Read landscape and race in the united states reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all landscape and race in the united states reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Irony and Outrage: The Polarized Landscape of Rage, Fear, and Laughter in the United States []  2020-1-16 21:54

    Amazing authors don’t waste words. Young did not. Her writing is clear, informative, and thought provoking. I would recommend reading the book with a highlighter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Irony and Outrage: The Polarized Landscape of Rage, Fear, and Laughter in the United States []  2020-1-16 21:54

    As a comedy performer/teacher, this book was scientifically designed for me and it did not disappoint. Irony and Outrage tackles two giant comedy questions: Why doesn't conservative satire work? Why has Trump been such a issue for comedy? Young proposes that the same psychological traits that nudge us liberal or conservative also affect our preferred media genres. Having wrestled with these questions myself, Young's conclusions, based on decades of research, are the most satisfying answers I've found.What's clear in this book (as well as in her interviews) is that Dr. Young gets comedy. Her examples and observations from late-night are relevant and her "under-the-hood" explanations create sense on a comedy level. She's a local improv veteran, making for an inspired combination of academic research and creative passion. I'll definitely be incorporating some of her insights into my writing is book is academically robust, but the writing is clear and Young is not afraid to allow her personality shine through. Much of the book summarizes research, which I found fascinating, but I could see someone getting bogged down in those chapters. That's not a knock, just a caution that despite this book being accessible, it's not purely a famous work.I highly recommend this book for anyone wrestling with those same comedy questions: Why is satire so liberal? What happened to comedy under Trump? You'll obtain compelling answers, and as a gift will have better handles for understanding your mates and family across the political aisle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Irony and Outrage: The Polarized Landscape of Rage, Fear, and Laughter in the United States []  2020-1-16 21:54

    Love it. Dovetails with Haidt’s Morsl Founsation Theory.

    0  


    Add your opinion on landscape and race in the united states or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Disparities in the United States: Social Class, Race, Ethnicity, and the Social Determinants of Health []  2020-6-12 18:51

    Bachelor of science public health.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study []  2020-1-22 20:21

    The textbook came in amazing condition, practically brand new. Content-wise, the book is set up in a easy method that is simple to understand, go through, and have plenty of ever,I am giving 2 stars because the book is misprinted; there are 40 pages missing and another 30 pages are printed twice. So, it does obtain in the method of reading for classes and studying for tests.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study []  2020-1-22 20:21

    My rental came in with most of the pages falling out. I’m not satisfied at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study []  2020-1-22 20:21

    Mostly essays from people who have been discriminated, and not so much history or background info of the issues. However, you will need to create references to the textbook just to present you have read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study []  2020-1-22 20:21

    The articles and viewpoints in this book are heartbreaking. It gives a amazing insight as to what is going on and has been going on (human rights vise) in our country (the U.S.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study []  2020-1-22 20:21

    This textbook is really written as an anthology of pertinent articles similar to the topic. It is a very simple read in terms of textbooks, as the individual articles are well-written and are short enough to obtain through and take a breath before diving into the next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study []  2020-1-22 20:21

    I used this book for an introductory class to Race, Class and Gender at my university. I have read more than 60% of the book and almost all of the articles were enjoyable, especially those in section 6, which cover several author's private experiences with racism. I have taken a few classes that have discussed these subjects in the past, but not to the extent that we covered. This book is highly valuable to those interested in learning about race, class, and gender in America. Some of the articles I had read before, but the fact they were included in the text only highlights their validity. It has also been helpful in my everyday conversations with people, and I tend to reference info from it. If it weren't so expensive, I would purchase my rental for future reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study []  2020-1-22 20:21

    Wonder book and quality used for my master social work (MSW) program.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study []  2020-1-22 20:21

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study []  2020-1-22 20:21

    Book and class were really fascinating but my rental book was falling apart when I got it! I didn't have time to return my initial rental to obtain a fresh one because I required to read the book for my assignments but I had to tape a bunch of pages back into the book because they kept falling out. There was also some sticky residue leftover from another student's sticky notes they must have place in the book, so a lot of the pages were stuck together the whole time. I almost bought my rental because i loved the book so much but Amazon was trying to charge me like $40 for it and I personally don't think the condition is amazing enough for that price. Hope everyone else has a better rental and enjoys this book as much as I did!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study []  2020-1-22 20:21

    On the surface, this text is fairly devoted to discussing problems of diversity and discrimination within the groups noted on the cover. However, even in this most latest version, there are glaring omissions and badly chosen inclusions which frankly perpetuate the issue this collection is attempting to support resolve. On matters of race and class, it does a fairly solid job from where I sit. I'm finding its handling of gender and ity to be rather short-sighted and sometimes downright erasing. For what it includes, I'd fault it for choosing the Lorber essay for its over-reliance on the claim that "doing gender" is gender identity. That approach contributes heavily to the philosophy of anti-trans radical feminists who claim trans women are faking it to gain access to women's spaces. It also directly contradicts the lived experiences of trans people, who perform gender in a myriad of ways but first and foremost know our gender from within as a core state of at latest sentence contains people whose gender identity is fluid or otherwise outside the binary, which brings me to my second problem. Every latest essay on gender spoke only of the binary genders. In a 2017 edition, that is a gross omission. When even Bill Nye or Adam Savage can look at the research and see the diversity within human biology and psychology, this text's failure to do so is almost mind-boggling. It also entirely omits trans men from the discussion, and there are writers from that group with piercing yses of both feminine and masculine gender roles who could be heard from. The least they could've done is check in with Chaz for its approach to discussing orientation, it again commits the error of only discussing the assumed binary of hetero versus homo. Worse, it does so by relying on discussing identities only. It has no essays from discussing themselves. It also completely fails to acc for biity (by which I mean the umbrella term for non-mono identities) or aity. Some of the essays even erase bis from existence entirely until they use the acronym LGBT as a short form for ", , and drag queens" or swaps in transgender women for the third group (see "The Ghosts of Stonewall" for one example).I shouldn't have felt erased by a text that wants to reduce discrimination and increase understanding. And yet, there I was, absent from the conversation because Rothenberg couldn't be bothered to realize more exists beyond the binaries she's comfortable with maintaining. She also committed a faux pas versus the trans women she included by letting in someone who claimed all gender is constructed and performed. Some might argue this is an introductory text and should be forgiven. But when a social introduction tells you about most of the faces in the room and ignores the rest, the ones who are passed over are right to see that as rude. We who were ignored by Rothenberg's choices are just as show as the snubbed people at the hypothetical gathering. I hope she improves her approach for the next edition so future readers keep a better introduction, not a curated one that rejects valid voices in the name of whatever ideal she thought she was serving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Birth of City Planning in the United States, 1840–1917 (Creating the North American Landscape) []  2020-7-17 21:15

    A very well written and lucid exploration of the development of Town Planning in the United States. It is very simple to live your entire life in the US and not realize the history that surrounds urban dwellers, especially in the North East. Mr. Peterson's book provides a clear, detailed look into how our amazing cities and parks have developed and how that has influenced much of the layout of everyday life in America

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    united states district court case searchjl [dupage cases searchzm]  2020-9-1 8:42
    [email protected]

    bmohxheubnjk ms case find case find judiciary clay county case find case net missouri litigant find case find indiana

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geology and Landscape Evolution: General Principles Applied to the United States []  2020-7-21 18:55

    Amazing info but abysmal editing: typos, textual references to figures/tables that don't exist (perhaps sloppy carry-overs from earlier edition?)Heavy reliance on hand drawn Raisz maps just doesn't chop it. They are hard to read, often too reduced to create out info referenced in text without a long examination with magnifying glass. Very frustrating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler's American Model: The United States and the Making of Nazi Race Law []  2020-1-28 21:30

