landon-longs-1-bestselling-resume-writing-course?sortBy=textScore Reviews & Opinions


Submit landon-longs-1-bestselling-resume-writing-course?sortBy=textScore review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    The pathway to being a self-published author is riddled with a myriad of minefields. Some of those struggles have to do with believing enough in yourself to actually write a book that people will buy and appreciate. For others it's the actual steps you need to take that confuse and challenge them. I know this for a fact because I've been through them all, and I have the headaches and wasted cash to prove it!As a successful author, Paul helps to create the street to writing a book easier and without the bumps that so a lot of first time authors needlessly go through. Do your stress levels a favor and read this short and practical book - you'll be glad you did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    Paul Brodie breaks down the publishing journey really well in this book. A amazing read for people that are just getting started and wish to become successful authors. Read this book and you'll save yourself a ton of time and energy by doing things right the first is book is a clearly paved street to being a self-published author. Once again Paul has taken difficult, overwhelming, and at times confusing information, and created it understandably concise. This book is a excellent foundation for anyone interested in self-publishing and his guidance with coaching combined with this reading will generate guaranteed success with your book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    The quintessential tutorial from a seasoned and established author. Packed with savvy tactics to support aspiring and established authors succeed. Of particular value are the a lot of cost-effective tactics to support authors shop their books, including creating compelling book descriptions, getting book reviews, begin strategies. But most importantly, the author is a gifted and experienced teacher—he makes what can be a complex and time-consuming riddle simple to understand and apply. A must-read for authors - fresh and seasoned alike.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on landon-longs-1-bestselling-resume-writing-course?sortBy=textScore or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch landon-longs-1-bestselling-resume-writing-course?sortBy=textScore video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    Obtain ready to start your book publishing journey! Motivational speaker and bestselling author, Paul Brodie, is your guide. This step-by-step tutorial is excellent if you're about to publish your first book, and it's full of book marketing hints for more seasoned authors, too. Brodie provides the foundation, now it's time to follow the steps and begin your book into the world. Embrace the journey!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    I enjoyed reading through Paul’s book ‘Book Publishing for Authors’ and work through the material of ‘Get Published’ Training. Paul is a master in ‘making the complex simple.’ This is what makes it pure joy to follow his directions. Thrilled to have come across Paul Brodie and his perfect teachings. I couldn’t be happier with the results. Thank you, Paul!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    There is a large learning curve when you write and publish your first book. This book “Book Publishing for Authors” is a terrific resource that takes you through the process of publishing step-by-step. Along with private examples and experiences, Paul Brodie has place together a resource that every aspiring author should have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    Paul Brodie breaks down the publishing journey really well in this book. A amazing read for people that are just getting started and wish to become successful authors. Read this book and you'll save yourself a ton of time and energy by doing things right the first time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    One of the best tutorials out there to self publishing your book and making it a best seller!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    This book is a clearly paved street to being a self published author. Once again Paul has taken difficult, overwhelming, and at times confusing information, and created it understandably concise. This book is excellent foundation for anyone interested in self publishing and his guidance with coaching combined with this read will generate guaranteed success with your book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Book Publishing for Authors: How to write, publish and market your book to a #1 bestseller in the next 90 days (Paul G. Brodie Publishing Series Book 2) review [Book]  2017-10-20 18:2

    Amazing resource for those who have ever thought about writing a book. It is easy and simple to follow! I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Writing Course: The Radically Easy Way to Learn to Write by Ear review [Book]  2017-12-1 18:2

    This is easiest and fastest method to learn how to write or write better no matter what level you are currently at. I purchased TWC to support my struggling 13 year old son who suffers from ADD, dyslexia, and dysgraphia. Not only is he writing better, he understands writing now and enjoys it! It has also improved my own writing and understanding of how to write without all the stress.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Writing Course: The Radically Easy Way to Learn to Write by Ear review [Book]  2017-12-1 18:2

    My son (9) and I completed The Writing Course together. Prior to taking the course, he had been an extremely resistant writer. As we worked through the course, I observed a marked change in his attitude towards writing. Not only did his skill improve, but he actually began to have fun the writing process! The course also helped me, as parent/teacher, to approach writing instruction in a more natural, encouraging manner. I intend to repeat The Writing Course every couple of years in our home school, making it a key component of our curriculum for all of my children.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1.1 review [App]  2018-11-23 13:7

    Amazing app. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1.1 review [App]  2018-11-23 21:7

    Amazing app. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    1.1 review [App]  2018-11-24 13:7

