Read largo from winter of the four seasons reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all largo from winter of the four seasons reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    Chapman's books are always an simple read, but they end up being kind of hard on the emotions! And that's a amazing thing, because while you can bite into his books like they are butter, your heart and mind are given a juicy steak's worth of private insight and practical advice. The 4 Seasons of Marriage is thus a food worth eating, especially if you are tired of your marriage moving in an endless cycle from amazing to poor to okay to so-so to horrid and back e only knock I have on the book is that it gets repetitive. It's a short book that could have actually been shorter.

    0  


    Add your opinion on largo from winter of the four seasons or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    Yes this book he place things in perspective for my husband and myself. We have gone from separated, divorce filled and living separately to working on things and striving for and considering reconciliation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    Another amazing marriage book by Gary Chapman. Simple to read and understand. A nice reference book for marriages. It covers four stages a marriage can fall into: Spring (beginning exciting stages of love), Summer (pleasant, strong, committed, enjoyable stages of love), Fall (a few rough patches, powerful winds and storms- if not careful, could head into difficult stages of love), winter (cold, harsh, risky scene of marriage). He covers what the stages are, how to obtain into a better stage, how to avoid the poor stages.A amazing book, but I think the Five Love Languages are more helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    I got this book and it really has changed my marriage! If you and your spouse wish to save your marriage, I would say this book. It may support you like it helped me. Like the title says there are 4 seasons in a marriage, why stay in the dead of winter if you don't have too! I will be buying this book for fresh married couples too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    This book shows how marriages can go through various seasons and at various times. It contains some hints for working through the rough seasons of fall and winter and maintaining growth in spring and summer seasons. The analogy of seasons works and the examples are clear. A lot of stories are included from his marriage counselling practice, but they lacked depth. I found his incessant referrals to his own publications about love-languages a bit off-putting. Overall, this book was a bit shallow and too cliché sometimes, but it reads easily and if you skim it you won't miss a lot. A better option for those looking for Christian marriage counselling tip would be "Real Marriage:The truth about Sex, Friendship, and life together" by Tag and Grace Driscoll.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    I have read this book about 8 years ago, but it is a easy concept written in a clear method that sticks with you. The author describes the 4 seasons your marriage might be in, how to move from one season to the other and what to expect. I loved it because it embraces the fact that marriages are not perpetual honeymoons. Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    Lots and lots of stories to create simple, but helpful points. Sometimes stories of other people's experience is helpful, but this bookjust has story on top of story...... I was frustrated reading it but it was a small helpful. The book really could have been a pamphlet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    Using the book for a little group/Sunday School class. "Seasons" will support you identify and give a name to how you're experiencing your marriage, with practical hints for helping to move you to the Spring or Summer of marriage. Winter=cold and harsh; Spring=new beginnings coupled with hope and excitement for the future; Summer=warmth and comfort within a life-filled relationship; Fall=the sense that things are dying between the two of apman, author of The Five Love Languages, provides seven tactics for bringing life to a dormant or (seemingly) dead relationship. We're in just week two of our study and couples are already responding positively based on the book's content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    A amazing Christian book about loving your spouse, and indeed CHOOSING to love your spouse. Loved the analogies of "seasons" to tag periods in a marriage in which emotions (both positive and negative) ebb and ry Chapman persuasively outlined for anyone seeking guidance in this book, the four seasons of marriage and the seven tactics for enhancing the quality of marital interactions. So this book is not just idealistic, it aims to give practical guidance to troubled spouses all around.A must-read tutorial for anyone married, newly-wed or even contemplating marriage!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Four Seasons of Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    I really like this book. It was the first book I read by this author and I’ve since read two others and I found all of them to be just really full of amazing advice. Yes the book is written by a Christian pastor so it of course has biblical references and that sort of lean and even though I’m not particularly religious I still found a lot of of the suggestions to be quite helpful and the entire book I found to be just overall very amazing read and beneficial to my marriage. One of his other books — the five love languages of teenagers is unbelievable and I think every parent of a teen or preteen should read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slow Flowers: Four Seasons of Locally Grown Bouquets from the Garden, Meadow and Farm []  2020-2-7 20:32

    If you wish more pictures than words and for those pictures to be gray, dull, brown and dark with cloudy sky's, this is for you. No offense to the author as I admire her skill and knowledge but the images are little and so dreary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slow Flowers: Four Seasons of Locally Grown Bouquets from the Garden, Meadow and Farm []  2020-2-7 20:32

    An arrangement each week, with new material from the yard, mates gardens, local sources! For a whole year! Awesome eye-opening how to book. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slow Flowers: Four Seasons of Locally Grown Bouquets from the Garden, Meadow and Farm []  2020-2-7 20:32

    At first, the book disappointed me; only by its little size. But, once you begin turning pages, the info the author packs into it is awesome and very well done. Sure, I'd like to have a bigger book for my money. But, I have to say it's worth it no matter how little the pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slow Flowers: Four Seasons of Locally Grown Bouquets from the Garden, Meadow and Farm []  2020-2-7 20:32

    A book of common to extraordinary flowers showcased by a respected floral designer. Her approach to arrangements follows the same philosoohy of the "slow food" movement. In this case, it is flowers that are being grown under strict guidelines to produce a gorgeous dozens of seasonal flowers and filler materials for the direct distribution to florists and their local farming community.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slow Flowers: Four Seasons of Locally Grown Bouquets from the Garden, Meadow and Farm []  2020-2-7 20:32

    Loved the style of the arrangements. Good, useful instruction for basic, easy flower arranging. Fun original use of different vessels & containers to display arrangements.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slow Flowers: Four Seasons of Locally Grown Bouquets from the Garden, Meadow and Farm []  2020-2-7 20:32

    Slow Flowers is a treasure for flower lovers and anyone who wants to have fun flowers inside. If you wish to be inspired to arrange your own bouquets from locally sourced, seasonal flowers, obtain this book. Debra shows how you can have flowers 52 weeks of the year and tells the story of how each bouquet came to be. She also contains design and flower care hints throughout the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slow Flowers: Four Seasons of Locally Grown Bouquets from the Garden, Meadow and Farm []  2020-2-7 20:32

    I hope this "slow flowers" movement keeps going! I would like to see the floral business continue to grow in a more ecologically responsible way. This small book will support it along for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slow Flowers: Four Seasons of Locally Grown Bouquets from the Garden, Meadow and Farm []  2020-2-7 20:32