    The author, Professor of Comparative and Foreign Law at the Yale Law School, tells us in the Acknowledgments that Princeton U. Press received from some of its referees "suitably bilious responses", validating his decision to bypass commercial publishers. Still, James Q. Whitman assures us time and again that he has nothing nefarious in mind, that Hitler's extermination ideology was not created in the USA, as the title may suggest. Instead, he brings to light the keen scholarly interest nationalist and Nazi German jurists took in contemporary American race legislation and Jim Crow practices. By separating the racist dimension of the "American Legal Realism" of the 1930s from its larger liberal context, Whitman arrives at the real nexus with its German counterpart. The " 'realists' of both countries shared the same eagerness to smash the obstacles that 'formalistic' legal science place in the method of 'life' and politics - and 'life' in both Fresh Deal America and Nazi Germany did not contain only economic programs (...). 'Life' also involved racism." (p. 156) The author's familiarity with both, the German and American legal landscapes of the 1930s and 40s and his painstakingly sober ysis, assure this reader that the book is exactly NOT "spellbinding and haunting", as one dust-cover reviewer sees e subject could be embedded in the larger history of the American eugenics movement, so carefully illuminated by Christine Rosen (Preaching Eugenics (Oxford, 2004) who cites this opinion of the amazing Oliver Wendell Holmes, abbreviated in our book: "It is better for all the world, if instead of waiting to execute degenerate offspring for crime, or to allow them starve for their imbecility, society can prevent those who are manifestly unfit from continuing their kind. Three generations of imbeciles are enough." (p.150)As contemporaries of the Trump era, we may wish to stop and reflect on Whitman's somber conclusion "(...) To have a common-law system like that of America is to have a system in which the traditions of the law do indeed have litte power to ride herd on the demands of the politicians, and when the politics is bad, the law can be very poor indeed." (p.159) Professor Whitman summarizes his interpretation of latest literature that help his thesis as follows: "All of these works paint a darker picture of early twentieth-century American intellectual and political life than we might wish. So does this book." Makes it a timely one, doesn't it ?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler's American Model: The United States and the Making of Nazi Race Law []  2020-1-28 21:30

    This is a brilliant study. Just one opening observation is that the reader will learn as much about American legal history as the German NAZI e publisher selected title is unfortunate, to say the least. Professor Whitman is not suggesting that American racism, or religious bigotry was a direct inspiration for Nazi race theory, or anti-Semitic bigotry. Nor, as some have suggested, was the American eugenics movement. Eugenics was just a little part of the Nazi situation. Stefan Küehl has attributed a larger part to eugenics than anyone I can think of in his 2002 book The Nazi Connection: Eugenics, American Racism, and German National Som (Oxford University Press).In fact, the Nazi "Rassen Pope" Alfred Poletz among others was influential in the 1905 founding of the Society for Racial Hygiene (Gesellschaft für Rassenhygiene). Poletz was a believer in Nordic superiority, and he quickly formed a secret group of racists active within the Society. They were strongly influenced by the racial theories of Arthur Comte de Gobineau published in the early 1850s (well before Darwin's books, or the even later Eugenics movement). Gobineau followed the creationist theories of the "pre-Adamites" who went so far as to claim that es had been made on the Genesis fifth day with "other beasts of the field."(More to follow)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler's American Model: The United States and the Making of Nazi Race Law []  2020-1-28 21:30

    "Love it" is not the correct phrase for how I similar to the book. An necessary book for which I am thankful sobered and shamed by the book, better express my feelings. America to our lasting shame was the Mid-Tewentith Century global leader in the law of racial disenfranchisement & suppression despite our constitution to the contrary. That we were one model for Nazi race law is an abomination, a stain we can never remove. Professor Whitman though is generous to America, and this old, white, Tennessean, believes incorrect, when he states (p. 145) that the Nazi's went beyond American racism by creating, "...something different: the "organization of a fascist state"." The author is correct that the United Staes of America was itself not a "fascist state". However, within the United States, at least at the county level, governments existed and were tolerated by the federal government, that were indeed fascist in all but name. One-party county governments based on white supremacy and dedicated to maintaining white rule, black poverty & political powerlessness, racial purity & separation, at any cost including murder, existed in the South, in Tennessee, long before Hitler. These Southern county governments were very effective police states that employed government led white terror to control African Americans. White terrorists county governments they were. Fascist they were. Americans organized fascist local governments long before Germans organized on a national scale and streamlined their murder machine. Americans fascists killed fewer, but slay they did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler's American Model: The United States and the Making of Nazi Race Law []  2020-1-28 21:30

    I wrote an extended review of Hitler's American Model for a law school course in legal history, so I have a lot of thoughts. To place it briefly, I think the book has a fatal lack of historical context. Whitman’s marshaling of basic Nazi sources is impressive. He cites an wonderful wealth of doents geared both to the mass membership of the Party and more technically-minded lawyers and officials, all of which create laudatory references to American law on racial matters. While praise for American law from such reprehensible sources helps to drive home the wretched legacy of American legalized racial discrimination, the most shocking of Whitman’s claims are untenable. He cites extensive Nazi references to American race-based immigration law as evidence of its influence on the Nuremberg Laws’ citizenship provision. But Nazi citizenship law was concerned with stripping political rights away from Jews who had been born Germans, and it is not a comparable zone of law to that governing the admission of foreigners. While Whitman is stronger in his argument that Nazis may have looked to the Insular Cases and Indian law in America for examples on second-class citizenship, he devotes less zone and has fewer sources on these issues. Whitman also makes rather extreme conclusions about the nature of American legal culture and the legal realist doctrine fashionable in the 1930s, based on Nazi perceptions of them, which unfairly maligns the impact of legal realism in reversing the American racial laws that the Nazis found so admirable.Whitman’s greatest fault, however, is his failure to contextualize his key source in its put in Nazi history and hierarchy. His scant attention to the Nazi rejection of rule of law on ideological principle is a gross oversight, particularly for lay or legal readers who may be unfamiliar with Nazi history and thought. Fatal to his claim of an American model for the Nuremberg Laws is his failure to demonstrate substantive links between Nazi writing on American law or the June 1934 commission meeting (which he basis most of his argument on) to the laws that were promulgated in September 1935. The commission and its leaders were outside the core of Nazi power and at odds with its philosophy, making Whitman’s reliance on it as essential to Third Reich lawmaking very questionable. Furthermore, an examination of the actual drafting and enforcement of the Nuremberg Laws—which is totally unaddressed by Whitman—reveals no tip of the discussion of American law being of t to delve too far into detail, but Whitman bases most of his book on a transcript of a June 1934 criminal law reform commission meeting which included in-depth discussion of American race laws and comparing them to Nazi proposals for anti-Jewish laws. What he fails to mention is that the chair of the meeting, Justice Minister Gürtner, was a nationalist conservative holdover who had been in office since 1932, only joining the Nazi Party in 1937. Contrary to Nazi ideology, he firmly believed in the use of written law and procedures, and had established the commission to revise the Reich Criminal Code of 1871 in accordance with Nazi ideology. According to preeminent historian of the Third Reich, Richard J. Evans, the commission was unable to hold up with the continuous creation of fresh criminal offenses by the regime, and its “legalistic pedantry” was rejected by Nazis who refused to place its drafts into effect. The commission was thus an unimportant feature of Third Reich policymaking, which perhaps explains why its June 1934 transcript garnered so small attention from scholars before Whitman, despite being first published in spite the failure of his most sensational claims of American law serving as a model for a genocidal regime, Whitman’s extensive collection of Nazi discussions of American race law is of some interest, providing a reflection of our law in a dark mirror. As Whitman correctly states in a moment of restraint, “Seeing America through Nazi eyes does tell us things we did not know, or had not fully reckoned with—things about the nature and dimensions of American racism, and things about the put of America in the larger globe history of racism.” As a work of persuasive scholarship, however, Hitler's American Model is a failure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler's American Model: The United States and the Making of Nazi Race Law []  2020-1-28 21:30

    One scary small book. I knew some of this, but never saw it all laid out and carefully yzed before. The book is authoritative and very well written. Very well doented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler's American Model: The United States and the Making of Nazi Race Law []  2020-1-28 21:30

    An interesting book that provides an insightful overview of the formation of the infamous Nuremburg Laws that were issued at the begin of the Nazi’s regime.If one were to read “A People’s History of the United States” by Howard Zinn first—one would not be surprised (and/or shocked) by the claims purported in this book, s, United States was a amazing source of inspiration for the Nazis. In fact, the Ku Klux Klan is the original “Nazi”—and, there shouldn’t be any wonder here at all. However, it was the Jim Crow’s segregation law, the biased immigration quotas, the explicit discrimination, racism and hatred towards the black people, the Filipinos, the Chinese and the Japanese, and a lot of other non-white groups, plus the violent and the government-justified extermination of the Native Americans, that truly fascinated the Nazis, who in turn, used it as own justification for the atrocities they committed in the name of their own agenda.I’m giving this book 3 stars because there’s just too much redundant information, there’s not enough “facts” to fill the 160 pages of text. The author is repeating the same ideas over and over and over again. It would create for a solid 10 page essay, alas there’s just not enough *new* info to justify even the short length of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler's American Model: The United States and the Making of Nazi Race Law []  2020-1-28 21:30

