Read kids of appetite reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all kids of appetite reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kids of Appetite []  2020-1-14 19:27

    I definitely recommend this book regardless of your age. My daughter picked it up at school from one of her teachers. I read it since I was intrigued by the title. I found it funny, clever, thought provoking and simply an entertaining read. It was refreshing . The characters were well developed. I didn't figure out "who dunnit". Often I know long before the mystery is revealed. I thought it was very original as well. Can't say I read a book quite like it. Will have to read Mosquito land now to compare. I gave it five stars because I can't think of anything I didn't like about it. And latest I have to agree with Mr Arnold about all things pesto. Even though it has nothing g to do with the book.

    0  


    Add your opinion on kids of appetite or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kids of Appetite []  2020-1-14 19:27

    A student of mine recommended Mosquitoland, and now, after completing Children of Appetite, I know I will it as well. David Arnold has written a unbelievable book about love, loss, survival, and it is written in the believable voices of the protagonists. Sharp tongued Coco, philosopher Baz, Angry the caregiver, and Vic, whose journey to say goodbye to his father becomes our own private journey. KOA is beautiful, sweet, and hopeful; just like life. "We may not have the power to choose the setting or plot, but we can choose what kind of hero to be." -KOA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kids of Appetite []  2020-1-14 19:27

    Vic, Angry have a story to tell. Everything hinges on the telling. The children of appetite, a little group of “unwanted” took Vic in when he required them to fulfill his father’s latest wishes. As they spend time together, Vic realizes that (for once) his birth defect doesn’t matter. They accept all of him and take him as family. When some of the members are in trouble, it’s Vic’s turn to repay his second family. It’s all in the telling, you see, because you have to see the huge picture. The one that includes:1. A coded mission to scatter ashes across Fresh Jersey2. A dormant submarine3. Two very various songs about flowers.4. Sunsets, orchards, and graveyards.5. The a lot of meanings of family6. A narrow escape from a war-torn country7. The collection of stories8. How to hear someone who doesn’t talk9. Falling in love10. Super racehorsesThis book created me feel so a lot of things. I was proud of the characters, laughed with them, celebrated and cried for them. The hero development was amazing. I loved them all- from Vic, who, because of a birth defect, can’t close his eyes or really present emotion on his face but is a real heart-thinker. Mad, who lost both her parents in a wreck and now clings to her grandmother even if it puts her in a tight spot. Baz, collector of people and stories. Zuz, who never says a word but makes himself known. And then there’s Coco, the 11 year old orphan from Queens with a stunning (and sometimes hilarious) vocabulary and a huge e plot was amazing and well executed. I really loved it! Five stars, plus one for creativity- this book is a super racehorse.On the adult content scale, there’s a bit. Language, obviously, and violence, both done so as not to be over the top or gratuitous. I’d give it a four. I would give this to my niece, but there are some that would have pause.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kids of Appetite []  2020-1-14 19:27

    read Mr Arnolds first book Mosquitoland. Love that one as well. I was satisfied to hear about his next book being published this fall. I will admit, the first few pages, I was not too happy, but I give a book about 10 to 20 % before I am done. I am so very glad I kept reading. This author gets to the core of problems that young people face today. Broken Homes, Abuse, Immigration from Third Globe countries, Love and sharing that love, Bullying, accepting people for their faults. Loved the characters. Vic and Angry are amazing kids. I have to admit my favorite was the foul mouthed Coco an 11 year old who has seen much problem in her young life. Tough on the outside, but a scared small girl inside. Would love to see this one as a film as well as Mosquitoland.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kids of Appetite []  2020-1-14 19:27

    "We are, each of us, hopeless hopers."When reading this book I created a conscious choice to slow myself down, only allowing a few chapters at a time. I knew I was at risk of devouring this book when it should be savored. I know I will return to this story again and again, and can only hope more people search the beauty in the prose and the infinite wonder in the narrative that I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kids of Appetite []  2020-1-14 19:27

    Profoundly beautiful. a mix of what makes a family, private tragedies, and how to overcome the odds. I love that authors are looking into the globe of a various type of diversity. Disabilities are often frowned upon in our society be it a quirk of the mind or body people look and treat you differently. This is shown through Vic as well Zuz and Baz. Angry shows us the meaning of family and the harsh reality that families aren't Norman Rockwell paintings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kids of Appetite []  2020-1-14 19:27

    I intend to share this book with my teen book club. We loved Mosquitoland, and I'm sure they will search this novel as interesting to read. The characters and structure of the novel take you on a journey that is complicated and involving. A amazing read. MCT

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kids of Appetite []  2020-1-14 19:27

    It’s always a small risky, both as a writer and a reader, taking on a book told from multiple points of view. It’s hard enough to search a book with one narrator I love, allow alone two or more. Throw on top of that a non-linear structure — KIDS OF APPETITE opens on a stage that actually takes put near the end of the story, with the bulk of the narrative told in flashback — and in less capable hands, you might have a recipe for literary rtunately, David Arnold is far more than capable, and KIDS OF APPETITE is an often poignant, occasionally hilarious, surprisingly twisty delight from begin to e central characters of KIDS OF APPETITE are a boy, Victor “Vic” Benucci, and a girl, Madeline “Mad” Falco, who meet by possibility two years after the death of Vic’s father, and wind up profoundly changing each other’s lives forever. The narrative flips between both of their POVs, and alternates between their separate interrogations in a police station, and the happenings that brought them there. It’s a tricky structure, but it works. Both voices are sharp and distinctive, and the skips back and forth in time flow well, and are never jarring or c is a boy still grieving his father’s death following a long illness. After fleeing his house during a particularly upsetting night, Vic encounters Angry and the rest of the Children of Appetite — Baz and Zuz, refugee brothers from the Republic of the Congo, and Coco, an 11-year-old girl with a boundless imagination and a penchant for swearing. The four Children live together in a neglected greenhouse, where they spend their time musing upon life, making grand declarations, and, every now and then, deciding to take it upon themselves to create someone else’s life better. When Vic and the Children collide, they set out on a mission to fulfill his father’s final wish, and in doing so, bring Vic the closure he so desperately needs. But even as they are all working to support Vic, Vic is focused on Mad, who, despite her guarded exterior, he suspects could use some support of her the story went on, I fell in love with each of these characters. As in David Arnold’s previous book, MOSQUITOLAND, the members of his cast are like a bunch of mismatched puzzle pieces coming together to to form a sort of Wes Anderson-ized whole, full of quirks and flaws and idiosyncrasies that may create them an odd fit anywhere else, but work perfectly with each other. David Arnold’s amazing strength as a writer is in painting his characters with a vivid brush, and then stepping back and allowing them to shine through their dialogue as they interact with each other, and that talent is on full display here. In both the huge moments and the small, loud and quiet, it was a joy to experience life with these characters, and to watch them live and laugh and see that it was good.I wish to take a moment to talk about the disability representation with Vic, who has a rare neurological disorder known as Moebius Syndrome, which is characterized by complete or partial facial paralysis. Before reading KIDS OF APPETITE, I had never even heard of Moebius Syndrome, and certainly had never met anyone who had it. It was evident in reading Vic’s point-of-view that David was very aware that this might be the first exposure a lot of of his readers have to Moebius, as well as the first time his readers with Moebius see someone like them represented in fiction. The care and attention to detail was clear, and there is an author’s note at the end which thanks four individuals with Moebius for consulting closely on the development of Vic’s character. While I am not disabled, I am a powerful proponent of increased diversity in fiction, as I believe that reading about a broad spectrum of human experiences can only serve to increase empathy. There are so few books out there with disabled protagonists, and even fewer where the author really opened themselves up to input from the community they are aiming to represent. And while KIDS OF APPETITE is definitely not a book about Moebius, I really appreciated the thoughtfulness that went into crafting Vic and making sure that the portrayal of a hero with Moebius was the end, KIDS OF APPETITE is a attractive story of grief and healing, of friendship and found family, of first impressions and broadened horizons, and of how you can know someone so well, yet explore there are parts of them you never knew at all. It is in turns funny and heartfelt, thrilling and surprising and gutting. It is a brilliant, honest, Super Racehorse of a book, and one I wholeheartedly recommend to anyone who loves amazing stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kids of Appetite []  2020-1-14 19:27