    Amazing app. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    This is an extremely generic book. If you've read knowledgable blog posts on Kindle publishing--Dave Chesson at Kindlepreneusr comes to mind--or watched any of the a lot of free videos on this subject, you won't search much here. It's sorely lacking on how to search readers. That said, I did have fun learning about KDSpy.I didn't search much that was useful for fiction writing. Gabrielle advocates short books, 10-12K, maybe 20K. That might work for non-fiction, especially if--as she urges--you break your subject into little parts so you can make a series (as she's obviously done). Fiction readers, however, expect more. And I defy anyone to write a stellar novel in a week, or even a largest complaint is how frequently I encountered sentences that were incomplete--missing words, etc. And apparently neither Gabrielle nor her editors know the difference between "loose" and "lose". It wouldn't be quite so galling if she didn't talk up the expertise of the editorial service she uses. These are the signs of careless, not competent, ad it was only 99 cents.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    I started reading this book with excited anticipation. I have been wanting to write a Kindle book for a while but found the info online daunting and confusing. This book is exactly what I was looking for: simple to follow, well researched and to the point - no fluff, no sugar coating, just the facts (plenty of actual, usable facts). For the first time, I feel I have the tools to publish on Kindle – and a Bestseller no less. I see what needs to be done and the progression to obtain there in a professional way. The author even gives a 30 Day Kindle Bestseller checklist as a gift (one of her marketing hints to grow your list). I downloaded it and now I have a ready-made map. Well done!I have read a couple of the author’s other books in the Successful Blog Series and have found them to be, just like this one, the excellent blend of solid info and ease for a beginner like me. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    If you're fresh to or curious about Kindle publishing, check out this nifty e-book! Geared towards beginners, this book describes the Kindle publishing process from begin to finish in great, digestible, easy-to-understand detail. I'm far from a tech noob, but I previously didn't even know about 90-something percent of the hints shared in the e-book! As a writer, I now have the incentive to begin Kindle publishing, which is actually more profitable than blogging and boosts the results of blogging.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    I absolutely loved this book. Its to the point and removes all the guesswork involved in self-publishing. It focusses on the shortest possible time to write a bestseller. The author is clear, detailed and gives numerous examples and links that clearly indicate experience and knowledge of her subject!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    I really think someone contemplating Kindle publishing someday should read this book initially. While other books do explain parts of the process this one gave me personally a much broader overview. It also delivered on the intricate info much better than any other resource I have found to date. She contains a lot of resources either directly from her own business or other people endeavors that may help, and a lot of of her choicest ones are actually free! Nearly everything is covered here; from costs, the Amazon algorithm, how to create an perfect outline for your book, crafting the all-important title, what are keywords, and choosing a cover designer. Plus she focuses on social media particularly well and why a www service and/or blog page could become an indispensable link if you aspire to actually earn cash from your book someday. Of course this does require some work on your part. She writes in a spirted fashion turning a diverse “subject” into something fun and simple to follow along or implement. In summary; all the core foundation pieces are discussed in one put making life a small easier for those of us striving to become outstanding authors someday.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    1. Very simple to read, enjoyable. I almost could not place it down.2. Very thorough, well detailed material on the subject. She will give you a comprehensive info about the true steps required to publish your book.3. In comparison with other books I read from popular authors and #1 bestsellers the major difference and competitive advantage of Gundi's book is that 'she tells you all'. Others will give you the knowledge-base you need to grab the publishing business in understanding what you need to do, but they wish to hook you up on their couple of thousands of dollars worth trainings and to become the member of their 'club'. They promise you that this is the (only) method to tutorial you through the publishing process and to be able to promise you the bestseller status. Their books are just a ticket to the door.4. BUT here comes Gundi's book. She will tell you and shows you exactly those steps, those websites, those pages, those links, and those clicks .... that you would obtain from others only by paying hundreds or thousands of dollars on their training programs.5. Other books I read were also great. No doubt. I loved a few of them, but again those did not go deep enough to leave you alone in deep waters. Gundi's book tells you exactly what to do in that deep water unattended. And so, I think this is her competitive edge and what you obtain from her book. Unless you prefer a private guiding hand AND you have a hundreds or thousands of dollar additional to spend out of your much so, that I decided to purchase her other books as well to learn in the deep how to manage step-by-step other similar matters, such as SEO, Blog and social media marketing without the necessity of opening my bank account.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Anyone who is scared to publish a book should read this. Clear, precise and well explained! Step by step it tutorials you through the complete process.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    This is another amazing book of the "Successful Blog series". It shows you how to strategically plan publishing your ebook and how to shop your Kindle publishing to become a bestseller author or even #1 author. The author prooved her tactic with five #1 rankings in a row.AND instead of just writing a book it shows how you can create it a part of your whole marketing for your business. It is not about your writing style, but all about making your attractive Kindle publishing creation successful. Simple to read and understand, conversational as the whole series.A Step-by-Step tutorial to your first Amazon Bestseller and an in-depth understanding of Amazon’s algorithm.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! is indispensable info for the indie publisher, especially the beginner. The author gives practical how-to tip that will save time, money, and headaches for the fresh writer/publisher. This is like being handed all the hack codes so you can win! I can't wait to apply what I've learned! And then on to her other books!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Informative and engaging how-to tutorial that takes the 'daunting' aspect out of self-publishing. Easy-to-follow language, coupled with anti-problematic formatting and an air of excitement for the budding author's success created this tutorial instantly take the top spot on my list of go-to resources.Rather than feeling overwhelmed by mountains of complex data streams (as a lot of other 'help' tutorials have left me), resulting in putting off my dream of being a published author yet again, I now feel prepared and excited to start the process of launching my first ebook.Highly recommended for anyone who is considering embarking upon the self-publishing journey!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: A Long Time Ago... Vol. 1 (Star Wars A Long Time Ago Boxed) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Perfect story can wait to read the others. I recommend to the ones who wish more info and the ones who love comics

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: A Long Time Ago... Vol. 1 (Star Wars A Long Time Ago Boxed) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    First few problems that cover Star Battles film - a Fresh Hope - are classic and excellent. After that the comics go method down hill

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: A Long Time Ago... Vol. 1 (Star Wars A Long Time Ago Boxed) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    This brought back a ton of memories from when I was a small kid. I think the first comic book I ever purchased (for .35) was a Star Battles comic and it is in this collection!!!! Thanks for the satisfied memories!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: A Long Time Ago... Vol. 1 (Star Wars A Long Time Ago Boxed) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Fun to read early stories from the Marvel Comics series. GREAT inking artwork from Gene Day and Terry Austin. Archie Goodwin writes the majority of the stories here and they are better than average. Takes you back to the excitement of the 70s.... when Star Battles was new. Roy Thomas does an perfect job adapting A NEW HOPE. Even digged the one page in problem 6 that Dave Stevens worked on.... buy it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: A Long Time Ago... Vol. 1 (Star Wars A Long Time Ago Boxed) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Stunning comics and the stories are a lot better than the first trilogy! A joy to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: A Long Time Ago... Vol. 1 (Star Wars A Long Time Ago Boxed) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    The first 12 problems are incredible, story as amazing as art, the rest, art is not as consistent trough the rest, but it will take you back to a time where there was not a lot of star battles products, not like today anyway. And no Jar Jar.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: A Long Time Ago... Vol. 1 (Star Wars A Long Time Ago Boxed) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I LOVE IT

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: A Long Time Ago... Vol. 1 (Star Wars A Long Time Ago Boxed) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    I order all 4 volumes for my husband's birthday! He loved them! He said he had so a lot of memories from his childhood reading these!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: A Long Time Ago... Vol. 1 (Star Wars A Long Time Ago Boxed) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    This Comic Book about Star Battles is a bit much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: A Long Time Ago... Vol. 1 (Star Wars A Long Time Ago Boxed) review [Book]  2017-12-13 18:1