    James Q. Whitman's fresh book is called Hitler's American Model: The United States and the Making of Nazi Race Law. It is understated and overdoented, difficult to argue with. No doubt some will cartoonish U.S. historical understanding, the United States is, was, and ever shall be a force for good, whereas Nazism arose in a distant, isolated land that lacked any connection to other societies. In a cartoonish reversal of that understanding that would create a amazing strawman for critics of this book, U.S. policies have been identical to Nazism which simply copied them. Obviously this is not the reality, as we have long known, the U.S. genocide of Native Americans was a source of inspiration in Nazi discussions of expanding to their east, even referring to Ukrainian Jews as "Indians." Camps for Native Americans helped inspire camps for Jews. Anti-Semites and eugenicists and racists in the U.S. helped inspire those in Germany, and vice versa. U.S. bankers invested in the Nazis. U.S. weapons dealers armed them. Nazis borrowed from U.S. propaganda techniques developed in Globe Battle I. Admirers in the U.S. of Nazi Germany and fascist Italy attempted at least one coup versus President Franklin Roosevelt. The U.S. refused to admit significant numbers of Jewish refugees or to support evacuate them from Germany. The State Department turned down Anne Frank's visa. The coast guard chased a ship of Jews away, sending them back to their fate. Et cetera. We have known all of this.We have known how the U.S. treated African Americans, Japanese Americans, and others at the time of Globe Battle II, how it experimented on Guatemalans even during the trials of Nazis for human experimentation, and continued to let human experimentation in the U.S. for a lot of years. And so forth. The amazing vs evil cartoon was never real.What Whitman's book adds to the complex story is an understanding of U.S. influences on the drafting of Nazi race laws. No, there were no U.S. laws in the 1930s establishing mass murder by poison gas in concentration camps. But neither were the Nazis looking for such laws. Nazis lawyers were looking for models of functioning laws on race, laws that effectively defined race in some method despite the obvious scientific difficulties, laws that restricted immigration, citizenship rights, and inter-racial marriage. In the early 20th century the recognized globe leader in such things was the United States.Whitman quotes from the transcripts of Nazi meetings, internal doents, and published articles and books. There is no doubt of the role that U.S. (state, not just federal) legal models played in the development of the Nuremberg Laws. The 1930s was a time, we should recall, when Jews in Germany and primarily African Americans in the United States were lynched. It was also a time when U.S. immigration laws used national origin as a means of discrimination -- something Adolf Hitler praised in Mein Kampf. It was a time of de facto second-class citizenship in the United States for blacks, Chinese, Filipinos, Puerto Ricans, Japanese, and others. Thirty U.S. states had systems of laws banning interracial marriage of different sorts -- something the Nazis could search nowhere else and studied in comprehensive detail, among other things for the examples of how the races were defined. The U.S. had also shown how to defeat areas of undesirables, such as in the Philippines or Puerto Rico, and incorporate them into an empire but not give first-class citizenship rights to the residents. Up until 1930 a U.S. woman could lose her citizenship if she married a non-citizen Asian e most radical of the Nazis, not the moderates, in their deliberations were the advocates for the U.S. models. But even they believed some of the U.S. systems simply went too far. The "one-drop" rule for defining a colourful person was considered too harsh, for example, as opposed to defining a Jew as someone with three or more Jewish grandparents (how those grandparents were defined as Jewish is another matter; it was the willingness to ignore logic and science in all such laws that was most of the attraction). The Nazis also defined as Jewish someone with only two Jewish grandparents who met other criteria. In this broadening the definition of a race to things like behavior and appearance, the U.S. laws were also a of a lot of U.S. state laws that Nazis examined was this from Maryland: "All marriages between a white person and a , or between a white person and a person of descent, to the third generation, inclusive, or between a white person and a member of the Malay race or between a and a member of the Malay race, or between a person of descent to the third generation, inclusive, and a member of the Malay race . . . [skipping over a lot of variations] . . . are forever prohibited . . . punished by imprisonment in the penitentiary for not less than eighteen months nor more than ten years."The Nazis of course examined and admired the Jim Crow laws of segregation as well but determined that such a regime would only work versus an impoverished oppressed group. German Jews, they reasoned, were too rich and strong to be segregated. Some of the Nazi lawyers in the 1930s, before Nazi policy had become mass murder, also found the extent of the U.S. segregation laws too extreme. But Nazis admired racist statements from contemporary U.S. pundits and authorities back at least to Thomas Jefferson. Some argued that because segregation was de facto established in the U.S. South despite a Constitution mandating equality, this proved that segregation was a powerful, natural, and inevitable force. In other words, U.S. practice allowed Nazis to more easily think of their own desired practices in the early years of their madness as 1935, a week after Hitler had proclaimed the Nuremberg Laws, a group of Nazi lawyers sailed to Fresh York to study U.S. law. There, they were protested by Jews but hosted by the Fresh York Town Bar Association.U.S. laws on miscegenation lasted, of course, until the 1967 Loving v. Virginia ruling. Vicious and bigoted U.S. policies on immigration and refugees are alive and well today. Whitman examines the U.S. legal tradition, noting much that is to admire in it, but pointing to its political or democratic nature as something that the Nazis found preferable to the inflexibility of an independent judiciary. To this day, the U.S. elects prosecutors, imposes Nazi-like habitual offender (or three-strikes-you're-out) sentences, uses the death penalty, employs jailhouse snitches' testimony in exchange for release, locks up more people than anywhere else on earth, and does so in an extremely racist manner. To this day, racism is alive in U.S. politics. What right-wing dictators admire in Donald Trump's nation is not all fresh and not all various from what fascists admired 80 or 90 years 's worth repeating the obvious: the United States was not and is not Nazi Germany. And that is a very amazing thing. But what if a Wall Road coup had succeeded? What if the United States had been bombed flat and faced conquer from abroad while demonizing a domestic scapegoat? Who can really say it couldn't have or still couldn't happen here?Whitman suggests that Germans do not write about foreign influence on Nazism so as not to appear to be shifting blame. For related reasons a lot of Germans refuse to oppose the slaughter of and mistreatment of Palestinians. We can fault such positions as going overboard. But why is it that U.S. writers rarely write about U.S. influence on Nazism? Why, for that matter, do we not learn about U.S. crimes in the method that Germans learn about German crimes? It seems to me that it is U.S. culture that has gone the furthest overboard into a sea of denial and self-idolatry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler's American Model: The United States and the Making of Nazi Race Law []  2020-1-28 21:30

    I'm not in the habit of writing reviews, but I strongly recommend Hitler's American Model as critical reading for our political moment, especially given the conversations about racism, antisemitism, and white supremacy that the Trump administration and Charlottesville have bought to the fore. It's imperative that we understand the depth of racism integral to American policy making and execution. Numerous European countries recognized America as the world's leader in racist legislation, and American immigration, naturalization, and antimiscegenation law influenced the Nazi legislators who crafted the Nuremberg Laws. They did not import American legal policy and praxis wholecloth, but studied it deeply as a precedent for not just a race-based, but a racist, system of laws that privileged the "master race" over the inferior dilutors of that race--in the Nazi case, the Jews. American exclusion and criminalization of non-white people proffered a blueprint of inspiration to Nazi radicals, who engaged intimately with it in the hopes of carrying it out to its logical extent: an openly racist legal system that drove out the racially decrepit to foster a pure Aryan state.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler's American Model: The United States and the Making of Nazi Race Law []  2020-1-28 21:30

    Absolutely chilling as it is highly informative. Hitler's American Model should be needed reading or reference in high school through college. However, it won't because of the truly embarassing insights, context and relationships to what's event right now in 21st century America. Author James Q. Whitman has opened a very ugly can of meal for thought. Whitman affirms what historian and doentary filmmaker Ken Burns assessed during a March 2016 C-SPAN TV interview (Race in America), with fellow historian and doentary filmmaker Henry Louis Gates, Jr. --- America is now in "retrograde" socially and politically. If you overlap Whitman's book with a lot of of our economic, political and social policies just over the latest 30 years it will solidly and surely connect some very nasty dots about where we are --- and have a greater potential to go over the next 50 years. READ THIS BOOK BY ANY MEANS!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler's American Model: The United States and the Making of Nazi Race Law []  2020-1-28 21:30