    I love to pick flowers in the garden! But what do I know about arranging them in a beautiful display? Nothing! I have no creative talents. In Slow Flowers, I found absolutely unbelievable "recipes" for flower displays. Suitable for Downton Abbey's next intelligent soiree! Ms Prinzing has once again given us inspiration for our garden. Not only to pick but what to plant for future displays. The images are e downside? I feel deprived until her next book comes out. I am a Prinzing junkey!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slow Flowers: Four Seasons of Locally Grown Bouquets from the Garden, Meadow and Farm []  2020-2-7 20:32

    UPS just dropped my book at the door - what a welcome break from work on an overcast, drizzly Seattle day. Filled with 52 recipes to create attractive garden bouquets without fuss and without fancy out of season flowers flown in from another continent - gets my creative juices going - and helps me plan my summer plantings so that I can pick and display what I've grown myself. Filled with photographs on the side opposite the "recipe" of completed bouquests - some bouquet recipes pages have an extra phot - really colourful - will fit in my purse when I travel, though I think it will sleep next to me on the nightstand for a while - another special idea from Debra - I'm already planning to give it as a Mother's Day bonus - to the mom's in my life!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Slow Flowers: Four Seasons of Locally Grown Bouquets from the Garden, Meadow and Farm []  2020-2-7 20:32

    I loved the arrangements in this book! They are natural-looking and seasonal and look like they would be able to be place together by anyone-- even those of us without any floral design training. But a lot of of them use flowers that are sourced from local flower growers. If you are located on the west coast as the author is, this is do-able. For most people, like me in the midwest, these types of growers don't exist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons of Entertaining []  2020-1-31 4:41

    I have followed Shayla Copas on Social Media for a lot of years now. I was already aware of her awesome talent & fun personality. So I cannot say I blindly bought her book without any expectations about what I believed it to be. There are no surprises here....I saw that the book was going to come out & followed all her stories about it. It was on my want list long before I was able to it. Her work is awesome & I knew I had to have this book in my collection. I also already owned & had seen her attractive Christmas decorating in 'Christmas at Designer's Homes Across America.' So like I said there were no surprises in how awesome her work would be...except I have to say that her book excelled in my expectations. I own quite a few of these attractive coffee table books & typically find...as well as expect, that there are a lot of awesome I ideas as well as illustrations included but that not every page is to die for beautiful. This is where she exceeded my expectations beyond what I think a five begin rating should cover. There are no boring in between pages separating out the stunning photography. Every single page has something rich & juicy to offer. From her explanations about her vision for each creation, event, the recipes or vignettes...there really is no end to the perfection that this book is. I have been devouring it every possibility I obtain & pouring over all the information. There is more to this presentation of her work than mere flipping through inspirational photos. I feel she has raised the bar for every single book of its kind. It is unmatched in its perfection in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons of Entertaining []  2020-1-31 4:41

    Four Seasons of Entertaining is more than FABULOUS. It is a reference book, a book about using color, texture, theme, a book about using flowers for color in you home and table. The book is attractive if just for looking.....Shayla Copas has taken decorating and tablescaping and entertaining to a whole fresh level. Her private beauty is transferred to her love of cooking and decorating for entertaining. Don't allow the grandeur of this book intimidate you....there is much you can use and apply to any setting from little to large...even using things you already have. There are recipes for each dinner/lunch. Some from well-known chefs and those of Shayla herself. I have read this from cover to cover...and am already imagining my next table and menu from ideas in Four Seasons of Entertaining.....thank you, thank you, Shayla

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons of Entertaining []  2020-1-31 4:41

    I pre-ordered the book and was so excited to keep it in the mail. And I love everything about it! From the tiniest of info catering to each theme; to the fabulous recipes I can't wait to try; to the fresh sources she introduced to me (e.g., Kim Seybert - I must stock up on napkin rings!). It’s a attractive book. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons of Entertaining []  2020-1-31 4:41

    Shayla Copas’ book is as attractive as she is! It is full of attractive tablescape images and ideas for seasonal parties, along with tried and real recipes for each seasonal party. Shayla is a brilliant and talented designer, with an eye for color, scale and a balance between elegance and fun. I highly recommend this book not only for its sheer beauty but also it’s practical usefulness!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons of Entertaining []  2020-1-31 4:41

    Attractive pictures but recipes are unrealistic and not suitable for your daily cook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons of Entertaining []  2020-1-31 4:41

    This book is a attractive addition to any collection of design and/or entertainment table books. It's an in depth manual to planning the ultimate dinner party. The book is thoughtfully written and full of stunning images of her floral and tablescape designs for each party. Along with the gorgeous images , there are recipes from the chefs who prepared them. I found inspiration on every page!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons of Entertaining []  2020-1-31 4:41

    I love to set a beautiful table, who doesn’t, and I test to do just that as often as I possibly can, even if I am the only diner. And despite the fact that I have method more dishes than I should have, as well as linens, flatware, stemware, you obtain the idea, I am always looking for fresh ideas. With summer waning and fall set to arrive in a couple of weeks, I am looking to entertain with loads of color, lots of splash, flowers, the works. So when I saw this book pop up in my “Recommended for you” feed, I had to have it. I was not disappointed. Yes, as one of the other reviewers mentioned, some of these tables are quite elegant, and not all that doable for people on a tight budget. But if you look beyond that, what you will see is the offerings of a woman with a lot of style, providing you with not just tables to emulate, but sparking ideas so that you can make your own attractive table within your own budget whatever that might be. Books that inspire are worth their weight in gold, and this one is loaded with inspiration. If you like to dazzle your guests, pick up a copy. You will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons of Entertaining []  2020-1-31 4:41

    I just received the book and love it! My “real” career is being an attorney but I fancy myself a amazing hostess. I like to recreate the feeling for my guests and family that one gets when going to a wedding or fundraiser or hotel- that special, luxury, attention to detail. This book is right up my alley. Attractive pictures, most of the recipes see beautiful doable and I don’t say all simply because I do not cook much (just set really nice tables and cater meal haha)- can’t wait to test a few of the recipes already. This is a book for people like me who like these things to search inspiration for the next dinner party or holiday celebration or for a more glam lunch with friends! The flower arrangements are luscious and perhaps one can’t recreate these on the daily, but the pictures are gorgeous! I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons of Entertaining []  2020-1-31 4:41