    WELL DONE, DAVID!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kids of Appetite []  2020-1-14 19:27

    Amazing book. Amazing concept. I loved both Vic and Angry and all the other characters. They were the kind of characters I wish as my mates in true life because they're living proof that no matter how hard life gets... you don't give e beginning was just so captivating, interestingly strange and you're probably wondering: "ah... did she accidently rate this book 2 stars? Maybe she meant 4?"Well, yes and ing is, I was so sure this was a 4 stars book for me. I loved the beginning and I was sure I would love the rest of it too.And while I did have fun the rest of the book as well, it was harder for me to read. Why? too a lot of descriptions of memories, places, characters and sometimes even overall weirdness that didn't create much sense, to be honest. I felt like there were so a lot of American inside jokes and references to locations and meal and other items in the U.S, that an international like me could never understand. I didn't even visit the U.S, allow alone lived there. For me, those jokes and references were completely alien. Honestly? Sometimes it felt like I was reading this book in a language I didn't understand but knew e amazing news: for those of you who live\lived\are familiar with the U.S culture, this book should be just for you (given that you have fun a amazing - if strange - contemporary romance).Because despite my rating (which, if we're being technical here, is 2.5 stars), this book is a amazing of wonderful. It's unique, it's interesting and it has amazing characters (one of which has a rare physical disability).Wow, I don't think I ever talked so positively about a book I rated so low. This book is so not conventional that in a weird method it makes h.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AC: The Power of Appetite Correction []  2020-1-22 22:10

    This book is awesome for anyone looking into an Intermittent Fasting lifestyle. I had been doing a 19:5 regimen for about 5 months when I heard of this book and it solidified the "why" for everything I was doing. It took me about 4 weeks to feel like I had Appetite Correction fully. Now that I have it, it feels physically impossible to overeat. The few times I have pushed through and over eaten, I obtain physically ill. I love that my body feels "reset" and there is clear communication between my hunger and satiety signals. Living a 19:5 lifestyle has helped me overcome meal addiction, feel dietary freedom, balance my blood sugars, helped me feel mental clarity, and helped me release over 60 lbs (and counting). This book is simple to understand and it's easy to follow. I highly recommend Dr. Herring's book, "Fast 5." I can't imagine ever living my life any other method or going back to old habits because I feel so amazing now! This book is very valuable and insightful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AC: The Power of Appetite Correction []  2020-1-22 22:10

    I highly recommend this book to helps you obtain a grip on understanding & controlling your appetite for meal - and so much more. Dr Herring is one of 3 authors I am reading in learning to lose weight and obtain healthier at the same time. The others are Jason Fung (MD) and Gin Stephens (PhD). All have perfect books and youtube videos on Intermittent Fasting which is simple to implement in your eating lifestyle resulting in "maintainable" weight loss. The effect is looking better, feeling better, and having more energy. This eating lifestyle has no gimmicks, no costs other than books if you choose to them, and buying smaller clothes as you need them - but...your meal bill will go down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AC: The Power of Appetite Correction []  2020-1-22 22:10

    I tried Fast-5 when I first downloaded the E-Book a number of years ago. It was hard to start with and I always found myself eating a lot of additional meal before the window closed. I used Fast-5 off and on since then with limited success. I did lose some fat and am only slightly overweight now (BMI 26) as opposed to being very overweight (BMI 29) before I started. I never quite got to where I really wanted to be though, lean like I was when I was younger.I was researching Intermittent Fasting when I came across Dr. Herrings fresh book. It looked interesting so I purchased a copy. I couldn't place it down and kept reading until the end! It had a lot of Ah Ha moments where I realized where I had gone wrong using Fast-5. I had chop my meal down to only one food but what a meal! I ate till I was almost bursting because I couldn't eat again until tomorrow. I wasn't gaining weight but my goals always seemed just out of 's too early to say how well this is going to end up but I'm very enthused and excited that I may have finally found something that works. I'm going to eat until I'm not hungry, not until I'm stuffed. I'm also following the principles outlined in "The excellent health diet" by Paul and Shou-Ching Jaminet, also available from Amazon.I plan on writing another review in a few months to report on my success. This fresh book is just the additional knowledge I required to create Fast-5 work! Need I say it again? I'm pumped! This book may just be the kick in the pants I required to succeed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite []  2020-1-22 22:41

    This is a collection of essays published over the years dealing with Thomas Merton's amazing interest in Eastern Religion, especially Buddhism and more precisely Zen Buddhism. Merton had perhaps one of the clearest understanding of Zen, and in the ways which it came close to touching western mysticism in some of the Rhenish Mystics (Ekhart and Ruysbroek) and even St. John of the Cross. The final Essay is a dialogue between Merton and the amazing Japanese Zen Master D. T. Suzuki, a treasure of a document. Two of the greatest minds of the twentieth century coming together from totally various cultures and meeting in the harmonious atmosphere as two monks having tea together. A unbelievable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite []  2020-1-22 22:41

    I greatly have fun Merton's discussions of Zen, and I learned quite a bit from this one. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AC: The Power of Appetite Correction []  2020-1-22 22:10

    If you have ANY attention to health and diet information over the years, then you know everything presented in this book except perhaps it's central point: Eat during a 5 hr period each day, quick for the rest. Other than that.. . .. meh. In a lot of ways, this book was a joke. He makes up for literally a lack of topic matter with blank pages for you to write in your thoughts. Ugh .. I have blank paper already thank you. On other pages there are locations of HUGE text and cartoons. He had small to say but wanted to come up with a book. Save your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AC: The Power of Appetite Correction []  2020-1-22 22:10

    Absolutely unbelievable book for anyone.Dr. Herring is changing lives and truly making a difference. Personally, I have lost 60lbs and have kept it off for 5 years now and have never felt better. Best yet, I'm still eating the meal I love. However, intermittent fasting has opened me up to have fun vegetables that once created me gag. A day of fasting makes broccoli taste like a dream.Everyone should read this book and give the tip a solid month (or even longer) a try. It's quite simply the easiest diet to follow, I promise. Stop counting calories and begin living your life!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AC: The Power of Appetite Correction []  2020-1-22 22:10