    I have a vague recollection of seeing "Guess Who's Coming to Dinner" with my parents as a child. I remember a line by Spencer Tracy where he tells his daughter that her plans to marry Sidney Poitier would be "illegal in 20 states." That must have been 1967, the same year that the United States Supreme Court struck down anti-miscegenation laws.I am pushing 60. 1967 was not so long ago. It's awesome how much things have changed in the zone of a single lifetime.Hitler's American Model by James Q. Whitman takes us back to a period when American led the globe in race iefly, in 1934, Hitler's fresh regime wanted to bring its racial ideas into reality. The German legal profession tackled this problem as it handled most legal issues by performing a survey of race laws around the globe in order to search precedents. This find brought it to America, where states had pioneered racial laws that prohibited miscegenation and created non-white racial minorities into second-class citizens. America also had progressive laws allowing for the sterilization of the disable for eugenics reasons.Whitman's examines the history and state of American racial law as of the 1930s. Whitman does not claim that Germans modeled their race law on the American version. The Germans recognized the differences between the situation of non-whites in America and Jews in Germany as preventing any such use. Moreover, the professional German lawyers were horrified at the legal treatment of minorities. The German legal class was committed to its commitment to a legal system that defined violations in such a method as to limit judicial discretion. On the other hand, the Nazi zealots found American common law an inspiration since it enabled judges to "work toward Hitler" by importing Nazi principles into the formation of laws on a case by case Whitman points out, several times, it is a mistake to claim that the Nazis would not have enacted the Nuremberg laws without the American model or that the American model provided an inspiration for Nazis, but the Nazis did search a method to use American law, particularly in their internal debates between the zealots and the e history here is fascinating as background for Nazi actions. For example, the Swastika was adopted as the official flag of the Nazi state as the first Nuremberg law because of a riot of Fresh York Jews concerning the ship "Bremen" and a judicial opinion by Jewish magistrate Brodsky describing the Nazi flag as a "pirate flag." This gave the Nazis the excuse to create the Swastika the national flag. This is an obscure bit of history that exemplifies the contingent nature of history, and the willingness of the Nazis to use actions of foreign Jews to justify domestic so interesting was the American part of the history. Whitman says that miscegenation laws were not known outside of the American context. This surprises me, but it may be correct. Catholic cultures were not as racist as Protestant countries.[See e.g., Almighty God Made the Races: Christianity, Interracial Marriage, and American Law - certainly not as racist when it came to intermarriage. So, that basically leaves the Anglophone globe as providing the Protestant variant, which basically leaves America as the country that might be the outlier from global policy.On the other hand, although something like 30 states had anti-miscegenation laws at some point, that leaves 20 that never had anti-miscegenation laws at any time, and of the remaining 30, a amazing number, including California, had repealed those laws. Likewise, although the Immigration Act of 1924 was incredibly racist in prohibiting immigration or citizenship of non-whites, in 1964 this policy was totally repudiated. (The Supreme Court decision in US v. Thind (1923), involving the question of whether a high class Hindu qualified as "Caucasian" is an eye-opening bit of race science. Eventually, however, the court rejects science and goes with a common law approach to defining Caucasian. Thind is not taught in law school; as a bit of history it is illuminating.)So, interestingly, despite the Nazis fulsome praise for America as the pioneer of race law, there was a various thread of American law that was less supportive of their policies.Another question I have is what role the German involvement in South-west Africa, particularly the Herero Genocide, played their legal deliberations. Did the Germans have any laws pertaining to interracial marriages? It seems like a amazing zone for future is is touchy topic that can provoke a negative reaction in so a lot of various ways. Whitman has done a amazing job of addressing the problems in a fair and scholarly way. I found the book interesting. I think it hit the right scholarly note.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Latinos in the United States: Diversity and Change []  2020-1-24 20:27

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Latinos in the United States: Diversity and Change []  2020-1-24 20:27

    Amazing book. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    Purchased this book for a class and have learned a amazing deal about the judicial process. I considered myself educated in the subject with the support of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    Came exactly how it was described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    It has very useful information- Deliverd promptly as promised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Latinos in the United States: Diversity and Change []  2020-1-24 20:27

    I like that i was able to download this to my acc and view it thru my phone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Latinos in the United States: Diversity and Change []  2020-1-24 20:27

    interesting and useful survey

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Child Welfare in the United States: Challenges, Policy, and Practice []  2020-1-23 19:9

    Given the price of the book i assumed it was a textbook. I assumed it would, in detail, go over the Challenges, AND the Policies in place, AND the Practice of CPS and Kid Welfare organizations in detail, in the United States. There are plenty of other similarly paged books about Kid Welfare, and they cost $20. Naturally, i thought i would be getting a better researched book for $stead, what i got was basically a not good copy-paste of extremely redundant 'Abstract' type summaries of SOME (though not even the majority) of challenges CPS faces, with no level of detail. This book does not go over differences between states. It doesn't go over challenges with single-parent or adoption. It doesn't go over various State laws and the history behind those laws. It doesn't go over the federal or state administration of CPS and why that influences policy making (or what those policies might be). It does nothing to install a fresh foster or adopter parent with any confidence that after reading the book they understand what systems they're up against. It does not go over studies that explain any of the summaries in more just repeats the same tired ideas over and over without ever explaining them. It gave literally 2 sentences in the entire book to the consequences of mental trauma on health, which arguably is the most necessary concept to cover for fresh parents hoping to foster and/or adopt. After reading this book i still have no understanding of:1. What laws (or even types of laws) i should be concerned with in my state if i wish to adopt, that might change or prove a challenge2. Any guidance in how i should work with CPS to grow my family3. Any level of detail behind the challenges that adopting parents face4. Any understanding of what to expect in terms of paperwork and training involved to foster or adopt.8. What does CPS look for in a parent? What might disqualify me? What does it cost to run the organization? What does it cost per kid? What skills does a amazing CPS caseworker need? What does a caseworker typically do in a day? What challenges does the caseworker's manager have? How a lot of cases per caseworker are typically tackled? What does a case entail? What does a CPS complaint entail? What constitutes neglect? What can i do as a parent to create the caseworker more likely to wish to work with me? How can i improve that relationship and communication?None of this is covered in this book. I'm not sure what or who this book is intended for, because its not helpful for caseworkers and its not helpful for parents?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    I very amazing learning book for those going into some kind of form of law. But it is just too expensive to buy a copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    I required this book on short message and my college book shop wanted twice what I paid on here Very happy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    Lots of amazing material

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Latinos in the United States: Diversity and Change []  2020-1-24 20:27

    The book is good, but the price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Water Use, Management, and Planning in the United States []  2020-7-7 18:53

    Its a textbook, but interesting reading and moves quickly. Extremely valuable for the course at hand. The book arrived in very amazing condition and on time. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    The book is simple to follow for my course which ends May 2014. It provided an overview of how to apply for law school, what to expect, what each future law student should expect and how lawyers are gatekeepers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    My husband required this for one of his college classes and he ordered instead of paying double at the book store. He also recieved it very quickly!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    The book is in worse condition than listed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Latinos in the United States: Diversity and Change []  2020-1-24 20:27

    Lots of amazing information, but very wordy and hard to understand a lot of the times. It seems like she talks in circles and takes a while to obtain to the point which is also unclear a lot of times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Child Welfare in the United States: Challenges, Policy, and Practice []  2020-1-23 19:9

    I found this textbook to be extremely informative and simple to understand. Kid welfare in the U.S. is such an necessary problem and its nice to finally have resources available to learn more. This text is filled with fascinating facts and powerful examples of the subjects discussed. I would definitely recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Native Trees and Shrubs for the Eastern United States: The Guide to Creating a Sustainable Landscape []  2020-6-19 19:9