    I am thrilled to say I received Four Seasons of Entertaining yesterday, & allow me tell you I am beyond happy. This may sound funny but the first thing that impressed me was the quality of the book, the paper quality matching the spectacular images. If you love entertaining ,cooking ,spoiling your mates , or if you just love attending & appreciate Southern Glam, this book will surely place a smile on your face! Take time to read the acknowledgement and introduction page to really appreciate the heart of this lovely book. Congratulations Shayla Copas,it was worth the work you obviously place into it! Thank you @bonniechasedesigns

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons of Entertaining []  2020-1-31 4:41

    If you love to entertain, have fun a attractive tablescape, or just appreciate beautiful things, then you MUST this book. It’s THE ULTIMATE party tutorial packed full of design inspiration and recipes for every occasion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: The Four Seasons []  2020-2-1 23:24

    Everything about this ver of the Four Seasons is superior to every other 4 Seasons I've heard. The recording was obviously done with meticulous care to obtain the right orchestral balance and to pick up the sound of all the instruments in the best method possible. The vintage instruments sound fantastic... However, what really makes this recording amazing is the tremendous energy, passion and virtuosity of the players. The whole orchestra sounds on fire and Simon Standage seems to have been born to play the Four Seasons. He is so wonderfully intense and his ver of the 3rd movement of Summer is... well, how else can I describe it -- orgasmic! If there is cd melody in the afterlife I'm sure this is Vivaldi's favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: The Four Seasons []  2020-2-1 23:24

    I have heard more recordings and live performances of this piece than I can recall. I just stumbled upon a used ver of this at the Salvation Troops and feel as though I have stuck gold. The precision mixed with the vitality and care to detail is astounding. Ironically, it has become cliche to say "it feels as if I am hearing this for the first time," but that I exactly how I feel. The quality of the recording matches the virtuosity of the playing, astoundingly, revelatory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: The Four Seasons []  2020-2-1 23:24

    As promised, I would again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: The Four Seasons []  2020-2-1 23:24

    I have a CD player alarm clock, so I can wake up in the morning to any CD of my r a while, I was waking up every morning to a CD that opened with Mozart's "Rondo Alla Turca", but as attractive as that piece is, I got tired of it a few months. Also for a time, I woke up to a terrific CD that opens with one of my favorite contemporary instrumental works, "Music Box Dancer" by Frank Mills. As much as I love that song, I eventually got tired of hearing it every single morning, and again switched CDs after a few seemed to me that no matter how attractive any piece of melody is, it can obtain tiring to me after hearing it every day for several ever, at some point several YEARS ago I place this particular Vivaldi disc into my alarm player, and have never gotten tired of it or felt any need to switch to another CD. That is truly amazing!Of course, the little speakers on a compact-size CD/alarm clock won't do full justice to the recording, and the full beauty of it can only be appreciated on a large, high quality stereo. Nevertheless, this CD accomplished something amazing: I can wake up with it every single morning for years and not obtain tired of it!When I have to go to work or to a scheduled appointment of some kind, I generally only hear the first few mins of this CD. On days when I don't have to be anywhere, I sometimes just allow the CD play all the method through, and search the entire CD enjoyable and soothing, even with the compromised sound quality of a little portable CD e fact that I have not gotten tired of hearing this melody morning after morning for several years says a lot about this perfect rendition of Vivaldi's works by Trevor Pinnock and the English Concert.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: The Four Seasons []  2020-2-1 23:24

    This DG performance of the perennial Vivaldi Seasons featuring Pinnock, Standage and company may be the only Baroque CD in my collection, but it is in essence an invigorating performance of this perennial and much-loved (and much-played) classical melody cornerstone. Recorded during the advent of digital technology, it makes use of manuscript parts and brushes all cobwebs off this work, without even sacrificing drama and vibrancy, given the timbre-related and tonal limitations of the period instruments. Standage's violin-playing sounds as if he might have been Vivaldi's protige, smooth-toned yet a small virtuosic in his stylish ornamentation, and Pinnock's superbly inspired direction, not to mention harpsichord-playing, enhances the gusto of the orchestral contributions. All this is capped by a clear and well-balanced recording set amidst the atmospheric acoustics of the Henry Wood andage's violin-playing in this work is able to capture its a lot of subtleties. These subtleties can be found in the lyricism of Spring, the agitation of Summer, the nimbleness of Autumn and the atmospheric feel of Winter. The Spring concerto shows him excelling in his sweet-sounding interpretations of the birdsong and the dancing nymphs, and his lyrical portrayal of the goatherd in the slow movement. Then, in Summer, he is able to take on the role of an agitated-sounding water-bird in his so-called comments on the proceedings. Here, the highlight of his violin contributions can be seen in his depiction of the troubled countryman in his first-movement lament and in his troubled second-movement sleep. But nimbleness takes over in the Autumn concerto, where his fleet-fingered bowing admirably suits the tipsy drunkard in the first movement, and the helplessly-fleeing beast during the hunting sequence of the third movement. And so does some sort of relish when Winter sets in, as he seems to create his playing sound like some sort of keen enjoyment of the season itself and its similar delights, even at the expense of the biting andage's shining, polished and confident contributions are well-matched by Pinnock's atmospheric orchestral accompaniments. From the very first opening bars of Spring, the orchestra (with Pinnock's harpsichord at the helm!) is able to create effective use of Vivaldi's tone colouring to back Standage's playing. It can be particularly loud, for instance, when depicting the different storms (to the point of creating the result of cracking thunder) and during the hunting stage that ends the Autumn concerto, or subtle as in the sweetness of the atmosphere of Spring and in the second movement of the Autumn concerto. But no matter how they play, every string player can work effectively in the different harmony and unison passages, and they are also greatly enhanced by the subtle lute accompaniments and Pinnock's astute direction and harpsichord accompaniments.On the whole, I would like to say that this performance of the Vivaldi Seasons is on par with the different modern-instrument recordings by Alan Loveday (with Neville Marriner and the Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields), Gil Shaham and the vigorous yet sometimes self-indulgent Nigel Kennedy, but it is in a class of its own and also the period-instrument equivalent of these modern-instrument readings. In fact, I search it so enjoyable that even beginners can actually turn to this performance rather than the over-indulgent Nigel Kennedy recording should they be seeking a quality recording of the piece. The texts of the sonnets and their translations are provided in the booklet, and this can be helpful to beginning listeners in following along with the melody and pinpointing what happens during each movement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: The Four Seasons []  2020-2-1 23:24