    Amazing compilation... I grew up reading the first 10 issues, so this is a amazing revisit to my childhood. All comics within the collection are illustrated as original and it is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Publish a #1 Bestseller in the next 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    I started reading this book with excited anticipation. I have been wanting to write a Kindle book for a while but found the info online daunting and confusing. This book is exactly what I was looking for: simple to follow, well researched and to the point - no fluff, no sugar coating, just the facts (plenty of actual, usable facts). For the first time, I feel I have the tools to publish on Kindle – and a Bestseller no less. I see what needs to be done and the progression to obtain there in a professional way. The author even gives a 30 Day Kindle Bestseller checklist as a gift (one of her marketing hints to grow your list). I downloaded it and now I have a ready-made map. Well done!I have read a couple of the author’s other books in the Successful Blog Series and have found them to be, just like this one, the excellent blend of solid info and ease for a beginner like me. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Publish a #1 Bestseller in the next 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    I really think someone contemplating Kindle publishing someday should read this book initially. While other books do explain parts of the process this one gave me personally a much broader overview. It also delivered on the intricate info much better than any other resource I have found to date. She contains a lot of resources either directly from her own business or other people endeavors that may help, and a lot of of her choicest ones are actually free! Nearly everything is covered here; from costs, the Amazon algorithm, how to create an perfect outline for your book, crafting the all-important title, what are keywords, and choosing a cover designer. Plus she focuses on social media particularly well and why a www service and/or blog page could become an indispensable link if you aspire to actually earn cash from your book someday. Of course this does require some work on your part. She writes in a spirted fashion turning a diverse “subject” into something fun and simple to follow along or implement. In summary; all the core foundation pieces are discussed in one put making life a small easier for those of us striving to become outstanding authors someday.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Publish a #1 Bestseller in the next 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    I absolutely loved this book. Its to the point and removes all the guesswork involved in self-publishing. It focusses on the shortest possible time to write a bestseller. The author is clear, detailed and gives numerous examples and links that clearly indicate experience and knowledge of her subject!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Publish a #1 Bestseller in the next 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    If you're fresh to or curious about Kindle publishing, check out this nifty e-book! Geared towards beginners, this book describes the Kindle publishing process from begin to finish in great, digestible, easy-to-understand detail. I'm far from a tech noob, but I previously didn't even know about 90-something percent of the hints shared in the e-book! As a writer, I now have the incentive to begin Kindle publishing, which is actually more profitable than blogging and boosts the results of blogging.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Publish a #1 Bestseller in the next 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    This is one of the best books on Amazon for the MARKETING aspects of Kindle and CreateSpace publishing. It takes the novice reader through a LOT of detail on the SEO aspects of not only Amazon, but Google and Bing as well as Social media. It is NOT (nor is it promoted to be) a composition technology book (i.e. converting word of pdf to kindle formats), but does give the publishing is still up to date, with the exception being that some hot fresh services like Blinkist are not yet mentioned. ALL the links are still valid, and that is a GREAT reason to obtain the Kindle version. However, if you're a beginning author (at least to Kindle), it's best to begin with the print ver for the sake of detailed study and notes, then make batter FREE to the Kindle Matchbook for the sake of the links.I'm already a bestselling nonfiction author, but still got a LOT of benefit from the subtle matching between keywords, macros, titles, subtitles, etc. In essence, this is so amazing because the author understands NICHES: IOW, you'll do poorly if you sell ice cream to the masses and do amazing if you sell mint pistachio to the mint pistachio clubs all over tarnation.Highly Recommended, and I'm NOT one of the paid, got item free, etc. crowd, this is an independent review for the sake of my fellow writers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Publish a #1 Bestseller in the next 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    Everything you need to know about Kindle publishing is right here in Kindle Bestseller Publishing. The book is a practical blueprint that tutorials you, every step of the way, towards getting your book written and published to market. Are you struggling with the writing process? Things not making sense on Amazon? Not sure about building a begin team? The Amazon Algorithm have you confused? You can search answers and guidance to all of these questions in this book. I like how the book is broken down into short, simple to read through chapters. There isn't any clunky text and the author has been there so he is the best authority on the topic of self ab this book and read it before you begin to write or begin your next book. You'll obtain all the inside material required to avoid any unnecessary mistakes. A Definite Recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Publish a #1 Bestseller in the next 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    I am working my method through Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Write a Bestseller in 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series) (Volume 5) step-by-step. The print ver works best for me because I'm 30 years past enrollment in AARP with issues of aging. Using the print I can underline, use post-its to flag sections and information. For me the sections on searching Keywords, finding a amazing subject and an introduction to KDRocket have been invaluable.If you are planning or dreaming of establishing yourself as a writer and selling your work through Kindle this title is a must have for your sh Black, author of Forged Blade..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Publish a #1 Bestseller in the next 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    This short book includes all the info I wanted to know and didn't about writing expressly for Kindle and getting readers to search what I write.Lots of hints for writing for any shop too. And for wasting no time to obtain going. A lot of helpful links to even more is book bears out the truth that for newbie writers with secret desires of seeing themselves published anywhere, even just out there on the ether, there is a lot of genuine support avalailable for them to embark on the right train to obtain there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Publish a #1 Bestseller in the next 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    This was a very helpful book. Some things I already knew but the knowledge I gained on things I didn't was worth every penny I spent. I have already downloaded the rest of the books and will be looking forward to reading them. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Kindle Bestseller Publishing: Publish a #1 Bestseller in the next 30 Days! (Beginner Internet Marketing Series Book 5) review [Book]  2018-7-11 18:0