    As Library Coordinator for our chapter of the national organization of "Wild Ones: native plants, natural landscapes", it is my responsibility to stay up to date with the recent books on native plants and current environmental conservation thought. I introduced this book latest night at our February monthly meeting and it was immediately checked out. I particularly like the pictures of each tree or shrub as a mature specimen as well as the drawings of comparable sizes of youth vs mature specimen. This very readable book gives info on ATTRIBUTES/USE IN LANDSCAPE, SEASONS OF INTEREST, FORM, COLOR, TEXTURE, CULTURE, COMPANION PLANTS, and SUPPORTED WILDLIFE for each tree or shrub. It tells where each tree/shrub is native but also, unfortunately, gives a preferred USDA zones which supports growing the specimen outside its native area. It also supports cultivars which is not in the best interests of nature. In general, however, this is a very valuable book to have in your private library if used properly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Native Trees and Shrubs for the Eastern United States: The Guide to Creating a Sustainable Landscape []  2020-6-19 19:9

    I'm a gardener, but the authors of this book are really, really gardeners! Amazing resource for those of us on the east coast looking to search the right plant for the right place. Each species is cross referenced according to different conditions, meaning that you're sure to search a plant, likely several, that are just right for you. Lots of images and hints for planting & care. I came by mention of this book in Adrian Higgins' gardening column in the Washington Post and he was right---this is a amazing resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Native Trees and Shrubs for the Eastern United States: The Guide to Creating a Sustainable Landscape []  2020-6-19 19:9

    I got this book from the library and liked it a lot. I started making copious notes, then decided I really required my own copy. My only complaint is that they have relegated some of my favorite trees and shrubs to 'secondary' status--defined as having issues that outweigh their positive characteristics, and hence give very small info on them. I would have preferred a bigger book with more info on more plants! More like a Dirr's Manual of Woody Landscape Plants--but natives only--but that would have been a various book! I'm also disappointed that they included so few cultivars of each plant--for example, they list 3 cultivars of river birch, Dirr lists 12. However, Dove & Woolridge give amazing info on soils tolerated, pH, ornamental characteristics, and wildlife value--an necessary problem and a major reason for choosing native plants!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Native Trees and Shrubs for the Eastern United States: The Guide to Creating a Sustainable Landscape []  2020-6-19 19:9

    Amazing book for helping you plan your landscape (assuming you're located in the Eastern U.S.). Really well organized and covers types of landscapes and conditions, through all the native trees and other plants that will work. Lots of detail on each plant, and what works well with them. I highly recommend whether you're starting from scratch or just looking to add a few things to improve what you already have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Native Trees and Shrubs for the Eastern United States: The Guide to Creating a Sustainable Landscape []  2020-6-19 19:9

    I purchased two of these as gifts. It is the virtual scientific encyclopedia; teaching the novice and a reference for the expert. It is laid out logically and is unbelievable for a novice such as myself. This is a must have in every home, library, laboratory and coffee table!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Native Trees and Shrubs for the Eastern United States: The Guide to Creating a Sustainable Landscape []  2020-6-19 19:9

    I live in a “critical area” near the Chesapeake Bay and my eyes are opened to the importance of using native plants in my home landscaping and gardens. This book is a unbelievable tool for selecting native plants for a dozens of growing conditions (I have a lot of shade) and has inspired me to rethink my plantings. While some non-native species may do well, they may contribute nothing to, or even detract from, the local eco-system of birds, butterflies, and insects. This book is a great, simple to use, tool for selecting treesand shrubs that will happily coexist with other native species. Unbelievable photography and illustrations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Native Trees and Shrubs for the Eastern United States: The Guide to Creating a Sustainable Landscape []  2020-6-19 19:9

    This is an EXCELLENT book. Before I gave it to my daughter for Christmas, I was leafing through it, and then started taking notes from it. I realized I was practically writing the whole book down, so now this book is on my wish list now. In fact, I think I'll buy it right now. I love, love, love how it is organized. If you are looking for a tree or shrub for unique cirtances, this is the excellent book to do that -- and who isn't, btw? When my daughter got it, she kind of ho-hummed, but a couple of days later, it was obvious she had spent some time with it because she told me one morning -- that's a really amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Native Trees and Shrubs for the Eastern United States: The Guide to Creating a Sustainable Landscape []  2020-6-19 19:9

    As a person who has worked in environmental sciences and landscaping for decades, as well as being a master watershed steward, I think this book will be extremely valuable to both the layperson looking to plant natives as well as landscape specialists who need an easy-to-use tutorial at their side. After a brief intro explaining why native plants are critical to healthy landscapes, including our endangered insect populations that rely on these plants, the book includes an in-depth section on how to use its contents most effectively This is not a book that you sit down and read...it's a reference volume that will support decipher which plants are best used in which situations.Unlike any other plant books that I've seen, this one includes a handy chart with various landscape, planting zone or vegetation characteristics, such as locations topic to drought, road planters, plants with winter interest or those tolerant of shade. There are numerous categories so that it's simple to assess the characteristics of the zone you wish to plant and match them with the appropriate trees and shrubs that will thrive there. Additionally, each tree or shrub has a couple of pages of description, photos, special characteristics, habit, seasons of interest and a diagrammatic chart that shows its growth rate and its relative size (with a human figure for scale).I highly recommend this book to those interested in making their yards (and others' yards) in harmony with the climate, topography, moisture and landscape of the Eastern seaboard through the planting of vegetation that evolved in this area. Bringing back these plants will, in turn, bring back the insect populations, followed by songbirds, little animals, and ultimately other animals higher up in the meal web. It's about time that we turn our grassy expanses of lawn into habitat, so that we see a return of nature to our yards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Native Trees and Shrubs for the Eastern United States: The Guide to Creating a Sustainable Landscape []  2020-6-19 19:9

    Delighted with this resource. I've used it to check conditions best suited for the shrubs for my yard -- and for neighbors' yards. Amazing resource. The descriptions, and photos, tell me exactly what I need to know for successful plantings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Native Trees and Shrubs for the Eastern United States: The Guide to Creating a Sustainable Landscape []  2020-6-19 19:9

    Although this book send to be amazing with the info it offers, the Kindle edition does not work. My view of the book just looked like onto copied pages, and I was not able to rotate the view or enlarge, leaving the book useless to me. I was really looking forward to reading this book, and am extremely disappointed in the product I received.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lafayette in the Somewhat United States []  2020-1-17 22:56

    I was attracted to the book because I wanted to learn about Lafayette, and the book was praised as being humorous and witty. What I found was to the contrary. The book has no table of contents, no topic index, and no reads as if it never had an outline. Admittedly, I did not read the whole book (I value time). After some 20-plus pages I had learned absolutely nothing more about lafayette than her cartoon characters, sprinkled throughout the book, portrayed. The "wit and humor" came across to me like the smart-alecky remarks of an adolescent on a field trip who thinks she knows more than the tour guides.I found no educational value in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lafayette in the Somewhat United States []  2020-1-17 22:56

    Having latest year become more acquainted and interested in the Marquis de Lafayette, I started looking for books on the subject. After seeing this book by possibility at a local book store, I decided to download it for Kindle. While the author's political inserts sometimes irked me, I enjoyed the book as it was entertaining and the topic matter itself is e book starts off by going over some of America's latest fractious government episodes before pointing out that things have largely always been this way. Yet, there was one thing that America's of all stripes and thoughts agreed on back during the American Revolution and its aftermath. That thing was their collective love for the Marquis de Lafayette, the Frenchman who sailed across the Atlantic to war for the American cause. During a particularly contentious election cycle, Lafayette united the Americans in the method that only a character could. The book recounts the info of Lafayette's contributions, sadly largely forgotten by today's history books, and explains exactly why he was so I said before, this book is written in a light, entertaining matter that makes it simple to read. The author has a amazing sense of humor and it shows in the method she depicts events. The illustrations of the different actors in the grand play of the American Revolution was a nice touch. I also enjoyed the connections and interactions the author jots down as she retraces a lot of of the footsteps of Lafayette, especially the part where she goes to Colonial ever, I could also see some other readers become annoyed by the interruptions to the main story as there are a lot of of them. The broader points are interesting to think about, but they also do distract from the main focus of the book. In addition, it is very clear which direction that this author leans politically. If your political inclinations are the same as hers, this probably won't bother you. If you don't, then you might search yourself being irritated on occasion while you're reading.Overall, I enjoyed this book quite a bit. It was short, entertaining and informative, if a small biased in one direction at some points. I would give it 4.5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Housing Policy in the United States []  2020-2-4 4:45

    Amazing synopsis and summaries of US differing housing policies. However, does not go in depth discussion of other housing policy problems such as government help for Fannie/Freddie Mac, Federal Home Loan Banks, mortgage interest deduction