    The book has some amazing hints, but is not for the serious reader that wants more research-backed info. It's more like a casual conversation with a friend. I did like his criticisms of huge businesses, such as medical, meal producers, advertising, and others who profit from ill health caused by our standard diet in US. It is an OK read, but don't expect much in details. I like Dr. Herring's humor in his yt videos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite []  2020-1-22 22:41

    A difficult but intriguing book, by a famously begin minded explorer of Christianity and the Eastern method of finding "salvation" in the here and now, via Zen meditation. Thomas Merton's prose is tangled, so the book is harder to read than it required to be, however, discussions of mysticism both East and West are notoriously hard to follow and understand.What comes through most clearly is Thomas Merton himself: his sincerity, gentleness and genuine desire to understand, and to share that understanding, of the nature of this peculiar experience we call "life." There is an innocence, almost a naivete, to this book that helps convey the ineffable essence of the mystical experience, and its life consequences for those struck by its lightning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite []  2020-1-22 22:41

    I was hoping for short, Zen-like stories or meditations from Thomas Merton. But this book was far from such genre. In fact, it is a profound theological work aligning or at least comparing Zen and Christian philosophical elements. The goal was to begin a dialogue between East and West. Goal met. Father Merton's intellectual ability and dominion of language are needless to say mesmerizing. He taught me Zen and Christianity method beyond superficial, popular, and even incorrect generalizations. A amazing audience for this work might be college or graduate students with an understending of philosophy and theology. Merton's notice is inclusive, refreshingly open-minded, positive, and in a way, "eclectically orthodox". This book is intellectually stimulating, but is no brain candy: be ready to think.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AC: The Power of Appetite Correction []  2020-1-22 22:10

    Amazing book on successfully using fasting and making it fit into your lifestyle. I started at a 16/8 plan and have moved into a 19/5 plan. My major concern at the beginning was being concerned that hunger would create it difficult to complete my usual everyday activities. My eventual plan was to create sure meal was available in case it was too overwhelming and, admittedly, the first week was a small difficult. I was hungry during the day off and on, but I stuck to the plan and used some of Dr. Herrings tricks for getting past the hunger. I started losing weight immediately. Now, at four weeks in, hunger does occur, but is easily e best thing about this plan for me is the ability to control my appetite and only eat when I choose (and I do eat!). Hunger is fleeting at other times of the day outside my chosen eating window. Eating multiple meals a day always ended up with feeling hungrier and having problem sticking to my calorie limit. Now, I don't bother to count, though I do still hold my carbs low as I search I feel better that way. This is a very sustainable method to eat for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AC: The Power of Appetite Correction []  2020-1-22 22:10

    I am really satisfied with this fasting and life correction. Simple to follow and understand! I have been following the Quick 5 appetite correction now for 6 months! I have lost 35 lbs and over 6 inches in my waist! I love this lifestyle and will never go back to the method I was! picture below is me two years ago on the left and me now on the right!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite []  2020-1-22 22:41

    If one is speaking of Christianity and Zen Buddhism at the core, Merton says, yes, they are incompatible. Buddhism would deny that there is value in the personality, that it must be deconstructed and absorbed into the One, while Christianity says the purpose of the Incarnation was to take down only what was false in man and give fresh life to his original design, his core being. Christian unity with God is not private dissolution but the removal of all barriers between knowing and being known. (To be fair, not all Zen masters agree with the above classical Buddhist outlook-- D.T. Suzuki, for example.)When separated from Buddhism and seen as a discipline and a method of perceiving, Zen can be extremely useful to anyone who is seeking to know God and the real soul/spirit beneath the false self or the "old man", whichever you prefer. The globe we live in (and the self that perceives it) really is one of pretense and illusion-- even in religion-- and the more tools we have to remove the masks and facades, the better. Merton's book is very helpful in removing some common fears and misconceptions about using these tools, and in increasing communication between people and cultures who use various words to describe a common goal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite []  2020-1-22 22:41

    In an honest pursuit to communicate between zen and Christianity Merton goes very deep but comes up for air once in awhile. A book to read several times through the quest to evolve the Christian faith.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AC: The Power of Appetite Correction []  2020-1-22 22:10

    I have read A LOT of books on weight loss and management and this is the very first to address the root cause of obesity and how to truly "fix" it. I have been implementing his tools to correct my appetite and it's working well...1 week in and I've already dropped 5 lbs and feeling well fed. I had previously read Gin Stephens book "Delay Don't Deny" (which I loved) and she recommended this book and now I know why, as Dr. Herring really brought it all together in how to truly eat and have fun life again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite []  2020-1-22 22:41

    Thomas Merton here takes on the difficult task of finding common ground between the tenets of Zen Buddhism and the Christian monastic tradition. Speaking personally as a practising Zen Buddhist I found it more illuminating with regard the similarities of the Christian tradition. Ilearnt a amazing about the ins and outs of what Merton would probably not see as mysticism but nevertheless the aspects ofChristian worship which is often kept from the lay people and is more profound fare for the consumption of the monks. This is an honest book and more of such searching for common ground between the religions can only be a amazing thing in my view.I feel that the of the depths of Zen Buddhism and in particular the purpose behind much of the deliberately illogical and obtuse aspects of it was only patchily understood but nevertheless it is a rewarding and interesting read if a small wordy and intellectual.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite []  2020-1-22 22:41

    Merton quotes D.T. Suzuki: "Zen always aims at grasping the central fact of life, which can never be brought to the dissecting table of the intellect"; and "Zen must be seized with bare hands, with no gloves on." No wonder Merton's reverence for Zen, for these are his own ideas of Christian monasticism. With his illuminating mind in full stride, and his interventions keen as crystal, if he went no deeper than to create an apparent synthesis, it would be enough. But Merton strives for farther fields, finds and feeds them, and not surprisingly leaves them flourishing. He leaps wholly into a private embodiment of Zen and its spiritual complexities, and ends restoring his own monastic experience. The essay 'Zen in Japanese Art' pays loving homage to the classic spirit of Daisetz Suzuki's seminal 'Zen and Japanese Culture', but lives and breathes on its own. In its easy three and a half pages, Merton weaves the aesthetic ideas of Zen philosopher Kitaro Nishida, makes the case that Zen and Zen art are the exact opposite of Sartre's 'pessimistic nihilism,' and in a single awesome paragraph toward the end, beautifully finds in the formal "tea ceremony" a respect and harmony consistent with the simplicity of twelfth-century Cistercian architecture at Fontenay or Le Thoronet. But no idle intellectual excursions invade here; again and again Merton draws everything back to the Christ sought in the apophatic tradition with a faithfulness that exhudes an almost excruciating surfeit of spiritual understanding. Finding St Gregory's "No one gets so much of God as the man who is thoroughly dead" 'lying next' to Bunan Zenji's "While alive, be dead, thoroughly dead-- All is amazing then, whatever you may do", Merton turns a light on centuries of Christian ascetic experience with one true, bold stroke. Birds of Appetite is strewn with page after page not of ideas only, but wisdom. He responds to D.T. Suzuki's exquisite essay 'Innocence and Knowledge' (included in the book) with 'The Recovery of Paradise', arguing that the Desert Fathers sought the emptiness and innocence of Adam and Eve in Eden, invoking along the method John of the Cross, and making one of Dostoevsky's "saints," the Staretz Zosima, serve as antagonist throughout the essay. Merton notes "there is a dimension where the bottom drops out of the globe of factuality and of the ordinary," an observation no doubt honed in the solitude of the hermitage, up the mountain above Gethsemane Abbey. He adds, "it might be amazing to begin our eyes and see." I'm recommending a large small book, meticulously published by Fresh Directions with its customary attentiveness to shadow and light, inside and out. See for yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    AC: The Power of Appetite Correction []  2020-1-22 22:10