    Antonio Vivaldi (1678 - 1741): Le Quattro Stagioni ("The Four Seasons"). Performed by Simon Standage, solo violin, and The English Concert, directed from the harpsichord by Trevor Pinnock. No info of when and where recorded are included in the booklet. First published in 1982 on LP (2543 003), on cassette tape (3311 003) and a small later on CD (DG Archiv 400 045-2). Total playing time: 38 is is in every method a landmark recording. There had been period-instrument recordings of Vivaldi's "Four Seasons" before this (a fairly middle-of-the-road offering from the Collegium Aureum and a typically somewhat hard-on-the-ears ver from Nikolaus Harnoncourt and his Concentus Musicus Vienna), but this was the first (as far as I am aware) for which the players had taken the problem to examine the early manuscript source from the Henry Watson Melody and Arts Library in Manchester, England, and to compare this with early printed editions, thus enabling them to come up with a ver which is probably nearer to what Vivaldi actually wrote and intended than anything that had been produced before this. This musicological accuratesse, coupled with the silky sounds of period violins with gut strings, the perfect playing of Trever Pinnock's English Concert and the almost uniquely amazing Deutsche Grammophon engineering created this, back in 1982, a sensational achievement. The accompanying booklet is also excellent, giving a very clear picture of what is event when and making listening to The Four Seasons a fresh pleasure over again. The info in the recording are sometimes startlingly clear, and I can understand why some other reviewers have recommended getting out warm winter clothes for the latest part of the recording!However, I must add that time has passed, and if one thing has become plain, it is that ensembles such as The English Concert with their more Northern European background and their Anglo-Saxon temperament are perhaps not the ideal interpreters of a work like "The Four Seasons". Yes, the English Concert are very, very good. But over the past few years there have been some mainly Italian ensembles who appear to have stolen the English Concert's laurels. In particular, I am thinking of I Sonatori de la Gioiosa Marca, whose "Four Seasons" appeared in the 90's on the Swiss Divox Antiqua label. Compare that recording with Simon Standage's and I think you will recognize the difference. The Italians have a "fuoco" and an understanding of Italian weather conditions to boot which create The English Concert sound, well, just very English. The Sonatori are not as brutal as Il Giardino Armonico, but in every method as brilliant.I will never regret purchasing The English Concert's ver which remains a benchmark recording. But if you are looking for the "crème de la crème" on Vivaldi then I advise looking around for the Sonatori version, which, incidentally, also includes a couple of other pieces and does not suffer from the extremely short playing time of the English Concert's CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: The Four Seasons []  2020-2-1 23:24

    Very amazing quality recording, unbelievable sound with amazing informational product insert. I have heard various recordings of this compliation, but this is one of my favorites. A true attempt was created to record these pieces as close to Vivaldi's original intentions. Amazing bonus for the Vivaldi fan!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: The Four Seasons []  2020-2-1 23:24

    If I’m not missing anything, Trevor Pinnock and his English Concert were the first to record The Four Seasons on period instruments, in May 1976, on CRD, VIVALDI: The Four Seasons (also on a 2 CD set with the complete Opus 8 cycle, Antonio Vivaldi 12 concerti Op 8 for Violin & Orchestra "Trial of Harmony & Invention" / Flute Concerto RV 429 Cello Concerto RV 424, a lot of reissues, I've given here the cheapest at time of writing). Harnoncourt (Vivaldi: The Four Seasons / Le Quattro Stagioni or complete Opus 8, Vivaldi: Il Cimento Dellarmonia E Dellinventione) and Collegium Aureum (Vivaldi: Le Quattro Stagione (Four Seasons); La Tempesta di Mare; Il Piacere) came slightly after. But Pinnock's first go at The Seasons was painted in pastel colors.Ever since its publication in 1982, this remake for Archiv has earned itself a status of yardstick version, and rightly so. It’s much more assured and evocative than The English Concert's first essay. The opening Allegro of Spring is played with more vigor, bounce and dynamism than in 1976, and bird chirping has more vigor and hero – yes THAT truly sounds like a joyful greeting of spring. The spring storm sounds like a storm. The dog’s barking in the Largo isn’t very threatening and sounds melodious rather than like a dog barking but at least it doesn’t sound, as in 1976, like a dog yawning. Simon Standage’s ornamentation is more imaginative and profuse than in 1976. There’s more energy too in the dancing Finale, and the bagpipe result is nicely evocative (1:30).And the same interpretive values imbue the rest of these Seasons. Summer and winter storms are suitably stormy (and those of the Finale of Summer benefit from fine stereo separation of first and second violins), Autumn hunt is energetic, even martial, the complaint of the villager in the first movement of Summer (3:23) sounds something like the cries of despair of his wife (at her husband’s infedilty?), and the dance to rejoice at the fresh harvest in Autumn (first movement) is energetic and boisterous, which is not always the case, even with period-instrument ensembles (Parrott, Biondi… and Pinnock himself in 1976). The drunkard (same movement at 1:01) is first much too assertive and assured to really sound like a drunkard, although there are nice touches of tipsiness later on, especially in what I interpret (there’s no specific description about it) as the hiccup moment (1:47). Standage adds ornamentation in the Largos of Summer and nock’s Seasons may no amazing surprises and discoveries as those of Harnoncourt or Il Giardino Armonico (cheapest for the latter seems to be here, Vivaldi: The Four Seasons), but it’s a fine and characterful ver that holds up well even today. In fact it strikes me as holding a fine balance between melody and theatre: the theatre of Vivaldi’s melody is not glaringly spotlighted (or even, for a lot of ears, exaggerated) as it is with Harnoncourt or Il Giardino Armonico, but, unlike just about every ver until the 1980s and a lot of after, it’s always there. So this can, still today, safely be recommended as your standard modern version, although the library of any half-way serious fan of the Seasons needs to be complemented with a more radical and theatrical version, among which those of Harnoncourt and Il Giardino Armonico are the references. The only drawback here is the absence of any complement and the scanty total time of 38 minutes. So search it cheap. There are later and augmented reissues and compilations that you may wish to look at, Four Seasons / Concerto for Oboe and Panorama: Vivaldi.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: The Four Seasons []  2020-2-1 23:24