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Housing Policy in the United States []  2020-2-4 4:45

    I don't think there is really any tournament for Schwartz in the housing policy textbook arena. The book was comprehensive in the first edition, and it has been updated frequently and well. This recent edition establishes HPITUS as the central text on US housing policy. It covers all the foundational subjects and is delivered without favoritism. It should be read first, purchased in hardback, and hold as a resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Housing Policy in the United States []  2020-2-4 4:45

    This is the worst book my professor selected for my Temple University Community Development class, it has nothing to do with community development; its more a statistical breakdown of all the free data report & government housing programs you can easily pull from any government & housing agency as it's quoted in the book. If you're an economic major with a minor on community economic on how affordable housing impact the globe economy poverty then this is for the method the teacher said he didn't have time to select other books! Then, what the heck am I paying you for? Worst class ever taken in my college years & professional career.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lafayette in the Somewhat United States []  2020-1-17 22:56

    I'd heard about Sarah Vowell, but I was never interested in reading any of her books until I heard her being interviewed about this one. Something about what she said intrigued me, so I got it. It won't be the latest book of hers that I read -- in fact, I've got another one on order already. She reminds me of Bill Bryson, though I've only read one of his books, in that she provides lots of history combined with contemporary wit and humor and a sense of the uncanny connections between historical happenings separated by generations. For example, she discusses a connection between the story of Lafayette and Herman Melville that I found intriguing, but there are quite a few other examples. She also makes some American icons (and their British counterparts) come alive in ways that traditional (i.e., often bland) history does not.I have only one criticism of the book, really: the story of Lafayette recedes in the background (sometimes out of the picture entirely) in favor of her retelling of key episodes in the Revolutionary War; I didn't really expect a history of the Battle and was disappointed that Lafayette vanishes at times. However, she does a very amazing job in describing the weird coincidences and serendipity that resulted in the conquer of the British.I also have a second complaint, but not versus Ms. Vowell (well, not really). There was one instance where she talks about a solider named Stephen in one put and a few pages later he becomes Stephens (or maybe it was Steven and Stevens; I can't recall). As I often ask, where were the editors? If I caught this on a casual read, why didn't someone else catch it? Maybe having to do an index would have helped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lafayette in the Somewhat United States []  2020-1-17 22:56

    Wish to read about Lafayette and the Revolutionary Battle and have a amazing time doing it? Obtain this book! If you love American history and like to laugh you need to begin reading Sarah Vowell.I am thrilled to have finally found Sarah Vowell and more thrilled to search that she has written so a lot of books about so a lot of interesting subjects. I will surely obtain them all. I decided to begin with “Lafayette in the Somewhat United States” because I just finished David McCullough’s “The Greater Journey” and Lafayette feature prominently in the opening chapters. I thought it would be a lot of fun to have Sarah tell me a story about Lafayette and I was right. Amazing fun, very informative, and I thoroughly enjoyed the minor historical connections and cultural asides. This author really knows how to tell a compelling and humorous story. Obtain this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Food Law in the United States []  2020-7-21 20:45

    A really amazing resource. This treatise is the only one of its kind. It comprehensively covers the most necessary locations of meal law both domestically and internationally and does so in a clear and well-written style. It is my go-to first resource for this zone of law. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Housing Policy in the United States []  2020-2-4 4:45

    Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Housing Policy in the United States []  2020-2-4 4:45

    Perfect summary of all the housing policies event currently in the U.S.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lafayette in the Somewhat United States []  2020-1-17 22:56

    I am a fan of Sarah Vowell's, owning most if not all of her books. She is extremely knowledgeable but I must say her sardonic writing gets tiring after a while. Not everything about the American Revolution, George Washington, and one of his favorite "sons" Lafayette, is funny. It just isn't. And while we do need to lighten up and understand the quirky nature of history in general and American history in particular, Vowell's voice in this book simply gets tiring. I am not impressed with this one, although I do admire Vowell's brilliance and ability as a writer. Just hope she expands her horizons with her next effort. If she focuses on something like the American Civil Battle and tells us about it the same manner she does with this one, I'm going to return the book. Vowell needs to expand the method she tells her stories beyond being cynical or sardonic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lafayette in the Somewhat United States []  2020-1-17 22:56

    Sarah Cowell has been a favourite of mine since I heard her doing a monologue on "This American Life" several years ago. Her deadpan delivery and special voice immediately caught my attention, as well as her ability to create me laugh on a serious subject, Saddam Hussein and his relationship with his sociopathic sons. Since that time I have read all of her books on American history and society. I never been disappointed....she is irreverent when it is appropriate, as am I, and we share a related political/social point of view despite an age difference of more than a few "Lafayette in the Somwhat United States" Ms Vowell turns to a person who played a role in my life...the Marquis de Lafayette inspired my 5th amazing grandfather to leave France to war in the American Revolution. He may have intended to return home, but fate took a hand, as they say, when he suffered a head wound. He created a complete recovery and stayed in America where he married a Quaker and fathered twelve children. This association with Lafayette has engendered an interest in history that has never left Vowell's usual careful scholarship is in evidence throughout the book. She has obviously studied her topics thoroughly and has given the reader a delightfully told piece of narrative history. Ms Vowell is proof that one can be informative and entertaining at the same time. There is a bibliography for those who want to peruse the topic further. There are no reproductions of art work of the time period, but rather hero sketches of a rather cartoonist nature, keeping in the spirit of the book. I would recommend this book for high school age on up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Housing Policy in the United States []  2020-2-4 4:45

    Perfect overview. Gives a sense of historical development and current data. Well written for a general audience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Housing Policy in the United States []  2020-2-4 4:45

    Amazing up-to-date info regarding general housing policy in US.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lafayette in the Somewhat United States []  2020-1-17 22:56

    This review is for the audio book CD ver of Lafayette in the Somewhat United States by Sarah Vowell. I'm a longtime history reader and fan of Vowell's from hearing her bits on NPR from time to time. She certainly has her share of raters as the 1 & 2 star reviews here will attest and perhaps her voice and style is an acquired taste but I like her presentation so much that I only obtain the audio book versions of her works. Agree with others this isn't her best effort but it's still engaging enough. Snarky, sure but that's Ms. Vowell's schtick so if you don't like that type of thing then by all means steer clear. Unlike some who felt the book lacked enough about Lafayette; not sure what they were reading or listening to but the content reflected the title to me. Vowell's take on history may not suit everyone but it's not boring and kind of fun for a change than the dry recitation of facts and dates that some historical tomes present. Looking forward to her next project!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Housing Policy in the United States []  2020-2-4 4:45

    Very helpful for Kirk McClures housing class. Need it for midterm and final. I got newest but you'd prob be ok w whatever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Housing Policy in the United States []  2020-2-4 4:45

    Best all around affordable housing book, a must read. Everyone in affordable reads this as a rite of passage to understand what we do. He was also my professor and got me into this world. The guy knows what he is talking about!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Housing Policy in the United States []  2020-2-4 4:45

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lafayette in the Somewhat United States []  2020-1-17 22:56

    I thought I knew American history, but it turns out that there was a whole lot of items I didn’t know, and this book helped fill in some gaps. Vowell is always funny, but some of the material in here is dense, so you have to love history and nonfiction to have fun this book.Vowell wrote part of this during the 2013 temper tantrum in Washington that shut down all nonessential government services and cost our country $24 BILLION. (So much for fiscal responsibility.) The fact that our country is constantly fractured is a theme throughout the of the things I hadn’t realized was the importance of the French helping secure American independence, specifically Marquis de Lafayette, who was only 19 when he came over to war on the side of the Americans versus the British during the Revolutionary war. I also never realized that George Washington was fighting with an untrained troops of hungry (sometimes to the point of starvation) units who often didn’t have boots for the feet to war in NEW ENGLAND (which, of course, gets a bit nippy in winter).This quote illustrates Vowell’s writing style: “The newly dubbed General Lafayette was only 19 years old. Considering Independence Hall was also where the founders calculated that a slave equals three-fifths a person and cooked up an electoral college that lets Florida and Ohio pick our presidents, making an adolescent who barely spoke English a major general at an age I got hired to run the money register at a Portland pizza joint was not the worst decision ever created there.”The best quote of the book, however, is when she talks about Lafayette Square across from the capitol in DC, where innumerable protests have taken put over the years. In reference to a Klan rally held there she writes, “Freedom of expression truly exists only when a society’s most repugnant nitwits are allowed to spew their nonsense in public.”If only we could obtain rid of the electoral college and preposterous gerrymandering and we might actually obtain something resembling a functional congress.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lafayette in the Somewhat United States []  2020-1-17 22:56