    The science behind this approach is very convincing. I have combined it with Dr. Joel Fuhrman's nutritarian recommendations and have lost 70 pounds. No more knee pain. No more back pain. No more seasonal allergies. No more cramps in my hands. I started with Dr. Fuhrman's Eat for Health and fine tuned it with Dr. Herring's Fast-5. I now inform all my patients of both to achieve optimal health.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite []  2020-1-22 22:41

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite (Thomas Merton)April 8, 2013Book ReactionInitial Question:How does Merton connect Zen (distinct from Buddhism) to the story of Jesus? What's "broken" and how does Merton suggest redemption and repair?Musings Influenced by the Book:Zen is not a thing; it's more of an absence. Within the Christian experience, it is the absence of resistance to Christ living in us and through us. Zen is not an obedience, but an alive-ness to what is, an absence of the question - it simply ripped of its Buddhist story, Zen as a reality fits within the Christian experience. Zen is the experienced reality of St. Paul's phrase, "It is no longer I who live but Christ who lives in me." The ancient Christians referred to this as "union" with God - an expression of life that lived from the core of the human person and seen from within as an inability to discern the origin of action: was it God or me who did this? This blur, this lack of question, and this expression of what is (without resistance) is living "Zen."My favorite quote:"...liberation from his inordinate self-consciousness, his monumental self-awareness, his obsession with self-affirmation, so that he may have fun the freedom from concern that goes with being simply what he is and accepting things as they are in to work with them as he can." *Zen and the Birds of Appetite* p. 31The general take away:Awakening is the goal. This is something Christians have always talked about. The Christian sense of awakening differs from the traditional Buddhist story with regards to what one awakens r the Christian, awakening is coming to the sense of the Father's divine love and show care and seeing all things that would flounder that reality purge away. It is in the life of Christ living in us that we come to see this love and have it live through r the Buddhist, the awakening is more of a coming to see that all things are life and that there is no individual "me" - I am the Life, you are the Life, and all things that exist are life in this moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite []  2020-1-22 22:41

    Thomas Merton’s investigation of Zen Buddhism is a surprisingly interesting and complex experiment that succeeds as much as it fails.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite (New Directions Paperbook) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    These two writers, Merton and Suzuki, have a depth of learning and experience not often found in writers on spiritual topics these days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite (New Directions Paperbook) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    A fine example of Merton's ever-widening quest for a more intimate relationship with God through His creation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Appetite for Wonder: The Making of a Scientist []  2020-1-18 20:56

    I can't say I've ever been a large fan of Dawkins - the only book I've read of his in full has been The God Delusion, and although I've read the beginning of most of his books since I'm sad to say that none of them captured my interest long enough for me to finish them. The only knowledge I had of "The Selfish Gene" was gained from watching his 1991 Christmas Lectures which I thoroughly enjoyed. Although I admire the method he succinctly and poetically writes his arguments, I had recently become a small bit place off by the dismissive and sometimes aggressive method he argues with religious representatives. His recent book, however, has completely reversed this negative perception I had of though I personally found the beginning to be a small slow, in time it reveals itself to be a unbelievable acc of his life. In particular I loved the amount of detail he puts into his childhood days and the reflective style of writing - he often contemplates his reasons for acting the method he did, sometimes citing experts' research on the topic in question. This created it a very engaging read, one that created me contemplate my own past and show behaviours. For example, he discusses the bullying nature of kids and reflects on how he, despite being an empathetic boy, never did anything to stop bullies from targeting a defenseless victim. He then goes on to discuss whether we are the same 'person' now as we were as a kid - even though we are literally created up of various material than that of our younger selves the continuity of memory makes it feel as though our identity is the same. This was a point that I discussed with people for a lot of days after reading about is engaging form of writing created me think (more than I ever have) like a scientist - wondering about things I'd never contemplated before, becoming enthused (rather than place off) by scientific explanations for behaviour and realizing more than ever how much there is to explore (and being thrilled by the concept). I am not a very educated person - a 21-year-old working in retail, having had a year of university experience before it became too hard for me - and Dawkins' book has re-awakened the part of me that inspired me to go to university in the first e content itself is fascinating - his transitions from one part of his life to the next are well explained and his obsession with programming and scientific ideas are awe-inspiring and left me to perceive him as nothing short of a l in all, from someone who's not very well-read or well-educated, this book was incredibly valuable and inspiring. Although a few parts went over my head (despite re-reading certain paragraphs several times!), the vast majority was a pleasure to read. I feel like I understand Dawkins and his 'appetite for wonder' much better than before, and I've never been more eager to read all of his books to e only downside is that it only covers his life up to the release of his first book - I cannot wait to read the second half!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite (New Directions Paperbook) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    In an honest pursuit to communicate between zen and Christianity Merton goes very deep but comes up for air once in awhile. A book to read several times through the quest to evolve the Christian faith.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite (New Directions Paperbook) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Favorite book of Thomas Merton . . .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Appetite for Wonder: The Making of a Scientist []  2020-1-18 20:56

    "We all can regard ourselves as exquisitely improbable. But here, in a triumph of hindsight, we are."—page 6Despite the huge swath he's chop as an adult, Richard Dawkins, as revealed in his incredibly well titled memoir, AN APPETITE FOR WONDER: The Making of a Scientist, seems to have been a rather unspectacular child. Unfortunately, in reading this book, I was hoping for more of an inspirational notice for young people, than it delivers.I've often thought that, if by some mystical magic, I could give just one bonus to those kids who are unique to me that bonus would be 'a love of reading'. Now I'd amend that to include, '...and an appetite for wonder'.Recommendation: I'd not test to start developing that appetite with a recommendation for this book, though. That said, I'm looking forward to reading Dawkins's 'The Selfish Gene,' hoping and suspecting that it might be easier to commend."Shouldn’t kids be taught critical, sceptical thinking from an early age? Shouldn’t we all be taught to doubt, to weigh up plausibility, to demand evidence?"—page 102Kindle edition, 312 pages

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Appetite for Wonder: The Making of a Scientist []  2020-1-18 20:56

    I have fun Dawkins best when he explains animal behavior- some perfect paragraphs interspersed within this book justify the 4 stars (and, who am I to give Richard Dawkins 3 stars??). Overall, I found this memoir to sort of bumble down memory lane, bogged down by poetry (personal preference) and lacking in earth-shattering insight. Some wise pearls on secondary education are the exception, being quite insightful but few and far between.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Appetite for Wonder: The Making of a Scientist []  2020-1-18 20:56