    A must-read book for anyone who wishes to publish a book on Kindle or Createspace. I wrote down several notes in my book as she created me realize what mistakes I had created in the past publishing on Kindle. The book begin and promo sections are a gem. That's what I did wrong. :( The book pointed out my mistakes, especially as regards choosing a book title and which category to target. The section about selecting a category a few days before publication created a lot of sense. Yes, the numbers are continually changing, so it's essential to use the most up-to-date data. I highly recommend reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Letter: The No. 1 ebook bestseller review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    In 1973, a young woman named Tina is trapped in an abusive marriage. Her one escape is her charitable work in a thrift store. One day she finds an old, unmailed letter in the pocket of a donated suit. The letter, written during WW2, is from a young man begging his sweetheart, Chrissie, to forgive him. Tina becomes obsessed with finding out what happened to the young couple-and makes up her mind to deliver the letter. This book tells two stories: Tina's and Chrissie's. It alternates between the 70s and the WW2 era. And ultimately Chrissie and Tina's fates become intertwined through a series of miraculous coincidences. What I loved about this book was it's poignancy and hopefulness. It was a sweet, often tragic story, but it also showed the strength and resilience of the two leading ladies. I read this book in two days, and was unable to place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Letter: The No. 1 ebook bestseller review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    I was so sad for the struggles of the main hero in her marriage and glad she had the letter to give her reason to hold going. The "mystery" and how she solved it kept me reading happily to the end. I have passed this book on to another avid reader and highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Letter: The No. 1 ebook bestseller review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    It's been a amazing while since I read a book as compelling as THE LETTER.....What an awesome storyline, could not place it down. I will definitely follow the author, Kathryn Hughes. Right up there with THE FLOWER AND THE FLAME!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Letter: The No. 1 ebook bestseller review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    Who doesn’t like a amazing love story? Maybe we could call it a love story mystery. There are five people involved in three love stories. (Was that a spoiler alert? I hope not.). Yes, it was predictable, but that was okay. You still wish to hold reading to see how loose ends come together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Letter: The No. 1 ebook bestseller review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    Very engrossing, developing story. A true story of the harness of lives in the 1940's, the Catholic church's firm and devastating keep over little communities in country lives. But GOD is bigger and can work even the most miserable circumstances into Good!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Letter: The No. 1 ebook bestseller review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    What a compelling story that threads the main hero into the past, but not her own. It all begins with a letter found in a pocket of used e journey changes her and keeps you reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Letter: The No. 1 ebook bestseller review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book! and looked forward to returning to reading it. Loved the character, so believable. The story is very interesting. Kathryn Hughes did a very amazing job. I recommend this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Letter: The No. 1 ebook bestseller review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    The method the characters meet and how their situations played out were wonderful! I saw how physical abuse played out in the late 60's. My father was physically abusive to my mother when drunk. Once left and drove 2 hours to my maternal grandmother. Grandma told mom that she was to go back and create the marriage work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Letter: The No. 1 ebook bestseller review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    Loved this book. I do like the story going back and forth between characters and times; just when you are hooked on one time period, it leave you hanging to switch to the other. Didn't wish it to end!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Letter: The No. 1 ebook bestseller review [Book]  2018-1-29 18:0