    Undoubtedly this is the best recording of Vivaldi's four seasons available. The timing of the soloist, pace, sound, and performance is so exact the English Concert must have practiced these concertos a thousand times. I have listened to others including Perlman's version, and I still believe this is the best. I believe one of the reasons why this is such a high quality performance is the English Concert performers are familiar with each other and have been playing together a amazing stretch of time. Therefore they are able to bring out the best of each other. This is a must for anyone interested in Baroque period violin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi: The Four Seasons []  2020-2-1 23:24

    Mr. Pinnock is the 18th century man. The English Concert's ver of this very famous cycle is as strong as the inclimate weather Vivaldi tries to evoke. This is among Simon Standage's best recorded perfomances. I feel the "Red Priest" himself would be amazed. Standage's playing is articulate, yet lively, supreme musicianship. This is a recording on period instruments. If you don't like the Early Melody Movement, then move on from this page. Powerful, lively playing that demonstrates chamber melody is not dull. The bass line is used effectly. You will hear the cracks of thunder and the wind blow. You shall be chilled to the bone as you slip and slide upon the ice. If teen-agers would listen to this CD, I believe they would that it "rocks". Of course, the sweet, gentle pastoral parts are presented with extreme asthecism. Mr. Pinnock manges to have the melody transcend. Although this cycle is often thought of being violin music, it is just as much harpsichord melody and we are treated to Pinnock's superb musicianship on the harpsichord, giving the cycle fresh life, perhaps the intended life, to Vivaldi's crowd pleaser. I belive this to be among the best recordings of the 4 seasons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    Anyone who loves the Jersey shore will love these photos...great coffee table book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    attractive pictures

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    I am a proud Jersey Girl, and I have been going "down the shore" every summer since I was a little child. This books wondefully captures the very essence of the shore...all of the things that create it unique; all of the things that create it beautiful; all of the reasons why it is so magical. This is a fantasic book--with unbeatable pictures of the best put on Earth! The essays and quotes that are included also add to the experience. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves the Jersey Shore! It is a small expensive, but worth every penny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Stronghold: Four Seasons in the White Mountains of Crete []  2020-7-14 19:11

    The first and most necessary point that must be created about "The Stronghold" is that it is not a book for everyone. In fact, I would go further than that and say that it is book that will appeal to only a little subset of readers--mainly those who have visited Crete and have some appreciation for its geography and its people. I myself have visited Crete only once (and mainland Greece on one other occasion). When in Crete, for 2 weeks, I stayed on the coast, mainly in Chania (spelled 'Canea' in the book) and experienced the White Mountains only as a looming presence above the coastal plain. Still, that presence was enough to induce me to and read "The Stronghold," and even to have fun the story told by the book's author, Xan Fielding, who himself spent much of Globe Battle II in Crete as a British commando whose field of operations was the White Mountains, and who returned years later to tour the zone in peace time to renew old guerrilla warrior acquaintances and visit the towns and mountain hideouts of his time at war. Fielding himself finds his return to the White Mountains less than thrilling--in fact, often quite dull--and this reader often felt the same as he read Fielding's narrative. That's not to say that the book lacks interest. Fielding is amazing on the Byzantine, Venetian, and Turkish conquests and occupations of Crete and their legacies. He is also amazing at describing the Cretan characters (almost all male) he renews acquaintance with in his travels in the mountains. If you've seen the movie "Zorba the Greek," you have a beautiful amazing idea of the Cretan (male) national character. The problem is there's not just one Zorba-like hero here; there's a whole string of villages full of the type: loud, boastful, hard-drinking, brave, and warlike to a fault. (They all miss the 'good old days' when the Nazis were there to be tricked, betrayed, kidnapped, and murdered.) It eventually got old for Xan Fielding, and for this reader as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Stronghold: Four Seasons in the White Mountains of Crete []  2020-7-14 19:11

    An interesting, though slightly pointless, acc of the history and culture of Crete.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    Peter O'Brien's sunset with the loving couple seated on the high bench found on the cover really looks attractive especially the sunset scenario color. In addition, Peter O'Brien's Lightning Picture with a purple background color found inside the book relects a notice of a poor storm on its method to cause hurt to the community.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    NICE PICTURES

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    This is a attractive compilation of pictures of the Jersey Shore and announce to all why it is we from Fresh Jersey love our shore. The pictures explain to others why we remain "Stronger than the Storm"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    I've been at "The Shore" for summer vacations for all mylife, and I've recently become interested in om those perspectives, I found this book to be quitenice in its selection and quality of images. ( 2004,so presumably these were mostly movie photos, pre-digitialdominance.) I only had a small time with the book, boughtin a bonus at Sunset Beach (with the Sunken Ship, an oldone-of-few concrete ship from WW-I (likely in the book)and given to my mother, a Jersey gal in late years, now.(-;

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Stronghold: Four Seasons in the White Mountains of Crete []  2020-7-14 19:11

    Fielding blends historical knowledge with his exploration in hard-to-reach places. This book is a must read for Cretans as it allows us to perform a journey in time; the time that our grandfathers were of our age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Very Best of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons []  2020-1-23 2:43

    I always quietly liked hearing the Four Seasons on oldies radio because the tunes were catchy and nobody had a falsetto like Frankie Valli. After seeing "Jersey Boys" (the movie) I decided I was cutting my nose off to spite my face by not having some of the Four Seasons in my collection and quickly remedied that by ordering this Rhino collection. Rhino is probably the best label for releasing classic rock and roll, and always have informative packaging and amazing song selections. This album is no exception. The west coast of the pre-Beatles hysteria was dominated by the Beach Boys, with their unbelievable tunes of summer, girls, surfing and the like before turning more serious with "Pet Sounds" in response to the Beatles' "Revolver". The Four Seasons were the sound of the Fresh Jersey/New York urban scene. While they were very melodic in their own right, there was a toughness from this bunch of former troublemakers that resonated with huge town audiences and had more R & B elements in their tunes. And what tunes! From their first #1 "Sherry" all the method to Frankie Valli's solo tune "Grease" we're reminded of just how a lot of hits they had, and even the more obscure tunes on this collection have the same class. We often overlook most early to mid-60's bands besides the Beach Boys and Beatles, and it's simple to forget the Four Seasons were right up there with them. Even the Beach Boys acknowledged the tournament in one song, naming the Four Seasons in a chorus on "Surfers Rule", although given the background the Seasons grew up in, I doubt surfing was very interesting to them. Still, those who liked the film or Broadway play "Jersey Boys" but aren't quite sure which collection is best, go with the Rhino set as it's cheaper and has as mentioned before. I like oldies and fresh items equally if it's good, and even this (usually) metal fan digs the Four Seasons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Very Best of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons []  2020-1-23 2:43