    This autobiography starts out with lots of interesting detail about his parents and early years moving through schools as a kid into adolescence. All of it I found fascinating, especially his memories of Africa. Even into his college years, the book is quite interesting, particularly his years where he transitioned into his atheistic viewpoints, although I want there were more content at this scene of his life. Seems to rush through it quickly, when it was likely a major phase of his life. Then suddenly, about 2/3 of the method into the book, it gets heavily scientific going into amazing detail about his experiments. You will likely do what I did and skim through the final 1/3 of the book due to the lack of value these experiments add to the book. You might search yourself saying, "what does this have to do with anything?"Otherwise, the book is ok. Not a amazing autobiography. But not too poor either.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite (New Directions Paperbook) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Very interesting. About what I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Appetite for Wonder: The Making of a Scientist []  2020-1-18 20:56

    I was intrigued by how much the memories of Dawkins' childhood was carried by songs and poetry; perhaps that is real for a lot of that those ditties confer up the texture of experiences and support us describe who we are and where and how we are rooted. I thoroughly enjoyed the accounts of his boyhood, particularly his public school years and the attendant reflections of the nature and values of education. His acc of his research I found pedantic, but his treatment of the philosophical dimensions of evolutionary biology and animal behavior were fascinating. Despite the title, I did not perceive the wonder that he suggests is the foundation of his science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Appetite for Wonder: The Making of a Scientist []  2020-1-18 20:56

    First volume of his autobiography. Insightful, a few parts are a tad slow, overall I found it to be a very worthy reading, like everything he writes, and I look forward to reading the subsequent autobiographical volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite (New Directions Paperbook) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Merton insightfully uses Zen and Eastern concepts of desire and connection to illuminate the primary human problems of spiritual burden--appetite, or "Birds of Appetite", Fr. Merton does not denigrate features of Eastern culture as a foil, but instead he explores them to uncover a deep existential issue show across cultures, which is inherent in the nature of human will. In his work, he references, Bonhoeffer, D.T. Suzuki, among others to present how we can become burdened by our own will and desires when we pursue them in ignorance of the will of others, of universal forces, and, yes, of e book is delightfully accessible. And Merton convincingly delivers in showing Christ's redemptive sacrifice as, both, a special happening and a profound method for individuals to search peace and reconciliation with themselves and in creation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite (New Directions Paperbook) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Loved this book! I really like reading Thomas Merton, and hearing his thoughts on Zen was really interesting to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite (New Directions Paperbook) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Father Merton eschews religious exclusivist and provides for Zen and Christianity to travel a similar, though distinctly different, path on the route to the same spiritual goal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Appetite for Wonder: The Making of a Scientist []  2020-1-18 20:56

    I found this first part of author and scientist Richard Dawkins' autobiography to be quite interesting. The only part of the book I found to be slow was the beginning, where Dawkins writes about his family history, though even in this part there were a few interesting stories told about his ancestors.Dawkins then writes about the adventures his parents had in Africa before and after he was born, which was very interesting to read because they sounded like very exciting adventures. Dawkins then discusses the different schools he attended growing up and the different locations he moved to, which was rather interesting because of how much he was moving, and thus attending a lot of various schools.I found the part after that, where Dawkins starts his career as an ethologist and researcher at Oxford and continues it in California until moving back to Oxford, to be the most interesting part of the book. I found this part to be the most interesting mostly because I am currently double majoring in Biology and Computer Science, and in the part of the autobiography where Dawkins discusses his research, he writes about the various experiments he designed and performed, as well as his passion for programming computers during that time, as well. This part was especially interesting because, although Dawkins in his writing looks back on his programming days as an "addiction" that he wasted more time on than he should have, one can see how computer science can be beneficial to the natural ter discussing his research at Oxford and California, Dawkins concludes the book with a philosophical-oriented chapter about looking back on one's life, which was also very intersting to ly, throughout the book, Dawkins contains different poetry that he enjoys, and while I cannot say I share Dawkins' taste in poetry, I do think seeing more of the poetry has increased my appreciation of the poetry if not my enjoyment of it.Highly recommended book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Appetite for Wonder: The Making of a Scientist []  2020-1-18 20:56

    Loved it, sometimes I had to really stop down and think about what I was reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why We Eat (Too Much): The New Science of Appetite []  2020-1-21 20:26

    I say "sadly" because it does have two things going for it: 1) it is very current in terms of the most intriguing *speculation* about what might explain our current obesity crisis -- including the need to think beyond calories-in-calories-out and 2) the author has an smart MDs grasp of a lot of scientific concepts that is first-rate and does a amazing job explaining them to a lay audience ---- BUT: it suffers horribly from making claims in the "knowing doctor voice" that cannot be backed up and is organized like a jumble of vignettes with vastly varying degrees of plausibility which are somehow or another loosely created to help the author's overall is amazing science and junk science all jumbled together and glossed over with a healthy dose of "I have my medical degree. People listen to me. I cannot photo that I am not right." Check out, for example, the "Case Study - Atomic Testing" on page 49 (which happens to be placed in the middle of an absolutely backward overly genetically determined bit on African American incidence of obesity being entirely explainable by the genetics resulting from the Atlantic passage of the slave trade) - in the case study, the author describes the eureka moment when he explains the obesity of a patient whose family does not suffer from obesity, generally, by genetic mutation due to his father's exposure to radiation in Atomic weapons testing. No other evidence is hinted at in this "case study" other than the fast gathering of these biographical facts in an initial patient interview and the brilliant deductive reasoning of the author. He does not say "maybe x" he simply states his conclusion as fact. THIS rather beautifully illustrates what is unfortunately wrong with the entire book (again, I think some of the thinking about genetics and metabolic set-point are valuable, but not in the hands of this author).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite (New Directions Paperbook) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    This is a conversation between Merton, a devout Trappist Monk versed in the traditions of Buhhdism, and DT Suzuki, a Buddhist Zen Master. The conversation discloses the commonality of the goals of each discipline. You will need to wrap your head around the Christian tenets of Constant Prayer and sacrifice of one's life in devotion to God and the Buddhist doctrine of emptying one's self to become one with the universe. Heady reading, but surprizing in it's conclusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zen and the Birds of Appetite (New Directions Paperbook) [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    If you love the man you will love his poetry. This is a amazing book. Kindle edition true simple to use. Works just as advertised. Would wanted to have seen pictures of pages that would have created easier. But arrived on time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Appetite for Wonder: The Making of a Scientist []  2020-1-18 20:56

    This is a most interesting autobiography of Dawkins' early life. Had I experienced what he did, it is very likely that I would have come away with the same beliefs as he did. He is an advocate of science and a critic of religion. While he has a lot of valid points on both counts, he carries it to the extremes of having more faith in science's current thinking on Darwin's theory of evolution than may be warranted, and less belief in the possibilities of spiritualism than is probably justified. He has a number od videos on Youtube which are worthwhile watching if you wish to learn more about where he stands. But his book is a worthwhile read in any case and certainly explains the origins of his current thinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Appetite for Wonder: The Making of a Scientist []  2020-1-18 20:56