    What a amazing story. Amazing book and I cannot wait to read another from this author amazing writing. Sweet characters and the lives this one Letter impacted was incredible. You won't be disappointed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    The story is filled with African cultural info that engages members of my Reading Club in productive discussions. Having small knowledge of Africa, they are learning through this medium cultural info that they can relate to some common practices they have experienced in their daily lives. The humor of the book keeps readers looking for the next minutes. The book is morally powerful and provides amazing examples of integrity, character, selflessness, and a range of other modes of behavior that kids of this generation rarely consider. I will be looking for the next book in a few weeks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    Alexander McCall Smith never disappoints and "The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency" is bonus that just keeps on giving. I love what I am learning about Africa and the African people. AMS, obviously, loves Africa and its people, especially Botswana. I'd love to sit with Mma Precious Ramotswe and share some Bush tea, some amazing conversation. She is wise and compassionate. I have a long method to go in the series but that is okay. This means that I can have fun some amazing company for quite a while. I would like to invite Alexander McCall Smith to have Bush tea with us too and some fruit cake. The conversation would be so entertaining.I just saw a talk by Alexander McCall Smith at the Washington Library. It took put when Bush was in office. He spoke about "No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency" at length and he took questions. I could listen to this man speak forever. I love his speaking voice and I love his laugh. He has a amazing laugh. I like a amazing laugh and he has a really amazing laugh. He is so cute and he has a amazing sense of humor. I would love to see him in person. I have so a lot of questions for him. I have to look at his schedule to see when he will be in NYC. I'd like to see him. I don't know where this man gets the time to write all of these books, travel and teach at the University too. I am amazed by his energy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    Mma Ramotswe, "the accomplished founder of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency" has agreed to marry "Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni, proprietor of Tlokweng Street Speedy Motors", but first there is business to be conducted and mysteries to be solved. Specifically, where is the couple going to live? In Mr J.L.B. Matekoni's house or in Mma Ramotswe's clean cottage? Mma Ramotswe is going to take care of Mr J.L.B Matekoni. Just listen to her tell his maid "A man who is well looked-after becomes fatter. They are just like cattle That is well-known." And what about an engagement ring with a huge diamond? First, though, there are the cases Mma Ramotswe has to solve - an American student, missing for ten years from an experimental collective. The mother accepts that he might be dead, but wants to know why. Then there is the butcher with a wife who has suddenly enough cash to send the son to an expensive personal school. The orphanage just outside the town needs support with the troublesome pump and before he knows it, Mr J.L.B. Matekoni is charged with the care of two orphans without consulting Mma Ramotswe first, Oh, and the promotion of her assistant and .... there is so much info packed into these books. I love McCall Smith's language, descriptions of the country and it's people! The relentless heat comes off the page when reading the description of vehicles parked so that the least bit of shade wards off the sun, or the Commissioner's Land Rover entrusted to Mr J.L.B. Matekoni, or the university lecturer. Unbelievable series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    I DO love 'The Number 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series' by Alexander McCall Smith. While the author is 'white' (and so am I), his stories present a deep love for Africa and an appreciation for the dignity of ins indigenous people. Well...at least the people of Botswana. I recommend starting with this book since it is the first in the series. It is also as fine a beginning as any series could hope to be. We search the heroine reflecting on her life as a young girl in a British Colonial milieu and we see her in adult life as the smart and practical product of a prosperous father and a amazing high school education. We search her to be independent-natured, self-sufficient and willing and able to stand up for independent women anywhere. She starts her own business...and since she admires Agatha Christie, she decides to become a detective.Each of these books picks up and drops a single overall case, separating each phase of its solution with chapters dealing mostly with other cases that can be solved more quickly. Each case requires some ingenious thinking and a deep understanding of local culture and practices and, of course, of primary human nature. In spite of having to deal with darker happenings such as kidnapping, witchcraft, impersonation, philandering, insurance fraud and employee theft, there is something life-affirming about the heroine's approach to each case and in the method she stays 'centered' as a human being. Readers looking for a 'cozy' mystery series that is not set in England will very much have fun this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    Reading a book in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series is like catching up with old friends. Mma Ramotswe is still proud to be a traditionally-built woman living in the greatest country in Africa, if not the world. Her assistant, Mma Makutsi, reminds anyone who will listen that she scored a 97 at her typing school and laments that prettier girls obtain the best jobs. Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni finally stands up to the mistress of the orphan home-- by agreeing to fix more things for free. Then there are the mysteries, which are almost besides the point, but of course Mma Ramotswe continues to use savvy and amazing judgment, showing mercy whenever applicable. The rest of the series has shown snippets of sexism in the past, with Ramotswe often "observing" that men are overgrown boys incapable of, well, everything, frankly, but McCall Smith ratchets it up a notch in this installment. Even so, I found this book an improvement over the latest in the series. These books continue to be gentle, friendly, white noise for me, and I'll hold reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    Each One Gets Better - each book in the series, that is. I think the one I am currently reading is the best one thus far, until I finish reading and then realize that each one is as amazing as the next one. I love learning things about Africa, at least Botswana, things I did not know. Botswana sounds so unbelievable and its people so delightful. This series makes me wish to visit Botswana and have some Bush tea and converse with its inhabitants.I love the series, love Mma Ramotswe and have fun spending time in her company. I would love to have a cup of Bush Tea or lunch at the President's Hotel, joined by Alexander McCall Smith himself. Can you imagine the wonderful, inspiring, thought-provoking conversations we could have?Alexander McCall Smith never disappoints and "The No. Ladies' Detective Agency" series is proof of that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    The No. 1 Ladies Detective Series are awesome. I love to read them in between my more serious books especially for a summer read. The stories are clever and McCall Smith has a method of writing that transports you to a put in Africa and wanting to place on a pot of tea in the afternoon. If possible obtain one on tape just to obtain the voices in your head of all the characters so when you read them you will those accents! Enjoy, read them all! Simple Read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    I saw the PBS series with Jill Smith and was hooked. ! Had to buy the books. She's a real, warm and very intelligent woman. Precious knows who she is and gets the job done. She's had some hard times and has used her strength to begin her own detective agency. Her secretary is prim and proper and intelligent also. I loved the ambiance that you feel as you read. You obtain a feel for the country and her love for it and her people. There is a love interest that is sweet and patient. The story is well written and enjoyable. She's special and I look forward to the next books from this author with Precious at the #1 Ladies Detective Agency.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    I am glad I finally had a possibility to read this first book of the series, and I understand why it is popular. The main character, Precious, is a unbelievable character, so likeable, smart, and able to face anything with never a sign of panic. I also like that the novel is more than a collection of detective stories, but is a glimpse of life in Botswana and its people. Lastly, I enjoyed the humor. I look forward to reading more in the series sometime.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency: A No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Novel (1) (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series) review [Book]  2018-5-4 18:0

    I found this book lying in the street. As someone who leaves my own finished books in airports and supermarkets hoping a person who needs to read them will, whenever I come across an abandoned book, I treat it as destiny. This is the first in a series; each book concerns a case investigated and solved by the only female detective in Botswana. It's quick and entertaining enough to serve as airplane reading, but, unlike another airplane writer, John Grisham, these are peopled by fully-drawn characters, and the African setting adds a new layer of interest for most American readers.I'm so glad this book literally showed up like a gift--since the discovery I've gone on to read a dozen more books in the series. I don't know how this man writes so much so fast--he's got several other completely various series going as well--unless he's one of those writers who hires a squad of ghosts. Whether he does or doesn't, I'm glad to have the books. Something about these stories cheers me up about life and people like nothing else.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) review [Book]  2018-6-24 18:0

    Brief summary, no spoilers.I know it may be odd to talk about “spoilers” when this is the story of a mythological character, but there are reasons for that and I will explain in the is book is told from the point of view of Circe, daughter of the sun Titan Helios. Her mother was Perse, a sea nymph who was the granddaughter of the Titan Oceanos.We mainly know of Circe from the Odyssey and her interactions with Odysseus. She was known as a sorceress who lived on an island and turned men into pigs. We know from the Odyssey that Circe was often seen working at a large loom surrounded by risky animals such as wolves and lions, yet they were all under her control. We also know from the Odyssey that Odysseus - by virtue of his wiles - not only avoids Circe’s sorcery but beds her as well. When he leaves she gives him tip on how to survive the perils on his seaward journey home to his homeland of Ithaca, such as Scylla and Charybdis, so he can reunite with his beloved wife Penelope and son why did I like this book so much? Well, stand back, because I’m about to gush.I am a huge fan of Greek mythology, and I was a huge fan of this author’s previous book, The Song of Achilles. Yet this one was even rce was not a major figure in the Odyssey; in fact when I first opened the book I realized I got her mixed up with Calypso. But I won’t create that mistake anymore. This minor hero has now become my favorite hero of all thanks to this author’s brilliant cause this book is told from Circe’s point of view, we obtain to intimately know her - not just her history and story but her thoughts as well. The reason this is so necessary is because we come to empathize with Circe. We tend to think of the Greek Gods as so fickle and often cruel - and indeed they are often depicted that method - yet with Circe, we meet a goddess who is so human and so very, very e reason I created the “no spoilers” comment at the start, is because Circe’s experiences contain her meeting and interacting with different other figures from Greek myth, and it’s a huge part of the enjoyment of this novel to experience it the method the author intended, without knowing what is going to happen next.I took a few days to read this book but that was not because it was a slow read. Just the opposite; I was so satisfied while reading it that I would stop myself after each chapter just to pace myself so it wouldn’t end too soon.I highly (obviously) recommend this to any fans of Greek mythology and for sure to anyone who enjoyed The Song of Achilles. But you don’t have to know much about the Odyssey or Greek mythology to love this book. Although this novel is about a god, it’s really a story about what it means to be human.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) review [Book]  2018-6-24 18:0

