Read law and social theory reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all law and social theory reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    search and seizure case law [collin county case search]  2020-8-23 16:35
    [email protected]

    pacer case locator find agree with what google did to me fairfax county case find dc court case find my find the original source he has a amazing point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory (2013) []  2020-8-10 20:0

    Was in amazing condition and used by my son for class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory (2013) []  2020-8-10 20:0

    Binding was falling apart, not in amazing condition at all

    0  


    Add your opinion on law and social theory or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory (2013) []  2020-8-10 20:0

    The standard.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory (2013) []  2020-8-10 20:0

    This casebook is trashed with editing errors. My favorite typo was misstating a 12.25% interest rate as 1214%, leading to this unbelievable line: "The 1214 percent rate that had seemed reasonable in 1983 compared unfavorably with 1987 shop rates." See p578, Trident Center v. Connecticut General Life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory (2013) []  2020-8-10 20:0

    Incredibly difficult to match up with readings assigned. If buying for class, test another ebook or the physical book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory (2013) []  2020-8-10 20:0

    This book is basically fresh and in amazing shape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory (2013) []  2020-8-10 20:0

    I love the cases and the extra materials in this book. It gives a amazing overview of contract law!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory (2013) []  2020-8-10 20:0

    I thought it was a very well designed book. Amazing selection of cases, and a amazing balance between cases and notes. Sure, there are some typos, but I never felt they interfered with the readings.I had one of the authors as a professor, which probably helped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory (2013) []  2020-8-10 20:0

    This one is used, and the condition is really poor. It is really hard for me to finish my reading assignments. And also, this decrease my motivation of study. My mate bought the same book at the same store, his book is really nice. It actually looks new. We have the same for god sake!!! It is a really poor transaction!!! It is not worthy at all!!!! I cost 140 dollars for a really not good condition!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Juvenile Delinquency: Theory, Practice, and Law []  2020-1-26 19:4

    In my opinion this book is very interesting. I'm criminal justice law student and I've read lot of textbooks for my classes. Compared to other criminal justice books this book does not just give boring skew rates and tell you what to do. It gives you actual interesting examples. It is well organized. I'm telling you I'm not the happiest person when I have to read textbook but I always look forward to reading this one since I've only read two chapters. I also like its hard cover which allows me to read without any worries that I have to keep my book up straight. ☺️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Juvenile Delinquency: Theory, Practice, and Law []  2020-1-26 19:4

    It is a decent book. It is for a class I am taking in school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Juvenile Delinquency: Theory, Practice, and Law []  2020-1-26 19:4

    Exactly the book I needed. Book came in amazing condition and exactly as described. No missing pages or water damage. There were some highlighted portions, but the seller had disclosed that in the product description.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    General Theory of Law And State []  2020-7-17 21:13

    From the father of Positivism, this book explores the real nature of the norm and the role it plays in relation to state and society. Perfect analysis of positivist should also consider reading The Pure Theory of Law, by Kelsen, as well as books by Rawls, Nozick, MacIntyre, and Posner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    General Theory of Law And State []  2020-7-17 21:13

    This book rediscovers the most necessary elements of Law, provinding Neo-Kantian theory aplied to Law and State. Altough, it is one of the most necessary law books written in the 20th Century, one must prior have read "The Pure Theory of law" in to come about to a thorough understanding of this manificent pice of art. It has been heavilly criticized by those who follow "The Naturist Theory" and mostly by dogmatic waves, including the Catholic Church, for it proves that relativism refers to Democracy and Republic, and dogmaticism referes to Dictatorship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Juvenile Delinquency: Theory, Practice, and Law []  2020-1-26 19:4

    Amazing cost

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Juvenile Delinquency: Theory, Practice, and Law []  2020-1-26 19:4

    Just like picture

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    General Theory of Law And State []  2020-7-17 21:13

    Hans Kelsen (1881-1973) is, for most of jurists, the most necessary legal theorist in 20st Century. Born in Prague, he lived and worked in Austria (till 1930), from then on -due to the political circumstances- in Germany (1930-1933), french Switzerland (1933-1940) and the USA (1940-1973).His main work is the popular "Pure Theory of Law" (1934), a formalistic and structural scheme for interpret modern legal roughout his long and prolific life, across the three various legal traditions (german, french and anglosaxon) in wich he lived, taught and wrote, he published a huge number of articles and e General Theory of Law and State (GTLS) marks a unique phase in his carreer, because it symbolizes not a mere translation of his Pure Theory, but a real american ver of it, because for the first time he confronts with the english and american legal r those who knows the german ver of his Pure Theory, will found the GTLS es a wider and clearer explanation of its main thesis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Juvenile Delinquency: Theory, Practice, and Law []  2020-1-26 19:4

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Juvenile Delinquency: Theory, Practice, and Law []  2020-1-26 19:4

    The book was in amazing condition. Apparently it was a prime rental. The highlights and notes helped me quick track through the chapters. The content material was easily digestible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Juvenile Delinquency: Theory, Practice, and Law []  2020-1-26 19:4

    Product arrived exactly as described. This book is a very interesting read. I never really thought about Juvenile Justice that much, until reading this book. There are private real-life stories in here that will create you question why someone is labeled delinquent. If you are looking for a amazing intro to Juvenlie Justice, or are taking other Crimilnal Justice classes, don't hesitate to obtain this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Juvenile Delinquency: Theory, Practice, and Law []  2020-1-26 19:4

    Amazing book and loved the program

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Juvenile Delinquency: Theory, Practice, and Law []  2020-1-26 19:4

    I believe I rented this, and was so glad I could for school. It saved me a lot of and exactly what i required for class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    General Theory of Law And State []  2020-7-17 21:13

    Kelsen's text is an example of internal coherence and concise argumentation. The book examines fundamental issues of legal thinking, and its' quality deserved to enter into scope of legal classics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    General Theory of Law And State []  2020-7-17 21:13

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Antitrust Law: Economic Theory and Common Law Evolution []  2020-1-15 20:59

    Very helpful for law school finals!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Analysis: History, Theory and Methodology []  2020-9-3 18:52

    This book is simple to read and informative. After the first chapter I had a conversation with a mate and was shocked by how much I had learned. I am currently doing research and wanted to and social network analysis and this book has been unbelievable for helping my place it together. I got it yesterday and read all but one chapter. Then got to work. It is that good. Everything the first reviewer said is true. Buy the book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Analysis: History, Theory and Methodology []  2020-9-3 18:52

    I'm a beginner looking into SNA and this book is exactly what I needed! You don't need a PhD in Sociology to comprehend the simple explanations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Theory and Educational Change []  2020-2-7 18:38

    Social Network Theory and Educational Change really nails the subject of educational change using a special and interesting approach. This book reports high quality research by leading scholars in educational reform/change in a manner that is thoughtful, clear, and can be applied to the work of improving education. As there is so much discussion around the term `social network' it was helpful to have a grounding in the concept both in the outset and conclusion of the book--each chapter contains scholarly and practical insights that create this book useful for a wide dozens of scholars and educators who are interested in educational reform. Unlike other books on educational change, it was amazing to see how social networks can be applied, and how the approach yields necessary insights into the process of change. Although Social Network Theory and Educational Change is focused on education in a broad sense, most of the information/insights can be applied in a wide dozens of settings such as business, healthcare, or any other field that relies on social interactions to obtain work accomplished. One of the most thoughtful and engaging books on educational reform I have read in a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Analysis: History, Theory and Methodology []  2020-9-3 18:52

    a+

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Analysis: History, Theory and Methodology []  2020-9-3 18:52

    The value of this book is that it provides an easily understood introduction to network analysis along with simple to follow instructions for how to carry out different procedures, mostly using UCINET software. It is a amazing concept and the book really is very useful. The main issue with the book is that it is chock full of grammatical errors. If it was just a few I could ignore them, but there are enough so that it is a true distraction. I would like to use this book with students, but I worry that those with amazing language skills will be led to discount the info in the book. I also worry that the book will set a not good example for students who do not have such amazing language skills. I suppose that I could use the book anyway if I vouch for the content and also directly acknowledge that it was not properly edited before publication. I could even give students for being able to search and correct the grammar mistakes in each of the assigned readings in addition to understanding the network concepts that are presented. Regardless of whether or not I am able to use it I am surprised and really disappointed that the editors at Sage would allow so a lot of simple to fix errors obtain into what would otherwise be a amazing small book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Analysis: History, Theory and Methodology []  2020-9-3 18:52

    I read this on the plane from DC to San Francisco. Fast read. It's a super easy and straight forward guide on social networks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Theory and Educational Change []  2020-2-7 18:38

    This book not only provides a amazing overview of social network theory, but it also does an wonderful job at providing evidence for why educational reform is hindered by relationships that exist. So, if you are looking for a amazing description of social network theory, this is the book for you. Or, if you are hoping to better understand the dynamics of educational reform, this book is perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Analysis: History, Theory and Methodology []  2020-9-3 18:52

    Very informative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Theory and Educational Change []  2020-2-7 18:38

    I think this is a amazing book. If you interested in social network analysis and educational research this book must be your best book. This book provides us both theoretical and pratical aspects of social networks and really I think this awesome book includes pioneer rearch of SNA.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Analysis: History, Theory and Methodology []  2020-9-3 18:52

    This is a amazing book. I have several other books on social network analysis (sna) and this one tops them all by far. Prell covers all the basics and more, and the book is clear and organized well. I particularly appreciated the intro on the history of sna. Amazing buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Analysis: History, Theory and Methodology []  2020-9-3 18:52

    A really well-organized and well written book. I haven't finished this book yet, but I have already got a lot out of it. I liked the History chapter, and I especially found helpful the chapter where Prell walks you through how to conduct an SNA study of your own. Most SNA books tend to focus on the analysis of social network data. Prell helps you think about how to gather the data from research questions, design, data collection, theory, and so forth. Also, I thought there was just 'social network theory,' but Prell spelled out the common social theories being used in the field, and gives you lots of examples. I think a lot of people will appreciate the mathematics being placed in textboxes; the book is light on mathematics (she doesn't ignore them, but she presents them in a method that is not intimidating). Buy this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Theory and Educational Change []  2020-2-7 18:38

    Amazing book arrived on time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Analysis: History, Theory and Methodology []  2020-9-3 18:52

    I loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Network Analysis: History, Theory and Methodology []  2020-9-3 18:52

    I believe this is a very useful text book. It makes a difficult topic accessible to a relative novice in the field. I am glad I found a reasonable treatment to help me in my research and carry out different procedures. It provides an simple read while providing a well thought out introduction to network analysis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Resolving Disputes: Theory, Practice, and Law (Aspen Casebook Series) []  2020-1-27 21:15

    An effective and readable textbook covering the wide ranging locations of Alternative Dispute Resolution. The inclusion of social science and philosophy writings adds necessary insight and practical tools to be utilized by lawyers developing effective dispute resolution methods.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Resolving Disputes: Theory, Practice, and Law (Aspen Casebook Series) []  2020-1-27 21:15

    Book was in amazing condition when I received it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    N*gga Theory: Race, Language, Unequal Justice, and the Law []  2020-8-20 19:49

    This book deserves all the praise lavished upon it and more. It is an eye-opener for people like me, who do not have a legal background but care about criminal justice reform. If you’re familiar with Michelle Alexander’s The Fresh Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness, then you understand the unequal treatment Black people face in the criminal justice system due to racialized law enforcement. Armour’s work complicates this picture in two ways. First, he shows that while racialized mass incarceration affects Black people more than any other group, it is not only a law enforcement problem but a much larger systemic problem. He shows that it’s not just that police are biased versus Black people in their law enforcement and arrest them more, and prosecutors are biased and are more likely to pursue harsher outcomes versus Black offenders, and judges are biased and give them harsher sentences, but what created me take message is how Armour points out, and rightly so, that juries carry their anti-black bias into the courtrooms. Likewise, in the fact-finding process, bias rears its ugly head. As Armour points out, until that is remedied by jurors, witnesses, law enforcement, judges, prosecutors, and lawyers becoming aware of this bias and actively working to root it out or courts taking it into consideration, it is impossible for black people in the criminal justice system to obtain a fair trial. The second difference between The Fresh Jim Crow and N*gga Theory is that while Alexander has the reader feel compassion for low-level non-violent offenders, Armour asks us to extend our sympathy towards violent criminals, some of what we regularly consider society’s worst. A tough request and yet after reading this book, one will search himself obliging. Armour’s work is the kind of call for criminal justice reform that should be front and center, especially now that the US is having another racial justice/racial equality awakening moment. This book ties closely into the agenda of Black Lives Matter but takes it further, advocating for systemic change. I highly recommend reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Resolving Disputes: Theory, Practice, and Law (Aspen Casebook Series) []  2020-1-27 21:15

    One of my favorite law books! Filled with techniques and perspectives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    N*gga Theory: Race, Language, Unequal Justice, and the Law []  2020-8-20 19:49

    “Why must our kids be excellent to live?”This question, early on in this book, really bothered me. Not because I don’t hear it from my Black friends, but because the feeling behind it created me wish to cry angry, hopeless tears because this is the very real reality for Black parents all over this supposedly amazing is is by no means an easy, satisfied read...but it is a important one. And yes, parts do read like a college professor’s lecture because that’s exactly what Jody Armour is: a law professor at USC. But within that multitude of info lies the root of America’s issue with Black men and women. A system that inherently favors white people, not good or rich, and the “good” Black people over all other Black people. And by “good”, I mean this: those seeking to be meek, quiet, subservient, hardworking, and utterly excellent in the eyes of America. But even then, our society makes it all too simple to judge solely based on prejudices and he color of one’s mour breaks down the means by which America has divided Black people into specific classes beyond those which are deemed inferior to others. He breaks down the luck or pluck theories by which POC may fall into one life or another. Most importantly, he breaks down exactly how we got where we are and who helped us along that om the revolutionary minds and lyrics of Ice Cube to the penal codes of yesterday and today, this was a compelling read that, at times, was so much info I had to stop, absorb, think about what I’d learned, and then come back for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guiding Children's Social Development and Learning: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-17 19:4

    Amazing price, arrived quickly and exactly as described!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guiding Children's Social Development and Learning: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-17 19:4

    Very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling for Multiculturalism and Social Justice: Integration, Theory, and Application []  2020-7-23 18:28

    Very clean and neat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guiding Children's Social Development and Learning: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-17 19:4

    Used for class-good for book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guiding Children's Social Development and Learning: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-17 19:4

    Amazing read for anyone who need help with children’s social development

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guiding Children's Social Development and Learning: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-17 19:4

    I required this for a course in Graduate school, but all educators working with kids 0 to 18 will benefit from this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-8 18:23

    Fresh textbook. Method less expensive here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Theory: Continuity and Confrontation: A Reader, Third Edition []  2020-2-6 21:51

    Books devalue quick but this book was a lot more latest semester.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theory of Social Choice on Networks: Preference, Aggregation, and Coordination []  2020-7-31 18:44

    The book I received lacks a whole chapter of about 40 pages!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object Relations Theory and Self Psychology in Social Work Practice []  2020-1-31 6:42

    Bonus for my daughter. She loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object Relations Theory and Self Psychology in Social Work Practice []  2020-1-31 6:42

    Amazing product. Item received quickly and in condition seller stated. Would from this seller ank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Theory: Continuity and Confrontation: A Reader, Third Edition []  2020-2-6 21:51

    The readings are fine, but what textbook DOESN'T HAVE AN INDEX?! It's madness!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object Relations Theory and Self Psychology in Social Work Practice []  2020-1-31 6:42

    This book combines various theories and compares them with one another. If one would like to understand the differences between traditional psychoanalysis, attachment, and self-psychology, this book is a must.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object Relations Theory and Self Psychology in Social Work Practice []  2020-1-31 6:42

    A amazing introduction to object relations and self psychology. Breaks down the the theories succinctly, understandably and manageably. Very readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object Relations Theory and Self Psychology in Social Work Practice []  2020-1-31 6:42

    amazing material, not as convenient for research as I would like - solid information, not as scannable and thus researchable as I need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-8 18:23

    Dense and difficult to read. However, if you contact the publisher there is an E-Book, which is simple to navigate and read. There are also videos that correspond to the text and practice tests. Buy the E-Book, not the hard cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-8 18:23

    This is a amazing first year MSW Social Work book. Simple to understand sometimes repetitive in nature. Applicable to MSW licensure regulation. Seller shipped quick and packing was exceptional.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-8 18:23

    I received this book for my masters degree. It came as promised and on time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-8 18:23

    Back to school...New MSW student taking a generalist y read chapters one and two so is extremely frustrating to read. If you must obtain this book: rent it, don’t it. You will not use this book later in your career. Learn from my mistake and save yourself $s know that this is a beginner course, yet they continuously reference things and provide the newbie reader with absolutely zero context. "Ok, this person said that...so what? Who the heck is this person and why should I trust him?" It would be helpful if authors did break outs or provided footnotes to historical references or people. Also, as a generalist textbook, would be helpful if authors defined the concepts they reference. A lot of times, it's like, "cars take people to the doctor." ...Ok, so what the heck is a car? Other times, they define a theory, compare it to another theory, yet omit parts of other theory. "John has two hands. Patrick has two feet." ...Ok, so does john have two feet? Does Patrick have any hands? Does Patrick have three hands? Who knows...So far, no supplemental material is referenced: no hyperlinksHopefully, authors/publisher will improve the 11th edition...you read that right, ELEVENTH!!! This 10th edition is very weak and is published to rob me. Social justice hypocrites.If you, like me, need to read this book for class, I suggest you supplement readings with pitchers of wine.Will modernize review if later chapters improve...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-8 18:23

    This book is clear, interesting, and detailed. It is thorough and my only regret is that I rented it rather than buying it. Also, I've learned that if you it from the publisher Cengage, you can access videos and additional content you can't access wen you it on Amazon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-8 18:23

    This product came in as expected and was in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sport, Theory and Social Problems: A Critical Introduction []  2020-1-8 19:4

    My graduate sport sociology professor told us we required this book and has said may times that she doesn't like the method they write, the method they write about situations, and they do not cover important info needed. They use all private satires about their past to relate to every situation in society. Not a amazing book, not good writing and analogies, and none of my classmates like it either. DO NOT USE for your class!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object Relations Theory and Self Psychology in Social Work Practice []  2020-1-31 6:42

    amazing book for object relations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object Relations Theory and Self Psychology in Social Work Practice []  2020-1-31 6:42

    This is going to be my career go-to book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Theory: Continuity and Confrontation: A Reader, Third Edition []  2020-2-6 21:51

    I purchased rid book for my social theory class this past spring. The readings are going to be tough at some point, but the selection of readings and the concepts inside are fundamental to understanding society and its structures. That said, if this book is a needed text, there's no method you can avoid buying this. It's probably going to be used heavily and its going to be integral to the course. I've created it through some classes where I've been able to avoid buying a text, one method or another, but not with this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-8 18:23

    will use this text for additional reading assignments

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object Relations Theory and Self Psychology in Social Work Practice []  2020-1-31 6:42

    Eda- where were you for the suggested/highly recommended reading from my psychodynamic social work track this past year at my universery? I love have you have simplified the hurrendous complexity of psychoanalysis/psychodynamic work from the past century. Thank you, thank you for helping me write my paper comparing ORT and Self Psychology!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-8 18:23

    The physical book of this is very badly edited, as I assume it was originally written as an ebook and then converted for publishing physically. There are references throughout, multiple times in every chapter (sometimes multiple references on a page) to videos that are not accessible in any method from the physical book - no URL or CD provided at all. I assume those are links in the ebook, but considering how a lot of of them there are, it's a MAJOR resource missing from the physical version. Content-wise, this is comprehensive but not as useful pr accessible as The Social Work Skills Handbook, which I rented but may to have on-hand for reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice: Theory and Skills []  2020-1-8 18:23

    Bought it for my daughters social worker clases .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sport, Theory and Social Problems: A Critical Introduction []  2020-1-8 19:4

    If it wasn’t needed for one of my classes I would’ve never read this book, and for amazing reason too. The author seems to write as in a diary or spill of private preferences and perspectives rather than provide educational facts. I would place zero stars if I could.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Object Relations Theory and Self Psychology in Social Work Practice []  2020-1-31 6:42

    There are now a number of wildly famous "spiritual" books citing the conquer of the ego as the ultimate path to happiness and spiritual evolution. Despite a number of obvious private differences with the Christian Right, Eda unveils insights about the self, ego, and social development that are far more valuable as tutorials to true spiritual progress than a lot of the "Eastern" fluff books.With incisive wit, deep insights, and carefully selected and documented info from research, her own practice, historical analysis and intuition, this sweet hearted light contributes a wealth of insights with the mental power of an Arendt, without leaving the lay reader behind. Even though this title has become the standard for bridging Psych OR theory and true life SW practice, it deserves a much wider audience of anyone seriously interested in spiritual development. The Baha'i Philosophy Review has marked this as a must read, and Oprah needs to take note! Beyond the need to feel necessary each kid must develop to survive, beyond the social pressures to develop ego, Goldstein gives us peeks at other possiblities for happiness not based on is author hosted a group of the world's top transplant surgeons in NY some years ago, and asked "What if the ultimate purpose of life is to abandon the ego, not feed it?" The 20 plus global medical geniuses around the table answered, "It probably is, but I wonder if we'd have the confidence to do what we do without that structure?" Support us with this one, Doc!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theory and Practice of Item Response Theory (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2019-12-18 20:34

    Amazing book of the introductory IRT

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theory and Practice of Item Response Theory (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2019-12-18 20:34

    If you wish to read one book on item response theory, from the perspective of psychology or behavioral sciences, this should be it. In a highly readable method it presents concepts of IRT, without requiring to work through the mathematics. If however you wish to learn the primary math, this is also present, again highly readable, and not requiring extensive knowledge of linear algebra, calculus. After trying to study articles bristling with symbols not explained in the text, this is really a revelation. With some attention, I promise you really will understand the it, read it, and use it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theory and Practice of Item Response Theory (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2019-12-18 20:34

    I ordered this book knowing very small about Item Response Theory (IRT). The author gives an perfect introduction with nice explanations of the concepts involved. There are some amazing comparisons with Classical Try Theory (CTT) which will support those more familiar with those concepts create the leap to IRT.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theory and Practice of Item Response Theory (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2019-12-18 20:34

    I reference this book often in my studies. Perfect resource to have on hand when doing IRT analyses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theory and Practice of Item Response Theory (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2019-12-18 20:34

    This book served as an perfect resource for my dissertation. It was full of good, necessary info but also quite readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theory and Practice of Item Response Theory (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2019-12-18 20:34

    I picked up several books on the topic and found this to be one of the better introductions to the title material: theory and methods for IRT. If you are doing any kind of testing or scale construction, IRT is a important tool in your kit and one that is increasingly viewed as superior to "Classical Try Theory". This book will give you all the primary theory required to obtain started and, in combination with any of a number of R packages, start scaling. This will change your understanding of the seemingly obvious task of measuring constructs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theory and Practice of Item Response Theory (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2019-12-18 20:34

    amazing introductory book to IRT!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theory and Practice of Item Response Theory (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2019-12-18 20:34

    An perfect book for both research and e examples are very useful for understanding IRT models. The corresponding code written in Bilog or Multilog or Parscale and data sets can be downloaded from the author's homepage freely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theory and Practice of Item Response Theory (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2019-12-18 20:34

    very comprehensive book on item response theory. It's also very well written.- simple enough for me, a beginner, to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theory and Practice of Item Response Theory (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2019-12-18 20:34

    I had no previous experience with IRT but this book helped me to learn the basics. I highly recommend it to the novice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Authority without Power: Law and the Japanese Paradox (Studies on Law and Social Control) []  2020-1-17 22:1

    One of the most authoritative books on Japan; a bit dry and repetitive, but valuable; a primary reading requirement for Japanese study

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Saving the Neighborhood: Racially Restrictive Covenants, Law, and Social Norms []  2020-6-11 20:4