    Like most memoirs, this one should only be read by people who are really interested in Dawkins. I love all of Dawkins' books but this one was fairly uninteresting until the latest chapter which tells us about The Selfish Gene.Dawkins says the second half of his autobiography will be out in two years. I do look forward to reading that one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite []  2019-12-28 18:24

    I don't even know where to start. Having been locked into a cycle of compulsive eating (like, can *anyone* eat just one Hershey's kiss? or even just three?) throughout my life, I have, like so a lot of other people, shamed myself, blamed myself, lamented my weakness, and tried any number of diets or "lifestyle changes" to test to obtain a handle on my problem. I could quit smoking, I could quit drinking, but I could not manage to lose all the additional fat I carry or hold off what I did lose. What the heck?This book answered "what the heck" for me and also provided me a method out. Showing how the meal industry has *deliberately* increased unhealthy and addicting sugar, fats, and salt in processed and restaurant foods, disguising them, mislabeling or underlabeling, Kessler demonstrates how the meal industry (some of the huge six meal companies are owned by huge tobacco companies, and if you're not sure about exactly how devious and nefarious huge tobacco is, read Kessler's book "A Question of Intent") continually works to intentionally increase our addiction and desire for unhealthy foods. The method out for me is beautiful simple: I don't like being manipulated. So for me, in a lot of ways, issue solved. Kessler provides a meal rehab plan about how to break your cycle of addiction and yourself from what has been deliberately done to you; to reclaim your ability to create positive choices; and to recognize processed and restaurant foods for what they are: fat on sugar on salt on fat, or some variation of same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite []  2019-12-28 18:24

    Kessler writes a amazing book but what irritated me as I was reading is, he hits (beats?) the reader over the head too a lot of times how companies use people's sensory and emotions (i.e. marketing tools) to food. IMO, Kessler could have accomplished this insightful notice in the first 4 or 5 chapters. Instead, two-thirds of the book is about how the public gets duped by manufacturers (including restaurants and other eating establishments) into buying foods - often not advertised as being as healthy as you might take-away from this book is consumers need to be MORE aware what goes into foods we eat at restaurants in addition to what we eat out of the box (more so then foods we prepare at home). Most of us already know that but the re-enforcement Kessler gives in his book is an perfect reminder. That broccoli or spinach quiche at your favorite restaurant may appear amazing for you (after all, it is created of vegetables that's heart-healthy) but, as Kessler points out, amazing probability that fillers and added ingredients in that quiche cancel out any benefits you may THINK you will get. Even if you were to steamed chicken at a Chinese restaurant, there may be an accompanying sauce that minimizes the chicken's health benefit. Kessler tells you to be mind-aware of not only what you eat but how it was prepared (added salt, sugar, fats, etc).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite []  2019-12-28 18:24

    I can no longer look at any entree without thinking "sugar on fat on salt" or fat on fat on sugar". The realization that restaurants and meal manufacturers purposely design foods to be hyper-palatable has given me the power to just say no.I bought 'The End of Overeating' upon the recommendation of a family of three (two parents and their 20-year old son) who collectively lost 375 pounds after reading this book. It's not a diet plan. It's just a sobering eye-opener and helpful insight into why certain foods have such a strong draw, which has helped me war back versus them. Before reading TEOO, I was fighting an unknown enemy, and wasn't very effective in the battle. Now I know exactly why I struggle with certain kinds of foods, and just knowing that has armed me with the weapons I need to victory the war. I've successfully stayed off chocolate for two months now - an wonderful feat given it was a daily, out-of-control binge meal for me until I read this book. The first two weeks were HORRIBLE, but every day I abstain, it gets easier and easier. READ THIS BOOK! It just might lengthen your life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite []  2019-12-28 18:24

    The first 30-something chapters are littered with descriptive words for food. I found this difficult to obtain through without wanting something "smothered in cheese" or "dipped in sauce." Although well-written I was going for something a small more motivating. In all honesty, the info presented is not much of a mind-altering concept: huge chain restaurants load their meal with sugar, salt and fat keeping us coming back for more until it becomes habitual. Then, we search ourselves trapped in a cycle of cue-reaction-reward. The latest few chapters quickly explain how to combat these challenges, but the author did not elaborate on solutions as much as I would've liked. All-in-all, a amazing begin for over-eaters who need to be more mindful of the mind android games going on behind the scenes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite []  2019-12-28 18:24

    This book and it's underlying concepts are spot on in my opinion. America has an ongoing love affair with fat, sugar and salt and the meal industry takes full advantage of the programmed response a lot of people are victim too. Only through educating ourselves and actively re-programming our brains and thought processes can we hope to achieve control over our eating habits. This book explains the issue to a fare-thee-well, and ideas for combating the mental aspect of the never ending war but ultimately, success or failure lies with each of us and how much we value our own health and well being. In other words, this book won't create you more healthy, but it will support arm you with the tools you need to create yourself more healthy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite []  2019-12-28 18:24

    I have struggled with eating disorder almost all of my life - and I am 56. This book is full of interviews with scientists, researchers, and professors. Dr. Kessler speaks from experience and a genuine interest and care about why we eat the method we do from a biological perspective and emotional perspective. He place so much into the writing of this and I am so impressed. His conclusions resonate with me, though he admits that there is more we need to learn. His work has equipped me to, hopefully, start to be sane around food.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite []  2019-12-28 18:24

    Could obesity in America obtain worse? In 2017, it did. An ignominious milestone was reached. The obesity rate soared to above 30 percent of the population, gaining 5 percentage points over the previous year, according to the United Health Foundation’s 29th annual report, “America’s Health Rankings.” Today about 70 percent of us are either overweight or his book, Kessler explores the unholy trinity of salt, fat and sugar, and why these three ingredients beckon to us from the primordial ooze. We are pre-programmed to crave them. Search the right combination, and you trigger a deep synaptic response. You crave e former FDA commissioner crawls around in the muck to research this book – and that’s not a metaphor. Wearing a mantle of righteousness, not to mention forearm-length rubber gloves, he repeatedly dumpster-dives on receptacles behind a Chili's Grill and Bar near his home. The dumpster soon disgorges its hidden treasures – the ingredients lists on the labels of empty cartons of the restaurant chain’s Southwestern Egg Rolls, Boneless Shanghai Wings and other ssler is trying to rewire the human brain one synaptic fiber at a time. The odds are stacked versus him. We are awash in a sea of advertising for unhealthy meal and remy BagottAuthor“Guaconomics: Dipping a chip intoAmerica’s besieged party bowl”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite []  2019-12-28 18:24

    This was a tedious book for me to read. It has long, long sections on why junk meal (which I don't eat, so I don't care about) is so addictive. As a number of other three star reviews have commented, this was wordy and repetitious to me. However, at least the opening part is beautiful well grounded in e much smaller, prescriptive part at the end is ad hoc. A issue with overeating (as is so well documented in the more science-backed section) is that self-control is too easily overwhelmed. There's a lot of evidence that we have only so much self-control, that it's a scarce resource. Kessler suggests that you set eating rules for yourself. According to him, that will hold you out of overeating without as much reliance on ally? Any evidence?To my mind, this is an intriguing suggestion. It's a hypothesis worthy of study. Does it really work? It might for some. Who knows? No one does. He cites no studies. And one buys a book like this based on the scientific pedigree of its is is an odd book, then, consisting of a precise dissection of the Cinnabon followed by purely speculative self-help advice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite []  2019-12-28 18:24