    I’ve been waiting for Circe since I closed the endpapers of The Song of Achilles. Miller has the expert’s eye and a storyteller’s touch - a female storyteller at that, which makes her remarkable among the other writers and rewriters of the classic Greek , her bonuses are used in telling the story of Circe, kid of Helios and one of the lesser gods, the first witch of the world. She spins a tale of bravery, gullibility, fear and courage; she tells the tale of a goddess who has the heart of a mortal. I don’t wish to give anything away and thus ruin Miller’s spellbinding tales, but it’s not a spoiler to say that I was astounded by the ways in which Miller was able to imbue her heroine with the same human frailties and fears as those of us mere mortals: the love of a mother, the burning shame of disgrace, the slow and quick at once finding of ones identity and center, the ways in which we all reach for more than perhaps we know, the giddy ness of losing ones fear and with it, the donning of grace and rce’s tales are big, and they’re writ huge here. And yet they feel so true and common even as they burn with a strange ler deserves to be mentioned among the greats. I look forward to her next creation with excitement and of course more than a small ve yourself the attractive opportunity to see Circe as she has never been seen. Read this book right away!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) review [Book]  2018-6-24 18:0

    {My Thoughts}What Worked For MeA Classic Tale Reimagined – Taking a classic story and reinventing it with a modern twist is nothing new. We see it time after time, but the usual reimagining locations the characters and plot in a contemporary setting as the story plays out. With Circe, Madeline Miller kept the characters and the setting, and instead shifted the focus, placing it solely on Circe. Those of you with a background in mythology will see many, a lot of elements from classic Greek mythology (especially The Odyssey) popping up in this book. However, if you’ve lived under a rock and never even knew there was such a thing as mythology it won’t matter. Miller gives you everything you need to know and she does it seamlessly.A Woman with Attitude – If you’re anything like me, you will come to adore Circe, the book and the woman. Born into one of the two most strong families of gods, Circe adored her father, Helios, but never quite measured up. Where her siblings were gorgeous and strong from an early age, Circe was plain and seemingly powerless. Tormented by her own family, Circe grew more and more fascinated with mortals. Falling in love with one, brought out her previously unknown powers of witchcraft.“I was too wild to feel shame. It was true. I would not just uproot the world, but tear it, burn it, do any evil I could to hold Glaucos by my side. But what stayed most in my mind was the look on my grandmother’s face when I’d said that word, pharmaka. It was not a look I know well among the gods.”This girl had gumption and she used her fresh power to punish her rival, creating a creature all came to feared. But, she paid a price for going too far. Circe was banished to the little island of Aiaia for eternity. This is where the book Circe really took off for me. On the island, I found it impossible not to admire and root for this woman who year after year, century after century, faced her fears, honed her powers, and learned to stand up for herself.“She was gone. But I said it anyway, to that amazing empty room and my son’s dreaming ears: “You do not know what I can do.”Soap Opera of the Gods – You might think a story of a woman alone on an island could obtain dull, but you would be wrong. Circe lived a lonely life, but was not without the occasional visitor, a lot of bringing adventure and challenges to her life. Hermes flitted in and out with news and gossip from the worlds of gods and mortals. Her sister, Pasiphae, granted Circe temporary exile to support deal with her small Minotaur problem. Shipwrecked sailors soon discovered the wrath of Circe. And then came Odysseus, perhaps her most well known visitor, bringing to Circe a lasting love she was willing to die for. The level of drama never failed!That House – I really can’t say any more, but for those who have read Circe: I wish that house!What Didn’tAbsolutely EVERYTHING worked for me in Circe!{The Final Assessment}Madeline Miller is definitely a writer to admire. Reinventing the life of a minor goddess into a remarkable woman while remaining faithful to the original mythology can be no little feat. Miller did it in the best method possible, by knowing her star hero and sticking to her story. From begin to finish Circe was all about Circe, no long tangents, no veering off into some other god’s story. Just Circe: her life, her feelings, her mistakes, her heart, her choices. I haven’t yet read Millers’s debut, Song of Achilles, but I will. I’m already looking forward to that next trip to ancient Greece. If it’s anything like Circe, I’m sure to search the journey immersive, entertaining, exciting, everything! Just incase I haven’t been clear, I loved Circe. She will be one of my top ten books this year. Grade: A

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) review [Book]  2018-6-24 18:0