    Interesting look at race-based deed restrictions as part of a continuum of discriminatory tactics, including violence and social norms on one end and mortgage lending and zoning for exclusion on the other. Also presents a really interesting history of the "innovation" and effort place into making covenants stronger and legally y concern was a level of repetitiveness that I found distracting in later chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Role of Law in Social Work Practice and Administration []  2020-1-31 7:47

    Not as in depth as I would have liked, but covers a dozens of areas. It was for a class and it did the job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Social Media Communication: Concepts, Practices, Data, Law and Ethics []  2020-1-21 21:0

    This book reads like 300 National Enquirer newspapers packed together, sprinkled with undefined keywords and no continuity of thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Authority without Power: Law and the Japanese Paradox (Studies on Law and Social Control) []  2020-1-17 22:1

    It worth reading, I think, for social study. Legal view is general but essential to understand the roots of Japanese social model. It can be interesting for the politicians, not the lawyers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Role of Law in Social Work Practice and Administration []  2020-1-31 7:47

    Amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Role of Law in Social Work Practice and Administration []  2020-1-31 7:47

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law and Society Reader: Readings on the Social Study of Law []  2020-8-25 20:13

    This book is very useful in to understand the coorelation between society and law. Futhermore, it helps understanding the concept of justice. Thanks to the seller I was able to complete a lot of complex assigments for my college. I highly recomment this seller for people who wish to have serios transcations without delays.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory: Selected Provisions: Restatement of Contracts and Uniform Commercial Code, 2013 Edition []  2020-1-26 22:20

    This format is much better. I have 5 courses and a lot of books, so, the hard copies weight too much and will give you a hard time during those busy law school days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory: Selected Provisions: Restatement of Contracts and Uniform Commercial Code, 2013 Edition []  2020-1-26 22:20

    Textbook was in amazing condition- for my son.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Measurement Theory and Applications for the Social Sciences (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2020-1-21 20:21

    Book arrived as described. Clear explanations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Contract Law and Theory: Selected Provisions: Restatement of Contracts and Uniform Commercial Code, 2013 Edition []  2020-1-26 22:20

    This book is extremely unpractical: things are ridiculously difficult to find, the index is useless and the format is totally unhelpful. It mixes the actual articles and sections with comments and other things that are not part of the law, and if you begin a page, you never know on first sight in what part of the law you are, you have to go back and search some title somewhere. Codes have indexes on the bottom of every page so you know what part you are reading, but this very expensive book has nothing of the sort. If they were going to charge for something that you can easily search for in the internet, they should've at least place some effort in it... Next time I have to a thing like this, I'll just the law, I will be much better off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Measurement Theory and Applications for the Social Sciences (Methodology in the Social Sciences) []  2020-1-21 20:21

    satisfied with this order. everything was as described. thanks! 5/5.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Duped: Truth-Default Theory and the Social Science of Lying and Deception []  2020-8-9 19:34

    This book is better than I expected. A lot better. The author is no Malcolm Gladwell (whose book steered me to this book), and the book is not an simple and light read. But that is a amazing thing in some ways. The author is reporting on a career's worth of research into lying and deception, and he knows the topic better than anybody. You obtain the true in this book.And what is the true deal? The author points out that, unfortunately, we are poor at real-time lie detection. We cannot tell whether someone is lying by visual cues. A lot of think, for example, that liars avoid eye contact, or say inconsistent things, or shift in their chairs. None of that is rtunately, though, there are ways to search out if people are lying, mainly by trying to confirm what they are saying. Probe with questions that obtain into locations you know something about already. Test to fact-check after the fact. Realize that most people are not amazing liars, and default to the truth. A little number are prolific and perfect liars, though, and those are very hard to detect, but not impossible.I also like the author's rather unusual writing style. It may not appeal to some, but he writes frankly and without pretense or flourish. For instance, he praises one fellow deception researcher and it's not hard to search the reason why. She was just his student and now she's his wife. Another deception researcher, however, he does not much care for (though he does not tell the reasons why). He shows that though science is an intellectual discipline, human feelings play a huge role even in how science gets done.Another interesting point the author makes is that though visual cues are not amazing ways to detect lies, people still think they are. So when you are saying things that you wish people to believe, be careful how you come across. Otherwise, you may not be believed even though you are telling the truth!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386