    Most of this book was understanding the science behind the neurological desires of overeating and how the meal industry manipulates their meal and advertising to entice all groups of people.While it was interesting to read about how the meal industry manipulates fat, sugar and salt into their meal to create us "Crave-It!" I was hoping for a larger section on how to change our thought patterns, with true suggestions to try, rather than just theories. I think as an addition to a book I recently purchased titles Willpower, it could be helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite []  2019-12-28 18:24

    I loved the history and progression of obesity. I look at shopping with renewed vigor! I have come to maximize my foods as a science and pick what will give me the most nutrition. I do have junk meal lapses but search I don't like the taste wish to have fun the natural taste! Such a amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Appetite. White Food.: Issues of Race, Voice, and Justice Within and Beyond the Classroom []  2020-2-7 18:37

    The author weaves her own private narrative into a text that provides educational insight for readers as well as starting points for further self-directed research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Appetite. White Food.: Issues of Race, Voice, and Justice Within and Beyond the Classroom []  2020-2-7 18:37

    Black Appetite. White Food. should be read by every pedagogue in all school systems, especially those who work with populations that have been historically marginalized. Dr. Lyiscott 's book will have an impact on all readers, regardless of where you are in the disruption of racism and inequities in education. She gives tools for your private and professional development. Dr. Lyiscott also shares action steps that can be executed immediately to support create education equitable for all children. She centers private growth as the key to being able to engage in work in schools. Everyone has a role to play in disrupting racism and oppression therefore everyone should read this book and identify what role you choose to play. Whether you intentionally take steps to disrupt oppressive systems, you are making a choice every day. This is a must read, especially for school personnel on all levels! Obtain the Healing, then obtain to Work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Appetite. White Food.: Issues of Race, Voice, and Justice Within and Beyond the Classroom []  2020-2-7 18:37

    Everyone must buy, amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Appetite. White Food.: Issues of Race, Voice, and Justice Within and Beyond the Classroom []  2020-2-7 18:37

    This resonates with me and I am glad I read it. Considering my natural bent, it affirmed most of my nonconformist "other than the grid" viewpoints right down to being a genuine individual instead of any stereotype unconscious or conscious. Realistically, this short read opened wider already opened eyes and gave a deeper perspective of a lot of why's and how's of it all. Very informative book. Because I read some books, some books read me and this did both. What a pleasure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Appetite. White Food.: Issues of Race, Voice, and Justice Within and Beyond the Classroom []  2020-2-7 18:37

    Powerfully packed short read. This should be needed reading for ALL educators and education/pre-service programs. I’ve always appreciated Dr. Lyiscott’s work and the method she gracefully helps move communities from fear of dialogue to t it, tag it up, apply it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Appetite. White Food.: Issues of Race, Voice, and Justice Within and Beyond the Classroom []  2020-2-7 18:37

    I greatly appreciate Dr. Lyiscott's work. I read it with a mate and this book was appreciated by both of us. Each chapter is short so it is simple to pick up and place down as a busy working professional. She sprinkles in intriguing activities at the end of several chapters. sometimes the book left me uncomfortable - in a amazing way. Several chapters are poems, which I think drives at our perception of what counts as "knowledge" and "learning". Which I found frustrating and desired closure, but left me thinking a LOT about why I was frustrated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Appetite. White Food.: Issues of Race, Voice, and Justice Within and Beyond the Classroom []  2020-2-7 18:37

    There is so much necessary work packed into this book. Every educator needs to read this text. Found myself journaling and contemplating my teaching practice actively while reading. This is the excellent book to conduct a book study with a group of educators. The extra activities lend themselves to that environment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Destruction [Vinyl] []  2020-7-28 21:18

    Received this album yesterday and I was very disappointed when I opened it up. The sleeve is torn at the bottom and the album itself looks horrible. Doesn't look like a fresh product. I sent the original back latest week due to problems and this is the replacement order. It looks worse that the first one I sent back. Really!See attached pictures

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Destruction [Vinyl] []  2020-7-28 21:18

    So I didn't message the not good reviews until after it was in transit, buuut.... I think I got beautiful lucky, considering. My ver of this vinyl actually sounded phenomenal!!! However, mine wasn't of any defects. For instance, the center hole in mine was actually chop too small, making it very difficult to obtain onto the turntable at first.... Then I noticed (like others have mentioned) a series of 5 or 6 little but VERY visible scratches across what "Welcome to the Jungle", which (luckily) were completely inaudible and did not cause any skipping or anything. No skipping anywhere, for that matter. Correct songs on both sides, etc. Again, it sounds fantastic, but I can't ignore those little but show issues, so I have to knock off 2 stars. I will be keeping my copy, as I fear mine is probably about as amazing as it gets, based on other reviews.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Destruction [Vinyl] []  2020-7-28 21:18

    Had higher expectations than I received. Was excited to obtain this iconic album on Amazon especially in 2 days. Was upset to begin the shipping box to see the album just shoved in the box with the bottom middle of the album smushed and dented in. Upon opening the album pulling the sleeve out its obvious the crush was fairly severe. Upon pulling album from sleeve it was still in perfect condition and clean, but is obviously is a poor press. The sound is very weak and is not crisp, clean and powerful. Would return for a exchange but unfortunately it's out of stock now. Guess I with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Destruction [Vinyl] []  2020-7-28 21:18

     Well, I normally read the reviews before purchasing, even when I know there is a large amount of buyers that will always search the minimum detail to give the product a poor review. Well, I saw 68% gave it 5 stars and an 18% gave it a 1 star, stating it skips, the record comes warped, scratched, etc. More than 3/4 of the buyers can't be wrong so I decided to give it a test and rolled my dice in to see how it went for me. The melody itself is a masterpiece. No doubt Guns'n Roses' Appetite for Destruction is an awesome album. What a shame the 18% is right on giving it a poor review. Out of 127 buyers, 23 had a poor experience with their purchase, including myself. YES! Mine came warped, it skips constantly, and to place a cherry on top, it has a little dent on Side A of it. Some reviews refer to a poor press on the record: They're right. From the moment you pull it out of the sleeve, you obtain this feeling that the press is weak and you obtain this sensation it will not hold on track. I have a brand fresh audio-technica turntable that has never failed until I got this not good record. Please see the video and obtain ready to possibly experience this same problem. It's a you for a not good experience. Definitely not worth the trouble. Roll your dice and gamble on the luck on getting a crappy copy, like I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Destruction [Vinyl] []  2020-7-28 21:18

    The audio sounds descent but it's not anything as amazing as the original press. This one also was not pressed correctly. Hard to explain but not perfectly circular. One side was a small more expanded than the other. Had to obtain sandpaper and file it down because the record wouldn't play a full evolution because it got stuck hitting the arm of the stylus. Maybe it was just a one off good? I dunno. A small annoying but it works now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Destruction [Vinyl] []  2020-7-28 21:18