    I was never a Greek mythology scholar and and most of what I once knew from needed reading at school has been lost to a faulty memory. What I'm now left with is very general, sketchy knowledge. Take Circe, for example. She's still there in my memory bank, but just broadly as a witchy woman living on an island who turned Odysseus' men into pigs when they stopped off on their method home to Ithaca after the Trojan Madeline Miller, who is an actual classics scholar, fills out Circe's life to create her more real, with feelings, motivations, life experiences that created her into that witch who was so inhospitable to sailors. Matter of fact, Miller's Circe, if she were around today, might well be a prominent figure in the #MeToo movement. After all, if some men are going to behave like pigs, imagine the satisfaction of turning them into the true thing.We are first introduced to Circe, a very minor Greek goddess who tells her story in 1st person POV, as a young girl, daughter of Helios, Titan god of the sun and Perse, an Oceanid naiad. For being god of the sun, Helios is a beautiful cold and distant father, and Perse is a particularly unkind mother who favors her other kids over Circe. And those other children, in particular the twins Pasiphae and Perses, are cruel to is it any wonder that Circe, although a goddess, is drawn to the company of mortals? Her first romantic crush is the fisherman Glaucos, who is friendly to her. She falls so in love with him that she begs her father, and then her grandmother, to create him a god so they can live together forever. No luck there, so Circe, ever determined, turns to witchcraft and does it herself. Well, that doesn't turn out as well as she would have liked, since Glaucos becomes a rather full-of-himself god who falls in love with a much lovelier nymph than Circe. Unlucky in love and resentful of the other nymph, Circe again turns to witchcraft, this time to take her revenge on this Other Woman. What happens next is Miller's take on how a very well-known and particularly vicious sea creature came into existence.Well, "pharmaka", or witchcraft, is frowned upon by Zeus, so he has Helios exile Circe to the island of Aiaia, to live a solitary life. And it is here that Circe begins to fully develop her skills with herbs and plants and her abilities to cast spells. We all know how that impacted a portion of Homer's The Odyssey. What I didn't think about when reading that classic is the why of her actions. That's what Miller is interested in and that's what makes this a compelling read. The author creates a fully-fleshed-out Circe. We see how her life experiences have informed her character. Part of this contains her love life, with three mortal lovers and one god who becomes an untrustworthy mate with we read Circe's acc of her life, we search her meeting up with a lot of popular mythological characters. There are encounters with Prometheus, Daedalus and Icarus, Hermes, Minos and Pasiphae, the Minotaur, Jason and Medea, Athena, Penelope and Telemachus, and different and sundry other gods, mortals and monsters. Miller doesn't strictly follow well-known myth storyline, giving Circe more active participation in a lot of happenings, such as the Minotaur's containment, or her interactions with Daedalus, or how the sea creature Scylla met her destruction, for example, but they're just myths anyway. Why not play around with them a little?So there may be a slight amount of revisionist mythology here, especially by giving motivations and feelings and depth to Circe and playing around slightly with some of the stories, but this gives the book more relevance to modern day themes of women, their treatment, their reactions, and their burgeoning empowerment. This all makes for a compelling read. Who doesn't have fun a amazing tale of gods, creatures and mortals? And the tale is told in lovely, descriptive prose, at time lush. Characters are well drawn and the pace never lagged for me. A amazing read from beginning to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) review [Book]  2018-6-24 18:0

    As an old man who has devoured the Greek myths since earliest youth, I can only say Thank you Madeline Miller for another fabulous read, for sharing rarest talent, underlying goodness, and simply lovely ere is a reason the ancient myths have proved immortal. We are still enchanted by them because they speak to our longings, our aspirations, our humanity and indeed to our higher angels--completely free of dogma. Circe’s autobiography wondrously reimagines it all and stitches it all together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) review [Book]  2018-6-24 18:0

    Inspired. Lyrical. Erudite. Fun.I have both Madeline Miller's Kindle ver and the ASTONISHING companion audible book narrated by Perdita Weeks. In truth, you will really wish both. I followed along in the Kindle as I listened. I frequently stopped the narration to luxuriate in one of Miller's translucent passages, reading it over and over ler's writing and descriptions flow like a stream across waterfall rocks, burbling and splashing and happy. Bejeweled writing. Bewitching writing.And no one brings that to life as Perdita Weeks does.Her quiet, whispery voice; her inflections; her cadences complement Miller's writing in ways that are difficult to explain. (You'll also appreciate Weeks' pronunciation of myriad Ancient Greek names and places).Miller (read her bio) has found an unexplored niche in the popular Homeric poems that most of us have read. She finds those small "throw away" locations in the stories and asks, "but why? What else happened here?" Women, who usually obtain short shrift from Homer, are fully formed and fleshed in Miller's of Achilles was imaginative, filling in the backstories of Achilles and Patrocles to "round out" the tales where Homer left gaping Circe, however, Miller takes a minor encounter between Circe and Odysseus (at least compared to the 7 year detour he had with Calypso) and, using her detailed knowledge of the stories and of the Greek and Latin languages, constructs compelling and interesting backstories. In the end, she recasts all the characters in a new, more human light.I highly recommend both Miller's book and Weeks audio ver as companion pieces. One without the other is cheating the reader of a truly memorable experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) review [Book]  2018-6-24 18:0

    This book caught me by surprise. I was swept up in the tale of Circe, a goddess, and amazed by the easy truths of human life revealed. Madeline Miller captured both the beauty and bitter futility of being human, and I will be philosophically turning these thoughts over in my head for years to come. Timeless masterpiece that will only become sweeter with each read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) review [Book]  2018-6-24 18:0

    If you have had it with the toil and problem of life in 2018, escape to an island of endless magic with a too-human demigoddess. Madeline Miller’s Circe weaves its own ough Circe is born of the Titan Helios and a nymph, she suffers from feelings all too human. She lacks confidence as most young women do. But she is destined to be forever e impetuously offer support to a mortal (Prometheus) and uses her magic to punish the nymph Scylla. Helios agrees that his rebellious daughter should be banished from the halls of the rce’s life begins in earnest as she learns to live on her own island, Aiaia. Alone, she toys with seashells, flowers, herbs, and more magic. She sings her songs to please herself. Though Hermes drops by to dally with her feelings and teach her bedroom arts, Circe is somewhat content. A shipwrecked squad impels her to use her magic for self-protection and even retribution.Enter another shipwreck some time later, this one carrying Odysseus. Whether you are a scholar of the classics or only vaguely remember some of the incidents of The Odyssey, Miller uses the relationship between Circe and Odysseus to develop fresh feelings within the ancient l that spins out is foreordained. Yet, I felt an urgent need to know how and why such things would happen. Even when Odysseus is sent on his way, the echoes of the love between Circe and Odysseus continue to weave their e ending to this magical journey, a closing Telemachia, held me spellbound. After finishing the book, I read the whole book over again. This is my method with books that enrapture me. I must read it again, more slowly, for the pure pleasure of the artistry as well as the surprises and action of the rce is a book of endless wonders. Thank you, Madeline Miller, for this deep and twisted tale of love and fate. This book follows her Song of Achilles (The lliad), which is equally compelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) review [Book]  2018-6-24 18:0