    This is my first Sarah Vowell book, and how have I lived this long without her? If the public schools taught American history like Sarah Vowell writes it, every school kid would grow up to be a knowledgeable citizen. Well researched, well written, tongue-in-cheek look at American historical events. This will not be my latest Sarah Vowell book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lafayette in the Somewhat United States []  2020-1-17 22:56

    I am a very huge fan of Ms. Vowell's historical books. She has a method of looking at history, and making it fascinating. Once again, she's scored with this book. From the beginning of the book, she delves into stories that our history books have ignored. We've been taught how our Founding Fathers were united in their struggles versus the tyranny of England. Yeah, right. Although I knew that this wasn't true, Ms. Vowell's book helped me understand a lot of facets of the struggle that I had never known. From the bitter diversity of their religious beliefs, to the fact that much of the suffering at Valley Forge was caused by the failure of the young nation to obtain the supplies it had to the men in the camp, I learned a lot. And, although we were taught that French came to our aid, this was never properly explained. In fact, if France hadn't supplied men, their navy and a lot of cash our revolution would have failed. A easy fact that has not been taught to us. I loved this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold War: A Captivating Guide to the Cold War and Space Race Between the United States and Soviet Union []  2020-11-25 18:45

    This is a bundle of two amazing books into one Concerning the topics of the Zone Race and the Cold War: The Soviets were ahead of the United States in some Zone Age accomplishments. The United States was ahead of the Soviets in some other Zone Age accomplishments. The topic of the Cold Battle is an interesting subject. This book and other extra books on the topic can support a person learn more about the subject. The Cold Battle was a period of geopolitical tension between the Soviet Union and the United States and their respective allies, the Eastern Bloc and the Western Bloc, after Globe Battle II. After the dissolution of the Soviet Union, Russia drastically chop military spending, and restructuring the economy left millions unemployed. In the 25 years following the end of the Cold War, only five or six of the post-sot states are on a path to joining the rich and capitalist globe while most are falling behind, some to such an extent that it will take several decades to catch up to where they were before the collapse of communism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold War: A Captivating Guide to the Cold War and Space Race Between the United States and Soviet Union []  2020-11-25 18:45

    Having lived and served cot over 20 years during the Cold Battle era, I thought that I was well versed on the Cold War. But with this book I learned that I did not know the whole story. While I was aware of a lot of what this book mentions, it created me aware of some things that I didn't know. It just makes me believe that you can always learn, even if you think you are well versed on a subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold War: A Captivating Guide to the Cold War and Space Race Between the United States and Soviet Union []  2020-11-25 18:45

    Captivating History has combined two of their semi-related subjects together in one offering.  I avoided reading the 'Space Race' when it was offered earlier because I have almost no interest in the topic.  However, never say, "Never...."THE COLD WAR --This is a really compelling retelling of the Cold War; I lived through it but it is more interesting when it is offered in one continuous stream of information.  The Cold Battle split the globe into two camps:  Communist or Non-Communist.  I found the particulars about the alliances that emerged during and after WWWII to be useful to understand what happened e explanation of the creation of Israel was exceptionally clear and interesting.   It clarified so much that came after in the Middle East.  France's past in Vietnam was also murky until I read this book.  I'll never forget when the US and the Soviets decided to rattle their sabers over Cuba; it was choir-night (a Wednesday) at our Houston church but the church was standing-room-only.  People were really frightened that we were going to nuclear war.Another marvelous snippet of history was the "East African Cold War;" I wasn't aware of Somalia and Ethiopia's history at all.  Ben Shapiro's quote about the only time America chop their defense budget ... and what it cost, was priceless.  Actually, all of the chapter-opening quotes were pithy. I thought this was one of the best Captivating History books this year.  The explanations and historical connections were fascinating.  I read this in a single sitting because I couldn't set it aside. SPACE AGE -- The whole era of zone exploration left me indifferent; the best thing I can think about it is the by-products Americans got from the study and travel to zone (camera phones, CAT scans, LEDs, memory foam, etc.).This book explains very clearly the competition between the USSR and the US in the Zone Race.  The USSR tended to be secretive, while the US shared their successes as well as their losses.  They begin with the post-WWII environment and how Germans were pulled into either the Russian or American realm to expand each country's technology. 

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold War: A Captivating Guide to the Cold War and Space Race Between the United States and Soviet Union []  2020-11-25 18:45

    These two book cover alot of info briefly. Lots of repetitive info too. The Zone Race book chronicles the zone programs of the USSR and the US during the 50's through the early 70's. The book was simple to read but the chronology tends to repeat itself which makes it difficult to follow sometimes. The Cold Battle chronicles zone race to the fall of the Berlin Wall. Both of these books were very well written and held my attention throughout. Perfect read! Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold War: A Captivating Guide to the Cold War and Space Race Between the United States and Soviet Union []  2020-11-25 18:45

    Captivating History gives us two volumes on The cold battle and the zone race, excellent for anyone interested in either or both,or globe history in ld War:Play by play of the conflict between the U.S.A and The Soviet Union.I enjoyed this book because I really didn't know much about the cold war.I have read other Captivating History books, So I knew that I would be entertained and well informed by reading this favorite chapter was Chapter 7-Cold Battle Secrets and a Put Called Zone ing just how the cold battle has affected so a lot of countries, and how,was so interesting and astonishing. It affects the USA to this day.I recommend this book to anyone looking to know more about The cold war, but I believe anyone could read this and come away with more knowledge, even if they are ptivating History has a method of adding facts that are not well known, and that makes it always worth the read.Excellent e Zone Race:One giant leap for Captivating History!This book is an awesome trip into zone and what it took to obtain us there.We obtain all the facts about the cold battle and how the zone race was started, and then we are given insights into the thoughts and feelings of the first men (and animals!)to travel into zone and female scientists and astronauts who were a such a huge part of making it e descriptions of the actual zone flights were extremely interesting and I had a hard time putting the book down!The behind the scenes info of what was kept from us and how far the two superpowers would go to be first, is shocking, but at the same time it revived the nation, and trying to obtain in zone first gave us something to look forward to and the fact that we could begin spy satellites and missiles into zone brought a sense of security after so much war.If you are interested in zone travel, you will really have fun this book!I loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold War: A Captivating Guide to the Cold War and Space Race Between the United States and Soviet Union []  2020-11-25 18:45

    Superb bundles like this one do not appear often. Nowhere else can readers search such quality works as those included in "Cold War."This set features two previously released titles: "The Cold War" and "The Zone Race." The former surveys the entire conflict, and the latter focuses on a key moment from that time. As such, readers keep a comprehensive overview of the Cold War.Historiography has never been a issue for this author, and this trend continues with these texts. If the meticulous attention to historical accuracy does not evidence this truth, the ulative bibliography all, "Cold War" is a stellar book for all history fans. With this conflict spanning the globe, everyone can search something of interest within these pages. Read on to explore a amazing collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold War: A Captivating Guide to the Cold War and Space Race Between the United States and Soviet Union []  2020-11-25 18:45

    Most people have heard of the cold war. It is so much more than a single event. It impacted the globe in various locations and times. I really found the info fascinating .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold War: A Captivating Guide to the Cold War and Space Race Between the United States and Soviet Union []  2020-11-25 18:45