    Not as pictured (different cover art) and the recording doesn't seem very amazing at all - perhaps not RIAA - as it's overly mid-treble massive and unlike ALL MY OTHER VINYL is tiring to listen to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Destruction [Vinyl] []  2020-7-28 21:18

     I was so excited to got this vinyl. My surprise was that it came with an sctrach or manufactoring defect. I tried it on two various turntables. I couldnt ask for a replacement because it wasnt possible for me to return the damaged record. I think this NEW manufactoring records are coming with defects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Destruction [Vinyl] []  2020-7-28 21:18

    The quality of the recording is terrible. The record skips. It's trash.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Destruction [Vinyl] []  2020-7-28 21:18

    First thing I noticed upon slicing begin the outer wrap and removing the actual album was that the surface was less than pristine, as if it had been handled by someone who had just had lunch and didn't wash their hands. Next, came the skipping in such a huge number that eventually I had to attribute it to the record and not my own setup. Finally, the songs sounded off in places, as if the turntable had been slowed down slightly. I really noticed this during Paradise City, thanks in huge part to having become super-familiarized with these songs since the short, this vinyl reissue is extremely disappointing. Based on the number of related reviews I've seen, I'm not confident this copy's condition is merely a one-off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Destruction [Vinyl] []  2020-7-28 21:18

    Extensive skipping throughout album. Maybe this is just a not good quality pressing; maybe there's a reason it's a exclusive for Prime members. I've replaced once already & both copies had extensive skipping. Going to test one more replacement. Hopefully 3rd time is the charm :)...Received 3rd record, still extensive skipping, BUT it only skips once in the song "Sweet Kid o' Mine" (the best song)...at this price, I'll just w/it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Between Meals: An Appetite for Paris [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Quick delivery. Well-packed. As described. thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Innocence: A Dark Psychological Thriller [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Wow!!! What a book. I'm never unsatisfied when I read one of Lucinda Berry books. This book was a nail bitter from beginning to end. I couldn't place it down. I can't wait to see what Lucinda Berry has in shop for her readers next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Room to Grow: An Appetite for Life []  2020-1-28 0:27

    A easy but very interesting read. The digital ver has some glaring spelling and grammatical errors that prove quite distracting at times. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is a Tracey Gold fan but not to anyone looking for answers in regards to eating disorders. This is a book that can be read in one sitting - there is not a lot of depth to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Between Meals: An Appetite for Paris [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Does it obtain any better?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Between Meals: An Appetite for Paris [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Perfect. A re-read after first read a lot of years ago. It holds up. One can only want Paris was the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Innocence: A Dark Psychological Thriller [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    This was such a amazing book. The story was such an emotional roller coaster and at times could be difficult to read. You could really feel what the girls were going d ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Room to Grow: An Appetite for Life []  2020-1-28 0:27

    I have always been a fan of Tracey Gold, and when I saw that she had written a book about her war with anorexia, I was beyond excited. I just got the book in the mail yesterday, and could not place it down! It was a amazing read. I loved how she started the book from when she was just a child, as she became a well known actress (i.e. growig pains), her war with anorexia, and how she was able to recover. The only reason I am giving this book four stars instead of five is because I was hoping for more of an inside look into her anorexia and how it affected those around her. And maybe because I am such a HUGE fan of Growing Pains, I was hoping she would write about how her anorexia affected her castmates and if they ever intervened. I thought she would go more into depth with this because Growing Pains was such a huge part of her career, and it was what she was working on while she was going through her anorexia. Instead, she hardly ever mentions them or anyone aside from her family at that matter. I know she failed to mention info because I have seen interviews where she states Joanna Kerns (aka Maggie Seaver) noticed fairly quickly her eating habits were not normal, and urged her to obtain help. I guess I was just expecting a small more from this book, but all in all it is a amazing book and I would recommend you read it because her life really is interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Between Meals: An Appetite for Paris [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    If your going to Paris this is a must read. You can not go to Paris specifically without some primary foodie background and this historical book will delight you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Innocence: A Dark Psychological Thriller [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Lucinda Berry outdid herself writing this book. It was well written and kept me on the edge of my seat until I finished reading it. A serial rapist and assassin picks his victims by reading their Fb and Twitter entries when he tricks them into friending him. Do any of the girls escape? Does he obtain caught? You will have to read the book to search out, and it is definitely a book you wish to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Innocence: A Dark Psychological Thriller [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    These characters were excellent. I went back and forth on my thoughts and feelings about them, but it was so realistic. I guess this is what happens when people are kidnapped and kept for so long. It was a very suspenseful read, but sad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Innocence: A Dark Psychological Thriller [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    I found myself awake at 2am holding my eyelids up to obtain to the end! If you like psychological thrillers you won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Room to Grow: An Appetite for Life []  2020-1-28 0:27

    I ordered this book from amazon. Both my teenage daughter and I read this book. It was a well written book about how Tracey battled anorexia actually twice, once when she was twelve because she didn't wish to grow up and obtain breasts. The second time on season 7 of growing pains. The 2nd war was method worse. She went under 100 pounds and almost died. She met roby her future husband who told her he would not marry her until she could eat at least a bite of wedding cake. Her mom throwed up meal also. She tells her life story from her birth in fresh york through the birth of her 2nd son in 1999. She talks about her life with anorexa and her life before and after. So if you like tracey gold then here is a amazing book to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Room to Grow: An Appetite for Life []  2020-1-28 0:27

    I loved this book. Very good. I appreciated Tracey's honesty in telling her story and how she overcame her eating disorder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Between Meals: An Appetite for Paris [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    An interesting read. We discussed it at a book club. Our leader had lived in Paris for a time and could add much to the book. Afterwards I readREMEMBRANCE OF THINGS PARIS by Ruth Riechl and Gourmet Magazine Editors. The two books went well together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Between Meals: An Appetite for Paris [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    A.J. Liebling was a brilliant reporter for the Fresh Yorker in the 30s-50s, and a passionate lover of Paris and french food. All this comes together in this charming work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Between Meals: An Appetite for Paris [Book]  2017-11-27 18:2

    Product was sipped immediately. Product was in promised quality. Amazing user experience. The availability and the of the product was excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Innocence: A Dark Psychological Thriller [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Very amazing book. I went into it thinking "we'll see" but she had me from the start. No long intro in, she got right down to business. Not only amazing from a thriller standpoint, there is an underlay of psychological intrigue that has you on your toes and keeps you thinking. She doesn't leave any loose ends either. I will be reading the rest of her books for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite for Innocence: A Dark Psychological Thriller [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Loved this book. Felt poor for the main hero rah who I should have felt poor for I hatedI could not place this book down. I cannot wait to read more books by Lucinda Berry

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Appetite to Satisfy: Hungry for Him []  2020-2-2 21:48

    As always India sure does know how to write some amazing erotic poetry. I loved this whole book from beginning to end. I’ve reread a few of them more than twice. It was amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Room to Grow: An Appetite for Life []  2020-1-28 0:27

    Fascinating story. I found it well written and helpful to understand the issue. Well done Tracey!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386