea of God in its rightful place: outside the boundaries of reason and solely into the realm of faith, thus separating the two amazing fields of knowledge achievement: science and faith. Science preoccupies itself about reality or what can be known, while faith, as the name implies, is concerned with metaphysical concepts that in principle cannot be proved. Faith is private and unprovable, whereas science is universal and must be proved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2020-10-7 18:14

    Interesting scholarship, which views Leibniz as a reaction to Spinoza, in an a almost Hegelian dialectic manner. Spinoza is set as the first philosopher of "modernity" but the facts of his life are barely mentioned. Leibniz is set as his opponent, but with a self-conscious reserve that makes it seem like a pose or act. A lot of detail about one known mainly for disputing the invention of calculus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2020-10-7 18:14

    This book fascinated me by telling a story of an intellectual connection between two of the greatest thinkers of our time in a method that makes it apparent that the connection and the debate between the two men is really the personification of the debate between the Age of Faith and the Age of Reason that is still very much alive. The book starts out, innocently enough, with descriptions of the childhoods and early education of Spinoza and Leibniz. This makes it seem that the book will turn into two parallel biographies of the two men, and in a method it does, but the weight that it gives to each of their lives is not equal. It is really a story of Spinoza's discovery of the modern, secular worldview and it's the impact on the medieval, God-as-Supreme-Being-based worldview that was predominant in the 17th century, and that had an unrelenting keep on the philosophy of e connection between Leibniz and Spinoza begins when Leibniz finds out about Spinoza's early work while working as an adviser for a German noble. He is intrigued by Spinoza's ideas on the nature of God and the attempts to describe God in a method that, unlike the traditional religious outlook, is logically consistent. At the time, Spinoza was hated and reviled by the mainstream culture because the description of God as an impersonal Substance, instead of a Supreme Being, was more than the religion-dominated society could comfortably tolerate. Leibniz begins a clandestine correspondence with Spinoza, which culminates in a brief visit to Spinoza's room in The Hague. During the discussions with Spinoza, or shortly after the visit, Leibniz realizes the full implication of his host's philosophy. The implication was that, if Spinoza was correct, then the revealed truths of any religion can no longer be accepted by anyone with a shred of reason. This presented a huge issue for Leibniz because his greatest ambition was to contribute toward stopping the constant battles tearing through Europe at the time and he was convinced that the key to peace was a theocracy of a single unified and universal Christian Church. Leibniz makes an intellectual U-turn and spends the next forty years of his life trying to refute Spinoza's ideas with fresh philosophical theories with, in hindsight, a very limited success at addition to the dramatic plot, the lively style of the book makes it a pleasure to read. Descriptions of Spinoza's and Leibniz's personalities create the two characters come alive and make the impression that you start to know then as people. The writing is at times humorous and even sarcastic, though most of the humor and all of the sarcasm is at Leibniz's expense. It is obvious that the author is much more sympathetic toward Spinoza, understandably so. This brings me to the drawbacks of the book, which were the reason why I gave it four stars. Not enough credit is given to Leibniz. One or two times he is described as the "last universal genius" and it is briefly mentioned that he left his tag on almost every branch of science of his time. But, besides inventing calculus, there is no description of what it is that he did to deserve such a grand title. I want the author spent at least as much time on Leibniz's achievements as he did on waxing sarcastic on Leibniz's nerdy and awkward appearance.Another point rubbed me the wrong way. For Spinoza, Matthew Stewart writes, "self-interest is virtue itself." On the other hand, when talking about Spinoza's main motivation in philosophy, he writes that Spinoza looked at himself as a revolutionary out to bring freedom to the masses and destroy the old theocratic political order. While doing so, "Spinoza brazenly crossed the line that divides self-interest from the common good" (p. 107). The same inconsistency is on p. 176: "Spinoza maintains that virtue in fact leads to a very unselfish social behavior." It seems that Stewart has a very narrow view of self-interest and does not see that self-interest and the common amazing can be one and the same. In other words, the common amazing was in Spinoza's self-interest, and the self-interest and "selfishness" of each individual becomes the common good. Its hard to believe that a writer such as Stewart would miss this point, but I see no other finish up, I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more about Spinoza and the philosophy of the Age of Reason.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2020-10-7 18:14