    Matt Clayton combines two previously published volumes to explain and illustrate the tension and conflict between the US and the USSR.He starts with an overview of the relationship between two nations that ended Globe Battle II after they collaborated in the conquer of Germany. Where there was an opportunity to join, the fact that the two nations were at odds with their economic and social doctrines provided a wedge between the two countries even though they ended the battle on the same alin and FDR developed a rapport to the dismay of Churchill who anticipated a conflict between the Soviets and a free Europe would start shortly after Globe Battle II's e cracks between the two nations started before the battle was over with a disagreement on how the defeated German should be managed. This led to the division of Germany into East and West Germanies which became a little reflection of the ongoing relationship between the two is division permeated Europe when the two nations wanted to prove which system was superior and the politics influenced a divide between Eastern and Western Europe and continues to this day. While the two nations have avoided a direct conflict, their tournament has influenced the Zone Race, the calculus of nations in the Middle East as individual nations served as proxies between the two major powers. Africa, Afghanistan, Cuba, Poland, Venezuela, Vietnam, and other countries have been used as the US and USSR attempted to influence happenings in their respective tt Clayton speeds through these developments in less than one hundred pages and ends with what is called the end of the Cold War. Despite this, we still search the US and what is now called Russia, at odds. The book has a brief list of references for further is not surprising that one bullet point of the Cold Battle was illuminated during what was called the Zone Race.  Even though we seem to coexist and cooperate in man's extraterrestrial exploration (Russian and US components of the International Zone Station and the US using Russian begin facilities), there was a time when there was a serious race to put a human in orbit and safely execute a return to Earth.  The tournament between the US and USSR of the early efforts was framed as a transparent US vs a secretive USSR which succeeded in launching the first satellite, the first person in space, the first woman in space, the first program to orbit the world and the first to land a device on the moon.  In contrast, the US was the first to have humans orbit and then land on the tt Clayton's The Zone Race successfully captures the history of this race starting with the post-World Battle II environment and the fate of German scientists who advanced German technological progress.  These skills were turned to developing weapons that benefited the Zone Race.  Werner Von Braun and Sergei Korolev were two key German assets divided between the Cold Battle tt goes on to highlight the first men in zone and the early projects from both nations.  He concludes his publication with a generous bibliography and footnotes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold War: A Captivating Guide to the Cold War and Space Race Between the United States and Soviet Union []  2020-11-25 18:45

    This is the story of the globe on edge, two superpowers playing one-upsmanship, pushing each other to the brink of battle and Mutual Assured Destruction. In spite of this, or as a effect of this, technology advanced at a feverish pitch, resulting with, among other things, an American walking on the moon. As in all things, there is amazing and bad. Well-written, and encompassing a lot of facts and tales that you had no idea occurred, I would recommend this book as a nice and engrossing record of an interesting time that profoundly affected our globe today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold War: A Captivating Guide to the Cold War and Space Race Between the United States and Soviet Union []  2020-11-25 18:45

    I nice walk down memory lane, as I lived through a lot of of these events. Although, I was young during the initial history covered, I had studied much of it. These books fill in a lot of holes in my knowledge and expand my understanding of the events. While the "Cold War" reminds us of the negative happenings between the USSR and the USA such as the battles they partook in, "The Zone Race" reminds us of the positive developments possible with competitive rivalry and cooperation. While the books are short, they are packed with info that is likely to inspire further, in-depth endeavours.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rattlesnakes of the United States and Canada []  2020-1-18 22:25

    I have a put in the Chihuahuan desert of Southern Fresh Mexico, in a semi-rural area. While the put certainly isn't snake-infested, I usually see two or three per year, on the property or on the surrounding roads. I read a book a while back on rattlesnakes that basically summed up the matter as, "Be careful, but there aren't as a lot of out there as you think." This has been real for me, as my awareness is usually heightend as I walk the property, but again, I only see a few each year. Sadly, some of my neighbors see more than I do, as they are fast to slay the is book includes a small over 300 pages. The first 90 pages are devoted to facts about rattlesnakes; their body structure, habitat, diet, hibernation, etc. There's also info on snake bites--with acknowledgement that snakes will always test to obtain away, long before they will bite you--and what to do if bitten. Interestingly, the author notes that no particular species seeks out a rattlesnake as food, but a lot of will eat a snake if the opportunity presents (roadrunners, javelinas, hawks, coyotes ...).The remainder of the book focuses on specific species of rattlesnakes, to contain key features, habitat, food, enemies, e images in this book are amazing. I would love to know how the photographer(s) captured these shots, as they are diverse, detailed, and taken in a dozens of settings.Anyhow, this is an simple read and it provides a amazing background on rattlesnakes and how they interact with their environment. I learned a lot while reading it, and I definitely have even greater respect for these creatures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rattlesnakes of the United States and Canada []  2020-1-18 22:25

    Rattlesnakes of the United States and Canada is the excellent follow up to Manny Rubio's first book Rattlesnake - Portrait of a Predator. This book is set up in a very readable "field guide" format with some of the most awesome and attractive photographs of rattlesnakes I have seen. I appreciate that the author has taken the time to present the reader multiple photographs of each species to bring across the point that the range of colors and patterns within an individual species can be extremely variable and that mutants and hybrids do occur in nature. The images in combination with the maps and accurate natural histories of each species create this book a valuable reference for the seasoned field biologist as well as the backyard naturalist. This book is a "must have" for anyone who has a serious interest in these fascinating creatures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rattlesnakes of the United States and Canada []  2020-1-18 22:25

    Perfect book of facts...........but in some ways too a lot of facts about the individual types.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rattlesnakes of the United States and Canada []  2020-1-18 22:25

    This book is fantastic. It includes a wealth of definitive info about the various species of rattlesnakes and also useful general info about rattlesnake natural history and behavior. The book is lavishly illustrated with hundreds of amazing photographs. The book contains photographs of rare and unusual color patterns, snakes striking, swimming, swallowing prey, even a little rattlesnake swallowing a large centipede. This book benefits from the depth of experience that can only come from a lifetime of work with rattlesnakes. It is so beautifully illustrated that you wish to hold a copy on your desk or coffee table, but it also is an invaluable field guide, so maybe you really need two.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rattlesnakes of the United States and Canada []  2020-1-18 22:25

    Item came in fast order well packaged and in amazing shape! Would definitely do business again! This book is a must have for herpers or rattlesnake enthusiasts!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rattlesnakes of the United States and Canada []  2020-1-18 22:25

    "Rattlesnakes Of The United States & Canada" is the most latest publication by author and photographer Manny Rubio and a book anyone interested in Rattlesnakes should own. Aside from the unbelievable photography, I search this book really "user-friendly". For those familiar (or not) with the Rattlesnakes of North America this is the carry-with book to have. Species accounts and range maps are thorough and simple to follow. Included in the accounts are venom potential, habitat, conservation status and population threats. I hold a "just-in-case" copy in my car. And for the money, it's a amazing buy! You will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rattlesnakes of the United States and Canada []  2020-1-18 22:25

    Love this field guide

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rattlesnakes of the United States and Canada []  2020-1-18 22:25

    This is an perfect book, very well written and the photographs are beautiful. But what really appeals to me about this book is that you can just look at the pictures and be more than satisfied, or you can scan the text and read bits here and there and be enthralled and fascinated for hours, or you can study this and go even deeper. And it works very well on all three levels.What I found most helpful were the perfect maps on the areas of each species and the 90 pages of general info on rattlesnakes which starts off the book. It's clear, concise, simple to follow, and full of surprising and interesting tidbits and addition to the general info at the front of the book, each species is given around 8 - 10 pages of photographs and information. It's fascinating and is by far the best of the books I've looked read on rattlesnakes in my quest to obtain over my "concern" of them! And the most helpful as well.But really I think this book is as helpful to the snakes as it is to the reader since it gives a greater appreciation for these attractive snakes that are seemingly under constant and unwarranted threat from us.I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rattlesnakes of the United States and Canada []  2020-1-18 22:25

    Amazing book with amazing information, had a few close calls and this book gave me amazing insight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Honduran Night: Resistance , Terror, and the United States in the Aftermath of the Coup []  2020-11-25 19:46

    Peace volunteers working in Honduras recommend this book as the best that’s been published! Factual and informative. Mandatory reading for everyone concerned about justice and democracy in Latin America

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Honduran Night: Resistance , Terror, and the United States in the Aftermath of the Coup []  2020-11-25 19:46

    Conozco personalmente a Dana somos amigos, regale el libro a un amigo para que conozca una parte de la Historia de mi país Honduras

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Honduran Night: Resistance , Terror, and the United States in the Aftermath of the Coup []  2020-11-25 19:46

    If you are interested in knowing about the migrant caravans, this book gives you a history of the first huge caravans that came from Honduras. Today we have related caravans from Guatemala, coming here for related reasons. If you wish to know the full story, and not just what you hear in sound bytes, read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Honduran Night: Resistance , Terror, and the United States in the Aftermath of the Coup []  2020-11-25 19:46

    Awesome book about the terror and struggles of Hondurans for democracy and justice following the 2009 coup. Meticulously researched and cited with an unflinching view in US complicity in the horrors that continue there to this day.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386