    Today I’ll be reviewing Circe, which is by the same author who wrote The Song of Achilles. Even though I had the eARC since…forever, I actually didn’t read this until release day. Before I go into my review (if I even know how to DO that anymore), I wish to mention that I literally read this all in one day. So if anything, you should at least take away that it was THAT good. But, this honestly might just be me. I’m currently in a Greek mythology phase at the moment, with playing God of Battle and all, and so maybe I enjoyed Circe so much because I was in the right mood.Let’s talk about Circe. For one, she’s awesome, not doubt about it. Yet, this is the first time I've heard about her story, as I never read Odysseus in high school (let alone spell it). And though I do know the primary storyline of Odysseus, this is my first time learning about Circe. Well, the author’s take of the story, at least. But nevertheless, the author tells it as if it were really part of Greek Things I Liked:• This book is all about Circe. And she is awesome, as I’ve mentioned before.• How Circe’s life prospered even though she was all alone on an island, thanks to Zeus. And her relationship with everyone who visited her• In regards to these relationships, the people and gods Circe met were from various myths. Though I’m not overly familiar with them, the stories of the Minotaur, Medea, Daedalus & Icarus, and Odysseus all intertwined with Circe’s. Honestly the only thing I know about Icarus is from a song by Bastille, so that’s how I obtain my Greek mythology.Overall, even though I have no idea how close this compares to the actual mythology, I fell in love with this book. It’s definitely a fresh favorite. And I absolutely recommend this book to anyone who loved The Song of Achilles, or just loves mythology in general (in which that case, read both).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller) review [Book]  2018-6-24 18:0

    After having fallen in love with Miller based on her Somg of Achilles, I began this book with amazing anticipation. And I eagerly waited for a heroine-goddess, feminist for our time, to emerge. And I waited, and waited, and waited... until about 60% through the book (Kindles are such handy devices), when I finally grew so tired of Circe that I just couldn’t go on, in spite of the fine prose. This is a nymph who spends the first 40% of the book being kicked around by Titans and other nymphs and who, upon being rejected by her first crush, takes her jealousy out on the object of his lust rather on the jerk himself - thereby creating a creature who ends up killing untold thousands. Yeah, she regrets it, for about three sentences. Later, she becomes a strong witch who mostly uses her power to turn all the men who land on her island - every one of whom we are to read as presumptive thieves and rapists - into pigs and killing them. She shares her island with other nymphs, but not a single one of them, we are given to understand, is with her time or attention. So much for passing the Bechdel test, at least during that phase of her existence. I stopped reading when she found Odysseus and went all love-struck - I couldn’t shake the feeling that this alleged strong, strong woman was falling into the “yes, I am strong, until I meet an even stronger man” trope. Ugh.I am clearly in the minority in my view, so take my review with a grain of salt, I guess. The prose is lovely, to be sure. But the story plods and the protagonist is, at the end of the day, a huge yawn for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    It's amazing and very useful app..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Very amazing application to make resume or cv, templates provided are very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Best Resume maker ever..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Very useful application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Best resume application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Amazing app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Nice app

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    with this application I can create resume very quickly . Thanks to the squad behind the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Unbelievable application to make Resume/CV.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Amazing application to make resume .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Nice resume maker.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Best resume maker.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    best resume app, so convenient and eays as name suggest

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Amazing Application to create resume

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Sucks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    v nice...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Resume: Resume maker review [App]  2017-11-4 21:11

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Feasts: From the Sunday Times no.1 bestselling author of Persiana & Sirocco review [Book]  2018-4-10 18:1

    Amazing variety! Simple to occasional complex recipes. Be prepared for European measurements and names (courgette = zucchini). Exciting flavors!! Morrocan to Thailand flavors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Key: A gripping pageturner with a heartwrenching twist from the #1 bestselling author of The Letter review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    This is the third book I have read by Kathryn Hughes. I never realized what mental hospitals (lunatic asylums) were like within my own lifetime and that anyone could be committed for beautiful much any reason. The story was a fascinating portrait of the lives of three women: Amy, a patient in a mental hospital; Ellen, a student nurse in the same hospital; and Sarah, who was researching a book on the history of that hospital. The author showed us that the inside of the hospital was a far cry from the elaborate architecture and fancy furnishings in the public locations of the building. The characters of these three women was portrayed in amazing detail. Although what happened within the hospital was quite appalling at times, the book was a tribute to the indomitable spirit of Amy, the kindness of Ellen, and the perseverance of Sarah. Several times, I had tears in my eyes. There were some satisfied times and a lot of times that really touched my heart. The book is truly a page-turner. Once again, my housework suffered until I finished this book. I highly recommend this book, as well as the other two books by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Key: A gripping pageturner with a heartwrenching twist from the #1 bestselling author of The Letter review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    Easy enough to engage characters like the authors' other books...and simple to read...put down...and pick back up. Unfortunately you never really connect deeply to anyone in particular, except for the dedication and simple spirit of Student Nurse Ellen Crosby. Though, like the other nurses, I'm sure she would have become mechanical and jaded given enough time. I certainly became intrigued by the long forgotten stowed away suitcases with mysterious life stories to tell. Perhaps it was the subject of mental illness and the method one is trained to not engage as to why I didn't much care for this particular Kathryn Hughes offering; but that's just my opinion. I truly enjoyed her other books and will hold an eye out for anything new.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Key: A gripping pageturner with a heartwrenching twist from the #1 bestselling author of The Letter review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    One of the most interesting books I have ever read, The Key hooked me on page one, and it didn't allow me go until the very the latest three weeks, I have read all 3 of Kathryn Hughes' novels, and though I've really liked all of them, this one is my absolute favorite. I devoured it in 2 days, which is quite a feat, considering I bought the Kindle ver and don't have a Kindle and, thus, must read on my PC, which isn't always e mental institution setting of The Key is fascinating and eye-opening. I definitely am interested in learning more about institutional life during the mid-20th with Ms. Hughes' other novels, The Key has a wealth of well-drawn characters. Amy, particularly, will touch your heart---especially because you will be reminded that in the not-too-distant past, women like her really were institutionalized without just Hughes has, once again, woven together a lovely, heart-tugging story. I hope she keeps on writing these dual-time period books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Key: A gripping pageturner with a heartwrenching twist from the #1 bestselling author of The Letter review [Book]  2018-4-27 18:0

    I. Was presently surprised to search how lovely this book came to an end. I have already purchased her book The Surprise. I am sure this book will be page Turner also!

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter