Read legal maxims with observations and cases reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all legal maxims with observations and cases reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    dank vapedank legal buds for sale []  2020-6-8 19:23

    Buy Mimosa online Buy strawberry shortcake Buy Cannabis flower Buy jungle boys buy Topanga Canyon online buy Girl Scout Cookies Buy orange cookies Buy kiva online Buy sundae driver strain buy kiva online buy kingpen online Buy Chocolate truffles buy bruce banner strain Buy Grenadine cookies canada Buy moon rocks weed where can i gorilla glue Buy Biscotti online buy ogkush purple kush online kush seeds for in united states of america Buy White runtz Buy pink runtz wholesale thc oil cartridge lemon haze for sale One hitter weed for sale brass knuckles cartridge for online la vapors wholesale dank legal buds for sale sour diesel weed online weed for online cheap best online weed store weed online shopping kingpen cartridges price buy ounce of weed online Buy cannabis online Gucci cart herban supply co edipure edibles harlequin oil dank bud for sale

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    horse riding tales - ride with friends []  2020-5-19 15:11

    So i just updated it yesterday and when i got on 2 hours after the detail was all GONE !!!! I have a rare horse the black and white one spotted and then u couldn't see the spots left i wanted to begin over but i just got on lvl 7 and 6 horses already the barn detail and everything so i got on it this morning to see that maybe it was just a glitch but i was 100% WRONG. But other than that i love this android game but just one question why does the wild mode have to like 86 gems or your horse has to be level 100 why just it be i wanted to roleplay with my with other people but i have to be a wild horse so why not create it free. But i have you have my 100 help if u wish to create any changes pls fix this problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-1-22 1:48

    This book had missing chapters which caused me to fail two of my exams. It jumps from page 362 to page 427. So you could imagine the amount of info I was missing for my class. Chapter 16 through 19 were missing from this book. Please do not rent this book. I have also taken images of the book as well to ensure that this is not a joke.

    0  


    Add your opinion on legal maxims with observations and cases or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-1-22 1:48

    the copy I got is missing pages 363-426. it's in amazing quality, but missing two chapter entirely is unaccpetable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-1-22 1:48

    This book will not begin on Kindle Cloud Reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    West's Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-7-24 19:42

    Bought this book because it was cheaper than Ebay. Book has a lot of info in it which may seem boring for most people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    West's Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-7-24 19:42

    The condition of the book is good, though the hardcover is a small broken, the text does not have too a lot of marks and highlights that infect reading. worth the money!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    West's Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-7-24 19:42

    saved $40 buying this book. its a beautiful amazing book with concrete simple to read terms and cases

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-1-22 1:48

    My book is missing 3 full chapters. It jumps from page 360 to page 430

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-1-22 1:48

    Amazing book, method too expensive. Really simple to understand examples and commentary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    West's Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-7-24 19:42

    You can't go wrong with this book. Amazing content, plus if you are having problem sleeping...open it up. This is a amazing resource for understanding our legal environment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    West's Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-7-24 19:42

    purchased this book - was in perfect condition - was a very amazing as opposed to the at the universitythank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-1-22 1:48

    This is a amazing book . But the Kindle ver is poor if you need to cite anything . Primary functions like copying or even highlighting is not supported !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-1-22 1:48

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    West's Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-7-24 19:42

    Amazing Book, Perfect price, As a Business Law student i would recomend this book to fam and friends, i saved a lot of money. Thanks. Satisfied Customer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    West's Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-7-24 19:42

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-1-22 1:48

    Carrying a massive and thick textbook to class daily is an unnecessary struggle; therefore, choosing a LooseLeaf over a traditional textbook is convenient if you want to decrease the weight in school materials. Personally, when attending my Management 240 course, we primarily focused on one chapter for two to three days so naturally I would put within my class binder only the chapter pages needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    West's Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-7-24 19:42

    Book was needed for school. Very detailed on the legal environment of business and business law. I kept it because, who knows, it might come in handy some day :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-1-22 1:48

    I received this product and the pages and chapters are all out of and repeat. How am I supposed to complete my work from this? Ridiculous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-1-22 1:48

    Perfect condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    West's Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-7-24 19:42

    I really like it how its a lot thinner and lighter than the older version. I have to carry lots of books up the hill to classes so i'm thankful for light books. The content is very good, not much various from the newer edition after this one. Very amazing for people who don't understand law. It lays amazing primary grounds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    West's Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases []  2020-7-24 19:42

    It is a used book, but it arrived a lot sooner than expected, just in time for class. I was soo greatful. Thanks a whole lot!!!!! No torn pages and the cover is in perfect condition, just a few highlights, which definitely do not bother me. It was at a amazing price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims and Reflections: Illustrated (Evergreen series) []  2020-2-2 4:0

    I say this is essential reading, but this is more real for someone familiar with Goethe. This is not to say that the casual reader will not search something of value, but 'Maxims and Reflections' is as much a reflection of Goethe and what he held real and interesting, as it is a collection of "wise sayings."I think it would be helpful to a potential reader to review here some of the Maxims and Reflections, with me are simplistic: "Behaviour is a mirror in which everyone shows his image."Some are interesting, and one will see the truth in them upon some reflection. These may not really educate, but they are interesting in themselves: "There is something horrifying about a man of outstanding excellence of whom stupid people are proud."Some are statements of what most of us would agree with easily, but they are necessary because they shed light upon the man and his concerns. For example, we often see how concerned he is with certain kinds of people being dangerous: "Fools and smart people are equally undamaging. Half-fools and half-sages, these are the most risky of all."Some are incomprehensible: "Work makes the journeyman."Some are enigmatic, at least to me: "Wisdom is to be found only in truth."Some are observations that are not too profound but which will serve as meal for thought: "Human nature needs to be numbed from time to time, but without being place to sleep; hence smoking, spirits, opiates."Some are simply private beliefs, and we need to know that Goethe beleived such-and-such a thing: "Painting and tattooing the body is a return to animality."Some are profound truths or observations, and will serve as meal for a lot of thought: "Time is itself an element." "Mysteries do not as yet amount to miracles." "Truth is contrary to our nature, not so error, and this for a very easy reason: truth demands that we should recognize ourselves as limited, error flatters us that, in one method or another, we are unlimited." In this latest one, for example, we obtain an idea about the kind of simple, pragmatic reasoning the amazing man often me are statements by others, in other languages, and it is an interesting exercise to test and see why the amazing man included these in the Maxims and Reflections: " L'amour est un vrai recommenceur. [Love is truly a fresh beginning.] "Some are classic maxims, which are oft-quoted, even today: "There is nothing more dreadful than active ignorance." This example also serves to present that the translation is really poor in places: that phrase *really* deserves to be translated "ignorance in action".And some are difficult to comprehend - but when makes the effort, they turn out to be absolute gems: "The first and latest thing demanded of genius is love of truth."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims and Reflections: Illustrated (Evergreen series) []  2020-2-2 4:0

    Buyer beware, the Amazon "look Inside" feature does not accurately reflect what will be shipped to you. There is a pop up "Just so you know" feature that alerts to this at the very top, want I'd noted this before as there are HUGE differences in formatting and professionalism of the overall product. You could probably search a better (PDF) ver for on the internet. Stay away from this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims and Reflections: Illustrated (Evergreen series) []  2020-2-2 4:0

    I was very disappointed in the quality of this book; I guess it goes to present that genius in other fields of literature and art do not necessarilly translate into writing effective y of Goethe's reflections included here lack any punch--there is nothing unexpected in them, no fresh method of seeing things or flash of insight. A lot of of the statements that he seemed proud of seemed to be obvious or uninteresting to me. A lot of others concerned Goethe's peculiar (and incorrect) view of science. As an ex-scientist I found these, in general, to more exasperating than enlightening. A lot of of the reflections were rather long and rambling, lacking the tightness and economy that characterizes the best aphorisms. As a final complaint, a lot of of the maxims are not really individual thoughts at all. Instead Goethe simply broke up longer arguments into individual sentences and gave them each their seperate number as if they were stand-alone maxims.Overall, I found small that was memorable or stimulating in this book. Perhaps the lack is in me ("When a book and a head collide and a hollow sound ensues, must it always come from the book?"--Anton Kuh); maybe I simply don't have an affinity for Goethe's thought. But I wouldn't recommend this book. Instead pick up a work by one of the real masters of the form: Nietzsche, Lichtenberg, and La Rochefoucauld.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims and Reflections: Illustrated (Evergreen series) []  2020-2-2 4:0

    Is Goethe dead? His immense reputation in the 19th century among English writers (Lewes wrote a splendid biography of him, Carlyle translated WILHELM MEISTER, Arnold and George Eliot considered him one of the greatest writers ever, etc.)isn't merely diminshed, it's disappear from sight.James Joyce punningly said that the amazing masters were "Dainty, Gouty, and Shopkeeper". T.S. Eliot was ready to agree with 2/3 of that estimate, but he disliked Goethe, mostly because Goethe was indifferent to Christianity (though not necessarily to some form of Theism).I admit that Goethe has something of the quality of a stuffed shirt. His Weimar days are hard to fathom, why he wanted to be an official, and often he seems to be speaking ex cathedra when his opinions are just garden-variety stuff.If you don't read German, his lyric poetry is a closed book, in spite of David Luke's perfect translations in a Penguin paperback. His scientific pursuits are more of biographical than intrinsic interest, and FAUST is best digested in little amounts (and Book 2 can be safely ignored).Still, there's enough in his novels and books like the one I'm reviewing to create him interesting to read. He's harder to appreciate than Dante, and of course Shakespeare is the major figure in Joyce's trio. Nevertheless, it's simple to understand why his status was once greater than it can be to a modern common reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims and Reflections: Illustrated (Evergreen series) []  2020-2-2 4:0

    This little book has held more inspiration and caused me to pause and reflect more than any other I have read. I search myself circling the number preceding the most poignant passages so I can return to them at a later time of need. It is as essential as the works of the amazing philosophers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims and Reflections: Illustrated (Evergreen series) []  2020-2-2 4:0

    I'd never read any Goethe before but found these maxims to be spectacular. Some short favorites: "Behavior is a mirror in which everyone shows his image." "Tell me whom you consort with and I will tell you who you are.” “Absolute activity, of whatever kind, ultimately leads to bankruptcy.” Like all books of maxims this is better not to read cover to cover but in spurts, and of course, to read more than once. Other amazing books of maxims are Publius Syrus and La Rochefoucauld.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims and Reflections: Illustrated (Evergreen series) []  2020-2-2 4:0

    Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (born Aug. 28,1749,Frankfurt am Main-died March 22,1832,Weimar,Saxe-Weimar). German poet,novelist,playright and natural philosopher.His chief masterpiece,the philosophical drama FAUST (Part 1,1808;Part 11 1832) concerns the struggle of the soul for knowledge,power,happiness and xims and Reflections is a collection of thoughts and observations, covering a wide dozens of subjects.His thoughts on ethics,literature,art and the natural sciences are portrayed in 6 Sections. 1-FROM ELECTED AFFINITIES (1809),FROM ART AND ANTIQUITY IN written from 1818-1827,FROM THE PERIODICAL ISSUES ON MORHOLOGY(1822),FROM THE PERIODICAL ISSUES ON THE NATURAL SCIENCES(1823),FROM WILHELM MEISTER'S JOURNEYMAN YEARS(1829),And ere are 1,413 maxims and reflections from the one of the giants of globe 's pocket size. Short, sweet and expressive obervations on life in an eloquent and laconic style.I carry it with me is a small taste:"...hatred is active displeasure,envy is passive,hence one not be suprised when envy turns into hatred..." #247 from ART AN ANTIQUITY"...a merry companion is like a cart to give us a lift along our way..."#236 from ART AND ANTIQUITY"...when a rainbow latest more than a quarter of an hour,we stop looking at it...#161- From ART AND ANTIQUITY

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims and Reflections: Illustrated (Evergreen series) []  2020-2-2 4:0

    This is my first Goethe reading, and I was very unimpressed. I was turned on to Goethe after reading a couple insightful quotes used in articles, but found the book to be incredibly dry and uninspiring...not to mention below expectations for one of the most highly regarded German writers of all times. Puzzled, I found the quote that encouraged me to read Goethe in the first place..."No one is more hopelessly enslaved, than the person who falsely believes he is free."Not bad, right? Right...but this translation was from the *article* I read, not the book/translation being reviewed. In the book/translation being reviewed, the quote read as follows..."No one is more a slave that the one who thinks he is without being free."Wow! Just flows off the tongue. Don't we think that a master of the German language would use stronger language? Wouldn't we expect verbage more related to the former rather than the latter example? Wouldn't we expect one of the greatest writers of all time to paint a gripping visual rather than dribble out some wisdom?I think so. I'm going to go out on a limb and trust centuries of readers and critics. 300 years can't be e stark difference b/w the two examples leads me to believe that the translation we are reviewing is either very poor, or very literal. I am by no means a German authority (I have enough problem with English) and I haven't researched this enough to draw any other conclusions, but I HAVE to give Goethe the benefit of the doubt. I think a various translation may be more moving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Text and Cases: Legal, Ethical, Global, and Corporate Environment []  2020-1-17 21:25

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Text and Cases: Legal, Ethical, Global, and Corporate Environment []  2020-1-17 21:25

    Amazing book for the class and very minimal highlights. However the binding has multiple layers of packaging tape and rough edges. It was marked as perfect condition but should be good/ used condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases: Ethical, Regulatory, Global, and Corporate Issues []  2020-1-17 21:42

    If you need a book for school

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases: Ethical, Regulatory, Global, and Corporate Issues []  2020-1-17 21:42

    Had to obtain this for my business law class. It appears really daunting at first; however, it is surprisingly simple to follow and not as dry as I first thought it would be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases: Ethical, Regulatory, Global, and Corporate Issues []  2020-1-17 21:42

    another over priced college text book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Text and Cases: Legal, Ethical, Global, and Corporate Environment []  2020-1-17 21:25

    This is a huge book full of legal info and cases in various fields. I used this book in my MBA Law class (a lot of reading). It created the course interesting and facilitated some animated discussions among the students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Text and Cases: Legal, Ethical, Global, and Corporate Environment []  2020-1-17 21:25

    It is a amazing manual, clear and with amazing examples, well bound.I don't like the choiche of full color coated paper: it's annoying when reading below powerful lights, the color is completely useless, I think to justify the outrageous tag.I still can't wrap my mind around the fact that for over two hundred dollars, an electronic ver of the book is not included. A book without the "search" feature in the XXI century is hopelessly obsolete.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Text and Cases: Legal, Ethical, Global, and Corporate Environment []  2020-1-17 21:25

    The electronic ver was helpful. I felt the book was a amazing read. Well written and understandable for me as a novice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Text and Cases: Legal, Ethical, Global, and Corporate Environment []  2020-1-17 21:25

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases: Ethical, Regulatory, Global, and Corporate Issues []  2020-1-17 21:42

    Needed for class. Learned a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases: Ethical, Regulatory, Global, and Corporate Issues []  2020-1-17 21:42

    Summerizes business legal principles in a clear, concise, and understandable ank God I don't have to read hundreds of pages of old legal precidents like in other law books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Text and Cases: Legal, Ethical, Global, and Corporate Environment []  2020-1-17 21:25

    Very amazing detailed book. Takes me back to my old college days in business school. This book info almost everything you need to know and to use to prevent litigation versus any business you own or manage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Text and Cases: Legal, Ethical, Global, and Corporate Environment []  2020-1-17 21:25

    It's actually a very approachable text and interesting. I actually dropped this class (to take next quarter instead) but I'm keeping the book. I can't imagine covering all the info thoroughly in one quarter. I'm going to read it on my own so I can create sure to obtain all of it in...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases: Ethical, Regulatory, Global, and Corporate Issues []  2020-1-17 21:42

    I agree with the other reviewer that this book was a pleasant surprise. I bought this for my business law class but found myself using this for my homework in ALL my classes, instead of the books I had for them. This book explained in better detail things that other textbooks failed e cases that they note under various subjects really support to grasp the concepts. I didn't realize that until several chapters in, but now I create it a point to read them. (Make sure you take the time -- it helps!)Unfortunately, I rented this book. Otherwise, I would hold it. If I search that I begin needing to refer back to it, I will likely just a copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases: Ethical, Regulatory, Global, and Corporate Issues []  2020-1-17 21:42

    amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases: Ethical, Regulatory, Global, and Corporate Issues []  2020-1-17 21:42

    I am renting this book because it's a requirement for my business law class. I didn't wish to the book because it was so expensive. But with Amazon rent, I was able to rent it for a very price. The book is in a very clean condition. no tears or anything. So far I've only seen a few highlight marks here an there, but that doesn't bother me at all.I am very happy with the and I love the fact that I don't have to when I have to return this book back to amazon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Text and Cases: Legal, Ethical, Global, and Corporate Environment []  2020-1-17 21:25

    I rented this book because it is needed by the university as a textbook. But now I think I will my own copy. I think it's a must have book for any person who wants to avoid being 's very informative and EASY to read and understand. It's written for the common man, not a is book will save me a lot of lawyer and consultation fees. It will also probably save me from being a victim of 's very enlightening.A law abiding citizen :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Text and Cases: Legal, Ethical, Global, and Corporate Environment []  2020-1-17 21:25

    I am currently taking a Business Law class that needed the 13th Edition, but this works just fine. The chapters are on various pages but it's what I need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases: Ethical, Regulatory, Global, and Corporate Issues []  2020-1-17 21:42

    I had to this for a legal class in my MBA program. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. The material was simple to absorb, even for someone with small pre-knowledge of served as a unbelievable overview, providing high level detail that is easily searched using the index. The case studies are amazing illustrations of the points within the chapters. The questions at the end give the student or reader the ability to apply what is learned in the previous chapter.I would recommend this to anyone that is looking to learn a amazing bit about a broad dozens of law topics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Legal Environment of Business: Text and Cases: Ethical, Regulatory, Global, and Corporate Issues []  2020-1-17 21:42

    Considering it's a $200 brand fresh and I got it for $20 I can't complain about the few pages that are highlighted and underlined! Would and will again for future books I need!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Principles and Cases in the Legal Environment (Aspen College Series) []  2020-2-2 2:52

    Super informational but still simple to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Law: Principles and Cases in the Legal Environment (Aspen College Series) []  2020-2-2 2:52

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Observations []  2020-1-31 21:46

    The Foreword to this publication, not in the original, is as amazing an indication as anything as to the value of this book. It also slightly changes one of Shah’s actual observations. It states - “Words, they say, are the meal of minds. But, unlike other foods, they can do small by themselves. Turn words, such as those in this small book of observations, over and over in your own mind, stretching them in all directions, and an alchemy takes place. Question what you think you know, and what you believe exists, and the respond is likely to be the inverse of what you might first have assumed to be true.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims (Classics) []  2019-12-20 18:33

    The formatting for this Kindle ver is horrible but the content itself is full of insights. As the author once said, quotes/aphorisms are fastest ways to victory arguments or to end arguments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Casenote Legal Briefs: Contracts: Keyed to Crandall and Whaley's Cases, Problems, and Materials on Contracts, 5th Ed. []  2020-7-13 20:5

    This book is practically helpful outline in the class. I am very much thankful for the book conditions. THANK YOU AGAIN.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legal Terms Dictionary: Complete 1000+ Essential Legal Terms And Phrases Explained With Examples For Students And Legal Professionals []  2020-6-19 19:21

    This book is ideal for me and it set in the right path to improving my legal writing skills and helping me build my knowledge of legal terminology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims (Classics) []  2019-12-20 18:33

    This tranalation lacks the elegance and wit of the Kronenberger translation. To have fun the Duc's observations, look for a copy of that version, published by Random House in 1959.#9, for instance, in Kronenberger is "The passions are so selfish and unjust that, even when they seem most reasonable, to indulge them is a danger, to defy them a duty." This edition renders the maxim in a much more pedestrian way: "Our passions are so governed by injustice and self-interest that they are risky guides, suspect them most when they appear most logical."I am not convinced that fundamental passions are govened by intellect, logic or reason.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims (Classics) []  2019-12-20 18:33

    La Rochefoucauld has a reputation as a cynic, but being called cynical can be an occupational hazard for truth tellers, . A lot of of his sayings are quite breathtaking to this lover of truth. Highly recommended. This is a well-translated edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims (Classics) []  2019-12-20 18:33

    So insightful and snarky. Le Duc de La Rochefoucauld was definitely a man ahead of his time. His observations and comments on society are still applicable in a lot of ways. Were he around today he would likely have his own talk show. A amazing read for someone who loves philosophy without the attached pretension.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims (Classics) []  2019-12-20 18:33

    His Maxims are excellent in describing human nature in only a few sentences. Even though that he wrote these maxims a long time ago they are still relevant today because human nature, love and other things that he talks about hasn't changed from when he wrote these maxims to today. There is a lot that people can learn by reading this book. I would recommend anyone to this book because it is a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims (Classics) []  2019-12-20 18:33

    These maxims, though brief, speak volumes about their author and the human condition. Francois duc do La Rouchefoucauld was cursed with a double nature which led him in his career as a courtier to, as Leonard Tanner puts it in his introduction "romantic self-dedication followed by bitter disillusion." After the fighting in Paris of 1652 he retired to a quiet life of contemplation and the society of such mates as Mme de Sevigne, who's letters give us such a vibrant window upon that age. It was during the a lot of meetings he had with these mates that the first maxims evolved, and which he would continue to compose and excellent until his death in 1680. Nothing quite like them had ever existed before in European literature, and their precision and bleak though biting wit would shape the style of French letters for centuries to come. Essential reading for the student of the school of hard knocks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims (Classics) []  2019-12-20 18:33

    Rich with aphorisms that ring real today. A r example, "212. Folly pursues us throughout our lives, and the man whom we call wise is he whose follies are proportionate to his age and to his fortune."This Kindle ver is not perfect, but the text at least is properly typed. Having this in electronic format is amazing for fast reads and for highlighting favorites, which Kindle also conveniently allows you to post to FB.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims (Classics) []  2019-12-20 18:33

    It was a needed book for a course called "The Skeptic Mind" & spawned interesting discussions. I probably wouldn't have thought to it otherwise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims (Classics) []  2019-12-20 18:33

    “The steadfastness of the wise is but the art of keeping their agitation locked in their hearts.” (I’ll place in some more of my favorite quotes after each paragraph I write)François Duc De La Rochefoucauld was a French philosopher who lived 1613-80. This work, known widely as simply the Maxims, was his greatest accomplishment, and one of the defining works characterizing the thought of the French people as a whole during the latter 17th century. It’s certainly not what we are used to from philosophy, neither structured logical deductions, nor rigorous narrative. Rather, the Maxims is just what its name implies, full of mostly single sentence maxims, about 504 of which were published during his lifetime and another 136 only appearing posthumously. Do not be deceived by the easy nature of mere sentences though. La Rouchefoucauld published these individual insights into human nature as his entire life’s work.“Desire to appear clever often prevents our becoming so.”Written with only a loose organization, each individual maxim truly can stand alone as a single thought without much connection to its surroundings. They are mostly his philosophy of human nature written out of careful observations throughout his life. While alive, he was at times celebrated, others destitute, some famous, yet even more circumstances left him brokenhearted. However, his life was not so much various from a normal one like ours. What marks La Rochefoucauld out is his capacity for introspection and keen observation which penetrated the surface appearances as a type of x-ray into the heart of the human person.“Nobody deserves to be praised for goodness unless he is powerful enough to be bad, for any other goodness is usually merely inertia or lack of will power.”This is, by all definitions, an absolutely terrifying read. As I created my method through, I had to hold a pencil nearby to star all of the maxims that were particularly insightful for me. I cannot say that I have read any other book, besides perhaps Albert Camus’ The Stranger (Link to my review), that I felt got behind my skin and into the secrets of my heart. As a Christian, this work was an examination of our common tendency towards self-righteousness, as well as a warning versus thinking too highly of our own potential, individual or collective apart from God’s help.“We own up to minor failings, but only so as to convince others that we have no major ones.”La Rouchefoucauld was especially talented at exposing the reasons why people often act virtuously. Though certainly not a brute fact, we often seem to have reasons for being amazing other than our supposed virtuous hero or amazing intentions. A lot of times we are doing it for ourselves, whether it is to be praised, to initiate a social obligation (aka a favor) to be redeemed in the future to the one we help, or just merely to give the appearance of being a amazing person.“We give support to others so that they have to do the same for us on related occasions, and these kindnesses we do them are, to place it plainly, bonuses we bestow on ourselves in advance.”His analysis spread across the vast range of human life, from the young to the old, rich and the poor, as well as to men and women. His eye seemed to catch even the smallest instances of hypocrisy that presented themselves under the guise of strength. Pure possibility or luck was often the explanation he used to explain most characteristics. This is not a cop-out from real explanation though as if he were somehow upset that he was not a amazing person and therefore took this frustration out on others. La Rouchefoucauld really believed that our fortune or misfortune as young people contributed greatly to our future attitudes and morals.“Our wisdom is just as much at the mercy of possibility as our property.”As a Christian struggling with notions of God’s providence, I found these maxims particularly illuminating to our situation. Poor happenings seem to strike at the most inopportune times, right when our path should have turned for the better. However, once we reach the other end of the tunnel, we think we have learned a lesson, only to create the same mistake once more.“Old people are fond of giving amazing advice; it consoles them for no longer being capable of setting a poor example.”Perhaps most significantly, La Rouchefoucauld spoke out versus private self-righteousness in moral matters. When we test to portray ourselves as having overcome large obstacles, the stakes weren’t as high as we might test to tell ourselves. When we introduce ourselves to others, we test to appear as amazing as possible and ignore all of our moments of vice. When we do a amazing act, we test to create it seem like it came out of our virtuous hero rather than appearing out of habit or the desire to look amazing oneself.“The man who thinks he loves a woman for her own sake is very much mistaken.”He thought our acts of goodness accompanied with pure intentions were much more rare than we would like to think, or than we would proclaim to others. We say our own amazing hero and will were behind all the amazing deeds we do.“When we resist our passions it is more on acc of their weakness than our strength.”As a work, the Maxims should definitely be read by anyone who wants to think through the human condition with the aide of one of the foremost philosophers in our history. It is an extremely fast read, but should not be read too quickly. The maxims are designed to be pondered. Even so, La Rouchefoucauld wrote short purposefully, so that the reader’s attention would not wane during the most necessary insights he provides. Each sentence could be read in a mere 3-4 seconds, yet the impact of the Maxims endures through our days as we are both captivated by and distraught by La Rochefoucauld’s pessimistic insights into our shared nature.“To refuse to accept praise is to wish to be praised twice over.”Reading this has created me understand just how necessary Christ’s example of self-sacrifice was. Christ’s death on the cross was truly, “for us.” God, complete in Godself for all eternity, not needing anything from anyone else, self-sufficient in every way, chose to make for our sake. Not only that, but, in response to our sin, chooses to love us and redeem us.“There are different forms of curiosity: one, based on self-interest, makes us wish to learn what may be useful, another, based on pride, comes from a desire to know what others don’t.”Knowing that we often exhibit the condition La Rochefoucauld observed (though knowing it long before 1680 when it was published!), God still comes to be with us in the Holy Spirit to result genuine love of the other. The Golden Rule is not merely a method to establish society in reciprocal amazing deeds (I’ll do amazing to you so you do amazing to me), but is rather the capacity for real love of our neighbor that God desires from all of us. Likewise, though reward is an element of our relationship with God, our love for God should always move far beyond merely what God can do for us. In response to the Maxims, we should hope for a much greater ability to support others out of pure motives, and to practice self-sacrifice in love.“We have more strength than will-power, and when we imagine things are impossible we are trying to create excuses to ourselves.”“We are never as fortunate or as unfortunate as we suppose.”“Our promises are created in proportion to our hopes, but kept in proportion to our fears.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maxims (Classics) []  2019-12-20 18:33

    For anyone who has questioned the motives of others or of himself or for the person who wishes to truly with his own passions, this is a amazing read. Written in little snippets of knowledge, La Rochefoucauld systematically redefines all virtues in terms of the vices behind them or simply in terms of self interest. How real this all rings!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethics in Media Communications: Cases and Controversies (with InfoTrac) []  2020-6-28 19:2

    It's a text book. It's as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethics in Media Communications: Cases and Controversies (with InfoTrac) []  2020-6-28 19:2

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethics in Media Communications: Cases and Controversies (with InfoTrac) []  2020-6-28 19:2

    Was the book I required for class wasn't thrilled about it but required it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethics in Media Communications: Cases and Controversies (with InfoTrac) []  2020-6-28 19:2

    Simple, Straightforward, Simple to read, and applicable. I enjoyed using this text for my Ethics class. I love the case studies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethics in Media Communications: Cases and Controversies (with InfoTrac) []  2020-6-28 19:2

    Had writing in the book but was tolerable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethics in Media Communications: Cases and Controversies (with InfoTrac) []  2020-6-28 19:2

    Ordered 'good' condition. Most of text is highlighted in multiple colors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethics in Media Communications: Cases and Controversies (with InfoTrac) []  2020-6-28 19:2

    Not really much to say about it. It's a textbook, the correct one for my class. It was the one named in the description, and it got here fairly quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Is Awful: And Other Observations [Book]  2017-11-12 18:0

    I completely hear Matt’s voice telling these stories!!!! I love this book!!! Hold writing, Matt!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Is Awful: And Other Observations [Book]  2017-11-12 18:0

    Such a amazing book! I was laughing so hard that I kept waking my husband up while he was trying to sleep. Love me some Matt Bellassai.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cats Are Weird: And More Observations [Book]  2018-3-2 18:3

    Method cuter than pictured. The embossed "leather-style" cover is really neat! It's like the difference between getting a nice card and an embossed card. Really fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cats Are Weird: And More Observations [Book]  2018-3-2 18:3

    Another one of Jeffrey Brown's random hardcover books. Very adorable drawings of the things cats do in their spare time. If people obtain this book, also look into other Jeffrey Brown's Cat Getting Out of a Bag hardcover book as well. His Star Battle books are also amazing books if you wish to start collecting his famous works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biology of Aging: Observations and Principles []  2020-6-20 18:51

    An perfect overview of the genetics of aging. No other text covers it better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paint Box with Cases and lid 12 Colors []  2020-1-11 18:21

    Nice sturdy box though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethics in Media Communications: Cases and Controversies (with InfoTrac) []  2020-6-28 19:2

    Reading this book will probably be satisfactory for supplementing whatever class you're taking, but God is it boring. The author takes 5-6 pages to obtain around to saying anything at all, so by the time you've finished reading a thirty page chapter you realize the amazing bits could have been explained in four e book's largest hinderance is that the author reflects a less than satisfactory understanding of ethics. I may be wrong, but it seems that in to write a book about ethics as they pertain to the mass media one should have at least a fair understanding of ethics in general. You'll search a better explanation of historically influential ethicists and their teachings on a poorly written wiki article.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Is Awful: And Other Observations [Book]  2017-11-12 18:0

    I'm only about 10% into this book, but this guy has me literally laughing out loud on every page, which is probably not appreciated by my wife given it's currently after midnight and she's trying to sleep next to me. Hopefully the rest of the book holds up. I'll modernize this review if not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Is Awful: And Other Observations [Book]  2017-11-12 18:0

    I think Matt is hilarious. I have fun his web series and podcast - this book was a amazing mix of humor, insight, and back story of his life. He's an perfect writer and so witty! I do not often laugh out loud while reading, but my 4 year old daughter kept asking me what I was laughing at while reading this. My only complaint is that it wasn't longer. I hope he writes another one! Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cats Are Weird: And More Observations [Book]  2018-3-2 18:3

    My daughter loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biology of Aging: Observations and Principles []  2020-6-20 18:51

    Amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Is Awful: And Other Observations [Book]  2017-11-12 18:0

    This book is hilarious. The "reviews" on the back cover alone had me cracking up in Target, and speaking of Target, he has a Target exclusive book. In this book comes a letter from Matt, talking about how you are probably standing in Target debating on buying his book and how he doesn't care if you do or don't cause you probably won't read it. That alone, should create everyone wish to it and check it out. But for real, his stories are freaking hilarious and I have not laughed this much while reading a book in FOREVER, or if ever. Do yourself a favor, it, you will not regret it, and then listen to his podcast (on spotify etc.), because that is also freaking hilarious. He also has a amazing youtube show.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Is Awful: And Other Observations [Book]  2017-11-12 18:0

    Literally the only book that I've ever pre-ordered, and I'm so glad I did. Matt tells his life story in such a witty, snarky, and sassy method that reading the words off the page seems like he's talking to you in person. I can't wait to see what he has *NEXT!!!* on the horizon. Best wishes to him and the book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Is Awful: And Other Observations [Book]  2017-11-12 18:0

    Hilarious and fun read! I love this book and hope Matt writes more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cats Are Weird: And More Observations [Book]  2018-3-2 18:3

    I first bought this years ago from a used book shop in my neighborhood and recently reread it. The drawings of cat antics really capture their actions and behaviors - very amusing - some created me laugh out loud (again). Really a fun book - just bought two from Amazon to give as birthday bonuses to cat owners I know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cats Are Weird: And More Observations [Book]  2018-3-2 18:3

    Its like Jeffrey Brown was watching my cats! I answer enjoyed this small book. Laughed out loud several eat!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cats Are Weird: And More Observations [Book]  2018-3-2 18:3

    I have a love of cats, and own two myself with my boyfriend. I have a running bonus where I have given him (my boyfriend) the post cards of Cats by Jeffery Brown and now I plan on giving him this book as well. It is adorable (I cheated and already read through it before giving it to him) and all of the things about cats are totally true. It's fun looking at my cats after reading the book going, "He was totally right!"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biology of Aging: Observations and Principles []  2020-6-20 18:51

    Very informative. Would suggest being in a quiet room and popping your prescribed Adderall prior to studying as it is a very technical read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biology of Aging: Observations and Principles []  2020-6-20 18:51

    It was exactly the edition I required for my Biology of Aging course. It was delievered on time by Amazon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Is Awful: And Other Observations [Book]  2017-11-12 18:0

    Bought for my daughter

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Is Awful: And Other Observations [Book]  2017-11-12 18:0

    I love Matt's webcasts and this book tells his life's story and explains so much. I can't wait to see what he will do next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cats Are Weird: And More Observations [Book]  2018-3-2 18:3

    You just KNOW that Jeffrey Brown is a real t a sappy sentimentalist, but someone who is fascinated by cats and loves their e situations he depicts in his cartoons are just so familiar to people who dwell with cats. And the easy drawings somehow capture the essence of catness (I don't know what that means exactly, but I think we actually enjoy, even admire cats for their ability to take their set of tightly-wound, instinct-bound behaviors and discover what must be to them an alien and possibly hostile environment (our homes) and with even stranger creatures, like ourselves.).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cats Are Weird: And More Observations [Book]  2018-3-2 18:3

    The first book I purchased from this author. Loved it so much that I purchased another various one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biology of Aging: Observations and Principles []  2020-6-20 18:51

    First off, it is super dry and you will fall asleep multiple times. However, it is full of amazing information, hundreds of studies, and you will learn an absolute ton from this book as well as the class. And, it will stay with you after the class is over because this info is useful in every day life

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biology of Aging: Observations and Principles []  2020-6-20 18:51

    I got this book because I used to do work on the author's lab and I was amazed by the work they were pursuing there. I have read other bio textbooks, but what strikes me most about this one is that if you really just wish to read one, this one has got it all. It is a complete survey, of all that is known and being studied currently on the subject of aging. From how to study aging to the goals of society in aging to everything inbetween. From the items that works, to might works, to absolutely does not, this is an perfect overview of the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethics in Media Communications: Cases and Controversies (with InfoTrac) []  2020-6-28 19:2

    Chapters are about 20 to 30 pages when they only need to be about 8 to 10. Useless info is being added to lengthen it and you will search yourself losing focus very easily. Not very simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethics in Media Communications: Cases and Controversies (with InfoTrac) []  2020-6-28 19:2

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cool Case Simulator. Cases with things and CS:GO [App]  2020-7-31 13:28

    кейсы mobile app very interested nice all men's recommend

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386