    The melody made by The Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons can not be beat. I purchased the mp3 ver of this album because the Four Seasons is my wife's favorite group. She even had me go to the film about the Four Seasons with her. I have fun all the melody from this album and want that the Four Seasons would have never parted. Still today Frankie Valli has a amazing voice and one that allows a person to listen forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Very Best of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons []  2020-1-23 2:43

    My wife and I have listened to this CD about 30 times since we purchased it several weeks ago! No matter how a lot of times we replay this unbelievable album, we wish to hear it again when we obtain to the latest song. We found ourselves giving each other additional hugs and kisses while listening to this CD. Another GREAT album that makes one relive one's youth and youthful feelings felt when these songs were the recent hits on the radio! Reliving these wonderful, positive, heart sweet feelings once felt in our younger days in TODAY'S WORLD with all of it's current problems, makes this album a BARGAIN in EVERY way! If the show is depressing, test re-living the past - these oldies albums create it possible!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Very Best of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons []  2020-1-23 2:43

    Ah....takes me back to the amazing times listening to Frankie Valli. Not to mention I lived in Nutley 1 block away from Belleville. We were in neighboring towns and I never fresh it. Want I sure could have met him. I had his records years ago but had lost them in a fire. So I ordered this cd and it's great! Just great! And the very best part is, he still sounds as amazing now as then, when I'm able to see him on television. What a talent. Purchase this cd because it's unbelievable and starts off with Sherry and picks up the time line, sort of speak to the later songs. I blast it out of my car! Saw the film Jersey Boys and that was fantastic. Nice to be able to learn some private things about Frankie Valli who I always loved. Thanks Frankie for all the amazing songs through the years! Please come to Richmond on your tour soon since I live here now. Maybe at least I can obtain an autograph!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Very Best of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons []  2020-1-23 2:43

    These are original hit versions all the method and the entire CD is impeccable with dynamic sound. I don' t recall ever hearing more excellent sounding renditions of these radio smashes from the early 60's through the chart-topping "Grease" in 1978. Thrill to the Seasons best:"Sherry", "Walk Like A Man", through "December, 1963". Of unique mention is the original hit ver of "Dawn ( Go Away)" featuring the intro "Pretty Eyes Amid Summer's Morn...They called her Dawn....." I have the original [email protected]#$%! single...THAT'S the one! Frankie Valli's wonderful solo hit "Can't Take My Eyes Off You" is included...plus his two other smashes. Then there is "Rag Doll". One of my favorite records of all time...and my most beloved recording by The Four Seasons. A masterpiece! I recall hearing an interview with Frankie Valli years ago and when asked if they knew "Rag Doll" was unique after they finished recording it, he said absolutely yes. This is a unbelievable CD...a must-have. If I am completey honest, I do want they included about five or so more tunes (clocking in currently at just over 60 min., they could fit)...specifically "Tell It To The Rain", The "Wonder Who", "Silver Star", and a couple of others. But, the latest thing I would wish to do is nitpik...few compilations by any artist will have everything that everyone is collection is virtually flawless! A grand slam home run! You'll absolutely love it! In as much as The Four Seasons got their name from a bowling alley, I probably should have said this collection is a 300 game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Very Best of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons []  2020-1-23 2:43

    I recently returned from London England where I finally got to see and hear the play "The Jersey boys" produced by the genius Bob Gaudio. The "sound" that created the Four Seasons popular a lifetime ago was rekindled for my longing to hear it again. So when I returned I looked for my albums in vain and bought this "The Very Best of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons" to compare with the original Broadway Recording I purchased at the Prince Edward theater in is beyond me how Gaudio/Valli Productions found this talent and made an outstanding musical show. I was totally entranced with the melody and lyrics that were ignited from the shelter of the corners of my mind. The people next to me in the theater were astonished that I sang all the songs with the cast. Surprisingly, I was also impressed I knew these songs backwards and paring the album to the cast recording: the former is a pieced together album from recordings at various times over thirty years. Not all are at the same volume and have to be adjusted slightly. However, compared to the quality of the latter, it is excellent. Compared to my recordings I produced for my convertible by copying my 45s on my Norelco cassette recorder in the late 60s, they are outstanding.Speaking of such, this album brings me right back to cruising the lake in my 62 red with white rag-top Chevy Impala with the top down. Although much of those memories are washed and suppressed by the trauma of being drafted for the Viet Nam War, these photos come back with this music. While a lot of were going ape over the British imports, a lot of of us identified with the blue collar sound of these Italian American Northerners. We have never left them----God Bless Bob Gaudio, Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Very Best of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons []  2020-1-23 2:43

    I have a nonfiction book coming out this summer in which I use the story of "Rag Doll" to create a certain point. I noted that it is mostly a lot of ooh-ing and ahh-ing, which The Four Seasons could do better than anyone. Thinking about what I said in print about that song, I decided to this album for old times' sake. I found it fun to sing along with those artists again, but over the next week I suffered the downside--the inability to obtain those songs out of my head. I've been going to bed with different songs in my head and waking up at night with Valli's falsetto ringing in my brain. (Of course, if I had bought a "very best" album by Jerry Lee Lewis or Gary Puckett and the Union Gap, I'd be having the same kind of nighttime experience.) Buy the album, if you own nothing by The Four Seasons. You won't be disappointed, and you can catch up on your sleep eventually.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Very Best of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons []  2020-1-23 2:43

    I consider this album vital for anyone wanting to remember the late '60s through the end of the Fours Seasons career. I have tried to collect only the most original recorded melody from my favorite groups, preferring original release albums over anthologies. As I obtain older, I now would rather just have the songs as reminders so this album really does it for me.I believe the most necessary Four Season's songs are here, certainly the songs most evocative of that era and of their career are on this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Very Best of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons []  2020-1-23 2:43

    Ok...gotta admit I was a large Four Seasons fan back in the 60s. I wore out my vinyl LPs years ago. I've seen "Jersey Boys" on scene in Las Vegas, Dallas, and just a few weeks ago in Fort Worth. Although I enjoyed the scene showsand I have watched the film numerous times, the fact is, NOTHING compares to the true Four Seasons. Frankie Valli's vocals will never be duplicated, especially when he sings, "Can't Take My Eyes Off of You". My children grew up listening to the Four Seasons, now it's time for the grandkids to be exposed to some REAL music!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Very Best of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons []  2020-1-23 2:43

    I am in love with this CD! It has the original recordings of all of my favorite Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons songs! The songs are are upbeat and catchy with amazing harmonizing! Makes me wish to dance! Frankie Valli's voice is to die for! Love, love, love!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi : The Four Seasons etc []  2020-1-18 0:31

    Sounds great, amazing performance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi : The Four Seasons etc []  2020-1-18 0:31

    This is such attractive music. It warms my soul. We were lucky enough to hear a local symphony performance of the Four Seasons but this was even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi : The Four Seasons etc []  2020-1-18 0:31

    This should have been the top response when I searched for "Vivaldi: The Four Seasons". Instead I got several other versions of the concerto that weren't by the London Philharmonic with Itzhak Perlman. I understand that everyone has their favorites, but this album was mastered for digital and offered digitally, even though it wasn't listed as a digitally available item when I went looking for it. Instead I had to scroll back through pages of related titles just to search one by an artist I recognized, only then being told that it was available as a digital purchase, streamable to my phone. That should have been the first criteria on a find created from a phone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi : The Four Seasons etc []  2020-1-18 0:31

    Itzhak Perlman, the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Antonio Vivaldi... 5/5 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi : The Four Seasons etc []  2020-1-18 0:31

    Itzhak Perlman delivers a brilliant performance. Just beautiful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi : The Four Seasons etc []  2020-1-18 0:31

    It's all there....all Vivaldi's seasons!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi : The Four Seasons etc []  2020-1-18 0:31

    Amazing album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi : The Four Seasons etc []  2020-1-18 0:31

    I LOVE IT.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi : The Four Seasons etc []  2020-1-18 0:31

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vivaldi : The Four Seasons etc []  2020-1-18 0:31

    I love the 4 Seasons and maestro Perlman unlocks its magic. A few times a week I visit a nursing home patients with dementia and Alzheimer's. During visits I always play various melody and this is by far what makes them smile the most.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four Seasons, Four Cities, and the Pleasures of Solitude []  2020-1-31 0:13

    A beautifully written book in which you will learn invaluable info about four cities: Paris, Florence, Istanbul and Fresh though I've visited most of them, I look forward to returning and seeing things through the author's eyes.Her writing takes you along on her journeys, opens the doors to fresh experiences and makes you feel as though you're there along with her.A amazing book both for the first time or experienced traveler.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four Seasons, Four Cities, and the Pleasures of Solitude []  2020-1-31 0:13

    This book will inspire you to travel. The author makes the case that solo travel is for everyone, and outlines the joys and benefits of doing so. Her own experiences (includIng any issues or hiccups) remind you that travel opens your mind and helps you learn about the globe around you, as well as yourself. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four seasons, four cities and the pleasures of solitude []  2020-7-1 19:30

    This is a magnificent book to read and to gift. It fills the senses so completely -- ones emotional, spiritual and intellectual e interweaving of emotion, beauty, literature, and the true pleasures of solitude is seamless. Just reading the book, one feels exhilarated in a relaxed and satisfying way. Whether one travels, wishes to travel or was once an avid traveller, this book is for you. And if you are looking for ways to be more comfortable alone, this book is also for one Time is beautifully and lyrically written -- a must read. There are a lot of amazing quotes from the author herself and from other more popular people. One of my favourite is from the author herself: “When you’re not sitting across from someone, you’re sitting across from the world.”The book lends itself to much discussion (for book club readers and travellers alike) on the values and sometimes hidden qualities of solitude. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four seasons, four cities and the pleasures of solitude []  2020-7-1 19:30

    I had high hopes for this book, due to the subject and to the positive reviews. But after barely making it through the first chapter I returned the kindle book for a refund. In the (admittedly short) part that I read, every other sentence cited a study or quoted another writer on the merits/benefits of the experiences the author was at that moment supposed to be unselfconsciously enjoying. It was maddening! Like looking at the globe through a pinhole camera. Or eating finger meal with gloves on. Somebody else's gloves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four seasons, four cities and the pleasures of solitude []  2020-7-1 19:30

    This book will inspire you to travel. The author makes the case that solo travel is for everyone, and outlines the joys and benefits of doing so. Her own experiences (includIng any issues or hiccups) remind you that travel opens your mind and helps you learn about the globe around you, as well as yourself. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four seasons, four cities and the pleasures of solitude []  2020-7-1 19:30

    I am still reading this book but wanted to write to say that the writing is superb. It’s such a pleasure to read books of this e journey begins in Paris, which is right down my alley, so that was a nice treat. I have stayed at the same hotel, which created things that much more relatable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four seasons, four cities and the pleasures of solitude []  2020-7-1 19:30

    I travel alone, which is what drew me to this book. I really loved it! have some hints for my next nyc trip!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four Seasons, Four Cities, and the Pleasures of Solitude []  2020-1-31 0:13

    Unbelievable reminder of especially the a lot of delights of Paris, it's little cafes, lovely parks and the festive lifestyle that is so various from the American rat race and our patienttolerance for drab eateries, drab, fast, tired meal in a country where so a lot of spend so small time savoring the moment. An invigorating source of courage for those who have been intimidated by exploring any town alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four Seasons, Four Cities, and the Pleasures of Solitude []  2020-1-31 0:13

    I travel alone, which is what drew me to this book. I really loved it! have some hints for my next nyc trip!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four seasons, four cities and the pleasures of solitude []  2020-7-1 19:30

    Unbelievable reminder of especially the a lot of delights of Paris, it's little cafes, lovely parks and the festive lifestyle that is so various from the American rat race and our patienttolerance for drab eateries, drab, fast, tired meal in a country where so a lot of spend so small time savoring the moment. An invigorating source of courage for those who have been intimidated by exploring any town alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four Seasons, Four Cities, and the Pleasures of Solitude []  2020-1-31 0:13

    I had high hopes for this book, due to the subject and to the positive reviews. But after barely making it through the first chapter I returned the kindle book for a refund. In the (admittedly short) part that I read, every other sentence cited a study or quoted another writer on the merits/benefits of the experiences the author was at that moment supposed to be unselfconsciously enjoying. It was maddening! Like looking at the globe through a pinhole camera. Or eating finger meal with gloves on. Somebody else's gloves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four Seasons, Four Cities, and the Pleasures of Solitude []  2020-1-31 0:13

    I am still reading this book but wanted to write to say that the writing is superb. It’s such a pleasure to read books of this e journey begins in Paris, which is right down my alley, so that was a nice treat. I have stayed at the same hotel, which created things that much more relatable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four Seasons, Four Cities, and the Pleasures of Solitude []  2020-1-31 0:13

    This is a magnificent book to read and to gift. It fills the senses so completely -- ones emotional, spiritual and intellectual e interweaving of emotion, beauty, literature, and the true pleasures of solitude is seamless. Just reading the book, one feels exhilarated in a relaxed and satisfying way. Whether one travels, wishes to travel or was once an avid traveller, this book is for you. And if you are looking for ways to be more comfortable alone, this book is also for one Time is beautifully and lyrically written -- a must read. There are a lot of amazing quotes from the author herself and from other more popular people. One of my favourite is from the author herself: “When you’re not sitting across from someone, you’re sitting across from the world.”The book lends itself to much discussion (for book club readers and travellers alike) on the values and sometimes hidden qualities of solitude. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four Seasons, Four Cities, and the Pleasures of Solitude []  2020-1-31 0:13

    This book is not about learning how to live solo when, for example, a relationship has ended through death or divorce. It is about finding and appreciating alone time, and as such is a rather superficial "self-help" book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four seasons, four cities and the pleasures of solitude []  2020-7-1 19:30

    A beautifully written book in which you will learn invaluable info about four cities: Paris, Florence, Istanbul and Fresh though I've visited most of them, I look forward to returning and seeing things through the author's eyes.Her writing takes you along on her journeys, opens the doors to fresh experiences and makes you feel as though you're there along with her.A amazing book both for the first time or experienced traveler.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four seasons, four cities and the pleasures of solitude []  2020-7-1 19:30

    This book is not about learning how to live solo when, for example, a relationship has ended through death or divorce. It is about finding and appreciating alone time, and as such is a rather superficial "self-help" book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four seasons, four cities and the pleasures of solitude []  2020-7-1 19:30

    Fun, creative, inspiring, and insightful, I enjoyed walking the roads with the author. It was the excellent read in advance of my next trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four Seasons, Four Cities, and the Pleasures of Solitude []  2020-1-31 0:13

    This book spoke to me as I already spend a lot of time alone and I have fun discovering fresh locations on my own. Her hints and tricks on how to approach a fresh town or a familiar one are spot on. The joy of fresh locations on ones own is worth a test for anyone who hasn’t done it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four Seasons, Four Cities, and the Pleasures of Solitude []  2020-1-31 0:13

    Fun, creative, inspiring, and insightful, I enjoyed walking the roads with the author. It was the excellent read in advance of my next trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alone Time: Four seasons, four cities and the pleasures of solitude []  2020-7-1 19:30

    This book spoke to me as I already spend a lot of time alone and I have fun discovering fresh locations on my own. Her hints and tricks on how to approach a fresh town or a familiar one are spot on. The joy of fresh locations on ones own is worth a test for anyone who hasn’t done it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The United States of Vinland: Four Tales From Norse America: The Landing, Young Ravens and Hidden Blades, Red Winter, and Loki's Rage []  2019-12-16 18:0

    s!! This epic historical fantasy folows the sags of several families as they test to build a permanent settlement for their families and followers in fresh lands. This is an awesome series! These characters are so deep and some are so complicated, and I felt like I knew them all personally. These books have it all; action, braery, growing up, tension, mystery, love, loss, treachery. The full gamut of human experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The United States of Vinland: Four Tales From Norse America: The Landing, Young Ravens and Hidden Blades, Red Winter, and Loki's Rage []  2019-12-16 18:0

    I am looking for to more of this series. Vikings and the challenges of the fresh world, what more could you want.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The United States of Vinland: Four Tales From Norse America: The Landing, Young Ravens and Hidden Blades, Red Winter, and Loki's Rage []  2019-12-16 18:0

    I was interested in the Viking history in Canada and the US a century before Columbus "discovered" America. There is an inordinate amount of violence in the book between each vale they settled in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The United States of Vinland: Four Tales From Norse America: The Landing, Young Ravens and Hidden Blades, Red Winter, and Loki's Rage []  2019-12-16 18:0

    The story line is very creative. Amazing alternative history; however, each book repeats a lot of the story from the previous book. The text gets a bit long and could be edited.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The United States of Vinland: Four Tales From Norse America: The Landing, Young Ravens and Hidden Blades, Red Winter, and Loki's Rage []  2019-12-16 18:0

    I have heard of these books but have never read them until now. What an awesome idea - to write about a possible various beginning to the settling of America! I am eager to read about more adventures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The United States of Vinland: Four Tales From Norse America: The Landing, Young Ravens and Hidden Blades, Red Winter, and Loki's Rage []  2019-12-16 18:0

    Very amazing read, can't wait for more books in the nsidering my amazing grandfather still believed in the old gods when he immigrated from Norway

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The United States of Vinland: Four Tales From Norse America: The Landing, Young Ravens and Hidden Blades, Red Winter, and Loki's Rage []  2019-12-16 18:0

    A thoughtful and entertaining 'what if' regarding Norse settlement beyond Iceland and Greenland into what is now eastern Canada during the Middle Ages. I'm looking forward to more stories in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The United States of Vinland: Four Tales From Norse America: The Landing, Young Ravens and Hidden Blades, Red Winter, and Loki's Rage []  2019-12-16 18:0

    I am nearly complete in reading this latest book of the series. The series is actually better than I expected. There's lots of action and you can picture the activities taking place. Amazing books. I recommend reading them.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386