    I have read numerous books by and about Spinoza and, while doing so, became somewhat acquainted with Leibniz since he is frequently mentioned in books and articles about Spinoza. Other than what I what I was exposed to about Leibnitz as a result, I knew very small about him. Other reviewers have suggested that the author of The Courtier and the Heretic, Matthew Stewart, has a bias in favor of Spinoza and versus Leibnitz. Those reviewers appear to allege that his bias calls into question Stewart's credibility regarding Leibniz. I have no method of assessing the validity of those allegations, but It is clear from reading this book that Stewart's conclusion is that Spinoza was motivated by a sincere, honest, and consistent belief in the theses presented in his different writings and that Leibniz was rarely sincere, honest, or consistent. Regardless, The Courtier and the Heretic provides a vivid picture of the strong influence of religion and contentious environment show during the lifetimes of both Spinoza and Leibniz. If one is concerned that the Courtier and the Heretic is not a balanced look at these two brilliant men, that concern may be warranted. But it is also entirely possible, and maybe even probable, that whatever imbalance is represented is justified. Leibnitz, while a brilliant polymath, does seem to have been an almost unapologetic opportunist with more intellectual power than conviction. Whether this is an accurate description of Leibniz, his lasting influence pales in comparison to that of Spinoza, the latter the conclusion of a wide array of centuries of serious students of philosophy. The Courtier and the Heretic is very readable, thoughtful, and incisive. Recommended reading for anyone interested in learning more about two fascinating individuals who continue to be the topic of debate even to the show day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2020-10-7 18:14

    The Courtier and the Heretic is a fascinating look at both the philosophical debates that raged in the late seventeenth century as well as a study of two very various men who approached the globe from very various , it is difficult to imagine a time when philosophical debates were the thing of Main Road discussions, at least among the educated. This has been real at different times in history, but is so absent today, that it is hard for us to imagine. The debate basically centered on the primary worldview of humanity and its relationship to God. Is God an anthropomorphic being who made mankind in his image? Or is man a material being who is part of the substance of God? This debate still rages today, in the guise of creationists vs. secularists. Stewart very clearly spells out the differences in the globe views and the ways that they influence a lot of aspects of life. He also, interestingly, spells out the commonalities in what would appear to be very diverse beliefs and leads the reader to consider how we can search reconciliation in today's heated debates.On another level, The Courtier and the Heretic are about two very true and very human men. Spinoza was a Jew who was expelled from his Jewish community because of his denial of anthropomorphism, which was the norm of his age. He led a very sober and righteous life, filled with self denial and study. Leibniz was an apologist for Christianity who did not attend church in his later years. His lifestyle was very lavish and superficial and he was accused of greed and is book is fascinating, although not simple for those of us who are not seeped in philosophy. However, it is a very worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2020-10-7 18:14

    Leibniz is an amazing character, especially when juxtaposed to the other amazing characters and political figures and scientific thinkers in his age. Mathew Stewart is just awesome at weaving this all together. He clearly has a amazing handle on all this material, gets the philosophy in detail, an even sticks in some irony or sarcasm. I am a large fan of his books, and have purchased a bunch of them. Amazing items for biography buffs, people interested in political philosophy, mathematical philosophy, and even Jewish philosophy, as Baruch Spinoza plays a prominent role as well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Courtier and the Heretic: Leibniz, Spinoza, and the Fate of God in the Modern World []  2020-10-7 18:14

    Matthew Stewart has retired to pursue a life of contemplation. The globe of books would benefit a amazing deal if more clever people and iconoclasts had the means to do t only does this tale entertain its reader in a method that academic books are not allowed to, it is surely a serious contribution to the history of Spinoza - even if the academic establishment has grave doubts. It is replete with thought-provoking observations, remarks and anecdotes and tells a thorough story - based to amazing extent on surviving bits and pieces, but also on educated speculation - around the meeting of the two of Leibniz will complain that it is nothing but a hero assassination, while Spinozists will tend on the whole to appreciate the detail the story adds to a philosopher whose life remains to a huge extent favourite philosophical remark is the claim that contrary to conventional wisdom, which puts Spinoza in the rationalist tradition, his work is more sensibly read as radical empiricism. Grist to the mill of those of us pursuing lives of independent favourite piece of irreverence is the almost but not entirely concealed implication in the telling of the cirtances of Spinoza's death that Leibniz may have had some hand in it. Which of course surely cannot be true, can it?To anyone who is not afraid to rattle the cages of the academic establishment, this is a book very much worth reading. Staunch defenders of the dry anachronisms of academic scholarship should also therefore read this book very carefully.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386